GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: DownFanatic on May 15, 2012, 10:22:19 AM

Title: USFC: Fermanagh v Down: Brewster Park: 3/6/12
Post by: DownFanatic on May 15, 2012, 10:22:19 AM
Paddy Power have us 4/9 to win. I think that tag is justified. Fermanagh wil be no pushovers but we should have too much for them.
Title: Re: USFC: Fermanagh v Down: Brewster Park: 3/6/12
Post by: southdown on May 15, 2012, 10:47:35 AM
Who is currently on our injury list?
Post by: BennyCake on May 15, 2012, 04:01:03 PM
Isn't Dan Gordon injured?
Post by: PAULD123 on May 15, 2012, 05:43:54 PM
Benny, Liam Doyle, Dan Gordon, Anton McCardle and Damien Rafferty are all definitely out. Hughes, Rooney and Gerrard McCartan are all doubtful ( the last couple simply because of match fitness/sharpness). Gough and McComiskey have not been selected for the squad, Keith Quinn is in USA (or somewhere else anyway)

Fermanagh will be high in confidence and will really be up for it. This will not be an easy game and any victory will be welcome.

Getting home with any victory and my head gasket intact would be considered a majorly good day for me, as in 2009 I lost both the game and my car on the same day.
Post by: FermGael on May 15, 2012, 10:22:26 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on May 15, 2012, 10:22:19 AM
Paddy Power have us 4/9 to win. I think that tag is justified. Fermanagh wil be no pushovers but we should have too much for them.

Without a doubt.  Sure you have a great record in Fermanagh.........

Fermanagh had a good league campaign and got into a good winning habit.
Had a second half to forget in the League final.  But it probably highlighted a few things that needed changed.
Tommy McElroy would be a big doubt as he has not played too much this year.
Hopefully James Sherry will be back to man the middle.
Apart from that i think (fingers crossed - last league games tomorrow night), we have a clear bill of health.

Down have well documented problems at full back and Quigley will take the focus of the rest of our forwards.
Corrigan showed how good he is when we supply him with the correct ball.
Am expecting Fermanagh to put 12 men behind the ball and play on the counter.
Just hoping that Down are arrogant enough to let us play that system.
Post by: PAULD123 on May 16, 2012, 10:44:30 AM
Further to yesterday's post - Danny Hughes moves from doubtful to highly unlikley. He is not training and cannot not run. So It can not be expected he will field on June 3rd
Post by: 5 Sams on May 16, 2012, 11:02:06 AM
Quote from: FermGael on May 15, 2012, 10:22:26 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on May 15, 2012, 10:22:19 AM

Without a doubt.  Sure you have a great record in Fermanagh.........

Fermanagh had a good league campaign and got into a good winning habit.
Had a second half to forget in the League final.  But it probably highlighted a few things that needed changed.
Tommy McElroy would be a big doubt as he has not played too much this year.
Hopefully James Sherry will be back to man the middle.
Apart from that i think (fingers crossed - last league games tomorrow night), we have a clear bill of health.

Down have well documented problems at full back and Quigley will take the focus of the rest of our forwards.
Corrigan showed how good he is when we supply him with the correct ball.
Am expecting Fermanagh to put 12 men behind the ball and play on the counter.
Just hoping that Down are arrogant enough to let us play that system.

Is Quigley not hurt?
Post by: haranguerer on May 16, 2012, 11:55:19 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on May 16, 2012, 10:44:30 AM
Further to yesterday's post - Danny Hughes moves from doubtful to highly unlikley. He is not training and cannot not run. So It can not be expected he will field on June 3rd

I've noticed that about the hoor

No 5sams, hes a bit swollen round the middle aright, but nothing to worry about, if hes here that is
Post by: ExiledGael on May 16, 2012, 03:42:04 PM
Is this one of BBC's deferred games or live?
Should be very interesting but Down have to be favourites.
Post by: whitegoodman on May 16, 2012, 08:30:42 PM
Paul, where did u hear that about Danny?  It was in the local papers this wk that he was back in full training and was just not match sharp.  But given what they are like I wouldnt have much faith in the local papers.  If ur right then arguably r 3 best players are all out.  This has turned from a tricky assignment into a very dangerous assignment especially considering our record down there wouldnt be fantastic.

Rooney and Gerrard McCartan have both played club league games recently so i would say they will be available for selection.  Given the current likely injuries  I can see this being something like what James picks ( not necessarily my selection.

McVeigh
D McCartan
B McArdle
A Brannigan
Rooney
McKernan
Garvey
King
Rodgers
Maginn
Poland
Carr
McConville
E McCartan
Laverty

Not a forward line that would inspire u and a million miles away from the quality that was there just 2 years ago imo.  No Coulter, Clarke, Hughes, McCumisky or Murtagh, basically a whole forward line gone for various reasons.
Post by: SHEEDY on May 16, 2012, 09:04:14 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on May 16, 2012, 08:30:42 PM
Paul, where did u hear that about Danny?  It was in the local papers this wk that he was back in full training and was just not match sharp.  But given what they are like I wouldnt have much faith in the local papers.  If ur right then arguably r 3 best players are all out.  This has turned from a tricky assignment into a very dangerous assignment especially considering our record down there wouldnt be fantastic.

Rooney and Gerrard McCartan have both played club league games recently so i would say they will be available for selection.  Given the current likely injuries  I can see this being something like what James picks ( not necessarily my selection.

McVeigh
D McCartan
B McArdle
A Brannigan
Rooney
McKernan
Garvey
King
Rodgers
Maginn
Poland
Carr
McConville
E McCartan
Laverty

Not a forward line that would inspire u and a million miles away from the quality that was there just 2 years ago imo.  No Coulter, Clarke, Hughes, McCumisky or Murtagh, basically a whole forward line gone for various reasons.
probably not far away from the team that james will pick. you add caolan mooney to the list of forwards that are missing from last year. a lot of quality missing for 1 reason or another. brewster park now looks a real banana skin.
Post by: Mourne Rover on May 16, 2012, 10:56:17 PM
Whitegoodman's side may not be far off, bar some positional changes, but Rooney's long absence means that McParland is a more likely starter in the half back line.
Post by: DownFanatic on May 17, 2012, 09:30:31 AM
Just to clear up the McComiskey situation. McComiskey wasn't dropped by Wee James, as he was never part of the NFL squad. The news story that the Irish News carried a few months ago that McComiskey was returning to the squad was totally fabricated and without foundation.
Post by: FermGael on May 17, 2012, 02:00:39 PM
SEAN Quigley hurt as far as i know.
Had an operation on a hernia problem.

E Maguire away to England because of work according to Fermanagh's head of spin.

That Down line up may not be there strongest but then again, why would they need to be.
Sure we are only a wee division 4 team who struggled all year to get promotion.

Post by: whitegoodman on May 17, 2012, 08:26:44 PM
Mourne rover I get ur point on Rooney being out for a while but i still would expect James to pick him. James seems to like him and put him straight in against donegal in his first year when Rooney hadn't kicked a ball all year.

He may even play Rooney and Mcparland and push mckernan up especially if Danny is out.

Down fanatic can you provide any info on whether mccumiskey was asked back and declined or just wasn't asked?? I would find it pretty strange if he wasn't asked back given our current injuries, similar with murtagh.

Which would u fancy, mcconville McCartan laverty or mccumiskey Murtagh laverty......
Post by: PAULD123 on May 18, 2012, 08:51:28 AM
Quote from: whitegoodman on May 16, 2012, 08:30:42 PM

I heard it from a family member (his not mine!). Now I have to admit I was evesdropping but his exact statement in answer to the question "How's the Danny boy getting on?" was "Well he's injured at the moment". Then when asked if he had not been training recently the response was that while he probably did bits and pieces of training he wouldn't be doing much as he couldn't really run properly.

Of course given the level of fitness these guys retain it only needs the muscle to be fully healed for them to go straight back into a match situation. They don't need a period of regaining fitness. The comparison is Doyler who, having been out so long, had lost his retained fitness and had a long period of training to get back to county standard. So Danny has two more weeks of healing which is 25% more healing time since the injury occurred. So it is possible he will take part.
Post by: supersub on May 18, 2012, 10:10:07 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on May 17, 2012, 09:30:31 AM
Just to clear up the McComiskey situation. McComiskey wasn't dropped by Wee James, as he was never part of the NFL squad. The news story that the Irish News carried a few months ago that McComiskey was returning to the squad was totally fabricated and without foundation.

McComiskey has opted out of squad for the season, end of.
Post by: FermGael on May 21, 2012, 10:22:58 PM
McCluskey is out.  Huge loss for Fermanagh.

http://fermanaghherald.com/2012/05/21/mccluskey-out-for-championship/ (http://fermanaghherald.com/2012/05/21/mccluskey-out-for-championship/)
QuoteMcCluskey out for Championship
May 21, 2012 at 7:25 pm

Ger Treacy, the Fermanagh senior football team liaison officer, has confirmed that Ryan McCluskey, the Fermanagh captain, won't be fit for the Championship clash with Down on June 3. McCluskey picked up a facial injury at training at the weekend with the initial diagnosis indicating a fracture of the sinus cavity.
"In lay-man's term that is the eyebrow region,"  Treacy explained to the Fermanagh Herald on Monday.
"There is no hope of him making June 3rd," Treacy continued.

McCluskey was to stay in the Erne Hospital over night on Monday with a further assessment in Altnagelvin on Tuesday.
"Obviously it is terrible news for the whole squad," Treacy revealed, "but it just awful for Ryan in particular. He has completely dedicated himself to the squad this season and he has bought into everything. He is a tremendous captain and I know he was looking forward to getting back out on the field in the Ulster Championship."
Post by: Leo on May 22, 2012, 12:01:26 AM
Quote from: supersub on May 18, 2012, 10:10:07 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on May 17, 2012, 09:30:31 AM

McComiskey has opted out of squad for the season, end of.

Don't think we are so strong that James wouldn''t have been moving heaven and earth to get him back.
Then again he couldn't get him off quick enough when he was playing - including that bizarre and losing move against Cork in Croker 2010.
Post by: Keane on May 22, 2012, 12:30:27 PM
McCluskey is a loss for Fermanagh, probably tempers the news about Down's injuries somewhat. News on Danny Hughes in the last couple of days seems to be more positive as well.
Post by: supersub on May 22, 2012, 01:23:36 PM
Hughes played v Armagh the other day aye
Post by: seafoid on May 22, 2012, 03:10:47 PM
Fermanagh got to the ulster final a few years ago and the AISF in 2004. 
Where did it go wrong afterwards?
Post by: NP 76 on May 23, 2012, 09:24:13 AM
Heard last night Niall Mc Parland to miss out as he broke his hand in training out for 6 weeks
Post by: southdown on May 23, 2012, 12:56:00 PM
Anyone suggest a bar in Berlin where I can watch this? 
Post by: waitingforsam on May 23, 2012, 01:21:13 PM
IS this match live anywhere? tv3? rte?

Typical BBC deferred nonsense - why dont they just park the bus on their GAA coverage.

Absolute joke.

Post by: ExiledGael on May 23, 2012, 03:54:54 PM
Is this definitely deferred?
Load of shite, but it's the GAA's fault. They insist on only a certain number of games being shown live, an attempt to increase attendances.
Not much BBC can do about it.
Post by: PAULD123 on May 24, 2012, 10:51:10 AM
Well thank goodness I was wrong about Danny Hughes. I know I heard right but it can only lead me to conclude that the conversation I overheard was Danny's family member bluffing the guy he was speaking to. Either that or perhaps he was waiting on physio permission to run full speed and, so at that time, genuinely was still considered injured.

At any rate looks like we have him back and Doyler too. Great timing with Doyler regaining fitness as we have just lost McParland. That means that most likely Doyler will play CHB with McKernan and Garvey. I would have preferred to see McKernan at half-forward. He is strong, fast, fit and skilful in that position but in defence he is often a liability.

I see some players were released among them Rooney and G McCartan. I wonder if it is to help them gain match practice or does it mean that they are not being considered to start. I see McCardle wasn't released so can we presume he is in line for the No.3 jersey?
Post by: snoopdog on May 29, 2012, 04:49:01 PM
I Believe Aidan Burns of Castlewellan has been called up to the Down squad for the Championship.  A bit of height on the edge of the Square???
Can anyone confirm this??
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 29, 2012, 05:00:19 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 22, 2012, 03:10:47 PM
Fermanagh got to the ulster final a few years ago and the AISF in 2004. 
Where did it go wrong afterwards?
It called punching above one's weight.
Post by: PAULD123 on May 29, 2012, 10:30:03 PM
Any predictions for the team on Sunday I think it may be like this:

1. B.McVeigh, 2. D.McCartan, 3. C.Garvey, 4. A.Brannigan, 5. K.McKernan, 6. L.Doyle, 7. D.Rooney, 8. A.Rodgers, 9. K.King, 10. D.Hughes, 11. M.Poland, 12. A.Carr, 13. C.Maginn, 14. E.McCartan, 15. C.Laverty

If Rooney not fit enough then Garvey to No.7 and McCardle to No.3.

Personally I would rather see McCardle at FB, Rooney and Garvey at Wing-back and McKernan lined out instead of Maginn. That makes us much stronger defensively and allows us to make use of McKernan's athleticism in getting forward. If we are going to play a 2-man forward line then I would rather be honest about it, instead of playing a forward (Maginn) as a defender.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on May 30, 2012, 05:40:27 PM
Quote from: FermGael on May 17, 2012, 02:00:39 PM
That Down line up may not be there strongest but then again, why would they need to be.

I like that veiled confidence, unusual for a Fermanagh man.  Methinks you have spent time in Co Down. ;)

Ps:  Heard today from a reliable source that Danny H will start.
Post by: FermGael on May 30, 2012, 06:28:50 PM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on May 30, 2012, 05:40:27 PM

I like that veiled confidence, unusual for a Fermanagh man.  Methinks you have spent time in Co Down. ;)

spent a couple of years in antrim back in my student days but never down.

believe me its not confidence.
cannot see  seamie playing on Sunday now either.

Post by: saffron sam2 on May 30, 2012, 11:14:20 PM
Quote from: southdown on May 23, 2012, 12:56:00 PM

Watched Armagh Derry game last year in Oscar Wilde's. Google it.

Although why any bar steward would sully their (see how easy it is EG / FG) bar with Fermangah is beyond me.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on May 31, 2012, 07:38:25 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on May 30, 2012, 11:14:20 PM

Although why any bar steward would sully their (see how easy it is EG / FG) bar with Fermangah is beyond me.

Maybe cause Oscar went to school in Enniskillen
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 31, 2012, 08:18:09 AM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on May 31, 2012, 07:38:25 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on May 30, 2012, 11:14:20 PM

Maybe cause Oscar went to school in Enniskillen

Yes, that worked out well for him.
Post by: wanderer on May 31, 2012, 12:53:20 PM
Quote from: FermGael on May 30, 2012, 06:28:50 PM

I had heard a rumour, is the old ways coming back to haunt him?
Post by: whitegoodman on May 31, 2012, 01:20:21 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on May 29, 2012, 10:30:03 PM
Any predictions for the team on Sunday I think it may be like this:

1. B.McVeigh, 2. D.McCartan, 3. C.Garvey, 4. A.Brannigan, 5. K.McKernan, 6. L.Doyle, 7. D.Rooney, 8. A.Rodgers, 9. K.King, 10. D.Hughes, 11. M.Poland, 12. A.Carr, 13. C.Maginn, 14. E.McCartan, 15. C.Laverty

If Rooney not fit enough then Garvey to No.7 and McCardle to No.3.

Personally I would rather see McCardle at FB, Rooney and Garvey at Wing-back and McKernan lined out instead of Maginn. That makes us much stronger defensively and allows us to make use of McKernan's athleticism in getting forward. If we are going to play a 2-man forward line then I would rather be honest about it, instead of playing a forward (Maginn) as a defender.

Dont think u will be that far away with that team Paul.  At this stage I dont see Rooney starting so McArdle to FB and Garvey to wing back.  Darren O Hagan may also be close to getting a slot in defence with McKernan moving up in place of Maginn.  I would say ur forward line is bout right with Donal O Hare close as well.

The half back line of McKernan Doyle and Garvey could cause them a lot of trouble going forward but defensively it would give you nightmares thinking bout it.  Forward line looks very lightweight and ya would wonder were all the scores are going to come from apart from Carr frees.  Can you see any of that forward line chipping in with 3 from play apart from maybe Laverty?
Post by: FermGael on May 31, 2012, 01:29:37 PM
Quote from: wanderer on May 31, 2012, 12:53:20 PM
Quote from: FermGael on May 30, 2012, 06:28:50 PM

I had heard a rumour, is the old ways coming back to haunt him?

All i know is that he did not train on Tuesday.
Maybe its all part of Peter's masterplan.
Time will tell.

Fermanagh team for Sunday is due to be announced tonight.
Post by: southdown on May 31, 2012, 02:59:59 PM
Can anyne confirm what's going on with Quigley? Rumours say he was on the beer on Monday, only rumours though.
Post by: FermGael on May 31, 2012, 03:15:50 PM
Quote from: southdown on May 31, 2012, 02:59:59 PM
Can anyne confirm what's going on with Quigley? Rumours say he was on the beer on Monday, only rumours though.

Rumours he is renting a house in Straffan.
Post by: DownFanatic on May 31, 2012, 03:50:00 PM
You can all talk about Championship being a different kettle of fish to the League but the fact of the matter is that we are a Division 1 team and Fermanagh are a Division 4 team. The gulf in class is sizeable. No matter how players react on the day etc, we should be at least four points better than the Erne men.
Post by: snoopdog on May 31, 2012, 05:24:50 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on May 31, 2012, 03:50:00 PM
You can all talk about Championship being a different kettle of fish to the League but the fact of the matter is that we are a Division 1 team and Fermanagh are a Division 4 team. The gulf in class is sizeable. No matter how players react on the day etc, we should be at least four points better than the Erne men.

Should be but with Down that doesnt matter we have fallen many times to so called weaker opposition.
Even in 2010 Longford could have taken us in Newry if it wasnt for a somewhat dubious penalty awarded to us on the day. Offaly should have beaten us in Tullamore.
Then last year clare nearly took us. Add that to Wicklow and Fermanagh in 2009.
You can never take anything for granted following Down. It says a lot about management over the years if they cant get a team up for playing every match in my opinion.
Mccartan said as much about this tie. Surely its his job to ensure that the Down players go out on that field against any team with their heads firmly set on the job in hand and to treat all games equally.
If Down get beat on Sunday which i dont believe we will, McCartan will be gone once the qualifiers end.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 31, 2012, 09:07:47 PM
Quigley named to start at full forward.
Post by: ardtole on May 31, 2012, 09:26:21 PM
Where is the best spot in enniskillen for pints after the game?
Post by: FermGael on May 31, 2012, 10:01:05 PM
Fermanagh team:(apparently  ::))
                R Gallagher;
N Bogue, B Owens (cpt), N McGovern;
D Kelly, B Cox, B Mulrone;
      S Lyons, E Donnelly;
D Keenan, B Og Maguire, R Jones;
T Corrigan, S Quigley, S McCabe

Quote from: ardtole on May 31, 2012, 09:26:21 PM
Where is the best spot in enniskillen for pints after the game?

Well if you a want a pre or after match pint there is a club house in the grounds.  Its at the back of the covered stand.
Great Pints of Guinness. 

For later there proabably the Corner bar, Magees, Pat's, Blakes of the Hollow and Charlies.
Best pints up the town would be Charlies or Blakes of the Hollow.
Post by: Midlands Man on May 31, 2012, 10:18:52 PM
Whens the down team been named?
Post by: Fermanaghandsam on May 31, 2012, 10:21:54 PM
I would be shocked if that was the team to start on Sunday, I would expect about 4 changes before kick off, just hope the unit isn't one of them.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 31, 2012, 10:52:08 PM
From Official Down GAA.
James names his side to face Fermanagh and has named one debutant from the Clonduff Club Arthur Mc Conville in the full forward position and Darren O' Hagan on his third
appearance in the championship gets the corner back position .

1 Brendan McVeigh
2 Daniel McCartan
3 Brendan McArdle
4 Darren O'Hagan
5 Aiden Branagan
6 Kevin McKernan
7 Conor Garvey
8 Ambrose Rogers
9 Kalum King
10 Daniel Hughes
11 Mark Poland
12 Aidan Carr
13 Conor Laverty
14 Arthur McConville
15 Conor Maginn

Weakest Down Championship team in years.
Post by: Midlands Man on May 31, 2012, 11:04:20 PM
Strange looking outfit.
Post by: thewobbler on May 31, 2012, 11:06:50 PM
That's a big statement 5 Sams. 11 of those fellas have played in an All Ireland final. Nearly every one of them has been playing a pretty big role since Wee James took over. Yeah we've lost the marquee players that potentially could make us contenders, but never underestimate the value of experience and consistency.

I'd say just about any team we put out in the noughties was weaker than this. With Maginn, Carr and Poland pulling the strings we'll make plenty of chances. The only square peg is still McKernan; cracking footballer but not the CHB Down needs in front of our full back line.

Post by: No1 on May 31, 2012, 11:12:12 PM
QuoteWhere is the best spot in enniskillen for pints after the game?

Willie Ramblers was serious value in 2009, I vaguely remember the Fermanagh minor team coming in to drown their sorrows with a crowd of Down men who you'd have thought were celebrating a famous victory.   ;D

It's called Jaggers now I believe.
Post by: Midlands Man on May 31, 2012, 11:13:41 PM
Whys Doyle not starting?
Post by: Mourne Rover on May 31, 2012, 11:16:17 PM
It's hard to see that as a particularly  weak line-up, and there are not too many who can genuinely feel hard done by. Doyle's absence is a blow, but hopefully a little more time will do the job for him. O'Hagan is a fine prospect, who was not involved during the league at all but should be an asset. While the rest of the side is largely as expected,  James sometimes likes the odd late switch or two.

There is no point in thinking about players who are out of the country for various reasons, and with a bit of luck Rooney, McParland,  Gordon and Benny are all getting closer to fitness. A little further discussion with McComiskey would still be a good idea, but, on the strength of our league performances, the team is reasonably close to the best we can manage at the moment.

Down supporters will be acutely aware that we have only gone to Fermanagh in the championship twice in the last 30 years and lost on both occasions with squads in 1983 definitely and in 2009 probably more accomplished on paper than our representatives on Sunday.

However, even against a side which has been preparing for this game since the draw was made, a county which finished third in division one should still be capable of producing a serious display in Enniskillen.
Post by: FermGael on May 31, 2012, 11:33:31 PM
I give up.
I have never heard more rumours about one man in my life.
Post by: Pangurban on May 31, 2012, 11:53:08 PM
Far from our strongest team, but should be good enough to beat Fermanagh, meaning no disrepect to Fermanagh
Post by: 5 Sams on June 01, 2012, 12:46:47 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 31, 2012, 11:06:50 PM
That's a big statement 5 Sams. 11 of those fellas have played in an All Ireland final. Nearly every one of them has been playing a pretty big role since Wee James took over. Yeah we've lost the marquee players that potentially could make us contenders, but never underestimate the value of experience and consistency.

I'd say just about any team we put out in the noughties was weaker than this. With Maginn, Carr and Poland pulling the strings we'll make plenty of chances. The only square peg is still McKernan; cracking footballer but not the CHB Down needs in front of our full back line.

I know what you're sayin Wobbs but we were weak in a lot of positions in the 2010 AIF as well (starting and subs)...do I need to spell it out??
Post by: southdown on June 01, 2012, 09:03:56 AM
A lot of playmakers in the forward line but my main concern is where the scores will come from.  Apart from Laverty there is nobody there I would consider a scoring forward.   

Do not be suprised if this team is changed before Sunday.

Post by: whitegoodman on June 01, 2012, 01:09:45 PM
Would agree with that, 4 half fowards none of them prolific, a midfielder and Laverty who until the last few games of the league wasnt getting the scores that his general play deserved.

Maybe Fermanaghs defence is very poor but I dont know where all the scores are going to come from.
Post by: No. 6 on June 01, 2012, 04:16:52 PM
The half back line will most likely outscore the forwards as usual  :-\  If Liam Doyle is fit & playing CHB he'll hit frees, Conor Garvey will always be a threat of 1 or 2 pts.
Post by: everymanaman on June 02, 2012, 12:28:48 AM
The trigley in the full forward line won't feature for Fermanagh on Sunday, or indeed, any time soon. The days of the inter county overweight, beer slugging full forwards has gone. Jimmy Keavney wanabees no longer cut the mustard in the modern game
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 02, 2012, 01:06:03 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 31, 2012, 10:52:08 PM
From Official Down GAA.
James names his side to face Fermanagh and has named one debutant from the Clonduff Club Arthur Mc Conville in the full forward position and Darren O' Hagan on his third
appearance in the championship gets the corner back position .

1 Brendan McVeigh
2 Daniel McCartan
3 Brendan McArdle
4 Darren O'Hagan
5 Aiden Branagan
6 Kevin McKernan
7 Conor Garvey
8 Ambrose Rogers
9 Kalum King
10 Daniel Hughes
11 Mark Poland
12 Aidan Carr
13 Conor Laverty
14 Arthur McConville
15 Conor Maginn

Weakest Down Championship team in years.

Should we expect a shock on the cards?
Post by: Mid Down Gael on June 03, 2012, 10:46:41 AM
Good luck to the Down team today.
Post by: western exile on June 03, 2012, 11:23:30 AM
The points are well made by posters regarding the strong footballers who are missing from the Down squad for various reasons.  However the weakness of the selection for today is exaggerated.
For example,  12 of today's starting 15 beat All-Ireland champions Dublin only a few weeks ago.  And only 3 of them started when they lost  v. Fermanagh at this fixture 3 years ago.
Even allowing for some players short of match practice, and even allowing for possible wet weather, there should be no surprise result. The favourites might struggle, but should win.
Post by: EC Unique on June 03, 2012, 12:20:16 PM
Good luck to Peter in his first county senior championship match as a manager. First of many I would guess.
Post by: Link on June 03, 2012, 12:46:06 PM
Is this on tv?
Post by: GAA_Talk on June 03, 2012, 01:15:11 PM
Quote from: Link on June 03, 2012, 12:46:06 PM
Is this on tv?

Deferred coverage on BBC2 at 7.30 which I doubt many will be watching as the game will be long over with the result already known to most.
Post by: FermGael on June 03, 2012, 02:25:47 PM
Big crowd here all ready
Post by: outinfront on June 03, 2012, 04:36:23 PM
Down's Brendan McVeigh off injured.
Post by: rrhf on June 03, 2012, 05:48:09 PM
Well
Post by: AQMP on June 03, 2012, 06:52:22 PM
Hate to say it but Fermanagh were woeful.  Down could have won that by 15 if they wanted to.
Post by: gortnaleck on June 03, 2012, 07:37:05 PM
I cant find the game ,just some program About Singapore in 1942
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2012, 07:38:33 PM
One point by Fermanagh in 34 minutes no wonder they lost.
Post by: John o connor on June 03, 2012, 07:42:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2012, 07:17:41 PM
Fermanagh should be fcuked off with the ref after seeing the 1st 10 minutes here. Tomas Corrigan getting the shit kicked out of him - Conor Garvey and Dan McCartan did as bad as Keenan. Another boy punched Marty McGrath in the face.
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2012, 07:25:27 PM
I don't usually mind Sidebottom but he has been a right pain in the hole this last 20 minutes.

Any more words of wisdom on the game you prat
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2012, 07:49:08 PM
Quote from: gortnaleck on June 03, 2012, 07:37:05 PM
I cant find the game ,just some program About Singapore in 1942

Was it any good?
Post by: Agent Orange on June 03, 2012, 07:59:12 PM
down wont beatMonaghan
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2012, 08:17:24 PM
Yes, the referee beat Fermanagh and favoured Down in every single department, twas a disgrace to be honest.
if it hadnt been for that pesky ref ffs!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 03, 2012, 08:18:25 PM
Powerful stuff altogether.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2012, 08:21:57 PM
Yeah totally agree with you, you're spot on.
Hard to argue with your logic.....the ref totally screwed Fermanagh from start to finish, gave nothing to them and everything to Down
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2012, 08:25:13 PM
very poor game, all the games in ulster have been pretty poor this year, it be up to the tyrone armagh game to save the day as donegal derry the week after will make even the hardy gaa supporter cry. Down won handy enough, but when keenan was sent off  how the guy clipping mcgrath in front of the linesman not get sent off, suppose mcgrath didnt lie down!! Down last goal was well finished but took the ball straight of the ground, down probably would have won anyway but the swing at mcgrath along the sideline in front of the linesman beat me!!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2012, 08:25:37 PM
im agreeing with ye.
whats problem.

we all now that Down are dirt.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 03, 2012, 08:27:20 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2012, 08:19:42 PM
Well, FFS, Down should have had a man put off and a goal disallowed.

You not agree?
Would go as far as to say FACT.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2012, 08:28:41 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on June 03, 2012, 07:59:12 PM
down wont beatMonaghan

Down or Monaghan won't trouble Armagh,Donegal or Tyrone in the Ulster final.
Post by: trileacman on June 03, 2012, 08:29:01 PM
I agree with hardstation, Sidebottom is a bollocks.

Is it true his real name is Mark Sidemouth but his mother changed it because he mostly talks out of his arse?
Post by: FermGael on June 03, 2012, 08:35:10 PM
Fair play to down. beat us in second gear.
Keenan was stupid and whatever game plan Fermanagh had was out the window.
Marty and tommy tried hard today but were clearly not fit.
Quigley should have started.(Conor not the other one). Played really well and drove at the down defence.

Peter Canavan covering for Seamie Quigley.
I have heard it all now. time to grow a set Peter and show him the door.
You cannot build a team around that man.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2012, 08:37:15 PM
Quote from: trileacman on June 03, 2012, 08:29:01 PM
I agree with hardstation, Sidebottom is a bollocks.

Is it true his real name is Mark Sidemouth but his mother changed it because he mostly talks out of his arse?

Worst 35 minutes of football I've ever watched. Didn't bother with the second half
Post by: omagh_gael on June 03, 2012, 08:41:27 PM
It's a good job Spillane and Brolly didn't witness this game after the sh1t they talked on RTE earlier. The pair of them would have spontaneously combusted.

Oh aye forgot. What the fcuk were the officials at that they missed McCartan, Branigan and Garvey's digs????
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2012, 08:47:10 PM
can someone actually shed some light as to why Quigley didnt start or what the deal is with him, whats the hullaballoo about. Also why didnt McCabe start?
Post by: haranguerer on June 03, 2012, 08:47:22 PM
Both down goals touched on the ground, keenan sent off for a punch to a down mans stomach, branigan not sent off for a punch to the face, not even a free against garvey when he forearm smashed corrigan. Consistent application of the rules for any one of those would have had a major effect on the game.

Post by: FermGael on June 03, 2012, 08:58:58 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2012, 08:47:10 PM
can someone actually shed some light as to why Quigley didnt start or what the deal is with him, whats the hullaballoo about. Also why didnt McCabe start?
McCabe picked up a bug and was not well.
As for Quigley its a disgrace he even came on.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2012, 09:02:36 PM
The guy seems to have this cult status, was just innocently wondering what the deal is with him.
the sending-off undoubtedly killled the game early on, but thought Fermanagh were very disappointing overall. Down werent much better but really thought Fermanagh would give them sterner test
Post by: tommysmith on June 03, 2012, 09:20:30 PM
Quote from: FermGael on June 03, 2012, 08:58:58 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2012, 08:47:10 PM
McCabe picked up a bug and was not well.
As for Quigley its a disgrace he even came on.

What did he do?
Post by: SHEEDY on June 03, 2012, 09:32:12 PM
pretty poor game today. down won in 2nd gear and i was a bit disappointed we didnt push on in the 2nd half and kill the game off. the sending off ruined any chance fermanagh had. big improvement needed for the next day but that run out will have helped alot of the players and hopefully dan gordan will be back.

best for down i thought were laverty.darren o'hagan.aiden branningan and benny mcardle. donal o'hare done well in the 1st half but faded in the 2nd. need more scores from the forwards the next day.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 03, 2012, 09:33:36 PM
Look for anyone that was at the game it was an awful spectacle. That was as bad as I seen when it comes to defensive formation from fermanagh. £20 into an uncovered, wooden seated stand to watch that leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

The facts were Keenan deserved to go, brannigan the same, the McCartan and Garvey incidents weren't even close to sendings off. Lavertys goal shouldnt have counted but it was noticeable that down were in 2nd gear for the majority of that game, never in danger and always looked like they could up it if they needed to. U can say what u want bout the sending off but down were the better team with better players by a distance.

Monaghan will be tougher but until freeman came on the also struggled against a poor Antrim team.  As for neither Monaghan or down troubling donegal, Tyrone or Armagh, let's see what is produced next wk as I wasn't overly impressed with donegal against Cavan. This ulster championship is anyone's.....
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 03, 2012, 09:57:33 PM
Keenan's was a sending-off every day of the week.

As was Brannigan's.

Disgraceful performance from Syl Doyle and his team.

Shocking but not surprising.
Post by: Onlooker on June 03, 2012, 09:59:30 PM
Disappointed with both sides, but hope that Down can improve.  Benny Coulter is obviously a huge loss, but they appear to have gone back a long way since 2010.   Down were never in any real danger of losing, but the referee really rode Fermanagh on a number of incidents.  He looks to be another one of those referees who gives the benefit of any doubt to the "big guns" and screws the "weaker counties".  Far too many of those kind of referees around these days.  I was not at all impressed with the way that Peter Canavan had Fermanagh set up.  Was I imagining it or did he say that Seamus Quigley had a hamstring injury and that was the reason he did not start.  A lot of posters seem to believe (know) that this was not the case.  Why did Canavan feel it necessary to put such a spin on the selection.   Not a good day at the office for Peter.  I agree 100% with Saffron Sam's post.
Post by: OdoSkimodo on June 03, 2012, 10:01:08 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2012, 09:55:07 PM
Think you're being a bit harsh on Tomas Corrigan. He didn't have a great game (who did?) but he was bucking his own goat in that forward line for a long time. Ref gave him little too.

Fair enough. May be I am being a bit harsh on the individual. However, he was really ineffective and the management should have reacted, either via substitution or rejigging
Post by: whitegoodman on June 03, 2012, 10:05:17 PM
Just watched it in Sunday game, for all the decisions that where against fermanagh (2), the free kick for their goal looked very generous but forget bout that cause all the decisiins go for the big teams, whoever they may be  ::)
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 03, 2012, 10:18:12 PM
It was a strange game, which lacked any real atmosphere and seemed to be overshadowed by the Quigley issue. Canavan did not handle it well, and the indications were that Fermanagh's morale suffered as a result. The only real option was to tell Quigley he would not be involved, but get a chance in the next game if he displayed the same commitment as the rest of the panel.

The early red card was always going to be crucial, but Keenan, who had been fouled, took revenge on the wrong player through a sly dig and could have few complaints. Branagan deserved to walk as well, although his punch was at least in the general vicinity of the ball.

There was a suspicion of handball about both of our goals, although we always seemed to have another gear when it mattered. Fermanagh's goal was quick thinking from them, and dreadful defending from us, but it was never a free in the first place.

Our management had a decent day, but they will know that Monaghan will be a very different proposition and we could be doing with Doyle back for his frees alone.

McVeigh varied his kick-outs generally well, and made a brave save at an important time. Our entire full back line scored from play, which must be a first, and McCartan's experience and O'Hagan's flair served us well. McArdle was excellent throughout, and never gave Quigley a sniff when he finally appeared.

All the space at the back suited McKernan, and Garvey as ever looked the part. Branagan, apart from the mad moment which may led to a retrospective suspension, was very effective, although he should have had a goal in the first half.

Ambrose displayed leadership and discipline, even when he was repeatedly targeted, and kicked one outstanding point. Kallum went about his work with total professionalism, kicked his first championship point and was just about man of the match.

The half forward line was a concern, and Brewster Park, where he was sent off three years ago, is not Carr's lucky ground. He lacked confidence after missing an early free and kept getting caught in possession. He did get an assist for our first goal, but he seemed to be blamed for the Fermanagh one and got replaced almost immediately. Poland put in a huge effort with little end product, apart from the pass for Laverty's goal.

Hughes and Maginn both did well, and were happy to cover our half backs when they pushed up. O'Hare had a great start, and has plenty of potential even if he faded after the break.  Laverty, as we know, is simply a special talent.

The subs did not have much to do, although Duffin hit a fine score and it was good to see Rooney getting back in the frame. All in all, a satisfactory if more than slightly unusual day.
Post by: The Worker on June 03, 2012, 10:21:10 PM
Some femanagh fans around me weren't best pleased when big seamus came on.

Disappointed with the way god had set up his team, expected a scalp in brewster today.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 03, 2012, 10:29:40 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2012, 10:16:10 PM
Would like to have seen the Garvey one again. Ball at Corrigan's feet and he gets two digs in the midrift. Keenan only hit Laverty one.

Have another look at it, if ya think it was a sending off ur saft!!!
Post by: babarino on June 03, 2012, 10:42:41 PM
Poor game ruined by the unfair sending off, not to mention clear pick up for the 2nd goal. Down are the better team and any hopes of Fermanagh doing a job on them were gone without a powerful target man up front and down to 14 men.

Down should be good enough to progress to progress to the final, but not if Monaghan get the breaks from the 'officials' that were given today.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 03, 2012, 10:48:56 PM
MR I would agree with most of what u said but I thought Hughes was quiet and maginn was poor. As hard as he works maginn gets knocked off the ball far too easy and offers little threat. Don't think u can affor him, Poland and Carr in the one forward line.

Mcardle and ohagans performances were very encouraging and gordon and rooney back would help the defence as well.  Midfield as long as they stay fit should put it up to most especially in ulster but although we could have enough to beat monaghan without coulter, after that would be a struggle.

Babarino I can understand the frustration of brannigan not getting sent off but keenans was a red card, I can't see how anyone can question that one.
Post by: Orangemac on June 03, 2012, 10:50:57 PM
Down undoubtedly got the breaks in terms of reffing decisions today but they probably would have came through this game anyway.

Loss of McCluskey and the whole Quigley debacle had unsettled Fermanagh. Test of Canavans management what to do with Quigley, best forward Fermanagh have but is he more trouble than he's worth. 6 months getting a team ready for a championship game and then he decides to start messing around the week beforehand. Would Mickey have had a man on the panel showing the same lack of commitment.

If Down don't improve on today Monaghan will give them their fill of it the next day.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2012, 11:01:24 PM
so is anyone gonna actually explain what quigley did that was so bad or at least hint at it
Post by: oakleafgael on June 03, 2012, 11:07:12 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2012, 11:01:24 PM
so is anyone gonna actually explain what quigley did that was so bad or at least hint at it

He went on the rip for a week.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2012, 11:12:30 PM
well if thats the case then he shouldnt have gotten near the field today.
Canavan covering for him is a bit questionable too.
is he a student or does he work or what..surely those close to him around him would have kept him right the week of a massive game..
Post by: Nally Stand on June 04, 2012, 02:14:18 AM
Quote from: babarino on June 03, 2012, 10:42:41 PM
Poor game ruined by the unfair sending off, not to mention clear pick up for the 2nd goal. Down are the better team and any hopes of Fermanagh doing a job on them were gone without a powerful target man up front and down to 14 men.

Down should be good enough to progress to progress to the final, but not if Monaghan get the breaks from the 'officials' that were given today.

I was supporting Fermanagh today, but I must ask....what makes a clear example of striking off the ball an 'unfair sending off?'?
Post by: nrico2006 on June 04, 2012, 08:52:29 AM
The tackle on Keenan deserved a red as did the punch on McGrath.  Don't understand this talk about Down only being in second gear, what performances are people comparing it to that showed they had many more 'gears' to go up through?
Post by: snoopdog on June 04, 2012, 09:15:11 AM
That was a very poor game. Down always looked like winning but Brannigan should have got the line and he prob wont be available for selection against monaghan. He will get a suspension for that. Our inability to shot from distance was worrying yesterday always had to do a lot to get a score especially in first half. McCommiskey Coulter and both Clarkes badly missed.
Laverty did pick the ball off the floor for 2nd goal. Does anyone know why ref gave a free in for the challenge where McVeigh went for the ball and won it and got injured.?  McVeigh was clearly injured after that but yet McCartan left him on the pitch.
I also thought with an extra man Down should have been using a short kick out.
Im not so sure about Down being in second gear yesterday. Will see how we go against Monaghan.
I assume that semi will be in Casement?
Post by: Main Street on June 04, 2012, 09:31:19 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 04, 2012, 02:14:18 AM

I was supporting Fermanagh today, but I must ask....what makes a clear example of striking off the ball an 'unfair sending off?'?
In context of all what happened in the game up until that point, it was unfair. Keenan himself  had just been thoroughly flattened off the ball by a player passing by, he got up and stupidly threw some sort of a punch while passing by another player, who went down roaring in agony, did he clutch his face when falling?
It was a hard game to watch. Down won't mind that they got though it without being seriously stretched.
Post by: supersarsfields on June 04, 2012, 09:38:53 AM
Was dragged up to this by the Missus despite protesting about delayed coverage and the possibility of a round of golf. And to be fair it was poor showing by both teams and the officials.
And to be honest i was disappointed with Canavan today. I know he has limited options and was restricted even further after the sending of, but leaving Corrigan up front as a ball winner was never going to work and I was surprised he ran with that for so long. Also very disappointed in himbringing Quigley on if the rumours are true. I wasn't chatting in Fermanagh man yesterday who wanted him involved. And considering his ability that's saying something.
Have to say the atmosphere in Brewster was terrible. The loudest cheer I heard from Fermanagh ones all day was when they lifted a 20 year old digger out of a bog!!
Post by: snoopdog on June 04, 2012, 10:37:57 AM
you would think athletic grounds. but when was a semi last played out of casement or clones?
Post by: Lecale2 on June 04, 2012, 10:45:51 AM
Athletic Grounds aren't big enough. Casement I reckon.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 04, 2012, 10:49:11 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on June 04, 2012, 08:50:17 AM
Not only was the referee poor but experienced linesmen were poor.  The strike on McGrath was clear to be seen but was ignored and the hammering on young Corrigan on the sideline was incredible, not in that it happened but that officials stood back and ignored several fouls.  I'm sure Canavan couldn't believe his eyes, what happened to getting a free when you get tapped on the shoulder or when you simply fell down or threw yourself to the ground?

The fall for the free that led to the fermanagh goal was a Pete the great special, Im sure he was very proud.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 04, 2012, 10:51:39 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 04, 2012, 08:52:29 AM
The tackle on Keenan deserved a red as did the punch on McGrath.  Don't understand this talk about Down only being in second gear, what performances are people comparing it to that showed they had many more 'gears' to go up through?

Jes if the tackle on Keenan was a sending off the game is getting softer and softer by the day.  It was a late shoulder, was a free kick, possible yellow card at most but to say it was  sending off is rediculous.  The type of tackle that happens 5 or 6 times in most matches and Id say that type of tackle will hit double figures next sunday and there wont be many complaints and rightly so.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 04, 2012, 11:02:32 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 04, 2012, 10:54:39 AM
Quote from: whitegoodman on June 04, 2012, 10:51:39 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 04, 2012, 08:52:29 AM

Jes if the tackle on Keenan was a sending off the game is getting softer and softer by the day.  It was a late shoulder, was a free kick, possible yellow card at most but to say it was  sending off is rediculous.  The type of tackle that happens 5 or 6 times in most matches and Id say that type of tackle will hit double figures next sunday and there wont be many complaints and rightly so.
Never a sending off for the late shoulder. Ref should have dealt with it though.

Agreed, a free kick at the time would have prevented Keenan's retaliation but still doesnt excuse it.  As feeble as the punch probably was,  it was  sending off.
Post by: snoopdog on June 04, 2012, 11:04:57 AM
athletic grounds holds nearly 20,000 big enough for Down v Monaghan. there wont be more than 17,000 at it id say. better a packed small venue than a half empty big one
Post by: The Worker on June 04, 2012, 11:35:38 AM
Did everyone get a ticket stub yesterday at the turnstile? Out of 3 of us, only 1 ticket stub was given.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 04, 2012, 11:39:39 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 04, 2012, 10:48:27 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 04, 2012, 10:37:57 AM
you would think athletic grounds. but when was a semi last played out of casement or clones?
Couple of years ago?

Quote from: Lecale2 on June 04, 2012, 10:45:51 AM
Athletic Grounds aren't big enough. Casement I reckon.
What does it hold?

Was it Derry v Fermanagh in Omagh? Fermanagh won and played Armagh in the final?
Post by: Lecale2 on June 04, 2012, 11:53:20 AM
Breffni Park is a lot larger than the Athletic Grounds. If they fix the semi final for the Armagh venue it will have to be all ticket.

I still reckon they'll bring it to Casement and get a 20,000+ crowd if it's a good day.
Post by: armaghniac on June 04, 2012, 12:50:57 PM
Armagh v Down last year, a defining rivalry, had 13000 at it. Armagh v Monaghan in Casement the previous year hadn't more than 3000 Monaghan people. No way will you get 20000+ currently.
Post by: Go home ref on June 04, 2012, 04:27:50 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on June 04, 2012, 09:38:53 AM
Was dragged up to this by the Missus despite protesting about delayed coverage and the possibility of a round of golf. And to be fair it was poor showing by both teams and the officials.
And to be honest i was disappointed with Canavan today. I know he has limited options and was restricted even further after the sending of, but leaving Corrigan up front as a ball winner was never going to work and I was surprised he ran with that for so long. Also very disappointed in himbringing Quigley on if the rumours are true. I wasn't chatting in Fermanagh man yesterday who wanted him involved. And considering his ability that's saying something.
Have to say the atmosphere in Brewster was terrible. The loudest cheer I heard from Fermanagh ones all day was when they lifted a 20 year old digger out of a bog!!

What are the rumours about Quigley?
Post by: AQMP on June 04, 2012, 07:13:42 PM
Quote from: Go home ref on June 04, 2012, 04:27:50 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on June 04, 2012, 09:38:53 AM

What are the rumours about Quigley?

Rumour is he's the most overrated footballer in Ulster since CJ McGourty.  Hang on that's actually not a rumour.

I was at the game then watched it again last night.  Sidebottom should get the sack after that commentating performance!  He hadn't the first clue.  Canavan didn't cover himself in glory either.  All in all a day to forget for Fermanagh players and management.  They might be worse than Antrim.  Fermanagh had 14 behind the ball with Tomas Corrigan up front for the first half hour.  How the feck do they expect to score enough to win a game playing like that?  Football is pure shite at the moment.  Virtually unwatchable.
Post by: PAULD123 on June 04, 2012, 08:36:01 PM
Regarding the referee in general it is silly talk to pick one or two incidents and say that he was resonsible for Fermanagh's loss. Yeah Laverty picked the ball off the ground but he was fouled all day with hardly a free given. Syl Doyle is well known for "letting the game flow" which in other words means letting so many fouls be commited that the losing team will always be able to find excuses. So Laverty got a three pointer after lifting the ball but if the refree had been applying the rules he would already have had about six scorebale frees off his play.

Fermanagh got a goal from free that should never have been. Down got a goal that should have been a free out. Fermanagh got two frees from fouls that were actually good tackles. Brannigan was lucky to escape punishment. Ambrose Rogers was cleaned out at least three times in midfield with no real protection from the referee..... This could go on and on......

The referee was bad but either team could point to what they felt were critical refree failings. At teh end of the day Down were better than Fermanagh and each time they eased up and fermanagh scored a few Down simply upped their level and built up another lead. Down were poor but easily good enough. Down were better and always better from start to end.
Post by: haranguerer on June 04, 2012, 08:45:33 PM
It could go on and on surely, but the fact is he sent off a fermanagh man, and didnt send off down men, when there was at least the same chance to do so.

Down werent better for the first 8 minutes.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 04, 2012, 09:23:17 PM
thats a matter of opinion.
Post by: haranguerer on June 04, 2012, 09:38:02 PM
Of course it is. As is yours if you differ  ;)
Post by: SHEEDY on June 04, 2012, 09:49:12 PM
ffs lads the referee didnt beat fermanagh. he missed a few decisions but did so for each team. down were clearly the better team without being great themselves. onwards to the semis. anyword on the venue?
Post by: tintin25 on June 04, 2012, 10:48:04 PM
Regardless of the unlucky/lucky decisions or whatever ya wanna call them, Fermanaghs tactics were brutal. Gameplan all wrong and team starting was questionable. Certain amount of blame has to lie with canavan. Sick of this blanket defence nonsense.
Post by: thewobbler on June 04, 2012, 11:01:57 PM
I'd ask a question to the Fermanagh folk up in arms with PTG's tactics

If your team went toe to toe, 15 vs 15 against Down, do you honestly believe it would have made for a better scoreline? I'm only asking as Down created about 30 scoring chances against a blanket defence, logic suggests it would have been even more chances, and easier chances, against a flat 6.
Post by: NP 76 on June 04, 2012, 11:15:57 PM
Honestly reading some of the comments before hand you would honestly think that Fermanagh were really hard done by yesterday . If they had of tried to play some kind of attacking football they may of had a chance but to leave one man up front was plain stupid . Down did get a few decisions their way yesterday granted but so did Fermanagh . Each time a Down man was on the ground he was punched and kneeded i counted one time Conor Laverty being hit 4 punches to the ribs by Shane Lyons so both sides were as guilty as the other. Any football played yesterday was by Down and with  Fermanagh having 15 players may of kept it a bit tighter but not by much i dont believe . Down went there yesterday to get the win which they did so move on to the next day
Post by: tintin25 on June 04, 2012, 11:17:04 PM
I honestly do think that Fermanagh would have stood a better chance had they actually been abit more attack minded. Corrigan had no support, although kille tried hard but was playing too deep. I don't really rate that down defense.
Post by: Gold on June 04, 2012, 11:51:58 PM
Keenan was buried after the ball had gone--he got up, Laverty was approaching him and he half swung at his stomach, almost in self defence expecting to be hit by Laverty, he didnt follow through or put any power into his 'punch.' Laverty disgraced himself lying down holding his bollix when any 'strike' was not near that region. Poor, Ashley Young type act.

The game was over at this point. I turned the radio off. Anything thereafter was nothing. The game was over.

Brannigan was a lucky boy. Only McGrath is a man and didnt make a big deal out of it and awful inept referreeing saved Brannigan and spoiled the game for any viewer/listener.

As for Quigley, not worth the trouble. We've the same problems in Antrim. Forget him

Ref must be gutted, he had a bad game
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 05, 2012, 12:12:22 AM
Quote from: Gold on June 04, 2012, 11:51:58 PM
Keenan was buried after the ball had gone
are ye for real...where i come from that aint burying someone.Catch yourself on.

Keenan was buried after the ball had gone--he got up, Laverty was approaching him and he half swung at his stomach, almost in self defence expecting to be hit by Laverty, he didnt follow through or put any power into his 'punch.' Laverty disgraced himself lying down holding his bollix when any 'strike' was not near that region.
In fairness if thon beast of a lad Laverty was trotting back into his position and passed me by so clearly aggressively and intimidating id shat my togs and hit him a dig too.
Its clear for anyone to see if ye strike out or lift a hand or flick a hand or whatever the ye run the risk of getting punished these days, Simply put, DONT F**KIN DO IT and ye wont wind up in trouble!!How can you judge how hard yer guy hit Laverty, in fairness a deft flick to the balls by an opponent could seem innocent enough but could potentially do damage.

Quote from: Gold on June 04, 2012, 11:51:58 PM.
Brannigan was a lucky boy. Only McGrath is a man and didnt make a big deal out of it and awful inept referreeing saved Brannigan and spoiled the game for any viewer/listener.
...well thank god for Marty being the manliest of men and resisting temptation to not make a meal of it. He wasnt so manly when he was getting up to all sorts of bullshit off the ball throughout the time he spent on the field, maybe would have suited his team's cause had he got on with playing football.
Post by: haranguerer on June 05, 2012, 12:23:06 AM
Brick, you're talking utter shite.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 05, 2012, 12:31:21 AM
Any man that thinks that Keenan was buried prior to the sendin off needs his head read.
Can you honestly tell me that Keenan was buried and that he probably struck out in self defence?
Do you agree or disagree that ye run the gauntlet these days if you lift a hand to your opponent?

in farness your reasoned and measured argument does have its merits...i can see the point youre making there..
Post by: nrico2006 on June 05, 2012, 08:46:34 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 05, 2012, 12:31:21 AM
Any man that thinks that Keenan was buried prior to the sendin off needs his head read.
Can you honestly tell me that Keenan was buried and that he probably struck out in self defence?
Do you agree or disagree that ye run the gauntlet these days if you lift a hand to your opponent?

in farness your reasoned and measured argument does have its merits...i can see the point youre making there..

Of course he was buried, what other are you going to try and paint it?
Post by: whitegoodman on June 05, 2012, 09:07:50 AM
Jes some of u are away in the head if ya think he was burried, ive seen harder hits at an under 12 match.

Come on a bit of perspective here boys, it was a late shoulder which didnt cause injury in any way.  It was a "letting him know he was there" tackle, many of which will be seen this sunday and have been seen for many years without being referred to as being burried.

Christ this place is getting worse....
Post by: PAULD123 on June 05, 2012, 03:28:05 PM
Keenan was buried after the ball had gone--he got up, Laverty was approaching him and he half swung at his stomach, almost in self defence expecting to be hit by Laverty, he didnt follow through or put any power into his 'punch.' Laverty disgraced himself lying down holding his bollix when any 'strike' was not near that region. Poor, Ashley Young type act.

The game was over at this point. I turned the radio off. Anything thereafter was nothing. The game was over.

Ah come on seriously. How can you even propose these comments. You weren't even watching it. Now let's get your lie out of the way, Laverty was not approaching him he was walking away in fact he saw him and walked in a different direction. Keenan had to walk over to him to hit him. But I guess the radio didn't tell you that

http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=3306761 (http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=3306761) (Min 17:56)

Self defence?????? Wouldn't that require something to defend himself against???? As Laverty didn't move to strike him, didn't raise his hands, didn't even try to shoulder him wouldn't that mean Keenan had nothing to defend himself against? So yeah that's right it would just be a pre-emptive assault then? Maybe I could walk up and punch you in the street and then say "your honour it was almost in self defence". Self-defence, behave!

As for half-swung. What the hell does that mean? Did he swing or not? Are you suggesting we only send of for striking if it is a "really good one"? Yeah maybe your right, Keenan shouldn't have been sent off after all he never even broke one of Laverty's ribs.

In your own statement you try everything you can to try to make it sound like it wasn't wrong. But lets be clear even you say he punched a player. That's it dead simple - he punched a player (off the ball). So even your own comment means it's a red card. Now stop being silly
Post by: Gold on June 05, 2012, 04:37:54 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 05, 2012, 03:28:05 PM

Ah come on seriously. How can you even propose these comments. You weren't even watching it. Now let's get your lie out of the way, Laverty was not approaching him he was walking away in fact he saw him and walked in a different direction. Keenan had to walk over to him to hit him. But I guess the radio didn't tell you that

http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=3306761 (http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=3306761) (Min 17:56)

Self defence?????? Wouldn't that require something to defend himself against???? As Laverty didn't move to strike him, didn't raise his hands, didn't even try to shoulder him wouldn't that mean Keenan had nothing to defend himself against? So yeah that's right it would just be a pre-emptive assault then? Maybe I could walk up and punch you in the street and then say "your honour it was almost in self defence". Self-defence, behave!

As for half-swung. What the hell does that mean? Did he swing or not? Are you suggesting we only send of for striking if it is a "really good one"? Yeah maybe your right, Keenan shouldn't have been sent off after all he never even broke one of Laverty's ribs.

In your own statement you try everything you can to try to make it sound like it wasn't wrong. But lets be clear even you say he punched a player. That's it dead simple - he punched a player (off the ball). So even your own comment means it's a red card. Now stop being silly

I'm neutral, dont give a f**k who won. I did turn the radio off.

I watched the first half deferred on BBC. Couldnt watch the 2nd, was brutal. Game was over after sending off.

Laverty let himself down. If you rolled about like that you'd have to be disgusted with yourself. Feigning pain/injury.

Rivaldo and Ashley Young would hang their heads in shame

Ask for striking, it does merit a red card, my chagrin is that it would not have been noticed by any official if Laverty had have stayed on his feet. Luis Nani himself wouldnt have went down
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2012, 04:39:09 PM
The sad thing is, you're both right.
Post by: Main Street on June 05, 2012, 05:32:47 PM
That punch wouldn't have burst a wet paper bag and hard to believe that anyone bought that ridiculous simulation, however the umpire did.

If the ref had seen the late challenge, the 'punch' and the simulation of being hit by a haymaker, would he have sent off Keenan or just given him a yellow?
Post by: PAULD123 on June 05, 2012, 06:10:50 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 05, 2012, 05:32:47 PM
That punch wouldn't have burst a wet paper bag and hard to believe that anyone bought that ridiculous simulation, however the umpire did.

If the ref had seen the late challenge, the 'punch' and the simulation of being hit by a haymaker, would he have sent off Keenan or just given him a yellow?

What rule book do you read from. Would you like a link to the GAA rule book? Perhaps you are getting confused with the rules of boxing?

Simulation is when something never happened. The punch did happen so its not simulation. Exaggeration is a different matter but who are you to say how much it hurt or if it was exaggerated, you didn't receive it?. But Laverty did not simulate being punched - he WAS punched.

Simple answer to your question - If the ref had seen the punch from Keenan he would have sent him off for striking. End of Story. If the referee saw a player walk up to another player and punch him in the guts who was doing nothing to him then the referee will send him off All day long every day of the week.

Well at least you have your silly question answered
Post by: SHEEDY on June 05, 2012, 06:55:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 05, 2012, 06:45:37 PM
It was a sending off. Keenan can have no complaints. Laverty did appear to make a meal of it but that doesn't make it any less a sending off.

Fermanagh were cheated though. Maybe not cheated out of the game but certainly cheated out of a fair shot at it.
the other 14 fermanagh players were cheated out of a shot at it by the foolish actions of darryl keenan. no one else.
Post by: eiled in the bushes on June 05, 2012, 09:59:15 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 04, 2012, 09:31:19 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 04, 2012, 02:14:18 AM

In context of all what happened in the game up until that point, it was unfair. Keenan himself  had just been thoroughly flattened off the ball by a player passing by, he got up and stupidly threw some sort of a punch while passing by another player, who went down roaring in agony, did he clutch his face when falling?
It was a hard game to watch. Down won't mind that they got though it without being seriously stretched.

clutched his face!!!!!!! he wasn't from tyrone
Post by: PAULD123 on June 06, 2012, 11:55:53 AM
The single most important thing is that Fermanagh were never as good as Down. All other debates aside Down were superior and each time a question was asked they came back and built a lead. Anyone who thinks that some individual incidents affected the final outcome (a Down victory) is really clutching at straws.

Having said that there are several talking points and sad to say the game was so poor that they have taken far higher priority than the actual football played:

Keenan - Deserved a red it is preposterous for anyone to claim anything different. A simple unprovoked punch into someone's midriff.

Brannigan - Definitely punched McGrath. If he gets suspended I can not see any Down fan complaining about an injustice. If there is one mitigation it is that McGrath clearly lifts his shoulder forcibly into Brannigan's genital area. It wasn't a simple case of just trying to stand up. I suspect that is the reason McGrath "just got on with it". He probably was relieved enough to get away with his own sly move. But don't mistake me. I am not excusing Brannigan - he should have seen red and it wouldn't be the first swing he has had at an opponent. But if he hadn't swung at McGrath I think TV replays would have been condemning McGrath for what he did.

Laverty - Did pick the ball off the ground, no real doubt about that. I think it's hard to blame officials though, it was at speed, he was bending and did poke his toe forward. Dead easy to see on TV but at the time it probably looked legit. But no doubt clean lift and he was very lucky to get away with it.

Maguire - Ran into a Brannigan and fell over. The free kick should not have been given as there was no foul. This resulted in a Fermanagh goal. Down were as much to blame for failing to play to the whistle and mark-up.

Laverty - fouled at least six times without a free being given in easy scoreable positions. Take off the goal and add the six frees and Down already are in profit. As was pointed out, at one stage, he was punched twice while on the ground and the referee did nothing.

Corrigan - Could have had 2-3 frees. All would have been wide out but still deserved his frees

Quigley - Who needs Dan Gordon, Brendan McCardle cleaned him out

Bad refereeing decisions - Syl Doyle took a poor game and managed to make it abysmal. I think him the worst referee in county football because he is dangerous. He reffed the Laois vs Down league match when four players had to get taken off injured and no one was punished for any of the offences. His premise is "letting the game flow" but that actually just means allowing fouls to happen, with increasing intensity and ultimately resulting in players getting injured, the game being decimated by fouling, and no one having a chance to play proper football. Both sides could point to a dozen times their players were fouled and nothing happened. both sides could highlight at least half a dozen times each that the opposition should have received cards but no punishment was handed out.

There is as much one compliant for Down as Fermanagh. Doyle is a terrible referee who seems to think the rules are only for guidance and he can make up his own set of rules. But he is not a cheat, Fermanagh were not cheated. They were beaten by the better side. It is just a pity that so many other aspects of the game became the talking points.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on June 06, 2012, 01:36:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 06, 2012, 11:58:55 AM
They may have been beaten by a better side but the better side also had more players than them when they shouldn't have, which helps.

Ach, away and cry me a river.

Keenan was caught, Choc wasn't. If you want to be sure your not gonna get sent off - don't f**k around. Sh!t happens. The general lack of discipline in matches these days is shocking - do managers not point out the obvious; when was the last time someone was actually injured by a "sly dig" and how many people were sent off in the past few weeks for trying the same "sly dig". You'd near wonder why they don't have a zero tolerance approach to it - regardless of whether the referee catches you or not.

Aside from being a Down man and happy with the win alone, I'm also happy to see such a defensively minded team out of the Ulster Championship.
Post by: CitySlicker11 on June 06, 2012, 01:41:26 PM
Typical form from Laverty on Sunday, we will probably see something similar before the summer is out from him.
Post by: haranguerer on June 06, 2012, 01:44:25 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 06, 2012, 11:55:53 AM
The single most important thing is that Fermanagh were never as good as Down. All other debates aside Down were superior and each time a question was asked they came back and built a lead. Anyone who thinks that some individual incidents affected the final outcome (a Down victory) is really clutching at straws.

Having said that there are several talking points and sad to say the game was so poor that they have taken far higher priority than the actual football played:

Keenan - Deserved a red it is preposterous for anyone to claim anything different. A simple unprovoked punch into someone's midriff.

Brannigan - Definitely punched McGrath. If he gets suspended I can not see any Down fan complaining about an injustice. If there is one mitigation it is that McGrath clearly lifts his shoulder forcibly into Brannigan's genital area. It wasn't a simple case of just trying to stand up. I suspect that is the reason McGrath "just got on with it". He probably was relieved enough to get away with his own sly move. But don't mistake me. I am not excusing Brannigan - he should have seen red and it wouldn't be the first swing he has had at an opponent. But if he hadn't swung at McGrath I think TV replays would have been condemning McGrath for what he did.

Laverty - Did pick the ball off the ground, no real doubt about that. I think it's hard to blame officials though, it was at speed, he was bending and did poke his toe forward. Dead easy to see on TV but at the time it probably looked legit. But no doubt clean lift and he was very lucky to get away with it.

Maguire - Ran into a Brannigan and fell over. The free kick should not have been given as there was no foul. This resulted in a Fermanagh goal. Down were as much to blame for failing to play to the whistle and mark-up.

Laverty - fouled at least six times without a free being given in easy scoreable positions. Take off the goal and add the six frees and Down already are in profit. As was pointed out, at one stage, he was punched twice while on the ground and the referee did nothing.

Corrigan - Could have had 2-3 frees. All would have been wide out but still deserved his frees

Quigley - Who needs Dan Gordon, Brendan McCardle cleaned him out

Bad refereeing decisions - Syl Doyle took a poor game and managed to make it abysmal. I think him the worst referee in county football because he is dangerous. He reffed the Laois vs Down league match when four players had to get taken off injured and no one was punished for any of the offences. His premise is "letting the game flow" but that actually just means allowing fouls to happen, with increasing intensity and ultimately resulting in players getting injured, the game being decimated by fouling, and no one having a chance to play proper football. Both sides could point to a dozen times their players were fouled and nothing happened. both sides could highlight at least half a dozen times each that the opposition should have received cards but no punishment was handed out.

There is as much one compliant for Down as Fermanagh. Doyle is a terrible referee who seems to think the rules are only for guidance and he can make up his own set of rules. But he is not a cheat, Fermanagh were not cheated. They were beaten by the better side. It is just a pity that so many other aspects of the game became the talking points.

You're talking shite on almost all of the above. The fact is, it was 15 v 14 - how can you say Down were always better and going to be better? fermanagh came out worse in all the refs decisions, thats rubbish re laverty, and BOTH down goals were touched on the ground, not just the second one. McArdle was playing basketball down the line at one stage, which resulted in a point, mcgrath got booked for somethgin rogers had done to him earlier without even a free, etc etc. Fermanagh were hard done by.

The fact of the matter is however that these things happen; they lost, and thats that, and it may well be that they still would have lost had the game been refereed properly, but I'm sick of you and others coming on to revise what actually happened.

And another thing, the ball wasnt put near quigley in the 15 min he was on, so I dont know how youd be impressed with mcardles performance on him!!
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 06, 2012, 04:17:38 PM
The ball was played to Quigley in space down the right wing, in front of the main stand, within minutes of his arrival.  McArdle ushered hin to the sideline, knocked the ball neatly out of his hands and out of play and was correctly given the kick by the linesman. Quigley complained to the linesman and the referee, and spent most of the rest of the game giving off to his team-mates. They did not look very impressed.
Post by: PAULD123 on June 06, 2012, 04:36:20 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 06, 2012, 01:44:25 PM
You're talking shite on almost all of the above. The fact is, it was 15 v 14 - how can you say Down were always better and going to be better? fermanagh came out worse in all the refs decisions, thats rubbish re laverty, and BOTH down goals were touched on the ground, not just the second one. McArdle was playing basketball down the line at one stage, which resulted in a point, mcgrath got booked for somethgin rogers had done to him earlier without even a free, etc etc. Fermanagh were hard done by.

And another thing, the ball wasnt put near quigley in the 15 min he was on, so I dont know how youd be impressed with mcardles performance on him!!

So is that true? You disagree with me that Laverty lifted the ball? Corrigan several times was fouled without frees being given? Brannigan deserved red? The referee was bad? Which of these do you disagree with????

Oh yes I see in your one-sided biased world where you think Fermanagh lads should be exonerated for punching by-standing players I see where you say "almost all the above" is shite. yes it's anything that even slightly criticises a man in green. And of course impossible to believe for a second that Down may have got even one solitary single bad decision given against them.

Incidentally on McCardle you are right how dare he leave his full back position to help our attack? My god a fullback scoring points against Fermanagh, deary me, the cheek of the man!! The ball was put into Quigley three times in ten minutes McCardle out-fielded him twice and put him over the sideline the other time for a Down line-ball.
Post by: Onlooker on June 06, 2012, 04:54:06 PM
In fairness to Quigley, he was suffering from a hamstring injury.  That was why he did not start, according to Canavan. :) :) :)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2012, 05:04:18 PM
I took a gander at this game last night, and I didn't think it was as bad as made out to be. Syl had an absolute stinker, that commentator shouldn't be allowed near a microphone, or else he had money on Fermanagh.

Keenan had to go, but so should the Down lad that hit McGrath.

McGrath was trying to wind up/annoy Rogers all day, and it backfired when he got booked and taken off.

I thought Down's backs looked very good going forward, and that's going to be important against some of the teams ahead. The accurate scoring defender may be another option in a bid to break down the deep lying defenses.

Finally though, I thought the conditioning of quite a few of the players was a bit off? Maybe it was the jersies, but a few of them looked to have wintered very well, especially in the Fermanagh side.
Oh yeah, and that lad Quigley that came on, what was he like with a jersey about 2 sizes too small, a green body warmer, and fecking white ankle socks. My wife said he looked like he came out of the pub to play because they were stuck, and it was hard to disagree with her.
Post by: AQMP on June 06, 2012, 05:18:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 06, 2012, 05:04:18 PM
I took a gander at this game last night, and I didn't think it was as bad as made out to be. Syl had an absolute stinker, that commentator shouldn't be allowed near a microphone, or else he had money on Fermanagh.

Keenan had to go, but so should the Down lad that hit McGrath.

McGrath was trying to wind up/annoy Rogers all day, and it backfired when he got booked and taken off.

I thought Down's backs looked very good going forward, and that's going to be important against some of the teams ahead. The accurate scoring defender may be another option in a bid to break down the deep lying defenses.

Finally though, I thought the conditioning of quite a few of the players was a bit off? Maybe it was the jersies, but a few of them looked to have wintered very well, especially in the Fermanagh side.
Oh yeah, and that lad Quigley that came on, what was he like with a jersey about 2 sizes too small, a green body warmer, and fecking white ankle socks. My wife said he looked like he came out of the pub to play because they were stuck, and it was hard to disagree with her.

Quite!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 06, 2012, 06:30:21 PM

That's a grossly unfair analysis AZ, he left at least an hour beforehand (by all accounts)!  ;)
Post by: Mid Down Gael on June 06, 2012, 07:29:34 PM
Quote from: CitySlicker11 on June 06, 2012, 01:41:26 PM
Typical form from Laverty on Sunday, we will probably see something similar before the summer is out from him.
I'm sure you will. A typical classy individual performance from the Kilcoo man. And the form he is in he will likely reproduce more good displays this summer.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2012, 07:40:27 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 06, 2012, 06:30:21 PM

That's a grossly unfair analysis AZ, he left at least an hour beforehand (by all accounts)!  ;)

Ah, there's obviously a 'back story' there that I'm not aware of, but I wasn't referring to any misdemeanours he might have had :D
Post by: CitySlicker11 on June 07, 2012, 02:16:06 AM
MDG, you chose your interpretation of my words nicely there and replied to suit yourself and your fellow club mate, lucky he still is one I hear? But anyway, didn't agree with the dive he took, should be ashamed, not a thing anyone likes to see creeping into the GAA, keep that for Poland and Ukraine
Post by: southdown on June 07, 2012, 09:02:16 AM
Say what you like about Laverty, he had a blinder and Im glad he's on our side and not against us. 
Post by: CornerBackNo2 on June 07, 2012, 10:24:46 AM
Anyone know when Keenan and possibly Brannigan have their hearing to decide/confirm their suspension?
Post by: PAULD123 on June 07, 2012, 01:49:48 PM
Quote from: CitySlicker11 on June 07, 2012, 02:16:06 AM
MDG, you chose your interpretation of my words nicely there and replied to suit yourself and your fellow club mate, lucky he still is one I hear? But anyway, didn't agree with the dive he took, should be ashamed, not a thing anyone likes to see creeping into the GAA, keep that for Poland and Ukraine

It was not a dive. A dive is when you are not struck. Laverty was struck - that is not a dive.

Who are you to say how much it hurt, it wasn't you that was hit?

Funny do you know something I don't like to see in the game? That would be a player walking up to another player and laying a punch into him with no provocation at all. Funny I think that's something you should be more interested in getting out of the game. Only one player should be ashamed - the assailant, Keenan.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 07, 2012, 04:46:47 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 07, 2012, 01:49:48 PM
Quote from: CitySlicker11 on June 07, 2012, 02:16:06 AM

It was not a dive. A dive is when you are not struck. Laverty was struck - that is not a dive.

Who are you to say how much it hurt, it wasn't you that was hit?

Funny do you know something I don't like to see in the game? That would be a player walking up to another player and laying a punch into him with no provocation at all. Funny I think that's something you should be more interested in getting out of the game. Only one player should be ashamed - the assailant, Keenan.

I'm not sure of the incident, but pretending to be struck is not the lone characteristic of a dive. I consider anyone that goes down when they don't need to as diving. Aidan O'Mahoney dived against Cork that time; and countless other examples exist where contact has clearly been made, but there is no need for the person to go to ground, let alone hold their face as appears to be the default reaction.

That Fermanagh corner forward also dived in the first couple of minutes.

As I said, anyone who intentionally falls to the ground to gain an advantage is diving, regardless of whether contact is made or not. Sure boxers who 'take a dive' always do so after a punch is taken.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 07, 2012, 04:52:17 PM
Sorry, I just realised you're on about the Keenan incident, and you are right. Only Laverty knows whether he dived or not, but he was certainly struck. Whether he was struck hard enough to knock him down is up to Laverty and I don't think you could really tell, but anyone who has taken a punch to the solar plexus or stomach like that when they are not expecting it will know it can wind you alright.

Post by: Main Street on June 07, 2012, 08:37:53 PM
In a game where adrenalin is running like a flood, it would be hard to even notice a sly dig.
By standards of simulation, Laverty's effort would rate an 8/10.

That Fermanagh corner forward, was he not caught with an elbow?
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on June 07, 2012, 10:56:16 PM
For a game that was supposed to be muck, there seems to be an awful lot of interest in it.
Reading some of these posts makes me laugh - substitute Down for your own team, look at the incidents and see of how little importance they are. Down turned up to win, Fermanagh didn't, sin e.
As for Brannigans 'punch' - have a look at it in real time instead of slo-mo. McGrath's head doesn't even move backwards. There is no resultant force backwards from Brannigan's action. The reason why big honest Marty didn't collapse in a heap is because he hardly felt it!
Post by: PAULD123 on June 08, 2012, 07:57:11 AM
Quote from: Main Street on June 07, 2012, 08:37:53 PM
In a game where adrenalin is running like a flood, it would be hard to even notice a sly dig.
By standards of simulation, Laverty's effort would rate an 8/10.

That Fermanagh corner forward, was he not caught with an elbow?

Tell you what, let me throw a punch at your solar plexus and see if you hardly notice it?

If Laverty was not hurt how come he didn't react to be dragged off the ground first by the Fermanagh forward and secondly by the goalkeeper? If he was just play acting how come he didn't get up to prevent himself from being hauled off the ground like a rag doll by Gallagher who should certainly have been booked for what he did in the follow up?

It was an unprovoked punch, no one made him do it, it was his choice - Now get over it. Red card and 100% correct - RED CARD.
Post by: haranguerer on June 08, 2012, 08:47:52 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 08, 2012, 07:57:11 AM
If Laverty was not hurt how come he didn't react to be dragged off the ground first by the Fermanagh forward and secondly by the goalkeeper? If he was just play acting how come he didn't get up to prevent himself from being hauled off the ground like a rag doll by Gallagher who should certainly have been booked for what he did in the follow up?

Lol - precisely because he was playacting!! If he was that hurt its a miracle he was able to continue at all!

Altho as barry says, thats what you should do apparently. Brannigans punch to the face dosnt count becuase McGrath didnt throw himself on the ground after it.
Post by: wanderer on June 08, 2012, 12:41:35 PM
Being a Fermanagh man I needed to leave it a few days before commenting, as I would be prone to getting emotionally involved when it comes to matches  :P

Keenan deserved to go, it was stupid beyond belief. We seen it from the 21 at the opposite end and said if the ref or umpires seen that he is gone. Simulation, intent, force are all irrelevant he put himself into the situation so we can blame no-one else.
Corrigan in the first 15mins threw himself to the ground a few times and then when he did get fouled the ref wasn't giving it. I have a bit of sympathy with the ref on this (not at the time though) cause I know myself you automatically doubt whether someone is hit if they go to ground with the slightest contact. He has great potential but needs to earn his first few frees before trying to get a few handy ones.
McGrath incident I seen on TV and it should have been a red in the context of the keenan incident. But at the time I didn't see much wrong with it (it was across the pitch) at the time. After that I think McGrath was fairly lucky to be only booked once. He was running about getting involved in petty incidents everywhere rather than playing football
Quigley getting on the field at all was a joke. Hamstring  :-[ . At least say you aren't going to discuss team selection or something like that, but not one person that I know (on the panel or off it) knew about this strain beforehand.
Now that I have that out of the way, the biggest letdown was Canavan. The quigley incident, the daryl didn't deserve to be sent off aftermatch interview and his tactics were all wrong imo. Keenan gave him an excuse I felt he didn't deserve
Bogue and McGovern didn't have great games but we just stuck with them letting their men do damage. McElroy in the forwards was just a way of adding an extra man in midfield but then to name 3 midfielders donnelly, lyons & mcgrath? Corrigan was isolated and had no hope of getting any ball but rather than push killie up with him and let Down choose between 2 or 3 on 2 we pulled everyone back and invited them onto us. The negativity was unbelievable

I have to say that I was really depressed by it all. From the first few minutes we just looked like we were going to try to drag it down into a dogfight. It seemed like he had decided that we would play like Donegal but we don't have the physicality to do it. Down men were handpassing the ball in small spaces (not all that quickly) but being allowed to get the return. I know that might have to do with tiredness etc but we weren't isolating men at all, at any time of the game, we just sheparded them about the pitch (and not very well at that).
The lack of fight was the most depressing (and not the Keenan/McGrath variety), I can accept losing but at least make them work hard for it. I thought that we had decent individual performances but were poor as a unit, similar to the league final
Post by: Christmas Lights on June 08, 2012, 02:19:24 PM
Conor Quigley (i think   ???) who came on at the start of the 2nd half made a big difference.  His pace alone and positive play going forward helped the thing for Fermanagh a lot I felt.

Why didnt he start??  Also, Corrigon was having a nightmare, Id of had him away after 20 minutes.
Post by: NP 76 on June 08, 2012, 04:27:54 PM
The best post on this thread from Wanderer very fair on all aspects
Post by: FermGael on June 15, 2012, 02:47:04 PM
And it continues.....
http://www.impartialreporter.com/news/roundup/articles/2012/06/15/397074-is-it-the-end-of-the-road-for-quigley/ (http://www.impartialreporter.com/news/roundup/articles/2012/06/15/397074-is-it-the-end-of-the-road-for-quigley/)
QuoteIs it the end of the road for Quigley?

Seamus Quigley's future is in doubt after not training on Tuesday night.

Speculation surrounding Seamus Quigley's involvement for Fermanagh in the All Ireland Qualifiers continues to mount with it believed that the Roslea man missed training on Tuesday night.

The Fermanagh players were meeting up for the first time following their defeat to Down at Brewster Park on June 3 but it is understood that Quigley was not present.

Rumours abounded in the lead up to the Down game that Quigley had, firstly, accepted an offer to travel to Boston to play football for the summer, and then had missed training sessions, and the build up to the game was over-shadowed by the saga.

Quigley started the Down game from the bench although after the game Fermanagh manager Peter Canavan cited a hamstring injury as the reason he did not start. .

The Roslea man made a flying start to the season and was prolific in the McKenna Cup while he also produced some high scoring performances during the National League as Fermanagh secured promotion to Division Three, although he struggled to make an impact in the Division Three final against Wicklow at Croke Park.

It now remains to be seen whether he will play any further part for Canavan's Fermanagh this season.

Peter road this clown before the Seamie side show takes over our first round Qualifier game.
Seamie has the talent but alas that is not enough.
Post by: Lucifer on June 15, 2012, 06:11:56 PM
The whole issue is detracting from a committed squad, as a Fermanagh man I hope he is shown the door for the better of the team.
Post by: scoopmine on June 17, 2012, 01:11:19 PM
Looks like Quigley is gone. He is some man for entertainment.