Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Tony Baloney on September 12, 2011, 07:26:18 PM

Title: Eating Houses in Dublin
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 12, 2011, 07:26:18 PM
Any recommendations for decent but not excessively expensive eating house in Dublin. Meeting 4 mates end Oct and one is running the marathon so isn't drinking and wants a civilised meal. A tablecloth and a waiter would be nice and preferably no more than 50 a head.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Eating Houses in Dublin
Post by: john mcgill on September 12, 2011, 08:35:33 PM
The Winding Stair, Pigs Ear, Thorntons, all great food and super value for lunch.  I'd pick Winding Stair for dinner value
Post by: screenexile on September 12, 2011, 08:54:22 PM
Personally a big fan or Mario's in Ranelagh. Best Lasagne I'ver ever had in my life!
Post by: laoislad on September 12, 2011, 08:57:15 PM
Trocadero's is excellent...bit expensive though.
http://trocadero.ie/
Post by: glens abu on September 12, 2011, 09:41:50 PM
Hugo's Baggot st.1st class
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 12, 2011, 09:50:17 PM
What kind of cuisine are you into?
Thai? French, Italian etc etc
a lot of top end restaurants are doing lunch specials for around 25-30 euro a head.
A good few are around Stephens green - la mere zoo - French, peploes or unicorn - both Italian, the cellar at the merrion hotel, the residence ... Think l'ecrevian and more Aldo

If not lunch , then most of these do early bird menus.

If these are too stuffy -  then there are others like milanol
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 12, 2011, 09:53:21 PM
Just get there before Lynchbhoy does.
Post by: Gold on September 12, 2011, 09:55:58 PM
The Kingfisher, Parnell Street --the staple diet of kings

www.kingfisherdublin.com/
Post by: mc_grens on September 12, 2011, 10:34:28 PM
Not sure on price but La Maison on Castle Market Street is a cracker. For a more reasonably priced feed The Exchequer on Exchequer Street is pretty good. if youse like Chinese there's a really good one beside the Gaiety too.

Also if you like that kind of thing Yamamori is great value.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 12, 2011, 10:49:04 PM
For 4 of us the food will be getting in the way of drinking but need to be civilised about the thing. Will look at some of the places below. Thanks chaps.

Keep them coming.

LB, not fussy as to what we'll be eating so there must be something from your list that'll please everyone. Will be paying close heed to the Best Pints in Dublin thread over on the other page!
Post by: harlechman on September 12, 2011, 10:49:49 PM
If you like your steak try Buenos Aires Grill http://www.buenosairesgrill.ie/ (http://www.buenosairesgrill.ie/) or Darwins http://www.darwins.ie/ (http://www.darwins.ie/). Both pricey enough but great quality steaks.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 12, 2011, 11:41:33 PM
Quote from: harlechman on September 12, 2011, 10:49:49 PM
If you like your steak try Buenos Aires Grill http://www.buenosairesgrill.ie/ (http://www.buenosairesgrill.ie/) or Darwins http://www.darwins.ie/ (http://www.darwins.ie/). Both pricey enough but great quality steaks.
Yep , this place was great when it opened and I haven't been back since so can't comment - but well priced and the lads can go to the swan for a couple on their way back to the good pubs off grafton and toners of baggot st

Good job I don't take offense to ss2 due to my new diet , or those slating my use of the word apartheid .am I cascarino in disguise?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 13, 2011, 12:00:16 AM
Quote from: screenexile on September 12, 2011, 08:54:22 PM
Personally a big fan or Mario's in Ranelagh. Best Lasagne I'ver ever had in my life!

Don't eat Italian myself, but have heard good things about this place and Ranelagh is a lovely spot.
Post by: Rois on September 13, 2011, 08:31:51 AM
Going to the Winding Stair on Sat night after half marathon.
Thornton's too fancy for a post-marathon runner.
There's a lovely Asian place behind the Weatbury, Saba - modern and lovely food.
I was in Cliff Townhouse a few wks ago for lunch and it was beautiful.
The Argentinian place is ok in my opinion, I've been in better steak reataurants.
The Cellar Bar of the Merrion hotel is very good and close to Doheny & Nesbitts for post-dinner drinks.
Post by: sheamy on September 13, 2011, 08:44:36 AM
Eddie Rockets burger, onion rings and chilli fries with a beer. Waitresses but no tablecloth I'm afraid. Also more calories than you'll use in the marathon but it's quare stuff all the same. Nip into Kehoe's before and after for stout. Yes, I am classy.
Post by: Minder on September 13, 2011, 09:28:50 AM
Make sure to leave enough in the budget for the "gentlemans parlours"
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 13, 2011, 10:03:01 AM
Quote from: Rois on September 13, 2011, 08:31:51 AM
Going to the Winding Stair on Sat night after half marathon.
Thornton's too fancy for a post-marathon runner.
There's a lovely Asian place behind the Weatbury, Saba - modern and lovely food.
I was in Cliff Townhouse a few wks ago for lunch and it was beautiful.
The Argentinian place is ok in my opinion, I've been in better steak reataurants.
The Cellar Bar of the Merrion hotel is very good and close to Doheny & Nesbitts for post-dinner drinks.
Swap yer doheny and nesbitts for Toners though !!
wife likes the winding stair and it has a great rep - but more of a girly night out place she reckons for whatever reason ! Didnt think that was possible !!
Heard Saba was good.
Buneos Aires in its first month was great- then €15 for a 10oz sirloin steak - couldnt beat that. From what you say it sounds like its no longer as good. Dont know abut the prices either.
btw screenexile -  Darwins restaurant is gone now afaik - certainly no longer in the same spot.

Wagamama not bad.
Just off Molesworth st , 'One pico' is classy and at least used to be excellent - pricey though . White linen tablecloths !
Post by: carnaross on September 13, 2011, 10:10:06 AM
Thai Orchid on Westmoreland St just beside the Palace bar.
Post by: glens abu on September 13, 2011, 10:12:41 AM
Saba very good and Rolys
Post by: Rois on September 13, 2011, 10:26:35 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 13, 2011, 10:03:01 AM
Just off Molesworth st , 'One pico' is classy and at least used to be excellent - pricey though . White linen tablecloths !

Haha - there's a group of 8 or 9 girls going to the Winding Stair Sat night. 

Mmmmm had a lovely meal in One Pico.  My favourite place is Chapter One but it is expensive and I have only been when someone else is paying.

I stayed for a few weeks in the Radisson beside the steak house - it was grand, but I've had better.   
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 13, 2011, 10:31:29 AM
Quote from: Rois on September 13, 2011, 10:26:35 AM
Mmmmm had a lovely meal in One Pico.  My favourite place is Chapter One but it is expensive and I have only been when someone else is paying.
I stayed for a few weeks in the Radisson beside the steak house - it was grand, but I've had better.   
didnt bother mentioning chapter one. You have to book months in advance for a table for dinner - though you might be licky with early bird sitting and same for lunch.
However the food was more arty than anything else. While 'nice' - it struck me as a case of the chef trying to experiement too much to see if veal would go with cashel blue cheese infused banana fritter compote (or some other makey uppy sihte in that vein).
A little less arty and normal would have been better.
Pricey too.
Better off going down the road a bit to the scatter of reasonable yet good aisan restaurants on capel st.
Post by: laoislad on September 13, 2011, 10:31:51 AM

You shouldnt be telling us that, there are a lot of perverts on here....
Post by: Denn Forever on September 13, 2011, 10:47:10 AM
The Cedar House beside the International Bar.  Also a good Spanish restaurant beside it opposite Enfo.  Surrounded by pubs in easy stumbling distance.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 13, 2011, 10:49:16 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on September 13, 2011, 10:47:10 AM
The Cedar House beside the International Bar.  Also a good Spanish restaurant beside it opposite Enfo.  Surrounded by pubs in easy stumbling distance.

No more Vagina Tandoori then??
Post by: Denn Forever on September 13, 2011, 10:57:14 AM
No changed to Dewali and a terrible beauty was born.  Acapulco just down the road is a no nonsense Mexican restaurant (alas Poco Loco is no more).

All close to Isklanders for the post pub Kebab.
Post by: mc_grens on September 13, 2011, 12:58:59 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on September 13, 2011, 10:57:14 AM
No changed to Dewali and a terrible beauty was born.  Acapulco just down the road is a no nonsense Mexican restaurant (alas Poco Loco is no more).

All close to Isklanders for the post pub Kebab.

Acapulco is good alright. Dylan McGraths new place up the road, Rustic Stone, is supposed to be good. Anyone been yet?
Post by: Overthebar! on September 13, 2011, 05:34:00 PM
Mongolian Barbeque is a favourite of mine. Don't think it is licensed either so may be byob. Might not be as fancy as you are looking but if he is looking a good healthy and fresh feed after the marathon then I would try it out.
Post by: gallsman on September 13, 2011, 07:16:08 PM
Coppinger Row on, well, Coppinger Row or Green 19 on Camden Street. Great food, good prices.

http://www.coppingerrow.com/

http://www.green19.ie/
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 13, 2011, 10:54:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 13, 2011, 10:31:51 AM

You shouldnt be telling us that, there are a lot of perverts on here....

That other thread is art not cheap thrills LL, you should know that.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 13, 2011, 11:05:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 13, 2011, 09:28:50 AM
Make sure to leave enough in the budget for the "gentlemans parlours"
I might mention laoislad's name on the door of Lapello's and see if I can get some discount!

Thanks for the tips fellas. Will get something to please everyone I'm sure. I'm not looking anything too fancy and don't want to waste too long on eating as it's not often I get let off the leash by the missus!
Post by: screenexile on September 14, 2011, 01:19:27 AM
What about the Manhattan and the Gig's place?? Are they still about? Many's a fine feed I had in both establishments . . . I think! Everything was a bit hazy heading into those places in fairness!
Post by: mc_grens on September 14, 2011, 08:42:30 AM
Quote from: screenexile on September 14, 2011, 01:19:27 AM
What about the Manhattan and the Gig's place?? Are they still about? Many's a fine feed I had in both establishments . . . I think! Everything was a bit hazy heading into those places in fairness!

Hard to beat the Manhattan for an ould post Coppers fry up. You've made me pine for the old days Screen... I think I'll go and check this Saturday night. I could only ever find the Place when I was drunk!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 14, 2011, 11:50:34 AM
Wine out of a tea pot at 5 in the morning, those were the days.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 14, 2011, 05:03:05 PM
worse still when they knew your name and they brought you in ahead of the queue !
Got to the point where I would be looking at the watch in coppers waiting impatiently until 1am and then tell the lads I was off to the manhatten - and if anyone else wanted to join me they were welcome.
if it was not open, then around the corner to giggs spot.
A food-aholic them days !

doesnt help the thread starter though, I think its food before a session he wants !
They had tablecloths in giggs spot though !
Post by: Canalman on September 14, 2011, 05:37:32 PM
Can't beat Captain America's on Grafton Street, to the point and reasonable.

More importantly you will have to be out of there in an hour or so, so no "smug" mates ordering bottles of wine etc when serious pinting awaits. Some lads will try anything to stay in a restaurant all night (ok when with a girlfriend) but NOT when out with the lads. Serious problem at stags.

Used also to be a great Indian in South William Street ( I think)....... there used to be a guy with a turban standing outside.

If alll else fails Burgerking will do the job.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2011, 07:55:26 PM
Quote from: Canalman on September 14, 2011, 05:37:32 PM
Can't beat Captain America's on Grafton Street, to the point and reasonable.

More importantly you will have to be out of there in an hour or so, so no "smug" mates ordering bottles of wine etc when serious pinting awaits. Some lads will try anything to stay in a restaurant all night (ok when with a girlfriend) but NOT when out with the lads. Serious problem at stags.

Used also to be a great Indian in South William Street ( I think)....... there used to be a guy with a turban standing outside.

If alll else fails Burgerking will do the job.
Burgerking would do the job alright. There's a time and a place for a long meal and plenty of wine but this isn't one of them! We've been trying to hook up every year for about 10 years since we all moved out of the house in Belfast but as most of us are now married and some are living abroad there is always one missing and it's been 8 years since we've all been in the same place at the same time. Pints and craic are the order of the day with 90 mins tops for a decent feed to please the marathon man.