GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2011, 05:11:31 PM

Title: Dublin vs Laois 5th june 2011
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2011, 05:11:31 PM
Long time viewer, and first time poster............

Whats your views on the upcoming game ?  :)
Title: Re: Dublin vs Laois 5th june 2011
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 25, 2011, 05:18:25 PM
Laois to handpass the ball over 100 times, the laois Fullforward to be hitting anything that moves , dublin to win by about 10 points and pat spillane to pick out Bernard Brogan as the player to watch before the match
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2011, 05:20:07 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 25, 2011, 05:18:25 PM
Laois to handpass the ball over 100 times, the laois Fullforward to be hitting anything that moves , dublin to win by about 10 points and pat spillane to pick out Bernard Brogan as the player to watch before the match
completely agree.
esp about the spillane part  :D
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2011, 05:23:59 PM
Hoping laois can give us a good oul rattle, they have the capability too, some big men in their ranks now, they are not as bad as the longford game suggested................... hopefully b sheehan keeps to himself and actually tries to play the game

Going for a scoreline of dublin 2-12 laois 0-13

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2011, 05:26:34 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2011, 05:20:07 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 25, 2011, 05:18:25 PM
completely agree.
esp about the spillane part  :D

twill be more brolly purring over b brogs, it will take him 5 minutes to make a one sentenced point though, spillane will be still beaming about the meath kildare game
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 25, 2011, 05:27:13 PM
how many of the laois lads now play their football in Dublin ?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2011, 05:43:23 PM
begley, quigley........................ tierney ?????
Post by: ross4life on May 25, 2011, 06:11:14 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 25, 2011, 05:27:13 PM
how many of the laois lads now play their football in Dublin ?
Laoislad? he plays ball in Dublin now.
Post by: laoislad on May 25, 2011, 06:28:01 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2011, 05:11:31 PM

Dublin will have this won before most of the intoxicated/stoned Hill 16 Dublin "fans" have staggered into the stadium.
Dublin will win by 10+ points IMO.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2011, 06:48:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 25, 2011, 06:28:01 PM

Dublin will have this won before most of the intoxicated/stoned Hill 16 Dublin "fans" have staggered into the stadium.

I hope this is firmly said tongue in cheek laois lad........................... I have no problems with laois folk, actually im really looking forward to this game as laois bring a bit of bite to the games and a good fan base, but some like our own are very narrow minded indeed, branding the majority of hill16 as stoners is quite bitter indeed..............
Post by: haze on May 25, 2011, 07:39:37 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2011, 05:43:23 PM
begley, quigley........................ tierney ?????

Yes. That's it. John O'Loughlin potentially moving to St Brigids when he has finished college.

Laois fan base is very small at the minute! Considering we have a new manager, have just had a successful league campaign and our first championship game was at home, I would have expected some bandwagon support but definitely wasn't the case- there was a terrible turn out

Not expecting many to travel to Dublin game either.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 25, 2011, 08:46:23 PM
I think this game will be alot closer than people think, the Dubs will have self doubt after that league final defeat & last year Wexford brought the Dubs to extra time when they should have won in normal time.

Laois were poor v Longford however there's plenty of room for improvement. so if Laois can get a good start & silence the hill the chance of a shock will be possible.
Post by: Jinxy on May 25, 2011, 11:48:52 PM
The Dubs will be pointing at the scoreboard with 20 minutes to go.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 27, 2011, 11:27:58 AM
Is Clancy going to start ???? laois have the chance now to really give us a go, time for clancy and quigley to show there worth considering they could never really get to grips with ryan and whelan in the midfield, this is one area ye could dominate on the day

Quigley was poor against longford the other day laois lads, whats your feeling on the game ?
Post by: haze on May 27, 2011, 01:49:50 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 27, 2011, 11:27:58 AM
Is Clancy going to start ???? laois have the chance now to really give us a go, time for clancy and quigley to show there worth considering they could never really get to grips with ryan and whelan in the midfield, this is one area ye could dominate on the day

Quigley was poor against longford the other day laois lads, whats your feeling on the game ?

I hope he starts. Quigley was poor enough but played alot better than Begley who has been major disappointment in the last 3 games he played. I think Quigley will come on alot for last week. I think we have a slight advantage in this area but what a pity Cluxton will probably take care of that with his pinpoint kickouts.

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 27, 2011, 07:38:47 PM
Quote from: goal 10 on May 27, 2011, 07:12:28 PM
I'LL SAY IT AGAIN

QUIGLEY WANT'S A GOOD KICK UP THE BACKSIDE.

Indeed good potential, but too leisurely in possesion

I note also mj t has been hauled of against donegal and longford most recently, can he cut the mustard under pressure

Sheehan is a definite liability if he decides to start throwing his weight around, we have a couple of guys who can take care of him  ;)

Either ways Im a season ticket holder and have not missed a game this year, ill be in spain for this one though in the local bar  >:(
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 28, 2011, 12:27:56 AM
It's a pity Laois have to play our best midfielder, Kevin Meaney, at full-back. Brendan Quigley is at his best with a strong partner such as Meaney. Strangely Quigley doesn't seem to play as well with fellow Timahoe man Padraig Clancy.
I don't understand some of the abuse Quigley gets. OK he got a red during the league but showed great restraint in final againt Donegal when atacked. Was unlucky to get a yellow card last Sunday for pulling on a ball that was was there to play.

Post by: Jinxy on May 28, 2011, 10:10:37 AM
Every time I watch Laois I have my fingers crossed somebody will close that Sheehan lads gob for him.
It'd be worth the red card.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 28, 2011, 10:51:11 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 28, 2011, 10:10:37 AM
Every time I watch Laois I have my fingers crossed somebody will close that Sheehan lads gob for him.
It'd be worth the red card.

Hopefully none of our lads are drawn in by his ape like antics ............................ I recall brian cullen put him in his place a few years back though  :)

Laois number 3 meaney, ive been impressed with him I have to say................... if  his natural position is midfield Id put him in there with quigley and even shove begley back into fb position, i think begley still thinks hes in aus land the way he strides around

The best advice I would give laois is to try and play football, and not start any physical battles with our lads, the myth of laois size is dead and buried imho as you have some bigger lads around the park than us, dont try and prove that on the day though. because goombeens like sheehan will get themselves sent off or battered  ;D

Dont try any tunnels antics either, should be a good game on the day, but I feel mcnultys very negatives tactics wont work on the day
Post by: The Aristocrat on May 28, 2011, 03:07:32 PM

Nothing would give me more pleasure in seeing the whining lemons go home crying, give Joe Duffy a call on the monday to give out no doubt.

Dubs by 2.
Post by: laoislad on May 28, 2011, 05:21:49 PM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on May 28, 2011, 03:07:32 PM

Nothing would give me more pleasure in seeing the whining lemons go home crying, give Joe Duffy a call on the monday to give out no doubt.

Dubs by 2.

You need to get a girlfriend...
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 28, 2011, 11:13:23 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 28, 2011, 05:21:49 PM

Dubs by 2.

says the messi lover...................... even messi wouldnt save ya come the 5th  ;)
Post by: Onlooker on May 30, 2011, 12:00:25 AM
i would say that Laois will be much better than they were against Longford, but Dublin will win this one.  I agree with those who see Sheehan as a liability for Laois.  I believe they would be much better off if the left out the Kerryman.
Post by: ross4life on May 30, 2011, 12:42:01 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 28, 2011, 11:13:23 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 28, 2011, 05:21:49 PM

Dubs by 2.

says the messi lover...................... even messi wouldnt save ya come the 5th  ;)

It's worse than that.....he's really a Liverpool loving Laois man living in Dublin.
Post by: Hardy on May 30, 2011, 12:43:08 AM
I've never known a GAA man to say "backside" before.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 30, 2011, 10:14:36 AM
what type of attendance are we looking at on the day......................... 50,000, flour power are sure to bring a few
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 30, 2011, 12:07:14 PM
QuoteThe best advice I would give laois is to try and play football, and not start any physical battles with our lads, the myth of laois size is dead and buried imho as you have some bigger lads around the park than us, dont try and prove that on the day though. because goombeens like sheehan will get themselves sent off or battered

Sorry but this Dublin team are the most least intimidating in recent memory, in fact I would say they are soft, where are all the Keith Barrs gone!!! They need a couple of tough bastards imho.
Post by: goal 10 on May 30, 2011, 01:56:06 PM
Here goes!! This is my opinion of the Laois team.

CULLETON- good shot stopper need's to get his kickouts on target.

HEALY- Good man to man marker, hope to see him on Bernard Brogan.

MEANEY - Still learning, playing at full back and getting better - could be the answer in the future at no 3

TIMMONS - Sound, but needs to get closer to his man.

STRONG - good going forward, but his first job is to defend.

JULIAN - Big surprise, steady & strong.

O'LEARY - Still needs to get stronger in the tackle, good man to mark Alan Brogan.

BEGLEY - If he is good enough for JUSTIN, that's good enough for me!!

QUIGLEY - [Where do I start) Disipline - Gets a card in every game - Looses the ball in contact - Forgets to pick up his man at times - Scores very little - But I still think he will come good some day.

CARROLL - Got a few nice scores, but disappointed with his work rate.

O'LAOUGLIN - Can't make this fellow out, but has huge potential.

DONOHER - Keeps trying, hard worker, worth a score or two.

MULLELLY - He has not scored in the last few games, he needs to get on the score board again.

SHEEHAN - Should be in the National Boxing Stadium, rather than Croke Park!!

TIERNEY - Can't win the 50-50 ball, can't get away from his marker.

CLANCY -   We need him back in midfield.

LILLIS - Very impressed with this Guy, worth a start against Dublin?

KINGSTON - Wish he was fit, We need him at fullforward.

BOYLE - Good Sub to come on.

So my team for Sunday against Dublin is

CULLETON
                         HEALEY - MEANEY - TIMMONS
                         STRONG - JULIAN - O'LEARY
                                   CLANCY - QUIGLEY
                         BEGLEY - O'LOUGHLIN - DONOHER
                         MULLELLY - KINGSTON - LILLIS

I don't expect to win, but I hope our boys put up a good performance, Win or Loose I am still a proud Laois man]
Post by: bennydorano on May 30, 2011, 02:16:12 PM
If Laois stifle BB what else is there to fear??  With McNulty there Laois will be hard to beat (and watch probably), it'll be a gameplan designed especially for the Dubs with the Longford game a distant memory.  If Laois have a bit of belief in themselves and dont shit the nest they can win.   
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 30, 2011, 08:43:30 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 30, 2011, 02:16:12 PM
If Laois stifle BB what else is there to fear??  With McNulty there Laois will be hard to beat (and watch probably), it'll be a gameplan designed especially for the Dubs with the Longford game a distant memory.  If Laois have a bit of belief in themselves and dont shit the nest they can win.

meh................ not sure we are a one trick pony, we have alan back to somewhere near his best, connolly is playing well, ogara even though hes not easy on the eye, will trouble any defense........... we have options outside of bernard
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 31, 2011, 12:09:19 AM
QuoteI don't expect to win, but I hope our boys put up a good performance, Win or Loose I am still a proud Laois man

Goal10- I'd be afraid we might be too loose around the full-back line but should we lose hopfully we'll go down with a fight and be gracious losers.

The contrast between the standard of football in the Laois-Longford game and the Armagh-Down game on Sat. night was stark - Laois need a vast improvement next Sunday. I've no doubt they'll give it their best shot but I'm not sure there is enough quality in the team / panel.
Post by: Coddler on May 31, 2011, 03:42:32 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 30, 2011, 12:07:14 PM
QuoteThe best advice I would give laois is to try and play football, and not start any physical battles with our lads, the myth of laois size is dead and buried imho as you have some bigger lads around the park than us, dont try and prove that on the day though. because goombeens like sheehan will get themselves sent off or battered

Sorry but this Dublin team are the most least intimidating in recent memory, in fact I would say they are soft, where are all the Keith Barrs gone!!! They need a couple of tough b**tards imho.

The Dubs were lacking a bit of hardness a couple of years ago but I think they have that fixed now. Phiily McMahon is well able to handle himself as Shields discovered in the tunnel during the league final. Ger Brennan is hardy enough and Bastic had an Armagh lad stretchered off with a ferocious but fair challenge in the league. O'Gara too is not the sort you would like to meet in a dark alley either.....
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 04:40:03 PM
I think both teams need to concentrate on playing football and not worry about whos the hardest, still though gobshite sheehan will defo try something on the day...............

This is going to be a lot closer than people think
Post by: haze on May 31, 2011, 04:44:00 PM
Quote from: Coddler on May 31, 2011, 03:42:32 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 30, 2011, 12:07:14 PM

Sorry but this Dublin team are the most least intimidating in recent memory, in fact I would say they are soft, where are all the Keith Barrs gone!!! They need a couple of tough b**tards imho.

The Dubs were lacking a bit of hardness a couple of years ago but I think they have that fixed now. Phiily McMahon is well able to handle himself as Shields discovered in the tunnel during the league final. Ger Brennan is hardy enough and Bastic had an Armagh lad stretchered off with a ferocious but fair challenge in the league. O'Gara too is not the sort you would like to meet in a dark alley either.....

Maybe but to be honest from an outsider looking in, I think Ger Brennan and Bastic should not make their first choice 15. They are for me the most likely players on that team to get sent off as well. Billy should target them!
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 04:50:05 PM
I rate ger brennan highly................ bastic and ger have hard hard sides to there game but gilroy has worked immeasurably to tone it down slightly, sheehan will be barking up the wrong tree here, btw sheehan is no hard man, hes a walking tool

Ger has accounted for geezer even, in dublin club football
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 31, 2011, 04:56:34 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 04:50:05 PM
I rate ger brennan highly................ bastic and ger have hard hard sides to there game but gilroy has worked immeasurably to tone it down slightly, sheehan will be barking up the wrong tree here, btw sheehan is no hard man, hes a walking tool

Ger Brennan is an accountant? Last I heard he was studying theology in Maynooth.
Post by: haze on May 31, 2011, 05:03:22 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 04:50:05 PM

Ah yeah Billy Sheehan is unbelievably annoying and thats before you take into account watching him play football but despite this his honesty off effort on the field is beyond question. His two points last week were the difference between success and defeat. And another point worth noting is that now 4 successive Laois managers (micko, kearns, dempsey and mcnulty) have considered him good enough to be worthy of a starting spot on team. Why i'm not so sure but they must see something!

Id like to know the backgroud of how Brennan accounted for McGeeney....

Question for dublin posters would Cian O'Sullivan or even Griffin be centre back if they were fully fit?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 05:07:12 PM
Cian would probably pull on the 6 jersey, but not griff, i think griif may even struggle to make the starting 15 this year

We have lots of defensive options, its midfield Im worried about, whelan has left a massive void there
Post by: Canalman on May 31, 2011, 05:21:08 PM
Can honestly see this one heading for extra time.

Probably will be sending offs and all, a very bitter/ nasty rivalry between the two counties has arisen in the last 10 years or so.
Major worry for me is O'Sullivan's inability to keep himself fit and O'Carroll's recent return only to training.
Post by: haze on May 31, 2011, 05:29:13 PM
Quote from: Canalman on May 31, 2011, 05:21:08 PM

Probably will be sending offs and all, a very bitter/ nasty rivalry between the two counties has arisen in the last 10 years or so.
Major worry for me is O'Sullivan's inability to keep himself fit and O'Carroll's recent return only to training.

Could be sendings off of course but wouldnt have thought the rivalry is nasty/bitter. Games in 2003 and 2005 were great games of football with no malice that i can remember. 2006 was just such a bad beating there was no need for any bitterness on either side. Maybe 2007 but in fairness that Dublin team didnt endear themselves to many outsiders with their carry on.

Maybe i am forgetting something though!
Post by: ross4life on May 31, 2011, 05:31:08 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 31, 2011, 04:42:23 PM
Laois by 3.
7-1 with PP if you fancy it.
Post by: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 05:32:08 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 05:07:12 PM
Cian would probably pull on the 6 jersey, but not griff, i think griif may even struggle to make the starting 15 this year

We have lots of defensive options, its midfield Im worried about, whelan has left a massive void there

Just bring him back then.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 05:33:34 PM
Quote from: haze on May 31, 2011, 05:29:13 PM
Quote from: Canalman on May 31, 2011, 05:21:08 PM

Could be sendings off of course but wouldnt have thought the rivalry is nasty/bitter. Games in 2003 and 2005 were great games of football with no malice that i can remember. 2006 was just such a bad beating there was no need for any bitterness on either side. Maybe 2007 but in fairness that Dublin team didnt endear themselves to many outsiders with their carry on.

Maybe i am forgetting something though
!

Bloody correct, I remember laois fans in 2003 with some fondness..................... unreal boil from them
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 05:34:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 05:32:08 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 05:07:12 PM

Just bring him back then.

Nope gone past it, end off
Post by: Hardy on May 31, 2011, 06:20:50 PM
Unreal boil ... end off - I'm understanding less and less of the world I live in and the things people say and what they might mean.
Post by: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 07:40:20 PM
LMAO!
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 01, 2011, 12:46:07 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 07:40:20 PM
LMAO!

Just googled the above -

LMAO - (Internet slang) Laughing my ass (arse) off; used to indicate great amusement, usually exaggerated, at something (usually from an online source eg discussion group, or instant message).

UNREAL BOIL
switzead:
I am getting anywhere between 23 and 30 percent evaporation rate during my boil.  I make 5.5 gallon batches in a 12 gallon pot, 17 inches in diameter.  I live in Corpus Christi TX, usually 85-95 degF and 85-95% humidity.  I boil in my garage with a small overhead ceiling fan on medium speed.  To me this seems to be too much evaporation but it has been this way for 3 years now.  Whats going on, any thoughts?

This means a Dublin win by 10+ points.
Post by: goal 10 on June 01, 2011, 01:17:31 AM
ARE THERE ANY LAOIS SUPPORTERS OUT THERE GOING TO MAKE ANY COMMENTS ON MY THREAD ON PAGE 2 ???

DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE.  [ after all i did put a lot of thought into it ]
Post by: Declan on June 01, 2011, 08:13:18 AM
QuoteUnreal boil ... end off
I'm presuming that should be bile!!

Anyway O'Carroll back at FB, McCarthy Wing back, Cahill at MF and the two Brogans up front:
Rory O'Carroll returns to the Dublin team after missing the entire National League for Sunday's Leinster SFC quarter-final against Laois in Croke Park (4.0).
The Kilmacud Crokes man spent the spring teaching in Orleans but has regained his place at full-back after returning to Dublin at the start of May.
Sunday's team shows three changes from the team which started the Allianz NFL Division 1 final loss to Cork. Paul Brogan, Denis Bastick and Tomás Quinn are the players to lose out with O'Carroll, James McCarthy and Alan Brogan all handed starting roles.

DUBLIN (SFC v Laois)
1. Stephen Cluxton
2. Philly McMahon               3. Rory O'Carroll               4. Mick Fitzsimons               
5. James McCarthy     6. Ger Brennan               7. Kevin Nolan               
8. Michael Darragh Macauley                 9. Barry Cahill
10. Paul Flynn             11.  Kevin McManamon       12. Bryan Cullen [capt]                 
13. Alan Brogan           14. Diarmuid Connolly         15. Bernard Brogan   

Looking forward to what should be a good days entertainment on Sunday

Post by: Hound on June 01, 2011, 08:53:05 AM
Quote from: Declan on June 01, 2011, 08:13:18 AM
DUBLIN (SFC v Laois)
1. Stephen Cluxton
2. Philly McMahon               3. Rory O'Carroll               4. Mick Fitzsimons               

Looking forward to what should be a good days entertainment on Sunday
Reasonably happy with that team.
Rory has been struggling by all accounts, as you'd expect given all the football he's missed this year. But he's our best full back and the only way to get him back into the swing is by playing games.

Mick Fitz hasnt been good this year, but I'm happy enough for Gilroy to give him a chance in Croker to see if he can regain his form of last year.

McCarthy at wing back is an interesting one. At intercounty level, I think that could be his position.

With McConnell not 100% fit yet, the midfield combo is our best one available.

I would have had Henry at 10 instead of Flynn. Flynn has got all the skills to make a top intercounty footballer, but isnt producing. Maybe its a case of one more chance.

Both Kev Mac and Al Brogan are better in the corner, but with one having to play at 11, I would definitely have gone with Brogan as the centre forward. Presumably they'll switch from time to time.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 01, 2011, 01:48:51 PM
would think thats close enough tto the best Dublin have.
biasedly would have Andrews in the corner ahead of A Brogan - as A brogan seems to play better now when coming on as sub.
Would have been a fan of McMenamons - but he has played v well this season so far and deserves his place.
Happy enough with Cahill at mf, but he could have easily move back to right half back in stead of McCarthy who isnt a wing player imo - though havent seen enough of him to say for def. Would have put Bastick on as he has been steady this past year or so.
Dont like Fitzsimons - imo the weak link in Dublins defence. Hubbard not up to it either.
Maybe Dublin could recall Paddy Christie - as meath did with GG !!
Still good enough to tank Laois by a good 10 points.
Post by: haze on June 01, 2011, 01:58:16 PM
Quote from: goal 10 on June 01, 2011, 01:17:31 AM
ARE THERE ANY LAOIS SUPPORTERS OUT THERE GOING TO MAKE ANY COMMENTS ON MY THREAD ON PAGE 2 ???

DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE.  [ after all i did put a lot of thought into it ]
Quote from: goal 10 on May 30, 2011, 01:56:06 PM
Here goes!! This is my opinion of the Laois team.
CULLETON- good shot stopper need's to get his kickouts on target. Agree

HEALY- Good man to man marker, hope to see him on Bernard Brogan. great heart- pity there is not more like him

MEANEY - Still learning, playing at full back and getting better - could be the answer in the future at no 3 big worry for me- slow to turn and conceded alot of possession to Kavanagh the last day. Better midfielder than defender

TIMMONS - Sound, but needs to get closer to his man. having his best year yet.

STRONG - good going forward, but his first job is to defend. 12 points in league campaign was impressive, dont think he has been troubled in defence either

JULIAN - Big surprise, steady & strong. biggest worry on team for me. Not sure he has the pace for McManamon, and think the system could be protecting him. Though in fairness he wasnt found out during the league, doing well for first year on panel

O'LEARY - Still needs to get stronger in the tackle, good man to mark Alan Brogan. wish they would stop playing him corner back and leave him at wing back. Some man to carry ball at pace. Think he will play a big one on Sunday

BEGLEY - If he is good enough for JUSTIN, that's good enough for me!! Not playing well

QUIGLEY - [Where do I start) Disipline - Gets a card in every game - Looses the ball in contact - Forgets to pick up his man at times - Scores very little - But I still think he will come good some day. Jesus you dont like him! eh can be frustrating but is a great fielder and good footballer. Just need some consistent displays from him

CARROLL - Got a few nice scores, but disappointed with his work rate. for his first championship game he played well

O'LAOUGLIN - Can't make this fellow out, but has huge potential. hard to find his best position but think he will give Ger Brennan plenty to think about on Sunday

DONOHER - Keeps trying, hard worker, worth a score or two. super fitness. Best player overall i've seen in last three games Laois have played

MULLELLY - He has not scored in the last few games, he needs to get on the score board again. agree with that

SHEEHAN - Should be in the National Boxing Stadium, rather than Croke Park!!

TIERNEY - Can't win the 50-50 ball, can't get away from his marker. probably is being carried for his frees

CLANCY -   We need him back in midfield.

LILLIS - Very impressed with this Guy, worth a start against Dublin? dont know enough about him but he is definitely not a corner forward

KINGSTON - Wish he was fit, We need him at fullforward. should start

BOYLE - Good Sub to come on.

So my team for Sunday against Dublin is

CULLETON
                         HEALEY - MEANEY - TIMMONS
                         STRONG - JULIAN - O'LEARY
                                   CLANCY - QUIGLEY
                         BEGLEY - O'LOUGHLIN - DONOHER
                         MULLELLY - KINGSTON - LILLIS

I don't expect to win, but I hope our boys put up a good performance, Win or Loose I am still a proud Laois man]
Post by: Coddler on June 01, 2011, 02:32:40 PM
DUBLIN (SFC v Laois)
1. Stephen Cluxton

Bernard will take the frees with the left boot but who is going to take the ones with the right now that Quinn is on the bench?
I'm guessing it will be Connolly. Anyone know more?
Post by: Hound on June 01, 2011, 02:52:51 PM
Quote from: Coddler on June 01, 2011, 02:32:40 PM
DUBLIN (SFC v Laois)
1. Stephen Cluxton

Bernard will take the frees with the left boot but who is going to take the ones with the right now that Quinn is on the bench?
I'm guessing it will be Connolly. Anyone know more?
Bernard will definitely take the right-footed frees (from the left hand side).
Connolly might take from the other side alright, much of a muchness between himself and BB in that regard.
Cluxton will be back on the 45s.
Post by: Coddler on June 01, 2011, 03:15:38 PM
You have me head spinning there now Hound. Went to scratch my ear with the left and blew the nose with the right instead. :)
Post by: Blowitupref on June 05, 2011, 04:04:46 PM
A bit of clash of colours?
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2011, 04:47:13 PM
Sleep inducing to say the least.
Laois totally inept and so off the pace.
Is this the result of Puke training?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 05, 2011, 05:25:50 PM
Shooting practice for the Dubs
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2011, 05:29:33 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 05, 2011, 05:25:50 PM
They're good at shooting when there's no pressure.

Some great saves by Culleton in the Laois goals .
It would have been some hammerin only for him.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 05, 2011, 05:43:45 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2011, 05:29:33 PM

So when has their shooting been poor then?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 05, 2011, 05:45:03 PM

Would agree with that! he was about the only laois player that played well.
Post by: INDIANA on June 05, 2011, 06:45:19 PM

Remind me to watch the Roscommon forwards shooting under pressure. Obviously the dublin lads are missing something ;D

Job done. Laois were atrocious and we did just enough to win. Forwards played quite well at times but midfield is a problem for us and could be our undoing.

Likely to be underdogs against Kildare which will lessen the hype.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 05, 2011, 06:54:13 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 05, 2011, 06:45:19 PM

Remind me to watch the Roscommon forwards shooting under pressure. Obviously the dublin lads are missing something ;D

Job done. Laois were atrocious and we did just enough to win. Forwards played quite well at times but midfield is a problem for us and could be our undoing.

Dublin will be favourites v kildare so the hype will continue however having seen both play today i'll be placing some cash on the Lillywhites.
Post by: INDIANA on June 05, 2011, 06:58:28 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 05, 2011, 06:54:13 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 05, 2011, 06:45:19 PM

Dublin will be favourites v kildare so the hype will continue however having seen both play today i'll be placing some cash on the Lillywhites.

I think Kildare to beat Dublin is a value bet. I'd get on that horse right away
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2011, 07:23:20 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 05, 2011, 05:43:45 PM

last 5 minutes v Cork on Easter Sunday e.g  ;)
Post by: NP 76 on June 05, 2011, 10:06:18 PM
How much was it into the double header today in croke park
Post by: Hound on June 06, 2011, 02:20:25 PM
Reasonably happy with the Dubs performance.

Nice to see the full forward line going well. Biggest positive for me was probably the form of Rory O'Carroll - had heard he'd been showing signs of rustiness since his return, but he did well on Sunday.

Laois won a fair amount more of primary possession and breaking ball in the middle third than us, so that has to be worrying. Good defensive play helped neutralise that, tho a bigger factor was simple wastage by Laois.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 06, 2011, 02:28:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2011, 07:23:20 PM

without O'Gara, Connolly, A Brogan, B Brogan, B Cullen etc....most counties would struggle without practically their full forward line
Post by: The Aristocrat on June 06, 2011, 03:20:53 PM
The Lemons were just shocking and the Dubs who were not much better won it in their sleep, also well done to the 200 Laois supporters who showed up.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 06, 2011, 10:53:30 PM
After seeing Laois v Longford and knowing if we were any use we would have won I knew that Laois had no hope. Dubs didn't break sweat and why should they? It was not champagne football and I think Gilroy would have told Dubs only go into fourth if necessary. Dubs have plenty to offer this summer. But Cork will take some beating. Dublin v Cork final, draw permitting!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 07, 2011, 12:35:26 PM
I thought Laois would show some more belly after the Longford game but there was negligible improvement. Healy had a good battle with Bernard Brogan, O'Leary showed some energy and the keeper was excellent. The only other contribution by a Laois player was from @Mjtierney13 with #disillusioned.

Dublin looked casual, they definitely had a few more gears if they needed them. Rory O'C steadied the FB line but I'd be worried about the corners if I was a Dub.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 07, 2011, 12:38:52 PM
Who was the Laoisman that refused to come on as a sub or is it just bullshit?
Post by: Dont Matter on June 07, 2011, 01:36:55 PM
It's true.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 03:23:14 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 06, 2011, 02:28:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2011, 07:23:20 PM

without O'Gara, Connolly, A Brogan, B Brogan, B Cullen etc....most counties would struggle without practically their full forward line
jeez man, if you are trying to win a point here regarding dubs not having men who kick wides, i'd not have cited OGara or Connolly as the first two men mentioned !!  :D