Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 13, 2012, 01:05:28 PM

Title: St.Patrick's Day Parade - Liverpool
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 13, 2012, 01:05:28 PM
Any lads having lived in or living in Liverpool know if there is a non-Republican (as in Ra heads) or non-Socialist parade in Liverpool City Centre. I have only found a political looking one and I am not going to that.
Title: Re: St.Patrick's Day Parade - Liverpool
Post by: Arthur_Friend on March 13, 2012, 01:26:41 PM
You should start your own parade for wankers and see how many people join you.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 13, 2012, 01:32:24 PM
When I started uni in Liverpool in 2002 I ended up sharing my halls of residence house with a guy from the Garvaghey road. The first day we met we had an initial bit of Armagh v Tyrone banter then got round to talking about marching and the orange order when we heard a familiar sound and looked out the back window to see an orange band parading up the road. The look on the guys face was priceless, think he expecting Jeremy Beedle to jump out of the bushes!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 13, 2012, 01:34:10 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on March 13, 2012, 01:26:41 PM
You should start your own parade for w**kers and see how many people join you.

I could hazard a guess that more people on this board have had a w**k than those who never had.

My parade question is a serious one, I want to attend a parade but not one with a political agenda, any political agenda.
Post by: Ulick on March 13, 2012, 03:22:38 PM
Okay then, what's so political about the main Liverpool parade?
Post by: deiseach on March 13, 2012, 03:52:26 PM
Is there anywhere in the world that has rival St Patrick's Day parades?
Post by: southdown on March 13, 2012, 04:42:35 PM
There will be a parade of muck-savage weeeeeeeeeemen parading from O'neills to all over the city from around 7.30 am when it opens.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 13, 2012, 10:11:33 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 13, 2012, 03:52:26 PM

Armagh - there are 3 rival ones this year.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 13, 2012, 11:07:06 PM
New York has several, 2 are in direct competition, the traditional one run by extreme conservatives and the newer one which accepts all Irish of all types (the second one has had Irish ambassador and ministerial recognition and attendance).
Post by: Evil Genius on March 13, 2012, 11:14:50 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 13, 2012, 11:07:06 PM
New York has several, 2 are in direct competition, the traditional one run by extreme conservatives and the newer one which accepts all Irish of all types (the second one has had Irish ambassador and ministerial recognition and attendance).
D'ya know which one is the original?  ;)

Mar 17, 1762:
First St. Patrick's Day parade
In New York City, the first parade honoring the Catholic feast day of St. Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland, is held by Irish soldiers serving in the British army.

http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-st-patricks-day-parade
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 13, 2012, 11:20:34 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on March 13, 2012, 11:14:50 PM

Mar 17, 1762:
In New York City, the first parade honoring the Catholic feast day of St. Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland, is held by Irish soldiers serving in the British army.

Ya old news.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 13, 2012, 11:20:57 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on March 13, 2012, 11:14:50 PM

Mar 17, 1762:

I thought your shelf life for history was around 80 years, its like the refs in the football, no consistency.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 14, 2012, 01:01:42 AM
Quote from: Ulick on March 13, 2012, 03:22:38 PM

Interested to hear this myself.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2012, 06:46:25 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 14, 2012, 01:01:42 AM

From the youtubes I have seen, it appears to be led by Republican (as in your understanding of the word) type bands etc. I cannot find many and these seem to be the only ones, it may be an unfair reflection.

While searching the same youtubes I have come across some disgusting displays by the Orange marchers on the 12'th of July, purposefully stopping outside the Liffey Pub.

I would like to attend a St.Patrick's Day like I am used to attending over the years in places like Castlebar, Westport, Galway and Dublin, free from any political bull and about Spórt agus Spraoi, Ceol agus Craic.
Post by: deiseach on March 14, 2012, 08:52:47 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2012, 06:46:25 AM
From the youtubes I have seen, it appears to be led by Republican (as in your understanding of the word) type bands etc. I cannot find many and these seem to be the only ones, it may be an unfair reflection.

While searching the same youtubes I have come across some disgusting displays by the Orange marchers on the 12'th of July, purposefully stopping outside the Liffey Pub.

I would like to attend a St.Patrick's Day like I am used to attending over the years in places like Castlebar, Westport, Galway and Dublin, free from any political bull and about Spórt agus Spraoi, Ceol agus Craic.

So you want a parade that excludes Irish people whose politics you don't like
Post by: deiseach on March 14, 2012, 09:14:39 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 13, 2012, 10:11:33 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 13, 2012, 03:52:26 PM

Armagh - there are 3 rival ones this year.

I'd say it's some job keeping them apart!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2012, 04:09:36 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 14, 2012, 08:52:47 AM

I would prefer if it were not hijacked by political agendas, I would feel deeply uncomfortable to be seen in a parade with an extreme leftwing, provo sympathetic agenda or people singing RA songs. Can we not celebrate our Irishness without the tribal drumbeating.

I agree with whoever said in one of the Paddy's Day threads about not liking it when people dress up as leprechauns.
Post by: The Iceman on March 14, 2012, 04:46:23 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2012, 04:09:36 PM

I would prefer if it were not hijacked by political agendas, I would feel deeply uncomfortable to be seen in a parade with an extreme leftwing, provo sympathetic agenda or people singing RA songs. Can we not celebrate our Irishness without the tribal drumbeating.

I agree with whoever said in one of the Paddy's Day threads about not liking it when people dress up as leprechauns.

What about a Parade celebrating the life and example of Ireland's Patron Saint. Surely you wouldn't want to be part of a parade honouring a Saint, a godly man and someone who's life went against everything you supposedly stand for......
Post by: deiseach on March 14, 2012, 05:15:42 PM

What is a St Patrick's Day parade if not an exercise in tribal drumbeating? There's already enough bitter people in Liverpool who object to naked displays of triumphalism, flag-waving and partisan bombast by other people who they view as being in the minority in the city without you adding to their number.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2012, 05:47:56 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on March 14, 2012, 04:46:23 PM

What about a Parade celebrating the life and example of Ireland's Patron Saint. Surely you wouldn't want to be part of a parade honouring a Saint, a godly man and someone who's life went against everything you supposedly stand for......

Ireland become a centre of learning after Patrick and his peers missions to Ireland. Christianity was the unfortunate reverse of that coin. But as relgion already existed in Ireland, it was only replacing one pointless faith system with another one, so nothing lost or gained on that front.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2012, 05:50:08 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 14, 2012, 05:15:42 PM

What is a St Patrick's Day parade if not an exercise in tribal drumbeating? There's already enough bitter people in Liverpool who object to naked displays of triumphalism, flag-waving and partisan bombast by other people who they view as being in the minority in the city without you adding to their number.

But why do they need to sing those songs in a parade for Irish people, its not a political march? I know what your talking about, some of the youtubes I have seen of Orange Order marches in this city are examples of pure vileness.

For me St.Patrick's Day was always about Irish people having the craic and being proud to come from a people of many peoples from a wonderful gem of an Island in the North Atlantic on the fringe of Europe.
Post by: The Iceman on March 14, 2012, 05:54:51 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2012, 05:50:08 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 14, 2012, 05:15:42 PM

But why do they need to sing those songs in a parade for Irish people, its not a political march? I know what your talking about, some of the youtubes I have seen of Orange Order marches in this city are examples of pure vileness.

For me St.Patrick's Day was always about Irish people having the craic and being proud to come from a people of many peoples from a wonderful gem of an Island in the North Atlantic on the fringe of Europe.
Applying your own agenda.......

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2012, 06:00:43 PM
Just want to check, have I got it correct that the Liverpool parade has a Republican (Provo-sympathetic bands) slant and people sing inappropriate songs or am I incorrect (really hoping I am).

Is there just a proper St.Patrick's Day parade like you get in the like in places like Mayo, Galway or Dublin?
Post by: deiseach on March 14, 2012, 07:41:33 PM

I was talking about Evertonians
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2012, 08:01:28 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 14, 2012, 07:41:33 PM

I was talking about Evertonians

;D Was think totally in the Irish context there, very good.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on March 14, 2012, 09:07:09 PM
How do you know that the scheduled parades for Liverpool contain Irish Republican and/or socialist political overtones?
Post by: Ulick on March 15, 2012, 12:01:01 AM

So in other words you haven't a fecking clue what the Liverpool parade is like, you just started this thread to show us again what a complete and utter bollocks you are.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 15, 2012, 12:26:09 AM
Quote from: Ulick on March 15, 2012, 12:01:01 AM

So in other words you haven't a fecking clue what the Liverpool parade is like, you just started this thread to show us again what a complete and utter bollocks you are.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 13, 2012, 01:05:28 PM
Any lads having lived in or living in Liverpool know if there is a non-Republican (as in Ra heads) or non-Socialist parade in Liverpool City Centre. I have only found a political looking one and I am not going to that.
I asked if there was one without a political twist/agenda. I would like to go to one that is non-political (suggesting that I would like to know where there is one, if there is one). I said the one I have come across appears to look political.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 13, 2012, 01:34:10 PM

My parade question is a serious one, I want to attend a parade but not one with a political agenda, any political agenda.
I repeat the question trying to make it clearer so people know I am asking a question not a wind-up. "I want to attend a parade"

I explain my view is based on youtubes when searching to see what the Paddy's Day parades have been like. They seem to be too many people singing RA songs etc. & Political looking bands.
I reiterate that I would like to go to one like I was brought up with (if there is one).

Not a wind-up, not having a go. I am just asking a feckn question.

Can you answer my question? I am hoping that I am wrong, ffs.
Post by: tyssam5 on March 15, 2012, 06:49:22 AM
You'd be much safer to stay at home. Pull the curtains too in case anything you deem offensive might walk past the windows.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 15, 2012, 08:41:36 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on March 15, 2012, 06:49:22 AM
You'd be much safer to stay at home. Pull the curtains too in case anything you deem offensive might walk past the windows.

And whatever you do, don't start looking up St Patricks Day Parades on youtube again. They contain such horrifically offensive material, it's amazing youtube allow them at all.

BE STRONG. SEE YOU ON THE OTHER SIDE OF ALL THIS ON THE 18TH.
Post by: deiseach on March 15, 2012, 09:37:01 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 15, 2012, 12:26:09 AM
Not a wind-up, not having a go. I am just asking a feckn question.

GIYF