GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: omagh_gael on January 30, 2011, 08:54:56 PM

Title: Derry v Tyrone - 06/02/11 - Celtic Park
Post by: omagh_gael on January 30, 2011, 08:54:56 PM
So first 'proper' game of the year, both teams with 3 wins out of 3 and will be keen to keep their 100% records intact. This time last year Tyrone were on a roll but an unfancied Derry side beat them fairly convincingly.

No point in trying to predict starting 15 as it's still all very experimental. Haven't been able to make any games yet due to clashes with work but from radio coverage and reports here some of the new lads have put their hands up for a starting place, particularly Girvan. Some old hands seem to have started the year well, great to see/hear that BMcG is getting plenty of game time and getting on the score sheet.

Where are the lads from colleges going to figure? Have been some excellent performances. Anyone know if Mattie Donnelly will make himself available this year?
Title: Re: Derry v Tyrone - 06/02/11 - Celtic Park
Post by: Club Rossa on January 31, 2011, 08:44:54 AM
Tyrone are up against it on Sunday.Derry have a great home record against Tyrone and we haven't beaten Derry in Derry since 1984.I thought our performance up there last year was a disgrace,no heart or hunger while Derry wanted the win more and got it.They will as usual be up for it on Sunday and our players need to match Derry's commitment and hunger if we are to have a chance.
Post by: clarshack on January 31, 2011, 09:39:26 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on January 31, 2011, 08:44:54 AM
Tyrone are up against it on Sunday.Derry have a great home record against Tyrone and we haven't beaten Derry in Derry since 1984.I thought our performance up there last year was a disgrace,no heart or hunger while Derry wanted the win more and got it. They will as usual be up for it on Sunday and our players need to match Derry's commitment and hunger if we are to have a chance.

that pretty much summed it up that night but that has been the kind of performance we have always produced up there.

its time to get a win in celtic park and put down a marker for the season.
Post by: leaveherinsir on January 31, 2011, 02:11:19 PM
Should be a good game this. Derry seem to be going well under the new man, but there have been plenty of years where they have started well in League!
Im sureTyrone will be up for this game, Tyrone comments above are a bit negative from their perspective, no doubt trying to lull us Derry "boys" into a false sense of security!  ;)
Ill be there anyway, havnt made any games so far this year, so no doubt this will be a dour low scoring affair, after all the score fests so far!
Post by: Fuzzman on January 31, 2011, 06:13:16 PM
What time is this game on at?
I'm up home for the weekend with the new born and just bought him his new Target Express jersey. I'll have to sneak him out though.
I can never remember winning in that bloody place over looked by my old school.
Post by: red hander on January 31, 2011, 06:50:28 PM
2.30 throw-in according to Gaa.ie ... spose it will be freezing as usual at Celtic Park.  Up last year and couldn't even have a hot whiskey in the bar cos I was driving ... I'm not fecking drivin on Sunday!!!
Post by: tyroneman on February 01, 2011, 07:00:05 AM
Would much rather have had this game at the end of the league. Notwithstanding our terrible record down in Derry we are notoriously slow starters in the league.
Post by: whiskeysteve on February 01, 2011, 11:05:48 AM
Cant make game  :(. Is it on TV?
Post by: ziggysego on February 01, 2011, 11:10:50 AM
It'll be an interesting battle between old school Brennan and new school Harte. I've been looking forward to this potential pairing for sometime.
Post by: Olly on February 01, 2011, 12:28:44 PM
I think Derry will win by 3-15 to 0-10
Post by: J OGorman on February 01, 2011, 01:37:58 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on February 01, 2011, 11:05:48 AM
Cant make game  :(. Is it on TV?

same here, my future county star is getting holy water poured on his wee forehead.

Should be a good game, glad to see the league starting
Post by: HiMucker on February 01, 2011, 01:46:05 PM
Dont be trying to live the life you wanted through your childs  :), he might want to be a dancer!

Wonder will PB try to do any keepy uppies this time :D
Post by: Fuzzman on February 01, 2011, 02:12:03 PM
Jeepers lads yer all keeping yer gun powder very dry.

I'd expected about 5 pages on this by now?

Are all our Tyrone posters optimistic or pessimistic about the year ahead?

What's the latest on the McMahon Bros? Are they taking a long rest til May?
Could this be the year we see them both line out at MF or further up the pitch at least?

Has BMG recaptured some of his old form and added on more scoring prowess?
Has Big Sean got his appetite back or is he just kicking frees?
Will SoN be as good as he was in 2005?
Are we better off losing in Ulster this year to give us a break from 1/4 final losses?

Despite playing well in the McKenna cup from all reports, I have grown to expect never to win this game in Londonderry city

Post by: tyssam5 on February 01, 2011, 05:03:38 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on February 01, 2011, 01:46:05 PM
Dont be trying to live the life you wanted through your childs  :), he might want to be a dancer!

He'll have all summer to practice them as usual!
Post by: HiMucker on February 01, 2011, 05:12:17 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on February 01, 2011, 05:03:38 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on February 01, 2011, 01:46:05 PM

He'll have all summer to practice them as usual!
Very good, well played
Post by: imtommygunn on February 01, 2011, 05:46:59 PM
These two teams are more than likely going to meet in mckenna cup shortly after this game. Will make it a bit of an anti-climax and the two teams sick looking at each other.

No offense Cavan posters...
Post by: leaveherinsir on February 01, 2011, 07:59:23 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 01, 2011, 02:12:03 PM
Jeepers lads yer all keeping yer gun powder very dry.

I'd expected about 5 pages on this by now?

Are all our Tyrone posters optimistic or pessimistic about the year ahead?

What's the latest on the McMahon Bros? Are they taking a long rest til May?
Could this be the year we see them both line out at MF or further up the pitch at least?

Has BMG recaptured some of his old form and added on more scoring prowess?
Has Big Sean got his appetite back or is he just kicking frees?
Will SoN be as good as he was in 2005?
Are we better off losing in Ulster this year to give us a break from 1/4 final losses?

Despite playing well in the McKenna cup from all reports, I have grown to expect never to win this game in Londonderry city
Thats why we cant have you Tyrone "Boys/Blades"!! ;)
Post by: tbrick18 on February 02, 2011, 09:00:08 AM
Its impossible to make any predictions for this game for many reasons....team selection with university players returning, tyrone's disrupted start to the year for obvious reasons, Derry's new manager and returning old guard and so on.
But I've a feeling its going to be a good tough game regardless.
Hopefully the mighty Oaks to signal their intent for the year with a convincing win at home.
I always love the anticipation before the first league game....
Post by: Sandino on February 02, 2011, 01:57:51 PM
I too love the anticipation before the first game of the season............. Its the sickening feeling after a poor performance that gets to me.
Post by: Rav67 on February 03, 2011, 02:03:14 AM
Looking forward to this one with both teams going well.  Derry have been putting up big scores in the McKenna Cup and have been playing with 6 natural forwards, and the six who started last week will probably start again.  I think Paddy Heaney had an article in the paper a couple of weeks back about teams picking more scoring forwards so far this year, so hopefully this will lead to more open games in general.

Prediction: Derry by a couple of points, and a few ole chants/keepy-uppys to further annoy the Tyrone folk.
Post by: Man Marker on February 03, 2011, 04:21:01 PM
Fully expect two points agianst the inbreds. Mickey will make sure the lads return home with their first win in Derry for years. A score to be settled.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 03, 2011, 04:22:04 PM
Do the teams get named tonight?

I think Tyrone will be very very hungry to start the proper season well and with a few of the new lads doing well and the older lads obviously out to prove they've still a lot to give then I think we could win this one handy enough.

I know our record at this ground is terrible but we still have quite a strong squad available with a No of options for midfield for a change.

Was Block rested last time out?

Tyrone by 5 with all subs used.
Post by: HiMucker on February 03, 2011, 04:46:52 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on February 03, 2011, 04:21:01 PM
Fully expect two points agianst the inbreds. Mickey will make sure the lads return home with their first win in Derry for years. A score to be settled.
ManMarker is Castlederg not in Tyrone??
Post by: Wee Roddy on February 03, 2011, 04:51:47 PM
Gormley was unvailable for selection not resting last week. Dont worry he will be ok to lash it into Brennans men him being an ex club manager. Brennan had the confidence to play him on Canavan when he was no more than a cub. It was the making of him.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 03, 2011, 05:30:06 PM
would be quite confident that we can beat the inbreds on sunday.
still confidence in Derry teams most times can be misplaced !

I quite like the tyronies, but I couldnt eat a whole one. Often they are just too bitter !! ;) :D
Post by: J OGorman on February 03, 2011, 07:07:59 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on February 03, 2011, 04:21:01 PM

must be some kinda record..a whole page and a half before some tool used the 'inbred' word

anyone post Paddy Heaney's latest 'Agianst the Breeze' please?
Title: Tyrone Team v Derry Named
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 03, 2011, 07:48:43 PM
Tyrone Team v Derry Named

Allianz Football League Div 2 – Sunday 6th February 2011
Celtic Park, Derry at 2.30pm

Derry v Tyrone

————————————-
Tir Eoghain v Doire
Allianz League Div 2

1  Pascal McConnell- An Baile Nua
2  Dermot Carlin – Coill an Chlochair
3  Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mhór
4  Damian McCaul – Domhnach Mór
5  David Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
6  Conor Gormley – An Charraig Mhór
7  Ryan McMenamin – An Droim Mhór
8  Kevin Hughes – Cill Íseal
9  Aidan Cassidy – Eochar
10  Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
11  Brian McGuigan – Ard Bó
12  Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
13  Martin Penrose – Achadh Uí Aráin
14  Stephen O'Neill – Clann na nGael
15  Enda McGinley – Aireagal Chiaráin

16  Jonathan Curran – Oileán a'Ghuail
17  Mark Donnelly – An Charraig Mhór
18  Ciaran Girvan – Doire Lochain
19  Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
20  Niall McKenna – Domhnach Mór
21  Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mhór
22  Stephen McNally – Oileán a'Ghuail
23  Patrick McNiece – Oileán a'Ghuail
24  Sean O'Neill – An Droim Mhór
25  PJ Quinn – Baile na Móna
26  Martin Swift – Coill an Chlochair

Manager: Mickey Harte
Post by: ONeill on February 03, 2011, 08:03:17 PM
Still half the team backboned by the boys of '03.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 03, 2011, 08:07:23 PM
A very fresh looking bench though. Mickey throwing out the old heads against the inbreds, should be a cracker.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 08:11:07 PM
Could see Enda dropping back to midfield if we're under pressure there, leaving a two-man FF line. Expected to see a few more of the new(er) faces, but not a bad blend all the same.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 03, 2011, 08:32:49 PM
Looks like Mickey is not messing about with that team. This could be a cracker match. Is it on telly or highlights on later?
Bet ya Hub gets a goal.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 09:04:43 PM
If I were from Tyrone I'd rather see more new blood than what's on show there.

McCaul, McCarron, Cassidy and Harte really only non AI run starters. McCarron and McCaul have been about a while too. Cassidy and Harte seem the only new finds in the last few years.

Where has Mulgrew gone?Is he just not cutting it? Considering the AI minor wins still not much coming through yet...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 09:14:10 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 09:04:43 PM

If we lose: I agree.

If we win: I disagree.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 09:36:05 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 09:14:10 PM

Blood more players = do better later in the year IMO. Realistically you have 4 "new" players on and come summer Jordan and the 2 McMahons will be on so you will have at most 1 new player if this is the way forward. Dooher could be on too and you'd have no new players.

I understand you want to win and all but in my view you need new players... The Derry - Tyrone "cauldron" the best place to blood them too IMO.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 09:42:36 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 09:36:05 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 09:14:10 PM

Blood more players = do better later in the year IMO. Realistically you have 4 "new" players on and come summer Jordan and the 2 McMahons will be on so you will have at most 1 new player if this is the way forward. Dooher could be on too and you'd have no new players.

Thus far in the season to date, it has been the old hands that have stepped up and delivered when we needed them to, so I can see exactly where MH is coming from; and he's never going to be someone who ascribes to a plan that involves losing, irrespective of how inconsequential that loss may be, and regardless of what that might (or might not) lead to further down the line.

It's double-edged, this implacable will-to-win thing, and perhaps it blinds to such a concept as strategic losing.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 10:42:45 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 09:42:36 PM
Thus far in the season to date

What season to date?

You want to beat Derry and they have probably had the better of you in the less meaningful games so maybe that's what it is.

It just makes me wonder from the outside looking in at the Tyrone team(s) over the last few years where all the good underage players have gone. Don't get me wrong I know not all good underage players transfer to seniors but there barely seem to be any making the breakthrough??
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 10:49:26 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 10:42:45 PM
What season to date?

Mc Kenna Cup. I know, I know, rather inconsequential, nonetheless they were there to step up.

Quote from: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 10:42:45 PM
It just makes me wonder from the outside looking in at the Tyrone team(s) over the last few years where all the good underage players have gone. Don't get me wrong I know not all good underage players transfer to seniors but there barely seem to be any making the breakthrough??

Fair point, but there's a good smattering on the bench, and I'd hope Mickey has an eye on the lads who did well for the Unis, like Mattie Donnelly.
Post by: Over the Bar on February 03, 2011, 10:58:15 PM
I saw Cathal McCarron in the gym the other day and couldn't get over the size of him and built like a the proverbial! 
Post by: ONeill on February 03, 2011, 11:05:55 PM
It's sort of a sin to agree with what tommygunn is saying but I can't help it. Two seasons running we've seen Tyrone in the height of the summer caught short with the old heads starting. I was really hoping to see 3-4 newbies given a good run at the league. Perhaps they will yet.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 11:21:42 PM
Basically every 1 of that team is proven. You could argue Peter Harte but I think he showed enough last year. I think he will turn out to be a cracker. Players like Mulgrew, Coney and other boys like that just haven't appeared to have cut it.

I would imagine Niall McKenna will make it too. Doesn't seem much coming through in terms of scoring threats?

Also I would say that the Tyrone team, when they go, will basically go en masse. Look at, for example, the half back line. Jordan plus Gormley and McMenamim all wrong side of 30 or if not damn close. Harte not far behind. They could all retire same year then you have no tried half backs. (McNabb / Sean O'Neill could be quite good but untried and then you have no centre)

Even in say 3 years time hard to see a lot of that personnel around.

If you look at ulster football in all counties you would have to honestly say that the standard of all the teams over the last few years have dropped significantly.(Antrim aside who let's be honest could get no worse! Maybe(maybe) Monaghan too) Tyrone have too - you can't sustain as high energy a game as they did year on year  unless you keep bringing in new players.
Post by: loughshore lad on February 03, 2011, 11:30:09 PM
Hard to argue with imtommygun on the Tyrone selection alright.

Would have been nice to see a new face in the half back line in particular as thats one area of the field I think Tyrone could do with introducing a new face.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 11:30:22 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 11:21:42 PM
Basically every 1 of that team is proven. You could argue Peter Harte but I think he showed enough last year. I think he will turn out to be a cracker. Players like Mulgrew, Coney and other boys like that just haven't appeared to have cut it.

I would imagine Niall McKenna will make it too. Doesn't seem much coming through in terms of scoring threats?

Ah feck, I'm all done out for pessimism for the year ;)

At best: this is the very last chance for the school of 2003, the very last, and if the heights can't be scaled this year like they weren't in 2009 & 2010 then we're into wholesale incomings and outgoings, inescapably. But... there's someone who's better qualified than I (or we) to make that call, much better qualified.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 11:45:14 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 11:30:22 PM

At best: this is the very last chance for the school of 2003, the very last, and if the heights can't be scaled this year like they weren't in 2009 & 2010 then we're into wholesale incomings and outgoings, inescapably. But... there's someone who's better qualified than I (or we) to make that call, much better qualified.

Ha yes who could argue with Micky Harte.

Very possible he, and the players, see it as last chance to win the AI with this "batch".

Stranger things have happened. Cork too athletic for them however if Kerry put Cork out , which I think they will assuming the draw gets to this, then Kerry v Tyrone usually only goes one way. Dublin may have beat Tyrone but IMO Tyrone kicked themselves out of it and could , had Kavanagh / Mulligan brought shooting boots, won by a bit.

Maybe not this year, although injuries will have a large bearing on this, but soon I think youse are in big trouble. Maybe other people realise this and want to make the most of what you've got. Why more new players haven't been blooded I just don't understand because there *should* be some serious talent in Tyrone...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 11:50:32 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 11:45:14 PM
Maybe not this year, although injuries will have a large bearing on this, but soon I think youse are in big trouble. Maybe other people realise this and want to make the most of what you've got. Why more new players haven't been blooded I just don't understand because there *should* be some serious talent in Tyrone...

There's a 27 year hoodoo to be broken in Celtic Park on Sunday. It wouldn't surprise me if MH has picked this team solely to put that ghost to bed, but withholding a more expansive eye regarding the younger lads for games thereafter.

He may be thinking (like I would know), that he'll have more of a chance with the newer lads if we can start on a positive footing, as opposed to merely continuing a rather sorry losing streak, and that if those new lads were involved in that (possible loss) it might be a critical confidence-breaker. If we lose with the older heads it won't really be that big a deal, comparitively.
Post by: loughshore lad on February 03, 2011, 11:54:11 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 03, 2011, 11:45:14 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 11:30:22 PM

Ha yes who could argue with Micky Harte.

Very possible he, and the players, see it as last chance to win the AI with this "batch".

Stranger things have happened. Cork too athletic for them however if Kerry put Cork out , which I think they will assuming the draw gets to this, then Kerry v Tyrone usually only goes one way. Dublin may have beat Tyrone but IMO Tyrone kicked themselves out of it and could , had Kavanagh / Mulligan brought shooting boots, won by a bit.

In theory given the fact there were a few AI minor successes in the last decade then yes there possibly should be some serious talent in Tyrone but the step up is extremely difficult particularly given the quality of player they are trying to displace, you were asking about Mulgrew earlier and he is a pertinent example of this.  Another example would be Penrose, he found the going very tough in his first 3 or 4 years on the scene but is now one of the first names on the team sheet.  The 2008 minor squad had a number of really excellent minors - Gavin Teague, Ronan McNabb, Miall McKenna, Peter Harte and Kyle Coney for example yet so far only Harte has pushed himself into the serious reckoning. 

Just how good the core of players were that backboned the senior team in the last decade will only be truly realised when they go, Mickey Harte is acutely aware of how good they were/are and his belief in them means younger players find it difficult to break into the team.
Post by: tyroneman on February 04, 2011, 06:55:19 AM
Mulgrew walked away from the squad, wasn't dropped. IMHO a wasted talent for whatever reason.

Surprised Coney not even on bench. Can only guess he's injured?

Would also have thought Mattie Donn would have deserved a place. Showed very well against us last week.

Derry flying ( don't they always seem to be flying pre championship though) and a very poor Celtic park record makes me nervous about this but it's one we need to win to set the tone and get ourselves back up to D1. Donegal next won't be easy either.

Wonder what stage the 2 bradleys will walk away this year??
Post by: nrico2006 on February 04, 2011, 08:32:58 AM
Klye Coney is injured.  I reckon that Coney, Ronan McNabb, Niall McKenna, Peter Harte and Mattie Donnelly will definitely become senior stars, with the 2010 winning team pushing through in 2 or 3 years.  The Gervin brothers look potentially very good too. 
Post by: imtommygunn on February 04, 2011, 09:43:49 AM
FWIW I think Derry will more than likely win this Sunday however in the grand scheme of things it will have no bearing and Derry will get overexcited and Tyrone will be unphased by it.

Not bothered either way. Brennan will do well for Derry I think but they don't have the players to bother Tyrone come championship.

In a few years if things don't change however...
Post by: leaveherinsir on February 04, 2011, 09:51:53 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 04, 2011, 09:43:49 AM
FWIW I think Derry will more than likely win this Sunday however in the grand scheme of things it will have no bearing and Derry will get overexcited and Tyrone will be unphased by it.

Not bothered either way. Brennan will do well for Derry I think but they don't have the players to bother Tyrone come championship.

Thats a fairy accurate synopsis there i think. Crux of the matter would be Tyrone have had better players over the last 10 odd years.
Would'nt necessarily say it will change either, surely Tyrone's conveyor belt of talent will bring some of their AI minors through in the next few years.
I can see why M.Harte sticks with the players who have been successful for Tyrone, no more so than at the minute, the familarilty of these players is surely a help to him at present.
Its a strong Tyrone team on paper for Sunday's game, should make it interesting!
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 04, 2011, 11:08:41 AM
Quote from: leaveherinsir on February 04, 2011, 09:51:53 AM

Thats a fairy accurate synopsis there i think. Crux of the matter would be Tyrone have had better players over the last 10 odd years. Would'nt necessarily say it will change either, surely Tyrone's conveyor belt of talent will bring some of their AI minors through in the next few years.
I can see why M.Harte sticks with the players who have been successful for Tyrone, no more so than at the minute, the familarilty of these players is surely a help to him at present.
Its a strong Tyrone team on paper for Sunday's game, should make it interesting!

Would disagree. Tyrone have had a better manager over the last 10 odd years. It is only recently that they would have had demonstratively better players.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 04, 2011, 11:10:27 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 04, 2011, 11:08:41 AM

Thats a fairy accurate synopsis there i think. Crux of the matter would be Tyrone have had better players over the last 10 odd years. Would'nt necessarily say it will change either, surely Tyrone's conveyor belt of talent will bring some of their AI minors through in the next few years.

Would disagree. Tyrone have had a better manager over the last 10 odd years. It is only recently that they would have had demonstratively better players.

Tyrone have had a better manager and better players.  I don't think there is any argument to be had regarding the players.
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 04, 2011, 11:26:12 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 04, 2011, 11:10:27 AM

Tyrone have had a better manager and better players.  I don't think there is any argument to be had regarding the players.

Always arguments to be had regarding players. The only match between the two in which Tyrone had a real advantage in terms of players was 2009 at Casement. If there was a marked dfference, why then do head to head results not bear this out? Surely a team with better players and a better manager would have won at the first attempt in 2003 (the replay peformance is down to a better manager). Surely a team with better players and a better manager would have managed at least a point in first half in 2006.

As a neutral, I would be happy to pick a select team from the two counties over the last ten years. Could be tight enough in terms of numbers, probably 9/6 Tyrone/Derry.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 04, 2011, 11:29:55 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on February 03, 2011, 10:58:15 PM
I saw Cathal McCarron in the gym the other day and couldn't get over the size of him and built like a the proverbial!
he is a very under rated player imo. the ref had a nightmare with him v Dublin in last seasons championship game which meant he had to be taken off.  A huge plus for Tyrone is his emergence. FB his position to lose.

A lot of the banjo boys are muttering silently (though still sounds like a shout) about Harte and his lack of bringing other players through and being too reliant on the old brigade.
This season will test that. Starting the experienced lads and bringing in a few fresh lads will teach them more than having wholesale changes and fecking up momentum, team, players and morale en masse.
Harte should only have a few new faces on each game. Rotating them too.
He needs some of them to gel with older hands in order for them to be part of the picture come championship time, as some of the old guard prob have too many miles on the clock and are in danger of being done for speed.
Great to bring on but not players that will last a full 70 mins.
Its up front where Tyrone dont have depth right now. thats where they lost it last season.
imo.

I'd say Harte is going all out to beat the jinx. Could very well do it. Depends on Derrys mentality under Brennan.
They have the talent imo but have not had the temperment and have played stupid brain dead football this past decade.
Hope that can change, but its not easy to do so quickly.
Post by: tyroneman on February 04, 2011, 11:34:34 AM
I agree we have not yet found any replacement for PtG or SoN as marquee forwards.

I believe Ronan o'Neill has the potential as does Coney but along way to go yet.

Mattie Donnelly could make it heat wit the right development but where is he this weekend? B
Post by: Stall the Bailer on February 04, 2011, 11:43:24 AM
There is a good few new faces on the starting line up.
The full back is a new combination.
It is the first starts for Damien McCaul and Peter Harte this year.
The two of them, Stevie, Enda and Aidan Cassidy have played very little football for Tyrone in the last year. I think it is the strongest line up available.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 04, 2011, 11:58:13 AM

I wouldn't agree with that synopsis. Games between Tyrone and Derry are always tighter due to local rivalry etc. Derbies aren't always reflective of teams footballing abilities - moreso their "grinding out" abilities.

Over the last ten years Tyrone as a team, and as individuals, have just been considerably better (than everyone except arguably Kerry and not just Derry)

There could be a lot in that statement.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 04, 2011, 12:21:52 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 04, 2011, 11:58:13 AM

There could be a lot in that statement.

Indeed, they have never let him down when needed, and they're needed now.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 04, 2011, 12:30:00 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 04, 2011, 11:26:12 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 04, 2011, 11:10:27 AM

Always arguments to be had regarding players. The only match between the two in which Tyrone had a real advantage in terms of players was 2009 at Casement. If there was a marked dfference, why then do head to head results not bear this out? Surely a team with better players and a better manager would have won at the first attempt in 2003 (the replay peformance is down to a better manager). Surely a team with better players and a better manager would have managed at least a point in first half in 2006.

As a neutral, I would be happy to pick a select team from the two counties over the last ten years. Could be tight enough in terms of numbers, probably 9/6 Tyrone/Derry.

If we used your 2003 example regarding the need for a replay, then were Down as good as Tyrone in 2003?  As for 2006, Tyrone were missing the guts of their 1st choice 15 that day, still should have scored but sometimes strange things happen.
Post by: J OGorman on February 04, 2011, 12:57:36 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 04, 2011, 06:55:19 AM
Mulgrew walked away from the squad, wasn't dropped. IMHO a wasted talent for whatever reason.

Surprised Coney not even on bench. Can only guess he's injured?

Would also have thought Mattie Donn would have deserved a place. Showed very well against us last week.

Derry flying ( don't they always seem to be flying pre championship though) and a very poor Celtic park record makes me nervous about this but it's one we need to win to set the tone and get ourselves back up to D1. Donegal next won't be easy either.

Wonder what stage the 2 bradleys will walk away this year??

meaning..I hope to fcuk the 2 bradleys walk away this year 'cause we've nobody who can handle them

wont be this year anyway under Brennan