GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: irunthev on June 27, 2011, 08:34:26 AM

Title: London
Post by: irunthev on June 27, 2011, 08:34:26 AM
Just a quick input regarding London. I'm out of London too long now to know too many of the current players but I would like to give the manager and his backroom team a mention.
Paul Coggins was a very loyal servant of London as a footballer and he was on the London panel for their first ever game in the National League back in 1993 (coincidentally against Waterford – a game London won) and he continued to serve London for another ten years as a player.
Throughout that time he suffered all the disappointments that we all did, including losing five or six All Ireland Club quarter finals with Tir Chonaill Gaels.
One of his selectors Tony Murphy also played for the county for six or seven years and gave unstinting service to the team throughout that time. Both have been great servants to London and I'm delighted that when London finally broke their Championship jinx that it was guys like Coggs and Murphy who were in charge at the time.
Likewise the two other selectors Tony Griffin and Aiden Thompson, while having never played for London, have served the county well as part of the backroom teams for a variety of county teams, including the senior hurlers and county juniors. Well done to the whole team and who knows,  maybe there's a few more days-out for them yet.
Title: Re: London
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on June 27, 2011, 09:36:29 AM
I think all neutrals will have been delighted to see London get the win on Saturday. That it is the second big performance in the space of a few weeks shows that was no flash in the pan. On current form and with confidence high they could well be too good for Waterford. It would be nice to see them win again and get another crack at a Division 1 or 2 side in round 3.
Post by: AQMP on June 27, 2011, 10:51:18 AM
Anybody know where the players come from...apparently a very handy Galway contingent this year?
Post by: Rav67 on June 27, 2011, 12:28:14 PM
Ballymena man Sean McVeigh is captaining them now, he played a few different positions for Antrim when he was just out of minors and seems to have settled in his natural position in midfield for London.  Judging by the big crowd for the Mayo game I was thinking they must have a big contingent over there.  McStay on the Sunday Game mentioned they have a lock of Kerry footballers too.
Post by: armaghniac on June 27, 2011, 12:58:06 PM
London are a shower of blow-ins, is there even one Cockney among them?
Post by: Orior on June 27, 2011, 01:09:38 PM
Assuming Landan beat Waterford, and get a six-county team in the next round, shouldnt they try to have that game played in Wembley? OWC adore the English so I'm sure you'd get a right crowd of them to go.

Get it booked now!
Post by: irunthev on June 27, 2011, 02:09:35 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 27, 2011, 12:58:06 PM
London are a shower of blow-ins, is there even one Cockney among them?

Like half the country at this moment my friend, you are one P45 away from joining them, so don't get too cocky. And yes, they do have English born players on the panel.
Post by: bcarrier on June 27, 2011, 08:18:55 PM
Time to revive the wembley fixtures? ...

Year date team 1 score1 team2 score2 venue ref attendence
1958 5/24/1958 Galway 3 08 Derry 2 04 Wembley B Cremin 33240
1959 5/16/1959 Galway 4 04 Down 3 08 Wembley T Murray 30000
1960 6/4/1960 Down 4 11 Galway 3 06 Wembley P Finnergan 30000
1961 5/20/1961 Down 4 04 Kerry 1 07 Wembley E McArdle
1962 6/9/1962 London New York Wembley J Dowling
1962 6/9/1962 Offaly Kerry Wembley S Shiel
1963 6/1/1963 Kerry Cavan Wembley £11000
1964 5/16/1964 Dublin Galway Wembley D O'Brien
1965 6/5/1965 Galway 1 12 Meath 1 15 Wembley P Finnegan 30000
1966 5/28/1966 f Sligo Cavan Wembley
1967 6/10/1967 Galway 1 10 Cavan 1 11 Wembley M Clifford
1968 6/1/1968 Meath 2 10 Mayo 2 12 Wembley P Finnegan
1969 5/24/1969 Down Kerry Wembley
1970 5/23/1970 Mayo 3 12 Offaly 3 06 Wembley S McCormack 30000
1971 5/29/1971 Kerry 1 11 Meath 10 Wembley
1971 5/29/1971 Mayo 1 09 Derry 1 11 Wembley
1971 5/30/1971 Derry 3 10 Kerry 2 06 Wembley
1972 5/27/1972 s Galway Derry Wembley
1972 5/27/1972 s Offaly Cork Wembley
1973 5/26/1973 Donegal 3 14 Britain 1 07 Wembley 15000
1973 5/26/1973 Kerry 3 16 All Stars 2 17 Wembley
1974 5/26/1974 Cork 09 Galway 2 11 Wembley 20000
1975 6/1/1975 Galway 4 04 Dublin 1 09 Wembley 13500
1976 10/17/1976 f Dublin 10 Kerry 07 Wembley J. Hickey 12500
1976 10/17/1976 London 1 11 AIB 1 12 Wembley S. Heron 12500
Post by: Bogball XV on June 27, 2011, 10:05:01 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on June 27, 2011, 08:18:55 PM
Time to revive the wembley fixtures? ...

Year date team 1 score1 team2 score2 venue ref attendence
1958 5/24/1958 Galway 3 08 Derry 2 04 Wembley B Cremin 33240
1959 5/16/1959 Galway 4 04 Down 3 08 Wembley T Murray 30000
1960 6/4/1960 Down 4 11 Galway 3 06 Wembley P Finnergan 30000
1961 5/20/1961 Down 4 04 Kerry 1 07 Wembley E McArdle
1962 6/9/1962 London New York Wembley J Dowling
1962 6/9/1962 Offaly Kerry Wembley S Shiel
1963 6/1/1963 Kerry Cavan Wembley £11000
1964 5/16/1964 Dublin Galway Wembley D O'Brien
1965 6/5/1965 Galway 1 12 Meath 1 15 Wembley P Finnegan 30000
1966 5/28/1966 f Sligo Cavan Wembley
1967 6/10/1967 Galway 1 10 Cavan 1 11 Wembley M Clifford
1968 6/1/1968 Meath 2 10 Mayo 2 12 Wembley P Finnegan
1969 5/24/1969 Down Kerry Wembley
1970 5/23/1970 Mayo 3 12 Offaly 3 06 Wembley S McCormack 30000
1971 5/29/1971 Kerry 1 11 Meath 10 Wembley
1971 5/29/1971 Mayo 1 09 Derry 1 11 Wembley
1971 5/30/1971 Derry 3 10 Kerry 2 06 Wembley
1972 5/27/1972 s Galway Derry Wembley
1972 5/27/1972 s Offaly Cork Wembley
1973 5/26/1973 Donegal 3 14 Britain 1 07 Wembley 15000
1973 5/26/1973 Kerry 3 16 All Stars 2 17 Wembley
1974 5/26/1974 Cork 09 Galway 2 11 Wembley 20000
1975 6/1/1975 Galway 4 04 Dublin 1 09 Wembley 13500
1976 10/17/1976 f Dublin 10 Kerry 07 Wembley J. Hickey 12500
1976 10/17/1976 London 1 11 AIB 1 12 Wembley S. Heron 12500
I always remember hearing about Derry playing in the first game at Wembley - what exactly were these and how did you qualify for them?
Derry had some record in them by the looks of it, maybe we should claim they were a step further on than the All Ireland and boost our tally of one final and one win in that secondary competition ;)
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 10:11:02 PM
I remember iruntherev had a thread about London and how they were a coming team - was it last year?
And people were laughing.  Now they will probably get to round 3 in the qualifiers if not go further. 
Post by: DownFanatic on June 27, 2011, 10:20:39 PM
David McGreevey at corner back is from a Division 4 club Teconnaught in Down. Never made a county underage or senior team but was always a tidy player.
Post by: Dont Matter on June 28, 2011, 12:09:19 AM
Is the anthem played before London home games? If so which one?
Post by: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:16:31 AM
Quote from: Dont Matter on June 28, 2011, 12:09:19 AM
Is the anthem played before London home games? If so which one?

N17.
Post by: ballela-angel on June 28, 2011, 03:15:49 AM
Regarding the Wembley games - Patsy O'Hagan from Down (Cabra) scored the first hat-trick made by a GAA player in Wembley
Post by: irunthev on June 28, 2011, 09:59:10 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 10:11:02 PM
I remember iruntherev had a thread about London and how they were a coming team - was it last year?
And people were laughing.  Now they will probably get to round 3 in the qualifiers if not go further.

The challenge that London face whenever this particular adventure is over is building on it in 2012. There will be a lot of energy in the group right now and that is fantastic and certainly some of the emails I have received from players in the group are so positive and that's brilliant and certainly a first for London. Too often though the team spirit of May dissolves over the course of the summer and when the call comes up again in December of January players are slow to commit.... hence the Nat League is always a painful rebuilding process. Hopefully Paul Coggins can avoid that this winter. I can remember making my Championship debut against Galway in June 94 and by the time our first NFL game came about in Oct 94, there were only 2 of us left from the Championship side. That's an impossible situation for any manager, but hopefully a thing of the past.
One further point worth noting is that when London joined the NFL in 93 and became a fully functioning inter-county team, it was also the birth of the Celtic Tiger and the team have been on a hiding to nothing since then. It's only in the last couple of years that there has been a sizeable influx of reasonably talented players into the county. Previously there would always have been a few, but nothing like the number that are there are the moment and will continue to come unless Enda Kenny has some magic trick up his sleeve that none of us know about at the moment. Huge credit though has to go to Paul and his mentors. I spent several years standing in their shoes as a selector and trainer for London and it is not a easy job. I'm glad that the good guys are there when the success comes as over the years they have more than earned their success.
Post by: AidyMac on June 28, 2011, 10:10:34 AM
irunthev, I would say that you are a happy man these past few days.  Hopefully they can continue with this and build on the great work they have done
Post by: irunthev on June 28, 2011, 10:28:12 AM
Quote from: AidyMac on June 28, 2011, 10:10:34 AM
irunthev, I would say that you are a happy man these past few days.  Hopefully they can continue with this and build on the great work they have done

It funny how after you have spent 25 years living in a place and devoting all your spare time to football there, the team really gets under your skin. I played for them for ten years as well as training them for several years on top of that. I also played minor and u21 with them too, so while I'm no Englishman, I'm very much a London man when it comes to football. Any Sunday in the NFL the first score I look for is how London done and the next thing I want is to know the team and so on. Lucky I have still got  lot of well connected contacts in London and manage to keep tabs with what's going on. People who have never lived long term away from home maybe don't understand that. It's real anorak stuff I guess I'm pleased for the county, but even more so for the management team because those guys have been super servants to London for as long as I can remember. Typical of Paul Coggins in all his interviews, not once has he focused on himself and it has always been about what other people have brought to the table. Great lad, great character.
Post by: ck on June 28, 2011, 08:35:25 PM
Delightd for London but in beating Fermanagh they beat a shambles of a team with a joke of a manager.
They will get more credit if they beat Waterford. Hope they do.

Has anyone a list of the London players and where they come from, and maybe pen pics to see if any of them played county underage?
Post by: irunthev on June 28, 2011, 08:37:45 PM
Quote from: ck on June 28, 2011, 08:35:25 PM
Delightd for London but in beating Fermanagh they beat a shambles of a team with a joke of a manager.

Has anyone a list of the London players and where they come from, and maybe pen pics to see if any of them played county underage?

Go to www.londongaa.co.uk and there are profiles of many of the players. It mightn't be totally up to date, but not far off it.
Post by: ross4life on June 28, 2011, 09:19:34 PM
Quote from: ck on June 28, 2011, 08:35:25 PM

Having seen both in the league this year i would have tipped Fermanagh before the game, we needed a last minute goal to beat them while we comfortably beat London without Shine,Kilbride etc..

Nothing should take away from what was a fine championship win for London last Saturday.
Post by: ExcellentDriver on June 28, 2011, 11:23:09 PM
Funny how Cockney Geezers tried to disown the Irish whilst most Jellied Eels were obviously fished in Lough Neagh.

Also, the Pogues met up at a Clash Gig in the 70's. Joe Strummer produced a Pogues Album (think it was 'Rum, Sodomy and the Lash').
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on June 28, 2011, 11:24:30 PM
4 lads from Kerry played the last day anyway I think. Mike Moloney at full back (former Kerry minor and U-21), Shane Doolan at wing back (both Dr. Crokes men), Kevin O'Leary at centre forward and Cathal O'Sullivan who came on.

Some great men working tirelessly in GAA clubs in london...helped out manys a young lad who landed off plane/boat in their time.
Post by: ExcellentDriver on June 28, 2011, 11:27:29 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on June 28, 2011, 11:24:30 PM
4 lads from Kerry played the last day anyway I think. Mike Moloney at full back (former Kerry minor and U-21), Shane Doolan at wing back (both Dr. Crokes men), Kevin O'Leary at centre forward and Cathal O'Sullivan who came on.

Some great men working tirelessly in GAA clubs in london...helped out manys a young lad who landed off plane/boat in their time.

Ah, the joys of having Sterling. ;)
Post by: irunthev on June 29, 2011, 08:56:54 AM

You are absolutely right with that comment, but the downside is that this ability to give lodgings and get work for lads has meant that there has been very little focus on building clubs from within and as a result, during those Celtic Tiger years, over 25 clubs folded in London. When I arrived there in 1985 there were 52 football clubs, when I left in 2007, there were 24. I know that times were good in Ireland etc, but too many of the clubs focused solely on what was coming through the arrivals hall at Heathrow and not enough on what was on their own doorstep. The reason for this.... well it was the easy option. Senior men in these clubs coveted new recruits like half of them do their housing portfolios.
A few clubs, and they were the exception, managed to get a decent balance between home grown talent and imports. After all isn't it better to have a poor team than no team at all.
There are a  few clubs who boast fantastic under age systems at all levels that they invested  lot of time in and you might see one home grown player on their senior team, if even that. The mindset is the lad from Ireland will always be better, even if he is only going to be about for 6 months.
The question is often asked about the number of English players on the London side? Well there will always be a few on the panel, and over the years there have been a few exceptional talents, but at the same time, the pickings for the county manager are poor because the number who get the chance to play for the big clubs regularly in the SFC is pretty low. Not the county manager's fault... more to do with the clubs.
Post by: ludermor on June 29, 2011, 10:48:36 AM
Keirans seemed to have a lot of English accents playing with them last year, good to see so many coming through to senior level
Post by: Denn Forever on June 29, 2011, 10:58:11 AM
Dublin get Jedward to do the half time entertainment, why not ask Tinie Tempah to do the same?  Didn't he play underage for St Pauls?
Post by: irunthev on June 29, 2011, 11:36:58 AM
Quote from: ludermor on June 29, 2011, 10:48:36 AM
Keirans seemed to have a lot of English accents playing with them last year, good to see so many coming through to senior level

They do, and both John Gallagher and Philip Morgan have played senior for London and neither has embarrassed themselves. I think Philip's progress was halted a few years ago by injury, but from the age of 18 he had been on the county panel for 5 years and played Championship several times. Kiernans and TCG are probably the best two clubs at developing players all the way through from youngsters to senior. Parnells are good up to minor and then abandon all loyalty to the homegrown lads as soon as some lad from Ireland lands on their mat. The fact that they haven't won a SFC since 1991 has left them undeterred in their pursuit of glory through imports. Round Towers also have a decent contingent of English lads as well as St Clarets. Thomas McCurtains develop very young players well, but then seem to lose their way a bit around under 16 or so. That's my opinion anyway, I'm sure plenty will argue different. Tara also have traditionally had a lot of English players in their side... not sure if there has been a fresh injection recently though, but they did win a SFC in 2003 or 2004 with six or seven London born players playing with them.
Post by: mick999 on June 29, 2011, 12:43:44 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on June 29, 2011, 10:58:11 AM
Dublin get Jedward to do the half time entertainment, why not ask Tinie Tempah to do the same?  Didn't he play underage for St Pauls?

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/3252314/Tine-Tempah-was-model-pupil.html (http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/3252314/Tine-Tempah-was-model-pupil.html)

http://www.stpaulsacademy.org.uk/gallery/gaa-ireland-tour-2011 (http://www.stpaulsacademy.org.uk/gallery/gaa-ireland-tour-2011)

http://www.stpaulsacademy.org.uk/news-and-events/latest-news/county-championsagain (http://www.stpaulsacademy.org.uk/news-and-events/latest-news/county-championsagain)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Udi9oDl9-g0&feature=player_embedded#at=13 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Udi9oDl9-g0&feature=player_embedded#at=13)

Great to see a London School with a Director of Gaelic Football:
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on June 29, 2011, 01:00:33 PM
I agree with what you are saying irunthev...Was just speaking from my own perspective really....I've spent a couple of years over there,played with a team who don't have any underage structure and rely heavily on a group of long term settlers and an infusion of new immigrants each year..they do have a few English born lads alright but not many. Still, they were A1 and really worked hard for the club. I do admire Kiernans for bringing through so many native players to senior level..TCG have a good few aswell making the grade it seems. There is some savage work being done, like the St Pauls academy mentioned above..its great to see.
Post by: ludermor on June 29, 2011, 01:10:52 PM
Quote from: irunthev on June 29, 2011, 11:36:58 AM

They do, and both John Gallagher and Philip Morgan have played senior for London and neither has embarrassed themselves. I think Philip's progress was halted a few years ago by injury, but from the age of 18 he had been on the county panel for 5 years and played Championship several times. Kiernans and TCG are probably the best two clubs at developing players all the way through from youngsters to senior. Parnells are good up to minor and then abandon all loyalty to the homegrown lads as soon as some lad from Ireland lands on their mat. The fact that they haven't won a SFC since 1991 has left them undeterred in their pursuit of glory through imports. Round Towers also have a decent contingent of English lads as well as St Clarets. Thomas McCurtains develop very young players well, but then seem to lose their way a bit around under 16 or so. That's my opinion anyway, I'm sure plenty will argue different. Tara also have traditionally had a lot of English players in their side... not sure if there has been a fresh injection recently though, but they did win a SFC in 2003 or 2004 with six or seven London born players playing with them.
Yeah my cousin played with Keirans underage and 2 of his mates play senior with them now ( they would be around the 20 mark) i was surprised how technically good they were if maybe a bit flimsy. Surprised to see an old warrior from home playing full back for Keirans who has been on the go for a long time, still putting in the big hits !
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on June 29, 2011, 01:14:19 PM
Quote from: ludermor on June 29, 2011, 01:10:52 PM

Yeah my cousin played with Keirans underage and 2 of his mates play senior with them now ( they would be around the 20 mark) i was surprised how technically good they were if maybe a bit flimsy. Surprised to see an old warrior from home playing full back for Keirans who has been on the go for a long time, still putting in the big hits !

A fine lump of Mayo granite he is too!
Post by: kevmy on June 29, 2011, 01:42:50 PM
They have 4 Mayo lads on the panel - there was a bit about them in the local paper the week before the London game.

Tony Gaughan especially is playing good stuff for them at the moment
Post by: irunthev on June 29, 2011, 02:25:26 PM

I guess that would be a certain Mr Byrne..... big hits.... warrior.... has to be. Played a bit for London too did Chris, going back four or five years ago. Strong enough and tough enough, but lacked the pace. Same could be said for most of us I guess.
Post by: passedit on June 29, 2011, 02:44:28 PM
Quote from: irunthev on June 29, 2011, 02:25:26 PM

I guess that would be a certain Mr Byrne..... big hits.... warrior.... has to be. Played a bit for London too did Chris, going back four or five years ago. Strong enough and tough enough, but lacked the pace. Same could be said for most of us I guess.

:o

Jesus Irunthev, I thought you were someone else. I apologise.
:P
Post by: bamboo on June 29, 2011, 02:49:41 PM
Great to see London finally getting a bit of recognition and good press for once and also great to read some of you boys comments.

I'm hoping my next few sentences don't come across as spam and if they do please free to ask the mods to delete this comment or even pm me directly and i'll delete it myself.

My mate has recently written a book on the london scene but not your typical book. Its basically a 12 chapter book focussing on 12 different people/teams who he's interviewed directly about their times in London GAA. For all i know some of you boys might be in it or have already got it.

It's called "A Very Different County" and has a foreword written by Mickey Harte and is widely available both in the UK and Ireland.

It has its own facebook page and also its own website   http://www.averydifferentcounty.com/

This not a sales pitch in any way but i'm certain that some of you ex London fellas would have a great interest in reading it.

Again apologies if this comes across the wrong way.
Post by: irunthev on June 29, 2011, 03:00:12 PM
Quote from: passedit on June 29, 2011, 02:44:28 PM

:o

Jesus Irunthev, I thought you were someone else. I apologise.
:P

What you reckon I wasn't too slow???? Or do you think I wasn't tough enough or strong enough?????

Feck it, who am I trying to kid. I wasn't tough enough, strong enough or fast enough.
Post by: passedit on June 29, 2011, 03:08:00 PM
I was referring to your great speed of course, I'm fairly feeling my age seeing young Byrne described as an old warrior.
:(
Post by: ludermor on June 29, 2011, 03:11:01 PM

Thats the lad, what he lacks in pace he makes up for in pure brute ignorance.
Yeah Tony is from the same club as myself and himself and John Scanlon are playing very well, Scanlon is out for a while with a broken bone in his foot i think but he had an absolute blinder against Mayo.
Post by: irunthev on June 29, 2011, 03:28:04 PM
Quote from: passedit on June 29, 2011, 03:08:00 PM
I was referring to your great speed of course, I'm fairly feeling my age seeing young Byrne described as an old warrior.
:(

You think that's bad. I spent the whole day yesterday getting scans on various joints that no longer function properly. I blame Beezer.
Post by: Offalylad on June 29, 2011, 04:25:32 PM
Great achievement by London, but an away draw would be the end of them I'm afraid
Post by: irunthev on June 29, 2011, 05:28:07 PM
Quote from: Offalylad on June 29, 2011, 04:25:32 PM
Great achievement by London, but an away draw would be the end of them I'm afraid

Maybe so. but you ride the luck you're given. God knows they've had their share of crap luck in the past. Consider 2004... hammered by Galway who scored 8 goals against them and then you get Dublin away in the qualifier. Well overdue a bit of luck I'd say.
But yes, I take your point, Ruislip is a help. Two years ago Waterford were there in the League and were beaten by a point, probably cost them promotion that year, so they won't be looking forward to the trip, that's for sure.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on June 29, 2011, 05:57:00 PM
Quote from: bamboo on June 29, 2011, 02:49:41 PM
Great to see London finally getting a bit of recognition and good press for once and also great to read some of you boys comments.

I'm hoping my next few sentences don't come across as spam and if they do please free to ask the mods to delete this comment or even pm me directly and i'll delete it myself.

My mate has recently written a book on the london scene but not your typical book. Its basically a 12 chapter book focussing on 12 different people/teams who he's interviewed directly about their times in London GAA. For all i know some of you boys might be in it or have already got it.

It's called "A Very Different County" and has a foreword written by Mickey Harte and is widely available both in the UK and Ireland.

It has its own facebook page and also its own website   http://www.averydifferentcounty.com/

This not a sales pitch in any way but i'm certain that some of you ex London fellas would have a great interest in reading it.

Must have a look at that bamboo, will def buy it id say...any idea who the 12 people they talk to are?
Post by: irunthev on June 29, 2011, 07:02:00 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on June 29, 2011, 05:57:00 PM
Quote from: bamboo on June 29, 2011, 02:49:41 PM

Must have a look at that bamboo, will def buy it id say...any idea who the 12 people they talk to are?

Don't know the names of them all but it is a wide range of characters from people like current hurler Martin Finn through to guys who have been in town for 50 years. Good idea from him. Fair play.
Post by: bamboo on June 29, 2011, 08:21:27 PM
The hurling team of the 70's which reached several all-Ireland semi's, St.Pauls Academy including the aforementioned Tiny Tempah, Jason Ryan, The Met Police setting up a team are some of the chapters involved.

Also a chapter about the Rea brothers who faced each other in an all-ireland semi. There's also a cracking chapter about a fella called Ambrose Rogers who travelled to Dublin every Sunday to record the Sunday game and bring the video back, duplicate it and distribute them round the Irish pubs and made a fortune out of it until RTE got hold of him.

I have the book somewhere here in the house but cant seem to put my hands on it.

Coincidentally the author is on Newstalk right now with Jason Ryan on the "Off The Ball" show. Dunno if the repeat can be caught online if you miss it.
Post by: passedit on June 30, 2011, 08:37:20 AM
Quote from: bamboo on June 29, 2011, 08:21:27 PM
The hurling team of the 70's which reached several all-Ireland semi's, St.Pauls Academy including the aforementioned Tiny Tempah, Jason Ryan, The Met Police setting up a team are some of the chapters involved.

Also a chapter about the Rea brothers who faced each other in an all-ireland semi. There's also a cracking chapter about a fella called Ambrose Rogers who travelled to Dublin every Sunday to record the Sunday game and bring the video back, duplicate it and distribute them round the Irish pubs and made a fortune out of it until RTE got hold of him.

I have the book somewhere here in the house but cant seem to put my hands on it.

Coincidentally the author is on Newstalk right now with Jason Ryan on the "Off The Ball" show. Dunno if the repeat can be caught online if you miss it.

Ambrose Gordan?
Post by: irunthev on June 30, 2011, 09:35:39 AM
Quote from: passedit on June 30, 2011, 08:37:20 AM

Ambrose Gordan?

Correct and right. Ambrose would have loved someone writing a book about him. He was born so that someone would write a book about him. In Ambrose's eyes the book would have been all about him, the rest of them were just padding to the story.
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on June 30, 2011, 10:03:03 AM
If the draw's keep going London's way we could see them in a all ireland 1/4 final  ;D
Post by: irunthev on June 30, 2011, 10:26:59 AM
Quote from: irunthev on June 30, 2011, 09:35:39 AM
Quote from: passedit on June 30, 2011, 08:37:20 AM

Ambrose Gordan?

Correct and right. Ambrose would have loved someone writing a book about him. He was born so that someone would write a book about him. In Ambrose's eyes the book would have been all about him, the rest of them were just padding to the story.

Three or four years ago I was doing umpire at a game and one of the Rea brothers mentioned was filling in playing in goal. It was a reserve match and I suppose Gerry was in his late 50s by then. Anyway, he was standing there in his working trousers and site boots, leaning on his hurl, while talking on his mobile, while the game was going on around him. I wish I had had a camera with me.
Post by: john mcgill on June 30, 2011, 01:51:13 PM
Packie Hughes, St Brendans, and landlord of The Boot Pub in Kings Cross has a chapter about him in the London story.
Post by: irunthev on June 30, 2011, 02:15:17 PM
Quote from: john mcgill on June 30, 2011, 01:51:13 PM
Packie Hughes, St Brendans, and landlord of The Boot Pub in Kings Cross has a chapter about him in the London story.

And if anyone is interested, there will be a poet and philosopher in residence at the Boot throughout the second week of July. Admission is free..... getting out could be the problem!!
Post by: Offalylad on June 30, 2011, 03:22:37 PM
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on June 30, 2011, 10:03:03 AM
If the draw's keep going London's way we could see them in a all ireland 1/4 final  ;D

Who knew, you can now beat the worst team in the country at home and be considered a good bet for the quarters. Fair play to London but some of the hype has been ridiculous...
Post by: irunthev on June 30, 2011, 04:07:56 PM
Quote from: Offalylad on June 30, 2011, 03:22:37 PM

Who knew, you can now beat the worst team in the country at home and be considered a good bet for the quarters. Fair play to London but some of the hype has been ridiculous...

Well in fairness, had they drawn Kildare, I don't think many would have been predicting any more from London. It is just that people will view Waterford as one of the weaker teams, so believe that London at least have a chance.
You also can't forget that they drew with Mayo over the course of 70 minutes. Yes Fermanagh were poor, no one is denying that..... but it was just good for London that for once they weren't the worst.
There is another issue here too. For years and years during the so called good times in Ireland, London was a forgotten place. I can remember playing in your own Tullamorre and being called a bunch of Orange b~~stards by members of the crowd (not just in Offaly mind you) and also being treated like tinkers in Gracefields. However, now London is back in vogue in terms of there being a more vibrant Irish community there and plenty of young lads and girls considering it as a possible destination, so obviously there is going to be more interest in the place. There aren't too many people in Ireland who don't have a relative living and working in London, so there is always going to be a certain affinity to the place.
Post by: Offalylad on June 30, 2011, 08:33:18 PM
Quote from: irunthev on June 30, 2011, 04:07:56 PM

Well in fairness, had they drawn Kildare, I don't think many would have been predicting any more from London. It is just that people will view Waterford as one of the weaker teams, so believe that London at least have a chance.
You also can't forget that they drew with Mayo over the course of 70 minutes. Yes Fermanagh were poor, no one is denying that..... but it was just good for London that for once they weren't the worst.
There is another issue here too. For years and years during the so called good times in Ireland, London was a forgotten place. I can remember playing in your own Tullamorre and being called a bunch of Orange b~~stards by members of the crowd (not just in Offaly mind you) and also being treated like tinkers in Gracefields. However, now London is back in vogue in terms of there being a more vibrant Irish community there and plenty of young lads and girls considering it as a possible destination, so obviously there is going to be more interest in the place. There aren't too many people in Ireland who don't have a relative living and working in London, so there is always going to be a certain affinity to the place.

Stawy away from there! ...  :P
Post by: irunthev on June 30, 2011, 09:16:11 PM
Quote from: Offalylad on June 30, 2011, 08:33:18 PM
Quote from: irunthev on June 30, 2011, 04:07:56 PM

Stawy away from there! ...  :P

Current London selector Tony Murphy is actually from Gracefields.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2011, 10:09:05 PM
It's Gracefield, singular. Tough place alright. I blame the fact that they're on the border with Laois. That'd wear any man.
Post by: john mcgill on July 01, 2011, 07:05:56 AM
Wasn't it Offaly that the Irish World wrote about the London team not even being offered a cup of tea after a national league game?
Post by: irunthev on July 01, 2011, 07:19:08 AM
Quote from: john mcgill on July 01, 2011, 07:05:56 AM
Wasn't it Offaly that the Irish World wrote about the London team not even being offered a cup of tea after a national league game?

Yeah, there was something about that alright. I think the journalist was sacked after that for upsetting the good folk of Offaly. Mind you there wasn't much of a public clammer to get him re-instated. I think most were glad to see the back of him - one of those know all - know nothing characters.
On the subject of Offaly, I played my first ever senior match for London against Offfaly in a  challenge game in Ruislip back in '91. Dave Claffey from Offaly, who I knew to see, was playing for Lonodn, but what I didn't realize at the time was that Dave had an identical twin brother Vinny. Half way through the second half I see what I thought was Dave running towards goal wearing an Offaly jersey, with the ball and I'm trying to figure out what is going on. Possibly the only case of twin brothers playing against each other in a game of inter county football.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 01, 2011, 10:24:01 AM
I see a fella from Greenlough (Derry) is on the team/squad.
What about Jonny Niblock - is he still part of the set up?
Post by: irunthev on July 01, 2011, 12:15:32 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on July 01, 2011, 10:24:01 AM
I see a fella from Greenlough (Derry) is on the team/squad.
What about Jonny Niblock - is he still part of the set up?

Jonny came back to London last year and played in the Championship against Roscommon having been away since 2006. Hasn't featured at all this year. Think maybe age is against him. He was playing full forward for his club last year in the SFC, so I think his days as an effective defender may be over. Not sure why he didn't feature at all this year though. I fairness to Jonny, he gave London five very good years and even after the mauling in 2004 against Galway he stayed on when  lot of players would have walked away. At one time around about 2005 the London halfback line was Paddy McConigley (Donegal_ Jonny Niblock (Derry) amd Shane McAnarney (Meath). Not too shabby. Pity the rest of the team wasn't of the same vintage. :'(
Post by: Offalylad on July 01, 2011, 01:36:30 PM
Quote from: irunthev on July 01, 2011, 07:19:08 AM

Yeah, there was something about that alright. I think the journalist was sacked after that for upsetting the good folk of Offaly. Mind you there wasn't much of a public clammer to get him re-instated. I think most were glad to see the back of him - one of those know all - know nothing characters.
On the subject of Offaly, I played my first ever senior match for London against Offfaly in a  challenge game in Ruislip back in '91. Dave Claffey from Offaly, who I knew to see, was playing for Lonodn, but what I didn't realize at the time was that Dave had an identical twin brother Vinny. Half way through the second half I see what I thought was Dave running towards goal wearing an Offaly jersey, with the ball and I'm trying to figure out what is going on. Possibly the only case of twin brothers playing against each other in a game of inter county football.

Wasn't as good as his legendary brother Vinny!
Post by: irunthev on July 01, 2011, 01:56:38 PM
Quote from: Offalylad on July 01, 2011, 01:36:30 PM
Quote from: irunthev on July 01, 2011, 07:19:08 AM

Wasn't as good as his legendary brother Vinny!

Dave had a fairly relaxed approach to football and life in general  :o
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 01, 2011, 10:59:13 PM
I wonder how many counties hv London never played. I'd say it's plenty.
Post by: irunthev on July 02, 2011, 08:51:17 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 01, 2011, 10:59:13 PM

Believe it or not, since 1991 there are only two counties that London have never faced either in Championship, NFL or challenges and they are Tyrone and Kildare. 

I can remember playing against Clare in a McGrath cup match in 94 and one of their players received an award as by playing against London he had actually managed to play against every senior county in Ireland in his career.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 02, 2011, 12:50:05 PM
Quote from: irunthev on July 02, 2011, 08:51:17 AM

Believe it or not, since 1991 there are only two counties that London have never faced either in Championship, NFL or challenges and they are Tyrone and Kildare. 

I can remember playing against Clare in a McGrath cup match in 94 and one of their players received an award as by playing against London he had actually managed to play against every senior county in Ireland in his career.

I was at the London v Kerry national league game in 2002 (I think)...2 of the strongest players i ever shared a field with were marking each other that day...Darragh O'Sé and Kevin Waldron.
Post by: irunthev on July 02, 2011, 01:42:47 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 02, 2011, 12:50:05 PM
Quote from: irunthev on July 02, 2011, 08:51:17 AM

I was at the London v Kerry national league game in 2002 (I think)...2 of the strongest players i ever shared a field with were marking each other that day...Darragh O'Sé and Kevin Waldron.

Waldron is a brute alright.

I played against Kerry in 99 and I remember two players getting injured for Kerry in the first half, I think it was John Crowley and Dara O'Cinnedie and they brought on Liam Hassett and Maurice Fitzgerald as subs. We just couldn't catch a break at all.
Post by: irunthev on July 02, 2011, 01:44:38 PM
Full list of London opponents to the best of my knowledge since 1990

Ulster

Antrim – regularly in Nat League in late 90s and early 00s
Armagh – NFL 2001
Derry – NFL 1996 or 97
Down – Qualifier 09
Fermanagh – NFL and recent Qualifier
Monaghan – NFL and Qualifier 05
Cavan – challenge game 1994
Tyrone – not since 1990
Donegal – NFL 1997 and 2004

Connacht

All counties on cyclical basis in Connacht Championship.

Leinster

Louth – NFL early 00s
Dublin – Qualifier 2004
Wexford – Qualifier 2010
Offaly – regular NFL and Qualifier 02 or 03
Wicklow – regular NFL and Qualifier 02 or 03
Kilkenny – regular NFL and Tommy Murphy
Laois – challenge game 1993
Longford – regular NFL
Meath – NFL 1997
Westmeath – regular NFL and Qualifier 2006
Carlow – regular NFL

Munster

Played most of them on and off while London were still in McGrath Cup.

Clare – regular NFL and previously McGrath Cup
Cork – McGrath Cup 1998
Kerry – NFL 1999 and 2002
Waterford – regular NFL
Limerick – regular NFL
Tipperary – McGrath Cup 1995 and NFL 1997

New York – regular in bi-annual International Tournament in 1990s.

To the best of my knowledge London did play Tyrone in a challenge game around about 1989, but I'm not 100% sure on that.

Kildare is the only county that I have no knowledge of at all. That said, beat Waterford  and you can be sure Kildare will be out of the hat then.

The years quoted are correct give or take a year.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 02, 2011, 02:05:30 PM
Interesting Irunthev.

Did the Armagh match in 2001 take place? Were London not barred as a result of Foot and Mouth? Think it ultimately had a role in denying Armagh promotion that year.

The year that all 4 divisions were drawn into 4 groups of equal strength (1997 / 1998), I believe Armagh and London were in the same division. Possibly played each other in Davitt Park, Lurgan?
Post by: irunthev on July 02, 2011, 02:51:53 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 02, 2011, 02:05:30 PM
Interesting Irunthev.

Did the Armagh match in 2001 take place? Were London not barred as a result of Foot and Mouth? Think it ultimately had a role in denying Armagh promotion that year.

The year that all 4 divisions were drawn into 4 groups of equal strength (1997 / 1998), I believe Armagh and London were in the same division. Possibly played each other in Davitt Park, Lurgan?

You're actually right on that one. It was the 1997/98 league and the game was played at Ruislip. The 2001 game was postponed due to the foot and mouth. London played Wicklow, Leitrim, Westmeah and Antrim before the outbreak. They were then due to play Cork, Armagh and Limerick and all of those were called off. They did play Armagh again in the 2002 league in Ruislip again 4-17 to 0-5.

Good spot
Post by: passedit on July 02, 2011, 03:34:58 PM
irunthev i'm surprised you haven't mentioned Doc's taxi service 1995 in the litany of disasters that were the Offaly trips, that one being the nearest to an actual disaster!
Post by: irunthev on July 02, 2011, 03:51:12 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 02, 2011, 03:34:58 PM
irunthev i'm surprised you haven't mentioned Doc's taxi service 1995 in the litany of disasters that were the Offaly trips, that one being the nearest to an actual disaster!

I'm saving that one for the autobiography. My God when you see some of the guys who get away with writing books about careers that hardly existed, then a ten year career playing for London must be worth a cheque from some publisher somewhere.
Post by: passedit on July 02, 2011, 04:32:00 PM
true for ye. I see there's another history out written by a friend of ours. I wonder did the three Cs get a mention?
Post by: county20 on July 04, 2011, 06:07:35 PM

Also playing was Donal O' Neill (Keel GAA) who has played up along with Mid Kerry....and Cathal O Sullivan from Lis Poil has also represented West Kerry up along so the standard of players over is definately a good one.
Post by: county20 on July 04, 2011, 06:12:37 PM

Also playing at wing back was Donal O' Neill (Keel GAA) who has played with Mid Kerry up along....and Cathal O Sullivan from Lis Poil has played with West Kerry up along so the standard of players is definately a good one.
Post by: ross4life on July 09, 2011, 06:41:25 PM
HT London 0-05 1-10 Waterford. looks like the fairytale is coming to a end today.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 09, 2011, 07:53:22 PM
Any update here? Have London managed to get back in it?
Post by: Tubberman on July 09, 2011, 07:55:05 PM
Nope, looks like their run is coming to an end.
Newstalk just gave the score there and it's something like 1-15 to 0-9.
Paul Geraghty was sent off for London as well, and he's one of their best players.
Post by: Tubberman on July 09, 2011, 07:56:43 PM
London down to 13 according to RTÉ:

1944 London 0-08 Waterford 1-13

London got back to 1-11 to 0-08 before being hit by another dismissal. The Exiles are down to 13-men with Ciaran McCallion sent-off.

Since that second red card, Waterford's Paul White and Wayne Hennessy have scored two points. There are 15 minutes gone in the second half in Ruislip.
Post by: gerry on July 09, 2011, 08:38:51 PM
London 0-13 1-17 Waterford FT
Post by: gerry on July 11, 2011, 12:05:32 AM
Boys going to start training in november, seems a bit naughty
Post by: FrankG on July 25, 2011, 02:07:31 PM
I'm doing some research on the GAA in London, and would appreciate if you could fill in this online survey!

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/8GSNQHY

It will only take a few mins and if you would like any further information please contact the email address provided on the survey! Many thanks!