GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Minder on June 07, 2011, 11:56:17 AM

Title: Gaa managers refuse to speak to Rte over Brian Carthy treatment
Post by: Minder on June 07, 2011, 11:56:17 AM
Who the f**k do they think they are?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/gaa-managers-refuse-to-talk-to-rte-over-brian-carthy-treatment-2667497.html
Title: Re: Gaa managers refuse to speak to Rte over Brian Carthy treatment
Post by: ONeill on June 07, 2011, 12:01:49 PM
This all seems a bit mad. Carthy must have some influence over intercounty managers, unless there is something we don't know about. What Carthy treated unfairly? I just cannot really get my head around this atall.

"And radio is a unique medium. It's a highly challenging skill to deliver that in a way that paints a picture for people and I think you need to be steeped in the GAA to do that."

Is Harte suggesting they're hiring staff with little interest in GAA who are being given the gigs over the old hands?
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 07, 2011, 12:04:46 PM
They'll not be missed. The same banal, generalisms from them week in, week out.
Post by: heffo on June 07, 2011, 12:08:43 PM
There is one ring leader who wrote to the others involved and got them on board.
Post by: AQMP on June 07, 2011, 12:12:36 PM
I wondered why Mickey Harte wasn't interviewed on the Sunday Game
Post by: Hereiam on June 07, 2011, 12:31:28 PM
Would love to know why Harte has got himself involved in this. He is a county manger and should stick to managing the county team. As a Tyrone supporter I hate to see him stick his nose into things which have nothing to do with him. Carthy might be a good friend for all I know, but he should know better.
Post by: ONeill on June 07, 2011, 12:43:10 PM
Harte and Carthy appear to have some form of relationship. It was Carthy who penned the tribute to Michaela in the Irish News in place of Mickey's column.
Post by: ONeill on June 07, 2011, 12:47:12 PM

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Sports Desk Blog

Harte has grossly overstepped the mark in RTE rowJune 7, 2011 11:55 by  JohnF

John Fogarty

MICKEY HARTE won't make any secret of his friendship with RTE Radio GAA correspondent Brian Carthy. Nor should he. Neither will I.

Brian Carthy is one of the most genial and warmest people you will care to meet. When this writer commenced work as Irish Examiner GAA correspondent in December last year, he received a best wishes greeting card from him. It was a typically touching gesture from the man.

Rest assured, there is no sentiment here in stating Brian Carty is also a fine journalist, perhaps the best connected in the GAA. He is rarely left trailing when it comes to breaking news. To regard him as hard-working would insult him.

As a commentator, he is also in possession of an evocative and distinctive voice that has painted pictures for RTE radio listeners for decades.

Carthy has forged so many close relations with GAA personalities without it ever impinging on his professionalism.

His friendship with Harte (and the Harte family) is one of them. Carthy was a regular visitor to their Ballygawley home following the tragic death of Michaela in January and was a prominent figure at her funeral.

On the face of it, there's something noble about Harte fighting the corner of his pal. But the Tyrone manager has overstepped the mark here. Grossly so.

In leading a group of eight managers who will refuse to give interviews to RTE until the national broadcasters discuss Carthy's perceived downgrading with them, he has abused his position of authority.

"We just didn't think that was good practice because we do believe that for Gaelic games over the years there has been a distinctive voice on radio,'' Harte told The Irish Examiner. "And radio is an unique medium.

"It's a highly challenging skill to deliver that in a way that paints a picture for people and I think you need to be steeped in the GAA to do that.

"RTE had people who were in that very vein and to see the absence of Brian Carthy from the League Division One football and hurling finals, the same absence on the opening day of the championship when there is only one game on and to see him missing from virtually all of the major games this season to date, we just don't think that's fair to somebody of his quality and the rapport he has built up with people right throughout this country in Gaelic games over more than a quarter of a century."

If there are concerns RTE Radio One is not serving the GAA best it's incumbent of Croke Park to raise them with the station, they who have given them the broadcasting rights for millions of euro. Not Harte or any other manager for that matter, regardless of how many feel compelled to do so.

Whatever RTE's reasons are for deciding not to pass on Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh's baton to Carthy (this writer believes he was the natural successor), it is their prerogative to dictate what is right for Radio One's listeners. Not a group of inter-county managers.

Sure, Harte and his fellow protestors have their right to an opinion like everyone else. But to hold RTE to ransom on the basis theirs is better than the people who are experts in their field is a misguided exercise.

Carthy's problems in Donnybrook have been well documented in the press. Last year, it was reported he was downgraded to a roving sideline reporter role for a number of the championship games. Solicitors were involved before Carthy was restored to commentating duties.

This is the latest in an unfortunate catalogue of events and a most desperate one too when all else seems to have failed to convince RTE Carthy is their main man.

In 2005, several inter-county players refused to be interviewed by RTE after the national broadcasters decided to permit Club Energise-branded bottles to be drunk at post-match interviews.

The matter was eventually resolved when the players body and Montrose officials sat down to iron out the matter but this is a completely different matter.

That was about money - this is personal.

In making it such a crusade, Harte and his cohorts have done themselves no favours. They have compromised their own positions for a cause that they shouldn't have made their own because it isn't their own.

On one hand, this stand-off shows not only the regard in which Carthy is held just as much as the influence Harte has in convincing so many of his fellow managers that this is a battle worth fighting.

But this, let's be clear, is an imprudent battle. One in which they are willing to snub RTE to maintain their viewpoint is right when their concerns should rest elsewhere.

Harte is one of the most admirable of people. His success, grace under fire and faith are attributes of a leader of men but he is not the doyen of radio sports critics.

What he says shouldn't always go, especially as he is throwing his weight behind a man whose occupation it is to press him on issues he mightn't necessarily feel comfortable with.

The optics just aren't right, but neither are the means of protest.

RTE should not meet the aggrieved managers (the Gaelic Managers Association (GMA), anyone?) under any circumstances.

Their integrity insists on it.

Their professionalism depends on it.

http://sport.irishexaminer.com/post/2011/06/07/Harte-has-grossly-overstepped-the-mark-in-RTE-row.aspx
Post by: rrhf on June 07, 2011, 01:05:02 PM
Would this case not bear remarkable similarities to the Jerome Quinn case. 
Post by: ONeill on June 07, 2011, 01:16:06 PM
I blame Alex Ferguson.
Post by: Minder on June 07, 2011, 01:20:35 PM
Harte and the rest of them would need to wise up.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 07, 2011, 01:23:20 PM
This is all a bit mad - it would make me think that there's more to it than meets the eye as i cant understand why the managers would get involved in this. Surely these managers have a bigger duty to the watching public and fans than Brian Carthy? (Though i agree with SafrronSam that they dont say much these days anyway)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 07, 2011, 01:26:09 PM
I'm not a fan of Carthy's commentary style to say the least. In fact I usually turn him off when I hear him. However isn't this an internal decision for RTE to make? What intercounty managers are doing getting involved is beyond me.
Post by: Bingo on June 07, 2011, 01:58:17 PM
Another arse about ways of doing things the GAA way! FFS none of their business who RTE uses or doesn't use.

Post by: Tony Baloney on June 07, 2011, 02:07:05 PM
Unnecessary pettiness from Harte in my opinion, although some may understand it if he is mates with Carthy, but why are those other clowns getting involved?

Is the world a poorer place without an interview from McGeeney?
Post by: Denn Forever on June 07, 2011, 02:08:32 PM
Again, remind me.

Who is Brian Carthy?

What did RTE do to him?

??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: ONeill on June 07, 2011, 02:20:26 PM
Brian Carthy is a man from Granard. He is famed for his joke of the year (Longford Qualifier) in 1984. It goes as follows:

How do you make a tractor beam?
Tell it the field looks lovely.

Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 07, 2011, 02:25:24 PM
Christ on a bike O'Neill  :o

Carthy is a Roscommon man. We have enough problems with Granard without you spreading false allegations.

Why anyone would go to bat for this goon astounds me.
Post by: Tubberman on June 07, 2011, 02:42:07 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 07, 2011, 02:25:24 PM

Carthy is a Roscommon man. We have enough problems with Granard without you spreading false allegations.

Strokestown man I believe.
I don't mind him commentating, he's less annoying than Marty Morrissey or Ger Canning, which is no great credit.
But I don't see why Harte is getting involved and boycotting RTÉ - daft behaviour, nothing to do with him or the other managers who RTÉ appoint to commentate.
Post by: ross matt on June 07, 2011, 02:47:44 PM

[/quote

Carthy is a decent man. He was superbly eloquent and respectful when Dermot Earley died last year. I can see how he would have been very comforting to the Harte family at the time of Michaela's loss. Mickey in turn obviously has taken this course of action out of loyalty. Harte takes loyalty very seriously.

I dont think Brian is a great commentator but then neither is Ger Canning or Marty Morrissey. The managers seem to have taken this too far and you would be inclined to think there is more to it. Carthy doesnt deserve to be called a goon though.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on June 07, 2011, 02:48:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 07, 2011, 01:29:29 PM
Right, fcuk it, I'm not talking to RTÉ either.

Neither am I.
Post by: seafoid on June 07, 2011, 02:48:17 PM

Do you still have a sense of wonder, Shamrock ?
Haven't they beaten it out of you yet ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9CjBtv7j78
Post by: muppet on June 07, 2011, 02:49:12 PM
I think this is a positive thing all round.

The only memorable post-match interview in recent times was Brian Cody lashing Marty Morrisey. That is hardly a positive image and certainly wasn't anything to do with sport.

If we are watching the post match interview we have just watched the match (or highlights of it). We don't need grumpy pundits to tell us it was a crap match and we don't need losing managers to tell us they were robbed. Then we have the grumpy pundits discussing the grumpy manager who lost or the even grumpier winning manager who blames the grumpy pundits for focussing on them.

At its best it is tedious and mundane and at its worst it becomes a Gaa celebrity whinging match.

RTE should do us a favour and ban the post match cliche fest completely.

Post by: WeeDonns on June 07, 2011, 02:55:28 PM

Here ye go;
(http://www.hairybaby.com/components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/product/guystee_09040.jpg)
Post by: Cde on June 07, 2011, 02:58:13 PM
Mickey is making a habit of this, Last year he told Q101 if they did not pull one of their commentators off air that he would refuse them access to the tyrone team.
He should be more concerned about managing the Tyrone team and not worrying about who can and cannot do the commentary on matches
Post by: JohnDenver on June 07, 2011, 03:00:36 PM
Do you think if the ulster managers stopped talking to the BBC is there any chance they would get rid of sidebottom?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 07, 2011, 03:04:29 PM
Quote from: JohnDenver on June 07, 2011, 03:00:36 PM
Do you think if the ulster managers stopped talking to the BBC is there any chance they would get rid of sidebottom?
Other thread.
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 07, 2011, 03:06:21 PM
Would hardly think RTE will back down over this now as it would set a dangerous precedent.
Post by: Trout on June 07, 2011, 03:21:38 PM
Hart thinks he is bigger than the GAA.
Post by: orangeman on June 07, 2011, 03:28:06 PM
Mickey Harte and 8 other inter county managers have signed a letter expressing their concern at how Brian Carthy has been treated.

Mickey along with 8 other managers including Brian Cody don't think they're bigger than anybody let alone the GAA and I can't see how this can be construed as being so.

They're taking up an issue that effects a long term friend / colleague of theirs who is a decent, sincere and good man. That's as far as it goes. Surely they're entitled to have the right to simply air / express their view, whether that view be right or wrong ?.

Post by: Hardy on June 07, 2011, 03:28:47 PM
So what happens when Carthy is doing a Tyrone match for RTÉ and asks Mickey for an interview after the game?
Post by: Rossfan on June 07, 2011, 03:30:45 PM
What a load of nonsense.
The world will be a better place for not having to listen to the usual standard manager's handbook replies which don't address the question asked.
I certainly won't miss the stock " I didnt see it to be honest" answer to any controversial incidents or Merc O'Dwyer's " yerra sure i love drivin' "

Is there any chance RTE would retaliate by not using Marty or Canning any more ? ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 03:31:13 PM
am interested to hear the full story on this.
at face value, it sounds like Mr Harte is sticking up for his friend.
That in itself is prob him getting himself involved where he prob shouldnt.
However, the article or comments in the preceeding posts seem to indicate that Carthy has had previous problems with his employers, and maybe there is some justification at some people getting behind him if he is being 'Jeromed'.
If this is the case, then fair play to Mr Harte and the other managers for actually giving a fcuk.

If not, then youd have to wonder why Mr Harte is diluting his focus with Tyrones championship campaign to do this.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 07, 2011, 03:36:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 07, 2011, 03:28:06 PM
Mickey Harte and 8 other inter county managers have signed a letter expressing their concern at how Brian Carthy has been treated.

Mickey along with 8 other managers including Brian Cody don't think they're bigger than anybody let alone the GAA and I can't see how this can be construed as being so.

They're taking up an issue that effects a long term friend / colleague of theirs who is a decent, sincere and good man. That's as far as it goes. Surely they're entitled to have the right to simply air / express their view, whether that view be right or wrong ?.
In case of interviews related to matches they are acting as representatives of their counties not as private individuals. These boys are the first to cry when players threaten to withdraw services due to pay for play standoffs or whatever other shite Cork are backing this week.
Post by: orangeman on June 07, 2011, 03:45:11 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 07, 2011, 03:36:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 07, 2011, 03:28:06 PM

In case of interviews related to matches they are acting as representatives of their counties not as private individuals. These boys are the first to cry when players threaten to withdraw services due to pay for play standoffs or whatever other shite Cork are backing this week.

That's a fair point alright but they'd still be entitled to hold a view on a stand off / strike or whatever Cork or any other county are backing this week. Mickey Harte and the other managers, who have lent their support to this, went out and managed their teams and will manage their teams into the future. Is giving a post match interview to anyone part of the job and is it a requirement ?.

It certainly looks like Mickey is not on a solo run here.
Post by: Bingo on June 07, 2011, 04:03:06 PM
I doubt Mickey Harte is the type but is their the possibility this is all to do with having a pop at RTE over last years coverage of high profile incidents in matches. Have they been taking a leaf of Alex Fergusons book.
Post by: muppet on June 07, 2011, 04:11:55 PM
What happens if RTE now pull the guy who replaced MOM and his friends in the Gaa do the same as Harte & co?

What happens if Jack O'Connor and Tomás O'Flatharta insist that MOM continues on for another few decades and no one replaces him?

What happens if James Horan and Kevin Walsh want Ray Silke made Director General of RTE?

Post by: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 04:47:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 07, 2011, 04:11:55 PM
What happens if RTE now pull the guy who replaced MOM and his friends in the Gaa do the same as Harte & co?
What happens if Jack O'Connor and Tomás O'Flatharta insist that MOM continues on for another few decades and no one replaces him?
What happens if James Horan and Kevin Walsh want Ray Silke made Director General of RTE?
unknown 'if's' muppet. Unlikely ones also.
unlike the 'known' scenario we currently have.
You can only deal with reality !
Post by: LeoMc on June 07, 2011, 04:48:33 PM
Any chance of Mickey's Friday banal offerings column saying something which would stir up some debate? ???
Post by: Applesisapples on June 07, 2011, 05:13:44 PM
Quote from: JohnDenver on June 07, 2011, 03:00:36 PM
It only took to page 2!!
Post by: seafoid on June 07, 2011, 05:18:49 PM

Sligonian won't accept it, not with the way he has shafted Sligo football, the Galway b*stard, in retaliation for 2007. Unspeakable.
And James Horan ? I dunno. Ray Silke should be at the Hague judging Ratko Mladic anyway.
Post by: galwayman on June 07, 2011, 07:21:31 PM
This is pure madness. What business is it of Mickey Harte or anyone else for that matter what games rte decide to allocate to their commentators. Those lads should keep their noses out of it and stick to their own jobs. Crazy
Post by: ck on June 07, 2011, 08:26:51 PM
So does that mean we will be spared the dull monotony of McGeeney, Cody and Justin McNulty and the likes? Them saying as little as possible and boring the head of anyone listening. Managers are full of their own egos if they think their wee strike will hold any weight.

ps: Mickey, away and manage Tyrone and enough of the BS
Post by: bridgegael on June 07, 2011, 08:53:01 PM
just wondering was that little 'spat' when mickey was getting interviewed with bbc on sunday anything to do with this.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 07, 2011, 09:04:48 PM
I think that perhaps there's something we're overlooking here: it isn't that long since Mickey has had to deal with one of the most traumatic events in one's life; and if Brian Carthy was a source of immense support during that period (as it would appear he indeed was), it's eminently understandable therefore that Mickey's sense of immediate perspective is somewhat skewed (despite what an embittered fish might think (above)).

Give the man a break.

Edit: I'm not saying that I think it a good thing that managers involve themselves in TV editorial decisions, but the very least the overpaid mandarins of RTE might have done would be to acknowledge the missive.

And those that are somewhat caustic in their criticism of the man might serve themselves well to reflect on how they viewed the public clamour to have James Last restored as The Sunday Game theme-tune, despite RTE's sentiments to the contrary!  ;)
Post by: sammymaguire on June 07, 2011, 10:06:30 PM
Fair play to them RTE think they are bigger than the GAA at times so it's good that the men who line out their inter county teams decide to make a stand at something they feel is unfair to what most might believe is a friend and someone they have a strong working relationship.
Post by: borderfox on June 07, 2011, 10:14:36 PM
The next logical step would be for more managers to reject interviews if Spillane and Brolly were criticising their teams on air.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 07, 2011, 10:47:56 PM
I'd like to see the reaction of these managers if Ryle Nugent came out and told them who they should be picking at corner-forward.
Post by: Orangemac on June 08, 2011, 12:19:25 AM
The whole situation is a bit crazy to say the least.

On one hand it is Mickey Harte's right to refuse interviews out of loyalty to his friend, this is not the Premier league, he has no obligation to do interviews.

On the other hand it is RTE's business who it employs and in what role. If a different commentator says something about Tyrone will Mickey Harte start another campaign.

What is surprising is the amount of power Harte has amongst other managers. Did he ring around to start this campaign or are they all friends of Carthy?

I agree most interviews are boring and cliche ridden but you still like to hear managers opinions of games.
Post by: catchandkick on June 08, 2011, 12:32:39 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 07, 2011, 10:06:30 PM
Fair play to them RTE think they are bigger than the GAA at times so it's good that the men who line out their inter county teams decide to make a stand at something they feel is unfair to what most might believe is a friend and someone they have a strong working relationship.

It's none of Mickey Harte's business! End of argument!

Post by: muppet on June 08, 2011, 01:56:23 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 04:47:42 PM
You can only deal with reality!

But according to the great prophet Rumsfeldt: 'there are also known unknowns'.

RTE is owned by the State and funded by the taxpayer. Its management is answerable to them and not an ad hoc pressure group looking after their mate. If this were 100,000 tv license holders protesting that might be different.
Post by: seafoid on June 08, 2011, 06:22:38 AM
Quote from: muppet on June 08, 2011, 01:56:23 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 04:47:42 PM
You can only deal with reality!

RTE is owned by the State and funded by the taxpayer. Its management is answerable to them and not an ad hoc pressure group looking after their mate. If this were 100,000 tv license holders protesting that might be different.

RTE is owned by the State and funded by the taxpayer, the IMF and the EFSF.
Post by: sammymaguire on June 08, 2011, 07:36:02 AM
Quote from: catchandkick on June 08, 2011, 12:32:39 AM

It's none of Mickey Harte's business! End of argument!

It's his business if he wants to make it his business, the GAA and everything that revolves around it is Mickey Harte's business and who has the right to tell him what to do on this issue if he so chooses??
Post by: Applesisapples on June 08, 2011, 09:23:26 AM
Quote from: ck on June 07, 2011, 08:26:51 PM
So does that mean we will be spared the dull monotony of McGeeney, Cody and Justin McNulty and the likes? Them saying as little as possible and boring the head of anyone listening. Managers are full of their own egos if they think their wee strike will hold any weight.

ps: Mickey, away and manage Tyrone and enough of the BS
How dare you McGeeney is the most affable and articulate manager around! Not to mention almost a saint, sure look at the miracle's he's working in Kildare.
Post by: Hardy on June 08, 2011, 09:28:36 AM

Maybe that's the problem. It's one of the reasons GAA coverage on RTÉ is so anodyne, lazy, formulaic and "I suppose we got the rub of the green on the day like, Marty". If the journalist is the friend of the manager, what are we to make of the journalism that emanates from that relationship? Can you imagine Carthy asking a hard question of anyone?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 08, 2011, 09:35:37 AM
QuoteRTE is owned by the State and funded by the taxpayer

Yes and No.

RTE is funded by the advertisers and licence payers. Not the taxpayer.
Post by: DuffleKing on June 08, 2011, 10:50:12 AM
I wonder could they get ryle nugent to take himself off the rugby commentary because he's brutal.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 08, 2011, 10:51:46 AM

feckin hell muppet - you go try to buy somehting or ask for a mortgage with the 'unknown' money you 'might' make !!! ...... ;)

rte may be funded by taxpayer (dont they get state cash) and license payers, but if the state as per usual were doing its job as owners, they'd be cutting the inflated wages of the high earners - rem the debacle recently where ordinary staff were being shed but top earners were not obliged to take pay cuts ?

maybe there are not 100,000 people behind this (yet - dont know the full story so how could anyone really know) but rte have shown themselves to be inpet in most areas, plus the lack of screening of the best and most popular sport in Ireland in favour of other rubbish ('sports' ) shows that rte dont know what they are at.
so if they are inept in most other areas, i'd suspect that in this 'Carthy' case they have fcuked up again !!
Post by: Tubberman on June 08, 2011, 11:03:03 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 08, 2011, 10:51:46 AM

feckin hell muppet - you go try to buy somehting or ask for a mortgage with the 'unknown' money you 'might' make !!! ...... ;)

rte may be funded by taxpayer (dont they get state cash) and license payers, but if the state as per usual were doing its job as owners, they'd be cutting the inflated wages of the high earners - rem the debacle recently where ordinary staff were being shed but top earners were not obliged to take pay cuts ?

maybe there are not 100,000 people behind this (yet - dont know the full story so how could anyone really know) but rte have shown themselves to be inpet in most areas, plus the lack of screening of the best and most popular sport in Ireland in favour of other rubbish ('sports' ) shows that rte dont know what they are at.
so if they are inept in most other areas, i'd suspect that in this 'Carthy' case they have fcuked up again !!

Regardless of whether RTE have made the right or wrong decision, it is their decision to make.
GAA inter-county managers have no place trying to dictate who commentates on games. They have overstepped the mark, regardless of how nice a man Brian Carthy is, or how friendly he is with the managers (I thought we were all against cronyism these days??  ;))

And if you think 100,000 people are remotely bothered whether Brian Carthy is commentating or not, you have lost the run of yourself, along with Harte, McGeeney, Cody etc
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 08, 2011, 11:57:20 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 08, 2011, 11:03:03 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 08, 2011, 10:51:46 AM
Regardless of whether RTE have made the right or wrong decision, it is their decision to make.
GAA inter-county managers have no place trying to dictate who commentates on games. They have overstepped the mark, regardless of how nice a man Brian Carthy is, or how friendly he is with the managers (I thought we were all against cronyism these days??  ;))

And if you think 100,000 people are remotely bothered whether Brian Carthy is commentating or not, you have lost the run of yourself, along with Harte, McGeeney, Cody etc
its not cronyism if Carthy is the best man for the job and is being overlooked.

I'm not saying that rte have an anti-gaa agenda, but they are inept in most things (staff payments/relation, bringing digital program on stream, finances to top 'stars' etc), they dont cover themselves in glory generally with GAA coverage/GAA programmes etc.

not sure what you are referring to in regards the 'cronyism' aspect - but yes I am not in favour of that and never am.
If the managers feel that Carthyhas been unfairly treated or overlooked etc - well what else can he do but embark down a 'Jerome' route that will end in failure.
If this is the case (and I state I dont know the story but there are massive hints at something being wrong here) then fair play to Harte , Cody et al for doing this.
This is exactly the kind of example and route the taxpayers of Ireland should have followed in the recent couple of years when our money and country were tied up by idiot politicians from both camps to bail out their buddies and own interests - when we as a country should still be basking in rude financial health.

like the past and seemingly present gov, rte have demonstrated they are unable to properly run their own ship. I wonder are there more people out there who are thinking of not paying the license fee as protest to their ever increasing 'sihteness' !
Post by: GAA_Punter on June 08, 2011, 12:33:52 PM
Harte of the matter on RTE storm
Derek Reid, 8 June 2011

Mickey Harte has had many battles on the football pitch but his latest one, concerning his comments on Brian Carthy of RTE, has resulted in the cosseted media lovelies flying into action to try to assert their perceived superiority.

With the retirement of Michael O Muircheartaigh last year, Brian Carthy was presumed by all fans to be the one to step up as RTE's main commentator. To many, Carthy is the GAA with his annual statistics book a must for all fans and his use of language open mental pictures of all that is good in the GAA.

RTE appear to be trying to do a Jonathan Pearce on the public. Pearce is the BBC soccer commentator whose main pitch is to shout loudly. It's not Brian Moore who used one word to perfection whereas the new breed believe constant waffle makes you a good relayer to the public.

Harte, the multi All Ireland winning coach wrote to RTE to make his point. Those in the print media seem to believe that only they are allowed to pontificate on matters and seem to view Harte and others as upstarts or backwoodsmen. Eric Cantona's quote of seagulls following trawlers appears apt here.

Harte is correct in that the GAA is unique and a commentator on the two codes has to have this appreciation. Anyone who has ever lived abroad will recall the brilliance of tuning in on long wave back in the 80's like I did and listening in as Barney Rock or Jack o'Shea came alive. They came alive on radio because the commentator made it so.

These self-same media types are the first to whinge when coaches and players don't play ball with them. They can't have it both ways. If RTE, paid for by the public of course, did a straw poll, I guarantee Carthy would be the people's choice for the main commentator's role.

Perhaps Carthy eats his dinner at lunchtime and the open necked shirt types in the national press who love throwing odium at any sense of middle Ireland, don't like this. Who knows?

Mickey Harte has too much class to say, ''show us your medal's lads'' but those who use the pen to slaughter the voice of the majority really need to put down their cafe latte's and get out of the press box and go talk to the punters who all know Carthy but then might not necessarily know the ''Correspondents''. Perhaps this is the problem in this current controversy. They like the reflected glory of talking to coaches and players but don't want to upset RTE just in case their mugs don't appear on the Sunday Game. These are the same writers who slagged off Graeme Geraghty but somehow I don't see them getting into the goalmouth at Croker, do you?

BBC famously showed a tub of lard in place of Roy Hattersley when the MP wouldn't appear on Have I got News for you, a decade ago. I'd wager two cans of corned beef would make more sense on the Sunday Game than the two bucko's currently going into bat for RTE against Harte.
If the RTE DG, Noel Curran, has any sense, then he will intervene and inform RTE Head of Sport, Ryle Nugent, to put Carthy at the top table again.

Another good solution would be for RTE to host a debate, live on air, with the two amigos and Harte. Let's see if they have the neck to say what they write, direct to his face. Somehow I doubt. The decent skins don't only exist in Irish Soccer. They are alive and well in GAA too.

© SportsNews Ireland
Post by: Tubberman on June 08, 2011, 12:52:36 PM
Quote from: GAA_Punter on June 08, 2011, 12:33:52 PM
Derek Reid, 8 June 2011

Mickey Harte has had many battles on the football pitch but his latest one, concerning his comments on Brian Carthy of RTE, has resulted in the cosseted media lovelies flying into action to try to assert their perceived superiority.

With the retirement of Michael O Muircheartaigh last year, Brian Carthy was presumed by all fans to be the one to step up as RTE's main commentator. To many, Carthy is the GAA with his annual statistics book a must for all fans and his use of language open mental pictures of all that is good in the GAA.

RTE appear to be trying to do a Jonathan Pearce on the public. Pearce is the BBC soccer commentator whose main pitch is to shout loudly. It's not Brian Moore who used one word to perfection whereas the new breed believe constant waffle makes you a good relayer to the public.

Harte, the multi All Ireland winning coach wrote to RTE to make his point. Those in the print media seem to believe that only they are allowed to pontificate on matters and seem to view Harte and others as upstarts or backwoodsmen. Eric Cantona's quote of seagulls following trawlers appears apt here.

Harte is correct in that the GAA is unique and a commentator on the two codes has to have this appreciation. Anyone who has ever lived abroad will recall the brilliance of tuning in on long wave back in the 80's like I did and listening in as Barney Rock or Jack o'Shea came alive. They came alive on radio because the commentator made it so.

These self-same media types are the first to whinge when coaches and players don't play ball with them. They can't have it both ways. If RTE, paid for by the public of course, did a straw poll, I guarantee Carthy would be the people's choice for the main commentator's role.

Perhaps Carthy eats his dinner at lunchtime and the open necked shirt types in the national press who love throwing odium at any sense of middle Ireland, don't like this. Who knows?

Mickey Harte has too much class to say, ''show us your medal's lads'' but those who use the pen to slaughter the voice of the majority really need to put down their cafe latte's and get out of the press box and go talk to the punters who all know Carthy but then might not necessarily know the ''Correspondents''. Perhaps this is the problem in this current controversy. They like the reflected glory of talking to coaches and players but don't want to upset RTE just in case their mugs don't appear on the Sunday Game. These are the same writers who slagged off Graeme Geraghty but somehow I don't see them getting into the goalmouth at Croker, do you?

BBC famously showed a tub of lard in place of Roy Hattersley when the MP wouldn't appear on Have I got News for you, a decade ago. I'd wager two cans of corned beef would make more sense on the Sunday Game than the two bucko's currently going into bat for RTE against Harte.
If the RTE DG, Noel Curran, has any sense, then he will intervene and inform RTE Head of Sport, Ryle Nugent, to put Carthy at the top table again.

Another good solution would be for RTE to host a debate, live on air, with the two amigos and Harte. Let's see if they have the neck to say what they write, direct to his face. Somehow I doubt. The decent skins don't only exist in Irish Soccer. They are alive and well in GAA too.

© SportsNews Ireland

WTF is this??  :D ::)
What is the point being made here?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 08, 2011, 01:20:24 PM

Who wrote that? Brian Carthy himself.  No doubt he's a nice man but I know plenty of people who can't stand his commentary style.
Title: seen this on another thread
Post by: rrhf on June 08, 2011, 01:27:43 PM
Theres 3 threads could be merged here perhaps all with cross overs:  M Clarke and Heaney, M Harte and RTE, J Clarke and Hoganstand etc.  Could Heaneys article be misinterpretated as using his article as a form of almost bulling  to get his way, against Marty who in fairness seems a non media type who the media would love to have on speed dial.  I remember his article post Mc Rory cup final a few years ago which was gushing about the young lad, now simply  because hes pissed him off hes prepared to use his article to have a go at him - perhaps, perhaps not.
Build them up, knock them down tabloidism is maybe no longer just for the red tops and thats the way GAA reporting appears to be going.     Im sure it will have the opposite effect and drive Marty away.  Interestingly enough at the Bredagh night pre all ireland final last year as the team selection came through and was being disected there was a lot of critical talk about John starting.   Did Paddy not make or was it someone else the comment that Marty only plays (or wants to play) if John plays for Down  - as a neutral watching in that night I felt If I had played such an important part in getting my county to an all ireland final I would be well annoyed if I felt supporters and media were attributing my approach to nepotism.  Id have been pissed off too.  The media, supporters and fans need to have a little respect for the voluntary efforts of our players and respect their reasons for playing the sport, but dont bite at them too much because I wouldnt want a Tyrone man leaving a county career after 10 years dedication feeling as pissed off as John.  Similarly if Mickey wants to do something that we dont all like then dont savage him.  He dosent have to do anything more for us than line out a team, RTE are prepared to let a goat like pat spillane dominate our presentation of Gaelic games they are not as knowledgable about the promotion of the game as some might think.  Bad day for media perhaps - Good on Mickey, Marty and John. 
Post by: ONeill on June 08, 2011, 01:29:41 PM
I also fail to understand the point of that article.

Is there something going on betwen RTE and Carthy that the general public don't know about? Has Carthy been unfairly treated? Is there a league table of commentators? Surely that's subjective.
Post by: sammymaguire on June 08, 2011, 01:30:27 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 08, 2011, 09:28:36 AM

Maybe that's the problem. It's one of the reasons GAA coverage on RTÉ is so anodyne, lazy, formulaic and "I suppose we got the rub of the green on the day like, Marty". If the journalist is the friend of the manager, what are we to make of the journalism that emanates from that relationship?
Can you imagine Carthy asking a hard question of anyone?

Can't argue with that Hardy but if the guys getting PAID to do their job properly, can't do it properly cos friendships and allegiances get on the way, then they should not be doing the job that they are getting paid to do. Now we surely would not get a situation like that in this day and age in Ireland of all places!!
Post by: muppet on June 08, 2011, 01:48:04 PM
Derek Reid, 8 June 2011

© SportsNews Ireland

Unbelievable waffle.

RTE is a world of its own. Those who live there have a very sheltered existence and in general are better off than the rest, as George Lee appears to have quickly discovered. However, like most places internal politics can be quite vicious particularly when high profile jobs come up. Charlie Bird, who reminds me of Brian Carthy for some reason, was head honcho in RTE News reporting for ages but part of that appears to have meant limiting the scope of his dangerously popular underling, George Lee.

Charlie got to do what he pleased, George was merely economics editor. George left RTE in the 1990s to join a stockbrokers but quit the next day and went back to RTE. We shouldn't have been surprised then when he resigned as a TD two years ago, and ran back to the safety of RTE. But Charlie is still Chief News Correspondent.

Carthy's non-promotion to head radio Gaa Commentary on the really big games honcho is internal RTE politicking. His Gaa friends will make no difference and are showing themselves at best as being very naive. Look at the accusations of cronyism regarding political appointments of family and acolytes and this appears no different.
Post by: Bingo on June 08, 2011, 02:02:08 PM
RTE love AN Other, the long standing Tyrone midfielder who always does interviews for them, sits on their panel from time to time and speaks well of them as well as keeping in touch and supporting their other interests.

AN Other is played at wing forward and he isn't happy but gets on with it. Then is dropped altogether, sits on bench and isn't happy at all. But he still part of the set-up and does what is asked.

RTE aren't happy and right a letter to the Tyrone manager and also the other media outlets asking them to boycott Tyrone and not report on them. They do so and some of the younger media outlets - talksport, Gaelic Life etc  - join them.

Not that Tyrone give a f*ck. Are RTE acting in a proper manner or is it any of there business what Tyrone do?
Post by: highorlow on June 08, 2011, 04:06:19 PM
He should just move to TV3 or Newstalk.
Post by: Leo on June 08, 2011, 08:12:51 PM
Quote from: highorlow on June 08, 2011, 04:06:19 PM
He should just move to TV3 or Newstalk.

Now you've got it.
Has anyone on here any idea of the ridiculously high salaries these commentators get for getting to GAA games and events all over the country, treated and feted like minor celebrities for doing a job,  but run campaigning and complaining and bringing in managerial cavalry when their employer, who is the only one entitled to call the shots, err .... calls the shots!
Carty, Morrisey etc. are dross. The "Committee Room" is on at the minute and I cant bear to watch it. So off to TV3 or the Daily Mail or the Sun or wherever with them (at greatky reduced salaries) - and if RTE bring in Bosco it would be an improvement
Post by: Ulick on June 09, 2011, 03:04:48 PM
Anyone hear the Mickey Harte "skit" on the John Murray show this morning? Seemed in fairly bad taste to me. 

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/thejohnmurrayshow/ (http://www.rte.ie/radio1/thejohnmurrayshow/)
Post by: armaghniac on June 09, 2011, 03:23:44 PM
Quoteand if RTE bring in Bosco it would be an improvement

I disagree. Bosco would only be puppet.
Post by: highorlow on June 09, 2011, 03:48:33 PM
QuoteAnyone hear the Mickey Harte "skit" on the John Murray show this morning? Seemed in fairly bad taste to me. 

Didn't hear it and can't get it on the link? What was it about?

It dosn't surprise me though that this idiot Murray who is in the smart arse sense of humour would have a go and it would be in bad taste. He had a very low cut at DJ Carey there a while back over his financial miss-fortune which in my view is a very low thing to do. I stopped listening to him after that. The RTE brigade probably think he is a great laugh though.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 09, 2011, 04:06:31 PM
This whole thing leaves me a bit confused.

I admire and have huge time for Mickey Harte and agree with a lot of what he says and his outlook on sport and life. For that reason I'd be slow to say he is wrong in this instance though my gut feeling is that this is an excessive course of action.

I'm not mad about Brian Carthy's commentating even though I think it has improved considerably in the last 2-3 years. That said, he is immeasurably better than Ger Canning or Marty Morrissey and more authentic than Darragh Moloney (he reminds me of Peter Collins commentating on F1 - has read all the books, has all the stats etc but deep down you don't think he really gets it).

RTE are a national disgrace with their GAA coverage. I've long advocated taking everything off them until they prove themselves capable of doing a decent job. Even feckin TV3 put them to shame. Radio commentary is, has and will continue to be vital and RTE should make sure they keep that right.

Maybe there is more to this than we know. I find it hard to have any sympathy for RTE anyway and I'm never too interested in after match interviews anyway.
Post by: On the 14 on June 09, 2011, 07:54:06 PM
In response to that article which says the RTE boys are totally out of touch with the real GAA men who would prefer to see Brian Carty as main commentator, a quick poll would be enlightening in the likes of here and anfearrua. More especially here though as posters seem more level headed.
I'd say the results would show it's actually Harte etc who are out of touch as the vast majority of people I know don't like Carty as a commentator to put it mildly. In saying all this I've met the man, and he is a gentleman albeit one who is nicknamed 'Fr Brian' by those who know him.

Could someone set up a poll? Do you agree that Brian Carty should be RTE's main radio GAA commentator? yes or no.
Not 'do you agree with Mickey Harte's stance either as people seem fairly unanimous on that.
Post by: Rossfan on June 09, 2011, 10:02:46 PM
Brian Carty , nice chap , Ros man , poor commentator , RTE's business to deal with their employees , Co team managers should have enough on their plate as the Championship season hots up   , much ado about nothing , tiresome tale which hopefully will soon blow away.

Post by: Leo on June 10, 2011, 12:29:40 AM
I am organising a campaign against the decision of RTE to retain Evelyn Cusack as a weather reporter. As a representative of GAA supporters who have to stand in the rain I have to protest against this bad RTE polcy -  Are you with us on this?
Post by: Hardy on June 10, 2011, 09:13:28 AM
I'm with you Leo and I further demand that Jean Byrne do all weather reports and the audience gets to choose what, if anything, she wears on top. Wubblewubblewubblewubblewubble.
Post by: ONeill on June 10, 2011, 10:04:31 AM
Can we not get Bibi Baskin back?
Post by: Ulick on June 10, 2011, 10:25:13 AM
Quote from: highorlow on June 09, 2011, 03:48:33 PM
QuoteAnyone hear the Mickey Harte "skit" on the John Murray show this morning? Seemed in fairly bad taste to me. 

It dosn't surprise me though that this idiot Murray who is in the smart arse sense of humour would have a go and it would be in bad taste. He had a very low cut at DJ Carey there a while back over his financial miss-fortune which in my view is a very low thing to do. I stopped listening to him after that. The RTE brigade probably think he is a great laugh though.

It was a pretend phone call and him asking Mickey what he should do and play on the show. Ended up playing "Pretty Little Girl From Omagh".
Post by: Tubberman on June 10, 2011, 10:42:26 AM
Quote from: Ulick on June 10, 2011, 10:25:13 AM

It was a pretend phone call and him asking Mickey what he should do and play on the show. Ended up playing "Pretty Little Girl From Omagh".

Horrendous!!  :o
FFS, get over it. If he sticks his nose in where he has no business, he can expect some sort of comeback.
Post by: Ulick on June 10, 2011, 10:49:02 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 10, 2011, 10:42:26 AM
FFS, get over it. If he sticks his nose in where he has no business, he can expect some sort of comeback.

No need for the sarcasm Tubber. I just I felt the choice of song was in bad taste considering Michaela death. The wife was thinking the same when it was played and I'm sure we weren't the only ones. It must have occurred to Murray when he was setting it up. Inconsiderate in the extreme IMO. Anyhow, the skit as a whole wasn't even funny, just rude and insulting.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 10, 2011, 11:41:26 AM
Quote from: Leo on June 10, 2011, 12:29:40 AM
I am organising a campaign against the decision of RTE to retain Evelyn Cusack as a weather reporter. As a representative of GAA supporters who have to stand in the rain I have to protest against this bad RTE polcy -  Are you with us on this?
funnily enough it was the same evelyn from laois that lead the revolt a coupleof years ago against rte for proposing to replace some of those older ulgy weather presenters with more glam good looking youngsters.
she won, temporarily - though the state of the recent additions of 'good looking younger' presenters has me thinking she is still winning !
Post by: Rossfan on June 10, 2011, 12:41:22 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 10, 2011, 09:13:28 AM
I'm with you Leo and I further demand that Jean Byrne do all weather reports and the audience gets to choose what, if anything, she wears on top. Wubblewubblewubblewubblewubble.
+ 1
;D ;D
Post by: ross matt on June 10, 2011, 03:47:55 PM

I see the Indo today backs up your view Ulick. Sounds like it was in bad taste and Harte deserves better in view of recent family tragedies. Typical poor attempt at humour by the drone Murray and his RTE colleagues.
Post by: lenny on June 10, 2011, 07:27:26 PM
Quote from: ross matt on June 10, 2011, 03:47:55 PM

I see the Indo today backs up your view Ulick. Sounds like it was in bad taste and Harte deserves better in view of recent family tragedies. Typical poor attempt at humour by the drone Murray and his RTE colleagues.

Fair point but Harte and the other managers have no business stciking their nose into RTEs appointments process. I think its very stupid of Harte to not be giving interviews and it will be counter productive in the long run.
Post by: red hander on June 10, 2011, 07:49:48 PM
RTE has an appointments process? Shit, I just thought they dished out jobs to the talentless offspring of deceased DJs.  BTW, I think Brian Carthy is a woeful commentator
Post by: ross matt on June 10, 2011, 09:37:00 PM
Yeah Lenny but when men with the integrity, intelligence, ability and not to mention busy schedule of the likes of Harte, Mcgeeney and Cody take the trouble to make a unified stand on something I personally would respect it. There must be more to it if they're taking such a stance.
Post by: Trout on June 10, 2011, 10:04:18 PM
Quote from: ross matt on June 10, 2011, 09:37:00 PM
Yeah Lenny but when men with the integrity, intelligence, ability and not to mention busy schedule of the likes of Harte, Mcgeeney and Cody take the trouble to make a unified stand on something I personally would respect it. There must be more to it if they're taking such a stance.

Well maybe they could tell us what more there is to it. Hart isn't usually shy when it comes to the media so I am sure he will let us know.
Post by: rrhf on June 10, 2011, 10:11:46 PM
I wonder what the rte boyos are doing about this. In my opinion their gaa coverage over the years has been shite, their coverage of soccor and rugby excellent.  Some individuals like carthy, hehir and o muirchartaigh elevate their coverage but its nearly more to do with the individuals rather than the channels greatness
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 10, 2011, 10:24:10 PM
Quote from: Ulick on June 10, 2011, 10:49:02 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 10, 2011, 10:42:26 AM

No need for the sarcasm Tubber. I just I felt the choice of song was in bad taste considering Michaela death. The wife was thinking the same when it was played and I'm sure we weren't the only ones. It must have occurred to Murray when he was setting it up. Inconsiderate in the extreme IMO. Anyhow, the skit as a whole wasn't even funny, just rude and insulting.

I used to buy Hot Press religiously, when I was young and foolish. Twenty years ago - I am now old and foolish - they had a sports special with articles about which was the best sport and all this crack. Fun stuff. One one page they had an argument between Liam Hayes defending football and some other buck talking up soccer. Fun stuff, as I say.

Turn the page, and there was quite a good piece about the importance of a GAA club to a small town. It was illustrated with a drawing of someone hanging from a crossbar - to illustrate rural anomie I guess.

This was on the page following Hayes' piece.

I once asked someone who worked in media if that could have been a coincidence. Just very, very bad luck. He told me coincidences don't really happen.

John Murray ought to be ashamed of himself yesterday. And I haven't bought Hot Press in twenty years.
Post by: Jinxy on June 11, 2011, 12:40:09 PM
Quote from: red hander on June 10, 2011, 07:49:48 PM
RTE has an appointments process? Shit, I just thought they dished out jobs to the talentless offspring of deceased DJs.  BTW, I think Brian Carthy is a woeful commentator

Who are you talking about?
Post by: muppet on June 11, 2011, 04:18:04 PM
http://spailpin.blogspot.com/ (http://spailpin.blogspot.com/)

Spailpín on form as usual with a thoughtful article.

He hits the nail on the head with his comment about Gaa people trusting everything Micheal O'Hehir said. I felt the same about MOM, but only during commentary, not during his interviews. I still don't know why I dodn't like his interviews.

We are now inclined to sneer at modern commentators as if we believe they don't know what they are talking about, or at least that they don't know as much as we do. That is probably very presumptuous of us but it might also reflect the way society has evolved from the trusting citizens we used to be to the cynics we have become.

However I don't think we are as critical of commentators in other codes. Why is that?
Post by: cornafean on June 11, 2011, 04:39:27 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 11, 2011, 12:40:09 PM
Quote from: red hander on June 10, 2011, 07:49:48 PM

Who are you talking about?

Lottie Ryan, presumably. 
http://www.rte.ie/fashion/2010/0809/ryanl.html (http://www.rte.ie/fashion/2010/0809/ryanl.html)
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 11, 2011, 04:47:27 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 11, 2011, 04:18:04 PM
We are now inclined to sneer at modern commentators as if we believe they don't know what they are talking about, or at least that they don't know as much as we do. That is probably very presumptuous of us but it might also reflect the way society has evolved from the trusting citizens we used to be to the cynics we have become.

However I don't think we are as critical of commentators in other codes. Why is that?
Nah muppet, I have been critical regarding commentators on here for other sports like soccer and rugby not just football/hurling- I believe others have also.... George Hamilton on the soccer being a prime example!!

I never liked micheal o'H commentary either but most everyone else did!
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 11, 2011, 06:58:01 PM
Carthy is doing Wex v KK this evening, his biggest gig of the season so far.
Post by: lenny on June 11, 2011, 07:00:48 PM
Quote from: ross matt on June 10, 2011, 09:37:00 PM

Think most of the other managers are backing Harte out of sympathy for what he has come through this year. I honestly think he has lost the run of himself with this dispute. I usually respect his opinions even though I don't always agree, but I think he is just behaving ridiculously here.
Post by: Orangemac on June 11, 2011, 11:38:05 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 11, 2011, 06:58:01 PM
Carthy is doing Wex v KK this evening, his biggest gig of the season so far.
Will this please Mickey Harte? Or how will we know when Brian Carthy is being treated with the respect he deserves?

Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2011, 11:44:04 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 11, 2011, 04:47:27 PM

Nah muppet, I have been critical regarding commentators on here for other sports like soccer and rugby not just football/hurling- I believe others have also.... George Hamilton on the soccer being a prime example!!

Well said. For the first time. Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh's brand of commentary was unique but, in terms of doing the job, it was rather average. I managed to get copies of his commentaries of the '03, '05 and '08 finals and all three were littered with inaccuracies. His lilty tones were fantastic to listen to from an aesthetic point of view but as for factual information on the basic happenings on that field at that time he was error-prone. Prime example was referring to Brian McGuigan as Frank in the '05 final on numerous occasions.
Post by: Orangemac on June 11, 2011, 11:49:53 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 11, 2011, 11:44:04 PM

Well said. For the first time. Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh's brand of commentary was unique but, in terms of doing the job, it was rather average. I managed to get copies of his commentaries of the '03, '05 and '08 finals and all three were littered with inaccuracies. His lilty tones were fantastic to listen to from an aesthetic point of view but as for factual information on the basic happenings on that field at that time he was error-prone. Prime example was referring to Brian McGuigan as Frank in the '05 final on numerous occasions.
Would have to agree. Often listening to games in the car you would realise a goal went in from the noise of the crowd as MOM was talking about something that was unrelated to the passage of play.
Post by: muppet on June 12, 2011, 12:09:06 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 11, 2011, 11:44:04 PM

Mona Lisa was blonde and had acne.
Post by: ONeill on June 12, 2011, 12:13:36 AM
How do you know?
Post by: muppet on June 12, 2011, 12:16:56 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 12, 2011, 12:13:36 AM
How do you know?

Heard it on the radio.
Post by: ONeill on June 12, 2011, 12:41:39 PM
So he wasn't. He knows nothing ffs.
Post by: ONeill on June 12, 2011, 11:36:53 PM
I thought it was an interesting move by the Irish News on Friday to run with Brendan Crossan's (I think) article criticising Harte on the day Harte's column is produced. Although Crossan was semi-sycophantic, he still reckoned Harte was ruining Carthy's future career.
Post by: Orangemac on June 13, 2011, 11:09:57 PM
The latest is that the strike was not because of the treatment of Carthy by RTE rather the refusal of RTE to respond to the letter pointing out the mistake they were making in relation to Carty.

So that clears that up then!
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2011, 11:40:33 PM
Mickey still not talking (nor players).

O'Rourke not talking either - same reason?

Load of bollocks.
Post by: gerry on July 11, 2011, 12:08:39 AM
If they spent more time coaching players it would fit them better
Post by: Family guy on July 11, 2011, 12:40:40 AM
Quote from: gerry on July 11, 2011, 12:08:39 AM
If they spent more time coaching players it would fit them better

Lol that doesnt even make sense,hence they didnt speak to the media as they havent the time 2 waste
Post by: gerry on July 11, 2011, 12:45:38 AM
if they  spend more time what they get  paid (expenses) for  instead of getting involved in rte politics
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 01:03:24 AM
They never say anything interesting anyway.
Post by: Hardy on July 11, 2011, 01:34:21 AM
Yeh, it's great.I only wish Banty would join the boycott.
Post by: Imposerous on July 11, 2011, 07:05:05 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 11, 2011, 01:34:21 AM
Yeh, it's great.I only wish Banty would join the boycott.

He loves squeaking to the media.
Post by: Rossfan on July 11, 2011, 09:47:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 10, 2011, 11:40:33 PM
Mickey still not talking (nor players).

O'Rourke not talking either - same reason?

Load of bollocks.

Absloutely !!!
Time for people to grow up a biteen.
Post by: sheamy on July 11, 2011, 09:55:46 AM
who cares?! They talk shite anyway. Mickey only ever says:

'we're in a good/bad place, it's a place we did/or did not want to be, but it's where we find ourselves and we have to deal with it'

or tells you that

'there was a game on, one team got more scores than another, and that that team won. It will be a tough game the next day, a huge challenge but one we need to prepare for. It's where we want to be.'

and as for Paddy O'Rourke...LOL
Post by: bridgegael on July 11, 2011, 10:01:54 AM
is carthy still workin for rte?
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 11, 2011, 12:16:12 PM
the refusal to talk to rte was called off weeks ago wasnt it.i heard why mickey harte wont talk is because of a tasteless skit done on the john murray show on rte and he is right not to
Post by: magpie seanie on July 11, 2011, 01:03:10 PM
Mickey Harte is perfectly entitled to talk to or not talk to whoever he wants. If RTE ask me (not that they would) for an interview am I somehow obliged to talk to them? Am I fcuk. Harte owes RTE nothing and the fact that people take RTE's side on this shows the power the media have over people.
Post by: ONeill on July 11, 2011, 01:33:44 PM
Quote from: Stevie g 8 on July 11, 2011, 12:16:12 PM
the refusal to talk to rte was called off weeks ago wasnt it.i heard why mickey harte wont talk is because of a tasteless skit done on the john murray show on rte and he is right not to

Yes, that was fairly tasteless.
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 01:49:39 PM
What was that about lads?
Post by: ONeill on July 11, 2011, 01:54:52 PM
During the Carthy protest, there was a skit on a RTE radio show taking the piss out of Mickey. It was along the lines of Mickey wanting to dictate the nature of the show itself and concluded with 'Pretty Little Girl From Omagh' which was a rather ill-advised choice given what happened a few months ago.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 11, 2011, 03:01:08 PM
see the smug face of des cahill saying mickey harte declined to give an interview.the managers have every right declining interviews if they dont want to give them
Post by: ross matt on July 11, 2011, 03:11:01 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 11, 2011, 01:33:44 PM
Quote from: Stevie g 8 on July 11, 2011, 12:16:12 PM

Yes, that was fairly tasteless.
+1. He deserves more respect than that after all he's gone through this year and in fairness has always been courteous and polite in his media dealings in the past.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 11, 2011, 03:36:09 PM
Fellas, I don't see the Sunday Game every night - has Anthony Tohill been on much this year?

The reason I ask is because Tohill was one of my favourites. I thought he knew his stuff and was able to get his points across. And now I can't remember him being on any Sunday Game I've seen this year.

The reason I mention it here is because RTÉ did a lot of huffing and puffing about how they'd choose who did their shows and wouldn't be dictated too. I seem to remember Tohill ruffling some feathers in the past though, and I can't help but put two and two together.

I'm sure I'm doing RTÉ a disservice. Has Tohill been on the Sunday Game much this year?
Post by: FERDIE on July 11, 2011, 05:37:29 PM
Quote from: sheamy on July 11, 2011, 09:55:46 AM
who cares?! They talk shite anyway. Mickey only ever says:

'we're in a good/bad place, it's a place we did/or did not want to be, but it's where we find ourselves and we have to deal with it'

or tells you that

'there was a game on, one team got more scores than another, and that that team won. It will be a tough game the next day, a huge challenge but one we need to prepare for. It's where we want to be.'

and as for Paddy O'Rourke...LOL

You are right there about those two Sheamy. another one was Damian Cassidy. he was brutal altogether.
Post by: skeog on July 11, 2011, 05:45:05 PM
championship championship are cassidys usual words goog that it will be john brennan who will deliver for derry and not the ego driven cassidy
Post by: ross matt on July 11, 2011, 07:05:37 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 11, 2011, 03:36:09 PM
Fellas, I don't see the Sunday Game every night - has Anthony Tohill been on much this year?

The reason I ask is because Tohill was one of my favourites. I thought he knew his stuff and was able to get his points across. And now I can't remember him being on any Sunday Game I've seen this year.

The reason I mention it here is because RTÉ did a lot of huffing and puffing about how they'd choose who did their shows and wouldn't be dictated too. I seem to remember Tohill ruffling some feathers in the past though, and I can't help but put two and two together.

I'm sure I'm doing RTÉ a disservice. Has Tohill been on the Sunday Game much this year?

Me too Iolar. One of my favourite analysists and favourite players.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 11, 2011, 07:39:35 PM
Tyrone's RTE boycott could get very messy come the banquet in Sept.
Post by: seafoid on July 11, 2011, 08:04:50 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 11, 2011, 07:39:35 PM
Why? Are there a lot of Tyrone waiters in Dublin?
Post by: Orangemac on July 11, 2011, 10:26:28 PM
Why would they want his opinion of the Armagh v Kerry final? :D
Post by: heffo on July 12, 2011, 12:30:50 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 11, 2011, 08:04:50 PM
Why? Are there a lot of Tyrone waiters in Dublin?

And gardeners/poolboys.
Post by: lenny on July 12, 2011, 09:34:46 PM
Quote from: Stevie g 8 on July 11, 2011, 03:01:08 PM
see the smug face of des cahill saying mickey harte declined to give an interview.the managers have every right declining interviews if they dont want to give them

They should be giving interviews because it helps to promote our games. Also, older supporters who cant get out to games any more like to hear what the managers think. I think it's petty of Harte to continue with this boycott.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 12, 2011, 10:45:38 PM
As I said before I completely agree with Harte s stance, the skit on the John Murray show was way below the belt and tasteless.if the gaa want to promote the gaa they should take a good luck at the crap rte serve us up
Post by: The Moon is Down on July 13, 2011, 10:45:52 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 11, 2011, 03:36:09 PM

I heard it came down to a straight choice between Tony Davis and Tohill. No choice really now was it?
Post by: Canalman on July 13, 2011, 11:11:43 AM
Personally prefer Davis, an exuberant way of punditry which I like. Tohill is a tad drole for my liking.
Each to their own I suppose.

Not a great fan of the post match "interview" with the managers. Find it distasteful to see devastated defeated managers bravely trying to blurt out a few trite usualisms.

Post by: sheamy on July 13, 2011, 04:25:54 PM
Whilst Tohill can be a wee bit drole, Davis talks utter horseshit. The man has no clue what he is talking about.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 13, 2011, 04:57:02 PM
I agree. To me Davis seems to be a bit of a puppet. He seems easily influenced and to me is a bit of a yes man.

On Sunday night he mentioned something about Kyle Coney and Penrose which was totally inaccurate. I can't recall just now what he said.
Tohill was not so easily lead by the line of questioning that Spillane used to fire at him.
Unlike Brolly, he'd sit quietly and let others have their say and then he'd politely disagree with them and speak his own mind and not care what people think about it. Davis is more worried about who he might upset.

Mickey Harte has always been excellent with the media over the years and comes out and talks openly when asked. Many see him as a goodie two shoes but after that piss take on RTE I think he's well within his rights to give the interviews a break for a while anyway.
Post by: The Moon is Down on July 13, 2011, 06:00:53 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 13, 2011, 04:57:02 PM
I agree. To me Davis seems to be a bit of a puppet. He seems easily influenced and to me is a bit of a yes man.

On Sunday night he mentioned something about Kyle Coney and Penrose which was totally inaccurate. I can't recall just now what he said.
Tohill was not so easily lead by the line of questioning that Spillane used to fire at him.
Unlike Brolly, he'd sit quietly and let others have their say and then he'd politely disagree with them and speak his own mind and not care what people think about it. Davis is more worried about who he might upset.

Mickey Harte has always been excellent with the media over the years and comes out and talks openly when asked. Many see him as a goodie two shoes but after that piss take on RTE I think he's well within his rights to give the interviews a break for a while anyway.

He was saying how great it was to see new names on the Tyrone team and included Marty Penrose amongst them...
Post by: Jinxy on July 13, 2011, 06:24:28 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 13, 2011, 04:57:02 PM

You spelled that wrong.
Post by: Zulu on July 13, 2011, 06:30:34 PM
Jesus if Tohill was cut for Davis RTE don't have a clue. Tohill was very poor initially but he has grown into his role while Davis is as poor as ever. Where is O'Cinnede for that matter? And how is Spillane the main man, he is on every show and is simply awful.
Post by: heffo on July 13, 2011, 08:25:53 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 13, 2011, 06:30:34 PM
Jesus if Tohill was cut for Davis RTE don't have a clue. Tohill was very poor initially but he has grown into his role while Davis is as poor as ever. Where is O'Cinnede for that matter? And how is Spillane the main man, he is on every show and is simply awful.

Tohill & O'Cinneide are both very good. Davis cannot construct a sentence without consulting his notes.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 14, 2011, 10:27:44 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 13, 2011, 11:11:43 AM
Personally prefer Davis, an exuberant way of punditry which I like. Tohill is a tad drole for my liking.

Not a great fan of the post match "interview" with the managers. Find it distasteful to see devastated defeated managers bravely trying to blurt out a few trite usualisms.

Davis is utterly clueless as even Cork people will tell you..A few weeks ago in the Sligo v Leitrim game for one of the goals, he was nattering on about a "great ball in" for one of the goals, which was clearly a shot that dropped short...he is a pain.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 14, 2011, 10:34:42 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 13, 2011, 06:30:34 PM

Not how it goes Zulu. If Tohill got the road it's because Kerry threatened them with no co-operation, and either did a better job than poor Mickey Harte or else are considered more important. Or possibly both.

Spillane is there because every sport wants to ape the soccer panel - Hook is rugby's Dunphy, Spillane is football's. Always jealous of the hurling analysts, actually. Not many gluggers there from what my amateur eye can tell.
Post by: ross matt on July 14, 2011, 10:39:04 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 14, 2011, 10:27:44 PM

Davis is utterly clueless as even Cork people will tell you..A few weeks ago in the Sligo v Leitrim game for one of the goals, he was nattering on about a "great ball in" for one of the goals, which was clearly a shot that dropped short...he is a pain.

If it's the goal I think you're referring to Brolly was raving about it when as you said it was a bad ball in and a defenders/goalie mix up.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 14, 2011, 10:52:32 PM
Quote from: ross matt on July 14, 2011, 10:39:04 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 14, 2011, 10:27:44 PM

If it's the goal I think you're referring to Brolly was raving about it when as you said it was a bad ball in and a defenders/goalie mix up.

Well, of course, "on mature recollection" there was only 1 goal in the game, so that was it. Brolly, generally knows what he's talking about..winds a lot of people up, but he's not the worst imo.

Can i just say on this topic in general that while I admire Mickey Harte a lot and appreciate he has gone through a rough year already, but he's acting very childishly here...this crusade he's leading on the Carthy issue (not to mention the fact that it is unjustified as Carthy is a poor commentator) will only discredit him imo.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 15, 2011, 11:31:22 AM
tohill i thought was one of the best pundits along with o cinnede,i cannot stand spillane,you,d think he invented football the way he goes on.then to top it all off you have mr. sweet des cahill presenting it.what a load of rubbish.fair play to harte i agree with him
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 05, 2011, 04:37:14 PM
RTE need to act over Murray's piece. It was either shockingly insensitive or niave. Tyrone just issued this press release.

On behalf of the Tyrone GAA Senior Football Management and Players

A number of weeks ago the Senior Football Manager in conjunction with several other GAA managers wrote a letter marked Private and Confidential to two senior people within the RTÉ organisation.  In this letter Mickey Harte expressed his own and a number of other managers' concern at the disproportionate absence of Brian Carthy from his role as a radio commentator.  The contents of the letter made their way into the public domain and the managers' concerned can categorically state that they were not the source of that leak.

Due to the portrayal of the said letter, at least one other broadcaster within the organisation acted in a most insensitive manner in the choice of their programme dialogue in a morning radio show soon after.  Inappropriate references to the fact that the Tyrone manager Mickey Harte was associated with the Dali Lama conference in Limerick and the choice of the song "Pretty Little Girl from Omagh" will give you an indication of the complete lack of sensitivity the presenter in question afforded the Harte family and Michaela's husband John McAreavey, in what remains for them a very difficult time.

We hope that this statement clarifies for the general public why Mickey Harte, his management team and the players have chosen not to co-operate with RTÉ at this time.

Interviews with all other media outlets will continue as before
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 05, 2011, 04:43:11 PM
RTÉ have already responded Norf, see the Dublin - Tyrone thread.
Post by: Jinxy on August 05, 2011, 05:27:11 PM
The 'skit' is gone off youtube now.
Post by: bennydorano on August 06, 2011, 01:19:38 PM
Hadn't realised the Radio thing had happened, if I was Harte I would have landed at thon ballix's front door.
Post by: Midman on August 06, 2011, 01:27:05 PM
What was said on the radio?
Post by: TyroneRahilly on August 06, 2011, 01:46:50 PM
Midman> While they were talking about mickey harte on the radio, they then played "Pretty little girl from omagh". Obviously the worst choice of song due to the rough tie they are going through following the loss of their daughter.

In my opinion, I sincerely doubt that the RTE presenter meant it the way it came across. Id say he's kicking himself now and wishes he hadnt have done it, but i think he was a tad niave and just played one of the most known County Tyrone songs. I can understand how it hurt Mickey Harte and family, but I also feel sorry for the guy that played it - a moment he probably will always regret and never forget. Just very bad timing.

Hopefully they will sort it all out as im sure they will when the dust settles.
Post by: bennydorano on August 06, 2011, 01:50:55 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0806/1224301949710.html

Report in today's Irish News as well.
Post by: LeoMc on August 06, 2011, 04:34:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 05, 2011, 05:27:11 PM

wonder when it was taken down, that might give some idea how sincere RTE were.
If it only came down in the last after the TCB statement then I think we can take their "sincere regret was immediately and personally communicated" with a pinch of salt.
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2011, 12:31:50 PM
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has agreed to lift his ban on talking to the BBC.

Ferguson began his boycott of the broadcaster in 2004 after it made allegations against his son, Jason, in a TV documentary.

A statement said: "Sir Alex and the BBC have put behind them the difficulties which led to Sir Alex feeling unable to appear on BBC programmes."

United's next game is against Arsenal at Old Trafford on Sunday.

The joint statement, released on Thursday, follows a meeting between Sir Alex and the BBC's director general, Mark Thompson, and BBC North director Peter Salmon.

It added: "The issues have been resolved to the satisfaction of both parties.

"Sir Alex will now make himself available to the BBC for Match of the Day, Radio 5 live and other outlets as agreed.

"No further comment will be made by either party on this issue."
Post by: Aaron Boone on August 25, 2011, 11:24:41 PM
John Murray Show did another bad-taste piece on Rose of Tralee on Weds, apparently interviewing a defeated Rose without saying it was a sham-interview. How many more?
Post by: Jinxy on August 26, 2011, 06:22:16 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on August 06, 2011, 04:34:21 PM

If it only came down in the last after the TCB statement then I think we can take their "sincere regret was immediately and personally communicated" with a pinch of salt.

I think it was taken down the day after the TCB statement.
Post by: LeoMc on August 26, 2011, 11:05:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 26, 2011, 06:22:16 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on August 06, 2011, 04:34:21 PM

I think it was taken down the day after the TCB statement.
I think that shows how "sincerely" they regretted the skit.