Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Hardy on March 19, 2011, 01:10:01 PM

Title: The "Why" thread
Post by: Hardy on March 19, 2011, 01:10:01 PM
Why do women cover their faces when they laugh?
Title: Re: The "Why" thread
Post by: ONeill on March 19, 2011, 01:18:32 PM
Why do young Irish dancers wear those f**king wigs?
Post by: muppet on March 19, 2011, 01:44:37 PM
Why not?
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 19, 2011, 01:50:52 PM
How come soft food goes hard when it turns stale while food that is hard by nature becomes soft?
Post by: thejuice on March 19, 2011, 01:51:49 PM
Why do birds suddenly appear.............
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 19, 2011, 02:03:13 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 19, 2011, 01:50:52 PM
How come soft food goes hard when it turns stale while food that is hard by nature becomes soft?
You need to be on the "How" thread.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 19, 2011, 02:05:56 PM
Why is it that when you put hard biscuits, for example rich tea, in with soft biscuits, for example fig rolls, the rich tea will go soft and the fig rolls will go hard?
Post by: Groucho on March 19, 2011, 02:43:24 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 19, 2011, 02:05:56 PM
Why is it that when you put hard biscuits, for example rich tea, in with soft biscuits, for example fig rolls, the rich tea will go soft and the fig rolls will go hard?

Neither would have a chance with you! :D
Post by: Minder on March 19, 2011, 05:56:47 PM
Why do fat middens order a fish supper and a diet sprite, coke etc ?
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 19, 2011, 06:03:25 PM
Why do pints taste better on a Sunday?
Post by: ross4life on March 19, 2011, 06:05:34 PM
why does it always rain on me
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 19, 2011, 06:06:23 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 19, 2011, 05:56:47 PM
It's the law. A few weeks ago I was in the chippy and a fat doll made a bit of a scene as there was no diet Coke. She was a f**king monster too.
Post by: thejuice on March 19, 2011, 07:44:00 PM
Why is there no Meath team named for tomorrow??
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 19, 2011, 08:34:18 PM
Why can't one of my teams (Mayo/Knockmore) ever win anything anymore??
Post by: ross4life on March 19, 2011, 08:36:45 PM
Why can't i find the telly remote control to turn off this winning streak shite.
Post by: Boycey on March 19, 2011, 08:40:05 PM
why do women go to the toilets in pairs?
Post by: boojangles on March 19, 2011, 08:57:52 PM
Why can't I just walk out of the Bookies when I'm thirty quid up.
Post by: King Kenny on March 19, 2011, 08:59:19 PM
Why do fools fall in love?
Post by: sammymaguire on March 19, 2011, 09:17:46 PM
Why do boobs come in all shapes and sizes?
Post by: anluabu2 on March 19, 2011, 11:06:57 PM
why did i buy only one bottle of wine today when i knew it wouldnt be enough :P
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 19, 2011, 11:24:32 PM
Why don't you ever see a skanger wearing glasses?
Post by: ONeill on March 20, 2011, 08:49:32 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 19, 2011, 07:26:24 PM
Why can't experienced posters ignore foolish threads started by PSTG?

I think this guy is brilliant. Has taken it all to a new level, and winning.
Post by: leaveherinsir on March 20, 2011, 09:09:51 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on March 19, 2011, 09:17:46 PM
Why do boobs come in all shapes and sizes?
why,  are you complaining!?!  :D
Post by: Cold tea on March 20, 2011, 09:56:04 AM
Why will a dead relative/friend only communicate to you if you give some p***k 50 quid!
Post by: Cold tea on March 20, 2011, 09:57:35 AM
Why do fat people not realise they bloody smell!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 20, 2011, 11:06:02 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on March 19, 2011, 11:24:32 PM
Why don't you ever see a skanger wearing glasses?

That's class :D
Post by: Hardy on March 20, 2011, 11:15:55 AM
Three pages - still no answers.
Post by: muppet on March 20, 2011, 12:09:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 20, 2011, 08:49:32 AM

He sure has.
Post by: Cold tea on March 20, 2011, 12:22:39 PM

Olly's up there too.  ::)
Post by: Just Puck It on March 20, 2011, 12:35:36 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 19, 2011, 05:56:47 PM

Damage limitation
Post by: Tyrones own on March 20, 2011, 05:48:37 PM
Why has the board gotten more harmonious of late  8)
...well, with the exception of Peter hating!
Post by: maggie on March 20, 2011, 05:51:53 PM
Why do sundays go so quickly?
Post by: Niall Quinn on March 20, 2011, 06:06:11 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 19, 2011, 01:10:01 PM

"The hand is also used to conceal the mouth when it will betray emotions that may be undesirable. Thus we put our hands over impolite giggles and smirks, and we may do this to hold back from telling the truth."

http://changingminds.org/techniques/body/parts_body_language/mouth_body_language.htm (http://changingminds.org/techniques/body/parts_body_language/mouth_body_language.htm)
Post by: Niall Quinn on March 20, 2011, 06:11:37 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 19, 2011, 01:18:32 PM
Why do young Irish dancers wear those f**king wigs?

"The reason why dancers curl their hair or wear a ringlet wig is because traditionally in Ireland girls had nicely curled ringlets, though nowadays, wearing ringlet wigs is going out of style in some feisanna in favor of letting girls and women having their natural hair."

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_stepdance (http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_stepdance)
Post by: Niall Quinn on March 20, 2011, 06:13:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 19, 2011, 01:44:37 PM
Why not?

http://www.tsn.ca/whynotcanada/ (http://www.tsn.ca/whynotcanada/)
Post by: Niall Quinn on March 20, 2011, 06:20:24 PM
Quote from: thejuice on March 19, 2011, 01:51:49 PM
Why do birds suddenly appear.............

"Many species undertake long distance annual migrations, and many more perform shorter irregular movements."

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bird (http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bird)
Post by: ardal on March 20, 2011, 07:00:39 PM
Why do certain nations drive on the wrong side of the road, whilst most of them drive on the right?

Awaiting your answer Mr Quinn
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 20, 2011, 07:07:28 PM
Quote from: ardal on March 20, 2011, 07:00:39 PM
Why do certain nations drive on the wrong side of the road, whilst most of them drive on the right?

I can field that one!  ;)

Right & Left hand driving (http://bigthink.com/ideas/21125)
Post by: Nally Stand on March 20, 2011, 08:01:43 PM

Sure you're not thinking of charlie sheen?
Post by: Niall Quinn on March 21, 2011, 04:25:56 AM
Quote from: ross4life on March 19, 2011, 06:05:34 PM
why does it always rain on me

"Rainfall is extremely common throughout Ireland, although some parts of the west coast receive over four times as much rain as the east coast."

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Climate_of_Ireland (http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Climate_of_Ireland)
Post by: Niall Quinn on March 21, 2011, 04:37:02 AM
Quote from: Boycey on March 19, 2011, 08:40:05 PM
why do women go to the toilets in pairs?

difficult to establish definitive on this, but there's lots of mention of 'nicer facilities for girls', 'to talk about the evening / men', and 'mutual presentation approval'. 
Post by: Niall Quinn on March 21, 2011, 04:52:37 AM
Quote from: boojangles on March 19, 2011, 08:57:52 PM
Why can't I just walk out of the Bookies when I'm thirty quid up.

Problem gambling symptoms:

"2.Tolerance. As with drug tolerance, the subject requires larger or more frequent wagers to experience the same "rush".
3. Withdrawal. Restlessness or irritability associated with attempts to cease or reduce gambling.
4. Escape. The subject gambles to improve mood or escape problems."

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Problem_gambling (http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Problem_gambling)
Post by: Hardy on March 21, 2011, 10:09:00 AM
The new Farneyboy.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 21, 2011, 01:35:56 PM
Indeed Hardy, but he still hasn't answered yours.  I like the idea of an omniscient Disco Pants, though.  ;)
Post by: laoislad on March 21, 2011, 01:37:33 PM
Why do I always pee a little when I poo but never the other way around?
Post by: johnneycool on March 21, 2011, 01:43:18 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 21, 2011, 01:37:33 PM
Why do I always pee a little when I poo but never the other way around?
You should count your blessings on that one!!

Post by: illdecide on March 21, 2011, 02:34:42 PM
Why would anyone be gay
Post by: Banana Man on March 21, 2011, 02:52:34 PM
why did ashley cole cheat on chery cole, possibly links in with illdecide's point
Post by: ross4life on March 21, 2011, 03:12:48 PM
Why does true gaels here use soccer crests,gifs as there personalized pictures?
Post by: Cold tea on March 21, 2011, 03:20:59 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 21, 2011, 02:34:42 PM
Why would anyone be gay

It's trendy!! ::)
Post by: Hardy on March 21, 2011, 03:32:43 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 21, 2011, 03:12:48 PM

Why does a "true gael" use a picture of Tonto?
Post by: illdecide on March 21, 2011, 03:44:25 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on March 21, 2011, 03:20:59 PM
Why would anyone be gay

It's trendy!! ::)

I didn't mean that in a bad way and if one of my friends were gay it wouldn't really bother me (years ago it prob would have) but when i see a good looking girl strutting her stuff, short skirt, tanned legs and the baps hanging out how could any man not find that attractive
Post by: ross4life on March 21, 2011, 03:48:38 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 21, 2011, 03:32:43 PM

Why does a "true gael" use a picture of Tonto?

Gaelic Chieftain.
Post by: laoislad on March 21, 2011, 04:59:42 PM
Why would anyone be gay

What about lesbians? Lesbians are cool
Post by: wherefromref on March 21, 2011, 05:05:35 PM
why is the price of fuel absolutely f**king ridiculous?
Post by: Hilltresk on March 21, 2011, 05:06:34 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on March 21, 2011, 02:52:34 PM
why did ashley cole cheat on chery cole, possibly links in with illdecide's point

Some times even though you have steak at home, you just fancy a greesy burger from some bank ally joint. You know its wrong and not good for you but its hard to turn down when its just sitting tempting you. Sesame seed buns, the juicy fatty beef. You could do things to it that you wouldn't be fit to do to the steak, like put red sauce all over it.

Post by: Hardy on March 21, 2011, 05:07:59 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 21, 2011, 04:59:42 PM
Why would anyone be gay

What about lesbians? Lesbians are cool

Sure.

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/lesbians.png)
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 21, 2011, 05:18:32 PM
Quote from: Hilltresk on March 21, 2011, 05:06:34 PM

Some times even though you have steak at home, you just fancy a greesy burger from some bank ally joint. You know its wrong and not good for you but its hard to turn down when its just sitting tempting you. Sesame seed buns, the juicy fatty beef. You could do things to it that you wouldn't be fit to do to the steak, like put red sauce all over it.
Having one's cake and eating it. Should be in the 'why not' thread.
Post by: seafoid on March 21, 2011, 05:19:23 PM
Poor Cheryl Cole has insecurity issues and Ashley has a bad dose of boidín foolish.
Post by: Olly on March 21, 2011, 11:02:09 PM
Why, when I meet up with my special mate, does he always come on the bus?
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 21, 2011, 11:07:19 PM
Because she's a dog?
Post by: rootthemout on March 21, 2011, 11:13:34 PM
Quote from: Olly on March 21, 2011, 11:02:09 PM
[/
quote]
the excitement of meeting you! ;D
Post by: muppet on March 21, 2011, 11:46:39 PM
(http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/boundedtile/2011/0319/1224292581847_1.jpg)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 21, 2011, 11:47:20 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 21, 2011, 11:46:39 PM
(http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/boundedtile/2011/0319/1224292581847_1.jpg)

I tried it, its awful.
Post by: Cold tea on March 22, 2011, 08:07:05 AM
Quote from: Olly on March 21, 2011, 11:02:09 PM

Maybe if you would stop pulling him on the bus!
Post by: muppet on March 23, 2011, 05:32:09 PM
What is any sum of money a windfall?
Why is it a split second?
Why is it always an outpouring of grief?
Why is there never an imperfect storm?
Why mis-use the word famine for something that is clearly not a famine?
Why are heroes always unsung? Would a song help?
Why do journalists add the word gate to everything?
Why are fears sparked?
Why is there never a guilty bystander?
Why do people think that saying from the get-go or going forward or the highest levels sounds good?
Why do think things get axed?
Why are all romances whirlwind? I'd be too feckin dizzy in a whirlwind to be any use.
Why do newspapers think suspects will be quizzed? On what: General Knowledge?
Why people think politicians or cops launch probes? That only happens in Star Trek.
Why there never a second last ditch attempt? Are they just not big enough news?
Why do suspicious things bare all the hallmarks?
Why do we say something has been given the green light? Did anyone ever get a real green light?
Why do we think landslides are victories?
Why are cities, town etc always left reeling? Is fishing that popular in urban areas?

Finally has anyone here ever been full blown?
Post by: Groucho on March 23, 2011, 06:38:00 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 23, 2011, 05:32:09 PM
Why are fears sparked?
Why do people think that saying from the get-go or going forward or the highest levels sounds good?
Why are all romances whirlwind? I'd be too feckin dizzy in a whirlwind to be any use.
Why people think politicians or cops launch probes? That only happens in Star Trek.
Why do we say something has been given the green light? Did anyone ever get a real green light?
Why are cities, town etc always left reeling? Is fishing that popular in urban areas?

Aye......Amsterdam :D
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 24, 2011, 01:13:54 AM
Why would anyone be gay

It's been known throughout human history and is common in the animal kingdom. From Wiki:

Quote"The research and clinical literature demonstrate that same-sex sexual and romantic attractions, feelings, and behaviors are normal and positive variations of human sexuality. The longstanding consensus of the behavioral and social sciences and the health and mental health professions is that homosexuality per se is a normal and positive variation of human sexual orientation.[67]  There is now a large body of research evidence that indicates that being gay, lesbian or bisexual is compatible with normal mental health and social adjustment."

More... (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homosexuality)
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 24, 2011, 01:00:17 PM
Post by: AbbeySider on March 24, 2011, 01:55:38 PM
This is a terrible thread
Post by: Hardy on March 24, 2011, 02:34:39 PM
Why?
Post by: Tyrones own on March 24, 2011, 02:36:54 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 21, 2011, 11:07:19 PM
Because she's a dog?
:-\ Fire up a picture of your quare one so we can all see what it is you could possibly base the quote above on!
Post by: maggie on March 25, 2011, 12:38:50 PM
Why does the good weather never last til the weekend?
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 25, 2011, 02:56:31 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on March 24, 2011, 02:36:54 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 21, 2011, 11:07:19 PM
Because she's a dog?
:-\ Fire up a picture of your quare one so we can all see what it is you could possibly base the quote above on!
Is that you Cheryl?
What would a picutres of my "quare one" have to do with whether I think another woman is good looking or not?
Post by: Tyrones own on March 25, 2011, 04:33:44 PM
Thought it was a reasonable enough request...simply intrigued with what you wake up next to if Cheryl Cole "is a dog"
Post by: Gaffer on March 25, 2011, 07:03:16 PM
Why can I never remember switching off the Immersion Heater,

Post by: The Worker on March 25, 2011, 07:27:47 PM
do northern ireland sing god save the queen as their anthem?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2011, 07:29:56 PM
Quote from: The Worker on March 25, 2011, 07:27:47 PM
do northern ireland sing god save the queen as their anthem?
Out of respect for Her Majesty.
Post by: muppet on March 25, 2011, 07:36:19 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on March 25, 2011, 07:03:16 PM
Why can I never remember switching off the Immersion Heater,

Cause you are always in hot water.
Post by: andoireabu on April 05, 2011, 05:36:32 PM
why are sick people always in the woods?  And why do they never leave the woods until the have made a decent effort at getting better
Post by: Gold on May 15, 2011, 04:13:26 PM

What's 19 stand for?!!

Kepp the photos goin on the NSFW thread--your my favourite-Rossies abu!
Post by: Gold on May 15, 2011, 04:17:35 PM
Quote from: Groucho on March 23, 2011, 06:38:00 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 23, 2011, 05:32:09 PM
Why are fears sparked?

Aye......Amsterdam :D

You'd have some ball to get blown by one of them dirtbirds in The dam without covering yourself 5 times--which defeats the purpose of gettin blown!
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2011, 04:20:17 PM

Why have you got 19 as yours? ;)
Post by: Blowitupref on May 15, 2011, 04:23:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 15, 2011, 04:20:17 PM

I'd say to wind up the crest followers.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 15, 2011, 05:41:44 PM
Why can I never remember how bad the hangover will be.  :'(
Post by: ross4life on May 15, 2011, 05:51:20 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 15, 2011, 04:23:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 15, 2011, 04:20:17 PM

I'd say to wind up the crest followers.

No flies on you, after yesterday's historic,monumental,significant day it was the best way to put those crest following boyo's in their place  :)

I hope you all like my new celebratory GIF
Post by: Tatler Jack on May 15, 2011, 06:39:15 PM
Why do players keep medals in their back pocket?
Post by: muppet on May 15, 2011, 08:19:37 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on May 15, 2011, 06:39:15 PM
Why do players keep medals in their back pocket?

Nearer me arse.
Post by: Hardy on June 28, 2011, 05:29:21 PM
Why do people bring flags to a rock concert?
Post by: Denn Forever on June 28, 2011, 08:17:00 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 28, 2011, 05:29:21 PM
Why do people bring flags to a rock concert?

Spit on me Dickie?
Post by: Orior on June 28, 2011, 09:32:11 PM
Why is the engineering marvel of a light bulb 60 cents but a lump of inanimate wood from a souvenir shop in Kerry 30 Euro?
Post by: dillinger on June 29, 2011, 11:41:31 PM
Why do i get all these e-mails asking me to buy those wee blue pills? And how do they know i need them?
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2011, 12:45:38 AM
Quote from: dillinger on June 29, 2011, 11:41:31 PM
Why do i get all these e-mails asking me to buy those wee blue pills? And how do they know i need them?

Your girlfriend signed you for the emails?
Post by: bridgegael on July 01, 2011, 06:08:56 AM
why is always the last piece of jigsaw that is missing!
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on July 01, 2011, 07:08:51 AM
Quote from: bridgegael on July 01, 2011, 06:08:56 AM

Think about it
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2011, 09:34:06 AM
Why do birds suddenly appear?
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2011, 11:07:33 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on July 01, 2011, 07:08:51 AM
Quote from: bridgegael on July 01, 2011, 06:08:56 AM

Think about it

It's always in the last place you look for it!
Post by: Up The Middle on July 22, 2011, 11:27:53 AM
Why do i always put my hands up and move to the one side when a bird flys at the windscreen of the car >:(
Post by: Bingo on July 22, 2011, 11:30:57 AM
Why have buns made a comeback but changed their name to cupcakes and trebled in price cause they got fancy coloured icing on top? They are still just buns.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 22, 2011, 12:06:09 PM
Quote from: Up The Middle on July 22, 2011, 11:27:53 AM
Why do i always put my hands up and move to the one side when a bird flys at the windscreen of the car >:(
if you don't and the bugger gets through you'll know the answer!
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 30, 2013, 06:22:45 PM
Why do most Mechanics drive crap cars?
Post by: HiMucker on July 30, 2013, 07:31:49 PM
Why is there hair on your arsehole?  No bloody need, makes the paperwork longer
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 30, 2013, 07:39:34 PM
Why does there/their/they're abuse still go on? We learned the proper usage in P5!
Post by: GAA_Talk on July 30, 2013, 09:39:35 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 30, 2013, 07:39:34 PM
Why does there/their/they're abuse still go on? We learned the proper usage in P5!

You're/your is probably the worst of the lot. Just sound it out then type it FFS.

Post by: Aristo 60 on July 30, 2013, 11:21:35 PM

This is to do with moisture and transpiration.

Biscuits are hard and very dry; they contain little or no moisture. The air around the biscuit has more moisture and eventually the biscuit gives up and lets the moisture in, making it softer.

Bread is not so dry. It has more moisture in it than the air around it. The moisture in the bread moves into the air leaving the bread more dry and consequently harder.

This may not be the totally correct answer but I have enjoyed writing it all the same.
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 30, 2013, 11:29:17 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 19, 2011, 01:10:01 PM

Women are very conscious about their teeth.
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 30, 2013, 11:34:05 PM
More answers tomorrow night 
Post by: JUst retired on July 31, 2013, 07:03:41 AM
  Why tomorrow night? :)
Post by: HiMucker on July 31, 2013, 09:22:21 AM
Why was Iceland called Iceland and Greenland called Greenland, surely it should have been the other way around?
Post by: No Soloing on July 31, 2013, 01:11:37 PM
Iceland was discovered first by the Vikings and was called so, because it was icy - obviously. Greenland was discovered later. The story in the Icelandic sagas goes that Erik the Red was exiled from Iceland for murder. He set sail with his entourage and found Greenland. The main theory is he called it Greenland in order to make it sound nice and entice others to come settle and colonise it - though it may also just simply have been a translation error.

If Erik was just telling a big fib then it didn't really work. There are less people living in Greenland today than there are in Craigavon - even though Greenland is probably much nicer. 
Post by: Orior on July 31, 2013, 02:17:47 PM
Why do girls scream?
Post by: 5 Sams on July 31, 2013, 02:25:39 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 31, 2013, 02:17:47 PM
Why do girls scream?

Showing off again Orior??? ;)
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on July 31, 2013, 02:50:28 PM
Quote from: No Soloing on July 31, 2013, 01:11:37 PM
Iceland was discovered first by the Vikings and was called so, because it was icy - obviously. Greenland was discovered later. The story in the Icelandic sagas goes that Erik the Red was exiled from Iceland for murder. He set sail with his entourage and found Greenland. The main theory is he called it Greenland in order to make it sound nice and entice others to come settle and colonise it - though it may also just simply have been a translation error.

If Erik was just telling a big fib then it didn't really work. There are less people living in Greenland today than there are in Craigavon - even though Greenland is probably much nicer.

I had always thought the explanation was due to the time of year they were discovered
Post by: laoislad on July 31, 2013, 02:57:52 PM
Why can't my wife make sure my socks are in pairs before she washes them?
I'm tired of having odd socks.
Post by: No Soloing on July 31, 2013, 03:18:16 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on July 31, 2013, 02:50:28 PM
Quote from: No Soloing on July 31, 2013, 01:11:37 PM

I had always thought the explanation was due to the time of year they were discovered

More here - http://ancientstandard.com/2010/12/17/how-greenland-got-its-name/
You can see the lack of green in Greenland here http://en.academic.ru/pictures/enwiki/71/Greenland_42.74746W_71.57394N.jpg

The tip of Greenland, where Erik probably landed, can be green at the right time of year, but that ignores that most of Greenland is a frozen wasteland. People today still live around the coast and mainly in the south-west where it a bit milder. You need a boat or a plane to get from town to town.

Post by: armaghniac on July 31, 2013, 05:37:49 PM
Why at concerts, graduations, football games etc do people fire off camera flashes? A camera flash lights up about 3m, what use is that when photographing things 100m away? It just lights up the head of the person in front of you.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2013, 06:59:19 PM
Somebody told me that Iceland's name has more to do with it being an island and nothing to do with ice. The sticker on an Icelandic car in a foreign country says "IS".
Post by: No Soloing on July 31, 2013, 08:02:37 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2013, 06:59:19 PM
Somebody told me that Iceland's name has more to do with it being an island and nothing to do with ice. The sticker on an Icelandic car in a foreign country says "IS".

IS stands for Island which is Ice-land in Icelandic.

Literally nothing to do this evening so I thought I would double-check in one of my guidebooks. This is from Lonely Planet - Iceland, Greenland & the Faroe Islands.
"The first arrival, the Swede Naddoddur, landed on the east coast around 850 and named the place Snaeland ('snow land') before backtracking... Hrafna-Floki sailed to Vatnsfjordour on the west coast but quickly became disenchated with the place. Upon seeing icebergs floating in the fjord, he renamed the place Island ('ice land')"

In the same book it says that in the Saga of Erik the Red "The land he discovered he called Greenland because he said it would attract people if the country had a beautiful name..."
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on July 31, 2013, 10:44:34 PM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-23522848

Why do cases like this arise time and time again and why do the authorities never appear to learn any lessons from the all too many similar cases.

Whatever sentence they get it'll never be punishment enough. Complete scumbags.
Post by: Orior on August 01, 2013, 09:10:55 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 31, 2013, 02:25:39 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 31, 2013, 02:17:47 PM
Why do girls scream?

Showing off again Orior??? ;)

Reminds me of an old joke. There are 4 types of orgasm:

The positive: she screams "Yes, yes, yes, ohhh yesss!"

The negative: she screams "No, no, no ohhh noooo!

The religious: she screams "Oh jesus! Oh god! Oh jesus! Oh god!"

Finally, the fake orgasm: she screams "Oh, oh, oh, oh Hardy!"
Post by: Orior on August 01, 2013, 09:14:28 AM
Why do individuals feel the need to phone tourist coach drivers as they drive at speed around hairpin bends and on the edge of cliffs?

Here is a tip: If you are phoning someone's mobile, and you think that person might be a tourist coach driver then ask the person if they are driving. If the numskulll says yes, then hang up.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on August 01, 2013, 11:10:47 AM
Why does it rain every bloody time our club runs Cul Camp?
Post by: mouview on August 01, 2013, 05:15:06 PM
Why is there no such thing as 'minor road works ahead'?
Post by: armaghniac on August 01, 2013, 06:09:43 PM
QuoteWhy do individuals feel the need to phone tourist coach drivers as they drive at speed around hairpin bends and on the edge of cliffs?

In Spain they phone drivers of high speed trains as they go around sharp bends.
Post by: haze on August 01, 2013, 06:43:33 PM
Why are there so many Union Jack branded t shirts every where I go?

And why are so many non Brits wearing them?

Post by: ziggysego on August 01, 2013, 11:16:00 PM
Just why?
Post by: glens abu on August 01, 2013, 11:29:01 PM
Why does everyone not vote SF  >:(
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 02, 2013, 12:39:34 AM
Why did this song win the Eurovision

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8EakbBFYwDY
Post by: ballela-angel on August 02, 2013, 04:17:44 AM
Why do we need to know that the "Slow Children Ahead" grow up to be the "Slow Construction Workers Ahead"?
Post by: Hardy on August 02, 2013, 09:01:40 AM
What should you wear to "Look Right" as you cross the street?

Oops, sorry. That's for the "What" thread.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2013, 09:03:08 AM
Quote from: glens abu on August 01, 2013, 11:29:01 PM
Why does everyone not vote SF  >:(

Some people do vote SF.
Post by: No Soloing on August 02, 2013, 10:50:16 AM
Quote from: haze on August 01, 2013, 06:43:33 PM
Why are there so many Union Jack branded t shirts every where I go?

And why are so many non Brits wearing them?

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/strabane-gets-shirty-over-union-flag-top-maker-thinks-towns-in-scotland-29466504.html
Post by: Denn Forever on August 02, 2013, 01:27:17 PM
Quote from: ballela-angel on August 02, 2013, 04:17:44 AM
Why do we need to know that the "Slow Children Ahead" grow up to be the "Slow Construction Workers Ahead"?

Post by: take_yer_points on August 02, 2013, 01:47:07 PM
Why is one flag on a lamp post not enough?
Post by: illdecide on August 02, 2013, 02:17:49 PM
Why does your crap flush away first time at home but if you do it at work or someone elses house it's a 3 flusher
Post by: take_yer_points on August 02, 2013, 08:47:21 PM

And why do birds sing so gay?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 03, 2013, 06:09:53 AM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on July 31, 2013, 10:44:34 PM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-23522848

Why do cases like this arise time and time again and why do the authorities never appear to learn any lessons from the all too many similar cases.

Whatever sentence they get it'll never be punishment enough. Complete scumbags.

In custody disputes courts have a tendency to send the kids to stay with the mother, which is a big mistake IMHO.  In nature it's been observed that when a male hooks up with a female that has already had children, the new male is often hostile to the old offspring and will kill them to make way for his own genes to be propagated instead.  For example tomcats have been known to kill the kittens of rival tomcats for this reason. Scary when you think about it.