GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: commonman on October 05, 2011, 08:56:48 PM

Title: Fergal steps down from Roscommon Senior job
Post by: commonman on October 05, 2011, 08:56:48 PM
Fergal O Donnell has stepped down tonight from the Roscommon senior job for family reasons. He'll be a huge loss to roscommon football and hopefully will be back another day.
Title: Re: Fergal steps down from Roscommon Senior job
Post by: seafoid on October 05, 2011, 09:01:15 PM
That's a pity. He always came across as really passionate about the Rossies and he  won that all Ireland with the minors.
Post by: mannix on October 05, 2011, 09:02:28 PM
You can have John o Mahoney if you like. :)
Post by: ross4life on October 05, 2011, 09:37:09 PM
Thanks to Fergal for restoring pride to this great footballing county whatever he does now best of luck though it's a shame he couldn't stay for another year or two as he knows these young players better than most but i respect his decision.

If he becomes available i would like to see Noel O'Brien as the next Roscommon senior manager.
Post by: moysider on October 05, 2011, 09:44:24 PM
Quote from: commonman on October 05, 2011, 08:56:48 PM
Fergal O Donnell has stepped down tonight from the Roscommon senior job for family reasons. He'll be a huge loss to roscommon football and hopefully will be back another day.

Didn t see that coming. Hope everything is well with him and all belonging to him.

I guess this leaves the door open for the return of 'Tanman', aka 'Sir John' and 'Stylish John', to bring them to a new level.

Tommy ' Tom Carr' would relish a return as well I d say. All that experience.
Post by: Tubberman on October 05, 2011, 09:50:43 PM
Jesus, that's a surprise. Not a massive one though I suppose, seeing as he was reluctant to take the job in the first place due to young family etc
He did a great job, pity for Ros (and himself) he's not staying on to bring it on another level.
JOM has only Sligo and Ros left on his tour of Connacht. Less of a trip from Dublin to Ros for him as well... it all adds up! ;)
Post by: ross4life on October 05, 2011, 09:54:04 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 05, 2011, 09:44:24 PM

Didn t see that coming. Hope everything is well with him and all belonging to him.

I guess this leaves the door open for the return of 'Tanman', aka 'Sir John' and 'Stylish John', to bring them to a new level.

His Mom died a few weeks ago but i don't think that was in his decision, he did his term (3 years) & his young family,work commitments were a more telling factor.

We have more chance of getting Jack O'Shea as Manager than those two gobshites.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 05, 2011, 10:02:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 05, 2011, 09:54:04 PM

His Mom died a few weeks ago but i don't think that was in his decision, he did his term (3 years) & his young family,work commitments were a more telling factor.

Jack O'Shea did a worse job with Mayo than either of the Johns on their very worst days.
Post by: mannix on October 05, 2011, 10:05:28 PM
Doubt "stylish John" would be bothered, he had enough the last time. Sorry to hear about fergal s mother, it cannot be easy to balance evrything when all is going well never mind having your mother passing away. Condolences to him.
Post by: moysider on October 05, 2011, 10:11:58 PM

Result. That has to be the last fish of the season ;D
Post by: ross4life on October 05, 2011, 10:20:04 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 05, 2011, 10:11:58 PM

Well if your fishing...

(http://images.cheezburger.com/completestore/2009/12/4/129044200487425051.jpg)
Post by: moysider on October 05, 2011, 10:37:01 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 05, 2011, 10:20:04 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 05, 2011, 10:11:58 PM

Well if your fishing...

(http://images.cheezburger.com/completestore/2009/12/4/129044200487425051.jpg)

Wow. I ll leave that one for Tanman. He s more used to shark infested waters.
Post by: muppet on October 06, 2011, 12:59:03 AM

I didn't know that. My sincere condolences to his family.

I have huge respect for that man having played against him, he did a fantastic job for his county. Rossies are harder than most on their managers but they can have no complaints about Fergal O'Donnell.
Post by: Barney on October 06, 2011, 09:02:20 AM
Best of luck to Fergal - a gentleman, a great Roscommon football man, and a brilliant manager. I'm sure he will walk the sideline for Ros again in the future.

It is a huge disappointment to the Rossies I am sure. They face a crucial decision now - get it right and they can build on what Fergal has done, but get it wrong, or delay over it and 2012 could be a disappointing year.
Post by: rrhf on October 06, 2011, 09:10:53 AM
Can I be the first to link Micko with the job?
Post by: Rossfan on October 06, 2011, 09:22:43 AM
Disappointing news but I had been expecting it ( from a chat with him plus his comments after the CF and Tyrone games and then his mother dying at a comparitively young age) .
Thanks for the good days  big man and for making us respectable again. Hope the good work you started can be comtinued.
We now need new management teams at U16/Minor/U21/Junior and Senior.
Jeeeezus .. that's a scary situation ....
Post by: sans pessimism on October 06, 2011, 09:37:01 AM
Sorry for the Rossies.FOD has done agreat job.
Post by: Rossfan on October 06, 2011, 01:03:36 PM
[I guess this leaves the door open for the return of 'Tanman', aka 'Sir John' and 'Stylish John', to bring them to a new level.

I know ye hoors don't like us ..... but there's no need to be that bloody nasty .  >:(

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: highorlow on October 06, 2011, 01:16:02 PM
Mick 'Micko' Dwyer, Tommy 'Tom Tom' Lyons or Shane 'Cake' Curran will be in the running for this?
Post by: sheamy on October 06, 2011, 01:48:58 PM
Roscommon must be one of the few connaught counties Mickey Moran hasn't conquered  ;)

Surprised by the news myself. I know nothing about the lad but he seemed to have the rossies on a serious upward trend and playing some nice stuff.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 06, 2011, 03:49:02 PM
Quote from: highorlow on October 06, 2011, 01:16:02 PM
Mick 'Micko' Dwyer, Tommy 'Tom Tom' Lyons or Shane 'Cake' Curran will be in the running for this?

I was going to say Cake should be the man to take on the reigns, he would be some craic in an after match interview :D
Post by: ross4life on October 06, 2011, 04:43:55 PM
Cake is currently the manager of a big business so i can't imagine he'll have time for football management but he would be some character on the sideline.

Post by: ross matt on October 06, 2011, 05:29:32 PM
Quote from: Barney on October 06, 2011, 09:02:20 AM
Best of luck to Fergal - a gentleman, a great Roscommon football man, and a brilliant manager. I'm sure he will walk the sideline for Ros again in the future.

It is a huge disappointment to the Rossies I am sure. They face a crucial decision now - get it right and they can build on what Fergal has done, but get it wrong, or delay over it and 2012 could be a disappointing year.

Thats it in a nutshell. Hopefully the current structures are in place that will result in an internal appoinment to manage and develop what Fergal has started.

Best wishes and thanks to Fergie for some great days out and a return to pride and honour in the primrose and blue. He owes his county nothing and is young enough to return again in the future.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 06, 2011, 06:54:05 PM
There are not many managers in the modern game that are both widely liked and widely respected. Fergal O'Donnell was though. That's a decent legacy. As is the smashing 2010 Connacht title success.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 07, 2011, 02:26:58 PM
Quote from: sheamy on October 06, 2011, 01:48:58 PM
Roscommon must be one of the few connaught counties Mickey Moran hasn't conquered  ;)

Surprised by the news myself. I know nothing about the lad but he seemed to have the rossies on a serious upward trend and playing some nice stuff.

Where is this Connaught place you speak of? I always thought Roscommon was in Connacht.
Post by: sheamy on October 07, 2011, 02:28:51 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 07, 2011, 02:26:58 PM

Where is this Connaught place you speak of? I always thought Roscommon was in Connacht.

good man, correcting spelling mistakes now. Slow day?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 07, 2011, 02:41:39 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 06, 2011, 04:43:55 PM
Cake is currently the manager of a big business

A cake shop?
Post by: muppet on October 07, 2011, 04:36:15 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 07, 2011, 02:41:39 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 06, 2011, 04:43:55 PM
Cake is currently the manager of a big business

A cake shop?

I like it.
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2011, 06:48:01 PM
Yeah he does all types of theme Cakes give him a call & i would like to hear what he says  :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 07, 2011, 06:50:07 PM
Quote from: sheamy on October 07, 2011, 02:28:51 PM

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 07, 2011, 06:51:48 PM

Is this Connaught you speak of not one of those "West Brit"isms that your hero Martin McGuinness would turn in his grave over.
Post by: sheamy on October 07, 2011, 07:43:14 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 07, 2011, 06:51:48 PM

Is this Connaught you speak of not one of those "West Brit"isms that your hero Martin McGuinness would turn in his grave over.

nah, it's a spelling mistake
Post by: sans pessimism on October 07, 2011, 07:45:40 PM
Straying from the topic guys-call it quits
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 07, 2011, 07:53:45 PM
Quote from: sheamy on October 07, 2011, 07:43:14 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 07, 2011, 06:51:48 PM

nah, it's a spelling mistake

Spelling mistake that just happens to be the British Imperalist way of spelling it, what a coincidence. Do you pronounce it "Con-nought" too I suppose  ;)
Post by: ross4life on November 11, 2011, 04:05:22 PM
Des Newton is going to be the new Senior Roscommon manager & Gareth Carroll,Nigel Dineen will take over at U-21,minor level best of luck to all three.
Post by: Rossfan on November 11, 2011, 08:06:44 PM
Best of luck indeed to all 3.
Hope Des isnt out of touch with all those years away from home.
Any idea who his assistants might be R4L?
Post by: ross4life on November 11, 2011, 08:45:30 PM
Plenty of rumours like Paul Earley,Shane Curran & Niall Moyna whom worked with alot of the players at DCU but won't be known until next weeks meeting i understand.
Post by: muppet on November 11, 2011, 08:50:18 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 11, 2011, 08:45:30 PM
Plenty of rumours like Paul Earley,Shane Curran & Niall Moyna whom worked with alot of the players at DCU but won't be known until next weeks meeting i understand.

Oh please let them have Cake.
Post by: ross4life on November 11, 2011, 09:06:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 11, 2011, 08:50:18 PM

A Curran cake would be better than the stale rhubarb crumble we got a few years ago.
Post by: muppet on November 11, 2011, 09:08:43 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 11, 2011, 09:06:19 PM

A Curran cake would be better than the stale rhubarb crumble we got a few years ago.

I am praying you have Cake.
Post by: Rossfan on November 11, 2011, 10:45:01 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 11, 2011, 09:06:19 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Some crumbling done during that period right enough. >:(
Post by: moysider on November 12, 2011, 01:42:04 PM

Might lose the head though.
Post by: commonman on November 12, 2011, 06:07:16 PM
QuoteDes Newton is set to take charge of the Roscommon senior football team and will be ratified as manager at next week's county board meeting.

Newton, who is based in Dublin and has been involved with Kilmacud Crokes, is believed to have taken up Roscommon's offer to succeed Fergal O'Donnell.

Newton, a former Roscommon county defender is expected to commute from Dublin for matches and training.

Former star forward Nigel Dineen has already been confirmed as the new Roscommon Under-21 manager as the county as undergoing a rehaul across the board.

Post by: spuds on November 14, 2011, 09:09:32 PM
Quote from: commonman on November 12, 2011, 06:07:16 PM
QuoteDes Newton is set to take charge of the Roscommon senior football team and will be ratified as manager at next week's county board meeting.

Newton, who is based in Dublin and has been involved with Kilmacud Crokes, is believed to have taken up Roscommon's offer to succeed Fergal O'Donnell.

Newton, a former Roscommon county defender is expected to commute from Dublin for matches and training.

Former star forward Nigel Dineen has already been confirmed as the new Roscommon Under-21 manager as the county as undergoing a rehaul across the board.
Interesting choices, what real experience would Newton and Dineen have in management ? Never heard of Newton being involved with Kilmacud Crokes before this.
Post by: southsidejohnny on November 15, 2011, 10:58:39 AM
Sorry but glad to see O Donnell go. With him in charge and his ability I could see them being a big challenge in the years ahead. A big sigh of relief with the appointment of the ex Donegal footballer. More pain for the rossies...there is a god after all.
Post by: Rossfan on November 15, 2011, 02:15:17 PM
Fergal or Des Newton won't be playing.
It's down to the players at the end of tha day.
Post by: ross4life on November 15, 2011, 04:20:38 PM
what real experience would Newton and Dineen have in management ?
Little or none but we could have picked Connacht's most experienced (JOM) with the same results?

Quote from: southsidejohnny on November 15, 2011, 10:58:39 AM
Sorry but glad to see O Donnell go. With him in charge and his ability I could see them being a big challenge in the years ahead. A big sigh of relief with the appointment of the ex Donegal footballer. More pain for the rossies...there is a god after all.
You do know Des Newton played for Donegal in the 80s & not last year? 

Post by: ross matt on November 15, 2011, 05:41:46 PM
Best of luck to Des. He was a tough footballer in his day and definitely has Roscommon football tradition in his family. I really dont know anything about his management experience apart from what I read in the last few days. Because of that I was surprised by his appointment.

However no matter who was appointed they would have big boots to fill following Fergie. There are decent structures in the county and so I'll trust the powers that be know what they're doing. There are some fine young footballers in the panel who have considerable experience of playing on the big stage for their age. Hopefully the progress will continue.
Post by: spuds on November 16, 2011, 11:29:28 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 15, 2011, 04:20:38 PM
what real experience would Newton and Dineen have in management ?
Little or none but we could have picked Connacht's most experienced (JOM) with the same results?

Wont argue with you there
Post by: Syferus on November 17, 2011, 01:09:40 AM
JO'M would never have took the Roscommon job while he was a TD for Mayo - for one the demands on his time while Mayo manager was huge and it's hardly going to do his political career much good if he starts kicking around his electorate on the football field with their local rivals.

Hopefully Newton has a vision for the team that extends towards winning big games in Croke Park, something that this team in the years to come should be very capable of achieving. I think the skills are already there - we can play football that'll rip through any defence in the country - so the biggest things are to keep getting the players fitter and stronger and develop the sort of swagger you need if you're going to be more than also-rans.

And on Dineen, he was involved with this year's minor team (you'd have spotted his running up and down the touchline at any given match), so it makes sense that he'd take the u-21 job. He has the tools to honour or hang himself with the u-21s coming through.
Post by: Rossfan on November 17, 2011, 11:58:23 AM
Quote from: Syferus on November 17, 2011, 01:09:40 AM
And on Dineen, he was involved with this year's minor team (you'd have spotted his running up and down the touchline at any given match),

Unlike in his playing days  :D
Best wishes to all our new managers - Des , Nigel, Gareth Carroll with the minors and Paul Staunton with the U 16s.
Post by: ross4life on November 17, 2011, 05:32:01 PM
And on Dineen, he was involved with this year's minor team (you'd have spotted his running up and down the touchline at any given match), so it makes sense that he'd take the u-21 job. He has the tools to honour or hang himself with the u-21s coming through.
Another Castlerea man Derek Duggan was involved with the U-21s this year i thought he would have got the job before Dineen.
Post by: spuds on November 18, 2011, 12:52:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 17, 2011, 11:58:23 AM
And on Dineen, he was involved with this year's minor team (you'd have spotted his running up and down the touchline at any given match),

Unlike in his playing days  :D
Best wishes to all our new managers - Des , Nigel, Gareth Carroll with the minors and Paul Staunton with the U 16s.

Did Ross Shannon step down from the minors or was his term up and not renewed ? Had the Rossies very well organised this year.
Post by: Rossfan on November 18, 2011, 01:49:11 PM
Ross mentioned his other  commitments not leaving him the time required for the role.