Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Aerlik on December 25, 2011, 02:35:44 PM

Title: Coming to Australia?
Post by: Aerlik on December 25, 2011, 02:35:44 PM
Well, do yourselves, your famiy and the established Irish community in this country a huge favour.  Feckin behave.

Sick and tired of hearing and dealing with drunk, misbehaving young Irish men and women who think that they are immune to the rules of this country.  You wouldn't do it at home, don't do it here.

They are an absolute embarrassment.
Title: Re: Coming to Australia?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 25, 2011, 02:51:02 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on December 25, 2011, 02:35:44 PM
Well, do yourselves, your famiy and the established Irish community in this country a huge favour.  Feckin behave.

Sick and tired of hearing and dealing with drunk, misbehaving young Irish men and women who think that they are immune to the rules of this country.  You wouldn't do it at home, don't do it here.

Very true Aerlik, good call, but not half as embarrasing as the Aussie propensity to look for a fight and their favourite pastime, racism.

Have we had the annual Biker bombing in Melbourne or the shoot out in Kingscross, Sydney yet? Looking forward to hear about them boxing the heads of each other on Cronulla beach.
Post by: Aerlik on December 25, 2011, 03:29:17 PM
Don't get me started on the bikies.  Lowest scum of the earth.  And another sad fact is that there are so many young Irish using speed/meth/crack over here and it is almost exclusively made by bikies.

FFS, if your family or friends are coming to Oz, tell them to pull their head in. :-[ >:(

Post by: pintsofguinness on December 25, 2011, 04:09:59 PM
Yes mum  ::)
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 25, 2011, 04:43:02 PM

Do you work behind a bar or something? plenty of misbehaving Irish in Ireland so it's hardly a surprise when they travel over in large groups & get very drunk after a week of work.

Post by: AlriteHorse on December 26, 2011, 07:48:10 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on December 25, 2011, 03:29:17 PM
Don't get me started on the bikies.  Lowest scum of the earth.  And another sad fact is that there are so many young Irish using speed/meth/crack over here and it is almost exclusively made by bikies.

FFS, if your family or friends are coming to Oz, tell them to pull their head in. :-[ >:(

Yeah Aerlik, it's not great. Perth's getting worse by the week. Not the best thing to say, but you can really notice a different class coming out now. In Pertha bout 2 years now, Oz around 4 and a half. Left home by my own choice to do travelling etc but now you get people who are here because they have to be here if they want to work. Unfortunately, it's giving us a bad name. I got jumped a few weeks ago by two irish guys.....tried to bite my ear etc. Police landed and found out they were "off their heads". Just hoping things don't keep going they way they are!
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2011, 08:52:08 AM
Quote from: AlriteHorse on December 26, 2011, 07:48:10 AM

Yeah Aerlik, it's not great. Perth's getting worse by the week. Not the best thing to say, but you can really notice a different class coming out now. In Pertha bout 2 years now, Oz around 4 and a half. Left home by my own choice to do travelling etc but now you get people who are here because they have to be here if they want to work. Unfortunately, it's giving us a bad name. I got jumped a few weeks ago by two irish guys.....tried to bite my ear etc. Police landed and found out they were "off their heads". Just hoping things don't keep going they way they are!
Bloody working classes out looking for work! Should be put in stocks.
Post by: AlriteHorse on December 26, 2011, 09:52:15 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2011, 08:52:08 AM

You're picking me up wrong here Tony. I would consider myself working class but you don't see me lifting stuff off supermarket shelves, eating half of it and setting it back down..........kicking crap out of someone because they're wearing an England Cricket Top..........writing all over a car and smashing the windows because it had a Tyrone top on the back seat.............glassing someone for taking a parking space at the beach. These are just incidents I've seen in the last month.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2011, 09:58:20 AM
Quote from: AlriteHorse on December 26, 2011, 09:52:15 AM

You're picking me up wrong here Tony. I would consider myself working class but you don't see me lifting stuff off supermarket shelves, eating half of it and setting it back down..........kicking crap out of someone because they're wearing an England Cricket Top..........writing all over a car and smashing the windows because it had a Tyrone top on the back seat.............glassing someone for taking a parking space at the beach. These are just incidents I've seen in the last month.
Sorry sir. That's pretty brutal stuff. They say travel broadens the mind but it seems plenty of Irish can't leave the small-mindedness at home. Tramps.
Post by: AlriteHorse on December 26, 2011, 10:57:35 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2011, 09:58:20 AM

Sorry sir. That's pretty brutal stuff. They say travel broadens the mind but it seems plenty of Irish can't leave the small-mindedness at home. Tramps.

Yeah, as I mentioned before, a good few years back people left because they wanted to travel and see / experience new things, but now they're coming here as they've no real choice in the matter. I'm definately not knocking people coming here to work and I know plenty of companies here that have nothing but good words about the Irish work ethic. It's what they get up to when they're not working that is tainting things. You only have to look at the change in the irish bars over the last 6/7 months. One bar in particular has doubled its door staff in the last month due to incidents.

It is slightly worrying as the Irish community here in Perth has a very good standing and relationship with the Australian Community but recently we have been getting too much negative publicity in the papers and other media.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2011, 11:02:26 AM
Quote from: AlriteHorse on December 26, 2011, 10:57:35 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2011, 09:58:20 AM

Yeah, as I mentioned before, a good few years back people left because they wanted to travel and see / experience new things, but now they're coming here as they've no real choice in the matter. I'm definately not knocking people coming here to work and I know plenty of companies here that have nothing but good words about the Irish work ethic. It's what they get up to when they're not working that is tainting things. You only have to look at the change in the irish bars over the last 6/7 months. One bar in particular has doubled its door staff in the last month due to incidents.

It is slightly worrying as the Irish community here in Perth has a very good standing and relationship with the Australian Community but recently we have been getting too much negative publicity in the papers and other media.

To be honest I only came across two headcases that would embarrass Ireland while I was there, a pair of headers from Galway who would get stupid drunk and trash the hostel and smash wingmirrors, shout anti-English abuse and shit in the street. 2 out of countless, is a very small figure, that was 2008-2010
Post by: AlriteHorse on December 26, 2011, 11:13:29 AM
Yeah, i'm not sure if it's stemming from the notion that it's just a matter of landing here and going to "the mines" but the last 5/6 months have gotten ridiculous. Overall, it is only a small element but I'm sure you're aware that this is all it takes. Thankfully Xmas has gone without incident so far, although I've only been out one night and that was for a works party.
Post by: lawnseed on December 26, 2011, 01:09:31 PM
yes this thread would confirm the disgusting stories i'm hearing from people who have made their way home for the holidays. i believe the irish in oz are making a right show of themselves.. monday clubs etc etc just the same shite that went on here during the building boom. but i have sobering news for them there are alot of reports of signs of the oz economy slowing down, a friend has been told by his austrialian employer that many of the big projects are being postponed as theres a slow down in demand. hes there 6 years the news came as a shock.
Post by: thebigfella on December 26, 2011, 01:44:03 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on December 26, 2011, 01:09:31 PM
yes this thread would confirm the disgusting stories i'm hearing from people who have made their way home for the holidays. i believe the irish in oz are making a right show of themselves.. monday clubs etc etc just the same shite that went on here during the building boom. but i have sobering news for them there are alot of reports of signs of the oz economy slowing down, a friend has been told by his austrialian employer that many of the big projects are being postponed as theres a slow down in demand. hes there 6 years the news came as a shock.

You don't need to be in oz to make show of yourself, you do it perfectly well on this board. I have sobering news  ::) Seriously, do you ever read the know it all sh1te you post.

By the way Monday club was happening long before the building boom  ::)
Post by: lawnseed on December 26, 2011, 02:04:16 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 26, 2011, 01:44:03 PM

You don't need to be in oz to make show of yourself, you do it perfectly well on this board. I have sobering news  ::) Seriously, do you ever read the know it all sh1te you post.

yeah your right. i'm not in austrailia are you? the jist of the thread is a poster whose basically embarrassed by the behaviour of his fellow countrymen. that concurs what i've heard from eyewitnesses in austrailia. as for the monday clubs they are part of the reason that this country was glad to see the arrival of eastern european workers who you could actually depend on. leaving these wankers complaining that they'd no work. as for the austrailian economy slowing down i was told that news some months ago and i believe that it is relevant to this thread since the irish monday clubbers are the first tossers to be out of work AGAIN
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2011, 02:15:01 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on December 26, 2011, 02:04:16 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 26, 2011, 01:44:03 PM

yeah your right. i'm not in austrailia are you? the jist of the thread is a poster whose basically embarrassed by the behaviour of his fellow countrymen. that concurs what i've heard from eyewitnesses in austrailia. as for the monday clubs they are part of the reason that this country was glad to see the arrival of eastern european workers who you could actually depend on. leaving these w**kers complaining that they'd no work. as for the austrailian economy slowing down i was told that news some months ago and i believe that it is relevant to this thread since the irish monday clubbers are the first t**sers to be out of work AGAIN

During the boom there was very few complaining that they had no work as we were as close to full employment as possible. Post boom the Easten European workers are just as depressed about their huge Irish mortgages, car insuance and lack of work.
Post by: lawnseed on December 26, 2011, 02:24:02 PM
my point is that these guys have not learned. whats going on in Australia is a boom it cant last. instead of getting stuck in a making a few quid they're pissing it around the streets of Australia and they'll end up back here lamenting what they should have done without an arse in their trousers... slurp slurp.. burp burp
Post by: Aerlik on December 26, 2011, 02:32:07 PM
If you come to Western Australia and you get pulled over by the cops in Perth's Northbridge area, at best you will get a Move On Notice.  If given one, MOVE THE f**k AWAY FROM THE AREA DESIGNATED.  The number of young, drunk f**king arseholes who think they are above the law and contradict the law then end up getting arrested and thrown in the slammer for the weekend is unbelievable.  Every weekend it is the same story.  You wouldn't do it at home.  Don't do it here.

The Irish are a very well established ethnic minority here in WA.  Sure the Governor General is a McCusker, a Derry man like myself.

Spread the word.  Tell your mates to pull their feckin heads in.
Post by: lawnseed on December 26, 2011, 02:38:07 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on December 26, 2011, 02:32:07 PM
If you come to Western Australia and you get pulled over by the cops in Perth's Northbridge area, at best you will get a Move On Notice.  If given one, MOVE THE f**k AWAY FROM THE AREA DESIGNATED.  The number of young, drunk f**king arseholes who think they are above the law and contradict the law then end up getting arrested and thrown in the slammer for the weekend is unbelievable.  Every weekend it is the same story.  You wouldn't do it at home.  Don't do it here.

The Irish are a very well established ethnic minority here in WA.  Sure the Governor General is a McCusker, a Derry man like myself.

have you seen any signs of a slowdown aerlik. my mate works at pipelaying hes way out in the sticks he been told further plans have been 'put on hold' they've paid off some lads
Post by: AlriteHorse on December 26, 2011, 02:50:40 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on December 26, 2011, 02:38:07 PM

have you seen any signs of a slowdown aerlik. my mate works at pipelaying hes way out in the sticks he been told further plans have been 'put on hold' they've paid off some lads

Lawnseed, I'd be involved in a few of the large resources / infrastructure projects and the second half of the year was a hell of a lot quiter than expected. I've been waiting a few months for one tender to come through but the client keeps holding off on it. Hard to say if a few companies are just taking precautions but as there's still plenty of companies that are pretty much running at capacity. All just depends who you're speaking to. My cousin runs a ceiling fixing company here and hee tells me that companies are undercutting each other left right and centre just to pick up work.
Post by: lawnseed on December 26, 2011, 03:05:32 PM
Quote from: AlriteHorse on December 26, 2011, 02:50:40 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on December 26, 2011, 02:38:07 PM

Lawnseed, I'd be involved in a few of the large resources / infrastructure projects and the second half of the year was a hell of a lot quiter than expected. I've been waiting a few months for one tender to come through but the client keeps holding off on it. Hard to say if a few companies are just taking precautions but as there's still plenty of companies that are pretty much running at capacity. All just depends who you're speaking to. My cousin runs a ceiling fixing company here and hee tells me that companies are undercutting each other left right and centre just to pick up work.
thats what i heard. hope things pick up in the new year for you. no point in coming back here things are getting very tight. no problem getting a good tradesman for 60 a day
Post by: The Subbie on December 26, 2011, 03:48:06 PM
I work for a large multinational civil engineering company, I'm based in Sydney and we work mainly in the rail sector, I'm home for Christmas and was told by a director to" recruit like fcuk", we have a full order book for 2012 & tenders were stacking up before I left.
Back on topic, I went over to meet a mate of mine in Bondi 3 weeks ago and had the misfortune of arranging yonder in the junction, f**k me some of them boys and girls could dowith an Ojus Ojus hiding, people were crossing the street to get away from them and the shit they were at, it was a side of being Irish in oz that I didn't like one bit.
Anyway I'm away for a creamy pint of stout, happy Christmas one and all wherever yis are
Post by: Puckoon on December 26, 2011, 06:08:43 PM
This issue isn't unique to Australia. I think I've mentioned it before on here, but I was informed by an older lady in SF a few years ago that she could always tell when the new Irish came out. I asked her how could she tell and she said "they are the drunken sunburned ones with the bad manners".

This attitude of "its not my home, who cares if I wreck'er" is not doing anyone any favours.
Post by: LeoMc on December 26, 2011, 06:58:41 PM
You see the same thing in Belfast and probably the other University towns, young lads away from mammy for the first time, just multiplied by distance.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 26, 2011, 07:13:19 PM
"You wouldn't do it at home.  Don't do it here." problem is they do & these guys shouldn't be allowed into Australia in the first place.
Post by: leenie on December 26, 2011, 07:42:33 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on December 26, 2011, 06:58:41 PM
You see the same thing in Belfast and probably the other University towns, young lads away from mammy for the first time, just multiplied by distance.

This is exactly what i was thinking...

I was quite blind-slighted to what actually goes on in Belfast with regards to the students but from living in the city for the last year and so and near the student area it is shocking some of the things. Having been a student myself years ago i am surprised. Now i'm no saint nor am i saying that when i was a students things didn't happen but i can't remember them being as bad...

Recently i was walking to work and it was 6.30am i was dandering up through the holylands when i came across 3 youngs fella's, wearing gaelic jerseys jumping up on down on a people carrier, being brave of myself and thinking they were fellow country people i thought i'd stop with them and tell them to wise up and go on home... Big Mistake, the abuse i got was unbelievable and i was told to keep walking or i'd know about it..... 

you'd wonder is the manners a lot worse know and bearing in mind some of these young lads were "the boom teenagers" where things we taking for granted....

and don't even get me started on "respecting your elders"
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2011, 08:20:32 PM
Quote from: mannix on December 26, 2011, 08:18:46 PM
One young lad from the west of Ireland arrived in Sydney, got off the plane and was busted within an hour buying drugs in a police sting. Anyway, he was held until alight home was arranged. He arrived in London and laid low pretending he was still in Australia. He's at home for good now after his wild adventure around the world( London).
The gas thing is everyone knows.

I suspect a Kerry lad I know ended back for similar reasons.
Post by: anglocelt39 on December 26, 2011, 09:58:47 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2011, 08:20:32 PM
One young lad from the west of Ireland arrived in Sydney, got off the plane and was busted within an hour buying drugs in a police sting. Anyway, he was held until alight home was arranged. He arrived in London and laid low pretending he was still in Australia. He's at home for good now after his wild adventure around the world( London).

thought you said a few posts ago that it was only two galway lads you knew of who made flutes of themselves in their Ozzie travels, this looks like a suspected 50% increase in the space of a few hours,
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2011, 10:01:48 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on December 26, 2011, 09:58:47 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2011, 08:20:32 PM

thought you said a few posts ago that it was only two galway lads you knew of who made flutes of themselves in their Ozzie travels, this looks like a suspected 50% increase in the space of a few hours,

The only lads I have seen to get up to this craic were 2 Galway lads. I suspect a Kerry lad of getting up to something coz he came back with his legs between his legs pretty quick, then again I might just think bad of the lad, coz I don't like him much. Its not a conspiracy you know  ::)
Post by: anglocelt39 on December 26, 2011, 10:08:10 PM
so you spent three years on Oz and you saw two paddies making tits of themselves in that time, either you were in Solitary confinement or living in an enclosed order, on second thoughts I will withdraw the latter ..............
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2011, 10:17:20 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on December 26, 2011, 10:08:10 PM
so you spent three years on Oz and you saw two paddies making tits of themselves in that time, either you were in Solitary confinement or living in an enclosed order, on second thoughts I will withdraw the latter ..............

Only 2 who where consistently arseholes of the highest order, only 2 who took the craic too far. 2008-2010, I was not there for 3 years, did I actually say I was there fom 01/01/08 to 31/12/10, no I did not.
Post by: stephenite on December 26, 2011, 10:46:54 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 25, 2011, 02:51:02 PM

Very true Aerlik, good call, but not half as embarrasing as the Aussie propensity to look for a fight and their favourite pastime, racism.

Have we had the annual Biker bombing in Melbourne or the shoot out in Kingscross, Sydney yet? Looking forward to hear about them boxing the heads of each other on Cronulla beach.

Do they still beat up homosexuals and eastern Europeans in Castlebar every Friday night?
Post by: sammymaguire on December 26, 2011, 11:05:47 PM
So if you were/are both gay and eastern European you were/are totally up shit creek in Castlebar on a Friday night?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2011, 11:21:54 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on December 26, 2011, 11:05:47 PM
So if you were/are both gay and eastern European you were/are totally up shit creek in Castlebar on a Friday night?
Homophobe.
Post by: sammymaguire on December 27, 2011, 08:26:13 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2011, 11:21:54 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on December 26, 2011, 11:05:47 PM
Homophobe.

Is that a Middletown SDLP lover?  :D
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 29, 2011, 10:47:18 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-16305048

Post by: Kimbap on March 12, 2012, 09:20:47 PM
Quote from: stephenite on December 26, 2011, 10:46:54 PM

Do they still beat up homosexuals and eastern Europeans in Castlebar every Friday night?

Are you serious? Compare Castlebar violent crime statistics to that of a smaller town like "the Na" and come back to me.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 12, 2012, 09:23:42 PM
Quote from: Kimbap on March 12, 2012, 09:20:47 PM
Quote from: stephenite on December 26, 2011, 10:46:54 PM

Are you serious? Compare Castlebar violent crime statistics to that of a smaller town like "the Na" and come back to me.

Can you not do it yourself??
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2012, 10:59:30 PM
now as an outsider who has lived in ballina and castlebar i would say the following. Castlebar is full of mucksavages who got lots of money for building housing estates and then got the flash cars and all that jazz. However, you cant take the bog from the man and there is nothing these lads like better than snorting a bit of coke and battering some poor unfortunate. The celtic tiger never got to ballina so crime there is of a more traditional nature. The biggest problem in ballina is that all residents got their driving licenses in a lucky dip. Sound skins in ballina, even the gouriers. Castlebar more of a nasty shower. QED.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 13, 2012, 12:00:59 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2012, 10:59:30 PM
now as an outsider who has lived in ballina and castlebar i would say the following. Castlebar is full of mucksavages who got lots of money for building housing estates and then got the flash cars and all that jazz. However, you cant take the bog from the man and there is nothing these lads like better than snorting a bit of coke and battering some poor unfortunate. The celtic tiger never got to ballina so crime there is of a more traditional nature. The biggest problem in ballina is that all residents got their driving licenses in a lucky dip. Sound skins in ballina, even the gouriers. Castlebar more of a nasty shower. QED.

Baaallinyaaaaaaaaaaa is still a shithole though. All these battering you lads see in Casltebar, it must be the level of people you hang around with. Always thought trouble in Castlebar was a rare thing, but then again I might have a better class of friends and associates than some of you lads.
Post by: Aerlik on March 14, 2012, 10:01:55 AM
...and when you arrive here, brace yourself for this kind of crap...

http://www.perthnow.com.au/business/no-irish-outrage-at-aussie-job-ad/story-e6frg2qc-1226298435994

An interesting mixture of "comments" but the ones about the drunken, drug-taking, fighting gabshites acting the p***k in Northbridge are, sadly, too true.
Post by: muppet on March 16, 2012, 08:28:27 PM
http://online.wsj.com/article_email/SB10001424052702304459804577282401287187084-lMyQjAxMTAyMDEwNjExNDYyWj.html (http://online.wsj.com/article_email/SB10001424052702304459804577282401287187084-lMyQjAxMTAyMDEwNjExNDYyWj.html)

Post by: Aerlik on March 26, 2012, 06:33:00 PM
Not what I wanted to read, but Perth is not the worst. :-[

Still, the latest gem from our flagbearing youth...a lad who couldn't be bothered getting out of his chair and go to the toilet about 5m away, pulled out the auld boy and just decided to piss on the restaurant floor.  Enniscorthy gabshite.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 30, 2012, 04:40:28 AM
It's (we're) not all bad  ;D

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/opinion/post/-/blog/13290201/more-irish-more-luck-for-all/ (http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/opinion/post/-/blog/13290201/more-irish-more-luck-for-all/)
Post by: Aerlik on April 01, 2012, 08:51:29 AM
I agree, and from what I've been hearing, we are starting to take the initiative and tell the fcukwits to pull their heads in and stop shitting in the nest for the rest of us. ;)
Post by: HiMucker on April 03, 2012, 01:55:49 PM

Hold on a minute lad  :D  Sure you were back home the other week giving all the ex pats a bad name!  Ye cant hold your water, and had to carried home te mammy ;D.  Im delighted I stumbled upon this thread :)  "Different class" of people indeed, coming back to mother Ireland to disgrace yourself :-*
Post by: southdown on April 12, 2012, 12:41:30 PM
Not good reading

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-17688607
Post by: Aerlik on May 07, 2012, 05:35:29 PM
If anyone knows the ballix who thought it would be funny to take the busker's hat full of money, stick it on his head, drop and scatter the money, dance all over the middle of James street Northbridge, then take exception to the people listening who took exception to him resulting in him squaring up to a lad in the middle of the James and William street intersection with cars going around them, could you tell him to fcuk off back home as he is an affront to his family.  What a total ballix. >:(

What is it about the Irish coming out here these past two years?  FFS. Scunder ye!
Post by: randomtask on May 07, 2012, 05:47:46 PM
What i have noticed is a lot of scumbags who couldn't get near a job in Ireland, have packed there bags and went over now. In the past it would have been a lot of students with degrees who couldn't get work here immigrated. They would have had a bit of wit about them, where as these clowns are ruining Irish integrity abroad. ,
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 07, 2012, 05:55:24 PM
My brother and a mate headed to Perth about 3 months back, hes a good lad, working up North now for 4 weeks on 1 week off, seems to be in good form, will most likely be heading out myself in a few months when i finish my degree and get GAA out od my system over the summer. I suppose lads there are serious scum Irish out there but theres decent folk aswell, try not to filter all the good folk out there becuase of the scum. If i do head out i'll have to head to a few fremantle matches with ya Aerlik...support the local team..
Post by: Orchardman on May 07, 2012, 08:07:22 PM
Quote from: randomtask on May 07, 2012, 05:47:46 PM
What i have noticed is a lot of scumbags who couldn't get near a job in Ireland, have packed there bags and went over now. In the past it would have been a lot of students with degrees who couldn't get work here immigrated. They would have had a bit of wit about them, where as these clowns are ruining Irish integrity abroad. ,

I get what ur all saying lads, and it isn't good for the irish name. I did the standard year in oz around 5 years ago after my undergrad and managed a good mix of lapping up the banter in irish bars, playing gaa etc, as well as heading to normal darling harbour with my aussie workmates. The 'different class' idea is an interesting one, and i'd agree. As you say, lots of lads going now who might be the bums of their village. I wouldn't have a bad word to say bout most of the irish i met over there, loved it, and 95% were sound as, i'd imagine it's different now. Ireland has plenty of sound people and assholes, so naturally there will be plenty of both in oz.

As well as that, when travelling the east coast with 2 mates and staying in hostels, we always seemed to come accross english people who were travelling alone or as a couple, and we would great bant. I remember thinking at the time about the typical loutish english you would see in spain/ greek holidays, and know I was meeting lads who I suppose had a bit more wit about them. Funny, never bumped into any scots or welsh on my travels, but the english would have been found in irish bars regularly

BTW, perth was the only city i didn't get to when over there, it really must be jammed full of irish now?
Post by: Aerlik on May 08, 2012, 08:46:15 AM
Quote from: randomtask on May 07, 2012, 05:47:46 PM
these clowns are ruining Irish integrity abroad. ,

EXACTLY!!!  In Perth, the Irish are extremely well established and thought of.  However, the influx of a small percentage of vocal and visible tramps is not helping our image.  I make no bones about my opinions on this matter.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 07, 2012, 05:55:24 PM
My brother and a mate headed to Perth about 3 months back, hes a good lad, working up North now for 4 weeks on 1 week off, seems to be in good form, will most likely be heading out myself in a few months when i finish my degree and get GAA out od my system over the summer. I suppose lads there are serious scum Irish out there but theres decent folk aswell, try not to filter all the good folk out there becuase of the scum. If i do head out i'll have to head to a few fremantle matches with ya Aerlik...support the local team..

The vast majority are being penalised because of the f**king gabshites and shitettes.  So long as we are not playing Collingwood and you have no split allegiances, you are welcome to join us.  Be prepared for noise, though.  Lots of it.

Orchardman, as Sligonian said, the vast majority are fine, it is the w*nkers who are the concern.  There are problem English, Scots and other continental Europeans too, but at least they don't walk around slabbering off and getting into rows with the frequency of our countryfolk.
Post by: mannix on May 08, 2012, 06:31:16 PM
why are you all so worried about what other irish people do anywhere in the world? if a lad or lass wants to get drunk and vomit on the street why should it concern you? it might pay you better to mind your own business.
Post by: Puckoon on May 08, 2012, 06:48:25 PM
Quote from: mannix on May 08, 2012, 06:31:16 PM
why are you all so worried about what other irish people do anywhere in the world? if a lad or lass wants to get drunk and vomit on the street why should it concern you? it might pay you better to mind your own business.

Are you serious? A basic sense of community, and respect of the community into which you enter as an immigrant is at the bottom line. Not once has anyone mentioned turning the youngsters immigrating into nuns and priests - but it isn't too much to ask that they mind their manners here and there.
Post by: Niall Quinn on May 08, 2012, 11:16:25 PM
Don't get me started on those immigrant nuns.
Post by: mannix on May 09, 2012, 12:34:59 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 08, 2012, 06:48:25 PM

Are you serious? A basic sense of community, and respect of the community into which you enter as an immigrant is at the bottom line. Not once has anyone mentioned turning the youngsters immigrating into nuns and priests - but it isn't too much to ask that they mind their manners here and there.

so who are you to tell anyone to mind their manners? or does just because you are irish and so are they that you feel the instinct? i cannot see how you would like to tell any young irish to have manners, would you tell the young ones in clondalkin or moyross to behave themselves?
Post by: lfdown2 on May 09, 2012, 05:40:36 AM
Quote from: mannix on May 09, 2012, 12:34:59 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 08, 2012, 06:48:25 PM

so who are you to tell anyone to mind their manners? or does just because you are irish and so are they that you feel the instinct? i cannot see how you would like to tell any young irish to have manners, would you tell the young ones in clondalkin or moyross to behave themselves?

Can't speak for the lads but I would assume the reason being the damage they are doing to the reputation of the Irish abroad which in turn leads to instances like this;

http://joe.ie/news-politics/current-affairs/australian-embassy-blasts-racist-gumtree-advert-0022184-1 (http://joe.ie/news-politics/current-affairs/australian-embassy-blasts-racist-gumtree-advert-0022184-1)

The chances of an employer in Clondalkin or Moyross refusing a candidate due to them being Irish is minimal.

Also just as part of national pride I would have thought.
Post by: Declan on May 09, 2012, 07:55:43 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0509/1224315799876.html (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0509/1224315799876.html)

More evidence to back up Aerlik
Post by: AlriteHorse on May 09, 2012, 09:48:49 AM
Howdy Aerlik,
I see this story has made a few publications!! I'll be back in town this weekend so it'll be interesting to see if there's any kind of response. I seen a few comments saying that some people will see this as a "medal for their drunken antics". Unfortunately, i think this is true. a few comments were also made along the lines of immigration utilising the minimum cash rule for entry. I don't actually know for sure if such a thing exists but supposedly there is a threshold of the minimum cash you need to have in your account to gain entry to the country. Maybe this will weed out a fair few bad eggs. I'm aware that this will also result in others being harshly refused entry though a lot of people seemed to be leaving comments supporting this course of action.
Post by: thejuice on May 09, 2012, 01:44:52 PM
I think our towns, cities and society in general would be vastly improved if people did visibly and audibly pour scorn on those who get drunk and vomit all over the place.

Its one of the worst things about Irish society. Nothing wrong with drinking per se, but there is nothing heroic or redeeming about drinking to a stupor being an idiot. I'm not going to say I never did it myself either.
Post by: Puckoon on May 09, 2012, 01:46:44 PM
Obviously mannix there are a few concepts involved here which are appearing to be beyond your grasp.
Post by: Aerlik on May 09, 2012, 03:38:25 PM
Mannix, if your idea of fun is being a w**ker, puking and/or pissing all over the pavement at 4pm on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon in an area where there are families walking, fighting, robbing taxi drivers, stealing cars,importing and dealing in drugs, drink-driving and killing your passengers (yes it has happened all too frequently here in Perth in the last few years)...etc, then I pity you.  I've lived longer out of Ireland than in it but that doesn't make me any less of an Irishman (and yes Equitable Gobshite, I have Aussie Citizenship and an Aussie passport :o).  I am concerned that the work done to change the characature of the drunken, uncouth, ignoramus Irish which existed to only a few years ago and which was purveyed by subtle and not-so-subtle references in pro-Anglo media, is being destroyed by the actions of a small minority.
I want my son to grow up in this country knowing more about the historical and cultural importance of the Irish during the Dark Ages, of the importance of men like CY O'Connor and Jim Stynes, Seamas Heaney and Charles Parnell, than the galloots who are presently playing into the hands of the xenophobic/sectarian mass media in certain countries.
Post by: tyssam5 on May 09, 2012, 03:52:55 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on May 09, 2012, 03:38:25 PM
Mannix, if your idea of fun is being a w**ker, puking and/or pissing all over the pavement at 4pm on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon in an area where there are families walking, fighting, robbing taxi drivers, stealing cars,importing and dealing in drugs, drink-driving and killing your passengers (yes it has happened all too frequently here in Perth in the last few years)...etc, then I pity you.  I've lived longer out of Ireland than in it but that doesn't make me any less of an Irishman (and yes Equitable Gobshite, I have Aussie Citizenship and an Aussie passport :o).  I am concerned that the work done to change the characature of the drunken, uncouth, ignoramus Irish which existed to only a few years ago and which was purveyed by subtle and not-so-subtle references in pro-Anglo media, is being destroyed by the actions of a small minority.
I want my son to grow up in this country knowing more about the historical and cultural importance of the Irish during the Dark Ages, of the importance of men like CY O'Connor and Jim Stynes, Seamas Heaney and Charles Parnell, than the galloots who are presently playing into the hands of the xenophobic/sectarian mass media in certain countries.

Wait 'families are fighting, robbing taxi drivers, stealing cars, importing and dealing in drugs'! Is it any wonder the poor young Irish lads are going astray with the natives up to things like that!
Post by: Aerlik on May 09, 2012, 04:06:06 PM
Trust a bushman! ;)
Post by: mannix on May 09, 2012, 05:28:03 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 09, 2012, 01:46:44 PM
Obviously mannix there are a few concepts involved here which are appearing to be beyond your grasp.
the only thing beyond my grasp is why do you think you have the right to tell someone what to do.
I live in nyc, why would i assume the right to tell any irish lad or lass to please not vomit or piss on the streets of new york? would i tell anyone on the streets of dublin that they cant piss on the street? no, and lust because i live abroad i will not assume to tell them and neither should you. would you tell a mexican or an african american what to do in arizona or wherever you live?
Post by: mannix on May 09, 2012, 05:33:33 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on May 09, 2012, 03:38:25 PM
thanks aerlik but you can keep your pity. I do not agree with antisocial behaviour, my gripe is with other irish moralists like yourself trying to tell others what to do. If you were back in ireland would you tell a young fella vomitting on the street to behave himself? or a girl pissing in a laneway to behave herself? no? you should just mind your own business and you will have nothing to worry about.
Post by: Puckoon on May 09, 2012, 08:01:02 PM
A few points Mannix,

Comparing NYC and Perth is a redundant comparison on the sheer basis of the size. Let's however say the percentages of seriously fucked up behaviour by new Irish, which was affecting the average New Yorker in a negative way, was to be the same. You would no doubt have heard of it at the very least - and there'd be a concerted effort at curtailing it by those who had worked long and hard to establish themselves in a NYC community.

If you saw some young men or women harrassing someone on a bus - regardless of their ethnicity would you think to help? Intervene? Appealing for an improvement in the behaviour of immigrants is no different than this.

I don't know why you continue to ask me what my response to other nationalities and ethnicities would be. Anyone willfully being disruptive in my quiet community or neighbourhood would have my displeasure, and complaints within the law to deal with.  If they were Irish I'd like to think they might share some of the values and I'd like to think the fact that I've lived here in good standing for 10 years hassle free might contribute to some younger hoodlums "pulling the horns in" - if their behaviour was highlighted to them. We aren't talking about the odd bit of drunken tom-foolery here. There is destruction, theivery etc going on.

It's a free world - you can't "make" someone behave. You can sure has hell suggest to them however that their behaviour is seriously out of line - and making life difficult for other immigrants. This is not a novel concept, and I can't understand your umbrage against highlighting it and how it doesn't pale in comparison with the actual issue at hand. Community groups do the very same thing in some of the more urban areas of the north.  If they can't respect that then I'd hope indeed the law would make it very difficult for them to remain and progress.

When I was brought here a burden of responsibility was placed on me by my sponsor to never put them in a bad light through my behaviour, or actions. That is something I have tried to live up to.

Your philosophy would mean that one could never express their displeasure at someones behaviour. Telling someone at a concert to finally shut up if they kept heckling, asking someone at the movies to turn off their phone after an hour of beeping and ringing? Catch yourself on. It's nothing to do with being an "Irish Moralist". It's trying to make your own community a better place.

EDIT: Actually the more I think about it the more I think you're full of it! Let's say you have a 4 or 5 year old at a game in Croker and some gobshite is dropping the F-bomb and the C-bomb all over the place, you wouldn't voice your displeasure? Or you'd think less of someone who told them to catch themselves on and watch the language?
Post by: Aerlik on July 03, 2012, 08:52:06 AM
Great to see the wee shits getting their comeuppance.  And even better that it's coming from one of their own. 

The trash are still up to no-good in Perth too, especially at the weekend. 

http://www.irishecho.com.au/2012/06/28/queensland-hostel-closes-doors-on-irish-backpackers/19403
Post by: Atticus_Finch on July 05, 2012, 07:34:00 PM
Irish Hostel bans Irish ...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-18646082
Post by: Captain Black on August 06, 2012, 06:20:32 PM
video of irishman kicking aussie politican during interview. wat the fcuk sort of boys are heading out there?

http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-man-arrested-after-kicking-australian-politician-while-he-was-being-filmed-548071-Aug2012/?utm_source=shortlink
Post by: The Iceman on August 06, 2012, 09:20:48 PM
Thats a pure disgrace. If I was a local I would be having words with those boys.
Post by: thejuice on August 06, 2012, 09:44:39 PM
What a bunch of idiots. Can these guys have their nationality revoked.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 06, 2012, 09:53:40 PM
My brother been out there 6 months now and has settled well, hasnt seen any trouble in perth, should be out there within a month myself. Its all about the head, ive avoided trouble all my life, you can see when its brewing, i dont drink that often and despise the part of irish culture that defines a real man as a drinking man who can drink loads. Some louts gone to oz allrite but not all are bad..
Post by: CiKe on August 06, 2012, 10:25:33 PM
That must have been middle of the day as well and yer man was jarred. Either that or just a full scale gobshite. I'd like to see him go 4 rounds wit Katie Taylor!
Post by: Minder on August 06, 2012, 10:37:38 PM
I read that he was from Tyrone, which was disappointing.
Post by: Premier Emperor on August 06, 2012, 10:51:27 PM
A lot of these lads who are behaving like savages in Australia are the duds who "worked" on building sites during the boom.

Turning up for work half cut, getting the 10 o'clock breakfast roll and lucozade cure...knowing full well they could do a completely half arsed job and still get paid a fortune.
They've gone to Australia with the  same sense of entitlement and lazy attitude towards work.
Post by: The Iceman on August 06, 2012, 11:10:41 PM
Assholes in Ireland, celebrity assholes in Australia......
Post by: Christmas Lights on August 07, 2012, 03:46:38 PM
Reading through this thread, Aerlik, you really hate the Irish dont you  :-[
Post by: Aerlik on August 14, 2012, 06:00:25 AM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on August 07, 2012, 03:46:38 PM
Reading through this thread, Aerlik, you really hate the Irish dont you  :-[

baaaahaaahaaaa,... ya serious?

Don't hate my countryfolk, but dislike the small minority of trash that have sullied our reputation through their stupidity... and that video is a prime example of the kind of bollixes that are landing on Australia's shores daily and wrecking everything the rest of us have achieved.
Post by: maggie on September 28, 2012, 08:55:17 AM
Truly awful story about Jill Meagher.  A man has been charged with her rape and murder.

RIP Jill.
Post by: Cold tea on September 28, 2012, 11:33:17 AM
Quote from: maggie on September 28, 2012, 08:55:17 AM
Truly awful story about Jill Meagher.  A man has been charged with her rape and murder.

RIP Jill.

+1 - terrible, terrible, terrible news, hope they hang the bastard.
Post by: sheamy on September 28, 2012, 11:53:01 AM
It's beyond words...I find the cctv footage spine chilling too. So 'normal' in that we've all been there or seen people coming out of the pub, or met the random lunatic on the street.

Bottom line, don't ever let a female friend walk home alone at night, and girls, don't do so yourselves. Just horrific.

Her husband has shown amazing dignity. I don't know how he does it.

I don't want to post what should be done with that b*stard (if it was him) cause the mods would have to delete it.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 28, 2012, 01:51:57 PM
There seems to have been a lot of Irish deaths and murders in Australia over the past few years.  Another tragic case.   Has anyone got any figures of the number of Irish who have died?

RIP
Post by: ludermor on October 01, 2012, 09:00:18 PM
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/more-than-30000-victorians-march-to-honour-jill-meagher-and-vow-never-to-forget/story-e6frf7kx-1226484726240
Post by: orangeman on December 04, 2012, 09:41:10 AM
Is Australia about to grind to a halt ?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1204/australia-lowers-key-interest-rate-to-3-business.html
Post by: HeaveHo on December 05, 2012, 12:16:45 AM
Quote from: orangeman on December 04, 2012, 09:41:10 AM
Is Australia about to grind to a halt ?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1204/australia-lowers-key-interest-rate-to-3-business.html

Compared to?

Things are slowing here but we are not beset by the structural problems in Europe and the US. Our public debt as a fraction of GDP is relatively small and we have a fully funded pension and superannuation system. We are heavily reliant on the Asia now in trading terms and a recession in China would punch a hole in our finances. Still plenty of jobs for skillled tradies and professionals in certain industries/professions.
Post by: CitySlicker11 on December 05, 2012, 06:06:45 PM
http://www.destinationnewry.com/news/Shock_on_death_of_Leitrim_man_Ryan_Doyle_in_Australia

Another very sad story from Australia.
Post by: Aerlik on February 12, 2013, 01:04:27 PM
And STILL some f**king galloots don't get it....

http://www.irishecho.com.au/2013/02/12/wexford-man-remains-critical-after-perth-stabbing/23308

This is quite close to where I live.  Too close to be honest.  And on a lesser note...

http://www.irishecho.com.au/2013/02/12/irishman-fined-for-assault-on-perth-cabbie/23323

I don't give two flying fcuks if they are someone's mate or whatever and that I shouldn't be putting this up (as someone PM'd me and wrote), there are some right scumbags (male and female) coming over here and being total arseholes.
Post by: muppet on February 12, 2013, 04:32:01 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on February 12, 2013, 01:04:27 PM

http://www.irishecho.com.au/2013/02/12/wexford-man-remains-critical-after-perth-stabbing/23308

This is quite close to where I live.  Too close to be honest.  And on a lesser note...

http://www.irishecho.com.au/2013/02/12/irishman-fined-for-assault-on-perth-cabbie/23323

I don't give two flying fcuks if they are someone's mate or whatever and that I shouldn't be putting this up (as someone PM'd me and wrote), there are some right scumbags (male and female) coming over here and being total arseholes.

Why don't they just deport these wasters?
Post by: anglocelt39 on February 12, 2013, 07:43:50 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 12, 2013, 04:32:01 PM

Deportation from Oz to Ireland? The wheel coming full circle indeed.
Post by: ballinaman on February 13, 2013, 03:10:17 PM
Perth Fight

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=qdECya67DP4

:( >:(
Post by: Puckoon on February 13, 2013, 03:52:54 PM
Some embarrassment.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 13, 2013, 03:55:33 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 13, 2013, 03:52:54 PM
Some embarrassment.

Dead right. I didn't see one decent punch thrown.
Post by: ziggysego on February 13, 2013, 03:56:36 PM
Their parents should be shown this and then have them dragged home.  >:(
Post by: tommysmith on February 13, 2013, 04:29:09 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 13, 2013, 03:56:36 PM
Their parents should be shown this and then have them dragged home.  >:(

I'd prefer if they stayed over there.
Post by: muppet on February 13, 2013, 06:11:18 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on February 12, 2013, 07:43:50 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 12, 2013, 04:32:01 PM

Deportation from Oz to Ireland? The wheel coming full circle indeed.

I never said I wanted them back here.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 13, 2013, 07:01:42 PM

$1000 fine for battering a cabbie is pretty weak sentencing.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2013, 07:48:02 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 13, 2013, 03:10:17 PM
Perth Fight

Fight?! Pathetic. You can't fight in flip-flops.
Post by: Minder on February 13, 2013, 07:51:30 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2013, 07:48:02 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 13, 2013, 03:10:17 PM
Perth Fight

Fight?! Pathetic. You can't fight in flip-flops.

They fight like old people f**k.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 13, 2013, 09:36:49 PM
When I was young and had no sense I went to Mallorca for a fortnight. Went to Magalluf with a couple of lads. Place was full of English, Scottish, all full drunk and partying to 5am and you'd think it was a recipe for fighting. I don't think I ever saw anything out of control on the street or even in the clubs.  The place was crawling with cops and the holiday reps made it very clear that if you step out of line you're in big trouble. Stay on the footpath, no drinking on the street, no indecent exposure (tits out on the beach or by the pool was OK), no roaring or singing outside after dark.  With so many cops visible, even if they were doing nothing, the sight of them alone was a subtle reminder that people need to behave. Hotels were full of security staff patrolling the corridors too. Seemed to work.

There was one night when me and a mate ended up in a hotel room with a pair of girls, and one of them was so hyper I don't know what she was on.  She thought it'd be fun to open up the hotel room door and throw a bottle out so it landed right in front of a security guard that was walking along. He burst in through the door and pushed her down on to the bed, pulled out a leather strap and bate the crap out of her, whacked her in the leg about six times while roaring at her in Spanish. All of us froze, she started crying and he hit her again.  Next thing she gets up and runs out, the security boy takes after her and gets onto the radio for backup.  Me and my mate made a discreet exit, I dunno what became of the girl.  I'd be surprised if she wasn't arrested. 

There was one other story of some girls that thought it'd be fun to break into somebody else's hotel room, they were caught in the act and kicked out of the hotel.  No other hotel in town would put them up and they had to get on the next plane home.  Proper order.

What struck me about that Perth "fight" video was how long it took a cop to show up.  If you carried on like that in Times Square there'd be cops on top of you in seconds and it wouldn't have a chance to escalate.  It was the same in Manchester, people on the street always behaved themselves because the cop presence was so visible.  Police Transit vans everywhere as long as there were drunken people on the street.  A long way from Lurgan where you never see a cop outside after dark and the street turns into the wild west after midnight.
Post by: Aerlik on February 14, 2013, 12:21:26 PM
Fair point EammonCa1 re. where the police were.  The "cafĂ©" where this took place in front on, is in on one of the two busiest streets (usually) in Northbridge.  Judging by the lack of pedestrians, lack of traffic and lack of cops it would appear to me that it happened about 3am.    Just around the corner from this place are some total dives so there is every chance the cops were dealing with drug-fcuked scum there.  Northbridge is full of cops on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights and the joint across the road always has bingles happening.

There are numerous cameras trained on that place/street too, so my only suggestion is that there were other issues.

No matter what the reason, the tramps are destroying our name (and I use that word deliberately cos it IS affecting those of us who have lived here for years and get to hear of this behaviour from other nationalities).

Yep, the cliché of the "fightin' Irish" to the fore...just add alcohol.
Post by: Canalman on February 14, 2013, 02:16:58 PM
A fair  time ago since I was in Australia but even then there were plenty of Irish glassing people, fighting in bars/ fighting bouncers, drunk in public etc etc. There were some right Irish lowlifes there even then and I presume it is the sheer volume of numbers now  that is causing the lace curtin Irish some embarassment with their  suburban neighbours.

The Aussies themselves liked the "blue" (as they call it)  as well so I wouldn't be beating myself up  (pun intended) too much about it.

Even when I was there the older Irish were whinging that the younger Irish were lazy, slackers etc.

Post by: Canalman on February 14, 2013, 02:26:42 PM
Forgot to add that I found the Aussies very sound . A big no no for them ( and rightly so) was lads coming into work hungover or even worse the taking of "sickies" on the monday morning.

Would be more worried about some of the workshy slackers gone down under recently and the longterm damage done to the Irish reputation  as good workers/ employees.  Once lost it will never come back.

When I was there  the Irish girls/ women were really good workers and were nearly always getting sponsored to stay.
Post by: Aerlik on February 21, 2013, 12:58:20 PM
Regretfully, the young Irish man passed away a few days ago.  Police are looking to upgrade the charges for the other person to murder. 
Post by: thejuice on March 06, 2013, 10:22:27 PM
Been on the road for the last few months. Arriving to Sydney tomorrow and we need a place to stay for 3 nights. Myself and the fiancee. Any cheap and handy places anyone could recommend. Have a tent so camping is an option for us.
Post by: thejuice on March 07, 2013, 03:17:13 AM
Any help on this. Getting real tight on time and nearly everything we can afford is booked out. Even a couch/floor/bit of lawn for a night would do. Happy to give a few $$ in return.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 07, 2013, 04:41:55 AM
did you try couchsurfing?
Post by: thejuice on March 07, 2013, 06:42:20 PM
Yeah no luck so far. Was supposed to stay with relatives but they suddenly changed their minds so we are heading for the airport now hoping to find something in the city on foot.
Post by: trileacman on March 07, 2013, 06:45:32 PM
Quote from: thejuice on March 07, 2013, 06:42:20 PM
Yeah no luck so far. Was supposed to stay with relatives but they suddenly changed their minds so we are heading for the airport now hoping to find something in the city on foot.

Bound to be a hostel somewhere that will put you up?
Post by: JimStynes on March 07, 2013, 06:48:07 PM
The biggest city in Australia doesnt have any accommodation?  ???
Post by: thejuice on March 07, 2013, 06:57:18 PM
Plenty of accommodation we can't afford. Not to worry. Well get our heads down somewhere.
Post by: ballinaman on March 07, 2013, 08:04:28 PM
790 george street hostel is central,  clean and cheap.
Post by: thejuice on March 07, 2013, 11:02:51 PM
And probably full like everywhere else. Not to worry we got it sorted with an old friend who I haven't seen in years. Thanks for the suggestions.