GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2006, 11:37:09 PM

Title: Introduce yourself - what's your club and county!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2006, 11:37:09 PM
Maybe we can get this stickied Admin ?  ;D ;D

Clubs : Ardboe O' Donovan Rossa (Home)  ,St Vincent's GFC Toronto (Here)
County : Tyrone
Best Football Memory: September 28th 2003
Title: Re: Introduce yourself - what's your club and county!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 09, 2006, 11:38:59 PM
Clubs : Mostrim
County : Longford
Best Football Memory: Eh.......
Post by: ziggysego on November 09, 2006, 11:53:05 PM
Club: An Cáislean Glas
County: Tir Eoghain
Best GAA Memory: Tyrone winning the All Ireland for the first time in 2003
Post by: stephenite on November 09, 2006, 11:56:07 PM
Club : Ballina Stephenites
County : Mayo
Best memory : 17th March 2005 , the day my club were crowned High Kings of Ireland
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 10, 2006, 12:06:29 AM
Club: Owen Roes Leckpatrick
Best GAA Memory: Not happened yet...but the day Owen Roes win the Championship....any Championship!
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 10, 2006, 02:16:18 AM
California Kerryman here.

No club.

Too many memories to put one above the rest.

Post by: Flirtyflan on November 10, 2006, 04:23:07 AM
Club: St. Colmcilles Carrickmore (Home)  Tyrone New York (Away)
County: Tyrone/Noo Nork
Best Gaa Memories: where do I begin.....!!! :)
Post by: fearsiuil on November 10, 2006, 04:35:35 AM
Club: Balla Grainnuailes (H)   Geraldine Moran's (A)

County: Muigh eo

Best GAA Memory: Minor county and provincial club champions
Post by: Declan on November 10, 2006, 06:43:06 AM
Club - Dunshaughlin since 1995 - Originally - St Marks Tallaght
County  - Dublin
Post by: Barney on November 10, 2006, 08:20:12 AM
Look at the user profile. Talk about Big Brother with all the statistics! Time spent on line! Analysis of log-in times etc.

Club - cannot be disclosed as I am currently under surveillance by Mayo County Board.

County - Maigh Eo

Best Memory - well last year against Dublin is hard to beat, and the u21 Final was special.
Post by: full back on November 10, 2006, 08:28:38 AM
Club: Unwilling to disclose at this time

County: Armagh

Best Memory: September 2002
Post by: SlimShady on November 10, 2006, 08:42:53 AM
Club: Erins Own Cargin

County: Antrim

Post by: ludermor on November 10, 2006, 08:45:31 AM
Club: Kiltane
County: Mayo
Post by: Rois on November 10, 2006, 08:50:17 AM
Club: Originally Owen Roes Leckpatrick, Co Tyrone, now take an interest in Bredagh, Co Down

County: Tir Eoghain go deo

Best GAA memory: 25 Sep 2005 (slightly better than 03 for reasons known to those that know me  ;))
Post by: Billy Magoo on November 10, 2006, 09:02:24 AM
Club: Robert Emmet's Slaughtneil
County: Derry
Best GAA memory: Slaughtneil winning the SFC for the first time in 2004.

Post by: Dinny Breen on November 10, 2006, 09:07:50 AM
Club: Round Towers Kildare

County: Kildare

Best GAA memory: 28 Sep 1996, County Champions again after 35 years,  22 Sep 1998, Kildare Leinster Champions bridging a 42 year gap
Post by: Scallionater on November 10, 2006, 09:21:13 AM
Club: Eire Og
County: Carlow
Greatest memory: 5 Leinster titles and 2 All Ireland Club Finals
Post by: dubnut on November 10, 2006, 09:28:08 AM
Club - Undislosed Meath Club since early 2005, previously in Dublin.
County : Dublin
Best memory : being asked to captain my old club team.
Post by: supersarsfields on November 10, 2006, 09:32:32 AM
Club: Drumragh   

County: Tyrone

Best Moment: 1999 Drumragh winning the Championship closely followed by 2004 league win.
Post by: Lone Shark on November 10, 2006, 09:38:17 AM
Club:    Ferbane (Home)  Round Towers London (For now)

County:    Offaly

Best GAA Memory:     People power at work - sitting on the pitch in 1998 making sure we got our five minutes.
Post by: Ryano on November 10, 2006, 09:39:52 AM
County; Roscommon

Club; Western Gaels

Best GAA moment; The year 2001, we beat Galway in the Connaught semi inTuam and Mayo in the Connaught final in the Hyde with a last minute goal. SWEET!

Not often it happens...... and things have gone (a bit) down hill since! :-\
Post by: Ryano on November 10, 2006, 09:41:19 AM
Quote from: Lone Shark on November 10, 2006, 09:38:17 AM
Club:    Ferbane (Home)  Round Towers London (For now)

Do you know a fella called Mick Hanley Lone Shark? He plays for Round Towers in London....
Post by: Lone Shark on November 10, 2006, 09:50:27 AM
I know the Tractor Hanley very well - sound as they come, though that doesn't make it hurt any less when you run into a tackle from him. You're from Western Gaels as well then I take it.....
Post by: Guillem2 on November 10, 2006, 09:54:45 AM
Antrim, Rossa
Post by: AbbeySider on November 10, 2006, 10:01:49 AM
Club: Ballintubber

Best Memory: 2006 Semi-Final against Dublin. Words dont come close to describing what it was like. Ill never witness anything like it again
Post by: theskull1 on November 10, 2006, 10:03:54 AM
Dunloy

Co Antrim

Post by: Declan on November 10, 2006, 10:07:26 AM
Ah cmon dubnut - still ashamed of the new club????
Post by: North Longford on November 10, 2006, 10:39:42 AM
Clubs : Colmcille
County : Longford
Best Football Memory: 2002 Leinster Minor Final
Post by: Ryano on November 10, 2006, 10:54:39 AM
Quote from: Lone Shark on November 10, 2006, 09:50:27 AM
I know the Tractor Hanley very well - sound as they come, though that doesn't make it hurt any less when you run into a tackle from him. You're from Western Gaels as well then I take it.....

The tractor!? Very apt name for the big hoor! Hard as nails. I could tell you stories about that lad from back in the day, but it might not be good for my general well being to do so... My ould fella used to train him at W.G. and there was craic had!

Ya we have bounced off each other a couple of times too back in the day when he was playing his GAA on this side of the water for W.G. and i was still playing myself. Lovely guy but i would not get on the wrong side of him, he would go through you for a short cut. I actually met him a few weeks ago when he was in Dublin at the Ros & Meath Minor semi final, got him tickets for it too. Will be having pints with him i'd say over the xmas back in Ros. Tell him big Ryan said hello!
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 10, 2006, 11:00:32 AM
Clubs : Cappamore

County : Limerick

Best Football Memory: Captaining our Footballers to county glory in 2004
Post by: dubnut on November 10, 2006, 11:04:03 AM
"Ah cmon dubnut - still ashamed of the new club?"

Not at all Declan, but its a small town and small club and if I name them I may as well put my real name on instead of Dubnut.
pm me and I'll tell ya!
Post by: Lone Shark on November 10, 2006, 11:08:58 AM
Quote from: Ryano on November 10, 2006, 10:54:39 AM

The tractor!? Very apt name for the big hoor! Hard as nails. I could tell you stories about that lad from back in the day, but it might not be good for my general well being to do so... My ould fella used to train him at W.G. and there was craic had!

Ya we have bounced off each other a couple of times too back in the day when he was playing his GAA on this side of the water for W.G. and i was still playing myself. Lovely guy but i would not get on the wrong side of him, he would go through you for a short cut. I actually met him a few weeks ago when he was in Dublin at the Ros & Meath Minor semi final, got him tickets for it too. Will be having pints with him i'd say over the xmas back in Ros. Tell him big Ryan said hello!

Saw him get a bit, em, involved, a few times on the field all right. One of those lads you'd definitely be glad was on your side rather than theirs when things get a bit messy. He was fair decent to myself and a whole load of other new lads coming into the club all the same though.

I don't be down as much these nights - had to move off up to Northwest London with work, so tis two hours each way to training these times, so it's an occasional visit at most. Still, I'll be down a few more times before the year is out, so I'll definitely drop your name and see if it lights any fires ....  ;)
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 10, 2006, 11:10:39 AM
Club: Owenmore Gaels (Gaeil na hAbhann Móire)
County: Sligo
Best football memory: 1999 Sligo JFC Q-Final - Owenmore Gaels 1-7 Ballymote 1-6. They have got just marginally better than us in the intervening period. >:(
Post by: whatever on November 10, 2006, 11:16:58 AM
Club: O'Dwyers Balbriggan
County: Dublin
Best GAA memory: 17th September 1995, watching a team mate lift the Sam Maguire as Dublin captain and then lifting the cup myself in our clubhouse that evening
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 10, 2006, 11:21:38 AM
Club: Cross Rangers originally, presently Ballincollig cork.

Best memory: so many it is hard, but has to be the rush after the 1997 Club final against Knockmore...magic,  oh and the 1999 one was pretty good too Stephenite ;D
Post by: liihb on November 10, 2006, 11:22:18 AM
Club - St Brigids
County - Dublin
Best Memory July 16th 1995

Post by: SlimShady on November 10, 2006, 11:23:12 AM
Quote from: stibhan on November 10, 2006, 11:20:55 AM
Club: Naomh Brid, Aontroim

you mean St Brits?
Post by: Windmill abu on November 10, 2006, 11:25:16 AM
Club: Windmill St Patricks
Best GAA Memory: Winning the East Tyrone Junior League 1963 also Sam arriving in Aughnacloy in 2003
Post by: intoDwest on November 10, 2006, 11:27:20 AM
County ............................Mayo
Club.................................Kiltane

Best GAA moment; Going to the 1989 All Ireland as a young lad.......bad result, unforgettable experience.
Post by: DickyRock on November 10, 2006, 11:41:33 AM
Clubs : Glenelly
County : Tyrone
Best GAA Memory: September 28th 2003

Just a lurker now, haven't posted in a while.
Post by: cicfada on November 10, 2006, 11:43:01 AM
Original Club: Ahascragh

Present Club: Probably Na Piarsiagh in Cork  but  I haven't joined yet.

I am from Co. Galway, and my best GAA memory is Galway winning the Liam mc Carthy in 1980!
Post by: umgolaarmagh on November 10, 2006, 12:00:22 PM
Armagh

Club: at the moment Neasden Gaels and a return to Pearse og in the Spring and founding member of the Ballycrummy 5 GFC
Post by: Fionntamhnach on November 10, 2006, 12:01:23 PM
Club: Fintona
Best Moment: a tie between Tyrone's two All-Ireland victories at the moment, but I believe the best is still yet to come. 8)
Post by: Derry Daisy on November 10, 2006, 12:09:09 PM
Club: Slaughtneil  ;D

Beat Moment: Beating Maximus and his club in the county final in 2004
Post by: oneillcup2007 on November 10, 2006, 12:17:43 PM
club:  :-* cant seem to work this avatar yet, will inform when fiontamhnach publishes a fools guide
County:  :D Tyrone in the bushes
Greatest GAA memory:  8) winning Sam 03/05 and Tyrone league
Post by: EC Unique on November 10, 2006, 12:30:39 PM
Errigal Ciaran

Tyrone

1993 -  First County championship and went on to win Ulster championship. Magic! ;D
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 10, 2006, 12:36:15 PM
Club: Pearse Og

Post by: turk on November 10, 2006, 12:51:15 PM
Club - St Rynaghs

Best memory - offaly clare trilogy 98
Post by: Lecale2 on November 10, 2006, 12:54:21 PM
Club: Presently with Bredagh in Belfast but I've had more clubs than Jack Nicholas

County: Down

Best Memory: Bredagh winning the Down JFC 3 weeks ago. I have long term memory problems ???
Post by: maddog on November 10, 2006, 01:09:47 PM
Club : Armagh Harps

County : Armagh obviously

Best Memory : Armagh finally winning Sam 2002 , Harps winning county titles 89 and 91,
Post by: Blacksheep on November 10, 2006, 01:25:26 PM
Club: Ballinascreen

Best GAA memory: Derry's All Ireland in 1993.
Post by: bridgegael on November 10, 2006, 01:29:34 PM

club:     mayobridge

county:    Down

best gaa memory:    downs all irelands 91 & 94
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 10, 2006, 01:47:24 PM
Club:  Harps

Greatest GAA memory: Saving a penalty with my back side in the u14 County Final
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 10, 2006, 01:52:20 PM
Club: Ballyhaise

County: Cavan

Greatest GAA memory: Cavan winning the Ulster Title in 1997 for the first time in 28 years.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 10, 2006, 01:52:49 PM
Club:  Carrickmore Gfc  / Tyrone New York

County: Tyrone / NewYork

Greatest memory: Being part of Championship winning teams with my club!!  Missing it though! :(
Post by: paddypastit on November 10, 2006, 02:08:47 PM
Club: Shamrock Gaels
County: Sligo
Living in Dublin for 24 of my 40.75 years,
now 'social' member of Raheny and funds provider to three small Dublin jersies!!!
Post by: Orior on November 10, 2006, 02:11:37 PM
Club: O'Hanlons, but I'm living in exile.

Post by: amallon on November 10, 2006, 02:13:34 PM
Club: Mayobridge
Best Memory: The Bridge winning the 1999 Down championship
Post by: Goats Do Shave on November 10, 2006, 02:22:17 PM
Club:                     Ballyhegan Davitts

County:                 Armagh

Best GAA Memory:   Croke Park September 22nd 2002
Post by: BenDover on November 10, 2006, 02:24:35 PM
Club:        Pearse Og and along with Armaghumgola a founding member of the Ballycrummy 5

County:    Armagh

Best Memory:  Croke Park September 22nd 2002
Post by: reddgnhand on November 10, 2006, 02:28:21 PM
Club: Dungannon Clarkes

Best memory: 1984 Ulster Final McGuigans 11 points.
Post by: boston on November 10, 2006, 02:34:20 PM
Club: Derrylaughan Kevin Barrys   

Adopted Club stateside: Armagh Notre Dame

Best Memory: 05 All ireland Final
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 10, 2006, 02:42:20 PM
Im a Scot of Tyrone extraction.
Dont have a club as the nearest GAA club is 120 miles away but used to play university and a wee bit of club football in Scotland.
Best memory was the 2005 AI final.
Post by: GalwayBayRedHand on November 10, 2006, 02:45:44 PM
Home Club: Augher, Tyrone
Now live in Galway
Best GAA moment: - 2005 AI Final - the second was much better!
Post by: Over the Bar on November 10, 2006, 03:03:17 PM
Club:                 Errigal Ciaran Tyrone
County:             Tir Eoghain Abu
GAA Memory:     Canavan coming into the Burlington with Sam in 2003.  The place nearly fell down!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 10, 2006, 03:05:05 PM
Clubs : St. James' Gaels
County : Westmeath
Best Football Memory: July 24th 2004
Post by: Armagh ABÚ on November 10, 2006, 03:17:38 PM
Clubs : Pearse Og's
County : Armagh
Best Football Memory: It's all over, "Kieran McGeeney has got the ball"!  9/22 ;D
Post by: pearses on November 10, 2006, 03:22:37 PM
Club: Bredagh

Best Memory: Winning the league and championship double with bredagh this year!
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 10, 2006, 03:26:06 PM
Clubs: Armagh Harps/Armagh Cuchullianns

Best GAA moment: Playing-Winning Macrory Cup. Watching AIF 2002/Ulster minor 2003
Post by: Six Inch Nail on November 10, 2006, 03:28:03 PM
Club - Silverbridge
County - Armagh
Best Memory - Winning Ulster in 1999.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 10, 2006, 03:40:32 PM
Club: Killeavy St. Moninna's

Greatest moment: Captaining the primary school  in 1977. The future looked bright but it's been down hill all the way since.
Post by: redandblack4ever on November 10, 2006, 04:14:30 PM
Home Club: Clonduff

US Club: Chicago Wolfe Tones

Best GAA Memory: Being present in Croke Park for Down's winning AI's in 1960, 1961, 1968 and 1994. Taking the wife to Croke Park for Down's semi-final win against Kerry in 1991.
Post by: Roseyland on November 10, 2006, 04:34:05 PM
Club: Rosemount

County: Westmeath

Best memory: Winning the Westmeath Senior football championship in 1989. All gone downhill since!
Post by: BottleOfStout on November 10, 2006, 04:37:33 PM
Club : Ruairi Og Cushendall

County : Antrim
Post by: screenexile on November 10, 2006, 04:51:12 PM
Club: Ballinascreen,

County: Lancashire
Post by: jpmac on November 10, 2006, 05:18:10 PM
Club; Bredagh
County; Down
Post by: Dual Star on November 10, 2006, 05:27:52 PM
Club : St. Patrick's, Palmerstown
County : Dublin
Post by: robertemmet on November 10, 2006, 05:34:12 PM
Club: Robert Emmet's Slaughtneil

Best GAA memory: Slaughtneil winning the SFC for the first time in 2004.

Best County GAA memory: Derry winning sam in 1993
Post by: bingobus on November 10, 2006, 05:38:18 PM
Club: Castleblayney Faughs

County: Monaghan

Best GAA memory: Winning Championships at club level. Winning Under-13 final as mentor in 2004.

Best County GAA memory: Watching Jason Hughes play for county after his battle with Cancer.
Post by: schemozzler on November 10, 2006, 05:49:18 PM
County: Kerry

Club: Ballyheigue

Best GAA moment: Being born in Kerry

Most ironic GAA position: Being part of the threatened Kerry diehard hurling community 
Post by: armagh leg-end on November 10, 2006, 06:17:57 PM
Club...............Madden
County...........Armagh
Fav Memory.....Armagh winning all ireland.
Post by: the green man on November 10, 2006, 06:44:03 PM
Slaughtneil

Derry

Title: I give you...Gallsman
Post by: gallsman on November 10, 2006, 06:45:52 PM
Club: Naomh Gall

County: Aontroim

Best Memory: Playing with the cream of Antrim youth football and hurling. Captaining minor hurlers.
Post by: An Cnoc Mor on November 10, 2006, 07:49:20 PM
Club: Knockmore

County: Maigh Eo

Best GAA memory: Beating Dublin in Croke Park this year.
Post by: JimStynes on November 10, 2006, 07:57:27 PM
Club: St Marys Aghagallon

County: Antrim/Armagh/Down
Post by: Redgreenery on November 10, 2006, 08:01:52 PM
Club........St. Domnics

County......Roscommon
Post by: milltown row on November 10, 2006, 08:10:46 PM
club: Naomh Gall

County: Aontroim

Best Gaa Memory: All Ireland weekends away with the lads at St Judes Hurling, serious craic!!!!!!!!!!

Best playing Memory: playing in the Glens
Post by: stiffler on November 10, 2006, 08:16:14 PM
Club: Naomh Mhuire Achaidh Gallain

County: Antrim/Down

Post by: flairgun on November 10, 2006, 09:13:15 PM
Club: Drumcullen (Home) / Fr. Tom Burkes (Boston)
County: Offaly
Best memory: Last 5 minutes of the 94 All Ireland Hurling final.
Post by: Elias on November 10, 2006, 09:21:39 PM
Evening all!

How the new board craic goin down?

Hail from Dungannon, Club is the Clarkes and obviously county is Tir Eoghain

Live in the shaft with my Orchard girlfriend, hence my love for the picture I have on my avatar!!!
Post by: OakLeaf on November 10, 2006, 09:26:54 PM
Club: Greenlough
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2006, 10:28:59 PM
Club: Hill
County: Tyrone, in Antrim 7 years.
Best memory: Noel McGinn's 3-pointer v Derry 1986.
Post by: cloneman on November 10, 2006, 11:27:22 PM
Club: Annaclone
County:  Down
Best Football Memory:  My first time on Hill 16 in 1991 for Down's 4th All-Ireland victory
Post by: Duine Eile on November 10, 2006, 11:36:11 PM
County: Galway

Club: Killererin

Best Memory: Killererin winning co title in 1999 after a wait of 21 years and the first I was present at, 2004 final was special too and obviously 1998 and 2001 All Ireland finals

Ps. Board is great! Fionntamhnach, if you could put a Killererin picture up on image shack or whatever it is I'd be eternally greatful! Where you'd find one now I have no idea!Good lad! ;D
Post by: Redhandfan on November 10, 2006, 11:41:22 PM
Club: An Mhaigh Tir na nOg G.A.C.
County:  Tir Eoghain
Best Football Memory:  When Peter met Sam in 2003
Post by: theoriginalmup on November 11, 2006, 12:10:41 AM
Club:-Aidan McAnespies GFC Boston

Best Memories:-Playing in front of 60,000 in Croke Park
                      Playing on same team as Peter Canavan
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 11, 2006, 02:54:40 AM
Club I played for: Strabane Shamrocks (yes they do play Hurling in Tyrone)
Club I support: Gaoth Dobhair
Club who have adopted me: St. Teresa's (been in Beal Feirste 10 years!!)
County: Tir Conaill
Best Gaelic moment ever: September 1992 to August 1993 the year that the best team in Ireland won the Sam, long will it live in folklore, only problem, is that the team only got over the hangover last year....!
2007 the year of the Gall, Sams coming home!    ;)

Youse love us really....  8)
Post by: Rossie11 on November 11, 2006, 12:02:49 PM
County: Ross
Club: Eire og

Best Memory: Connacht final 2001.
Honourable mention: Derek Duggans drop kick goal against the Royals on 91 semi.
(the one point defeat 40mins later would rank amongst the lowest)
Post by: Donagh on November 11, 2006, 01:39:28 PM
Cumann: Clan na Gael
Contae: Ard Mhacha

Exiled in Antrim for a (long) while and like Gaoth Dobhair, I get my kicks from stirring it up at Cumann Naomh Treasa on the Glen Road.
Post by: DownFanatic on November 11, 2006, 01:51:22 PM
Down Fanatic
Club: Dundrum

Likes: Watching Antrim and St Galls Kevin McGourty play. A genius of the game in our midst.
Dislikes: Loughinisland's player recruitment policy + Saul spin doctors
Most Memorable moment(s): Dundrum winning the 2005 Down JFC for the 1st time in 29 years.
Post by: Marooned on November 11, 2006, 05:44:49 PM
Club: Crossmolina Deel Rovers
Best Memory: Easter Monday, 2001 (Being first Mayo club to ever win All Ireland Club Title. ;D)
Post by: Flat Hedgehog on November 11, 2006, 05:51:57 PM
Club: currently with Carryduff.

County: Donegal

Best GAA moment: Watching my Da kick the ref in the arse after I'd been sent off in a u14 match. Priceless!
Post by: AhFeckRef on November 11, 2006, 07:02:32 PM

Club : none at the mo.
County : Leitrim
Post by: 5 Sams on November 11, 2006, 07:24:38 PM
Club: Clairseacha Bhaile Cholmain
www.ballyholland.org

Best GAA moment: Paddy O'Rourke kicking the ball into the Hogan Stand in 1991.

BTW Elias...like the Avatar....I have a feeling I might know a few of your Dungannon mates...
Post by: Josey Whales on November 11, 2006, 07:44:35 PM
Club St vincents
County Dublin
Post by: skinthebank on November 11, 2006, 08:49:15 PM
County: Roscommon  although I am now an exile living in the USA
Club:  Kilbride

Best memories: 1978 All Ireland U-21. 1980 Semi-Final versus Armagh, 2006 Minor All Ireland Final.  We also have had a few days that have been less than stellar.
Post by: becks on November 11, 2006, 09:21:45 PM
Club Roger Casements Portglenone
County Antrim

Changed user name from a couple i had going!
Post by: dubsnsubs on November 11, 2006, 09:28:18 PM
St Oliver Plunketts/Eoghan Ruadh
Dublin

Best GAA moment= Bernard Brogans goal v Kerry in the '77 semi final.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 11, 2006, 09:32:03 PM
Na Clairsigh

Ard Mhacha

10th September 1989

8th September 1991

22nd September 2002.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on November 11, 2006, 09:55:38 PM
Club: Ballinderry Shamrocks

Best GAA Moment: Thurles, 17th March 2002, All Ireland Club Champions.

(http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/3411/andymerriganhl7.jpg)

Worst GAA Moment:  Ballinderry, 23rd March 2002, Waking up to helluva hangover!
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on November 11, 2006, 10:14:28 PM
Club: Roger Casements GAC,  Portglenone
County Antrim
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on November 12, 2006, 01:12:00 AM
club: kilmacud Crokes

county: Roscommon man

Post by: Tyrones own on November 12, 2006, 06:43:53 AM

Club: Eglish
  Best Gaa moment: Being in Dublin on Sept 28th '03 8)
Post by: davincicode on November 12, 2006, 11:14:11 AM
Club........ Na Fianna

Contae........... Antrim ( On Loan for 5 Years!!!!)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 12, 2006, 05:18:09 PM
County - Galway

Club - Oileann Arainn

Memory - All-Ireland in 1998
Post by: johnneycool on November 12, 2006, 09:10:49 PM

club: ballygalget
Post by: ardasell on November 12, 2006, 09:11:56 PM
Club:  Killeavy

Best memories:Personal - Winning Ulster Club minor championship - away away back when, and spinning round the parish on the back of a lorry (well, except the lorry bit)

Best memories: General - 2002 AIF, Half-time to finish, but Stevie's winning point shines out like sunlight on Sam
Post by: Square Ball on November 12, 2006, 09:15:09 PM
County  Antrim man living in Down

Club Yes

Memories, dulled by alcohol
Post by: thegael on November 12, 2006, 09:21:33 PM
county- down

club- undisclosed mourne club

memory- watching down win sam in 61 for back to back titles
Post by: loughshore lad on November 12, 2006, 09:37:58 PM
Club: Ardboe

Best Memory: Toss up between Tyrone winning All Ireland in 2003 and Ardboe winning Tyrone championship in 1998
Post by: Cuchullainns Bhoy on November 12, 2006, 11:11:04 PM
Clubs : Armagh Harps GFC, Armagh Cuchulainns Hurling Club
County : Armagh
Best Football Memory: September 22nd 2002 - Sitting in Hogan Stand screaming the lungs of myself.
Minor Hurling Championship 2005 - Scored a point of the ground from 22yards with my trusty right foot (im left footed) btw.
Post by: Niall Quinn on November 12, 2006, 11:18:03 PM
County - Down
Club - Brampton (Toronto)
Previous Club - Darragh Cross
Memory - Watching Greg Blaney at the peak of his powers.
Post by: fearglasmor on November 13, 2006, 08:17:08 AM
Club:     O'Dwyers, Balbriggan (in exile)
County: Dublin
Memory: First time selected for the club senior team.
Post by: Liam Cahill on November 13, 2006, 09:18:09 AM
Dunsany GFC, County Meath

http://[tt][size=16pt]all%20my%20best%20memories%20are%20in%20the%20future[/size][/tt]
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 09:28:58 AM
Fearglasmor.
"Club:     O'Dwyers, Balbriggan (in exile)
Memory: First time selected for the club senior team"

Its been a while since they were senior!
Are you quite old or referring to your old club?
Post by: Star Spangler on November 13, 2006, 09:43:19 AM

Member of Club An Taite Riabhach Naomh Padraig (Tyrone)

Also member of Club Chill Chuillin (Kildare) where I now reside.
Post by: Star Spangler on November 13, 2006, 09:44:24 AM
Dubnut, I've a good Tyrone friend plays for O'Dwyers.  In fact he had me playing golf over there a few months ago!
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 09:51:01 AM
"Dubnut, I've a good Tyrone friend plays for O'Dwyers.  In fact he had me playing golf over there a few months ago!"

Thats my old club Spangler, exiled in Meath now, Whatever is a current member, he might know your friend.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on November 13, 2006, 10:11:30 AM
Club;     Tuar Mhic Eadaigh (Iintermediate county champions 2006) ;D
County; Mayo.
Post by: maxpower on November 13, 2006, 10:19:17 AM
Club: Dunloy - as was my name on the old board
best memory: beating the shamrocks in county final
Post by: saffron on November 13, 2006, 10:23:08 AM
County - Antrim
Club - Aldergrove
Post by: Billys Boots on November 13, 2006, 10:46:30 AM
I turn my back for a few minutes and look what happens.

Club: Colmcille
County: Longford
Memory: Few and far between - would have to say beating Eastlongford anytime is fun, pick would be O'Byrne Cup Final 2000
Post by: cavanmaniac on November 13, 2006, 10:46:47 AM
Judging by this thread there must be an 80:20 ratio of Ulster folk to non-Ulster... :o
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 10:48:54 AM
Was thinking that myself, have I just made it 79-21?  :-\
Post by: 6th sam on November 13, 2006, 10:49:15 AM
County:Down.
Club:??
Memory:Hill 16,1991.
Likes:GAA's tight transfer policy,and resultant authentic club rivalry-unmatched by other sports.
Dislikes:Fellow Down Gaels living on past glories,while Tyrone/Armagh gloat over recent success.
Club ambition:County IFC title.
County ambition:6th sam,within 3 years.
Post by: fearglasmor on November 13, 2006, 11:14:14 AM
Quote from: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 09:28:58 AM
Fearglasmor.
"Club:     O'Dwyers, Balbriggan (in exile)
Memory: First time selected for the club senior team"

Its been a while since they were senior!
Are you quite old or referring to your old club?

Thanks for the reminder dubnut, I am quite quite old at this stage.  They went downhill rapidly once I left.!!!
Post by: uselessfootballer on November 13, 2006, 12:26:44 PM
Home Club - Sigersons
As I've been living away from Strabane for a while, I now take a passing interest in my local club St. Pauls (North Down)
County - Tyrone
Post by: aontroim abu on November 13, 2006, 12:49:18 PM
Club
Post by: aontroim abu on November 13, 2006, 12:50:56 PM
County : Antrim
Club : St Josephs Glenavy

Best Memory: beatng Aldergrove this year with a goal in the last minute
Post by: heganboy on November 13, 2006, 02:57:13 PM
Club Past- Ballyhegan Davitts
Club Present- Sligo- New York

County Armagh/ New York

Best Memory- Next year- there's always next year...

Post by: charlie stubbs on November 13, 2006, 03:09:25 PM
armagh
wolfe tones
Post by: ziggysego on November 13, 2006, 03:16:57 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on November 13, 2006, 03:09:25 PM
armagh
wolfe tones

No memories?
Post by: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 03:22:12 PM
no memories?
I'd say getting it on with that young one behind Traceys back must have been a nice memory!  ;)
Post by: NICSSA on November 13, 2006, 03:30:17 PM
Club: Conn Mag Aoidh
County: antrim
Post by: whatever on November 13, 2006, 04:14:27 PM
Quote from: dubnut on November 13, 2006, 09:51:01 AM
"Dubnut, I've a good Tyrone friend plays for O'Dwyers.  In fact he had me playing golf over there a few months ago!"

Thats my old club Spangler, exiled in Meath now, Whatever is a current member, he might know your friend.

Aye, I am a current member and player in O'Dwyers.  Does your mate still play for us? If so I do indeed know him
Post by: TORGAEL on November 13, 2006, 08:29:55 PM
CLUB             DRUMGATH

COUNTY        DOWN

BEST GAA MOMENT        DRUMGATH WINNING IFC CHAMPIONSHIP 2006 
Post by: slow corner back on November 13, 2006, 08:36:30 PM
County Antrim,

Club Glen Rovers Armoy

Best memory Having the priviledge to be in Croke Park August 6th 1989 to see Antrim 4-15 Offally 1-15 and Cloot helping himself to 2-4. Great respect for the Biffos after that, making a gaurd of honour when you have just lost an all ireland semi brought sportmanship in the GAA to a new level. I wish some of our footballing cousins could learn something from the Offally team that day
Post by: lfdown2 on November 13, 2006, 09:27:15 PM
Club: Liatroim Fontenoys

Best moment: AI Minor Final 1999
Post by: SandyHill on November 13, 2006, 09:55:28 PM
Club - Daren't disclose at the moment

County - Ard Mhacha

Favourite - Many memories over the past 7 years
Post by: anportmorforjfc on November 13, 2006, 10:19:30 PM
club: An Portmor

memories: winning the jfc in august 06  ;D
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 14, 2006, 08:47:04 AM
Admin can this be made a sticky at the top for new members joining?
Post by: myball22 on November 14, 2006, 09:26:48 AM
Club: Corofin
County: Galway

Best GAA memory: All-Ireland final day 1998, 30 years of hurt blown away!!
Post by: Fuzzman on November 14, 2006, 09:49:21 AM
Clann na nGael (But I'm now based in Belfast)

Tyrone

AI final 2003
Post by: the legacy on November 14, 2006, 09:50:15 AM
Club: Portglenone
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on November 14, 2006, 01:25:23 PM
Club: Clonbur
County : Galway
Best Football Memory: Galway Senior All Ireland Football win 1998.
Post by: neilthemac on November 14, 2006, 01:40:35 PM
Club: Gaeil Roscomáin
Contae: Ros Comáin

Best Memory: Connacht Colleges Final in 1998. CBS beat Jarlaths out the gate!
Post by: Longfordian on November 14, 2006, 04:49:29 PM
Club:      Mostrim

County:  Longford

Best Moments :    winning a colleges medal with St Mels in 94

following Longford's extended run this year !!....

Post by: wobbller on November 15, 2006, 12:27:30 AM
 Club Mayobridge (oouch)
County Down
Memory to lose---Sunday 12th Nov(oouch again)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 16, 2006, 10:40:26 AM
Past Clubs: St. Malachy's, Belfast & St. James Gaels, Dublin

Best moment: 1996 county final, beating tyrone in '04, beating dublin '06, Winning u-21 2006
Worst: Sept '89, Sept '96, Sept '97, Sept '04 & Sept '06
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 16, 2006, 11:29:20 AM
When did u play for St. James' Gaels Mayo4Sam???
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 16, 2006, 11:32:52 AM
On and off for 6 years, played my last game for them last summer
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 16, 2006, 12:06:50 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 16, 2006, 11:32:52 AM
On and off for 6 years, played my last game for them last summer
Dat wouldn't have been a Junior Cup game that was part of two replays out beside Nutgrove Shopping Centre???
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 16, 2006, 12:19:28 PM
It would have been one of the last alright. Was ragin we lost that, drop me a PM to let me know who u are
Post by: GallBoss on November 16, 2006, 05:02:31 PM
Club --I'm not saying
County ----- Galway
Proudest Day ---A club final not too long agao
Post by: hmmm on November 16, 2006, 05:14:16 PM
Club -  St Eunans
County - Donegal
Post by: Kevin on November 16, 2006, 08:15:10 PM
Club - St. Joseph's, New Jersey (past member)

County - (support) Offaly
Post by: Groot Baas on November 16, 2006, 10:30:49 PM
Mayo
No club

Best: Versus Dublin this year.
Worst: 1974, My first match as a crawler in Croke Park. Tony Hanahoe beat Mayo on his own.
89, vs Cork in '93, 96 x2, 97, 2004, AIF 2006. And the continued disregard for common decency when dealing with our Bainisteoirs.   
Post by: jen83 on November 16, 2006, 11:11:12 PM
Name : Jen83
Club : Na Dunta
County : Westmeath :)
Post by: towinjustonce on November 17, 2006, 01:38:37 AM
Best Memory: we've had some great outings in Croker over the years. Padraig Brogan's goal against the dubs in '85 championship is stupendous. The great fielding of Willie Joe Padden and his famous viking bandage in 89 against tyrone. Pushing cars outside An Sportlann in 92; Beating the jackeens this year in the AI semi.
Post by: Arthur Guinness on November 17, 2006, 10:52:39 AM
Since Im new on here I thought I should introduce myself first

Club        St Comgalls, Antrim  (altough living in Dublin for the last number of years)

County    Antrim

Post by: lynchbhoy on November 17, 2006, 11:00:39 AM
Current club : St. Brigids , Dublin - having played for a few prior to this.
Best Memory:As a player, my first game of Gaelic football, coming on as a sub at under 10 level and scoring 3-1
As a fan - The first game I saw in Croke park - Kerry 4-15 Offaly 4-10 , the opening of Kevin Lynch's Hurling club, Dungiven's new grounds this summer and Derry winning their AI semi final v Dublin in 1993 - after that hurdle, the final was never going to be anything other than a Derry victory in my mind and thats how it ended up.
Post by: stpauls on November 17, 2006, 05:34:09 PM
  Club: a few clubs to my name, home club: Mullaghbawn, Armagh;  current club: St. Paul's, Down;  previous club: Munich Colmcilles

County:  Armagh

Best Memory: 3 memories stand out, winning first Munich tournament in summer of 2002, representing Europe in the Internationall Championships in September 2002
                      and Sunday 22nd September, being in Croke Park to see Armagh lift their first all ireland!!!
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 17, 2006, 11:35:08 PM
Club: Retired but played for 3 years for Luxemboug as my last club

County - Dublin

Best memories - First game Kerry v's Offaly in 82, winning Lux Black Stuff tournament in 2001 and winning first away Tournament for Lux in Brussels in 2002 also jointly setting up and coaching womens team to European League.......representing Europe in 2002 International Championship and managing European Womens team also...
Post by: AidyMac on November 18, 2006, 11:30:40 AM
Club - Belcoo, formally Greenlough / Derry
County - Fermanagh
Best Memory - Watching Derry win Sam in 93
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 18, 2006, 11:47:47 PM
It's nice to see 3 Knockmoremen using this board. It goes to show that all the new-fangled technology has actually reached the Parish of Backs. How many Ballinamen are there, just yourself Stephenite! ;)
Post by: Aerlik on November 19, 2006, 04:04:33 AM

Clubs:

Pearses, Kilrea, Derry
Lavey (Hurling), Derry
St.Brendan's, Manchester
Morley Gaels, Perth, Australia

Best GAA memories:
Playing: Winning the D'Alton Cup with Maghera in 1981, walking out onto Croker in 1985 for Colleges hurling final (don't want to talk about the result though), winning the All-Britain U-21 Championship with Lancashire in 1988 beating the very over-rated London team by a bagful.

Supporting: everything about 1993!, singing Amhrain na bhFiann with my cousin in Perth last year prior to the international rules game
Post by: Forgot me Boots on November 19, 2006, 10:11:13 PM

Memories, not too many really, diddnt acheive much with my club.

Club
Post by: limerickros on November 20, 2006, 12:08:41 PM
County    Roscommon
Club        Abbey Sarsfields, Limerick
Watching Roscommon win the minor final this year has got to be my best GAA memory
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 20, 2006, 12:14:43 PM
The Ballina Lads are prob busy giving interviews  ;)
Post by: Gaaman on November 20, 2006, 01:33:03 PM
Club- Donaghmore
County- Tyrone
Best Moments- 03/05- Sweet to beat Armagh and win first title.  Even better to beat a great Kerry side in a great match!!
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on November 20, 2006, 04:01:09 PM
Home County: Armagh
Club: Armagh Cúchulainns
Best Moment: Sept. 2002
Post by: treborstemme on November 20, 2006, 04:27:10 PM
home county - Derry
Club - Robert Emmets GAA Slaughtneil
Best Memory - Winning county final 2004 and johnny McGurks score in 1993 all-ireland semi-final 1993 v dublin
Post by: Heshs Umpire on November 24, 2006, 12:40:07 PM
Phew.
Got here at last

County - Laois
Best Memory - 2003 Leinster Final
Post by: laoislad on December 20, 2006, 06:25:23 PM
County - Laois
Club -The Harps
Best Memory - 2003 Leinster Final
Post by: stephenite on December 21, 2006, 12:33:27 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on November 18, 2006, 11:47:47 PM
It's nice to see 3 Knockmoremen using this board. It goes to show that all the new-fangled technology has actually reached the Parish of Backs. How many Ballinamen are there, just yourself Stephenite! ;)

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 20, 2006, 12:14:43 PM
The Ballina Lads are prob busy giving interviews ;)

Are too busy training to win All Irelands or some more County Senior Titles, also trying to stay out of lower divisions in the league. ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Dubh driocht on December 21, 2006, 01:00:56 AM
Club- sorrry comrades- I have a foot in 2 camps which helps me bring perspective but not blind allegiance.
County is Down- always was, is, always will be.
Respect all GAA supporters/players/officials so no blind loyalty.
Post by: laceer on December 21, 2006, 11:39:40 AM
club - cill na mban
county - tyrone
best memory - club winning first senior trophy for 16 years
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 21, 2006, 11:58:02 AM
Club: Johnstownbridge
County: Kildare
Leinster 1998. personally  winning an u-16 b title with the club, we were serious underdogs and we all went to harriers in tullamore after. good times.
Post by: Loughers on December 21, 2006, 12:05:58 PM
Club: Birr
County: Offaly
Best Moment: 3rd game against Clare in Thurles, 1998
Post by: AZOffaly on December 21, 2006, 12:14:54 PM
Club : Started and ended with Ferbane, Co. Offaly. Had stints with Laune Rangers, Kerry (briefly), Clan na Gael San Dego (3 years), Phoenix Gaels (1 year) in between.
County : Offaly
Best Moment : As a supporter 1982 and last 5 minutes of 1994. As a player, making county debut or winning 1991 All Ireland Minor club football.
Post by: doodaa on December 21, 2006, 12:53:31 PM
Club: Eoghan Rua, Coleraine

Memorable GAA moment: Club winning IFC/ IHC 2006,
                                    Playing in Croke Park,
                                    Standing in Dungivens pitch when Sam came to Derry '93
Post by: realredhandfan on December 21, 2006, 04:24:34 PM
Club: St Pats
Favourite memory: 1927 O Neill cup final victory.
Favourite tipple: Gin
Favourite schoolteacher: peter Canavan
Post by: Over the Bar on December 22, 2006, 10:01:34 AM
QuoteFavourite memory: 1927 O Neill cup final victory
Apparently Donaghmore Eire Ogs only won in 1927 because Ballygawley decided to let someone else have a go following their back-to-back wins of '25 & '26  :P
Post by: realredhandfan on December 23, 2006, 04:28:51 PM
No we just made an extra special effort that year to become the inaugural winners of the O Neill Cup.  You have made a great point,  Ballygawley were a great club with a proud history before they were disbanded some 15 / 16 years ago.  :D
Post by: Over the Bar on December 23, 2006, 07:08:59 PM
Donaghmore Eire Ogs were also a great club... pity the same can't be said about Donaghmore St Patricks! :P
Post by: Doire abú on December 26, 2006, 02:11:34 AM
Club- Baile an Doire Na Seamróg (Ballinderry Shamrocks)
County- Derry
Best Moments- 1993 - Derry winning Sam AND St Paddy's Day 2002 - MY club crowned the kings of Ireland.
Post by: tonto1888 on December 27, 2006, 01:57:43 PM
club : clann eireann/ st peter's in manchester
county : ard mhacha
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 28, 2006, 04:34:17 AM
yea lyncher it was balyna but we only had one clogh. he was a good one mind!
Post by: hightower on December 28, 2006, 09:15:55 PM
ballinderry shamrocks  county tir eoghain                                                                                      winning all-ireland club 2002 and tir eoghain lifting sam 2003 and 2005                                                                                                       
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 29, 2006, 02:22:20 PM
that was brought up at a meeting a few yaers ago by on eof the younger lads and it was shot down.

dont think its worth the hassle but its a shame when there is a rural parish with a great minor team and you see two young lads like keith cribben and graven in midfield and then they go their seperate ways for adult football.

i know most of the younger lads wouldnt mind.

but ill leave it, we are movin away from the point of the thread.
Post by: The Biff on December 29, 2006, 02:23:08 PM
Clubs:             Daingean, Offaly (Born & reared),  Kill, Kildare (where I now live).
County:          Still Offaly, despite being "exiled" nearly 25 years.
Fav.Memories:  Football
                    Playing:  U-16 Championship, beat all local rivals (Rhode, Edenderry, Geashill) in 1 year for first time for my "team".
                    Spectator:  1982 AI Final.
                    Hurling
                    Playing:  First ever proper match around 1981, minor vs Killeigh, Started match in Midfield, Finished it in Goals.
                    Spectator:  Watching my 8 year old son score his first goal in a Hurling Blitz.  It's more than I ever scored.
Post by: armaghchik on January 01, 2007, 09:50:01 PM
Club you don't see much on mainland TV

County: Armagh  ;D

Best Memories: Winning the Ulster cup again and 2002!
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on January 09, 2007, 12:47:42 PM
bump, this should be kept at the top.
Post by: SuperSub on January 09, 2007, 01:41:50 PM
County Cork
Club- Cloyne but not involved much now as work/study commitments take up a lot of time
Best memory.....Im from Cork boy to many to mention ;D
Post by: Sam Maguire on January 15, 2007, 05:05:37 PM
County - originally from Cork, but I have had alot of inter-county transfers over the years. I did have a sustained period in Kerry in the late seventies and early eighties but then had to up sticks and move to Offaly.

Club - I'm not a very loyal clubman either. I usually transfer every year on the club front as well. I am currently a club member of Dromid Pearse in Co Kerry.

Best Memories: I have so many, I just couldn't list them all. But the best would probably have to be getting my very own seat on a plane trip to America while on a stint in Tyrone.
Post by: TyronePhilly on January 16, 2007, 02:45:58 PM
User Name:     TyronePhilly

Club:              An Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Tír Eoghain Philadelphia

County:          North American County Board

Establsihed:     1949

Location:         Greater Philadelphia Region, Pennsylvania, United States of America

Club Website:   http://tyrone.philadelphia.gaa.ie

Club BEBO:       http://tyronephiladelphia.BEBO.com

**In Croke Park for both of Tyrone's All-Ireland victories**
   Hogan Stand Lower Tier - 334 - AA - 15 in 2003
   Hogan Stand Lower Tier - 334 - BB - 13 in 2005
Post by: never kickt a ball on January 16, 2007, 03:54:00 PM
Quote from: TyronePhilly on January 16, 2007, 02:45:58 PM
**In Croke Park for both of Tyrone's All-Ireland victories**
   Hogan Stand Lower Tier - 334 - AA - 15 in 2003
   Hogan Stand Lower Tier - 334 - BB - 13 in 2005

Welcome Philly. Could I suggest Hogan Stand Lower Tier - 334 - CC - 11 in 2007 :D
Post by: TyronePhilly on January 16, 2007, 03:58:17 PM
You bet.......
2003 I was surrounded by Buckfast imbibed Orchard supporters.

2005 I was swarmed by the "animals" of Kerry, according to Paidi.

Just kidding, the Armagh supporters were extremely gracious in defeat,
more than likely because they won 'er the year before, even so, gracious.

Kerry ones were disappointed but how many do they want!
Post by: ONeill on June 27, 2008, 11:30:34 PM
Any recent additions?
Post by: moysider on June 27, 2008, 11:44:52 PM

County. Mayo.

Club.  Stephenites - still actively involved in game but not with my club as such if that makes any sense.

Best Memory. The bad ones dominate  but some of the best ones was my native club winnin All Ireland, Connacht finals 85 AND 99 and AI semi 06.
Post by: ardal on June 29, 2008, 03:04:10 PM
Club: Naomh Fermin

County: Armagh (originally)

Best memory: Anthony Tohill getting a rough time against Cork (All-Ireland semi), eventually getting a free, and then simply popping it over.
Post by: southderryman on June 29, 2008, 03:54:04 PM
Quote from: ardal on June 29, 2008, 03:04:10 PM
Anthony Tohill getting a rough time against Cork (All-Ireland semi)

when was this?
Post by: ardal on June 29, 2008, 05:36:34 PM
Quote from: southderryman on June 29, 2008, 03:54:04 PM
Quote from: ardal on June 29, 2008, 03:04:10 PM
Anthony Tohill getting a rough time against Cork (All-Ireland semi)

when was this?

'93 wasn't it. When Davis and ANother, tried to crucify him betwwen them
Post by: southderryman on June 29, 2008, 05:40:08 PM
aye must have been the final.

couldn't think when the semi final was. thought maybe it was a minor or under 21, but couldn't remember derry playin cork in a semi final.
Post by: bridgegael on June 29, 2008, 05:52:17 PM
club.  MAYOBRIDGE

Co.DOWN
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 30, 2008, 12:03:30 AM
Club:  St Molaise Gaels (North sligo, amalgamation of Cliffoney, grange and maugherow)
County Sligo

Best memory: like cork and kerry too many good ones to mention :P...
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 30, 2008, 08:00:32 AM
Club: Breaffy

Highlights
Attending the 1989 All-Ireland Final as a seven year old - that was the day I was caught by the game (and the misery of it  :'( )
Our club winning the Intermediate title in 2004 and Minor A two years later
Ballina and Crossmolina and Mayo Under 21's All-Ireland successes in 01, 05 and 06 respectively
Post by: Onion Bag on June 30, 2008, 12:13:00 PM
CLUB: BALLYMACNAB

COUNTY: ARMAGH

BEST MEMORY: SEPT 2002
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2008, 12:15:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 09, 2006, 11:53:05 PM
Club: An Cáislean Glas
Best GAA Memory: Tyrone winning the All Ireland for the first time in 2003

Best GAA Memory: Witnessing my small club run out onto Croke Park and becoming the first club club to play underfloods at HQ and the first club in Tyrone to win an All-Ireland Club Championship. Great days.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 30, 2008, 12:17:01 PM
I was down in Croker that night Ziggy, Fantastic achievement for a small club,
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2008, 12:22:49 PM
How come you were down that night? It was a fantastic night Onion, the county winning doesn't come close.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 30, 2008, 05:01:41 PM
I happen to be in Dublin and went to see both the Greencastle and Coleraine matches, was up in the skylon hotel after it and the greencastle team were there, sure maybe you were floating around yourself
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2008, 05:07:00 PM
Greencastle team wasn't in the Skylon. We were on out the road at the Regency Hotel and yes... I was floating about it lol
Post by: Onion Bag on June 30, 2008, 05:08:47 PM
Sorry i meant to say the regency,  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2008, 05:09:13 PM
Did ya see me?
Post by: Onion Bag on June 30, 2008, 05:14:51 PM
Well i wouldnt know you if i seen you ziggy
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2008, 05:18:59 PM
Short bloke in a wheelchair.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 30, 2008, 05:24:57 PM
Cant remember!
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2008, 05:26:15 PM
Don't remember too much either  :D
Post by: Uladh on June 30, 2008, 05:41:41 PM

QuoteIntroduce yourself - what's your club and county!!

What would rory gallagher reply?
Post by: Rav67 on June 30, 2008, 06:08:37 PM
The majority of teams in the country could win the AI junior championship
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 01, 2008, 03:51:28 AM
Quote from: Rav67 on June 30, 2008, 06:08:37 PM
The majority of teams in the country could win the AI junior championship

Think you're being disrespectful and also wrong here Rav.

For small clubs who punch above their weight a county senior title is a tough ask. But the likes of Greencastle reaching and winning a Junior All-Ireland is a great achievement. I saw them beat Killala from Mayo in the semi-final and the fervour at that game was great to see.

Also I'd have to say the standard tends to be quite high. I know a few senior clubs in Mayo and a lot of intermediate that wouldn't be able to win it.
My own club won the Mayo Junior in 2003 and reached the All-Ireland Junior semi where we lost. We went on and won the Mayo Intermediate the following year which was no mean feat for a team just out of Junior. The team who beat us - Carberry Rangers of Cork - did something similar.
Both clubs would now be among the better senior clubs in their counties imo. And even when they were junior both would have been capable of beating a lot of intermediate and senior sides.
So while junior standards can be low in some places, across Ireland as a whole you will get some teams that are very good, in my experience.
Post by: Niall Quinn on July 01, 2008, 04:21:21 AM
As I've been in exile a full 8 years, and as a result of Down's joyless GAA performances in recent times, I'd like to take advantage of the association's oct-ans-out 'change my county' ruling.
For hurling I'm now declaring myself a Cat, and for football I'm now a Derry man hiy.
Doire abu!
Post by: timmyot501 on July 01, 2008, 09:38:44 AM
Club - In between clubs
County - Monaghan

Best - v Donegal in Ballybofey in 1995 USFC Round 1. We had no hope but won handy-ish
       - v Derry in Blayney in early 90's. 0-10 to 0-01 down at half time came back to draw

Worst - The next match in both above cases. Hopes raised only to be dashed
         -  v Kerry in Croker last summer. It was there for the taking but we handed it back.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 12, 2009, 02:42:04 PM
Club:  Formerly Strabane Shamrocks Hurling Club, Urney GFC.
         Currently Sean Treacys HC.

Best Memory: 2008 All Ireland Quarter Final.
Post by: Schkite on January 13, 2009, 03:26:27 PM
Club: Clontibret

County: Monaghan

Best Memory: Winning county championship for first time in 26 years in '94, and subsequent route to Ulster final.