Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Minder on October 03, 2011, 09:00:11 PM

Title: Amanda Knox & Raffaele Sollecito freed on appeal in Kercher case
Post by: Minder on October 03, 2011, 09:00:11 PM
Just announced.
Title: Re: Amanda Knox & Raffaele Sollecito freed on appeal in Kercher case
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2011, 09:05:07 PM
Look forward to her first porno.
Post by: Minder on October 03, 2011, 09:09:47 PM
A massive lawsuit on the way I would think.
Post by: Orior on October 03, 2011, 09:15:26 PM
So who did the dastardly deed?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2011, 09:19:26 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 03, 2011, 09:15:26 PM
The poor black chap Rudy Guede appears to be the scapegoat. His conviction was upheld on appeal but reduced to 16 years.
Post by: Minder on October 03, 2011, 09:20:19 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 03, 2011, 09:15:26 PM

There is a fella that was convicted at the same time as them, he had his sentence reduced to 16 years on appeal. I remember reading that the US were putting pressure on the Italians to release her. She did try and blame an innocent man for the murder too, which was nice. Not much craic for Kerchers family.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 03, 2011, 09:21:30 PM
Which will be first?

The 'stolen' sex tape
The Playboy spread
Running for Sinn Fein in 2025 presidential election
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2011, 09:26:59 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 03, 2011, 09:21:30 PM
Which will be first?

The 'stolen' sex tape
The Playboy spread
Running for Sinn Fein in 2025 presidential election
Certain for something "sexy" within a few years. Look forward to it.

Certainly portrayed as someone who won't lose much sleep for the Kercher family when she's touring the chat show circuit.
Post by: Tyrones own on October 03, 2011, 09:28:36 PM
Surprized....wasn't expecting that verdict  :-\
Post by: NAG1 on October 04, 2011, 09:01:49 AM
Wonderful what a bit of money and a good legal team behind her can do.
Post by: nifan on October 04, 2011, 09:02:12 AM
Neither was the daily mail given they put up an article saying she had failed in her appeal, describing the situation and throwing in a few quotes from the prosecution!
Post by: HiMucker on October 04, 2011, 09:49:33 AM
In fairness the evidence against her was shambolic.  It must be confusing for jurors when you have leading experts in DNA giving completely different points of view.
Post by: Hashtag on October 04, 2011, 10:53:16 AM
Someone give us a brief run-down on how they have got off. I don't want a copy paste job from some newspaper I want it in real person terms. Step up someone.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 04, 2011, 11:08:27 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on October 04, 2011, 10:53:16 AM
Someone give us a brief run-down on how they have got off. I don't want a copy paste job from some newspaper I want it in real person terms. Step up someone.

she was white and rich. the one convicted was black and poor (dont really know tbh)  :)
Post by: HiMucker on October 04, 2011, 11:53:23 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on October 04, 2011, 10:53:16 AM
The DNA evidence against them was deemed by independent experts to be well below international standards.  That is the amount of DNA evidence on the alleged murder weapon ( there was massive doubt that the knife used as evidence of the prosecution was actually the murder weapon) and the procedures used in collecting and testing this evidence was seriously flawed.
Also the media and prosecution portrayal particularly of Amanda Knox, meant that the defense was able to raise concerns that the police and prosecution were trying to make the shoe fit rather than looking at the evidence with an open mind.
The other bloke that's already doing time for it, was used as a prosecution witness, admitted that he did not see Knox at the house but only heard her voice.  This again was easy for the defense team to rip apart.
Her family also spent a fortune on a PR campaign to combat what they saw as a trial by media in Italy.

All in all its hard to know what bloody happened, but from reading up on a fair bit of the evidence it only seems right that they were acquitted.
They could well be guilty, but judging by there reactions and conduct, and speeches by their family I would have to say I think they are innocent.  Also the Kercher family have not publicly condemned them, which would tell you they just don't know either and feel they have not got justice for their daughter/sister.
Post by: muppet on October 04, 2011, 11:57:26 AM
Did they explain why she lied and tried to pin it on the other guy who was proven innocent originally?
Post by: sheamy on October 04, 2011, 12:02:35 PM
Forget the evidence and stuff...

would ya go there?
Post by: HiMucker on October 04, 2011, 12:16:04 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 04, 2011, 11:57:26 AM
Did they explain why she lied and tried to pin it on the other guy who was proven innocent originally?
She possibly could have accused him in the same way she herself was accused.   Ie.  she felt that his behaviour either before or after pointed to his guilt.  This is obviously wrong, but it does not mean she is guitly.
Also a cellmate of Rude Guede (who is a convicted child killer) testified that he confessed to him that he and unnamed male accomplice committed the murder.

I should have also stated above that the "sex game" story that the prosecution has stuck rigidly to is only a theory, and there is no evidence to suggest rape.
Post by: AQMP on October 04, 2011, 12:17:32 PM

Knox claimed that this statement was coerced out of her by the police.

Part of the original evidence that played a big part was Knox's "odd" behaviour when questioned by the police and her seeming indifference to Kercher's death.

This appeal seems to have rested on the defence successfully challenging the DNA evidence that put Knox and Sollectio at the scene on the night of the murder and also identified a knife found in Sollecito's kitchen being the murder weapon.  Without a murder weapon and any evidence that they were at the scene at the time of the murder it seems reasonable that their appeal was allowed?
Post by: muppet on October 04, 2011, 12:24:34 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on October 04, 2011, 12:16:04 PM
She possibly could have accused him in the same way she herself was accused.   Ie.  she felt that his behaviour either before or after pointed to his guilt.  This is obviously wrong, but it does not mean she is guitly.
Also a cellmate of Rude Guede (who is a convicted child killer) testified that he confessed to him that he and unnamed male accomplice committed the murder.

I should have also stated above that the "sex game" story that the prosecution has stuck rigidly to is only a theory, and there is no evidence to suggest rape.

Knox said that Lumumba her boss did it, not Guede. In the appeal she withdrew that claiming the police had pressurized her into blaming him.
Post by: HiMucker on October 04, 2011, 12:24:39 PM
Quote from: sheamy on October 04, 2011, 12:02:35 PM
Forget the evidence and stuff...

would ya go there?
Indeed I would.  Wouldnt mind seeing her Naples!
Post by: HiMucker on October 04, 2011, 12:28:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 04, 2011, 12:24:34 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on October 04, 2011, 12:16:04 PM

Knox said that Lumumba her boss did it, not Guede. In the appeal she withdrew that claiming the police had pressurized her into blaming him.
Sorry muppet, thats not what I meant.  I was elluding to the possibiliity that even know Lumumba was exonerated, maybe he was Guedes accomplice.  Though other posters has explained why she pointed the finger at him.
Post by: orangeman on October 04, 2011, 01:26:30 PM
Did Kercher's family not make a plea to the jury not to acquit her believing that she was indeed the murderer ?

She's in for millions of $$$ now. The chat show circuit and the newspaper interviews await.

Then the movie !.
Post by: HiMucker on October 04, 2011, 02:31:37 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 04, 2011, 01:26:30 PM
Did Kercher's family not make a plea to the jury not to acquit her believing that she was indeed the murderer ?She's in for millions of $$$ now. The chat show circuit and the newspaper interviews await.

Then the movie !.
Dont think they said this.  There main issue was how could there be such a radical overturn from the first outcome to this one
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 04, 2011, 02:37:43 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on October 04, 2011, 02:31:37 PM
Did Kercher's family not make a plea to the jury not to acquit her believing that she was indeed the murderer ?She's in for millions of $$$ now. The chat show circuit and the newspaper interviews await.

Then the movie !.
Dont think they said this.  There main issue was how could there be such a radical overturn from the first outcome to this one

The dna evidence on which most of the case was based was discredited. Without this the convictions were unsafe.
Post by: J OGorman on October 04, 2011, 03:00:45 PM
Did Kercher's family not make a plea to the jury not to acquit her believing that she was indeed the murderer ?

She's in for millions of $$$ now. The chat show circuit and the newspaper interviews await.

Then the movie !.

you got a link for the Kercher's plea?

do you think she would swap the millions to never have gone through the ordeal in the first place?
Post by: muppet on October 04, 2011, 03:17:09 PM
The whole thing stinks. I think the right guy is probably in prison but the behaviour of Knox and her ex-boyfriend is very suspicious. I have no idea what happened but if they were completely innocent was it so hard to hard to stick to a story, why point the blame in the wrong direction and given that they were each others' alibi, why fall out?
Post by: AQMP on October 04, 2011, 03:20:04 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 04, 2011, 03:17:09 PM
The whole thing stinks. I think the right guy is probably in prison but the behaviour of Knox and her ex-boyfriend is very suspicious. I have no idea what happened but if they were completely innocent was it so hard to hard to stick to a story, why point the blame in the wrong direction and given that they were each others' alibi, why fall out?

One thing that I didn't realise about their relationship until I read it this morning is that far from being a lovey-dovey couple, Sollecito and Knox had only known each other for a week before the murder.  Now I'm all for love at first sight but...
Post by: seafoid on October 04, 2011, 04:02:34 PM
I think it's all that far left  Obama's fault.-
Post by: Tyrones own on October 04, 2011, 04:09:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 04, 2011, 04:02:34 PM
Fcuk...speaking of radical turn arounds  :D
Post by: thebigfella on October 04, 2011, 04:20:32 PM

Makes a change from blaming Israel and Jew's.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 04, 2011, 05:13:02 PM
This whole thing stinks i read the book on it last year and been following it quite a bit and i think its ridiculous that they got off. If i was a juror and she was in front of me they would both be going down!
Post by: Bingo on October 04, 2011, 05:19:28 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 04, 2011, 05:13:02 PM
This whole thing stinks i read the book on it last year and been following it quite a bit and i think its ridiculous that they got off. If i was a juror and she was in front of me they would both be going down!

Explain then. My looking at it suggests alot of the pointers suggesting their guilt are "gut feelings" and circumstances rather than hard tight evidence.

Strangest thing is that both their phones were off on the night in question and they just couldn't back up a reason why this was the case and it was noted by investigators that their phones hadn't been off prior to this for any prolonged length of time. Seems to be plenty of stuff like that, but hardly enough to throw away the keys.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 04, 2011, 05:22:47 PM
I know nothing about this case.
I haven't followed it at all.
I have no interest in the evidence produced at the trial nor at the appeal.
I haven't heard any statements from the families involved bar the bits that have been in the news over the last few days.
I look at Knox and I am convinced she did it, she has the look of a baddun hidden behind those baddun eyes. 
Disgrace that she got off >:(
Post by: Bingo on October 04, 2011, 05:26:23 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 04, 2011, 05:22:47 PM
I haven't heard any statements from the families involved bar the bits that have been in the news over the last few days.
I look at Knox and I am convinced she did it, she has the look of a baddun hidden behind those baddun eyes. 

You's Cross men trust no-one  ;)

Post by: tyrone girl on October 04, 2011, 05:27:02 PM
To be honest with you id need to run me eyes over the book again as it was a while since i read it. I do know that before reading it i had a completely open mind and after reading it they disgusted me and i thought it was glaringly and blatantly obvious they done it. As for hard facts i need to read it again as to what put them away at the original trial. It was an enthralling read from what i can remember. Must hoke it out tonight again if i can find it. Would be interesting to read it again knowing what has just happened now
Post by: Bingo on October 04, 2011, 05:31:53 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 04, 2011, 05:27:02 PM
To be honest with you id need to run me eyes over the book again as it was a while since i read it. I do know that before reading it i had a completely open mind and after reading it they disgusted me and i thought it was glaringly and blatantly obvious they done it. As for hard facts i need to read it again as to what put them away at the original trial. It was an enthralling read from what i can remember. Must hoke it out tonight again if i can find it. Would be interesting to read it again knowing what has just happened now

I've heard people who have read the book say that she is a very messed up individual, they doubt she done it but that she was just very extreme in her lifestyle and a troubled person. She would have been incapable of covering up what she had done.

Must read it myself.
Post by: AQMP on October 04, 2011, 05:42:40 PM

I think that's what got her into this mess in the first place...

I'll get me coat...
Post by: ross4life on October 04, 2011, 05:42:54 PM
Good read on the case http://www.rollingstone.com/culture/news/the-neverending-nightmare-of-amanda-knox-20110627?

Post by: J OGorman on October 04, 2011, 05:47:46 PM
Quote from: Bingo on October 04, 2011, 05:31:53 PM

I've heard people who have read the book say that she is a very messed up individual, they doubt she done it but that she was just very extreme in her lifestyle and a troubled person. She would have been incapable of covering up what she had done.

Must read it myself.

who wrote the book?

surely it should be taken with a pinch of salt given that the juicier the content, the more it will sell. Extreme in her lifestyle, what does that mean? she liked promiscuous sex? 3 somes? recreational drugs from time to time? watersports? a story can be spun and sensationalised to make even an ordinary Joe like me look like Robert Downey Jr's wingman back in the day..
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 04, 2011, 06:02:41 PM
Quote from: Bingo on October 04, 2011, 05:26:23 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 04, 2011, 05:22:47 PM

You's Cross men trust no-one  ;)

As your namesake once said "say nothing till ye hear more!"

I never give any credence to books, documentaries, newspaper reports etc about anything anymore.  Everything and everyone has an agenda and unless I sat through the evidence myself I would find it very hard to make a definitive decision on whether someone is guilty or not.  I have actually sat through a court case and found it hard to determine whether a person did do what they were accused of. 

The Italian Prosecution service are appealing this so they must feel that there will be a strong enough case to re-convict.  I wonder will the PR machine still be able to keep momentum through an appeal?
Post by: HiMucker on October 04, 2011, 06:04:54 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on October 04, 2011, 05:47:46 PM
Quote from: Bingo on October 04, 2011, 05:31:53 PM

Must read it myself.

who wrote the book?

surely it should be taken with a pinch of salt given that the juicier the content, the more it will sell. Extreme in her lifestyle, what does that mean? she liked promiscuous sex? 3 somes? recreational drugs from time to time? watersports? a story can be spun and sensationalised to make even an ordinary Joe like me look like Robert Downey Jr's wingman back in the day..
Thats true lad.  I have often thought if i was charged in the wrong for murder, that my internet history would see me locked away for the rest of my days  :D
Post by: belleaqua on October 04, 2011, 06:26:40 PM

Is this the book that commentators reckon will be first up in a defamation case? Just wondering which one it is as there is more than one in it.

How anyone believes Amanda Knox should be in jail tonight is beyond me. The verdict was not that they could not prove it beyond reasonable doubt but that 'no crime was committed.'

She might not fit the profile of the girl next door but the way her past and some of her actions were portrayed was absolutely shocking.  To make things worse this is what many people believed made her guilty rather than the absence of any credible evidence. Scary stuff. Imagine your future in the hands of a jury of such people if one was ever unfortunate enough to end up in a similar situation.
Post by: muppet on October 04, 2011, 06:44:51 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on October 04, 2011, 06:26:40 PM

Is this the book that commentators reckon will be first up in a defamation case? Just wondering which one it is as there is more than one in it.

How anyone believes Amanda Knox should be in jail tonight is beyond me. The verdict was not that they could not prove it beyond reasonable doubt but that 'no crime was committed.'

She might not fit the profile of the girl next door but the way her past and some of her actions were portrayed was absolutely shocking.  To make things worse this is what many people believed made her guilty rather than the absence of any credible evidence. Scary stuff. Imagine your future in the hands of a jury of such people if one was ever unfortunate enough to end up in a similar situation.

You will have to explain this. How was no crime committed? Did Amanda Kercher commit suicide?
Post by: belleaqua on October 04, 2011, 06:57:35 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 04, 2011, 06:44:51 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on October 04, 2011, 06:26:40 PM

You will have to explain this. How was no crime committed? Did Amanda Kercher commit suicide?

No she didnt. The verdict was no crime was committed by Amanda Knox or Raffaele Sollecito.
Post by: gallsman on October 04, 2011, 07:33:52 PM

What book would this be that it gets the definite article?

TG, is it you that is a trainee solicitor? Perhaps you'd care to explain in what sort of fair judicial system someone could be legitimately convicted based on evidence that was clearly proven to be inadmissible?
Post by: tyssam5 on October 04, 2011, 08:53:12 PM

Why did Gerry Conlon's aunt end up implicated? Police.
Post by: laoislad on October 04, 2011, 08:54:23 PM
She must be gagging for the ride after 4 years in jail.
Post by: muppet on October 04, 2011, 08:59:36 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on October 04, 2011, 08:53:12 PM

This is a partition thing isn't it?
Post by: tyssam5 on October 04, 2011, 09:00:02 PM
Seems like they had started too far down the road of looking at her, because she's weird, prior to finding Guede's shit in the toilet and bloody hand-print on the wall. After that they made up a story to fit them all in backed up by junk science. Anyone ever heard of 2 students, together with a random stranger killing another student in a sex-game with knives? No? Any-one ever heard of a man breaking into a house and killing a girl inside it? Yes?
Post by: under the bar on October 04, 2011, 09:20:55 PM
Is it true or not that they both staged a break in to the flat to implicate someone else?
Post by: tyssam5 on October 04, 2011, 09:34:27 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 04, 2011, 09:20:55 PM
Is it true or not that they both staged a break in to the flat to implicate someone else?

There was argument as to whether a break-in was staged or not. But I doubt they took shit from the chaps arse and staged it in the toilet or chopped his hands off to stage his palm print in blood. Nor did they stage his fleeing to Germany after the crime was committed.
Post by: muppet on October 04, 2011, 09:44:00 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on October 04, 2011, 09:34:27 PM

There was argument as to whether a break-in was staged or not. But I doubt they took shit from the chaps arse and staged it in the toilet or chopped his hands off to stage his palm print in blood. Nor did they stage his fleeing to Germany after the crime was committed.

Post by: seafoid on October 04, 2011, 10:20:31 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 04, 2011, 04:09:36 PM
Fcuk...speaking of radical turn arounds  :D

Here boy! Sit!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 04, 2011, 10:30:57 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 04, 2011, 08:54:23 PM
You offering your services? She's maybe got plenty in gaol.
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 04, 2011, 10:31:32 PM
Most of the media seem to think it was the right decision to acquit them given the flimsy evidence, with the exception of the Sunday Independant who claim Martin McGuinness did it and they have a new poll on Sunday to prove it.
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 05, 2011, 09:03:14 AM
Your man's name is an anagram of Lose fellatio farce. Probably irrelevant though.
Post by: sheamy on October 05, 2011, 09:56:37 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 04, 2011, 10:30:57 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 04, 2011, 08:54:23 PM
You offering your services? She's maybe got plenty in gaol.

you'd wouldn't know if it would be the night of your life or the last night of your life. kinda exciting though. If she asks can she bring a friend, just say no.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 05, 2011, 11:17:24 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on October 04, 2011, 09:34:27 PM

It seems more likely than anything that the man convicted of the killing did it.  He said he was in the bog and when he came out he was confronted by a knife wielding maniac.  It would seem more realistic that he was trying it on and more than likely couldn't handle being shot down.  Everyone here going on about books and documentaries need to take a step back and realise that most of these are produced to back up their initial view that Knox was the culprit.  This case really illustrates how powerful the media can be, with Knox being painted in a terrible light from day one by every paper, magazine and tv report about.  She is apparently this sex mad crazy horse who is into satanic rituals - but where is the evidence to back this up?  Even if this were true, if you are a sex mad person into satanic rituals does that automatically mean you are the murder?  We tend to consciously and subconsciously absorb everything we hear and read and treat it as factual.  Most average people would believe that Knox is the killer and that is simply down to the way she has been portrayed, and not in light of the evidence.  There are some interesting issues that have been raised which do seem to raise suspicion (phones off on night of murder; accusing her boss), but again there could be rational explanations for these.  God knows how any of us would react if we were in a foreign country and being interrogated unethically or illegally for hours upon hours day after day in a language we didn't speak fluently, you would probably end up saying anything once they break you just for a bit of respite.  Even people saying that because she looks like an evil b**tch then she must have murdered is unbelievable.  People simply see her in that way because they have been convinced by the media that she is a cold blooded killer, if it were any of us on trial we would be looked at in the same light. 

Good short article found below:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/italy/8803077/Amanda-Knox-Guilty-or-innocent-five-reasons-why.html (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/italy/8803077/Amanda-Knox-Guilty-or-innocent-five-reasons-why.html)
Post by: sans pessimism on October 05, 2011, 12:26:06 PM
Dunno whose right or wrong but its so sad for the Kercher family
Post by: haranguerer on October 05, 2011, 01:18:47 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on October 05, 2011, 12:26:06 PM
Dunno whose right or wrong but its so sad for the Kercher family

That two people are cleared of her murder?  ???
Post by: Man Marker on October 05, 2011, 01:19:58 PM
I have followed this story with a keen interest, and still don't know whats right or wrong. Feel for both parties
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 05, 2011, 02:26:38 PM
I was convinced Knox did it, have to say I am still suspicious. Seems political pressure and lots of money can go a very long way. Then again, the Italians did release her.
Post by: All of a Sludden on March 26, 2013, 02:40:46 PM
Foxy Knoxy faces a retrial.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-21936308
Post by: orangeman on March 26, 2013, 02:41:40 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on March 26, 2013, 02:40:46 PM

She's under no obligation to return to Italy for any part in the retrial.

All over.
Post by: take_yer_points on March 26, 2013, 02:42:42 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 26, 2013, 02:41:40 PM

All over.

"The American student lives in Seattle but, if convicted, Italy could seek her extradition."
Post by: orangeman on March 26, 2013, 02:54:24 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on March 26, 2013, 02:42:42 PM

All over.

"The American student lives in Seattle but, if convicted, Italy could seek her extradition."

Won't happen. All over.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 26, 2013, 02:57:12 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on March 26, 2013, 02:42:42 PM

All over.

Even if convicted there is no way the yanks are handing her over at this stage.
Post by: balladmaker on March 26, 2013, 03:52:12 PM
QuoteEven if convicted there is no way the yanks are handing her over at this stage.

Once she got on the plane out of Italy after being freed on retrial it was all over, there is no way the US will extradite one of its citizens back to Italy.  She may be found guilty in her absence, but won't matter a damn.

If she is guilty, she has to live with her conscience for the rest of her life.
Post by: orangeman on March 26, 2013, 04:03:28 PM
Breaking news -

(Reuters) - Italian Foreign Minister Giulio Terzi declared on Tuesday that he was resigning because he did not agree with last week's decision to send two marines back to India to face trial for murder.

"I can no longer be part of this government and I announce my resignation," Terzi said during testimony to the lower house of parliament. "My reservations about sending the marines back to India were not listened to."

Mario Monti's caretaker government on Friday reversed a March 11 decision not to send the marines back to face trial for the murder of two Indian fisherman during anti-piracy duty on a commercial tanker in February 2012.

Post by: Orior on March 26, 2013, 04:34:48 PM
Was this affair one of those threesomes that a certain social media site was warning us all about?
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 30, 2014, 10:08:49 PM
AN ITALIAN COURT has convicted American Amanda Knox and her Italian former boyfriend Raffaele Sollecito for a second time for the murder of a British student in Perugia in 2007.
The court sentenced Knox to 28 years and six months in prison and Sollecito to 25 years for the murder of Meredith Kercher, over two years after Knox was released from prison.
She and Sollecito had served four years in prison.
Their convictions were overturned in October 2011, but the Italian criminal justice system does not preclude double jeopardy.
Today, after nearly 12 hours of deliberations, an appeals court reinstated the original verdicts for the pair.
Solecito was in court this morning, but did not return for the verdict. Knox, meanwhile, was in America with, in her words "her heart in her throat".
The verdict raises the possibility of a lengthy legal battle between the US and Italy. If Italy submits an extradition request, the US will have to decide if the request falls under the extradition treaty, but even then, there is no guarantee they would send the 26-year-old to Italy.
An Ivorian drifter, Rudy Guede is currently serving a 16-year term for Kercher's murder.
Post by: seafoid on January 30, 2014, 10:50:40 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 30, 2014, 10:08:49 PM
AN ITALIAN COURT has convicted American Amanda Knox and her Italian former boyfriend Raffaele Sollecito for a second time for the murder of a British student in Perugia in 2007.
The court sentenced Knox to 28 years and six months in prison and Sollecito to 25 years for the murder of Meredith Kercher, over two years after Knox was released from prison.
Their convictions were overturned in October 2011, but the Italian criminal justice system does not preclude double jeopardy.
Today, after nearly 12 hours of deliberations, an appeals court reinstated the original verdicts for the pair.
Solecito was in court this morning, but did not return for the verdict. Knox, meanwhile, was in America with, in her words "her heart in her throat".
The verdict raises the possibility of a lengthy legal battle between the US and Italy. If Italy submits an extradition request, the US will have to decide if the request falls under the extradition treaty, but even then, there is no guarantee they would send the 26-year-old to Italy.
An Ivorian drifter, Rudy Guede is currently serving a 16-year term for Kercher's murder.
a joke IMO
Post by: orangeman on January 30, 2014, 11:20:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 30, 2014, 10:50:40 PM
a joke IMO

A joke that USA won't send her back to serve her sentence ?

In Italy people seem to get sentenced to jail terms but don't always have to actually go to prison ?
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 31, 2014, 04:59:40 AM

So are they going to release Guede, or was he implicated along with the other two?
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2014, 08:10:32 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on January 31, 2014, 04:59:40 AM

So are they going to release Guede, or was he implicated along with the other two?
He implicated himself via  a plea bargain so he got 30% off .
The Italian police  have been a joke on this from the start.

They were obsessed about Knox's sex life
As is the Daily Mail

Modern day horny witch
Post by: HiMucker on January 31, 2014, 09:12:55 AM
Did Guede plead guilty?
Post by: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 09:47:44 AM
As far as i recall Guede did plead guilty, dont think he had much choice he was well implicated.

Think she is guilty as sin in my opinion
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2014, 09:51:22 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 31, 2014, 09:12:55 AM
Did Guede plead guilty?
I'm pretty sure he did in the plea bargain so he got a reduced sentence
16 years versus 25+ for the others
Post by: HiMucker on January 31, 2014, 10:04:07 AM
Cheers.  Well this is the problem I have.  I like Tyrone girl, thought she was guilty as sin too at the start, but I never seen anything in news stories mentioning Guede saying that they done it.  Surely if he has plead guilty, the prosecution would have him court pointing the other two out as well?  Maybe I have missed something and this has happened, but I haven't heard of it.  Can someone fill me in!
Post by: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 10:09:26 AM
I have read 3 books on it (i know they are a lot of the time full of crap) but anyway its that long ago im trying to recall what he actually said about them or if he even really spoke about it at all. I cant remember that he even implicated them at all though my memory isnt the best. Actually wouldnt mind reading one again this weekend to refresh my memory.

Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 31, 2014, 10:13:26 AM
Without having to trawl through the previous pages, can someone in a brief synopsis, explain what exactly is going on here, what the big deal ,or what were they at?
Explain it in simple layman terms...

is it just not the case that a girl was killed by her 'mate' and the black dude was framed for it?
Post by: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 10:17:04 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on January 31, 2014, 10:13:26 AM
Without having to trawl through the previous pages, can someone in a brief synopsis, explain what exactly is going on here, what the big deal ,or what were they at?
Explain it in simple layman terms...

is it just not the case that a girl was killed by her 'mate' and the black dude was framed for it?

What do you want explained? What supposedly happened or what?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 31, 2014, 10:19:46 AM
What supposedly happenend and whats all the fuss about..why is the case getting so much media attention.
Not to sound too blasé, but murders happen every day of the week.
Whats the big tickle with this Knox wan.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 31, 2014, 10:23:21 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 31, 2014, 10:14:47 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 31, 2014, 10:04:07 AM
Cheers.  Well this is the problem I have.  I like Tyrone girl, thought she was guilty as sin too at the start, but I never seen anything in news stories mentioning Guede saying that they done it.  Surely if he has plead guilty, the prosecution would have him court pointing the other two out as well?  Maybe I have missed something and this has happened, but I haven't heard of it.  Can someone fill me in!
That's nice.

That's what I thought! Just come out and say it.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 10:27:37 AM
Think it was the nature of it being foreign exchange student living with girls and has her throat cut and as she was english it was well documented over here.
General jist was they were flatmates and knox apparently landed home to find the house broken into and meredith lying naked in her bedroom with her throat slit.

Several inconsistencies in her story which also led to her telling the police it was her boss who actually done it and had him arrested!!!!

I read a book on it, then read merediths fathers book then read amanda knox book. She actually explained a lot of it away but i still came away from reading all three believing she did it. I did falter a bit whilst reading her book but in general my opinion didnt change.
Post by: HiMucker on January 31, 2014, 10:58:33 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 31, 2014, 10:14:47 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 31, 2014, 10:04:07 AM
That's nice.
Sure she is one of us!  I have to say that  ;)
Post by: deiseach on January 31, 2014, 11:00:50 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 10:27:37 AM
I read a book on it, then read merediths fathers book then read amanda knox book.

Sounds like tough going.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 11:10:45 AM
Why? I love reading and the case interested me. Damm all wrong with that.
Post by: deiseach on January 31, 2014, 11:17:42 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 11:10:45 AM

That's cool. I would have thought they'd be a slog. It's an emotive subject and a lot of the content would be pure conjecture.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 31, 2014, 11:18:23 AM
Was there some sort of sinister sexual cult carry-on to the whole thing or what?
Why is Knox being labelled as Foxy Knoxy.
Post by: deiseach on January 31, 2014, 11:21:56 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on January 31, 2014, 11:18:23 AM

Because a) she is and b) it rhymes. The whole affair has been a case for Media Studies 101.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 11:22:04 AM
Quote from: deiseach on January 31, 2014, 11:17:42 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 11:10:45 AM

That's cool. I would have thought they'd be a slog. It's an emotive subject and a lot of the content would be pure conjecture.

Didnt read them all together though to be fair. Was quite some time between each one i think. Im a bit morbid in that sense i am very interested in true crime type books.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 11:26:02 AM
Was there some sort of sinister sexual cult carry-on to the whole thing or what?

The police seemed to clasp onto both knox and the boyfriends behavior after the murder took place. Then people started coming out of the woodwork with stories about her.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 11:30:05 AM
Was there much evidence against her apart from her telling fibs with regard her story etc?  Was the knife they found proven to be the murder weapon?  Was Foxys DNA on it?  If so, how do argue thats proof of anything if she more than likely used that knife prior to the murder as she lived in the house.  What did Guede say happened?
Post by: gallsman on January 31, 2014, 11:35:34 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 11:26:02 AM

The police seemed to clasp onto both knox and the boyfriends behavior after the murder took place. Then people started coming out of the woodwork with stories about her.

In your solictor's training, was there a course on how to draw conclusions based on media reporting and books written by the key stakeholder in a particular case?
Post by: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 11:44:27 AM
It sounds stupid me saying that i actually cant remember the ins and out after following it so much but i think her dna was found on a certain knife in the boyfriends house which also had merediths dna on it but could be completely wrong in that as there was something about a knife being inadmissable as evidence in the retrial.

There was stuff about the phones etc both being off from exact times of murder, the fact she implicated her boss and said it was him and she found him in the house after committing the murder. Then the phone records apparently showed that they didnt phone the police when they say they did etc.  Small things about the window being apparently broken from the inside and it only made to look like a robbery. Apparently then merediths friends said whilst they were all waiting to be questioned she was talking about the way the body was lying on the floor etc when she hadnt actually seen it. All of course seemingly circumstancial evidence but there was also dna involved somewhere. Im annoyed now that i cant remember things about it. Really want to read again.

Guede im thinking now didnt implicate them at the time but down the line added them into his story.

Im confusing myself now   :-\
Post by: Main Street on January 31, 2014, 11:51:23 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 11:30:05 AM
Was there much evidence against her apart from her telling fibs with regard her story etc?  Was the knife they found proven to be the murder weapon?  Was Foxys DNA on it?  If so, how do argue thats proof of anything if she more than likely used that knife prior to the murder as she lived in the house.  What did Guede say happened?
Actual hard core evidence? this is Italy, the prosecutor just has to make the circumstance fit the crime no matter how farcical the story is and it's regarded as proof enough if it makes compelling fantasy soap drama.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 11:52:03 AM
Quote from: gallsman on January 31, 2014, 11:35:34 AM

In your solictor's training, was there a course on how to draw conclusions based on media reporting and books written by the key stakeholder in a particular case?

When i have Solicitors training then i will come back and try and answer that question for you. Im allowed to draw whatever conclusions i like. Thats life. We all draw conclusions and they wont make a damm bit of difference to the outcome of her case. Im allowed an opinion . On how i base that opinion isnt your business.
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2014, 12:06:43 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 11:52:03 AM
Quote from: gallsman on January 31, 2014, 11:35:34 AM

When i have Solicitors training then i will come back and try and answer that question for you. Im allowed to draw whatever conclusions i like. Thats life. We all draw conclusions and they wont make a damm bit of difference to the outcome of her case. Im allowed an opinion . On how i base that opinion isnt your business.
Of course you are but how do you back it up?
Because she looks shifty ?
Post by: southdown on January 31, 2014, 12:22:13 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 31, 2014, 11:21:56 AM

Because a) she is and b) it rhymes. The whole affair has been a case for Media Studies 101.

Foxy Knoxy is a self tile, her Myspace page name was Foxy Knoxy.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 31, 2014, 12:32:08 PM
If you read my posts i read books on it from all sides of the coin and my feeling was she was guilty as sin. If you also read my posts i have stated that i do not recall all the ins and outs of the case as quite some time has passed since i read them. At the time however from what i read feel she was guilty. I havnt read anything since that leads my opinion to change. I have no idea what really happened exactly but im still capable of forming my own opinion based on whatever i like.
Post by: deiseach on January 31, 2014, 12:33:11 PM
Quote from: southdown on January 31, 2014, 12:22:13 PM
Foxy Knoxy is a self tile, her Myspace page name was Foxy Knoxy.

A happy coincidence. The media would have used the term in any case. Of course, if someone can find evidence that Catherine Nevin called herself the Black Widow on her Myspace page. . . ;)
Post by: gallsman on January 31, 2014, 01:20:18 PM
When i have Solicitors training then i will come back and try and answer that question for you.

Apologies, bit of a fuzzy memory. You do or did work in the legal profession though, yes? Then you'd be familiar with the concept of proving someone's guilt I expect. In order to do this, the judicial systems in most first world countries rely on things like, oh I don't know, evidence or something. Not opinion based on hearsay.

Unfortunately in this case, like many other first world judicial systems, Italy's can be an absolute joke.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 31, 2014, 01:31:07 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 31, 2014, 01:20:18 PM
When i have Solicitors training then i will come back and try and answer that question for you.

Apologies, bit of a fuzzy memory. You do or did work in the legal profession though, yes? Then you'd be familiar with the concept of proving someone's guilt I expect. In order to do this, the judicial systems in most first world countries rely on things like, oh I don't know, evidence or something. Not opinion based on hearsay.

Unfortunately in this case, like many other first world judicial systems, Italy's can be an absolute joke.

Jeez she's just given her opinion. I'm sure she's not expecting the Italian judicial system to base their decision on the opinion of someone on the internet.
Post by: deiseach on January 31, 2014, 01:54:18 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 31, 2014, 01:31:07 PM
Jeez she's just given her opinion. I'm sure she's not expecting the Italian judicial system to base their decision on the opinion of someone on the internet.

An opinion based on far more research than anyone else here.
Post by: StephenC on January 31, 2014, 05:04:37 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 31, 2014, 01:54:18 PM

Not true. I read a post from someone who read 3 books on the subject. How much more research do expect from me FFS.
Post by: deiseach on January 31, 2014, 05:08:33 PM
Quote from: StephenC on January 31, 2014, 05:04:37 PM

Not true. I read a post from someone who read 3 books on the subject. How much more research do expect from me FFS.

If you would like to give us the benefit of your wisdom, feel free.
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2014, 07:43:47 PM

i think maddie did it. I read it serialised in the daily mail.And i saw it on sky. I could read the sky.
Post by: seafoid on February 01, 2014, 01:09:51 AM
http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jan/31/amanda-knox-raffaele-sollecito-case-harsh-verdict-italian-justice

A case that began as tragedy and turned swiftly to farce under the glare of the international media spotlight has thus taken on new tragic overtones. It boils down to an Italian justice system more interested in saving face than in looking at the evidence. In another judicial environment, the focus might be on the multiple pieces of evidence presented in court by the Perugia police and by the original prosecutor, Giuliano Mignini, which fell apart on closer scrutiny; on the fact that Mignini was fighting off criminal charges of prosecutorial misconduct when he mounted the original case; on the fact that Sollecito was put in solitary confinement for six months solely on the basis of the blood-stained print of a shoe that was later demonstrated not to be his; or on the fact that chief homicide detective on the case, Monica Napoleoni, has since been removed from her job on suspicion that she abused her position to try to intimidate her ex-husband in a child custody dispute.

Those who believe Knox and Sollecito are guilty have often complained that the memory of the crime victim, Meredith Kercher, has been lost in the media shuffle. The real scandal, though, is the way the entire Italian judicial system has itself tarnished Kercher's memory by chasing phantoms and needlessly tormenting two wholly innocent young people, all because it won't admit that it blew the case from the start.
Post by: seafoid on February 01, 2014, 08:46:07 AM
http://www.theguardian.com/world/video/2014/jan/30/amanda-knox-exclusive-video-interview-guilty-video
Post by: orangeman on November 05, 2014, 10:32:29 PM
Made the news. Now is reading it :

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2821269/Amanda-Knox-hired-freelance-reporter-writing-weekly-Seattle-newspaper.html