GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fuzzman on January 04, 2012, 09:32:19 AM

Title: Kildare v Tyrone & Dubs v Kerry NFL Round 1 on Sat 4th Feb 2012
Post by: Fuzzman on January 04, 2012, 09:32:19 AM
I see the powers that be have solved my dilemma of should I go to the Dubs v Kerry match or drive west to Newbridge for the first time since Canavan and Cush won their first U21 title back in 1991.

I was surprised that Kildare were willing to give up their home advantage for this game or where they not even asked?

From my memory Tyrone tend to win most of their 1st round NFL games in Croker although have we only played there 2 or 3 times?
I can't help but remember meeting the Dubs back in 2004 in the NFL 1st round in Parnell park where we got a great guard of honour cheer & then a nice "friendly" welcome to the real world of what life will be like when you're the new AI champions. To me that was the start of the Dublin v Tyrone nasty games with round 2 being the battle of Omagh in 2006
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/battle-of-omagh-how-the-tyronedublin-saga-unfolded-113380.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/battle-of-omagh-how-the-tyronedublin-saga-unfolded-113380.html)

Anyways, things have changed a lot since with the Dubs finally winning an All-Ireland by the skin of their teeth and Tyrone going backwards for the past few years.
I can see Kildare winning this one handy enough if they are anywhere near their full complement but maybe like us they'll be out to blood a few new guys and not be too bothered about gaining promotion.

In the other game will we see all the Dubs and Dublin based Kerry fans come in late from the pubs on a cold Sat night to annoy their already seated Leinster and Ulster friends.
I can see it being a near full house, especially if its not another one of those wet winter nights.
We could even see another streaker like the 1st floodlight match in croker but it won't be me this time.  :D
Title: Re: Kildare v Tyrone & Dubs v Kerry NFL Round 1 on Sat 4th Feb 2012
Post by: ONeill on January 04, 2012, 12:19:17 PM
Are the times up yet?
Post by: Canalman on January 04, 2012, 01:03:34 PM
Almost sure I heard that Kildare are having safety issues about Newbridge and anyway probably as easy for alot of Kildare fans to make it to CP, certainly those taking public transport from Celbridge, Maynooth or Leixlip/Confey etc.
Looking forward to it from our viewpoint and feel that Kerry will win it and that there could be sendings off at it. No doubt Kerry will really try to avoid a 4th defeat on the trot ( forgive me a cyber chuckle). Personally think our win in 2011 had its roots in the victory in Killarney in 2010.

Will be in early to see both games............. would like to see Kildare get some breaks in 2012 to be honest. Really impressed with in particular the way they handled the 2010 semi final defeat and other harrowing decisions that didn't go their way.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 04, 2012, 01:14:56 PM
The match was scheduled for this date before the venue was made public but the lack of a suitable floodlit ground in the county probably necessitated the move to Croke Park. Athy has floodlights but wouldn't accomodate a big crowd - would also be tough on travelling supporters to bring them right down to the bottom of the county. Capacity at Newbridge has been cut to 4,000 and with the CB in the red it's probably the right move financially.

Would prefer if the match was in Newbridge from a convenience point of view but it is probably beneficial for the team to have it in Dublin. The tight pitch at Newbridge doesn't suit Kildare's style of football and it will be good experience for the likes of Moolick, Feely, Dowling, Fogarty and Hurley if they get a run out in Croke Park before the summer. 
Post by: Jinxy on January 04, 2012, 03:34:00 PM
Quote from: Canalman on January 04, 2012, 01:03:34 PM
Almost sure I heard that Kildare are having safety issues about Newbridge and anyway probably as easy for alot of Kildare fans to make it to CP, certainly those taking public transport from Celbridge, Maynooth or Leixlip/Confey etc.
Looking forward to it from our viewpoint and feel that Kerry will win it and that there could be sendings off at it. No doubt Kerry will really try to avoid a 4th defeat on the trot ( forgive me a cyber chuckle). Personally think our win in 2011 had its roots in the victory in Killarney in 2010.

Will be in early to see both games............. would like to see Kildare get some breaks in 2012 to be honest. Really impressed with in particular the way they handled the 2010 semi final defeat and other harrowing decisions that didn't go their way.

Don't spoil the result for the rest of us.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 04, 2012, 08:23:21 PM
Wouldnt imagine it will be a full house.........................................40,000 id say or thereabouts, handful of flours, likewise reds, 10 kerry folk, dubs will make up the numbers as usual

Kerry & Kildare wins ..........................hope mcgeeney has the hair cut by then
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 04, 2012, 09:37:49 PM
Attendance will depend on the marketing.
If they put an ad or three on tv, then it'll add 10,000 'will-I, won't I's' to the gate.
Leinster aren't playing that weekend either.
Post by: Rossfan on January 04, 2012, 10:08:16 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 04, 2012, 08:23:21 PM
Wouldnt imagine it will be a full house.........................................40,000 id say or thereabouts, handful of flours, likewise reds, 10 kerry folk, dubs will make up the numbers as usual

Kerry & Kildare wins ..........................hope mcgeeney has the hair cut by then

How long are you following football? They always bring a good crowd.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on January 05, 2012, 11:41:39 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 04, 2012, 08:23:21 PM

Ah now, there'll be more than 10 of us...50 at least!

Geezer was down our way over the new year..I can confirm..the hair is well trimmed again!
Post by: Jinxy on January 05, 2012, 12:20:54 PM
They should easily get 50,000 for this.
If they go all out they could get a full house.
But they won't,
"Sure everyone knows what time the games are on anyway."  ::)
Post by: Fuzzman on January 05, 2012, 03:19:45 PM
I'd say you'll see a lot of red handers too as they're always out in droves for the first game of the season and with a night out in Dublin an attraction for many then I'd expect quite a few.
To get another look at Dublin and Kerry would appeal to a lot of neutrals too I'd say so unless it's a brutal night I'd expect 60K+

I wonder will the Dubs open up a bit will or will pack the defence again.

Anyone make a stab at what you Tyronites could make the starting team.
Should the 2 McMahons be fit again. Usually they miss out a lot of matches at the start of each year from my memory.

Will Peter Harte be our free taker again this year?
Will McKenna get a few more chances?
Where is Sean and Colm's best places and don't say the Moy?

Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2012, 02:36:10 PM
Have the throw-in times been publicised yet?
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2012, 03:32:05 PM
If you'd any interest you'd know the throw-in times.  ;)
Post by: heffo on January 11, 2012, 03:44:11 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 11, 2012, 02:36:10 PM
Have the throw-in times been publicised yet?

No. John Costello meeting Croke Park mgt this week to confirm.
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2012, 04:03:21 PM
Will Brush Shiels be performing?
He'd get the crowd going.
Post by: Hound on January 11, 2012, 04:13:30 PM
Setanta, who are covering Dubs v Kerry live, say that match throws-in at 7pm, which presumably means the first one is at 5pm, with maybe a bit of signing/dancing in between.

But given heffo's post, perhaps that is subject to change.

The Mayo v Dublin game is also down as a 7pm Saturday throw-in per Setanta, but that might change too given Ireland v France in the rugby starts at 8pm on the same evening

http://www.setanta.com/ie/Sports/Allianz-League-GAA/
Post by: heffo on January 11, 2012, 04:23:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 11, 2012, 04:03:21 PM

The Brush on standy, Coronas & Imelda May unavailable.

Jedward have been told they won't be making a reappearance.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 11, 2012, 06:13:25 PM
I hear the geezer is insisting on get the lucky dressing room for this event :)
Post by: Onlooker on January 12, 2012, 03:13:10 PM
Do you mean that he would get the crowd going home!!!. :) :) :)
Post by: BennyCake on January 12, 2012, 03:52:29 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on January 12, 2012, 03:13:10 PM

As bad as Brush is, he's nowhere near as bad as those Jedward pricks!
Post by: Hound on January 12, 2012, 04:30:04 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 12, 2012, 03:52:29 PM

I and most people I talked to who saw Jedward at the games last Spring, found them mildly entertaining, with their cartwheels etc, a bit of circus act, and the kids seemed to love them. But once would have been enough.

Brush provides absolutely no entertainment, ever.

Hopefully there's a third option.
Post by: BennyCake on January 12, 2012, 05:20:13 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 12, 2012, 04:30:04 PMI and most people I talked to who saw Jedward at the games last Spring, found them mildly entertaining, with their cartwheels etc, a bit of circus act, and the kids seemed to love them. But once would have been enough.

Brush provides no entertainment? That's still more entertainment than what Jedward provide!

From what I heard of Jedward on RTE on new years eve, they were a disgrace. Talking over guests and interrupting and being pains in the ass. Surely their 15 minutes is up by now?!
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2012, 09:36:36 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 12, 2012, 04:30:04 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 12, 2012, 03:52:29 PM

I and most people I talked to who saw Jedward at the games last Spring, found them mildly entertaining, with their cartwheels etc, a bit of circus act, and the kids seemed to love them. But once would have been enough.

You just don't get him.
Post by: Celt_Man on January 13, 2012, 02:42:48 AM
Jaysus lads, I'd consider myself to be well informed on GAA matters due to my extenisve daily trolling of the internet but I haven't heard a work about this fixture...

Could be a option for clubs to take Juveniles up to as a nice wee trip....   Guess I'll have to wait till Feb 2nd for the marketing to start!!
Post by: mick999 on January 18, 2012, 11:57:36 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on January 13, 2012, 02:42:48 AM
Jaysus lads, I'd consider myself to be well informed on GAA matters due to my extenisve daily trolling of the internet but I haven't heard a work about this fixture...

Could be a option for clubs to take Juveniles up to as a nice wee trip....   Guess I'll have to wait till Feb 2nd for the marketing to start!!

Tickets on sale, 13 per adult, 5 per child:

https://www.tickets.ie/event.aspx/tickets/allianz-gaa-football-league-croke-park-dublin-04-February-2012/DP8RQ

Or all 3 dublin games for 30 + 10

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/2/1601121700-dublin-spring-series-3-events-6-games-3-music-acts/1/
Post by: heffo on January 18, 2012, 12:01:41 PM
It's great value especially if you have kids. I was against moving games out of Parnell pk, but have to say I really enjoyed the league games there last year. Really looking forward to the double header.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 18, 2012, 12:10:46 PM
Is there many lads going to this game?

Good be an opportunity for a few heads to meet up? Declan? Heffo? Lynchbhoy? etc etc
Post by: heffo on January 18, 2012, 12:13:32 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 18, 2012, 12:10:46 PM

Good be an opportunity for a few heads to meet up? Declan? Heffo? Lynchbhoy? etc etc

I'm going alright Dinny and will be around for pints, but will be slumming in premium for the match itself.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 18, 2012, 12:28:55 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 18, 2012, 12:13:32 PM

I'm going alright Dinny and will be around for pints, but will be slumming in premium for the match itself.

I think I'm going corporate myself so might drop then a level but would be all on for meeting post-match...
Post by: heffo on January 18, 2012, 12:29:27 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 18, 2012, 12:28:55 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 18, 2012, 12:13:32 PM

I think I'm going corporate myself so might drop then a level but would be all on for meeting post-match...

Good stuff sure keep me posted.
Post by: Declan on January 18, 2012, 12:37:18 PM
Jaysus corporate whores the lot of ye!!
Will be in family section in Lower Cusack alright but wouldn't mind meeting for a jar
Post by: Fuzzman on January 19, 2012, 04:20:42 PM
Yeah I hope to be going to the game as well.
Don't know about tickets as yet but if most of ye are going indoors then I could look for some of those prawn sandwich tickets.

Should we all just piss of the Dubs and the whole of Tyrone and Kildare fans try to fill the Hill.  ;D
Post by: rrhf on January 19, 2012, 04:24:57 PM
or just arrive late for their game. 
Post by: Declan on January 19, 2012, 04:27:21 PM
Arrive early to give us the guard of honour!
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2012, 04:46:43 PM
Quote from: Declan on January 19, 2012, 04:27:21 PM
makes a change from getting the guards on yez !!!

see you heffo and dinny, plus maybe fuzz and a few oth Tyronies there
(i'm only going to watch/stop the bitch fight between Heff and dinny !!) ;)
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 19, 2012, 04:57:41 PM
You'll have to translate the Tyronies for us!!!

Jaysus I know myself and Heffo bitch and moan on the interweb at each other but we do know how to separate that bit of craic from the real world plus I'll just get him talking about the Cork hurlers as a diversion tactic... 8)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 19, 2012, 06:06:51 PM
See da bleedin' lot of yez dere!  ;)

First outing for the season ticket.  :)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 19, 2012, 08:49:11 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 19, 2012, 04:20:42 PM
Don't know about tickets as yet but if most of ye are going indoors then I could look for some of those prawn sandwich tickets.

Should we all just piss of the Dubs and the whole of Tyrone and Kildare fans try to fill the Hill.  ;D

hhhhmmmmmmm......................... id imagine if dublin kerry wasnt on the bill, not alot of kildare or tyrone buckos would be attending this game ?????

Post by: moysider on January 19, 2012, 11:30:31 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 19, 2012, 08:49:11 PM

hhhhmmmmmmm......................... id imagine if dublin kerry wasnt on the bill, not alot of kildare or tyrone buckos would be attending this game ?????

Eh? do you seriously believe Dublin/Kerry is an attraction to Tyrone and Kildare fans. They ll be just interested in their own like everybody else.
Post by: ONeill on January 19, 2012, 11:35:29 PM
Staying down for a couple of nights with herself and the children. The young'uns say they want to see the zoo and the animals. Hill16 and the Kingdomites should do the trick at a decent price.
Post by: BennyCake on January 20, 2012, 02:00:38 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 19, 2012, 11:30:31 PM
Eh? do you seriously believe Dublin/Kerry is an attraction to Tyrone and Kildare fans. They ll be just interested in their own like everybody else.

Maybe, but I think there will be alot of Tyrone and Kildare fans will want to watch the other game too. I'm looking forward to the double bill at Croke Park when Armagh play the Dubs in march.
Post by: Rois on January 20, 2012, 09:33:55 AM
Clontarf Castle doing a good deal - €109 for B&B for two plus evening meal (inc glass of beer/wine) that runs over that weekend.  Might be signing up for that myself...
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 20, 2012, 09:52:34 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2012, 04:46:43 PM
Quote from: Declan on January 19, 2012, 04:27:21 PM
makes a change from getting the guards on yez !!!

see you heffo and dinny, plus maybe fuzz and a few oth Tyronies there
(i'm only going to watch/stop the bitch fight between Heff and dinny !!) ;)

Leave the car at home this time lb or else you'll be ferrying us back to Delcan's or heffo's gaff seeing as Seanie put us up the last time. All being well I'll be there too but her indoors was talking about a hen do in early Feb last night, hope its not that Sat...
Post by: Fuzzman on January 20, 2012, 11:41:10 AM
Quote from: Rois on January 20, 2012, 09:33:55 AM
Clontarf Castle doing a good deal - €109 for B&B for two plus evening meal (inc glass of beer/wine) that runs over that weekend.  Might be signing up for that myself...

That's just beside my house Rois but the breakfast and lack of kids at 6am might be more appealing to you.
The rugby is on the next day too I think Ireland play Wales so hotels could be busy so I'd book soon if I was you. I'm surprised the castle is as cheap as that for such a big sporting weekend though suppose its only the Red Hands and Dragons that will be looking to stay the night

Are we gonna try to do another meet up before or after the game session then. How about just in Jury's hotel or have ye made plans already?
Anybody with spare premium tickets PM me. I know the Dubs never want them

O'Neill be careful not to feed the animals in the Hill. They're often out of their tree and greater spotted Kerrygolds don't like it when you rattle their cages as we've all found out recently.
Post by: Fuzzman on January 20, 2012, 11:48:21 AM

Stolen from another thread
The 40% increase was epitomised by the 7,000-strong crowd that travelled to Omagh to watch the meeting of neighbours Tyrone and Fermanagh on Wednesday night.

Not so many bandwagon fans in Tyrone and Fermanagh as there are in Dublin me thinks. If its a wet night I bet they'll stay in the pub.
Post by: heffo on January 20, 2012, 11:58:38 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 20, 2012, 11:48:21 AM

Stolen from another thread
The 40% increase was epitomised by the 7,000-strong crowd that travelled to Omagh to watch the meeting of neighbours Tyrone and Fermanagh on Wednesday night.

Not so many bandwagon fans in Tyrone and Fermanagh as there are in Dublin me thinks. If its a wet night I bet they'll stay in the pub.

I heard 6,900 were from Fermnanagh.
Post by: Fuzzman on January 20, 2012, 04:02:52 PM
Fermnanagh

Is that near Dunamanagh in Tyrone Heffo?

I see Gilroy is setting the bar high already.
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/we-can-keep-sam-maguire-in-dublin-says-pat-gilroy-16106474.html (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/we-can-keep-sam-maguire-in-dublin-says-pat-gilroy-16106474.html)

Post by: heffo on January 20, 2012, 04:11:44 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 20, 2012, 04:02:52 PM
Fermnanagh

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/we-can-keep-sam-maguire-in-dublin-says-pat-gilroy-16106474.html (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/we-can-keep-sam-maguire-in-dublin-says-pat-gilroy-16106474.html)

I know little about your neck of the woods and like to keep it that way!

I don't see Gilroy actually saying we can keep Sam Maguire this year, but sure there's no point in setting the bar low.
Post by: Hound on January 25, 2012, 01:42:27 PM
Throw-in times confirmed:

5.00pm Tyrone v Kildare
7.15pm Dublin v Kerry
Post by: nrico2006 on January 25, 2012, 02:31:40 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 20, 2012, 04:11:44 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 20, 2012, 04:02:52 PM
Fermnanagh

I know little about your neck of the woods and like to keep it that way!

I don't see Gilroy actually saying we can keep Sam Maguire this year, but sure there's no point in setting the bar low.

You ain't missing nothing, the only good thing about Donemana is the road to Strabane. 
Post by: Go home ref on January 25, 2012, 06:55:26 PM

Rubbish most Kildare people couldn't care less about Dublin v Kerry I for one will be straight out the door after our game

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 25, 2012, 08:11:39 PM
Quote from: Go home ref on January 25, 2012, 06:55:26 PM

Rubbish most Kildare people couldn't care less about Dublin v Kerry I for one will be straight out the door after our game

You will in ure hole, ure brethren rubber bandits will be on after ure game and mcgeeney will huddle into the stand to watch potential future opponents
Post by: Rossfan on January 25, 2012, 08:33:03 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 25, 2012, 08:11:39 PM
You will in ure hole, ure brethren rubber bandits will be on after ure game

Can't figure out if you talking sh1t or piss as in manure or urine?
Post by: Fuzzman on January 29, 2012, 10:54:27 PM
So Kildare didn't get their chance to win their cup before coming up against the 2012 McKenna cup winners.

A few of the new lads did well for us in the McKenna cup but by the sounds of things McGeeney has the flourbags well wound up for a challenge on all fronts this year. They'll feel like they should of got to an AI semi last year and with a derby game against their big rivals the Dubs they could have even made the final.

I must say I'm looking forward to this game next Sat and hope the new lads like Murphy, who was MOTM on Sat night, continues to improve and stake their claim for places. Even Mugsy looks hungry despite his longer locks and could be out to proof a point to a lot this year that he's not over the hill just yet.

Role on Sat and hope we don't overshadow the 2nd game too much
Post by: under the bar on January 29, 2012, 11:22:38 PM
Kildare have too many miles on the clock to deliver on all fronts.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 30, 2012, 08:29:52 PM
Looks like Premier Sports on Sky 433 are showing both games live.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 30, 2012, 08:50:30 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 29, 2012, 10:54:27 PM
So Kildare didn't get their chance to win their cup before coming up against the 2012 McKenna cup winners.

A few of the new lads did well for us in the McKenna cup but by the sounds of things McGeeney has the flourbags well wound up for a challenge on all fronts this year. They'll feel like they should of got to an AI semi last year and with a derby game against their big rivals the Dubs they could have even made the final.

I must say I'm looking forward to this game next Sat and hope the new lads like Murphy, who was MOTM on Sat night, continues to improve and stake their claim for places. Even Mugsy looks hungry despite his longer locks and could be out to proof a point to a lot this year that he's not over the hill just yet.

Role on Sat and hope we don't overshadow the 2nd game too much

What has long hair got to do with having a lack of hunger for the game................................ remember play with wild gay abandon

Look what the beards did for ye....................................Mugsy's  new look will catch on, expect kildare to be sporting mullets come the summer.............all bar robocop kavanagh
Post by: Onlooker on January 30, 2012, 09:00:18 PM
I wonder will any one from Dromid or Derrytresk be going to Croke Park to support their counties in the double bill.  It would be interesting to hear real fans views on the happenings in Portlaoise.  it would be a change from listening to Joe Duffy anyway.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 30, 2012, 09:05:02 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on January 30, 2012, 09:00:18 PM
I wonder will any one from Dromid or Derrytresk be going to Croke Park to support their counties in the double bill.  It would be interesting to hear real fans views on the happenings in Portlaoise.  it would be a change from listening to Joe Duffy anyway.

Their behavior will not be tolerated in the capital .................we have ways and means ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 31, 2012, 11:06:17 AM
A chara,

Tyrone's Allianz Football League Campaign begins with the fixture below:

Kildare V Tyrone 5pm

Dublin V Kerry 7.15pm

Saturday 4th February

Croke Park

You will be issued Print at home tickets on Wednesday 1st February for this fixture.

Season ticket enquiries can be emailed to seasonticket@gaa.ie

Le Meas

GAA Ticket Office

Post by: bustsummoves on January 31, 2012, 11:49:10 AM
Tyrone team Against Kildare National league people ??
Post by: Mr. Nakata on January 31, 2012, 12:55:08 PM
My guess - Devine, McCrory, Justy, PJ, McCarron, P Harte, Carlin, Murphy, Cassidy, Penfold, P Hughes, Joe, Stevie, Sparky, Mugsy

Of course Joe could be given the number 3 jersey or he could also be selected at midfield. Keeper could go either way, red Sean and Mattie Donnelly will be pushing as well, but I'd be reasonably confident of getting 12 of the 15 spot on.
Post by: Wee Roddy on January 31, 2012, 01:34:13 PM
I would be fairly certain that Ricey and Gormley will start
Post by: Fuzzman on January 31, 2012, 01:48:01 PM
Will be interesting alright to see does he start any of the older lads that haven't seen any "game time" yet.  :D

Anyone got any spare corporate tickets  ;D
Post by: God14 on January 31, 2012, 02:12:44 PM
I would be fairly certain that Ricey will play no part on Saturday night.

Also yesterdays Irish news listed Conor Gormley as injured?
Post by: Fuzzman on February 01, 2012, 01:37:51 PM
Anyone know can you buy premium tickets online anywhere or does any of ye have any spare or know of anyone that could get me one or two?
Post by: theticklemister on February 01, 2012, 02:02:00 PM
These matches live??????
Post by: Fuzzman on February 01, 2012, 02:09:18 PM
Yeah both games live on Setanta Ireland.
http://www.setanta.com/ie/TV-Listings/ (http://www.setanta.com/ie/TV-Listings/)

Does anybody know anything about the Croker Park Premium ticket exchange website as below.
http://www.crokepark.ie/Priomh-Information/Ticket-Exchange-Membership (http://www.crokepark.ie/Priomh-Information/Ticket-Exchange-Membership)

If so PM me. I wonder how much the tickets are then for each match or are there no fixed prices for them.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 01, 2012, 04:45:58 PM
I believe Dinny is still organising the apres match gathering....

Just need to point out that we hope that all the Tyronies leave their handbags at home and 'decommissioned' for the night to ensure they are not used as WMD in the event of any 'disagreement of opinion' !
Post by: Keane on February 01, 2012, 05:41:46 PM
Great pair of fixtures to start the NFL, looking forward to it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 01, 2012, 05:58:26 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 01, 2012, 04:45:58 PM

Just need to point out that we hope that all the Tyronies leave their handbags at home and 'decommissioned' for the night to ensure they are not used as WMD in the event of any 'disagreement of opinion' !

It looks like I have to pull as the rain last weekend meant I have a rescheduled game this Sat at 3pm. Still hoping that the snow will kick in and call that off, was even bringing Croí on a corporate junket but have had to give up those tickets  :(
Post by: Fuzzman on February 01, 2012, 08:56:31 PM
Is there any other threads on these two games or why is it do quiet about team news etc. Will Kerry do the customary thing and  give them a great guard of honour and then tear into them like Kerry animals.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on February 01, 2012, 09:14:41 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 01, 2012, 08:56:31 PM
Is there any other threads on these two games or why is it do quiet about team news etc. Will Kerry do the customary thing and  give them a great guard of honour and then tear into them like Kerry animals.
Oul preying mantis donaghy may not give us the guard of honour..................................  personally i think tyrone kildare and kerry should all line up for us on the night  ;D

(http://pixdaus.com/pics/12359034799eEbGsi.jpg)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF607/439814.jpg)
Post by: Fuzzman on February 01, 2012, 10:07:56 PM
Great pic squire

Who's that he's got a hold off? Looks like a hairy wee bug with a horn

(http://www.setanta.com/Global/Images/sport/gaa/Kerry/GalvinPaul,KieranDonaghy_celebrate480.jpg)

Or is it poor Gooch?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on February 02, 2012, 09:33:06 AM
 ;D Excellent Fuzzman, Im thinking Mr Galvin meself  ;)
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 11:20:08 AM
Kerry team for Saturday:

Brendan Kealy

Shane Enright
Marc Ó Sé
Peter Crowley

Tomás Ó Sé
Killian Young
Brian Maguire

Seamus Scanlon
Bryan Sheehan

Paul Galvin
Darran O'Sullivan
Sean O'Sullivan

James O'Donoghue
Kieran Donaghy
Barry John Keane

Nice mix of old and young, looking forward to seeing how O'Donoghue and BJ Keane get on, either one of them could potentially force their way into the Championship line up with strong NFL campaigns.

Peter Crowley is another one I'll be keeping an eye on, he's very highly rated but I haven't seen much of him. Delighted to see Killian Young in the HB line instead of at cornerback.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 02, 2012, 11:27:33 AM
It will seem weird that Mugsy could be the only one from the starting team from 2003 final doesn't it. I know Stevie came on that day but it really is a whole new era.
I remember thinking that this is a very young team and they could be around for 10 years or more
Well looks like the 10 years are up and whilst I expect a lot of our past leaders to be missing on Sat night we should still have quite a strong team

I'd like to see Joey back in at FB to be honest as I think Justy has regressed a lot the last year or so.
Maybe it's his way of trying to get moved out the field though I doubt it
I would like to see Joey at FB, Justy at CHB or even MF but I can't see that every happening.
Has Mickey ever played him there.

Peter Harte has definitely become our most important player but there is still the dilemma of CHB OR CHF?
Hughes seems to have done well this January and has Mat Donnelly but are they good enough yet for the bigger guns.

I hope Kildare play an open match and don't be pulling and dragging all day. I'm probably being unfair but I fear McGeeney's influence will mean they could use the rough them up tactics a bit and they'll see us as a new young team that can be pushed about. Not a game for Ronan O'Neill I would say but maybe I'm not being fair at all
I can just recall when McGeenery took over Kildare his first league game was in Omagh and it was an awful negative game.

Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 11:47:03 AM
How many probably first choice players are Tyrone going to be missing?

The two Cavanaghs, Conor Gormley - anyone else I'm missing? What's Davy Harte's story?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 02, 2012, 12:04:56 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 02, 2012, 11:27:33 AM
It will seem weird that Mugsy could be the only one from the starting team from 2003 final doesn't it. I know Stevie came on that day but it really is a whole new era.
I remember thinking that this is a very young team and they could be around for 10 years or more
Well looks like the 10 years are up and whilst I expect a lot of our past leaders to be missing on Sat night we should still have quite a strong team

I'd like to see Joey back in at FB to be honest as I think Justy has regressed a lot the last year or so.
Maybe it's his way of trying to get moved out the field though I doubt it
I would like to see Joey at FB, Justy at CHB or even MF but I can't see that every happening.
Has Mickey ever played him there.

Peter Harte has definitely become our most important player but there is still the dilemma of CHB OR CHF?
Hughes seems to have done well this January and has Mat Donnelly but are they good enough yet for the bigger guns.

I hope Kildare play an open match and don't be pulling and dragging all day. I'm probably being unfair but I fear McGeeney's influence will mean they could use the rough them up tactics a bit and they'll see us as a new young team that can be pushed about. Not a game for Ronan O'Neill I would say but maybe I'm not being fair at all
I can just recall when McGeenery took over Kildare his first league game was in Omagh and it was an awful negative game.

(http://www.lanews.org/news_images/20111222/1324572888_4084.jpg)

Post by: Fuzzman on February 02, 2012, 02:16:06 PM
I thought thar Mr Hollow as I typed it but I think you'll find the team we field on Sat won't have too many "hard" or dirty men in it. Both McMahon's are always too nice and no Gormley and Dicey Ricey so the only player ye might love to hate on the night is Mugsy and I don't think ye'll get much outta him.

All I'm saying is McGeeney seems to have toughened ye up a lot more which was probably needed.
The same way McGuinness have "toughened up" Donegal.

I'd like to see but doubt I ever will.

Devine
McCrory
Joey
PJ Quinn
McCarron
Harte
Carlin

Justy
M.Murphy

Penrose
Mugsy
Hughes

Mat Donnelly
SoNeill
Mark Donnelly

BTW I got sorted with 2 premium tickets. That premium ticket exchange thing is a great job.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on February 02, 2012, 04:24:19 PM
Hope this doesnt go wrong and involves Donaghy getting an oul peg to the head

http://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-news/gaa-to-scale-new-heights-literally-with-nfl-launch-this-weekend-0020361-1
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 02, 2012, 04:24:31 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 02, 2012, 02:16:06 PM
I thought thar Mr Hollow as I typed it but I think you'll find the team we field on Sat won't have too many "hard" or dirty men in it. Both McMahon's are always too nice and no Gormley and Dicey Ricey so the only player ye might love to hate on the night is Mugsy and I don't think ye'll get much outta him.

All I'm saying is McGeeney seems to have toughened ye up a lot more which was probably needed.
The same way McGuinness have "toughened up" Donegal.

Ah here. Everyone knows Kildare are soft out. Didn't Tyrone horse us out of it up in Dungannon last year. Sure isn't McGeeney trying to recruit in every disillusioned footballer in Ulster in a vain attempt to toughen us up a bit.

Kildare team will be something along these lines I'd say:

Connolly
PKelly  Fitzpatrick  McGrillen
Lyons  M O'Flaherty  Bolton
Flynn  Sweeney
Callaghan  Conway  Doyle
Smith  Connor  Kavanagh

Flanagan, the two O'Neills, Rob Kelly and Eoghan Flaherty will be there or thereabouts.

Mick Foley will be eased back in and Fitzpatrick is improving at full-back. Ollie Lyons has been going well and Bolton has played in a recent challenge. Roli will be hard to dislodge from midfield on his O'Byrne Cup form so hopefully it's a return to the forward line for Johnny. It appears like McGeeney is going to give every chance to Conway to try and re-establish himself and Smithy hinted at a bit of a revival in form against Offaly and Dublin.
Post by: Jinxy on February 02, 2012, 06:02:14 PM
Quote from: Keane on February 02, 2012, 11:20:08 AM
Kerry team for Saturday:

Brendan Kealy

Shane Enright
Marc Ó Sé
Peter Crowley

Tomás Ó Sé
Killian Young
Brian Maguire

Seamus Scanlon
Bryan Sheehan

Paul Galvin
Darran O'Sullivan
Sean O'Sullivan

James O'Donoghue
Kieran Donaghy
Barry John Keane

Nice mix of old and young, looking forward to seeing how O'Donoghue and BJ Keane get on, either one of them could potentially force their way into the Championship line up with strong NFL campaigns.

Peter Crowley is another one I'll be keeping an eye on, he's very highly rated but I haven't seen much of him. Delighted to see Killian Young in the HB line instead of at cornerback.

Is that Sean O'Sullivan the one with the shaved head or a different one?
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 06:15:10 PM
No it's that one. Back after a two year hiatus. Don't think anyone really knows why, he wasn't good enough in his prime and was shit in the County Championship as well.

Bizarre tbh.
Post by: Jinxy on February 02, 2012, 06:22:46 PM
I always thought he was a good player.
You Kerry hoors are awful hard to please.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 02, 2012, 08:25:50 PM
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/12522 (http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/12522)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 02, 2012, 08:39:21 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 02, 2012, 08:25:50 PM
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/12522 (http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/12522)

'Ricey' on Bench for Kildare Game

Mickey Harte has unsurprisingly made few changes to the team that saw off Derry in last weekend's Dr McKenna Cup final. Pascal McConnell rotates into the goalkeeping position instead of John Devine while Joe McMahon slots in at midfield to take over from the injured Colm Cavanagh. Ryan McMenamin is back on the bench and will surely see some action in this tough opening game in the league.
Throw in for Saturday evenings match in Croke Park is 5pm.

1 Pascal McConnell – An Baile Nua
2 Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
3 Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
4 PJ Quinn – Baile na Móna
5 Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
6 Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
7 Dermot Carlin – Coill an Chlochair
8 Michael Murphy – An Gallbhaile
9 Joe McMahon – An Omaigh
10 Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac
11 Peter Hughes – Eiscreach
12 Martin Penrose – Achadh Uí Aráin
13 Owen Mulligan – An Chorra Chríochach
14 Mark Donnelly – An Charraig Mhór
15 Stephen O'Neill – Clann na nGael

16 John Devine – Aireagal Chiaráin
17 Aidan Cassidy – Eochar
18 Conor Clarke   - An Omaigh
19 Kyle Coney – Ard Bó
20 Ciaran Gervin – Doire Locháin
21 Jonathan Lafferty – Urnaí
22 Damian McCaul – Domhnach Mór
23 Niall McKenna – Domhnach Mór
24 Ryan McMenamin – An Droim Mhór
25 Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mhór
26 Sean O'Neill – An Droim Mhór
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 02, 2012, 10:20:55 PM
Cill Dara (v Tír Eoghain)

1 Shane Connolly - St Laurences
2 Peter Kelly - Two Mile House
3 Ciarán Fitzpatrick - Kilcock
4 Ollie Lyons - Celbridge
5 Brian Flanagan - Johnstownbridge
6 Tommy O'Neill - St Laurences
7 Eoghan O'Flaherty - Carbury
8 Daryl Flynn - Moorefield
9 Ronan Sweeney - Moorefield
10 Tommy Moolick - Leixlip
11 Mikey Conway - Nurney
12 Pádraig O'Neill - St Laurences
13 James Kavanagh - Ballymore
14 Tomás O'Connor - Clane
15 Alan Smith - Sarsfields

Unchanged team from the one that started against Dublin. Could definitely be a change or two before the throw in. I wouldn't be overly confident with that half-back line on the big pitch at Croke Park.
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 10:26:34 PM
That looks a strong Tyrone team, missing anyone besides the Cavanaghs and Gormly?
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 10:27:52 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 02, 2012, 10:20:55 PM
Cill Dara (v Tír Eoghain)

1 Shane Connolly - St Laurences
2 Peter Kelly - Two Mile House
3 Ciarán Fitzpatrick - Kilcock
4 Ollie Lyons - Celbridge
5 Brian Flanagan - Johnstownbridge
6 Tommy O'Neill - St Laurences
7 Eoghan O'Flaherty - Carbury
8 Daryl Flynn - Moorefield
9 Ronan Sweeney - Moorefield
10 Tommy Moolick - Leixlip
11 Mikey Conway - Nurney
12 Pádraig O'Neill - St Laurences
13 James Kavanagh - Ballymore
14 Tomás O'Connor - Clane
15 Alan Smith - Sarsfields

Unchanged team from the one that started against Dublin. Could definitely be a change or two before the throw in. I wouldn't be overly confident with that half-back line on the big pitch at Croke Park.

Would be pretty amazed if that was the team that lined out.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 02, 2012, 10:28:05 PM
Good man DH. I'll pass that on to Mickey in case he doesn't know it already.  ;D

How many of ye lads will be in Croker on Sat night?
How many of ye will be in the premium level?

Do ye wanna meet in Jurys after the game?
We should all get labels with our aliases on it.  ;)

Big stage for Michael Murphy to really lay claim to a starting place.
I'm looking forward to seeing our new lads

Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 02, 2012, 10:37:28 PM
Quote from: Keane on February 02, 2012, 10:26:34 PM
That looks a strong Tyrone team, missing anyone besides the Cavanaghs and Gormly?
Surprised boys like Hughes an donnelly that played a singerson game during the week are starting
Post by: God14 on February 03, 2012, 08:21:50 AM
Lads - did Rony O'Neill not make the bench?   ??? or has he picked up a knock?? noticed he didnt play for UUJ in the sigerson this week as well.

...must be injured there's no way you can drop a man who kicks 2-10 or something for what limited minutes he got in the mckenna cup this year.
Class Act is O'neill.
Post by: Onthe40 on February 03, 2012, 09:15:48 AM
If he is a fresher, dont think he can play sigerson unless rules have changed.
Did i read somewhere that omagh u21s play in ulster on saturday, so that could rule him out?

where has the coalisland/clonoe lads gone - dont see them on the bench?
Post by: omagh_gael on February 03, 2012, 09:21:28 AM
Omagh are playing scotstown in the u-21s this weekend. Mc nally is injured as far as i'm aware, not sure what the story is with Mc Niece. Would I be right in thinking the clonoe bit is a subtle dig at Micky? Was there any clonoe players on the panel?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on February 03, 2012, 11:57:54 AM
Whats with all this premium level talk, are ye there for the football or the booze????????/ (said in jim mcguiness tone)

DUBLIN (SF v Kerry)
1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnell’s)
2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala) 3. Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes) 4. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams) 6. Ger Brennan (St Vincent’s) 7. Craig Dias (Kilmacud Crokes)
8. Ross McConnell (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh) 9. Michael Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
10. Paul Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh) 11. Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s) 12. Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps)
13. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s) 14. Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge St) 15. Tomás Quinn (St Vincent’s)
Subs: The substitutes will be announced before the game.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on February 03, 2012, 01:13:56 PM
Surely Conor Clarke would be playing for Omagh in the u-21s as well and he was named in the county panel of 26. Very bizarre...
Post by: God14 on February 03, 2012, 01:45:04 PM
Good point Nakata
perhaps you can only name 26 players for the press / programme, but he is still included on the match day squad? a la Stephen O'Neill in 2008 AI final...
However, they are listed in alphabetical order which would mean Ronan O'Neill should be 26 and Sean O'Neill ought to follow him...

???
Post by: Keane on February 03, 2012, 01:47:07 PM
He might have picked up a knock or something either.
Post by: clarshack on February 03, 2012, 01:49:08 PM
i'm surprised that peter hughes is doing well at inter county level.

he's played against us about 6 or 7 times at club level and has only stood out in about 1 of those games.

i always thought kevin mossey from gortin would have been worth a shot at chf.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 03, 2012, 02:41:53 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 01, 2012, 05:58:26 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 01, 2012, 04:45:58 PM

It looks like I have to pull as the rain last weekend meant I have a rescheduled game this Sat at 3pm. Still hoping that the snow will kick in and call that off, was even bringing Croí on a corporate junket but have had to give up those tickets  :(

Was like the promise of all promises on your debs night only for your date to run off with your geeky classmate at the end of the night  :P

Will be slumming it with Declan out the back of the Cusack now, can only hang around after for one or two, Jurys sounds good to me Fuzzman.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2012, 02:53:39 PM
Jurys it'll be then for a swift one!  ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on February 03, 2012, 03:49:15 PM
Do any of ye know each other already or will we make a meeting place in Jurys as I often find when we try to arrange to meet up that nobody knows what anyone else looks like and ye could be standing next to KerryMike and you'd never know and missed the chance of a lifetime

Speaking of which KM will you be there. I won't have any handbags or any weapons with me.
(http://editinternational.com/images/gallery/06-handbag_low.jpg)
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 03, 2012, 04:01:06 PM
that cartoon is nearly spot on fuzzman of the derrytreask v dromid aftermath.
The only flaws I see are that the handbag is being wielded by the wrong one and declan o sullivans hair is too long ( and breasts too large) - but the person on the right is a ringer for yer derrytreask supporter who swung the handbag - i'm not kidding !
Post by: Fuzzman on February 03, 2012, 04:57:44 PM
Ye get her No LB?
She sounds a keeper  :o
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 03, 2012, 05:00:30 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 03, 2012, 04:57:44 PM
Ye get her No LB?
She sounds a keeper  :o
no 88
an ice hockey keeper perhaps - wouldnt need the pads...
Post by: Jinxy on February 03, 2012, 06:29:46 PM
Rumour has it Brush Sheils will be abseiling off the top of the Hogan Stand to throw in the ball.
Post by: Man Marker on February 04, 2012, 12:57:35 AM
Looking forward to the game, very interesting to see how the lads cope on the big stage.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 11:04:07 AM
Fingers crossed.
http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/32036/1/kildare-vs-tyrone-live-stream-online.html (http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/32036/1/kildare-vs-tyrone-live-stream-online.html)
Post by: Christmas Lights on February 04, 2012, 12:04:02 PM
Anyone recommend any good pubs in South Belfast where I might catch the match?
Post by: CK_Redhand on February 04, 2012, 04:41:54 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on February 04, 2012, 12:04:02 PM
The Botanic Inn, aka The Bot, on Malone Road usually shows GAA games.  I'd say thats your best chance.  The Students Union Bars are always good for sports (cheaper pints aswell) but for an NFL match they might not show it.
Post by: the architect on February 04, 2012, 04:54:00 PM
if anyone has a stream for these games it would be much appreciated
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 04, 2012, 04:59:31 PM
Carmen Stateside's is working for me
Post by: the architect on February 04, 2012, 05:05:16 PM
sorry whats that?

found one here http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/32036/1/kildare-vs-tyrone.html
Post by: LeoMc on February 04, 2012, 05:10:26 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on February 04, 2012, 12:04:02 PM
The Parador on the Ormeau road would usually show them.

Post by: fitzroyalty on February 04, 2012, 05:11:40 PM
Quote from: the architect on February 04, 2012, 05:05:16 PM
sorry whats that?

found one here http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/32036/1/kildare-vs-tyrone.html
Yeah that one... few posts above!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 05:19:43 PM
Mc Geeney wasting no time with the subs!
Post by: ross4life on February 04, 2012, 05:24:21 PM
I'll take a wild guess & say all the Dub fans are in the pub watching this game?
Post by: omagh_gael on February 04, 2012, 05:24:28 PM
Score and scorers anyone? Have no access to commentary here.
Post by: the architect on February 04, 2012, 05:27:50 PM
Kildare dont really try to play the ball in the tackle. They tend to slap at the players arms a lot. Strange really as they work so hard to crowd the opposition then give away frees with careless tackling
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 05:28:46 PM
Tyrone half forwards are letting Kildare half backs attack at will
Post by: Rossfan on February 04, 2012, 05:31:29 PM
Wrong decision by Duffy there -- when Ref stops play for an injury it's a free , that you can't score from, to the team who had possession  - not a throw in.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 04, 2012, 05:33:06 PM
Score?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 05:33:40 PM
Ht
Kildare 0-6
Tyrone 0-3
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 05:36:19 PM
Stephan o Neill wih 2 points
Mugsy 1 point
Ronan ONeill replaced Hughes
Damian Mc Caul replaced PJ Quinn
Post by: omagh_gael on February 04, 2012, 05:37:44 PM
Cheers carmen. any chance you could fire up regular updates?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 05:38:40 PM
Will try.
Post by: the architect on February 04, 2012, 05:51:35 PM
seamus says "you know" a worrying amount
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 05:57:39 PM
Kildare 0-6
Tyrone 0-4 S ONeill
Post by: Onion Bag on February 04, 2012, 05:59:33 PM
Big crowd at it??
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:00:03 PM
Kildare 0-6
Tyrone 1-4. Penrose after good run from P Harte
Post by: Sandino on February 04, 2012, 06:00:54 PM
A class goal!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:01:34 PM
Kildare 0-7 J Doyle
Tyrone 1-4
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:02:58 PM
Tyrone 1-6  Mugsy R ONeill
Kildare 0-7
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:03:36 PM
Ty 1-6
Kil 0-8
Post by: Rossfan on February 04, 2012, 06:04:24 PM
Livening up now. Some good scores.
Post by: CornerBackNo2 on February 04, 2012, 06:05:17 PM
Any links to watch online lads?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:05:56 PM
Ty 1-6
Kil 0-9
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:06:24 PM
Quote from: CornerBackNo2 on February 04, 2012, 06:05:17 PM

Last page
Post by: Sandino on February 04, 2012, 06:09:22 PM
Ty  1-6 to Kil 0- 10 points
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:09:36 PM
Kil 0-10 M Conway with his fourth
Tyr 1-6
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:11:47 PM
Kil 0-10
Ty 1-7 D Mc Caul
Post by: Rossfan on February 04, 2012, 06:12:23 PM
Softer frees all going to Tyrone .
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:14:49 PM
Ty 2-7. P Harte
Kil 0-10
Post by: Sandino on February 04, 2012, 06:15:31 PM
I have to say I think its a class game at present.  Another great goal.
Post by: thejuice on February 04, 2012, 06:15:42 PM
Great ball from Mulligan
Post by: armaghniac on February 04, 2012, 06:16:03 PM
Good game now. Harte recovered well for the goal.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:16:22 PM
Good open game
Post by: Rossfan on February 04, 2012, 06:17:24 PM
Kildare in bother now  , 4pts down
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:17:39 PM
Ty 2-8 great point from Uggsy
Kil 0-10
Post by: Sandino on February 04, 2012, 06:17:55 PM
Some of the foot passing by Tyrone has been out of this world.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:18:17 PM
Mark Donnelly has been great second half
Post by: CornerBackNo2 on February 04, 2012, 06:18:42 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:06:24 PM
Quote from: CornerBackNo2 on February 04, 2012, 06:05:17 PM

Last page
Thanks!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:18:57 PM
Niall Mc Kenna for Cassidy
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:20:11 PM
Uggsy has been great second half as well
Ty 2-9 S ONeill free
Kil 0-10
Post by: king of leon on February 04, 2012, 06:20:34 PM
Kildare been awful in the 2nd half, they dont know how to tackle and left the centre open for Tyrones 2 goals.... Tyrones forwards have been impressive also.
Post by: Rossfan on February 04, 2012, 06:20:50 PM
Good dive by Mulligan, O'Neill free 5 up.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:21:12 PM
What a score
Ty 2-10 S ONeill
Kil 0-10
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:23:01 PM
That would have been some goal. What a pass from Ronan O Neill
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:23:41 PM
Ty 2-10
Kil 0-11 Conway again
Post by: Rossfan on February 04, 2012, 06:23:55 PM
Let off for Kildare as defence split apart again but O'Neill fires wide.
You can see why Kildare are looking for Seanie J.
Point Mike Conway.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:25:33 PM
Ty 2-10
Kil 0-12 Conway 6
Sean cavanagh for Penrose
Post by: the architect on February 04, 2012, 06:25:59 PM
not a bad sub to bring on!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:27:41 PM
Mulligan MOTM
Post by: Rossfan on February 04, 2012, 06:28:29 PM
Another soft free to Tyrone but drops short
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:28:45 PM
Ty 2-10
Kil 0-12
Another terrible miss by Kildare
Post by: clarshack on February 04, 2012, 06:30:05 PM
3 absolute sitters missed (2 by kildare) in the last 5 mins
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:30:47 PM
Ricey for Matt Donnelly
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:31:55 PM
Ty 2-11  Mark Donnelly
Kil 0-12
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 04, 2012, 06:33:18 PM
FT
Tyrone 2-11
Kildare 0-12
Good run out for the first league game. Great to see Stephen O Neill and Mugsy in good form
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 05, 2012, 02:03:04 PM
Great 2nd half display last night, and an important game for the new lads' first outing as Seniors in Croke (thank you Kildare County Board  ;) ) to register the hard fought victory.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 05, 2012, 03:05:06 PM
Early days but with only two home games to come it's definitely odds against for Kildare to reach a top 2 spot. Very frustrating and you'd wonder has anything at all been learned from the past few years. Why McGeeney persists with playing Johnny Doyle so far out the field is beyond me. He should be parked next to O'Connor and should feed off the big man because Smith and Kavanagh weren't at the races at all last night. The big man will win 4 out of every 5 balls that are kicked into him but defenders know he's not a scoring threat so they're happy to let him win it and then swarm him. The two corner forwards should be feeding off him a lot better.

Playing Eoghan O'Flaherty in the half-backs is another strange tactic. Fair enough it worked for Conway but it didn't exactly work out with Keith Cribbin in 2010 and probably set him back in his development. He's hardly going to be there come the summer when Foley, Bolton, McGrillen and McLoughlin are all back so I don't really see the thinking behind it. O'Flaherty was badly caught out for the first Tyrone goal when he lost track of his man. Actually thought the backs as a unit were quite good for about three quarters of the game but they seemed to fall apart when Ciarán Fitzpatrick went off and Mulligan began to get some space. Thought Ollie Lyons was quite impressive again and would like to see him at wing back.

Still no closer to finding a regular midfield partner for Flynn and that's something that needs to be sorted with question marks over Lynch and Earley. Mikey Conway was one of the few bright sparks last night which was great to see. Kicked some fine scores and should also have had a penalty for a fairly blatant foot-block. No point in reaching for the panic button yet but a lot of work to do.
Post by: Jinxy on February 05, 2012, 04:06:21 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 05, 2012, 03:05:06 PM
Early days but with only two home games to come it's definitely odds against for Kildare to reach a top 2 spot. Very frustrating and you'd wonder has anything at all been learned from the past few years. Why McGeeney persists with playing Johnny Doyle so far out the field is beyond me. He should be parked next to O'Connor and should feed off the big man because Smith and Kavanagh weren't at the races at all last night. The big man will win 4 out of every 5 balls that are kicked into him but defenders know he's not a scoring threat so they're happy to let him win it and then swarm him. The two corner forwards should be feeding off him a lot better.

Playing Eoghan O'Flaherty in the half-backs is another strange tactic. Fair enough it worked for Conway but it didn't exactly work out with Keith Cribbin in 2010 and probably set him back in his development. He's hardly going to be there come the summer when Foley, Bolton, McGrillen and McLoughlin are all back so I don't really see the thinking behind it. O'Flaherty was badly caught out for the first Tyrone goal when he lost track of his man. Actually thought the backs as a unit were quite good for about three quarters of the game but they seemed to fall apart when Ciarán Fitzpatrick went off and Mulligan began to get some space. Thought Ollie Lyons was quite impressive again and would like to see him at wing back.

Still no closer to finding a regular midfield partner for Flynn and that's something that needs to be sorted with question marks over Lynch and Earley. Mikey Conway was one of the few bright sparks last night which was great to see. Kicked some fine scores and should also have had a penalty for a fairly blatant foot-block. No point in reaching for the panic button yet but a lot of work to do.

I was at it DH and I couldn't agree more.
When Doyle came on I assumed he'd go into the FF line and Kavanagh would move out to the HF line.
The amount of ball O'Connor won or broke to what should have been Kildares advantage was unreal, yet there was no one within 20 feet of him half the time.
The full back going off gave Mulligan a bit of latitude alright but I must say it was a pleasure to watch him and SON in action and to see them both moving so well at this stage of their careers.
SON in particular looked in great shape and I was a bit surprised to see him so far from goal on a number of occasions but his work-rate and overall contribution was massive.
To be honest, I'd say quite a few Kildare fans went into Croke Park lamenting the Seanie Johnston situation and came out thinking "How soon can we get him?!"
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 05, 2012, 04:34:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 05, 2012, 04:06:21 PM
The full back going off gave Mulligan a bit of latitude alright but I must say it was a pleasure to watch him and SON in action and to see them both moving so well at this stage of their careers.
SON in particular looked in great shape and I was a bit surprised to see him so far from goal on a number of occasions but his work-rate and overall contribution was massive.

Agreed jinxy, those two along with Peter Harte were the pick last night for ourselves.
Post by: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 05:06:23 PM
O'Neill was heavily involved - more so than in recent years. It's a tough call. There would be games when he's in the FF line and underused but as we saw yesterday his majestic best is close to goal. In saying that, if he proves to have the engine to play as playmaker as well as get on the end of a few then we'll be in a good place. The same with Mugsy - some of his play further out from goal was great to watch. His ball for Harte's goal was a fine pass. Pete Harte is a class act - a real leader. Very impressed with Mattie Donnelly again - intelligent and always buzzing about. Early calls ashore on Hughes and PJ. Quinn was finding it tough going and gave away good ball. Was Hughes injured? - he didn't seem to get involved at all.

Despite being outplayed for a good 25 minutes in the first half and 10 in the second it wasn't a bad performance. Plenty to work on but the signs are good.

I thought the ref was very inconsistent throughout the game in terms of his punishment of too many steps. Ignored some whilst penalising players with men hanging out of him.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 05, 2012, 05:13:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 05:06:23 PM
I thought the ref was very inconsistent throughout the game in terms of his punishment of too many steps. Ignored some whilst penalising players with men hanging out of him.

Consistency isn't one of his strengths: blowing up Mickey Murphy for minor encroachment onto the pitch for a sideline, yet letting a Kildare kick-out be collected without penalty within the semi-circle (stone cold free in).

Matthew Donnelly played well indeed, seems to be settling very assuredly into the grade.
Post by: gander on February 05, 2012, 05:18:26 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 05, 2012, 05:13:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 05:06:23 PM

Consistency isn't one of his strengths: blowing up Mickey Murphy for minor encroachment onto the pitch for a sideline, yet letting a Kildare kick-out be collected without penalty within the semi-circle (stone cold free in).

Matthew Donnelly played well indeed, seems to be settling very assuredly into the grade.

I'm not sure thats a free anymore, seen it happen quite a lot recently without punishment.  Might've been done away with when the kickouts where changed
Post by: Jinxy on February 05, 2012, 05:25:19 PM
Mulligan could play a Galvin type role for Tyrone.
Galvin is less of a dirty ball winning wing forward now and more of a playmaker.
Every team needs a Giles/McGuigan type roving out around midfield/HF that can get on the ball and pick out a pass and make things happen.
Especially now with the numbers back defending.
Some of Mulligans foot-passing was sublime last night.
I thought the major difference between the winning and losing teams last night was that Tyrone and Kerry have the confidence, skill and understanding to maintain possession, keep probing and wait for an opening.
Kildare and Dublin are a bit more 'blitzkrieg' in their approach.
I would qualify that by saying Dublin were missing their two best forwards to be fair.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on February 05, 2012, 06:29:50 PM
Dublin were atrocious last night...............................fennell and ogara should not be on that dublin panel, what paddy andrews has to do to get a run I do not know ...........fair play to kerry well up for it and out muscled us  in every sector, donaghy is such a bloody moan hole though.................
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 05, 2012, 06:46:00 PM
Quote from: gander on February 05, 2012, 05:18:26 PM
I'm not sure thats a free anymore, seen it happen quite a lot recently without punishment.  Might've been done away with when the kickouts where changed

Fair point, can't see any reference to it in the current rules.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 05, 2012, 07:24:18 PM
Impressed with Tyrone last night. A very raw performance that was far from error free. However something to build on.

O'Neill, Hub and Harte rightly getting the plaudits. However I was really impressed by Conor Clarke.

I have to admit that I had never heard of the fella before, and don't really recall him playing underage, but he was excellent last night.
Post by: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 07:26:18 PM
Hub?
Post by: Jinxy on February 05, 2012, 07:43:58 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on February 05, 2012, 06:29:50 PM
Dublin were atrocious last night...............................fennell and ogara should not be on that dublin panel, what paddy andrews has to do to get a run I do not know ...........fair play to kerry well up for it and out muscled us  in every sector, donaghy is such a bloody moan hole though.................

No disrespect to the lad but he is the worst intercounty footballer I have ever seen.
Contributes absolutely nothing.
Dublin would be better off playing with 14 men.
Post by: SC1Sports.com on February 05, 2012, 09:09:27 PM
Thought I would throw in my tuppence worth of Kerry - Dublin game if I may http://bit.ly/yTmQpN Some individual analysis including a shining performance from Galvin
Post by: Jinxy on February 05, 2012, 09:33:50 PM
The lad Curtin that came on at full forward for Kerry was very impressive.
Has the ability to turn on a sixpence, won plenty of ball and used it well (set up the goal).
He was much more effective than Donaghy who is becoming a caricature of himself with the constant moaning to the ref.
He ran the length of the field at one stage to give out about something.
It's a wonder someone doesn't tell him to cop on.
Post by: TrueGael93 on February 05, 2012, 10:21:55 PM
Quote from: SC1Sports.com on February 05, 2012, 09:09:27 PM
Thought I would throw in my tuppence worth of Kerry - Dublin game if I may http://bit.ly/yTmQpN Some individual analysis including a shining performance from Galvin

This is excellent stuff! Will you be doing Derry game?? :P
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 05, 2012, 10:28:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 05, 2012, 07:26:18 PM
Hub?

It's Mugsy's new nickname.  :-[
Post by: imtommygunn on February 05, 2012, 10:32:34 PM
Peter Harte looks like he could be a class act for Tyrone. Mugsy has still got it. They won't get the same space come championship but some good football played by Tyrone - not many teams out there capable of stringing together the moves that led to Harte's goal and created O'Neill's chance which he should have put away.

Post by: omagh_gael on February 05, 2012, 11:44:22 PM
Is there anywhere a man could view extended highlights of the Tyrone game? Have only been able to see the 4/5 mins TG4 showed earlier.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 06, 2012, 07:21:02 AM

Only seen the highlights so reluctant to comment, but goals win games and it annoys me that this something been highlighted in the media that might actually be right with about Kildare, Tyrone took theirs and we missed ours. Foley's absence was a big loss but the movement of O'Neill and Mulligan caused all sorts of problems.

Wouldn't rule out relegation if we fail to win at the weekend.
Post by: Hound on February 06, 2012, 08:12:47 AM
Not a very enjoyable day out in Croker on Saturday evening!

For all the abuse that Jedward got (mostly from people who werent there), they were at least harmless fun and entertained the kids. Whoever picked Rubberbandits as the "entertainment" is a pure idiot. I'd never heard them before but their brand of music where the word fook is the most used lyric, and they've a song about "ridin" is hardly what the GAA want as family entertainment (albeit I'm sure there are a sizeable minority of brain dead red-top readers who enjoy that type of muck).

That was an amazing entrance they organised for Dublin as All Ireland champions. Bring them onto the field in the pitch dark so nobody can see them! 

Pretty pathetic 2nd half display by the Dubs. When Kerry realised all they had to do was mark-up on the kickouts because we'd nobody who could win a 50-50 high ball, they monopolised possession and our backs had a right workout! When we did have the ball our use of it was awful. Most frustrating was the basic skills were so poor, as if there was no football in us at all.

Plenty to work on. Maybe Pat should get the lads up a bit earlier.
Post by: supersarsfields on February 06, 2012, 08:28:18 AM
Was very happy with the football Tyrone played at the weekend. It was more akin to the football we would see in mid summer rather than the start of Feb so at least it was an enjoyable game to watch.
After all the retirements and then you see the team lining out without Gormely, the two McMahons and Cavanagh I had my doubts about where the leaders were going to come from. But in the second half Mugsy, SoN and Harte were brilliant. The foot passing was quick and accurate and there was always a man over on the run. This has been something we have lacked over the last couple of years. So hopefully with the young lads coming through there will be a return to the hunger that brought us the last AI.
Of the younger guys obviously P Harte stood out. Was was also very impressed with Clarke. While allowing to much space at times he had a tough number and I thought overall he should be happy with his performance. Ronan O neill also showed glimpes of why there is so much hope for him, but early days yet.

All in all a good day at the office and it's good to get of to a winning start in Croke park. Sure wouldn't it be great to finish the year of with the same.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 06, 2012, 08:57:04 AM
Quote from: Hound on February 06, 2012, 08:12:47 AM
Not a very enjoyable day out in Croker on Saturday evening!

For all the abuse that Jedward got (mostly from people who werent there), they were at least harmless fun and entertained the kids. Whoever picked Rubberbandits as the "entertainment" is a pure idiot. I'd never heard them before but their brand of music where the word fook is the most used lyric, and they've a song about "ridin" is hardly what the GAA want as family entertainment (albeit I'm sure there are a sizeable minority of brain dead red-top readers who enjoy that type of muck).

That was an amazing entrance they organised for Dublin as All Ireland champions. Bring them onto the field in the pitch dark so nobody can see them! 

Pretty pathetic 2nd half display by the Dubs. When Kerry realised all they had to do was mark-up on the kickouts because we'd nobody who could win a 50-50 high ball, they monopolised possession and our backs had a right workout! When we did have the ball our use of it was awful. Most frustrating was the basic skills were so poor, as if there was no football in us at all.

Plenty to work on. Maybe Pat should get the lads up a bit earlier.

i thought the 'entertainment' between the two games was woefull aswell.
why do they feel the need to do this sort of thing at all.
a 45 minute wait between the two games was a joke and the dublin entrance with fireworks et al was cringy in the extreme
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 06, 2012, 09:57:17 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 06, 2012, 07:21:02 AM

I'll rule it out for you Dinny, ourselves and Louth will head straight back down with maybe Monaghan (haven't seen them yet) an outside bet. Banty was up in Haggardstown yesterday, he left in the second half chuckling away to himself.

Enjoyable games on Sat night and a couple of tasty pints in the bar up the back of the Cusack, trust the Durty Dubs to know all the sneaky spots  :P

Arrived late for the first game and the end of the first half was tame enough with Kildare to the fore. Tyrone were excellent in the second and seem to have a few weeks more training done than Kildare. They goal they worked the whole length of the field was a thing of beauty and some of their footpassing was sublime, Mulligan especially. Kildare had their chances though and I would agree that they need to play Doyle inside. I wouldn't play O'Connor there though, not enough of a scoring threat.

In the senior game I thought Galvin was sensational, got on the ball at every opportunity and found his man every time, everything was going through him. James O'Donoghue also impressed and Barry John Keane took some lovely points. They racked up some amount of wides as well, not like Sheehan to miss so many frees. They dominated Cluxtons kick outs again and won most of the breaking ball. Best for Dublin were McMenamin and Quinn, with Connolly having one of those miss as opposed to hit games. Couldn't believe it when they brought on O'Gara and left Paddy Andrews on the bench again. Lots of work for Dublin to do but they'll still make the semi finals.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on February 06, 2012, 10:01:40 AM
I always enjoy watching Stevie O'Neill play. That early retirement a few years ago was a real shock to the system. The man has such a unique talent, thankfully we'll get to see many more days of seeing Stevie swinging them over from all angles. If I'm being harsh, he kicked 2 easy enough free kicks short into the keeper's hands, the second of which led directly to the Kildare forward missing a goal by inches from the next attack. The ball should've been kicked dead. I don't think Stevie should be on the frees.
Post by: Jinxy on February 06, 2012, 10:18:43 AM
Is Paddy Andrews another one of these players who gets better the less he plays?

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 06, 2012, 10:23:00 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 06, 2012, 07:21:02 AM

Only seen the highlights so reluctant to comment, but goals win games and it annoys me that this something been highlighted in the media that might actually be right with about Kildare, Tyrone took theirs and we missed ours. Foley's absence was a big loss but the movement of O'Neill and Mulligan caused all sorts of problems.

The whole thing sort of fell apart when Fitzpatrick went off because it was only then that Mulligan really came into his own. Thought it was very strange that when McGrillen was brought on that he didn't go into full-back (where he has experience) but instead of being put at wing-back. Ollie Lyons was left on the edge of the square when I think he should have been swapped with his clubmate. Kelly held his own for the most part.

We simply couldn't handle the Tyrone runners from deep in the second half and that's the fault of the half-forward line, the midfield and the half-back line particularly. Eoghan O'Flaherty lost his man for the first goal and Tommy O'Neill seemed to be pulled out of position too easily instead of holding the centre. Roli's man didn't win much possession around the middle but he seemed to have the freedom of the park galloping forward. Same goes for Mikey Conway's man which was the only negative aspect of his performance.

Would expect changes in the full-forward and half-back lines but McGeeney can be a stubborn hoor. Foley will come in if Fitzy is injured. I hope the experiment of EOF at left half-back is discontinued with his brother coming in. Not sure if Tommy O'Neill is an option for the centre but he could be better suited to the wing. Hopefully Johnny will be played off O'Connor but I wouldn't be holding my breath. EOF might be worth a try in the other corner or possibly Podge Fogarty but I suspect that role has been set aside for the Cavanman...
Post by: nrico2006 on February 06, 2012, 10:28:33 AM
Tyrone seem to have brought in a few runners from around the middle and HB line.  From what I have seen in recent games Harte and O'Neill cover serious ground when they get the ball, something which was obviously missing from the team last year. 
Post by: Fuzzman on February 06, 2012, 12:16:11 PM
Was at the two games on Sat night but I'm ashamed to say both games almost passed me by with a combination of pints, yapping and finding it hard to see who was who. I must be getting old with the eyesight going.

Luckily I had it recorded from Setanta so I watched it again last night and whilst our first half performance was dreadful I thought, our second half we played some excellent stuff.

To me Clarke, Petey Harte, Mugsy & SON were our 4 best players though Clarke had his hands full with O'Connor. He often let him get possession but by no means was he taken to the cleaners. I'd say he could be in with a good shout for the No3 shirt come the summer.
To me the thing that pleased me the most was the pace we seemed to have was back.
In 2003 & 2005 pace helped us win a lot of matches and the speed we moved the ball.
Some of the passes from SON, Mugsy and Harte were awesome and with runners all over the field gives us great hope.

What happened to the starting line up? I heard Joey had the flu as did PJ yet PJ started but no sign of Justy or Carlin. Also surprised to see Big Sean coming back so soon and I thought Cassidy was also meant to be out injured again.
Was a bit disappointed with Hughes though Matt Donnelly did OK. Ronan O'Neill looked very sharp and must fancy his chances of a starting place for the summer ahead of Coney & McKenna.
Was disappointed too with Murphy as he did so well last Sat night.

Personally I'm delighted for Mugsy to have played so well and be working so hard. Someone told me that he's out running and training on his own a lot more readily. You can see he seems to be a man on a mission and even seems to be tracking back and made a great block one time.
I wonder what he said that time to Conway (No 11).

I think the report below sums it up well and as Mickey says things went right for us in the 2nd half though we still could have lost to a few bad misses from Kildare near the end.

I was disappointed with Penrose despite his excellent choice to palm it to the net. He seems to often over complicate things and take the wrong choice to shoot or to pass.
It's very early days but lettuce face it, we scored 2.11 without Gormley, Ricey, 2 McMahons, 2 Cavanaghs, 2 McGuigans, Dooher & Hub.
I'm looking forward to an exciting year again with all the new faces but know we're still in massive transition.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0206/1224311332599.html (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0206/1224311332599.html)

There were too lads in front of me from Rock and one was whinging all evening about SON and how he's over the hill. Doesn't have it any more and wastes so much ball. Yes he missed a few frees and that great goal chance but he did so much good work elsewhere and set up loads of scores and scored 0.5 himself.

Bring on the Sperrin men SOR
Post by: Hound on February 06, 2012, 12:16:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 06, 2012, 10:18:43 AM
Is Paddy Andrews another one of these players who gets better the less he plays?
Absolutely.

There's a good chance he's not good enough for intercounty. But there's also some chance that he'd be a good addition. As fans we just don't know, other than he's a fine club forward. Saturday would have been a very good opportunity to start him, instead of O'Gara.
Post by: Jinxy on February 06, 2012, 12:21:13 PM
O'Gara must be a great trainer because lord knows he does nothing in games.
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2012, 01:13:05 PM
Satisfying game on Saturday evening. Kildare had the run of the show in the first half, but was happy to see that Tyrone was able to stop them from pulling away from them.

In the second half, there was flashes of brilliance that gives hope for the future. Mugsy was my MoTM, as well as Setanta. Couple of terrible points and wasn't too greedy on the ball. SON was terrific too, I was pleased to see him moved forward for the second half.

Young Harte is the guttiest player out there, winning the impossible ball and putting his body on the line for the goal.

Promotion to Division 1 status definitely looks a lot more possible today.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 06, 2012, 01:18:45 PM
I think Gorgeous McCarron has a good game for Tyrone too. Looks more accomplished at half back than full back for the county.
Someone commented to me that Penrose was nothing more than a busy fool - never thought of it this way before but he may have a point but I'd pick him every game.
V disappointed in A Cass thought he was the answer at midfield but he was non existent but then again he may need time to settle in again after injuries etc.
Uggsy was very good - proved me wrong i thought he was done but looks like he good have a massive year!
SON and Petey Harte were good and I think the two donnellys had good second half!

Encouraging start! Another Ulster I'd say but a step too far for a 4th AI I think!
Post by: bustsummoves on February 06, 2012, 04:06:44 PM
mccarron is playing great stuff at half back. Suits him out there. Petey at number 11 would be better i think still tho. Big game on sunday against our old foes Derry. We would better not slip up or last weekend would be for nothing
Post by: rrhf on February 06, 2012, 04:37:01 PM
Some class showings, Mulligan, O Neill, Harte, Clarke.  I felt Mc Carron looked like he was carrying a knock, but he has been exceptional this year so far.  We have weaknesses beween the 40s but we also have a good 2nd half in us in every game to date.  We seem to be very messy at the start of games.  D Mc Caul the quiet man of the squad, put in a good 50 minutes as well.  scored an inspirational point too to level the game after Kildare had nipped back in front.  Was markingJames  Cavanagh and kept him out of danger. 
Post by: nrico2006 on February 06, 2012, 04:38:30 PM
Sean Cavanagh should be put back in the middle, none of this wing forward or full forward craic.
Post by: God14 on February 06, 2012, 04:50:18 PM
I also thought Damien McCaul didnt get the recognition he deserved by the media or on here (until rrhf pointed him out). Looked very solid in defense & purposeful going forward too. Stem'd the tide well. Think he could benefit from a spell in the half back line similar to Gorgeous.

Midfield struggled badly and would be a big concern. I appreciate Cassidy isnt at all near fit. Murphy didnt hit the heights of the McKenna cup final & a question mark would still hang over him IMO.

When I heard we were throwing a 19 year old into full back I was very nervous, but young Clarke did superbly. What a prospect for the future. He can play further out the field as well, was excellent at Midfield for Omagh St Enda's this year. Petey Harte, Mugsy & SON were all excellent.

Would like to see Coney get a game soon. He is a man that divides opinion all right. Can mix the sublime with the ridiculous - but personally I rate him & think he, like everyone else, deserves a chance to prove himself.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 06, 2012, 05:52:00 PM
Agree that Cathal Mc Carron is acquitting himself well on the half-back line -- he was used effectively as a spare man to cover the space for the Kildare kick-outs, and made some good trademark runs forward.

Conor Clarke did very well too and is looking more and more like a long-term occupier of the full-back berth, and young Cassidy did OK considering the length of time that he was out - he was dead on his feet by the time he was subbed. Damien Mc Caul certainly made a difference when he came on, in a very positive sense.
Post by: LeoMc on February 07, 2012, 04:56:30 PM
Was Clarke not playing mid-field for Omagh Seniors and underage.
Where did the Full back bit come from? He looks too comfortable to have just been parachuted in there. Did he play there underage or is it just something Mickey has seen in training?
Post by: God14 on February 07, 2012, 05:33:27 PM
Leo - he played full back right the way through the 2010 AI minor winning team.

Suprising didnt make the 2011 under 21 panel (same manager as 2010 minors Ray Munroe)
Post by: LeoMc on February 07, 2012, 09:57:05 PM
Quote from: God14 on February 07, 2012, 05:33:27 PM
Leo - he played full back right the way through the 2010 AI minor winning team.

Suprising didnt make the 2011 under 21 panel (same manager as 2010 minors Ray Munroe)

Cheers, I saw no football that year from June so that would explain how he came "from nowhere"
Post by: magpie seanie on February 07, 2012, 10:02:55 PM
Some Dubs behind me at the game were lamenting about how crap O'Gara was - "no Brogans and O'Gara playing - it's like trying to cut a loaf of bread with a hammer". Laughed my hole off!

Encouraging signs for Tyrone in second half. Kildare had a bit of the same old same old about them. I think McGeeney's lack of imagination will hinder them. Kerry purred. I expected them to be up for it but they looked pretty good at times. Curtin caught my eye as a new lad with some lovely turns and passing. Dublin surprised me, looks like they've really enjoyed the winter. Agree with comment before about Fennel - amazed he is on a county panel never mind getting game time.
Post by: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 10:44:54 PM
Connolly was able to win high balls coming into him in the 2nd half so I don't know why they don't just play him as an orthodox FF.
If O'Gara starts the next game its a sure sign Gilroy isn't too bothered about the league.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 08, 2012, 01:17:08 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 10:44:54 PM
Connolly was able to win high balls coming into him in the 2nd half so I don't know why they don't just play him as an orthodox FF.
If O'Gara starts the next game its a sure sign Gilroy isn't too bothered about the league.

He won 1 high ball...that I can recall. Overall he was poor I thought...I still think he is flakey mentally, although very talented. What was the story with those left-footed frees? Who does he think he is..Maurice Fitz?  ;D
Post by: Hound on February 08, 2012, 08:52:36 AM
Outside of a couple of backs, Connolly was the only Dub who won his fair share of 50/50 balls. He played a couple of great passes too, but the 4 or 5 wides he hit left a bad impression of his overall performance. All his wides were off his weak side, the one shot he had off his right he nailed.

I saw him slot a couple of placed balls over the bar with his left foot in the warm-up and I feared the worst! His 2nd missed free in particular, he would have knocked over with his right out of his hands no bother.

But Gilroy's not immune to making stupid decisions. Like allowing Mossy to take a 45 again. Very good freetaker from 30m in, but the chap must have a success rate of 8%-10% for 45s for Dublin.

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on February 08, 2012, 10:14:35 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 10:44:54 PM

Sigerson Cup Result - DCU 0-11 CIT 0-8. Dean Rock scored 0-6 & Eoghan O'Gara was sent off.

The chap is embarrassing ........................................ sooner the better he is chucked off the panel