GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: goal 10 on February 05, 2012, 07:03:38 PM

Title: KEVIN McGOURTY
Post by: goal 10 on February 05, 2012, 07:03:38 PM
Irish independent. Kevin McGourty 'I KNOW OF SOMEONE WHO IS ON 35k A YEAR IN ULSTER.

PLEASE TELL ME.
Title: Re: KEVIN McGOURTY
Post by: orangeman on February 05, 2012, 07:16:40 PM
This is good stuff -

McGourty was also critical of the way the game is going: "His (McGuinness) tactics last year... my granny is from Donegal and she'll be upset with me for this, but if anybody wanted Donegal to win the All-Ireland, they weren't a fan of Gaelic football.

"It was pure and utter rubbish. At one stage in the All-Ireland semi-final, Michael Murphy was at centre-back, then onto midfield and half-forward.

"I looked down the field at one stage and Colm McFadden was the only Donegal player inside the opposition '45'. That's not Gaelic football."

Post by: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 07:18:59 PM
Kevin for taoiseach.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on February 05, 2012, 07:53:14 PM
I for one respect Mcgourty for stating the truth about matters gaa. Some people mightened like it and have a problem with him but anything he says is the truth. Straight talking guy who when fit, injury free and on his game is the best footballer in Antrim.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 05, 2012, 08:03:29 PM
If he were from your county MDG you'd maybe be a bit peeved that instead of giving his all playing for his county he's giving his all spouting in the media.

I find him hard to take seriously given that he could have had a good county career playing for antrim and when he's not too far from the end of the lifespan of what a county career would be he's in the media and not out on the pitch.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 05, 2012, 08:10:21 PM
he's a c*ck IMO!
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 05, 2012, 09:19:58 PM
He's like Marmite and most people I know hate the stuff.
Post by: whitegoodman on February 05, 2012, 09:32:46 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 05, 2012, 08:03:29 PM
If he were from your county MDG you'd maybe be a bit peeved that instead of giving his all playing for his county he's giving his all spouting in the media.

I find him hard to take seriously given that he could have had a good county career playing for antrim and when he's not too far from the end of the lifespan of what a county career would be he's in the media and not out on the pitch.

Post by: Minder on February 05, 2012, 09:45:19 PM
Funny I saw him headin into the Rock bar earlier on, loves to hold court by all accounts in there.

Post by: Minder on February 05, 2012, 09:46:09 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on February 05, 2012, 07:53:14 PM
I for one respect Mcgourty for stating the truth about matters gaa. Some people mightened like it and have a problem with him but anything he says is the truth. Straight talking guy who when fit, injury free and on his game is the best footballer in Antrim.

What about when he pretends to be injured so he can go on the piss?
Post by: Leo on February 05, 2012, 09:51:14 PM
Whatever about the messengaer I see very little consideration on this thread to the message.
Post by: dodgy umpire on February 05, 2012, 10:13:30 PM
He recently suffered from a very serious injury , how could he be playing?
Post by: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 10:17:38 PM
As usual, a lot of men prepared to chat about someone's personality on here without having met them.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 05, 2012, 10:21:20 PM
Quote from: Leo on February 05, 2012, 09:51:14 PM
Whatever about the messengaer I see very little consideration on this thread to the message.
What message? This isnt about a message. It's about a mouthpiece trying to create controversy by rehashing hundreds of other opinions about Donegal's "anti-football" tactics and paying players. As stale as last weeks pan loaf.
Post by: oakleafgael on February 05, 2012, 10:32:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 10:17:38 PM
As usual, a lot of men prepared to chat about someone's personality on here without having met them.

No different to yourself, the term hypocrite springs to mind.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 05, 2012, 10:36:22 PM
Maybe some have met him too.

I'm not a big fan of starting to chastise people but it pains me to see a footballer from antrim with ability to burn wasting it when it's what we're crying out for - that's all.

Post by: TheThirdManning on February 05, 2012, 10:44:19 PM
Met him a few time out and about. Chap is a tool in my opinion. Pity he doesn't focus more on the football. Has serious talent.
Post by: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 10:55:00 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on February 05, 2012, 10:32:18 PM

Example?
Post by: oakleafgael on February 05, 2012, 11:02:54 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 10:55:00 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on February 05, 2012, 10:32:18 PM

Example?

You weren't a bit slow in the past about sticking your two feet into the current Derry footballer that the Tyronie's have took a spite against.
Post by: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 11:05:12 PM
I can't think - who?
Post by: haranguerer on February 06, 2012, 08:40:32 AM
Quote from: orangeman on February 05, 2012, 07:16:40 PM

"I looked down the field at one stage and Colm McFadden was the only Donegal player inside the opposition '45'. That's not Gaelic football."

Not that its particularly relevant, but he could have chosen better examples to back his (pretty populist) argument - I've watched antrim a good few times this year, and seen this - against both carlow and down for eg
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 06, 2012, 09:38:42 AM

I've met him and as I said before the man's a c*ck IMO!
Post by: Christmas Lights on February 06, 2012, 01:12:27 PM
I dont know him.
Follow him on Twitter though
#mcgourtyforpresident
Post by: Don Johnson on February 06, 2012, 08:37:09 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on February 06, 2012, 09:38:42 AM

I am sure you said that to his face of course? Or did you just wait to bad mouth him on here?
Post by: ck on February 06, 2012, 11:20:55 PM
WHY ON EARTH WAS McGOURTY INTERVIEWED? WHO IS HE? SOME PART TIME ANTRIM FOOTBALLER WHO HAS BIG OPINIONS AND IS NOT LIKED BY MANY?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2012, 12:56:58 AM
Quote from: Don Johnson on February 06, 2012, 08:37:09 PM

I am sure you said that to his face of course? Or did you just wait to bad mouth him on here?
I would much rather some stranger called me a cnut online than came up to me on the street and called me it. But I'm weird like that.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 07, 2012, 08:17:45 AM
Quote from: ck on February 06, 2012, 11:20:55 PM
WHY ON EARTH WAS McGOURTY INTERVIEWED? WHO IS HE? SOME PART TIME ANTRIM FOOTBALLER WHO HAS BIG OPINIONS AND IS NOT LIKED BY MANY?

Always think that myself, a man who has played a few games for Antrim in his life without really achieving anything significant, more famous for what he spouts than what he has achieved on the pitch.  The GAAs very own Joey Barton, with the flip flops.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 07, 2012, 09:09:16 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2012, 12:56:58 AM

I would much rather some stranger called me a cnut online than came up to me on the street and called me it. But I'm weird like that.

Cnut ;)
Post by: thewobbler on February 07, 2012, 09:29:01 AM

The best way to answer this question is ask why journalists are interested in what McGourty has to say.

The answer is because the overwhelming majority of GAA stars are about as interesting as a full day at mass.
Post by: glens abu on February 07, 2012, 09:43:42 AM
He is maybe thinking of starting a new party after FF got rid of him,a very good footballer but a 1st class clown.
Post by: PAULD123 on February 07, 2012, 10:28:56 AM

Firstly the GAA is amateur so by definition all footballers are part-time.

As for his credentials, I don't know if it was genuine injuries, lack of ambition or laziness that explains why he hasn't played nearly as much inter-county football as he should have. but that doesn't mean that he isn't blessed with talent. McGourty has great vision and accuracy and is a naturally skilful footballer of the type that neutrals pay money to watch playing. It is a pity that, for whatever reason, there has been very little chance to appreciate those skills, but they are definitely there.

However, why he was interviewed? - Well, he's from Antrim so handy for the lazy Belfast reporters to talk to. Sure why would they bother their arses tripping down to Fermanagh to get Peter's opinion or brave the Glenshane pass to speak to a Bradley?

Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 07, 2012, 10:37:54 AM

Well I really didn't want to get into it but as a matter of fact I did tell him what I thought of him - at QUB! so whats your point now?
Post by: Sanchez on February 07, 2012, 10:50:04 AM
A very talented footballer, and as someone who knows him personally, a character to boot. Better than most modern GAA intercounty players who trot out the same lines every week like bleating sheep. It is refreshing and honest to listen to someone like Mc Gourty, even if not all he says is spot on.
Post by: Minder on February 07, 2012, 11:57:36 AM
Quote from: Sanchez on February 07, 2012, 10:50:04 AM
A very talented footballer, and as someone who knows him personally, a character to boot. Better than most modern GAA intercounty players who trot out the same lines every week like bleating sheep. It is refreshing and honest to listen to someone like Mc Gourty, even if not all he says is spot on.

Most inter county footballers seem to put all their efforts and time into, well funny enough, playing football and seem to have no time or inclination for attention seeking in the media.
Post by: thewobbler on February 07, 2012, 12:04:23 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 07, 2012, 11:57:36 AM

Most inter county footballers seem to put all their efforts and time into, well funny enough, playing football and seem to have no time or inclination for attention seeking in the media.

Minder, having the ability to talk the talk and walk the walk should not be mutually exclusive.
Post by: Orchardman on February 07, 2012, 12:10:02 PM
I try not to badmouth people too much if i dont know them, but plenty of mates who were involved with QUB in the day wouldn't have a good word about this fella. My main gripe is why his comments appear every now and then in the press, it used to be only the rubbish irish news paper that rang him all the time. But the guys supporting him on here are as bad, saying that he's refreshing for speaking out with honesty. What's refreshing?

he said he knows a manager on 35 grand
he says donegal played shite football

Big wow, is any of this any news to us, heard it a hundred times. He's living off winning an all ireland with st galls, fair play, i'd be delighted if all i ever did was win an all ireland senior with my club. But don't talk about endless talent, we all know people with unreal talent who didn't use it. Plus i watched him in 3 big games and he was average, especially final against cross few years back
Post by: Minder on February 07, 2012, 12:20:49 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on February 07, 2012, 12:04:23 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 07, 2012, 11:57:36 AM

Minder, having the ability to talk the talk and walk the walk should not be mutually exclusive.

I know that but I would say there are plenty that could be as "enlightening" as McGourty, and I don't get this breath of fresh air (he has been a divisive influence on teams) that apparently comes with him. They maybe just dont want the profile and the extra scrutiny that comes with being an amateur player.
Post by: diageo on February 07, 2012, 12:43:48 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on February 07, 2012, 10:37:54 AM

Well I really didn't want to get into it but as a matter of fact I did tell him what I thought of him - at QUB! so whats your point now?

I would be very surprised that a poor reserve player like yourself, who is scared stiff on the field but does plenty of slabbering on here, would have the balls to say anything to him ! come on now tell the truth  :D
Post by: glens abu on February 07, 2012, 01:11:54 PM
Quote from: diageo on February 07, 2012, 12:43:48 PM

I would be very surprised that a poor reserve player like yourself, who is scared stiff on the field but does plenty of slabbering on here, would have the balls to say anything to him ! come on now tell the truth  :D

Why is McGourty a hard man as well as a great football failed politician and GAA hack?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 07, 2012, 01:12:12 PM
Diageo Back for another dig!
Seems like you've joined just to follow me about (glad someones interested in me) - did your time on the sidelines not give you time to think?
POT KETTLE BLACK!
Post by: rashCharacter on February 07, 2012, 03:23:29 PM
Impressive?

http://www.gaainfo.com/players/football/antrim/Kevin%20McGourty.php (http://www.gaainfo.com/players/football/antrim/Kevin%20McGourty.php)

Post by: Puckoon on February 07, 2012, 03:35:08 PM
There used to be two sides to McGourty - the eejit and the footballer. Now the footballer is running out of years and soon all that will be left will be the eejit. A fantastic talent that has never really fulfilled his potential (too much of the eejit had something to do with this). One of my favourite players to watch - but an awful f**king eejit.

He used to stand outside the bot with his shirt pulled up telling the girls to come over and 'feel the divine'.  :D
Post by: Heartbroken on February 07, 2012, 03:48:04 PM

Now we're getting very personal. I would be surprised if a new poster like yourself, who is scared stiff that he sets up a new name to attack someone else, would have the balls to say anything to the poster you attacked and prob dont even know!! Poor show!
Post by: spuds on February 07, 2012, 04:17:23 PM
Quote from: Heartbroken on February 07, 2012, 03:48:04 PM

Now we're getting very personal. I would be surprised if a new poster like yourself, who is scared stiff that he sets up a new name to attack someone else, would have the balls to say anything to the poster you attacked and prob dont even know!! Poor show!

Comedy Gold here. Poster with 10 posts calling another poster a new poster and getting worked up about his contribution.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 07, 2012, 04:37:48 PM
Didn't realise the board had so many hard men!! And so many reserve players ;) would all the crap reserve players please leave now.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 07, 2012, 04:41:23 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 07, 2012, 04:37:48 PM
Didn't realise the board had so many hard men!! And so many reserve players ;) would all the crap reserve players please leave now.

LOL - Thats me out then! Never thought that when I signed up to this board that I'd feel it necessary to fight Kevin McGourty to prove my courage!  :D :D
Post by: LeoMc on February 07, 2012, 04:44:33 PM

Ah Jeez, I hate it when the panel gets cut like this especially when I am on the wrong side of the cut.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 07, 2012, 04:57:39 PM
What's a reserve player? Are the reserves like the senior 'b' team, or are they the equivalent of our Junior or Intermediates? For example, in my club we have a Senior Team, a Junior A and a Junior C team. That designates the championship they play in. Are reserves the same thing?
Post by: Puckoon on February 07, 2012, 04:58:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 07, 2012, 04:57:39 PM
What's a reserve player? Are the reserves like the senior 'b' team, or are they the equivalent of our Junior or Intermediates? For example, in my club we have a Senior Team, a Junior A and a Junior C team. That designates the championship they play in. Are reserves the same thing?

Foreigners. ::)
Post by: Heartbroken on February 07, 2012, 05:00:24 PM
Quote from: spuds on February 07, 2012, 04:17:23 PM
Quote from: Heartbroken on February 07, 2012, 03:48:04 PM

Comedy Gold here. Poster with 10 posts calling another poster a new poster and getting worked up about his contribution.

Comedy Gold??? Its definitely not that funny. I wasnt attacking the amount of posts, moreso the fact he set up an account purely to attack Radda.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 07, 2012, 05:19:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 07, 2012, 04:57:39 PM

Reserves would be senior "b"

Junior "c" would be z squad...

This thread may as well be shut down now. Waste of time.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 07, 2012, 05:23:13 PM

Don't let the door hit you on the arse on the way out!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 07, 2012, 05:35:01 PM
You don't do sarcasm Bc1  ;) you'll be bringing out your medal haul next  ;)
Post by: ck on February 07, 2012, 08:11:27 PM
I asked a valid question and really didnt get an answer apart from a few of you slagging each other off!
Why is some ejit / no-mark mouth piece been given prominance in a quality newspaper, why does this guys views count? Am I missing something?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 07, 2012, 08:29:36 PM
Quote from: ck on February 07, 2012, 08:11:27 PM
I asked a valid question and really didnt get an answer apart from a few of you slagging each other off!
Why is some ejit / no-mark mouth piece been given prominance in a quality newspaper, why does this guys views count? Am I missing something?

I think it was answered earlier, lazy hacks looking someone who'll give different sound bites, be they true or not. Why do posters on here give a shite about KMcG and what he says?
Post by: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 09:05:51 PM
Has anyone ever started a football-related thread about this lad?
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2012, 09:15:42 PM
To be honest, I've only ever heard of him on this site.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 07, 2012, 09:56:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 07, 2012, 05:35:01 PM

I had a friend was a big baseball player
back in high school
He could throw that speedball by you
Make you look like a fool boy
Saw him the other night at this roadside bar
I was walking in, he was walking out
We went back inside sat down had a few drinks
but all he kept talking about was
Glory days well they'll pass you by
Glory days in the wink of a young girl's eye
Glory days, glory days :P
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 07, 2012, 09:59:59 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 07, 2012, 09:56:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 07, 2012, 05:35:01 PM

I had a friend was a big baseball player
back in high school
He could throw that speedball by you
Make you look like a fool boy
Saw him the other night at this roadside bar
I was walking in, he was walking out
We went back inside sat down had a few drinks
but all he kept talking about was
Glory days well they'll pass you by
Glory days in the wink of a young girl's eye
Glory days, glory days :P

Well, I hear you went up to Saratoga
And your horse naturally won
Then you flew your Lear jet up to Nova Scotia
To see the total eclipse of the sun
Well, you're where you should be all the time
And when you're not, you're with
Some underworld spy or the wife of a close friend
Wife of a close friend, and

You're so vain
You probably think this song is about you
You're so vain
I'll bet you think this song is about you
Don't you? Don't you? Don't you?
:D :D

Could do this all night ;)
Post by: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 11:43:02 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 07, 2012, 09:15:42 PM
To be honest, I've only ever heard of him on this site.

I'm starting to doubt he actually exists.
Post by: NaomhBridAbĂș on February 07, 2012, 11:49:50 PM
Quote from: rashCharacter on February 07, 2012, 03:23:29 PM
Impressive?

http://www.gaainfo.com/players/football/antrim/Kevin%20McGourty.php (http://www.gaainfo.com/players/football/antrim/Kevin%20McGourty.php)

i thought he'd had more of a presence than that?