GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: zoyler on December 04, 2011, 12:25:49 PM

Title: Crpssmaglen & Mickey Harte
Post by: zoyler on December 04, 2011, 12:25:49 PM
Can't get The Irish News in my part of the cpountry but here therewas ne're a mention of  the 9th title win in his coloum on Friday - had he not heard?  Maybe somebody should tell him!
Title: Re: Crpssmaglen & Mickey Harte
Post by: BennyHarp on December 04, 2011, 01:34:27 PM
Quote from: zoyler on December 04, 2011, 12:25:49 PM
Can't get The Irish News in my part of the cpountry but here therewas ne're a mention of  the 9th title win in his coloum on Friday - had he not heard?  Maybe somebody should tell him!

Should this not have been posted here? http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9893.0
Post by: trileacman on December 04, 2011, 02:08:16 PM

Take your head out of your hole and someone might give you a Irish News.
Post by: Armamike on December 04, 2011, 09:05:01 PM
Noticed that myself - though Mickey should have acknowledged it.
Post by: Agent Orange on December 04, 2011, 09:14:21 PM
Quote from: Armamike on December 04, 2011, 09:05:01 PM
Noticed that myself - though Mickey should have acknowledged it.

Why? They were expected to win, they won easily. No big deal.
Post by: armaghniac on December 05, 2011, 05:51:57 AM
Tony Mac probably rang Mickey and told him not to be giving them big heads, they've won nothing yet!
Post by: bennydorano on December 05, 2011, 08:16:33 AM
The fact he took Burren for a few sessions may have effected his thinking?
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 05, 2011, 04:02:18 PM
I don't see the problem? While Cross continue to dominate the Armagh,Ulster championships it's a non-story in the local media though once they lose it will be headline stuff.
Post by: LeoMc on December 05, 2011, 05:10:15 PM
Maybe he should just re-print all the results from Mondays Irish news that way he wont offend anyone!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 05, 2011, 05:38:21 PM
I must say I was surprised and upset with Mickey Harte. Surely he accepts that if it wasn't for us winning in 97 99 and 00 then Armagh would not have won in 2002 which consequently opened the door for Tyrone to win in 2003. It is actually very remiss of him not to ackowledge our greatness and its direct effect on the fortunes of Tyrone.  Shame on him, shame.
Post by: EC Unique on December 05, 2011, 05:41:53 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 05, 2011, 05:38:21 PM
I must say I was surprised and upset with Mickey Harte. Surely he accepts that if it wasn't for us winning in 97 99 and 00 then Armagh would not have won in 2002 which consequently opened the door for Tyrone to win in 2003. It is actually very remiss of him not to ackowledge our greatness and its direct effect on the fortunes of Tyrone.  Shame on him, shame.

:D :D

::) ::)   Nothing to see here folks, move along.
Post by: tyssam5 on December 05, 2011, 07:21:39 PM

You didn't see something mentioned in something you didn't see, a conundrum there alright.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on December 05, 2011, 10:02:39 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on December 05, 2011, 07:21:39 PM

You didn't see something mentioned in something you didn't see, a conundrum there alright.

Post by: ONeill on December 06, 2011, 07:31:50 AM
Is it possible you could list the things Mickey has to write about this week?

I'll be very disappointed if he doesn't address:
- Clarkson
- Mars mission
- McMenamin's stag weekend
- The top 50 movies on the non-gaa section
Post by: HiMucker on December 06, 2011, 10:26:11 AM
O'Neill, dont forget about the discovery of Kepler B which is in the habital zone.   Soon enough boys like zoyler, if they dont like it here on earth can get a virgin rocket to kepler B.  Its only 600 light years away. :)
Post by: LeoMc on December 06, 2011, 10:32:37 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 06, 2011, 10:26:11 AM
O'Neill, dont forget about the discovery of Kepler B which is in the habital zone.   Soon enough boys like zoyler, if they dont like it here on earth can get a virgin rocket to kepler B.  Its only 600 light years away. :)

So if we could travel at the speed of light we would get there in 600 years. Imagine what the inhabitants of the shuttle would be like after 600 years of inbreeding...

Is Derry part of a NASA trial? :)
Post by: HiMucker on December 06, 2011, 10:50:12 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on December 06, 2011, 10:32:37 AM

So if we could travel at the speed of light we would get there in 600 years. Imagine what the inhabitants of the shuttle would be like after 600 years of inbreeding...

Im from the maiden city so unless your talking about inbreeding greyhounds I dont know what your on about :D  I cant vouch for them hallions out in in the sticks  :D
Post by: zoyler on December 06, 2011, 12:15:29 PM
I just found it strange that a leading GAA figure and columnist should ignore the most important thing to have happened in Ulster GAA that week.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on December 06, 2011, 12:20:19 PM

Sure it's possible to travel faster than the speed of light.  So you could knock a few years off that.
Post by: LeoMc on December 06, 2011, 12:24:28 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on December 06, 2011, 12:20:19 PM

Sure it's possible to travel faster than the speed of light.  So you could knock a few years off that.

I thought only Larry Reilly could do that?
Post by: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 01:29:08 PM

A massive discovery. Not getting enough media attention this.
Post by: screenexile on December 06, 2011, 01:42:24 PM
I would imagine Mickeys column will mention at least 1 or all of the following this week:

1. Southern Meeja not being fair on his team
2. Stop tinkering with the rules
3. Introduce a World Cup of GAA
4. Abolish the bad International Rules
5. Some Tyrone club running a charitable event
6. Tyrone are a fit team they just didn't look it against Dublin
7. Winter training ban bad
Post by: BennyHarp on December 06, 2011, 01:59:22 PM
It just shows the inferiority complex that the Armagh lads still have with Tyrone. Even Crossmaglen need a pat on the back and a well done from Mickey.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2011, 02:26:25 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 06, 2011, 01:42:24 PM
I would imagine Mickeys column will mention at least 1 or all of the following this week:

1. Southern Meeja not being fair on his team
2. Stop tinkering with the rules
3. Introduce a World Cup of GAA
4. Abolish the bad International Rules
5. Some Tyrone club running a charitable event
6. Tyrone are a fit team they just didn't look it against Dublin
7. Winter training ban bad
It's usually insightful stuff and money well spent...
Post by: ONeill on December 06, 2011, 03:08:50 PM
Quote from: zoyler on December 06, 2011, 12:15:29 PM
I just found it strange that a leading GAA figure and columnist should ignore the most important thing to have happened in Ulster GAA that week.

You must've missed it. There was a wee bit at the bottom about Derrytresk.
Post by: Applesisapples on December 06, 2011, 03:35:32 PM
Harte is employed to right an opinion piece not report on the Ulster Championship. To my mind he only ever deviates to congratulate Tyrone teams and is therefore consistent. In my opinion his pieces are never that interesting anyway, but that's a different matter. What could he have said about Cross that Benny hasn't. I don't think anyone needs Mickey to tell them what a great team Cross are.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 06, 2011, 06:21:06 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on December 06, 2011, 01:59:22 PM
It just shows the inferiority complex that the Armagh lads still have with Tyrone. Even Crossmaglen need a pat on the back and a well done from Mickey.

Point of order, zoylers bot a Cross man. Inferiority complex in Cross? :D
Post by: ONeill on December 06, 2011, 11:28:14 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 06, 2011, 06:21:06 PM

They never could get the better of God's Errigal.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on December 06, 2011, 11:33:04 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 06, 2011, 11:28:14 PM

Yet their achivements are small.
Post by: ONeill on December 06, 2011, 11:46:47 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on December 06, 2011, 11:33:04 PM

Yet their achivements are small.

Yes.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2011, 12:01:54 AM

Doesn't keep me at night. God would dearly love one of what I have.
Post by: ONeill on December 07, 2011, 12:11:32 AM
I'd say he would.

Fact is - after 3 games, Cross had no way of beating wee Pete.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2011, 09:04:29 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 07, 2011, 12:11:32 AM
I'd say he would.

Wrong, we beat them in a 4th game in the Kildress Gold Watch tournamenmt by 6 points I think, far more important than what they won :D
Post by: PAULD123 on December 08, 2011, 10:07:06 AM
I can't believe some of the comments here. Despite wanting Burren to win the match, I have no problem in saying that Crossmaglen's achievement is remarkable. They deserve generous plaudits for what they have achieved. Cross is a rural club without access to large "town/city" populations. This isn't just one cross team that has happened to appear and win several titles. It isn't just the energence of a single group of talanted players all at once by fluke. The success is spread over 15 years and several teams which have conquered and then been re-built. To achieve that is magnificent.

Any denegration of their success is nothing but childish and churlish commentary.

It was the marquee game in Ulster that week and a singularly inspiring outcome with Cross maintaining a 100% record from nine finals. All Ulster GAA columnists should have mentioned it in the wake of the final.

And so Micky Harte should have written about it too.
Post by: Applesisapples on December 08, 2011, 12:22:51 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on December 08, 2011, 10:07:06 AM
I can't believe some of the comments here. Despite wanting Burren to win the match, I have no problem in saying that Crossmaglen's achievement is remarkable. They deserve generous plaudits for what they have achieved. Cross is a rural club without access to large "town/city" populations. This isn't just one cross team that has happened to appear and win several titles. It isn't just the energence of a single group of talanted players all at once by fluke. The success is spread over 15 years and several teams which have conquered and then been re-built. To achieve that is magnificent.

Any denegration of their success is nothing but childish and churlish commentary.

It was the marquee game in Ulster that week and a singularly inspiring outcome with Cross maintaining a 100% record from nine finals. All Ulster GAA columnists should have mentioned it in the wake of the final.

I don't disagree with anything you say. My only comment is that Harte is consistent in only lauding Tyrone teams. I don't know why.
Post by: Hashtag on December 08, 2011, 12:29:56 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on December 08, 2011, 12:22:51 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on December 08, 2011, 10:07:06 AM

I don't disagree with anything you say. My only comment is that Harte is consistent in only lauding Tyrone teams. I don't know why.

It's because he is from Tyrone and loves Tyrone teams. Glad I could clear that up for you. Merry Christmas.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on December 09, 2011, 09:26:58 PM
All he ever does is moan.

Examples:

International Rules shouldnt be played...
The whole Carthy thing...
Harte hits out at fixture lists....
Not happy with rule changes...

I think he is a very good manager but he repeats the same shite every year.
Post by: under the bar on December 11, 2011, 07:41:28 PM
QuoteI must say I was surprised and upset with Mickey Harte. Surely he accepts that if it wasn't for us winning in 97 99 and 00 then Armagh would not have won in 2002 which consequently opened the door for Tyrone to win in 2003. It is actually very remiss of him not to ackowledge our greatness and its direct effect on the fortunes of Tyrone.  Shame on him, shame.

Yes indeed. He should have acknowledged that Tyrone's greatness followed on from Armagh's mediocrity. 
Post by: armaghniac on December 12, 2011, 10:59:54 AM
QuoteYes indeed. He should have acknowledged that Tyrone's greatness followed on from Armagh's mediocrity.

This post is a good candidate for lamest response of the year. Which is brilliant in its own way, I suppose.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on December 12, 2011, 11:34:07 AM
Taken from RTE

Crossmaglen Rangers have released a statement in the wake of the death of three-time All-Ireland club winner James Hughes.

The statement said the club was "shocked and saddened" by the death of the 35-year-old, who was killed in a shotgun attack in Louth in the early hours of Sunday morning.

Crossmaglen is one of the country's most successful club football teams. Mr Hughes was a three-time club All-Ireland winning player with the South Armagh club.

The statement added: "James was a valued and committed member of our club, part of our successful senior team panel for over 10 years, he won three All-Ireland Club medals and more recently captained our seconds team to League success in 2010."

Crossmaglen Rangers statement:

"The Committee, players and members of Crossmaglen Rangers GFC are shocked and saddened by the untimely death of our friend and colleague James and along with the entire local community are devastated at this tragic event.

"James was a valued and committed member of our club, part of our successful senior team panel for over 10 years, he won three All-Ireland Club medals and more recently captained our seconds team to League success in 2010. He will be sadly missed by all of his friends and colleagues within the club.

"We extend our deepest and heartfelt sympathy to his family and friends. Our thoughts and prayers are with them at this very difficult time.

"Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam."
Post by: illdecide on December 12, 2011, 12:08:25 PM
RIP James Hughes

Didn't know the lad personally but played against him a few times, very tragic and sad especially at this time of the year.
Post by: theticklemister on December 12, 2011, 04:45:47 PM
RIP jamies

On the mickey harte thing, screenexile knocked it clean in the head about the range of subjects he talks about; this leads to his column being very tedious and every Friday I ignore his piece. Seamus Heaney's piece is far more interesting; takes a Derry man ye see!!!!!!!!!!!

We can all look forward to a 2 month build up to the Derrytresk v Dromaird Pearses game!!! Ye ha!!!
Post by: seafoid on December 12, 2011, 05:25:10 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on December 12, 2011, 11:34:07 AM
Taken from RTE

Crossmaglen Rangers have released a statement in the wake of the death of three-time All-Ireland club winner James Hughes.

The statement said the club was "shocked and saddened" by the death of the 35-year-old, who was killed in a shotgun attack in Louth in the early hours of Sunday morning.

Crossmaglen is one of the country's most successful club football teams. Mr Hughes was a three-time club All-Ireland winning player with the South Armagh club.

The statement added: "James was a valued and committed member of our club, part of our successful senior team panel for over 10 years, he won three All-Ireland Club medals and more recently captained our seconds team to League success in 2010."

Crossmaglen Rangers statement:

"The Committee, players and members of Crossmaglen Rangers GFC are shocked and saddened by the untimely death of our friend and colleague James and along with the entire local community are devastated at this tragic event.

"James was a valued and committed member of our club, part of our successful senior team panel for over 10 years, he won three All-Ireland Club medals and more recently captained our seconds team to League success in 2010. He will be sadly missed by all of his friends and colleagues within the club.

"We extend our deepest and heartfelt sympathy to his family and friends. Our thoughts and prayers are with them at this very difficult time.

"Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam."

Ceol na n-aingil go gcloisfidh se

Absolutely brutal . I can't believe this sort of thing can happen, apparently over a woman.  3 lives destroyed.
Post by: new devil on December 12, 2011, 08:47:37 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2011, 09:04:29 AM
I'd say he would.

Wrong, we beat them in a 4th game in the Kildress Gold Watch tournamenmt by 6 points I think, far more important than what they won :D

Was this on a Saturday evening in 97 BCB? think i was doing the score board for that game
Post by: Minder on December 12, 2011, 09:14:36 PM
Quote from: new devil on December 12, 2011, 08:47:37 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2011, 09:04:29 AM
I'd say he would.

Was this on a Saturday evening in 97 BCB? think i was doing the score board for that game

I would say the socks and shoes were off that day  ;D
Post by: new devil on December 12, 2011, 09:31:15 PM
huh?
Post by: 5 Sams on December 12, 2011, 11:41:13 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on December 09, 2011, 09:26:58 PM
All he ever does is moan.

Examples:

International Rules shouldnt be played...
The whole Carthy thing...
Harte hits out at fixture lists....
Not happy with rule changes...

I think he is a very good manager but he repeats the same shite every year.

I have serious respect for the man and his achievements...after Micko probably the best ever manager...but his Friday column is hard work.... >:( >:(