Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Nally Stand on April 27, 2011, 10:27:28 AM

Title: TV3 is a ball of shite
Post by: Nally Stand on April 27, 2011, 10:27:28 AM
Over the next three days, TV3 is allocating 11hrs 30mins to the British royal wedding. On friday, their coverage of the wedding in the daytime is scheduled to be lengthier than BBC who will at least stop for news and weather. I suppose it makes a change though in that usually they just broadcast whatever ITV are broadcasting at any given moment in time so why not copy bbc for the day as a little change.
Title: Re: TV3 is a ball of shite
Post by: lurganblue on April 27, 2011, 10:32:33 AM
I always thought tv3 was itv owned or something like that? Dunno where I got that from. They do show a powerful amount of dung though.

I don't have sky sports though and so I am glad they show champions league football
Post by: ONeill on April 27, 2011, 11:01:41 AM
It's a TV station for readers of the Irish Star, Mirror or Sun.

On another note, what are yiz all wearing on Friday?
Post by: johnneycool on April 27, 2011, 11:09:17 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 27, 2011, 11:01:41 AM

On another note, what are yiz all wearing on Friday?

(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTliFKP7RCFk7c1-DkwbToRmOvBH0Hn5jiMORcjx_mBQjyZ9biqCg)

How about you?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2011, 11:12:23 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 27, 2011, 10:27:28 AM
Over the next three days, TV3 is allocating 11hrs 30mins to the British royal wedding. On friday, their coverage of the wedding in the daytime is scheduled to be lengthier than BBC who will at least stop for news and weather. I suppose it makes a change though in that usually they just broadcast whatever ITV are broadcasting at any given moment in time so why not copy bbc for the day as a little change.

Don't watch it, I'll be surprised it wont be bombed by the end of the week and its workers threaten for committing treason!!
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 27, 2011, 11:16:17 AM
Regarding the champions league soccer, I still find it hard to watch.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2011, 11:24:28 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 27, 2011, 11:16:17 AM

Its football, ya don't have to listen to them, turn it off and stick on five live
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 27, 2011, 11:25:45 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2011, 11:24:28 AM

Its football, ya don't have to listen to them, turn it off and stick on five live

I don't get that channel here at all at all! USed get it when we got sky illegaly, but not now. :(
Post by: imtommygunn on April 27, 2011, 11:27:33 AM
Awful channel independent of this.

People will watch it though and it's their job to put on programmes people will watch.

On the subject of the royal wedding I flicked it over to itv this morning and bleakley said "us brits" love a good wedding ::)
Post by: Antrim Coaster on April 27, 2011, 11:32:15 AM
Fukcin terrible excuse for a TV station. Brutal.

Trevor Welch has to be the worst commentator EVER.

He commentated on one or two GAA matches and was a complete t*t.

Wouldnt be like them to devote hours on end to the German wedding as they are a West Brit partitionist, sorry excuse for a television station.
Post by: Minder on April 27, 2011, 11:34:10 AM
This fella is up for it well.
(http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/multimedia/archive/00144/news-wedding_teabag_144897c.jpg)
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 27, 2011, 11:43:45 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2011, 11:24:28 AM

have to say, always wanted to try this, but never did.  Has anyone?
Would there not be like a half second difference in the pictures and the radio, thus spoiling things a bit??
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2011, 11:46:37 AM
works sometimes, but always works at Croke Park, i always bring the radio and listen to the commentary while watching the game and its never been a problem
Post by: Bingo on April 27, 2011, 11:59:22 AM
Now I'll not be watching it and will try my best to avoid it but you can be sure that it will actually attract a reasonable audience. It will be housewives heaven, the women hear at work are talking about it this last couple of days. TV3 are just trying to corner themselves a bit of the market.

On the whole TV3 is a cheap version of all the UK stations though - in terms of presenters and the same content.
Post by: ziggysego on April 27, 2011, 12:05:35 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2011, 11:46:37 AM
works sometimes, but always works at Croke Park, i always bring the radio and listen to the commentary while watching the game and its never been a problem

It's the picture that is delayed, not the radio transmission. Radio will also work live at the match.

As for TV3, Royal Wedding or not, it's always been a shite channel. Very few programmes of quality on it.
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 27, 2011, 12:33:40 PM
Quote from: Antrim Coaster on April 27, 2011, 11:32:15 AM
Fukcin terrible excuse for a TV station. Brutal.
Trevor Welch has to be the worst commentator EVER.
He commentated on one or two GAA matches and was a complete t*t.
Wouldnt be like them to devote hours on end to the German wedding as they are a West Brit partitionist, sorry excuse for a television station.
plenty of people (housewives and little girls) will want to watch this wedding so while its nothing I'm interested in, it will do no harm.

anyhow - as you have mentioned trevor welch
I watched a bit of that shalke v man utd game last night and immediately turned over when I heard welch describing some man utd player as 'a top top player'
WTF is that - I think that the race to the bottom has well and truely begun. What kind of description is 'top top'. If his target audience was a nursery school i'd understand it.
However he is an example of how 'text speak' and idiot language is getting into mainstream language and fecking destroying it.
We are soon going to turn into that 'country' in that film 'idiocracy'.
feck sake.
Post by: ross4life on April 27, 2011, 02:31:32 PM

Kirsteen O'Sullivan is easy on the eye.

(http://www.joe.ie/uploads/story/9859/kirsth1.jpg)
Post by: thejuice on April 27, 2011, 03:20:36 PM
Living in England as I do, I haven't met many who give a shite about the wedding. It seems like the Tories want them all out on the street with their cup-cakes and hats but the people just aren't that interested.

Most of my colleagues seem to be in the "I'll do anything but watch the wedding" camp. The conversation usually then turns to "I wish we could get rid of them, waste of taxes etc...etc."

Our office was even given a free Union Jack to hang up but the "Made In Taiwan" label on it was lamented before it was thrown it behind the stationary cupboard.
Post by: armaghniac on April 27, 2011, 04:23:50 PM
QuoteOur office was even given a free Union Jack to hang up but the "Made In Taiwan" label on it was lamented before it was thrown it behind the stationary cupboard.

Juice, hang on to the flag, it might be useful when you get a nice house in Stoneyford, handy for Aldergrove airport.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 27, 2011, 04:30:05 PM
On Monday every break they were advertising the Royal Wedding and some other shite program looking into it. They then screened "The wind that shakes the barley"which they had been advertising recently to the music of Zombie by the Cranberries (which I believe was the cranberries baby infants version of penning an anti war song or something)

Irony is obviously lost on TV3.
Post by: laoislad on April 27, 2011, 04:35:22 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 27, 2011, 02:31:32 PM

Kirsteen O'Sullivan is easy on the eye.

(http://www.joe.ie/uploads/story/9859/kirsth1.jpg)

She is deadly
Post by: thejuice on April 27, 2011, 04:49:40 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 27, 2011, 04:23:50 PM
QuoteOur office was even given a free Union Jack to hang up but the "Made In Taiwan" label on it was lamented before it was thrown it behind the stationary cupboard.

Juice, hang on to the flag, it might be useful when you get a nice house in Stoneyford, handy for Aldergrove airport.

:D I was waiting for someone to recommend Stoneyford to me in that thread.

I think I'd need the runway in my back garden if I was to live there.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2011, 04:54:14 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 27, 2011, 04:49:40 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 27, 2011, 04:23:50 PM

:D I was waiting for someone to recommend Stoneyford to me in that thread.

I think I'd need the runway in my back garden if I was to live there.

Shit hole, like Crumlin and Glenavy
Post by: lawnseed on April 27, 2011, 09:35:11 PM
the bbc is also shite at least tv3 is free shite bbc cost 130 /year
Post by: Tonto on April 27, 2011, 11:43:38 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 27, 2011, 11:27:33 AM
Awful channel independent of this.

People will watch it though and it's their job to put on programmes people will watch.

On the subject of the royal wedding I flicked it over to itv this morning and bleakley said "us brits" love a good wedding ::)
She not entitled to her nationality?
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 28, 2011, 09:15:29 AM
Quote from: thejuice on April 27, 2011, 03:20:36 PM
Living in England as I do, I haven't met many who give a shite about the wedding. It seems like the Tories want them all out on the street with their cup-cakes and hats but the people just aren't that interested.
Most of my colleagues seem to be in the "I'll do anything but watch the wedding" camp. The conversation usually then turns to "I wish we could get rid of them, waste of taxes etc...etc."
Our office was even given a free Union Jack to hang up but the "Made In Taiwan" label on it was lamented before it was thrown it behind the stationary cupboard.
was wondering if this was still the same over there....
From the media and from reports here in Ireland, it would seem that the whole of England is mad about the royal wedding and indeed the royal family.
The England and English I knew used to despise the royal family (and their waste of tax payers money - according to most people commenting in various areas of England) or at best not care about them. I think they are prob more popular in the north of Ireland and even down here than they are in England !!

as for christine beakey , well she would consider herself to be a 'brit' but like all presenters that head over to England from here - the English see us all (unionist and nationalists, northerners and southeners) as 'Paddy's'.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 28, 2011, 10:20:15 AM
I was over there yesterday, and in fairness there is a good bit of bunting and souvenir tat on the go. I was in Surrey though, and I think the northern counties are more ambiguous at best about the royals.

It does make me a bit ill to hear all the publicity about 'The Royal Wedding' (they're not our royals) on Irish media. Fair enough some people will watch it and genuinely be interested in it, but the media (print and some broadcast media) seem to be hijacking it as if it were an event related to Ireland. It's not. Feck off with your 'Royal Wedding Mania'.

Jaysus.
Post by: Main Street on April 28, 2011, 11:38:25 AM
It will all end in acrimony.

(http://c.photoshelter.com/img-get/I0000Tw1ZyH8N770/s/500/I0000Tw1ZyH8N770.jpg)

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 28, 2011, 12:21:57 PM
Used to work with Geraldine Lynagh; think she'll be doing sum/ a fair bit of the commentating tomorrow for tv3, mite tip in a while, see how she gets on;

anyone know her? nice girl;

apart from that i think its all a pile of horse manure, just wish i could get this through to wifey and the little sis >:(
Post by: thejuice on April 28, 2011, 08:39:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 28, 2011, 10:20:15 AM
I was over there yesterday, and in fairness there is a good bit of bunting and souvenir tat on the go. I was in Surrey though, and I think the northern counties are more ambiguous at best about the royals.

the shops are all full of flags and all that, councils and some businesses are hanging flags but when most of the English folks I speak to aren't interested and find the coverage a bit overkill at this stage.

That said English Republicans don't get much mention but I suppose they could use these things to get more attention and if the alternative vote is passed parties like them might stand a better chance.
Post by: paco on April 28, 2011, 08:39:47 PM
Not really sure where to put this, but anyway...is tomorrow a public holiday? Anyone know if the postmen are working?
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2011, 08:56:56 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 27, 2011, 03:20:36 PM

Same here, I don't know anyone who cares about them or the wedding, just glad to have a day off. 
Haven't seen any bunting or flags for sale anywhere here. There's an odd flag up in some businesses and I've seen a couple of houses with them but we're talking about 10 in total!

Yes Paco, it's a bank holiday and the postmen won't be working.

On a side note my bin hasn't been collected for two weeks and I'm guessing it won't be collected for another week  >:(
Post by: armaghniac on April 28, 2011, 09:01:22 PM
(http://www.irishtimes.com/focus/images/2011/0427/01.jpg)
Post by: thejuice on April 28, 2011, 09:25:55 PM
By the way, guess which famous couple celebrate their 66th wedding anniversary tomorrow?
Post by: ross matt on April 28, 2011, 11:18:49 PM
Karen Koster. Expose presenter on TV3. She was on Foleys Today FM show yesterday talking about her upcoming reporting gig of the Windsor wedding.

Affected, shallow and fake. Talking about security checking out all her "deets" as she headed to "Buck Pal". A very poor result of the educational system in this country if she is the product of 3rd level journalism/broadcasting qualifications or whatever.
Post by: thebigfella on April 29, 2011, 01:32:50 AM
Quote from: ross matt on April 28, 2011, 11:18:49 PM
Karen Koster. Expose presenter on TV3. She was on Foleys Today FM show yesterday talking about her upcoming reporting gig of the Windsor wedding.

Affected, shallow and fake. Talking about security checking out all her "deets" as she headed to "Buck Pal". A very poor result of the educational system in this country if she is the product of 3rd level journalism/broadcasting qualifications or whatever.

Jesus christ listen to yourself ::)
Post by: Bingo on April 29, 2011, 07:16:19 AM
Rte got in spirit last night showing The Patriot with Mel Gibson killing the Brits, here's hoping they follow it tonight with Braveheart!
Post by: ross matt on April 29, 2011, 07:47:16 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on April 29, 2011, 01:32:50 AM
Quote from: ross matt on April 28, 2011, 11:18:49 PM

Jesus christ listen to yourself ::)

I'll plead irony!

Post by: sammymaguire on April 29, 2011, 08:38:02 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on April 28, 2011, 10:15:10 PM
Adolf Butler and Eva Braun

Adolf Butler? Was he the mad Cork man??
Post by: johnneycool on April 29, 2011, 08:47:36 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on April 29, 2011, 08:38:02 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on April 28, 2011, 10:15:10 PM
Adolf Butler and Eva Braun

Adolf Butler? Was he the mad Cork man??

Yeah, he played top of the right in the 1966 AI hurling final.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 29, 2011, 10:00:33 AM
Peter Robinson wayed in. Iris was not with him!! Big surprise......
Post by: johnneycool on April 29, 2011, 10:19:23 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 29, 2011, 10:00:33 AM
Peter Robinson wayed in. Iris was not with him!! Big surprise......

Has Wee Marty not arrived yet?
Post by: seafoid on December 21, 2011, 10:32:10 PM
It's bad

http://www.tv3.ie/ireland_am.php?video=43636&locID=1.65.74

A lot of people don't like their arms