Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: muppet on July 11, 2011, 07:05:04 PM

Title: Re: Cashelbar
Post by: muppet on July 11, 2011, 07:05:04 PM
http://www.breaffyhouseresort.com/index.html (http://www.breaffyhouseresort.com/index.html)

2 miles outside town but loads of taxis if you are having a pint.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 11, 2011, 07:18:51 PM
Breaffy House seems to be booked out that weekend. It mentions a sister hotel, Breaffy Woods?
Post by: Denn Forever on July 11, 2011, 07:20:51 PM
Jack L is at the TF on the 24th July.  Check website and see if they have a special for Jack L and the petting Zoo.

http://www.theroyal.ie/
Jack L will make his very first visit to The Royal Theatre in a long time when he performs there on Saturday 23 July
Read more...
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 11, 2011, 08:14:41 PM
So is your man in the tractor still towing the shite out of breaffy hotel every day? Wasn't the kitchen closed in the sports hotel too. I wouldn't go near that spot if I were you. Come to think of it there are not too many decent spots to stay in castlebar. Id try westport, 15 mins up the road and much nicer town.
Post by: ross4life on July 11, 2011, 09:01:35 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 11, 2011, 07:22:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 11, 2011, 07:18:51 PM
Breaffy House seems to be booked out that weekend. It mentions a sister hotel, Breaffy Woods?

The sister hotel is the one Denn is thinking off its on the same grounds as Breaffy House, much younger hotel, think you can access the gym/pool facilities too, its backed onto Breaffy CLG.

There is also a sister hotel of the TF beside the TF in town called the Harliquin (heard it nice)

Yeah it's a decent hotel stayed in it last year after the Connacht final. it use to be Days hotel.

I also stayed in one of the Breaffy hotels (can't remember which one) for a wedding a few years ago it's alright but over-priced & too far from town & they also charge you extra for breakfast.

Some decent B&Bs i have also stayed in Kenny's,Green Bay & Lough Lannagh.
Post by: muppet on July 11, 2011, 09:08:30 PM
AZ, Westport is only a 12 minute spin away and has loads of decent hotels. Plenty to do there if you haven't been before.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 11, 2011, 09:10:32 PM
What would ye Mayo lads do? I was at a wedding in Westport once, so that's not the best way of sussing out a town, although it seemed nice.

Post by: muppet on July 11, 2011, 09:15:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 11, 2011, 09:10:32 PM
What would ye Mayo lads do? I was at a wedding in Westport once, so that's not the best way of sussing out a town, although it seemed nice.

If Breaffy is full and hotel facilities (e.g. a pool) are an issue you probably need to look at Westport. The spin to the TF is a no hassle 12 mins for the Dino thing and Westport has lots to do if the weather is good (e.g Westport House Pirate Park http://www.westporthouse.ie/pirate-adventure-park/ (http://www.westporthouse.ie/pirate-adventure-park/).

I'll be lynched for saying it though.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 11, 2011, 09:22:32 PM
Maybe Westport is the best bet so. Any hotels there I should be looking at? Young lad is nearly 5.
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 11, 2011, 10:27:03 PM
I would stay in Westport, nice town and only about ten miles from Castlebar. I stayed on the Plaza a couple of years ago and found it nice.

www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g186627-d618782-Reviews-Westport_Plaza_Hotel-Westport_County_Mayo_Western_Ireland.html
Post by: thewobbler on July 11, 2011, 10:31:37 PM
The Plaza is the Castlecourt's younger sister, but they share the same leisure facilities, so unless you're a fan of modern furnishings, stay in the CC as it's cheaper.

Westport is amusing in that it's full of tourists who are gonamacked by how much the locals drink. Like most of Ireland there's less than nothing to do if it rains, except drink - though there is a cinema.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 11, 2011, 11:51:45 PM
I'd agree with most of the above. Westport is the spot for you. Sure Castlebar folk go to Westport for a night out!
Post by: spuds on July 12, 2011, 01:17:08 AM
Has to be Westport, plenty of hotels to choose from and a good clean public pool bang in the centre of town so somewhere like the Wyatt in the Octagon is only a 2 minute walk away.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 12, 2011, 04:38:34 AM
Yes Wesport is a nicer town if you define nice as in pretty, hairy fairy faux Leperchaun Begorra Irish (and they all Royalist Colonials  >:( from the island to the east), Castlebar is nicer if you are talking about the craic. Also Westport is alot more expensive and nothing to do if it rains unlike the Capital/Castlebar.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2011, 12:11:35 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 12, 2011, 04:38:34 AM
Yes Wesport is a nicer town if you define nice as in pretty, hairy fairy faux Leperchaun Begorra Irish (and they all Royalist Colonials  >:( from the island to the east), Castlebar is nicer if you are talking about the craic. Also Westport is alot more expensive and nothing to do if it rains unlike the Capital/Castlebar.

if it rains sure it never stops raining . Anyway westport is the place to Go to Az
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 12, 2011, 01:28:59 PM
An unfair attack on Westport by me, was well on it last night
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2011, 01:57:06 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 12, 2011, 01:28:59 PM
An unfair attack on Westport by me, was well on it last night

No harm mayogodhelpus were the pubs full in westport ? ;)