GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Syferus on May 23, 2012, 01:11:34 AM

Title: Your best/worst experiences in the stands
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2012, 01:11:34 AM
So some Galway supporter kept leaning back in his seat on Sunday, intent on breaking my kneecaps, at one point he somehow managed to end up perched on top of the back of his seat (he was no spring chicken, either) and almost fell backwards into my lap. He was best buds with the Galway u21 manager and never once bothered to turn around or apologise. Those feckers are always acting like they own the gaff.  >:(

Him and his Galwegian army also stood up in place for the entirety of half-time. I wouldn't have minded but the Cumann na Bunscoil games were the only chance I had to see Rosies running rings around Galway.

I was clapping all our points twice as hard just because my hands were so near his ears.

I didn't clap many times.

But it got me thinking - what's your most, hmm, memorable moments in the stands, either yourself or surrounding hilarity ?
Title: Re: Your best/worst experiences in the stands
Post by: Tubberman on May 23, 2012, 09:03:32 AM
Oh dear, for a Rossie to start this thread is a bit short-sighted!!
There are plenty of bad experiences with Ros supporters down through the years. I'll keep mine to myself for now, but might join in the fun later ;)
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2012, 02:39:12 PM
And I could tell you as many about Mayo supporters. This isn't meant to be a mouthpiece for attacking one set of fans or the other.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on May 23, 2012, 03:24:26 PM
Lost count of the amount of times I've had some lad on his seventh can of Scrumpy Jack thinking he's being original by roaring 'sheep shagger' or 'what a waste of petrol' in my face on the streets around Croker if we're either playing Dublin or playing on the same day as them. 

Best was being hammered by Offaly in a league semi-final and the three Offaly boys in front of us pretending to be Kildare fans and doing it so well that despite the depression of the day and the intense rivalry/hatred you could only laugh in the end.

Post by: AZOffaly on May 23, 2012, 03:42:04 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on May 23, 2012, 03:24:26 PM
Lost count of the amount of times I've had some lad on his seventh can of Scrumpy Jack thinking he's being original by roaring 'sheep shagger' or 'what a waste of petrol' in my face on the streets around Croker if we're either playing Dublin or playing on the same day as them. 

Best was being hammered by Offaly in a league semi-final and the three Offaly boys in front of us pretending to be Kildare fans and doing it so well that despite the depression of the day and the intense rivalry/hatred you could only laugh in the end.

That wasn't today or yesterday!

Post by: Ohtoohtobe on May 23, 2012, 04:00:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 23, 2012, 03:42:04 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on May 23, 2012, 03:24:26 PM

That wasn't today or yesterday!

No thank God! Not as long as you might think either though, just looked it up there, 2004, 1-16 to 1-8...
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 23, 2012, 04:43:00 PM
I remember in 96 going to a match between Knockmore and Crossmolina in Crossmolina. This fella started shouting abuse at Knockmore players, officials and fans alike. He hadn't a clue from Adam who my dad was, but my dad knew of him. Old fella turns around, tells him politely that he was surprised by what he was doing. Wasn't a word out of him for the rest of the match. That's the only memory of that game.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 23, 2012, 05:01:22 PM
I had a pretty bad experience one time at a Dublin v. Meath game. I was supporting Meath and this fat ignoramus Dublin supporter thought that was enough reason* to get dug into me. Now most here will find this hard to believe as I'm rarely one for keeping my counsel but the situation was geting out of hand so I just shut up and blanked the hoor. He went gaga then altogether, got very upset about "the Meath head on ya" and moved over from his seat to roar abuse at me. Eventually he got bored and gave up and several of the guys around complimented me for the way I handled it. It was scary though cos I thought at one pont I was getting a slap.

* I fully accept that I can be an annoying person by times but genuinely on this occasion I did little to attract this guys ire.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 23, 2012, 05:36:50 PM
Had a cig put out in my back by the supporter of another Connacht county in McHale Park when I was 10 or 11. The supporter  >:( was about 50 and was very drunk, he got a smack off one of his countymen for the abuse he was directing at the Mayo crowd and his general behaviour.

Never experienced something as bad before or since.
Post by: theticklemister on May 23, 2012, 05:55:23 PM
Worst memory

All Ireland Q/F, 2007, Croke Park, Dublin v Derry

I was one of the 5 Derry supporters in the Hill for the match when entering the ground the stewards asked us 'not to stand beside that part of the Hill, for your own safety.' Should of took the hint from there. But we went further back up the Hill, tis about half an hour before throw in and the craic was good. Game started we went 4-2 up and I had the Bodhran with me so we started cheering on the Oakleaf lads when euros rained down on top of us and we were told to go back up north 'ya northy wee ****'. So instead of beating the drum the goat-skinned musical instrument was now a shield. So at the behest of me mates and the euros I resisted playing the bodhran for the remainder of the game. At the end of the game they were all obiliging saying it was a bit of craic, but not at the time!!!!!!!!!

Best memory

All Ireland Q/F, 2007, Croke Park, Dublin v Derry

The Dublin lads who told the pricks up the back to stopping throwing the coins!!
Post by: Whishtup on May 23, 2012, 06:25:47 PM
Worst:
At the first floodlit Dublin Tyrone Game, it was also a bit of a family get-together, so there was a fair squad of us there.  Stevie went for one of his trademark points and, with a couple of beers in me, I jumped up and started to roar like a madman, "Ahh, lovely point Stevie, lovely point!" when the whole crowd seemed to suddenly go quiet.
It went wide.
Talk about a fair few thousand people, including your family,  laughing at you at once.  Barely open my mouth at games now.

Best:

Being amidst a load of Dubs in the Canal End as Mugsy scored that goal.  You could have heard a match being struck.

Post by: emmetryan on May 23, 2012, 08:07:28 PM
Easy to point to ones that are abusive, we've all experienced that unfortunately, but the most irritating experience I had was watching Dublin beat Kildare last year. Before any Lilywhite fans get up in arms, it was a fellow Dubs supporter that drove me demented. A woman behind me had exactly one thing to say, irrespective of where the ball was or what team was in possession, and that was to roar "Give it!" relentlessly throughout the game. Left me in a rage despite Dublin winning.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 23, 2012, 08:29:27 PM
There's two things that get shouted at matches that drive me mad. The first is 'Wake Up' and the second is 'Mark your man'.

They get shouted no matter what the circumstance or game situation.
Post by: screenexile on May 23, 2012, 10:22:21 PM
I imagine this thread will attract a fair few negative comments but my experiences are good. When living in Dublin in 2007 I went to the Tyrone All Ireland semi final and final without a ticket and with a mate who also had no ticket. On both occasions we were walking in the crowd and were talking about how we would be able to engineer a ticket and the first time a man from Dublin was walking ahead of us, heard the conversation and offered us 2 tickets at face value for the game. Almost the identical situation for the final only a Tyrone fan this time... 'twas unreal!!
Post by: Go home ref on May 23, 2012, 10:53:51 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 23, 2012, 05:01:22 PM
I had a pretty bad experience one time at a Dublin v. Meath game. I was supporting Meath and this fat ignoramus Dublin supporter thought that was enough reason* to get dug into me. Now most here will find this hard to believe as I'm rarely one for keeping my counsel but the situation was geting out of hand so I just shut up and blanked the hoor. He went gaga then altogether, got very upset about "the Meath head on ya" and moved over from his seat to roar abuse at me. Eventually he got bored and gave up and several of the guys around complimented me for the way I handled it. It was scary though cos I thought at one pont I was getting a slap.

* I fully accept that I can be an annoying person by times but genuinely on this occasion I did little to attract this guys ire.

I had a Dublin arsehole start on me in the hill last year for daring to support my own county Kildare in "their" hill although in fairness another Dub near him shut him up quick but the worst by far was Meath in Navan behind one of the goals when we had plastic bottles thrown at us by a crowd of eejits from Navan
Post by: trileacman on May 23, 2012, 11:40:42 PM
Close to the worst:-

All Ireland Final '08, was in the Hill for the first time of my life and had two younger cousins with me, no drinking done. Got in early for the minors and got stuck behind about 20 young (16-18 judging by the nicknames they had on the St Pat's fellas) skangers from Dungannon who were hammered. They had smuggled in a right amount of drink as well. Loud, obnoxious, bad representation of the county, wasn't a lot of fun being near them.

Best:-

All Ireland Final '08, stuck with the same lads as above, 63 minutes gone, a point up and Kerry are turning up the heat. Sheehan's wides/ McConnell's save has us all enthralled and I thought we weren't going to hold out to the end. Then Kevin Hughes comes on and starts hitting the corner flags, me and twenty others cursing him for all our might. All of a sudden McGinley scores and then Hub and we are three clear in the 69th minute and we all know that we're nearly home and dried!! Me and these Dungannon lads are going mental at the back of the Hill, screaming, hugging, roaring our guts out. There's just a mill of bodies in complete euphoria and I can't see or inclined to look at what's going on. By the time we settle down Tyrone are four up and me and everyone around me haven't a clue what's happened. I eventually come to the conclusion that the scoreboard is broken, after the match I hear people talk about Colm Cavanagh's point and I'm wrecking my brain trying to figure out when that happened. Eventually seen the point that night on the Sunday game but that doesn't matter. Those seconds after Hub splits the posts though were the best moment I ever had in a crowd. With a crowd of lads, I hadn't any time for 60 minutes before, going buck mad in celebration. Priceless.
Post by: Hardy on May 24, 2012, 12:07:01 AM
Worst: The only time I was ever scared in a crowd. A crush on the terrace at Lansdowne Road at a rugby international in the seventies. The crowd was a swaying wave; occasionally, your feet were off the ground and you were just flotsam in the sea of people. A kid of about eight, separated from whoever he was with, was crying and in danger of getting crushed. Somebody managed to pick him up and put him on their shoulders. Throughout the first half, we shifted him around from one to another's shoulders as there simply wasn't space anywhere to put him down. The whole experience made Hillsborough very real for me, clarified how a mass of people can be an uncontrollable force and put me firmly in the pro ultra safety camp when it comes to crowd control, pitch invasions, etc.

Best: Not just the best ever experience in the stands, but the best sporting moment I've experienced - Kevin Foley, a Saturday afternoon, July 1991.
Post by: rrhf on May 24, 2012, 12:23:20 AM
Hardy you definitely are from an era predating the spring chicken
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2012, 01:24:09 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 24, 2012, 12:07:01 AM
clarified how a mass of people can be an uncontrollable force and put me firmly in the pro ultra safety camp when it comes to crowd control, pitch invasions, etc.
You would be one of those against outdoor concerts?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 24, 2012, 06:52:59 AM
Worst: The only time I was ever scared in a crowd. A crush on the terrace at Lansdowne Road at a rugby international in the seventies. The crowd was a swaying wave; occasionally, your feet were off the ground and you were just flotsam in the sea of people. A kid of about eight, separated from whoever he was with, was crying and in danger of getting crushed. Somebody managed to pick him up and put him on their shoulders. Throughout the first half, we shifted him around from one to another's shoulders as there simply wasn't space anywhere to put him down. The whole experience made Hillsborough very real for me, clarified how a mass of people can be an uncontrollable force and put me firmly in the pro ultra safety camp when it comes to crowd control, pitch invasions, etc.

Best: Not just the best ever experience in the stands, but the best sporting moment I've experienced - Kevin Foley, a Saturday  afternoon, July 1991.

Pure dung.
Post by: JUst retired on May 24, 2012, 08:52:01 AM
My worst experience was a few years ago in Clones. At a game I forget who Derry were playing,Joe Brolly was sitting right behind me.He never shut up the whole game. I swear to God if he put his false teeth in backwards he would eat himself to death. :)
Post by: theticklemister on May 24, 2012, 08:58:49 AM
Another great moment...........

Collie Devlin scoring the winning point against Armagh in the qualifiers.we were beat in Ulster just before and were giving no chance but I was part of the Clones '300' (the name giving to the derry supporters who made the trip there; there was f**k all of us there) and it was a joy to behold, us 4 supporters giving it lilty behind the standing goals at the oppositie side were Collie scored the point.

Worst....... During all-ireland victory of 93 we were in the Hill; meself me cousin and da and uncle.I was getting crushed so we had to leave (felt sorry for me da and uncle) I got carried mexican wave style by the fans out the entrance.we had to hit outside to find a bar which was open to watch the game as they were all closed.some kind hearted bar man opened the bar and we managed to see our victory.mind ye felt sorry for me da and uncle to miss our sole victory because of my height and age!! Some fecker on the Hill 16 turnstyle was taking backhanders.
Post by: Hardy on May 24, 2012, 09:16:55 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2012, 01:24:09 AM
clarified how a mass of people can be an uncontrollable force and put me firmly in the pro ultra safety camp when it comes to crowd control, pitch invasions, etc.

What?
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 24, 2012, 11:05:28 AM
Best experience was been on Hill 16 when Brian Murphy scored that goal against Meath in the Leinster Final in 98, the place just went mental.

Most interesting was in the Meath Westmeath match in 2001 I think it was the one in which Dessie that free. I had to physically separate a Meath and a Westmeath supporter both in their late 50s swinging windmills at each other while both sets of supporters cheered them on.

I think this says more about me and my big mouth but I've had verbal run ins with supporters from Louth*2, Fermanagh, Cavan, Kerry and Down but the single most annoying was a female supporter from Sligo in 2005 in the qualifier who sitting directly behind me insisted on calling every Kildare player 'A Fairy' ad nauseam. 
Post by: magpie seanie on May 24, 2012, 11:47:17 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 24, 2012, 11:05:28 AM
Best experience was been on Hill 16 when Brian Murphy scored that goal against Meath in the Leinster Final in 98, the place just went mental.

Most interesting was in the Meath Westmeath match in 2001 I think it was the one in which Dessie that free. I had to physically separate a Meath and a Westmeath supporter both in their late 50s swinging windmills at each other while both sets of supporters cheered them on.

I think this says more about me and my big mouth but I've had verbal run ins with supporters from Louth*2, Fermanagh, Cavan, Kerry and Down but the single most annoying was a female supporter from Sligo in 2005 in the qualifier who sitting directly behind me insisted on calling every Kildare player 'A Fairy' ad nauseam.

I have a short list of suspects for that - we must chat about it some day!

Like yourself my exhuberance has lead to manys the row at a game but sometimes the lads with you can let you down too. One such occasion was Navan in 2002 against Armagh. We were packed in fairly tight and I was on the outside of our group beside some raucous Armagh support. The banter was good natured at first but when a buck from the other side of our group started on about their "education from the Queen" I thought I was going to be killed. To be fair to the Armagh lads they were fuming but ignored it.

Enough of me being Mother Teresa though. At a Sligo v. Leitrim match a friend of mine and I met a couple of equally ignorant hoors. We traded wild abuse and when Sligo pulled away at the end it's fair to say we absolutely sowed it into them. Fast forward six months and I'm sitting in a Connacht training seminar for club officers and who sits in beside me? Yes. It was a little uncomforatable to say the least.
Post by: ballinaman on May 24, 2012, 12:41:10 PM
Double header League Semi in Croke park a few years back, it was Galway Mayo and Kildare V Donegal. 
After the final whistle in the first game, a fairly rotund (putting it mildly) Kildare supporter stood up 3 rows from the front of the Cusack and started shouting back up the stand as loud as he could...."Paddy.....Paddy....Paddy Hara"

This went on for what seemed an inordinate period of time, probably the guts of a minute. The whole stand went quiet with anticipation as to where this was going.....

Eventually, the Paddy in question stood up and went...."WHA???"

To which our Kildare lad replied....."You've a head like a chicken" and sat down with a delighted head on him.

Everybody then broke their shits laughing. Hilarious
Post by: AZOffaly on May 24, 2012, 12:55:54 PM
I wasn't in the stands, but this was a game we were playing against Wicklow down in Athy (nearly sure it was Athy). I'm sure it was a minor game, but it was only a challenge, or that minor league thing. Anyway, one of our bucks was getting a bit of abuse on the field, Wickla being Wickla, and his mother was in the crowd. She'd be renowned as an MGM anyway. (Mad GAA Mammy). As the physical stakes upped on the pitch, the vocal stakes also raised from the stand, and there was all sorts of abuse being heaped on the Wicklow lads, their parents, their grandparents and other family members, as well as the referee and all associated with him.

As the game neared the end, (a comfortable win), the MGM was unappeased. She continued to call on the demons of Hades to avenge her son's treatment, and myself and the lad I was marking were having a good laugh at it, seeing as how we were in the corner nearest where she was, but I dare say the fishing trawlers off Bray Head were able to hear her.

Anyhow, when the long whistle blew, and everyone was trudging off, MGM decided to exact retribution herself. She proceeded to try to climb the boundary wire, umbrella in hand. the last point was a bit of a giveaway in itself, and spoke to pre-meditation as it was the finest day of that young summer.

Anyhow, snarling and growling like a rabid dog, MGM tried to scale the fence, to no avail. Despite several attempts she was unable to master the 6 foot fence, and her umbrella went unused, and the Wicklow lads went, thankfully, unassaulted. Presumably the ref himself was happy not to have to face the 'Wrath of Mam'. By this stage, like the mad dog she had resembled up to this point, she was played out, and completely frustrated.

As she stood there panting at the side of the fence, we could see just how frustrated she was, as a large, unmistakable dark coloured wet patch began to spread around the front of her pleated grey skirt. A sight that no minor footballer should ever have to see!

To make matters worse, there was an open gate about 20 yards further down that she could have dandered out if she wasn't so out of her head with madness. MGM's you have to love them.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 24, 2012, 01:02:33 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 24, 2012, 12:41:10 PM
Double header League Semi in Croke park a few years back, think it was Kildare V Donegal in the first game and Galway Mayo in the 2nd.

After the final whistle in the first game, a fairly rotund (putting it mildly) Kildare supporter stood up 3 rows from the front of the Cusack and started shouting back up the stand as loud as he could...."Paddy.....Paddy....Paddy Hara"

This went on for what seemed an inordinate period of time, probably the guts of a minute. The whole stand went quiet with anticipation as to where this was going.....

To which our Kildare lad replied....."You've a head like a chicken" and sat down with a delighted head on him.

Remember that well. Think our game was the second one though. The laughing had barely died down by the time the ball was thrown in for the second match.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2012, 04:09:11 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 24, 2012, 09:16:55 AM

What?
A concert is a mass of people on a pitch or field, uncontrollable force.
Post by: cornafean on May 24, 2012, 04:26:15 PM

As a youngster, I had the misfortune of being on a dangerously overcrowded Canal End for the 1983 All Ireland Final. There was an almost incessant swaying of the crowd over and back, up and down. Some people lost coats and bags in the mayhem. But for the grace of God, people could have been killed and I think the Hill was equally bad that day.

However I can't understand how you can equate scenes like that with post-match crowd celebrations, mistakenly labelled by vested interests as 'pitch invasions'. In fact the Croke Park hysteria surrounding so-called 'pitch invasions' has now led to the irony of Hill 16 'patrons' being once again caged behind fences, in defiance of the Taylor Report into crowd safety after the Hillsborough disaster. 
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 24, 2012, 04:42:42 PM
Double header League Semi in Croke park a few years back, think it was Kildare V Donegal in the first game and Galway Mayo in the 2nd.

Pretty sure the Mayo V Galway game was on first that day.
Post by: EC Unique on May 24, 2012, 04:47:32 PM
1993 Ulster Club Final. We beat Downpatrick to win our first Ulster Championship. Unreal. ;D
Post by: Jinxy on May 24, 2012, 04:48:08 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 24, 2012, 11:05:28 AM

I nearly fell off the top deck of the Canal End when he missed.
Post by: Jinxy on May 24, 2012, 04:50:39 PM

Kildare folk are always roaring at each other.
"Sean..... SEAN...... SEAN BRADY!"
"WHA???"
"What d'ya think Sean?!"
Post by: laoislad on May 24, 2012, 04:51:06 PM
Best without a doubt is the Leinster Final 2003 Laois v Kildare, it will be hard to top that for me.

Always find my worst experiences are when I'm at games involving Tyrone,Armagh or Dubs games.
Post by: Hardy on May 24, 2012, 08:33:20 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2012, 04:09:11 PM

What?

I said "a mass of people can be an uncontrollable force".  There's no problem with properly controlled crowds, whether they're  at a concert or on a pitch.
Post by: Hardy on May 24, 2012, 08:35:06 PM
Quote from: cornafean on May 24, 2012, 04:26:15 PM

However I can't understand how you can equate scenes like that with post-match crowd celebrations, mistakenly labelled by vested interests as 'pitch invasions'.

I refer you to my answer to Captain Obvious. A pitch "invasion" by definition is uncontrolled.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 24, 2012, 08:43:41 PM
Best was Sligo v Galway 2007 hugging my dad for about 5 mins waited along time for that and then loads of stranger embracing us was amazing, ros stewards coming up to us beaming aswell, 2010 Galway replay i remember running around markievicz park  high fiving loads of other sligofans after embracing my dad, Mayo u21 1999 for the last 15 mins i remember all the sligofans just standing in the seated standing roaring on the lads as we were hammering mayo 3-14 to 1-5....

Probably the most humbling was Kildare fans shaking my hand as they left after being kinda robbed in the qualifiers in markievicz in 06. I wish i could show as much class in defeat. That was the same day my dad at heart attack, and lots of sligo people were coming up to me asking me how he was, word had spread around the county, some of my mates didnt even know, not one person who knew asked me why i was there considering becuase they knew (my dad said to me to go, and i didnt want to cause any more stress so i went reluctantly) i think the kildare fans next to me had overheard some of the content...

I remember when we beat Kildare in 01 in Croke park, galway played armagh in curtain rasier and all the galway players were sitting watching our game with us, i was going bananas roaring on Sligo and i remember all the galway players who left about 10 mins before the end of our game all came over and shook my hand as they were leaving..

Post by: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2012, 08:53:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 24, 2012, 08:33:20 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2012, 04:09:11 PM

What?

I said "a mass of people can be an uncontrollable force".  There's no problem with properly controlled crowds, whether they're  at a concert or on a pitch.

No matter how controlled a outdoor concerts seems they can still become uncontrollable. I'd say there has been more tragedies at concerts than with a pitch invasion.
Post by: mup on May 24, 2012, 09:07:07 PM
Double header League Semi in Croke park a few years back, it was Galway Mayo and Kildare V Donegal. 

Just getting up off the floor. Funniest I've heard in a long long time. Post of the year.
Post by: panc56 on May 24, 2012, 09:12:35 PM
I had a grumpy auld fella from Laois in front of me gloating the whole way through the first half. I reminded him after we took the lead that they had won the same amount as Leinster Championships as we had over the last 50 years. Always gets them!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 25, 2012, 12:13:46 AM
Worst experience - Playing Monaghan in the championship back in 2008 at Casement, in the bar across the road for a quick drink before the game, as usual few derry ones about, a bus load of monaghan lads early 20`s doing plenty of mouthing, we dont take the queen shilling etc or pay taxes to the queen, same old crap, which got the few derry supporters in the bar myself including quite annoyed that bar staff had to step in,think we were outnumbered 20 to 4, think our standard response at the time was didnt you bunch of cowards leave us behind which got the place fair and lively,as we headed for the exits lol, 4 yrs down the line and they had to take the queens shilling to bale Ireland out, oh the irony!!!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 25, 2012, 12:43:06 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 25, 2012, 12:13:46 AM
Worst experience - Playing Monaghan in the championship back in 2008 at Casement, in the bar across the road for a quick drink before the game, as usual few derry ones about, a bus load of monaghan lads early 20`s doing plenty of mouthing, we dont take the queen shilling etc or pay taxes to the queen, same old crap, which got the few derry supporters in the bar myself including quite annoyed that bar staff had to step in,think we were outnumbered 20 to 4, think our standard response at the time was didnt you bunch of cowards leave us behind  which got the place fair and lively,as we headed for the exits lol, 4 yrs down the line and they had to take the queens shilling to bale Ireland out, oh the irony!!!

From my experience this usually comes first and uninvited, then the lads from the North try and retrospectively change the story around when retelling.
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 25, 2012, 12:53:11 AM
Worst experience - Playing Monaghan in the championship back in 2008 at Casement, in the bar across the road for a quick drink before the game, as usual few derry ones about, a bus load of monaghan lads early 20`s doing plenty of mouthing, we dont take the queen shilling etc or pay taxes to the queen, same old crap, which got the few derry supporters in the bar myself including quite annoyed that bar staff had to step in,think we were outnumbered 20 to 4, think our standard response at the time was didnt you bunch of cowards leave us behind which got the place fair and lively,as we headed for the exits lol, 4 yrs down the line and they had to take the queens shilling to bale Ireland out, oh the irony!!!

Stop that now, you sound like an Englishman.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 25, 2012, 01:04:25 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 24, 2012, 04:51:06 PM
Always find my worst experiences are when I'm at games involving Tyrone,Armagh or Dubs games.

In the stands, not on the pitch!  :P
Post by: Hound on May 25, 2012, 07:31:09 AM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on May 25, 2012, 12:53:11 AM

Stop that now, you sound like an Englishman.
Yeah, there's certainly irony in Wildweasal's post!
Post by: Declan on May 25, 2012, 09:30:51 AM
Best - Last September being in the Hogan with the young fella when the final whistle went and thinking of the old man and how he would have loved to be there

Being on the Canal End on that same Sat  in 1991 that Hardy says was his best!
Post by: cornafean on May 25, 2012, 10:23:31 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 24, 2012, 08:35:06 PM
Quote from: cornafean on May 24, 2012, 04:26:15 PM

However I can't understand how you can equate scenes like that with post-match crowd celebrations, mistakenly labelled by vested interests as 'pitch invasions'.

I refer you to my answer to Captain Obvious. A pitch "invasion" by definition is uncontrolled.

A pitch "invasion" is indeed uncontrolled. Properly stewarded on-pitch celebrations are not, and are perfectly safe and enjoyable for everyone - for example, this year's All Ireland club final replay and Ulster U21 final.
Post by: Hardy on May 25, 2012, 11:33:34 AM
I think we're probably agreeing. There's a bit of a problem of definition OK and a pitch invasion is one thing, while an orderly celebration is another. We've covered the subject at length here before but, briefly, my opinion is that the pitch is for the players and the spectators have no business there, WHILE THE PLAYERS AND OFFICIALS ARE THERE, for reasons including
- respect and protection for the players (see numerous instances of assaults on players after matches, jeering of losing players after AIFs, etc.);
- protection of officials (see Louth Louts v. M Sludden, numerous Tyrone faction fights);
- avoiding the mad gallop down the steps for the gate/fence/style/wall when the whistle goes and woe betide any granny or child who happens to be in the way;
- the simple fact that it's 2012, post Hillsborough era and about the only places you now see people let loose to rampage at will in large crowds are Pamplona and the Haj in Mecca (each of which regularly produce fatalities).

I have no problem with allowing orderly access to the pitch for spectators after the players and officials have left it, as first suggested here by AZOffaly.
Post by: cornafean on May 25, 2012, 12:15:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 25, 2012, 11:33:34 AM
I think we're probably agreeing.

I have no problem with allowing orderly access to the pitch for spectators after the players and officials have left it, as first suggested here by AZOffaly.

We are indeed agreeing. There is a world of difference between a real 'pitch invasion' (eg Derrytresk) and joyful on-pitch celebrations. (eg the above)
Post by: rrhf on May 25, 2012, 02:54:00 PM
In a way I understand why some people wouldnt go to concerts, a packed swaying crowd on the field having fun. students drinking too much, drugs, loud noise and portaloos.  Call me a killjoy  but you just grow out of it. Im sticking with Hardy on this one, but I disagree with him on the principles of pitch appreciation*

*you invade countries not pitches.   
Post by: thejuice on May 25, 2012, 03:27:06 PM
Best - Ollie Murphy's goal in the last gasp of the 2001 QF. Westmeath were winning by 9 or 10 at half time. One half of the hill threw its hands up in despair, the other in joy and relief.

Worst - Probably Limerick in 2008. Meath fans out numbering Limerick fans by about 100 to 1. And most of them were wee young lads wanting to get out on the field at half time to poc a sliotar about. It was just humiliating.

The other worst, (I can have 2 "worsts") was after Meath beating Mayo in 1996 which was going great watching from the Canal End Tommy Dowd lift Sam, when some ignorant Mayo fan decided to shove me from behind. This was a grown man and I was only 14 at the time. Could have been a serious fall only for my Dad beside me to grab on to.
Post by: rrhf on May 25, 2012, 03:52:01 PM
a terrible incident when on field violence spills over into the stands.
Post by: thejuice on May 25, 2012, 04:03:51 PM
indeed, tis a shame that Mayo folks can't keep things civil like the rest of us. We were just trying to play/watch a bit of football.
Post by: Hardy on May 25, 2012, 04:05:34 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 25, 2012, 02:54:00 PM
*you invade countries not pitches.   

I do neither.
Post by: seafoid on May 25, 2012, 04:12:19 PM
Best -  Hogan stand 2001 ,the year Athenry AND Crossmolina won the club finals.
Or 2001 seeing Galway destroy Meath

Worst - the 1994 football final when it started raining and most people on the lower deck of the Cusack got soaked
Post by: AZOffaly on May 25, 2012, 04:27:25 PM
Best - Lat 5 minutes of the 1994 hurling final. I was on the Hill, and remember being literally on my knees giving praise as Timmy Dooley fired over the insurance scores. Went from ultimate low to ultimate high in seconds.

Worst - Hmm. There's been a few. I'm inclined to nominate the disastrous qualifer trip to Wexford a good few years ago in the football, when Mattie Forde ate us alive, and Wexford paraded the Leinster SH Cup at half time. I wasn't in Tullamore for the capitulation against Down thankfully. I was there, however, for the godawful game versus Westmeath when Offaly attempted to counteract Westmeath's defensive ploy by playing a cunning 3 extra defenders as well!. Ended up like rugby league, and Westmeath deservedly won handy. All in all though, I'm going to plump for that awful day when we truly realised the good days in hurling were gone, and how far behind the top table we had slipped,  and that Kilkenny were truly awesome. 2005, in Croke Park, and a 31 point hiding. At one stage Kilkenny were drawing with the time of day. A good score when you consider it was half 5 in the evening. Cill Ceannaigh 6-28 read the scoreboard in the Canal End, right beside the clock which said 5:31. Unreal hammering. The announcer said there was an early train leaving Heuston for the Offaly fans who wished to catch it.

We've come back a bit since then, but how far I'm not sure. I hate to admit it, but Kilkenny might well give us a similar trimming if they were really up for it.
Post by: downredblack on May 25, 2012, 08:34:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 25, 2012, 04:27:25 PM
Best - Lat 5 minutes of the 1994 hurling final. I was on the Hill, and remember being literally on my knees giving praise as Timmy Dooley fired over the insurance scores. Went from ultimate low to ultimate high in seconds.

Worst - Hmm. There's been a few. I'm inclined to nominate the disastrous qualifer trip to Wexford a good few years ago in the football, when Mattie Forde ate us alive, and Wexford paraded the Leinster SH Cup at half time. I wasn't in Tullamore for the capitulation against Down thankfully. I was there, however, for the godawful game versus Westmeath when Offaly attempted to counteract Westmeath's defensive ploy by playing a cunning 3 extra defenders as well!. Ended up like rugby league, and Westmeath deservedly won handy. All in all though, I'm going to plump for that awful day when we truly realised the good days in hurling were gone, and how far behind the top table we had slipped,  and that Kilkenny were truly awesome. 2005, in Croke Park, and a 31 point hiding. At one stage Kilkenny were drawing with the time of day. A good score when you consider it was half 5 in the evening. Cill Ceannaigh 6-28 read the scoreboard in the Canal End, right beside the clock which said 5:31. Unreal hammering. The announcer said there was an early train leaving Heuston for the Offaly fans who wished to catch it.

We've come back a bit since then, but how far I'm not sure. I hate to admit it, but Kilkenny might well give us a similar trimming if they were really up for it.

When I was reading this thread earlier I thought of that game , after a hammering like that the Offaly fans in the stand that evening were a credit to their county . I even said to a lady on the way out that they surley are the faithful county , see clapped her lads off the pitch . My aul fella had often told us that the  Offaly team and supporters were great people , I left Tullamore thinking the same . Thanks Offaly  :P
Post by: FermGael on May 25, 2012, 11:22:27 PM
Worst:  Athletic grounds vs Armagh.  Hollywoods goals.  Was only young but still brings me out in cold sweats.

Best:  O4.  After we beat Armagh.  Unreal.  Never thought I would see it.  The Armagh ones took it very well and congratulated us.  So did the Tyronies as well.  Was nearly as sweet watching Mayo knocking the smile of their faces.   
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 25, 2012, 11:30:13 PM
Quote from: FermGael on May 25, 2012, 11:22:27 PM
Worst:  Athletic grounds vs Armagh.  Hollywoods goals.  Was only young but still brings me out in cold sweats.

Best:  O4.  After we beat Armagh.  Unreal.  Never thought I would see it.  The Armagh ones took it very well and congratulated us.  So did the Tyronies as well.  Was nearly as sweet watching Mayo knocking the smile of their faces.

Haha remember watching the draw on RTE that pulled Mayo V Tyrone. Had been in Croker watching Tyrone hammer Laois if I remember rightly and was in the pub just after. When Tyrone drew Mayo the pub errupted into a cheer as if they had already won, but myself and 2 other mates wearing Mayo t-shirts and 1 in a jersey let out a roar as we were happy with the draw. The Tyronies were shocked that these Mayoman thought as little of Tyrones chances against us as they did of us against them. (I think Dublin and Roscommon might have been playing that day too, if I am not getting confused).
Post by: imtommygunn on May 25, 2012, 11:32:49 PM
The worst would have to be while overseeing an underage team in league play-off semis one year(u12) against a team who'd beat us well earlier in the year. We beat them well and there was a baying mob of parents at the end figuring we must have cheated - not an environment which any u12 child should ever be exposed to.

Best 89 AI semi against Offaly. Too young to realise the full extent of it - at current rate I may never see it again as long as I live!!
Post by: spuds on May 26, 2012, 10:26:35 AM
Best - ........ on my knees giving ............ Timmy Dooley ................. ultimate high .....

(http://www.fiannafail.ie/page/-/images/Election%202011/Candidates/Dooley.png)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 26, 2012, 01:37:33 PM
Quote from: spuds on May 26, 2012, 10:26:35 AM
Best - ........ on my knees giving ............ Timmy Dooley ................. ultimate high .....

(http://www.fiannafail.ie/page/-/images/Election%202011/Candidates/Dooley.png)

That's work Nally would be proud of.
Post by: Leo on May 27, 2012, 10:36:22 PM
Down v Meath All-Ireland Final
A commanding lead for Down is slipping away towards the final whistle and a Cork woman in front of me (no friend of Meath) roars out
"I never had such a f**king slow watch!"
Post by: blanketattack on May 28, 2012, 11:39:57 AM
BAD:
Turning around to congratulate these fanatical Down supporters after Down beat Kerry in 2010 only to find out they were actually Tyrone supporters!
(Although when I looked around with 5 min to go in the Tyrone-Dublin game I noticed that they were long gone).

GOOD:
Was with the missus at the '08 All-Ireland final and a couple of Tyrone women wearing fake beards appear on the big screen. The missus asks why are they wearing fake beards and I said they're not wearing fake beards, that's what Tyrone women look like normally. A couple of Tyrone women turn around to give a dirty look and possibly more when a few Tyrone fellas turn round and say "you're dead right for a fair few of them".
The dirty looks was moved to them.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 28, 2012, 12:49:21 PM
Of course I meant Billy Dooley. Don't know why in the hell I thought of that other jennet.

And please don't use selective quotes like that :D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 28, 2012, 12:53:07 PM
Best: deserted stand in Rovers' Milltown in late 80s with a young wan (this may or may not be true)

Worst: being in Croke Park with the Mrs who has no interest in GAA. During the match (I cannot remember who was playing) she was reading The Sindo, having no interest in the fare, when a greenjacket approached her and told her to put away the paper and watch the match!!
Post by: Jinxy on May 28, 2012, 03:35:11 PM
I take it you didn't ride to the rescue then!
"Sorry baby, but them's the rules".
Post by: Muchachos on May 29, 2012, 02:07:49 AM
Some Highlights Hill 16 in 1995 watching Westmeath win the Minor All Ireland, f**king a steward out of the way and running onto the pitch when We won the Leinster in 2004, Me da bringing me to the Dublin V Meath matches in 1991 is something I will never forget. Great atmosphere at them games.

Lowlights crushed in the Canal end in 95 At the All Ireland Semi, having to walk out of portlaoise 1 year after Dessie missed a penalty and was f**king drove into the net for good measure with a shoulder afterwards. Bastard Meath fans singing and laughing at us on the way out........  :D
Post by: blanketattack on May 29, 2012, 09:53:59 AM
Quote from: Muchachos on May 29, 2012, 02:07:49 AM
having to walk out of portlaoise 1 year after Dessie missed a penalty

Why did you stay in Portlaoise for a year?
Post by: Muchachos on May 30, 2012, 02:49:45 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on May 29, 2012, 09:53:59 AM
Quote from: Muchachos on May 29, 2012, 02:07:49 AM
having to walk out of portlaoise 1 year after Dessie missed a penalty

Why did you stay in Portlaoise for a year?

:D Im in a coffee shop in Vancouver breaking me hole laughing..........
Post by: tbrick18 on May 30, 2012, 03:08:26 PM
BEST: Derry v Dublin AI Semi Final 1993. Victory from the jaws of defeat, we were never going to be beat after that game and it almost felt like it was the AI final. I was nearly going to pick the 1995 AI final but.....well I enjoyed our win more than the inbreds getting beat the way they did. Just about.  ;)

WORST:
Getting beat by Fermanagh in the Ulster semi (2006 I think). We'd Ulster for the taking and kicked it away to one of the worst footballing sides in the country at that time.
Post by: rrhf on May 30, 2012, 03:45:27 PM
and you wonder why God lets you win nothing...
Post by: tbrick18 on May 30, 2012, 04:30:44 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 30, 2012, 03:45:27 PM
and you wonder why God lets you win nothing...

lol!
If only it was down to God....sure we'd be winning everything every year us being Gods own County!

Charlie Redmond = Legend!  ;)