Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Groucho on March 28, 2011, 07:02:32 PM

Title: US Masters 2011
Post by: Groucho on March 28, 2011, 07:02:32 PM
Latest betting....

US Masters Golf Odds 2011 - Click To Bet

Tiger Woods 11/2 6 5 5 6 6
Phil Mickelson 7 7 6 6 7 7
Lee Westwood 14 12 12 12 14 12
Martin Kaymer 14 16 12 14 12 14
Rory Mcilroy 22 22 18 22 20 22
Graeme Mcdowell 28 25 28 28 20 28
Paul Casey 28 28 22 25 25 28
Luke Donald 28 28 28 30 25 28
Nick Watney 28 25 28 28 33 33
Dustin Johnson 28 28 25 28 25 33
Hunter Mahan 33 40 33 33 40 33
Ernie Els 33 40 25 33 33 40
Ian Poulter 33 40 28 33 25 33
Padraig Harrington 33 40 33 35 33 40
Justin Rose 40 40 40 50 33 40
Bubba Watson 40 40 45 40 33 40
Anthony Kim 33 40 35 33 25 33
Jim Furyk 40 50 40 50 40 50
Retief Goosen 40 40 40 40 40 40
Steve Stricker 40 50 40 40 40 50
Matt Kuchar 33 50 60 40 40 50
JB Holmes - - 66 - - -
Geoff Ogilvy 50 50 50 40 50 40
Vijay Singh 50 50 50 66 50 50
Rickie Fowler 66 50 50 66 50 66
Sergio Garcia 40 50 40 40 33 50
Alvaro Quiros 80 66 66 80 50 66
Charl Schwartzel 50 50 55 40 40 50
Adam Scott 40 66 50 40 66 50
Robert Karlsson 70 66 70 60 80 66
Bill Haas 66 66 66 66 66 -
Aaron Baddeley - 66 66 - 66 100
K J Choi 66 66 60 55 40 66
Camilo Villegas 66 100 60 80 50 80
Louis Oosthuizen 70 80 70 80 100 100
Ross Fisher 66 80 66 80 66 100
Francesco Molinari 80 80 75 66 50 100
Fred Couples 80 80 66 80 80 100
Tim Clark 80 80 80 80 80 80
Sean Ohair 66 66 66 50 50 100
Ryan Moore 66 66 100 80 80 100
Stewart Cink 90 100 100 100 100 100
Zach Johnson 66 80 66 80 80 100
Matteo Manassero 125 - 100 - - -
Jason Day 80 100 100 80 125 -
Angel Cabrera 100 80 100 80 80 100
Miguel Angel Jimenez 80 125 125 80 125 125
Y E Yang 80 100 125 100 80 100
Henrik Stenson 66 100 100 80 80 100
Ben Crane 80 80 80 80 80 -
Jonathan Byrd 100 100 - - 100 -
Edoardo Molinari 100 125 80 80 100 -
Robert Allenby 125 100 100 100 100 100
Kenny Perry 125 150 - - 100 150
Nick Dougherty - - - - - -
Bo Van Pelt - 150 - 150 100 -
Martin Laird - 150 - 125 150 -
Stuart Appleby - - - - 125 -
Lucas Glover 125 150 - 125 125 125
Mark Wilson - 150 - 125 100 -
Trevor Immelman - 100 - - 50 125
Jeff Overton - 100 - 100 150 -
Brandt Snedeker - 125 - - 125 -
Charley Hoffman - 125 - 100 100 -
Peter Hanson - 125 - 100 125 -
Ryo Ishikawa 125 150 - 125 125 125
Ben Curtis 150 - - - - 200
Chad Campbell 125 200 125 - 100 150
Chris Wood - 200 - - - 150
Darren Clarke - 200 - - - 200
Oliver Wilson - 200 - - - 200
Jhonattan Vegas - 150 100 200 80 -
Ryan Palmer - 200 - - 150 -
Mike Weir 150 150 - 150 100 150
Steve Marino - 200 - - 125 100
D A Points - 200 - - 200 -
Ricky Barnes 150 150 - - 125 100
Heath Slocum - - - - - -
Kevin Na - 250 - - 150 -
Carl Pettersson - 250 - - 125 -
Bernhard Langer - 250 - - 150 -
David Toms - 200 - - 125 150
Davis Love III - 150 - - 125 -
Kevin Streelman - 250 - - 150 -
Yuta Ikeda - 200 - - 150 -
Gregory Havret - 300 - - 150 -
Alex Cejka - 250 - - 150 -
Kyung-Tae Kim - 200 - - 150 -
Arjun Atwal - 250 - - 150 -
Jose Maria Olazabal - - - - 150 -
Jason Bohn - 250 - - 150 -
Jerry Kelly 200 250 - - 150 200
Hiroyuki Fujita - 250 - - 150 -
Peter Uihlein - - - - 250 -
Tom Watson - 400 - - 200 -
Mark OMeara - - - - 300 -
Ben Crenshaw - - - - 500 -
Craig Stadler - - - - 500 -
David Chung - - - - 250 -
Hideki Matsuyama - - - - 200 -
Ian Woosnam - - - - 300 -
Jin Jeong - - - - 200 -
Larry Mize - - - - 500 -
Lion Kim - - - - 250 -
Nathan Smith - - - - 250 -
Sandy Lyle - - - - 250
Title: Re: US Masters 2011
Post by: laoislad on March 28, 2011, 07:08:25 PM
Westwood or Kaymer.
Actually think Woods will do well and may win it,he has to do it sometime so none bigger than the Masters.
Can't wait for this btw.
Post by: heganboy on March 28, 2011, 07:08:37 PM
Remember when it was rest of the field vs Tiger...

Not that surprised that he's going in as favourite. His swing looked really solid this past weekend, and he still has the fear factor at the masters. watchng how everyone choked this weekend, if he's within 3-4 on Sunday there's trouble. I actually think our Graeme (with a reminder) is the only one with the stones to hold him off in that situation...
Post by: Minder on March 28, 2011, 07:36:19 PM
Gonna do Watney i think.
Post by: leaveherinsir on March 28, 2011, 07:49:58 PM
Seeing as there has usually been an American winner in last 10 years, im going to say back Dustin Johnson, Nick Watney, and Ricky Fowler as an outsider.
I also see that Sky have rights for the first two days, and BBC only have the weekend.  that will spoil it a bit as i refuse (am too miserable) to get Sky in!  For years the Masters on BBC was the first golf you got to see on TV, it was always great sitting up late to watch it on the Sunday night. Always remember watching Jack Nicklaus win it in i think was 1986(?). He eagled and birded everything on the back nine, class stuff!!
Ah, the good ole days, as he goes away to light his pipe and put on his slippers!
Post by: Groucho on March 28, 2011, 10:00:24 PM
Think I'll wager a few quid each way on KJ Choi and J Rose.
Usual suspects Woods and Mickelson will not be far away.
Post by: sammymaguire on March 28, 2011, 10:13:30 PM
Kuchar, Watney, Bubba, Mickelson, Johnson, Fowler, Stricker, Mahan and Woods of course all looking good.

But I think it's about time the Europeans forged back to win a green jacket, so Kaymer, Donald and Westwood my choices... World no.3 Luke Donald the main bet 25/1
Post by: Orangemac on March 28, 2011, 11:19:41 PM
Good to hear the BBC have this. Thought they were losing the rights at 1 stage.

Didn't think Woods would be favourite. Will be fascinating to see if there are 2 of the contenders for world no1 in contention with Woods if they can hold their nerve.

Fowler looks like a good each way bet. Laird also is in good form and either of the Molinari brothers as a long shot.

McDowell had a stinker last week, is he going to have a hangover after last year?
Post by: Hound on March 29, 2011, 10:23:27 AM
Has Anthony Kim had decent results recently? I was going to back him as an each way bet, but was expecting him to be much longer than 33/1.
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 29, 2011, 11:00:56 AM
Kim has shown some form recently certailnly a top 10 in the last little while. Have to say I am disapointed with Paddy Powers odds. in 2008 there were 26 players with odds of 100/1 or less. This year its 39. I suppose its balancing the book. Woods was 11/10 in 2008 8/1 now. Snedeker Fisher Zach Johnson and Jiminez are my possible outsiders.

Post by: Bogball XV on March 29, 2011, 11:55:02 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on March 29, 2011, 11:00:56 AM
Kim has shown some form recently certailnly a top 10 in the last little while. Have to say I am disapointed with Paddy Powers odds. in 2008 there were 26 players with odds of 100/1 or less. This year its 39. I suppose its balancing the book. Woods was 11/10 in 2008 8/1 now. Snedeker Fisher Zach Johnson and Jiminez are my possible outsiders.
Kim is about 90/1 with betfair - top 5 is available at 12.5/1

It makes no sense to back with high street bookies when that's the difference.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on March 29, 2011, 01:03:14 PM
Laird in great form, is Darren CLarke playing, I see there is odds for him, always do 1 or 2 irish bets just in case.
Post by: whitegoodman on March 29, 2011, 01:24:39 PM
Rose and Watney look great e/w bets, phil and tiger are both on their worst run ever going into the masters............prob finish 1st and 2nd.

Outside bet for Sergio!!
Post by: Joxer on March 29, 2011, 02:04:30 PM
Dustin Johnson
Bubba Watson
Nick Watney
Luke Donald
Post by: Geoff Tipps on March 29, 2011, 02:09:16 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on March 29, 2011, 11:55:02 AM

Well it makes no sense in that instance but for example Martin Laird is available @ 66-1 with a few firms and is trading @ 56 on Betfair. Shop around!
Post by: Bogball XV on March 29, 2011, 02:25:41 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on March 29, 2011, 02:09:16 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on March 29, 2011, 11:55:02 AM

Well it makes no sense in that instance but for example Martin Laird is available @ 66-1 with a few firms and is trading @ 56 on Betfair. Shop around!
seriously?  I've never seen a differential like that between the two, on the odd occasion betfair can be a half point worse (before commission of course), but that normally sorts itself out fairly rapidly (arb traders).

I have just seen that he is 66/1 with a few bookies alright, but he's also available to back at 65 or lay at 70 on betfair, so the price is essentially the same.
Post by: Over The Last on March 29, 2011, 08:53:26 PM
Makes for fantastic viewing.

Still mulling over who to back for it. Always like Big Phil but to do back-to-back is an almighty ask.
Im convinced Tiger will get back to near top form, but dont know if it will be in this one, at that price can certainly be backed each way.

Fowler wont lack confidence and is an interesting punt.
The same can apply to McIlroy but when it goes worng it really goes wrong for him. Could lead after day oe and blow up on day two so that consistency is not there yet in my opinion to win a major, but he will some day.

So............Woods each way, kaymer & Fowler for me  8)
Post by: Bogball XV on March 30, 2011, 12:23:03 AM
Quote from: Over The Last on March 29, 2011, 08:53:26 PM
Makes for fantastic viewing.

Still mulling over who to back for it. Always like Big Phil but to do back-to-back is an almighty ask.
Im convinced Tiger will get back to near top form, but dont know if it will be in this one, at that price can certainly be backed each way.

Fowler wont lack confidence and is an interesting punt.
The same can apply to McIlroy but when it goes worng it really goes wrong for him. Could lead after day oe and blow up on day two so that consistency is not there yet in my opinion to win a major, but he will some day.

So............Woods each way, kaymer & Fowler for me  8)
unless he finds himself in front, same with McIlroy, for all their undoubted brilliance, both lads have huge problems sealing the deal.
Post by: heganboy on March 30, 2011, 03:53:56 AM
if  was taking 3 I'd go Woods each way, with punts on Bubba and Rose

One form the twitter crew (McIlroy, McDowell, Westwood and Poulter) will make a right run at it, question is which one? tempted to say McIlroy...
Post by: CountyMan on March 30, 2011, 02:14:20 PM
Quote from: heganboy on March 30, 2011, 03:53:56 AM
if  was taking 3 I'd go Woods each way, with punts on Bubba and Rose

One form the twitter crew (McIlroy, McDowell, Westwood and Poulter) will make a right run at it, question is which one? tempted to say McIlroy...

I would have to go with either GMAC or Westwood.
Post by: Up The Middle on March 31, 2011, 04:58:24 PM
I think Donald will defintley be in with a shout. What sort of prices are been quoted for him?
Post by: Groucho on March 31, 2011, 07:07:50 PM
Quote from: Up The Middle on March 31, 2011, 04:58:24 PM
I think Donald will defintley be in with a shout. What sort of prices are been quoted for him?

20's to maybe 28's
Post by: Bogball XV on March 31, 2011, 10:18:50 PM
Like mcilroy, rose etc would find it very difficult to win from the front.

By the way, anyone thinking of backing anyone and not using betfair should hold off to next week, the bookies odds tend to drift a bit and they start giving better concessions, paying out on 6/7 places or refunding your stake if player misses the cut etc.  Someone is refunding stakes if Mickelson or Woods wins - definitely worth checking out, even if Woods looks as likely as myself to take the green jacket.
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 05, 2011, 11:47:09 AM
World number two Lee Westwood's private jet made an emergency landing as he flew to the Masters at Augusta after a fire broke out in the cockpit.
Westwood, who was travelling from the Houston Open with Ryder Cup team-mate Ross Fisher, said it was "a bit scary".
"It never looks good when you can smell smoke and the pilots have put masks on," added the 2010 Masters runner-up.
Earlier he had asked on Twitter: "Do the fire engines normally follow you down the runway?"
He continued: "Only when there's smoke in the cabin I guess!!! They're not here to put my putter out! That's not on fire! Gone a bit quiet on here!!!"
On arrival at Augusta National on Monday the Englishman stated: "The smoke was coming from the cockpit and they told us later they couldn't drop our masks because they feed oxygen into the cabin and if there was a fire it would have fanned the flames.
"The plane came down in a bit of a nose dive because you obviously have to get down as quick as you can.
"There had been a small fire somewhere in the instruments and we had the three fire tenders chasing us down the runaway, but I think that's just a precaution."
Westwood's manager Andrew "Chubby" Chandler told BBC Sport it had "definitely got a bit cloudy in the cabin.
"There were a few quizzical looks, then we turned round and saw the pilots had full gasmasks on.
"We came down fairly quickly and it was the usual story of two or three vans and fire engines all standing down the runway."

Not the best preparation for westwood
Post by: Geoff Tipps on April 05, 2011, 12:01:34 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on March 31, 2011, 10:18:50 PM
Like mcilroy, rose etc would find it very difficult to win from the front.

By the way, anyone thinking of backing anyone and not using betfair should hold off to next week, the bookies odds tend to drift a bit and they start giving better concessions, paying out on 6/7 places or refunding your stake if player misses the cut etc.  Someone is refunding stakes if Mickelson or Woods wins - definitely worth checking out, even if Woods looks as likely as myself to take the green jacket.

Stan James have that offer.
Victor Chandler will pay out as a tournament winner on any golfer to have a hole-in-one during the week.
Post by: Orior on April 05, 2011, 12:19:56 PM
I would hate to be a gambler. It is easier to bet on who wont win, that who will.

Pile all your money on Ian Woosnam and Jose Maria not winning.

If I was stupid enough to give my hard earned salary to the turf accountant, then it would have to be Kaymer
Post by: stephenite on April 05, 2011, 12:25:24 PM
Not a gambler either, however last night I dreamt that McIlroy won, defeating Bubba Watson on the last. How much of their annual income would a seasoned gambler put on the young fella from Holywood? I'm tempted to stick a couple a hundred
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 05, 2011, 12:31:20 PM
I think someone will definitely win this by between 1 and 10 shots and possibly during regulation play or after a playoff. Which bookie wants to take my money?
Post by: Orior on April 05, 2011, 12:34:30 PM
Quote from: stephenite on April 05, 2011, 12:25:24 PM
Not a gambler either, however last night I dreamt that McIlroy won, defeating Bubba Watson on the last. How much of their annual income would a seasoned gambler put on the young fella from Holywood? I'm tempted to stick a couple a hundred

There will be a few people in Holywood Golf Club that will be substantially better off if McIlroy wins. They formed a syndicate when Rory was in his early teens and bet that he would win a major.

Cant see it myself yet. His putting just isnt good enough, and the greens at Augusta will punish any shortcomings.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 05, 2011, 12:40:50 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 05, 2011, 12:34:30 PM

There will be a few people in Holywood Golf Club that will be substantially better off if McIlroy wins. They formed a syndicate when Rory was in his early teens and bet that he would win a major.

Cant see it myself yet. His putting just isnt good enough, and the greens at Augusta will punish any shortcomings.
I don't think he has the mental fortitude yet to win a major (unless he sneaks it by posting a great last round and the guys in front of him collapse).
He has proven time and again that he really really struggles from the front.
Post by: heganboy on April 05, 2011, 12:58:53 PM
Quotetime and again

Really? he's 21 and he's won on the US and European tours. He has was 3rd in 2 majors last year. I wouldnt say that he's done anything time and again other than show that he's an unbelievable golfer and a precocious young talent.
Post by: Minder on April 05, 2011, 01:06:17 PM

I thought it was just the British Open and he had to win it before he was 25.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 05, 2011, 01:09:24 PM
Quote from: heganboy on April 05, 2011, 12:58:53 PM
Quotetime and again

Really? he's 21 and he's won on the US and European tours. He has was 3rd in 2 majors last year. I wouldnt say that he's done anything time and again other than show that he's an unbelievable golfer and a precocious young talent.
He is a superb golfer but he does not convert many of his winning opportunities.  He has 2 wins worldwide and hasn't won in Europe since early 2009.  His one european win was by one stroke after leading by 6 going into the back 9.  His US victory was an unbelievable final round where came from well off the pace to win by posting a clubhouse score that the leaders couldn't get near.
In my opinion he does not yet have the balls to win a major, certainly not if he is leading, but feel free to disagree.  I wouldn't part with my hard earned on him as his price is always too short by virtue of his always getting into contention, which I think he will do here again.  But I do not see him winning.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 05, 2011, 01:41:30 PM

ah come on stephenite enough of the golfing dreams . Dream  mayo winning the Ai good man, back to sleep now  ;)
Post by: laoislad on April 05, 2011, 05:07:02 PM

Graeme McDowell, conqueror of Tiger Woods in a play-off in December, will face him again in the first two rounds of The Masters on Thursday and Friday.

McDowell, the current US Open champion, tees off with Woods and Australian Robert Allenby at 3.41pm (Irish time) in the first round and in the penultimate group at 6.48pm in the second round.

Woods is without a victory since November 2009, but at the Target World Challenge he led by four with a round to go before being caught and then beaten by the Irishman.

McDowell now goes into the opening major of the season as the world number five and Woods as the number seven following Phil Mickelson's win in Houston on Sunday.

Padraig Harrington tees off with Ryo Ishikawa and Bill Haas just before 3pm, while Rory McIlroy has been put in the same group as two other exciting young players - American Ricky Fowler and Australian Jason Day.
Post by: Orior on April 05, 2011, 05:17:09 PM
I've a feeling that neither McDowell nor McIlroy will make the cut.

Harrington will just scrape through.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 05, 2011, 05:25:38 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 05, 2011, 05:07:02 PM

Graeme McDowell, conqueror of Tiger Woods in a play-off in December, will face him again in the first two rounds of The Masters on Thursday and Friday.

McDowell, the current US Open champion, tees off with Woods and Australian Robert Allenby at 3.41pm (Irish time) in the first round and in the penultimate group at 6.48pm in the second round.

Woods is without a victory since November 2009, but at the Target World Challenge he led by four with a round to go before being caught and then beaten by the Irishman.

McDowell now goes into the opening major of the season as the world number five and Woods as the number seven following Phil Mickelson's win in Houston on Sunday.

Padraig Harrington tees off with Ryo Ishikawa and Bill Haas just before 3pm, while Rory McIlroy has been put in the same group as two other exciting young players - American Ricky Fowler and Australian Jason Day.
I take it these match-ups are fixed and not an open draw?
Post by: Puckoon on April 05, 2011, 05:29:10 PM
We have a pool in work - pick 5 players - each day your player with the worse score gets dropped for the remainder of the tournament and your remaining players contribute your score for the day.

Big Phil
GMAC
Luke Donald
Dustin Johsnon
Tiger
Post by: Groucho on April 05, 2011, 07:04:32 PM
Quote from: Groucho on March 28, 2011, 10:00:24 PM
Think I'll wager a few quid each way on KJ Choi and J Rose. P.Casey 8)

Post by: muppet on April 05, 2011, 07:44:27 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 05, 2011, 05:17:09 PM
I've a feeling that neither McDowell nor McIlroy will make the cut.

Harrington will just scrape through.

Harry will threaten to get into contention at the start of Sunday but will then fade to a top 10/20 finish.

I've a hunch for Poulter having a good week but it is hard to see past Mickelson.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2011, 07:56:34 PM
Went for Bubba, Martin and Kaymer each way
Post by: The Worker on April 05, 2011, 08:00:05 PM
does anyone give Oosthuizen a good e/w shout?
Post by: Bogball XV on April 05, 2011, 09:45:43 PM
Quote from: The Worker on April 05, 2011, 08:00:05 PM
does anyone give Oosthuizen a good e/w shout?
Decent ew shout imo, immelman another big priced former winner coming back into form.
Post by: laoislad on April 05, 2011, 09:57:58 PM
Par 3 tournament on at 7.30pm tomorrow night on Sky Sports..

I done my bets tonight.
Went with Westwood,Kaymer, Woods and for the craic I put a each way on Goosen
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 05, 2011, 10:05:24 PM
Gonna back Ishikawa each way after his great gesture last week.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 05, 2011, 10:09:16 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on April 05, 2011, 10:05:24 PM
Gonna back Ishikawa each way after his great gesture last week.
hopefully you'll reciprocate his gesture by donating your winners to the tsunami relief fund when he romps home ;)
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 05, 2011, 10:11:16 PM
Oh aye, but I would insist on no publicity, like to keep my charidee work quiet.
Post by: muppet on April 05, 2011, 10:22:16 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on April 05, 2011, 10:11:16 PM
Oh aye, but I would insist on no publicity, like to keep my charidee work quiet.

Nominate an independent person to verify.

I suggest PSTG.
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 05, 2011, 10:24:35 PM
Well him or one the Healy-Rae's, a family of independents!
Post by: muppet on April 05, 2011, 10:28:00 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on April 05, 2011, 10:24:35 PM
Well him or one the Healy-Rae's, a family of independents!

I cannot think of a family more dependent than the HRs.
Post by: CiKe on April 05, 2011, 11:17:22 PM
Quote from: Groucho on April 05, 2011, 07:04:32 PM

Had a small bit left in Paddy Power which had not touched for about two years, so stuck a small amount on each of of KJ Choi, YE Yang, Kim, Donald and Kuchar
Post by: Geoff Tipps on April 06, 2011, 02:28:39 PM
Tihe winner is likley to be a yank so e/w on Dustin Johson and Bubba Watson. Both have excellent short games and are long enough to expect birdies on the par 5's.
Post by: Minder on April 06, 2011, 02:39:55 PM
Went for Watney, Donald & Kim.
Post by: Puckoon on April 06, 2011, 02:50:05 PM
Wo is the best online site to bet with? Never bet online before
Post by: Radda bout yeee on April 06, 2011, 02:51:04 PM
When does your man tip in the irish news (possibly already has) he's usually never that far away when it comes to the old golf bets!!!!
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 06, 2011, 03:02:48 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on April 06, 2011, 02:51:04 PM
When does your man tip in the irish news (possibly already has) he's usually never that far away when it comes to the old golf bets!!!!
He went for Phil Mick and Choi EW I think.

I have plumped for Woods - 12/1 at EW has to be a good bet for him, Kim, Harrington and Ishikawa.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 06, 2011, 03:03:51 PM
Had a flutter on Mc Ilroy, Zach Johnson and Choi.  First time to leave Harrington off my slip, so fair chance he will win or be close.
Par 3 contest today usually bes good viewing.
Post by: AQMP on April 06, 2011, 03:11:32 PM
Watney, Dustin & Bubba...as for Europeans Donald might be worth a couple of quid e/w
Post by: Geoff Tipps on April 06, 2011, 03:20:35 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 06, 2011, 02:50:05 PM

All depends really. There are some specials available with the bigger firms:

1. Victor Chandler will pay out as a tournament winner on any golfer to have a hole-in-one during the week.
2. Stan James give a free bet to the value of your bet if your selection is beaten by Mickelson or Woods.
3. BetFred will refund stake if your selection finishes second to a past winner.
4. PP pay out on 6 places whereas most of them only do 5.
Post by: redandblackareback on April 06, 2011, 04:07:52 PM
mickleson straight and watney each way!! Is woods due a performance??  :-\
Post by: Bensars on April 06, 2011, 04:22:09 PM
My boss does a lot of Golf betting with a fairly healthy return.
He follows the guy that tips in sporting life who is supposed to shit hot this last while.
His selections ew are Baddley (sp),Cink, Immelmann    with Ogilvy worth a look.

Not suggesting that they will win it, but PP giving quarter odds on first 6
Post by: Groucho on April 06, 2011, 04:53:22 PM
Woods at 12/1 is very tempting 8)
Post by: Bogball XV on April 06, 2011, 05:12:06 PM
Quote from: Bensars on April 06, 2011, 04:22:09 PM
He follows the guy that tips in sporting life who is supposed to shit hot this last while.

with pp odds that's not as much of a bargain as you might think - they're fast becoming the worst value bookie.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on April 06, 2011, 05:18:19 PM

Well he's not following him this week. He has gone for:
Watney, Dustin Johnson, Cabrera, Bryd and Mickelson.
Post by: Puckoon on April 06, 2011, 05:54:44 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on April 06, 2011, 03:20:35 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 06, 2011, 02:50:05 PM

All depends really. There are some specials available with the bigger firms:

1. Victor Chandler will pay out as a tournament winner on any golfer to have a hole-in-one during the week.
2. Stan James give a free bet to the value of your bet if your selection is beaten by Mickelson or Woods.
3. BetFred will refund stake if your selection finishes second to a past winner.
4. PP pay out on 6 places whereas most of them only do 5.

Moot point - they won't let me get on with them as I'm in the states.
Post by: laoislad on April 06, 2011, 08:34:50 PM
Jack Nicklaus,Arnold Palmer and Gary Player all in the same group in the Par 3,what a group!
Post by: Minder on April 06, 2011, 08:35:59 PM
Is 3 ball betting over the two days or one?
Post by: sammymaguire on April 06, 2011, 08:48:38 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 06, 2011, 08:35:59 PM

One
Post by: Minder on April 06, 2011, 08:51:29 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on April 06, 2011, 08:48:38 PM

One

If two have level score you lose? Did Donald, McIlroy, Kim & Sabbatini. £130 for £7 if goes according to plan.
Post by: sammymaguire on April 06, 2011, 08:54:27 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 06, 2011, 08:51:29 PM

One

If two have level score you lose? Did Donald, McIlroy, Kim & Sabbatini. £130 for £7 if goes according
to plan.

How did you guess? Yep, unless they shoot single lowest score, bookie keeps your dough

Good luck with yer bet
Post by: laoislad on April 06, 2011, 09:58:21 PM
Luke Donald leading the Par 3,guess that rules him out of winning the Masters if he wins.
f**k me Di Stewart is looking hot the brunette hair suits her.
Post by: Joxer on April 07, 2011, 12:23:42 PM

One

If two have level score you lose? Did Donald, McIlroy, Kim & Sabbatini. £130 for £7 if goes according to plan.

Some places are paying out in full for ties in 3 balls.
Post by: boojangles on April 07, 2011, 12:31:32 PM
Zach Johnson and the Porn Star both each way.
Post by: Minder on April 07, 2011, 12:49:47 PM
Quote from: Joxer on April 07, 2011, 12:23:42 PM

One

Some places are paying out in full for ties in 3 balls.

I would doubt if Ladbrokes are.
Post by: Up The Middle on April 07, 2011, 12:53:42 PM
Was going to back Donald then he won the fukcing par 3 . Went for Bubba @ 40/1 and Ogilvy @ 70/1
Post by: kumquat on April 07, 2011, 01:12:05 PM
Woods 12/1 (toals)
McIlroy 33/1 (toals)
McDowell 45/1 (toals)
Rose 35/1 PP
Post by: maco on April 07, 2011, 01:18:30 PM
Bubba @ 40/1 for me just for a bit of interest. Really looking forward to the golf this weekend.
Post by: CountyMan on April 07, 2011, 01:27:05 PM
Was going to go with Luke Donald but after he won that par 3 comp theres no point. Went for Tiger @ 12/1 and Adam Scott @ 70/1 EW  ;) Looks promising.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on April 07, 2011, 01:42:05 PM
have oone i'm keeping secret for luck and the other:

ryo ishikawa e/w at 250/1 with PP (paying six places) good value i reckon!
Post by: Bogball XV on April 07, 2011, 01:56:25 PM

One

no, if your player ties in 3-ball betting then it goes to normal dead heat rules.  In other words if all 3 have the same score 2/3 of your stake is lost and 1/3 is a winner or in the event of 2 tying, half loses and half wins.
Post by: Bensars on April 07, 2011, 02:23:36 PM

Edit.  It was the racing post
Post by: highorlow on April 07, 2011, 02:27:42 PM
Angel Cabrera is a big price @ 100's

Post by: onefaircounty on April 07, 2011, 02:32:13 PM
Long time lurker, first time posting.

I think Poulter could be the one this week. 50/1 he is at least a great e/w bet.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 07, 2011, 02:36:58 PM
Harrington                     33-1
Trevor Immelman           75-1       
Aaron Baddeley              55-1       
Hideki Matsuyama        1000-1   
Luke Donald                   25-1       
Jim Furyk                       75-1       
Zach Johnson               125-1     
Ricky Barnes                 175-1     

All EW
Post by: maco on April 07, 2011, 02:48:42 PM
Great start for the Goose - eagle on the 1st!
Post by: Joxer on April 07, 2011, 03:33:00 PM
Wee Rory going rightly!  -2 after 3
Post by: maco on April 07, 2011, 03:40:49 PM
3 birdies in a row - he's -3 after 4 now.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 07, 2011, 03:42:10 PM
BBC's live commentary had 'British' for McIlroy a few mins back. Now it's 'UK'!

Someone musta gave off.

I've a £5 on him at 33s so so far so good.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 07, 2011, 04:34:39 PM
Have McIlroy, McDowell, Kaymer and Westwood all to win  8)
Post by: AZOffaly on April 07, 2011, 04:39:17 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 07, 2011, 04:34:39 PM

Well that's not going to happen :D
Post by: AQMP on April 07, 2011, 05:25:11 PM
McIlroy -4 after 10, one shot behind The Goose.  Good start, hope he can keep it going.  Harrington just gone birdie, bogey, double bogey ::) +2 after 9.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 07, 2011, 05:55:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 07, 2011, 04:39:17 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 07, 2011, 04:34:39 PM

Well that's not going to happen :D

You know what I mean smart arse..
Post by: heganboy on April 07, 2011, 06:02:02 PM
wee rory top of the leaderboard...
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 07, 2011, 06:21:02 PM
GAWA's finest was -5 under after 13.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 07, 2011, 06:30:28 PM
Masters site online following Mc Ilroys group.
Post by: mournerambler on April 07, 2011, 07:08:54 PM
McIlroy -7 after 16
Post by: king of leon on April 07, 2011, 07:10:45 PM
Harrington having a 'mare 5 over thru 14..
Post by: dec on April 07, 2011, 07:35:00 PM
McIlroy finishes on 65 (-7) and he missed makeable birdie putts on 16 and 18.
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 07, 2011, 07:59:59 PM
Poulter was slagging rory off a week or so ago about not shooting rounds in the 60's at augusta.  That should shut him up.
Post by: Square Ball on April 07, 2011, 08:21:55 PM
good stream

http://veetle.com/index.php/channel/view#4d9dd671c4ec5 (http://veetle.com/index.php/channel/view#4d9dd671c4ec5)
Post by: laoislad on April 07, 2011, 09:00:57 PM
Monty getting annoying,he must have mentioned the Ryder Cup about a dozen times now.
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 07, 2011, 09:14:09 PM
As soon as he opens his mouth he is annoying.
Post by: gawa316 on April 07, 2011, 09:37:05 PM
Any channel have highlights?
Post by: laoislad on April 07, 2011, 10:31:01 PM
Sky turning on their 3D coverage now.Anyone got it?
Post by: Orangemac on April 07, 2011, 11:00:34 PM
Great start by McIlroy. Hopefully he can keep it going.

A 71 or 72 would be a good score tomorrow. Most years -10 would win it although I think it was -15 last year.

Would be afraid Rory would make a bad start and then start to unravel quickly. Good solid round to be in contention for weekend is what he wants.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 07, 2011, 11:54:33 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on April 07, 2011, 11:00:34 PM
Great start by McIlroy. Hopefully he can keep it going.

A 71 or 72 would be a good score tomorrow. Most years -10 would win it although I think it was -15 last year.

Would be afraid Rory would make a bad start and then start to unravel quickly. Good solid round to be in contention for weekend is what he wants.

lets hope he doesnt repeat his follow up to his British Open 1st round where he also lead
Post by: isourboydownyet on April 08, 2011, 08:52:41 AM
watched last nights coverage on 3d and holy jesus i couldnt believe how steep some of the holes really were,i knew the 18th was up hill but by god it's some climb
Post by: whiskeysteve on April 08, 2011, 08:57:44 AM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on April 08, 2011, 08:52:41 AM
watched last nights coverage on 3d and holy jesus i couldnt believe how steep some of the holes really were,i knew the 18th was up hill but by god it's some climb

did cabrera need an oxygen mask?
Post by: isourboydownyet on April 08, 2011, 09:58:08 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on April 08, 2011, 08:57:44 AM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on April 08, 2011, 08:52:41 AM

did cabrera need an oxygen mask?

quite a few of them looked f**ked heading up that hill
Post by: Bingo on April 08, 2011, 10:17:41 AM
Had McElroy backed to lead after first round, went to bed thinking he had only to my winning odds slashed to 14/1 from 28/1 after Quiros late charge.

Stuck the winnings on him to win it! Sorry Rory.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 08, 2011, 10:39:02 AM
Quote from: Bingo on April 08, 2011, 10:17:41 AM
Had McElroy backed to lead after first round, went to bed thinking he had only to my winning odds slashed to 14/1 from 28/1 after Quiros late charge.

Stuck the winnings on him to win it! Sorry Rory.
I backed Quiros going down the last at 15/1 - seemed like a very big price for him to birdie the last hole.  (It only paid out half, a bit annoyed he didn't make eagle).
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 08, 2011, 02:26:12 PM
Great start to the day for Poulter, just birdied the first three holes to move to -1
Post by: Pat Mustard on April 08, 2011, 04:31:45 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 08, 2011, 02:26:12 PM
Great start to the day for Poulter, just birdied the first three holes to move to -1
Scuddy bastard.
Post by: laoislad on April 08, 2011, 04:50:14 PM
http://veetle.com/index.php/channel/view#4d9e4e1fb4906
Great link
Post by: The Claw on April 08, 2011, 06:53:49 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 08, 2011, 04:50:14 PM
http://veetle.com/index.php/channel/view#4d9e4e1fb4906
Great link
Genius loaislad thanks
Post by: Puckoon on April 08, 2011, 07:00:21 PM
Heard about this yesterday. Funny stuff. Agusta have balls of steel. They don't need any player/sponsor/member in particular - and they aren't shy about showing it.

http://network.yardbarker.com/golf/article_external/rickie_fowler_learned_pretty_quickly_that_wearing_your_hat_backwards_isnt_tolerated_at_augusta_national/4512990 (http://network.yardbarker.com/golf/article_external/rickie_fowler_learned_pretty_quickly_that_wearing_your_hat_backwards_isnt_tolerated_at_augusta_national/4512990)
Post by: CiKe on April 08, 2011, 07:43:12 PM
Quote from: CiKe on April 05, 2011, 11:17:22 PM

Had a small bit left in Paddy Power which had not touched for about two years, so stuck a small amount on each of of KJ Choi, YE Yang, Kim, Donald and Kuchar

Three of my picks in the top 5 overnight, sorry Rory but I'm cheering the Koreans!
Post by: muppet on April 08, 2011, 08:18:04 PM
Quote from: CiKe on April 08, 2011, 07:43:12 PM
Quote from: CiKe on April 05, 2011, 11:17:22 PM

Three of my picks in the top 5 overnight, sorry Rory but I'm cheering the Koreans!

He aint listening!

-3 after 9
Post by: CiKe on April 08, 2011, 08:32:57 PM
bugger Choi just bogeyed the last, Kuchar out there still but McIllroy flying.
Post by: flantheman82 on April 08, 2011, 08:56:34 PM
Anyone know how many places ladbrokes are paying out on for the each way bet? Done it online bit can't remember.
Post by: gallsman on April 08, 2011, 09:10:41 PM
What is it about Fred Couples and the Masters? Always seems to be in and around the top of the leaderboard before the weekend hits!
Post by: Bogball XV on April 08, 2011, 09:19:21 PM
Quote from: flantheman82 on April 08, 2011, 08:56:34 PM
Anyone know how many places ladbrokes are paying out on for the each way bet? Done it online bit can't remember.
check your account history, it'll let you know how many places are being paid.  Possibly just the 5.

Quote from: gallsman on April 08, 2011, 09:10:41 PM
What is it about Fred Couples and the Masters? Always seems to be in and around the top of the leaderboard before the weekend hits!

horses for courses, few other courses are like augusta, if you can play it, you can play it.  If you can't, you can't - look at kaymer, never made the cut at augusta, choi - been rubbish most of the past few years bar when he hits augusta.
Post by: mick999 on April 08, 2011, 09:23:41 PM
Rory just Birdied the 13th to go to 10 under ...
Just missed eagle
He's flying !!
Post by: Bogball XV on April 08, 2011, 09:30:47 PM
Quote from: mick999 on April 08, 2011, 09:23:41 PM
Rory just Birdied the 13th to go to 10 under ...
Just missed eagle
He's flying !!
going well alright, i still don't think he'll win though.
Post by: laoislad on April 08, 2011, 09:52:56 PM
What the f**k was the caddie at there he was taking some risk
Post by: muppet on April 08, 2011, 09:54:28 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 08, 2011, 09:52:56 PM

His ball was itchy?
Post by: muppet on April 08, 2011, 10:08:39 PM
Harry not going without a fight.

-2 today but probably needs to be -4 to make the cut.
Post by: Puckoon on April 08, 2011, 10:26:00 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 08, 2011, 09:52:56 PM

What happened?
Post by: gallsman on April 08, 2011, 10:41:21 PM
Some shot out of the bunker from McIlroy!
Post by: Minder on April 08, 2011, 11:18:14 PM
Woods on the prowl...........
Post by: bigfrank on April 08, 2011, 11:40:27 PM
Anyone watchin online and have a good link??? Woods is about to roar...this weekends sport starting to look even better!!
Post by: boojangles on April 09, 2011, 12:09:51 AM
Woods birdys the last to finish 7 under. Come on Tiger!!
Post by: Minder on April 09, 2011, 12:18:36 AM
OWC will be doing well to hold off Woods.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 09, 2011, 12:44:00 AM
'Latest' Headline from BBC website;

QuoteNorthern Ireland's Sammy McIlroy (-10) is the halfway leader at Augusta, but Tiger Woods looks ominous (-7) in joint 3rd

Post by: Dinny Breen on April 09, 2011, 08:23:00 AM
From McIlroy's perspective it's good to see Woods in contention as he will now dominate the media spotlight easing some of the pressure on Rory plus this isn't Woods of 6 years ago.
Post by: laoislad on April 09, 2011, 08:40:28 AM
If Tiger brings his game from yesterdays  back 9 into the next two rounds then he wont be stopped by anyone.
Delighted to see Garcia back playing well again.
Post by: sammymaguire on April 09, 2011, 09:02:30 AM
Could be one of the best finishes to a Masters for many a year with possibilities of 5-6 players being in with a shout going into the back 9 for the last time... When was the last time there was a play-off in the Masters? I would say Rory was having a chat with McDowell last night on how to beat Tiger...
Post by: Bogball XV on April 09, 2011, 11:31:25 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on April 09, 2011, 09:02:30 AM
Could be one of the best finishes to a Masters for many a year with possibilities of 5-6 players being in with a shout going into the back 9 for the last time... When was the last time there was a play-off in the Masters? I would say Rory was having a chat with McDowell last night on how to beat Tiger...
It could be over tonight tbh, if woods plays on (although that's a massive if, given he's put in a great round in most tournaments this year) it coud be over.  I don't think Rory will hang on at the top, it'd be hard to see the likes of Quiros come through (but having backed him, I'd be delighted if he did), Westwood doesn't win enough when challenging and has already blown 3(?) majors.  Ogilvy could be very interesting actually, when he's on form putting there's few can match him - might have a wee punt on him actually.

There was a play-off two years ago (i think) when Cabrera won after a 3-man tie
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 09, 2011, 12:02:04 PM
Think we are all writing off Rory, another steady round today and he will still be the one to catch going into the last round.

Should be a good days golfing, hope Rory puts in another good day. What time is Rory out at?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 09, 2011, 12:11:57 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 09, 2011, 12:02:04 PM
Think we are all writing off Rory, another steady round today and he will still be the one to catch going into the last round.

Should be a good days golfing, hope Rory puts in another good day. What time is Rory out at?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/golf/12978926.stm
Post by: Orior on April 09, 2011, 06:13:39 PM
Has Ernie Els a BO problem? He's playing on his own. Who marks his card? Why did they not send him out with the next group as a 3-ball?
Post by: Square Ball on April 09, 2011, 08:17:40 PM
good link

http://veetle.com/index.php/channel/view#4d9e4e1fb4906 (http://veetle.com/index.php/channel/view#4d9e4e1fb4906)
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2011, 08:20:33 PM

bubba going well stephenite
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 09, 2011, 08:24:17 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 09, 2011, 08:40:28 AM
If Tiger brings his game from yesterdays  back 9 into the next two rounds then he wont be stopped by anyone.
Delighted to see Garcia back playing well again.

+1. Had a tough few years since blowing up at The Open. See he's making a move too - would be a hugely popular winner, but early days yet.
Post by: gerry on April 09, 2011, 09:20:02 PM
our boy slipping
Post by: gallsman on April 09, 2011, 09:24:37 PM
KJ starting to motor a bit.
Post by: gerry on April 09, 2011, 09:32:18 PM
nothing between top 3
Post by: gerry on April 09, 2011, 09:48:18 PM
the tiger does not look happy
Post by: laoislad on April 09, 2011, 09:57:11 PM
Quote from: gerry on April 09, 2011, 09:48:18 PM
Still only 4 back though. He could do with finding a few birdies
Post by: gerry on April 09, 2011, 10:04:12 PM
QuoteHe could do with finding a few birdies

is that not what starting him  to not looking happy
Post by: laoislad on April 09, 2011, 10:08:53 PM
Quote from: gerry on April 09, 2011, 10:04:12 PM
QuoteHe could do with finding a few birdies

is that not what starting him  to not looking happy
I dunno Id say he was very happy riding all around him, wouldn't you be!
Tiger only 3 back now, 3 tied at -9
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 09, 2011, 10:10:33 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 09, 2011, 09:57:11 PM
Quote from: gerry on April 09, 2011, 09:48:18 PM
Still only 4 back though. He could do with finding a few birdies

Tiger misses a gimme!
Post by: gerry on April 09, 2011, 10:15:53 PM
getting tight at the top
Post by: Minder on April 09, 2011, 10:42:49 PM
Freddy Couples can still play.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 09, 2011, 10:46:49 PM
Luke Donald has put himself in with some shout !
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 09, 2011, 11:11:05 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 09, 2011, 10:42:49 PM
Freddy Couples can still play.
So can Tiger. Couples' swing is amazing.
Post by: offtheground on April 09, 2011, 11:20:38 PM
Anywhere I can get a decent text updates?, on hols here with a shite wifi connection... Gonna be some night tomorra if mcilroy keeps at it...
Post by: sammymaguire on April 09, 2011, 11:21:32 PM
Who is going to win it now lads? I still fancy Donald will be there or thereabouts at this time tomorrow evening
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 09, 2011, 11:25:31 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on April 09, 2011, 11:21:32 PM
Who is going to win it now lads? I still fancy Donald will be there or thereabouts at this time tomorrow evening

its as much a lottery as the grand national was today, take your pick.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 09, 2011, 11:28:19 PM
McIlroy to -11. It will be McIlroy's to lose. If he wins in then fair fucks to him as he'll have had some nerve to hold it together going on the last 18.

Tough to make par from there..
Post by: sammymaguire on April 09, 2011, 11:29:01 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on April 09, 2011, 11:25:31 PM

Well as far as one really bad hole could possibly wreck a player's tournament on the last day, like clattering into a fence, I don't think we have 40 contenders at this stage of proceedings
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 09, 2011, 11:34:48 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on April 09, 2011, 11:29:01 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on April 09, 2011, 11:25:31 PM

Well as far as one really bad hole could possibly wreck a player's tournament on the last day, like clattering into a fence, I don't think we have 40 contenders at this stage of proceedings

aye but there aint fuckin 40 contenders at this stage you know what i mean
Post by: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 12:10:05 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 05, 2011, 12:40:50 PM

I don't think he has the mental fortitude yet to win a major (unless he sneaks it by posting a great last round and the guys in front of him collapse).
egg on face or superbly prescient?  Looks like the former at this stage tbh!!  If he plays anything like he has over the last 3 days it'll be easy, but he really has had huge problems every time he has had a lead in a tournament.  It's good for him that mickelson, tiger etc are not his immediate chasers.  He'll probably need a 70 to guarantee the win, although it may not take that much.

I still wouldn't back him at evens, but I wouldn't lay him either.

Ps: did you back him in the end Stephenite?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 10, 2011, 12:13:30 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 12:10:05 AM

egg on face or superbly prescient?  Looks like the former at this stage tbh!!  If he plays anything like he has over the last 3 days it'll be easy, but he really has had huge problems every time he has had a lead in a tournament.  It's good for him that mickelson, tiger etc are not his immediate chasers.  He'll probably need a 70 to guarantee the win, although it may not take that much.

its going to take a good set of stones, but if he plays like the last 3 day he will win it as easy as Tiger did in 1997 (?)
I think he will do it easy, here;s hoping
Post by: Minder on April 10, 2011, 12:27:28 AM
Stephen Watson is getting lathered up.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 12:32:52 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 12:10:05 AM

egg on face or superbly prescient?  Looks like the former at this stage tbh!!  If he plays anything like he has over the last 3 days it'll be easy, but he really has had huge problems every time he has had a lead in a tournament. It's good for him that mickelson, tiger etc are not his immediate chasers.  He'll probably need a 70 to guarantee the win, although it may not take that much.

Tis a good point, No-one has been exerting pressure on him so he's been playing his own game without having to worry about chasers. i reckon he'll bring it home tomorrow. He'll be worth a few quid if he wins so he'll be able to pay for Windsor Park to be done up.
Post by: Orangemac on April 10, 2011, 12:39:40 AM
Don't think he is thekind of fella to worry about others. More worried about his own game.

Had buterflies all day thinking about it. Had a few bottles too many in the house tonight and maded a bit to much noise when  he sank tat putt on 17.

Agree a 70 should be enough tomorrow.

The fella is a class act and it is interesting the way that the Americans have warmed to him in a way they didn't with other Europeans such as Montgomerie. Even giving his ball to a young fella in the crowd as went into the clubhouse. Credit to his parents.

Also intersting to see Tiger having to delay hi sho as McIrloy birdied 17 as a roar went up from the crowd.

Can't wait for tomoorow night.
Post by: balladmaker on April 10, 2011, 02:20:53 AM
McIlroy won't get a better chance of landing a major given the position he has got himself into now.  Would be some achievement for a 21 year old to win not just a major, but the Masters!  If ever a competition can throw up surprises and edge of the seat entertainment, it's the last day of the Masters and anything can and most likely will happen.

Has anyone ever heard the details of the bet which Rory McIlroy's father has on Rory to win a Major by the time he is 25?  The bet, which is apparently sizeable, was placed when McIlroy was still an amateur.
Post by: Minder on April 10, 2011, 02:26:06 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on April 10, 2011, 02:20:53 AM
McIlroy won't get a better chance of landing a major given the position he has got himself into now.  Would be some achievement for a 21 year old to win not just a major, but the Masters!  If ever a competition can throw up surprises and edge of the seat entertainment, it's the last day of the Masters and anything can and most likely will happen.

Has anyone ever heard the details of the bet which Rory McIlroy's father has on Rory to win a Major by the time he is 25?  The bet, which is apparently sizeable, was placed when McIlroy was still an amateur.

It's not just his da but a few from his club in Holywood, I was told it had to be the British Open. Open to correction though. If they had any wit they would have been laying him every year.
Post by: unforgiven on April 10, 2011, 02:28:58 AM
No matter what how he finishes, this fella is still a treat to watch and and a pride to the entire country. 
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 10, 2011, 08:53:56 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 07, 2011, 03:42:10 PM
BBC's live commentary had 'British' for McIlroy a few mins back. Now it's 'UK'!

Someone musta gave off.

I've a £5 on him at 33s so so far so good.

He;s giving me a sweat if nothing else. Keep er lit Rory. Keep er lit.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:32:36 AM
Quote from: laoislad on April 07, 2011, 10:31:01 PM
Sky turning on their 3D coverage now.Anyone got it?

I watched the lasdt 2 nights in 3D when it come on. It's very good. Really gives you a view of how hilly that course is. I never really copped that before. Some of the fairways, 17 especially, are like a rolling sea with 10 foot waves. And the bunkers!
Post by: dillinger on April 10, 2011, 10:51:04 AM
I watched the lasdt 2 nights in 3D when it come on. It's very good. Really gives you a view of how hilly that course is. I never really copped that before. Some of the fairways, 17 especially, are like a rolling sea with 10 foot waves. And the bunkers!

Think that's them funny cigs your smoking there. Rory you must do it!
Post by: Groucho on April 10, 2011, 11:07:06 AM
It's McIlroy's to lose now......he is well able to birdie all the par 5's and I think a 69/70 will win it for him. 8)
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 06:41:54 PM
Quote from: Groucho on April 10, 2011, 11:07:06 AM
It's McIlroy's to lose now......he is well able to birdie all the par 5's and I think a 69/70 will win it for him. 8)

4/5 favourite - get on !!
Post by: JimStynes on April 10, 2011, 06:54:55 PM
I can't wait. I really hope he can hold his nerve throughout. 1 bad hole or ball into the water and he could f**k the whole thing up. It will be interesting to see if Tiger can make a charge.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 07:10:38 PM
Can't see him f**king it up now. He's bound to get a couple of birdies at the long holes leaving someone to shoot a low 60s round to beat him. Based on what we've seen since Thursday I don't think I will happen.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 07:20:12 PM
Tiger looking good.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 07:25:44 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 07:10:38 PM
Can't see him f**king it up now. He's bound to get a couple of birdies at the long holes leaving someone to shoot a low 60s round to beat him. Based on what we've seen since Thursday I don't think I will happen.

Its not the birdes he should worry about. It making grinding out pars and avoiding calamities at for example Amen Corner.

I am reminded of Harrington quoting Woods when he said that the Majors start on the back 9 on Sunday. If he even has 9 pars up to then he would be in reasonable shape.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 07:40:33 PM
What a shot!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 07:51:10 PM
Oh dear.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 07:52:18 PM
Balls have dropped already :o
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 07:52:45 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 07:51:10 PM
Oh dear.

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear.

Colin Montgomerie did predict a wobble.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 07:54:55 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 07:52:45 PM
Oh dear.

He'd know all about that ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 07:56:56 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 07:54:55 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 07:52:45 PM
Oh dear.

:D The Tiger smells blood?

He'd know all about that ;D
Post by: Agent Orange on April 10, 2011, 08:00:00 PM
Not looking good for Ruairi.
Post by: JimStynes on April 10, 2011, 08:01:41 PM
f**k sake. Woods looking very dangerous here.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 08:03:21 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on April 10, 2011, 08:01:41 PM
f**k sake. Woods looking very dangerous here.

This will ebb and flow for hours yet.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 08:09:19 PM
Need big balls now to shak off that start. Shot Rory - needs to hole the putt or the wheels are well and truly off.
Post by: Agent Orange on April 10, 2011, 08:11:49 PM
Schwartzl having a hell of a lot of luck.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 08:13:23 PM
What price is McIlroy now?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 10, 2011, 08:14:31 PM
Just took 15/8 on McIlroy. Know little enough about golf but as the ad says "it means more when there's money on it"
Post by: Bensars on April 10, 2011, 08:16:29 PM
Tigers going to catch him and ride him!
Post by: Agent Orange on April 10, 2011, 08:22:05 PM
Anyone got a link to the golf. The antiques roadshow takes precedence in our house.
Post by: King Kenny on April 10, 2011, 08:28:38 PM
Quote from: Bensars on April 10, 2011, 08:16:29 PM
Tigers going to catch him and ride him!
:D :D :D
Post by: maximus on April 10, 2011, 08:31:26 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/golf/9453363.stm
Post by: Agent Orange on April 10, 2011, 08:35:18 PM
Quote from: maximus on April 10, 2011, 08:31:26 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/golf/9453363.stm

Thanks. Tiger on the prowl.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 08:55:42 PM
Backed Schwartzel at 8/1 one just before Rory fcuked up at the first, Tiger is going great guns
Post by: King Kenny on April 10, 2011, 09:11:12 PM
Get in
Post by: stephenite on April 10, 2011, 09:42:14 PM
Any live streams???
Post by: Tubberman on April 10, 2011, 09:46:54 PM
Quote from: stephenite on April 10, 2011, 09:42:14 PM
Any live streams???

Watching it here:
http://nutjobgolf.yolasite.com/ (http://nutjobgolf.yolasite.com/)
Post by: Minder on April 10, 2011, 09:47:05 PM
McIlroy isn't gonna get it handed to him by the looks of it.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 09:48:54 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 10, 2011, 09:47:05 PM
McIlroy isn't gonna get it handed to him by the looks of it.

He is playing only ok but nothing happening for him (yet!) and incredibly is still leading starting the back 9 if he holes that short one.
Post by: Tubberman on April 10, 2011, 09:52:25 PM
Wild tee shot on 10, looks like it's in the trees, he was asking if it was out of bounds...
None of the others have been able to get ahead of him yet, so if he can just keep a steady round he could still do it
Post by: Minder on April 10, 2011, 09:56:50 PM
I know it is obvious as he is only a shot behind but I think Cabrera will be his biggest threat. Won here before and as he is playing with him so he can exert pressure on him.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 09:57:36 PM
Wobble after wobble - if he's going to win, he's going to do it the hard way.
Post by: wanderer on April 10, 2011, 09:58:36 PM
squeaky bum time
Post by: Tubberman on April 10, 2011, 09:59:45 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 09:57:36 PM

Luckily for him, Tiger's putts are missing by millimetres.
Jesus Rory, his 3rd is gone into rough as well. Needs to pull it together.
Post by: Minder on April 10, 2011, 10:00:32 PM
People that say "pressure is for tyres" talk shit.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 10, 2011, 10:01:56 PM
McIlroy's the 5/1 fifth favourite at this stage.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:02:16 PM
Rory is toast now. He's lost it alotgether now.

He still can be proud of the way he's performed all the same - he's only 21 and has a great career ahead of him.

Hopefully he still can do it. But it's all falling apart at the seams now.
Post by: Tubberman on April 10, 2011, 10:04:26 PM
Yeah, looks like he's lost all composure. Needs to get this hole over with and get his breath back and calm himself
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 10:04:37 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 10, 2011, 09:59:45 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 09:57:36 PM

Luckily for him, Tiger's putts are missing by millimetres.
Jesus Rory, his 3rd is gone into rough as well. Needs to pull it together.

I was going to post something still holding out hope, but not now. He is playing like me now and should just go home.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:04:55 PM
He's shit them now to some tune - He'll be lucky to be in the top 10 the way he's going.

He'll need 7 shots on this hole.
Post by: Square Ball on April 10, 2011, 10:05:31 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 10, 2011, 10:00:32 PM
People that say "pressure is for tyres" talk shit.

feeling sorry for him now, the pressure must be tremendous for him.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:07:02 PM
I hope you don't take that attitude into the Golf Classic Muppet.

The American commentators, Azinger and Strange on the 3D are very hard on McIlroy. They seem to be glorying in his trouble. Pricks.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:07:24 PM
21 years of age is right - golf, like a lot of sports can be so so cruel.

This is some collapse all the same.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 10, 2011, 10:08:35 PM
He's looking every inch a 21-year-old now. Poor guy. 14s now with Paddy Power. Hope this doesn't put his career back too much. Very hard to watch.

And Tiger back in the ball game, a four footer for eagle.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:08:49 PM
In a funny way the pressure might ease a bit now. The worst has happened, he's lost the run of himself, and fell apart.

Sure he might as well just have a go now, and there's a couple of par 5s coming up. If he can lift himself he's not gone yet.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:08:58 PM
He'll be Irish after this now.

Tiger is at it again. Stand clear.
Post by: donelli on April 10, 2011, 10:09:17 PM
i hate tiger woods the swarmy c...
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:09:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:08:49 PM
In a funny way the pressure might ease a bit now. The worst has happened, he's lost the run of himself, and fell apart.

Sure he might as well just have a go now, and there's a couple of par 5s coming up. If he can lift himself he's not gone yet.
[/b]

Hope you're right.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 10:10:14 PM
He's still not out of it. If he regains his composure he'll realise he's only 2 behind. A hole like that is enough to crush a man though.

My money is on Hardstation.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:12:05 PM
Exactly. If he knew on Wednesday that he's be 2 shots behind with 8 holes to go, he'd be delighted.
Post by: spuds on April 10, 2011, 10:13:17 PM
Rory now 14/1 on Paddy Power
Post by: Tubberman on April 10, 2011, 10:14:34 PM
Jaysus, some miss by Woods  :o
Post by: wanderer on April 10, 2011, 10:16:39 PM
Its a long way from over yet. Scott is looking dangerous....

Good man rory, keep the head up!
Post by: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:22:32 PM
Good night Luke. 3 putts from there? Oiche mhaith.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 10:23:20 PM
I've never totally wamed to rory, but I really felt for him on that 10th hole - he can still get back up there though, the leaders have done nothing and there's two good eagle chances coming up, which rory should at least have birdie chances on.  Who knows, glad Woods seems to have shot his bolt anyway.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 10, 2011, 10:23:42 PM
10 golfers left, this is still up for grabs.........playoff holes to determine winner
Post by: sammymaguire on April 10, 2011, 10:24:07 PM
If McIlroy does not win this, I hope Woods takes home another green jacket but his putting is killing him
Post by: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:25:12 PM
Woods shot his bolt? He's tied for the lead!
Post by: laoislad on April 10, 2011, 10:27:39 PM
This is great viewing..hard to beat a last round in a golf tournament for excitement the fact thats its the Masters makes it even better..
Post by: sammymaguire on April 10, 2011, 10:29:25 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 10, 2011, 10:26:06 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on April 10, 2011, 10:24:07 PM
If McIlroy does not win this, I hope Woods takes home another green jacket but his putting is killing him
It is time to forget about Mac Giolla Ruaidh.

Poor lad's head is up his arse now
Post by: laoislad on April 10, 2011, 10:31:39 PM

Not a hope Mcilroy is gonna win this now
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on April 10, 2011, 10:33:09 PM
Biggest choker since Alberto Desalvo
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:33:55 PM
Jesus but this is incredible.

This is going to destroy this lad.

The mother of all collapses. The americans are loving this.
Post by: Maiden1 on April 10, 2011, 10:34:21 PM
He may pack up the clubs and head to the pub.
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 10:34:45 PM
He'll be wrote off in 2 hours.
Post by: Square Ball on April 10, 2011, 10:34:57 PM
Terrible indeed, hope he shows the character to come back from it
Post by: Puckoon on April 10, 2011, 10:35:33 PM
The Americans are not loving this. The commentary is continually about how hard it is to watch him unravel.

That said, when they are comparing him to Greg Norman, well it's pretty ominous.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 10:35:50 PM
Angel Cabrera owns a sock from Sneem.

Yerra come on Ankle.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:35:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 10:34:45 PM
He'll be wrote off in 2 hours.

Looks like he's wrote off now.
Post by: wanderer on April 10, 2011, 10:36:18 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 10, 2011, 10:34:57 PM
Terrible indeed, hope he shows the character to come back from it

Post by: JimStynes on April 10, 2011, 10:36:44 PM
This confirms that McIlroy is not the new Tiger Woods. Great golfer and still only 22 but I think it is clear to see that he just doesn't have the mental strength that Woods had at that age.  Let's hope he doesnt end up another Sergio Garcia and never fulfil his potential.
Post by: sammymaguire on April 10, 2011, 10:37:01 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 10, 2011, 10:31:39 PM

Not a hope Mcilroy is gonna win this now

Or Woods... Too many others in the frame with holes to find birdies on. One of these Aussie lads looking good, Scott has always been talked up as a major champ in the waiting, maybe it's his day?
Post by: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 10:38:02 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:25:12 PM
Woods shot his bolt? He's tied for the lead!
he's played all the par 5's, the co-leaders mostly have those to come - Woods is 30/1 to win now.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:38:57 PM
It's kinda hard to believe the scale of Mc Elroy's collapse.

From 4 shots up till about 8 down in a dozed holes.

Incredible.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 10:39:13 PM
Who was the last major winner with a broom-handle?

Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 10:39:21 PM
McIlroy should go down in flames. Do the Happy Gilmore stuff.
Post by: laoislad on April 10, 2011, 10:40:38 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 10, 2011, 10:39:13 PM

Langer?
Not you the Golfer...
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:42:04 PM
Tiger gave that some lash.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 10:43:18 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 10, 2011, 10:40:38 PM

Langer?
Not you the Golfer...

That would be the answer to the question: What major winner with a normal putter subsequently switched to a broom-handle?

Langer.

Not you the golfer.....
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 10:45:45 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 10, 2011, 10:44:41 PM
From a green jacket to a straight jacket in about an hour.

Great news.......thanks for letting us know.

Now back to Augusta.
Post by: AQMP on April 10, 2011, 10:46:00 PM
No Aussie has ever won the Masters...hard to believe.  Another poster said that McIlroy didn't putt well enough to win the Masters.  Proved right today.  Anyway it's glorified crazy golf!  Hoper Scott or KJ wins.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:47:20 PM
This IS a cruel game.

Really feel sorry for Mc Elroy - that was just pure torture out there at 12.
Post by: laoislad on April 10, 2011, 10:47:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 10, 2011, 10:43:18 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 10, 2011, 10:40:38 PM

Langer?
Not you the Golfer...

That would be the answer to the question: What major winner with a normal putter subsequently switched to a broom-handle?

Langer.

Not you the golfer.....

Langer

You not the golfer....
Post by: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 10:48:16 PM
was vijay using one when he won the masters or the pga?  I think the pga was maybe 2004, and i'd think he was using one then?
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 10:48:26 PM
Hope he already knows the Ulster result. Wouldn't want to be telling him.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 10:48:37 PM
The 18th will be torture for him but especially if Cabrera wins it there.
Post by: AQMP on April 10, 2011, 10:48:49 PM
Quote from: AQMP on April 10, 2011, 10:46:00 PM
No Aussie has ever won the Masters...hard to believe.  Another poster said that McIlroy didn't putt well enough to win the Masters.  Proved right today.  Anyway it's glorified crazy golf!  Hoper Scott or KJ wins.
Famous AQMP scud!!
Post by: INDIANA on April 10, 2011, 10:49:00 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:38:57 PM
It's kinda hard to believe the scale of Mc Elroy's collapse.

From 4 shots up till about 8 down in a dozed holes.

Incredible.

Bit dramatic. He'll be back. I'd love to see some here down the back 9 of a major with hundreds of millions watching. The fact is he got to a point ahead of time.
Aand its unfortunate
Post by: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:49:38 PM
Did O'Meara have a broom handle putter?
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 10:50:09 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 10:48:16 PM
was vijay using one when he won the masters or the pga?  I think the pga was maybe 2004, and i'd think he was using one then?
(http://kohlertalk.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/bbb20322.jpg?w=630&h=413)
Post by: Capt Pat on April 10, 2011, 10:50:26 PM
Sorry for all those that watched the first three and a half rounds but Rory isn't going to win it. Golf tournaments kike the Masters are often decided in the final nine holes. Good tv but tragic for McElroy.
Post by: Capt Pat on April 10, 2011, 10:51:42 PM
Donald goes to ten under but more players are slipping up. It is still up in the air.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 10:51:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:49:38 PM
Did O'Meara have a broom handle putter?

I think the answer is.............no one.

Scott might be the 1st.
Post by: Minder on April 10, 2011, 10:52:27 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 10:48:26 PM
Hope he already knows the Ulster result. Wouldn't want to be telling him.

@McIlroyRory

Proud of the lads! They gave it a great go! @UlsterRugby #SUFTUM
Twittelator • 10/04/2011 15:50
retweeted by @KenReid_utv
Post by: sammymaguire on April 10, 2011, 10:53:53 PM
What's the largest number of players in a playoff in a Major?

Imagine 8 or 9 of them queuing up after they were all done.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on April 10, 2011, 10:54:01 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on April 10, 2011, 10:50:26 PM
Sorry for all those that watched the first three and a half rounds but Rory isn't going to win it. Golf tournaments kike the Masters are often decided in the final nine holes. Good tv but tragic for McElroy.
Seriously-what's with the hypberbole-'tragic' is a word used for death or serious disaster  on a human scale-the lad is worth millions, without a care in the world-time for a bit of perspective
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 10:54:13 PM
I hope he already knows the Down result.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 10:54:20 PM
no golfer has ever won a major using a broom putter.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:54:51 PM
Tiger in the club house at -10. Good recovery from him. Not finished yet.
Post by: Capt Pat on April 10, 2011, 10:56:05 PM
Tiger is looking good but my bet is a playoff.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on April 10, 2011, 10:56:17 PM
God help the cocktail waitresses if Tiger pulls this off in a play-off
Post by: wanderer on April 10, 2011, 10:56:24 PM
Its been rough, but leading right through just kept piling the pressure on. If he had been in the mix this morning instead of out in front he'd have been better off
He'll be back and be better for this at some stage
Post by: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 10:58:27 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 10:54:51 PM
if it goes to a play-off it really shouldn't be -10, so tiger should be out of it, but then again, the way they're all choking when they get a sniff of the lead.....

Post by: spuds on April 10, 2011, 11:02:11 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 10:58:27 PM
if it goes to a play-off it really shouldn't be -10, so tiger should be out of it, but then again, the way they're all choking when they get a sniff of the lead.....

Paddy Power agrees, has Tiger at 20/1 and 7 players they rank as bigger threats
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 11:02:23 PM
Just stuck a pound on Day at 12-1
Post by: AQMP on April 10, 2011, 11:03:29 PM
Apart from Woods who really has the ballix to win this
Post by: sammymaguire on April 10, 2011, 11:04:40 PM
Quote from: spuds on April 10, 2011, 11:02:11 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 10:58:27 PM

Paddy Power agrees, has Tiger at 20/1 and 7 players they rank as bigger threats

Scott's price just tumbled??
Post by: Bogball XV on April 10, 2011, 11:09:13 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on April 10, 2011, 11:07:25 PM
Cabrara has it in the bag
he better take it out quick as scott is about to run away with this.
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 11:09:45 PM
Fascinating watching the odds move - http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_betlive_event&ev_id=1841857
Post by: passedit on April 10, 2011, 11:11:25 PM
I wonder if Rory's heard of Leon Trotsky. Sport is cruel but it's only a game.
Post by: Keyser soze on April 10, 2011, 11:11:45 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on April 10, 2011, 10:50:26 PM

That'll be Butch Harmon etc out of a job then golfing guru, dunno why they bother starting on a thursday.
Post by: spuds on April 10, 2011, 11:19:28 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%81ngel_Cabrera
QuoteCabrera was born in Córdoba, Argentina. His father, Miguel, was a handyman and his mother worked as a maid. Ángel was three or four when his parents split up. He was left in the care of his paternal grandmother. He stayed with her until he was 16, when he moved in a few feet away, to the house of Silvia, twelve years his senior, and a mother of four boys. They had a son, Federico, followed by another, Ángel. Ángel and Silvia have never been formally married, they are officially separated.[3]

I have a new hero
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 11:19:50 PM
Schwarzel's to lose now.

Scott has made a balls of it,
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:20:04 PM
No hiding place out there at all, do feel sorry for Rory, he'll find it tough to recover from this. Needs to go out on the lash after this
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 11:21:06 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:20:04 PM
No hiding place out there at all, do feel sorry for Rory, he'll find it tough to recover from this. Needs to go out on the lash after this
Excessive drinking isn't the answer to everything. Get help.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:21:56 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 11:19:50 PM
Schwarzel's to lose now.

Scott has made a balls of it,

hope so, I have a fiver on him at 8's but anything can happen
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:22:31 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 11:21:06 PM

Works for me ;)
Post by: AQMP on April 10, 2011, 11:25:05 PM
Quote from: AQMP on April 10, 2011, 11:03:29 PM
Apart from Woods who really has the ballix to win this

Jason Day???
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 11:26:38 PM
Great save by Scott
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 11:27:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:22:31 PM

Works for me ;)

You've a run in the morning.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 11:27:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 11:09:45 PM
Fascinating watching the odds move - http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_betlive_event&ev_id=1841857

Never saw that before it is amazing alright. Glad I don't have an account.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 11:28:15 PM
If this thing goes to a playoff it could go on all night!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:30:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 11:27:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:22:31 PM

Works for me ;)

You've a run in the morning.

Five and half miles, do it in my sleep.

Come on Charl!!!
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 11:31:53 PM
Poor Rory.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 10, 2011, 11:32:17 PM
Apart from McIlroy imploding this is riveting stuff, some fantastic shots/putts. Another great sporting weekend, will help to lighten the week.
Post by: AQMP on April 10, 2011, 11:34:28 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 11:31:53 PM
Poor Rory.

Painful to watch but his putting isn't good enough
Post by: AN other on April 10, 2011, 11:37:34 PM
McIlroy came out there a while back and said something to the effect that Tiger had lost his aura and nobody was fazed by him anymore. It sounded like something Poulter would say. Might be relatively true but I'd still say Tiger's having a right old giggle at McIlroy now....
Comparisons with Garcia are fairly relevant, bags of undoubted potential but his putting his very patchy.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 11:37:51 PM
Jason Day's missus is a bit tasty. He'd need to watch her round Woods.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 11:38:51 PM
Quote from: AQMP on April 10, 2011, 11:34:28 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 11:31:53 PM
Poor Rory.

Painful to watch but his putting isn't good enough

When the driving wavered and put him under pressure it was the putting that collapsed.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 11:39:11 PM
Quote from: AN other on April 10, 2011, 11:37:34 PM
McIlroy came out there a while back and said something to the effect that Tiger had lost his aura and nobody was fazed by him anymore. It sounded like something Poulter would say. Might be relatively true but I'd still say Tiger's having a right old giggle at McIlroy now....
Comparisons with Garcia are fairly relevant, bags of undoubted potential but his putting his very patchy.

Seriously ? Did he say that ? What was he on ? Definitely wrote off.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on April 10, 2011, 11:40:38 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 11:37:51 PM
Not many unattractive females attached to the top golfers- I wonder what attracted them to the men. ;D  Think Padraig Harrington married for love though ;D
Post by: AN other on April 10, 2011, 11:41:37 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 11:39:11 PM

It was a while back. It caught my attention because I thought he might come to regret it...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:42:27 PM
Charl is 1/9 now

oh Days missus is something else
Post by: sammymaguire on April 10, 2011, 11:42:54 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 11:39:11 PM

Yep, it's true alright; http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/golf/9042832.stm
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 10, 2011, 11:43:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 11:37:51 PM

Shes not wearing a wedding ring ;), but shes hot...
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 11:45:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:42:27 PM
Charl is 1/9 now

Charl's got it sewn up if he doesn't dung the togs. Surely down in 2 from there.

Day's missus is great. I think she was giving me the eye.
Post by: muppet on April 10, 2011, 11:45:45 PM
Scott and Day both 40/1.

Can he not 3 putt?

Although he is putting very well, that and holing from 150 yards.
Post by: spuds on April 10, 2011, 11:45:57 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:42:27 PM
Charl is 1/9 now

now 1/80

she is tidy !!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 10, 2011, 11:49:08 PM
Great putt to win it
Post by: Minder on April 10, 2011, 11:49:58 PM
Some finish by Swartzl, 2,3,3.
Post by: Orior on April 10, 2011, 11:50:27 PM
Its been said before by the golfing pundits - Rory's putting is a very weak part of his game.
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2011, 11:51:17 PM
It's not over yet. Rory could birdie the last.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2011, 11:51:28 PM
Happy days, been a good weekend for me at Paddy power. Will be taking this money out now!!!

If Tyrone had a won I'd be up over two hundred quid, but sure
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2011, 11:52:39 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 10, 2011, 11:50:27 PM
Its been said before by the golfing pundits - Rory's putting is a very weak part of his game.
It wasn't the putter giving him the problems. It was his head.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2011, 11:59:41 PM
3 birdies in the last 3 holes for the winner ?

Amazing.
Post by: Keyser soze on April 11, 2011, 12:01:32 AM
Think he birdied the last 4 holes.
Post by: orangeman on April 11, 2011, 12:01:41 AM
Mc Elroy came across well there. Fair play to him.

Not much arrogance in that interview there to be fair.
Post by: tyroneboi on April 11, 2011, 12:04:07 AM
Great interview from McIlroy there certainly compared to Tiger Wood's interview after he finished.
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2011, 12:04:50 AM
Agreed - good interview
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 11, 2011, 12:05:04 AM
Big balls to give that interview instead of beating the shit out of the changing room with a 7 iron.

Can someone send the police round to Stephen Watson's house to check he hasn't done something stupid.
Post by: muppet on April 11, 2011, 12:05:51 AM
Quote from: tyroneboi on April 11, 2011, 12:04:07 AM
Great interview from McIlroy there certainly compared to Tiger Wood's interview after he finished.

Nail on the head.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 11, 2011, 12:06:11 AM
Didn't see his interview. What was his problem?
Post by: Minder on April 11, 2011, 12:08:51 AM
Wasn't that long ago that Japanese amateur wouldn't have got over the door at the Butlers Cabin !
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 11, 2011, 12:10:43 AM
Rory's parents can be proud of raising a polite and level-headed son there after that interview.
Post by: muppet on April 11, 2011, 12:14:20 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 11, 2011, 12:06:11 AM

"Let's wait and see".

"Let's wait and see"

"Im gonna go eat".
Post by: omagh_gael on April 11, 2011, 12:15:10 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on April 11, 2011, 12:10:43 AM
Rory's parents can be proud of raising a polite and level-headed son there after that interview.

Pity they didn't raise a son who could close out a major with a four shot lead on the final day ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 11, 2011, 12:15:51 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 11, 2011, 12:14:20 AM

"Let's wait and see".

"Let's wait and see"

"Im gonna go eat".
Having a wee huff then. Not shocked.
Post by: Minder on April 11, 2011, 12:19:52 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 11, 2011, 12:15:51 AM

"Let's wait and see".

"Let's wait and see"

"Im gonna go eat".

What did people want him to say? Woods was possibly still involved and probably wanted to prepare as if he had a playoff to play,McIlroy was finished. And the interviewer asked him what he would do now, "are you going to hit a few balls or get something to eat?". Woods replied, "I am going to get something to eat, I'm starving."

Beyond the pale.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 11, 2011, 12:23:43 AM
Quote from: Minder on April 11, 2011, 12:19:52 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 11, 2011, 12:15:51 AM

"Let's wait and see".

"Let's wait and see"

"Im gonna go eat".

What did people want him to say? And the interviewer asked him what he would do now, "are you going to hit a few balls or get something to eat?". Woods replied, "I am going to get something to eat, I'm starving."

Beyond the pale.
Good question from the interviewer. Brought a lot of insight to proceedings.
Post by: Keyser soze on April 11, 2011, 12:27:26 AM
I thought he was at best overly brusque [albeit in reply to the usual mundane questions] at worst downright rude. No class. McIlroy the complete opposite, fair play to him.
Post by: Declan on April 11, 2011, 08:27:36 AM
Was playing myself yesterday afternoon and a had a similar back nine to Rory >:(
Chatting about it with a few lads before it started I made the Garcia comparison and said that if he blew up in a big way it could scar him permanently and he might never win a major. Unfortunately that's what happened and his head went completely (but a sliver lining was I stuck a few bob on that he'd shoot 80!).

It'll be interesting to watch him over the next few tournaments to see if he can recover. Personally I think he'll always struggle to close out big tournaments but would like to be proved wrong   
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2011, 08:52:14 AM
I had a similar front 9 to Rory on Saturday.

Anyway, I think he should change his caddy, to someone who would have a strong word about club choice and can help him line up putts. Fanny whatshermarriedname?
Post by: highorlow on April 11, 2011, 08:53:04 AM
QuoteAngel Cabrera is a big price @ 100's

Balls I don't even think I get a top 6 payout. Playing with the choker didn't help.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 11, 2011, 09:04:38 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on April 11, 2011, 12:27:26 AM
I thought he was at best overly brusque [albeit in reply to the usual mundane questions] at worst downright rude. No class. McIlroy the complete opposite, fair play to him.

very true bout tiger.  always thought this about him to an extent, a air of "you shouldnt really be talking to me" when he did a lot of interviews. you'd have thought his very public scandals wouldve brought him down a peg or two, but it seems he's gradually getting back to where he was.  Dont have much time for him (im sure he's in a worry); not doubting his genius btw
Post by: Capt Pat on April 11, 2011, 09:15:03 AM
I think saying he will struggle to close out major tournaments misses the point a bit. Nobody has ever won the masters leading through all 4 rounds. Rory was leading through all of 3 and a half rounds and it is nearly the same in all the majors. I think Harrington won all his coming from behind. The same as Schwartzel last night coming from behind with no pressure on. That is the way major golf tournaments go. It is a funny thing to say but you want to play badly the first three and a half rounds and well in the last 9 holes to win a major.

Rory is not Sergio Garcia, he will come back from this.

Quote from: Declan on April 11, 2011, 08:27:36 AM
Was playing myself yesterday afternoon and a had a similar back nine to Rory >:(
Chatting about it with a few lads before it started I made the Garcia comparison and said that if he blew up in a big way it could scar him permanently and he might never win a major. Unfortunately that's what happened and his head went completely (but a sliver lining was I stuck a few bob on that he'd shoot 80!).

It'll be interesting to watch him over the next few tournaments to see if he can recover. Personally I think he'll always struggle to close out big tournaments but would like to be proved wrong
Post by: AZOffaly on April 11, 2011, 09:21:07 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on April 11, 2011, 09:15:03 AM
I think saying he will struggle to close out major tournaments misses the point a bit. Nobody has ever won the masters leading through all 4 rounds. Rory was leading through all of 3 and a half rounds and it is nearly the same in all the majors. I think Harrington won all his coming from behind. The same as Schwartzel last night coming from behind with no pressure on. That is the way major golf tournaments go. It is a funny thing to say but you want to play badly the first three and a half rounds and well in the last 9 holes to win a major.Rory is not Sergio Garcia, he will come back from this.

Quote from: Declan on April 11, 2011, 08:27:36 AM

Well Tiger Woods has won 14 majors, and none have been won without leading coming into the last day. Also, in Augusta, 19 out of the last 20 (until yesterday) were won by someone in either first or second on the last day, so I'm not sure about that comment Pat.
Post by: deiseach on April 11, 2011, 09:27:28 AM
Nobody has ever won the masters leading through all 4 rounds.

Not true, as recently as 2008 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2008_Masters_Tournament#Summary_of_rounds_of_play) Trevor Immelmann won it from the 18th through to the 72nd hole
Post by: Keyser soze on April 11, 2011, 10:44:30 AM
I think saying he will struggle to close out major tournaments misses the point a bit. Nobody has ever won the masters leading through all 4 rounds. Rory was leading through all of 3 and a half rounds and it is nearly the same in all the majors. I think Harrington won all his coming from behind. The same as Schwartzel last night coming from behind with no pressure on. That is the way major golf tournaments go. It is a funny thing to say but you want to play badly the first three and a half rounds and well in the last 9 holes to win a major.

Rory is not Sergio Garcia, he will come back from this.

Load of nonsense. Immelman won it 2 years ago leading all the way through as have 15 [ish] other previous winners. Something like 19 of the previous 20 winners have come from the final pairing. Woods has never won a major when he wasn't leading coming into the final day. Schwartzel was in the second last  pairing yesterday.
Post by: nrico2006 on April 11, 2011, 10:48:35 AM
A lot of people seem to be very harsh on McIlroy.  Not too many people lead from day one until the end though, and he just fell short.  I look forward to seeing him progress over the next few years, going to be a great player.
Post by: Bingo on April 11, 2011, 11:04:29 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 11, 2011, 10:48:35 AM
A lot of people seem to be very harsh on McIlroy.  Not too many people lead from day one until the end though, and he just fell short.  I look forward to seeing him progress over the next few years, going to be a great player.

I'd be worried about his putting/nerve. At a similar age Garcia was similarly rated and was only a matter of time before he got a major, many years later, he is still waiting and may have missed his chance. If

Be a massive test for McIlroy when he is in contention on final day of any tournement never mind a major, he'll win to win one soon to put the doubts to bed.
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2011, 11:15:19 AM
I think they should ban the broom handle putters. It isnt golf.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 11, 2011, 11:31:20 AM
Quote from: Bingo on April 11, 2011, 11:04:29 AM

I'd be worried about his putting/nerve. At a similar age Garcia was similarly rated and was only a matter of time before he got a major, many years later, he is still waiting and may have missed his chance. If

Be a massive test for McIlroy when he is in contention on final day of any tournement never mind a major, he'll win to win one soon to put the doubts to bed.
Garcia was probably better, he had won probably 5/6 tournaments by the age of 21, his putting has got worse and worse though and more so as the talk about it increases.  I don't think McIlroy is as bad a putter as Garcia yet, and even Garcia may not be as finished as everyone makes him out to be. 

I wouldn't be too worried about this performance affecting his long term prospects and I think he will win a few majors, not as many as the greats, as his putting will never be good enough.  But I'd expect him to take 4 or 5 possibly.  He'll certainly be in contention in a fair few, right now he's about 18/1 for the US Open, 16/1 for the British Open.

Virtually the same thing has now happened in 3 of the last 4 majors, Dustin Johnson in the US Open last year and Nick Watney in the USPGA last year.  Both led by 3 going into the last round and both shot in the 80's.  They've got over it and both were hotly fancied in the Masters, no reason that this is going to affect Rory.  A quick win on the euro tour would be good and there are a few events coming up that might present that opportunity.

Maybe even the payers in May?
Post by: Hardy on April 11, 2011, 11:40:54 AM
The ability to hit a ball straight and far with a stick is not much of a measure of a man. Possibly the only measures worth talking about are (1) his respect for others and (2) his conduct in adversity. McIlroy appears to have innate decency and, as Peter Alliss said, manners (an almost outdated concept, but still a good yardstick with which to judge a person). So an honours mark on measure 1.

As regards measure 2, if I'd been his father I'd have been distraught at the thought of what such a failure in his job could do to his self confidence, his happiness and his whole future - until I'd have seen his interview afterwards. Then I'd have been happy I raised a fine man with the right perspective on the world.
Post by: Bingo on April 11, 2011, 11:44:12 AM
Quote from: Hardy on April 11, 2011, 11:40:54 AM
The ability to hit a ball straight and far with a stick is not much of a measure of a man. Possibly the only measures worth talking about are (1) his respect for others and (2) his conduct in adversity. McIlroy appears to have innate decency and, as Peter Alliss said, manners (an almost outdated concept, but still a good yardstick with which to judge a person). So an honours mark on measure 1.

As regards measure 2, if I'd been his father I'd have been distraught at the thought of what such a failure in his job could do to his self confidence, his happiness and his whole future - until I'd have seen his interview afterwards. Then I'd have been happy I raised a fine man with the right perspective on the world.

Got to love his commentary, very witty and always on the ball with great wee stories thrown in for good measure. Also, as the yanks put up their "in the hole" etc roars just after the ball is hit, he'll always mutter something half under his breath like "on god" or "shut up"!
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 11, 2011, 12:23:28 PM
Was a great end to the Masters, so many in contention on the back 9.  Thank fcuk for the BBC coverage though as I was getting sick of that fat Doubtfire gimp.
Post by: NAG1 on April 11, 2011, 12:30:52 PM
Just shows you with all the money Sky through at the coverage, both BBC2 and Five Live radio did a better job covering the tournament.

Peter Alliss is a legend
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2011, 12:37:57 PM
The colour of the Sky picture were better. But the fecking adverts meant I wouldnt watch it, and stuck to the BBC.
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 11, 2011, 12:38:49 PM
They dropped the annoying Ray Charles music at the ad breaks after the 2nd day also.
Post by: thebigfella on April 11, 2011, 12:41:23 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 11, 2011, 12:37:57 PM
The colour of the Sky picture were better. But the fecking adverts meant I wouldnt watch it, and stuck to the BBC.

I have HD and both were exactly the same.
Post by: laoislad on April 11, 2011, 12:43:35 PM
The ability to hit a ball straight and far with a stick is not much of a measure of a man.
True. You really have to be able draw and fade it as well...
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2011, 01:29:54 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 11, 2011, 12:43:35 PM
The ability to hit a ball straight and far with a stick is not much of a measure of a man.
True. You really have to be able draw and fade it as well...

And also do it when you mean to.
Post by: Declan on April 11, 2011, 01:32:40 PM
QuoteThe ability to hit a ball straight and far with a stick is not much of a measure of a man. Possibly the only measures worth talking about are (1) his respect for others and (2) his conduct in adversity. McIlroy appears to have innate decency and, as Peter Alliss said, manners (an almost outdated concept, but still a good yardstick with which to judge a person). So an honours mark on measure 1.

Just watched the interview and read a transcript as well of the press conference - Reflected very well on the young Rory. Fair play to him and best of luck in the next one.
Post by: deiseach on April 11, 2011, 01:41:44 PM

That'll come as a relief to many generations of Waterford hurlers
Post by: NAG1 on April 11, 2011, 01:56:27 PM
Quote from: deiseach on April 11, 2011, 01:41:44 PM

That'll come as a relief to many generations of Waterford hurlers

How else are you going to measure a golfer?
Post by: AZOffaly on April 11, 2011, 02:02:53 PM
Ah lads, read Hardy's post.
Post by: deiseach on April 11, 2011, 02:20:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 11, 2011, 02:02:53 PM

I've read it and he's right. But where's the fun in agreeing with someone?
Post by: Billys Boots on April 11, 2011, 02:38:19 PM
Quoteannoying Ray Charles music

What are ye on about, there's no such thing!  :P
Post by: AN other on April 11, 2011, 02:46:06 PM
I hate the way Woods carries on, with a passion.
I'd say I hope he never wins another tournament again but from an entertainment point of view he adds so much to a golf tournament.
The sense of expectation created when he started to make moves on Friday and Saturday could not have been created by anybody else. He doesn't half know it. I don't think his behaviour would be tolerated by anybody but for his ability and what he adds to a tournament - fans or officials.
Post by: muppet on April 11, 2011, 02:51:40 PM
Quote from: AN other on April 11, 2011, 02:46:06 PM
I'd say I hope he never wins another tournament again but from an entertainment point of view he adds so much to a golf tournament.
The sense of expectation created when he started to make moves on Friday and Saturday could not have been created by anybody else. He doesn't half know it. I don't think his behaviour would be tolerated by anybody but for his ability and what he adds to a tournament - fans or officials.

When Rory faded I have to admit I was hoping Tiger would go on one of those charges that energise the crowds like no one else. I was still thinking he might make a play-off but his interview was pathetic.
Post by: Trout on April 11, 2011, 02:55:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 11, 2011, 02:51:40 PM

When Rory faded I have to admit I was hoping Tiger would go on one of those charges that energise the crowds like no one else. I was still thinking he might make a play-off but his interview was pathetic.

No doubt you will tell him that when you see him.
Post by: muppet on April 11, 2011, 03:24:43 PM
Quote from: Trout on April 11, 2011, 02:55:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 11, 2011, 02:51:40 PM

No doubt you will tell him that when you see him.

I don't live in the same statelet as him. You will probably get your chance.
Post by: laoislad on April 11, 2011, 04:33:38 PM

I did..I thought I heard someone playing violins when I was reading it..
Post by: muppet on April 11, 2011, 04:56:40 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 11, 2011, 04:33:38 PM

Standard patient calming, you'll be grand.
Post by: Hardy on April 11, 2011, 05:36:28 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 11, 2011, 04:33:38 PM

I hope it made a pleasant change from the banjoes.
Post by: Orangemac on April 11, 2011, 11:29:40 PM
It's definitely more exciting when he is in contention but he's an unlikeable p***k. See him laughing to himself on Saturday when he hooked a tee shot. Thinks everything revolves around him. Hope he gets to 17 majors and no more.
Post by: leaveherinsir on April 11, 2011, 11:54:03 PM
Dont think anyone predicted Schwartzel on here, even as each way chance. I could be wrong, but im not reading thru 25 odd pages to find out. Fair play to him, got the luck in the first three holes, but what a finish with the 4 birdies. Immmelman and Oosthuizen havnt really set the world on fire since their recent major wins, will be interesting to see if Schwartzel can push on from this.
Post by: Orangemac on April 12, 2011, 12:01:09 AM
Quote from: Bingo on April 11, 2011, 11:04:29 AM

Would worry about the same thing. If you are good enough you are old enough. Think he is a better player than Garcia and more level headed in general.Would remind you a bit of Darren Clarke in his pomp that when he was good he was very good and when he was bad he was bad.A bogey would become a triple bogey very quickly.

I think there's something in the Irish makeup that we like to be underdogs rather than favourites. Rory will probably win his 1st major by coming from 3 shots back. People talk about experience of majors but I thnk Rory needs to get the hang of winnng in general, either by leading from the front or going on a run.

Agree that he is a credit to his parents and seems to be genuinely liked by press & colleagues.

Post by: the Deel Rover on June 21, 2011, 08:47:05 PM
interesting reading the last few pages of this thread after his performance over the weekend amazing the difference a couple of months make