GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on June 27, 2011, 04:51:41 PM

Title: An Mhí Vs Gallimh,___19:00, 9/7/2011___Pairc Tailteann, An Uaimh
Post by: thejuice on June 27, 2011, 04:51:41 PM
Here we go.

Wasn't satisfied with the last beating we gave them. 2001 still not wholly avenged.

Surely 4 qualifier wins = 1 All Ireland Loss, so a few more hidings to be handed out.
Title: Re: An Mhí Vs Gallimh,___19:00, 9/7/2011___Pairc Tailteann, An Uaimh
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 05:00:43 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 27, 2011, 04:51:41 PM
Here we go.

Wasn't satisfied with the last beating we gave them. 2001 still not wholly avenged.

Surely 4 qualifier wins = 1 All Ireland Loss, so a few more hidings to be handed out.

Meath will win and then lose to Longford. "Schön verlieren" is what they call it in German. Losing beautifully.

Why would anyone count qualifier wins ?  Mick Lyons never would have.
Post by: thejuice on June 27, 2011, 05:04:10 PM
What, do we have to wait till ye get back to an All-Ireland?? sure that could take forever.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 27, 2011, 05:12:37 PM
Meath should win this one handy although in fairness we usually beat them when it matters.

Hopefully we dispense with some of the dead wood and give some of the young lads a chance. They might get badly beaten but at least blood them with eyes on next year because we know what some of the current bunch can and can't do. And it's mainly can't do. And maybe O'Flaharta will try something novel like not playing half the team out of position and stop trying to batter square pegs into round holes.
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 05:39:26 PM
This is as good a chance as any to throw caution to the wind and try something different.
Meath are nothing special this year.   
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 27, 2011, 05:44:42 PM
Glad Seafoid we are going up in your estimation. ;D From sh1te to nothing special!
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2011, 05:48:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 05:39:26 PM
This is as good a chance as any to throw caution to the wind and try something different.

You insolent pup.  >:(
You'll be chased back across the Shannon with your tail between your legs.
Post by: ross matt on June 27, 2011, 08:32:01 PM
So long as Galway havent completely thrown in the towel morale wise there is a good chance of them taking Meath in my opinion. They have to be better than they were yesterday. Meehan will have another 2 weeks under his belt recovery wise + possibly armstrong may be ready. Also I dont think Joyce can be said to be finished based on one match.

Meath have some great individual forwards but their teamwork and link play was very poor against a very poor Louth. Some of them greedily took the shot when they should have passed to a better positioned colleague. Whilst the goals that they scored against Louth were well taken I think they eased their way through in the lead up far more easily than they would have against Galway. The Meath full backline also looked suspect once or twice and PJ & co could expose them there.

Midfield is where Galway have to up their performance more than anywhere else. Shane O'Rourke won and broke great ball the last day plus took some fine long range scores.

Galway need to have their heads right instead of the despondent way they've approached the qualifiers since 01. I hope they do. Connacht abu.
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 10:12:39 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2011, 05:48:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 05:39:26 PM

You insolent pup.  >:(
You'll be chased back across the Shannon with your tail between your legs.
Hey Jinxy. You can stay in hell  :D
Post by: agorm on June 27, 2011, 10:58:05 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 27, 2011, 04:51:41 PM
Here we go.

Are you kidding? No amount of qualifier wins equals an All-Ireland loss/ win though in truth they cannot be compared.

I hope that banty finally is coming close to his best team. Hope Kevin Reilly is back. I also hope that we work the ball better in the forwards as I dont think any defence will be as porous as Louths were. We need to work the ball better in the forwards to put players in good positions for scoring points. On Saturday we either went for unrealistic scores from too far out or(happily successfully) went all the way in for goals. Those goals wont be as easy to get in future game(s).

I would hope that home advantage will swing it for us and that we could win by circa 4-6 points.
Post by: myball22 on June 27, 2011, 11:49:23 PM
Unless there is the most almighty backlash, we will get our asses handed to us next week. And we don't do backlashes. We're like the hurlers, when our backs at to the wall, we keep them there and capitulate too easily. Who many games in recent years did we lose by 1 point? And the cancer has run so deep now that I would take a 1 point loss right now because I am genuinely afraid we will be humiliated the next day. An average Mayo team (or a Mayo team playing averagely) beat us by 6 points and it could have been 16 points!
London will be in the championship longer than us, we are amongst the also-rans at this stage.

What I would like to see next week is as follows:
Firstly some pride in the jersey.
We haven't played at an intensity necessary for championship wins since we played Meath in 2001. That day we hurried and harrassed Meath and didn't give them a break. Like the hurlers there is a look for excuses and no savage will to win with this current team. That would be a start.
After that an emphasis on youth.
We know that most of the current crop are not up to it, lets give youth its fling and see what happens. Some people might say that it might backfire and we could been overrun and out muscled but that's happening anyway with this current shower! Also there is nothing left to lose, nobody expects them to win so they might have a right cut at it and maybe at least at the end of the match there may be some light and the end of the tunnel!
Finally some common sense in terms of team selection.
Pick backs in the defence and forwards in the attack. It's not rocket science. Our defence is not good enough to mark man to man, 6 on 6 we should employ at least two forwards as auxiliary backs with a licence to attack. We need players with the work rate of Paul Galvin, Dooher and Cathal Cregg.
Surely someones like Boyle and Tomas Fahy should start the next day. Breath new blood and life into the team.
Maybe they'll come good like '98 and the good days will come back :)
Right now I'd settle for competitiveness and a bit of pride!

Post by: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:01:06 AM
Quote from: myball22 on June 27, 2011, 11:49:23 PM
Unless there is the most almighty backlash, we will get our asses handed to us next week. And we don't do backlashes. We're like the hurlers, when our backs at to the wall, we keep them there and capitulate too easily. Who many games in recent years did we lose by 1 point? And the cancer has run so deep now that I would take a 1 point loss right now because I am genuinely afraid we will be humiliated the next day. An average Mayo team (or a Mayo team playing averagely) beat us by 6 points and it could have been 16 points!
London will be in the championship longer than us, we are amongst the also-rans at this stage.

We haven't played at an intensity necessary for championship wins since we played Meath in 2001. That day we hurried and harrassed Meath and didn't give them a break. Like the hurlers there is a look for excuses and no savage will to win with this current team. That would be a start.
We know that most of the current crop are not up to it, lets give youth its fling and see what happens. Some people might say that it might backfire and we could been overrun and out muscled but that's happening anyway with this current shower! Also there is nothing left to lose, nobody expects them to win so they might have a right cut at it and maybe at least at the end of the match there may be some light and the end of the tunnel!
Pick backs in the defence and forwards in the attack. It's not rocket science. Our defence is not good enough to mark man to man, 6 on 6 we should employ at least two forwards as auxiliary backs with a licence to attack. We need players with the work rate of Paul Galvin, Dooher and Cathal Cregg.
Surely someones like Boyle and Tomas Fahy should start the next day. Breath new blood and life into the team.

Surely a good start would be to put Hanley, Blake and Bradshaw in the positions where they made their name. There are at least three other decent backs there. With a decent keeper behind them, and a couple of dogs of war in the middle to win breaking ball off Bergin you still have Joyce and Bane (maybe Meehan) to get the scores. Awful simple stuff I know, but it has to be better than yesterday.
Post by: Duine Eile on June 28, 2011, 12:10:15 AM
Tomas Fahy left the panel a while back, hard to blame him when the likes of O'Donnell and Higgins are being started in the hald back line ahead of him, he has more ability than the 2 of them put together. Serious changes needed for this game, restore Hanley to no.3, Bradshaw to the half back line, maybe throw on Flynn and O Corraoin at midfield, yes they're inexperienced at this level but they couldn't be any worse than what we had yesterday, Bergin needs to be dropped at this stage, anytime he got the ball yesterday the entire Galway support held their breath waiting for him to get rid of it before he did something daft. I'd love for the lads to be hurt, humiliated, disappointed in themselves after yesterday's performance and go out and play like a team and show a bit of heart against Meath, sadly that's one of the biggest things missing from this current crop of players. I would start Micheal Boyle the next day for definite, as I said on the Mayo thread this lad isn't short on confidence and isn't afraid to take a score. Meehan isn't able for a full 70 yet but he'll definitely be needed, I presume Armstrong won't be ready for this game?
Post by: myball22 on June 28, 2011, 12:25:07 AM

Surely Armstrong is another one of these players who hasn't done it and won't do it at this stage. We can't put this down to best we have at the moment, we have to build for the future starting now. I would try and start a good few u-21s, they don't have this fear of failure associated with the seniors and have a winning mentality. They were told they would be destroyed by Cork in the u-21 semi and went out and beat them. I would try Hanley at centre back. I thought Forde did reasonably well at full back the last day and thought himself and Duane came out with credit. Maybe moving Bergin to the half forward line might free him up a bit, he's no good as the main man at midfield, he might express himself at half forward.
And we have to play with a few extra backs, leaving Alan Burke alone on Cian Ward is a recipe for disaster. He might even beat his 4 goals at the weekend!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2011, 12:33:35 AM
Quote from: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:01:06 AM
Quote from: myball22 on June 27, 2011, 11:49:23 PM

Surely a good start would be to put Hanley, Blake and Bradshaw in the positions where they made their name. There are at least three other decent backs there. With a decent keeper behind them, and a couple of dogs of war in the middle to win breaking ball off Bergin you still have Joyce and Bane (maybe Meehan) to get the scores. Awful simple stuff I know, but it has to be better than yesterday.

The problem with Hanley is that he's an out and out full-back. I don't think he can play anywhere else. He is a poor enough kicker of the ball and he looked like man who was searching for his car keys around the middle the last day. He has no instinct for playing in midfield. He is a decent full-back when all he has to do is attack and clear the ball. The thing is young Forde may already be as good a full-back as him if not better. Maybe you could put Hanley full-back and put Forde in the corner. Not ideal for Forde though. I have thought about Hanley at centre-back and while it may suit him a bit more than midfield I'd be worried that his dodgy kicking would be exposed there.

Bradshaw should either be wing-back or centre-back where his runs forward would have kept the likes of Moran or Dillon occupied going the other direction on Sunday. Instead Dillon was being marked by Greg Higgins who is no centre-back and doesn't have the pace to be chasing after nippy half-forwards. Dillon won a mountain of breaking ball the last day because of it. Blake I thought did alright after coming on but what on earth was he doing at centre-forward. He's not even the first cousin of a centre-forward. Conroy another who has no instinct for playing in the full-forward line. Apart from firing a loose ball into the net you can tell he doesn't really know what he should be doing up there. Joe Bergin being persisted with in midfield. Even his own club don't play Joe in midfield anymore unless it's an emergency. How's he making the Galway midfield? PJ at corner-forward? PJ hasn't played in the corner in years. He doesn't have the turn of foot anymore to be in the corner which is why he's played centrally for the past decade.

For Meath I would try

Faherty
Forde
Hanley
Duane
Sice
Blake
Bradshaw
Flynn
Ó'Curraoin
Bergin
Joyce
Boyle
Bane
Meehan
Cummins

Not mad about moving Forde but he has played some corner-back. Boyle and Cummins to add some much needed pace upfront. Meehan obviously might not be able for a full game but I'd rather start him and take him off rather than have to put him on when we're already 5 or 6 points down. I'd give Bergin a go at wing-forward. I actually think he's played most of his best matches for Galway from that position. Obviously a huge ask to start the two 19 years olds in midfield but they were well able for Aidan Walsh who is better than anyone Meath have in midfield and if they fail so what. It's not like the other options would do any better than them. At least these lads might have a future.
Post by: myball22 on June 28, 2011, 12:41:09 AM

Agree with most of that, maybe Forde in the corner can mark Cian Ward the next day. To be honest Blake is another of the disappointments in this current crop. I can't remember a championship game where I left and said didn't Blake do well! Lets start by putting our best players in their best positions and going from there, it can't be that hard.
Post by: Duine Eile on June 28, 2011, 12:43:45 AM
Quote from: myball22 on June 28, 2011, 12:25:07 AM

And we have to play with a few extra backs, leaving Alan Burke alone on Cian Ward is a recipe for disaster. He might even beat his 4 goals at the weekend!

That could be quite a realistic possibility!  :-[ Hanley's problem is he can't kick a pass, he has to either go out with the ball and hand pass it or just get a fist to it, at centre back I think he'd be lost! Colin is playing well at no.3 but he's more versatile than Hanley and would adapt to a new position better. I'd put him at no.2 I think and take Burke out of the corner altogether. Maybe have him at no.5, Bradshaw at 6 and Sice at 7 or something like that. Bradshaw didn't look very fit yesterday though, I'd be worried about his lack of pace. Armstrong hasn't a bit of luck when it comes to injury when you think about it,he can get a couple of decent performances in a row and then he's off injured. Last year he played well in the league and then Kernan and co. had him funnelling behind the backs for championship which neutralised his influence IMO. Put it this way, he 's a better option than the likes of Bradshaw, Blake, Clancy and the rest that ended up in the half forward line yesterday. At this stage all Galway supporters want to see is a decent performance, nobody is expecting them to win which is sad really.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 28, 2011, 12:34:46 PM
What a tool McEnaney is. No matter how far we get this year, he has to go.
Post by: myball22 on June 28, 2011, 02:59:14 PM

You can have O'Flahartha if ye want him!
Post by: The Claw on June 28, 2011, 03:15:53 PM
having Kevin Reilly, Stephen Bray, and less likely, Bryan Menton back for this game will strengthen Meath.
Menton back would mean MacAnarney moved to the wing with Queeney dropping to the bench (feel sorry for Queeney being played out of position - he is a good inter county forward in my opinion). If not, someone will have to come in at wing back, maybe Mark O'Sullivan, or maybe Kenny will go back to wing back, but he is so effective at wing forward I wouldn't like to see him moved.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 28, 2011, 03:33:17 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on June 28, 2011, 12:34:46 PM
What a tool McEnaney is. No matter how far we get this year, he has to go.
I wouldn't be his biggest fan either but I'd say the Louth result will afford him enough goodwill to be given another year, regardless of what follows. Cannot see him changing things that much the next day, similar approach but hope I'm wrong. Prefer to see Joe at FF with more mobility in the half-forward line by playing wing forwards on both sides, with more craft at CHF, even if it means a two man full-forward line. Still leaving Kenny to do what he does best around the middle and complete our forward options.
Post by: Hardy on June 28, 2011, 03:38:20 PM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on June 28, 2011, 03:33:17 PM
I wouldn't be his biggest fan either but I'd say the Louth result will afford him enough goodwill to be given another year, regardless of what follows.

Every silver lining has a cloud. This was the source of mixed feelings for me on Saturday as each goal was banged in. Another year of Banty is a high price to pay for a qualifier victory over a hopeless Louth.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 28, 2011, 04:04:21 PM
Meath must surely have been delighted with drawing Galway at home; it is in all honesty a softer draw than they some of the other teams they could have got. Since 2008 Q-final defeat to Kerry after beating Mayo in the Connacht final, Galway have only beaten London, Sligo and New York in the championship with losses to Mayo (by 1pt), Donegal (by 1pt), Sligo (by 1pt), Wexford (by 1pt) and Mayo (by 6pts). We have no recent success at provincial or qualifier level, indeed we haven't beaten a team outside Connacht since 2004. Meath on the other hand - while I wouldn't rate them among the top teams in the country -only won Leinster just last year and have some big championship scalps such as Dublin in the recent past. They are coming off a thumping win against Louth and are at home. Galway are coming off what is their worst championship football performance I can remember, if Mayo had the shooting boots on and were at the races for the full 70 minutes last Sunday it would have been at least a 12 or 14 point pasting. If anyone can make a case as to why Meath should be worried I'd like to hear it.

No one from Galway except the 500 or so absolute die-hards are going to travel to Navan for a match at 7pm on a Saturday night. The Galway support is pathetic but to be honest I can see why people have given up on the team, it's so long since Galway have put in a decent performance that it would sap the morale of any football fan to be constantly heading to games which are only going to be losses without even a bit of fight from the team. Midway through the 2nd half last Sunday I wished I was pretty much anywhere else than MacHale Park but as Navan is near hand to Dublin and I'm a sucker for punishment I'll head along to see if we can even muster a bit of a performance at least.

Mercifully this game is not on the TV as if Galway continue to play to form the rest of the country won't have to watch the damp squib that will be our exit from the championship. I have no grá for Meath at all and if we were going well would be one of the teams I'd love to see beaten by Galway but they are a patently better outfit right now. That said no more than ourselves they are still a long way off the top level where they were 10 years ago and are not going to light up the rest of the championship after Saturday week I'd say.

It was shown in the league games when he was tried there that Hanley can't play CHB either, it's full back or nothing for him. The man in possession of number 3 Forde was good, the goal apart, against Mayo but can he play elsewhere in the backline part from FB? Is he a viable option in the corner if the management see sense and move Hanley out of midfield? I think it's safe to assume that Hanley will not be dropped off the starting 15 and I'd rather see him at FB than in the midfield again, would be hard on Forde to lose out if he can't move to corner back as he has played well for Galway at FB so far.

Whatever about Blake not delivering over the years myball he at least made an impact on the breaking ball around midfield during the game last Sunday, on the basis of the Mayo match and the fact that Meath's Joe Sheridan isn't the quickest centre forward going he has earned a recall to CHB position I think.

Bergin should be dropped, he is not winning clean catches in the middle of the pitch and he is a possession turnover machine when he has the ball, constantly running into groups of opposition footballers or losing it through his own bad play. Didn't think Higgins was great on Sunday but he is a midfielder anyway, how about a novel approach next time out by starting him in his actual position if you are going to play him at all. I thought Duane was one of the few Galway players to emerge with any credit from Sunday's debacle and I would retain him at corner back as perhaps Blake can do a job at CHB for the Meath game. Next year starting with the league I'd put Duane at 6 from the off and stick with him.

Alan Burke should be played at half back or not at all, he is not a corner back. Sice was ok for the first twenty minutes against Mayo but after this he was poor. Hehir had a rude awakening to the championship but hopefully he'll have other days, I wouldn't be writing him off based on one game. Conroy is wasted at FF as he doesn't know what to do up there, stick him in the half forward line. PJ didn't have his best day against Mayo but he needs to be played centrally and not in the corner so I would start him at FF and then bring on Meehan for him when he inevitably tires in the 2 nd half, the sad fact is that PJ is still the best man we have in the Galway colours.

Don't know why Cormac Bane was taken off last Sunday, he is one of the few players that will definitely score if given the ball in the Galway forward line, I recall reading somewhere that he had some words to say to O'Flaharta when being hauled off, while I wouldn't be in favour of such open dissension if this is true, I can easily see why Bane would feel this way.

At this stage, while looking to the future and the players that will be lining out in Division 2 next year, if lads are going to be brought on with 20 minutes left in the Meath game then bring on younger, pacey players – the likes of Boyle and Cummins – instead of Clancy et al. Perhaps the new lads may not be any good either but at least give them a chance to prove themselves either way.

Einstein defined insanity as doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results, Galway are stuck in a trap of new managers expected to deliver instant results and trusting/expecting the more experienced Galway players to suddenly perform to levels that they have never previously shown but that they have the supposed "potential" to play at. It hasn't worked. We are at the lowest we've been for years now; a developmental approach to trying to get back competitive is what is needed.

Several managers have come and gone in the recent past and it must be said based on the fairly consistent composition of the panel that what is there is as good as what is in the county, there is no easy solution that the management can use to rectify this problem, but at least give them a chance by playing them in their proper positions on the pitch.

On another positive note it's good to see everyone involved behind the scenes pulling together in these tough times for Galway football going by this piece in today's Indo sports section:

Galway officials play down row:

Galway officials were yesterday attempting to downplay an altercation between a prominent Football Board official and a member of the Tribesmen's backroom team in the dressing-room after Sunday's Connacht semi-final defeat to Mayo.

A heated argument is understood to have developed between the official, who had apparently questioned some of the decisions made, and the backroom team member as frustration at the defeat boiled over.

It was not clear if the matter will be raised at a meeting in the county tonight.

The nature of the defeat has compounded a miserable season for the Galway footballers and has placed pressure on Tomas O Flatharta's reign ahead of their qualifier against Meath next week.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 28, 2011, 04:11:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 28, 2011, 03:38:20 PM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on June 28, 2011, 03:33:17 PM
I wouldn't be his biggest fan either but I'd say the Louth result will afford him enough goodwill to be given another year, regardless of what follows.

Every silver lining has a cloud. This was the source of mixed feelings for me on Saturday as each goal was banged in. Another year of Banty is a high price to pay for a qualifier victory over a hopeless Louth.
True (it shouldn't be held as high value currency in the county, but alas). If a similar victory over a slightly better Dublin side last year didn't save EOB, you can still live in hope.

I can see your predicament Hardy. It's a bit like placing a bet on something with your head and wanting the opposite result in your heart. And not sure which result you favour most as things play out.
Post by: ross4life on June 28, 2011, 04:19:48 PM
Will be interesting to see how Galway fare in this, we have shipped some bad beatings in Navan over the years Meath bullied us & we weren't able to cope with the physical nature of their play.

Post by: myball22 on June 28, 2011, 04:54:58 PM

Considering how we were beat for nearly every breaking ball the last day, I wouldn't say they will fare too well with it.

From the management perspective, to quote Roy Keane, I think we are not looking for perfection but progress. Pat Spillane doesnn't get a lot right but there is some merit in what he said about getting Alan Mulholland in and giving him a few years to rebuild. He has a knowledge of the young talent in the county, and may be able to rebuild from the ground up.

Also what Spillane said about a root and branch review of the structures in Galway football would be good, you'd prefer to do it from a position of strength when we were competitive but it is necessary to ensure we have talent coming through i the future.
Post by: galwayman on June 28, 2011, 05:00:27 PM
Good post AFA. The positioning of some of our players the last day beggared belief. Anyone who saw Hanley playing midfield in the league could have seen he was at sea.Blake at centre forward was another strange one as was taking Bane off and bringing Clancy on. Bergin hasn't performed for Galway in years but we have few options unfortunately.
Is Kevin Brady gone off the panel?
I don't believe we have the players regardless to do anything this year but I'd like to see us play players in their best positions and go out with a bit of pride.
I would favour possibly putting Hanley back in at full back with Forde and Duane in the corners.Bradshaw and Sice alongside either Burke or Blake in the half back line. I would play Bergin,Flynn and O'Curraoin in a 3 man midfield with Meehan,Joyce,Hehir,Bane and possibly Boyle (or else Conroy) as the 5 forwards.
Concannon isn't good enough for senior county football.

QuoteGalway officials play down row:

Galway officials were yesterday attempting to downplay an altercation between a prominent Football Board official and a member of the Tribesmen's backroom team in the dressing-room after Sunday's Connacht semi-final defeat to Mayo.

A heated argument is understood to have developed between the official, who had apparently questioned some of the decisions made, and the backroom team member as frustration at the defeat boiled over.

It was not clear if the matter will be raised at a meeting in the county tonight.

The nature of the defeat has compounded a miserable season for the Galway footballers and has placed pressure on Tomas O Flatharta's reign ahead of their qualifier against Meath next week.

AFA rumour has it that it's your own parishioner (aka John Joe) and Martin Mac that had the dressing room row after the game.
Post by: Tubberman on June 28, 2011, 05:06:19 PM
Quote from: myball22 on June 28, 2011, 04:54:58 PM

Considering how we were beat for nearly every breaking ball the last day, I wouldn't say they will fare too well with it.

From the management perspective, to quote Roy Keane, I think we are not looking for perfection but progress. Pat Spillane doesnn't get a lot right but there is some merit in what he said about getting Alan Mulholland in and giving him a few years to rebuild. He has a knowledge of the young talent in the county, and may be able to rebuild from the ground up.

Also what Spillane said about a root and branch review of the structures in Galway football would be good, you'd prefer to do it from a position of strength when we were competitive but it is necessary to ensure we have talent coming through i the future.

We had that after the Sligo and Longford performances last year. The CB appointed a committee, they put in a huge amount of work, produced a report and the CB basically shoved it in a drawer and went with their own plan anyway.
Post by: myball22 on June 29, 2011, 12:31:44 PM

Heard that, it was too independent and probably had too many good ideas!

Something is needed in Galway though, we can't keping hoping for a golden generation to appear to save us, we need to keep bringing through talent to the senior team.

Maybe we were over-reliant on the schools system, the youngsters of '98 - '01 came through a strong school systems of St. Jarlaths, St. Pats and St. Marys. They haven't been nearly as strong since then.
Post by: kevmy on June 29, 2011, 01:35:28 PM
Can't see Galway coming near to winning this but from what I saw the last day and from the majority of the Galway posters are saying here an improved performance should be coming.

Was shocked Hanley was left at midfield, that Bane was taken off and that Blake came on at CHF. Bradshaw done alright but prob not in his best position.

A few positional switches and a couple of personnel changes along with a bit of passion and pride should be enough to restore some face for Galway. I don't see any more than that.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 29, 2011, 06:11:52 PM
I couldn't predict anything other than a comfortable win for Meath.
Just a question of not following up the 2010 syndrome, scoring five goals one day and following it up with a dreadful display the next.
Post by: thejuice on June 29, 2011, 08:31:07 PM
I wouldn't get carried away from what we saw last week. OK I didn't see Galway but my Dad insists they were disgracefully bad, that said we can't get ahead of ourselves. Meath ran into a Louth team that capitulated fairly easy, especially their defence.

Shane O'Rourke needs to stay in MF.

If Kevin Reilly is fit he gets No.3 back.

Shane McAnarney stays at 6.

Depending on Stephen Bray's health, we can move Paddy O'Rourke out of FF and put Joe in, with Bray in the half forward line. Graham Reilly at CHF. We could move Queeney up to 10 as well.

When is Brian Farrell's suspension up??
Post by: seafoid on June 29, 2011, 08:40:56 PM
Meath should win it handy but then they have Banty as manager so you never know.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 05, 2011, 03:30:21 PM
Change of ref in this game. it will now be Michael Collins & it's safe to say he's not liked in Co Meath.
Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2011, 04:50:08 PM
Oh jesus.
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2011, 06:49:52 PM
I don't think we've been refereed by Collins since Seán Boylan's days. In fact I thought Collins had retired.

I dug out some statistics I compiled back in 2003 – they make interesting reading:

Meath's record in championship games under Sean Boylan's management to date is as follows:
Played 87, won 58, drew 11, lost 18.

This equates to a win rate of 67% or an overall success rate (if a win = 1, a draw = 0.5 and a loss = 0) of 73%

In champiosnhip games refereed by Michael Collins, the statistics are as follows:
Played 5, won 1, drew 1, lost 3.

This equates to a win rate of 20% or an overall success rate of 30% under Collins's officiation.

I'm not interpreting, just presenting.
Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2011, 07:31:50 PM
If we lose, it'll definitely be because of him.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 05, 2011, 08:52:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 05, 2011, 07:31:50 PM
If we lose, it'll definitely be because of him.

I'll have to respectfully disagree. If it were a game we could expect to be close maybe, but if we lose to Galway I won't be blaming the referee.
Post by: muppet on July 07, 2011, 02:54:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 05, 2011, 06:49:52 PM
I don't think we've been refereed by Collins since Seán Boylan's days. In fact I thought Collins had retired.

I dug out some statistics I compiled back in 2003 – they make interesting reading:

Meath's record in championship games under Sean Boylan's management to date is as follows:
Played 87, won 58, drew 11, lost 18.

This equates to a win rate of 67% or an overall success rate (if a win = 1, a draw = 0.5 and a loss = 0) of 73%

In champiosnhip games refereed by Michael Collins, the statistics are as follows:
Played 5, won 1, drew 1, lost 3.

This equates to a win rate of 20% or an overall success rate of 30% under Collins's officiation.

I'm not interpreting, just presenting.

So if Collins reffed the 1996 Final we'd have won?

What's Joe Duffy's number?
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 07, 2011, 03:05:42 PM
hope galway win
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2011, 07:00:15 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 07, 2011, 02:36:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 07, 2011, 01:41:34 PM
Exactly.
Great point.
Collins screwed us in that game too.

He did give John McDermott a penalty for his impression of a falling tree in fairness.

Worst dive ever.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2011, 07:01:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 07, 2011, 03:05:42 PM
hope galway win

I don't blame you.
You can beat them.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 07, 2011, 08:28:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 07, 2011, 07:01:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 07, 2011, 03:05:42 PM
hope galway win

I don't blame you.
You can beat them.

na its just that o'rourke annoyed me hole the last day against mayo in his analysis he said he wouldn't read to much inoi the win as galway were one of the weakest teams he ever saw then after the draw he was going on about how great a draw it was for meath as they were meeting one of the top teams in the country .
Post by: Duine Eile on July 07, 2011, 09:56:00 PM
Galway team named:
From Galwaygaa.ie:

The Galway team to play Meath on Saturday shows a number of changes from the team beaten by Mayo in the Connacht championship;Diarmuid Blake comes in at centre back with Fintan O'Curraoin at no 9 and Thomas Flynn at no 10 making their first apperance on the team while Micheal Meehan starts at no 13 for first time this year.

1 Adrian Faherty
2 Johnny Duane
3 Finian Hanley
4   Colin Forde
5 Gareth Bradshaw
6  Diarmuid Blake
7 Gary Sice
8  Joe Bergin
9 Fintan Ó Curraoin
10  Thomas Flynn
11  Mark Hehir
12  Matthew Clancy
13  Michael Meehan
14  Padraig Joyce
15 Cormac Bane

Meehan starting, interesting to see how he gets on, it's a big ask after such a long lay off. Still no Armstrong, was thinking he wouldn't be fit alright.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 07, 2011, 10:04:25 PM
Doesn't have the look of a team that was months in the planning.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 07, 2011, 10:09:56 PM
Positives from this are Hanley restored to the full back slot, Bradshaw at wing back and Padraic back at 14. Joe Bergin shoudln't be playing, Matthew Clancy will be subbed, guaranteed, Hehir will have a better game hopefully, I'd have started Boyle before Clancy.
Post by: galwayman on July 07, 2011, 10:42:37 PM
I can't understand how Matthew Clancy is still involved at this level.I've seen him a number of times at club level as well over the last few seasons and he hasn't even stood out there in intermediate football.
Boyle and Conroy are surely better players.
It does look a bit better than the last day on paper but I still think we will do well to come within 5-6 points of Meath.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 07, 2011, 10:58:50 PM
I suppose there were bound to be changes after the Castlebar debacle.  Good to see more of the U-21 lads getting a start.  I too would have started Boyle ahead of Clancy.  For my sins, I will go to this on Sat eve as I reckon it may be the last time we see the great PJ in the maroon and white.  Meath are no great shakes themselves but they are a little bit better than us and I think home advantage will swing it their way. 
Post by: galwayman on July 07, 2011, 11:11:01 PM
Yes I fear it may be the last appearance for PJ in a maroon jersey.What a legend of Galway football.
Will head to Navan myself also I think. M6 to Kinnegad and head through Trim from here?
Post by: ross4life on July 07, 2011, 11:16:03 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 07, 2011, 09:56:00 PM

1  Adrian Faherty
2 Johnny Duane
3  Finian Hanley
4  Colin Forde
5  Gareth Bradshaw
6  Diarmuid Blake
7 Gary Sice
8  Joe Bergin
9  Fintan Ó Curraoin
10 Thomas Flynn
11  Mark Hehir
12 Matthew Clancy
13 Michael Meehan
14  Padraig Joyce

15 Cormac Bane

Those players in them positions should improve Galway 50% from the Castlebar game. Pity this game isn't on TV as it will be a better than Kildare v Laois.
Post by: Tubberman on July 08, 2011, 09:29:33 AM
Much better balanced Galway team.
That team could well beat Meath, but the Mayo match could have seriously knocked the morale out of the Galway panel. Will be very interesting to see how they respond.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2011, 09:50:57 AM
Thomas flynn just did the leaving. The hurlers never played Joe Canning at that age.
Post by: thejuice on July 08, 2011, 10:16:30 AM
Caomhin King marking Joyce as Reilly is not fit yet. That could be where Galway try and expose weakness. McAnerny will need another solid game as before to stop any running from deep.

I expect our MF to be O'Rourke and Meade whom one of will have to contend with Joe Bergin, who can turn in a strong performance when he's on form.

With this ref I suspect Brian Meade might run the greatest risk of getting the line.
Post by: beer baron on July 08, 2011, 10:20:44 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2011, 09:50:57 AM
Thomas flynn just did the leaving. The hurlers never played Joe Canning at that age.

Was that not of Cannings accord rather than anything else?My understanding was he made himself unavailable as he felt he was too young?
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2011, 11:25:17 AM
Beating Meath would be better than winning Connacht.
They are quite rickety but still very confident.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 08, 2011, 11:49:54 AM
jesus rte champo previews give galway no chance, unbelievable stuff, http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0708/meath_galway.html             galway also 9/4 to win the game, I think they are steal with g geraghty missing  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2011, 12:54:44 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 08, 2011, 10:16:30 AM
Caomhin King marking Joyce as Reilly is not fit yet. That could be where Galway try and expose weakness. McAnerny will need another solid game as before to stop any running from deep.

I expect our MF to be O'Rourke and Meade whom one of will have to contend with Joe Bergin, who can turn in a strong performance when he's on form.

With this ref I suspect Brian Meade might run the greatest risk of getting the line.

You could change that to 'with any ref' juice.
He cannot tackle properly.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2011, 01:53:48 PM
I think Galway have a better chance against meath than they would against say Wexford or Westmeath or any of the other teams thaty have lost to by a point in the last few years. Galway are not going to get beaten by 1 point by Meath.
Maybe 10 but not one. So if it is close I think Galway can pull it off.   
Post by: Lone Shark on July 08, 2011, 01:58:02 PM
I think Galway are a cracking bet for this one - 5/2 is a crazy price about a bad division one team playing against a bad division two side.

That Mayo vs Galway match was horrendous viewing but it was also horrendous conditions, and there is too much football in Galway for that to be their real level.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 08, 2011, 03:06:29 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on July 08, 2011, 01:58:02 PM
I think Galway are a cracking bet for this one - 5/2 is a crazy price about a bad division one team playing against a bad division two side.

That Mayo vs Galway match was horrendous viewing but it was also horrendous conditions, and there is too much football in Galway for that to be their real level.

I agree with you there Lone Shark. i'd dare say even Hardy might throw a few quid on galway at those odds  ;)
Post by: Hardy on July 08, 2011, 03:17:25 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 08, 2011, 03:06:29 PM

I agree with you there Lone Shark. i'd dare say even Hardy might throw a few quid on galway at those odds  ;)

I certainly agree it's good value and I'd be grabbing it if I could bring myself to bet against (even the present, diluted) Meath. I know business is business and all, but I just can't.
Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2011, 03:24:32 PM

Hey!
I like to think of us as a good division 3 side.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2011, 04:12:23 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2011, 11:25:17 AM

Don't know about that? you could beat Meath (i think you will) & then get hammered in the next game.
Post by: ross matt on July 08, 2011, 04:25:35 PM
Beating Meath would be better than winning Connacht. They are quite rickety but still very confident.

Yeah I'd say it was all part of a greater Galwegian plan. Cant believe Mayo fell for it.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2011, 06:40:11 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 08, 2011, 04:12:23 PM

Don't know about that? you could beat Meath (i think you will) & then get hammered in the next game.
Sure anything could happen.
It would ne nice to get Ros ...
There is plenty of room in the hospital in Galway
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2011, 06:48:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2011, 06:40:11 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 08, 2011, 04:12:23 PM

Sure anything could happen.
It would ne nice to get Ros ...
There is plenty of room in the hospital in Galway

Can't get ros in round 3.
Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2011, 07:51:05 PM
Why are there Mayo and Roscommon people in this thread?  ???
Mind your own business!
Especially the Mayo people.
Post by: muppet on July 08, 2011, 07:52:27 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 08, 2011, 07:51:05 PM
Why are there Mayo and Roscommon people in this thread?  ???
Mind your own business!
Especially the Mayo people.

Don't mind us....

More popcorn please!

*cracks open another can*
Post by: thejuice on July 08, 2011, 10:13:41 PM
We seem to have given up naming teams at this stage. Can't see it being much different to what we saw against Louth. Bray and Reilly aren't fit to start.

Graham Reilly is meant to be flying in training so thats good. Kicked 7 points for the club last night and only played the second half.
Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2011, 10:52:43 PM
He's certainly due a good game.
Hope it's tomorrow.
Post by: mckieran on July 09, 2011, 01:59:35 PM
Surprised to see Alan Burke miss out; I thought he did quite well in the last few games.

Thats not a bad Galway team though. The backs look good. Hanley, Forde, Blake & Bradshaw are all very strong. Sice can be good and Duane has looked good for the U-21's.

Midfield looks a bit worrying but who knows, Bergin is capable of putting in strong performances now & again. Today could be one of them.

Very inexperienced half forward line and not sure about Clancy either. I'd prefer Conroy at 12 than Clancy.

Full forward line could cause damage if they are on song & fit!
Post by: Sea The Stars on July 09, 2011, 02:28:56 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 08, 2011, 10:13:41 PM
We seem to have given up naming teams at this stage. Can't see it being much different to what we saw against Louth. Bray and Reilly aren't fit to start.

Graham Reilly is meant to be flying in training so thats good. Kicked 7 points for the club last night and only played the second half.

It does seem a bit peculiar that Graham Reilly played an A-League match for his club two days before Meath play a championship match?

Meath players are not normally allowed play A-League matches. Will he start tonight I wonder or was it just a masterstroke from Banty getting him in the humour for a big game?
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 09, 2011, 02:45:05 PM
Best of luck to the Galway team, rank outsiders at 9/4 so nothing to lose at this stage. Hopefully we'll see a performance at least, all the pressure on Meath.
Dunno what kind of Galway crowd will be there given the throw in time and the hurlers game in Limerick but for those of us that will be there lets get behind the team this evening.
Post by: myball22 on July 09, 2011, 03:03:21 PM

Well I'm glad that we've decided to put our best players in their best positions. It seems strange that it took a really bad loss to do that. No one expects them to win so I hope they go out with a nothing to lose mentality and really go for it. The last time no-one gave the U-21s a chance against Cork and we know what happened then. Hopefully they will put in a performance and maybe we can take something from their year and build from there.
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 03:45:06 PM
Hopefully. Meath aren't as good as the Cork U-21s either.
Post by: Chimley on July 09, 2011, 04:28:53 PM
How much to get in tonight? I might pop over for a look.
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2011, 04:50:44 PM
€10 onto the terrace.
Cash at the turnstiles.
Post by: Chimley on July 09, 2011, 04:55:51 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 09, 2011, 04:50:44 PM
€10 onto the terrace.
Cash at the turnstiles.

Thanks.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 09, 2011, 05:09:05 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 09, 2011, 02:45:05 PM
Best of luck to the Galway team, rank outsiders at 9/4 so nothing to lose at this stage. Hopefully we'll see a performance at least, all the pressure on Meath.
Dunno what kind of Galway crowd will be there given the throw in time and the hurlers game in Limerick but for those of us that will be there lets get behind the team this evening.

I'm heading to the game and I've arranged with a few old friends from the Bective area to meet up in the Balreask Arms beforehand. I'm looking forward to the craic as I'll be rooting for the herring chokers.
Normally I would support Meath when my own county isn't involved because I lived in Bective for many years and thoroughly enjoyed my time there.
However, my main reason for going is to be able to watch Paraic Joyce in action without getting the jitters every time he gets a smell of the ball. I imagine he won't be wearing his county colours for much longer; today may well be his last appearance for Galway but I wouldn't bet too heavily on it.
As I see it, Meath were very impressive last day out but the opposition were crap and it's hard to gauge their true form on that display. Galway had their first championship outing against Mayo and looked to be in command until half time. I expect them to be much sharper and more focussed tonight.
I expect a good, hard game and I won't be disappointed if Meath win  either.
Better start moving now!!
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 05:36:18 PM
Bigi curamach , Meathies

Cork have just been put to the sword by the unfancied Galway hurlers.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 06:57:03 PM
Throw in delayed due to crowd congestion.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 09, 2011, 06:59:40 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 06:57:03 PM
Throw in delayed due to crowd congestion.
Another delay? christ what's going on.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:13:17 PM
Meath 0-01
Galway 0-01

just underway

Points from Gary O'Brien and P Joyce
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:19:49 PM
Meath 0-01
Galway 0-02

P Joyce
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:21:17 PM
Meath 0-02
Galway 0-02

Cian Ward
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:23:33 PM
Meath 0-03
Galway 0-02

Big Joe

Meath Panel.

not sure who is no:2

1. Brendan Murhpy

3. Kevin Reilly
4. Chris O'Connor

5. Caomhin King
6. Shane McAnaney
7. Ciaran Lenehan

8. Brian Meade
9. Shane O'Rourke

10. Gary O'Brien
11. Joe Sheridan
12. Seamus Kenny

13. Cian Ward
14. Paddy O'Rourke
15. Stephen Bray
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:24:02 PM
Meath 0-04
Galway 0-02

Brian Meade
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:27:06 PM
Paddy Gilsenan is on too, my positions aren't definate
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:28:47 PM
Meath 0-05
Galway 0-02

S Bray
Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2011, 07:29:11 PM
Gary O'Brien No. 2, I'd say, Juice. Gilsenan in the corner and Bray on the wing, or vice versa.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:30:27 PM
Meath 0-06
Galway 0-02

Shane Mc

probably right there Hardy. Sounds like were well on top at the moment
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:32:51 PM
Meath 0-06
Galway 0-03

P Joyce
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:35:30 PM
Michael Meehan off injured. Hurt himself diving looking for a free according to Mattie.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:36:02 PM
Meath 0-07
Galway 0-03

Shane O'Rourke
Post by: mckieran on July 09, 2011, 07:38:09 PM
Sounds like Meath are absolutely cleaning Galway out at midfield :-(

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 09, 2011, 07:41:07 PM
Meehan off injured. At least it's not the knee. Sounds like his shoulder. He's had no luck at all the past 18 months.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:46:17 PM
Sounds like we're a bit liberal with the shooting.

3 minutes to be added.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:48:01 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-03

S Bray
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:49:07 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-04

C Bane

half time
Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2011, 07:50:24 PM
Galway sound very poor. Four points in the first half. Meath have 80% of the play, according to Matty, but some bad misses.

Any idea which way they're playing? The town end is the scoring end. If we're playing the other way in the second half, it's not over yet.
Post by: galwayman on July 09, 2011, 07:55:39 PM
We're very lucky to be just 4 down by the sounds of it.
With Meehan off we don't have the firepower to come back.PJ can't win games on his own.
Breathnach on for Meehan ffs. Don't see the point in that.He won't get us scores.
Meath -4 on the handicap looking attractive
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 07:56:40 PM
Sounds like Kevin Reilly is on great form. Not bad for a lad who was touch and go about playing. Graham Reilly is a sub might be on the second half, hope he brings the boots he had on for the Cilles a few nights ago. 
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:01:28 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-04

we're back under way

....any minute now
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:08:23 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-04

Trevor Giles on

Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:11:53 PM
Graham Reilly on for Gilsenan

Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2011, 08:12:07 PM
Mick Lyons warming up.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:14:51 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-05

C Bane

K Reilly booked so it makes it difficult for him n Joyce.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:16:54 PM
Brian Farrell on for Paddy O'Rourke
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:18:08 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-06

C Bane

Meath snoozing
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:20:31 PM
f**k sake lads
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 08:21:07 PM
Waterford beat London. That's a pity.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:21:35 PM
Thank god for Kevin Reilly
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 09, 2011, 08:25:29 PM
Sounds like a terrible game.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:26:45 PM
C Ward off

M Ward on

S O'Rourke into the forwards
Post by: Blowitupref on July 09, 2011, 08:27:06 PM
Any more score updates?
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:28:53 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-06

We cant f**king hit the side of a barn at the minute. how many f**king wides in the second half.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:30:11 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-07

Joyce again

Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:30:42 PM
10 minutes left.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:32:29 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-08

Bradshaw

what the f**k is going on
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:34:00 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-09

Clancy

8 minutes to go.
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 08:34:35 PM
Haven't the 2 teams fallen a long way in 10 years ? Meath obviously had a head start.
Post by: ross4life on July 09, 2011, 08:34:47 PM
Was 8-2 & now it's 8-9 to Galway some turn around
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:35:36 PM
Meath 0-08
Galway 0-09

King off
Meade off

Crawford on
Eoghan Reilly on
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 08:36:10 PM
I love it when the opposition can't score for whatever is the period elapsed in the second half. 
All the subs is another good sign
How many forwards scored is the other one. 
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:36:26 PM
Meath 0-09
Galway 0-09

G Reilly

6 mins to go
Post by: Tubberman on July 09, 2011, 08:37:58 PM
Meath will probably get one point in the second half, like Galway did in McHale Park.
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 08:38:35 PM
Wicklow drew with Armagh
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:39:57 PM
Meath 0-09
Galway 0-10

3 mins to go
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:41:05 PM
Meath 0-09
Galway 0-10

4 minutes of added time
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 08:41:57 PM
13 wides for Mead.
4 mins injury time

Brian Farrell to level for Meath
Post by: maigheo on July 09, 2011, 08:42:54 PM
meath one ahead
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:43:12 PM
Meath 0-11
Galway 0-10

Bray and Farrell with 2 scores

2 minutes to go
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:45:47 PM
Meath 0-11
Galway 0-10

brendan murphy saves a shot on goal with the last kick.

heart jumped out of me mouth and into me lap.

Jesus christ
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 09, 2011, 08:46:02 PM
Meath keeper with a great save apparently to stop a certain goal with last kick of the game.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:46:30 PM
Well I guess we won.
Post by: muppet on July 09, 2011, 08:46:58 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:46:30 PM
Well I guess we won.

Nah the ref gave a penalty try at the end.
Post by: ross4life on July 09, 2011, 08:47:15 PM
Why didn't the Galway lad tap it over the bar instead of going for goal?? Galway deserved at least a draw IMO
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 08:47:48 PM
Meath win.

But have they anyone coming up underage?

Post by: Farrandeelin on July 09, 2011, 08:51:51 PM
Galway out earlyish for their standards twice in succession. Pity both couldn't exit on the same day though.  ;)
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 08:52:23 PM
If our minors win tomorrow hopefully. This team don't seem to be able to kick points at the required rate. Win nothing if you can't kick at least 14 points on average.
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 09:12:27 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 09, 2011, 08:51:51 PM
Galway out earlyish for their standards twice in succession. Pity both couldn't exit on the same day though.  ;)

Meath are no good either.
But either team will win the all-Ireland again before Mayo do, I fear.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 09:17:36 PM
By the sounds of it this and how we lost the lead, while examining the teams left in the qualifiers and those to come Meath aren't going any further than the next round. It sounded much like the Kildare game where we almost completely disappeared. I don't know if its a question of fitness or lads not focused coming out for the second half.

Either way I wouldn't fancy us against any of teams left.
Post by: slane85 on July 09, 2011, 09:19:03 PM
Just back from the game. What a let-off for the Royals! Two poor teams but an ubelievably exiting finish. Can't see Meath going far on this exhibition. Thoght Reilly did well on Joyce 1st half esp., King looked good too.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 09, 2011, 09:25:18 PM
Well ... that went ...

The Forwards were all diabolical.
Post by: slane85 on July 09, 2011, 09:39:32 PM
True. The turning point of the game was Cian Ward missing a 14 yard free (yes, really) when the crowd were just getting behind the home side. If he'd scored I think the game would have been won with 15 mins to go.....
Post by: Chimley on July 09, 2011, 09:40:00 PM
Just back. Meath scraped a win that their second-half performance didn't deserve. Farrell showed a bit of dash when he came on but the rest of the Meath forward line were very poor tonight. Sheridan had a very good first half in fairness though and I thought Gilsenan was unlucky to be called ashore.

Meath were totally at sea in the middle third for the entire seconfd half and before the last two fine points that won them the game, they hit some shocking wides.

If Meath get a favourable draw in the next round they could progress a bit more yet but they would need to improve an awful lot on tonights performance. Farrell looks a lot more of a footballer than the man he replaced so it's another positive to take if you're a Meathman.

Losing Meehan (injured in a theatrical dive) was a big blow for Galway but PJ had a good tussle all night with Reilly and the much maligned Matthew Clancy was a revelation in the second half.
Galway will be disappointed that they couldn't close out the game when they had Meath on the ropes and should have had a draw in any case but I like the look of their defence now and the young players have dipped their toes into the championship waters.
I think they will be a force in Connacht next year and should have a nice run in Division 2 to set them up
Post by: Tubberman on July 09, 2011, 09:52:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 09:12:27 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 09, 2011, 08:51:51 PM

Meath are no good either.
But either team will win the all-Ireland again before Mayo do, I fear.

:D Well, unlikely as it may be, Mayo can still win the All-Ireland this year. Galway can't.
Post by: Sea The Stars on July 09, 2011, 10:11:01 PM
Shocking stuff from both teams - Meath just about it, but there has to be better teams beaten tonight. Which illustrates how lucky Meath are, to be still in the competition.

Kevin Reilly had a very good tussle with Joyce, and showed leadership when it was most required. But with the exception of Lenehan and McAnarney, some of his team-mates let him down big time.

The forwards were awful, simply awful. Joe Sheridan yet again kicked one fantastic point and did nothing else, Paddy O'Rourke hardly touched the ball and Cian Ward, after the last day, kicked wide after wide. Paddy Gilsenan was lively and could count himself unlucky, and Stephen Bray did alright I guess and came with the goods to kick the winning score. But there are so many things Meath need to work on in the next seven days, and we'll be blessed if we get a team as bad as Louth or Galway.

I think it was Cormac Bane at the end who had the chance? He really fluffed it. I wouldn't credit Brendan Murphy's save as much as the way he was able to worry Bane out of it. He should have put it over really but he hesitated and Murphy was out like a flash and Bane hit a poor shot.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 09, 2011, 11:11:58 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 09:17:36 PM
By the sounds of it this and how we lost the lead, while examining the teams left in the qualifiers and those to come Meath aren't going any further than the next round. It sounded much like the Kildare game where we almost completely disappeared. I don't know if its a question of fitness or lads not focused coming out for the second half.

Either way I wouldn't fancy us against any of teams left.

I was unimpressed by what I saw tonight. I think too much was read into Meath's display against Louth. It seems it was a case of flattering only to deceive. I don't think fitness was a problem but any Meath side back in Boylan's era would have the game sewn up by half time.
In the first half I felt every outfield Meath player had the better of his counterpart and Galway were completely out of it around the middle of the field. I was totally unprepared for Galway's second half fight back as they seemed absolutely clueless in the first one. With Reilly doing a fine job on Joyce, Galway seemed to have no plan B at all.
I don't feel Galway upped their performance significantly in the second half. It was more a case of Meath coming unstuck than of Galway stepping up a gear or two. In fairness to Meath, I think the backs were unsettled by the glare of the sun. Galway might have been better off if they had hoofed more ball down on the Meath full back line.
My overall impression leaving the ground was that Meath have a large number of fine individual players but Banty has a lot of work to do before he makes a good team out of them.
Post by: ross4life on July 09, 2011, 11:15:34 PM
So how would you rate Collins the ref today? Next up for him is the Connacht final & he rarely has two good games.
Post by: johnpower on July 09, 2011, 11:17:00 PM
Meath may learn a lot from this . Teams who come through the qualifier route dont always blow away the opposition every time .  The draw tomorrow will be interesting
Post by: Orangemac on July 09, 2011, 11:18:18 PM
Does this mean Banty is safe for another year or does he need a QF at least?

Hard to believe but Galway have only won 1 qualifier since wiining Sam in 2001.
Post by: ross matt on July 09, 2011, 11:22:37 PM
Hard luck Galway. Very low scoring match considering the quality of forwards on both sides. If Meath lost they would have kicked it away but Galway could and should have won it at the death. At least they exited the championship with a fight and some hope for the future with the younger players that saw action today. Sad way for Joyce to end his career if it was his last match like the GBFM commentators seemed to think.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 11:28:22 PM
Joyce was still the best forward on the field by the sounds of it.
Post by: johnpower on July 09, 2011, 11:53:29 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 09, 2011, 11:28:22 PM
Joyce was still the best forward on the field by the sounds of it.

Some player over the years . One of the best I have seen
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 10, 2011, 05:08:42 AM
Was working so couldn't make Navan so props to An Fear Marún agus Bán from An Fear Rua for his take on the game. Hope he doesn't mind me sharing it seeing as the game wasn't on the box.

QuoteOpted for Navan myself tonight, I felt our Footballers could've done with the support that bit more than the Hurlers.

We were very lucky to be only 4 points down at the break, the same old failings were there from the Mayo game, inability to win kick outs (I hate this "Primary Possession" buzzword invented by that eejit Kevin Mc Stay) or breaks, indecisiveness when we had possession, and just a huge lack of confidence running through the team. Meath came in to the game full of confidence, illustrated by their eagerness to kick for the posts from all sorts of stupid positions.

This trend continued early into the second half, but following wide after wide you could see the confidence begin to drain from the Meath forwards. Galway worked a few scores and all of a sudden they were back in the game. We then saw something from a Galway Football team that we hasn't been witnessed for quite a while. they began to dominate midfield and were first on to the breaks, Matthew Clancy worked his socks off in the half forward line and Blake began sweeping up in the half back line.

Unfortunately Galway didn't make the most of their period of dominance, after securing possession in midfield there was still a lot of indecision and a lack of imagination when it came to feeding the ball into the forwards. Nonetheless, the young lads like Fintan O Curraoin and Thomas Flynn, especially, began to play without fear and exert a huge influence on the game, and with less than ten minutes to go, not only had they Galway drawn level but had edged a point clear, (Matthew Clancy I think).

Meath had failed to kick a score in the second half up till this point, but tied it up with less than 5 minutes to go with a Graham Reilly point. Galway went back down the field and of all people, the corner back, Johnny Duane got on the end of a move to slot Galway one clear again. They held this lead into injury time, 4 minutes (inexplicably) of which was signaled by Ref Michael Collins.

Unfortunately, as we have seen too often in recent years, the momentum swung the way of the opposition when it came down to the crunch. Meath kicked two good points to edge a point clear with only a minute or two left. It all looked lost until Meath coughed up possession in their own half back line with seconds left, Paul Conroy, on as sub, made a strong run forward through a stretched Meath defence, the ball was worked inside to Cormac Bane, who was only yards out from goal. He failed to gather the ball at the first attempt, which allowed the Meath Keeper the time to come out and smother his shot for Goal...seconds later, the final whistle went. and a glorious chance of victory was lost.

Overall, while it was a another heartbreaking, one point defeat, there was a of encouragement to be taken from tonights performance. The younger lads came to the fore as the game wore on, and aided by excellent displays from Finian Hanley and Matthew Clancy, a shock win was very nearly achieved.

Without ever fully realising it, or a willingness to it admit it, Galway football has been on a serious decline for the last ten years...I am satisfied now that that we already have plummeted to our lowest ebb and are now in a position to start climbing back up towards the top.

Lads like Flynn, O Curraion, Duane and Forde, look like they will be top players. Hanley, Bradshaw and Clancy showed excellent leadership tonight, and still have a good few years ahead of them. If we could get Michael Meehan and Sean Armstrong back to full fitness and young lads like Michael Boyle, Peadar O Griofa, Shane Maughan to come through and even get Nicky Joyce back into the fray, then I think we'll have a team to challenge the best of them in a couple of years time.

Just a couple of final points about tonights game.

The 45s...why in the name of Christ is our Goalkeeper taking these.? Three more missed tonight on top of the ones missed against Mayo. I watched Mark Hehir kick these for fun in the U21 All Ireland, why wasn't he trusted with them? It was the losing of the game for us.

The standard of football by both teams will be written off tonight as atrocious by many, but in truth, it's no worse than every other team, bar Kerry and Cork when it comes down to it. People can rave on all they like about the Dubs and Kildare, but they're no great shakes, and rely on their superior fitness and physicality to make up for their lack of talent.

Finally, Padraig Joyce, what an absolute joy it has been to watch him for the last 14 years or so. I heard there were people raving on about the performance of the Meath full back tonight...why? Just because Joyce didn't score ten points off him as he did against Darren Fay in the 2001 All Ireland? Joyce still popped over a few tonight and won a couple of frees, besides, the best full back on the field was wearing a Galway jersey. Anyway, best of luck to P.J, no matter what he decides to do...he'll go down as one of the all time greats.

Gállimh abú...Beidh muid ar ais go lúath!
Post by: agorm on July 10, 2011, 12:58:48 PM
Just one point first on the previous post. As far as I recall it is an urban myth that Joyce scored 10 points off Darren in that game. He was being marked by Mark O'reilly for at least half that game. That said, Joyce is a modern legend of the game, one of my favourite non-meath players of the last 20 years.

Regarding the game, there were a number of positives and also negatives from a Meath point of view. Leaving the game there were a few people giving out yards saying that it was such a poor performance etc. however  we already KNOW that this group of players are not as good as previous panels that won leinsters, All-Irelands etc. I was happy about some aspects of the performance & unhappy at others.

The performances of Kevin Reilly & Shane McAnarney was very positive. Two crucial positions. Hugely hardworking backline and they have also played well enough that it facilitated moving Seamus Kenny up to the half forwards without an adverse impact in the backs. So full marks to Banty & his selectors on that.....I think they have made a good impact on the backs.

Our forward line are still strggling to score points from play and they are not playing to a method. I think some are nearly afraid to take their scores. nine different Meath players scored last evening. The number of wides from our forwards was unacceptable and they seem to have lost confidence and either take pot shots from too far out or try to work unrealistic chances in for goals. Joe gets one good score and then goes for everything and misses ones that he should be distributing.

We should be getting towards a settled team at this stage but Banty needs to look at the full forward position. Possibly bring Joe back in there. not sure who to put in as CHF. Even though Shane O'Rourke had a quiet game at midfield he probably will be given more time there. Mark Ward did ok when he came in. Possible option of playing him in there with Shane at CHF but that may be more changes than the management want to do at this stage.

Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 03:03:10 PM
 >:( >:( >:(