GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Go on ya boy ye on September 05, 2011, 09:37:59 PM

Title: Best Pint In Dublin
Post by: Go on ya boy ye on September 05, 2011, 09:37:59 PM
Alright boys.

Who officially has the best pint of Guinness in Dublin??

Gogarty's
O'Donoghue & Nesbitts
Larry Murphys

Cheers!!
Title: Re: Best Pint In Dublin
Post by: sammymaguire on September 05, 2011, 09:41:29 PM
Larry Murphys
Post by: Denn Forever on September 05, 2011, 09:55:20 PM
And near Croke Park?  Gills  Red Parrot?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 05, 2011, 09:59:07 PM
Quote from: Go on ya boy ye on September 05, 2011, 09:37:59 PM
Alright boys.

Gogarty's
O'Donoghues
Doheny
& Nesbitts
Larry Murphys

Cheers!!

Mulligans of Poolbeg Street purveys a jar of wide renown.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 05, 2011, 10:51:03 PM
Mulligans is  a good shout....otherwise O'Donoghues Merrion Row or Toners on Baggot St would be very acceptable.  Dont bother your hole with any of the pubs in Temple Bar...pints might be OK but you'll pay two fortunes for one....with the honourable exception of The Palace...
Post by: Frank Casey on September 05, 2011, 10:59:01 PM
The first and the last, mind you the dozen in between.....
Post by: Hardy on September 05, 2011, 11:14:20 PM
All of those used to be good places for pints, but my experience of at least three years is that hardly any Dublin pub bothers any more to pull a pint properly and that now sadly includes Mulligans - pints of pure slop the last time I was there. The only decent pints I can remember having in recent times in Dublin were in Ryans of Parkgate Street and Kehoes.
Post by: The Worker on September 05, 2011, 11:20:44 PM
smyths of baggot st is great for guiness
Post by: armaghniac on September 06, 2011, 01:09:05 AM
Gravediggers.
Post by: sheamy on September 06, 2011, 08:16:29 AM
Kehoe's on South Anne St
Post by: laoislad on September 06, 2011, 08:33:28 AM
Bowes on Fleet Street,great little quiet pub for a few top quality pints.
Post by: sans pessimism on September 06, 2011, 09:02:02 AM
For me,couldn't pass Cassidy's of Camden St-Great atmosphere,and plenty of banter of GAA games past and future
Post by: ludermor on September 06, 2011, 09:07:59 AM
Alright boys.

Gogarty'sO'Donoghue & Nesbitts
Larry Murphys

Cheers!!
You are joking i hope???
Post by: isourboydownyet on September 06, 2011, 09:09:41 AM
kavanaghs in fairview,best pint i have ever drank and make a point of going there for a couple every all ireland week end
Post by: Canalman on September 06, 2011, 09:22:03 AM
Bowes or Chaplins are two gems of pubs. Well below the radar of many. Kennedys on Westland Row a great spot also.

Have to say that you can't beat Kehoes (downstairs only) for a sneaky afternoon pint. Too busy at the weekend though. Long Hall also a great spot .
Alot of people dislike it but the Hairy Lemon is ok imo.
Post by: Leo on September 06, 2011, 09:51:28 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 05, 2011, 11:14:20 PM
All of those used to be good places for pints, but my experience of at least three years is that hardly any Dublin pub bothers any more to pull a pint properly and that now sadly includes Mulligans - pints of pure slop the last time I was there. The only decent pints I can remember having in recent times in Dublin were in Ryans of Parkgate Street and Kehoes.

As soon as I saw the title to the post I started to look for ....Ryans of Parkgate & Kehoes of Anne Street South ....Hardy man!
Post by: The Hill is Blue on September 06, 2011, 10:11:15 AM
For a pint before or after a game - Gaffneys Fairview and Meaghers Richmond Road
Post by: magpie seanie on September 06, 2011, 10:13:27 AM
One person with the right answer (in my opinion). The Gravediggers is simply the best pint I've ever had by a distance and I try to go there as often as I can.
Post by: Lar Naparka on September 06, 2011, 10:30:09 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 06, 2011, 01:09:05 AM
Gravediggers.
That's one of my favourites.
I'd also recommend the Goblet on the Malahide Road.
Post by: Tubberman on September 06, 2011, 10:42:46 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 05, 2011, 10:51:03 PM
Mulligans is  a good shout....otherwise O'Donoghues Merrion Row or Toners on Baggot St would be very acceptable.  Dont bother your hole with any of the pubs in Temple Bar...pints might be OK but you'll pay two fortunes for one....with the honourable exception of The Palace...

Pure slop last couple of times I was in there. Plus they just fired them out at you, with the head running down the sides of the glass. Complete mess of a pint.
The Dame Tavern is pretty good for the centre of town. Have heard the gravediggers is a great spot, must head out some time.
Post by: snoopdog on September 06, 2011, 11:27:16 AM
bit far from Croker but Slatterys in Rathmines has the best pint in Dublin.
Mulligans is a myth, was good average now.
bowes is hit and miss
Kennedys under tara st  rail bridge had a great pint but closed without a mention after christmas. Anyone know why?
Post by: stephenite on September 06, 2011, 11:44:05 AM
The Galloping Green in Stillorgan was the best, few years back now though, and very far to go for a pre match pint
Post by: Canalman on September 06, 2011, 11:48:50 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on September 06, 2011, 11:27:16 AM
bit far from Croker but Slatterys in Rathmines has the best pint in Dublin.
bowes is hit and miss
Kennedys under tara st  rail bridge had a great pint but closed without a mention after christmas. Anyone know why?

Disagree strongly about Slatterys in Rathmines. Massively overrated.
Would be hard put to recommend one good pub in the Ranelagh /Rathmines area.  The Hill at a push, maybe Russells.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 06, 2011, 11:49:55 AM
Had good pints in Mulligans after the quarter finals last year, was in there after the Dublin game and they were awful, like what Tubberman describes. Stag's Head not bad in town and you never know who you'll run into upstairs in Kehoe's.
Post by: Jinxy on September 06, 2011, 01:01:30 PM
You're only as good as your last pint.
Post by: Go on ya boy ye on September 06, 2011, 04:07:14 PM
Quote from: ludermor on September 06, 2011, 09:07:59 AM
Alright boys.

Larry Murphys

Cheers!!
You are joking i hope???

I just heard from years ago they had the best pints....
Post by: Billys Boots on September 06, 2011, 05:01:52 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 06, 2011, 10:13:27 AM
One person with the right answer (in my opinion). The Gravediggers is simply the best pint I've ever had by a distance and I try to go there as often as I can.

Yep, good call Seanie, can't go wrong in the Diggers (Bar not Lounge).  Also (used to be anyway) good pints in The Hut in Phibsboro, Tom Kennedys in Drumcondra and The Findlater (and Kavanagh's, old Kavanagh's mind) on Dorset St.
Post by: laoislad on September 06, 2011, 06:46:32 PM
Quote from: Canalman on September 06, 2011, 09:22:03 AM
Bowes or Chaplins are two gems of pubs. Well below the radar of many.

That's what I like about Bowes its never over crowded,also the bar men are mostly country men Carlow and Wicklow I think are where the two lads are from that always seem to be there when I'm in.
Best pub in the city by a mile for a pint and chat IMO.
Post by: Frank Casey on September 06, 2011, 06:48:04 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 06, 2011, 05:01:52 PM
The Findlater on Dorset St.

Big South Kerry crowd there on the day of a match. You're likely to meet Declan O'Sullivan's parents, uncles, sibling and a rake of cousins.
Post by: Aaron Boone on September 06, 2011, 09:59:22 PM
Mulligan's ok but overrated & unfriendly barmen believe the hype.
If your lucky to be in premium-level for the final, stay til bar closes there as craic usually good.
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2011, 10:17:10 PM
Quote from: Go on ya boy ye on September 06, 2011, 04:07:14 PM
Quote from: ludermor on September 06, 2011, 09:07:59 AM
Alright boys.

Larry Murphys

Cheers!!
You are joking i hope???

I just heard from years ago they had the best pints....

That was before Haughey got Temple Bar done up to the Hen/Stag destination it now is. Is hard to believe now but this area was a run down off the beaten track area. The pubs in the area were great places to slip off to during the day if you wanted to be left to your own devices.  ;)
Post by: Drummerboy on September 07, 2011, 01:09:43 AM
Matchday pint is taken in the Millmount House, top of Richmond Road, 3.50 or Cartys Bar.
Post by: Canalman on September 07, 2011, 10:53:40 AM
Totally agree with comments about Mulligan's in town. A surly kip of a place.

The Temple Bar pubs in the early 1990s were some spots alright. Always lads going round trying to sell you stuff (not drugs by the way). Things like boxes of Persil, bootleg tapes/ videos etc.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 07, 2011, 11:09:17 AM
Quote from: Canalman on September 07, 2011, 10:53:40 AM
Totally agree with comments about Mulligan's in town. A surly kip of a place.

The Temple Bar pubs in the early 1990s were some spots alright. Always lads going round trying to sell you stuff (not drugs by the way). Things like boxes of Persil, bootleg tapes/ videos etc.

Still happens in Liverpool.....razors, jeans, CDs/DVDs, perfume, leather briefcases, handbags,
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on September 07, 2011, 11:46:16 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on September 06, 2011, 10:42:46 AM

Pure slop last couple of times I was in there. Plus they just fired them out at you, with the head running down the sides of the glass. Complete mess of a pint.
The Dame Tavern is pretty good for the centre of town. Have heard the gravediggers is a great spot, must head out some time.

O'Donaghue's of Merrion Row is a heartbreaking spot. It should be a jewel, and the back bar is a shrine to Irish music. But the staff are swine and pour the pints like they were pouring slops to pigs. I'll never go back.
Post by: Canalman on September 07, 2011, 12:29:21 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on September 07, 2011, 11:46:16 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on September 06, 2011, 10:42:46 AM

O'Donaghue's of Merrion Row is a heartbreaking spot. It should be a jewel, and the back bar is a shrine to Irish music. But the staff are swine and pour the pints like they were pouring slops to pigs. I'll never go back.

Couldn't agree with you more ICC about O'Donoghue's............. would never darken its doors.

Bar Toner's, there is imo not a decent pub on that long continuous street between St Stephen's Green and Waterloo Road over the canal. Doheny's massively overrated imo.
Post by: neilthemac on September 08, 2011, 06:53:34 PM
I like the Dame Tavern across from Stags Head

good pints
owner behind the bar
never too crowded

fellas likely to wander in off the street with a guitar and belt out a few tunes.
plenty of pedestrian traffic wandering past to perk the interest
Post by: balladmaker on September 08, 2011, 08:39:16 PM
When your team wins, they all taste nice.  One of the consistent pubs for a very decent pint is Doheny & Nesbitts, hasn't let me down yet.

Agree with the comments about O'Donoghue's on Merrion Row, a tourist trap living off The Dubliners pics on the walls and consistently serving pints from barmen who don't give a damn anymore.
Post by: The Subbie on September 09, 2011, 06:14:01 AM
Again agreed about O'Donoghues, should be a mecca but last time i went the bar staff were diva wankers and the stout was shite.
The Hogan Stand on North Circular Road is a decent spot for pre match pints, provided you get in early enough, red parrot should be avoided at all costs.

South Side pinting spots slatterys @the top of Bath Avenue, off the beaten track for a match day but pints that are milk without fail, up the road the Beggars Bush pub has great stout consistently.

I never got a good pint anywhere on Baggot Street ever.
Post by: ludermor on September 09, 2011, 10:01:44 AM
Quote from: neilthemac on September 08, 2011, 06:53:34 PM
I like the Dame Tavern across from Stags Head

good pints
owner behind the bar
never too crowded

fellas likely to wander in off the street with a guitar and belt out a few tunes.
plenty of pedestrian traffic wandering past to perk the interest
Agree 100%, great when you go into a pub and look at a painting on the wall, then look around and see half the characters in the painting sitting beside you.
Post by: Canalman on September 09, 2011, 02:03:07 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on September 09, 2011, 06:14:01 AM
Again agreed about O'Donoghues, should be a mecca but last time i went the bar staff were diva w**kers and the stout was shite.
The Hogan Stand on North Circular Road is a decent spot for pre match pints, provided you get in early enough, red parrot should be avoided at all costs.

South Side pinting spots slatterys @the top of Bath Avenue, off the beaten track for a match day but pints that are milk without fail, up the road the Beggars Bush pub has great stout consistently.

Agree with most of that post. Slattery's in Ringsend (as I would call it) is a class spot altogether. Great for the midweek sneaky pint. Not too keen on the other pubs in the area.
The pubs in Ballsbridge itself are terrible places. Had the misfortune to drink there after a Leinster rugby game ( in itself a misfortune).
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 09, 2011, 02:47:54 PM
Quote from: Canalman on September 09, 2011, 02:03:07 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on September 09, 2011, 06:14:01 AM
Again agreed about O'Donoghues, should be a mecca but last time i went the bar staff were diva w**kers and the stout was shite.

Agree with most of that post. Slattery's in Ringsend (as I would call it) is a class spot altogether. Great for the midweek sneaky pint. Not too keen on the other pubs in the area.
The pubs in Ballsbridge itself are terrible places. Had the misfortune to drink there after a Leinster rugby game ( in itself a misfortune).

That place was my local for a year or so, the main barman was a lad called Noel, grupmy f**ker, but once you got to know how he worked he was grand, if you shouted at him or waved at him you never got served, once you learnt that it was fine. They used to have to have a second price list for the pensioners.  Tthe bar in the Halfway House on the Navan Road has about 60% Guinness drinkers and I dont know of a better place for a pint. Mcgraths on dorset street for match day.
Post by: red hander on September 09, 2011, 04:28:44 PM
Cleary's under the bridge opposite Connolly, always drop in there when I'm down.  In last Friday before the Slovakia game ... delicious
Post by: John79 on September 10, 2011, 01:03:51 AM
The Plough in Marlborough Street is a complete toilet, but what wild craic my uni team had a tour to Co. Dublin about ten years ago. Don't know if it's still there but it was a dive, but the Guinness was flowing and they played Amhran na bhfiann about ten times a day. Was there for a few beers a few years ago, but don't know if it's still there - very close to the city centre but enjoyed it.
Post by: The Subbie on September 10, 2011, 10:05:36 AM
Another consistently good spot would be Ned O'Connells beside the portobello, great stout in Neds but the clientele can be cliquey.
Smiths in Terenure( the front bar bit not the lounge) again consistently good stout.
Taveys on Church street is a good spot for a pint with yet more colorful characters in abundance, it's an early shop or at least was when I worked beside it
Post by: heffo on September 10, 2011, 10:13:20 AM
Quote from: John79 on September 10, 2011, 01:03:51 AM
The Plough in Marlborough Street is a complete toilet

It closed down about a year ago.
Post by: neilthemac on September 10, 2011, 03:24:14 PM
whats the roughest pub in Dublin?
as in, would rather be having a pint in downtown Baghdad on market day.

There is a pub on Little Britain Street that I would not send my worst enemy into.
Post by: mc_grens on September 10, 2011, 04:00:31 PM
The Long Hall on Georges Street soothes many a shitty week with a fine pint of the black stuff of a Friday evening.
Post by: The Subbie on September 11, 2011, 12:08:58 AM
Quote from: neilthemac on September 10, 2011, 03:24:14 PM
whats the roughest pub in Dublin?
as in, would rather be having a pint in downtown Baghdad on market day.

Theres a new programme for RTE right there
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 11, 2011, 06:04:54 PM
Couple of pints in Kennedys yesterday and they were good, decent steak served up as well. Seems to be a well run pub, thanks for planting the seed Canalman. Beats the muck I had in Foleys the day before hands down, stank of churned out tourist crap.
Post by: Go on ya boy ye on September 11, 2011, 07:42:25 PM
Here lads.

Some great posts there.

Let us know where youse have pints before the all-ireland final, and give them a rating or if your just watching the game in a pub.

Would be great to hear your stories and obviously your professional critical analysis of a good/bad pint and where you had it.
Post by: The Subbie on September 12, 2011, 09:35:55 AM
Quote from: Go on ya boy ye on September 11, 2011, 07:42:25 PM
Here lads.

Some great posts there.

Let us know where youse have pints before the all-ireland final, and give them a rating or if your just watching the game in a pub.

Would be great to hear your stories and obviously your professional critical analysis of a good/bad pint and where you had it.

go out and do it yourself, the dubs dont bite and are actually a highly socially developed people, its them kerry hoors that arent great in built up areas  ;)
Post by: southsidejohnny on September 12, 2011, 11:04:10 AM
Fagans...meet your heroes there, men who made this nation great.
Post by: sans pessimism on September 12, 2011, 02:05:51 PM
I presume the Traitor must drink his Bass elsewhere so
Post by: Go on ya boy ye on September 12, 2011, 02:14:59 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on September 12, 2011, 09:35:55 AM
Quote from: Go on ya boy ye on September 11, 2011, 07:42:25 PM
Here lads.

Some great posts there.

go out and do it yourself, the dubs dont bite and are actually a highly socially developed people, its them kerry hoors that arent great in built up areas  ;)

Unfortunately won't make it to Dublin son.

Kerry hoors indeed.
Post by: Olly on September 12, 2011, 02:51:51 PM
Dragon on South Great Georges Street is fantastic for the black stuff.
Post by: boojangles on September 12, 2011, 03:51:39 PM
Kennedys in Drumcondra
Kavanaghs on Dorset Street
Slatterys in Rathmines

Agreed about the pubs round Ballsbridge. The staff were a joke.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 12, 2011, 04:18:46 PM
the swan aungier st used to be great
as was toners baggot st
havent been in either in years

McDaids, Kehoes, the Duke all off Grafton st were and imo still are good pints
Cassidys and the portobello before it got renovated in 1997/98 used to be great too.

The Duke and Cassidy's are still good GAA bars
Post by: ballinaman on September 12, 2011, 04:52:36 PM
Quote from: Olly on September 12, 2011, 02:51:51 PM
Dragon on South Great Georges Street is fantastic for the black stuff.
Post by: macdanger2 on September 12, 2011, 10:26:44 PM
Had a pint recently in The Long Hall on Georges St, it was mighty.

Nearys on Chatham street is usually decent too
Post by: sans pessimism on September 12, 2011, 10:31:53 PM
Long Hall for 1 or 2 then a short stroll to Cassidys....Heaven!!
Post by: mc_grens on September 12, 2011, 11:50:45 PM
Met Bruce Springsteen in the Long Hall once upon a Friday night- on stage the following night:

"I didn't just come here for the Guinness in the Long Hall... Although that would be enough, just to make the journey..."
Post by: Canalman on September 14, 2011, 09:24:50 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 11, 2011, 06:04:54 PM
Couple of pints in Kennedys yesterday and they were good, decent steak served up as well. Seems to be a well run pub, thanks for planting the seed Canalman. Beats the muck I had in Foleys the day before hands down, stank of churned out tourist crap.
Glad to be of help Croí, Personally don't like Foleys at all. Kennedys is a right gem. Bar Toners, Baggot Street pubs are very poor imo.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 14, 2011, 09:52:35 AM
Quote from: Canalman on September 14, 2011, 09:24:50 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 11, 2011, 06:04:54 PM
Glad to be of help Croí, Personally don't like Foleys at all. Kennedys is a right gem. Bar Toners, Baggot Street pubs are very poor imo.

Has it ever been otherwise?

Post by: The Subbie on September 14, 2011, 11:59:53 AM
getting back on track, for match day pints, Phibsborough, The Hut, good pint of stout , good crack about the place any time i was in it.
Getting towards Croker, the hideout was always a good spot for a pint, however its location is a closely guarded secret ;) ;)
Post by: 5 Sams on September 14, 2011, 12:22:06 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on September 14, 2011, 11:59:53 AM
getting back on track, for match day pints, Phibsborough, The Hut, good pint of stout , good crack about the place any time i was in it.
Getting towards Croker, the hideout was always a good spot for a pint, however its location is a closely guarded secret ;) ;)

Meaghers in Ballybough....though twill be hard to get served in it this Sunday!!
Post by: heffo on September 14, 2011, 12:30:19 PM

The Hideout is grand because of the location but wouldn't class the pints as good.

Mulligans was very good about ten years ago - pints aren't great anymore.

Long Hall, The Swan, Devitts, Cobblestone, The Hut are all very good.
Post by: mc_grens on September 14, 2011, 12:33:43 PM

Jesus it's not that secret. It's bloody packed on match days! Nice all the same in a nice day to stand outside with a pint.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 14, 2011, 03:23:44 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 14, 2011, 12:22:06 PM

Meaghers in Ballybough....though twill be hard to get served in it this Sunday!!

You wouldn't be going there Sunday for the quality of your pint in a plastic container!
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 14, 2011, 04:29:23 PM
The Ha'penny Bridge on the south quays has one of the best pints I know of.  Never been there on a match day though.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 14, 2011, 04:35:32 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 14, 2011, 03:23:44 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 14, 2011, 12:22:06 PM

You wouldn't be going there Sunday for the quality of your pint in a plastic container!

In fairness Seanie anytime we have been there and it has been packed they don't resort to the plastic glasses.....good spot for the spotting legendary Dubs as well....Keaveney's a regular and I've bumped into Hanahoe, Mullins, Moran and Bernard Brogan Snr ......as well as many other legends.
Post by: Go on ya boy ye on September 19, 2011, 03:03:19 PM
Any pints yesterday boys.

Well done Dublin!
Post by: Main Street on September 19, 2011, 07:43:55 PM

Actually the Mulligan's pint was always a poor to mediocre standard. Even if at times it was pulled properly, it was way too cold and tasted bitter.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on September 19, 2011, 09:46:37 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 19, 2011, 07:43:55 PM

Actually the Mulligan's pint was always a poor to mediocre standard. Even if at times it was pulled properly, it was way too cold and tasted bitter.

I used to love the pints in Mulligans, but that was 10 years ago.

Is there a pub called TP Smiths, still beside Jervis St. Shopping Centre? Used to love that place on a Sunday afternoon watching the GAA upstairs, hair of the dog, commentary turned down, Paul Simon on, and fifteen newspapers to choose from - my girlfriend didn't think it was much crack though.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 19, 2011, 09:47:03 PM
Had a couple in the Handball Club beside the Hill yesterady before the game and there was nothing wrong with them...great crack in there as well.
Post by: Gold on September 19, 2011, 09:50:46 PM
Quote from: heffo on September 14, 2011, 12:30:19 PM

The Hideout is grand because of the location but wouldn't class the pints as good.

North King Street, Dublin 7

Brings a tear to my eye
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on September 19, 2011, 10:29:21 PM
Quote from: Gold on September 19, 2011, 09:50:46 PM
Quote from: heffo on September 14, 2011, 12:30:19 PM

North King Street, Dublin 7

Brings a tear to my eye

Christy Moore turned up there one night I was in - he played an unannounced gig to around 50 of us, including Mick Lally and Sean McGinley. Indeed Sean looked after my pint and change while I went to the bog.
Great Pub.
Post by: Declan on September 19, 2011, 10:43:49 PM
Anywhere last night ;)