Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Norf Tyrone on May 23, 2011, 05:19:37 PM

Title: Ryan Giggs
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 23, 2011, 05:19:37 PM
At the request of the Man United fans who stated that this deserves a thread of own AND to ensure consistancy, I have opened up a new thread.

I see Giggsy Wiggsy has been named as the footballer who is taking Twitter to court.

I seriously hope it's not for the reasons that Twitter is suggesting. Giggs is the last bastion of honour and decency in the game, and if he is now also a 'sc**bag' (That's the classification he has to be put into as per Man United fans official interpretation), what do we do?

Personally I have hid all referances to soccer in the house and bought the wee fella a Cricket bat.

On another note is there an issue at Old Trafford where by they appear to have a higher degree of this than other clubs Rooney, Giggs, Tevez when he was there and then you've this...

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Manchester-United-fans-most-likely-to-have-an-affair-Liverpool-Arsenal-Chelsea-and-Tottenham-fans-also-feature-says-survey-article570243.html (http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Manchester-United-fans-most-likely-to-have-an-affair-Liverpool-Arsenal-Chelsea-and-Tottenham-fans-also-feature-says-survey-article570243.html)
Title: Re: Ryan Giggs
Post by: AQMP on May 23, 2011, 05:31:17 PM
Giggs (or his legal team) should have done a bit of research on this:

The Streisand Effect

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Streisand_effect
Post by: deiseach on May 23, 2011, 05:32:38 PM
Bit of an Onionesque headline on the Beeb:

(http://www.comeonthedeise.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Ryan-Giggs-BBC.jpg)

So an MP has identified that footballer as Ryan Giggs. Wow, well worth the licence fee! [/sarcasm]
Post by: ross4life on May 23, 2011, 05:41:23 PM
What a difference a year makes? this time last year you where gloating the double success & all you have now is this Giggs story to wind up any United fan that is silly enough to buy it?

BTW what United fans requested this thread?
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 23, 2011, 05:43:21 PM
Think we should start a campaign similar to Celtic fans, are you with me??

I AM RYAN GIGGS
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 23, 2011, 05:48:19 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 23, 2011, 05:41:23 PM
What a difference a year makes? this time last year you where gloating the double success & all you have now is this Giggs story to wind up any United fan that is silly enough to buy it?

BTW what United fans requested this thread?

Ross. That's a disgrace. This is more important than football.
Post by: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 05:51:13 PM
That its Ryan Giggs or whoever involved doesn't matter. This has wider implications for all of us. Football isn't as important as this.

http://www.youtube.com/user/RussiaToday#p/u/14/URFTI0uZ488

What are Irish privacy laws like?
Post by: AQMP on May 23, 2011, 05:51:27 PM
The Guardian reporting that Giggs is now trying to get an injunction to stop journalists contacting him.  Is there no end to his legal fees budget??
Post by: AQMP on May 23, 2011, 05:52:25 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 05:51:13 PM
That its Ryan Giggs or whoever involved doesn't matter. This has wider implications for all of us. Football isn't as important as this.

http://www.youtube.com/user/RussiaToday#p/u/14/URFTI0uZ488

What are Irish privacy laws like?

Banty trying to get an injunction as we speak ;)
Post by: Overthebar! on May 23, 2011, 06:21:06 PM
I couldn't care less what any premier league play gets up to. they shouldn't get married while they are still playing. this pic gave me a great laugh though, have a good look at the billboard...

http://twitpic.com/51k8cx
Post by: deiseach on May 23, 2011, 06:55:29 PM
An observation in passing: the bush telegraph was right. First time for everything
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2011, 07:25:06 PM
I don't usually follow this sort of nonsense in the media, but am I right in saying that this Thomas woman went to court last week (pictures of her on the news today looking all sad outside court) with the backing of the Scum newspaper so she could get the injunction lifted so she could tell the world, via the paper, that she shagged someone? I.e Giggs!

Her mother must be so proud!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2011, 07:59:15 PM
She's not doing it for the attention. She really loved him to, ;) after only three visits!!
Post by: deiseach on May 23, 2011, 08:13:19 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 23, 2011, 07:25:06 PM
I don't usually follow this sort of nonsense in the media . . .

We believe you. Thousands might not, but we do
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2011, 08:24:49 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 23, 2011, 08:13:19 PM

I love it really! I've got a scrap book full of newspaper clippings about every premier league player who has had an affair!
Post by: deiseach on May 23, 2011, 08:32:03 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 23, 2011, 08:24:49 PM
I love it really! I've got a scrap book full of newspaper clippings about every premier league player who has had an affair!

And the truth shall set you free! You're not Ryan Giggs, are you?
Post by: imtommygunn on May 23, 2011, 08:34:04 PM
It actually is a sad story. There's a wife and 2 kids behind him and I feel for them - it must be awful.

Imogen Thomas went for a married man and tried to then our him so you would also have to question her. Whether she had feelings for him or whether she was just trying to further her reputation I don't know.

Giggs was one of few footballers who you didn't think was "living the life" either. The whole injunction, super injunction, suing twitter etc makes him look very silly. Unless of course he is innocent...

Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on May 23, 2011, 08:46:54 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 23, 2011, 08:24:49 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 23, 2011, 08:13:19 PM

Just one scrapbook? ;D
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on May 23, 2011, 08:48:10 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 23, 2011, 05:32:38 PM
Bit of an Onionesque headline on the Beeb:

(http://www.comeonthedeise.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Ryan-Giggs-BBC.jpg)

So an MP has identified that footballer as Ryan Giggs. Wow, well worth the licence fee! [/sarcasm]
I don't believe it-bloody flights cancelled again as a result of a volcano going off in one of them Iceland stores
Post by: Capt Pat on May 23, 2011, 08:50:27 PM
He hasn't behaved as if he is innocent. Will he play angry now and score a hat trick against Barcelona?

He should stop paying lawyers for injunctions in relation to this matter and save the money for the divorce case and settlement. I suppose when you have that much money it is worth it to avoid handing half of his fortune to the wife.
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2011, 08:51:01 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 23, 2011, 08:34:04 PM
It actually is a sad story. There's a wife and 2 kids behind him and I feel for them - it must be awful.

Imogen Thomas went for a married man and tried to then our him so you would also have to question her. Whether she had feelings for him or whether she was just trying to further her reputation I don't know.

Giggs was one of few footballers who you didn't think was "living the life" either. The whole injunction, super injunction, suing twitter etc makes him look very silly. Unless of course he is innocent...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/apr/23/footballers-affairs-super-injunctions

I haven't played at a club which hasn't had a player caught out by his wife or girlfriend. Nor have I met a Wag – a term which, incidentally, nobody in football uses – who knows that the life she enjoys, which is provided by her husband, would be waiting for her elsewhere should she choose to leave him.

I know wives that have walked in on a player in full swing, gone shopping, come home and had his dinner on the table as if nothing had happened. And I know plenty of wives who simply cannot do without a designer wardrobe, two weeks in Dubai and half of Tiffany's every Christmas and birthday, and so turn a blind eye to promiscuous behaviour. This amicable agreement that dare not speak its name only becomes a problem when the media get hold of it.

The point is that if a player's wife needs her man to maintain a certain lifestyle, then the general rule of thumb is that things are brushed under the carpet as quickly as possible
Post by: Minder on May 23, 2011, 08:54:32 PM
Takes quite a bit of the shine off "19".

Disgraceful stuff, who is next? Scholesy? Mike Phelan?
Post by: deiseach on May 23, 2011, 08:56:25 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 23, 2011, 08:54:32 PM

Wishful thinking
Post by: deiseach on May 23, 2011, 08:58:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2011, 08:51:01 PM
The point is that if a player's wife needs her man to maintain a certain lifestyle, then the general rule of thumb is that things are brushed under the carpet as quickly as possible

(http://www.ipandora.net/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/epic_fail.jpg)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2011, 09:02:42 PM

Agreed, these tramps hang out at all the joints, pay hotel lads money on information on which teams are booked into hotels at the weekend for games. Hang out at the clubs where the footballers go. Giggs for his part was and probably not for the first time engaged in a fling (make no bones about it, that's all it was ) with a very good looking woman.

As for the injunction, his wife probably asked for it out of shear embarrassment and was given bad advice by the parasites that are called lawyers/publicist ;)

Look there is no way Gerrard or Fowler would ever have something about them Minder ;)
Post by: SHEEDY on May 23, 2011, 09:03:36 PM
imogen thomas is hoping to launch a successful singing career on the back of this publicity. the last few months shes been doing giggs in manchester. boom boom.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 23, 2011, 09:04:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2011, 08:51:01 PM

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/apr/23/footballers-affairs-super-injunctions

I haven't played at a club which hasn't had a player caught out by his wife or girlfriend. Nor have I met a Wag – a term which, incidentally, nobody in football uses – who knows that the life she enjoys, which is provided by her husband, would be waiting for her elsewhere should she choose to leave him.

I know wives that have walked in on a player in full swing, gone shopping, come home and had his dinner on the table as if nothing had happened. And I know plenty of wives who simply cannot do without a designer wardrobe, two weeks in Dubai and half of Tiffany's every Christmas and birthday, and so turn a blind eye to promiscuous behaviour. This amicable agreement that dare not speak its name only becomes a problem when the media get hold of it.

It became clear a few years ago that there aren't any moral boundaries to what a lot of these boys get up to. It kind of illustrates the wee bubble of a life these boys live in.

Anyone who follows a soccer team supports a team where a lot of the guys on it have no morals so it's not like any of us can chastise a particular team for the actions of these guys with the vast majority of them being the same.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 23, 2011, 09:06:05 PM
I don't usually follow this sort of nonsense in the media, but am I right in saying that this Thomas woman went to court last week (pictures of her on the news today looking all sad outside court) with the backing of the Scum newspaper so she could get the injunction lifted so she could tell the world, via the paper, that she shagged someone? I.e Giggs!

Well said i also find the whole thing pure nosense & her family,friends must think shes pathetic.

Quote from: Minder on May 23, 2011, 08:54:32 PM

Disgraceful stuff, who is next? Scholesy? Mike Phelan?

Very good  :D

Post by: Tony Baloney on May 23, 2011, 09:15:52 PM
Women know the score when the hitch up to a Premiership footballer so if anything Giggs is getting more grief due to the coverup than the actual affair. The affair comes with the territory and is in the main, pre-ordained for soccer players. I certaintly couldn't blame them, so I wouldn't get married.

Minder, must have found some free Internet access as he certainty wouldn't pay for roaming...
Post by: laoislad on May 23, 2011, 09:41:54 PM
(http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/2629/giggsimogen.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/197/giggsimogen.jpg/)

Post by: theskull1 on May 23, 2011, 09:42:18 PM
Premiership footballers, actors, tv stars, landed gentry etc etc want the best of two worlds. With honies throwing themselves at them steady, with the best will in the world all it takes is a moment of weakness and thats you. Easy done if you ask me.

If beautiful woman constantly gave the rest of us the same attention we'd be at the same thing. Lets not get too self righteous about it people.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2011, 09:47:44 PM
Glad you said it first!! Did you lads have women throwing themselves at you's during Dunloy's good years?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 23, 2011, 09:58:44 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2011, 09:47:44 PM
Glad you said it first!! Did you lads have women throwing themselves at you's during Dunloy's good years?

there is a big difference. Wayne Rooney is ugly but rich, at least he has one thing going for him. Dunloy hurlers..........well, work it out
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2011, 10:00:56 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 23, 2011, 09:58:44 PM

there is a big difference. Wayne Rooney is ugly but rich, at least he has one thing going for him. Dunloy hurlers..........well, work it out

Come on you, there's bound to be at least one :o
Post by: Cold tea on May 23, 2011, 10:34:12 PM

As proud as Giggs wife - the mans a tosser.
Post by: Cold tea on May 23, 2011, 10:36:41 PM

FFS a married man went for her, did she force herself on him.  ::)
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2011, 10:41:09 PM
I couldn't care less if one famous sc**bag shags another. The bit that is the most strange to me is that Imogen Thomas went to court to lift an injunction so she could tell a newspaper about it! To me that is the biggest scummy act !
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2011, 10:46:01 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on May 23, 2011, 10:36:41 PM

Was she that stupid not to know the man was married?? These women hang about these places looking for football stars, she'd already banged a few of them and was after some more, Classy
Post by: imtommygunn on May 23, 2011, 10:50:58 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 23, 2011, 10:41:09 PM
I couldn't care less if one famous sc**bag shags another. The bit that is the most strange to me is that Imogen Thomas went to court to lift an injunction so she could tell a newspaper about it! To me that is the biggest scummy act !

She's trying to boost a) her pocket and b) her media profile here.

Think how Jordan started out. One of the big things that boosted her career early on was Dwight Yorke being the sc**bag to her.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 23, 2011, 11:09:26 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 23, 2011, 10:50:58 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 23, 2011, 10:41:09 PM

She's trying to boost a) her pocket and b) her media profile here.

Think how Jordan started out. One of the big things that boosted her career early on was Dwight Yorke being the sc**bag to her.

Yes boost her pocket so she can increase her boob size even further.
Post by: theskull1 on May 23, 2011, 11:11:01 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 23, 2011, 09:58:44 PM

Listen to Bradley Pitt  :-*

These women know what they have. They are whores and nothing else. Difference is that they understand the business model of selling salicious stories to the media and the subsequent entry into Z list celebritydom. Men of course are the fools

Post by: Rav67 on May 24, 2011, 12:37:40 AM
In defence of Thomas (as she seems to be the one getting bashed on here) Giggs found out the Sun had got wind of the story and were going to run it, so he swiftly dumped here and his lawyers warned here in no uncertain terms about speaking out about the relationship.  As Giggs applied for the injunction, the media was prevented from releasing his name but NOT Imogen Thomas' name.

As a result, her name was already out there for having an affair with a married man but she was being warned not to mention his name on contempt of court.  She was the one who wasn't married, she had been unceremoniously dumped, her name was being dragged through the mud mainly as a result of Giggs' court application as it wouldn't have been a huge story otherwise, she was being threatened by her former lover and yet he couldn't be named.  Understandably she was pissed off, and retaliated by engaging the services of Max Clifford.

I'm sure she'll make a few pound of this alright but I don't think it's right to paint her as the villain of the piece.
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2011, 12:49:48 AM
Do not read this:

http://www.fleetstreetfox.com/2011/05/do-not-read-this.html?spref=tw (http://www.fleetstreetfox.com/2011/05/do-not-read-this.html?spref=tw)

(http://www.englishforum.ch/attachments/general-off-topic/10926d1260881648t-banned-words-father_dougal_careful_now_small.jpg)
Post by: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 07:40:10 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2011, 10:46:01 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on May 23, 2011, 10:36:41 PM

Was she that stupid not to know the man was married?? These women hang about these places looking for football stars, she'd already banged a few of them and was after some more, Classy

Was he that f**king stupid not to know HE was married, he could always of said no I am a married man - complete p***k.
Post by: new devil on May 24, 2011, 07:55:49 AM
Cold tea you seem to have a right hard on for Giggs...Whats up? You jealous? You wish you were Imogen?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 09:47:14 AM
Quote from: new devil on May 24, 2011, 07:55:49 AM
Cold tea you seem to have a right hard on for Giggs...Whats up? You jealous? You wish you were Imogen?

Cold tea is actually a woman who has been jilted by a GAA star
Post by: theskull1 on May 24, 2011, 09:49:11 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 07:40:10 AM
Was he that f**king stupid not to know HE was married, he could always of said no I am a married man - complete p***k.

So the societally developed institution of marriage will in ALL cases usurp the male instincts driven on by testosterone? The institutuion of marriage is an important one for societies to hold on and most people never get into situations where they are tempted, but the notion that ALL men are not going to be susceptible to moments of weakness is at best disingenuous. If beautiful women were throwing themselves at you on a continual basis, you might say no 100 times but at some point you too would become a complete p***k like Giggs. Yes he'll more than likely regret what he got himself into but thats testosterone for you. It doesn't do forward thinking
Post by: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 10:23:53 AM
She is a fine woman though.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 24, 2011, 10:29:42 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 10:23:53 AM

Perhaps. But she's the type that would sell the farm on you.
Post by: Mentalman on May 24, 2011, 10:31:58 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on May 24, 2011, 09:49:11 AM

So the societally developed institution of marriage will in ALL cases usurp the male instincts driven on by testosterone? The institutuion of marriage is an important one for societies to hold on and most people never get into situations where they are tempted, but the notion that ALL men are not going to be susceptible to moments of weakness is at best disingenuous. If beautiful women were throwing themselves at you on a continual basis, you might say no 100 times but at some point you too would become a complete p***k like Giggs. Yes he'll more than likely regret what he got himself into but thats testosterone for you. It doesn't do forward thinking

Shagging a bird once, or even shagging a couple of different birds once, that's testosterone. Carrying on a 6-9 month affair? That's daft.
Post by: johnneycool on May 24, 2011, 10:41:35 AM

In other words 'a standing c**k, knows no conscience'
Post by: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 10:43:05 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 24, 2011, 10:29:42 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 10:23:53 AM

Perhaps. But she's the type that would sell the farm on you.

Aye a bit of a ****.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 10:58:11 AM
Quote from: Mentalman on May 24, 2011, 10:31:58 AM

Shagging a bird once, or even shagging a couple of different birds once, that's testosterone. Carrying on a 6-9 month affair? That's daft.

Banging some tr**p 3 times is not a 6-9 month affair!!
Post by: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 10:59:00 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 10:58:11 AM

If she is a tr**p what does that make giggs?
Post by: ross matt on May 24, 2011, 11:02:05 AM
Picture of him with his kids on the Indo today. You'd have to feel sorry for his family. In fairness to Giggs its probably one of the few if only slip ups he's made in a long career. Gonna pay dearly for it though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 11:03:02 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 10:59:00 AM

A tr**p ALSO

But my point is that it's hardly an affair. Shagging some girl yes
Post by: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 11:04:21 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 11:03:02 AM

A tr**p ALSO

yes a  bad **** its him that married not her.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 11:05:27 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 11:04:21 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 11:03:02 AM

A tr**p ALSO

yes a  bad **** its him that married not her.

are you saying she's not a tr**p?
Post by: mrsandman on May 24, 2011, 11:08:43 AM
Why does everybody care so much about it, at least she wasnt seeing one of his club and country team mates!
I see it as a opputunity for all the united bashers to slag off a red legend, to be honest i couldnt care less if giggs cheats on his wife 100 times, as long as he keeps winning trophies for united and as long as he doesnt get stuck into his team mates WAGS ;D
Post by: Mentalman on May 24, 2011, 11:10:22 AM

Haven't followed it closely enough but when the super injunction news broke at first it was alleged they'd been meeting in hotels for 6 months? Anyway, irrespective it was daft, it wasn't just a one off hormonal slip, he went back for more, should have known better.
Post by: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 11:14:55 AM
Quote from: mrsandman on May 24, 2011, 11:08:43 AM
Why does everybody care so much about it, at least she wasnt seeing one of his club and country team mates!
I see it as a opputunity for all the united bashers to slag off a red legend, to be honest i couldnt care less if giggs cheats on his wife 100 times, as long as he keeps winning trophies for united and as long as he doesnt get stuck into his team mates WAGS ;D

Giggs' wife was previously engaged to his "best friend".  Shagging your best mate's missus?? Disgraceful ;)
Post by: Mentalman on May 24, 2011, 11:15:06 AM
Quote from: mrsandman on May 24, 2011, 11:08:43 AM

Not a United fan but recognise he's been one of the best players in the history of the Premiership, made all the more incredible by his longevity, absolute legend on the pitch. My interst was only peaked by the idea that he thought he could make it all go away to be honest, the only reason I contributed was I think he's been stupid all along, a one off slip, OK, a fling not clever, but then to compound his errors turn after turn? Very wrong headed, would love to know who is advising him, it could all have blown over by now.
Post by: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 11:17:18 AM
Quote from: ross matt on May 24, 2011, 11:02:05 AM
Picture of him with his kids on the Indo today. You'd have to feel sorry for his family. In fairness to Giggs its probably one of the few if only slip ups he's made in a long career. Gonna pay dearly for it though.

Giggs moved out of the family home for a short time in 2005 following an alleged affair.  I'd say by the weekend you might be revising your opinion.  The tabloids will probably make him pay dearly for trying to stop them selling more papers.
Post by: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 11:21:49 AM

He had an affair with her hardly a one off, its great listening to all the Man Ure fans blaming the woman!!  ::)
Post by: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 11:24:23 AM
Quote from: new devil on May 24, 2011, 07:55:49 AM

I'd say your Man Ure album has some stains all over it alright.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 24, 2011, 11:26:47 AM
Ryan Giggs what a career. Has been in 7 FA Cup finals, 5 league cup finals, 3 champions league finals and 1 Big Brother quarter finalist.
Post by: seafoid on May 24, 2011, 11:27:11 AM
Quote from: ross matt on May 24, 2011, 11:02:05 AM
He was badly advised by his lawyers
and the buidin foolish was a poor move.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 24, 2011, 11:28:48 AM
Got an idea for a new banner at Old Trafford....."Ryan Giggs, tearing his family apart since 2011."
Post by: maddog on May 24, 2011, 11:31:17 AM
As a Utd "fan" i couldn't honestly give a rats arse if he was shagging the groundsmans cat. What he does between the first and final whistle is what counts. Just more celebrity obsessed paper selling bullshit.
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 24, 2011, 11:34:24 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 24, 2011, 11:28:48 AM
Got an idea for a new banner at Old Trafford....."Ryan Giggs, tearing his family apart since 2011."

Or a clock counting the amount of affairs 'Giggsy' and 'Wazza' have had to date.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 24, 2011, 11:36:45 AM
It's amazing the amount of United fans who 'couldn't care less what Giggsy does'! If it was Terry or Gerard however and they'd be the moral guardians of us all!

Post by: Farrandeelin on May 24, 2011, 11:48:52 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 24, 2011, 11:36:45 AM
It's amazing the amount of United fans who 'couldn't care less what Giggsy does'! If it was Terry or Gerard however and they'd be the moral guardians of us all!

Well I couldn't give a rats arse what any soccer player in England gets up to. Happy now Norf eh?
Post by: maddog on May 24, 2011, 11:52:19 AM

And its amazing the amount of the ABU brigade are falling over themselves like schoolgirls to get in on the gossip. Gerard Giggs Terry - who gives a shite what they get up to.
Post by: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 11:55:19 AM
Their family I would say, and people they hang out to dry accusing them off all sorts including blackmail.  The issue though is how these tossers think they can buy their way out of anything.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 24, 2011, 11:58:28 AM
Just reading the judges report there - she seems like a right piece of work

http://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/QB/2011/1232.html

Giggs was stupid getting involved with her in the first place.
Post by: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 12:00:08 PM
Quote from: maddog on May 24, 2011, 11:52:19 AM

And its amazing the amount of the ABU brigade are falling over themselves like schoolgirls to get in on the gossip. Gerard Giggs Terry - who gives a shite what they get up to.

Some night out there!!
Post by: ballinaman on May 24, 2011, 12:09:31 PM
Quote from: maddog on May 24, 2011, 11:52:19 AM

They haven't much to crow about in terms of football so leave them at it....
Post by: Groucho on May 24, 2011, 01:19:55 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 24, 2011, 11:58:28 AM

She has proved to be a very dear roide!! :D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 01:54:14 PM
It now seems that the Claimant may well have been "set up" so that photographs could be taken of Ms Thomas going to one or other, or both, of the hotels. Although the position is not yet by any means clear, the evidence before me on 14 April appeared to suggest that Ms Thomas had arranged the hotel rendezvous in collaboration with photographers and/or journalists. He first began to "smell a rat" when she told him at the first April meeting, perhaps feigning innocence, that she had been followed and recognised when she visited the first hotel.

tr**p or not?
Post by: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 01:59:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 01:54:14 PM
It now seems that the Claimant may well have been "set up" so that photographs could be taken of Ms Thomas going to one or other, or both, of the hotels. Although the position is not yet by any means clear, the evidence before me on 14 April appeared to suggest that Ms Thomas had arranged the hotel rendezvous in collaboration with photographers and/or journalists. He first began to "smell a rat" when she told him at the first April meeting, perhaps feigning innocence, that she had been followed and recognised when she visited the first hotel.

tr**p or not?

I still would  ;D
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on May 24, 2011, 02:04:44 PM
Hateful bitch. How long could she do for blackmail?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 02:07:53 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 01:59:39 PM

tr**p or not?

Yeah all day long ;) but come on, she's running around (in a red dress :D :D) saying she's getting it tough FFS.

God knows how many footballers she's tried to sting. Men are thick no doubt about that, standing dcik and all that

I still would  ;D

Yeah all day long ;) but come on, she's running around (in a red dress :D :D) saying she's getting it tough FFS.

God knows how many footballers she's tried to sting. Men are thick no doubt about that, standing dcik and all that

(http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00816/Imogen-Thomas-682_816036a.jpg)

Post by: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 02:08:39 PM

tr**p or not?

Yeah, married man with two kids meets single woman in hotel for extra marital sex...he's a complete tr**p ;)
Post by: imtommygunn on May 24, 2011, 02:09:57 PM
What is the sequence of events here though?

Did the sun find out about this and then the injunction happened or did she go to the papers first?

At the end of the day there are 2 bad guys here - a lot of people seem quick to paint her as the bad guy. Takes 2 to tango and all that...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 02:11:05 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 02:08:39 PM

tr**p or not?

Yeah, married man with two kids meets single woman in hotel for extra marital sex...he's a complete tr**p ;)

Yes and i know he is a trap also, but he is staying at a hotel with the team on away games, she then phones The Sun  to turn up and get photo of her coming out of a room!!! tr**p or not?
Post by: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 02:13:54 PM
The "blackmail" allegation in some parts is that Ms Thomas requested anything from £50k to £100k not to kiss and tell.  Mr Giggs' legal costs (so far) are estimated at £200k.  I'd say maths wasn't Ryan's strong subject at school??
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 02:17:05 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 02:13:54 PM
The "blackmail" allegation in some parts is that Ms Thomas requested anything from £50k to £100k not to kiss and tell.  Mr Giggs' legal costs (so far) are estimated at £200k.  I'd say maths wasn't Ryan's strong subject at school??

Ethics/morals weren't either by the sound of it, but maybe he preferred to let someone else have the money, she still cant talk about it so is not making any money and coming across as a tr**p, who'd would like to blackmail people who are famous.

Whats the word for someone who gets money for sex.............
Post by: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 02:20:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 02:11:05 PM

tr**p or not?

Yes and i know he is a trap also, but he is staying at a hotel with the team on away games, she then phones The Sun  to turn up and get photo of her coming out of a room!!! tr**p or not?

Dunno if I'd go as far as to refer to her as a tr**p but agreed, not the sort of girl I'd like my son to marry. 

My references to Mr Giggs as a tr**p etc are purely tongue in cheek.  I really couldn't care less what he gets up to in his private life.  He has to deal with the fall out from betraying the trust of his wife.  I've often said that I wouldn't look to a professional footballer for moral guidance.  He also either received or accepted (or both) bad legal advice and I'm sure he'll pay a heavy financial price for that.  The attempt to sue Twitter was primary school stuff and only made a bad situation worse
Post by: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 02:21:29 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 02:17:05 PM

Ethics/morals weren't either by the sound of it, but maybe he preferred to let someone else have the money, she still cant talk about it so is not making any money and coming across as a tr**p, who'd would like to blackmail people who are famous.

Entrepreneur??
Post by: seafoid on May 24, 2011, 02:25:57 PM

From the link:

The Claimant is a married man with a family. It is well established, in such circumstances, that the court needs to take into account and have regard to the interests of the claimant's family members, and their rights under Article 8 of the European Convention on Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms

Privacy defined by judges should always be a last resort, says the FT. Giggs should have kept his trousers on and none of this would have happened. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 02:32:10 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 02:20:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 02:11:05 PM

tr**p or not?

Dunno if I'd go as far as to refer to her as a tr**p but agreed, not the sort of girl I'd like my son to marry. 

My references to Mr Giggs as a tr**p etc are purely tongue in cheek.  I really couldn't care less what he gets up to in his private life.  He has to deal with the fall out from betraying the trust of his wife.  I've often said that I wouldn't look to a professional footballer for moral guidance.  He also either received or accepted (or both) bad legal advice and I'm sure he'll pay a heavy financial price for that.  The attempt to sue Twitter was primary school stuff and only made a bad situation worse

So how would you label her? Naive?  Behave yourself. She's went into this with eyes (and legs ;)) wide open, they have no feelings for these guys at all (she only met him 3 times) it's purely for fame and attention.

Fair play she got what she wanted, but FFS don't come on here and think she is hard done by.

As for Giggs going to this route, he's not alone loads of people have done it and will continue to have these injunctions. He's loaded also so it wont make a wild bit a difference to his wallet.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 02:34:41 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 02:21:29 PM

Entrepreneur??

are we calling entrepreneur's Prostitutes now?
Post by: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 02:38:47 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 24, 2011, 02:25:57 PM

From the link:

The Claimant is a married man with a family. It is well established, in such circumstances, that the court needs to take into account and have regard to the interests of the claimant's family members, and their rights under Article 8 of the European Convention on Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms

Privacy defined by judges should always be a last resort, says the FT. Giggs should have kept his trousers on and none of this would have happened.

Justice Eady is . . . well, just read about his behaviour in the Richard Desmond libel case (http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2009/jul/24/richard-desmond-tom-bower-mr-justice-eady) to know more about the man
Post by: tommysmith on May 24, 2011, 02:43:01 PM
Have any of you seen her sex tape?
Post by: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 02:44:50 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 02:34:41 PM

Entrepreneur??

are we calling entrepreneurs Prostitutes now?

No we're calling prostitutes entrepreneurs. 

From reading your posts it seems that you heap 90% of the blame on Imogen Thomas for somehow entrapping Giggs.  She had appeared on Big Brother and posed for various male interest publications, so Giggs was already aware that she was a fame hungry wannabe, most likely seeking media exposure and the financial award that may bring.  If she propositioned him for what appeared to be casual sex why didn't he answer "I'm a happily married man with two young children, now feck off and behave yourself Imogen".  No affair, no injunction, no explaining to do to his wife and kids whom he brazenly paraded around Old Trafford on Sunday, playing the big happy family man.
Post by: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 02:46:50 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 24, 2011, 02:44:50 PM
No affair, no injunction, no explaining to do to his wife and kids whom he brazenly paraded around Old Trafford on Sunday, playing the big happy family man.

It was pretty stomach-churning watching the cheeky bastard prancing around Old Trafford as if everything was okay. But that's enough about Michael Owen
Post by: Mentalman on May 24, 2011, 02:50:04 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 02:46:50 PM
No affair, no injunction, no explaining to do to his wife and kids whom he brazenly paraded around Old Trafford on Sunday, playing the big happy family man.

It was pretty stomach-churning watching the cheeky b**tard prancing around Old Trafford as if everything was okay. But that's enough about Michael Owen

Deadly!  :D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 02:52:20 PM

Entrepreneur??

are we calling entrepreneurs Prostitutes now?

No we're calling prostitutes entrepreneurs. 

From reading your posts it seems that you heap 90% of the blame on Imogen Thomas for somehow entrapping Giggs.  She had appeared on Big Brother and posed for various male interest publications, so Giggs was already aware that she was a fame hungry wannabe, most likely seeking media exposure and the financial award that may bring.  If she propositioned him for what appeared to be casual sex why didn't he answer "I'm a happily married man with two young children, now feck off and behave yourself Imogen".  No affair, no injunction, no explaining to do to his wife and kids whom he brazenly paraded around Old Trafford on Sunday, playing the big happy family man.

Every post I've said he's a tr**p, haven't defended him at all.  in a lot of posts I've said his wife is the victim in this sorry affair. You yet to lay any blame at Imogen
Post by: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 02:58:26 PM
Did she force him into shagging her!!! He made his bed - let him lie in it.
Post by: theskull1 on May 24, 2011, 03:01:00 PM
(http://www.vizprints.com/lowres/47/main/1/148963.jpg)

Post by: Bogball XV on May 24, 2011, 03:01:23 PM

Entrepreneur??

are we calling entrepreneur's Prostitutes now?
well it beats calling every man who buys a filling station/pub/hotel and decides that it'd make a great location for 750 apartments an entrepreneur anyway.

Regarding all the blackmail allegations, we should note that the judge stated in his report that all such evidence was untested.  There's little to prove one way or the other that either party is telling the truth.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 03:15:27 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 02:58:26 PM
Did she force him into shagging her!!! He made his bed - let him lie in it.

yes ;)

(http://snarkerati.com/profile_pics/Imogen-Thomas.jpg)
Post by: theskull1 on May 24, 2011, 03:32:45 PM
Let him lie in it indeed  ;)
Post by: red hander on May 24, 2011, 04:29:22 PM
f**k him ... he got the super-injunction 'to protect his family' from the media outcry - if he'd kept it in his pants there wouldn't have been a problem in the first place.

The Giggs thing has been the worst kept secret for months, the other super-injunction involving a Premiership star is a lot more interesting...
Post by: laoislad on May 24, 2011, 05:01:28 PM

I agree Norf. I'm surprised and amused how quiet they all have been seeing as some were very vocal in their disgust of John Terry's affair.

Though in fairness I also find it strange you have yet to comment on the circus that is Chelsea FC with yet another manager getting the sack....
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 05:07:17 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 24, 2011, 05:01:28 PM

I agree Norf. I'm surprised and amused how quiet they all have been seeing as some were very vocal in their disgust of John Terry's affair.

Though in fairness I also find it strange you have yet to comment on the circus that is Chelsea FC with yet another manager getting the sack....

Have you read any of the posts or are you Norf's lap dog?

Two tramps one victim. As for Terry well he is a thug and a tr**p, I believe he has an injunction also, should be interesting
Post by: Blowitupref on May 24, 2011, 05:09:06 PM

So you decided to start this thread because someone dishonored your hero John Terry, christ almighty Norf.
Post by: laoislad on May 24, 2011, 05:11:03 PM
They say money can't buy you love. That's not true, it'll not only buy you love but also a super-injunction so no one finds out.
Post by: Overthebar! on May 24, 2011, 05:16:48 PM
Quote from: red hander on May 24, 2011, 04:29:22 PM
f**k him ... he got the super-injunction 'to protect his family' from the media outcry - if he'd kept it in his pants there wouldn't have been a problem in the first place.

The Giggs thing has been the worst kept secret for months, the other super-injunction involving a Premiership star is a lot more interesting...

Do share....
Post by: Boycey on May 24, 2011, 05:22:01 PM
To be honest the fatal flaw in Norfs moral crusade is that people in general will get it hard to hate Giggs with the same gusto that they would a Terry, Cashley, Rooney or Gerrard. 

Post by: Overthebar! on May 24, 2011, 05:35:53 PM
Sky Sources: Van of masked men attacks paparazzi outside Ryan Giggs' home in Greater Manchester.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 24, 2011, 05:44:46 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on May 24, 2011, 05:35:53 PM
Sky Sources: Van of masked men attacks paparazzi outside Ryan Giggs' home in Greater Manchester.

Rooney got the family over then I see ;D
Post by: Bingo on May 24, 2011, 05:57:04 PM
Whats with all the Gerard bashing......an innocent man.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 24, 2011, 06:04:47 PM

(http://i56.tinypic.com/30d9fnm.jpg)
Post by: screenexile on May 24, 2011, 06:11:54 PM
Quote from: Boycey on May 24, 2011, 05:22:01 PM
To be honest the fatal flaw in Norfs moral crusade is that people in general will get it hard to hate Giggs with the same gusto that they would a Terry, Cashley, Rooney or Gerrard.

I highly doubt that he played along with the 'role model' and 'personality of the year' nonsense while he was beefing away behind his wifes back. At least we all knew Terry, Gerrard, Rooney  and Cole were scumbags from the outset but Giggs' situation is much more sinister!!
Post by: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 06:17:07 PM
Quote from: Bingo on May 24, 2011, 05:57:04 PM
Whats with all the Gerard bashing......an innocent man.

(http://www.freeinfosociety.com/media/images/2141.jpg)

Steven Gerrard yesterday
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 06:18:19 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 24, 2011, 06:11:54 PM
Quote from: Boycey on May 24, 2011, 05:22:01 PM

I highly doubt that he played along with the 'role model' and 'personality of the year' nonsense while he was beefing away behind his wifes back. At least we all knew Terry, Gerrard, Rooney  and Cole were scumbags from the outset but Giggs' situation is much more sinister!!

Christ, he's not a rapist!!! He's a very naughty boy

(http://rlv.zcache.com/hes_not_the_messiah_hes_a_very_naughty_boy_tshirt-p235387551561316683qnjy_400.jpg)

Model supplied (not Imogen)
Post by: screenexile on May 24, 2011, 06:28:39 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 24, 2011, 06:04:47 PM

Feck I thought that was a joke . . . Man Ure supporters! The greatest fans in the world eh?

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/Ryan-Giggs-Paparazzi-Attacked-By-Van-Of-Masked-Men-Outside-Manchester-United-Players-Home/Article/201105415998803?lpos=Home_First_Home_Article_Teaser_Region_1&lid=ARTICLE_15998803_Ryan_Giggs%3A_Paparazzi_Attacked_By_Van_Of_Masked_Men_Outside_Manchester_United_Players_Home
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 06:33:47 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 24, 2011, 06:28:39 PM

Feck I thought that was a joke . . . Man Ure supporters! The greatest fans in the world eh?

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/Ryan-Giggs-Paparazzi-Attacked-By-Van-Of-Masked-Men-Outside-Manchester-United-Players-Home/Article/201105415998803?lpos=Home_First_Home_Article_Teaser_Region_1&lid=ARTICLE_15998803_Ryan_Giggs%3A_Paparazzi_Attacked_By_Van_Of_Masked_Men_Outside_Manchester_United_Players_Home

Nearly as bad as Liverpool fans

(http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/05_02/FansFight_468x325.jpg)

we could this all day ;)
Post by: screenexile on May 24, 2011, 06:46:12 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 06:33:47 PM

we could this all day ;)

I'm well aware of that but I hate all the "we have the best fans in the world" shite that most supporters trot out all the time. I would just like it noted that Man Ure are no better than the rest.

PS. I don't support Liverpool. Not even a big EPL fan.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 24, 2011, 06:50:49 PM

Though the picture is a joke (from the looking for eric film)
Post by: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 06:57:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 06:18:19 PM
(http://rlv.zcache.com/hes_not_the_messiah_hes_a_very_naughty_boy_tshirt-p235387551561316683qnjy_400.jpg)

Model supplied (not Imogen)

With a t-shirt? If she's that cheap, no wonder we can't see her face
Post by: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 07:04:30 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on May 24, 2011, 05:16:48 PM

Do share....

Another role model ...  ::)
Post by: ross4life on May 24, 2011, 07:18:21 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 24, 2011, 06:46:12 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2011, 06:33:47 PM

we could this all day ;)

I'm well aware of that but I hate all the "we have the best fans in the world" shite that most supporters trot out all the time. I would just like it noted that Man Ure are no better than the rest.

PS. I don't support Liverpool. Not even a big EPL fan.

Your a Blackburn fan that absolutely hates Man United so seeing United celebrate last week's title success on ewood park must have been a hard pill to swallow?
Post by: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 07:30:44 PM
*groan* Looks like the thread is heading down the whataboutery road. Ah well
Post by: Boycey on May 24, 2011, 07:42:37 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 07:30:44 PM

Down the whataboutery road? Its been that way from the first post ;D
Post by: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 07:49:28 PM
Quote from: Boycey on May 24, 2011, 07:42:37 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 07:30:44 PM

Down the whataboutery road? Its been that way from the first post ;D

Post by: Bogball XV on May 24, 2011, 08:11:20 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 07:04:30 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on May 24, 2011, 05:16:48 PM

Do share....

Another role model ...  ::)
surprisingly given the standards that are the norm amongst premiership footballers, I do need another clue ;D
Post by: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 08:16:53 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 24, 2011, 08:11:20 PM
surprisingly given the standards that are the norm amongst premiership footballers, I do need another clue ;D

Might be easier to say who doesn't cheat on their wife
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 24, 2011, 08:27:07 PM
The Times food critic tweeted a name along with Giggs in mid-May.
Post by: deiseach on May 24, 2011, 08:39:24 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 24, 2011, 08:27:07 PM

Giles bloody Coren. I find it impossible to take him seriously after I read him described as a 'hereditary journalist'. NB his father Alan was a journalist and his sister Victoria is a journalist
Post by: Bogball XV on May 24, 2011, 08:44:30 PM
think I found it, same carry on or something interesting?
Post by: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 10:37:47 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 24, 2011, 08:44:30 PM

You must be on your own to have found it.
Post by: laoislad on May 24, 2011, 10:45:52 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on May 24, 2011, 10:37:47 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 24, 2011, 08:44:30 PM

You must be on your own to have found it.

(http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4728/128999269621051605.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/405/128999269621051605.jpg/)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 24, 2011, 11:27:57 PM
For the record, I don't care what Ryan Giggs does, nor do I care what John Terry does, nor do I care what Chris Baird or any footballer does off the field.

There are some on here who saw fit to open threads on Gerard, Terry etc to give mock moral outrage on their behaviour and radiate the impression that Old Trafford is the home of fine citizens. The irony is that OT has been home to as many morally bankrupt individuals as other clubs. Look no farther than George Best. This isn't a dig at United. It's the reality of life. I didn't start this thread for any other reason but to get a laugh at the wriggling and the changes of morality among certain Mancs!

In life there are a lot of people who make bad choices, and a lot of people who choose to be bad.

I don't think Ryan Giggs is a sc**bag. Nor do I think John Terry (Important to add allegedly in Terry's case) is one either. I'd suggest they are both dicks who made bad choices. Choices that I and I am sure most others on here have made (However Imgoen Thomas has never been one of mine!) in various forms!

What'll happen now is that Giggs will get dogs abuse for the next x amount of years on and off the pitch and this perception of the ultimate 'family man' ruined. He'll get over it.

Thread now being locked so we can get back to the game this Saturday, and cheer on Messi and the boys!