Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: magpie seanie on May 11, 2012, 01:24:55 PM

Title: Fantasy Premier League
Post by: magpie seanie on May 11, 2012, 01:24:55 PM
Couldn't find any recent thread on this subject so here's a new one.

Heading into the last week I've roared back into contention from a recent deficit of 100+ points to currently 9 behind the guy I simply must beat and 17 off the top. I have two free transfers and am thinking of dropping Bale and Papiss Cisse for Martin Petrov and Aguero. What do ye think? All 3 of us have Rooney, Ben Arfa and Dempsey. The two of them have Valencia and Evra and they only have one free transfer apiece this week.
Title: Re: Fantasy Premier League
Post by: maigheo on May 13, 2012, 02:04:51 AM
Dempsey is out but i do not think I would get rid of cisse.Since you are behind I would go for Aguero instead of Rooney and would bring in Petrov for Dempsey.I am not sure taking my advice is a good idea as I have had  my worst ever season in fantasy football :(
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 13, 2012, 10:52:39 AM
Yeah Petrov for Dempsey, and Aguero for Rooney. I think I'd let Rooney go because it's pointless having the same players as him with a gap to close. You need to gamble.

Can you afford Yaya Toure instead of Petrov?
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2012, 01:31:17 PM
In a similar boat and brought in Silva and Di Santo as a gamble...
Post by: magpie seanie on May 13, 2012, 02:30:31 PM
The die is cast. Obviously got rid of Dempsey as word of his injury was confirmed and kept Bale. If city do as expected today I will do it. If they don't United might win the league so a kind of win-win!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 14, 2012, 10:38:35 AM
I won the GAABOARD league, congrats to me. What one are you in Seanie?

1618 place overall and 208place in Ireland
Post by: magpie seanie on May 14, 2012, 05:45:32 PM
In a few private ones and a work one. Didn't win any of them. Couldn't pull back the small deficits in one league that I really wanted to win (winner gets 12 bottles of wine). At times in the season I missed changing my team so overall for what I put into it I did fine.

Looks likes you did really well - what points total did you have? Must have been quite high. Congrats on winning the GaaBoard league, I'm sure you're a popular winner!
Post by: ludermor on May 14, 2012, 05:49:01 PM
Fair play Sligonian , you were at the top for a long time.
I fooking lost one of my leagues in the last minute with Aguero scoring !
Post by: magpie seanie on May 14, 2012, 05:55:45 PM
Quote from: ludermor on May 14, 2012, 05:49:01 PM

So did Manchester United!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 14, 2012, 07:47:56 PM
Quote from: ludermor on May 14, 2012, 05:49:01 PM
thanks, ouch for you, one of the lads got within 9pts of me with a few weeks left, tbh i thought id it home a hosed a ages ago and took my eye off when i was really busy with college but settled again. I got 79th overall after gameweek 14 which is the highlight for me...79th out of 2.6million...staggerring

Got 2238 pts total seanie......happy days
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 14, 2012, 10:14:14 PM
Did you have Danny north seanie. He's banging in the goals.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 15, 2012, 11:22:45 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 14, 2012, 10:14:14 PM
Did you have Danny north seanie. He's banging in the goals.

Good man myles, you never let up!

If there was a fantasy LOI comp (unrealistic I know) I'd have considered him. Was delighted on Saturday, always good to see the free stadium thieves getting stuffed.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 15, 2012, 11:30:39 AM
Good man Seanie, has your heart softened towards the Bit O'Red?  :)
Post by: magpie seanie on May 15, 2012, 01:10:02 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 15, 2012, 11:30:39 AM
Good man Seanie, has your heart softened towards the Bit O'Red?  :)

Not really but I really hate Shamrock Rovers. As for Sligo Rovers - to be fair it's just not my thing (I went there a lot in my early teens and had my reasons for stopping) but it gives the town a lift when they're going well and means a lot to those who follow them. I just wish the town wasn't as anti-GAA as it is but there you go, garrison town and all that.
Post by: maigheo on July 29, 2012, 11:23:21 PM
That time of the year again.Sligonian is the defending champion so he is the man to beat.The code to join the gas board league is  212265-113663
Post by: maigheo on August 04, 2012, 03:37:57 PM
Quote from: maigheo on July 29, 2012, 11:23:21 PM
That time of the year again.Sligonian is the defending champion so he is the man to beat.The code to join the gas board league is  212265-113663
Anybody interested?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 04, 2012, 05:19:59 PM
Im announcing my retirement from fantasy premier league, it just feels right to end on a high and let others have a chance of winning, i would like to thank my pet dog for the great support she has shown me throughout and God. Please contact my agent should you have any further queiries sligonianisalegend@hotmail.com.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on August 04, 2012, 05:23:41 PM
Quote from: maigheo on July 29, 2012, 11:23:21 PM

would you not need qualifications - surely a handful of numbers wouldnt be enough !!
Post by: CorkMan on August 04, 2012, 09:14:24 PM
Which site is this on?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 04, 2012, 09:55:17 PM
Quote from: CorkMan on August 04, 2012, 09:14:24 PM
Which site is this on?

http://fantasy.premierleague.com
Post by: Hoof Hearted on August 13, 2012, 09:10:07 PM
bump - 5 days until deadline !
Post by: laoislad on August 13, 2012, 09:35:20 PM
I created a head to head league as well if any one is interested?

code : 1046996-254374
Post by: laoislad on August 14, 2012, 02:13:03 PM
Is there an iphone app for this?
Would make it easier change your team than having to go onto the website on your phone.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 14, 2012, 02:28:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 14, 2012, 02:13:03 PM
Would make it easier change your team than having to go onto the website on your phone.

I found a good one towards the end of last season for android so I'd assume there's one for iphone. Deleted it though so I'll need to look again. It was pretty good, could change team, make transfers on the phone which was a massive help.
Post by: laoislad on August 14, 2012, 05:01:20 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 14, 2012, 02:28:21 PM

I found a good one towards the end of last season for android so I'd assume there's one for iphone. Deleted it though so I'll need to look again. It was pretty good, could change team, make transfers on the phone which was a massive help.
Thanks.
I found one called FPL Manager.It was 79c but looks fairly good.
I have no excuses now!
Post by: Joxer on August 14, 2012, 07:47:48 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 14, 2012, 05:01:20 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 14, 2012, 02:28:21 PM

Thanks.

What was the App called MS?
I found one called FPL Manager.It was 79c but looks fairly good.
I have no excuses now!
Post by: magpie seanie on August 14, 2012, 10:46:25 PM
Found it. Its called Fantasy Football Buddy.
Post by: ONeill on August 15, 2012, 12:37:23 PM
http://www.physioroom.com/news/english_premier_league/epl_injury_table.php
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 13, 2013, 04:23:19 PM
what way is this going anyway  ;)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 21, 2013, 10:34:42 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on February 13, 2013, 04:23:19 PM
what way is this going anyway  ;)

Well ?
Post by: maigheo on August 11, 2013, 07:03:17 PM
one week to go.For anyone interested the code for GAA board  league is 47510-14518.

Post by: Rma13 on August 11, 2013, 07:27:40 PM
I don't seem to be able to join the league using this code, anyone else having problems?
Post by: cloneman on August 11, 2013, 07:34:31 PM
Quote from: Rma13 on August 11, 2013, 07:27:40 PM
I don't seem to be able to join the league using this code, anyone else having problems?

Not working for me either!
Post by: Newbridge Exile on August 11, 2013, 08:15:54 PM
Quote from: cloneman on August 11, 2013, 07:34:31 PM
Quote from: Rma13 on August 11, 2013, 07:27:40 PM

Not working for me either!
Cant join either.
Post by: maigheo on August 11, 2013, 09:00:26 PM
Sorry made a mistake in posting the code.The code is 47510-14518

Post by: maigheo on August 16, 2013, 02:32:54 AM
Only 5 in so far.Season starts on saturday .Anymore takers.
Post by: Asal Mor on August 16, 2013, 09:37:30 AM
I'm in a draft fantasy league with a few boys from work and there's money on it. I need some pointers as my soccer knowledge isn't great and I only have 40 players to choose from. So a few questions for any experts on here.

1. 3 from Van Wolfswinkle, Sturridge, Lambert, Kone, Jelavic, Gayle and Jovetic up front?

2. Is Lampard worth having in there with Chelsea having 2 games this week? I know he won't be first-choice but I'm thinking he's a good bet to get a goal from the bench.

3. I need to pick two midfielders from Arteta, Giacherrini, Walters, Bellamy or Lennon(not a great selection I know. I got a bit flustered during the draft) I do have Hazard though.

4. Foster or Vorm in goals?

5.  At the back  I've picked Mertesacker, Toure, Phil Jones, Lowton and Jagielka.
   I left out Williams from Swansea, Baker from Villa and Shawcross from Stoke. Good calls or bad calls?

Post by: gerrykeegan on August 16, 2013, 08:32:58 PM
I'm in but there are two mini gaa leagues one is a continuity one not sure who has the rights to the official one!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 17, 2013, 01:35:59 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on August 16, 2013, 09:37:30 AM
I'm in a draft fantasy league with a few boys from work and there's money on it. I need some pointers as my soccer knowledge isn't great and I only have 40 players to choose from. So a few questions for any experts on here.

1. 3 from Van Wolfswinkle, Sturridge, Lambert, Kone, Jelavic, Gayle and Jovetic up front?

Sturridge, Kone and Lambert

2. Is Lampard worth having in there with Chelsea having 2 games this week? I know he won't be first-choice but I'm thinking he's a good bet to get a goal from the bench.

Only if you can afford him. I've a feeling he might not start either game, but will come off the bench.

3. I need to pick two midfielders from Arteta, Giacherrini, Walters, Bellamy or Lennon(not a great selection I know. I got a bit flustered during the draft) I do have Hazard though.

Arteta is injured, so Walters and Bellamy. You're right. Not much there!

Foster.

5.  At the back  I've picked Mertesacker, Toure, Phil Jones, Lowton and Jagielka.
   I left out Williams from Swansea, Baker from Villa and Shawcross from Stoke. Good calls or bad calls?

Good calls.

See answers!
Post by: Asal Mor on August 17, 2013, 04:42:34 AM
Thanks a mill Norf Tyrone. I'll gamble on Frank so - money isn't really an issue, since I've very few expensive players in my squad. I'll be fighting an uphill battle with the squad I drafted. I  made the mistake of picking Bale as well and he's 1/2 with the bookies now to go to Real. Still, ya never know what will happen and I have the option of drafting 5 previously undrafted players from Fulham, Arsenal, West Brom or Hull so I'm hoping a new star will emerge there.   
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 17, 2013, 06:01:15 AM

Def go with Van Wolfswinkle (1 in 2 record for Sporting) and Giacherrini. Had a great Confed cup!
Post by: Asal Mor on August 17, 2013, 02:38:45 PM
Just saw your post now Walter. Too late for this week but I might bring one of them in next week. Cheers anyway.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on October 21, 2013, 09:47:11 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on August 17, 2013, 06:01:15 AM

Def go with Van Wolfswinkle (1 in 2 record for Sporting) and Giacherrini. Had a great Confed cup!

Hmmmmmmmmmmm
Post by: heganboy on October 21, 2013, 08:55:09 PM
didn't know where to post this- but what a goal:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x168wg8_crystal-palace-1-1-fulham-amazing-goal-pajtim-kasami_sport
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 21, 2013, 09:14:11 PM
Quote from: heganboy on October 21, 2013, 08:55:09 PM
didn't know where to post this- but what a goal:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x168wg8_crystal-palace-1-1-fulham-amazing-goal-pajtim-kasami_sport

How about this one from a girl!

http://youtu.be/lIK6x_RlElI