GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: supersarsfields on May 02, 2012, 10:24:27 PM

Title: Mickey Harte in control for another 3years.
Post by: supersarsfields on May 02, 2012, 10:24:27 PM
Tyrone boss Mickey Harte gets new three-year contract

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte is to stay in charge for another three years after agreeing a new contract with the Red Hand county.
Harte, who led Tyrone to All-Ireland Championships in 2003, 2005 and 2008, was in the final year of his current three-year contract.
A recommendation to offer him a deal up to 2015 was endorsed by the Tyrone Committee in Carrickmore on Tuesday.
Tyrone face Armagh in a big Ulster Championship clash on 10 June.
"It is a great privilege to be asked to remain in charge of the Tyrone senior football team, and I gladly accepted that offer," said Harte.
"To be asked to manage the best players your county has to offer is still a wonderful honour."
Harte managed his club Errigal Ciaran and led Tyrone Minors to All-Ireland success before moving up to become senior boss in 2003.
Title: Re: Mickey Harte in control for another 3years.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 02, 2012, 10:34:11 PM
Why do they keep calling it a "contract"?
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 02, 2012, 11:04:57 PM
It's a vote of confidence from the chairman in the poisoned chalice of Tyrone management.
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2012, 11:50:23 PM
The very best of luck to him.
A true legend of the game.
Post by: armaghniac on May 02, 2012, 11:55:42 PM
Surely his position will come into question when Tyrone are hammered by Armagh in the Morgan Athletic Grounds.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 03, 2012, 12:08:17 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 02, 2012, 11:55:42 PM
Surely his position will come into question when Tyrone are hammered by Armagh in the Morgan Athletic Grounds.

Yeah, 2022 will be pushing it a bit all right!  ;)
Post by: here comes 6 on May 03, 2012, 12:20:16 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 02, 2012, 10:34:11 PM
Thats what i was thinking whan i read it on teletext
Post by: sheamy on May 03, 2012, 07:53:13 AM
What does Mickey do these days? For a job, like...
Post by: Hardy on May 03, 2012, 09:36:21 AM

I can only assume it's soccerspeak. That kind of shite is infecting a lot of the language of GAA reporting - Mickey Harte's Tyrone, centre half, kick off, goal kick, etc.

And on the other hand, a lot of the our most cherished GAA clichés have disappeared in the tendency of reporters to want to sound like Sky - what happened to daisy-cutters, the second moiety, pulling them out of the sky, a hev*, etc?

*Let me know if you know what this means.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 03, 2012, 10:19:39 AM
Quotea hev*, etc?

Can you put it into a sentence?  Never heard this before.
Post by: Hardy on May 03, 2012, 11:16:47 AM
Mickey, bursting out of defence was met with an almighty hev from Johnny.

I'm just looking to see how widespread the term is. It was our standard term for the action in my part of the world.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 03, 2012, 11:21:05 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 03, 2012, 09:36:21 AM

I can only assume it's soccerspeak. That kind of shite is infecting a lot of the language of GAA reporting - Mickey Harte's Tyrone, centre half, kick off, goal kick, etc.

And on the other hand, a lot of the our most cherished GAA clichés have disappeared in the tendency of reporters to want to sound like Sky - what happened to daisy-cutters, the second moiety, pulling them out of the sky, a hev*, etc?

It's like a 'showlder' I think. Normally a full on body slam. I think it comes from 'Heft'.
Post by: Hardy on May 03, 2012, 11:56:22 AM
That's it - an actual shoulder (in our part of the world, anyway) rather than a "shirtfront". Was/is it in use in Offaly?
Post by: AZOffaly on May 03, 2012, 12:35:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 03, 2012, 11:56:22 AM
That's it - an actual shoulder (in our part of the world, anyway) rather than a "shirtfront". Was/is it in use in Offaly?

I've heard it before, but more like 'Heft' than 'Hev'. Anyway, as I said, in Offaly it's more often called 'Showlder', where the Ow is pronounced like the exclamation of pain rather than the word Show.
Post by: Hardy on May 03, 2012, 12:45:00 PM
I remember a crowd of us having an impromptu hevving tournament in a field on the way home from school one day. Straight knockout (not literally - you know what I mean). Two fellas charged sideways at each other and whoever was forced back - well, sideways - was the loser. It often took a few replays between evenly matched lads before a winner in their matchup could be declared.

The upshot was we were about an hour late home. (The tournament only took about twenty minutes. The framing of the rules, the draw, arranging preliminary rounds and byes because of the odd numbers, etc. took 40 minutes). My mother conducted an inquiry.

Where were you until this hour?
- We were just playin' hevvin'.

Heaven? Playing Heaven? There's no such game as "Heaven" - as she malavogued us about the legs with a wooden spoon.

(Sorry about your thread, Mickey.)
Post by: AQMP on May 03, 2012, 01:04:58 PM

In parts of Ulster (and maybe beyond) if you pulled your opponent's shirt or tackled with one arm (or both) wrapped round him you could be admonished by the ref or their sideline for having got a "howlt" of him, with the -owl pronounced to rhyme with the nocturnal avian.  You don't hear so much of that now (nor owls neither).

Let's hope "schemozzle" never dies!
Post by: Fuzzman on May 03, 2012, 01:35:40 PM
What's this thread about?
Post by: AZOffaly on May 03, 2012, 01:55:00 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 03, 2012, 01:04:58 PM

In parts of Ulster (and maybe beyond) if you pulled your opponent's shirt or tackled with one arm (or both) wrapped round him you could be admonished by the ref or their sideline for having got a "howlt" of him, with the -owl pronounced to rhyme with the nocturnal avian.  You don't hear so much of that now (nor owls either).

Let's hope "schemozzle" never dies!
That's another Offaly one alright, except with a 'd' at the end. Howld. It's usually heard after the full forward has dough barred the full back with a box in the lugs. When the Ref blows the whistle, or the umpire holds out his arm, the full forward usually responds with a hearty. 'Indanamajaysus, sure for f**k's sake, the bollox had a howld of me jersey for the last good hour.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 03, 2012, 03:07:32 PM
Howlt - present tense.  He has a Howlt of me jersey Ref

Howld - past tense.  The full back had a Howld of the full forward's jersey Ref.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 03, 2012, 05:46:56 PM
TYRONE DICTIONARY:

•    Cyat/Cyar etc - cat/car: 'feed that cyat wud ye!'
•    Paturl - 'put some paturl in that cyar'
•    Aeeigh (said while breathing in) - Usually said to affirm a statement or simply to break an awkward silence
•    Next nor near it - close to something: 'I cudn't get parked next nor near it'
•    Red up - Tidy up
•    Kyip - A messy place: 'Red up that kyip!'
•    Stall the bailer - stop
•    Bail on - keep going (both these phrases are used most frequently when teaching someone to drive in Tyrone)
•   Through other - Disorganised
•    Tara - Terribly: 'Those boys are tara through other'. It can also strangely be used to describe dislike for something: 'That bacon's not tara '
•    Curtin' - going out/dating
•    Stepping out together - see curtin'
•    Graze a stipe - Type of bird used to describe marshy or bad farmland: 'Sure ye cudn't graze a stipe there!'
•    Docket - Any type of paperwork whether it be a receipt for a cow or a cinema ticket
•    Han - Hand
•    Fut - Foot
•     Me - My: 'A hurt me fut takin that cyat to the island'
•    Santee - Santa Clause
•    Put her broadside - making a car skid sideways
•    That be's good - Gibberish grammar used to describe an enjoyable event in the past tense
•    The mara - Tomorrow
•    Soople - Flexible/Fit
•    Not a hate - nothing, usually used in response to the question 'any money on ye?'
•    Bate that inta ye - Eat up
•     Lep - jump
•    Lept - jumped: 'I lept into that shuck'
•    State a ye/ Some state - Messy or emaciated appearance: 'you're in some state now'
•    Ice crame - Ice cream
•    Mineral - any fizzy drink
•    Howl that - Hold that
•    Uvan - Oven
•    Mur - Mirror
•    Luk - Look: 'Luk in the mur to see the state a ye'
•    Cubs/Cutties - boys/girls
•    Hows she cuttin? - How's it goin?
•    Full a the blade! - the inevitable answer
•    Quern - Very: 'its quern hot boy'
•    Wile hanlin - A difficult situation
•    Snat azy - its not easy (usually when complaining about work)
•    Yonder - over there
•    Fierce - good in the extreme
•    Hardy weather - freezing outside
•    Hoke - look for something
•    Mighty - see fierce
•    Not a pile - not doing anything: 'up to much the night?' 'ah, not a
•    pile'
•    Well - simultaneously says hello and how are you
•    Parful - see fierce
•    Quare - very
•    Quit - stop
•    Rare bein - a strange individual
•    Rightly - see well
•    Skitter - annoying child
•    Deadly feed - a large meal
•    Brutal - harsh
•    Butther - butter
•    Cawdin - messing about
•    Childer - offspring
•    Mere - come here I would like to tell you something
•    Filum - film
•    Foundered - very cold
•    Good man yerself - thank you very much
•    Hallion - a disruptive teenager
Post by: mick999 on May 04, 2012, 08:58:51 AM
Some more for ye here :-)

http://www.trillick.org/trillickdialect.htm
Post by: Oak Leafer on May 04, 2012, 09:06:51 AM
Doubt wee 'Cheter Canavan' will have to be patient!
Post by: Hardy on May 04, 2012, 10:04:30 AM
Don't want to start a thread for something trivial, so since this seems to be the catch-all thread of the moment - does anyone know what today's Google logo is about?
Post by: Jinxy on May 04, 2012, 10:15:23 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 03, 2012, 05:46:56 PM
TYRONE DICTIONARY:

•    Cyat/Cyar etc - cat/car: 'feed that cyat wud ye!'
•    Paturl - 'put some paturl in that cyar'
•    Aeeigh (said while breathing in) - Usually said to affirm a statement or simply to break an awkward silence
•    Next nor near it - close to something: 'I cudn't get parked next nor near it'
•    Red up - Tidy up
•    Kyip - A messy place: 'Red up that kyip!'
•    Stall the bailer - stop
•    Bail on - keep going (both these phrases are used most frequently when teaching someone to drive in Tyrone)
•   Through other - Disorganised
•    Tara - Terribly: 'Those boys are tara through other'. It can also strangely be used to describe dislike for something: 'That bacon's not tara '
•    Curtin' - going out/dating
•    Stepping out together - see curtin'
•    Graze a stipe - Type of bird used to describe marshy or bad farmland: 'Sure ye cudn't graze a stipe there!'
•    Docket - Any type of paperwork whether it be a receipt for a cow or a cinema ticket
•    Han - Hand
•    Fut - Foot
•     Me - My: 'A hurt me fut takin that cyat to the island'
•    Santee - Santa Clause
•    Put her broadside - making a car skid sideways
•    That be's good - Gibberish grammar used to describe an enjoyable event in the past tense
•    The mara - Tomorrow
•    Soople - Flexible/Fit
•    Not a hate - nothing, usually used in response to the question 'any money on ye?'
•    Bate that inta ye - Eat up
•     Lep - jump
•    Lept - jumped: 'I lept into that shuck'
•    State a ye/ Some state - Messy or emaciated appearance: 'you're in some state now'
•    Ice crame - Ice cream
•    Mineral - any fizzy drink
•    Howl that - Hold that
•    Uvan - Oven
•    Mur - Mirror
•    Luk - Look: 'Luk in the mur to see the state a ye'
•    Cubs/Cutties - boys/girls
•    Hows she cuttin? - How's it goin?
•    Full a the blade! - the inevitable answer
•    Quern - Very: 'its quern hot boy'
•    Wile hanlin - A difficult situation
•    Snat azy - its not easy (usually when complaining about work)
•    Yonder - over there
•    Fierce - good in the extreme
•    Hardy weather - freezing outside
•    Hoke - look for something
•    Mighty - see fierce
•    Not a pile - not doing anything: 'up to much the night?' 'ah, not a
•    pile'
•    Well - simultaneously says hello and how are you
•    Parful - see fierce
•    Quare - very
•    Quit - stop
•    Rare bein - a strange individual
•    Rightly - see well
•    Skitter - annoying child
•    Deadly feed - a large meal
•    Brutal - harsh
•    Butther - butter
•    Cawdin - messing about
•    Childer - offspring
•    Mere - come here I would like to tell you something
•    Filum - film
•    Foundered - very cold
•    Good man yerself - thank you very much
•    Hallion - a disruptive teenager

very good.  ;D
Post by: Jinxy on May 04, 2012, 10:16:36 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 04, 2012, 10:04:30 AM
Don't want to start a thread for something trivial, so since this seems to be the catch-all thread of the moment - does anyone know what today's Google logo is about?

It looks like an artists representation of the Dromid/Derrytresk saga.
Post by: Hardy on May 04, 2012, 10:18:18 AM
Post by: sheamy on May 04, 2012, 10:40:16 AM

With a green rubber declan o'sullivan!
Post by: Radda bout yeee on May 04, 2012, 11:27:40 AM
Know people from the lurgan area they used to get confused when i said i scundered!

Lurgan defo: embarassed
Tyrone defo: bored/pissed off

Anyone settle this argument??
Post by: sheamy on May 04, 2012, 11:42:56 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 04, 2012, 11:30:40 AM
Embarrassed for everyone apart from people from Tyrone.

no, it means 'fed up' in Derry too
Post by: AQMP on May 04, 2012, 11:59:22 AM

Keith Haring would have been 54 today...apparently

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keith_Haring
Post by: sheamy on May 04, 2012, 12:09:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 04, 2012, 11:50:00 AM
Well matched.

lol...oh the sophistication of the McCooey's and the shams  :)
Post by: EC Unique on May 04, 2012, 12:51:57 PM
Quote1.  scundered: In Belfast and environs this means 'embarassed' but in mid-ulster it means 'annoyed' or 'frustrated'
I was so scundered at work today
Post by: AhJaysusRef on May 04, 2012, 01:00:59 PM
How do such uncultured and primitive phrases enter everyday language.

Why does someone from Tyrone have to be the loudest person in the vicinity.

neanderthals
Post by: omagh_gael on May 04, 2012, 01:03:09 PM
You beat me to it HS. I have been pulled up on this board about my (Improper) use of the word doubt. However, would this be more common in us west Tyronies? Or are our eastern brothers also doubtly challenged? IMO, I doubt the rest of you are all using the word doubt wrong anyway.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 04, 2012, 01:50:42 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on May 04, 2012, 11:27:40 AM
Know people from the lurgan area they used to get confused when i said i scundered!

Lurgan defo: embarassed
Tyrone defo: bored/pissed off

Anyone settle this argument??

I know your Tyrone interpretation is accurate at least.  I called a few Lurgan boys 'ball eaters' the other week, hadn't a clue what I was on about.  There are a few wannabe smart Alecs in Lurgan who like to try and correct me when I say 'mines' or if I am referring to an area behind houses as the 'backs' and not 'back'.  Also, fond of calling a young person a 'child' as opposed to a 'waine/wayne...etc'.
Post by: Hardy on May 04, 2012, 02:34:55 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 04, 2012, 11:59:22 AM

Keith Haring would have been 54 today...apparently

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keith_Haring

Thanks AQMP. I figured it was something obscure.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 04, 2012, 03:00:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 04, 2012, 02:34:55 PM

Just let the cursor hover over the graphics (for any of them) and all will be revealed.
Post by: AQMP on May 04, 2012, 03:49:34 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 04, 2012, 03:00:34 PM

Just let the cursor hover over the graphics (for any of them) and all will be revealed.

Sssshhh!
Post by: EC Unique on May 04, 2012, 04:30:23 PM
Jeez! Talk about getting off topic! ;D
Post by: Hardy on May 04, 2012, 05:40:23 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 04, 2012, 03:00:34 PM

To quote a famous philosopher - D'oh!
Post by: Orchardman on May 04, 2012, 06:06:37 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 04, 2012, 01:03:09 PM
You beat me to it HS. I have been pulled up on this board about my (Improper) use of the word doubt. However, would this be more common in us west Tyronies? Or are our eastern brothers also doubtly challenged? IMO, I doubt the rest of you are all using the word doubt wrong anyway.

Most people in armagh that i know would also use the word 'doubt' in this way, in fact i just thought it was commonplace throughout ireland, and indeed the whole world
Post by: ONeill on May 04, 2012, 10:19:02 PM

Annoyed for everyone outside of Goodfellas.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 04, 2012, 10:20:53 PM
Wrong. Would primarily be bored/pissed off for me. "He's a f**king scunner", "I'm scunnered listening to that cnut" etc. I'm thankfully not from Tyrone.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 04, 2012, 10:25:05 PM
It's wrong in the previous posts that is why.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 05, 2012, 12:48:32 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 03, 2012, 12:08:17 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 02, 2012, 11:55:42 PM

Yeah, 2022 will be pushing it a bit all right!  ;)

Sure why will anyone be interested in that division 4 game, when they are looking forward to Mayo beating their annual All-Ireland Final punch bags Kerry in the All-Ireland Final as they go for a record breaking 8-in-a-row.
Post by: Massey-135 on May 07, 2012, 02:30:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 04, 2012, 10:57:56 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on May 04, 2012, 10:54:16 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 04, 2012, 11:32:55 AM
Tara - Terribly: 'Those boys are tara through other'. It can also strangely be used to describe dislike for something: 'That bacon's not tara '

I never understood this.
That's tara = That's terrible.
That's not tara = That's terrible.

It's a wee bit more subtle than that.

That's not tara = That's not very good
Therefore 'tara' means very good and terrible.

WTF?

Sure are you not a gaeilgeoir? If you get your head around the verb 'caith' having seven different meanings, that should be easy
Post by: Whishtup on May 08, 2012, 12:34:24 AM
Supposedly Jimmy White got stuck in the toilet in Gervin's in Coalisland late on one night after a day's,ahem, snooker.    What made the thing worse for him was a squad of boys outside the door roarin, "Toarn the hannel thaugh way, Jimmy, toarn the hannel!"  Was some hanlin', thon.
Post by: armaghniac on May 08, 2012, 06:20:15 PM
Why does Throne-Spake not have the same legal status as Ballymena Ulster Scots?
Post by: Whishtup on May 08, 2012, 08:09:08 PM
Down our way, I've never heard scundered to mean anything else but embarrassed.