GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: spuds on June 08, 2011, 02:01:44 AM

Title: 2011 u-21 hurling Championship
Post by: spuds on June 08, 2011, 02:01:44 AM
Leinster U21 hurling quarter finals

Wexford 1-17 2-12 Kilkenny

Wexford Park

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/gaa/30218/

Things are starting to look up for the yella bellies at last. Another chink in the Kilkennt armour. Another result in the "good for hurling" column.
Title: Re: 2011 u-21 hurling Championship
Post by: deiseach on June 08, 2011, 10:03:19 AM
You'll get some stick from the Kilkenny lads (if there were any here) for suggesting there is such thing as a 'good for hurling' result. There are only results. But you're right. The Wexford lads will have gone mad with delight, great stuff
Post by: johnneycool on June 08, 2011, 10:10:44 AM
Carlow and the Dubs tonight in the other Leinster semi-final.

I wonder if the very decent minor team Carlow had a few years ago will be the backbone of this team?

The Dubs would be hot favourites I'd have thought.
Post by: seafoid on June 08, 2011, 10:28:07 AM
Quote from: deiseach on June 08, 2011, 10:03:19 AM
You'll get some stick from the Kilkenny lads (if there were any here) for suggesting there is such thing as a 'good for hurling' result. There are only results. But you're right. The Wexford lads will have gone mad with delight, great stuff
I agree with Grover Norquist who said the goal has to be to shrink the old firm of hurling to the point
where they can be drowned in a bathtub. Or at least kept well away from the all-Ireland for at least 10 years.
Post by: spuds on June 08, 2011, 11:02:18 AM
Quote from: deiseach on June 08, 2011, 10:03:19 AM
You'll get some stick from the Kilkenny lads (if there were any here) for suggesting there is such thing as a 'good for hurling' result.

They will have to use the stick for something now I suppose !
Think there are a good few of this year's Leinster 21 winning football panel with the hurlers, might be the extra bit of confidence that helped them to stand up to the Cats this year.
Post by: INDIANA on June 08, 2011, 11:17:36 PM
Dublin 4-11 to Carlow 0-11. Dublin had 16 wides.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 08, 2011, 11:59:33 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 08, 2011, 11:17:36 PM
Dublin 4-11 to Carlow 0-11. Dublin had 16 wides.

With Dublin having 2 senior players on board it was always going to be an up hill task for Carlow.
Post by: deiseach on June 09, 2011, 12:41:53 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 08, 2011, 10:28:07 AM
I agree with Grover Norquist who said the goal has to be to shrink the old firm of hurling to the point
where they can be drowned in a bathtub. Or at least kept well away from the all-Ireland for at least 10 years.

Ah, but Grover Norquist's logic would be to give them so many All-Ireland's that they would get sick of them, i.e. starve the beast. I think he probably knows less about hurling than fiscal policy - but it's a close run thing
Post by: spuds on June 25, 2011, 12:35:36 PM
Dublin got it handy vs the Faithful
Dublin 0-21      Offaly 0-8

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0624/1224299525533.html

Wexford had it even easier vs the Laois lads
Wexford 7-18   Laois 2-10

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=150146
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 15, 2011, 08:23:25 PM
Live coverage of Cork Tipp in TG4 at the minute
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 15, 2011, 08:39:25 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 15, 2011, 08:33:18 PM
Good match too.

Certainly is, Tipp on the wrong side of the goals this week.

Saw on the Committee Room this week that Cork havent won an AI Minor since 2001, or an U21 AI since 1998 ! Amazing stat that for Cork. Maybe that will change this year. Who do the play now in final ?
Post by: Minder on July 15, 2011, 09:00:08 PM
Didn't know Aidan Walsh was playing for Cork, he scored a great goal (Corks fourth).

Clare or Limerick in the final.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 15, 2011, 09:13:48 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 15, 2011, 09:00:08 PM
Didn't know Aidan Walsh was playing for Cork, he scored a great goal (Corks fourth).

is that the guy who got MOM in AI Football final last year ?
Post by: Minder on July 15, 2011, 09:15:13 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on July 15, 2011, 09:13:48 PM

is that the guy who got MOM in AI Football final last year ?

Yeah, they said he has done very little hurling coming up to this game because of his involvement with the footballers but you wouldn't think it on tonights performance.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 15, 2011, 09:19:57 PM
Sure they only have Antrim or Down next in the football, he is just getting extra training in   :)
Post by: Reillers on July 15, 2011, 09:32:23 PM

Absolutely delighted. Ya Walsh is an excellent hurler but football gets in the way like it did last year. Pity about Sheehan, would have played hadn't it been for the awful injury.

Finally though, while not getting carried away, at least, some sign of life in Cork yet. 
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2011, 10:12:44 PM
Jaysus Reillers you are alive!
Post by: Reillers on July 15, 2011, 10:20:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 15, 2011, 10:12:44 PM

After last week....just about.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 15, 2011, 11:33:02 PM
What was final score? Only seen first half and forgot to record the rest.
Post by: Minder on July 15, 2011, 11:35:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 15, 2011, 11:33:02 PM

1-21 to 4-19 I think.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 15, 2011, 11:59:27 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 15, 2011, 11:35:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 15, 2011, 11:33:02 PM

1-21 to 4-19 I think.
Cork forward line looked a handful in the first half so not surprised to see they onion bagged a few in the second half.
Post by: Sean3 on July 16, 2011, 07:57:41 AM
Tipp backs just couldn't handle the Cork forwards throughout. Lehane, O'Sullivan and Farrell found space and were very fast and accurate. In contrast, the Cork backs were much tighter and only for Michael Wadding, Cork would have won much more comfortably.
Post by: heffo on July 16, 2011, 01:15:35 PM
Quote from: Reillers on July 15, 2011, 10:20:38 PM

I've been waiting patiently for a response on this Reillers - http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17988.msg983290#msg983290

You were saying something about Dublin and not being anywhere until they beat Cork or Galway

Could you get back to me on it?
Post by: Reillers on July 16, 2011, 01:37:27 PM
I
Quote from: heffo on July 16, 2011, 01:15:35 PM

I've been waiting patiently for a response on this Reillers - http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17988.msg983290#msg983290

You were saying something about Dublin and not being anywhere until they beat Cork or Galway

Well. You seem to have a lot of time on your hands. Obviously I wasnt clear enough for you. You can't be under the illusion that the Galway team that Ye beat were anything but awful. When Dublin beat a top team that aren't still playing like their playing a League game then it will show us where they are really at.

Anyway its got nothing to do with this topic and no doubt your reply will involve you wumming and attempting to stir.
Post by: INDIANA on July 16, 2011, 01:56:39 PM
Thats the same galway team that hockeyed you Reillers.

The facts are Clare and Cork were sub standard. We'll see where Galway are at when they play Kilkenny.

Either way we're happy enough with our season so far. League champions, leinster u21 and minor champions. So its pretty much Miller Time for us.

Maybe we can measure Cork when they play Kilkenny later in the year?

Oh thats right - they wont be.
Post by: heffo on July 16, 2011, 02:00:53 PM
Quote from: Reillers on July 16, 2011, 01:37:27 PM
I
Quote from: heffo on July 16, 2011, 01:15:35 PM

Well. You seem to have a lot of time on your hands. Obviously I wasnt clear enough for you. You can't be under the illusion that the Galway team that Ye beat were anything but awful. When Dublin beat a top team that aren't still playing like their playing a League game then it will show us where they are really at.

Anyway its got nothing to do with this topic and no doubt your reply will involve you wumming and attempting to stir.

Reillersland can be summarised as follows:

f we beat a top team in the league, it doesn't matter as it's only the league and top teams don't care about the league - I'd hate to think how many scores KK would've put past ye that time they beat you by about 30 points if they did care.

If we beat a top team in the championship it's because they were poor, not because Dublin were stronger in the tackle & in the air, had a better first touch and set the tempo of the game

Dublin hurling is where it's at because they applied for funding, not because they have between 7-8k children between 8 & 16 playing every second week.

Is that a fair summary Reillers?

Finally congratulations to Cork on their fine win last night - Cork v Clare (who should beat Limerick) will be a good one

Frank Murphy will have to build on an extension with all these trophies Cork have won under his watch.
Post by: Reillers on July 16, 2011, 08:28:36 PM
I'm not spending any more time on this subject with "both" of you.

Cork also beat Tipp last year, it means nothing in the long run.

Galway didn't turn up against Dublin, they didn't even get on the bus, they were that bad. They got a kick up the ass and destroyed Cork, and deserved it.

Had the Galway team that played Cork showed that form against Dublin than we probably wouldn't be looking at the same results.

This has nothing to do with the Dublin team, or Galway, or Cork seniors for that matter. God forbid either of you give a team that has been falling just short of these results in the past finally come good.

If one of you (I'm sure you will somehow figure it out) are that desperate to whine about it, you can pm me.
Post by: INDIANA on July 17, 2011, 03:00:52 PM
Quote from: Reillers on July 16, 2011, 08:28:36 PM

Galway didn't turn up against Dublin, they didn't even get on the bus, they were that bad. They got a kick up the ass and destroyed Cork, and deserved it.

Had the Galway team that played Cork showed that form against Dublin than we probably wouldn't be looking at the same results.

This has nothing to do with the Dublin team, or Galway, or Cork seniors for that matter. God forbid either of you give a team that has been falling just short of these results in the past finally come good.

If one of you (I'm sure you will somehow figure it out) are that desperate to whine about it, you can pm me.

The facts are Reillers we beat Galway and you didnt. Whether they turned up, stayed on the bus, went on a pilgrimage , or went on the piss - the facts are we comfortably beat them.

We may/may not beat Limerick next weekend. But myself and Heffo sure as to hell wont be using the same excuses you do when it comes to Cork
Post by: heffo on July 17, 2011, 03:17:49 PM

No-one is whining Reillers - this is a discussion forum - it's very purpose is discussion.

There is no reality in Reillers-land, only a never ending sequence of if, buts, maybes, coulda's, shoulda's & woulda's.
Post by: Reillers on July 17, 2011, 07:40:37 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 17, 2011, 03:00:52 PM

The facts are Reillers we beat Galway and you didnt. Whether they turned up, stayed on the bus, went on a pilgrimage , or went on the piss - the facts are we comfortably beat them.

We may/may not beat Limerick next weekend. But myself and Heffo sure as to hell wont be using the same excuses you do when it comes to Cork

Cork also beat Tipp last season, Kilkenny didn't. Fact. It means nothing in the long run as it didn't reflect the true form of Tipp.

I have given Dublin a lot of praise (and still you moan) but like I said they need to beat a top team at the top of their game, to show where they really are, in my opinion.

Funny, last time I checked I said that we deserved to be hammered and Galway did really well.

Ya you're right, you wont have the same attitude when Dublin get beaten.

This has nothing to do with this topic though, so God knows why you and heffo (what a coincidence that yet again you've posted one after the other) are still whining at me weeks later.
Post by: heffo on July 17, 2011, 08:08:59 PM
Quote from: Reillers on July 17, 2011, 07:40:37 PM

This has nothing to do with this topic though, so God knows why you and heffo (what a coincidence that yet again you've posted one after the other) are still whining at me weeks later.

Because you said that until Dublin beat a 'serious' team (I think you may have even included Cork in that group) they won't be taken seriously - when I pointed out to you that we beat Galway, you didn't post for two weeks then put a disclaimer on your post.
Post by: Corcaigh2011 on July 18, 2011, 08:19:58 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 17, 2011, 08:08:59 PM

Have i missed something, have Dublin being winning all irelands or something over the last 5/10/15/20 etc years at any grade of hurling because winning their first championship matrches in around 15 years has them talking as though their some sort of superpower. Its only this year they have strung together 2 championship wins in hurilng ffs.............
Post by: heffo on July 18, 2011, 09:16:18 PM
Quote from: Corcaigh2011 on July 18, 2011, 08:19:58 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 17, 2011, 08:08:59 PM

Have i missed something, have Dublin being winning all irelands or something over the last 5/10/15/20 etc years at any grade of hurling because winning their first championship matrches in around 15 years has them talking as though their some sort of superpower. Its only this year they have strung together 2 championship wins in hurilng ffs.............

It would appear you have missed something alright - go and read the threads again Reillers.

Then come back to me with something to reference your claim that 'they've' been talking about being a superpower.

Post by: Roashter on July 19, 2011, 11:47:19 AM
Does anyone know the venue for the Munster final?

I'm pretty sure that all counties have agreed a home & away agreement for a final on Wednesday night, but I don't know where Cork last played Clare or Limerick. Can anyone here remember?
Post by: Minder on July 19, 2011, 07:57:36 PM
Derry unable to field tomorrow night against Antrim, sad state of affairs.
Post by: AQMP on July 21, 2011, 01:17:09 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 19, 2011, 07:57:36 PM

Indeed Minder, not great when a county can't field for a provincial semi final.  On a more positive note well done again to Armagh whose U21s qualified for the Ulster final by beating Down 1-11 to 0-10.  Antrim v Armagh final.
Post by: johnneycool on July 22, 2011, 11:24:51 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 21, 2011, 01:17:09 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 19, 2011, 07:57:36 PM

Indeed Minder, not great when a county can't field for a provincial semi final.  On a more positive note well done again to Armagh whose U21s qualified for the Ulster final by beating Down 1-11 to 0-10.  Antrim v Armagh final.

From a Down perspective you get out of it what you put into it. We put in SFA and got our just rewards.
The team trained only twice with one clubs training impinging on a session meaning only a half dozen turned up and the next session was in a week where a lot of the players played three games with their clubs.

disaster from start to finish and I don't blame the lad foisted into manage them one iota.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on July 23, 2011, 12:15:22 AM
Fair play to Armagh. They deserve it. As a Derry man who lived in Armagh I am delighted for them but totally ashamed for us and how hurling has ended upin our county.
Post by: Minder on July 27, 2011, 08:38:58 PM
Armagh leading by 1 against Antrim with about 5 to go. Would be some shock if they held on.
Post by: heffo on July 27, 2011, 09:01:09 PM
Antrim won by two in the end. Dubs v Antrim in Newry I'd imagine.

Commiserations to Armagh - evidently great work going on there.
Post by: mountainboii on July 27, 2011, 10:45:38 PM
Had a five point lead at one stage tonight, but just couldn't hold on. Six of the eight clubs in the county represented on the team, so good work going on across the board. Would've been great to get a crack at one of the big teams, even if it would've ended in a hiding.
Post by: Minder on July 27, 2011, 10:50:18 PM
Quote from: AFS on July 27, 2011, 10:45:38 PM
Had a five point lead at one stage tonight, but just couldn't hold on. Six of the eight clubs in the county represented on the team, so good work going on across the board. Would've been great to get a crack at one of the big teams, even if it would've ended in a hiding.

Is going to end in a hiding for Antrim anyway.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 03, 2011, 06:14:35 PM
Heading into the Munster U21 Final tonight. Should be a good game. I'd like to see Limerick win to keep the momentum going, but Cork looked good against Tipp.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2011, 08:21:32 PM
On TG4 now...

Aidan Walsh looks as good a hurler as a footballer here. Not all one way traffic mind but Cork look that wee bit better.

Sean Og on pundit duty - the question is wil he be doing that during the senior next year?!
Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2011, 08:37:43 PM
Hell of a game...
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 03, 2011, 08:46:32 PM
This is great stuff
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 03, 2011, 08:55:47 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 03, 2011, 08:21:32 PM
Aidan Walsh looks as good a hurler as a footballer here.

Think he looks a better hurler than footballer to be honest. In football he relies a lot on his size and athleticism His actual footballing skills are fairly average. Seems a much more complete hurler.
Post by: haze on August 03, 2011, 08:57:01 PM
2nd game in a row where Aidan Walsh has been brilliant - scored a super goal in the semi against Tipp. Have to imagine he will have a choice of codes to pick next year.

Hope Limerick can do it
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 03, 2011, 09:01:21 PM
Limerick corner back will be kicking himself. He had two forwards free for a simple handpass who could have put the ball dead. Hit it aimlessly up the field instead and Walsh got the equiliser from it. Some score in fairness.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2011, 09:11:11 PM
Hard to see Limerick winning now as Cork have the momentum.

There's potentially a goal at either end any time the ball gets that far mind but Limerick not getting it that far.
Post by: haze on August 03, 2011, 09:21:58 PM
Get in! Some game
Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2011, 09:26:15 PM
Limerick's best player is their sub.

Cork #15 having some extra time.

Still has a draw written all over it...
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 03, 2011, 09:28:50 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 03, 2011, 09:01:21 PM
Limerick corner back will be kicking himself. He had two forwards free for a simple handpass who could have put the ball dead. Hit it aimlessly up the field instead and Walsh got the equiliser from it. Some score in fairness.

He learned his lesson there!

Got to hand it to Limerick.
Post by: haze on August 03, 2011, 09:38:17 PM
The ref played his part in a great game. Let the game flow.
Post by: mountainboii on August 03, 2011, 09:43:48 PM
The heads on those eejits crowding in the background during the interviews. The boy holding up his dog ffs.

Brilliant game.
Post by: belleaqua on August 03, 2011, 09:50:17 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 03, 2011, 09:28:50 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 03, 2011, 09:01:21 PM

He learned his lesson there!

Got to hand it to Limerick.

The corner back certainly did learn his lesson. Great to see actually, there's potential in a fella like that.

One of the best games Iv seen. The lack of cynicism was a joy to behold also. Now I know that backs should pull lads down going through on goal but it was great to see open play and plenty of goal chances.

Ya couldnt pick a man of the match there but Aidan Walsh deserves special mention for a super effort given his exertions on Sunday. It told in extra time too but you could not expect anymore from him especially given the pace that game was played at.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on August 03, 2011, 10:47:09 PM
I don't I've enjoyed a game as much in a long time. Such a pity there had to be a loser, well done Limerick and tough luck Cork. Glad to see Aidan Walsh got man of the match, a lovely stylish hurler.
Post by: Reillers on August 03, 2011, 11:33:47 PM
Gutted. Yet again this team fell short, they just can't seem to close out the game. I've been saying for a long time that we have the players but lack the mentality and it was very clear tonight. Now isn't the time for a review though. Outstanding game, they all gave their all, someone had to loose.
Felt we deserved to win, but we just can't seem to get over that final bridge. Fell short yet again, it's always the gallant looser, loosing by 1/2 points in extra time or a replay etc. Seems to be the same old story time and time again with the underage teams.
About time a Cork team showed that level of passion and heart though. Very proud of the lads tonight though. Really needed the win though. Well done to all the lads on both sides just the same. Pity though.
Post by: deiseach on August 04, 2011, 09:09:19 AM
What a game. That equalising point at the end of normal time was jaw-dropping in its audacity. Even felt a wee bit sorry for Cork at the end
Post by: heffo on August 04, 2011, 09:18:33 AM
Excellent game - fair play to Limerick.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 04, 2011, 09:52:29 AM
I was delighted I took a spin in yesterday. Great game, and for Limerick to win with Declan Hannon being quiet for 50 minutes, and Downes being poor for 79 minutes was a great sign for them. There've been many brilliant games of hurling at Under 21 level now, it's a great competition.

A word for Aidan Walsh. He was unbelievable. 8 points from play I counted. He faded badly in extra time, but that was understandable given the 4 days he's had. He looks a real, real prospect for Cork.

Fantastic stuff, and well done Limerick.
Post by: heffo on August 04, 2011, 10:17:25 AM
Will we see Walsh giving the Senior Hurlers a dig out next year?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 04, 2011, 10:19:14 AM
Seems a strange thing to say about someone who had such a great year with the big ball last year, but on what I've seen from him over the last couple of matches - he's a better hurler. I suppose in Cork, and from Kanturk, he might feel he has a better chance of honours with the footballers. He might look at Cadogan and think it can be done though.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 04, 2011, 11:13:59 AM
God bless TG4, God damn my PVR. Came in from playing astro turf last night and got completely absorbed in this game, it had everything. Aidan Walsh was outstanding, he does indeed look a better hurler than a footballer, and he's a hell of a footballer. That was some point to level it at the end although I was disgusted at the time as I knew the recording wouldn't have carried on to cover the extra time.  >:( It was the score of the game (well of the 62 odd mins I saw anyway). Well done Limerick, hopefully ye can start bringing these young lads through successfully.
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2011, 11:56:55 AM
fine game. limericks to lose now.
Post by: deiseach on August 04, 2011, 12:14:06 PM
TG4 and Nemeton for President!
Post by: Reillers on August 04, 2011, 01:24:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 04, 2011, 09:52:29 AM
I was delighted I took a spin in yesterday. Great game, and for Limerick to win with Declan Hannon being quiet for 50 minutes, and Downes being poor for 79 minutes was a great sign for them. There've been many brilliant games of hurling at Under 21 level now, it's a great competition.

A word for Aidan Walsh. He was unbelievable. 8 points from play I counted. He faded badly in extra time, but that was understandable given the 4 days he's had. He looks a real, real prospect for Cork.

Everything that can be done to get Walsh and Sheehan for that matter, to play with the hurlers next season, should be done.
Two incredible hurlers, unfortunately Sheehan was one of a few of key players we were missing.

Walsh did slow at the end but what else were we to expect. In a 4 day turn around from (an awful) game on the weekend, it was just a bit too much to be asked from the lad.

He's one of a few I'd have playing with the seniors. We've a good amount of U21s who are still eligible next season, there's about 9 of them. But those two are finished with the grade so hopefully that will take off that added pressure of playing U21s.

It was good to see such a display from a team that seems to have very little planning behind them. Imagine what a decent structure would do.

The wheel is turning, slowly, which is great seeing as we thought it had come to a complete standstill.
Post by: The Burner on August 04, 2011, 01:24:33 PM
What an absolutely absorbing contest! It had everything! Thats the great thing about u21 hurling they just go out there and hurl simple as. Outstanding performance from Aidan Walsh. 8 points from play. 2 of Limericks best players were minors. Dowling and Carmody. Hannon was quiet for long stages but when gets going he is something else. Majestic hurler and still u21 for another 2 years. Downes was well Marshalled and you could sense the frustration building in him, although he got a  great point at the end. All in all a truely magnificant game to be at and here hoping they can now go all the way. 10 of the starting 15 underage again next year!
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2011, 01:51:07 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 04, 2011, 01:24:03 PM

Everything that can be done to get Walsh and Sheehan for that matter, to play with the hurlers next season, should be done.
Two incredible hurlers, unfortunately Sheehan was one of a few of key players we were missing.

Walsh did slow at the end but what else were we to expect. In a 4 day turn around from (an awful) game on the weekend, it was just a bit too much to be asked from the lad.

He's one of a few I'd have playing with the seniors. We've a good amount of U21s who are still eligible next season, there's about 9 of them. But those two are finished with the grade so hopefully that will take off that added pressure of playing U21s.

It was good to see such a display from a team that seems to have very little planning behind them. Imagine what a decent structure would do.

The wheel is turning, slowly, which is great seeing as we thought it had come to a complete standstill.

Walsh and Sheehan will win multiple all-irelands at football Reillers. Its highly unlikely either will ever win one with the cork hurlers.
Post by: heffo on August 04, 2011, 01:57:55 PM

Imagine what a decent structure would do.

Would it make a fella run faster or shoot more accurate in extra time?

Post by: Reillers on August 04, 2011, 02:07:36 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 04, 2011, 01:51:07 PM

Walsh and Sheehan will win multiple all-irelands at football Reillers. Its highly unlikely either will ever win one with the cork hurlers.

So they shouldn't play dual so. So should all players outside of Kilkenny and Tipp just stop playing hurling all together because it's highly unlikely they'll win with their counties.
Post by: deiseach on August 04, 2011, 02:08:17 PM
Quote from: The Burner on August 04, 2011, 01:24:33 PM
What an absolutely absorbing contest! It had everything! Thats the great thing about u21 hurling they just go out there and hurl simple as.

Much and all as I'm a supporter of the back door, the lack of one at Under-21 level helps.
Post by: Reillers on August 04, 2011, 02:08:47 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 04, 2011, 01:57:55 PM

If you can't see what a decent structure and proper management would do to this team (or any other team for that matter)..well that sums up everything about you doesn't it.
Post by: Reillers on August 04, 2011, 02:13:36 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 04, 2011, 02:08:17 PM
Quote from: The Burner on August 04, 2011, 01:24:33 PM
What an absolutely absorbing contest! It had everything! Thats the great thing about u21 hurling they just go out there and hurl simple as.

Much and all as I'm a supporter of the back door, the lack of one at Under-21 level helps.

While it makes the competition more exciting, it's cruel. All that hard work for the season gone and no second chance. When you have teams that give their all so much that they  can produce games that end in 5-17 5-17 after added extra time, or have the game decided from a mistake from the ref, or see the game of the year, and know, despite putting in everything, and cruelly loosing, 2nd prize is nothing. They deserve more. But I guess that's what makes it so exciting.
Post by: heffo on August 04, 2011, 02:22:16 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 04, 2011, 02:08:47 PM

If you can't see what a decent structure and proper management would do to this team (or any other team for that matter)..well that sums up everything about you doesn't it.

So am I to deduce that in Reillersland had there been a decent Mgt (the two Óg's perchance?) and a decent structure (as in not the panel of twenty turning up sucking on fags ten minutes before throw in) then Cork would have won?

I asked you before but never got an answer, has there ever been a Cork team that took the field and lost that were beaten by a better team? Certainly not in your time on this board..
Post by: Reillers on August 04, 2011, 02:37:50 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 04, 2011, 02:22:16 PM

So am I to deduce that in Reillersland had there been a decent Mgt (the two Óg's perchance?) and a decent structure (as in not the panel of twenty turning up sucking on fags ten minutes before throw in) then Cork would have won?

I asked you before but never got an answer, has there ever been a Cork team that took the field and lost that were beaten by a better team? Certainly not in your time on this board..

Again clueless. It is widely known (by most) that the structures behind the underage system are outdated and ridiculous, rotten from the inside out. The management of the underage teams have been poor. Not so bad this season, but everything needs to be started again. Back to the basics. Decent management is what you want in the long run, passion can only get you so far.

As for Cork being beaten by a better team, obviously they have been, (again another brainless attempt to stirr by you) is Limerick one of them, the game was ours to loose and we lost. Limerick are an excellent team and it really is theirs to loose now.   

But again, if you think that poor structure/management involves 20 odd fellas smoking, well again that sums up nicely your knowledge of the game.
Post by: heffo on August 04, 2011, 02:55:20 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 04, 2011, 02:37:50 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 04, 2011, 02:22:16 PM

Again clueless. It is widely known (by most) that the structures behind the underage system are outdated and ridiculous, rotten from the inside out. The management of the underage teams have been poor. Not so bad this season, but everything needs to be started again. Back to the basics. Decent management is what you want in the long run, passion can only get you so far.

As for Cork being beaten by a better team, obviously they have been, (again another brainless attempt to stirr by you) is Limerick one of them, the game was ours to loose and we lost. Limerick are an excellent team and it really is theirs to loose now.   

But again, if you think that poor structure/management involves 20 odd fellas smoking, well again that sums up nicely your knowledge of the game.

Are you able to answer a direct question without resorting to waffle & cliche?

Last nights game was yours to lose? Why?

The U21 Competition is now Limericks to lose? Again why? Were you in Wexford park three weeks ago to see an impressive Dublin team hammer Wexford? What about Antrim?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2011, 04:57:34 PM
TG4 is a god send. The two best games of this year have been this U21 game and De LaSlle - Clarinsbridge in the club hurling (I still think this is possibly the best game of hurling I have ever seen). Both on TG4.

Antrim won't be a problem for other teams here. It's far from a given that Limerick will win the AI - Galway have been very strong in minors and are sure to challenge and Dublin have beat Wexford / Kilkenny so can't be discounted and are going to win an AI at underage sometime.

Reillers Cork hurling can't be in that bad a state if you can produce the likes of William Egan, Aidan Walsh and your no. 15 in extra time was immense too.

You boys, and not just one of you, ruin every thread with your bickering. It's also the same every time.

Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2011, 05:23:29 PM
Quote from: Reillers on August 04, 2011, 02:07:36 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 04, 2011, 01:51:07 PM

So they shouldn't play dual so. So should all players outside of Kilkenny and Tipp just stop playing hurling all together because it's highly unlikely they'll win with their counties.

Its not possible to be a good dual player. Look at Cadogan. Completely falling between two stools. The minute he was training for crok full time at football he was their best player against Down and Mayo.

Cork are 5 years off winning a hurling all-ireland at least. They'll win 2 at football in that period of time in my view.
Post by: Reillers on August 04, 2011, 06:02:49 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 04, 2011, 04:57:34 PM
TG4 is a god send. The two best games of this year have been this U21 game and De LaSlle - Clarinsbridge in the club hurling (I still think this is possibly the best game of hurling I have ever seen). Both on TG4.

Antrim won't be a problem for other teams here. It's far from a given that Limerick will win the AI - Galway have been very strong in minors and are sure to challenge and Dublin have beat Wexford / Kilkenny so can't be discounted and are going to win an AI at underage sometime.

Reillers Cork hurling can't be in that bad a state if you can produce the likes of William Egan, Aidan Walsh and your no. 15 in extra time was immense too.

You boys, and not just one of you, ruin every thread with your bickering. It's also the same every time.

TG4 have been on the money this year, while RTE are falling over themselves trying to get the "big games" in, TG4 are actually showing the game at it's, almost, rawest stage. What's so great about the U21s is that it is just about the hurling and we saw that last night.

It's not about producing players in Cork, that's not really the problem, it's what we do with them, like I said before, a player can only go so far themselves. They lack the basics, the backing, the structure that's all missing from the underage scene at Cork.

For example, it was great to see direct hurling last night (and I mean great) but it didn't mean that we couldn't have a great defence and better structure to the game. At times it seemed that they were playing like they were out of the passion they had, and the will to win, rather than direction. I'm not sure if that came across last night.
I don't want to take anything away from the current management there, they've done a good job this season, but the underage structure is fundamentally flawed and it needs to be fixed from the inside out.

As for the rest of the U21 campaign I think that on performance and confidence it seems like Limerick's to loose, Galway are always there, Dublin will give it a go, we'll have to see what happens, but I think Limerick on last night's display, if they can reproduce it will be an incredibly hard team to beat.

Some of the best displays of hurling I've seen have been U21 games, mostly Cork and Tipp ones, and the one last night was again, for me the game of the year (just sickening that we didn't bring it home) and you have clowns saying that the Munster championship is dead.

As for the last bit, I agree 100% our constant bickering ruins every topic.
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2011, 06:18:14 PM
When Reillers stops talking about Dublin in such a condescending manner Tommy -we'll stop. Some of the crap he spouts in relation to us cant be allowed go and wont be if we have anything to do with it.

Until then.....................
Post by: stevetharlear on August 04, 2011, 10:04:37 PM
Cadogan is not a hurling full back, and looks out of his depth at times there. His game would be better suited to half back. Every time he takes to a football field he is one of the best on show. Whether he has hurled the week before or not. I think people blame the dual player issue for his bad showing in hurling, when maybe he's not as good or out of position in the hurling. No reason Walsh, Sheehan and Cahalane couldn't do the same.

Fair play Limerick last night, even though we lost I was happy enough at the end, that kind of game warms the heart!
Post by: deiseach on August 05, 2011, 09:07:41 AM
Quote from: stevetharlear on August 04, 2011, 10:04:37 PM
Fair play Limerick last night, even though we lost I was happy enough at the end, that kind of game warms the heart!

+1 for such a generous sentiment. I couldn't be that magnanimous
Post by: Reillers on August 05, 2011, 12:35:51 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 05, 2011, 09:07:41 AM

+1 for such a generous sentiment. I couldn't be that magnanimous

This.
It's very hard in a game like this to be anything but settled with the result. No ifs and buts, both teams gave everything and more, either team could have won it, a toss of a coin, the results the result.

And it's good for Limerick that they managed it, they needed the win just as much as Cork did.

Best of luck to them for the rest of the comp, I think, and hope they'll go all the way. When you play like they did on in the Munster final they deserve it. It's still a bit to go yet though.

The game was the stand out game of the year, sickened that we lost it in the end, but there's no question about it, we saw 2 outstanding teams, and it was one of those games where (as cliched as it sounds) hurling was the winner.
Post by: Reillers on August 05, 2011, 08:45:49 PM
Cadogan is not a hurling full back, and looks out of his depth at times there. His game would be better suited to half back. Every time he takes to a football field he is one of the best on show. Whether he has hurled the week before or not. I think people blame the dual player issue for his bad showing in hurling, when maybe he's not as good or out of position in the hurling. No reason Walsh, Sheehan and Cahalane couldn't do the same.

I agree, it's not that it can't be done, it has been and is still done. I just think Cadogan wasn't the best example. It's about the player, and their ability.

Sheehan and Walsh played a lot over the last 1/2 years or so, with their colleges, with their clubs, and IC as well, seniors and U21s.

With the U21s finished hopefully there'll be less pressure, and hopefully we'll have 2 managers who will support and cooperate with each other helping them play dual if they want. Everything should be done to get them on to the senior hurlers.

Post by: Minder on August 20, 2011, 07:25:42 PM
Another cracker on TG4 now.

Galway 0-18 Limerick 2-11. 47th minute
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 20, 2011, 07:49:04 PM
FT

Galway 0-22 Limerick 2-14

Looking like Galway v Dublin in both minor and U-21 finals this year unless Antrim can spring a major surprise.
Post by: heffo on August 20, 2011, 07:49:48 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 20, 2011, 07:49:04 PM

Looking like Galway v Dublin in both minor and U-21 finals this year unless Antrim can spring a major surprise.

The game was played @ 4pm.

Dublin won by 26.
Post by: Minder on August 20, 2011, 08:27:12 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 20, 2011, 07:49:48 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 20, 2011, 07:49:04 PM

The game was played @ 4pm.

Dublin won by 26.

Coverage on TG4 now
Post by: Lecale2 on August 20, 2011, 08:52:48 PM
Good match. Why did Limerick go for goal near the end? Only 2 in it and 3 minutes left.
Post by: Minder on August 20, 2011, 08:56:58 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on August 20, 2011, 08:52:48 PM
Good match. Why did Limerick go for goal near the end? Only 2 in it and 3 minutes left.

Aye was boneheaded. They then put one over when they needed the goal with a few seconds left.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 20, 2011, 10:19:19 PM
Well done Galway. Start of a good weekend for the Province hopefully.