GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on October 07, 2011, 08:31:46 AM

Title: You've got 1 minute 38 seconds to explain hurling to a stranger...
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 07, 2011, 08:31:46 AM
I made this because with my 5-minute movie I found myself having to fast forward to get to the point whenever showing it on a handheld device. I think this would be more suitable for the "elevator pitch".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgEMvRrOCRI (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgEMvRrOCRI)
Title: Re: You've got 1 minute 38 seconds to explain hurling to a stranger...
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 07, 2011, 01:41:03 PM
Sunday morning, 30 guys with hangovers chasing each other with sticks.
Post by: orangeman on October 07, 2011, 01:52:20 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 07, 2011, 08:31:46 AM
I made this because with my 5-minute movie I found myself having to fast forward to get to the point whenever showing it on a handheld device. I think this would be more suitable for the "elevator pitch".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgEMvRrOCRI (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgEMvRrOCRI)

A lot of steps in that first movement !
Post by: muppet on October 07, 2011, 02:15:59 PM
30 Tasmanian Devils with umbrellas chasing a hedgehog.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2011, 03:06:45 PM
It's better than Gaelic football
Post by: AZOffaly on October 07, 2011, 03:18:27 PM
Played by athletes as courageous as lions, as graceful as ballet dancers, as nimble as acrobats and as artistic as the renaissance masters. And they trying to skull each other.
Post by: seafoid on October 07, 2011, 03:31:01 PM
Hurling is for piano tuners.
Fuball is for piano removers. 
Post by: sans pessimism on October 07, 2011, 05:05:05 PM
Show them a clip of King Henry
Post by: Go on ya boy ye on October 07, 2011, 05:19:46 PM
Men's Camogie
Post by: EC Unique on October 07, 2011, 05:33:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2011, 03:06:45 PM
It's better than for people that are no good at Gaelic football

Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2011, 05:35:26 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on October 07, 2011, 05:33:13 PM

[/quote

anybody can play football
Post by: laoislad on October 07, 2011, 05:38:02 PM

Post by: Bingo on October 07, 2011, 05:39:00 PM
30 men with sticks, one wee ball, defend a set of posts with the lower part having a net, attack the other set of posts with the lower part also having a net.........no referee.
Post by: Zulu on October 07, 2011, 05:39:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2011, 05:35:26 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on October 07, 2011, 05:33:13 PM

[/quote

anybody can play football

Why can't they do it in Antrim so???
Post by: Zulu on October 07, 2011, 05:40:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 07, 2011, 05:38:02 PM

.........................in yer opinion.
Post by: laoislad on October 07, 2011, 06:03:17 PM
Quote from: Bingo on October 07, 2011, 05:39:00 PM
30 men with sticks, one wee ball, defend a set of posts with the lower part having a net, attack the other set of posts with the lower part also having a net.........no referee.

And what would you say for the other 1 minute 34 seconds?
Post by: Blowitupref on October 07, 2011, 06:17:30 PM
Quote from: Zulu on October 07, 2011, 05:40:21 PM

Faster more skillful game yes, better i'm not so sure? the Munster Hurling final is probably the GAA biggest game outside of the All Ireland finals.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 07, 2011, 06:26:06 PM

So Laois lads are experts in hurling AND football.Jeeez you wouldn't think it when you see them play!!!
Post by: Zulu on October 07, 2011, 06:36:11 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on October 07, 2011, 06:17:30 PM

Faster more skillful game yes, better i'm not so sure? the Munster Hurling final is probably the GAA biggest game outside of the All Ireland finals.

Faster yes, more skilful no. The games have different skill sets but there are many skills in Gaelic football that everybody struggles to master. I always find it funny that people say hurling 'is a fierce skilful game' yet it is football where most people give out about the inability of players to perform the skills, surely that suggests football is, at the very least, also a very skillful game?

Both games require a multitude of skills, those in hurling tend to be more difficult to learn initially but I think the ones in football are more difficult to master. For example most kids will take longer to strike a ball well than to kick it but once they are able to do both proficiently, which one do we see them make a mess of more? You rarely see an easy point missed in hurling or an attempted pass miss by miles, it happens regularly in football. 
Post by: laoislad on October 07, 2011, 06:40:58 PM
Quote from: Zulu on October 07, 2011, 06:36:11 PM

Faster yes, more skilful no.

......................in your opinion.
Post by: Zulu on October 07, 2011, 06:51:22 PM
Yup but it's a considered one!
Post by: ONeill on October 07, 2011, 06:57:44 PM
Hi there, come here often? Why thank you, I use Charles Worthington for Brunettes. My wife doesn't know I use it but sure it's only a drop. Not a bad oul day, eh? I know, summer's a thing of the past isn't it. No, but I'll probably catch it on the iPlayer. Was it any good? Hahaha. Ach to be honest I cannot really stand Bruce Forsyth but yer woman looks well at the odd time. Hahaha. I probably would yes but those days are over. Ach now, you're only saying that, hahaha. Well, thanks for that anyway and you're not bad looking yourself. Did you drop something there? There, just behind you. What? What? Oh come on, my hands just brushed you as you turned around. I bloody didn't grope you, you're my cousin!! What? Ah jaysus don't be at that, yer da'll kill me. Ach Betty, come on, I misread the signs. Hurling is a game of 15 v 15. You use a hurley and a sliotar. A goal is worth three points. Listen, keep that between ourselves. Please. Thanks.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 07, 2011, 07:42:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 07, 2011, 06:57:44 PM
Hi there, come here often? Why thank you, I use Charles Worthington for Brunettes. My wife doesn't know I use it but sure it's only a drop. Not a bad oul day, eh? I know, summer's a thing of the past isn't it. No, but I'll probably catch it on the iPlayer. Was it any good? Hahaha. Ach to be honest I cannot really stand Bruce Forsyth but yer woman looks well at the odd time. Hahaha. I probably would yes but those days are over. Ach now, you're only saying that, hahaha. Well, thanks for that anyway and you're not bad looking yourself. Did you drop something there? There, just behind you. What? What? Oh come on, my hands just brushed you as you turned around. I bloody didn't grope you, you're my cousin!! What? Ah jaysus don't be at that, yer da'll kill me. Ach Betty, come on, I misread the signs. Hurling is a game of 15 v 15. You use a hurley and a sliotar. A goal is worth three points. Listen, keep that between ourselves. Please. Thanks.
Laoislad,that sorts your other 1min 34sec's!
Post by: blast05 on October 07, 2011, 08:17:19 PM

Faster yes, more skilful no. The games have different skill sets but there are many skills in Gaelic football that everybody struggles to master. I always find it funny that people say hurling 'is a fierce skilful game' yet it is football where most people give out about the inability of players to perform the skills, surely that suggests football is, at the very least, also a very skillful game?

Both games require a multitude of skills, those in hurling tend to be more difficult to learn initially but I think the ones in football are more difficult to master. For example most kids will take longer to strike a ball well than to kick it but once they are able to do both proficiently, which one do we see them make a mess of more? You rarely see an easy point missed in hurling or an attempted pass miss by miles, it happens regularly in football.

Excellent post.
It was a bit painful reading the same aul hurling inferiority complex up to this point.
There is nothing more pleasing on the eye in sport imho than the sight of a player in Gaelic football winning a high ball then holding off opposing players while somehow managing to control the ball, and then as they get within 40m of the opponents goal being able to make enough space to get off a shot, curling the ball over the bar. As a demonstration of skills mixed with power, pace, agility and grace there is nothing in hurling that comes close.
Post by: aontroim on October 07, 2011, 09:12:38 PM
Quote from: blast05 on October 07, 2011, 08:17:19 PM

Excellent post.
It was a bit painful reading the same aul hurling inferiority complex up to this point.
There is nothing more pleasing on the eye in sport imho than the sight of a player in Gaelic football winning a high ball then holding off opposing players while somehow managing to control the ball, and then as they get within 40m of the opponents goal being able to make enough space to get off a shot, curling the ball over the bar. As a demonstration of skills mixed with power, pace, agility and grace there is nothing in hurling that comes close.

Absolute rubbish!  Infinitely harder, and more skill involved in a hurler winning a high ball .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsbP-DfeZTU (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsbP-DfeZTU)
Post by: laoislad on October 07, 2011, 09:13:29 PM
Quote from: blast05 on October 07, 2011, 08:17:19 PM

Excellent post.

You call it a hurling inferiority complex, I see it as a Gaelic Football inferiority complex...
All a matter of opinions I suppose...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2011, 09:21:46 PM
Again any mug can play football. It's a simple game to play. Dont get me wrong i love playing it but it's crap to watch. Dublin v Donegal, need i say more?
Post by: ONeill on October 07, 2011, 09:31:35 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2011, 09:21:46 PM
Again any mug can play football. It's a simple game to play. Dont get me wrong i love playing it but it's crap to watch. Dublin v Donegal, need i say more?

Any mug can play hurling, badly. Same as football.

There are a lot of crap hurling games, especially at a lower level. I prefer football. In hurling a keeper can puck the ball out, it's caught by the half forward and then over the bar with perhaps one defender challenging. 80% of the players are bystanders. In football, any such move will involved a dozen players on both sides, attacking and defending. There's no doubt that the stickwork is a skill football will never possess and that earns kudos in some quarters. Also, in hurling you'll often see the defender clear the sliotar, to raucous acclaim, any which way he can with no particular idea who it's to. It's a bit like 70s football.

There are a lot more scores in hurling but that's because some players are capable of scoring from their own half!
Post by: 5 Sams on October 07, 2011, 09:36:23 PM
Hurling...I love watching it...serious skill involved....howver natural progression will mean that as keepers get more length in their puck outs in 20 years time it will be one a side.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2011, 09:58:11 PM
I suppose if you were brought up only playing one code then you'll favour it over the other gaelic sport.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 07, 2011, 10:03:24 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 07, 2011, 09:36:23 PM
Hurling...I love watching it...serious skill involved....howver natural progression will mean that as keepers get more length in their puck outs in 20 years time it will be one a side.
I'm sure the length of puckouts could be reduced if the ball were engineered in a certain way. Maybe some sort of heavier synthetic cork core would slow it down a bit.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 07, 2011, 10:07:51 PM
They're both much superior games to any other game about in my view.

Football is probably easier to adapt too but to play either well, in my view, requires the same amount of skill. Hurling at the lowest level is a bad a sight as you'll see but hurling at the highest level is as good a sight as you'll see.

You could say hurling has greater skill but in my view it's much of a muchness. Hurling consists of so many more balls which are more like 50-50 and football requires more movement to get into the spaces and then the skill to hit the pass. On the other hand the skill in hurling is for the guy to get control with less time and space. To me they balance each other out. 

The skillful players in either are a joy to watch. Hurling is moving the same direction as football too with more of a blanket defense look to it than it used to.

Post by: seafoid on October 07, 2011, 10:11:03 PM
Hurling is trips cross country to Birr , Limerick and  Thurles.  It's the brand icon that is black and amber .  The Sean Treacy Pipe Band from Moycarkey Borris . It is  the roar of the crowd after the centre half back sends it down the other end of the pitch Seanie McMahon style   
It is Tipperary loudmouths, John Fenton 1984 , the Rackards , daoine I Meiricea ata bfheidir ag caoineadh lathair, hell's kitchen, the rasp of  a caught sliotar in the hand, the green from the grass on the bas of a new hurl. It is balance, technique and what was that phrase, grace under pressure.   It is  young fellas looking for sliotars behind the goals at the county final .  It is being the only person from the tribe in an Dublin office full of football people . It is the Glens of Antrim keeping the faith and  Shefflin and Lory Meagher and the poise of Brian Whelahan . It is Shia rather than Sunni.  It is too fast for football people.  It is Jimmy Cooney's watch and Joe Cooney in the 1990 final.   It is good land and no bog (except in Offaly )  It is all about the swing. It is being hooked.  Something to impress Australians with. It is the sporting equivalent of Martin Hayes and it is den scoth.
Post by: thewobbler on October 07, 2011, 10:31:35 PM
Hurling is one of those strange cultural phenomenons like those religious sects you find in the USA.

Those on the inside consider themselves blessed, to be God's people. Those on the outside respedt their dedication, but look upon them in wonderment (not awe). For anyone who willingly spends their free time being chased around a confined space by men with sticks, will always provide an entertaining sideline to the real world.
Post by: seafoid on October 07, 2011, 10:31:55 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 07, 2011, 08:31:46 AM

Very impressive video Eamonn
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 07, 2011, 10:36:59 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 07, 2011, 10:11:03 PM
Hurling is trips cross country to Birr , Limerick and  Thurles.  It's the brand icon that is black and amber .  The Sean Treacy Pipe Band from Moycarkey Borris . It is  the roar of the crowd after the centre half back sends it down the other end of the pitch Seanie McMahon style   
It is Tipperary loudmouths, John Fenton 1984 , the Rackards , daoine I Meiricea ata bfheidir ag caoineadh lathair, hell's kitchen, the rasp of  a caught sliotar in the hand, the green from the grass on the bas of a new hurl. It is balance, technique and what was that phrase, grace under pressure.   It is  young fellas looking for sliotars behind the goals at the county final .  It is being the only person from the tribe in an Dublin office full of football people . It is the Glens of Antrim keeping the faith and  Shefflin and Lory Meagher and the poise of Brian Whelahan . It is Shia rather than Sunni.  It is too fast for football people.  It is Jimmy Cooney's watch and Joe Cooney in the 1990 final.   It is good land and no bog (except in Offaly )  It is all about the swing. It is being hooked.  Something to impress Australians with. It is the sporting equivalent of Martin Hayes and it is den scoth.

Quality!
Post by: Zulu on October 08, 2011, 12:55:09 AM
Unlike a lot of lads on this board I played as much hurling as I did football but hurling lads dint half talk a lot of shite. I enjoy playing, coaching and watching both games but there is no fundamental difference between them. If you have sporting talent then you can play both games effectively with a bit of practice, it's as simple as that. I love the game of hurling but hurling heads are without a doubt the most full of shit sports people in the world. To listen to some of them you'd think you have to be a mixture of Ali, Usain Bolt, Messi and Ring to even be competent at the game and it seems many unfamiliar with playing believe this. Well it's bullshit and I've played with many lads who were excellent hurlers but decidedly average at other games.

Hurling is a great game but it's not superior to all others. If you think it is that's your opinion only and anyone who says different is just the sporting equivalent of a berre wearing twat jazz fan telling us to listen to the notes theiy're not playing.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 08, 2011, 05:39:04 AM
Quote from: Zulu on October 08, 2011, 12:55:09 AM
Unlike a lot of lads on this board I played as much hurling as I did football but hurling lads dint half talk a lot of shite. I enjoy playing, coaching and watching both games but there is no fundamental difference between them. If you have sporting talent then you can play both games effectively with a bit of practice, it's as simple as that. I love the game of hurling but hurling heads are without a doubt the most full of shit sports people in the world. To listen to some of them you'd think you have to be a mixture of Ali, Usain Bolt, Messi and Ring to even be competent at the game and it seems many unfamiliar with playing believe this. Well it's bullshit and I've played with many lads who were excellent hurlers but decidedly average at other games.

Hurling is a great game but it's not superior to all others. If you think it is that's your opinion only and anyone who says different is just the sporting equivalent of a berre wearing t**t jazz fan telling us to listen to the notes theiy're not playing.
good post
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2011, 09:00:24 AM
Played senior hurling for over twenty years, played last game for the seniors a few weeks ago. We were missing a few ;) played senior football when finished minor, was doing ok but didn't commit to it and played for the reserve teams for over twenty years also  but concentrated on the hurling.

My judgement is based solely on my experience. I enjoyed playing both, but preferred hurling. I think if you haven't played both then it would be difficult to criticize either sport. Imo 
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 08, 2011, 10:53:39 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2011, 09:00:24 AM
Played senior hurling for over twenty years, played last game for the seniors a few weeks ago. We were missing a few ;) played senior football when finished minor, was doing ok but didn't commit to it and played for the reserve teams for over twenty years also  but concentrated on the hurling.

My judgement is based solely on my experience. I enjoyed playing both, but preferred hurling. I think if you haven't played both then it would be difficult to criticize either sport. Imo

What, all the arm chair "experts" then who have never played any sport then cannot be critical of them?  A lot of our boys on here then wouldn't be able to post anything :P.

The reality is that the skills for both sports are not comparable. For instance catching a high ball, there are too many variables that make it impossible to compare. Just enjoy both games and realise how lucky we are to have the best games in the world. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2011, 02:32:15 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 08, 2011, 10:53:39 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2011, 09:00:24 AM

What, all the arm chair "experts" then who have never played any sport then cannot be critical of them?  A lot of our boys on here then wouldn't be able to post anything :P.

The reality is that the skills for both sports are not comparable. For instance catching a high ball, there are too many variables that make it impossible to compare. Just enjoy both games and realise how lucky we are to have the best games in the world.

Aye right enough, but seriously if ya played it at any level and were decent at it then its a game that, when played well, is a sight to behold. I will miss it, I wont be lining out next year for the team :'(. The beer belly league will do me on a Monday nights but won't be the same.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 08, 2011, 04:30:28 PM
so long as you enjoy playin, it doesn't matter which you play
Post by: Go on ya boy ye on October 08, 2011, 05:46:57 PM
Mens Camogie
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 08, 2011, 06:36:13 PM
Personally I prefer to watch hurling but I enjoy a game of football if I have a team to support. I would never disparage any sport though, they all have their points. Even soccer has its appeal, what it lacks in scoring it makes up for in suspense. What American football lacks in continuity it makes up for in the interesting way the game unfolds like a board game. I'm sure even cricket has its appeal to those who follow it, I'd probably enjoy it too if I knew more about it. It's all sport, it's all good, and there's no need to rub anybody up the wrong way by claiming that your own favourite sport is "better" than his.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 08, 2011, 09:25:28 PM
Except for baseball.  That's just shite.
Post by: John79 on October 09, 2011, 12:17:55 AM
I played football (badly) but love hurling.

I was at my parents last year for my sister's birthday and it was hurling final day and I had the telly on. Sis was back from Scotland from uni and two of her friends were over. One of the girls was trying not to be sick from the drink the night before and the other one shouted "Oh my God, they're hitting each other with big sticks".

Dad and I said almost together "That's what makes us Irish"!

All Gaelic sports played well requires skill and dedication and if they're played well, they are the most spectacular sports in the world in my honest opinion!!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 24, 2013, 08:58:14 PM
This one is 2:24 long:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoQMl5kr17E (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoQMl5kr17E)

Doesn't explain the rules but might come in handy if you want to just inspire someone.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 24, 2013, 09:03:36 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 08, 2011, 06:36:13 PM
Personally I prefer to watch hurling but I enjoy a game of football if I have a team to support. I would never disparage any sport though, they all have their points. Even soccer has its appeal, what it lacks in scoring it makes up for in suspense. What American football lacks in continuity it makes up for in the interesting way the game unfolds like a board game. I'm sure even cricket has its appeal to those who follow it, I'd probably enjoy it too if I knew more about it. It's all sport, it's all good, and there's no need to rub anybody up the wrong way by claiming that your own favourite sport is "better" than his.

Me too, which is quite rare for a Mayoman. I suppose the fact that you won't be let down is one thing that makes it enjoyable for me at least.
Post by: Onion Bag on April 24, 2013, 09:34:16 PM
1.10 seconds in

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEvQofZvBUA

explained perfectly
Post by: Hardy on April 25, 2013, 09:18:26 AM
That's absolutely excellent, Eamonn. Beautifully chosen action scenes.

Quote from: Onion Bag on April 24, 2013, 09:34:16 PM
1.10 seconds in

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEvQofZvBUA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEvQofZvBUA)

explained perfectly

See the YouTube comment? "Great to see Colin Lynch back hurling again."  :D
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 25, 2013, 06:47:57 PM
30 hard as nails irish savages beating the tar out of each other to show how macho they are, scoring goals and points to make it look like the fastest game in the world, and at the end of the day the over sized bumblebees always win. In short that hurling to foreigners
Post by: Main Street on April 26, 2013, 11:01:26 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 24, 2013, 08:58:14 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoQMl5kr17E (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoQMl5kr17E)

Doesn't explain the rules but might come in handy if you want to just inspire someone.
That's a very well done piece. A player catching a tennis sized ball, some 80m away in mid air amidst a shower of flailing sticks, is some sight. 

If I was to add one image to that montage, it would be the image of a goalie making a full length save, knocking the ball away with his stick.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 26, 2013, 01:29:46 PM
When I was in England we were sitting n a pub one night and an American Student asked a friend on our GAA team - "what's that game you play in Ireland with the sticks?". I have to say i thought his answer was the most entertaining description  of hurling I have heard:

"It's a cross between baseball and murder!"
Post by: seafoid on April 26, 2013, 01:36:01 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 26, 2013, 11:01:26 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 24, 2013, 08:58:14 PM

That's a very well done piece. A player catching a tennis sized ball, some 80m away in mid air amidst a shower of flailing sticks, is some sight. 

If I was to add one image to that montage, it would be the image of a goalie making a full length save, knocking the ball away with his stick.
the thing at 1:34 is such an example of  high quality skill