Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 28, 2011, 05:05:33 PM

Title: My good news - infact the best news ever.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 28, 2011, 05:05:33 PM
I am now the proud father of a healthy baby boy  :)
Its the greatest feeling in the world!  ;D
I now have an even greater respect for womenkind.

Poor wee man has Donegal on one side, Down on the other and living in Antrim - terrible start to life!  ;) :)
Title: Re: My good news - infact the best news ever.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 28, 2011, 05:12:38 PM
Congrats. The happiest part of your life is ahead of you.
Post by: Bingo on November 28, 2011, 05:14:03 PM
Congrats. Great times ahead.  :)
Post by: Nally Stand on November 28, 2011, 05:14:14 PM
Comhghairdeas libh
Post by: ziggysego on November 28, 2011, 05:15:19 PM
Congratulations Mr & Mrs GDA. Move to Tyrone to ensure your baby's success ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on November 28, 2011, 05:15:35 PM
Great Stuff GDA. Congrats to ye both. Great times ahead.
Post by: Puckoon on November 28, 2011, 05:16:13 PM
Congratulations. Start of the best part of your life.
Post by: seafoid on November 28, 2011, 05:19:15 PM
Comhghairdeachas . Ni fada go mbeidh "cad e mar ata tu" a ra aige. 
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 28, 2011, 05:19:21 PM
Congrats GDA to you and the missus. Delighted for you both.
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 28, 2011, 05:22:22 PM
Congratulations. If you are like me your outlook on everything in life is about to change, for the better I think.
Post by: deiseach on November 28, 2011, 05:22:32 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 28, 2011, 05:05:33 PM

The best news ever is right. Congrats
Post by: Up The Middle on November 28, 2011, 05:24:22 PM
Ah some feeling isnt it. Enjoy the sleepless nights, its well worth it
Post by: ardal on November 28, 2011, 05:30:51 PM
They grow up so quick; after a year or so my son was calling his neenee (granny) a dorty dub.

Congratulations.

PS Kitchen towel up the nose helps to change he nappies after a few months. Women deal with this easier but it always helps to show willingness
Post by: Celt_Man on November 28, 2011, 06:01:07 PM
Congrats boss - great news
Post by: Forever Green on November 28, 2011, 06:02:45 PM
Congrats. Wonderful news
Post by: laoislad on November 28, 2011, 06:07:40 PM
Congrats GDA, only two weeks left ourselves until the big day.
Congrats again.
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 28, 2011, 06:17:44 PM
Congrats - Great news - only gets better as well...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 28, 2011, 06:37:38 PM
Comhghairdeas, a chara. Ádh mór oraibh beirt!
Post by: ONeill on November 28, 2011, 06:41:00 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 28, 2011, 05:05:33 PM
Its the greatest feeling in the world!  ;D
I now have an even greater respect for womenkind.

Poor wee man has Donegal on one side, Down on the other and living in Antrim - terrible start to life!  ;) :)

Congratulations. It's a fantastic feeling, especially in those first few days. Then reality sets in as the first 12-15 months are a horrendous nightmare. Sort of picks up after that.
Post by: Gold on November 28, 2011, 06:57:55 PM
Another Saffron enters the world! Well done!
Post by: The Iceman on November 28, 2011, 07:09:25 PM
Good work, congrats lad. Treasure and protect your son GDA, what a blessing they are! Well done!
Post by: 5 Sams on November 28, 2011, 07:26:47 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 28, 2011, 05:19:15 PM
Comhghairdeachas . Ni fada go mbeidh "cad e mar ata tu" a ra aige.

A fhad is nach mbeidh blas "Frankie" aige... ;) ;)

Maith sibh agus Comhghairdeas...slainte go deo aige.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 28, 2011, 07:31:34 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=12245.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=12245.0)

Rules is rules...
Post by: muppet on November 28, 2011, 07:33:16 PM
Congrats GDA.

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed mine even at a very young age.

Also after such an event, some of us (not all) get a wake up call to what if took our parents to get us to where we are.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 28, 2011, 07:35:11 PM
Congrats. The trick is to camp out in the spare room for the first 6 months and let the mothers natural instincts take over;)
Post by: AQMP on November 28, 2011, 07:59:28 PM
Congrats GDA.  Great news.

I know what you mean about the Donegal/Down thing but at least the ba' was born in Antrim!!
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 28, 2011, 08:00:15 PM
Congrats. Enjoy every moment with him because they grow up so quickly. Seems like yesterday when mine were born and they're now 18 and 16. Hope they gave you the traditional tea and toast in the delivery suite after GDA Junior was born.
Post by: Groucho on November 28, 2011, 08:04:54 PM
Congrats and enjoy every minute....time will pass quicker than ever now!!
Post by: The Gs Man on November 28, 2011, 08:07:44 PM
Good man yerself!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 28, 2011, 08:14:50 PM
Congrats GDA, given the weekend thats in it, very uplifting. Dont know the feeling but im looking forward to feeling it too.. :)
Post by: ross4life on November 28, 2011, 08:30:42 PM
Congrats Gaoth Dobhair Abu, hope herself & baby are keeping well.
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on November 28, 2011, 08:46:46 PM
Congratulations, great news.
Post by: Sandino on November 28, 2011, 08:51:09 PM
Congratulations to you all, it is the most wonderful feeling. It's also great to see so many men comfortable admitting just how much being a dad ment to them. Best of luck GDA  enjoy it all.
Post by: seafoid on November 28, 2011, 09:03:35 PM
I found this to be a very helpful guide to parenthood

Mess Test: Smear peanut butter on the sofa and curtains. Now rub your hands in the wet flowerbed and rub on the walls. Cover the stains with crayons. Place a fish stick behind the couch and leave it there all summer.

Toy Test: Obtain a 55-gallon box of Legos. (If Legos are not available, you may substitute
roofing tacks or broken bottles.) Have a friend spread them all over the house. Take off your shoes. Put on a blindfold. Try to walk to the bathroom or kitchen. Do not scream. (this could wake a child at night.)

Grocery Store Test: Borrow one or two small animals (goats are best) and take them with you as you shop at the grocery store. Always keep them in sight and pay for anything they eat or damage.

Dressing Test: Obtain one large, unhappy, live octopus. Stuff into a small net bag making sure that all its arms stay inside.

Feeding Test: Obtain a large plastic milk jug. Fill halfway with water. Suspend from the ceiling with a stout cord. Start the jug swinging. Try to insert spoonfuls of soggy cereal (such as Fruit Loops or Cheerios) into the mouth of the jug, while pretending to be an airplane. Now dump the contents of the jug on the floor.

Night Test: Prepare by obtaining a small cloth bag and fill it with 8 - 12 pounds of sand. Soak it thoroughly in water. At 8:00 PM begin to waltz and hum with the bag until 9:00 PM. Lay down your bag and set your alarm for 10:00 PM. Get up, pick up your bag, and sing every song you have ever heard. Make up about a dozen more and sing these too until 4:00 AM. Set alarm for 5:00 AM. Get up and make breakfast. Keep this up for 5 years. Look cheerful.

Physical Test (Women): Obtain a large beanbag chair and attach it to the front of your clothes. Leave it there for 9 months. Now remove 10% of the beans.

Physical Test (Men): Go to the nearest drug store. Set your wallet on the counter. Ask the clerk to help himself. Now proceed to the nearest food store. Go to the head office and arrange for your paycheck to be directly deposited to the store. Purchase a newspaper. Go home and read it quietly for the last time.

Final Assignment: Find a couple who already have a small child. Lecture them on how they can improve their discipline, patience, tolerance, toilet training, and child's table manners. Suggest many ways they can improve. Emphasize to them that they should never allow their children to run riot. Enjoy this experience. It will be the last time you will have all the answers.
Post by: FL/MAYO on November 28, 2011, 09:38:39 PM
Congrats, the toughest part of this will be the lack of sleep in the first few months. The only advise I can give is to get your rest when the baby sleeps. Unreal felling, well done to you both.
Post by: cicfada on November 28, 2011, 09:59:29 PM
I remember  when my last fella was born in Boca Community  Hospital,  Florida, after leaving the hospital to go home, calling everyone on the phone on the way home. I was on  such a high as you are now GDA!! First thing I did after arriving home was to log on and go to the live chat room here and announce it ! great buzz to do it when I  would not have known who the heck I was "talking" to! In any case   it was great craic!  When you feed the little fella, assuming he is not on the draught, make as little noise as possible, don't turn on the light and he will be grand after a short while! worked a treat for us! fair play to ya! Go mbeannfaidh Dia é!!!
Post by: Declan on November 28, 2011, 10:09:37 PM
Congrats and best of luck to both of you.
Post by: Orangemac on November 28, 2011, 10:17:43 PM
Congrats. Enjoy every minute as the time flies around like you wouldn't believe (except the feeding and winding at 3 in the morning, time does not go so fast then!)
Post by: Hashtag on November 28, 2011, 10:27:53 PM
Well done man. Health to the new one
Post by: Tyrones own on November 28, 2011, 10:49:10 PM
Congrats...Well done Mrs.GDA  :)
Post by: Square Ball on November 28, 2011, 11:01:33 PM
all the best to the three of you, enjoy
Post by: illdecide on November 28, 2011, 11:02:10 PM
Well done pal...Congrats.

Hope he becomes a we Tim ;)
Post by: FL/MAYO on November 28, 2011, 11:54:17 PM
Quote from: cicfada on November 28, 2011, 09:59:29 PM
I remember  when my last fella was born in Boca Community  Hospital,  Florida, after leaving the hospital to go home, calling everyone on the phone on the way home. I was on  such a high as you are now GDA!! First thing I did after arriving home was to log on and go to the live chat room here and announce it ! great buzz to do it when I  would not have known who the heck I was "talking" to! In any case   it was great craic!  When you feed the little fella, assuming he is not on the draught, make as little noise as possible, don't turn on the light and he will be grand after a short while! worked a treat for us! fair play to ya! Go mbeannfaidh Dia é!!!

Jaysus Cic, thats where my two were born.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 29, 2011, 01:13:10 AM
Delighted to hear the news.
The best of luck to all concerned.
Post by: Onion Bag on November 29, 2011, 07:30:45 AM
Congratulations lad, it is the best thing in the world, and as someone has already said your whole outlook on life will change
Post by: Rois on November 29, 2011, 08:26:55 AM
Congratulations! If you need a babysitter, I'm only down the road.
Post by: bridgegael on November 29, 2011, 08:28:37 AM
congrats man,  great time for you now.  you will get used to the late night/earlymorning feeds.  enjoy every minute.
Post by: sammymaguire on November 29, 2011, 09:22:42 AM
Get out now and enjoy wetting the wee lad's head cos it might be the last chance you'll get for a while  :D

(http://www.guinness.com/en-gb/img/beer_photo_draught_pint.jpg)

Any name picked yet? Jim might be a good choice in honour of what your county Manager has done for ye's this year  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 29, 2011, 10:28:02 AM
Congrats Gda great news delgihted for ye. It won't be long till you open a "right i'm tired " thread  ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on November 29, 2011, 11:18:41 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on November 29, 2011, 09:22:42 AM
Get out now and enjoy wetting the wee lad's head cos it might be the last chance you'll get for a while  :D

(http://www.guinness.com/en-gb/img/beer_photo_draught_pint.jpg)

Any name picked yet? Jim might be a good choice in honour of what your county Manager has done for ye's this year  ;)

I'm pleasantly reminded of the quiet pint I had on my own in Conways (Parnell Sq.) after my eldest was born (as per 'The Snapper').  No turkey conversation though!
Post by: thejuice on November 29, 2011, 12:17:50 PM
Congrats to all 3 of ye.
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 29, 2011, 12:18:38 PM
Great news GDA!
Post by: Denn Forever on November 29, 2011, 12:23:24 PM
Congratulations Mrs GDA.  2 children in the house now?
Post by: sammymaguire on November 29, 2011, 03:19:50 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on November 29, 2011, 11:18:41 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on November 29, 2011, 09:22:42 AM

I'm pleasantly reminded of the quiet pint I had on my own in Conways (Parnell Sq.) after my eldest was born (as per 'The Snapper').  No turkey conversation though!

Glad I brought you back to that happy day for you pal... Same as myself
Post by: RMDrive on November 29, 2011, 08:56:13 PM
Congrats chief. Make sure you get him back to Donegal as early as possible in order to build up some immunity to the Down and Antrim influence.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 29, 2011, 08:57:45 PM
Congratulations!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 02, 2011, 04:28:50 PM
Good man GDA, two bits of advice:

Get him on the draught and in a routine asap. We got this book http://www.amazon.co.uk/New-Contented-Little-Baby-Book/dp/0091912695/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpi_1 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/New-Contented-Little-Baby-Book/dp/0091912695/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpi_1) 2 months in and found we were doing everything arseways. After a month of the new sheriff being in town she's a lot more contented and is going down much easier for the sleeps. The author is a bit regimented but it works, best of luck.
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 02, 2011, 09:47:20 PM
Congratulations GDA.

This is a brialliant book as well oryou can just download the video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xtcB457jqQ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xtcB457jqQ)