GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sans pessimism on September 13, 2011, 10:10:56 PM

Title: Young player of the year
Post by: sans pessimism on September 13, 2011, 10:10:56 PM
As we come towards the end of another GAA season our minds turn towards awards.My personal choice for Young Player is Mayo youngster Cillian O' Connor.
Title: Re: Young player of the year
Post by: Sam2011 on September 13, 2011, 10:32:41 PM
Agree with you sans. Should win hands down. Quality player. Awesome composure for a 19 year old. Was full sure he would miss that first free in Hyde, with the sheep stealer's booing at him and with the strong wind. Glad he proved me wrong. Just the beginning of a great journey for him. Some lad for one lad I tell yeah that. Future looking bright for Mayo GAA.

C'MON THE GREEN AND RED!!!!!!!
Post by: nrico2006 on September 14, 2011, 08:54:44 AM
Peter Harte
Post by: David McKeown on September 14, 2011, 09:01:19 AM
Don't think he'll win it but would Jamie Clarke be eligible?

Post by: Oak Leafer on September 14, 2011, 09:24:10 AM
I would have thought Paul Flynn would be nailed on, however i'm unsure what age he is exactly??
Post by: liihb on September 14, 2011, 10:16:59 AM
He's 25, too olds I would have thought.

Rory O'Carroll if he plays OK on Sunday would be in witha chance I would think
Post by: Stevie g 8 on September 14, 2011, 10:47:54 AM
agree with cillian o connor,played well against roscommon,cork and kerry
Post by: The Hill is Blue on September 14, 2011, 10:49:58 AM
Ciaran Kilkenny - in Football and Hurling.

A reincarnation of the great Des Foley
Post by: rrhf on September 14, 2011, 11:32:47 AM
Petie Harte nailed on cert..
Post by: EagleLord on September 14, 2011, 11:44:46 AM
What is the age bracket for to be considered a 'young player'... under 21? Peter Harte is in with a great shout. To step into that team, and play consistantly well as he did, kicking some great dead-balls too. Some pressure for a 19yr old? I think hes 19 anyway..
Post by: ballinaman on September 14, 2011, 12:20:56 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on September 14, 2011, 11:44:46 AM
What is the age bracket for to be considered a 'young player'... under 21? Peter Harte is in with a great shout. To step into that team, and play consistantly well as he did, kicking some great dead-balls too. Some pressure for a 19yr old? I think hes 19 anyway..
Rory O'Carroll barring a roasting on Sunday.
Post by: liihb on September 14, 2011, 12:59:23 PM
Age is under 23 I think, does it have to be debut year?
Post by: sheamy on September 14, 2011, 01:03:25 PM

He missed any with any pressure on them. The misses were a major factor in Tyrone losing the Donegal game. Anonmyous v Dublin. I don't get it? Good player surely but I just cannot see where the case for young player of the year comes from.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 14, 2011, 01:48:58 PM
Quote from: sheamy on September 14, 2011, 01:03:25 PM

He missed any with any pressure on them. The misses were a major factor in Tyrone losing the Donegal game. Anonmyous v Dublin. I don't get it? Good player surely but I just cannot see where the case for young player of the year comes from.

The ones against Donegal had no more pressure on them than the ones he scored in any other games.  The game was not in doubt until the two goals at the end.  He was brilliant against Monaghan, Longford, Armagh and Roscommon and ended the season with a good tally but he was also the creator for alot of Tyrone scores and set-up quite a few of their goals. 
Post by: sans pessimism on September 14, 2011, 10:00:53 PM
good talent coming through throughout the country
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 14, 2011, 10:05:30 PM
No contest really - Rory O'Carroll.
Post by: ross4life on September 14, 2011, 10:30:19 PM
O'Carroll would be my pick as well but the young player of the year was decided on the final performance last year.

A mention for one of our own, three years in a row Donal Shine has finished as the top scorer in Connacht not bad for a 22 year old.
Post by: sans pessimism on September 14, 2011, 10:52:22 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 14, 2011, 10:05:30 PM
No contest really - Rory O'Carroll.
In fairness there is QUITE a contest really
Post by: Throw ball on September 15, 2011, 12:23:23 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on September 14, 2011, 09:01:19 AM

It would be great if a player could receive such an award for club performances but as always the winner will probably come from a player from a county in the later stages of the championship. For what it is worth Jamie Clarke was outstanding in the Ulster and All Ireland club finals and for Armagh against Down and both Wicklow games.
Away from this the best performances I have seen from a young player in matches I have been at both came from Peter Harte. I think O'Carroll will win the award.
Post by: David McKeown on September 15, 2011, 12:31:06 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on September 15, 2011, 12:23:23 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on September 14, 2011, 09:01:19 AM

It would be great if a player could receive such an award for club performances but as always the winner will probably come from a player from a county in the later stages of the championship. For what it is worth Jamie Clarke was outstanding in the Ulster and All Ireland club finals and for Armagh against Down and both Wicklow games.
Away from this the best performances I have seen from a young player in matches I have been at both came from Peter Harte. I think O'Carroll will win the award.

I more meant would he be eligible on the basis he was talked up last year after his performances against Derry and Donegal and so this wouldnt be his first season
Post by: rosnarun on September 15, 2011, 01:07:11 AM
gooch doest look over 23 yet he must have it nailed down for the 10th year in a row
failing that my vote goes to Kieran O'Leary
Post by: southsidejohnny on September 15, 2011, 09:32:38 AM
It has to be someone from the medias favorites...Kildare. Beheny in the Indo yesterday pencilled 3 of them in for All Stars. This is a team who have lived in division 2 for four years, who have beaten nobody of note outside Leinster and who have won nothing in Leinster but who happen to have McGeeney as manager. Reminds me of 1997 when they got 3 All Stars. How? good question...they won one championship match, lost to Meath in the Leinster semi final and that was it...oh by the way Micko was manager as well.
So in a break with tradition lets lift the age limit for the young player of the year and call it "Young Player of The Year and your in with a shout if you are nearly forty". Then Johnny Doyle can get it.
Post by: Canalman on September 15, 2011, 10:03:56 AM
Quote from: southsidejohnny on September 15, 2011, 09:32:38 AM
It has to be someone from the medias favorites...Kildare. Beheny in the Indo yesterday pencilled 3 of them in for All Stars. This is a team who have lived in division 2 for four years, who have beaten nobody of note outside Leinster and who have won nothing in Leinster but who happen to have McGeeney as manager. Reminds me of 1997 when they got 3 All Stars. How? good question...they won one championship match, lost to Meath in the Leinster semi final and that was it...oh by the way Micko was manager as well.
So in a break with tradition lets lift the age limit for the young player of the year and call it "Young Player of The Year and your in with a shout if you are nearly forty". Then Johnny Doyle can get it.

Breheny's article was about Allstar possibles NOT involved in the AIF.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 15, 2011, 10:19:51 AM
2010 Aidan Walsh Cork Kanturk
2009 Michael Murphy Donegal Glenswilly
2008 Tommy Walsh Kerry Kerins O'Rahilly's
2007 Killian Young Kerry Renard
2006 Keith Higgins Mayo Ballyhaunis
2005 Aaron Kernan Armagh Crossmaglen
2004 Niall Tinney Fermanagh Irvinestown
2003 Stephen O'Neill Tyrone Clann na nGael
2002 Rónán Clarke Armagh Pearse Óg

2001 Cormac McAnallen Tyrone Eglish St. Patrick's
2000 Joe Bergin Galway Mountbellew-Moylough CLG
1999 Philip Clifford Cork Bantry Blues
1998 Michael Donnellan Galway Dunmore McHales
1997 Mike Frank Russell Kerry Laune Rangers

Just looking at the past winners and i notice that Gooch never received this award!
if the age s under 21 then he would have been eligable for the years in bold!
Post by: tyroneboi on September 15, 2011, 10:31:48 AM
I didnt think Stephen O'Neill won young player of the year in 2003?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 15, 2011, 11:24:50 AM
Quote from: tyroneboi on September 15, 2011, 10:31:48 AM
i dont think he did either, was it not sean cavanagh?
Post by: From the Bunker on September 15, 2011, 12:03:32 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 15, 2011, 11:24:50 AM
Quote from: tyroneboi on September 15, 2011, 10:31:48 AM
i dont think he did either, was it not sean cavanagh?

Copied and Pasted from Wiki, had a look elsewere and it looks like SC was YPOTY.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 15, 2011, 01:05:04 PM

That's the second year in a row you've posted that re '97. Did Davy Dalton win an All-Star ahead of your brother or something?

Mick O'Dwyer described Glenn Ryan's performance against Laois in '97 (when Kildare played with 13 men for over an hour) as the finest centre-back display he ever witnessed in Croke Park. I think all the Meath posters would endorse Nuxer's All-Star selection at midfield that year too. He played unbelievable football up against the great John McDermott during that three game saga.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 15, 2011, 01:26:54 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 15, 2011, 01:05:04 PM

That's the second year in a row you've posted that re '97. Did Davy Dalton win an All-Star ahead of your brother or something?

Mick O'Dwyer described Glenn Ryan's performance against Laois in '97 (when Kildare played with 13 men for over an hour) as the finest centre-back display he ever witnessed in Croke Park. I think all the Meath posters would endorse Nuxer's All-Star selection at midfield that year too. He played unbelievable football up against the great John McDermott during that three game saga.

DH, why bother? If he can't appreciate the football played in that 3 game saga why entertain him as his opinion is clearly flawed.

Amusing how some Dublin supporters having a chip on their shoulder over media praise of Kildare. Personally from a Kildare perspective while nice to read I'd wish it was a bit more disparaging though.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 15, 2011, 01:37:29 PM
I think Kildare deserved 15 All Stars that year. They won us a Leinster :D
Post by: sans pessimism on September 15, 2011, 03:04:40 PM
We're veering off the topic lads --all-star posts are elsewhere
Post by: sans pessimism on September 15, 2011, 09:09:54 PM
Any of the Kerry team qualify for this award
Post by: Orangemac on September 17, 2011, 08:38:27 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 15, 2011, 10:19:51 AM
2010 Aidan Walsh Cork Kanturk
2009 Michael Murphy Donegal Glenswilly
2008 Tommy Walsh Kerry Kerins O'Rahilly's
2007 Killian Young Kerry Renard
2006 Keith Higgins Mayo Ballyhaunis
2005 Aaron Kernan Armagh Crossmaglen
2004 Niall Tinney Fermanagh Irvinestown
2003 Stephen O'Neill Tyrone Clann na nGael
2002 Rónán Clarke Armagh Pearse Óg

2001 Cormac McAnallen Tyrone Eglish St. Patrick's
2000 Joe Bergin Galway Mountbellew-Moylough CLG
1999 Philip Clifford Cork Bantry Blues
1998 Michael Donnellan Galway Dunmore McHales
1997 Mike Frank Russell Kerry Laune Rangers

Just looking at the past winners and i notice that Gooch never received this award!
if the age s under 21 then he would have been eligable for the years in bold!
In a lot of these years this award was like a 16th All Star in that the YPOTY didn't receive an actual All Star. Gooch probably did in these years.
Post by: western exile on September 17, 2011, 11:20:05 PM
Wasn't Gooch runner up in 2002?
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2011, 01:16:13 AM
Hard to believe that the Gooch has never won Player of the Year or Young Player of the Year - even including the GPA event.
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 18, 2011, 01:31:45 AM
Gooch will be happy if he gets his 5th AI Medal and lifts Mr Maguire today.

Player of the year and All Stars are just vanity awards.
Post by: trileacman on September 18, 2011, 05:31:46 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 18, 2011, 01:31:45 AM
Gooch will be happy if he gets his 5th AI Medal and lifts Mr Maguire today.

Player of the year and All Stars are just vanity awards.
Went well anyway.
Post by: sans pessimism on September 19, 2011, 07:42:59 PM
A lot of the gang on the SG went for Cillian O' Connor
Post by: kevmy on September 19, 2011, 08:32:39 PM
I would say it's between Rory O'Caroll and Cillian O'Connor.

As a Mayoman I've seen more of O'Connor so obviously I think he should get it. Played very well against Galway and Ros and got a great goal against Kerry. Add to that his freetaking under pressure and in terrible conditions.
Post by: ross4life on September 19, 2011, 09:03:58 PM
Quote from: kevmy on September 19, 2011, 08:32:39 PM
I would say it's between Rory O'Caroll and Cillian O'Connor.

As a Mayoman I've seen more of O'Connor so obviously I think he should get it. Played very well against Galway and Ros and got a great goal against Kerry. Add to that his freetaking under pressure and in terrible conditions.

I thought O'Connor was quiet enough v Galway & in Connacht final from play, if he wins the young player of the year it will be for his performances in Croke park v Cork & Kerry.

I'm open to correction but i think the most scored off O'Carroll this year was 0-2

Post by: Sam2011 on September 19, 2011, 09:17:22 PM
I really believe Cillian O'Connor should win.
He's been outstanding in every game he has played.
He was quite in the Galway game alright. It was so refreshing to watch him play in Hyde. He won his frees and took them very well. He stays so came in every situation. When the free was taken off him because he took 40 odd seconds to take a free he was the only Mayo player on the pitch to keep the cool. In the Cork and Kerry game he was all over the pitch mopping up ball and had a great goal against Kerry also.
Player for the future!
Post by: saffronandblue on September 19, 2011, 09:19:37 PM
Have not seen enough of O' Carroll, but he seemed to get a lesson yesterday from Donaghy. who could and should have scored 2 goals.  No more than the Donegal defenders it is easier to defend when there are 13 men in your own half.  That said, young Cillian has no chance.....the media won't be pushing for a culchie for the title.
Post by: sans pessimism on September 19, 2011, 10:53:36 PM
Quote from: saffronandblue on September 19, 2011, 09:19:37 PM
Have not seen enough of O' Carroll, but he seemed to get a lesson yesterday from Donaghy. who could and should have scored 2 goals.  No more than the Donegal defenders it is easier to defend when there are 13 men in your own half.  That said, young Cillian has no chance.....the media won't be pushing for a culchie for the title.
Agreed Saff young O' Carroll was destroyed by Donaghy,and I think that if Star was FF  for the full match, Kerry would have won.(thank God he wasn't!)
Post by: INDIANA on September 19, 2011, 11:01:41 PM

Rory O Carroll marked Decllan O Sullivan out of it. You've obviously missed that bit. Donaghy only marked ROC for 20 mins. Then again you'd have to have watched the game to know that.
Post by: sans pessimism on September 19, 2011, 11:16:57 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 19, 2011, 11:01:41 PM

Rory O Carroll marked Decllan O Sullivan out of it. You've obviously missed that bit. Donaghy only marked ROC for 20 mins. Then again you'd have to have watched the game to know that.
Jeez INDI touchy,touchy. am I not right that Donaghy won every ball off him??or mabye you were watching the soccer for that 20 mins
Post by: INDIANA on September 20, 2011, 07:30:43 AM
Quote from: sans pessimism on September 19, 2011, 11:16:57 PM

Jeez INDI touchy,touchy. am I not right that Donaghy won every ball off him??or mabye you were watching the soccer for that 20 mins

He won 2 balls. Neither of which he scored a goal from. He scored a point with an illegal handpass over the bar. And he had a shot blocked. The rest of the game he marked James Mc Carthy. ROC saw off Declan O Sullivan- I suppose he's not a  good player?
Post by: nrico2006 on September 20, 2011, 08:48:50 AM
Still reckon Peter Harte should get it.  Showed leadership beyond his years this year.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 20, 2011, 10:31:32 AM
Rory oCarroll def young player of the year.
Great season. Kept his cool on sunday even though being hit and pushed by donaghy- and the same big eejit was mouthing at the young lad seemingly every time the two were on camera.

While Colm Cooper is a great forward, I have to say the fawning over him and talk of his 'genius' really bemuses me.
The example where he scored a good goal on sunday, but in the replay, the commentator or co commentator said that it was 'genius' to take up such a position in front of the goal to get the ball in order to score.
No it wasnt. In underage its called goal hanging.
Excempionally good scorer, but this nonsensical fawning rubbish from the likes of spillane and even Mr Brolly is OTT.
There was no genius on show on Sunday from him, and Crossmaglen showed up a lack of Genius in an AI club final when he was up against even lesser mortals!
....and they say Dublin are all hype !!!
Post by: HiMucker on September 20, 2011, 10:57:20 AM
Aye that was really annoying.  The goal was all about darren o sullivan.  If it had of been the other way round and cooper made the run and passed it to Darren, they would be ridin cooper saying he handed the goal on a plate to O sullivan.  One of the best forwards I have seen but the the OTT praise for him doing the run of the mill stuff is bonkers.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 20, 2011, 11:02:54 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on September 20, 2011, 10:57:20 AM
Aye that was really annoying.  The goal was all about darren o sullivan.  If it had of been the other way round and cooper made the run and passed it to Darren, they would be ridin cooper saying he handed the goal on a plate to O sullivan.  One of the best forwards I have seen but the the OTT praise for him doing the run of the mill stuff is bonkers.

I agree. In my view the most important forward for Kerry is Declan O'Sullivan, and when he isn't going well, as in the final, Kerry are greatly diminished in my view. Cooper is their most natural scorer, no doubt about it, and an excellent player, but sometimes the media seem to feel they have to make the guy a superstar. He's good enough and his talent and achievements speak for themselves, you don't need Canning or Marty exaggerating every thing he does.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 20, 2011, 11:18:43 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 20, 2011, 11:15:30 AM
That said, he took the goal absolutely superbly, picking his spot and casually stroking it past Cluxton.

He's a brilliant forward, deadly when he gets a chance. They don't have to exaggerate, that's the thing. It actually means when he does something great you sort of shrug your shoulders because they make it sound like everything he does is beyond mere mortals.
Post by: orangeman on September 20, 2011, 11:20:54 AM
Here's the difference  -  Donaghy had 2 chances of goals  - one he drove straight at the full back and keeper and the other he decided not to even bother and fisted it over the bar -  Cooper's finish was outstanding. It might be a run of the mill finish for him and a few of best forwards in the country but not run of them mill for the vast majority.
Post by: Tony Daily on September 20, 2011, 11:32:00 AM
another difference between Gooch and the rest is that - in the Semi Final and Final Gooch scored 2-04 from play BB 0-02 from play AB 0-02 from play Darren 0-01 from play Declan 0-01 from play BC 0-01 from play DC 0-00 from play PF 0-00 from play etc... The Gooch is a freak - Dont think he had his best season but in the two most important games of the yr he scored 2-10 in total - Genius
Post by: saffronandblue on September 20, 2011, 12:44:24 PM

I refer to my quote at half time in the senior game on Sunday when I mention that Declan O' Sullivan was been fouled by his marker at every opportunity.  Just because the ref chose to ignore it does not mean it was great defending.  It's easy to mark someone when you can foul continuously without any frees been given.  Had the frees been given, as they should have been, then the performance of the full back would be more questionable.
Post by: Jinxy on September 20, 2011, 12:50:22 PM
That said, he took the goal absolutely superbly, picking his spot and casually stroking it past Cluxton.

It was never in doubt really.
His conversion ratio of scores to chances is unreal.
Post by: HiMucker on September 20, 2011, 03:50:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 20, 2011, 12:50:22 PM

It was never in doubt really.
His conversion ratio of scores to chances is unreal.
I remember hearing the stat that one year that Kerry won the all ireland or were beat in the final he had missed only one shot, which was for a point, and it came of the post, he got the rebound and scored a goal from it.  He missed one shot and by doing so his scores per chances ration increased!  The point is he his that good you dont need to hype everything he does.
Post by: sans pessimism on September 20, 2011, 04:15:57 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 20, 2011, 07:30:43 AM

He won 2 balls. Neither of which he scored a goal from. He scored a point with an illegal handpass over the bar. And he had a shot blocked. The rest of the game he marked James Mc Carthy. ROC saw off Declan O Sullivan- I suppose he's not a  good player?
I agree with you-he's a fine player,,,but he couldn't handle big Don-not the first or last one that will happen to.Keeping with my origanal point,there are 4 or 5 in with a shout of winning so this talk of "definately X" or" Has to be Y" just means that some posters are just a little tunnel visioned.PS-thought young Nolan was superb on Sunday.
Post by: ballinaman on September 20, 2011, 04:51:19 PM
Rory O'Carroll is hardly going to get an All-Star and not young player of the year. No contest really!
Post by: sans pessimism on September 20, 2011, 05:08:08 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on September 20, 2011, 04:51:19 PM
Rory O'Carroll is hardly going to get an All-Star and not young player of the year. No contest really!
Why-Gooch has plenty of all-stars,2002,2004,2005,2007,2010-Had to be young enough at least ONE of these years ;)
Post by: orangeman on September 20, 2011, 11:47:20 PM
BETTING: 2011 Footballer Of The Year (Paddy Power): 2/5 Alan Brogan 15/8 Darran O'Sullivan 10/1 Bernard Brogan 10/1 Stephen Cluxton 12/1 Colm Cooper 33/1 Rory O'Carroll 50/1 Kevin Nolan 66/1 Karl Lacey 100/1 Declan O'Sullivan 100/1 Bryan Sheehan 100/1 Kevin McManamon

Post by: Sleater on September 21, 2011, 03:54:07 PM
Rory O'Carroll
Peter Harte
Cillian O'Connor
Ben Brosnan
Tomas O'Connor
Paddy McBreaty
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on September 21, 2011, 04:06:00 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 19, 2011, 09:03:58 PM

I thought O'Connor was quiet enough v Galway & in Connacht final from play, if he wins the young player of the year it will be for his performances in Croke park v Cork & Kerry.

I'm open to correction but i think the most scored off O'Carroll this year was 0-2

You are right about the Galway game but in the Connacht final, O'Connor was Mayo's most creative forward. He was either fouled for or had the assist for four of Mayo's points and it would have been five had Michael Collins not pulled him up for time on his self-earned free. The Galway game was his first championship start so you'd give him a pardon on that but in the other three games he was very good.
Post by: spuds on September 21, 2011, 05:30:37 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on September 21, 2011, 04:06:00 PM

You are right about the Galway game but in the Connacht final, O'Connor was Mayo's most creative forward. He was either fouled for or had the assist for four of Mayo's points and it would have been five had Michael Collins not pulled him up for time on his self-earned free. The Galway game was his first championship start so you'd give him a pardon on that but in the other three games he was very good.

Would Collins have had the cajones to pull up Cluxton on the length of time it took for the winning free to be taken ? A lot easier to call a young buckeen trying to lay claim for a regular start. Not complaining about Cluxton BTW, the ref should of added a further 45 secs/1 minute to the allocated 2 mins.
Post by: ross4life on September 21, 2011, 06:40:05 PM

A stronger ref wouldn't have given half of those frees though O'Connor was superb in converting & winning them but I'm going to be biased for me the best forward on display that day was Donal Shine & his marker was dropped after that game.

Post by: muppet on September 21, 2011, 07:27:59 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 21, 2011, 06:40:05 PM

A stronger ref wouldn't have given half of those frees though O'Connor was superb in converting & winning them but I'm going to be biased for me the best forward on display that day was Donal Shine & his marker was dropped after that game.

We know any Rossie will say Shine was the best player on view that day and some Mayos might even agree, but that has nothing to do with O'Connor and whether he is a runner for YPOTY.
Post by: ross matt on September 21, 2011, 09:44:55 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2011, 07:27:59 PM

We know any Rossie will say Shine was the best player on view that day and some Mayos might even agree, but that has nothing to do with O'Connor and whether he is a runner for YPOTY.

Any fair observer would say Shine was the best player on the day and he was also excellent v Leitrim and Tyrone. However O'Connor had a longer season and bar the Galway match was very effective especially from frees. Like Mayo in general he improved as the season went on and was phenomenal v Cork. Worthy winner of young player of the year if he gets it and I hope he does.
Post by: ross4life on September 21, 2011, 09:50:13 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2011, 07:27:59 PM

Simply pointing out IMO O'Connor wasn't the best young forward on display in the CF & as i said already if he wins the young player of the year it will be for his last two performances & i also hope he wins it but i feel the young Dub will get it.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 22, 2011, 12:53:18 AM
I got round to watching the sunday game there on rte player and tbh i was shocked when o connor got mentioned for young player of the yr, how much did he score from play? Besides frees i just dont remember much about him tbh. Shine looks different league to him imho but i guess is ineligible. Young player of the yr is tricky though as i wouldnt be aware of most players age. Flynn hadnt a great final but was unsung hero for me all y, his footpassing and supply into brogan was awesome and if appriorate age id give it to him.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 22, 2011, 12:25:11 PM
I was gonna say Cillian O'Connor but just for Tubbberman I'll go with Donie Shine.
Post by: sans pessimism on September 22, 2011, 02:07:44 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 22, 2011, 12:25:11 PM
I was gonna say Cillian O'Connor but just for Tubbberman I'll go with Donie Shine.
;D ;D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 22, 2011, 02:11:18 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on September 22, 2011, 12:53:18 AM
I got round to watching the sunday game there on rte player and tbh i was shocked when o connor got mentioned for young player of the yr, how much did he score from play? Besides frees i just dont remember much about him tbh. Shine looks different league to him imho but i guess is ineligible. Young player of the yr is tricky though as i wouldnt be aware of most players age. Flynn hadnt a great final but was unsung hero for me all y, his footpassing and supply into brogan was awesome and if appriorate age id give it to him.

He was very good on frees to be fair although a bit underwhelming from general play until he scored that goal against Kerry I thought.
Post by: muppet on September 22, 2011, 08:44:09 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 22, 2011, 02:11:18 PM

He was very good on frees to be fair although a bit underwhelming from general play until he scored that goal against Kerry I thought.

Dillon's point v Cork was set up by a beautiful turn and quick foot pass by O'Connor. He is not the quickest but I've seen a lot this year that has persuaded me he will quickly be our marquee forward from play, with the frees as a bonus. Croí said he reminded him of Dessie which is quite a compliment from a Westmeathman, I see him more as a young Colin Corkery.
Post by: sans pessimism on September 25, 2011, 01:40:34 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2011, 08:44:09 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 22, 2011, 02:11:18 PM
`which SG were you watchin stevie wonder

Dillon's point v Cork was set up by a beautiful turn and quick foot pass by O'Connor. He is not the quickest but I've seen a lot this year that has persuaded me he will quickly be our marquee forward from play, with the frees as a bonus. Croí said he reminded him of Dessie which is quite a compliment from a Westmeathman, I see him more as a young Colin Corkery.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 26, 2011, 01:58:08 AM

He scored a blinder of a goal V Kerry.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 03, 2011, 02:10:01 PM
anyone know when YP of the year is picked
Post by: nrico2006 on October 03, 2011, 02:30:44 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on October 03, 2011, 02:10:01 PM

On the night.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 03, 2011, 02:34:55 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 03, 2011, 02:30:44 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on October 03, 2011, 02:10:01 PM

On the night.
Zero head
Post by: ross4life on October 12, 2011, 04:17:25 PM
Looks like O'Connor will win it now! other nominations James McCarthy, Mark McHugh
Post by: Magicsponge on October 12, 2011, 04:21:13 PM
I think O'Connor will win it. His free taking was excellent, especially for a 19 year old at that level
Post by: sans pessimism on October 13, 2011, 04:24:36 PM
Quote from: Magicsponge on October 12, 2011, 04:21:13 PM
I think O'Connor will win it. His free taking was excellent, especially for a 19 year old at that level
He has a great football brain as well as a high level of skill