GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Real1995 on April 03, 2011, 11:07:41 PM

Title: Corcaigh v Ard Mhacha
Post by: Real1995 on April 03, 2011, 11:07:41 PM
My first thought in regard to this fixture is fear.  After today's display against Galway you can not help but fear a hiding.  Cork will certainly be out all guns a blazing to secure their place in the league final.

After today's game there were a number of supporters disapointed with how our management reacted both to team selection initially and to tactical awareness during the match and how certain players were not switched off their markers for 70 mins is beyond me. 

You are always going to get different opinions from supporters about who should play and who shouldn't. But what worries me most is the shape of the team, or lack of shape, and the system being used.  Many supporters called for an end to the sweeper system after Kerry, today we did not use the sweeper system and you can see what happened, we were exposed defensively. On a positive note I feel that the only player that has developed through the league is Dyas and I feel that he is pushing hard for a championship start.  The team I would play against cork would be;

1. Hearty
2. Mallon
3. Donaghy
4. McKeever (He is a man marker, no doubt)
5. Ak
6.Dyas
7. Duffy
8. Toner
9. Lavery
10. Mackin
11. Stephen Kernan (Call him into the panel asap)
12. Tony Kernan
13. J Clarke
14. McDonnell
15.Vernon   (3rd Mid fielder - today he played at times at wing forward and he kept forgetting tp mark his man from their kickouts)
Title: Re: Corcaigh v Ard Mhacha
Post by: mountainboii on April 03, 2011, 11:19:13 PM
Cork by double figures.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 04, 2011, 12:06:10 AM
I think we have to have Ciaran at 6, he adds some backbone to the centre of the team, that half back line you name is too lightweight in my opinion though I agree that Dyas has been one of the few positives from the campaign. I'm now of the view that Charlie has to be played at midfield, he looks lost anywhere else. Young McKenna couldn't do much worse than the lads on show today.
Post by: David McKeown on April 04, 2011, 01:02:24 AM
We tried the tactic of four midfielders playing today and it simply didnt work so I pray to god we dont use it again next week, probably will mind given the quality of our management.

I genuinely fear for this game as I cant see anything other than a heavy defeat but like TAC I think we still need McKeever at 6 as at the minute hes one of the few players still playing anywhere near the level he can play at.

Post by: marym on April 04, 2011, 08:11:21 AM
Cork were missing loads yesterday and if the the under 21 s win next Wednesday , then it will be the same for next Sunday. Kelly Kissane Donnacha O Connor all injured. Colm o Neill gone for the year.
Post by: Orior on April 04, 2011, 09:45:45 AM
Pick the worst team you can think of, and that's what POR will play. The worst Armagh team to play Cork will be:

McEvoy
Martin, Toner, Shannon
BJP, Vernon, AK
Lavery, McKenna
Mackin, Watters, Hanratty
MOR, Swift, Mallon

However they wont get tanked - Armagh rarely does. Cork to win by 5 points.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 10:34:29 AM
Hope you win.

Backs to the wall and everything to fight for I think you will have a chance

good luck
Post by: Kerry Mike on April 04, 2011, 10:48:41 AM
C'mon Armagh. An Armagh win or even a draw would do nicely, but we still have to beat Down though which is no easy task
Post by: naka on April 04, 2011, 10:51:40 AM
can see whole changes to armagh team as POR must realise natives not happy,
hearty will take over in goals,
finnian should step down to give mc keown a chance to see what he`s like at this level
vernon and toner  to go back into midfield as a pairing
can see duffy dropped for AK although i would play him in the corner and let him roam where ever he wants to
whilst mackin actually did ok yesterday mc kenna  has to be tried as a wing half forward
TK has to be tried as a wing half forward
in any event think we will be well beaten as have written off this year( i wonder is grimley rueing the day he turned us down)

Post by: Orior on April 04, 2011, 11:18:29 AM
Making wholesale changes is fine, but the changes you've suggested Naka is madness.

On the positive side, there were periods when our play on Sunday was sublime. Lets not throw... baby... bathwater... etc
Post by: Stevie Nicks on April 04, 2011, 11:22:13 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 10:34:29 AM
Hope you win.

Backs to the wall and everything to fight for I think you will have a chance

good luck

Paul make up your mind!! On this thread wishing Armagh well and on Dublin Down thread asking Dublin to use to ensure Armagh get defeated??????
Post by: Stevie Nicks on April 04, 2011, 11:26:42 AM
Sorry meant to say relegate Armagh

Now football - I think it may be time to start a Kerry vs Down thread and move over there. Before I go a message to Dublin fans. Just in case Armagh do lose to Cork, we will forgive you Saturday night's defeat of us if you would do us a favour and lose to Galway, thus relegating Armagh. Go on lads you've nothing to play for anyway!!!

Quote on Dublin Down thread maybe someone was using your account or you can't make up your mind.

Post by: naka on April 04, 2011, 11:42:34 AM
Quote from: Orior on April 04, 2011, 11:18:29 AM

On the positive side, there were periods when our play on Sunday was sublime. Lets not throw... baby... bathwater... etc
look at what we conceded against an average galway side, everytime they went forward they looked like scoring, we have no direction at present in attack, whilst there were decent periods we have lost 4 out of six( with 3 of the 4 defeats at home), i think we need wholesale changes.
galway were content to play joyce as soon as he made himself available yet we leave the cross boys on the bench
Post by: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 11:45:36 AM
Quote from: Stevie Nicks on April 04, 2011, 11:26:42 AM
Sorry meant to say relegate Armagh

Now football - I think it may be time to start a Kerry vs Down thread and move over there. Before I go a message to Dublin fans. Just in case Armagh do lose to Cork, we will forgive you Saturday night's defeat of us if you would do us a favour and lose to Galway, thus relegating Armagh. Go on lads you've nothing to play for anyway!!!

Quote on Dublin Down thread maybe someone was using your account or you can't make up your mind.

No inconsistency. I hope you win so that we have a chance of getting to the league final. I hope Dublin lose so that if you don't win you go down. Armagh fans would love to see Down relegated it is the nature of rivalry, so I don't see that as a big deal. My preference would be Down and Armagh both winning so we reach the final. I am consistent but also selfish. I'm not going to apologise for being selfish, sport should be selfish, I want what is best for Down and right now that is an Armagh victory over Cork. I will freely admit I only want Armagh to win so we have a chance at getting to the final. So yeah, Good luck and I do hope you win
Post by: mackers on April 04, 2011, 12:07:01 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 11:45:36 AM
I am consistent but also selfish.
You also post an awful load of sh1te that even your fellow Down posters are pulling you up on. Do us a favour and stick to the Down threads.
Post by: Stevie Nicks on April 04, 2011, 12:13:38 PM
Glad you have now qualified your best wishes for Armagh, we will do our best ;)
Post by: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 12:45:59 PM
Quote from: mackers on April 04, 2011, 12:07:01 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 11:45:36 AM
I am consistent but also selfish.
You also post an awful load of sh1te that even your fellow Down posters are pulling you up on. Do us a favour and stick to the Down threads.

What is sh1te about what I said? I hope Armagh win so we have the chance of a league final spot if we pull off a miraculous result in the Kingdom. How is that talking sh1te?

And what was I pulled up on by a Down poster? The fact that I said Paddy O'Rourke is not good enough???? I think most Armagh fans would agree with that.

Is it sh1te to say most Armagh fans would like to see Down relegated?
Post by: naka on April 04, 2011, 12:55:31 PM
to be fair  Pauld123 most armagh people dont really care about down/tyrone until we play them,
we have bigger worries at present with the way our own team are playing to be thinking about either
Post by: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 01:04:28 PM
Good enough Naka, anyway didn't mean to start any slagging. Stevie dragged up that I said somewhere totally different that I hoped Galway win. I do hope Armagh win and it is my preferred option.

I am not a hypocrite and will admit that I view Armagh with rivalry. However that doesn't mean that I can't appreciate the discomfort you feel with your team's performances right now. I've spent about 15 years feeling the same.

As far as the subject of this thread goes, I am very surprised you lost. I consider Armagh to be a better team than yesterday's result. I expect that the team will want to prove that they are better than that and will be determined to give Cork a good rattle. Anyway providing I am not insulted again I have no more to say on this thread. So I will leave you to it.
Post by: mackers on April 04, 2011, 01:58:30 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 01:04:28 PM
Anyway providing I am not insulted again I have no more to say on this thread. So I will leave you to it.
Thank you.
Post by: Joxer on April 04, 2011, 06:17:17 PM
Armagh game live on TG4 on Sunday!
Post by: tevez on April 04, 2011, 09:08:12 PM
Did any of yous read the Examiner this evening? Basically says our line doesnt have a clue! Someone on this board has to be on the County Board. Is there nothing that can be done to end this farce! It is completely destroyin this group of players! Would ask any county board members to ask themselves why are they on the County Board? Is it not for the benefit and further development of Armagh football! If so will yous please start to listen to the people of Armagh who loyally come and support our teams and get rid of these jokers! Do it for the sake of Armagh football!!!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 04, 2011, 09:12:36 PM
Yes, someone please think of the children
Post by: naka on April 04, 2011, 09:50:12 PM
democrat also attacking decisions on the line BY MANAGMENT
oisin had a wee pop as did steve malone giving the match report
Post by: tevez on April 05, 2011, 08:44:46 PM
So do no County Board Delegates have the decency to come on here and explain to us why we have this shambles of a mangement in charge?
Post by: bennydorano on April 05, 2011, 08:46:07 PM
Wise up u tit.
Post by: you take er! on April 05, 2011, 09:46:27 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on April 05, 2011, 08:46:07 PM
Wise up u tit.
;D I can see it now... county board meeting 'right lads 3 of you check 'orchard county' 3 check 'GAA Board' and the rest get on Hoganstand remember to reply to anyone who questions the team board or management'
Post by: whitegoodman on April 05, 2011, 11:13:59 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on April 05, 2011, 08:46:07 PM
Wise up u tit.
Post by: Agent Orange on April 05, 2011, 11:17:12 PM
Quote from: tevez on April 05, 2011, 08:44:46 PM
So do no County Board Delegates have the decency to come on here and explain to us why we have this shambles of a mangement in charge?

Why don't you approach a CB delegate and voice your concerns instead of whinging on the net.
Post by: illdecide on April 08, 2011, 02:46:24 PM
I think Armagh's gonna get a real beating here on Sunday lads...hope i'm wrong. Thats a v strong Cork team named
Post by: Orior on April 08, 2011, 02:55:49 PM
I can also see the scoring average being easily overturned.
Post by: mackers on April 08, 2011, 03:24:44 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 08, 2011, 02:46:24 PM
I think Armagh's gonna get a real beating here on Sunday lads...hope i'm wrong. Thats a v strong Cork team named
Very strong.......after a couple of bad performances I'd say they'll be out to prove a point. Bad news for us. No word of the Armagh team yet. The IN article during the week didn't read too well either with POR admitting that they had been errors in concentrating on the forward play after the Kerry game and neglecting the defensive set up. He basically admitted that he should have played more Cross players against Galway also...........really confirms what we already knew.

I'd imagine Paul McKeown will get a run out on Sunday but his lack of height will be a problem against a very big Cork attack. Hopefully we'll get a chance to look at David McKenna also. My team, for what it is worth........

Hearty

A Mallon                 Donaghy           P McKeown
K Dyas                   McKeever          AK

Toner               Vernon

Mackin                  Nippy                D McKenna
J Clarke                 S McDonnell       G McParland

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 08, 2011, 06:32:37 PM
Quote from: mackers on April 08, 2011, 03:24:44 PM
Very strong.......after a couple of bad performances I'd say they'll be out to prove a point. Bad news for us. No word of the Armagh team yet. The IN article during the week didn't read too well either with POR admitting that they had been errors in concentrating on the forward play after the Kerry game and neglecting the defensive set up. He basically admitted that he should have played more Cross players against Galway also...........really confirms what we already knew.

I'd imagine Paul McKeown will get a run out on Sunday but his lack of height will be a problem against a very big Cork attack. Hopefully we'll get a chance to look at David McKenna also. My team, for what it is worth........

Hearty

O'Rourke's not naming it until Saturday apparently. Just putting the finishing touches to his tactical masterplan no doubt.
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2011, 01:39:20 PM
QuoteJust putting the finishing touches to his tactical masterplan no doubt.

Perhaps he's driving around Cross' looking for Stephen Kernan's house.
Post by: Main Street on April 09, 2011, 10:06:37 PM
I may as well say it out loud - Armagh should survive. By Sunday evening you'll be wondering what the fuss was all about.
Post by: ck on April 09, 2011, 10:08:15 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 09, 2011, 10:06:37 PM
I may as well say it out loud - Armagh should survive. By Sunday evening you'll be wondering what the fuss was all about.

I predict that the "fuss" is only starting!
Post by: Oraisteach on April 09, 2011, 10:26:26 PM
So, boys, has P O'R named the team yet.
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2011, 10:56:24 PM
What's the story here, has PO'R a secret weapon that he doesn't want to reveal too soon?

Last week wasn't good, in particular how Galway were allowed a 5 point win which fecked up the score difference. It is hard to see us getting much tomorrow, but perhaps the team will show and bit of fight. When we were last in Cork we were expected to do well, but put in useless performance. As I recall Charlie Vernon was one of the few to put a fight that day, hopefully he will do better tomorrow than last week.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 09, 2011, 11:10:12 PM
Exactly. Armagh are in the strongest position of the 3 teams - they're the only ones that (a) have their destiny in their own hands; and (b) can lose and still survive.
Post by: mountainboii on April 09, 2011, 11:16:52 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 09, 2011, 11:10:12 PM
Exactly. Armagh are in the strongest position of the 3 teams - they're the only ones that (a) have their destiny in their own hands; and (b) can lose and still survive.

and (c) are playing a team that still has something to play for; and (d) are playing away from home; and (e) are playing the All Ireland champions; and (f) are managed by Paddy O'Rourke.

You forgot those last few.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 10, 2011, 02:45:48 AM
Still awaiting the team announcement. Maybe Houlie's coming back.
Post by: Imposerous on April 10, 2011, 08:54:33 AM
From a poster on Orchard County: can anyone confirm?

Hearty

Mallon. Toner. Donaghy

Kernan. V Martin. Dyas

Vernon. Lavery

Mackin. Bj. P Duffy

Clarke. Mc donell. M o rourke

Mc keever injured
Post by: naka on April 10, 2011, 09:00:22 AM
Can't see this being the team POR has already said more cross boys will start he is leaving himself open to ridicule if he only adds ak and hearty whilst not trying Tk or mc kenna in the half gorwRd line but trying duffy
Post by: Imposerous on April 10, 2011, 09:27:37 AM
Hope you're right, Naka.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 10, 2011, 09:43:30 AM
Quote from: naka on April 10, 2011, 09:00:22 AM
Can't see this being the team POR has already said more cross boys will start he is leaving himself open to ridicule if he only adds ak and hearty whilst not trying Tk or mc kenna in the half gorwRd line but trying duffy

To be fair he's done that since he took over the job so there's littl enough new about it.
Post by: lawnseed on April 10, 2011, 02:27:43 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 08, 2011, 06:32:37 PM
Quote from: mackers on April 08, 2011, 03:24:44 PM

Hearty

O'Rourke's not naming it until Saturday apparently. Just putting the finishing touches to his tactical masterplan no doubt.
yeah.. i'd say hes spent all of 10 mins pulling the names out of a hat.. sweet jez ::)
Post by: armaghniac on April 10, 2011, 02:29:00 PM
McKeever injured, V. Martin at centre half back. P. Duffy named in half forwards. Padden on.
I don't have a good feeling about this.

Come on the Dubs!
Post by: armaghniac on April 10, 2011, 03:14:48 PM
One point in it at HT, Cork 0-07 0-06 Armagh, not quite as bad as I thought, Cork haven't quite overrun us, but the relative ease of their last two scores were somewhat ominous.
Jamie Clark always looks dangerous.

Bit of an uphill battle for Armagh. Hopefully Dublin stay ahead or Monaghan win by a point.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on April 10, 2011, 03:50:11 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on April 10, 2011, 03:41:44 PM
Stevie McDonnell is nothing more than a cheat - he was fouling Cadogan and got a slap in the mouth for his troubles. I would be surprised if PoR didnt deliberately coach the Armagh players to do this...

I think they spend 20 minutes at each training practicing it.
Post by: lawnseed on April 10, 2011, 04:13:26 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on April 10, 2011, 03:41:44 PM
Stevie McDonnell is nothing more than a cheat - he was fouling Cadogan and got a slap in the mouth for his troubles. I would be surprised if PoR didnt deliberately coach the Armagh players to do this...
yeah.. por could teach stevie anything about football ::) the rule is :- striking or intent as you said he got a 'slap' for his troubles
Post by: mountainboii on April 10, 2011, 04:15:00 PM
Good effort for 60 minutes, but always had the feeling Cork had a few extra gears if needed. O'Connor really killed us second half. Clarke and McDonnell would give you hope against any side. Looks like a draw in Galway will keep us up, probably undeservedly.
Post by: David McKeown on April 10, 2011, 04:17:37 PM
Lucky to survive. Armagh played well for 55 minutes and were diabolical in the last 20 or so. To me they still look like a group of good players with no game plan or tactical nous. Can't argue with either sending off.
Post by: zoyler on April 10, 2011, 04:19:10 PM
Just saw replay of sending off incident on TnaG.  Stevie was fouling but he was elbowed in the face intentionally - no doubt about it.  Armagh stay up due to head to head win over Monaghan - probable more then we deserve but we'll live with it.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on April 10, 2011, 04:20:13 PM
Tonor was very bad in the 2nd half. Everything went through O'Connor.
Post by: under the bar on April 10, 2011, 04:22:21 PM
Stevie pulls a 'francie' - foul your opponent incessantly
then hit the deck at merest hint of retaliation.
Post by: mountainboii on April 10, 2011, 04:27:32 PM
Quote from: zoyler on April 10, 2011, 04:19:10 PM
Just saw replay of sending off incident on TnaG.  Stevie was fouling but he was elbowed in the face intentionally - no doubt about it.

Absolutely, Cadogen had two or three goes at making sure he made a decent connection. Won't see too many clearer sending offs all year.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 10, 2011, 04:28:56 PM
That's the very definition of survival by the skin of your teeth. Very little positive to take from this League campaign bar glimpses of Jamie Clarke and improved performances from Dyas and Vernon. The defects are plain to see.

Was listening to Paddy O'Rourke after the match on Radio Ulster - he said that "We are happy to be in Division 1 next year." A little presumtious with the "we" perhaps.
Post by: mountainboii on April 10, 2011, 04:31:34 PM
Quote from: under the bar on April 10, 2011, 04:22:21 PM

This isn't the Liverpool thread, you'll have to try harder than that.
Post by: lawnseed on April 10, 2011, 04:32:22 PM
the amount and the quality of the ball going into the forwards was very poor true for about 50 mins we competed ok but once andy mallon started roaming the wheels were off granted he took a nice score but he pulled up when chasing back and it cost us a point he should save his energy for defending. billy joe was ivolved in all things good but ran out of steam, my mom was arron kernan :o i'm the first to admit i have been very critical of him but today he was outstanding. charlie.. charlie.. ah jez not great. all in all it could have been worse cant see any improvement in style. jamie is wasted not enough ball going in and its all route 1 this team could do quite well if they adapted a more 2000 style ie blanket + breaking up the wings + diagonal long pass to forwards, also hearty needs to work on his kickouts ala benny because paul mc grane is retired. will give down a good game in champs might even win but wont be involved in tha latter stages
Post by: gander on April 10, 2011, 04:39:40 PM

from what I seen he was on the deck for about a half a second before he went after him
Post by: mountainboii on April 10, 2011, 04:49:45 PM
Quote from: gander on April 10, 2011, 04:39:40 PM

from what I seen he was on the deck for about a half a second before he went after him

Ah ffs gander.
Post by: Orior on April 10, 2011, 05:30:45 PM
Happy days. Another year in Division 1 to look forward to.
Post by: whitegoodman on April 10, 2011, 06:38:40 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 10, 2011, 04:28:56 PM
That's the very definition of survival by the skin of your teeth. Very little positive to take from this League campaign bar glimpses of Jamie Clarke and improved performances from Dyas and Vernon. The defects are plain to see.

Was listening to Paddy O'Rourke after the match on Radio Ulster - he said that "We are happy to be in Division 1 next year." A little presumtious with the "we" perhaps.

Heard that interview myself, he sounded like a man who thinks he is there in the long term, dont think he realises how much he is disliked in the orange county ( mustnt read this forum or read the irish news on thursday)
Post by: bennydorano on April 10, 2011, 06:53:53 PM
Well done Armagh on staying up.  There's a bit of football in us, we haven't quite mastered the role of the subsitute AFAI can see, we always seem to weaken our side with subs that come on, although MAckin and Duffy were poor enough to deserve the hook.

Pre-championship camp is on Lourdes, get the holy stone of clonrickert out for a Ronan Clarke return :P

Barring a first round qualifier defeat to the likes of Clare, I'd say POr will get another year.
Post by: ogshead on April 10, 2011, 07:21:44 PM
Quote from: zoyler on April 10, 2011, 04:19:10 PM
Just saw replay of sending off incident on TnaG.  Stevie was fouling but he was elbowed in the face intentionally - no doubt about it.  Armagh stay up due to head to head win over Monaghan - probable more then we deserve but we'll live with it.

But he didn't hit the deck like a soccer player (or a Tyrone player). He actually chased after Cadogan. As someone said earlier, 'got a slap for his troubles'. No question about it... Striking = red card. I can't believe the TG4 presenter asking the Cork manager would they be appealing!!
Post by: INDIANA on April 10, 2011, 07:25:37 PM
Armagh fans cant seem to grasp Div 2 is about their level at present.
Post by: ogshead on April 10, 2011, 07:36:28 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 10, 2011, 07:25:37 PM

It actually seems a bit strange staying up after the way the results went this year. You may be right about the division 2 thing but the reality is Armagh will be in division 1. Now it's about a good championship run.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 10, 2011, 07:46:50 PM
If0 that is the case Indiana why are we still in Division 1?  Anyway we know our level, we are at best good enough to make it to the 1/4 finals but even that will be tough.  We a full squad and a coherent game plan I reckon we could match anyone bar Dublin, Kerry and Cork in the championship.  I feel that we can beat Down if we break even in MF and get our FB issues sorted.  In Jamie and Stevie we have genuine scoring threats but we need more from the HF line.   
Post by: Agent Orange on April 10, 2011, 07:54:43 PM

Strange that they stayed  up then.  ;)

We may as well hand Sam to the Jackeens now.
Post by: INDIANA on April 10, 2011, 07:57:12 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 10, 2011, 07:46:50 PM
If0 that is the case Indiana why are we still in Division 1?  Anyway we know our level, we are at best good enough to make it to the 1/4 finals but even that will be tough.  We a full squad and a coherent game plan I reckon we could match anyone bar Dublin, Kerry and Cork in the championship.  I feel that we can beat Down if we break even in MF and get our FB issues sorted.  In Jamie and Stevie we have genuine scoring threats but we need more from the HF line.

As far as Dublin are concerned. And this is from inside the camp. The best team Dublin have played in the 6 months is Down.

On that basis I expect Down to beat Armagh.

Armagh at their very best currently are just about top 8 in my view. and would be at the lower end of the 8
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on April 10, 2011, 07:57:40 PM
Don't think theres much shame in losing to last years champs, maybe shame in the style of play the entire league campain, but losing to cork, in cork, was expected, even the diehards have to agree. 

Roll on the championship, i only hope por has a game plan, apart from his current one, which seems to be putting the down faithfull in a false sense of security  ;)
Post by: INDIANA on April 10, 2011, 07:59:58 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on April 10, 2011, 07:54:43 PM

Well in fairness I've never been far wrong on gauging Dublin here. When they were crap- I said they were. Now that we have a good side I think I'm entitled to state the obvious.
Armagh are in total transition in my view and the fans are unrealistic in their expectations based on the talent available. I expect them to be good in about 3 years
Post by: bennydorano on April 10, 2011, 08:05:25 PM
 :D holy jesus, you  gave Gilroy dogs abuse all last year, you were laughed off threads & now you've reinvented yourself as a sage? :D You're a knob more like.

And yes, Armagh are middling.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 10, 2011, 08:06:35 PM
So by your own logic Indiana we are a Division 1 level side, as the are 8 teams in each division and you reckon we're just about good enough to be in the 1/4 finals, which is the height of supporters expectations. Dublin played Armagh less at least 4 main players, 3 ogf which will be available. They played a more or less full Down side. I am not saying we will beat Down, simply that I feel we can.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 10, 2011, 08:09:07 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 10, 2011, 07:57:12 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 10, 2011, 07:46:50 PM

As far as Dublin are concerned. And this is from inside the camp. The best team Dublin have played in the 6 months is Down.

On that basis I expect Down to beat Armagh.

Armagh at their very best currently are just about top 8 in my view. and would be at the lower end of the 8

Division one then you knobjockey?
Post by: whitegoodman on April 10, 2011, 08:25:32 PM
Armagh are a top 8 team and could bt Dublin on their day. Going by dublins performance against down they are not at the same level as cork or Kerry, way way too negative and not the same forwards as the other 2.

Dublin are slightly better than down and down are slightly better than armagh imo. Each could bt each other on any given day though
Post by: INDIANA on April 10, 2011, 09:03:05 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on April 10, 2011, 08:25:32 PM
Armagh are a top 8 team and could bt Dublin on their day. Going by dublins performance against down they are not at the same level as cork or Kerry, way way too negative and not the same forwards as the other 2.

Dublin are slightly better than down and down are slightly better than armagh imo. Each could bt each other on any given day though

Armagh havent a hope in hell of beating us in the near future.

Cork are in all probablity a better team then us still. Kerry- possibly as well.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 10, 2011, 10:30:56 PM
Have to agree with you Indiana, but shure we'll fulfil our games anyway.
Post by: mackers on April 10, 2011, 10:35:01 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 10, 2011, 07:59:58 PM

Well in fairness I've never been far wrong on gauging Dublin here. When they were crap- I said they were. Now that we have a good side I think I'm entitled to state the obvious.
Armagh are in total transition in my view and the fans are unrealistic in their expectations based on the talent available. I expect them to be good in about 3 years
Before our qualifier with Dublin last summer you said that you were a poor team and confidence in the county was at all time low...........you may think your opinions count for a lot on the board but most of the rest of us don't think much of them. If you can't predict the fortunes of your own county you have no chance with Armagh.
Post by: INDIANA on April 10, 2011, 10:50:49 PM
Quote from: mackers on April 10, 2011, 10:35:01 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 10, 2011, 07:59:58 PM

Before our qualifier with Dublin last summer you said that you were a poor team and confidence in the county was at all time low...........you may think your opinions count for a lot on the board but most of the rest of us don't think much of them. If you can't predict the fortunes of your own county you have no chance with Armagh.

Couldnt care less to be honest. the fact is I wont have to factor armagh into any all ireland bets for quite some time at the start of any season.
Post by: Throw ball on April 11, 2011, 12:49:41 AM
Today at least some fight was shown. However, the most noticeable thing in the league this year from an Armagh point of view is how much we have struggled for pace. If we are to beat Down this will have to improve significantly or Danny Hughes etc. will tear us apart.
Post by: regal on April 11, 2011, 01:15:20 AM
It was good to see aaron Kernan back in the half backs - a quality defender. Toner was also impressice at full back and used the ball well. I think if A Mallon and PMcKeown were both in the full back line it would leave Armagh with a lack of physique / height in there.

Possible team for Down:

Hearty
Mallon  Toner  Donaghy
Kernan  McKeever  Dyas
Lavery  Mackin
BMallon Padden  ADuffy
JClarke McDonnell  MORourke

Defense looks solid but loads of problems in m/f and attack. Mackin is clearly not good enough for midfield but with Toner at fb we are clearly lacking options. Vernon continues to disappoint and perhaps he would make an option at full back. Not consistant enough for mf and not enough football in him for a forward. Big question marks surround padden / duffy / o'rourke with other options being p duffy / grugan / swift. RClarke would make a massive difference - but will he be fit?
Post by: bennydorano on April 11, 2011, 08:25:23 AM
Vernon's 2 or 3 MOTM awards (& GL's team of the week) would suggest your talking dung.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 11, 2011, 09:10:52 AM
Your Fixtures for next year (in no particular order) -

Dublin Away
Kerry Away
Donegal Away
Laois Away

Cork Home
Down Home
Mayo Home

My guess is that you can realistically expect to beat Laois away and Mayo at home. To secure your status next year it looks like it could come down to needing to beat us in Armagh. So next year's tussle could be even more exciting than this year's. I hope it is the last game or second last to really get the craic going
Post by: Stevie Nicks on April 11, 2011, 09:27:09 AM
Quote from: regal on April 11, 2011, 01:15:20 AM
It was good to see aaron Kernan back in the half backs - a quality defender. Toner was also impressice at full back and used the ball well. I think if A Mallon and PMcKeown were both in the full back line it would leave Armagh with a lack of physique / height in there.

Possible team for Down:

Hearty
Mallon  Toner  Donaghy
Kernan  McKeever  Dyas
Lavery  Mackin
BMallon Padden  ADuffy

Defense looks solid but loads of problems in m/f and attack. Mackin is clearly not good enough for midfield but with Toner at fb we are clearly lacking options. Vernon continues to disappoint and perhaps he would make an option at full back. Not consistant enough for mf and not enough football in him for a forward. Big question marks surround padden / duffy / o'rourke with other options being p duffy / grugan / swift. RClarke would make a massive difference - but will he be fit?

While Toner did well at fb don't think he is option for the Down game as he is not the man to mark Coulter or Comiskey, he wouldn't have the mobility for that, I would stick him back into mf were we have had the advantage over Down in the last few games.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 11, 2011, 09:47:20 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 11, 2011, 09:10:52 AM
Your Fixtures for next year (in no particular order) -

Dublin Away
Kerry Away
Donegal Away
Laois Away

Cork Home
Down Home
Mayo Home

My guess is that you can realistically expect to beat Laois away and Mayo at home. To secure your status next year it looks like it could come down to needing to beat us in Armagh. So next year's tussle could be even more exciting than this year's. I hope it is the last game or second last to really get the craic going

Crazy to be even speculating about League fixtures a year in advance. We hammered Donegal in Letterkenny in the League last year for example.

The one thing I will say is that all the fixtures are within a couple of hours drive bar Kerry which looks primed for a weekend away.  :)
Post by: Scarface on April 11, 2011, 10:13:05 AM
Regal - I dont know how Vernon continues to disappoint - he has had a very good season so far. For you to pick an Armagh team without him in it suggests you know next to nothing about football I am afraid...
Post by: mackers on April 11, 2011, 10:32:42 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 11, 2011, 12:49:41 AM
Today at least some fight was shown. However, the most noticeable thing in the league this year from an Armagh point of view is how much we have struggled for pace. If we are to beat Down this will have to improve significantly or Danny Hughes etc. will tear us apart.
I'd agree with that Throwball. There is definitely more inventiveness and movement in the forward line now JC is back. I thought Armagh were dead on their feet with 10/15 mins to go yesterday. I would find that very worrying. We started hitting high hopeful balls into Stevie and Jamie at the end which was borne out of sheer exhaustion.
We were unlucky to be beaten by six points though, with Hearty having the shot covered only for Martin to half block it and deflect it past him.
Post by: armaghniac on April 11, 2011, 10:40:14 AM
Firstly a nice picture for some of the contributors to this thread who aren't from the partcipating counties.

(http://www.gallopandrivers.co.uk/Door_Knob_Pic_1.jpg)

A bit more heart in the performance yesterday, but some of the usual problems. As noted, Armagh seemed to be chasing their man, more pace is needed. And like mackers, I think we seemed to fizzle out in the last 10 minutes in the last two games. Cork are extremely athletic, they must get some great training. Hopefully our lot can be tuned up for the championship, but they never really looked pacey last year either.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 11, 2011, 10:40:54 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 11, 2011, 09:47:20 AM
Crazy to be even speculating about League fixtures a year in advance. We hammered Donegal in Letterkenny in the League last year for example.

The one thing I will say is that all the fixtures are within a couple of hours drive bar Kerry which looks primed for a weekend away.  :)

Good point about the victory in Donegal, but they have improved. I'm just back from Killarney, you would indeed to well to have a weekend away for that one, great spot you'll really enjoy it.
Post by: regal on April 11, 2011, 10:42:39 AM
Quote from: Scarface on April 11, 2011, 10:13:05 AM
Regal - I dont know how Vernon continues to disappoint - he has had a very good season so far. For you to pick an Armagh team without him in it suggests you know next to nothing about football I am afraid...

Where would you play him? If he has had a very good season so far why has he still not nailed down a position (he has been moved to the half forwards at various times during the league).
Post by: BerfArmagh on April 11, 2011, 10:58:18 AM
Vernon continues to disappoint and perhaps he would make an option at full back. Not consistant enough for mf and not enough football in him for a forward.

Jesus you are talking out of your compete hole, bar Mc Donnell, Charlie has been our best and most consistent player this season. He has been absolutely outstanding in mid field. Granted he may take too much out of the bar, but I would suggest this is because there is no HF line, so he need to run with the ball to get it in to the FF's

I thought Armagh competed well with a Cork team (Who lets not forget are current AI champions) A Kernan had one of his best games for Armagh. Jamie clarke looked really lively in the first half, i though he tired in the second. Armagh competed and were well in it for 60 minutes of that game yesterday, I though COrk killed us by running through our middle, which hay not have happened had mc keever been available
Post by: Scarface on April 11, 2011, 11:25:17 AM
Thats a stupid question - I would play Charlie in the middle - on your predicted team you have James Lavery and Mal Mackin in the middle - no disrepsect to either but Charlie is better than both...also you have found a place for A Duffy in the half forward line - again Charlie would be a better bet even there.
Post by: Scarface on April 11, 2011, 11:27:38 AM
P.S I thought Kerrigan for Cork came on very strong in the latter stages of the game yesterday - his speed and direct running through the middle of our team caused us bother
Post by: naka on April 11, 2011, 11:29:59 AM
Yesterday was decent until about ten mins to go from an Armagh perspective but the worry is still lack of scores from half forward line, Clarke 4,stevie4 and Ak 1.2, meant that we scored only two points outwith them.
Still can't fathom POR 's substitutions and felt we should have at least seen hanratty earlier in the game
For what its worth I have no idea of the team which will play against down as there is no settled half forward line , I would though play mal, swift and Tk.
I also half no idea who will be the other forward in the corner (as am assuming RC won't be fit to start), but would play Mallon rather than MOR.
Finally we are struggling to find a corner back as I believe Finian may  be a liability come championship, with down not having the biggest of forwards mc keown might have a chance
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 11, 2011, 12:42:51 PM
Quote from: naka on April 11, 2011, 11:29:59 AM
Yesterday was decent until about ten mins to go from an Armagh perspective but the worry is still lack of scores from half forward line, Clarke 4,stevie4 and Ak 1.2, meant that we scored only two points outwith them.
Still can't fathom POR 's substitutions and felt we should have at least seen hanratty earlier in the game
For what its worth I have no idea of the team which will play against down as there is no settled half forward line , I would though play mal, swift and Tk.
I also half no idea who will be the other forward in the corner (as am assuming RC won't be fit to start), but would play Mallon rather than MOR.
Finally we are struggling to find a corner back as I believe Finian may  be a liability come championship, with down not having the biggest of forwards mc keown might have a chance

Naka working on your (correct) presumption that Ronan won't be playing I reckon you will find that the forward line against Down will be

Mal Mackin  BJP  Swift

TK  Stevie  Jamie. 

mal will drop out round the middle and TK will fill that hole he has left, not as an out and out HF.  I would agree that PMcK would be suitable for the Down game but I can't see it.  I reckon that you might see Vincie Martin in the corner.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 11, 2011, 01:44:54 PM
I'm surprised people would prefer Tony Kernan over Brian Mallon.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 11, 2011, 01:46:43 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on April 11, 2011, 01:44:54 PM

for a start he is hurt and secondly he has never really delivered in my view.
Post by: Throw ball on April 11, 2011, 01:52:53 PM

I am surprised people would prefer Brian Mallon over Tony Kernan.
Post by: nrico2006 on April 11, 2011, 01:57:41 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 11, 2011, 01:52:53 PM

I am surprised people would prefer Brian Mallon over Tony Kernan.

Tony Kernan all day long.
Post by: naka on April 11, 2011, 02:07:45 PM
brokencrossbar1,
i had previously been told by guys close to the pabel that they though R Clarke would be fit for the down game but that is now looking unlikely,
I note your comment on him, how close is he to playing?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 11, 2011, 02:34:27 PM
Quote from: naka on April 11, 2011, 02:07:45 PM
brokencrossbar1,
i had previously been told by guys close to the pabel that they though R Clarke would be fit for the down game but that is now looking unlikely,
I note your comment on him, how close is he to playing?

I have heard a few different stories but the one constant is that he will not be fit to start no matter what.  I personally don't see the value in even consdiering him as he hasn't played competitive football in so long and can in no way be fit to contribute in any meaningful fashion without at least a half dozen games under his belt, and they should be club games.
Post by: Applesisapples on April 11, 2011, 02:41:47 PM
Unfortunately it would appear that Ronan Clarke's injury will end his county if not football career. I base this just on the way the story has been developing. Although I hope I'm wrong we could be doing with him.
Post by: crossfire on April 11, 2011, 02:43:48 PM
Quote from: BerfArmagh on April 11, 2011, 10:58:18 AM
Vernon continues to disappoint and perhaps he would make an option at full back. Not consistant enough for mf and not enough football in him for a forward.

Jesus you are talking out of your compete hole, bar Mc Donnell, Charlie has been our best and most consistent player this season. He has been absolutely outstanding in mid field. Granted he may take too much out of the bar, but I would suggest this is because there is no HF line, so he need to run with the ball to get it in to the FF's

I thought Armagh competed well with a Cork team (Who lets not forget are current AI champions) A Kernan had one of his best games for Armagh. Jamie clarke looked really lively in the first half, i though he tired in the second. Armagh competed and were well in it for 60 minutes of that game yesterday, I though COrk killed us by running through our middle, which hay not have happened had mc keever been available

I dont think he tired .The service to him in the second half was terrible with outfield players hoofing high ball in and him being mostly double teamed.
Four points from play was a great contribution imo.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 11, 2011, 03:33:23 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 11, 2011, 01:46:43 PM

for a start he is hurt and secondly he has never really delivered in my view.

I think he's suffered from working too hard! - Should be asked to stay in the full forward line.

I know who i'd rather mark!
Post by: Applesisapples on April 11, 2011, 03:34:18 PM
100% Crossfire 50/50 hoofed in deliveries for most of the second half.
Post by: BerfArmagh on April 11, 2011, 05:09:51 PM
I was'nt saying he had a poor game or anyting of that nature, he was fanatastic in the first half, I thought he just seemed to tire a bit in the second half, he and mc donnell did a lot of chasing down of defenders.

For what its worth, I would go with the following team for the down. I am discounting clarke as there is no mission of him being match fit at this stage.

Hearty
Mallon  Donaghy Dyas
Kernan  McKeever Duffy
Toner Vernon 
T Kernan Swift Mackin
Post by: Orangemac on April 11, 2011, 10:56:51 PM
Quote from: BerfArmagh on April 11, 2011, 05:09:51 PM
I was'nt saying he had a poor game or anyting of that nature, he was fanatastic in the first half, I thought he just seemed to tire a bit in the second half, he and mc donnell did a lot of chasing down of defenders.

For what its worth, I would go with the following team for the down. I am discounting clarke as there is no mission of him being match fit at this stage.

Hearty
Mallon  Donaghy Dyas
Kernan  McKeever Duffy
Toner Vernon 
T Kernan Swift Mackin
Has Stephen Kernan been ruled out completely in POR eyes. More a natural HF than Tony and seeing as the tactic seems to be having at least 3 midfielders playing (with Mackin seemingly nailed on for a starting place v Down) we are going to need someone to keep Down on the back foot as McKernan will be bombing forward constantly.

Also I know bar the Dublin game Swift hasn't really shone but has he been tried at FF with Clarke & McDonnell either side. A 3 man FF line. I know it's crazy but it just might work.
Post by: lawnseed on April 11, 2011, 11:14:19 PM
tony kernan not a county footballer simply not at the races imo. dyas is a better hf than him, and so is steven kernan.. but lets face it lads barring the chance that por is going to do something different in the next few weeks what we are facing is a pure lottery we might win or we could get stuffed.. fine tuning is not on the agenda, por is still experimenting you could see hearty in at full forward or even toner
Post by: winsamsoon on April 11, 2011, 11:24:35 PM
Dyas can't score so imo isn't an option at hf
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on April 12, 2011, 03:31:09 PM
Poor enough game that only kicked to life after the sending off!

Armagh no. 13 had the beating of Carey and could of won the game himself if he got more ball. After sending off I was worried but Armagh remained defensive against 14 men. On the sending off I thought it a bit harsh Cadogan was trying to shrug off the challenge but he did strike Stevie M so technically the ref was correct.
Post by: PatDaly on April 12, 2011, 04:51:44 PM
How about throwing Kieran Toner in at full forward? He would of thrived on those high balls that Armagh were hoofing into the forwards in the second half versus Cork. Jamie and Stevie would have done the rest.

Also whats the story with Stephen Kernan? Surely he should be tried out at centre half forward? with Dyas left half forward and Swift on the right side. I think this combination would be Armagh's strongest half forward line available.
Post by: Applesisapples on April 12, 2011, 05:07:25 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on April 12, 2011, 04:51:44 PM
How about throwing Kieran Toner in at full forward? He would of thrived on those high balls that Armagh were hoofing into the forwards in the second half versus Cork. Jamie and Stevie would have done the rest.

Also whats the story with Stephen Kernan? Surely he should be tried out at centre half forward? with Dyas left half forward and Swift on the right side. I think this combination would be Armagh's strongest half forward line available.

How about throwing POR to the wolves? :D

Kidding, the SK situation is ridiculous if Donal Murtagh is allowing his alleged issues with him to keep him of the panel. In relation to Tony, Armagh have thrown him in when the game is starting to go away from us and expecting miracles. He needs a run in the side.
Post by: whitegoodman on April 12, 2011, 07:05:36 PM
As an outsider I can not understand how Stephen Kernan is not getting a chance at CHF especially considering the problems yas are having there at the minute.  Id be very disappointed in POR if he was to ignore him due to a fall out with Murtagh but that seems to be the case.

As a down man id be delighted if Stephen Kernan doesnt get a chance as i think he would give mckernan all sorts of trouble.  Id be very happy with BJP running after him all day long, he would suit mckernan down to the ground imo .
Post by: Armaghgael on April 12, 2011, 09:50:19 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on April 12, 2011, 04:51:44 PM

Toner actually did play full forward for a few games last year for his club and scored 1-1 in one of them :o
Post by: Orior on April 12, 2011, 10:15:33 PM
I remember the two Brians once played a McEntee in full-forward. The problem was that when he did manage to get the ball, he hadnt a clue what to do or how to move.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 12, 2011, 10:34:33 PM
I have said it before and will say it again you can't just throw a big man in FF and lump balls on his head. FF needs to know how and when to move and given the space limitations it isn't something you can develop over a few weeks. 
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 12, 2011, 10:39:16 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 12, 2011, 10:34:33 PM
I have said it before and will say it again you can't just throw a big man in FF and lump balls on his head. FF needs to know how and when to move and given the space limitations it isn't something you can develop over a few weeks.
Nah, any donkey can play there if they've good players around them.
Post by: lawnseed on April 12, 2011, 11:01:59 PM
i'd take the brians now no bother
Post by: PAULD123 on April 13, 2011, 12:09:37 AM
Serious question lads, with Ronan Clarke probably not going to make it do you think that you would like to see Oisin McConville invloved? Even if just for a 20-30 minute burst? The man still looks class to me and is used to linking with Jamie Clarke.