GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on May 16, 2012, 09:32:51 AM

Title: Meed agin Wickla
Post by: thejuice on May 16, 2012, 09:32:51 AM
Lets see how this goes.

Title: Re: Meed agin Wickla
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 16, 2012, 09:34:43 AM
It'll be grand.
Post by: rrhf on May 16, 2012, 09:47:54 AM
Empty the tanks lads..
Post by: Jinxy on May 16, 2012, 11:26:34 AM
Wicklow....... our hated rivals.  >:(
Post by: Denn Forever on May 16, 2012, 11:41:49 AM
Division 3 decider 2013?
Post by: Jinxy on May 16, 2012, 11:47:06 AM
Do we even have any Wicklow posters?
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 16, 2012, 11:52:32 AM
I'm sure there are plenty who'll willingly fill their shoes if not...
Post by: Hardy on May 16, 2012, 12:03:30 PM
How do you slag Wicklow?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 16, 2012, 12:35:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 16, 2012, 12:03:30 PM
How do you slag Wicklow?

From the boot of a speeding car!
Post by: thejuice on May 16, 2012, 01:53:31 PM
The team I think we might see will be:

1 D. Gallagher

2 G. O'Brien,   3 K. Reilly,   4 C. King,

5 C. O'Connor,   6 B. Menton,   7 S. Kenny,

8 C. Gillespie,   9 (god only knows)

10 G. Reilly,   11 S. Bray,   12 P. Byrne,

13 C. Ward,   14 J. Sheridan,   15 J. Queeney

Among the Subs:
A. Forde
E. Harrington
E. Reilly
B. Farrell
M. Burke
B. Sheridan

That said I'm not up to date on the injuries.
Title: Come on Wickla
Post by: rrhf on May 16, 2012, 02:05:44 PM
Not since the days of Kevin O Brien would I be as confident of us beating Meath, and thats neither today or yesterday..  8)
Post by: thejuice on May 16, 2012, 02:33:46 PM
I remember listening to the 1st game in 1991 on the car radio. Heart in mouth for most of the first game. We had to pull over and stop for fear of crashing.
Post by: thejuice on May 16, 2012, 02:37:08 PM
Stats from our previous 11 meetings.

http://www.gaainfo.com/article.php?story=0&matchno=360&co=0&year=2012

Post by: Ard-Rí on May 16, 2012, 02:48:49 PM
Well, it's not up to me, but I think we should line out a very strong team here, as we haven't actually found our best XV this year yet. I would go with :

1 D. Gallagher

2 M.Burke,   3 K. Reilly,   4 E. Harrington,

5 C. O'Connor,   6 S. Mac Anarney,   7 S. Kenny,

8 C. Gillespie/Menton,   9 Walsh / Meade

10 G. Reilly,   11 S. Bray,   12 P. Byrne,

13 P. Gilsenan,   14 J. Sheridan,   15 C. Ward 

Guessing at Midfielders really, but I'd start Gillespie and Walsh. Seems harsh to leave Menton and Meade out, but I think there are questions over their fitness. I like  the idea of Byrne on the 40, he can cause damage there.
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 16, 2012, 02:50:40 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 16, 2012, 02:37:08 PM
Stats from our previous 11 meetings.

http://www.gaainfo.com/article.php?story=0&matchno=360&co=0&year=2012

So ... have we ever actually lost to them in the Championship?
Post by: thejuice on May 16, 2012, 03:07:59 PM
Never lost to them in any competition according to that.

I'm fairly sure Tom Walsh is out for this game.
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 16, 2012, 03:12:28 PM
I hadn't heard that. What's wrong with him?
Title: Re: Come on Wickla
Post by: AZOffaly on May 17, 2012, 12:59:56 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 16, 2012, 02:05:44 PM
Not since the days of Kevin O Brien would I be as confident of us beating Meath, and thats neither today or yesterday..  8)

I always thought you were from Tyrone!
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 22, 2012, 08:29:11 PM
Amazing that the Meath lads who normally have opinions on everything are very quiet on this  ;)

I might make the trip down to Carlow for it and will expect a big Wicklow crowd Meath despite their poor form always bring a good crowd and with a good weather forecast as well it should be a good game.

Wicklow don't have the same profile as Meath but Glynn, Furlong, Earls and Hannon are probably as good as any of the Meath forwards and they'll have a better midfield, however take Hyland out of the Wicklow defence and the rest aren't great they do struggle defensively and will concede goals.

If Wicklow though can keep Meath to 1 goal or less they'll have a chance. Should be high scoring enough and I'll take Wicklow in an upset 2-14  to 1-15.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2012, 08:55:21 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 22, 2012, 08:29:11 PM
Amazing that the Meath lads who normally have opinions on everything are very quiet on this  ;)

I might make the trip down to Carlow for it and will expect a big Wicklow crowd Meath despite their poor form always bring a good crowd and with a good weather forecast as well it should be a good game.

Wicklow don't have the same profile as Meath but Glynn, Furlong, Earls and Hannon are probably as good as any of the Meath forwards and they'll have a better midfield, however take Hyland out of the Wicklow defence and the rest aren't great they do struggle defensively and will concede goals.

If Wicklow though can keep Meath to 1 goal or less they'll have a chance. Should be high scoring enough and I'll take Wicklow in an upset 2-14  to 1-15.

Here, mind your own business.
Post by: seafoid on May 22, 2012, 08:58:53 PM
Only 2 counties have never won a provincial fuball title and Wicklow are one of them.

I think the Meath beal bocht is very transparent . 

Wicklow are 3/1 with Paddy Power. Could be a good hedge for depressive Ryals. 
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 22, 2012, 10:58:34 PM
If Kevin Reilly comes out on top in his one on one battle with Seánie Furlong then Meath will be ok. He's their main man and when he's held they struggle for scores. When he's on song they're very dangerous. Glynn is a class player but his best work is done out the field and while Hannon is a very capable freetaker he's not as much of a threat from open play. Meath have enough quality forwards to put up a winning score but Wicklow are never easy bet. Can see Meath edging home by four or five points in the end.
Post by: Declan on May 23, 2012, 08:01:08 AM
QuoteMeath despite their poor form always bring a good crowd

Wouldn't expect many to travel to Carlow all the same - Meath by a few
Post by: Declan on May 23, 2012, 11:11:52 AM
Amid Royal rumble, Banty stayed focused
By John Fogarty
Wednesday, May 23, 2012
Embattled Meath manager Seamus McEnaney insists he was never distracted from getting his team ready for their Leinster SFC opener against Wicklow on Sunday.
The Corduff native last month refused county chairman Barney Allen's request to step down from the position, following the team's relegation to Division 3.

He also survived a vote of no-confidence after the executive failed to achieve the necessary two-thirds majority backing from the county board.

Throughout the drama, McEnaney continued to attend club games in the county and also took in Wicklow's final Division 4 round game against Clare in Aughrim.

"For me, I only had one ambition and that was getting the team prepared for the Wicklow game," McEnaney told the Irish Examiner.

"I never lost a second's focus on the Wicklow game from seven or eight weeks ago. I never lost one second on Wicklow. Nothing else crossed my mind."

McEnaney refused to comment on his relationship with Allen and the vote of no confidence, which revealed a simple majority of delegates against him staying in the role.

The Monaghan man also wouldn't say that the ordeal has brought the management and players closer together.

However, he said they are all determined to push away the disappointment of dropping from Division 2 by winning their first game since February in Dr Cullen Park on Sunday.

"We've got on with our job, players and management alike. Thankfully, we've got the time and space to do that and we're happy with our preparations.

"We've been focusing on nothing else over the last four weeks.

"We came back three weeks ago, four weeks prior to the Championship, and we had the full complement of players back training.

"We were fortunate with two rounds of the club championship over, just after the end of the league. "We were able to get the players fully focused on Wicklow for the past four weeks. That has been a help.

"Our concentration is trying to get the best performance possible from this Meath team. To maximise potential within the group. For the Wicklow game, we are absolutely focused."

McEnaney confirmed Joe Sheridan, who returned home from Boston earlier this month after departing for the US city in March, will feature in Carlow: "I think it would be fair to say he'll be starting."

Player-selector Graham Geraghty is ruled out through injury as are long-term casualties Shane O'Rourke, Mark Ward, Cormac McGuinness and Gary O'Brien.

McEnaney is full of praise for former Tipp manager John Evans, who he convinced to join him as team coach earlier this month.

"I felt we needed to freshen up training and a new voice and I have a serious respect for John Evans.

"People probably don't realise Tipperary won Munster titles at U16, 17, 18 and 21 beating Cork and Kerry in 2011 at minor. They won all those Munster titles under or with the help of John Evans and we felt we could freshen up the coaching team.

"I love his enthusiasm and passion for the game. He's a fantastic coach and he exactly fitted the bill in the climate I was looking for at training."

Having studied Wicklow closely over the last few weeks, McEnaney is aware how much of a challenge he and his team are facing in four days time.

"This a Wicklow team that have had a serious record all year and had a fantastic National Football League.

"They're after winning their last six games in a row. In contrast, we lost five in a row. They're coming in on a high and Harry Murphy has done a serious job with them.

"We feel this will be a huge challenge from an in-form Wicklow team and I'm confident of getting a really good performance out of the Meath team this weekend.

"Even if it takes us across the line by the minimum, that's okay with me.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on May 23, 2012, 01:40:09 PM
Meath by six or more for me. The way some people go on you'd think Meath are the worst team in the country and we (Kildare) are All-Ireland contenders. So how come it took an injury-time point to separate the teams a couple of months ago?
I expect Meath to beat Wicklow well, destroy Carlow and come into the Leinster semi-final with confidence restored.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 23, 2012, 04:51:23 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 22, 2012, 08:58:53 PM
Only 2 counties have never won a provincial fuball title and Wicklow are one of them.

I think the Meath beal bocht is very transparent . 

Wicklow are 3/1 with Paddy Power. Could be a good hedge for depressive Ryals.

The ould "emotional hedge" has eased the pain of many a defeat!
Post by: Jinxy on May 24, 2012, 04:44:02 PM
If we can't beat Wicklow we may as well hang the boots in the garage for good.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2012, 05:10:35 PM
Two division three teams, the winner will face off v division 4 side. That kind of scenario would certainly set the neutrals pulse running.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 24, 2012, 05:16:03 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2012, 05:10:35 PM
Two division three teams, the winner will face off v division 4 side. That kind of scenario would certainly set the neutrals pulse running.

Have you ever thought of applying for a job as an analyst on The Sunday Game? Sounds like you'd be just what they're looking for.
Post by: thejuice on May 24, 2012, 07:58:58 PM
Stephen Bray out now with a hamstring pull.

worser and worser its gettin'
Post by: Jinxy on May 24, 2012, 08:01:19 PM
What sort of arseways training are they doing?
The players aren't fit and seem to get injured on a regular basis.
Title: Re: Meed agin Wickla - Meath team named
Post by: navanman on May 24, 2012, 08:46:36 PM
D Gallagher
M Burke
K Reilly
S McAnarney
D Tobin
B Menton
S Kenny
C Gillespie
B Meade
A Forde
Mark Carroll
G Reilly
Brian Farrell
Big Joe
Cian Ward

Subs include Peadar Byrne, Juicy, C Lenehan, Harrington, Caoimhin King, Queeney,

4 debutants, some brave calls from Banty/Evans.
Post by: Sea The Stars on May 24, 2012, 10:18:13 PM
Goes to show how much some people know if they think Mark Carroll" is starting. Mark Collins is number 11, Damian Carroll is a substitute.

Collins is a real gem. A few weeks ago Giles made reference to this "talented newcomer" in his Examiner article. A few days later Geraghty used choice words when describing him in a newspaper interview. I knew he was close to the starting line-up after that. Any time I've seen Duleek/Bellowstown, Collins has stood out. He's got a huge engine but has a beautiful touch. With Bray out, he's the perfect replacement at 11.

In my opinion, it's a good team up until 12. My worry after that is the FF line. Anyone in Boardsmill for the challenge match against Westmeath will have seen Joe bag a brace of goals but in my opinion he never looked as slow as he did that day. It'll be route one tactics all day. Ward and Farrell hid in the Louth game when things were going wrong. If Wicklow get to grips with this early on, it could become embarrassing.

As for not being fit. That team up until 12 is a fit team. After that, I won't say we aren't fit, but we aren't always the hardest working. I'm hope Ward, Joe and Farrell up the work ethic on Sunday.

I think it'll be close results wise. Not confident either way to call it.
Post by: Sea The Stars on May 24, 2012, 10:32:13 PM
My opinion on the four debutants:
Donnacha Tobin - Missed last year's under 21 campaign due to injury and was overlooked by O'Rourke/Giles the year previous but has blossomed in the senior setup under Banty. A real hard worker with a good eye for an opportunity to get forward. Not the flashiest of wing-backs but he'll produce a honest performace at worst. Should he be starting? Definitely.
Conor Gillespie - Can't say I have ever remember him playing for Meath before his u21 days but since then, always been rated one of the top midfielders in the county. Worry is that it's taken a series of injuries for him to break into the squad. Even an underperforming Brian Meade helped his cause. I'm worried about him on Sunday. Should he be starting? Probably but only because we've so little else to choose from in this department.
Alan Forde - Another late blossomer. Was deemed not good enought to start for the u21s this year (under Harnan) but appears to have won Banty's confidence over. Main asset is his speed. I'd go as far as to say he's the quickest Gaelic Footballer in the county. Should he be starting? I think so - like Tobin, he'll produce a hard working, honest performance at worst.
Mark Collins - The above poster got his name wrong. I don't think there'll be too many get his name wrong in a year or two. A really gifted Gaelic Footballer. Not the tallest of players but makes up for a lack in height in speed and skill and eagle like vision. I hope he can justify the faith I have in him. I think he could be an important player for Meath in years to come. Should he be starting? Yes.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 25, 2012, 12:40:04 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on May 23, 2012, 01:40:09 PM
Meath by six or more for me. The way some people go on you'd think Meath are the worst team in the country and we (Kildare) are All-Ireland contenders. So how come it took an injury-time point to separate the teams a couple of months ago?
I expect Meath to beat Wicklow well, destroy Carlow and come into the Leinster semi-final with confidence restored.

That would be my view on the game as well. Meath will win comfortably in the end imo.
Post by: thejuice on May 25, 2012, 10:02:44 AM
Televised?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2012, 10:19:26 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 25, 2012, 10:02:44 AM
Televised?

Nil...................which is a shame as we have to witness tipp being cannon fodder for kerry  ::)

This will be a rasper of a game, cheeky fiver on the draw perhaps meath buckos  ;)
Post by: navanman on May 25, 2012, 11:47:54 AM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on May 24, 2012, 10:18:13 PM
Goes to show how much some people know if they think Mark Carroll" is starting. Mark Collins is number 11, Damian Carroll is a substitute.

Don't be such an arsehole. I made a mistake. I thought people would appreciate the team as soon as it came out. I'll put my knowledge of Meath football against anyone anyday, so forgive the mistake. 

Post by: thejuice on May 25, 2012, 02:20:49 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2012, 10:19:26 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 25, 2012, 10:02:44 AM
Televised?

Nil...................which is a shame as we have to witness tipp being cannon fodder for kerry  ::)

This will be a rasper of a game, cheeky fiver on the draw perhaps meath buckos  ;)

Meath 2/5 Wicklow

A draw 9/1

Collins 14/1 to score the first goal.  :-\
Post by: rrhf on May 25, 2012, 02:47:48 PM
We look forward to Meath fans waching this years games throught their fingers and regardless of the result here, I think  we all hope that the Banty project continues for another year or two.   Give it time lads...
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 25, 2012, 06:38:56 PM
Wicklow (SF v Meath): J Flynn; C Hyland, A McLoughlin, A Byrne; D Healy, M McLoughlin, S Kelly, J Stafford, R Finn, L Glynn, D O'Sullivan, D Hayden, T Hannon, S Furlong, J McGrath.
Post by: Go home ref on May 25, 2012, 06:44:27 PM
Ah lads reality check time Meath will win this game and they will win by 5 or 6 points at least Wicklow are dung Kildare held them to 5 points last year and they'll thump Carlow in the next game and will be filled with confidence for the semi final
Post by: thejuice on May 26, 2012, 11:55:13 AM
Getting hammered by Louth wasn't 100 years ago.

I do feel we will be better than we showed in the league but we are vulnerable and any confidence could prove brittle if Wicklow get a strong start.
Post by: thejuice on May 26, 2012, 12:09:27 PM
Also, our midfield pairing of Gillespie and Meade haven't really proven themselves. Meade has had flashes of great play over the last few years.
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 03:43:32 PM
Wicklow 0-04
Meath 0-00

After 12 mins
Post by: Blowitupref on May 27, 2012, 03:46:06 PM
First score for Meed after 15mins

0-5 to 0-1
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 03:47:16 PM
Wicklow 0-05
Meath 0-02

After 17 mins
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 27, 2012, 03:48:05 PM
We're working our way into the game, by the sounds of things.
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 03:50:38 PM
Wicklow 0-06
Meath 0-02

After 19 mins
Post by: Blowitupref on May 27, 2012, 03:51:27 PM
7-2 can Wickla keep it going?
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 27, 2012, 03:57:13 PM
Wicklow 0-07
Meath 0-04
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 03:57:56 PM
Wicklow 0-07
Meath 0-04

After 26 mins

Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 03:59:34 PM

Wicklow 0-07
Meath 0-05

After 28 mins

Farrell is getting the scores
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 27, 2012, 03:59:59 PM
Kevin Reilly is winning his battle.
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 04:03:12 PM

Wicklow 0-08
Meath 0-06

After 32 mins

Post by: Ard-Rí on May 27, 2012, 04:07:00 PM
That wind must be worth more than 2 points.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 27, 2012, 04:07:58 PM
HT Wicklow 0-8 Meath 0-7
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 04:08:10 PM
Wicklow 0-08
Meath 0-07

After 37 mins
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 04:13:52 PM
Took us a while to get going.

We need a good start to the second half. If Wicklow get early scores we might take a long time to catch them.
Post by: attheraces on May 27, 2012, 04:17:02 PM
Couldn't believe the score after 10 mins, is there a big wind lads?
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 04:28:20 PM
8 a piece now
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 27, 2012, 04:31:06 PM
Quote from: attheraces on May 27, 2012, 04:17:02 PM
Couldn't believe the score after 10 mins, is there a big wind lads?

Yes, according to the commentators.
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 04:35:05 PM
Wicklow 0-08
Meath 0-09

After 4 mins of 2nd half

Glynn off injured
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 04:37:09 PM

Wicklow 0-08
Meath 0-10

After 10 mins of 2nd half
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 04:38:13 PM
11 to 8 now. Finding our groove now
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 04:39:39 PM

11 to 9
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 04:44:15 PM
Meath 0-12
Wicklow 0-09

Post by: Ard-Rí on May 27, 2012, 04:50:27 PM
Meath 0-13
Wicklow 0-10
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2012, 04:50:56 PM
Close finish for this one
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 27, 2012, 04:59:51 PM
Wicklow man sent off. 2 mins normal time left.
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 27, 2012, 05:03:05 PM
8 mins injury time.
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 27, 2012, 05:09:04 PM
FT Score.

Meath 0-16
Wicklow 0-11
Post by: Jinxy on May 27, 2012, 07:42:30 PM
Job done today, need to get injured players back for the next day.
Cian Ward should be dropped.
Post by: Sea The Stars on May 27, 2012, 08:40:43 PM
Cian Ward worked hard. Didn't get his hands on a lot of ball but can't be faulted for effort. He's playing out of position to accomodate Joe Sheridan and Brian Farrell who between them gave up plenty of possession very cheaply. Although that was a bit more like the 2007 Farrell who only needs a glimpse of the posts.

Banty needs to refine the tactics. A lot of players are very nervous kicking the ball more than 30 yards (Gillespie, Menton, Meade, Burke). Joe dosen't want to run out to the wings either which in turn makes it hard for Farrell to make a run. When Farrell does run, he tries to use his hips to edge his marker out of the way but then leaves the ball behind him. How many times did that happen today. I thought Joe looked plenty slow enough but credit to him, he showed leadership when it was needed most. I think he's an enigma.

Meade had a good day and Gillespie gradually got into it. Bigey was a good choice for midfield - thought he'd start there after his performance there in Boardsmill a few weeks ago. But in saying all that, I think there'll be better midfields down the road.

Donal Keoghan turned out to be best of the debutants although Tobin was solid. Burke and Kevin Reilly did their jobs but McAnarney had a rough time of it I thought. Of the other new faces, Forde did okay but the game slipped by Mark Collins a bit. Which was disappointing. Although he did produce a couple of nice passes. A lovely effortless kicker and glides around the place when he soloes. I hope things work better for him the next day.

Hard luck to Wicklow.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2012, 10:56:21 PM
I see Banty couldn't in even "We", it was Meath this and they that, a broken man...
Post by: Jinxy on May 27, 2012, 11:37:52 PM
Seanie will be the same Dinny.
"Me and the Kildare lads gave it 100%".
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2012, 11:39:55 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 27, 2012, 11:37:52 PM
Seanie will be the same Dinny.
"Me and the Kildare guys gave it 100%".

Corrected that for you.
Post by: Jinxy on May 27, 2012, 11:51:58 PM
"Seanie Johnston and the Kildare guys gave it 100%."  ;)
Post by: Go home ref on May 28, 2012, 01:50:47 PM
After a bad start Meath walked it they'll destroy Carlow next and be flying for the semi final the sleeping giant will awake
Post by: Jinxy on May 28, 2012, 03:30:38 PM
(http://www.reformparliament.co.uk/images/laughing-horse.jpg)
Post by: Declan on May 28, 2012, 04:26:50 PM
General consensus last night was that Meade was the star turn. Locals happy with back six but big doubts about HF line and mobility of FF line - Bandwagon just in first gear
Post by: Jinxy on May 28, 2012, 06:08:31 PM
Meade won so much ball because he was jumping against a wing-back.
That won't happen again.