GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: here comes 6 on September 05, 2011, 09:38:06 PM

Title: PLAN B PLAN B!!!!!
Post by: here comes 6 on September 05, 2011, 09:38:06 PM
Lets roar on the dubs to we all get a laugh at the stewards,garda and most of all cooney having a nitemare watching the dubs invade our own patch.   Its not yours COONEY you know??
Title: Re: PLAN B PLAN B!!!!!
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 05, 2011, 09:42:38 PM
A Captain should just go up and before he accepts Sam - Just say it is wrong keeping the fans off the Pitch.

A Controlled plan allowing fans onto the pitch is needed
Post by: Jinxy on September 05, 2011, 10:05:10 PM
I'm assuming the stewards will be armed with some form of non-lethal weaponry on the day.
Post by: comethekingdom on September 05, 2011, 10:07:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 05, 2011, 10:05:10 PM
I'm assuming the stewards will be armed with some form of non-lethal weaponry on the day.

Aye - orange netting!
Post by: Jinxy on September 05, 2011, 10:11:10 PM
I hope it's electrified.
Post by: here comes 6 on September 05, 2011, 10:15:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 05, 2011, 10:11:10 PM
I hope it's electrified.
Show some respect or gtf
Post by: AZOffaly on September 05, 2011, 10:44:56 PM
In fairness I thought the Kilkenny celebration on Sunday was probably more fun for them than getting man handled by some lad who was f**king you out of it in the pub last year.

Having said that, I am in favour, and proposed last year, a more controlled system to allow the fans onto the field, but to keep them away from the winning, and just as important, losing teams.
Post by: Offalylad on September 05, 2011, 10:50:53 PM
Quote from: here comes 6 on September 05, 2011, 10:15:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 05, 2011, 10:11:10 PM
I hope it's electrified.
Show some respect or gtf

Boo. Hoo.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 05, 2011, 11:36:10 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 05, 2011, 10:44:56 PM
In fairness I thought the Kilkenny celebration on Sunday was probably more fun for them than getting man handled by some lad who was f**king you out of it in the pub last year.

Having said that, I am in favour, and proposed last year, a more controlled system to allow the fans onto the field, but to keep them away from the winning, and just as important, losing teams.

Not sure AZ, they sure seemed to have plenty left in the legs judging by the pace they took the lap at and there was a fair bit of lepping going on as well but the stands were nearly empty. I'd be interested to hear what they really think and prefer. Hopefully O'Neill will bring in a structured "invasion" although I can't foresee how he'd square that with the insurers.
Post by: johnpower on September 05, 2011, 11:38:31 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 05, 2011, 11:36:10 PM

Not sure AZ, they sure seemed to have plenty left in the legs judging by the pace they took the lap at and there was a fair bit of lepping going on as well but the stands were nearly empty. I'd be interested to hear what they really think and prefer. Hopefully O'Neill will bring in a structured "invasion" although I can't foresee how he'd square that with the insurers.

If Dublin win I dont see much structure to the invasion especially if they are well clear
Post by: omagh_gael on September 06, 2011, 07:40:50 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 05, 2011, 11:36:10 PM

Jaysus. I knew Shane was a popular poster but I didn't realise he held this much sway among the suits!
Post by: Bingo on September 06, 2011, 09:19:08 AM
I've said it before and I'll say it again, I find it bizarre and strange why anyone would want to get onto the field. Not as if they will get to chat to a player or that, bar the first dozen or so. Sure it can look great from above but whats the point.

As for a controlled entrance, laughable. Is the whole thing not a rush and charge for those doing it? By queuing and entering in a controlled fashion, sure the presentation be over by the time everyone gets on, and it will look staged.

Sit in your seats and let the players have some comfort and enjoy their moment.
Post by: Jinxy on September 06, 2011, 04:36:18 PM
Going down onto the pitch is a tradition all over the country after county finals.
It doesn't have to be the charge of the light brigade, usually people just walk onto the pitch like civilized human beings.
Who wants to look down at an empty field when they're getting the cup?
Post by: Bingo on September 06, 2011, 04:47:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 06, 2011, 04:36:18 PM
Going down onto the pitch is a tradition all over the country after county finals.
It doesn't have to be the charge of the light brigade, usually people just walk onto the pitch like civilized human beings.
Who wants to look down at an empty field when they're getting the cup?

Massive, massive difference in at most a few thousand and thousands upon thousands. Plus in a county final you will get to engage with a brother, father, son, friend etc, you'll get to chat to them and either congratulate or consol. In a big game in Croke park what is the aim? Just to say i was on the field.
Post by: Jinxy on September 06, 2011, 05:14:41 PM
I stood in the Cusack for the presentation in 1999 and I felt it was terribly flat and lifeless.
You can't beat standing underneath the hogan stand with your own people, looking up as the cup is raised.
I've no problem with there being a delay, i.e. 5 mins after the final whistle the gates are opened but I just think it's a great pity that people can't gather together on the pitch.
Post by: Bingo on September 06, 2011, 05:32:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 06, 2011, 05:14:41 PM
I stood in the Cusack for the presentation in 1999 and I felt it was terribly flat and lifeless.
You can't beat standing underneath the hogan stand with your own people, looking up as the cup is raised.
I've no problem with there being a delay, i.e. 5 mins after the final whistle the gates are opened but I just think it's a great pity that people can't gather together on the pitch.

Was that not Gerathys speech?
Post by: here comes 6 on September 07, 2011, 01:21:41 PM
It will be a victory for all Gaa members up and down the country if the dubs win and get on the field.  It will show that Gaa is run by the ordinary man/women on the street and by by men in suits that turn up for the photo shoots
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 07, 2011, 01:26:27 PM
this
Post by: Boycey on September 07, 2011, 04:06:38 PM
Quote from: here comes 6 on September 07, 2011, 01:21:41 PM
It will be a victory for all Gaa members up and down the country if the dubs win and get on the field.  It will show that Gaa is run by the ordinary man/women on the street and by by men in suits that turn up for the photo shoots

Will it be a victory if someone gets seriously injured trying to do so?
Post by: here comes 6 on September 07, 2011, 04:22:19 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 07, 2011, 04:06:38 PM

No one has ever been hurt before so dont think thats a creditable excuse
Post by: Hardy on September 07, 2011, 04:28:45 PM
There won't be any invasion. Those days are gone, along with sitting on the wall at the back of Hill 16 and kissing the bishop's ring.
Post by: Boycey on September 07, 2011, 04:45:44 PM
Quote from: here comes 6 on September 07, 2011, 04:22:19 PM

So because it hasn't happened before it can't happen?
Post by: ziggysego on September 07, 2011, 04:49:13 PM
I thought it was incredibly dead looking after the Hurling Final last Sunday.

The GAA is about it's people and the people want to celebrate their club and county and final day. To me, being on the pitch in 2003, 2005 and 2008 after Tyrone won the All-Ireland was a fantastic experience. It unified us and meant we could all share in the celebrations.

As for the comment about you can meet friends and family on club finals, but not in Croker.... believe me, you do meet them.

So I say, do away with the orange mesh and do away with the glass wall around Hill 16. Let the supporters onto the pitch.
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on September 07, 2011, 04:55:56 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 07, 2011, 04:45:44 PM

Can anyone tell me why pitch invasions are banned by the GAA in Croke Park but not in any other GAA ground in the country? Its ok in Thurles , Pairc ui Caoimh etc but not Croke Park?
Post by: Jinxy on September 07, 2011, 05:38:41 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 07, 2011, 04:45:44 PM
Quote from: here comes 6 on September 07, 2011, 04:22:19 PM

Do you ever worry about being attacked by rabid dogs when you're asleep in bed?
Post by: BennyCake on September 07, 2011, 05:43:58 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 07, 2011, 04:49:13 PM

The GAA is about it's people and the people want to celebrate their club and county and final day. To me, being on the pitch in 2003, 2005 and 2008 after Tyrone won the All-Ireland was a fantastic experience. It unified us and meant we could all share in the celebrations.

As for the comment about you can meet friends and family on club finals, but not in Croker.... believe me, you do meet them.

So I say, do away with the orange mesh and do away with the glass wall around Hill 16. Let the supporters onto the pitch.

Hear hear!!
Post by: seafoid on September 07, 2011, 05:47:27 PM
You can't beat standing underneath the hogan stand with your own people, looking up as the cup is raised.I've no problem with there being a delay, i.e. 5 mins after the final whistle the gates are opened but I just think it's a great pity that people can't gather together on the pitch.

and Sally O Brien and the way she might look at you
Post by: ross4life on September 07, 2011, 06:04:43 PM

Well said Ziggy, i for one will probably never live to see my County lift Sam but some of the best memories i had following my team was celebrating on the field in Hyde park,McHale park & Ennis etc.. Last Sunday was incredibly dead looking & if that's the future of GAA then viewers may as well turn off or walk out on the sounding of the full time whistle.
Post by: Hardy on September 07, 2011, 06:33:59 PM
People thought it was outrageous to ban smoking in pubs too.
Post by: Jinxy on September 07, 2011, 06:42:57 PM
We lost our soul as a nation the day they stopped lads watching the match from the roof of the Nally Stand.
Post by: laoislad on September 07, 2011, 06:55:19 PM

Cop on to yourself would you.
Post by: Malvinas on September 07, 2011, 07:37:39 PM

The pitch invasion issue is only one of a long line on which the top brass at Croke Park are dictating to, rather than leading the rest of the grass roots players and members. 

Just off the top of my head I can think a long line of examples from this year alone, from the Wexford Goalie being forced to apologise to Clubs being told they need prior authority before live streaming. Before the visit of the Queen all discussion about the visit, either for or against, were banned. Even last week the Drumragh club from Tyrone were prevented from their 15 minutes of fame on the pitch after soloing all the way from Omagh in aid of the Micheala Foundation. And still we have the Hill 16 screens, like something out of an English ground mid eighties.

Paddy Heaney mentioned it yesterday in the Irish News. But Paddy may have to watch himself. Look what happened to Eugene Magee in the Indo when he had the audacity to criticise GAA top brass.

Somebody once memorably said on this board that when they were building Croke Park they told us that we'd be landlords, but once it was up we were mere patrons. In the last couple of years they've branded us trespassers.

Ziggy's totally right in that you meet people on the pitch after an all-ireland that you wouldn't have saw in years. 

People say that the GAA needs a Dubs win, which I think is balls, but if I could be sure they'd make it on to the pitch afterwards they'd have my full support.

I want to be part of a GAA like it was when I was running to Tyrone games with my da and brothers in the 80's, not one which issues dictates reminiscent of Stalinist Russia, makes a fool of one of its players by forcing a humiliating public apology. Not a money hungry corporation that tries to fleece its members for some crap concert on the night before the all Ireland as well as charging them e80 for the actual match the next day, just because they know that most would pay it whatever the price.

I'd been meaning to get something written for ages but only got round to it in the last week or so. See what yous think:

http://www.cowped.blogspot.com/

Here's hoping for Plan B on Sunday week.
Post by: here comes 6 on September 07, 2011, 10:37:20 PM
Quote from: Malvinas on September 07, 2011, 07:37:39 PM

The pitch invasion issue is only one of a long line on which the top brass at Croke Park are dictating to, rather than leading the rest of the grass roots players and members. 

Just off the top of my head I can think a long line of examples from this year alone, from the Wexford Goalie being forced to apologise to Clubs being told they need prior authority before live streaming. Before the visit of the Queen all discussion about the visit, either for or against, were banned. Even last week the Drumragh club from Tyrone were prevented from their 15 minutes of fame on the pitch after soloing all the way from Omagh in aid of the Micheala Foundation. And still we have the Hill 16 screens, like something out of an English ground mid eighties.

Paddy Heaney mentioned it yesterday in the Irish News. But Paddy may have to watch himself. Look what happened to Eugene Magee in the Indo when he had the audacity to criticise GAA top brass.

Somebody once memorably said on this board that when they were building Croke Park they told us that we'd be landlords, but once it was up we were mere patrons. In the last couple of years they've branded us trespassers.

Ziggy's totally right in that you meet people on the pitch after an all-ireland that you wouldn't have saw in years. 

People say that the GAA needs a Dubs win, which I think is balls, but if I could be sure they'd make it on to the pitch afterwards they'd have my full support.

I want to be part of a GAA like it was when I was running to Tyrone games with my da and brothers in the 80's, not one which issues dictates reminiscent of Stalinist Russia, makes a fool of one of its players by forcing a humiliating public apology. Not a money hungry corporation that tries to fleece its members for some crap concert on the night before the all Ireland as well as charging them e80 for the actual match the next day, just because they know that most would pay it whatever the price.

I'd been meaning to get something written for ages but only got round to it in the last week or so. See what yous think:

100% CORRECT
Post by: orangeman on September 07, 2011, 10:45:27 PM

Good post.
Post by: Orangemac on September 07, 2011, 11:21:32 PM

Good blog, hard to disagree with. Only hope top brass were not matching Ireland matches in the last week or we will have Brian Cullen and Colm Cooper reading out speeches before the game about respecting the game etc.
Post by: ziggysego on September 07, 2011, 11:55:53 PM

Fantastic post. Agree 100%.
Post by: 4father on September 08, 2011, 12:02:12 AM

Excellent post, thanks for writing what I've wanted to say for a long long time!
Post by: Hill16 Blues on September 08, 2011, 09:32:02 AM
There will be hard core element on the Hill who will try very hard to get on the pitch if Dublin win. As much as I'd like to be on the pitch if Bryan Cullen is lifting Sam definitely don't want to see anyone get hurt.

Would expect GAA have thought about this eventuality and will have 2-3000 stewards with barbed orange mesh fencing, snarling dogs and if necesaary snipers at the top of the Cusack stand to make sure no Dub gets on the pitch at the end  :D
Post by: Bingo on September 08, 2011, 09:50:46 AM
To summarise the best arguments for getting onto the field is that:

A - we always did it
B - we own Croke park and shouldn't be dictated to.

Brillant stuff.

How about this, present it in the stand and the crowd have the respect to stay and watch the winning team lift the cup and acknowledge the winners - not fly out of the stadium to get home or back to the pub.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 08, 2011, 10:08:38 AM
Quote from: 4father on September 08, 2011, 12:02:12 AM

Excellent post, thanks for writing what I've wanted to say for a long long time!

Post by: laoislad on September 08, 2011, 10:14:53 AM
Quote from: Bingo on September 08, 2011, 09:50:46 AM

A - we always did it

Brillant stuff.

How about this, present it in the stand and the crowd have the respect to stay and watch the winning team lift the cup and acknowledge the winners - not fly out of the stadium to get home or back to the pub.

Post by: seafoid on September 08, 2011, 10:38:56 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 07, 2011, 06:42:57 PM
We lost our soul as a nation the day they stopped lads watching the match from the roof of the Nally Stand.

The day they stopped allowing patrons to bring their kids in over the turnstiles was another body blow.
Post by: Cold tea on September 08, 2011, 10:56:16 AM
Quote from: laoislad on September 08, 2011, 10:14:53 AM

A - we always did it

Brillant stuff.

Fair play, Laois and Monaghan would never storm the pitch.   :D :P
Post by: Jinxy on September 08, 2011, 11:50:42 AM
I think you mean WILL never storm the pitch.
Post by: Hill16 Blues on September 08, 2011, 11:51:17 AM
Also it's not right or fair that the kids can't go out on the ptich at half time for a kick or puck around as they can do at all of Dublin's games in Parnell Park!!
Post by: Bingo on September 08, 2011, 12:13:24 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on September 08, 2011, 10:56:16 AM
Quote from: laoislad on September 08, 2011, 10:14:53 AM

A - we always did it

Brillant stuff.

Fair play, Laois and Monaghan would never storm the pitch.   :D :P

If our players were as keen on the pitch as some supporters to get on it, we'd be alot happier.

But for the record, we even storm the pitch if another game is to be played afterwards. Ask the meath men.
Post by: Hardy on September 08, 2011, 12:16:52 PM
I remember that.
Post by: Jinxy on September 08, 2011, 03:02:38 PM
A pitch invasion after winning Division 2.
That's so cute.  :)
Post by: Bingo on September 08, 2011, 03:16:33 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 08, 2011, 03:02:38 PM
A pitch invasion after winning Division 2.
That's so cute.  :)

Banty told everyone it was an All-ireland and he pumped his fists so much that people got delirious at the sight of it.

Did Meath invade the pitch after they lost the leinster last year, I know a few Louth men did when they won it  ;)
Post by: ross4life on September 08, 2011, 04:41:25 PM

Fantastic post! sadly our great game is getting influenced by soccer e.g the prawn sandwich brigade.
Post by: LeoMc on September 09, 2011, 11:11:43 PM
I agree, let the supporters on but only after the players from both sides have the chance to move somewhere they can celebrate / commiserate without some gob5hite who they don't even know come leppin on them likes he owns them.
Post by: heffo on September 09, 2011, 11:31:14 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on September 09, 2011, 11:11:43 PM
I agree, let the supporters on but only after the players from both sides have the chance to move somewhere they can celebrate / commiserate without some gob5hite who they don't even know come leppin on them likes he owns them.

You leave Jinxy out of this!
Post by: Jinxy on September 10, 2011, 12:39:58 AM
Shut your face Heffo.
Post by: heffo on September 10, 2011, 03:59:04 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 10, 2011, 12:39:58 AM
Shut your face Heffo.

You're being a right bully lately Jinxy :(
Post by: Jinxy on September 10, 2011, 04:17:29 PM
Gimme a ticket and I'll stop giving you dead arms.
Post by: heffo on September 10, 2011, 04:31:39 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 10, 2011, 04:17:29 PM
Gimme a ticket and I'll stop giving you dead arms.

I've only a premium left. Will that make you leave me alone for the rest of the school year season?
Post by: Jinxy on September 10, 2011, 05:26:31 PM
I don't actually want to go to the match.
I just want to slowly drive around the northside on the day dragging the ticket behind me on the end of some fishing line.
Post by: The Worker on September 10, 2011, 05:30:53 PM
If dubs win they will be on the pitch
Post by: Denn Forever on September 10, 2011, 08:28:24 PM
Looking at the U21 final tonight, Christy must have hated the halftime entertainment.  It looked like all spectators were on the field.
Post by: here comes 6 on September 18, 2011, 09:12:56 AM
This is your big chance ALL DUBLIN people to be loved by the other 31 counties and break down the wall of steel around the 82,000 prisoners.  Gd Luck
Post by: Malvinas on September 18, 2011, 03:01:49 PM
Croke Park has today confirmed that it will avail of the services of the gunboat Helga in order to prevent supporters from making it on to the pitch following today's senior football All Ireland. While traditional on field celebrations have been banned for some years, it is feared that Dublin supporters especially would attempt to celebrate on the pitch in the event of a famous victory. The Helga, which has been moored on the Liffey and is primed for use, is well known to the people of Dublin. A Croke Park Spokesman confirmed, "it would be a shame if due to the actions of a few bad apples, we were required to resort to live shelling to keep supporters off the playing surface."
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 18, 2011, 03:12:00 PM
Quote from: Malvinas on September 18, 2011, 03:01:49 PM
Croke Park has today confirmed that it will avail of the services of the gunboat Helga in order to prevent supporters from making it on to the pitch following today's senior football All Ireland. While traditional on field celebrations have been banned for some years, it is feared that Dublin supporters especially would attempt to celebrate on the pitch in the event of a famous victory. The Helga, which has been moored on the Liffey and is primed for use, is well known to the people of Dublin. A Croke Park Spokesman confirmed, "it would be a shame if due to the actions of a few bad apples, we were required to resort to live shelling to keep supporters off the playing surface."

(http://images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20071125231632/uncyclopedia/images/1/1f/Rimshot.gif)
Post by: Hardy on September 18, 2011, 05:27:31 PM
Quote from: here comes 6 on September 18, 2011, 09:12:56 AM
This is your big chance ALL DUBLIN people to be loved by the other 31 counties and break down the wall of steel around the 82,000 prisoners.  Gd Luck

Post by: LeoMc on September 18, 2011, 10:37:34 PM
Have to say I was happy enough with Plan A.
Those players put in a massive effort all year, early morning sessions and so on and would have built a great bond in that time. It was great that they had the time and space to celebrate together.
You wouldn't have had scenes with the Brogans and Alan's we lad if there were 40-50,000 Dubs on the field.
Post by: deiseach on September 18, 2011, 10:46:07 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on September 18, 2011, 10:37:34 PM
Those players put in a massive effort all year, early morning sessions and so on and would have built a great bond in that time. It was great that they had the time and space to celebrate together.
You wouldn't have had scenes with the Brogans and Alan's we lad if there were 40-50,000 Dubs on the field.

You'd have had different types of scenes. I miss the pitch invasion, but I accept it's gone
Post by: Whitehair on September 18, 2011, 11:02:19 PM
QuoteYou wouldn't have had scenes with the Brogans and Alan's we lad if there were 40-50,000 Dubs on the field.

Ah c'mon lad, As a Gael did you grow up dreaming of one day walking up the steps of the Hogan Stand and lifting Sam in front of thousands of your fans on the pitch.... or winning Sam and putting your child in the cup on the 21!? I know what I dreamt of!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 19, 2011, 04:13:44 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on September 18, 2011, 10:37:34 PM
Those players put in a massive effort all year, early morning sessions and so on and would have built a great bond in that time. It was great that they had the time and space to celebrate together.You wouldn't have had scenes with the Brogans and Alan's we lad if there were 40-50,000 Dubs on the field.

they get that time and space in the dressing room afterwards.
i felt it was a bit of an anticlimax without the fans on the pitch. i structured safe way of letting people on would have been great i think.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 19, 2011, 05:29:40 PM
We need Armagh to win it again soon ;)
Post by: Bingo on September 19, 2011, 05:34:40 PM
I thought it looked grand yesterday, players got plenty of space - the Hill was focus for the players. Other good memories could also take place - Brogan with the wee lad, all the players meeting Pillar, kerry team able to stay and pay the winners their respects without having to charge off down the tunnel.

Went well I thought.
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 19, 2011, 05:44:35 PM
I stayed to the end yesterday having a chat with a dub next to me high up in the hogan, and even though painful to watch for a losing team it is best when suporters stay off the field, we had it ourselves in 2000 and I have long thought it would becomes the norm. the players really enjoy it, and they have the time to really savour the moment with the panel and management who they have trained with all year.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 20, 2011, 05:17:01 AM
Sitting on the back wall of the Canal Terrace with nothing stopping you from a fatal drop to the ground below was part of what it was to be Irish. It has never been the same since. We have lost all sense of our national identity because of the health and safety Nazis who insisted on that new fangled stadium being built with all its spacious corridors, ample toilets, easy access and intelligible sound system. What happened to the good old days when men would piss up against any old wall at the back of the Cusack stand because the small number of jacks were too full? What happened to the lifting of children over turnstiles to let them fill the place with more people than it was designed to hold? What happened to the tradition of bringing a hang sangwich and flask of tea with you because you knew there would be damn all worth eating in Croke Park? What happened to the crush of the crowds into the tiny passageways before and after the game and the terrified looks of children clinging to their parents' hands for fear that they'd get separated in the throng? Grrrrr!  Christy Cooney is Hitler incarnate!  >:(
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 20, 2011, 05:44:25 AM

So the management is supposed to "lead" the grass roots and players by "following" them? How does that work?

QuoteJust off the top of my head I can think a long line of examples from this year alone, from the Wexford Goalie being forced to apologise to Clubs being told they need prior authority before live streaming. Before the visit of the Queen all discussion about the visit, either for or against, were banned. Even last week the Drumragh club from Tyrone were prevented from their 15 minutes of fame on the pitch after soloing all the way from Omagh in aid of the Micheala Foundation. And still we have the Hill 16 screens, like something out of an English ground mid eighties.
If you criticise the management in the media then you'd expect to pay a price, wouldn't you? As for the mid 1980s, they had barbed wire fences and all manner of farm-like pens in place in football grounds like Hillsborough and the like. The Hill 16 screen is nothing like any of those.

QuoteSomebody once memorably said on this board that when they were building Croke Park they told us that we'd be landlords, but once it was up we were mere patrons. In the last couple of years they've branded us trespassers.
Landlords aren't in the habit of trashing their own premises or hosting out-of-control parties that damage the place and cause safety risks.

QuoteZiggy's totally right in that you meet people on the pitch after an all-ireland that you wouldn't have saw in years. 
Silliest argument I've heard yet. What's wrong with the streets outside the place on the way out and the way in?  I've met plenty of long lost friends there, never felt the need to storm the pitch in the name of an impromptu reunion.

I want to be part of a GAA like it was when I was running to Tyrone games with my da and brothers in the 80's, not one which issues dictates reminiscent of Stalinist Russia,

In Stalinist Russia they sent people to certain death in labour camps in freezing Siberia for just being suspected of not liking the leadership. What's it going to be next?  Comparing the smoking ban to the genocide in Rwanda?

Quotemakes a fool of one of its players by forcing a humiliating public apology.
Play me the world's smallest violin.  If you criticise a referee then you should pay a price, especially if you do it through the media. Referees have enough abuse to listen to from the sideline. You think the GAA is going to stand idly by and let people start bitching about refs in the media? I for one applaud the decision to nip this one in the bud. If he kept his big mouth shut in the first place and respected the decisions of the officials then he wouldn't have to apologise. And what of the ref? Was he not "humiliated" by this player's actions?

People are quick enough to paint the GAA in a negative light from outside the association. The last thing we need is people trying to discredit it from the inside. If you're a GAA man and you have nothing positive to say about the association, by all means bitch about it to your friends in the pub afterwards but stay the hell away from a journalist's microphone.

QuoteNot a money hungry corporation that tries to fleece its members for some crap concert on the night before the all Ireland as well as charging them e80 for the actual match the next day, just because they know that most would pay it whatever the price.

This "money hungry corporation" as you call it is a non-profit organisation. It doesn't have a board of millionaire directors. It has a tiny paid staff and the vast majority of the work that goes into keeping the thing afloat comes from voluntary effort.  The ESRI even published a report a few years ago lauding the association as the biggest source of volunteering in the country. 

All the money collected is reinvested back into the organisation.  This information is published in their annual financial reports. They're posted on www.gaa.ie. You can look it up. You can read it. You can see where the money comes in, where it goes, and you can see how it spreads thin over so many clubs and county boards throughout the world. You can see the debit and the credit columns. Disinegenuous people are fond of quoting the credit column but they conveniently overlook the debit column, don't they? Has it ever crossed your mind that maintaining a world class stadium like Croke Park might cost a bit of money?  Money that has to come from somewhere and that the place lying empty and unused for 99% of the time would not make a whole lot of sense?  And that's before we even get started on the running of games, the youth programs and all the other work that goes on in the GAA across the globe.

If I see another "grab all association" post again I think I'm going to puke.  I'm sick of this canard being repeated over and over and over again. It's a flat out lie. The GAA is not a "greedy corporation". it is not Exxon. It is not BP. It barely makes enough to get by on. Fact.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 20, 2011, 05:46:56 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 19, 2011, 05:44:35 PM
I stayed to the end yesterday having a chat with a dub next to me high up in the hogan, and even though painful to watch for a losing team it is best when suporters stay off the field, we had it ourselves in 2000 and I have long thought it would becomes the norm. the players really enjoy it, and they have the time to really savour the moment with the panel and management who they have trained with all year.

Players? Who gives a toss what they think? It's all about me, dammit!
Post by: tommysmith on September 20, 2011, 08:32:52 AM
Great points Eamonnca1 and i agree with you.

It's wrong that people seem to think pitch invasions are fine just because it is tradition.

It was wonderful to see the Dublin players able to enjoy the moment after the game yesterday.

Cant believe someone thinks it should be allowed happen so they might meet long lost friends on the pitch  :D
Post by: LeoMc on September 20, 2011, 09:28:02 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 20, 2011, 05:17:01 AM
Sitting on the back wall of the Canal Terrace with nothing stopping you from a fatal drop to the ground below was part of what it was to be Irish. It has never been the same since. We have lost all sense of our national identity because of the health and safety Nazis who insisted on that new fangled stadium being built with all its spacious corridors, ample toilets, easy access and intelligible sound system. What happened to the good old days when men would piss up against any old wall at the back of the Cusack stand because the small number of jacks were too full? What happened to the lifting of children over turnstiles to let them fill the place with more people than it was designed to hold? What happened to the tradition of bringing a hang sangwich and flask of tea with you because you knew there would be damn all worth eating in Croke Park? What happened to the crush of the crowds into the tiny passageways before and after the game and the terrified looks of children clinging to their parents' hands for fear that they'd get separated in the throng? Grrrrr!  Christy Cooney is Hitler incarnate!  >:(

Top of the Nally was the way to do it. Now you wouldn't even be let do it in Carrickmore. >:(
Post by: Jinxy on September 20, 2011, 12:27:31 PM
Ironically, it's probably the safest place to watch a match in Carrickmore.
Post by: fearglasmor on September 20, 2011, 12:54:44 PM
The youth of today are far too conformist. Even Dublin "fans" are not what they used to be.
If it was Heffo's Army being fenced in, (and they were) they would have found a way (and they did).
Mind you they also caused mayhem all round Leinster wherever they went. Dublin didnt get all home games in them days.

But seriously the new regime is better.
Post by: mick999 on September 23, 2011, 08:59:54 AM
Great story in the Indo today about 1 fan who managed to join in the celebrations by getting in beside the Dublin subs and putting on a discarded tracksuit top ...He got into loads of Photos :

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/who-are-ya-impostor-stephen-pitches-up-in-the-middle-of-dublins-croker-celebrations-2885703.html (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/who-are-ya-impostor-stephen-pitches-up-in-the-middle-of-dublins-croker-celebrations-2885703.html)

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00964/stephen_indo_964842t.jpg)

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00964/stephen2_sportsfile_964844t.jpg)

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00964/stephen3_sportsfile_964845t.jpg)
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 23, 2011, 09:39:36 AM
Quote from: mick999 on September 23, 2011, 08:59:54 AM
Great story in the Indo today about 1 fan who managed to join in the celebrations by getting in beside the Dublin subs and putting on a discarded tracksuit top ...He got into loads of Photos :

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/who-are-ya-impostor-stephen-pitches-up-in-the-middle-of-dublins-croker-celebrations-2885703.html (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/who-are-ya-impostor-stephen-pitches-up-in-the-middle-of-dublins-croker-celebrations-2885703.html)

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00964/stephen2_sportsfile_964844t.jpg)

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00964/stephen3_sportsfile_964845t.jpg)

yeah read that this morning myself brilliant . Love the way he stayed out on the pitch for 1 1/2 hours after the match and then just moseyed on back into the stands and away off home  :D
Post by: deiseach on September 23, 2011, 09:54:12 AM
But he denied the players their moment in the sun! He jumped up and down on them like a yahoo! If Christy Cooney is to have any credibility he must ensure that this man is banned from all GAA grounds for life
Post by: cornafean on September 23, 2011, 10:18:53 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 20, 2011, 05:17:01 AM
What happened to the tradition of bringing a hang sangwich and flask of tea with you because you knew there would be damn all worth eating in Croke Park?

You obviously haven't been in Croke Park for a while. More lunchboxes in the stands last Sunday than you'd see at a tupperware convention in Vegas.
Post by: Jinxy on September 23, 2011, 10:58:50 AM
That picture with Pillar and Bernard is class.  :D
Post by: Blowitupref on September 23, 2011, 08:51:39 PM
Quote from: mick999 on September 23, 2011, 08:59:54 AM

Great story fair play to him
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on September 23, 2011, 09:15:12 PM
roundy mong ruined some of the pics imo