GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shortso79 on October 03, 2011, 09:32:45 PM

Title: 2012 Championship Draws
Post by: Shortso79 on October 03, 2011, 09:32:45 PM

The draws for the GAA Senior Hurling and Senior Football Championships will take place on Thursday October 6th at 8:00pm and will be televised on RTE2.
Title: Re: 2012 Championship Draws
Post by: 4father on October 03, 2011, 09:59:09 PM
Jaysus, no time wasted there. 
Post by: Shortso79 on October 03, 2011, 10:01:26 PM
I know - I'd say the draft league fixtures will be out next week
Post by: Aaron Boone on October 03, 2011, 10:31:45 PM
Maybe let's the Connacht team book their trip to NYC nice & early.
Post by: FermGael on October 03, 2011, 10:43:54 PM
Do we have to???
Post by: commonman on October 03, 2011, 11:00:51 PM
nothing to do with connacht /new york as the five counties go in rotation. Next year Sligo go to New York and Leitrim go to London.

I presume the draw at this time of year allows for the comipilation of the master fixture list this side of Christmas
Post by: ross4life on October 04, 2011, 05:17:43 PM
Have a feeling we'll get Mayo in Castlebar.
Post by: redandblack4ever on October 05, 2011, 09:02:39 PM
They did them this early last year as well. I was in Ireland a year ago and I remember calling Mr. Wonderful with the results of the Ulster Draw.

Mrs. redandblack4ever
Post by: Orior on October 05, 2011, 10:58:30 PM
Ulster:

Prelim - Donegal v Cavan

Quarter Finals:
Fermanagh v Down
Cavan v Armagh
Derry v Tyrone
Monaghan v winners of Prelim

(Remember you heard it hear first)
Post by: spuds on October 05, 2011, 11:03:45 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 05, 2011, 10:58:30 PM
Ulster:

Prelim - Donegal v Cavan

Quarter Finals:
Fermanagh v Down
Cavan v Armagh
Derry v Tyrone

poor wee Antrim
Post by: Orior on October 05, 2011, 11:10:05 PM
Quote from: spuds on October 05, 2011, 11:03:45 PM
Ulster:

Prelim - Donegal v Cavan

Quarter Finals:
Fermanagh v Down
Cavan v Armagh
Derry v Tyrone

poor wee Antrim

Feck it.

Prelim - Donegal v Cavan

Quarter Finals:
Fermanagh v Down
Antrim v Armagh
Derry v Tyrone

(Remember you heard it here second)

Post by: rrhf on October 06, 2011, 08:55:57 AM
First time 2 outside managers came up against each other in the Ulster championship.
Paddy O Rourke V The Baker.  Can  Antrim improve on a nothing year for them?  Would defeat send Armagh into freefall?
Should be a fascinating tussle*

This is oriors hypothetical draw so this tie may not even take place - if it dosent comments do not apply*
Post by: AQMP on October 06, 2011, 11:06:41 AM
Quote from: spuds on October 05, 2011, 11:03:45 PM
Ulster:

Prelim - Donegal v Cavan

Quarter Finals:
Fermanagh v Down
Cavan v Armagh
Derry v Tyrone

poor wee Antrim

I'd be happy enough with that draw!!
Post by: here comes 6 on October 06, 2011, 07:55:57 PM
Down will win ulster in 2012

(you heard it here first)
Post by: armaghniac on October 06, 2011, 08:04:58 PM
QuoteDown will win ulster in 2012

They are bound to eventually win something in this century, so one of these years you will be right. Probably not 2012 though.

Edit: The flukey draw may help.  :(
Post by: Shortso79 on October 06, 2011, 08:14:41 PM
Munster

Semi : Clare v Waterford / Limerick

Qtr : Waterford v Limerick

Semi : Cork v Kerry / Tipperary

Qtr : Kerry v Tipperary
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 06, 2011, 08:20:01 PM
State of the smirk on Prenty's face. :D
Post by: Shortso79 on October 06, 2011, 08:20:57 PM
Connaught

New York v Sligo

London v Leitrim

Galway v Roscommon

Mayo v London / Leitrim

New York / Sligo  v Galway / Roscommon

Post by: Shortso79 on October 06, 2011, 08:23:53 PM
Ulster

Preliminary : Cavan v Donegal

Cavan / Donegal v Derry

Fermanagh v Down

Monaghan v Antrim

Armagh v Tyrone

Armagh / Tyrone v Cavan / Donegal / Derry

Fermanagh / Down v Monaghan / Antrim
Post by: glens73 on October 06, 2011, 08:24:34 PM
Donegal the "Leinster" Champions
Post by: ross4life on October 06, 2011, 08:25:54 PM
Looking at the Ulster draw one would have to fancy Down. Bad draw for us but we shouldn't fear any team in Connacht.
Post by: Shortso79 on October 06, 2011, 08:32:33 PM
Leinster

Westmeath v Louth

Westmeath / Louth v Dublin

Longford v Laois

Longford / Laois v Wexford

Meath v Wicklow

Meath / Wicklow v Carlow

Offaly v Kildare

Offaly / Kildare v Meath / Wicklow / Carlow

Westmeath / Louth / Dublin  v Longford / Laois / Wexford 
Post by: sans pessimism on October 06, 2011, 08:33:40 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 06, 2011, 08:25:54 PM
Looking at the Ulster draw one would have to fancy Down. Bad draw for us but we shouldn't fear any team in Connacht.
soft enough for Mayo to get to the CF
Post by: J70 on October 06, 2011, 08:34:18 PM
Tough title defense for Donegal. Home draw again if we make quarters though! :)
Post by: gerry on October 06, 2011, 08:35:13 PM
I see down got a bye
Post by: gerry on October 06, 2011, 08:37:23 PM
Wonder how long it will be until we have tread on each match
Post by: Farneylawd2011 on October 06, 2011, 08:37:40 PM
My Provincal Winners  :D :D :D
Leinster :Meath
Ulster:Tyrone
Connacht:Roscommon
Munster:Cork
Post by: J OGorman on October 06, 2011, 08:39:21 PM
Jesus wept..Done-f**king-gal

(You heard it here first)
Post by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2011, 08:54:18 PM

Delighted with that. Kildare will be hot favorites.
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 06, 2011, 08:59:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 06, 2011, 08:54:18 PM

Delighted with that. Kildare will be hot favorites.

Yerra
Post by: Jinxy on October 06, 2011, 09:10:24 PM
Does Pat Baker still play for Wicklow?
Post by: sheamy on October 06, 2011, 09:17:01 PM
first game of rugby league to be played in Celtic Park...an historic occasion with Uachtarán na hÉireann McGuinness throwing in the ball.
Post by: bcarrier on October 06, 2011, 09:27:41 PM
Danny picked well tonight.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 06, 2011, 09:47:39 PM
Antrim will be very happy with that draw, avoiding Armagh Tyrone and the Ulster champions

Monaghan will be confident of getting past us so that may work for Antrim
Post by: stew on October 06, 2011, 09:47:56 PM
I am going home for the Tyrone game, can't wait.
Post by: saffronandblue on October 06, 2011, 09:49:48 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 06, 2011, 08:20:01 PM

Saw that as well......, that said, it won't pay off the debts on McHale Park.
Post by: J OGorman on October 06, 2011, 10:01:51 PM
Quote from: sheamy on October 06, 2011, 09:17:01 PM
first game of rugby league to be played in Celtic Park...an historic occasion with Uachtarán na hÉireann McGuinness throwing in the ball.

Sure its celtic pk, not ballybofey?
Post by: BennyCake on October 06, 2011, 10:06:25 PM
Was Armagh be at home v Tyrone?
Post by: J OGorman on October 06, 2011, 10:14:01 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 06, 2011, 10:06:25 PM
Was Armagh be at home v Tyrone?

Yessir
Post by: Onlooker on October 06, 2011, 11:33:07 PM
FFS, what a feckin draw in Munster again.   Tipp play Kerry in the 1st round for the 3rd year in a row and for the 7th time since 2000.  Are we ever going to get a break from those blazers taking the names out of the bowls.  >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2011, 11:44:24 PM
Quote from: saffronandblue on October 06, 2011, 09:49:48 PM

Them boys will be hoping for Ros to come out on top against Galway and Sligo. Also hoping Mayo will beat Leitrim.
Post by: ross4life on October 06, 2011, 11:56:21 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2011, 11:44:24 PM

Them boys will be hoping for Ros to come out on top against Galway and Sligo. Also hoping Mayo will beat Leitrim.
Mayo will be expecting to beat Leitrim or London to set up a Connacht final in Salthill.
Post by: muppet on October 07, 2011, 12:11:29 AM
Quote from: ross4life on October 06, 2011, 11:56:21 PM

Mayo will be expecting to beat Leitrim or London to set up a Connacht final in Salthill.

Sligo will hardly want to travel to Salthill. Imagine the knashing of Sligonian teeth and bashing of keyboard!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 07, 2011, 12:18:59 AM
Quote from: muppet on October 07, 2011, 12:11:29 AM
Quote from: ross4life on October 06, 2011, 11:56:21 PM

Sligo will hardly want to travel to Salthill. Imagine the knashing of Sligonian teeth and bashing of keyboard!
Id gladly travel to Salthill for a Connacht final to watch Sligo, we were a disgrace last yr at all levels and unless a miracle happens we can expect more of the same. We'll do well to beat NY im afraid. Expect Sligo to be very quiet in the lead up to the summer. Although if injury free and management sort out the mess theyve made well then maybe i'll be optimistic, im more interested in the minors and u21 tbh with the changes of management there but not really 2 fcks do i give about this draw although i did watch it, but absolutely no excitement at all associated with it. We play NY first and thats all i care about.
Post by: AQMP on October 07, 2011, 09:12:22 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 06, 2011, 09:47:39 PM
Antrim will be very happy with that draw, avoiding Armagh Tyrone and the Ulster champions

Monaghan will be confident of getting past us so that may work for Antrim

We'll take that, avoiding Tyrone, Derry, Donegal and Armagh is the best the Saffs could hope for.  A day out in Clones too!!
Post by: passedit on October 07, 2011, 10:07:14 AM
Quote from: Shortso79 on October 06, 2011, 08:23:53 PM
Ulster

Preliminary : Cavan v Donegal

Cavan / Donegal v Derry

Fermanagh v Down

Monaghan v Antrim

Armagh v Tyrone

Armagh / Tyrone v Cavan / Donegal / Derry

Fermanagh / Down v Monaghan / Antrim

May I belately add my voice to the Percy must stay campaign.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 07, 2011, 01:55:10 PM
Happy enough with that. Chance for us to avenge some recent defeats to Louth and if you're gonna catch the Dubs in Leinster you have to do it early. Easy enough draws haven't done us any favours in the last couple of years so at least we'll know where we are at early on. Some draw for the boys from the east, guaranteed semi I'd say.
Post by: ross matt on October 07, 2011, 03:55:52 PM
Galway v Roscommon will be an interesting one. Both sides with new managers by then. Roscommon will be looking to build on their improvement by beating the tribesmen who in turn will surely have improved hugely from this season and last. Even Stevens.
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2011, 06:28:46 PM
Plus where long overdue a home championship win over Galway.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 07, 2011, 06:36:05 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 07, 2011, 06:28:46 PM
whoever wins will have some momentum coming into a final v Mayo(provided Mayo struggle through against London/leitrim)
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2011, 06:44:56 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on October 07, 2011, 06:36:05 PM
whoever wins will have some momentum coming into a final v Mayo(provided Mayo struggle through against London/leitrim)
Winner has to play Sligo away (Mayo know how difficult that fixture is)
Post by: sans pessimism on October 07, 2011, 07:51:25 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 07, 2011, 06:44:56 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on October 07, 2011, 06:36:05 PM
Winner has to play Sligo away (Mayo know how difficult that fixture is)
2010 still very fresh in the mind
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 07, 2011, 08:01:28 PM
Think Mayo got a real easy draw, only lack of momentum seems to be the negative. Why can't they have round balls in the bowl not those cylinders which well are hardly hard to spot where they are going. For instance when Mayo went into the second bowl I could swear I thought Prenty took a sneeky look  :D
Post by: laoislad on October 07, 2011, 09:25:36 PM
I'm sick of Longford....Jaysis they will have to beat us sometime!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 07, 2011, 09:26:42 PM
Wouldn't bet on it  :(

And I am sick of ye as well!
Post by: laoislad on October 08, 2011, 12:04:53 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 07, 2011, 09:26:42 PM
Wouldn't bet on it  :(

And I am sick of ye as well!

When was last time..1968?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 08, 2011, 12:24:32 AM
Aye Laoislad. Aye.

A game I missed due to the fact I was 18 months old. I have never seen footage or even an action pic from this or even a pic of a Longford man with the cup.

GAA media was shite in the 60s  >:(
Post by: laoislad on October 08, 2011, 12:34:06 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 08, 2011, 12:24:32 AM
Aye Laoislad. Aye.

A game I missed due to the fact I was 18 months old. I have never seen footage or even an action pic from this or even a pic of a Longford man with the cup.

GAA media was shite in the 60s  >:(

The best I can do for you SS is...
It's as close as you'll get... :)

Longford team 1968 Leinster Final
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/1968_seniorfootballleinster_longford.jpg)

Leinster Cup..
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/laoisdelaney.jpg)

Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 08, 2011, 11:41:34 AM

Ara don't be winding me up. I have that pic over the bed. Thing is I have nothing else from that day. No pub I have ever been in in Longford has a pic of the day the cup came to the pub with the team. Surely there was some of that in 1968.

Maybe there wasn't a Delaney Cup back then. Would some of the elderly Leinsterarians cast some light?
Post by: Maguire01 on October 08, 2011, 07:16:45 PM
Happy enough with the draw v Antrim. Under Banty, I would have thought Monaghan should be aiming for an Ulster final with a draw like that, but with the current set-up I wouldn't be too confident. Still, we can only improve on 2011!
Post by: Gold on October 08, 2011, 07:34:43 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 08, 2011, 07:16:45 PM
Happy enough with the draw v Antrim. Under Banty, I would have thought Monaghan should be aiming for an Ulster final with a draw like that, but with the current set-up I wouldn't be too confident. Still, we can only improve on 2011!

Happy enough with the draw too. Monaghan is a good new draw for us, a team i cant remember us playing

Delighted with the news that Joe McVeigh below is joining the management team  ;)

http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com/video/Antrim-Clubs-2011/ODonnells/Movie-Star-Joe-McVeigh-Antrim-JFC-Winner-707

I wish!!
Post by: Jinxy on October 08, 2011, 11:59:03 PM
The flourbags are probably already talking about playing us in the semi-final, the cocky bastards.
They've no respect for Offaly.
Post by: John79 on October 09, 2011, 12:03:31 AM
VERY good Ulster draw!!!!! Down for Ulster SFC final appearance at least!!! Looking forward to a day out in Enniskillen to start off with
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 09, 2011, 04:39:31 AM
Quote from: John79 on October 09, 2011, 12:03:31 AM
VERY good Ulster draw!!!!! Down for Ulster SFC final appearance at least!!! Looking forward to a day out in Enniskillen to start off with

O FFS another Ulster poster, and this site travels further from reality  :-[
Post by: sans pessimism on October 09, 2011, 09:16:55 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 09, 2011, 04:39:31 AM

O FFS another Ulster poster, and this site travels further from reality   :-[
should  be called
'UlsterChampionship draw 2012'
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 10, 2011, 01:43:29 PM

You would say that.  :D ;D ;)

It will be a hard ask for Donegal to retain the Anglo-Celt this coming year!
But the team should improve on some of this past years performances and Jim will be a year more experienced (and hopefully a wee bit more attacking).
Post by: AZOffaly on October 10, 2011, 03:48:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 08, 2011, 11:59:03 PM
The flourbags are probably already talking about playing us in the semi-final, the cocky b**tards.

That's the way we like it. We'll take them.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 10, 2011, 06:27:13 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on October 09, 2011, 09:16:55 AM

should  be called

A feck sake I don't need an echo in here, my views are off the wall, one of us is enough  :P
Post by: sans pessimism on October 10, 2011, 08:05:15 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 10, 2011, 06:27:13 PM

should  be called

A feck sake I don't need an echo in here, my views are off the wall, one of us is enough  :P
sorry didnt realise you were the moderator
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 10, 2011, 08:56:51 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 10, 2011, 03:48:19 PM
The flourbags are probably already talking about playing us in the semi-final, the cocky b**tards.

I thought this was the football draw for next year, not the hurling?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 10, 2011, 09:09:33 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on October 10, 2011, 08:05:15 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 10, 2011, 06:27:13 PM

should  be called

sorry didnt realise you were the moderator

Just got a bit thrown, having someone agree with me on this board, is a bit off-putting  ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on October 10, 2011, 09:15:15 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on October 10, 2011, 08:56:51 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 10, 2011, 03:48:19 PM

I thought this was the football draw for next year, not the hurling?

It's the football alright. Ye'll know all about it next summer :D