Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Mayo4Sam on September 08, 2011, 10:49:01 PM

Title: Masterchef Ireland
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 08, 2011, 10:49:01 PM
Anyone watching this?
Early doors it looks
Like your man from Louth, they had to warn him that professionals weren't allowed. Blonde bird the first nite looked handy as well. Was surprised that only about 50% of the contestants seemed to be originally from Ireland.
Thought your man in the cook off the first nite, Pearce, seemed hard done by, looked like he was through for sure
Title: Re: Masterchef Ireland
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 08, 2011, 11:27:28 PM
How often is it on? Seen it the other night and think it was pretty good. The standard they're looking for seems higher than the British version.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 08, 2011, 11:56:44 PM
I've never seen the starting weeks of the English one but I thought some of the dishes were brutal, I thought I could have made them & while I'm alright in the kitchen I'm no chef!
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2011, 12:15:04 AM
Quote from: laoislad on September 08, 2011, 11:02:21 PM
I like to cook myself

Times are tough in Mexico.
Post by: laoislad on September 09, 2011, 09:09:40 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 08, 2011, 11:56:44 PM
I've never seen the starting weeks of the English one but I thought some of the dishes were brutal, I thought I could have made them & while I'm alright in the kitchen I'm no chef!

In fairness though none of the contestants are chefs either.
I think the judges were overly harsh on some of them,it was like they were expecting Michelin star chefs right from the off.
The whole concept is to get a amateur with signs of some talent and turn them into a top chef.

Post by: Capt Pat on September 09, 2011, 09:15:41 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 08, 2011, 10:49:01 PM
Anyone watching this?
Early doors it looks
Like your man from Louth, they had to warn him that professionals weren't allowed. Blonde bird the first nite looked handy as well. Was surprised that only about 50% of the contestants seemed to be originally from Ireland.

I'm not surprised about that. Ireland doesn't have a national cuisine or cooking tradition like a lot of other countries.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 09, 2011, 09:17:40 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on September 09, 2011, 09:15:41 AM
Anyone watching this?
Early doors it looks

I'm not surprised about that. Ireland doesn't have a national cuisine or cooking tradition like a lot of other countries.
The fry? Spuds, bacon and cabbage? I could go on...
Post by: Hardy on September 09, 2011, 12:30:00 PM
What next - competitive hoovering?
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 09, 2011, 12:50:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 09, 2011, 12:30:00 PM
What next - competitive hoovering?

Mastermind Grammar?
Post by: Puckoon on September 09, 2011, 07:43:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 09, 2011, 09:17:40 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on September 09, 2011, 09:15:41 AM
Anyone watching this?
Early doors it looks

The fry? Spuds, bacon and cabbage? I could go on...

Could you though? Past Champ and stew, and their variations, where are we at with national cuisine?
Post by: The Iceman on September 10, 2011, 01:03:33 PM
The Irish Chinese food is the best Chinese food I have had anywhere in the world......

But to your point Puck we really don't have a national cuisine like many other countries....

Any Irish man worth his salt knows our favourite dish is Corned Beef and Cabbage ;)
Post by: Boycey on September 28, 2011, 12:11:18 PM
Have become addicted to this show in recent weeks.

Who are the 2 pompous gits presenting it? Are they chefs or food critics?

I swear the wee female contestant gets smaller every week.

Non of the dishes so far are a patch on my fabulous chilli con carne!!!
Post by: Bingo on September 28, 2011, 12:34:09 PM
You use Uncle Bens for the Chilli Con carne.

One of them ran a restaurant in Ranelagh called Mint that got a Michelan star. was a tv show on it, it closed now as it was losing a ball of money despite the prices it charged. He has another, more moderately priced restaurant now. He from the North originally.

The other guy is a well know Matre de or whatever the front of house person is called! He has recently opened his own restaurant in Dublin, which is a brave move for someone of his ilk - its normally the chef that people look to, not the head waiter!

Its a great show alright, must be a brutal industry to work in at the highest level.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2011, 12:49:29 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 28, 2011, 12:11:18 PM
Have become addicted to this show in recent weeks.

Who are the 2 pompous gits presenting it? Are they chefs or food critics?

I swear the wee female contestant gets smaller every week.

Non of the dishes so far are a patch on my fabulous chilli con carne!!!

Her helium voice is hilarious.

Good show alright,the pastry chef in the Shelbourne seemed like a right knob though.
I think the Scottish girl Claire Ann looks like a right dirty little minx..
Post by: Boycey on September 28, 2011, 01:08:58 PM
Quote from: Bingo on September 28, 2011, 12:34:09 PM

One of them ran a restaurant in Ranelagh called Mint that got a Michelan star. was a tv show on it, it closed now as it was losing a ball of money despite the prices it charged. He has another, more moderately priced restaurant now. He from the North originally.

The other guy is a well know Matre de or whatever the front of house person is called! He has recently opened his own restaurant in Dublin, which is a brave move for someone of his ilk - its normally the chef that people look to, not the head waiter!

Its a great show alright, must be a brutal industry to work in at the highest level.

All my own work boss, a couple of top secret ingredients too  ;)

Agree with LL your man from the Shelbourne was an absolute arse, how would you resist the temption to deck the cnut?
Post by: Bingo on September 28, 2011, 01:17:54 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 28, 2011, 01:08:58 PM

Agree with LL your man from the Shelbourne was an absolute arse, how would you resist the temption to deck the cnut?

Isn't that sweet and a rarity.  ;D

I'll be for a taste of this Chilli some night, just having a wee pot of Unlcle Bens Chilli now.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2011, 01:18:19 PM
Quote from: Bingo on September 28, 2011, 12:34:09 PM

I thought Dylan McGrath was from Carlow? Sure I heard it somewhere before that he was.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2011, 01:20:47 PM
Quote from: Bingo on September 28, 2011, 01:17:54 PM

I prefer when he doesn't to be honest !
I see no one agreeing with me about the Scottish minx though... :-\
Post by: Bingo on September 28, 2011, 01:22:17 PM
He lived in Carlow till he was 6 and moved to West Belfast then according to wikipedia.
Post by: Boycey on September 28, 2011, 02:16:17 PM
Unlike you fucktards I can treat each thread as seperate and not feel obliged to comment along some imaginary party lines from elsewhere.. :P

Brigin is far superior by the way.... ;)
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 28, 2011, 02:21:31 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 28, 2011, 01:20:47 PM
Quote from: Bingo on September 28, 2011, 01:17:54 PM

I prefer when he doesn't to be honest !
I see no one agreeing with me about the Scottish minx though... :-\

Yeah agreed re Scottish girl. She's grown on me!!
Post by: screenexile on September 28, 2011, 02:30:53 PM
Quote from: Bingo on September 28, 2011, 01:22:17 PM
He lived in Carlow till he was 6 and moved to West Belfast then according to wikipedia.

He's a complete tosser!!! He used to be head chef in Jury's Inn Belfast a few years back when my Da used to paint it. A grumpy bollix and minus craic!
Post by: Bingo on September 28, 2011, 02:35:23 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 28, 2011, 02:30:53 PM

He's a complete t**ser!!! He used to be head chef in Jury's Inn Belfast a few years back when my Da used to paint it. A grumpy bollix and minus craic!

He wasn't much craic in fairness on that show about getting his Michelan star, a right tosser in that. Or as some would say a fucktard.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2011, 02:39:15 PM
Quote from: Bingo on September 28, 2011, 02:35:23 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 28, 2011, 02:30:53 PM

He's a complete t**ser!!! He used to be head chef in Jury's Inn Belfast a few years back when my Da used to paint it. A grumpy bollix and minus craic!

He wasn't much craic in fairness on that show about getting his Michelan star, a right t**ser in that. Or as some would say a fucktard.

Only fucktards would say fucktard... :)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 29, 2011, 12:35:52 AM
I'd say it's between the midget, Mary & brigdeen.

Delighted to see the back of that Richard, the nite he started crying cause the other bird forgot to plate up, what a knob.

Actually think Dylan McGrath has come out looking decent enough so far, he's reasonably sound to them esp when u compare him to ur man Conrad Gallagher on whatever his show was called.
Went to rustic stone his new restaurant, lovely food but dear.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 29, 2011, 09:10:21 AM
That Bridin seems a horrible cow so nice to see that pastry chef tearing strips off her in the studio. Even though he was a precious ****.

Can't listen to that munchkin speak.
Post by: sammymaguire on September 29, 2011, 09:46:51 AM
That very wee architecture student should win, brilliant cook, calm under pressure and a personality to boot.

The two judges do seem like a pair of tw@ts with the odd glimpse of decency... I'd love to see them try that chocolate thing that stood up around the mousse, I bet they'd both fcuk it up themselves
Post by: Boycey on September 30, 2011, 12:00:28 PM
Think they voted off the 2 weakest guys last night but it looked to me as if the set it up for them to fail?

Their tasks were significantly more difficult than any of the others in the restaurant
Post by: Bingo on September 30, 2011, 12:33:52 PM
You think? I think it was the opposite and they were given tasks that were a last chance for them to change their destiny. They've been struggling and they were put on tough sections to redeem themselves and pull it out of the fire as such. The deserts didn't have any actual cooking, so should have been quicker. It was a weakness that they had seen in him and it wasn't going to go away unless he had addressed it.....and he hadn't. The other guy just made a balls of a dish that sealed his faith.

I did think it was unfair that they focused in the crack of his arse....they'll hardly do the same for one for the women.  ;D
Post by: DoireGael on September 30, 2011, 12:37:09 PM
Corn Beef and Cabbage..... does any one actually eat this?

I did hear a story in the states that it originated from cabbage and bacon but when the Irish landed on the old USA they had to substitute it for Corned beef therefore making it an Irish-American dish.

I would be found of the bacon and cabbage but not exactly michelin star cuisine.

Another thing that annoys me is does Ireland have a cuisine and for an island nation why are we not better at seafood?
Post by: Boycey on September 30, 2011, 01:42:30 PM
Quote from: Bingo on September 30, 2011, 12:33:52 PM
You think? I think it was the opposite and they were given tasks that were a last chance for them to change their destiny. They've been struggling and they were put on tough sections to redeem themselves and pull it out of the fire as such. The deserts didn't have any actual cooking, so should have been quicker. It was a weakness that they had seen in him and it wasn't going to go away unless he had addressed it.....and he hadn't. The other guy just made a balls of a dish that sealed his faith.

I did think it was unfair that they focused in the crack of his arse....they'll hardly do the same for one for the women.  ;D

Surely in a competition everyone should be doing roughly equal tasks?? It was the first time they were in a working kitchen and some of them had to do a starter for less than 20 people that I'd probably have been able to put up. Wheras of the 2 boys one of them had to produce by far the most popular main course and the only one with any variety ie rare/medium/cremated and the other boy had to produce dessert for everyone ok it mightn't have been cooked but there were something lie 12 different elements to it.
Post by: sammymaguire on September 30, 2011, 01:46:42 PM
I thought they were pretty poor in general last night, almost all of them. For "Master"chefs the quality of their cooking was very average. I'm sure it will improve though.  :-\
Post by: Bingo on September 30, 2011, 01:59:07 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 30, 2011, 01:42:30 PM
Surely in a competition everyone should be doing roughly equal tasks?? It was the first time they were in a working kitchen and some of them had to do a starter for less than 20 people that I'd probably have been able to put up. Wheras of the 2 boys one of them had to produce by far the most popular main course and the only one with any variety ie rare/medium/cremated and the other boy had to produce dessert for everyone ok it mightn't have been cooked but there were something lie 12 different elements to it.

It was clear in the other tasks to date that these two were struggling, the whole idea is Masterchef, you have to test them out and put them in pressure situations, no point carrying them into later rounds when it is clear they were struggling and got through a few rounds casue they got the handy round in the kitchen. Half an hour for 10 deserts in cruel regardless of the elements. Its not the X-factor.

I stand by my reading is that they were given tougher stations to see if there was any hope for them. They didn't exactly set the whole on fire in the hour cooking test either.
Post by: Boycey on September 30, 2011, 03:01:55 PM
I'll also stand by my reading that they gave them unnecessarily hard tasks, should be a level playing field every week...

They were the weakest though...

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 30, 2011, 03:11:48 PM
Yeah your man had a right tough one last night having to cook the lamb with everyone ordering rare, medium rare or medium with about a dozen of them on the go at the same time. Meanwhile your one had to dish out a few goat's cheese potato cakes. Something I think I could have managed myself.
Post by: Bingo on September 30, 2011, 03:29:41 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 30, 2011, 03:01:55 PM
I'll also stand by my reading that they gave them unnecessarily hard tasks, should be a level playing field every week...

They were the weakest though...

He wasn't even close though, from the start he made a balls of it. They can't all do the same. If he'd been given the goats cheese and done ok job, while one of the others were on lamb and made a balls of it, i still think he'd have been gone, as his own dish was shite.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2011, 05:04:22 PM
Agree with Boycey. That Shane chap had a much more difficult task than the others. For the others a lot of it seemed to be an assembly job i.e. yer woman Bridin had to fry a couple of potato/goats cheese cakes and then arrange a garnish and sauce (already prepared!) around it - that's hardly in same league as juggling over 10 racks of lamb cooked to order plus plating up with the other components.

The Pierce fella had no excuse though.

Quote from: Bingo on September 30, 2011, 01:59:07 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 30, 2011, 01:42:30 PM

It was clear in the other tasks to date that these two were struggling, the whole idea is Masterchef, you have to test them out and put them in pressure situations, no point carrying them into later rounds when it is clear they were struggling

That doesn't make sense otherwise by that rationale if you did a good job in the first round you would continue to get easy stations from thereon in. Everyone should be given tough stations (cooking to order being tough!) in rotation.
Post by: Bingo on September 30, 2011, 05:27:25 PM
I agree it was the most difficult station but i believe it was purposely set that way for a reason for him - it was his last chance to show he could handle the situation/pressure. Was no point he taking the handier one and doing it ok,  it was at the stage of the competition to challenge the weaker ones, allow them redeem themselves.

In other tasks the wee one had issues with a fish dish - she was put on fish last night, her weakness before. Pierces issue in past was deserts, shane had issues working under pressure.

Last chance salon for them, maybe the others standards had been set while these two were given a last chance to do so.
Post by: Boycey on October 05, 2011, 11:08:39 AM
Poor enough show last night I thought but I note that once the two weak guys are gone they went back to having similiar enough tasks, well exactly the same task in the second case...

Hard to see how anyone else can win with the fawning they were doing last night over Mary.
Post by: Tubberman on October 05, 2011, 11:17:39 AM
Quote from: Boycey on October 05, 2011, 11:08:39 AM
Poor enough show last night I thought but I note that once the two weak guys are gone they went back to having similiar enough tasks, well exactly the same task in the second case...

Hard to see how anyone else can win with the fawning they were doing last night over Mary.

Not so sure.... Mary is back at her 'old' job these days.
Is there meant to a prize of a full-time chef job for the winner?
Post by: Bingo on October 05, 2011, 11:26:35 AM

The two weak guys are gone cause thats what they were - weak! Get over it  ;)

I reckon the wee one is well in the running. Mary is likely to blow up at any stage. She just about kept it together last night in the first task - second task really suited her. I think they kept the bloke in last night, just to cause he the only man left, he's been very average every week lately.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 05, 2011, 12:14:32 PM
Not a patch on the Aus show (IMO)
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 05, 2011, 05:50:19 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on October 05, 2011, 11:17:39 AM

Nope. A trophy and €25k.

I think both chaps want to slot Mary.
Post by: Boycey on October 05, 2011, 06:02:04 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 05, 2011, 05:50:19 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on October 05, 2011, 11:17:39 AM

Nope. A trophy and €25k.

I think both chaps want to slot Mary.

It was funny last night went she fecked up the mackeral dish and ended up cooking it under grill instead of pan frying it. The 2 boys were falling over themselves to say how good it was despite it looking like shite.
Post by: laoislad on October 05, 2011, 06:06:36 PM
Disappointed Clare Ann got the bullet..I wouldn't mind giving her my bullet.

The Munchkin didn't look too happy when the guest chef was giving Mary so much praise for her stuffed fish dish at the end!
Post by: laoislad on October 06, 2011, 10:12:33 PM
Some rotten looking food on it tonight.
Prawn and rabbit me hole.
Post by: laoislad on October 06, 2011, 10:32:59 PM
Can't believe Christine is gone I was sure she would win it.
Its coming up to Christmas Im sure she could get a job as an elf.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 06, 2011, 11:54:41 PM
Was sure Mike was walking tonight but he did a good job on the rabbit and prawns yoke. Thon Bridin one does some flirting with the chefs.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on October 09, 2011, 02:02:45 PM
Ur one Mary has it in the bag, no doubt
Post by: laoislad on October 11, 2011, 10:33:35 PM
Mary got the handy course tonight!
A pre baked chocolate desert and all she had to do was plate it up and throw a lump of ice cream on top!
Post by: sammymaguire on October 13, 2011, 10:54:17 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on October 09, 2011, 02:02:45 PM

All 3 cooked tremendous food tonight, credit to them. Mary won.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2011, 11:03:43 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on October 13, 2011, 10:54:17 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on October 09, 2011, 02:02:45 PM

All 3 cooked tremendous food tonight, credit to them. Mary won.
Some grub threw up by all of them. Mike gave it a good lash as I thought coming into this he'd be a distant third. Mary was the favourite from day one. The greedy hoors of judges fairly horsed the stuff into them.
Post by: laoislad on October 11, 2012, 09:31:09 PM
Anyone watching it this year?
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 11, 2012, 09:57:32 PM
Have it recorded, ....................................don't spoil it for me.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 11, 2012, 09:59:31 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on October 11, 2012, 09:57:32 PM
+1. Gonna start watching it now.

Any ladies that would get the meat and 2 veg Laoislad?
Post by: laoislad on October 11, 2012, 10:05:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 11, 2012, 09:59:31 PM

Not yet.
There was some rank Nordie rabbit though.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 11, 2012, 10:33:52 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 11, 2012, 10:05:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 11, 2012, 09:59:31 PM

Not yet.
There was some rank Nordie rabbit though.
Aye see that. Wouldn't have fancied that rabbit.

Few Monaghan hippies on too.
Post by: Orior on April 20, 2015, 09:33:27 PM
Anyone else having to watch Masterchef on BBC1?

I hate these cooking programmmes with a passion, but have to watch them otherwise no weekend golf, no sport on TV etc etc.