GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: omagh_gael on March 13, 2012, 06:08:26 PM

Title: Ulster U-21 Championship 2012
Post by: omagh_gael on March 13, 2012, 06:08:26 PM
Apologies if there already is a thread started, cant access the search function on the phone. Anyway, first game of the year tomorrow night down in brewster park. Im sure we are big favourites for this game but the way we've been playing at u-21 this last few years you can never be sure (barring last year where we met a very good Cavan side). Can any of our Fermanagh posters give us an insight into your team this year? Who are the men we need to look out for? Anyone have any odds for the overall championship?
Title: Re: Ulster U-21 Championship 2012
Post by: tommysmith on March 13, 2012, 07:06:18 PM
Armagh U21    5/2
Down U21    11/4
Tyrone U21    3/1
Cavan U21    9/2
Derry U21    8/1
Donegal U21    9/1
Monaghan U21    12/1
Antrim U21    33/1
Fermanagh U21 80/1

From Paddy Power.
Post by: mountainboii on March 13, 2012, 07:39:58 PM
If all things were equal I'd be very confident of Armagh winning Ulster, at least. But between injuries, the club championship, and senior team commitments, I wouldn't be that surprised if Cavan turned us over in the first round.

This is a class competition but the shite scheduling threatens to make a balls of it. How fair is it to ask the 19 and 20 year olds currently involved with senior teams to line out three times in six days? How many supporters are really expected to face up to three or four or five hour round trips across provinces on grim March nights? The thing deserves a more prominent place on the GAA calander.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 13, 2012, 07:56:53 PM
Armagh favourites i agree with that although you couldn't ask for a more difficult opening game.
Post by: Westside on March 13, 2012, 09:06:19 PM
Hard to see past Armagh and Tyrone. I doubt it if Cavan can match the desire and work/team ethic of last year.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 13, 2012, 09:43:39 PM
Quote from: Westside on March 13, 2012, 09:06:19 PM
Hard to see past Armagh and Tyrone. I doubt it if Cavan can match the desire and work/team ethic of last year.

The loss of Turloc Mooney for the whole year is a really big loss for Cavan, but they did win the Hastings cup too which was a pretty good barometer of the standard of U21 last year. Should be a great game to start the season. Who have Armagh got on that team, anyone from the senior set-up?
Post by: rodney trotter on March 13, 2012, 10:01:51 PM
They won the Hastings Cup with Mooney and Niall Mckiernan playing. Mooney has since been injured and Niall Mckiernan was dropped from the panel, 2 big losses. Armagh have 5 forwards on the senior panel, it will be a tight match hopefully Cavan will get past them and reach the semis.
Post by: ross4life on March 13, 2012, 10:10:51 PM
Cavan, but they did win the Hastings cup too which was a pretty good barometer of the standard of U21 last year.
They did but were lucky to beat us in the opening game & needed extra time to beat Longford whom didn't make it past the 1st round in Leinster last week. TBH Cavan's U-21 team was more impressive last year.
Post by: Westside on March 13, 2012, 10:11:37 PM
It was last year Myles but Longford that we only beat in extra time in the Hastings Final are out of Leinster already.. We'll be relying on a lot of the Minors to step up but we have some decent lads like Michael Brady, Jack Brady, Barry Reilly and Feargal Flanagan.. Armagh are always an extremely tough prospect at underage and we've only gotten past them once in the past number of years.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 13, 2012, 10:13:48 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 13, 2012, 10:10:51 PM
Cavan, but they did win the Hastings cup too which was a pretty good barometer of the standard of U21 last year.
They did but were lucky to beat us in the opening game & needed extra time to beat Longford whom didn't make it past the 1st round in Leinster last week. TBH Cavan's U-21 team was more impressive last year.

I could be wrong but i believe it was a weakened team that played roscommon in that game. Anyway, none of this matters one iota. Cavan should have a belief that maybe wasn't present before.
Post by: DownFanatic on March 13, 2012, 10:21:49 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on March 13, 2012, 07:06:18 PM
Armagh U21    5/2
Down U21    11/4
Tyrone U21    3/1
Cavan U21    9/2
Derry U21    8/1
Donegal U21    9/1
Monaghan U21    12/1
Antrim U21    33/1
Fermanagh U21 80/1

From Paddy Power.

Im surprised Down are at 11/4. I suppose this is probably based on the fact that they made the All Ireland Minor Semi Finals 3 years ago. I wouldn't be expecting much from them this year as the current management haven't got anything out of more talented players in the previous two seasons.
Post by: ross4life on March 13, 2012, 10:23:42 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 13, 2012, 10:13:48 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 13, 2012, 10:10:51 PM

I could be wrong but i believe it was a weakened team that played roscommon in that game. Anyway, none of this matters one iota. Cavan should have a belief that maybe wasn't present before.

Team that lined out not sure if weakened or not?  J.Varley,J Morris,K Brady,J McLoughlin,D Sexton,B Sankey,S Reilly,K Clarke, T Mooney, C Conroy, K Tierney,S Cadden, E Reilly,P Leddy, J Brady

That was the only Hastings cup game we got the chance to field close to a full team.
Post by: RandyDupree on March 13, 2012, 10:57:32 PM
Tyrone have named a very understrength team for tomorrow night.  ???

Could well come back to bite them....although I doubt it.
Post by: Westside on March 13, 2012, 11:22:52 PM
Cavan would still have the 3/4 most experienced players to come into that lineup ross4life, Flanagan, Mick Brady and Barry Reilly and possibly Paul O'Connor. You'll also have Nevin O'Donnell and Big Conor Finnegan pushing hard for starting places. U21 is such a hard grade to predict.. We actually lost our last U21 game at home to Armagh in 2009 as far as I can remember. Brewster became a happy hunting ground for our underage sides recently.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 14, 2012, 09:38:14 AM
By chance you could post the team randy?
Post by: God14 on March 14, 2012, 09:48:36 AM
@ Omagh Geal

Team to face Fermanagh is as follows: D Mc Anenly, B Tierney, D Mc Nally, HP Mc Geary, N Sludden, S Warnock, T Mc Cann, H Og Conlon, C Clarke, S Tierney, T Canavan, B Mc Garvey, D Mc Curry, C Mc Aliskey, R O'Neill (captain).
Post by: God14 on March 14, 2012, 09:52:04 AM
Suprising starting 15 alright considering the bench will contain the likes of: Shea McGuigan, Conan Grugan, Richie Donnelly, Shea McGarrity, Eunan Deeney, John McCullagh, Liam Gervin etc

Time will tell i suppose.
Post by: Knock Yer Mucker In on March 14, 2012, 09:58:59 AM
Quote from: RandyDupree on March 13, 2012, 10:57:32 PM
Tyrone have named a very understrength team for tomorrow night.  ???

Could well come back to bite them....although I doubt it.

Whats under strenght about it?
Post by: ballymac on March 14, 2012, 11:55:08 AM
i know there are a few guys who are not even on the squad for tonites match who are very disappointed at being left off the team never mind the subs bench, but this can only mean that the players picked are as good if not better so Tyrone should have a good chance of progressing to the next round.
Post by: FermGael on March 14, 2012, 12:29:00 PM
That is some bench Tyrone have.
Most of those players would make the Fermanagh first 15.

Fermanagh would  not have been that strong at this level at minor.
But they have a very good management team with Mark Henry at charge.
He was over the minors who put out a very strong Derry minor team in last years championship.

But with the quality in the Tyrone side, i cannot see a shock.
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2012, 10:35:29 PM
Any results from tonight's games?
Post by: Agent Orange on March 14, 2012, 10:39:26 PM
Fermanagh 1-3  1-14 Tyrone
Post by: omagh_gael on March 15, 2012, 12:05:19 AM
Here's a full run down of the game from teamtalk:

Tyrone have progressed smoothly into the next round of the 2012 Ulster under-21 championship with an emphatic eleven point victory over an outclassed Fermanagh side in Enniskillen, John McCullagh putting the finishing touch to a good night's work by Raymond Munroe's charges with the last score of the night, his second point since coming on. Conan Grugan and Liam Gervin also made their entrance to the match in the closing stages as the Red Hands eased past the Erne county's challenge on a scoreline of 1-14 to 1-3, with Conor McAliskey and Darren McCurry ending the contest with 1-6 between them...

Tyrone – M McReynolds, B Tierney, D McNally, HP McGeary, N Sludden [0-1], S Warnock, T McCann [0-1], H Conlon, C Clarke, S Tierney [0-1], T Canavan [0-1], B McGarvey, D McCurry [0-3], C McAliskey [1-3], R O'Neill [0-1]. Subs – P Mallon [0-1] for McGarvey, P McNulty for Clarke, L Girvan for Tierney, J McCullagh [0-2] for Canavan, C Grugan for Conlon
Fermanagh – B McAleer, P McCaffrey, C McAleer, V O'Brien, T Daly, A Breen, R McGullion, R O'Callaghan, K Duffy, K Connor, R Corrigan [1-0], R Lyons [0-1], J Feely, S Quigley [0-1], B Owens [0-1]. Subs – M McAleer for Duffy, C McBrien for Lyons, J Jackman for Feely, P Mullan for McAleer, M Blake for McCaffrey

Tyrone had just moved thirteen points clear with another three scores, and then John McCullagh, with his very first touch, almost grabbed a second Tyrone goal, but instead it's Fermanagh who have now registered the game's second goal through Ruairi Corrigan, although it's merely a consolation score at this stage. Tyrone 1-13 Fermanagh 1-3...

The margin between the teams at the midway stage in this second half is still ten points, following another score at each end of the field, Conor McAliskey taking his personal tally to 1-2 with a good finish and Brian Owens replying from a Fermanagh free kick. The Red Hands are cruising through this game. Tyrone 1-10 Fermanagh 0-3...

Tyrone substitute Peter Mallon, on for Brian McGarvey, extends Tyrone's lead with a fine effort, before Sean Quigley finally gets Fermanagh's second point of the night. With eight minutes gone in the second period, the gap is ten points. Padraig McNulty has also come on for Conor Clarke. Tyrone 1-9 Fermanagh 0-2...

There were no changes to the Tyrone team during the break and the second half is underway in Enniskillen, and it's the home side applying the early pressure in this half but they've nothing to show for their efforts just yet, apart from three wides in a row. Tyrone 1-8 Fermanagh 0-1...

Tyrone have been totally dominant so far in this under-21 championship opener and there looks to be no way back for the home side. The Tyrone scoring was shared by seven different players in the opening half, with Conor McAliskey hitting 1-1, Darren McCurry recording 0-2, and Niall Sludden, Tiernan McCann, Ronan O'Neill, Tommy Canavan and Stefan Tierney all notching a point each...

We've arrived at the halfway stage in Brewster Park and it has been plain sailing so far for Tyrone who are now ten points to the good, following a well taken point from Conor McAliskey and a superb finish by Tommy Canavan in injury time at the end of a nine man build up. The Red Hands have only conceded a single point so far, with the likes of Barry Tierney, Niall Sludden and Sean Warnock all looking very comfortable and composed in the Tyrone defence. Raymond Munroe's outfit are undoubtedly well on their way to the next round at this juncture. Half time score: Tyrone 1-8 Fermanagh 0-1...

Ronan O'Neill makes his first big imprint on the game with five minutes remaining in the first half as he shoots the point of the match so far from out on the left wing, giving Tyrone a comfortable eight point advantage entering the closing stages of the half. Tyrone 1-6 Fermanagh 0-1...
There are 20 minutes gone now in Enniskillen and Tyrone have slowed down a little in terms of scoring but remain seven points clear as they continue to keep the Fermanagh forwards at bay...
The scores aren't coming just as quickly for Tyrone but Raymond Munroe's side remain well in control as Stefan Tierney slots over a good point with 16 minutes on the clock, putting seven between the teams. Conor Clarke, Niall Sludden, Darren McCurry and Hugh Pat McGeary are among the Tyrone players catching the eye so far. Tyrone 1-4 Fermanagh 0-1...

With just over ten minutes played at Brewster Park, Tyrone have opened up a healthy six point lead, with Darren McCurry adding two points from frees and Tiernan McCann racing forward and fisting a great score to leave the visitors in command after the opening exchanges. Tyrone 1-4 Fermanagh 0-1...

GOAL FOR TYRONE! Straight from the throw in Conor McAliskey gives Tyrone a dream start as he polishes off a three man move with a fine goal to give the Red Hands a three point cushion with only 15 seconds gone. Niall Sludden then increases the Tyrone tally a short time later with an excellent trademark point and already Tyrone are in a fabulous position at Brewster Park with five minutes gone. Tyrone 1-1 Fermanagh 0-0...
Post by: tyroneman on March 15, 2012, 06:32:39 PM
I had heard Grugan was tipped for big things, ahead even of his AI winning team mate Harry Og? Is he progressing as expected?

Would have thought he was a nailed on starter this year for the u21s
Post by: nrico2006 on March 16, 2012, 08:38:51 AM
Joe Brolly had a hard-on for both Grugan and O'Neill after seeing them win the Ulster Club and All Ireland Minor.
Post by: randomtask on March 20, 2012, 11:15:50 PM
Very little talk about these games. Full round of fixtures tomorrow night, any one have any links for team news?
im predicting

Cavan    vs    Armagh
I Think Armagh will win this one by 3/4 points and in my opinion are rightly favorites for ulster. They seem to be the strongest team on paper in ulster, with a lot of their forwards playing regular football for their senior squad. Although Cavan cant be fully dismissed as they seem to have gained confidence from their win last year and will be hard to beat at home.

Derry      vs  Monaghan
Im predicting a narrow win for Derry here. Monaghan were beaten narrowly by a strong Tyrone side in the league final and have 7 players from a strong Scotstown team that entered the ulster under 21 club championship. Derry are always usually good in Celtic park and have some quality players in Paddy Kelly, Aaron devlin and Emmett Mc Guckin.

Donegal  vs  Tyrone
This game could go anyway, word is Ronan O Neill wont be playing which is a massive blow for Tyrone. Like any Donegal team they will be well drilled and know their task. Is Jim mc Guiness still over them? Reports are that Tyrone were very poor against Fermanagh and have a long line of injuries. Donegal will need the brick and paddy Mc Berty at their best if they are to win. Think Donegal will edge it by 1 or 2.

Down      vs    Antrim
Another intriguing tie here. Down had a quality side at minor in the same age group. Antrim have also had a few decent minor teams over the last few years and had lahm derg winning the ulster club title. Although there are multiple hogan cup winners available to the down side in the shape of the Johnston brothers, Ross Mc Garry and down senior panelist midfield pairing of Conor Gough and Niall Mc Parland. I think down will have a few to spare over Antrim and could beat the spread of -5.

donegal to win by 1-3 points
down minus 5
derry
armagh

pays nearly 25/1 lump on :P
Post by: DownFanatic on March 21, 2012, 10:44:45 AM
Down (U21FC v Antrim) - Shane Harrison; Michael Clarke, Shane McNamee, David McEntee; Kevin McClorey, Gerard McGovern, David McKibben; Niall McParland, Conor Gough; Darragh O'Hanlon, Chris Clarke, Mattie Bagnall; Danny Savage, Ross McGarry and Donal O'Hare.

That is a strong enough team. Good keeper and a backline held together by two of Mayobridge's Ulster U-21 finallists. Two decent high fielders in midfield in the form of Senior panellists Gough and McParland.
Very dangerous looking forward line. O'Hare and Savage will get plenty of scores while Clarke is very direct at centre half.
Post by: PAULD123 on March 21, 2012, 12:12:40 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on March 21, 2012, 10:44:45 AM
Down (U21FC v Antrim) - Shane Harrison; Michael Clarke, Shane McNamee, David McEntee; Kevin McClorey, Gerard McGovern, David McKibben; Niall McParland, Conor Gough; Darragh O'Hanlon, Chris Clarke, Mattie Bagnall; Danny Savage, Ross McGarry and Donal O'Hare.

That is a strong enough team. Good keeper and a backline held together by two of Mayobridge's Ulster U-21 finallists. Two decent high fielders in midfield in the form of Senior panellists Gough and McParland.
Very dangerous looking forward line. O'Hare and Savage will get plenty of scores while Clarke is very direct at centre half.

What about the Johnston's from Kilcoo, Shay McCardle, and Tony McGreevy, are they on the panel? Also Ryan Brady, is he injured?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 21, 2012, 05:52:08 PM
Heard Ronan O'Neill done the cruciate so will be out for the rest of the year.
Post by: Westside on March 21, 2012, 06:20:50 PM
                                1.Conor Gilsenan
2. James Morris            3. Killian Brady          4. Jason Mc Loughlin

5.Darragh Sexton       6.Conor Moynagh         7.Michael Brady

8. Packie Leddy 9. Killian Clarke

10.Joe Dillon                11.Barry Reilly           12. Fergal Flanagan

13.Paul O Connor        14.Kevin Tierney       15. Jack Brady

Cavan team for tonight. Quite young, big ask for them to beat the favourites.
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on March 21, 2012, 07:17:58 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on March 21, 2012, 05:52:08 PM
Heard Ronan O'Neill done the cruciate so will be out for the rest of the year.

http://www.ulsterherald.com/2012/03/21/tyrone-rocked-by-ronan-oneill-injury/ (http://www.ulsterherald.com/2012/03/21/tyrone-rocked-by-ronan-oneill-injury/)

Tyrone rocked by Ronan O'Neill injury

ONE of Tyrone's young hopefuls was facing an anxious wait for test results this morning after suffering a knee injury during under-21 county training on Monday night.

Ronan O'Neill is understood to have injured his cruciate ligament in the session, an injury which could keep him out for months if the worst fears are confirmed.

The Omagh St Enda's player will miss tonight's Ulster U-21 quarter final with Donegal as a result of the injury.

The star forward has been establishing himself in the senior panel during recent months with a number of strong displays in both the Dr McKenna Cup and National League.

O'Neill had gone for an x-ray on Tuesday afternoon, the results were due today, after which it was expected they would be sent to a consultant for diagnosis.

However reports have suggested that the worst fears have been realized and that the St Enda's prodigy has in fact suffered serious damage to his cruciate ligament, which could rule him out of action for both club and county for up to a year.

A bigger loss for Omagh, but terrible to see such a young talent badly injured as he makes his breakthrough on the senior county scene.
Post by: Westside on March 21, 2012, 08:01:27 PM
Is Cavan v Armagh on the radio does anyone know??
Post by: Jimmy on March 21, 2012, 08:27:10 PM
Derry beating Monaghan 2-7 to 0-1. Nearly half time. Latest scores from @Doiregaa.
Post by: western exile on March 21, 2012, 08:41:18 PM
HT in Newry
Down 1-7
Antrim 1-3
Post by: Onion Bag on March 21, 2012, 08:50:30 PM
Any word of the Armagh v cavan game?
Post by: naka on March 21, 2012, 08:53:05 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 21, 2012, 08:50:30 PM
half time 6-4 to cavan it was 6-1 at one stage
Post by: ONeill on March 21, 2012, 08:59:25 PM
Tyrone 0-8 Donegal 0-2
Post by: theticklemister on March 21, 2012, 09:08:50 PM
Derry up by 3-11 v 1-03 against monaghan . Ten minutes to go
Post by: Onion Bag on March 21, 2012, 09:10:49 PM
Quote from: naka on March 21, 2012, 08:53:05 PM

Good man Naka, any updates?
Post by: naka on March 21, 2012, 09:16:27 PM
 cavan 1-9 arnagh 0-4
forker sent off straight red
Post by: Agent Orange on March 21, 2012, 09:17:13 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 21, 2012, 09:10:49 PM
Quote from: naka on March 21, 2012, 08:53:05 PM

Good man Naka, any updates?

Cavan 1-9 0-4 Armagh
Aidan Forker sent off, straight red.
Post by: ONeill on March 21, 2012, 09:19:23 PM
Tyrone 0-10 Donegal 0-6
Post by: naka on March 21, 2012, 09:20:11 PM
goal armagh
Post by: Agent Orange on March 21, 2012, 09:21:05 PM
http://twitter.com/#!/armagh_gaa
Post by: naka on March 21, 2012, 09:25:48 PM
1-10 to 1-4  to cavan 7 minutes left
Post by: DownFanatic on March 21, 2012, 09:27:01 PM
Wednesday 21 March

Leinster U21 Football semi-finals
Dublin 4-15 1-09 Westmeath, Portlaoise FT
Louth 0-10 0-08 Offaly, Pairc Tailteanm FT

Connacht U21 Football semi-final
Roscommon 1-11 0-10 Mayo, Kiltoom FT

Ulster U21 Football quarter-finals
Cavan 1-11 1-05 Armagh, Kingspan Breffni Park FT
Derry 3-12 1-03 Monaghan, Celtic Park FT
Down 2-11 1-09 Antrim, Pairc Esler FT
Donegal 0-06 0-12 Tyrone, Omagh FT
Post by: ONeill on March 21, 2012, 09:27:53 PM
Final Score Tyrone 0-12 Donegal 0-6
Post by: naka on March 21, 2012, 09:34:10 PM
final score
1-11 to 1-5 for cavan
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 21, 2012, 10:01:56 PM
More disappointment for Armagh and that U-21 team promised so much.
Post by: mountainboii on March 21, 2012, 10:02:19 PM
Very poor result for Armagh. That's most of that 2009 minor through U21 without winning a single game. I had my suspicions that the combination of injuries, senior team commitments, and the effects of the shite scheduling of the club championship would lead to an early exit. Fair play to Cavan though, they've been doing rightly at underage level the last few years.
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 21, 2012, 10:34:51 PM
Fair play to Cavan is right and I hope they win the AI, but I half expected this result from Armagh. The best players have been slogging it out with the seniors all winter and that can't have boded too well for U21 preparation.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on March 21, 2012, 10:42:59 PM
I'm told Peter Carragher didn't make the team despite being in the senior squad. Not the first time McShane has abandoned players from his former club. I'm against favouritism of course but he seems to apply dis-favouritism
Post by: ross4life on March 21, 2012, 11:10:28 PM
How did Jack Brady do for Cavan tonight? many changes from the game when we played them i see.
Post by: Stevie Nicks on March 21, 2012, 11:12:19 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on March 21, 2012, 10:42:59 PM
I'm told Peter Carragher didn't make the team despite being in the senior squad. Not the first time McShane has abandoned players from his former club. I'm against favouritism of course bet he seems to apply dis-favouritism

Peter came off injured in Portlaoise on Sunday and sat on bench with an ice pack. That might have more to do with him not playing tonight me thinks
Post by: Westside on March 22, 2012, 12:02:27 AM
Sounds like Brady was quiet for Cavan tonight, Kevin Tierney was the man of the hour. Very surprised that Conor Finnegan didn't even make the squad. Really thought he'd be the Minor most suited to the step up to U21.

Derry fairly blew away the Farney lads. Were Derry brilliant or Monaghan poor or a mixture?
Post by: Peter OToole on March 22, 2012, 12:40:48 AM
Derry played well as a team but Monaghan were very poor. Be interesting to see how Derry cope with better oposition in Cavan.
Post by: Throw ball on March 22, 2012, 12:57:08 AM
As a matter of interest does anyone know the percentage of home teams are winning in this competition since it switched to midweek. I know Tyrone won away last week but they were always going to be too strong for Fermanagh. I seem to remember a lot of home teams winning last year too. Is the midweek travel effecting the chances of the travelling team?
Post by: sheamy on March 22, 2012, 07:36:42 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 22, 2012, 12:57:08 AM
As a matter of interest does anyone know the percentage of home teams are winning in this competition since it switched to midweek. I know Tyrone won away last week but they were always going to be too strong for Fermanagh. I seem to remember a lot of home teams winning last year too. Is the midweek travel effecting the chances of the travelling team?

I think you have a good point there. It's very difficult for teams to get up to speed properly after a days work and travelling away from home on a Wednesday night. It's a big factor. Why can these not be played on a saturday?
Post by: sheamy on March 22, 2012, 07:43:41 AM
Quote from: Peter OToole on March 22, 2012, 12:40:48 AM
Derry played well as a team but Monaghan were very poor. Be interesting to see how Derry cope with better oposition in Cavan.

That's a fair reflection I think. It's along way from Clones to Celtic Park and as Throw Ball says home advantage means a lot in this competition. Monaghan were slow getting out of the blocks and by the time they did the game was over. With Cavan Ulster u21 and minor champions, and beating the '09 minor champions, they're doing something right and will be hot favourites for the title now if Tyrone's injuries don't clear up.
Post by: western exile on March 22, 2012, 08:35:49 AM
Semi finals on 4th of April.

Cavan v. Derry
Down v. Tyrone

Venues TBC
Post by: rodney trotter on March 22, 2012, 10:47:22 AM
Connor Finnegan didn't make the squad last night as he was carrying an injury..
Post by: rrhf on March 22, 2012, 12:24:36 PM
Down and Tyrone was very tasty last year.  Drama, full blooded, a special mention for Big Poulter on the line - an epic of a tie.  Is it taking place in Armaghs second city or in a neutral venue.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 22, 2012, 12:42:25 PM
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/ will be streaming live audio for the remainder of Tyrone's games (assuming there'll be more than one more  ;)).
Post by: whitegoodman on March 22, 2012, 01:05:25 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 22, 2012, 12:24:36 PM
Down and Tyrone was very tasty last year.  Drama, full blooded, a special mention for Big Poulter on the line - an epic of a tie.  Is it taking place in Armaghs second city or in a neutral venue.

That would be Poucher.  Yas can have him if yas want him, free to a good home!!!
Post by: Any craic on March 22, 2012, 01:16:31 PM
Cadburys Ulster U-21 Football Semi-finals: Cavan v Derry in Brewster & Down v Tyrone at Casement, both on Wednesday April 4 at 8pm
Post by: omagh_gael on March 22, 2012, 04:04:59 PM
You not covering there games yourself anycraic?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on March 22, 2012, 09:30:57 PM
Quote from: Stevie Nicks on March 21, 2012, 11:12:19 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on March 21, 2012, 10:42:59 PM
I'm told Peter Carragher didn't make the team despite being in the senior squad. Not the first time McShane has abandoned players from his former club. I'm against favouritism of course bet he seems to apply dis-favouritism

Peter came off injured in Portlaoise on Sunday and sat on bench with an ice pack. That might have more to do with him not playing tonight me thinks

I stand corrected
Post by: omagh_gael on April 04, 2012, 08:22:24 AM
Not much chat about this competition at all this year, very low key! Anyone any team news? Been looking for the Tyrone team everywhere but can't see it.
Post by: theticklemister on April 04, 2012, 02:51:44 PM
Well Derry are 5/6 to beat Cavan, i think that is too skinny because Monaghan didnt want to know after 20 minutes.

Omagh Gael do ye expect to beat An Dun tonight, what about 4/6??
Post by: Westside on April 04, 2012, 03:17:55 PM
Cavan are without Barry Reilly and Paul O'Connor for tonight's game. Big losses. Armagh were very poor against Cavan and I hope the lads aren't reading too much into that victory. I'm surprised that we are favourites.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 04, 2012, 03:18:37 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on April 04, 2012, 02:51:44 PM
Well Derry are 5/6 to beat Cavan, i think that is too skinny because Monaghan didnt want to know after 20 minutes.

losing ronan oneill is a massive blow to the tyrone side.
Im not sure how good down are , so not sure if 4/6 is any value or not
Post by: omagh_gael on April 04, 2012, 03:25:55 PM
Losing Ronan is obviously a huge blow, however, the scores have been well spread so far. This grade is notoriously hard to call but with my red and white tinted glasses on im going for a 2 point win for the red hands. Hopefully the game lives up to our meetings last year!
Post by: sheamy on April 04, 2012, 04:34:29 PM

where did you see 5/6? Don't feckin touch that!

Cavan a serious outfit having dismissed a quality Armagh team and have about 1/4 of the distance to travel to the game. A small thing you might think for significant in this midweek competition. Derry were excellent against Monaghan who in truth were shite so can read nothing into that. Long journey on a Wednesday night to Celtic Park caught out Monaghan at the start and the game was over after 20mins. That'll not happen tonight.

Good luck to the Derry lads though. Some good players there if they can be brought to the next level.
Post by: sheamy on April 04, 2012, 04:36:47 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 04, 2012, 03:25:55 PM
Losing Ronan is obviously a huge blow, however, the scores have been well spread so far. This grade is notoriously hard to call but with my red and white tinted glasses on im going for a 2 point win for the red hands. Hopefully the game lives up to our meetings last year!

It'll be more than 2. Holding any team to 0-06, and more so a team with McBrearty and Molloy in it, is some achievement. Don't expect Down to live with the intensity if Tyrone perform. Tyrone by 6.
Post by: theticklemister on April 04, 2012, 05:36:28 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 04, 2012, 04:34:29 PM

where did you see 5/6? Don't feckin touch that!

Cavan a serious outfit having dismissed a quality Armagh team and have about 1/4 of the distance to travel to the game. A small thing you might think for significant in this midweek competition. Derry were excellent against Monaghan who in truth were shite so can read nothing into that. Long journey on a Wednesday night to Celtic Park caught out Monaghan at the start and the game was over after 20mins. That'll not happen tonight.

Good luck to the Derry lads though. Some good players there if they can be brought to the next level.

In William Hill, just checking Cavan are 5/6 and Derry 6/5. I have back against my county in different grades over the last fortnight and got tubed!!!!! Dunno what today but fancy a Cavan and Tyrone double.
Post by: Westside on April 04, 2012, 05:45:33 PM
Killian the Gunner also a serious doubt for Cavan. That's 3 lads from the last starting 15 out for this game. Doesn't bode well for us.
Post by: randomtask on April 04, 2012, 05:48:25 PM
Tyrone and Cavan double for me tonight. Tyrone may have lost their star player and captain, but they have amazing strength and depth. Either John Mc Cullagh or Shay Mc Guigan will come in as replacement and both of these on their day are game winners. Also looking at downs team from their last outing they seem to have a great team from 8-15 but in their defense they seem to be week. Tyrone's defence to date has been superb especially their full back line so i expect them to cope. Cavan had a fantastic win last time out against a star studded Armagh team, but Derry have a decent side who seem to be a good team with not to many star players. IMO Cavan's experience should pull them through this but by a very tight margin. Thought it would have been great and would have attracted a bumper crowd if these games had of been a double header in the athletic grounds pity.
Post by: sheamy on April 04, 2012, 05:53:01 PM
Double header on a wed night wouldn't be possible I think but your point is valid enough. It's about 80-90 miles from most parts of Derry to Enniskillen - virtually impossible to make for 8pm for most working men. You can have all the marketing campaigns you want but if you pick an idiotic venue and day it ain't gonna happen.
Post by: theticklemister on April 04, 2012, 06:23:34 PM
Maybe if the double header was on a Saturday afternoon with throw-ins at 5pm and 7pm it could of worked. I am working tonight so i'll miss the game and then a club meeting so lads inform me of the scores as they come if yer at the match!!! Luckily the match was at Celtic Pk the last time and I nipped up after work.

Quote from: sheamy on April 04, 2012, 05:53:01 PM
Double header on a wed night wouldn't be possible I think but your point is valid enough. It's about 80-90 miles from most parts of Derry to Enniskillen - virtually impossible to make for 8pm for most working men. You can have all the marketing campaigns you want but if you pick an idiotic venue and day it ain't gonna happen.

What about the men on the dole having to afford the petrol Sheamy!!!!!!!!!

So in the post thats in it (lets all sing together)....................

I'm an Ordinary man, nothing special nothing grand
I had to travel to Enniskillen for the match
I left my work in Derry and I went and collected Mary
By God it was an early start
Now they say that that time is bad and the wife's she's going mad
They say they can't get it fixed for other times
But when the whistle goes, Brewster Park will be nowhere close
Tonight we're gonna miss the match Mary!
We'll miss the match!

I never missed a match, never missed a puck or missed a catch
For 20 years the timing was always grand,
But now on a Wednesday late, I'll have to run out the gate
Enniskillen is a brave distance away
In Headquarters in Armagh, said it's not too far
But by God we live up in Derry
I don't drive a car and have run out of cigars
We'll miss the match!

It now has turned 6.30, i'm just in from work and i'm dirty
Gonna have to get a wash before we go
But now the Cred is feeble, and I can't afford the diesel
Gonna have to syphon from somewhere
Now we've reached Strabane, where a woman looks like a man
Lets get the hell out of here
We must reach Omagh quite quick or we'll be in a fix
We'll miss the match!

And so condemned I stand, just an Ordinary Derry man
Only a few of us made the journey down
I watch my darling wife, make the sandwiches with all her might
But we lost them going through Newtownstewart
Now we are faced with this terrible waste
The ham sambos have all been lost
For as long as I live I never will forgive
the Ulster Council for the venue and lost sandwiches
The lost sandwiches!

Post by: Blue06 on April 04, 2012, 08:19:39 PM
http://twitter.com/#!/doiregaa

http://twitter.com/#!/gaacavan

&

http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/13988

Derry 1:03 Cavan 1:02

Tyrone 0:08 Down 0:03
Post by: snoopdog on April 04, 2012, 08:23:24 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 22, 2012, 12:42:25 PM
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/ will be streaming live audio for the remainder of Tyrone's games (assuming there'll be more than one more  ;)).

Does this work. tried it but no success.
Do you need to be in the north to get it
Post by: Student Dissertation on April 04, 2012, 08:38:15 PM
HT Derry 1-04 Cavan 1-02
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 04, 2012, 08:39:43 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on April 04, 2012, 08:23:24 PM

Should work snoopdog (lads all over the globe listening to it), but can't get it myself either at the minute. Tyrone leading 0-09 - 0-04 at half-time.

Edit: The radio streaming is back now, though clarity not great.
Post by: snoopdog on April 04, 2012, 08:57:06 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 04, 2012, 08:39:43 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on April 04, 2012, 08:23:24 PM

Should work snoopdog (lads all over the globe listening to it), but can't get it myself either at the minute. Tyrone leading 0-09 - 0-04 at half-time.

Edit: The radio streaming is back now, though clarity not great.

Thanks, looks like game over though. Tyrone powering past Down as expected
Post by: Fuzzman on April 04, 2012, 09:02:17 PM
Yeah what's the story with the quality of the sound on it?
Ye can hear the fans better than the commentators.

Sounds like they're not missing Ronan too much.
How the other semi going?
Post by: omagh_gael on April 04, 2012, 09:02:29 PM
Tyrone 0-12 Down 0-05

http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/13988
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 04, 2012, 09:06:27 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on April 04, 2012, 09:02:17 PM
Yeah what's the story with the quality of the sound on it?
Ye can hear the fans better than the commentators.

They were saying there's something (unavoidably) different about their set-up this week, but I couldn't hear them properly because of the background noise!  ;)

0-13 to 1-08 at the minute.
Post by: Oak Leafer on April 04, 2012, 09:09:26 PM
Derry 1-07 Cavan 2-07
Post by: Denn Forever on April 04, 2012, 09:10:51 PM
Cavan 2 08
Derry  1 07

at the minute with 8 minutes to go.

Post by: omagh_gael on April 04, 2012, 09:14:47 PM
15 to 1-08

bit of breathing space now
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 04, 2012, 09:17:16 PM
Looking like a repeat of last year's U-21 Ulster final.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 04, 2012, 09:20:13 PM
All over in Casement, Tyrone win by 0-16 to 1-08.
Post by: Denn Forever on April 04, 2012, 09:25:00 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 04, 2012, 09:17:16 PM
Looking like a repeat of last year's U-21 Ulster final.

It is.  They say it was a good game in Brewster.  A lot of cards.  Was it that rough?
Post by: omagh_gael on April 04, 2012, 09:27:28 PM
Thank feck that big hoor Mc Keirnan (sic?) is not on your panel this year. Couldn't get a sniff of the ball around the middle in last years final.
Post by: ONeill on April 04, 2012, 09:28:42 PM
This'll be Cavan's third U21 final in a row. Current Ulster minor champions too. Kildare'll have some team in a couple of years.
Post by: Oak Leafer on April 04, 2012, 09:28:55 PM
Final score from Enniskillen: Derry 1-09 Cavan 2-08
Post by: umpire on April 04, 2012, 10:08:51 PM
BBC Radio Ulster News at 10pm  a few minutes ago. says that Down will play Caven in Final of U21.  its even announced the score. Down 0.16 Tyrone 1.8. 

I know that Tyrone won but others who has listen to News will think Down and Caven in final!!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 04, 2012, 11:33:14 PM
Tyrone Ref Eugene McConnell almost single handedly destroyed the Cavan Derry match, absolutely shocking bad. Well done to Cavan, much better team than Derry but Derry had a lot of fight and a real good outlet at FF in McGuckian. Should be a good final.
Post by: barelegs on April 04, 2012, 11:45:55 PM
Myles I'm fairly sure your report of Mr McConnell's performance will surprise very few of the Tyrone posters. I'll say no more than that. Looking forward to the final. Just hope the result is a little more positive than last year...
Post by: randomtask on April 04, 2012, 11:50:52 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 04, 2012, 11:33:14 PM
Tyrone Ref Eugene McConnell almost single handedly destroyed the Cavan Derry match, absolutely shocking bad. Well done to Cavan, much better team than Derry but Derry had a lot of fight and a real good outlet at FF in McGuckian. Should be a good final.

He is absolutely brutal, don't know how he is now refereeing at provincial level. One of these referees that wants to be at the centre of attention 
Post by: Jinxy on April 05, 2012, 12:07:18 AM
Are there any decent refs in Tyrone other than Martin Sludden?
Post by: bigtogs on April 05, 2012, 08:33:45 AM
 Mc Connell is some boy the worst ref in europe......
Post by: God14 on April 05, 2012, 08:48:42 AM
lol at Jinxy  :-[
Post by: Onlooker on April 05, 2012, 11:36:06 AM
Quote from: randomtask on April 04, 2012, 11:50:52 PM

He is absolutely brutal, don't know how he is now refereeing at provincial level. One of these referees that wants to be at the centre of attention
Have never seen this lad referee a match, but he appears to be exactly the type of referee that is being promoted these days.   The refereeing problem is getting worse all the time and the newer breed of refs that we are seeing almost seemed to be programmed to be like your description of Mr. McConnell.  The ironic thing is that he will probably get a good report from the assessor for last night.
Post by: sheamy on April 05, 2012, 11:49:07 AM
O'Neill and Jinxy contesting best post here. O'Neill ahead on points at present...Geezer has his eye on Kevin Tierney as we speak
Post by: rodney trotter on April 05, 2012, 12:50:05 PM
How many of last years Tyrone u21 are available? Peter Harte, Mckenna, Mattie Donnelly were the key players last year but they are overage, Ronan O Neill is out injured. Cavan have done very well getting to the final as there is 4 or 5 key players missing, Paul Graham captain of the minors last year, Turloch Mooney, Barry Reilly, Paul O Connor were missing last night. I'd doubt if Reilly and O Connor will be back for the final.
Post by: LeoMc on April 05, 2012, 12:54:15 PM
Quote from: randomtask on April 04, 2012, 11:50:52 PM

We promoted him to reduce the number of Tyrone club games he can destroy.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 05, 2012, 03:47:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 04, 2012, 09:28:42 PM
This'll be Cavan's third U21 final in a row. Current Ulster minor champions too. Kildare'll have some team in a couple of years.

8)
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 10, 2012, 11:06:01 PM
Big match tomorrow. Given cavans injury woes i think this game is tyrones to lose. Hopefully our lads give a decent account of themselves. I expect tyrone will try to nullify the threat tierney poses and if they can do that they are half way to victory.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 10, 2012, 11:12:33 PM
Would have to fancy Tyrone and they will be hard to stop in the All Ireland series.
Post by: Westside on April 10, 2012, 11:20:13 PM
We don't possess the same scoring threat from the midfield and half forward line as last year to take up the slack if Tierney is marshaled.. Flanagan, Killian Brady, Leddy, even Ray Lynch who will probably start in the corner. All workmanlike but none provide the same scoring threat as Gearoid, Murray and Smith did last year. Not to mention Barry's loss which is massive. Jack Brady has had a long year of Sigerson and O'Byrne cup and looks a bit jaded.

Attitude and effort may keep us in the game for a certain period but Tyrone have the individual class to win comfortably in the end. Still, great to be in the final, they've done themselves proud to get this far.

Post by: ONeill on April 11, 2012, 12:07:18 AM
Some clatter of cute hoors in the Breffni yet.
Post by: Syferus on April 11, 2012, 12:13:45 AM
Arrah lads, don't pull the old 'sure let's play it it Ulster' trick on us poor dopey westerners this time, alright?
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 11, 2012, 12:33:33 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 11, 2012, 12:13:45 AM
Arrah lads, don't pull the old 'sure let's play it it Ulster' trick on us poor dopey westerners this time, alright?
The westerners will need the tricks of the trade to defeat the Ulster champions.
Post by: Westside on April 11, 2012, 12:40:32 AM
Roscommon are a decent outfit, they won't fear Tyrone.
Post by: Denn Forever on April 11, 2012, 11:07:06 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 11, 2012, 12:13:45 AM
Yerrah lads, don't pull the old 'sure let's play it it Ulster' trick on us poor dopey westerners this time, alright?

Fixed that.
Post by: Onlooker on April 11, 2012, 05:21:19 PM
Quote from: Westside on April 11, 2012, 12:40:32 AM
Roscommon are a decent outfit, they won't fear Tyrone.
Are you suggesting that they might fear Cavan. :) :)
Post by: Westside on April 11, 2012, 06:14:45 PM
Soon time to head off to Brewster. We're in for a wet and windy evening. Cavan have it all to do. Best of luck lads, it's our trophy, if they want it, make them earn it.
H'on Cavan.
Post by: trileacman on April 11, 2012, 06:37:39 PM
pushing the boat out here but is it televised?

Radio links?
Post by: Denn Forever on April 11, 2012, 07:53:45 PM
Sorry to do this to you but I think its on Northern Sound.

http://www.northernsound.ie/liveapp.php
Post by: tc_manchester on April 11, 2012, 08:14:40 PM
Cavan score penalty 1-0 to 0-0 - it's also on teamtalkmag
Post by: omagh_gael on April 11, 2012, 08:27:58 PM
level 3 points to one goal.

Cavan scored their goal from the first attack, exact same as last years final!
Post by: omagh_gael on April 11, 2012, 08:29:46 PM
Cavan 1-1 Tyrone 0-3
Post by: Fuzzman on April 11, 2012, 08:44:12 PM
http://twitter.com/TyroneGAALive
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 11, 2012, 08:50:54 PM
Scores are hard to come by another goal by Cavan could win it for them.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 11, 2012, 08:52:13 PM
All Cavan's scores from frees/penalty.
Post by: armaghniac on April 11, 2012, 08:58:18 PM
QuoteAll Cavan's scores from frees/penalty.

Anything free is too good an opportunity to miss.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 11, 2012, 09:01:52 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 11, 2012, 08:52:13 PM
All Cavan's scores from frees/penalty.
Maybe Tyrone should stop fouling?
Post by: Fuzzman on April 11, 2012, 09:17:21 PM
Has the radio link gone down?

According to twitter
19 minutes played in the 2nd half, and Cavan stretch their lead to 5 points. Tyrone 0-07 Cavan 1-09
Post by: Fuzzman on April 11, 2012, 09:20:51 PM

John McCullagh replaces Richard Donnelly

Tyrone reduce the gap to 4 after a free from Darren McCurry Tyrone 0-08 Cavan 1-09
Post by: ONeill on April 11, 2012, 09:34:50 PM
Well done Cavan. Great underage success in recent years.
Post by: Gold on April 11, 2012, 09:40:34 PM
True, great to see anyone but Tyrone winning anything! Gives the rest of us hope

2 in a row Cavan--we'd take 1 in a row!
Post by: Denn Forever on April 11, 2012, 09:42:36 PM
Well done to the U21s again.  Reasons to be cheerful, 1,2,  and maybe next year?
Post by: ross4life on April 11, 2012, 09:45:56 PM
Fine win by Cavan same scoreline as last years Ulster final? Cavan will be odds on to defeat us now & for the record they have beaten us in the last 3 U-21 games but the underdog tag will suit us fine.
Post by: Orchardman on April 11, 2012, 10:54:56 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 11, 2012, 09:45:56 PM
Fine win by Cavan same scoreline as last years Ulster final? Cavan will be odds on to defeat us now & for the record they have beaten us in the last 3 U-21 games but the underdog tag will suit us fine.

Suppose this helps a bit considering our 2009 all ireland minor champs didn't win a single game at under 21 level, but were beaten by the champs. Fair play cavan
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 11, 2012, 11:00:11 PM
Quote from: Gold on April 11, 2012, 09:40:34 PM
True, great to see anyone but Tyrone winning anything! Gives the rest of us hope

2 in a row Cavan--we'd take 1 in a row!
+1 fair play to Cavan.
Post by: rrhf on April 14, 2012, 10:54:52 AM
There's only one man capable of running a successful Tyrone set up at under 21. It must be under mickeys tutelage, with his people, almost as a  development squad. The men involved have done their bit and tried their very best so fair play to them.  Mickey might not have the time.   
On a separate note, I know of one corner back who totally subdued Ronan o Neill twice, Donnelly of trillick, and petie Harte last year had a superb 3rd season in division 1 senior football and is a super prospect, but can't make that under 21 set up, perhaps there's a lack of leverage for lads progressing with their clubs but who are seriously disadvantaged by missing the cut at minor. It's a tricky one.  I look at some of the decorated names and they simply haven't been playing at that level with their clubs .  I wonder does this costs the county many footballers.
Post by: Celt_Man on April 15, 2012, 12:52:39 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on April 13, 2012, 11:55:08 PM
Is Peter Donnelly from Tyrone still working as a coach in Cavan.

He is aye
Post by: tommysmith on April 15, 2012, 04:54:54 PM
No word on venue for semi final yet.

Dont think it will Longford as it only has a capacity of 8000.

Just seen that it is live on TG4 next saturday.
Post by: Westside on April 15, 2012, 05:03:06 PM
Did TG4 just advertise the Cavan v Ros game would be live on TV at 1:30 on the 21st? Or am I seeing things.
Post by: tommysmith on April 15, 2012, 05:05:12 PM
Quote from: Westside on April 15, 2012, 05:03:06 PM
Did TG4 just advertise the Cavan v Ros game would be live on TV at 1:30 on the 21st? Or am I seeing things.

The 2 semis are live so its possible it will be a double header.
Post by: Westside on April 15, 2012, 05:21:50 PM
Hopefully it will be a double header with both televised (I'll be relying on the dulcet tones of Mr Tynan otherwise) Galway v Cork was televised last year with not so much as highlights of Cavan v Wexford until the Monday evening let's hope it's not a repeat of that.
Post by: rodney trotter on April 15, 2012, 05:52:33 PM
Parnell Park only has a 10,000 capacity and it held the semi last year.. No reason why the semi woiuldn't be in longford..
Post by: Syferus on April 15, 2012, 07:19:02 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on April 15, 2012, 04:54:54 PM

Unless it's a double header it'll be Pearse Park. 8,000 is a perfect capacity for the game, the worst thing you can do is schedule a game in too big a stadium un-necessarily.

The atmosphere there in February for the Garrycastle and Brigids semi-final was electric. It'll be great.
Post by: Celt_Man on April 15, 2012, 07:19:31 PM
Cadburys U-21 All-Ireland Semi final. Cavan V Roscommon Saturday 21st Longford at 4pm.
Post by: Westside on April 15, 2012, 08:00:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 15, 2012, 07:19:02 PM

Unless it's a double header it'll be Pearse Park. 8,000 is a perfect capacity for the game, the worst thing you can do is schedule a game in too big a stadium un-necessarily.

The atmosphere there in February for the Garrycastle and Brigids semi-final was electric. It'll be great.

Parnell Park was almost too small last year and it has a capacity of 10k.. The interest may not be as big in Cavan this year however and if it's on TV the crowd might not be as big..

Post by: Captain Obvious on April 15, 2012, 08:09:31 PM
Quote from: Westside on April 15, 2012, 08:00:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 15, 2012, 07:19:02 PM

Parnell Park was almost too small last year and it has a capacity of 10k.. The interest may not be as big in Cavan this year however and if it's on TV the crowd might not be as big..
Cavan would nearly fill Pearse park on their own. Poor choice of venue.
Post by: Denn Forever on April 15, 2012, 08:17:48 PM
There was allegedly only 5500 at Brewster Park on Wednesday.
Post by: Celt_Man on April 15, 2012, 09:29:30 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on April 15, 2012, 08:17:48 PM
There was allegedly only 5500 at Brewster Park on Wednesday.

I'd say that was paid in, could be half that again with Under 16s added in...
Post by: Westside on April 15, 2012, 10:03:47 PM
Wikipedia says Brewster has a capacity of 18k. There is no way that it was only a 3rd full last Wednesday. Both stands were almost completely full. Students or U16s didn't get a ticket going in only full price did. If that's all they were counting then I would venture to say there was around 8k+ there.

If the game is on TV a good proportion of people will stay at home.