GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: omagh_gael on March 06, 2012, 01:57:04 PM

Title: Tyrone v Westmeath - 10/03/12 - 19.30
Post by: omagh_gael on March 06, 2012, 01:57:04 PM
So after a three week break with no football we're on our second game in 6 days. Eight wins on the bounce and it appears the bedding in process is going well, with the new guys stepping up and producing the goods. Pete Harte already looks like the real deal and could be our main man for years, I'm sure we'll see a shuffling of the forward pack, although the defence is picking itself at the minute. I wonder will Sean Cav get his first start? Unlikely though as Mickey appears to be edging him back bit by bit.

Westmeath pulled off a bit of a shock versus Galway which will hopefully guard against any complacency from ourselves. As far as I can remember this is the first time we've have met since the 08 qualifiers when Dessie nearly nicked it at the ends for the midlanders.

Anyway, here's hoping we can bag another 2 points and consolidate our place at the top of the division.
Title: Re: Tyrone v Westmeath - 10/03/12 - 19.30
Post by: nothingbettertobeat on March 08, 2012, 02:05:34 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 06, 2012, 01:57:04 PM
So after a three week break with no football we're on our second game in 6 days. Eight wins on the bounce and it appears the bedding in process is going well, with the new guys stepping up and producing the goods. Pete Harte already looks like the real deal and could be our main man for years, I'm sure we'll see a shuffling of the forward pack, although the defence is picking itself at the minute. I wonder will Sean Cav get his first start? Unlikely though as Mickey appears to be edging him back bit by bit.

Westmeath pulled off a bit of a shock versus Galway which will hopefully guard against any complacency from ourselves. As far as I can remember this is the first time we've have met since the 08 qualifiers when Dessie nearly nicked it at the ends for the midlanders.

Anyway, here's hoping we can bag another 2 points and consolidate our place at the top of the division.

Tyrone by 6
Post by: Keane on March 08, 2012, 02:37:05 PM
Yep should be a comfortable Tyrone victory, SON and Cassidy fit again, Gormley also in the frame.

Would Carlin be on the team if fit, not sure how good he is?
Post by: everymanaman on March 08, 2012, 03:52:36 PM
Quote from: Keane on March 08, 2012, 02:37:05 PM
Yep should be a comfortable Tyrone victory, SON and Cassidy fit again, Gormley also in the frame.

Carlin a definite asset to the team. Went head to head with the much vaunted P Bradley recently and came out on top (despite what was reported in the Ulster Herald by their sports editor)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 08, 2012, 03:53:30 PM
Is Carlin the stocky corner back/wing back? I was impressed with him when I saw him. Good player.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on March 08, 2012, 04:51:59 PM
Quote from: everymanaman on March 08, 2012, 03:52:36 PM

Carlin a definite asset to the team. Went head to head with the much vaunted P Bradley recently and came out on top (despite what was reported in the Ulster Herald by their sports editor)

What did the herald editor report?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 08, 2012, 06:12:01 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 08, 2012, 03:53:30 PM
Is Carlin the stocky corner back/wing back? I was impressed with him when I saw him. Good player.

Yep, that's him.
Post by: everymanaman on March 08, 2012, 07:34:29 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on March 08, 2012, 04:51:59 PM
Quote from: everymanaman on March 08, 2012, 03:52:36 PM

What did the herald editor report?
He did a full back page article about Conor Clarke including how he went head to head with Paddy Bradley for 70 minutes. For a man who was at the match and did the report for the paper, how he failed to realise that Carlin marked Bradley is beyond me.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 08, 2012, 08:37:49 PM
Tyrone Team v Westmeath

Comórtas: Sraith Náisiúnta Peil
Cluiche: Tír Eoghain  v  An Iar Mhí
Ionad: Pairc Uí hÉilí, An Omaigh
Dáta: 10-03-12

1 Pascal McConnell – An Baile Nua
2 Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
3 Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
4 PJ Quinn – Baile na Móna
5 Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
6 Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
7 Damian McCaul - Domhnach Mór
8 Niall McKenna – Domhnach Mór
9 Joe McMahon – An Omaigh
10 Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mhór
11 Mark Donnelly – An Charraig Mhór
12 Patrick McNiece – Oileán a'Ghuail
13 Kyle Coney – Ard Bó
14 Martin Penrose – Achadh Uí Aráin
15 Owen Mulligan – An Chorra Chríochach

16 John Devine – Aireagal Chiaráin
17 Aidan Cassidy – Eochar
18 Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
19 Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
20 Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac
21 Ciaran Gervin – Doire Locháin
22 Conor Gormley – An Charraig Mhór
23 Jonathan Lafferty – Urnaí
24 Ryan McMenamin – An Droim Mhór
25 Stephen McNally – Oileán a'Ghuail
26 Stephen McNulty – Cluain Eo
Post by: LeoMc on March 08, 2012, 08:44:46 PM
I see Clarke is not among the subs. Is he injured?
Post by: everymanaman on March 08, 2012, 09:01:33 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on March 08, 2012, 08:44:46 PM
I see Clarke is not among the subs. Is he injured?
Neither is Ronan O'Neill- resting them for U21's I presume
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 08, 2012, 09:08:20 PM
U21's play next Wednesday night so presume they are being rested for that.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 08, 2012, 09:45:00 PM
Do we not discuss this every match? I think they can only name 26 but the others are still there but just not named. I'd say SoN is there too as is Tommy.
Post by: tyronefan on March 08, 2012, 10:19:10 PM
Subs are named in alphabetical order up to number 26
Post by: loughshore lad on March 08, 2012, 10:21:34 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 08, 2012, 09:45:00 PM
Do we not discuss this every match? I think they can only name 26 but the others are still there but just not named. I'd say SoN is there too as is Tommy.

Tommy McGuigan is out injured.
Post by: God14 on March 09, 2012, 08:22:49 AM
Hopefully SON isnt risked this weekend, the last thing the lad needs is another set back. Id rest the hamstring for a few weeks yet - no point taking unnecessary risks with him. League promotion can be achieved without SON.
If the forwards are struggling during the course of the game, we would still have serious options like Mathew Donnelly, Jonny Lafferty & Sean Cavanagh.
Post by: rrhf on March 09, 2012, 08:54:21 AM
Pleased with that team, its a nice mix of experience and boys on the learning curve and there should be plenty of confidence in the team that has had success to date in the league.   Heres to a trickier than most people think challenge on Saturday night. 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 09, 2012, 09:22:23 AM
Flirting with the idea of driving up and back for this, what's the N2 like these days?
Post by: Rois on March 09, 2012, 11:13:34 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 09, 2012, 09:22:23 AM
Flirting with the idea of driving up and back for this, what's the N2 like these days?

If you need directions give me a shout  ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 09, 2012, 11:28:13 AM
Quote from: Rois on March 09, 2012, 11:13:34 AM

:D Last time you gave me directions I got lost, I'm not relaying the directions to the team you know  :P
Post by: LeoMc on March 09, 2012, 11:58:38 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 08, 2012, 09:45:00 PM

Quote from: tyronefan on March 08, 2012, 10:19:10 PM

That is why I was am querying Clarkes exclusion. He would have been No 20 if available.
I had forgot about the u-21's.
Post by: ziggysego on March 09, 2012, 12:15:59 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 08, 2012, 10:19:10 PM

Correct, this is confirmed last year in the same discussion.
Post by: Keane on March 09, 2012, 01:03:05 PM
Good to see Justin McMahon back in the team.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 09, 2012, 02:15:38 PM
Westmeath unchanged, wouldn't be surprised to see a change or two before throw in

Westmeath (SF v Tyrone): G Connaughton (captain); M Curley, K Gavin, K Maguire; D McDermott, M Ennis, A Finnan; J Heslin, P Bannon; K Martin, G Egan, P Sheridan; A Giles, David Glennon, P Sharry.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 09, 2012, 03:14:54 PM
Yes its live on Setanta 1 at 6.30 programme start so I'll be staying in Dublin for it.
Was surprised they chose this match. Are there no big Div 1 teams on this Sat night?

I wonder will our half back line be our top scorers again this week?
So much for me saying Justy and McCarron being happy with being released from FB duties.
Sorry Justy  ;D
Post by: Keane on March 09, 2012, 03:19:35 PM
Only D1 game is Laois vs Cork.
Post by: Rois on March 09, 2012, 04:40:52 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 09, 2012, 11:28:13 AM

:D Last time you gave me directions I got lost, I'm not relaying the directions to the team you know  :P

Ahem Mr Croi, I think you got lost cause you DIDN'T follow my instructions! 

Post by: omagh_gael on March 10, 2012, 08:44:41 PM
Big win this evening, Kyle coney given man of the match by rte. Promotion must now be a certainty. Mickey is going to have a major headache picking 6 forwards in the summer if they continue this form.
Post by: CK_Redhand on March 10, 2012, 08:46:10 PM
Kilkenny would have been disappointed if they gave a performance like Westmeath tonight.
Post by: Agent Orange on March 10, 2012, 08:47:01 PM
Westmeath offered nothing.
Post by: rrhf on March 10, 2012, 08:50:21 PM
Mc caul was giving a man of the match performance till he was taken off. Tempo dropped with the subs coming in though good to see them get some game time.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 10, 2012, 09:15:51 PM
There is a nice freshness about Tyrone this year with the introduction of so many new players.

As often happens when running the bench Tyrone were not as fluent in the second half though Westmeath improved a bit from their complete no show in the first half.

You can only beat what's in front of you but really until Tyrone enter the Athletic Grounds in June it will be difficult to know just where they stand.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 10, 2012, 09:25:53 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 10, 2012, 08:44:41 PM
Big win this evening, Kyle coney given man of the match by rte. Promotion must now be a certainty. Mickey is going to have a major headache picking 6 forwards in the summer if they continue this form.

Tyrone haven't bate Galway for a long time. Last 3 games big games.
Post by: ONeill on March 10, 2012, 10:04:16 PM
These games show why Tyrone need to be in Division 1. You don't learn a lot and you can't really be sure that your star players so far can replicate that when facing the best.

Coney finally starting to take the scores he's capable of but there were a serious amount of wides today.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 10, 2012, 11:58:42 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 10, 2012, 10:04:16 PM
These games show why Tyrone need to be in Division 1. You don't learn a lot and you can't really be sure that your star players so far can replicate that when facing the best.

Coney finally starting to take the scores he's capable of but there were a serious amount of wides today.

I agree ONeill but there is perhaps also an argument that Division 2 this season might provide a better environment initially for blooding younger players. You wouldn't want it long term though and it is certainly very important that Tyrone get back to Division 1 for next season. Playing the strongest teams in the league is without doubt the best preparation for the summer. 2 more wins will make sure now, 1 might even do, and Tyrone need to go and finish the job.

We might not be sure exactly where we stand in comparison to the best but the performances and results so far are encouraging. We have younger lads showing well, plus the likes of McCaul and McCarron who have been waiting around the panel for a good while for a chance suggesting that they are now ready to really make an impact (a bit like Penrose and Tommy in 2008 hopefully), and the likes of Mugsy looking like he can get back to his best. If we can get SON, Block and Sean Mor (and the McMahons) also back to something like their best form and mix their class and experience with the best of the upcoming talent then we will have a very nice mix indeed for the championship.
Post by: rrhf on March 11, 2012, 10:12:14 AM
The reason why tyrone are winning so well is that they have pace everywhere.  Everybody attacks at pace and that's hard to stop. Westmeath simply couldn't cop and the majority of teams won't.  But if we put players off the pace for one reason or another, the whole thing falls apart.  But its all going the right way so far, harte wil know conor gormley never give jamie clarke a sniff of it last year, so he certainly wants conor on standbye for armagh.
Post by: barelegs on March 11, 2012, 11:21:58 AM
Yeah, I'd have to agree with you rrhf. One worry I have for Tyrone at this stage is that Harte might reintroduce some of the more experienced players and that pace will be sacrificed. Tyrone are playing the best football they've played at this stage of the year for quite some time and they're getting into the kind of winning habit that benefits you in the  long run.

I'd be worried that the re-introduction some of the senior players could upset the balance they've established at the minute. It's a fine balancing act for Harte but it's one I'm sure he'll relish. I will also say that the squad at the minute is taking on a really strong look to it at the minute with plenty of options for Harte especially at midfield and in the forward line. I'd be a little worried that we're still missing a top class 'shut down' corner back but time will tell.
Post by: ONeill on March 11, 2012, 11:35:32 AM
Over the 9 games so far, they have an average winning margin of 7 points. Many of those games have seen Tyrone concede plenty late on due to lack of motivation. It's the best start to an inter-county season in yonks.

Left is

Away v Galway
Home v Meath
Home v Monaghan

You'd like to think they'll be put to the pin of their collar late on with one of those.

Post by: barelegs on March 11, 2012, 12:08:25 PM
From a Tyrone point of view the Meath- Galway one is an interesting one today. Depending on the result one or both of these sides will be playing Tyrone with promotion still a real possibility. That should make thinks a bit more interesting. Monaghan at any stage is always a physical game so that should be a decent preparation for the championship.

Then there's the possibility of a league final after that against the next best team in the division whoever that will be. Plenty of football between now and the championship
Post by: trileacman on March 11, 2012, 01:41:55 PM
Quote from: barelegs on March 11, 2012, 11:21:58 AM

I'd be a little worried that we're still missing a top class 'shut down' corner back but time will tell.

This is the most important factor and something that is completely ignored by those who are fawning over play at the current time.

I've sat through many a National league and McKenna Cup and watched us sweep all before us with new names and youthful prospects. Come the Summer few of these actually make it. Attacking against Westmeath on a small wet pitch in March is one thing, defending against Cork or Dublin on a hard, fast pitch in Croker is another matter entirely.

Since about mid summer 2005 we have relied upon the All-Star capabilities of Conor Gormley to man-mark Gooch, Brogan's, Clarke, McDonnell, Bray, Coulter and all the other top 10 forwards in the GAA world. Block is now at the end of the road and I don't see the next All-star man-marker coming along. McCaul, McCarron were considered the answer at one point but now we see that attacking not defending is their forte. Quinn has been tried before and was shown up badly against a blunt enough Cork attack in '09, a year when we had real ambitions. Of the 10 backs who have played to date in this campaign mark out one who is a noteworthy defender. Our entire HB line is made up of attacking players. Our CHB Harte is not truly a defender, having played most of his career to date in the Half-Forwards. Justy has fallen out of form since '08 and the tactical move away from a bomber FF has not suited his style. The move forward up the pitch that we have all envisaged since he arrived on the scene has never materialised.

In real terms our best defence would consist of Block, Joe and probably Quinn as the axillary corner-back. Block is coming to the end of a fantastic career, Joe is a sweeper by trade not a FB (and Harte will probably not play him as the FB come summer either), Quinn is a decent defender but at all ireland level you are playing against the most lethal forwards in the game, one mistake and you'll be punished a la Cork goal '09, I'd worry about him.

This winning run and all is great but it isn't delivering to us what we really need. We'll have an ocean of half-backs and half forwards to pick form come championship, but a top-class man marker and a midfield able to combat Kerry, Dublin and Cork is what is needed. I'd rather see us lose to Meath/Galway and Quinn/McCrory give an unbelievable defensive performance than some more facile victories where the HB's run the show and our FB's stand like spectators.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 11, 2012, 02:13:54 PM
Would agree that the lack of a top class man marker is a worry. McCrory has done well so far this year but still not sure how he'll do come summer and he doesn't look like an out and out marker. I think Harte will try to counter the lack of a top class marker but having a highly fit team that are able to defend and attack in numbers. This will hopefully lead to the defence being less exposed.

In the majority of games Harte has not acted as a centre half back and has effectively had a free role with McNabb dropping into defence.
Post by: rrhf on March 11, 2012, 02:30:51 PM
To be honest I think our defence has been fantastic certainly from winning th eball ahead of their man.  The only times we were exposed yesterday was early on form an incisive run and when Gormley got isolated, but our hording and workrate was fantastic.  I disagree with some of the comments above, Tyrone have lapsed when they have given the 4 or 5 subs gametime.  Tyrones best team available. with Stevie O Neill and possibly Clarke with Cavanagh (Sean) was out on the pitch last night.  Last Years Tyrone team couldnt live with that pace.  Mark Donnelly is flying at the moment, PJ and Mc Crory are playing great, Mc kenna had a fantastic game as well.  Petie had a quiet game by his standards but the boys round him Mc Caul and Mc Carron and Mc Nabb as well as Mc Neice were all very lively.  Amazing energy.   
Post by: rrhf on March 11, 2012, 02:31:54 PM
Now lets hope we get to beat Meath in a league final in Croke Park. 
Post by: trileacman on March 11, 2012, 02:48:36 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 11, 2012, 02:30:51 PM
To be honest I think our defence has been fantastic certainly from winning th eball ahead of their man.  The only times we were exposed yesterday was early on form an incisive run and when Gormley got isolated, but our hording and workrate was fantastic.  I disagree with some of the comments above, Tyrone have lapsed when they have given the 4 or 5 subs gametime.  Tyrones best team available. with Stevie O Neill and possibly Clarke with Cavanagh (Sean) was out on the pitch last night.  Last Years Tyrone team couldnt live with that pace.  Mark Donnelly is flying at the moment, PJ and Mc Crory are playing great, Mc kenna had a fantastic game as well.  Petie had a quiet game by his standards but the boys round him Mc Caul and Mc Carron and Mc Nabb as well as Mc Neice were all very lively.  Amazing energy.   
It's all relative. We are playing division 2 league football against Westmeath. Dublin in an AI q-final is where I'm thinking of. I'm glad to see Mickey sweep out the dead wood and invest in youth, something I don't think he has really done since initially coming on the scene in 2003.
Post by: rrhf on March 11, 2012, 03:21:03 PM
Two of tyrones best players this year weren't oplaying. Yeterday donnelly and murphy. We are going well.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 11, 2012, 04:03:36 PM
Too much negativity I'd say - despite being in division 2 we're looking in better shape at this stage of the footballing year than we have done for almost a decade. True, still some defensive concerns, and midfield can be concerningly muffled (as last night, largely down to the excellent John Heslin), but the 15 as unit, plus a very strong bench leaves us very favourably placed. 
Post by: ONeill on March 11, 2012, 05:49:47 PM
Whilst there's no Fay Devlin on the side, the fitness levels will hopefully leave no man exposed or allow a star forward to breathe. Swarm the feck outta them and then swarm forward. Swarm swarm. Swarm.
Post by: under the bar on March 11, 2012, 06:49:54 PM
I hope you all had the good sense to lump it on Tyrone for the AI at 20/1 before the Kildare game.
Post by: trileacman on March 11, 2012, 11:32:38 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 11, 2012, 05:49:47 PM
Whilst there's no Fay Devlin on the side, the fitness levels will hopefully leave no man exposed or allow a star forward to breathe. Swarm the feck outta them and then swarm forward. Swarm swarm. Swarm.

We'll meet teams as fit or fitter than ourselves. f**k your positivity lads, We're screwed! Harte out!!  ;)
Post by: tyssam5 on March 12, 2012, 03:32:52 AM
Quote from: trileacman on March 11, 2012, 11:32:38 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 11, 2012, 05:49:47 PM

We'll meet teams as fit or fitter than ourselves. f**k your positivity lads, We're screwed! Harte out!!  ;)

Fair points. We're going well but we'll need to see how we go I'm tighter games when we're on he back foot
Post by: Radda bout yeee on March 12, 2012, 11:53:02 AM
Quote from: trileacman on March 11, 2012, 01:41:55 PM
Quote from: barelegs on March 11, 2012, 11:21:58 AM

I'd be a little worried that we're still missing a top class 'shut down' corner back but time will tell.

This is the most important factor and something that is completely ignored by those who are fawning over play at the current time.

I've sat through many a National league and McKenna Cup and watched us sweep all before us with new names and youthful prospects. Come the Summer few of these actually make it. Attacking against Westmeath on a small wet pitch in March is one thing, defending against Cork or Dublin on a hard, fast pitch in Croker is another matter entirely.

Since about mid summer 2005 we have relied upon the All-Star capabilities of Conor Gormley to man-mark Gooch, Brogan's, Clarke, McDonnell, Bray, Coulter and all the other top 10 forwards in the GAA world. Block is now at the end of the road and I don't see the next All-star man-marker coming along. McCaul, McCarron were considered the answer at one point but now we see that attacking not defending is their forte. Quinn has been tried before and was shown up badly against a blunt enough Cork attack in '09, a year when we had real ambitions. Of the 10 backs who have played to date in this campaign mark out one who is a noteworthy defender. Our entire HB line is made up of attacking players. Our CHB Harte is not truly a defender, having played most of his career to date in the Half-Forwards. Justy has fallen out of form since '08 and the tactical move away from a bomber FF has not suited his style. The move forward up the pitch that we have all envisaged since he arrived on the scene has never materialised.

In real terms our best defence would consist of Block, Joe and probably Quinn as the axillary corner-back. Block is coming to the end of a fantastic career, Joe is a sweeper by trade not a FB (and Harte will probably not play him as the FB come summer either), Quinn is a decent defender but at all ireland level you are playing against the most lethal forwards in the game, one mistake and you'll be punished a la Cork goal '09, I'd worry about him.

This winning run and all is great but it isn't delivering to us what we really need. We'll have an ocean of half-backs and half forwards to pick form come championship, but a top-class man marker and a midfield able to combat Kerry, Dublin and Cork is what is needed. I'd rather see us lose to Meath/Galway and Quinn/McCrory give an unbelievable defensive performance than some more facile victories where the HB's run the show and our FB's stand like spectators.

Is Carlin not the best answer for the job - given his performance against Paddy Bradley this year?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 12, 2012, 11:54:24 AM
Quote from: Rois on March 09, 2012, 04:40:52 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 09, 2012, 11:28:13 AM

Ahem Mr Croi, I think you got lost cause you DIDN'T follow my instructions!

:-X Taking directions from a woman, I've only myself to blame  :P

Anyways, pegged it up at the last minute on Sat and lucky for me I remembered something about the Gortin Road as I tried to make sense of your signposts. Yous are some hoors to clap every bout of good play, it was like an episode of the X Factor. From a Westmeath perspective I don't think we were as bad as the highlights showed yesterday. What killed us was our complete lack of a full forward line, if we had only 13 bodies we couldn't have done any worse as anything we kicked in there came straight back out. Took the first half arrival of Glennon to give us an option up there. While Tyrone had a host of wides, the ref made a couple of home town decisions that didn't help us when the game was still competitive, case in point being Gary "picking the ball off the ground". From my distant vantage point that ball was bouncing. The amount of yellows thrown around was ridiculous, again. Some of the examples they highlighted on League Sunday were crazy.

It wasn't a wasted trip though, Tyrone are at a much more advanced stage of their redevelopment and there was encouraging signs there for Westmeath. Ger Egan and Heslin are improving with every game and it would have been easy to drop the heads after Tyrone's second goal at the start of the 2nd half but the lads stuck at it and scored four or five points in a row. Despite being at fault for the goal Kevin Maguire is doing well in the corner. I would question Sharrys ability to hold the center and I don't think Natchie's role has proved successful. I'd stick him back in at wing back and let him reprise his 08 role of bombing up and down the wing.

Monaghan up next Sunday, must get a result here if we want to stay up, Glennon has to start if fit, thank Christ we're at home.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on March 12, 2012, 11:57:49 AM
Can't see the following featuring much in the championship due to comp for places:
McCrory
McNeice
PJ
McNabb
Post by: Fuzzman on March 12, 2012, 03:59:14 PM
Watched the game live on Sebanta and I'll be honest I was bored after 20 mins. Whilst I was delighted with our performance and the pace and workmanship, we were on a hiding to nothing playing them. No disrepect Croi.

You nearly always see the same where the game is over early on and then we get complacent and start making silly mistakes and bad shooting.

Still you can only beat what's in front of you and I'm very pleased what where we are so early on.
Of course we're not tested yet and its interesting to see the 4 teams we've beaten are the bottom 4 now in the league. We wouldn't have thought that at the start of the year.

Galway now could be a good test of how we perform away from home to a descent team. I know they started the year poorly but they seem to be going well again.

I think this talk of not having any great man markers is a wee bit OTT. Yes Block has lost a lot of pace as has Ricey but if you look around the country its hard to pick out many great man markers.
Most teams seem to have followed the getting Nos behind the ball tactic so the days of leaving forwards isolated is long gone in big games I think.

I think PJ should make the starting team but not sure about the rest.
I would still not be surprised if Mickey brought back Ricey and Block into the half back line again later for their experience and probably Carlin at corner back. It's an interesting back 12 to choose from and that's leaving out McNabb

McCrory               Ricey
Clarke                 Justy
PJ Quinn              Carlin
McCarron            Joey
P.Harte               Block
D.McCaul            Sean O'Neill

With Armagh getting their wings trimmed yesterday they'll be less confident now come championship time. It would certainly be nice to win the Div 2 title and gave this new look time a wee bit of confidence in themselves for the summer ahead.

I'm certainly a lot more positive now than I was back in January. Winning breeds confidence which usually breeds more winning. We've still plenty to work on but at least we're showing great promise both up front and at the back. 8-50 scored in 4 matches is great going no matter whether it is Div 2 or not. Derry and Kildare are not bad teams as we'll see later on this year no doubt.

Post by: Redhand Santa on March 12, 2012, 11:08:15 PM
As always we do appear to have plenty of options. I'm actually not convinced this team that didn't start wouldn't beat the team that lined out on Saturday night:
Devine
Carlin
Gormley
Ricey
Sean O'Neill
D Harte
Clarke
C Cavanagh
Cassidy
S Cavanagh
T McGuigan
Mattie Donnelly
R O'Neill
S O'Neill
Laverty

This Sundays could prove to be the toughest of the campaign so far so would be nice to get a win for a change in Galway.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 13, 2012, 09:47:05 AM
No offence taken Fuzzman, I'd be fairly realistic as to our limitations at the moment and from the highlights I saw it didn't look pretty. The view from the stand offered more (as it always does) and if we had an inside forward line the game might have held your interest for a while longer anyway. Next time we'll keep it tight  :-\
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 13, 2012, 03:20:01 PM
looking forward to catching the game on TV tonight