GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Paris Murphy on August 12, 2011, 01:08:17 AM

Title: DUBLIN V DONEGAL PREDICTIONS..
Post by: Paris Murphy on August 12, 2011, 01:08:17 AM
What's the UNBIASED feeling about this Match..? Personally I would say Donegal will still employ the plundering 12 Men behind the ball strategy that served them well enough to this point but I expect The Dubs will shade it by 4 points.
Title: Re: DUBLIN V DONEGAL PREDICTIONS..
Post by: Stevie g 8 on August 12, 2011, 10:35:05 AM
dublin by 6 or 7
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 12, 2011, 10:46:04 AM
Dublin by 2
Post by: J OGorman on August 12, 2011, 10:47:45 AM
Donegal by 1
Post by: RMDrive on August 12, 2011, 10:52:21 AM
Donegal 0-10 Dublin 1-12
Post by: Zulu on August 12, 2011, 11:39:04 AM
Dublin by 4. I can't see why any unbiased prediction would go with Donegal, they've been largely unimpressive, bar the kildare game and have enjoyed the rub of the green in a number of matches. I can't see their full forward line making much headway and if Dublin can score a goal in the first 40 minutes and get a 3 or 4 point lead then Donegal could lose by 5 or 6. They undoubtedly have a chance but a lot would need to go right IMO.
Post by: borderfox on August 12, 2011, 11:44:55 AM
Dublin 1-13 Donegal 0-8
Once Dublin can establish a lead up they will keep Donegal at arms length and pick them off on the break. A late  breakaway goal will seal Donegals fate.
Post by: Fuzzman on August 12, 2011, 11:56:36 AM
I haven't got a clue and we played both teams.

Dublin's firepower was awesome against us, with their kick passing and shooting of the highest order. I was chatting to Jim McGuinness after the Dublin Tyrone game and he sounded worried by what he saw. He too probably underestimated Dublin before that game and didn't think they had it in them to wipe the floor with Tyrone.

There could be an element of frustration for the Dubs if they continue to try to kick long ball into their FF line. They'll have to use different tactics.
I'm not sure who I want to win myself tbh but I suppose the Dubs play a much more attractive brand of football even if they do have some form of defensive system.

I think Dublin by 2 or 3 but it could be a classic battle like the Kildare Donegal game.
Post by: J OGorman on August 12, 2011, 01:05:54 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 12, 2011, 11:39:04 AM
Dublin by 4. I can't see why any unbiased prediction would go with Donegal, they've been largely unimpressive, bar the kildare game and have enjoyed the rub of the green in a number of matches. I can't see their full forward line making much headway and if Dublin can score a goal in the first 40 minutes and get a 3 or 4 point lead then Donegal could lose by 5 or 6. They undoubtedly have a chance but a lot would need to go right IMO.

you're a marketing man's dream. Dublin produced their annual big game against an aging Tyrone side this year and we're back on a well worn path with so many GAA folk buying into the media lead hype...Donegal may have been largely unimpressive, but bar the Tyrone game, Dublin have stumbled through Leinster inc pipping world beaters (no disrespect intended) Wexford in the final.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 12, 2011, 01:17:03 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 12, 2011, 01:05:54 PM

you're a marketing man's dream. Dublin produced their annual big game against an aging Tyrone side this year and we're back on a well worn path with so many GAA folk buying into the media lead hype...Donegal may have been largely unimpressive, but bar the Tyrone game, Dublin have stumbled through Leinster inc pipping world beaters (no disrespect intended) Wexford in the final.

comfortable against Kildare until down to 14 men and then it took a great goal in last minute to come back (far more comfortable than Donegal were), easy winners against Tyrone (far easier than Donegal were) and poor against Wexford with a stack of injuries and training to be at their best in August to the extent that they weren't facinating on winning Leinster
Post by: Club Rossa on August 12, 2011, 01:26:16 PM
Donegal by 1
Post by: aontroim on August 12, 2011, 01:29:03 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on August 12, 2011, 01:26:16 PM
Donegal by 1

Donegal 0-2 v Dublin 0-1  ;)
Post by: EagleLord on August 12, 2011, 01:29:38 PM
Pure football vs puke football...Please God Pure will come out on top, by 2. Long distance score taking the difference late on.
Post by: Hardy on August 12, 2011, 03:03:01 PM
Donegal by 2
Post by: Fuzzman on August 12, 2011, 03:20:18 PM
I've a feeling Dublin's performances in Leinster was a bit like the way Tyrone & Kerry saunter through their province. They realise that the real championship begins in August and so ye just do enough to get by in games to get there. If you lose, grand ye have the back door.
Jim McGuinness said himself that Donegal couldn't get anywhere close to Tyrone in the 1st half back in June/July.
I've watched a lot of Dublin games both in person & on TV and I've never saw such a complete performance from them in my life. A lot of older and wiser men said the same to me as well.
They were immense for 60 mins and then eased up in the last 10 mins.
All over the field they were faster, fitter, stronger, more accurate and had their system down to a Tee. To me the big question is can they perform like that two days running. Tyrone may be getting old and not as hungry but in my eyes Dublin would beat anyone if they can play like that again. The big question is though will Donegal let them
I don't think Kildare are as good as the Dubs, especially on last week's performance so as Donegal struggled to beat Kildare I suppose my head says the Dubs should win. I actually think they'll win the AI.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 12, 2011, 03:33:26 PM
Donegal 0.11 Dublin 0.09
Post by: J OGorman on August 12, 2011, 03:37:01 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 12, 2011, 03:20:18 PM
I've a feeling Dublin's performances in Leinster was a bit like the way Tyrone & Kerry saunter through their province. They realise that the real championship begins in August and so ye just do enough to get by in games to get there. If you lose, grand ye have the back door.
Jim McGuinness said himself that Donegal couldn't get anywhere close to Tyrone in the 1st half back in June/July.
I've watched a lot of Dublin games both in person & on TV and I've never saw such a complete performance from them in my life. A lot of older and wiser men said the same to me as well.
All over the field they were faster, fitter, stronger, more accurate and had their system down to a Tee. To me the big question is can they perform like that two days running. Tyrone may be getting old and not as hungry but in my eyes Dublin would beat anyone if they can play like that again. The big question is though will Donegal let them
I don't think Kildare are as good as the Dubs, especially on last week's performance so as Donegal struggled to beat Kildare I suppose my head says the Dubs should win. I actually think they'll win the AI.

you do realise Kerry are still in the championship?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 12, 2011, 03:39:17 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 12, 2011, 03:37:01 PM

& Mayo  ;)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 12, 2011, 03:40:45 PM
Convinced that Dublin will win this one well. If they get on a roll early then Donegal will have to come out of their shell and Dublin have the quality to pick them off. Whether they will beat Kerry is another matter though.

Dublin 1-12 Donegal 0-08
Post by: J OGorman on August 12, 2011, 03:55:18 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 12, 2011, 03:39:17 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 12, 2011, 03:37:01 PM

& Mayo  ;)

of course, I wasnt ruling Mayo out @ all.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on August 12, 2011, 04:56:32 PM
dubs 0-14
donegal 0-08
Post by: Blowitupref on August 12, 2011, 05:03:06 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 12, 2011, 01:05:54 PM

Well said Donegal by 1.
Post by: Zulu on August 12, 2011, 06:39:32 PM
Well said? What are you two boys on? Hype is blowing something or someone beyond what they are, sometimes people, teams and events get close to their billing and Dublin are doing exactly that. Few if anyone have been saying they are anything other than all lreland contenders, which they, and three others, clearly are. Dublin haven't only produced one annual decent performance, they were league finalist, beat Kildare who Donegal pipped after extra time, ran all Ireland and league champs cork very close in an all Ireland semi and league final and have beaten Tyrone two years in a row. If any team left in the championship is being built up on sandy foundations it is Donegal, they have done well but the only teams they've met even close to dublins standard are Kildare and Tyrone and they were fortunate to beat both. Dublin beat both way more easily, despite Derry playing very loose in defence Donegal got a crucial break in getting that penalty to beat them.

Like I said, sport is funny and you can't be sure of anything, I think it will be close and Donegal have a good chance but I find it hard to see how any serious football analyst could pick Donegal when you look at formlines and recent achievements. If someone has a gut feeling for Donegal, fair enough but I don't think you can make a strong caes for them winning on what we've seen over the past two years.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 12, 2011, 07:05:30 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 12, 2011, 06:39:32 PM
Well said? What are you two boys on? Hype is blowing something or someone beyond what they are, sometimes people, teams and events get close to their billing and Dublin are doing exactly that. Few if anyone have been saying they are anything other than all lreland contenders, which they, and three others, clearly are. Dublin haven't only produced one annual decent performance, they were league finalist, beat Kildare who Donegal pipped after extra time, ran all Ireland and league champs cork very close in an all Ireland semi and league final and have beaten Tyrone two years in a row. If any team left in the championship is being built up on sandy foundations it is Donegal, they have done well but the only teams they've met even close to dublins standard are Kildare and Tyrone and they were fortunate to beat both. Dublin beat both way more easily, despite Derry playing very loose in defence Donegal got a crucial break in getting that penalty to beat them.

Like I said, sport is funny and you can't be sure of anything, I think it will be close and Donegal have a good chance but I find it hard to see how any serious football analyst could pick Donegal when you look at formlines and recent achievements. If someone has a gut feeling for Donegal, fair enough but I don't think you can make a strong caes for them winning on what we've seen over the past two years.

Could be argued both Dublin,Donegal were fortunate v Kildare. Donegal have beaten Tyrone twice this year & in the past have a good record v better Tyrone teams as for running Cork close so did Down in the All Ireland final & the league final is best remembered for how Dublin let a big lead slip.

Only two years ago Kerry hammered Dublin no doubt the improvement is there for all to see however Donegal have also improved greatly under Jim McGuinness.

Post by: ck on August 12, 2011, 09:54:36 PM
I completely detest the ugly game that Donegal play. However I have watched the whole country underestimate them all year and yet again we now see it against Dublin. Dublin will NOT perform like that again. They kicked points against Tyrone that they only ever dreamt about and got more room than they got all year, they also conceeded 15 points!!
Dublin also have years of track record of not being able to perform when the pressure is on (where they actually under pressure against Tyrone? cos they most certainly will be against Donegal).

I just think people have no idea what this Donegal game is all about and I honestly think Dublin are all set up to blow it yet again. Forget the "fancy" Tyrone performance. Donegal will be a whole different ball game!
Post by: ck on August 12, 2011, 09:59:48 PM

Dublin promise much and deliver little. Donegal have promised nothing, their performances are lulling everyone into a false sense of security and they will beat Dublin!
Post by: Orangemac on August 12, 2011, 10:40:17 PM
No doubt Jim McGuinness is cutting and pasting posts writing off Donegal to show the boys in the dressing room before the game.

"Look what these faceless cowards on their twitter machines are writing we'll show them boys".

Dublin by 2 Jim.
Post by: robertemmet on August 13, 2011, 10:09:46 AM
After watching Cluxton's influence on the Tyrone game, how will he fair out v Donegal

http://mal-sport.blogspot.com/2011/08/first-line-of-attack.html

Post by: skeog on August 13, 2011, 11:35:54 AM
real close game will ensue with donegal hanging in doggedly and eventually winning by a couple of points
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 13, 2011, 02:04:30 PM
It really is looking like Cluxton is the key Dublin player, following quote is from the great JD.

Quote"The place you have to start with Dublin is Stephen Cluxton's kick-outs," he says. "Everything comes from him. That's one of the real strong points Dublin have. The thing about them is, you can stare at them and study them all day but there doesn't seem to be any real system to them.

"There's no set pattern, as far as we were able to work out. Lads make the run and he hits them, simple as that. He looks for the runner and picks him out. There's no signal, there's no way that, say, every second one goes to Alan Brogan or anything like that. Two or three lads give him an option and he decides which one he wants to hit.

"He makes a huge difference because it takes the 50-50 out of the thing. Then they break with very strong runners in Bryan Cullen and Paul Flynn. Barry Cahill was there the last day and did some job for them."
Post by: sans pessimism on August 13, 2011, 04:56:45 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 12, 2011, 03:40:45 PM
Convinced that Dublin will win this one well. If they get on a roll early then Donegal will have to come out of their shell and Dublin have the quality to pick them off. Whether they will beat Kerry is another matter though.

Dublin 1-12 Donegal 0-08
where did Mayo go??
Post by: Shrewdness on August 13, 2011, 08:44:45 PM
I thought ye Mayo people didn't want anyone talking about ye, in case it sends the players into meltdown.....A few of ye have posted on this thread, yet if anyone started a predictions thread for Mayo v Kerry, some Mayo posters would be calling in the mods to shut down the thread.

By the way, it will be Dublin 0-14, Donegal 1-9 for me.
Post by: spuds on August 13, 2011, 10:43:11 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on August 13, 2011, 08:44:45 PM
I thought ye Mayo people didn't want anyone talking about ye, in case it sends the players into meltdown.....A few of ye have posted on this thread, yet if anyone started a predictions thread for Mayo v Kerry, some Mayo posters would be calling in the mods to shut down the thread.

And being the thoughtful neighbour you started a prediction thread on Mayo Kerry semi to see what Mayo posters you could catch :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 14, 2011, 12:01:47 AM
Quote from: spuds on August 13, 2011, 10:43:11 PM

And being the thoughtful neighbour you started a prediction thread on Mayo Kerry semi to see what Mayo posters you could catch :D

I thought I'd just agree with Shrewdness better judgement  ;) Was tempted to start a Roscommon minors one, but didn't feel our provincial brothers  :) needed such unwarranted pressure.
Post by: ross4life on August 14, 2011, 12:38:33 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 14, 2011, 12:01:47 AM

I thought I'd just agree with Shrewdness better judgement  ;) Was tempted to start a Roscommon minors one, but didn't feel our provincial brothers  :) needed such unwarranted pressure.
90% of the Gaaboard wouldn't even be aware of a Roscommon minor semi final & most of the Dubs believe they won the Minor final already v Cork.

Going back to the topic, this is a intriguing match i was proably of the same opinion of alot of the posters here & elsewhere about Donegal until i saw them in the flesh v Kildare the intensity,fitness,will to win & leaders all over the field was a real eye opener yes their play isn't pretty but it's damn effective. Dublin were very impressive v Tyrone & that display can't be ignored no matter how bad Tyrone played on the day but Dublin i thought were poor in the Leinster final needing a woeful goalkeeping mistake to turn the game, So IMO their form is somewhere in between the last two performances.

Have gone on record saying it will take a big performance to beat this Donegal side & i still believe this.
Post by: Shrewdness on August 14, 2011, 07:45:04 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 14, 2011, 12:01:47 AM

Mayo lads, in all honesty, do ye really believe that a couple of threads on here, predicting the score etc, is in any way going to derail Mayo's challenge next Sunday.
Most of the people in Co.Mayo have never even heard of this website, let alone be spooked by anything written on it.

Most Mayo people i meet out there today are only too willing to talk about the match.
Post by: thejuice on August 15, 2011, 07:43:11 PM
My gut feeling is Donegal are going to win this. I can see Dublin being stifled and frustrated. Probably much like the Kildare-Donegal game. Dublin might try play Donegal at their own game and that might be their best bet.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 16, 2011, 12:39:33 AM
the only teams they've met even close to dublins standard are Kildare and Tyrone and they were fortunate to beat both. Dublin beat both way more easily, despite Derry playing very loose in defence Donegal got a crucial break in getting that penalty to beat them.

I'm not sure that you can read that much into Dublin beating both Tyrone & Kildare with greater ease than Donegal did - with the "style" of play that Donegal have they'll never blow a team away, they'll just grind them down and maybe pip them at the post.

I think the Mayo / Kerry game will be a better game to watch but I fancy that the AI winner will come from this S/F

I reserve the right to withdraw that prediction if Mayo win on Sunday ;)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 16, 2011, 10:50:54 AM
Dublin 2-11

Donegal 1-9
Post by: heffo on August 16, 2011, 10:55:51 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 16, 2011, 10:50:54 AM
Dublin 2-11

Donegal 1-9

Cannot see Dublin scoring two goals.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 16, 2011, 10:59:05 AM
Quote from: heffo on August 16, 2011, 10:55:51 AM
Dublin 2-11

Donegal 1-9

Cannot see Dublin scoring two goals.

Dont know heffo, I think we will suprise a few people............................. laois opened them up in the league final, one point in it  ;)
Post by: donegal lad on August 16, 2011, 01:27:34 PM
Dublin 2-11

Donegal 1-9
Donegal have conceded only 7 goals since the league started February and your saying dublin will get 2 in one game wouldn't count on it
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 16, 2011, 02:42:59 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on August 16, 2011, 01:27:34 PM
Dublin 2-11

Donegal 1-9
Donegal have conceded only 7 goals since the league started February and your saying dublin will get 2 in one game wouldn't count on it

Dublin have scored 20 goals in 11 league and championship games including missing 4 easy goal chances against Tyrone and another 3 against Laois so scoring 2 should be possible
Post by: donegal lad on August 16, 2011, 02:48:13 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 16, 2011, 02:42:59 PM
Dublin 2-11

Donegal 1-9

Dublin have scored 20 goals in 11 league and championship games including missing 4 easy goal chances against Tyrone and another 3 against Laois so scoring 2 should be possible
Yes dublin have been getting goals for fun but they have not come up against a team with a defense as solid as donegals i would be very surprised to see dublin getting 2 goals against us but it could happen
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 16, 2011, 02:50:58 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on August 16, 2011, 02:48:13 PM
Dublin 2-11

Donegal 1-9

Yes dublin have been getting goals for fun but they have not come up against a team with a defense as solid as donegals i would be very surprised to see dublin getting 2 goals against us but it could happen

One could also argue Donegal haven't come up against a team with anything approaching the firepower of Dublin either
Post by: Hardy on August 16, 2011, 02:59:07 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 16, 2011, 02:50:58 PM
Dublin 2-11

Donegal 1-9

One could also argue Donegal haven't come up against a team with anything approaching the firepower of Dublin either

Kildare:
3-16 v. Laois
2-11 v. Meath
0-19 v. Derry

Then 0-11 v. Donegal in normal time.
Post by: Bensars on August 16, 2011, 04:16:44 PM
Dublin 0-14
Donegal 1-12

Dont think Dublin will put two performances together and the Donegal defense is much more frugal. I initially thought of putting dublin down for 0-10 but think they they will pick up a few more frees against the Donegal men than other teams.

Saying that i would prefer to see Dublin going through for thesake of the final but feel Donegal will suffocate them and frustrate them.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 16, 2011, 04:29:47 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 16, 2011, 02:59:07 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 16, 2011, 02:50:58 PM
Dublin 2-11

Donegal 1-9

Kildare:
3-16 v. Laois
2-11 v. Meath
0-19 v. Derry

Then 0-11 v. Donegal in normal time.

We only managed 1-11 against Dublin who had fourteen men for a good half an hour which is only a point more than the 1*-10 we managed in 70 mins against Donegal  ;)

Provided that Dublin are properly focussed on the task (they weren't against Wexford IMO) than they should win this with a bit to spare. Much as it pains me to say it but Dublin have more firepower than Kildare and their backs are at least the equal of our defence. They will at some stage force Donegal to come out of their shells and when that happens it will be game over.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on August 16, 2011, 05:41:13 PM
dubs 0-12
donegal 0-10
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 16, 2011, 06:16:39 PM
Fascinating game in prospect and it's very difficult to predict a result. I believe that the games played so far in the championship offer no guidance as to how the match will work out – and for both teams the championship starts again on the 28th.

As a Dubs supporter looking for straws to clutch at, I think (hope?) that the fact that Dublin were here last year against Cork and lost out only in the last few minutes will stand to them in the heat of battle. They do look far more organised than last year and hopefully that will stand to them on the day.

Dublin by 1 point.  ;)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 16, 2011, 07:22:34 PM
Ah we will get around your defense at some stage donegal lad...................its your pot bellied keeper only to beat then, what a pot  ;)
Post by: cadence on August 16, 2011, 09:38:44 PM
hello... the way i see it, donegal have a few areas we can improve on tha'll give us a better chance. our distribution, especially from defence into attack, needs sorting. mchugh at times runs into traffic, relying on drawing a foul when he's isolated. dublin defenders might prove too cute for this and and one or two of our defenders seem to panic slightly, or not concentrate on their passing.

our defence is solid enough and i'm hoping we'll be able to come out even stevens in midfield, it's the attacking and the getting the ball to our forwards that i'd be worried a wee bit about.

donegal by 6.

amen.

Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 16, 2011, 10:15:06 PM
Much as I have always liked Donegal I believe the current team is overrated and that Dublin will win this easily enough. For all the talk of Donegal's tight defensive system Tyrone should have been out of sight by half time in the Ulster semi final but for poor shooting. The loss of the Bradley's meant the Derry attack that Donegal went on to face in the final was severely blunted.

The extra time in the match against Kildare in the quarter final was gripping but the quality of play was for most of that match very limited with poor passing, shooting and decision making from both teams. Dublin will have too much in the forwards for Donegal and I can see them winning by 5/6 points and quite possibly more if they get into a lead and force Donegal to come out and try to claw them back.
Post by: cadence on August 16, 2011, 11:18:03 PM
dublin rightly go into this one as favs. the intensity of their training regime is scary and they'll have huge belief going into this one. having said that, mcguinness also seems to be a wily character and the way he's turned us around has been something. i'm guessing he won't be straying too far from the tactics that have got us this far. couple of opportune scores here or there is what it's going to take. it'll be very tight imo and i'm hoping for an epic battle.

oh to be a fly on the wall at both training camps to see how they're prepping for this one. 
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 18, 2011, 09:50:48 PM
Dublin by 5 or 6 imo.
Post by: donegal lad on August 19, 2011, 02:03:53 AM
This is the first donegal game i have been worried about making a prediction but after spending everyday since the dublin vs Tyrone game was played i have come up with this. Tie dublin ff line will punish any fb line in the country if given the space they got the last day they won't get this much space the next day i believe 2nd point is that no matter how good dublin were the last day Tyrone still scored 15 points against them the donegal team will cause a lot of trouble if given the chance and my last point is all the pressure is on dublin to perform kilo the last day and to beat donegal if they don't the year will be a failure .
With all this in mind i think donegal will win a hard thought game by 2 points and wouldn't be at all surprised if it went to extra time roll on the 28th till we all find out
Post by: snoopdog on August 19, 2011, 08:17:21 AM
Dublin put in a great performance against old legs in Tyrone. Donegals defence will be a lot harder to penetrate and we could also see the Dubs returning to their defensive style for this game.
A lot of dubs i have been speaking to are talking about an All Ireland final against Kerry. If the players are thinking the same then Donegal will be happy with that.

Donegal 0.16 Dublin 1.12
Post by: heffo on August 19, 2011, 08:46:47 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on August 19, 2011, 08:17:21 AM
A lot of dubs i have been speaking to are talking about an All Ireland final against Kerry.

I genuinely haven't spoken to a single person who's looking beyond Donegal.
Post by: Zulu on August 19, 2011, 08:50:05 AM
There's too much being made of Dublin conceding 15 points to Tyrone IMO, a good number of those scores came from soft frees and a few were exceptional scores (O'Neill's 1st & Cavanagh's sideline into the hill) but most importantly many of them came late when the game was won. Dublin didn't have to batten down the hatches and conceding 15 points is not an indication of a defence that gives up scores easily. I expect the Dublin defenders will stay back and help nullify the Donegal FF line so I don't see Donegal getting much more than 8 or 9 scores, I think Dublin can get more than that
Post by: Hound on August 19, 2011, 08:57:56 AM
Quote from: Bensars on August 16, 2011, 04:16:44 PM
Dublin 0-14
Donegal 1-12

Dont think Dublin will put two performances together and the Donegal defense is much more frugal. I initially thought of putting dublin down for 0-10 but think they they will pick up a few more frees against the Donegal men than other teams.
Saying that i would prefer to see Dublin going through for thesake of the final but feel Donegal will suffocate them and frustrate them.
Why do you think Dublin will pick up more frees than other teams?

Dublin only scored 3 points from frees in the last 2 games (1 missed free from each game from memory). The two Brogans and Connolly have been awarded just 2 frees between them in total during those 2 matches.

Not sure what the reasoning behind that is. Maybe those players release the ball very quickly, or the Wex and Tyrone defenders were just too loose. Or the ref a little slower to blow the whistle after the Bernard/Kildare controversy.
Post by: cadence on August 19, 2011, 10:30:37 AM
Quote from: Zulu on August 19, 2011, 08:50:05 AM
There's too much being made of Dublin conceding 15 points to Tyrone IMO, a good number of those scores came from soft frees and a few were exceptional scores (O'Neill's 1st & Cavanagh's sideline into the hill) but most importantly many of them came late when the game was won. Dublin didn't have to batten down the hatches and conceding 15 points is not an indication of a defence that gives up scores easily. I expect the Dublin defenders will stay back and help nullify the Donegal FF line so I don't see Donegal getting much more than 8 or 9 scores, I think Dublin can get more than that

i'd agree with this. the final score in the dub/tyrone match wasn't a true reflection of how dominant dublin were. it was a testament to tyrone's spirit and doggedness that the margin was what it ended up being. and perhaps dublin did slacken off at the end and conceded some ground to protect against goal opportunities. what i do think is that tyrone went hell for leather from the get go and couldn't match what dublin had brought. and donegal seem to have a tendancy to start slowly as an attacking unit. defensively we get up to speed fairly quickly, but it seems to be that this isn't the case going forward and it isn't until we haven't had a score in yonks, that the players throw caution to the wind and come out and go for it. and that's what we need to do against dublin to win. do or die from the whistle. it wll be no use trying to fend off dublin, reliant on our defence. dublin's forwards are too good not to be able to keep the score board ticking over. i also think this donegal team has more in them. it hasn't clicked for us for the entire game, but i think that that type of performance is there. whether they can turn it on in croker sunday week is anyone's guess and whether that will be enough on the day, who knows?! it's been great to watch them this year. they've taken a lot of stick for tactics but they're never faltered and each game they've been better and looked more assured and together. they're having the time of their lives i reckon and they'll give dublin a game for sure.   
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 19, 2011, 10:40:39 AM
I see brolly was up with the donegal lads the other eve..................wonder what wisdom he was spreading with them
Post by: cadence on August 19, 2011, 11:31:27 AM
reckon he has a fetish for donegal.  :P

of all the sides left, kerry have the least interesting narrative. for them, it's the same old same old. expecting to win themselves and by most others too. if any of the rest win it'll be a great sporting story.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 19, 2011, 12:05:44 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 19, 2011, 08:46:47 AM
A lot of dubs i have been speaking to are talking about an All Ireland final against Kerry.

Lads are starting to dream heffo, majority expect to be in the final but haven't heard any talk of a Kerry match up.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 19, 2011, 12:07:50 PM
No hype around the lads......everything is very low key...............the less articles by d ose and mcstay the better.........
Post by: heffo on August 19, 2011, 12:14:53 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 19, 2011, 12:05:44 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 19, 2011, 08:46:47 AM

Lads are starting to dream heffo, majority expect to be in the final but haven't heard any talk of a Kerry match up.

Possibly but people are entitled to dream, it's been far too long since we were in a final and it is a two horse race to make it there.

There is zero hype around Dublin at the moment - I've no doubt the usual suspects outside of Dublin will try and crank it up after this Sunday though.
Post by: Canalman on August 19, 2011, 12:41:07 PM
Agree with the lads, ZERO hype here in Dublin. Most people I have spoken to are very apprehensive about this one.
We have lost FOUR semis on the trot, all 4 in traumatic (for us) circumstances. Throw in 2 humiliations from Kerry and Tyrone as well  and  you wil understand why we are wary.

Still we will travel in hope as this defensive ogre that is Donegal swaggers in to town with their octopus defence.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 19, 2011, 12:53:16 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on August 19, 2011, 02:03:53 AM
This is the first donegal game i have been worried about making a prediction but after spending everyday since the dublin vs Tyrone game was played i have come up with this. Tie dublin ff line will punish any fb line in the country if given the space they got the last day they won't get this much space the next day i believe 2nd point is that no matter how good dublin were the last day Tyrone still scored 15 points against them the donegal team will cause a lot of trouble if given the chance and my last point is all the pressure is on dublin to perform kilo the last day and to beat donegal if they don't the year will be a failure .
With all this in mind i think donegal will win a hard thought game by 2 points and wouldn't be at all surprised if it went to extra time roll on the 28th till we all find out

Yes but as has been said a large number of them points were well after the game was over and don't forget that same old Tyrone team scored more times against Donegal then Donegal managed against them.
Post by: Hardy on August 19, 2011, 01:59:32 PM
The lads would remind you of Comical Ali. Hype? What hype? I don't see any hype.
Post by: heffo on August 19, 2011, 02:15:44 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 19, 2011, 01:59:32 PM
The lads would remind you of Comical Ali. Hype? What hype? I don't see any hype.

Unlike Comical Ali standing in front of foreign tanks rolling in, can you show me where the hype is?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 19, 2011, 02:32:01 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 19, 2011, 12:07:50 PM
No hype around the lads......everything is very low key...............the less articles by d ose and mcstay the better.........

Not sure if its the same as it used to be 5 or 6 years back, but a few of the local radio station were right hoars for hyping the whole thing up.
Post by: Jinxy on August 19, 2011, 03:04:40 PM
I saw a load of hype on O'Connell St this morning.
Just sitting beside the spire....... watching........ waiting.
Post by: heffo on August 19, 2011, 03:09:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 19, 2011, 03:04:40 PM
I saw a load of hype on O'Connell St this morning.
Just sitting beside the spire....... watching........ waiting.

Ah it was there alright Jinxy just wait for it. Electric Eddie will be along any minute to play air guitar to 'We're going to win the Sam'.
Post by: J70 on August 19, 2011, 03:22:10 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 19, 2011, 12:53:16 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on August 19, 2011, 02:03:53 AM

Yes but as has been said a large number of them points were well after the game was over and don't forget that same old Tyrone team scored more times against Donegal then Donegal managed against them.

Reading through the threads on the game, you seem very determined to talk up Dublin's prospects in comparison to Donegal, at least as measured by performances and results to date. Nothing wrong with that at all, but it is unusual on this board, some supporters of teams like Tyrone aside!

I think we'll obviously start as underdogs, but we've a great chance if the lads don't let nerves get to them like they did against Tyrone in the first half. Very hard to know how it will go, but I would be worried about the middle of the field. Kildare hammered us there for long periods and while we are great at absorbing pressure, Dublin could be the team to punish us from out the field, something Derry and Tyrone and Kildare couldn't do. Its a novel pairing though, and given that there's little to go on in terms of how these two teams will measure up (games against teams both have played offer little help, in my view) and because we're still learning the capabilities and limits of this Donegal team, I think its futile to make any strong predictions. Dublin look to have greater scoring power and better midfield, so should start as favourites. I think we could frustrate them though and sneak it.
Post by: cadence on August 19, 2011, 05:56:12 PM
going on that last dub performance, the effort needed to keep in touch with them in the first half will be huge, like a sevens game or something for the amount of running needed. we'll need to have the shooting boots on and take our chances too, but there might be a bit more space in the second half for our half backs to get forward more in support to make things a bit more difficult to defend against. one thing this donegal side don't do is throw the towel in. the team spirit is really strong and ingrained, so i just can't see dublin getting out of sight enough to finish us off by a big margin. dubs favourites aye, but you wouldn't put the house on it. it could go down to the last few minutes and that's when the crack will start. both teams have been taken to the wire and beyond this season and come out on top, so i doubt if either will choke. could be an epic.       
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 23, 2011, 10:48:39 AM
Prediction:

Donegal 1-13, Dublin 0-14
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 23, 2011, 11:04:35 AM
Donegal 0-8 Dublin 2-17

Dublin -3 even money, a free one.

My aunt is from Donegal, is it ok to bet against them :o
Post by: cadence on August 23, 2011, 11:42:04 AM
if donegal win it outright this year, i predict that i won't get so drunk the night and day after that i'll be able to remember the game. but that's for another thread when the time comes. donegal by 2-3.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 23, 2011, 11:45:50 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 23, 2011, 11:04:35 AM
Donegal 0-8 Dublin 2-17

Dublin -3 even money, a free one.

My aunt is from Donegal, is it ok to bet against them :o

In some counties you can even to more than that to your aunt  ;)  :o AILF ...AILF ..AILF
Post by: johnpower on August 23, 2011, 11:04:00 PM
Dublin 3-17 Donegal 09

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 25, 2011, 04:44:19 PM
Quote from: johnpower on August 23, 2011, 11:04:00 PM
Dublin 3-17 Donegal 09

What drugs are you on John?  :D
Post by: ross4life on August 25, 2011, 08:42:18 PM
On newstalk a few mins ago David Brady predicted a Dublin win & we went on to say people will be murdered when looking for final tickets.
Post by: heffo on August 25, 2011, 09:07:29 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 25, 2011, 08:42:18 PM
On newstalk a few mins ago David Brady predicted a Dublin win & we went on to say people will be murdered when looking for final tickets.

My favourite thing about David Brady the pundit is that he doesn't go for cheap metaphors when trying to make a point.
Post by: INDIANA on August 25, 2011, 10:05:43 PM
Dublin 0-2
Donegal 0-1
Post by: Hill16 Blues on August 25, 2011, 10:07:24 PM
Was good discussion with Brady and Manus Boyle. Brady has changed his tune drmatically re Dublin. God help us but I think he almost likes us now!!

Think game on Sunday will be tight for 35-40 mins. If Dublin have 3/4 point lead at that point as Kildare did think Donegal will be in serious trouble. Dublin have 2-3 years of this extreme high intensity training. Donegal are in their first year. Would expect Dublin to get stronger through last quarter and think Donegal will struggle to stay with Dublin. Think also if it comes down to options off the bench we are stronger - McMenimen, O'Gara, Fennell, McConnell and others. There will be huge determination within this Dubliin team to win semi final after last year.

Dublin should win but we know from many years of bitter experience that things don't always work out the way they should with Dublin!!! Hopefully this year to be different!
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 25, 2011, 10:09:24 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 25, 2011, 08:42:18 PM

;D class.....brady has grown on me alright.....must be all the pints with whacker senan
Post by: J70 on August 26, 2011, 02:31:02 AM
Quote from: Hill16 Blues on August 25, 2011, 10:07:24 PM
Was good discussion with Brady and Manus Boyle. Brady has changed his tune drmatically re Dublin. God help us but I think he almost likes us now!!

Think game on Sunday will be tight for 35-40 mins. If Dublin have 3/4 point lead at that point as Kildare did think Donegal will be in serious trouble. Dublin have 2-3 years of this extreme high intensity training. Donegal are in their first year. Would expect Dublin to get stronger through last quarter and think Donegal will struggle to stay with Dublin. Think also if it comes down to options off the bench we are stronger - McMenimen, O'Gara, Fennell, McConnell and others. There will be huge determination within this Dubliin team to win semi final after last year.

Dublin should win but we know from many years of bitter experience that things don't always work out the way they should with Dublin!!! Hopefully this year to be different!

The gap after 35-40 minutes can only be judged in the context of how the game is going. we were in the same situation against Tyrone and Kildare and reeled them in fairly quickly. If we're getting hammered in midfield, then yes, we will have a serious problem. The bench comparison is arguable. I don't recall Donegal having had such strong options available to them since the All Ireland winning team... its nice to be able to call on men like Toye, Magee, Molloy and so on. But we'll see on Sunday. You may well be right. I honestly don't have a clue how this is going to play out.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 26, 2011, 07:13:14 AM
Donegal by 3. zero pressure on them.

All they have to do is not concede more than one goal in the first 15 mis and they will win. I don't think Dublin will implode but they will be too "tight" to play anywhere near the level of the Tyrone game.
Post by: sheamy on August 26, 2011, 07:59:23 AM
Very difficult one to call this. Everything points to a Dublin victory but it'll be tough. The big big question for me is whether Donegal can show more of the attacking play that in my mind they are capable of. Their defensive strategy nearly and should have cost them the game v Kildare. If Kildare up are six after that goal, it's goodnight big Jim. However, the whole ethos of the tactic is to stay in the game as long as possible and then attack in numbers in the closing stages. At times, there were 8-9 donegal men running at Kildare when they had to chase it.

It's a well worn record but if Dublin can operate the wings and kick points from angles then they can easily run up a total such that Donegal have to abandon ship and come out of the shell. This is the beauty of the tactic though. It can easily go wrong but in % terms, you're gonna kick 8-10 wides in a half shooting from distance and under pressure. Some day 6-7 of those shots will go over and Donegal will get hammered. However, hasn't happened yet (nearly did v Tyrone) and might not happen this year.

A worry for Dublin is that the area B Brogan operates in will be totally swamped. Donegal won't come out and play in first 20mins at all. Dubs need to be prepared for that and for crowd not to get frustrated. If the dubs are shooting wide after wide in this period then Donegal confidence will soar. Bottom line is that I can't see Dublin being held to 12 points so I predict a victory for them.

Donegal have the attacking potential which in my opinion they need to show more of in this game to win. They are capable of it however. Remains to be seen if big Jim will evolve the system ahead of being forced to.
Post by: highorlow on August 26, 2011, 08:18:31 AM
It will probably work out the same way as the other semi with the Dubs winning easy enough in the end, Dublin 3-11 Donegal 2-8.
Post by: ross4life on August 27, 2011, 03:27:52 PM
Has RTÉ website got any prediction right this summer?  Lets see how they fare this weekend as they have tipped Dublin.
Post by: heffo on August 27, 2011, 03:34:58 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 27, 2011, 03:27:52 PM
Has RTÉ website got any prediction right this summer?  Lets see how they fare this weekend as they have tipped Dublin.

They guy doing those predictions is only a youngfella working for rte.ie - he's not a GAA Correspondent.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 27, 2011, 03:46:20 PM
Dublin by 3.
Post by: J70 on August 27, 2011, 04:02:55 PM
Quote from: highorlow on August 26, 2011, 08:18:31 AM
It will probably work out the same way as the other semi with the Dubs winning easy enough in the end, Dublin 3-11 Donegal 2-8.

Five goals? Have you been watching these two teams?! :D
Post by: bennydorano on August 27, 2011, 08:57:13 PM
As much as I'd like to see Donegal winning, I cant see it.  4pt win for the Dubs tomorrow and a hiding for Kerry in the final.
Post by: cadence on August 27, 2011, 09:06:06 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 27, 2011, 03:34:58 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 27, 2011, 03:27:52 PM

They guy doing those predictions is only a youngfella working for rte.ie - he's not a GAA Correspondent.

these youngfellas... where do they get the nerve?!
Post by: Fuzzman on August 27, 2011, 10:02:58 PM
Donegal to play a 10 man forward line and go on all out attack for 40 mins

I think Dublin will pull clear at the start of the 2nd half and win by 5 or more.
Post by: laoislad on August 27, 2011, 11:31:46 PM
Donegal by 3.
Post by: johnpower on August 27, 2011, 11:34:18 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 25, 2011, 04:44:19 PM
Quote from: johnpower on August 23, 2011, 11:04:00 PM
Dublin 3-17 Donegal 09

What drugs are you on John?  :D

Only joking cant really call this one this will be very close . Looking forward to the match
Post by: heffo on August 27, 2011, 11:36:44 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 27, 2011, 11:31:46 PM
Donegal by 3.

Do your neighbours the travellers & Nigerians share your hatred of all things Dublin?
Post by: laoislad on August 27, 2011, 11:39:15 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 27, 2011, 11:36:44 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 27, 2011, 11:31:46 PM
Donegal by 3.

Do your neighbours the travellers & Nigerians share your hatred of all things Dublin?

Is it the Hashish or Coke that's making you sensitive tonight?
Post by: dillinger on August 28, 2011, 01:01:24 AM
As much as i would like to see Donegal win it, Dublin 5 pts. As long as winner beats Kerry which they will. ::)
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 28, 2011, 10:38:00 AM
very hard to predict this game.
On one hand you have the fast ball moving Dublin who would have the greater firepower in the forwards and are no slouches in defense either.
Then you have the mean attack killing donegal defence who could close up the options and avenues for the fast ball in to Dublins attack. The only way to win here would be scoring midfielders (which imo neither team have) or attacking half backs who can carry the ball and/or score points- only really Donegal have this imo despite McCarthys occassional awkward looking forray.

Route one might be Dublins final answer, with OGara possibly proving a lot of people wrong.
Winning ball and then winning frees.
I think mistakes and frees will decide this.
Dublin have the upper hand here and Cluxton could be the games top scorer !
If Donegal dont make mistakes and have to chase the game and can keep themselves tight, they could squeeze it thought their scoring half backs.
If not and Dublins relentless attacks yield frees (from distnce) , then Cluxton will punish them.

Might be horrible for the bandwagoners and non fanatics to watch, but I am sure us football freaks will love what will be a real old fashioned Championship battle.
Looking forward to it and heading in shortly !
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 28, 2011, 10:45:55 AM
The Dubs by at least 4 points.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 28, 2011, 11:39:27 AM
Dublin by 2 in a point only contest, 0-11 to 0-9 or thereabouts.
Post by: sammymaguire on August 28, 2011, 11:44:14 AM
Donegal 0-11 Dublin 3-14 would love to see it bring the other way around mind you
Post by: Ulick on August 28, 2011, 11:56:06 AM
No score draw.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2011, 12:20:41 PM
Honestly you think it will be that tight? the majority think that this game will be tight, I believe if Dublin let rip then there will be at least 5/6 points in it in the end.

In the Kildare match a few things favoured Donegal, for starters Johnny Doyle had a terrible game due to an early knock, Kildare were missing a few and the frees Kildare missed didn't help. Dublin's only failing is they can collapse in a game when the going gets tough, the expectation of the fans can also have an impact.

I'm going for Dublin 1-17 Donegal 1-12
Post by: borderfox on August 28, 2011, 01:06:55 PM
Dublin will win convincingly.They have better forwards and a defence just as stingy as Donegal.  Double scores 1-13 to 0-8 Dublins time has come.
Post by: J OGorman on August 28, 2011, 01:12:37 PM
Cant honestly see how Dublin are going to let rip or post a big score that alot of folk are predicting. Donegal have a much leaner and meaner defence than Wexford. Both Connelly and B Brogan got zero change from the Wexford defence, both being subbed.

Gonna be a fascinating match..canny wait
Post by: Qwerty28 on August 28, 2011, 10:55:38 PM
Just reading back on some of the predictions....some lads were very optimistic!! Thought it would be 0-11 to 0-9 in favour of the Dubs but hard to believe 0-8 was enought to win an All Ireland Semi Final!
Post by: EagleLord on August 29, 2011, 12:53:29 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on August 12, 2011, 01:29:38 PM
Pure football vs puke football...Please God Pure will come out on top, by 2. Long distance score taking the difference late on.

:)
Post by: Blowitupref on August 29, 2011, 03:52:56 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on August 29, 2011, 12:53:29 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on August 12, 2011, 01:29:38 PM

:)

Why would you class Dublin as pure football? Kerry certainly.