Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 12:19:29 PM

Poll
Question: Is the Pope welcome in Ireland? (32 counties)
Option 1: Yes votes: 25
Option 2: No votes: 19
Title: Is the Pope of Rome welcome in Ireland? (32 counties)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 12:19:29 PM
Just wondering what the general attitude to any visit by the Pope of Rome to Ireland, North or the Republic (or both).
Title: Re: Is the Pope of Rome welcome in Ireland? (32 counties)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 28, 2011, 01:11:59 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 12:19:29 PM
Just wondering what the general attitude to any visit by the Pope of Rome to Ireland, North or the Republic (or both).

What other Pope is there?
Post by: AQMP on July 28, 2011, 01:22:26 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 28, 2011, 01:11:59 PM

Pope Shenouda III of the Coptic Church

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pope_Shenouda_III_of_Alexandria
Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 01:25:30 PM
I'm just glad the number of counties in Ireland is noted, in case people might have thought there were 27 or 33 or something.
Post by: AQMP on July 28, 2011, 01:25:41 PM
Slightly different questions:

Do I have a problem with the Pope visiting Ireland? - No

Will I go to the airport to "welcome" him? - No
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 01:28:04 PM

Bartolomew I

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/29/Bartolomew_I.jpg/220px-Bartolomew_I.jpg)

Theodore II

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/0e/Patriarch_Theodore_II_of_Alexandria.jpg/200px-Patriarch_Theodore_II_of_Alexandria.jpg)

Ignatius IV (Hazim)

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/3/3b/Ignatios_IV.jpg)

Theophilus III

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/56/%D0%A4%D0%B5%D0%BE%D1%84%D0%B8%D0%BB_III.jpg/200px-%D0%A4%D0%B5%D0%BE%D1%84%D0%B8%D0%BB_III.jpg)

Maxim

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/91/Maxim_of_Bulgaria.jpg/200px-Maxim_of_Bulgaria.jpg)

Ilia II

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/09/Ilia_the_second_of_Georgia.png/200px-Ilia_the_second_of_Georgia.png)

Irinej

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/df/Irinejofserbia.jpg/190px-Irinejofserbia.jpg)

Kirill I

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/f3/Patriarch_Kirill_of_Moscow_.jpg/200px-Patriarch_Kirill_of_Moscow_.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2011, 01:30:09 PM
Those guys all look like the same lad.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 01:40:43 PM
Daniel

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/09/Patriarch_Daniel_of_Romania.jpg/200px-Patriarch_Daniel_of_Romania.jpg)

Aleksandr

Cannot find a picture

Filaret

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/f4/Filaret-2008-08-19.jpg/200px-Filaret-2008-08-19.jpg)

Shenouda III

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/78/Chuck_Kennedy_-_The_Official_White_House_Photostream_-_P060409CK-0199_%28pd%29.jpg/120px-Chuck_Kennedy_-_The_Official_White_House_Photostream_-_P060409CK-0199_%28pd%29.jpg)

Ignatius Zakka I Iwas

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/7/71/Ignatus_Zakka_I_Iwas.jpg/200px-Ignatus_Zakka_I_Iwas.jpg)

Baselios Thomas I

Cannot find a picture.

Karekin II

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/6/6f/Garegin_II_.jpg/200px-Garegin_II_.jpg)

Mesrob II Mutafyan

Cannot find a picture.

Torkom Manoogian

Cannot find a picture.

Aram I

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/5a/Catholicos_Aram_I.jpg/200px-Catholicos_Aram_I.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 28, 2011, 01:43:07 PM
Is the Pope of Rome the only Pope with a razor in the house?
Post by: Forever Green on July 28, 2011, 01:43:37 PM
Doesn't really bother me tbh. I would not be jumping with joy if he came nor would i get angry with it
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 01:56:51 PM
Mar Thoma Paulose II

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/d0/HHBaseliosMarThomaPauloseII.jpg/200px-HHBaseliosMarThomaPauloseII.jpg)

Paulos

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/5a/AbunaPaulos.jpg/200px-AbunaPaulos.jpg)

Dioskoros

Cannot find a picture.

Benedict XVI

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/96/Benedykt_xvi-crop.jpg/200px-Benedykt_xvi-crop.jpg)

Fouad Twal

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/4/46/Arcivescovo_Fouad_Twal.jpg/200px-Arcivescovo_Fouad_Twal.jpg)

José Policarpo

Cannot find a picture.

Filipe Neri Ferrão

Cannot find a picture.

Antonios Naguib

Cannot find a picture.

Gregory III

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/e/e3/Gregor3-8.jpg/200px-Gregor3-8.jpg)

Bechara Boutros al-Rahi

Cannot find a picture.

Ignatius Joseph III Yonan

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/e/e4/Joseph_III_Younan.jpg/200px-Joseph_III_Younan.jpg)

Nerses Bedros XIX

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/a2/NersesbedrosXIX.jpg/220px-NersesbedrosXIX.jpg)

Emmanuel III Delly

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/6/62/Patriarch.jpg)

Sviatoslav Shevchuk

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/ab/Sv_shevchuk.jpg/200px-Sv_shevchuk.jpg)

George Alencherry

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/0a/Mar_George_Alenchery.jpg/200px-Mar_George_Alenchery.jpg)

Cleemis

Cannot find a picture.

Lucian Mureşan

Cannot find a picture.

Sorry I think I missed a few.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 01:59:44 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 01:25:30 PM
I'm just glad the number of counties in Ireland is noted, in case people might have thought there were 27 or 33 or something.

Just noting that this was a question related to the Island called Ireland as opposed to the Indepenent Republic called Ireland.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 02:03:02 PM

I noticed you voted Yes. So you welcome this Absolute Monarch, this Head of State, this Leader of a Religion, this Leader of a country which has done great wrong to Ireland & very recently. What was your reaction to Elizabeth II coming to the Irish Republic?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 02:03:47 PM
I wonder the Provincial breakdown on the Yes vote  ::)
Post by: ballinaman on July 28, 2011, 02:05:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 28, 2011, 01:30:09 PM
Those guys all look like the same lad.
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2011, 02:21:08 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 01:59:44 PM
Just noting that this was a question related to the Island called Ireland as opposed to the Indepenent Republic called Ireland.

Or the EU/IMF protectorate called Ireland
Post by: randomtask on July 28, 2011, 02:28:51 PM
Why would he not be welcome? He is the head of the roman catholic church which has over a billion members. Ireland have a very small percentage of the whole cataholic church, do you really think that he new what was going on behind closed doors all those years ago. And im sure he didn't instigate the various cover ups. I think it would be a brilliant thing if he made a visit, also it would inject the irish church with some positivity after so many years of negative press.
Post by: whiskeysteve on July 28, 2011, 02:30:59 PM
(http://www.ticketsinventory.com/images/last_photos/concert/Z/zz-top/zz-top-ironstone-amphitheatre-at-ironstone-vineyards-tickets_13028829246.png)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 02:39:57 PM
Quote from: randomtask on July 28, 2011, 02:28:51 PM
Why would he not be welcome? He is the head of the roman catholic church which has over a billion members. Ireland have a very small percentage of the whole cataholic church, do you really think that he new what was going on behind closed doors all those years ago. And im sure he didn't instigate the various cover ups. I think it would be a brilliant thing if he made a visit, also it would inject the irish church with some positivity after so many years of negative press.

Well if he does come, I hope he gets fckn lost and ends up in the Knock down in Tipperary.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 28, 2011, 02:48:37 PM
We know who your talking about when you mention the Pope, no need for the "of Rome" bit.  ::)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 28, 2011, 02:53:03 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 02:03:02 PM

I noticed you voted Yes. So you welcome this Absolute Monarch, this Head of State, this Leader of a Religion, this Leader of a country which has done great wrong to Ireland & very recently. What was your reaction to Elizabeth II coming to the Irish Republic?

You have no idea what I voted or even wether I voted.
Yes, yes, yes, yes, didn't give a shit(but I'm getting 2 days off next year for her silver jubilee, so I hope she survives til then, though will probably get another day off when she pops off as well).
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 02:54:24 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 28, 2011, 02:53:03 PM

Yes, yes, yes, yes, didn't give a shit(but I'm getting 2 days off next year for her silver jubilee, so I hope she survives til then, though will probably get another day off when she pops off as well).

The vote went up 1 at the exact same time you posted, it wasn't hard to figure out.
Post by: Tubberman on July 28, 2011, 02:56:27 PM

Have you heard of the Cloyne report? Did you read/hear An Taoiseach's speech after the report was published.
There are ample reasons there why the leader of the Catholic Church should not be welcome in this country.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 02:56:36 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 28, 2011, 02:48:37 PM
We know who your talking about when you mention the Pope, no need for the "of Rome" bit.  ::)

Is it ok if I call him Bishop of Rome?
Post by: Rossfan on July 28, 2011, 02:58:25 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 28, 2011, 02:56:27 PM

Have you heard of the Cloyne report? Did you read/hear An Taoiseach's speech after the report was published.
There are ample reasons there why the leader of the Catholic Church should not be welcome in this country.
He'd be more welcome in Ros than that Taoiseach fella anyway
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 28, 2011, 03:03:02 PM
Why would he not be welcome? He is the head of the roman catholic church which has over a billion members. Ireland have a very small percentage of the whole Catholic church, do you really think that he new what was going on behind closed doors all those years ago. And I'm sure he didn't instigate the various cover ups. I think it would be a brilliant thing if he made a visit, also it would inject the Irish church with some positivity after so many years of negative press.

Enda was grand standing.
The country welcomed the Queen, as commander in chief of the British armed forces should she be held responsible for their atrocities over here?
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2011, 03:03:39 PM
One thing is for sure. If he does turn up in any capacity, Enda Kenny must stay away. You can't give a speech like that then schmooze the target of the speech
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 28, 2011, 03:04:49 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 02:54:24 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 28, 2011, 02:53:03 PM

The vote went up 1 at the exact same time you posted, it wasn't hard to figure out.

Means absolutely nothing.
If I was posting, how was I supposed to vote "at the exact same time"?
Post by: Tubberman on July 28, 2011, 03:14:05 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 28, 2011, 03:03:02 PM
Why would he not be welcome? He is the head of the roman catholic church which has over a billion members. Ireland have a very small percentage of the whole Catholic church, do you really think that he new what was going on behind closed doors all those years ago. And I'm sure he didn't instigate the various cover ups. I think it would be a brilliant thing if he made a visit, also it would inject the Irish church with some positivity after so many years of negative press.

Enda was grand standing.
The country welcomed the Queen, as commander in chief of the British armed forces should she be held responsible for their atrocities over here?

The British armed forces didn't commit any atrocities in the Republic of Ireland (which she was visiting, not the north) in over 90 years (with the possible but unproven exception of the Dublin & Monaghan bombings).
The abuse cover ups have been happening to at least as recently as 3 years ago.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 03:14:33 PM

Enda was grand standing.

Ya of course he was  ::) , you just don't like him.

Surely the Absolute Leader of the spies and footsoldiers of the Vatican should be held responsible for their atrocities over here? Or is your brand of Republicanism, the exclusively the Anglophobic variety?
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 28, 2011, 03:21:33 PM
what religions are those multiple beardy guys heads of ?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 03:28:49 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 28, 2011, 03:21:33 PM

I couldn't be arsed answering that in detail, read it for yourself

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patriarch (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patriarch)
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2011, 03:30:10 PM
The pope is the head of state of the Vatican. The government of this country set up an enquiry that found the Vatican had covered up the sexual abuse of Irish children and hindered investigations into it. It also found that they did this as recent as 2009 when their new child protection guidelines were supposedly in place. An Taoiseach, Enda Kenny, put this on record in the dail. Any state that would interfere in Irish law, especially when it comes to the sexual abuse of innocent children, should not have their head of that state "welcomed" into this country. Anyone who voted yes to this poll clearly puts more importance in the Vatican state than they do in the Irish state. Mayogodhelpus is also correct when he insinuates that the majority of "yes" votes will come from those in the 6 counties who, in my opinion, have a deeper allegiance to the catholic faith - presumably as it formed part of their identity during the troubles in a way perhaps it did not south of the border. Ironically, many of these people would consider themselves republicans. Anyone who votes Yes and considers themselves a republican, simply does not have a clue what a republic is. A resounding NO vote from me. In fact, a few of the hoors that represent the Vatican in this country should be going the opposite direction and back into the nest of corruption that is the vatican.
Post by: LaurelEye on July 28, 2011, 03:30:49 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 03:14:33 PM

Enda was grand standing.

Ya of course he was  ::) , you just don't like him.

Surely the Absolute Leader of the spies and footsoldiers of the Vatican should be held responsible for their atrocities over here? Or is your brand of Republicanism, the exclusively the Anglophobic variety?

If I was from Mayo, I'd be more worried about what a different set of Red Socks are likely to do to yis next Sunday.
Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 03:44:38 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 28, 2011, 03:14:05 PM

Enda was grand standing.

The British armed forces didn't commit any atrocities in the Republic of Ireland (which she was visiting, not the north) in over 90 years (with the possible but unproven exception of the Dublin & Monaghan bombings).
The abuse cover ups have been happening to at least as recently as 3 years ago.

Partitionism at it's finest right there  ::)

Pathetic and disgraceful attempt to play down the Dublin/Monaghan bombings. "Possible exception" my hole. It was the single worst atrocity of the last fifty years and the dogs in the street know that British security forces were involved. Yet as recently as May 24th this year, the day after Her Majesty's visit ended, (you know, the visit which 'demonstrated the mutual respect between the two countries' etc etc?), HM's government continued with it's lies and cover-ups (sound familiar? Church cover-ups etc?) when they yet again refused to hand over it's files to assist with investigations. Seems you really are struggling to justify your hypocrisy.

In short, you are saying:
The Head of State of Britain and Head of the Armed Forces which carried out abuses in Ireland is welcome....but...
The Head of State of The Vatican and of the Catholic Church, which carried out abuses in Ireland, is not welcome.

Laughable.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 03:49:47 PM
You never seem a bit bothered about the atrocities of the Vatican in Ireland, admit it Nally you are a Catholic Nationalist not an Irish Republican.

(and wait, for the "I asked you a question 6 months ago, answer it now", links to fish in barrels and self congradulation from NS reply)
Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 04:02:01 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 03:49:47 PM
You never seem a bit bothered about the atrocities of the Vatican in Ireland, admit it Nally you are a Catholic Nationalist not an Irish Republican.

(and wait, for the "I asked you a question 6 months ago, answer it now", links to fish in barrels and self congradulation from NS reply)

A post full of nothingness from you as usual Mayo. Accusing someone of not caring about sexual abuse of children shows how low you can sink though.

Maybe you could let us all know how the head of one state/organisation which had members commit heinous crimes and which continues to cover them up, should be welcomed to Ireland, while the head of another state/organisation which had members commit heinous crimes and which continues to cover them up, should not be welcomed to Ireland?

P.s. I can assure you that I am more of a Republican than someone who feels the need to put in brackets how many counties he is referring to after he writes the word "Ireland".
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 04:07:32 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 04:02:01 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 03:49:47 PM

A post full of nothingness from you as usual Mayo. Accusing someone of not caring about sexual abuse of children shows how low you can sink though.

Maybe you could let us all know how the head of one state/organisation which had members commit heinous crimes and which continues to cover them up, should be welcomed to Ireland, while the head of another state/organisation which had members commit heinous crimes and which continues to cover them up, should not be welcomed to Ireland?

P.s. I can assure you that I am more of a Republican than someone who feels the need to put in brackets how many counties he is referring to after he writes the word "Ireland".

This is about your Pope not the Queen of England, stop deflecting.

A 32 county Ireland you fool, is about reunification, it is not a part of being a Republican. If you knew what a Republican was you would know that too. What you are talking about is Nationalism, NOT Republicanism, doh  :P

I am pro re-unification, and a Republican, entirely different things. But I am more a Republican than someone who hasn't a clue of that obvious fact.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 04:13:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2011, 04:08:15 PM
What odds is it to you? You don't even live here.

It's my country, I don't need your permission to be bothered about it.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 28, 2011, 04:15:01 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2011, 03:30:10 PM
The pope is the head of state of the Vatican. The government of this country set up an enquiry that found the Vatican had covered up the sexual abuse of Irish children and hindered investigations into it. It also found that they did this as recent as 2009 when their new child protection guidelines were supposedly in place. An Taoiseach, Enda Kenny, put this on record in the dail. Any state that would interfere in Irish law, especially when it comes to the sexual abuse of innocent children, should not have their head of that state "welcomed" into this country. Anyone who voted yes to this poll clearly puts more importance in the Vatican state than they do in the Irish state. Mayogodhelpus is also correct when he insinuates that the majority of "yes" votes will come from those in the 6 counties who, in my opinion, have a deeper allegiance to the catholic faith - presumably as it formed part of their identity during the troubles in a way perhaps it did not south of the border. Ironically, many of these people would consider themselves republicans. Anyone who votes Yes and considers themselves a republican, simply does not have a clue what a republic is. A resounding NO vote from me. In fact, a few of the hoors that represent the Vatican in this country should be going the opposite direction and back into the nest of corruption that is the vatican.
I have idea myles...how about disecting your own inner demons, self loathing and
obvious discomfort in your own skin and leave the reasoning to the yes votes to those personally responsible for them  ;)
Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 04:19:12 PM
Quote from MGHU on this thread at 2:03pm:

Quote from MGHU on this thread at 4:07pm:
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 04:07:32 PM

What a difference a couple of hours can make  :D :D :D Saying as you found yourself fit to talk about the queen of England earlier, I will repeat my question (maybe you could answer it this time?):

Could you let us all know how the head of one state/organisation which had members commit heinous crimes and which continues to cover them up, should be welcomed to Ireland, while the head of another state/organisation which had members commit heinous crimes and which continues to cover them up, should not be welcomed to Ireland?

P.s. Again, I will never need lectured on Irish Republicanism by a FGer who feels the need to put in brackets outlining how many counties he is referring to after he writes the word "Ireland".
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2011, 04:31:34 PM
Nally - May I ask how you voted and why?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 04:36:57 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 04:19:12 PM

P.s. Again, I will never need lectured on Irish Republicanism by a FGer who feels the need to put in brackets outlining how many counties he is referring to after he writes the word "Ireland".

O you are a complete idiot Republicanism and Reunification are not the same thing, they intersect in the Irish context but they are NOT the same thing. I stated the number of counties to distinguish the Island of the name Ireland from the Independent Nation State of Ireland (which is its official name). Just in case you struggle with it, the 26 counties which include all the counties of Munster, Leinster and Connacht + the counties of Cavan, Donegal and Monaghan are not called Southern Ireland or the Free State or any other of your regular insults. If you have an issue with me calling the 26 counties Ireland, that is an argument about Reunification or Nationalism NOT Republicanism you inept moron.

Move beyond the school of petrol bombs for your interpretation of Republicanism and try a book perhaps.

You are clearly a Nationailst, but don't appear to be a Republican.
Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 04:59:45 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 04:36:57 PM

O you are a complete idiot Republicanism and Reunification are not the same thing, they intersect in the Irish context but they are NOT the same thing. I stated the number of counties to distinguish the Island of the name Ireland from the Independent Nation State of Ireland (which is its official name). Just in case you struggle with it, the 26 counties which include all the counties of Munster, Leinster and Connacht + the counties of Cavan, Donegal and Monaghan are not called Southern Ireland or the Free State or any other of your regular insults. If you have an issue with me calling the 26 counties Ireland, that is an argument about Reunification or Nationalism NOT Republicanism you inept moron.

Move beyond the school of petrol bombs for your interpretation of Republicanism and try a book perhaps.

:D :D :D Have you no shame?
- You quote ONE line from my post, which is basically just an aside from my main arguments of my post
- You want to talk about nothing but definitions of republicanism but accuse me of changing the subject when talking about visits to Ireland by HM
- One minute you are asking a poster "What was your reaction to Elizabeth II coming to the Irish Republic?", yet when I mention her, you reply "This is about your Pope not the Queen of England, stop deflecting." (priceless  :D)

...Now, I have asked you a question repeatedly on this thread an you have refused so far to answer it, so I may just re-post my last post, (minus the little aside about republicanism just so you can stay focused), and we can see if you are capable of answering it yet...

What a difference a couple of hours can make  :D :D :D Saying as you found yourself fit to talk about the queen of England earlier, I will repeat my question (maybe you could answer it this time?):

Could you let us all know how the head of one state/organisation which had members commit heinous crimes and which continues to cover them up, should be welcomed to Ireland, while the head of another state/organisation which had members commit heinous crimes and which continues to cover them up, should not be welcomed to Ireland?
Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 05:32:49 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2011, 04:31:34 PM

Apologies for the lateness of the reply here, I was having trouble connecting to the board for some reason there. To answer your question, I haven't voted on the thread at all actually. I try not to give too much credence to any poll started by a clown like MGHU.

I opposed the visit of the British Head of State & Head of the British armed forces on the point of principle that that person was the head of an organisation which continues to lie and withhold truths about disgusting crimes in Ireland. I also said at the time that until I believed that state/organisation apologised and did all in it's power to provide justice, I would continue to oppose such a visit. I would be a hypocrite if I didn't hold a similar opinion on a potential visit by The Pope. And I say that as a practicing Catholic. I have more faith in my actual religion and the Church as a spiritual entity, than in it's practical institutions/hierarchy/structures which have clearly let so many people down in such a cruel manner.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2011, 06:10:58 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 05:32:49 PM

Apologies for the lateness of the reply here, I was having trouble connecting to the board for some reason there. To answer your question, I haven't voted on the thread at all actually. I try not to give too much credence to any poll started by a clown like MGHU.

I opposed the visit of the British Head of State & Head of the British armed forces on the point of principle that that person was the head of an organisation which continues to lie and withhold truths about disgusting crimes in Ireland. I also said at the time that until I believed that state/organisation apologised and did all in it's power to provide justice, I would continue to oppose such a visit. I would be a hypocrite if I didn't hold a similar opinion on a potential visit by The Pope. And I say that as a practicing Catholic. I have more faith in my actual religion and the Church as a spiritual entity, than in it's practical institutions/hierarchy/structures which have clearly let so many people down in such a cruel manner.

Fair enough. I was not in favour of the queen of englands visit either for the same reasons and a bunch if d4 know nothing's telling us how mature we now were turned my stomach.
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2011, 06:22:07 PM
I love these kind of tit-for-tat arguments - when I'm not involved in them
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2011, 06:30:27 PM
I love the clever
use of fonts
that people do to make a point
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 28, 2011, 06:31:45 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 03:28:49 PM

Maybe I am reading the wrong section , but there is no mention of the word 'Pope' in that wiki definition ( then again wiki is more often way wrong than anything else). That wiki piece also doesn't define which religions these Hearst guys are 'popes' of. Please can you let me know what section I should be looking at for this! Tia
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2011, 06:32:46 PM

Should Sinn Féin release the black balloons again?
Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 07:00:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 28, 2011, 06:32:46 PM

Good input.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:02:03 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 28, 2011, 06:31:45 PM

Maybe I am reading the wrong section , but there is no mention of the word 'Pope' in that wiki definition ( then again wiki is more often way wrong than anything else). That wiki piece also doesn't define which religions these Hearst guys are 'popes' of. Please can you let me know what section I should be looking at for this! Tia

Popes and Patriarchs are the same thing. Some of these men titles are Pope others are Patriach and even within this there appears to be a hierarchy of Popes/Patriarchs. Even within the Latin Rites (Western) Roman Catholic Church there appears to be some kind of mini-Popes/Patriarchs below the Pope (I presume below), the Patriarch of Milan and the Patriarch of Rome. Not sure the one in Byzantium appears to be of equal rank to the Bishop of Rome, but much as the Reformation much later the schism between the East (Roman) and West (Orthodox). Most use the title Patriarch, a few use the title Pope, and I notice several other titles used to denote the same. Yes I know Wiki is not the best reference.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:03:50 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 04:59:45 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 04:36:57 PM

:D :D :D Have you no shame?
- You quote ONE line from my post, which is basically just an aside from my main arguments of my post
- You want to talk about nothing but definitions of republicanism but accuse me of changing the subject when talking about visits to Ireland by HM
- One minute you are asking a poster "What was your reaction to Elizabeth II coming to the Irish Republic?", yet when I mention her, you reply "This is about your Pope not the Queen of England, stop deflecting." (priceless  :D)

...Now, I have asked you a question repeatedly on this thread an you have refused so far to answer it, so I may just re-post my last post, (minus the little aside about republicanism just so you can stay focused), and we can see if you are capable of answering it yet...

Of course you ignore my point with as much as skill as you seem to interpret I do with yours. Actually having problems with the board too, so will respond fully at the bottom minus a quote as I cannot see the text as I write it if I quote you.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 28, 2011, 07:05:17 PM

I've been thinking the same thing.
Some of them beardy buckos were appointed by the Pope himself so they can't be real  popes; can they?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:11:21 PM
OK well I see what I did there, I'll give ya that one Nally  :D  Well this is about the Pope not the Queen, perhaps I shouldn't have gone on to a tangent either.

But to answer you, the Primeminister, the British Government and the British Parliament control the British army and define British internal and external policy, including the use of their military. The Queen is a figurehead who hands out silly powerless titles.

The Pope of Rome is the true commander and chief of all things Vatican, Papel or Roman Catholic, the buck stops with him, he is both the figurehead and Absolute Monarch.

Your problem should be with the British Primeministers, Pariament and Government not the Queen. Of course you prefer to hate the Queen because that fits into the traditional Irish attitude of blame the Monarch. As idiotic the British system of having a Monarch as head of state, they haven't had any real power for centuries.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:13:02 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 28, 2011, 07:05:17 PM

Some of them beardy buckos were appointed by the Pope himself so they can't be real  popes; can they?

Pope/Patriarchs are leaders of churches, there appears to be a hierarchy among them of who they think is above them and who is below them.

What is a real Pope Lar?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:18:48 PM
I try not to give too much credence to any poll started by a clown like MGHU.

Coming from you SlapstickNally, I must be doing something right  ;)

Figured out the difference between Republicanism, Nationalism, Unification, Catholicism, Paramilitarism, Patriotism yet. I'm sure we can find you a pop-up book to explain.
Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 07:46:04 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:11:21 PM
OK well I see what I did there, I'll give ya that one Nally  :D  Well this is about the Pope not the Queen, perhaps I shouldn't have gone on to a tangent either.

But to answer you, the Primeminister, the British Government and the British Parliament control the British army and define British internal and external policy, including the use of their military. The Queen is a figurehead who hands out silly powerless titles.

The Pope of Rome is the true commander and chief of all things Vatican, Papel or Roman Catholic, the buck stops with him, he is both the figurehead and Absolute Monarch.

Your problem should be with the British Primeministers, Pariament and Government not the Queen. Of course you prefer to hate the Queen because that fits into the traditional Irish attitude of blame the Monarch. As idiotic the British system of having a Monarch as head of state, they haven't had any real power for centuries.

So MGHU, if you genuinely don't believe there are parallels between the two visits, why then, when you believed Gaoth Dobhair Abu voted that he would welcome the Pope, did you reply to him with the question "So you welcome this Absolute Monarch, this Head of State, this Leader of a Religion, this Leader of a country which has done great wrong to Ireland & very recently. What was your reaction to Elizabeth II coming to the Irish Republic?" ??

You are tying yourself i knots here MGHU. You have now contradicted yourself twice:
1st: Attacking me for mentioning the queen of Britain's visit, claiming that I was changing the subject, despite having mentioned it yourself two hours previous.
2nd: Drawing parallels between the visit of the Pope and The Queen of Britain in response to GDA, yet claiming they are not a parallel when replying to me.

Make up your mind which story you want to go with and stick to it :-\
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:52:37 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 07:46:04 PM

So MGHU, if you genuinely don't believe there are parallels between the two visits, why then, when you believed Gaoth Dobhair Abu voted that he would welcome the Pope, did you reply to him with the question "So you welcome this Absolute Monarch, this Head of State, this Leader of a Religion, this Leader of a country which has done great wrong to Ireland & very recently. What was your reaction to Elizabeth II coming to the Irish Republic?" ??

You are tying yourself i knots here MGHU. You have now contradicted yourself twice:
1st: Attacking me for mentioning the queen of Britain's visit, claiming that I was changing the subject, despite having mentioned it yourself two hours previous.
2nd: Drawing parallels between the visit of the Pope and The Queen of Britain in response to GDA, yet claiming they are not a parallel when replying to me.

Ha you see, to GD I never said the Queen was the leader of the United Kingdom or in charge of the British Army, I was careful with my words, I left it open for GD & the likes of yourself to make your usual and boring conclusions. Read it again, you have just walked into the wording I left for the likes of You. Thanks for saving me time of having to find the quote.  ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2011, 08:07:59 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 07:00:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 28, 2011, 06:32:46 PM

Good input.
Good answer.
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2011, 08:10:59 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:02:03 PM
Popes and Patriarchs are the same thing. Some of these men titles are Pope others are Patriach and even within this there appears to be a hierarchy of Popes/Patriarchs. Even within the Latin Rites (Western) Roman Catholic Church there appears to be some kind of mini-Popes/Patriarchs below the Pope (I presume below), the Patriarch of Milan and the Patriarch of Rome. Not sure the one in Byzantium appears to be of equal rank to the Bishop of Rome, but much as the Reformation much later the schism between the East (Roman) and West (Orthodox). Most use the title Patriarch, a few use the title Pope, and I notice several other titles used to denote the same. Yes I know Wiki is not the best reference.

Or you could just admit that when you used the phrase 'Pope of Rome', you meant to say 'Bishop of Rome', something you basically admit to in passing (http://209.200.237.116/~gaabo3/board/index.php?topic=19910.msg995225#msg995225). It's a trivial thing, but instead you seem to be determined to cling to a notion that you were using the phrase to distinguish him from the leader of the Coptic Church or the Patriarch of Alexandria.

Does the Bishop of Rome conduct confirmation cermonies in his diocese?
Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 08:16:00 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:52:37 PM

Ha you see, to GD I never said the Queen was the leader of the United Kingdom or in charge of the British Army, I was careful with my words, I left it open for GD & the likes of yourself to make your usual and boring conclusions. Read it again, you have just walked into the wording I left for the likes of You. Thanks for saving me time of having to find the quote.  ;D

Jaysus you are laughable. Why would you have to mention that the queen of britain is the head of the UK and the british army?! The question remains, why did you ask about the queen of england in terms of GDA's supposed welcoming of a Papal visit? It is simply because you seen parallels between the two visits and now you are trying to worm back from this. Its strange that you were waiting to "catch" me responding to that quote yet you ignored me repeatedly when I asked you about it until now. You are a bullshitter trying to cover your ass, as you have once again tied yourself in knots.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 08:22:06 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 28, 2011, 08:10:59 PM

Or you could just admit that when you used the phrase 'Pope of Rome', you meant to say 'Bishop of Rome', something you basically admit to in passing (http://209.200.237.116/~gaabo3/board/index.php?topic=19910.msg995225#msg995225). It's a trivial thing, but instead you seem to be determined to cling to a notion that you were using the phrase to distinguish him from the leader of the Coptic Church or the Patriarch of Alexandria.

No thats exactly what I meant, a Pope is just another word for Patriarch, I meant exactly what I said. I was suprised that there were so many when I went to look, I presumed there were only about 6-8'ish. The Roman Catholic Pope is no more THE Pope than Man.Utd. is THE Utd.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 08:27:58 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 08:16:00 PM

The Pope of Rome is the true commander and chief of all things Vatican, Papal or Roman Catholic, the buck stops with him, he is both the figurehead and Absolute Monarch.

Jaysus you are laughable. Why would you have to mention that the queen of britain is the head of the UK and the british army?! The question remains, why did you ask about the queen of england in terms of GDA's supposed welcoming of a Papal visit? It is simply because you seen parallels between the two visits and now you are trying to worm back from this. Its strange that you were waiting to "catch" me responding to that quote yet you ignored me repeatedly when I asked you about it until now. You are a bullshitter trying to cover your ass, as you have once again tied yourself in knots.

Nally you  are a simpleton, you really are. I said the likes of you, not you, you arrogant narcissistic twit. I was careful to word my sentence to not say that the Queen was in charge of of any army.

Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 08:31:49 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 08:27:58 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 08:16:00 PM

The Pope of Rome is the true commander and chief of all things Vatican, Papal or Roman Catholic, the buck stops with him, he is both the figurehead and Absolute Monarch.

Nally you  are a simpleton, you really are. I said the likes of you, not you, you arrogant narcissistic twit. I was careful to word my sentence to not say that the Queen was in charge of of any army.

You didnt need to. We all know she is the head of the british army. So again, why did you feel the need to ask GDA about his views of her visit when you believed he voted in favour of welcoming a Papal visit? Seems an odd question or topic to raise for someone who later claims the two are in no way parallels.
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2011, 08:32:13 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 08:22:06 PM

No thats exactly what I meant, a Pope is just another word for Patriarch, I meant exactly what I said. I was suprised that there were so many when I went to look, I presumed there were only about 6-8'ish. The Roman Catholic Pope is no more THE Pope than Man.Utd. is THE Utd.

I see. So I presume you routinely refer to Dublin, Ireland, so as to distinguish it from Dublin, Ohio. Or the Dublins in South Australia, Ontario, California, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland . . .

(And yes, I cogged that list from Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dublin_%28disambiguation%29))
Post by: Nally Stand on July 28, 2011, 08:33:53 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 08:22:06 PM

Yes it's a good job you clarified which Pope you meant in the thread title. Otherwise most people would probably have just assumed you were talking about Patriarch Torkom Manoogian.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 28, 2011, 08:45:00 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:13:02 PM

Pope/Patriarchs are leaders of churches, there appears to be a hierarchy among them of who they think is above them and who is below them.

What is a real Pope Lar?

I think the best person to answer that question is your good self. After all, you are the OP here and in the context of this discussion, you decide who shall be the Pope so we can all continue fighting.
As far as I'm concerned, there can be assloads of popes but only one Pope. Some of them hairy hoors you listed would start fighting the minute they smelled each other.

But you did mention the 'Pope of Rome' in the topic title and I take it you mean the individual  who is both Bishop of Rome and Kilfenora as well as the Parish  Priest of Liscannor.
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2011, 09:10:20 PM
(http://www.uccphilosoph.com/wiki/images/thumb/1/19/Eoin_the_Pope_O%27Mahony0001.jpg/250px-Eoin_the_Pope_O%27Mahony0001.jpg)
The one true Pope
Post by: Hardy on July 28, 2011, 09:13:48 PM
Maybe we should have a new thread - Person/people you like or respect who are popes.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2011, 09:16:16 PM
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/ac/The_Popes%2C_photo_%28cropped%29_by_Phil_Polgaze.gif)
Post by: muppet on July 28, 2011, 09:22:56 PM
The Church moved with Constantine to Byzantium.

http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/source/donatconst.asp (http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/source/donatconst.asp)

The Pope as Bishop of Rome has as much claim to be the successor of Saint Peter as the Bishop of Killala.
Post by: Franko on July 28, 2011, 11:48:24 PM
Interesting question.  I don't think I would personally feel comfortable with the Pope coming to Ireland (32 counties  ::). The atrocities committed by some within the Catholic Church and the subsequent cover up and obstruction of justice cannot be airbrushed from history.

As an aside, great to see MGHU giving us a laugh by tying himself in knots yet again. As wee Barry would say, "Keep 'er lit!"  :D
Post by: AZOffaly on July 29, 2011, 09:45:05 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 28, 2011, 08:45:00 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 07:13:02 PM

What is a real Pope Lar?

I think the best person to answer that question is your good self. After all, you are the OP here and in the context of this discussion, you decide who shall be the Pope so we can all continue fighting.
As far as I'm concerned, there can be assloads of popes but only one Pope. Some of them hairy hoors you listed would start fighting the minute they smelled each other.

But you did mention the 'Pope of Rome' in the topic title and I take it you mean the individual  who is both Bishop of Rome and Kilfenora as well as the Parish  Priest of Liscannor.

Brilliant :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 29, 2011, 11:01:45 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@
ah darn it , I thought from your opening comments that these guys were officially called 'pope'.
Am disappointed that it is only your own opinion and equating of the terms.
More fg/ff-esque type inaccuracies!!!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 29, 2011, 11:43:34 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 29, 2011, 11:01:45 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@
ah darn it , I thought from your opening comments that these guys were officially called 'pope'.
Am disappointed that it is only your own opinion and equating of the terms.
More fg/ff-esque type inaccuracies!!!

A Patriarch and a Pope are the same thing. If you want one called Pope, Pope Shenouda III is a example. You are really telling me if you were looking for an example of a historic King or Emperor, you would not accept a Kaiser or a Tsar!
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 29, 2011, 01:07:47 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2011, 08:27:58 PM

Powerful stuff! By all means, keep it coming! ;D
That's like telling the man, "I never said you were a thick, ya stupid bollox."
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 29, 2011, 02:24:43 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 29, 2011, 11:43:34 AM
A Patriarch and a Pope are the same thing. If you want one called Pope, Pope Shenouda III is a example. You are really telling me if you were looking for an example of a historic King or Emperor, you would not accept a Kaiser or a Tsar!
Obv this is your own interpretation and IMO completely incorrect in it's usage and context here.
While it makes no odds , the fact remains that Benedict xv is not known as ' the patriarc' but rather ' THE Pope' !!!
Post by: whatsinaname on July 29, 2011, 02:37:40 PM
Could all posters please use full titles when referring to the Pope and the Queen.  Some posters are very pedantic in using the "Pope of Rome" yet are quite willing to refer to ERII as "the Queen". This can be quite confusing for us non-monarchy and royal sycophant types, as surely there is more than just the one queen (e.g the Queens of Norway, Netherlands, Belgium).   Clarification in future will be helpful.  Also can this thread not be given its proper implied title "Lets bash the Church some more", as that is ultimate goal of its author
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 29, 2011, 03:00:33 PM
Quote from: whatsinaname on July 29, 2011, 02:37:40 PM
Could all posters please use full titles when referring to the Pope and the Queen.  Some posters are very pedantic in using the "Pope of Rome" yet are quite willing to refer to ERII as "the Queen". This can be quite confusing for us non-monarchy and royal sycophant types, as surely there is more than just the one queen (e.g the Queens of Norway, Netherlands, Belgium).   Clarification in future will be helpful.  Also can this thread not be given its proper implied title "Lets bash the Church some more", as that is ultimate goal of its author

I know, the poor old church (btw you should have surely used the correct term - I presume you mean the Roman Catholic Church and not the church of the latter day Saints or the church of Satan). People out there bashing it for no reason at all, its just terrible - never mind, the "bashers" will all burn in hell I suppose.
Post by: whatsinaname on July 29, 2011, 03:13:45 PM
Roman Catholic is not the correct term. It is one foisted upon it by others.  The Church does need to be told hard hitting home truths, and must be held accountable for its wrong doing, failings and cover ups to the full extent of the law.  All I'm saying is,  if some one wants to start a thread to have a go at the Church, then have the courage of their convictions and name the thread accordingly, and not play games with language and hide behind silly polls.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 29, 2011, 03:18:27 PM
Well whole Mayogodhelpus other poll is daft I think this one is a valid question and to be honest it is depressing that the majority of people would welcome the pope to Ireland after what the organisation/religion/state he represents has done here. He is about as welcome as the plague in my opinion.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 08, 2011, 01:41:47 PM
Is Pat Buckely not the Pope of Larne?
Post by: Denn Forever on August 08, 2011, 01:55:41 PM
The meaning of Patriarch

pa·tri·arch (ptr-ärk)
n.
1. A man who rules a family, clan, or tribe.
2. Bible
a. One of the antediluvian progenitors of the human race, from Adam to Noah.
b. Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, or any of Jacob's 12 sons, the eponymous progenitors of the 12 tribes of Israel.
3. Used formerly as a title for the bishops of Rome, Constantinople, Jerusalem, Antioch, and Alexandria.
4. Roman Catholic Church A bishop who holds the highest episcopal rank after the pope.
5. Eastern Orthodox Church Any one of the bishops of the sees of Constantinople, Antioch, Alexandria, Moscow, and Jerusalem who has authority over other bishops.
6. Judaism The head of the Sanhedrin in Syrian Palestine from about 180 b.c. to a.d. 429.
7. Mormon Church A high dignitary of the priesthood empowered to invoke blessings.
8. One who is regarded as the founder or original head of an enterprise, organization, or tradition.
9. A very old, venerable man; an elder.
10. The oldest member of a group: the patriarch of the herd.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 08, 2011, 06:37:44 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on August 08, 2011, 01:55:41 PM
The meaning of Patriarch

pa·tri·arch (ptr-ärk)
n.
1. A man who rules a family, clan, or tribe.
2. Bible
a. One of the antediluvian progenitors of the human race, from Adam to Noah.
b. Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, or any of Jacob's 12 sons, the eponymous progenitors of the 12 tribes of Israel.
3. Used formerly as a title for the bishops of Rome, Constantinople, Jerusalem, Antioch, and Alexandria.
4. Roman Catholic Church A bishop who holds the highest episcopal rank after the pope.
5. Eastern Orthodox Church Any one of the bishops of the sees of Constantinople, Antioch, Alexandria, Moscow, and Jerusalem who has authority over other bishops.
6. Judaism The head of the Sanhedrin in Syrian Palestine from about 180 b.c. to a.d. 429.
7. Mormon Church A high dignitary of the priesthood empowered to invoke blessings.
8. One who is regarded as the founder or original head of an enterprise, organization, or tradition.
9. A very old, venerable man; an elder.
10. The oldest member of a group: the patriarch of the herd.

Yes I know I said I would stay away until Mayo lose their next competitive match, but this just made me laugh. You arrogantly point to number 4. but prove me correct with numbers 3. & 5.