Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2011, 11:52:48 PM

Title: Carling Nations Cup
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2011, 11:52:48 PM
Date   

February 8   Republic of Ireland   v   Wales
February 9   Northern Ireland     v   Scotland
May 23   Republic of Ireland   v   Northern Ireland
May 24   Wales   v   Scotland
May 26   Wales   v   Northern Ireland
May 27   Republic of Ireland   v   Scotland

Matches should be more competitive than some of the dreadful friendlies that we have to endure.
Are any of you fellas from the 6 counties coming down to Dublin to support your team against Scotland this week?
Title: Re: Carling Nations Cup
Post by: ziggysego on February 05, 2011, 11:55:53 PM
Is the Norn Iron game being played in Dublin?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2011, 11:56:59 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 05, 2011, 11:55:53 PM

All the matches are in Dublin.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 05, 2011, 11:59:56 PM

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2011, 11:56:59 PM

All the matches are in Dublin.

are the seats well screwed down in in the new stadium
Post by: MW on February 06, 2011, 01:32:40 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2011, 11:52:48 PM
Date   

Matches should be more competitive than some of the dreadful friendlies that we have to endure.
Are any of you fellas from the 6 counties coming down to Dublin to support your team against Scotland this week?

I'll be there - can't say I was massively enthused by the Nations Cup at first but looking forward to the trip now!
Post by: cicfada on February 06, 2011, 01:39:32 PM
Quote from: MW on February 06, 2011, 01:32:40 PM
Date   

I'll be there - can't say I was massively enthused by the Nations Cup at first but looking forward to the trip now!

As huge a security risk at it would be they need england  to give this tournament any gravitas!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2011, 01:58:15 PM
Quote from: cicfada on February 06, 2011, 01:39:32 PM
Quote from: MW on February 06, 2011, 01:32:40 PM
Date   

As huge a security risk at it would be they need england  to give this tournament any gravitas!!

Yeah maybe,I think it would be better again if they played the matches on a rotating home/away basis.
It be far better if it was more like the rugby 6 nations for example and it would at least mean the stadiums would be more than likely full for most matches,I can't see too many going to Northern Ireland v Scotland but if it was in Hamden or Windsor Park it would get a bigger crowd...I wonder could they play this game in Parnell Park instead of the Aviva  ;)

Anyways I'm going to go along tuesday night and will go to a few if not all the games with the other nations in May as well as Irelands games.As I was saying they should be better than some of the friendlies over the last few years.
Post by: Big Puff on February 06, 2011, 02:04:17 PM
Great banner made, which should be on show in the upcoming games at the aviva

(http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/8136/copyofulsterbanner2.png)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2011, 08:43:32 PM
Ian Rush on FAI Awards show on RTE 2 now
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2011, 08:54:46 PM
Anyone else think Trap looks awful,he doesn't seem like a healthy man to me anyways.
Post by: Bogball XV on February 06, 2011, 08:56:47 PM
Anyone know why Scotland are playing NI in Dublin?  Do they expect to get a crowd for this at all?  Surely won't be above 10,000 and I'd be shocked if it gets close to that.
This would have made sense if they played it on a 6 nations style or like the old home championships (which norn iron still hold I believe?).
Post by: MW on February 06, 2011, 11:25:15 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on February 06, 2011, 02:04:17 PM
Great banner made, which should be on show in the upcoming games at the aviva

(http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/8136/copyofulsterbanner2.png)

Super...good to see the banner-makers valuing all ROI players equally there :o

The fact there are two teams in Ireland is an ongoing defeat for these sort of characters :)
Post by: MW on February 06, 2011, 11:31:36 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2011, 01:58:15 PM
Anyways I'm going to go along tuesday night and will go to a few if not all the games with the other nations in May as well as Irelands games.As I was saying they should be better than some of the friendlies over the last few years.

Yeah some of NI's friendlies over the past few years have been lacking in much enthusiasm or entertainment - hopefully these Cup games will add a bit more spice.

Quote from: Bogball XV on February 06, 2011, 08:56:47 PM
Anyone know why Scotland are playing NI in Dublin?  Do they expect to get a crowd for this at all?  Surely won't be above 10,000 and I'd be shocked if it gets close to that.
This would have made sense if they played it on a 6 nations style or like the old home championships (which norn iron still hold I believe?).

Indeed NI do still hold that title...as we like to remind our former competitors from time to time :) Originally the Home Internationals were played through the season but towards the end they were moved to the end of the season over a couple of weeks.

For the Carling Nations Cup they've gone for a different approach again - play all the games in one venue, but start in February and play the concluding games in March. Time will tell whether it works, I would agree that games not involving the ROI won't get much over the 10,000 attendance mark.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 06, 2011, 11:55:38 PM
I see our captain fantastic has pulled out with an injury.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2011, 11:58:03 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 06, 2011, 08:56:47 PM

Yeah said the same thing myself,I think this tournament would have a better chance of succeeding if the games were playing on a rotating home and away basis.
Post by: ross4life on February 07, 2011, 05:46:21 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2011, 08:54:46 PM
Anyone else think Trap looks awful,he doesn't seem like a healthy man to me anyways.

No looks like a normal 71 year old! i think Kenny Dalglish is a bit shook looking though might be because i hadn't seen him on telly for 10 years?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 07, 2011, 06:46:17 PM
Coleman and Clark to start for Ireland

Seamus Coleman and Ciaran Clark will both make their Republic of Ireland international debuts on Tuesday night when Giovanni Trapattoni's men take on Wales in the Carling Nations Cup.

Coleman has been one of the stand-out players of the season for his club Everton, while Clarke has cemented his place in the Aston Villa squad under Gerard Houllier.

Both will start against Wales with Clark at left-back and Coleman on the right-wing in midfield.

Trapattonni has confirmed 10 of his line-up, but is yet to decide between Darron Gibson and Paul Green in the centre of midfield alongside Glenn Whelan.

Stoke City striker Jonathan Walters will make his first senior international start up front alongside Wolves' Kevin Doyle, having been introduced as a substitute in the last game against Norway.

Republic of Ireland team to play Wales at the Aviva Stadium in the Carling Nations Cup:

Shay Given, John O'Shea, Sean St Ledger, Richard Dunne, Ciaran Clark, Seamus Coleman, Glenn Whelan, Paul Green/Darron Gibson, Jonathan Walters, Kevin Doyle.
Post by: trileacman on February 07, 2011, 08:55:52 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 07, 2011, 06:46:17 PM

Seamus Coleman and Ciaran Clark will both make their Republic of Ireland international debuts on Tuesday night when Giovanni Trapattoni's men take on Wales in the Carling Nations Cup.

Coleman has been one of the stand-out players of the season for his club Everton, while Clarke has cemented his place in the Aston Villa squad under Gerard Houllier.

Both will start against Wales with Clark at left-back and Coleman on the right-wing in midfield.

Trapattonni has confirmed 10 of his line-up, but is yet to decide between Darron Gibson and Paul Green in the centre of midfield alongside Glenn Whelan.

Stoke City striker Jonathan Walters will make his first senior international start up front alongside Wolves' Kevin Doyle, having been introduced as a substitute in the last game against Norway.

Republic of Ireland team to play Wales at the Aviva Stadium in the Carling Nations Cup:

Shay Given, John O'Shea, Sean St Ledger, Richard Dunne, Ciaran Clark, Seamus Coleman, Glenn Whelan, Paul Green/Darron Gibson, Jonathan Walters, Kevin Doyle.
thats just ten. Who's the3 eleventh man?
Post by: Big Puff on February 07, 2011, 09:02:08 PM
duff
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 07, 2011, 09:06:40 PM
Quote from: trileacman on February 07, 2011, 08:55:52 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 07, 2011, 06:46:17 PM

thats just ten. Who's the3 eleventh man?

My bad,poor copy and pasting on my part.
Post by: Feckitt on February 07, 2011, 09:35:51 PM
The reason that these matches are not being played home and away is because Northern Ireland do not have a stadium.
Post by: Big Puff on February 07, 2011, 09:53:37 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 07, 2011, 09:35:51 PM
The reason that these matches are not being played home and away is because Northern Ireland do not have a stadium.

Sure they play games at windsor. i think its getting revamped soon also.
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2011, 09:54:32 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on February 07, 2011, 09:53:37 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 07, 2011, 09:35:51 PM

Sure they play games at windsor. i think its getting revamped soon also.

Don't know that it's a revamp. More of a tidy up, I think.
Post by: J OGorman on February 08, 2011, 05:10:11 PM
these games not on terrestrial TV live?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 08, 2011, 05:30:37 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 07, 2011, 05:46:21 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2011, 08:54:46 PM

i think Kenny Dalglish is a bit shook looking though might be because i hadn't seen him on telly for 10 years?

I think that's just from watching Liverpool the first half of the season under Hodgson.
Post by: ross4life on February 08, 2011, 08:58:34 PM
Was that RLL & his mate i spotted running onto the field?
Post by: ross4life on February 08, 2011, 09:04:36 PM
Nice 1st irish goal for Gibson
Post by: ziggysego on February 08, 2011, 09:18:40 PM
I see it's in 3D on Sky.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 08, 2011, 11:34:09 PM
Poor enough game,second half was slightly better than 1st.
3 good goals especially Gibsons.
Nice to get a win all the same,I'd imagine the game v the North will have more bite to it.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 09, 2011, 12:53:15 AM
Who is that Walters guy?  Looks like he is a bouncer.  Some strike by Gibson.
Post by: Banana Man on February 09, 2011, 09:04:33 AM
anybody any info on james mccarthy and the claim that he pulled out as he wants to play for scotland???
Post by: magpie seanie on February 09, 2011, 09:17:47 AM
Didn't see a lot of it but debuts for Coleman and Clark along with 3 good goals are positives. Wales are a poor enough outfit but we don't always put these types of teams away. Should have a good chance of going on to win this tournament. North v. South could be a good one.
Post by: mountainboii on February 09, 2011, 11:33:52 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on February 09, 2011, 09:04:33 AM
anybody any info on james mccarthy and the claim that he pulled out as he wants to play for scotland???

Where did you hear that?

A lot of putting two and two together and coming up with five on this story, particularly from shite journos with nothing else to write about.
Post by: tommysmith on February 09, 2011, 12:22:43 PM
Big Game tonight lads

Northern Irelands Finest
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/07/21/article-1037092-0203D52600000578-785_468x286.jpg) (http://images.mirror.co.uk/upl/dailyrecord3/jan2011/1/1/david-healy-image-2-607448498.jpg)

Scotland's Finest

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_2aA182hEue0/TPkdq55DC7I/AAAAAAAAAX4/LAZKkmsOz_A/s1600/Rangers-v-Hamilton-Kenny-Miller-celeb_1587934.jpg)(http://www.nationalturk.com/en/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/Kenny-Miller.jpg)

Is there any point to bringing these two to Dublin for this game.  Surely it should be run off in some form in the summer.  Is it Live on Sky?
Post by: Banana Man on February 09, 2011, 12:59:20 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 09, 2011, 11:33:52 AM

Where did you hear that?

A lot of putting two and two together and coming up with five on this story, particularly from shite journos with nothing else to write about.

heard it on the radio last night coming home from work, can't remember which station as i flick through 5 or 6 but that was the ongoing rumour according to the reporter, they said it wasn't unfounded too as he hadn't played a competitive game yet for Irelan so could still jump ship, worrying of that's the case...
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2011, 01:03:12 PM
That he can declare for Scotland is founded in fact.
The rumour that he will do so is unfounded in fact. It is merely idle gossip.
Post by: mountainboii on February 09, 2011, 01:16:12 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on February 09, 2011, 12:59:20 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 09, 2011, 11:33:52 AM

Where did you hear that?

heard it on the radio last night coming home from work, can't remember which station as i flick through 5 or 6 but that was the ongoing rumour according to the reporter, they said it wasn't unfounded too as he hadn't played a competitive game yet for Irelan so could still jump ship, worrying of that's the case...

He can switch back to Scotland, but nowhere have I heard or read that he wants to. There's been a lot of blind speculation on the back of a couple of Trapattoni's barely coherent mumblings. McCarthy and his club might well be pulling a bit of a Roy Keane to get out of a meaningless friendly, but there's nothing to suggest that there's anything more to it.
Post by: Banana Man on February 09, 2011, 02:24:07 PM
hope ya's are right lads!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 09, 2011, 08:17:53 PM
You Nordie boys are poor, Scotland will score a hat full if they keep this up
Post by: Big Puff on February 09, 2011, 08:19:48 PM
on this showing its hard to know whos worse between wales and NI

two bad lots!
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on February 09, 2011, 08:27:39 PM
so much for the owc lead boycott
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 09, 2011, 08:29:31 PM
I hope the Nordie animals don't start wrecking the place if they go 3 or 4 goals down.
Post by: red hander on February 09, 2011, 09:16:10 PM
Trouble outside ground from what I'm hearing
Post by: Big Puff on February 09, 2011, 09:21:15 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 09, 2011, 09:16:10 PM
Trouble outside ground from what I'm hearing

where you hear this?
Post by: hassletravel on February 09, 2011, 09:59:52 PM
Northern Ireland's finest meant to be causing trouble in ringsend area
Post by: Big Puff on February 09, 2011, 10:01:56 PM
Quote from: hassletravel on February 09, 2011, 09:59:52 PM
Northern Ireland's finest meant to be causing trouble in ringsend area

link?
Post by: hassletravel on February 09, 2011, 10:16:13 PM
Check out you boys in green forum
Post by: Ulick on February 09, 2011, 10:32:07 PM
Adrian Kennedy on FM104

http://www.fm104.ie/boxtube/ (http://www.fm104.ie/boxtube/)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 09, 2011, 10:49:04 PM
LOL  Taxi man not a happy chap.
Post by: Ulick on February 09, 2011, 10:53:15 PM
Everybody is pissed. Wouldn't believe any of them.
Post by: Myles Na G. on February 10, 2011, 07:22:05 AM
Not a word about this 'trouble' on RTE or BBC news outlets this morning. If anything happened at alll, it obviously wasn't a big deal.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on February 10, 2011, 07:59:15 AM
Just one idiot with a 20p coin.
Post by: Clown on February 10, 2011, 09:30:30 AM
There were minor skirmishes around the Aviva last night, most of it started with the north fans hanging their flags outside bars with this not going down too well with the locals. a pub in ringsend was trashed

the scotland fans were dead on

i'd say the NI v ROI will attract some trouble makers, could be a busy night for the Gards
Post by: AZOffaly on February 10, 2011, 10:26:18 AM
Quote from: Clown on February 10, 2011, 09:30:30 AM
There were minor skirmishes around the Aviva last night, most of it started with the north fans hanging their flags outside bars with this not going down too well with the locals. a pub in ringsend was trashed

the scotland fans were dead on

i'd say the NI v ROI will attract some trouble makers, could be a busy night for the Gards

So visiting soccer fans hung flags outside pubs they were in? Did the scots keep their flags in their bags?

This sounds like the 'locals' were waiting for any excuse.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on February 10, 2011, 11:06:15 AM
according to a few other sites , "windows smashed, bottles being thrown at riot clad Garda and "fans" on top of a petrol station waving union jacks in Ringsend... Allegedly"

One message board has a good and bad type review of the evening.

selection of the good
The Stadium.
The stewards, the ones we spoke to were very polite and helpful.

....the new road from Belfast to Dublin.

The people of Dublin were all very friendly.

selection of the Bad

"Some of the cretins who showed up to support us. Actually heard somebody singing would you like a bobby sands and pointing at the Garda.

One guy fighting with another while calling him a "fenian" although I didn't see who started this.
Then inside the Aviva, the same guy had to be held back by stewards when he didn't like the ball boys kissing the FAI badge on their chest.
To cap off a great night for this guy at the end of the match he was standing on the concourse kicking advertising signs. "

Just finished listening to fm104 cars were attacked in irishtown and uvf/uff flags were seeing in around the stadium

The Stadium

seems that owc still manages to attract a certain sort despite the initiatives.

What surprise me more is that they were all calling for a boycott, include some who post on here, and instead they went(including some who post on here) in their thousands and paid €35 to sing songs about hating Darren Gibson.
Post by: Banana Man on February 10, 2011, 11:20:27 AM
what way does the song go about Darren Gibson? I'm sure it's in true football for all style  ::)
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on February 10, 2011, 11:22:18 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on February 10, 2011, 11:20:27 AM
what way does the song go about Darren Gibson? I'm sure it's in true football for all style  ::)

nothing too bad- "If you hate Darron Gibson clap your hands" which then apparently turned into a rangers tune.

Post by: fitzroyalty on February 10, 2011, 06:54:06 PM
Here's me thinking they* were c***ts for booing Flower of Scotland..which begs the question, why do they love expressing their historical 'links' with Scotland, to the extent of flying the Scottish Saltire every summer, yet boo the anthem? Odd people.

*Referring to the Loyalist/intellectually challenged OWCers and not the majority of fans.
Post by: The Worker on February 10, 2011, 10:13:49 PM
Surely scotland and ireland are a league above wales and the 6 counties select?

you'l not see two more one-sided games this weekend that what was on show in the aviva midweek
Post by: All of a Sludden on February 10, 2011, 10:16:45 PM
Is there an Ireland v Norn Ireland game in this competition. If so when?
Post by: Tonto on February 10, 2011, 10:18:45 PM
Fitz, some fans were probably booing the anthem because GSTQ was greeted by a chorus of boos from the Tartan Army a few years ago in Glasgow.  I wasn't there last night so I don't know if GSTQ got the same treatment from the TA last night or, indeed, if FoS got booed by many.

It doesn't make it right obviously but it's not all one way.  Just one of these things that grows out of nothing.

It will be interesting to see how GSTQ is going to be received by RoI fans.
Post by: ziggysego on February 10, 2011, 10:19:56 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on February 10, 2011, 10:16:45 PM

Sometime in May I think. Fixtures are listed on the first post of this thread.
Post by: MW on February 10, 2011, 10:20:57 PM
Quote from: The Worker on February 10, 2011, 10:13:49 PM

Hardly. NI are ranked 38th in the world, the ROI 35th, and Scotland 53rd (Wales are 116th).

That was nothing like the NI "A" team (10 withdrawals after the squad was announced).

Even so it was a dire performance - literally the worst NI performance I have ever seen in nearly 22 years following the team.
Post by: All of a Sludden on February 10, 2011, 10:21:53 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 10, 2011, 10:19:56 PM

Thanks Ziggy.

Will you support your own country or will you support us?  :D
Post by: MW on February 10, 2011, 10:25:05 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 10, 2011, 10:18:45 PM
Fitz, some fans were probably booing the anthem because GSTQ was greeted by a chorus of boos from the Tartan Army a few years ago in Glasgow.  I wasn't there last night so I don't know if GSTQ got the same treatment from the TA last night or, indeed, if FoS got booed by many.

It doesn't make it right obviously but it's not all one way.  Just one of these things that grows out of nothing.

GSTQ got some boos - audible from the NI end but not massively so. FOS definitely got some booing/whistling but again very much a minority pursuit. (in the bar I was in pre-match both sets of fans had something of a sing-along to it!)

Hmm. I would suspect neither anthem will get total respect.
Post by: Tonto on February 10, 2011, 10:29:35 PM
Quote from: MW on February 10, 2011, 10:25:05 PM

GSTQ got some boos - audible from the NI end but not massively so. FOS definitely got some booing/whistling but again very much a minority pursuit. (in the bar I was in pre-match both sets of fans had something of a sing-along to it!)

Perhaps it would be sensible to forget the anthems.
Post by: Orior on February 10, 2011, 10:31:19 PM
OWC would suffocate without their anthem and butchers apron.
Post by: MW on February 10, 2011, 10:36:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 10, 2011, 10:32:26 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 10, 2011, 10:29:35 PM
Quote from: MW on February 10, 2011, 10:25:05 PM

Perhaps it would be sensible to forget the anthems.
I agree, except the Welsh one. It's good.

The Welsh one is really good - I like Flower of Scotland a lot too I have to say.

GSTQ got completely drowned out in Cardiff back in 2004 (and reportedly for the England game in the same qualifiers, unsurprisingly) , with Land of My Fathers stupidly getting retaliatory treatment at Windsor the year after.

This will I think be the first NI-ROI match at which both anthems will have been played...
Post by: MW on February 10, 2011, 10:38:14 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 10, 2011, 10:31:19 PM

Given that a significant section of our support (varying according to poll) want GSTQ replaced with a NI-specific action, and only a minority use the Union Flag, I wouldn't say that's accurate.
Post by: MW on February 10, 2011, 10:40:08 PM
Quote from: Ulick on February 09, 2011, 10:53:15 PM
Everybody is pissed. Wouldn't believe any of them.

Ulick - voice of reason! ;)
Post by: ziggysego on February 10, 2011, 10:50:03 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on February 10, 2011, 10:21:53 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 10, 2011, 10:19:56 PM

Thanks Ziggy.

Will you support your own country or will you support us?  :D

Depends on your definition of them and us, doesn't it ;)
Post by: tyssam5 on February 10, 2011, 10:51:38 PM
Quote from: MW on February 10, 2011, 10:20:57 PM

Hardly. NI are ranked 38th in the world, the ROI 35th, and Scotland 53rd (Wales are 116th).

That was nothing like the NI "A" team (10 withdrawals after the squad was announced).

Even so it was a dire performance - literally the worst NI performance I have ever seen in nearly 22 years following the team.

Surely that is a bold statement MW!

Post by: The Worker on February 10, 2011, 10:54:29 PM

Don't think any of the 4 teams where at full strength. To base your judgement on the much maligned world rankings would suggest you are clutching at straws!!

Worthington out  :P
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 10, 2011, 11:18:43 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 10, 2011, 11:14:24 PM
I don't think they should play the anthems at all. They should play songs about peace in Ireland such as:

Cara Dillon - There were roses - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGMPUYfVw20 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGMPUYfVw20)

and they could play general songs from both sides:

For example, one about Dublin and one about Belfast:

South - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4MuvdGh-Us (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4MuvdGh-Us)

North - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mR-P5w4ubY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mR-P5w4ubY)
f**k up.
Post by: MW on February 10, 2011, 11:19:54 PM
Quote from: The Worker on February 10, 2011, 10:54:29 PM
Don't think any of the 4 teams where at full strength.

NI were I think had the most depleted squad - and (in some way unsurprisingly given population sizes) NI haven't the strength in depth to replace so many first-choice players.

To base your judgement on the much maligned world rankings would suggest you are clutching at straws!!

Not really - just illustrating via the FIFA Rankings as a rough guide. I would suggest that there's little sense in deciding between the relative "leagues" of four international teams based simply on two friendly matches!

Looking at the competitive records, NI haven't qualified for the last World Cup and European Championships, but have been in contention right to the end of the last game of the qualifying groups - more than you can say for Scotland. I know the ROI were in the playoffs last time round (who could forget!), not sure about the previous qualifiers - but nothing to suggest "different leagues".

Worthington out  :P

Been saying it for years! I still haven't forgiven him for Riga/Reykjavik 07, and I doubt I ever will.
Post by: MW on February 10, 2011, 11:24:25 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on February 10, 2011, 10:51:38 PM

Surely that is a bold statement MW!

Seriously - from the top of my head the disasters that were Faroes in 1991, Republic in 1994, Armenia in 2004 and Iceland in 2005 run it close, but this topped the lot. It was like Worthington's personality writ large on a football pitch.
Post by: ziggysego on February 10, 2011, 11:29:07 PM
South - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4MuvdGh-Us (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4MuvdGh-Us)

North - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mR-P5w4ubY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mR-P5w4ubY)

Hardly representative to people not from Belfast or Dublin.

My choice would be:

South :- Danny Boy

North :- Londonderry Air
Post by: imtommygunn on February 10, 2011, 11:36:15 PM
MW to be fair to Scotland in the last Europeans they near qualified in front of Italy and France. It went down to the 2nd last game.

NI have no depth whatsoever - Scotland and ROI are better with regard to depth. Wales however I'm not so sure about.

Personally speaking I think NI have been the sum of their parts over the last few years. If you marked all the teams player by player they'd fall a good bit behind but it is to their credit what they have done in some qualifying results.

It's getting to the point where I think the bubble has burst though. You can only perform above yourself for so long.

BTW I am not an "anti OWC" person. I am more than happy to see NI do well.
Post by: Orior on February 11, 2011, 12:05:50 AM
Quote from: MW on February 10, 2011, 10:38:14 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 10, 2011, 10:31:19 PM

Given that a significant section of our support (varying according to poll) want GSTQ replaced with a NI-specific action, and only a minority use the Union Flag, I wouldn't say that's accurate.

Fair enough.
Post by: Bogball XV on February 11, 2011, 12:15:28 AM
Quote from: The Worker on February 10, 2011, 10:54:29 PMTo base your judgement on the much maligned world rankings would suggest you are clutching at straws!!

Maligned by who exactly?  Afaik the thinking is that whilst there are a few anomalies, in general they're pretty accurate (and results over the past number of years tend to back them up), especially when comparing teams that play the majority of their games in the same region.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 11, 2011, 08:28:58 AM

I'm sure there will be a few idiots from both sides that will boo the respective anthems,personally I'll just keep sitting and read my programme when GSTQ is played,I certainly won't boo it but I won't stay standing for it either.
Post by: Declan on February 11, 2011, 09:59:37 AM
Cllr Kevin Humphreys has called for the cancellation of the next two Northern Ireland matches to be played at the Aviva Stadium. This is due the high levels of public disorder and delinquency fueled by alcohol that occurred last night, Wednesday 9th of February in the surrounding residential areas.

Local residents had to undergo a barrage of abuse and intimidation and were unable to leave their homes. From early afternoon, gangs of supporters were roaming the streets while openly drinking from cans of beer and bottles of spirits. Local streets were used as public conveniences and damage was done to a number of properties. Residents should not be expected to have to undergo this again.

There must be guarantees of proper crowd control, curbs placed on public consumption of alcohol and sufficient Gardai in place to protect residents and property of those on the frontline of moving crowds.

The next two matches are scheduled for Tuesday 24 May (Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland) and Friday 27 May (Wales v Northern Ireland).

Kevin is a Councillor for the South East Inner City and General election candidate for Labour in constituency of Dublin South East. He lives off Bath Avenue, which is part off the crowd control program for the Avivia Stadium.
(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2009/3/29/1238331481910/football-supporters-irela-001.jpg)

Post by: Tubberman on February 11, 2011, 10:03:00 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 10, 2011, 11:29:07 PM

Hardly representative to people not from Belfast or Dublin.

My choice would be:

South :- Danny Boy

North :- Londonderry Air

Is that not an 'Irish-American' type song? I certainly never hear anyone singing it, and can't stand it myself.
Post by: paco on February 11, 2011, 10:10:13 AM
Are they planning on repeating this tournament in the future and, if so, how often will it be played? International football seems to have fallen down the priority list of many professional footballers and glorified friendles like this tournament, which take part during a crucial and very busy part of the club season, will only make it more of a nuisance.
Post by: Hardy on February 11, 2011, 11:01:14 AM
Quote from: Declan on February 11, 2011, 09:59:37 AM
Cllr Kevin Humphreys has called for the cancellation of the next two Northern Ireland matches to be played at the Aviva Stadium. This is due the high levels of public disorder and delinquency fueled by alcohol that occurred last night, Wednesday 9th of February in the surrounding residential areas.

Hear! Hear!
Post by: Tonto on February 11, 2011, 11:04:08 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 11, 2011, 08:28:58 AM

I'm sure there will be a few idiots from both sides that will boo the respective anthems,personally I'll just keep sitting and read my programme when GSTQ is played,I certainly won't boo it but I won't stay standing for it either.
At least you're honest.  But surely sitting, booing, turning your back etc. still amounts to the same thing; disrespect of another country's anthem.  I think it would be seen in the same bracket as booing by the other fans if all RoI fans sat down during the anthem.
Post by: Tonto on February 11, 2011, 11:11:43 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 11, 2011, 11:08:21 AM
".............God save the Queen."      "FCUK THE QUEEN!"
Not the current Queen; but maybe if Wills and Kate ascend to the throne before she lets herself go too much.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 11, 2011, 03:32:17 PM

The Jackeens will probably join in anyway
Post by: mick999 on February 11, 2011, 04:39:46 PM

Local residents had to undergo a barrage of abuse and intimidation and were unable to leave their homes. From early afternoon, gangs of supporters were roaming the streets while openly drinking from cans of beer and bottles of spirits. Local streets were used as public conveniences and damage was done to a number of properties. Residents should not be expected to have to undergo this again.

There must be guarantees of proper crowd control, curbs placed on public consumption of alcohol and sufficient Gardai in place to protect residents and property of those on the frontline of moving crowds.

The next two matches are scheduled for Tuesday 24 May (Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland) and Friday 27 May (Wales v Northern Ireland).

Kevin is a Councillor for the South East Inner City and General election candidate for Labour in constituency of Dublin South East. He lives off Bath Avenue, which is part off the crowd control program for the Avivia Stadium.
(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2009/3/29/1238331481910/football-supporters-irela-001.jpg)

Declan, You do realise that picture is actually a Polish Fan at Windsor Park last year :

http://www.daylife.com/photo/0fW06VT5d0fuX (http://www.daylife.com/photo/0fW06VT5d0fuX)

Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 11, 2011, 04:54:33 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 11, 2011, 11:04:08 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 11, 2011, 08:28:58 AM

At least you're honest.  But surely sitting, booing, turning your back etc. still amounts to the same thing; disrespect of another country's anthem.  I think it would be seen in the same bracket as booing by the other fans if all RoI fans sat down during the anthem.

Maybe so but I just couldn't see myself standing for GSTQ ever.
I have nothing against the Northern Irish soccer team and have often found myself wanting them to win when I watch them and have actually been to Windsor Park at a N Ireland game with a friend of mine from Portadown and didn't have a problem with any of the fans I met and they didn't seem too bothered that I was from the South either.

I can't see many of the Northern Irish fans standing for Amhrán na bhFiann either and if you ask me I'd rather someone sat down and kept quiet rather than boo the whole way through either anthems,it's a least showing some sort of respect by just keeping quiet.

Anyway talking about respecting anthems I have seen many Irish fans in soccer and Gaelic not respecting our own anthem by talking the whole way through it or screaming like animals before its even finished so I wouldn't be too upset if I was you if a few of them are talking/booing through GSTQ because they won't be too bothered about their own anthem either.
Post by: dublinfella on February 11, 2011, 05:07:08 PM

How did a picture of Polish fan in Belfast attatch itself to a Labour party press release?

Very cheeky Declan.
Post by: dublinfella on February 11, 2011, 05:08:11 PM
Seemiingly the OWC fans attacked a Shamrock Rovers pub in Ringsend.

Doesn't augur well for May....
Post by: The Worker on May 27, 2011, 09:59:20 PM
So Sunday's game is the decider, a draw will be good enough for Ireland to lift the trophy.

The wee 6 finished with 3 defeats, 10 goals conceded, nil goals scored. quite shocking  :-\
Post by: Archie Mitchell on May 28, 2011, 02:28:10 PM
Some attendance last night of 529!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 29, 2011, 08:30:47 PM
ROI won it, not conceded a goal. 3-0, 5-0 and 2-0 tonight
Post by: ross4life on May 29, 2011, 08:37:06 PM
Well done ROI but IMO need to introduce England into this tournament to spice it up.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 29, 2011, 08:47:24 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 29, 2011, 08:37:06 PM
Well done ROI but IMO need to introduce England into this tournament to spice it up.

yeah, that;s seems to be the general consensus alright. But a country like ours aint got to lift many trophies so it was good to see.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on May 29, 2011, 09:06:10 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 29, 2011, 08:30:47 PM

What game was this?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 29, 2011, 09:33:44 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on May 29, 2011, 09:06:10 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 29, 2011, 08:30:47 PM

What game was this?

Scotland. Sorry, 1-0
Post by: Main Street on May 30, 2011, 10:18:56 AM
 Northern Ireland supporters display a banner during the game  :)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF717/518585.jpg)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF717/518599.jpg)

Triple crown champions (really) 

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF720/520988.jpg)

Post by: lynchbhoy on May 30, 2011, 11:57:51 AM
in that first pic MS, I dont know whether its ironic or moronic that the 'love football , hate bigotry' banner sits alongside the union jack !!

then the third banner- 'fai keep yer hands off our players' ....the above flag and attitude might have a lot to do with the players actually wanting to declare for Ireland and not the temporary team.
they just dont seem to get it !
Post by: The Worker on May 30, 2011, 03:46:03 PM
Does the number of UJ's are Norn iron games suggest that they would be in support of one team for the UK?