GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Uladh on March 20, 2007, 11:17:40 AM

Title: Armagh Vs Down
Post by: Uladh on March 20, 2007, 11:17:40 AM

A must win for both counties.
Morale is low in the Armagh camp but a loss to the old foe on sunday will mean the third division next year. Armagh will obviously not have the cross lads and there'll be no u21s starting given they're playing on saturday, so it'll be the bare bones.
Down will have no problem getting themselves up for this one and despite all of the experimentation to date, i'd imagine down folk will get an idea of management's thinking on their best team this week. i'd say ross and dj have been plotting for this game from the outset.
Down could just nick it.
Title: Re: Armagh Vs Down
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on March 20, 2007, 01:02:53 PM
It'll hardly be on the tv - aerial shots from a helicopter in Cross might be a bit difficult. :o

Post by: true ulster gael on March 20, 2007, 01:05:34 PM
losing to derry was bad
but if we cant beat these stoop lovers then we deserve to be division 3 next year
Post by: thegael on March 20, 2007, 03:07:13 PM
true ulster gael while you may a point about stoop lovers not all of us are .

as a man of principle on your ideals i commend you , but regards the team you support let us  just hope we beat you !!

Hope we beat you and remember you only have one all-ireland!

a lot of the points you make about how the GAA are spot on but tarring all of down as stoop lovers is a bit ott.
Post by: downredblack on March 20, 2007, 03:17:56 PM
Stop talking to yourself  ;)
Post by: amallon on March 20, 2007, 03:24:50 PM
I've heard all the experimentation in the Down camp is over and we should expect our strongest available team out on Sunday.  The Cross game ending in a draw was a blessing for us, it gives us a chance of getting a result. 
Post by: illdecide on March 20, 2007, 03:47:48 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on March 20, 2007, 03:35:57 PM
Hopefully AMallon is correct and the experimentaion is at an end. I`ve had a feeling about this game for a while and although I dont usually gamble, I am definitely sticking £100 on Down. Anyone getting any better odds of 5/2 ?

Ill take that bet 5times
Post by: illdecide on March 20, 2007, 04:46:21 PM
the only thing handed over will be your £100
Post by: continuity tug on March 20, 2007, 10:08:13 PM
Quote from: thegael on March 20, 2007, 03:07:13 PM
true ulster gael while you may a point about stoop lovers not all of us are .

as a man of principle on your ideals i commend you , but regards the team you support let us  just hope we beat you !!

Hope we beat you and remember you only have one all-ireland!

a lot of the points you make about how the GAA are spot on but tarring all of down as stoop lovers is a bit ott.
sorry
there are men and women like yourself that still have true republican ideals in down but the fact is most of down is full of stoops and stoops2
Post by: Spiritof98 on March 21, 2007, 09:34:48 AM
The new dissident republican onslaught on the british is to attack gaels from different counties on a GAA discussion board. TUG and his several illiterate aliases why do you continually have to bring politics into everything, this is a league match between two neighbours threatened with the drop, why not discuss that.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on March 21, 2007, 11:50:29 AM

Normally i'd say down have no chance in a game like this but i'm afraid this sunday could be a bit of a waterloo for armagh's league status. this time last year there was a double header with armagh playing down in the u21s and seniors in consecutive days and the talk was off down finishing armagh off.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on March 21, 2007, 12:19:11 PM

Arguably the cross lads won't strengthen the armagh team at all. obviously if francie was fully fit he'd be at full back but the talk is still of him having to have an op after cross's run. aaron will come straight into the team but the majority will tell you that his style starves the forwards and his defensive frailties weaken the defense as a whole. oisin has been a great servant but i don't think he's fit to make the same impact over 70 minutes of county football any more.
Post by: full back on March 21, 2007, 01:22:39 PM
Does Paul Hearty not play for Armagh anymore?
Post by: Aghdavoyle on March 21, 2007, 01:42:39 PM

I was simply going on the fact that McKinney was armagh's first choice keeper last year until he excused himself from the panel for personal reasons and therefore assumed he would continue with that status
Post by: Armamike on March 21, 2007, 02:41:08 PM
are the McEntees defo off the panel?
Post by: Six Inch Nail on March 21, 2007, 03:35:03 PM
Quote from: Armamike on March 21, 2007, 02:41:08 PM
are the McEntees defo off the panel?

I read an article a while ago and the McEntees said that they would not be making any decision on their Armagh future until after Cross are finished.

At that rate of going Aghdavoyle is right, Bellew will be a help (although against Derry the full back line was the best on the field).  Aaron Kernan I think will be a help too.  Oisin, I think possibly isn't fit for the half forward line anymore, I still think he could get a few scores and I would therefore play him in the full forward line and leave him in there.  Full forward line this year should be McDonnell, Marsden and McConville and leave all 3 in.

Sunday is a hard game to call with both teams going very badly (only for a last minute robbery against Louth Armagh would be below Down).  You could see the big guns on for Down, but I still think Armagh might have enough to win (although I predicted that we would beat Derry so don't be running off to the bookies now).
Post by: dubnut on March 21, 2007, 03:38:57 PM
Paddy power reckons Armagh will win @ 2-5
Post by: thebandit on March 21, 2007, 04:40:29 PM
Paddy musn't have been at the Derry match
Post by: charlie stubbs on March 21, 2007, 07:15:15 PM
wudnt touch rma at that price though it pains me to say it
Post by: thewobbler on March 21, 2007, 09:07:22 PM
Anybody looking for firm evidence that the GAABoard has descended into nonsense need look no further. From people speaking in Nokia, to people speaking gibberish, to people speaking who for the good of humanity shouldn't be allowed a voice, this really is the pits.

5ivetimes, while the odds definitely sound enticing, there is no way anyone should part with money on Down until they've heard what the lineups are going to be. And with Ross seemingly hellbent on carrying on O'Rourke's legacy of dreadful public relations, I'd say you'll not know what they are until 5 minutes after the ball has been thrown in at Crossmaglen.
Post by: Pangurban on March 21, 2007, 10:03:42 PM
With a weakened armagh side,and Downs desperate need for a win, there is some cause for optimism. However if they persist with the slow movement out of defence, and reluctance to have a pop from outside the 13 metre line, then we get our just desserts,and Div3.is where we belong
Post by: Mourne Rover on March 21, 2007, 10:59:26 PM
It's difficult to believe that Armagh could possibly have been worse against Derry than Down were against Laois. Pangurban is correct to highlight Down's slow movement out of defence, as it was like watching paint dry. If you throw in Down's woeful recent record against Armagh, we should not really have a hope. However, with the exception of the Laois game, Down's NFL form has not been bad. We lost to a better side in Louth, but showed a fair amount of spirit, we would have beaten Kildare if not for a freak goal and, by all accounts, McGovern's first half red card cost us a win at Westmeath. The IN interview with Ross yesterday, when he accepted responsibility for the poor run of results, was as honest as you would expect. He deserves a bit of luck in Cross, although he needs to start with his strongest team. 
Post by: lfdown2 on March 22, 2007, 02:41:12 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 21, 2007, 09:07:22 PM
Anybody looking for firm evidence that the GAABoard has descended into nonsense need look no further. From people speaking in Nokia, to people speaking gibberish, to people speaking who for the good of humanity shouldn't be allowed a voice, this really is the pits.

hear hear lad it has descended into something truely awful!

as for the game, what is downs strongest team?

and like ourselves armagh will be up for this one and will see it as their best opportunity to get back on the rails (hopefully it dosnt happen tis week or this year for that matter)
Post by: full back on March 22, 2007, 10:17:06 AM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on March 21, 2007, 10:59:26 PM
It's difficult to believe that Armagh could possibly have been worse against Derry than Down were against Laois.

Although I didnt see anything from the Down game I did see the Armagh game, and I beg to differ.
It was one of the worst Armagh performances in many, many years. There was no hunger or drive in the team for the first time in ages, indeed this has been the hallmark of teams that has carried us through so many games in the last few years.
Unless this drive and 'bite' can be regained in the near future it does indeed look bleak for Armagh
Post by: Orchard Warrior on March 22, 2007, 12:34:00 PM
Quote from: Uladh on March 20, 2007, 11:17:40 AM
Morale is low in the Armagh camp

What are you basing this on?

Down seem to have put their experimentation behind them and will be all out to take an armagh scalp. in saying that, stronger down teams have had better chances to win against weaker armagh teams in the last two years but haven't been good enough.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on March 22, 2007, 12:59:43 PM
Boys I no Armagh havent been good this year and the Cross boys wont be about but for gods sake its only Down wer playing!!! They have been shit for years now and this is jus the sort of match we need to get a win under the belt.
Down show no sine of getting better. Car & DJ dont no there best team because they havent 1!!
Think well win easy enough and send them home to mourne with there legs between the legs!
Post by: downredblack on March 22, 2007, 01:44:59 PM
"Think well win easy enough and send them home to mourne with there legs between the legs!"

Classic Armagh speak  ;D
Post by: Lecale2 on March 22, 2007, 02:16:38 PM

Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on March 22, 2007, 12:59:43 PM
Boys I no Armagh havent been good this year and the Cross boys wont be about but for gods sake its only Down wer playing!!! They have been shit for years now and this is jus the sort of match we need to get a win under the belt.
Down show no sine of getting better. Car & DJ dont no there best team because they havent 1!!
Think well win easy enough and send them home to mourne with there legs between the legs!
Holy f**k!
Post by: Uladh on March 22, 2007, 02:27:22 PM
Quote from: downredblack on March 22, 2007, 01:44:59 PM
Classic Armagh speak  ;D

Don't fall into the trap of thinking he's from armagh...

OW

I'm simply relaying the info i've been given that the players are less than impressed with Joe's continual public lashing of them and him washing his hands of results. There is also a lot of consternation at management's refusal to start mr mcgeeney despite threadbare numbers and his performances in training. these are just the two most recent i've been told!

As has been said before, armagh's situation is a lot worse than a blip and only for the injury time goal against louth we'd be looking at 0 out of 8 points in what is a considerably weaker section than 1a.
Post by: armaghniac on March 22, 2007, 07:25:50 PM
BBC. Diarmaid Marsden will make his first start for Armagh since the summer of 2004 when he lines out in Sunday's NFL relegation battle against Down.

Armagh: C McKinney; A Mallon, E McNulty, F Moriarty; JP Donnelly, C McKeever, P McCreesh; P McGrane, G Swift; P McKeever, P Loughran, Martin O'Rourke; S McDonnell, D Marsden, Michael O'Rourke.

Most notable is perhaps the arrival of Loughran as a half forward.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 22, 2007, 07:34:51 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 22, 2007, 07:25:50 PM
BBC. Diarmaid Marsden will make his first start for Armagh since the summer of 2004 when he lines out in Sunday's NFL relegation battle against Down.

Armagh: C McKinney; A Mallon, E McNulty, F Moriarty; JP Donnelly, C McKeever, P McCreesh; P McGrane, G Swift; P McKeever, P Loughran, Martin O'Rourke; S McDonnell, D Marsden, Michael O'Rourke.

probably much as you would expect in the absence of U-21 players.

Still no Geezer??  ??? Apart from that good to see Philly Loughran back!
Post by: Orior on March 22, 2007, 07:35:41 PM
Uladh, the belfast telegraph also reported the return of Clady midfielder, contrary to some of your reports I think. What gives?
Post by: Armagh Exile on March 23, 2007, 09:44:18 AM
Has the Down team been announced?
Post by: Lecale2 on March 23, 2007, 10:21:20 AM
Announced???  They've been anointed!
Post by: Uladh on March 23, 2007, 10:41:45 AM
Quote from: Orior on March 22, 2007, 07:35:41 PM
Uladh, the belfast telegraph also reported the return of Clady midfielder, contrary to some of your reports I think. What gives?

Orior my good man, tis a return of lazurus proportions and good to see it.
Post by: full back on March 23, 2007, 10:44:57 AM
He had a broken bone in his hand, and has only returned to full training in the last week or so (by that I mean catching etc)
Post by: Louis the Red on March 23, 2007, 11:56:36 AM
Is Peadar Toal injured?

If not, does it not seems strange that he is dropped as he is one of our forwards that can actually take a score ??? ???
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 23, 2007, 12:05:05 PM
Is he still U21??

Post by: Candyman on March 23, 2007, 12:36:11 PM
Toal is over-age for the u-21's!! has some ankle problems at the minute A.F.A.I.K
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 23, 2007, 01:09:43 PM
He must be just over?
Post by: Donagh on March 23, 2007, 01:38:50 PM

Definitely a better looking team that was out against Derry.
Post by: continuity tug on March 23, 2007, 02:07:46 PM
Quote from: Spiritof98 on March 21, 2007, 09:34:48 AM
The new dissident republican onslaught on the british is to attack gaels from different counties on a GAA discussion board. TUG and his several illiterate aliases why do you continually have to bring politics into everything, this is a league match between two neighbours threatened with the drop, why not discuss that.
you must be one of these dreamers who think that the gaa has nothing to do with irish nationalism
the gaa and nationalism are strongly linked
maybe you think bloody sunday didnt happen in croke park
i will talk about the two groups of stoops selling out irish games and culture when i want
Post by: Six Inch Nail on March 23, 2007, 02:24:04 PM
"i will talk about the two groups of stoops selling out irish games and culture when i want"

Anyone else think that continuity tug has a post for every year of his life? 

Now, wheres that dummy?
Post by: High Catch on March 23, 2007, 02:24:21 PM
Croke Park?
Post by: armaghniac on March 23, 2007, 02:27:59 PM
QuoteCroke Park?

No, Crossmaglen 3:30pm. Armagh will be in Croke Pk later in the season, Down do not plan to go there just yet.
Post by: Armamike on March 23, 2007, 02:28:54 PM
Not exactly a load of sweeping changes in the two lines that cost us against Derry - half back and half forwards.  Still no McGeeney at CHB. Ciaran McKeever would need to start proving himself in this position at this level.  Can't imagine Loughran having much impact at CHF.  Can we carry both him and Paddy McKeever in that line?  But good to see Micheal O'Rourke at corner forward.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 23, 2007, 02:32:41 PM
should be interesting to see how that thug at number 6 gets on this time round, if i can remember correctly last time he came up against mournemen he didnt last too long on the field.Wasnt it him who told Coulter to get ready for a skinning or somethin to that effect. Got to laugh at that one.
Post by: High Catch on March 23, 2007, 02:33:52 PM
armaghniac, i know where the match is on.  I was replying to the continuity tug's post regarding bloody sunday.
Post by: armaghniac on March 23, 2007, 02:43:36 PM
Quotearmaghniac, i know where the match is on.  I was replying to the continuity tug's post regarding bloody sunday.

Don't encourage him. This is a thread about the Armagh Down game, anything else should be on another thread.

QuoteBut good to see Micheal O'Rourke at corner forward.

Hopefully he can pop a few points, we need them!
Post by: downredblack on March 23, 2007, 02:45:14 PM
"Wasnt it him who told Coulter to get ready for a skinning or somethin to that effect. Got to laugh at that one."

Yeah a minute later he was on his arse and the ball was in the net . :D . Down Fans seem to be keeping their powder dry regarding this one . We live in hope.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 23, 2007, 02:50:40 PM
at the end of the day, if Armagh cant beat this sham of a Down set up then they are worse than i thought, if we get close to the Ulster greats or manage to somehow pull off a major shock and sneak a win then its a bonus, sure all the pressure is on Armagh after all    :P :P :P
Post by: continuity tug on March 23, 2007, 03:04:53 PM
Quote from: High Catch on March 23, 2007, 02:24:21 PM
Croke Park?
yes
mick hogan mean anything?
Post by: Lecale2 on March 23, 2007, 03:06:20 PM
(http://www.pr-squared.com/bible%20david%20goliath.jpg)
Post by: armaghniac on March 23, 2007, 03:28:45 PM
A large crowd watches the elimination of the aristocrats

(http://writingcompany.blogs.com/this_isnt_writing_its_typ/images/guillotine.jpg)
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 23, 2007, 04:11:20 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 23, 2007, 01:38:50 PM

Definitely a better looking team that was out against Derry.

Wah hay Donagh...didn't think you were like that!!!  :P

Who's the best looking? ;)
Post by: High Catch on March 23, 2007, 04:14:43 PM
I don't need a lesson about Mick Hogan. I just don't believe you should bring every discussion on this board down to politicc, and there you go again, we are chatting about Armagh v Down and you start ranting about Bloody Sunday and Croke Park.  You should really bring your ranting elsewhere, somewhere more appropriate.

My mistake for carrying this on further. Apologies.
Post by: bridgegael on March 23, 2007, 07:36:23 PM
looking forward to this one.  down should be fielding their strongest side this year.  if our  half backs and midfielders get good early ball into our full forward line, i could see us causing trouble for the armagh full back line.  hopefully down don't employ this 13 men behind the ball shite. hopefully its a good game.  advise people to leave for the match in good time, last time both teams played in cross the traffic was crazy. oh and don't forget to put your clocks forward.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on March 23, 2007, 09:58:13 PM
Im really looking forwatd to this 1. Armagh have bad enough but will rise for the red shirts of An Dun. Armagh to win by 1 goal and 2 points.
I loved that foto on the last page abut them cutting Downs heads off with the guiloteen!!
Post by: Cloc Mor on March 24, 2007, 12:24:37 AM
Any word of a team yet?  How can most counties announce a team quite early in the week yet we wait, like we did with Paddy for 4 years, to see who is going to play.  What, exactly, are they waiting on? 
Post by: Uladh on March 24, 2007, 10:53:15 AM

Down: M McVeigh, D McCartan, M Cole, J Clarke, R Murtagh, D Rooney, K McGuigan, B Coulter, J Lynch, A Carr, A Burns, R Sexton, D Hughes, D Gordon, J McGovern.
Post by: Uladh on March 24, 2007, 11:38:08 AM

twas on the bbc and rte teletext and websites last night
Post by: stew on March 24, 2007, 02:52:40 PM
I am delighted Marsden is back playing in the Orange again and he will give the team a much needed boost, I have backed us in the spreads and armagh are my bonus side so I need them to come through and I think they will.

speaking of the spreads I see bennydorano is creeping up the table and it would not surprise me if he went on to win it.

Theres the scud benny, I expect to overtake you this week. ;D
Post by: Mourne Rover on March 25, 2007, 12:19:11 PM
The traffic on the main Newry to Crossmaglen road the last time that Armagh played Down there was dreadful, and the throw-in had to be delayed. Coming from Newry, does it make more sense to go to Dundalk and then take the Castleblaney road back towards Cross or is there an easier way ?
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 25, 2007, 12:25:16 PM
Well you could Mourne Rover, if you go to Dundalk you could head to Cross and come in the Dundalk road (where the Rangers ground is) or even the Culloville road, avoiding the Newry road.
Seems like an awful lot of traveling when you could just come early!
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on March 25, 2007, 12:33:55 PM
For them that can't make it, it's on the radio today on www.fivefm.co.uk with the bol' Tigger commentating.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 25, 2007, 01:02:12 PM
I think that advice can be given to anyone 5ivetimes.

How can anyone become so...what's the word?....well known? from wearing a tiger suit!  ffs
Post by: Uladh on March 25, 2007, 01:26:55 PM

Catch a grip. friend of mine was telling me for the cross game last week he was describing stuff that never happened... he never twigged people might have the tv on!

first class balloon. if five fm got someone decent to do the job they could do well with this.

did he play for armagh? surely you can work that one out on your own
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on March 25, 2007, 01:49:24 PM
Up Armagh!!!!
Post by: behind the wire on March 25, 2007, 02:30:13 PM
is that commentator from carrickcruppen?
Post by: Oraisteach on March 25, 2007, 02:53:42 PM
Score?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on March 25, 2007, 03:49:32 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on March 25, 2007, 01:20:34 PM
Well at least Tigger is enthusiastic, the same cant be said for his Down counterpart on 5fm. He is boring.

Everytime there is a wide today, anyone listening to 5fm will be treated to a re-enactment of one of Tiggers points at that end of the field. Did he play for Armagh?

That boy commentating for Down is a Longford man, John Devenny.
Post by: aidanmcg33 on March 25, 2007, 04:06:15 PM
that commentary is pathetic.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 25, 2007, 05:59:16 PM
Good to get the win but hardly an encouraging performance.  Down were far superior in the first 20 minutes, I thought they were going to destroy us.  Same old story for Armagh, no half forward line, no half back line, McKeever and Donnelly roasted. I don't know how either lasted as long as they did.  Down's backs attacked at will too, no one working back.  Did Peadar Toal do something on Joe? 

Joe wasn't in the row at the sideline, I couldn't see who it was either, but I thought it was Kane?  I think it was him that was on the field in the first half shoving McDonnell? 
Post by: Louis the Red on March 25, 2007, 06:05:31 PM
QuoteSame old story for Armagh, no half forward line, no half back line, McKeever and Donnelly roasted. I don't know how either lasted as long as they did.

Radio Ulster said Donnelly was having his best ever game for Armagh, until he was stretchered off ??? ??? ???
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 25, 2007, 06:07:45 PM
Quote from: Louis the Red on March 25, 2007, 06:05:31 PM
QuoteSame old story for Armagh, no half forward line, no half back line, McKeever and Donnelly roasted. I don't know how either lasted as long as they did.

Radio Ulster said Donnelly was having his best ever game for Armagh, until he was stretchered off ??? ??? ???
Oh ffs  ::)
Post by: holylandsniper on March 25, 2007, 06:12:19 PM
Mayb it was them 2 tramps of Down manager. And Joe was near the armagh bench where the other 2 fools should have be
Yes he was on field first half fighting then attacked an offiacal on sideline, surely someone has to deal with this as he was the runner but he was causing more rows than anything
Post by: bennydorano on March 25, 2007, 06:15:28 PM
Encouraging second half when we actually put some moves together, we won today pretty much without a functioning HF line who were non-existent.  Another good performance from big Toner, if he was a bit more mobile he'd be a championship starter. McDonnell was the difference today, a subime performance, good games also from McGrane and Lavery.  I thought Down looked pretty decent at times. Finnian Mo isn't good enough at this level and I wouldn't be persisting with young McCreesh either, Vernon should have been brought into the HB line but that looks like it's not going to happen (although he did contribute fairly well today when introduced at CHF).  JP looked like he got a bad injury.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 25, 2007, 06:19:10 PM
I thought JP did well... after the storm in the first 20.

Philly Loughran was a dissaster!! Danny Hughes roasted Finn Mo. Young McCreesh didnt have the best of days.

Kieron Toner did brilliantly when he came on.

Stevie was class! - What about that score....Toner caught it on the line & maybe involved 8 different players before Stevie pooped it over!! Class!

Ref missed Coulter hit out in the 1st half with McKeever...then in the 2nd half he give Enda some punch to the head!!
Post by: Sandy Hill on March 25, 2007, 06:21:27 PM
The person who started the melee on the Stand side was DJ Kane; he drew out and kicked a water bottle which narrowly missed a couple of people. An official (not the linesman) tried to calm him but he threw a punch at both him and a few others. In my opinion, and I was sitting just beside where it happened, Kane was guilty of striking and bringing the game into disrepute; he really was a disgrace and without doubt must face some punishment.
Post by: bridgegael on March 25, 2007, 06:22:10 PM
stevie was the difference today, and to think there were armagh 'supporters' giving him stick at the start of the year.  was happy enough with downs performance today, few silly mistakes that led to scores,  can't complain about the effort thelads give.  couldn really see what happened on the line,  there are far too many people along the line anyway.
Post by: FermPundit on March 25, 2007, 06:25:38 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on March 25, 2007, 05:48:02 PM
Plain and simple, we lost because we couldnt mark Stevie McDonnell, but it wasnt a bad performance from Down.
What happened on the stand side of the field, did Big Joe get a slap? I couldnt see from the other side but it looked as if there was a bit of fistycuffs.
Division 3 next year.

Don't worry 5ive Times, we'll be there to keep ya company  ;)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 25, 2007, 06:58:03 PM
Thought it was a good game of football. Nice weather, good conditions and a good open match. As per usual, we were over reliant on McDonnell but I suppose at this stage its simply the way things are going to be. If he gets injured we're in serious trouble. That point built from the full back line and finished by McDonnell early in the 2nd half was superb. Some other nice points, espicially one from McGrane (I think) in the first half. Certainly there's still a few problems there for Armagh, the marking was very slack early on. Moriarty didn't have a great game and Marty O'Rourke took some very poor options in the second half. Marsden seems well of the pace at the minute but I suppose that's to be expected. Hopefully he'll be flying in a couple of months.

Still, great to get the win, if we can get results in Laois and Westmeath (tough prospect I know) we should have a great shout of making division 1 although 2 defeats and its probably going to be division 3.
Post by: Dubh driocht on March 25, 2007, 07:46:39 PM
For the third year in a row we come out of this game with a narrow defeat, having put up a good show.Thought Ross and DJ won the tactical battle and it took the extra strength they have around the middle third to edge them ahead.First half was encouraging- Aidan Burns looked like an All-Star but need more belief. Dan had a much better game but maybe should have opted for the point just before half-time and James Mc Govern, who had a fine match, missed an easy one after a good move. The third quarter was all Armagh and they built a solid platform in the middle third- one Mc Donnell point came after a 8 man move when Burns really should have pointed from a free and things looked ominous. To be fair, Ross steadied the ship and if Benny's 60 yarder had gone over,Aidan Carr/Dan/Burns all scored we would have pulled away. Some typical cynical hauling down ( Mc Nulty and , as always,Mc Keever who got his just desserts) broke up the Down play- Benny hates to lose to these boys and it shows- Daniel was very effective with any decent ball but there was a certain inevitability about the late goal.Dan Mc Cartan had an excellent game on Marsden but one misplaced ball was costly- Mickey save well but luck seems to always be on their side. Chalk and cheese compared to the Laois game- should still get tore in to Derry to make my planned w/e in Galway have some meaning beyond quality family time i.e.Division 2 rather than 3 ?
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2007, 07:50:53 PM
Seemed to be plenty of needle in this game, according to the wireless. Murtagh seemed to be lucky to stay on the field in the first half.
Post by: Cloc Mor on March 25, 2007, 08:06:28 PM
Thanks DD for the report.  Couldn't get down as 2nds were playing.  Listened to some shit on the radio which was supposed to be a commentary (105 shit).  Sounded close for long times but the Mc Donnell goal seemed to make the difference.  That 105 station is pure shit and listening to some pricks thanking the Crossmaglen ladies committee 20 times for letting them use their hall and the fact they couldn't see the far side of the field didn't help.  Never heard a more biased commentary in all my life. Pure dung
Post by: puskas on March 25, 2007, 08:13:05 PM
radio ulster has boradcast the last 2 armagh games. mcconnon and canavan do a fine job on the commentary. canavan had a chuckle at mckeever's "fine right hook".
Post by: Donagh on March 25, 2007, 09:44:08 PM
Was that Rafferty in the bib running around the field in the second half? Wtf is all that about – lucky he didn't get a boot in the hole...
Post by: Pangurban on March 25, 2007, 09:57:37 PM
A reasonable performance from Down, with the exception of Benny Coulter whose contribution was nil.  Defence worked hard despite showing a remarkable level of naivety on occasions. A few bad options taken by forwards, which probably made the difference e.g. right-footed player taking free from left, going for goal when point there for the taking at a time when they were leading and needed a cushion. D.J. Kanes behaviour totally disgraceful, action should be taken against him. It certainly raises a large question mark re. his ability to remain cool and analytical under pressure. I dont believe this team knows how to win and fear we face a long period languishing in the lower divisions awaiting the emergence of some new talent. Early days ,but from what i have witnessed to date , i dont believe the current management have the nous to develop any further.
Post by: Fíor Gael on March 25, 2007, 10:36:08 PM
Down were all heart and passion today but quite simply had no game plan. The runs made by the forward and the balls going in to them hace to be worked on, we need a system of play. Also we need to sort out a left footed free taker. Armagh were there for the taking today but on two many occasions Down ran the ball into the corner and generally took the wrong options. That said I think these are things that can be sorted out and Down can build on this performance.
Post by: Mourne Rover on March 25, 2007, 10:46:10 PM
It's not easy following Down these days, and we really should have got something from this game. However, we could have said the same thing after the league defeats to Armagh in 05 and 06 as well, which probably tells you what you need to know about both sides. At least it was a much improved performance from Down, big Dan at last looked like himself and the defence is coming on slowly. 

The flare-up started when the ref missed Murtagh getting floored in the first half after passing the ball. Murtagh retaliated at the first opportunity, and there were a further series of confrontations. McKeever should have been off long before he finally got his straight red.

Down missed a number of chances when we led 5-1 in the first half which could almost have put us out of sight by the break. The easy free missed by Burns with less than five minutes to go would have put us two points up and in a winning position, although Burns showed a lot of promise otherwise. He has the size and ability, and if he develops some confidence he could be a prospect.

Lynch did reasonably well in the first half, but then faded completely and it was very surprising that he was not replaced. Dan McCartan was good almost to the end, but he gave away the possession which led to their goal. Although McDonnell was excellent for Armagh, the rest of their attack appeared ordinary. Down may not be quite as bad as the league table indicates, but we cannot really complain about ending up in division three.
Post by: stew on March 26, 2007, 01:07:01 AM
McKeever is nothing short of a liability at this point, he is forever involved in skullduggery and he will cost us games the year because of his temper which is a pity because he is a very talented player but if I  was a selector i would not touch him until he learns to stop banjoing people.
Post by: downredblack on March 26, 2007, 09:10:55 AM
Really thought we deserved more than we got yesterday , but Armagh won too many of the break ball in the middle in the second half and of course McDonnell had a blinder . Murtagh was decked and then I think it was O'Rourke tried to pull him up , Murtagh got up and started swinging and then the next opportunity he got he floored someone and was very lucky to stay on although a few boys on each side could of walked at different times . Thought the niggle that crept in galvanized Armagh and had the reverse effect on Down . Benny had a bit of a mare and Burns was great first half but faded second half as did the ball into the forwards. But overall it was an improvement for Down they just have to keep improving .
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 26, 2007, 11:15:03 AM
Quote from: Donagh on March 25, 2007, 09:44:08 PM
Was that Rafferty in the bib running around the field in the second half? Wtf is all that about – lucky he didn't get a boot in the hole...

It was John Raf allright...he is the dessignated 'runner' - it is permitted!

I thought Andy Mallon did a fine job on Benny Coulter. It's a pity we didn't have one Andy Mallon in each corner & a couple in the half back line too!
Post by: illdecide on March 26, 2007, 11:44:50 AM
What is wrong with McKeever this year, i was talking to him 2 weeks ago and he siad himself that he is playing shite. He dosen't know WTF is going on, i didn't get to the game as we were playing a friendly but it sounds like Armagh haven't improved at all.

BTW 5times your gambling skills are rank.

Did manage to get to the U21 game on sat, they played very well
Post by: Over the Bar on March 26, 2007, 11:46:09 AM
I work with a Down lad and at tea-break this morning he's goin "that's 2 years running we've had the opportunity to relegate them b******s and have let it slip".   When I mentioned the fact that their own situation looked abysmal he just said "aye but at least we know we are s*** and deserve to down anyway!"   ;D
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 26, 2007, 11:47:13 AM
What is wrong with McKeever this year, i was talking to him 2 weeks ago and he siad himself that he is playing shite. He dosen't know WTF is going on

A t**ker of the highest degree
Post by: Six Inch Nail on March 26, 2007, 11:56:15 AM
A fairly good game yesterday played at a good pace which was the reason that it spilled over a couple of times.  It was Phillip Loughran who tried to lift Murtagh that time, Murtagh took exception and thumped him in the ribs.  Murtagh was lucky that he wasn't sent off a couple of times.  Philly Loughran, Ciaran McKeever and JP Donnelly were all also lucky that they didn't see red (in McKeevers case he did but it could have been much earlier).

The positives from the game yesterday are that when we went 5 points to 1 down we didn't drop the heads.  Andy Mallons performance was immense as was Stevie McDonnell's.  Down controlled the middle of the field for most of the first half, but McGrane got better as the game went on and Toner from Granemore played very well when he came on.  Marsden has lost a yard of pace but hopefully that will be back come summer time.  However, he is a great man for making space for himself and others and I don't think its a coincidence that Stevie played his best game of the year yesterday.

Paudie McCreesh gives his all but is simply to light for county football, any time he takes the ball into contact he is dispossed.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Armagh have had 2 players sent off in the national league.  Where are they from, yes you've guessed it - Cullyhanna.

On the Down side of things, that Burns chap is very good.  He is big and strong with good feet, what club is he from?  I also thought that Dan Gordon had a good game.

Brick, I think illdecide is on about Paddy McKeever, he was awful yesterday again.  He has lost alot of weight, but it isn't happening for him and I was surprised that he lasted the full 70 minutes.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 26, 2007, 12:09:12 PM
my mistake, apologies for mistaken identity, also fairly accurate account of the match ye have there, Fair play.
Burns From Castlewellan club, very talented player but just needs confidence and a chance of a run in the team. The ballboys are still lookin for a ball after one of his points in the first half, was a monstrous effort.
Post by: DownFanatic on March 26, 2007, 01:57:31 PM
Beleive it or not but Aidan Burns was togging out for Castlewellan 3rds about 3 years ago in the East Down Reserve League. He's made some improvement.
Post by: Six Inch Nail on March 26, 2007, 02:22:20 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on March 26, 2007, 01:57:31 PM
Beleive it or not but Aidan Burns was togging out for Castlewellan 3rds about 3 years ago in the East Down Reserve League. He's made some improvement.

Why, what age is he?  He looks fairly young.
Post by: DownFanatic on March 26, 2007, 02:28:33 PM
Id say he is about 24 or so. He used to be a skinny as a rake but he's quarely bulked up.
Post by: Louis the Red on March 26, 2007, 03:13:28 PM
Any update on JP Donnellys injury
Post by: Armamike on March 26, 2007, 04:08:20 PM
Decent game and a relief to get a badly needed 2 points for Armagh. Bit of a mixed bag for Armagh, some excellent performances and some dreadful ones. Our big problem areas again were half backs and half forwards. Down started well, running in droves at the Armagh defence, but there wasn't a tackle being put in.  The game changed when Armagh started to close the spaces.  Martin O'Rourke very nearly single handledly lost us the game with his aimless solo running which slowed any momentum way down and meant that an on fire McDonnell wasn't getting the amount of ball he deserved.  He got 1-6 i think living off scraps and poor ball. Scary to think what he would have scored if the ball had gone in much sooner and of a much better quality. Paddy McKeever was missing in action again.  I think only the no. of injury induced subs meant he stayed on the pitch.  Phily Loughran was ineffective. I know he's just back from injury but this has been the story with him for a long time.  In contrast Lavery and Toner were excellent around the middle.  These young lads are 2 very good prospects. It was great to see young Toner gather the ball on his own goal line and bomb up the pitch, setting up the move for a McDonnell point.

Ciaran McKeever's a fool and a liability i'm sorry to say. His stupidity is something that will keep costing the team, and unfortunately he doesn't seem to be learning. As someone else has said here before about him, he doesn't understand the difference between being hard/dirty.

I think come championship the half back line will get sorted out but the half forwards is going to be the big problem yet again. We don't have a CHF and we can't afford to carry the likes of Paddy McKeever.  Peadar Toal will be in with a shout of a place.

What is with the injuries this year? Unbelievable amount of them each game and the likes of Swift, young O'Rourke, Donnelly, Toal etc never seem to be able to get a good run out without limping off?

Overall, an improvement on the Derry game, but then again Derry were a much better team than Down were yesterday.  Will need another significant improvement in order to beat Laois in Laois. If the U21 game isn't moved then it's hard to see that happening.
Post by: Donagh on March 26, 2007, 04:55:19 PM
Quote from: Armamike on March 26, 2007, 04:08:20 PM

I think come championship the half back line will get sorted out but the half forwards is going to be the big problem yet again. We don't have a CHF and we can't afford to carry the likes of Paddy McKeever. 

Time to try Arron Kernan at HF?
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 26, 2007, 06:25:56 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but Armagh have had 2 players sent off in the national league.  Where are they from, yes you've guessed it - Cullyhanna.
And sent off in the dying minutes of the game for stupid needless nonsense!
Post by: behind the wire on March 26, 2007, 06:52:01 PM
was watching the utv news there hoping to get another look at some of yesterdays action but saw nothing. full round of gaa fixtures yesterday including a local derby involving ulster teams but no mention of anything gaa. i find that a bit disappointing.
Post by: bennydorano on March 26, 2007, 08:09:22 PM
Quote from: Louis the Red on March 26, 2007, 03:13:28 PM
I was talking to his brother earlier and he reckoned it was the cruciate, although there were more tests to be done.  Basically a season wrecker by the sounds of it.
Post by: Uladh on March 27, 2007, 03:27:08 PM

Certainly a step in the right direction from armagh on sunday. they were far more competetive all over the pitch and maybe the red and black was just the right motivation at the right time.

Defensively we were a bit more solid, but maybe down's inadequacies should be taken into account in this regard. enda had a mare from start to finish. coulter dragged him into the half forward line and after winning the first three balls, the sensible switch of mallon out and enda inside happened. from there, ,allon closed coulter down for most of the game, while enda continued to struggle on burns, who looked dangerous. moriarty tried hard again but allowed hughes out in front too often. as was pointed out by one of the mourne brethren, he holds constantly and thats a trait that could be punished heavily down the line.

Donnelly started very bright, winning ball and breaking forward powerfully. his injury was a loss and armagh actually struggled coming out of defence thereafter. McKeever had his first decent game this year up until his sending off. he was farr too mobile and strong for carr, who reminded me of steven kernan in many ways. my only criticism would again be that down, mainly through dan gordan, drove down the center of our defence regularly in the first half. McCreesh put it beyond all doubt that he is not up to this standard. he just freezes every time he gets the ball and luckily he picked up down's weakest forward.

McGrane mixed the good with the bad, fetching some great ball at times but allowing himself to be easily blocked off on other occasions. he was a bit more measured with his distribution and kicked one monster point in the first half. he looks to be moving in the right direction at the right time. swift was out of his depth i'm afraid. he seemed to be looking over his shoulder for mcgrane when the ball was in the air and held up the ball too long the few times he got it. Toner was a revelation when he came in. high fielding, strong presence, good tackling and first time release of the ball. excellent Lavery was less effective when he appeared. there have been reports of him having a good game but i thought he was very poor. obviously the idea of playing him full forward initially was ill conceived but i expected more from him when he moved out. too often when he gets the ball he goes sideways or back in order to get a toetap in and only ever passes the ball when he must. a leaf out of mcgranes book would do him no harm.

The half forward line offered nothing. O'Rourke produced his usual shift of running but didn't win as much ball as usual and coughed up some dangerous posession in the second half. McKeever was woeful. he allowed murtagh unrestricted access to Armagh's defence in the first half and never made a decent run all day. when he was moved inside he hid, waiting on the lucky punter's ball over the top. Loughran was a disaster in the post from the outset. i expected him to drop into the middle and win ball but i was amazed when he stood at centre forward looking for short passes. he'll never be a greg blaney and when he was in that role he was always going to be ineffective.

Stevie took huge strides back towards his best. he still had his quota of silly pot shots but byenlarge his shot selection was much better. down left the same lad on him all day when surely cole or mccartan could've done a more effective job? diarmaid was disappointing but its to be expected that he'll take time to get backk to the pitch of county football. McCartan did a fine job on him. It was disappointing to see young o'rourke going off so early. he'd won a coupl of good balls early on and i was particularly looking forward to see how he'd gel with mcdonnell and marsden. i think if he'd stay on he might have reduced the scoring burden on stevie and armagh's win could have been more comfortable.

I must say down were better than i expected, even though armagh could have won the game more comfortably had they not wasted so much ball in the forward line. McCartan had an excellent game at the back until he gave posession away at the end. in saying that, what the hell was murtagh at for the goal? brainless. gordan showed some flashes of brilliance in the air and broke forward with real purpose at times... mostly not to be given the ball. they do seem to be carrying quite a few passengers including McGuigan, Lynch and McGovern. The centre back seems a game lad but is severly limited when he gets the ball. murtagh is no defender and Sexton has yet to convince me he's a county footballer. If you have a fit player of the calibre of mickey walsh on the bench in a game as tight as this one was, why would you not put him on until injury time when the game is lost?
Post by: Donagh on March 27, 2007, 04:04:39 PM
No comment on Geezer Uladh? I thought the long, accurate delivery, which came with his introduction, was the difference in the two sides at the end. We are lost at CHF unless Joe is planning to bring Marsden out at some stage – we need an experienced ball-carrier/playmaker in there.
Post by: Uladh on March 27, 2007, 04:18:04 PM

I agree with both of yours points Donagh. Geezer's cross field balls into diarmaid and particularly Stevie were very effective at a time when down were trying to drop bodies into defence. it was that "old" understanding, where they rarely held the ball up, that all of the players used to have. on the minus side, he looked a bit sluggish and his man got away from him quite a bit.

Marsden couldn't really get out in front to win ball and is obviously not as sharp as hopefully he will. number 11 is tailor made for him until he's at full tilt again. but then, we know the theory about the number 11 jersey!
Post by: heganboy on March 27, 2007, 04:25:26 PM
For all the crap paddy's getting he scored and set up the match winning goal
Post by: downredblack on March 27, 2007, 04:26:28 PM
Uladh, I agree with you about Mickey Walsh , should of been on alot sooner to give him any chance of making an impact , but I cant agree with you regarding Sexton and Murtagh . Sexton is a great wee scraper who will fight for break ball and scraps and will always give a 100% for Down . Murtagh while not the finished article at wing back has been fairly impressive there this year , he gets up and down the field and is more than capable of taking the odd score , just has to keep the head and not be reckless in the tackle . Still think he can do a job for Down here .Time will tell I suppose .
Post by: Uladh on March 27, 2007, 04:39:43 PM

Murtagh tackles? he must have been keeping that particular talent under wraps on sunday.... pays not to show your hand too early i suppose
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 27, 2007, 05:00:26 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 26, 2007, 08:09:22 PM
Quote from: Louis the Red on March 26, 2007, 03:13:28 PM
I was talking to his brother earlier and he reckoned it was the cruciate, although there were more tests to be done.  Basically a season wrecker by the sounds of it.

AGAIN???? Feck that's horrible news!

Uladh...Down actually did switch Stevie's marker in the 2nd half. A balding fella (from Shamrocks?) went on him...coincided with Stevie's best part of the game...think he got 1.02 after this switch!