Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: wanderer on January 26, 2011, 06:54:29 PM

Title: Personalised Number Plates
Post by: wanderer on January 26, 2011, 06:54:29 PM

Has anyone ever bought a plate from the DVLA directly? Are they priced competitively?

Have never owned one, and am debating whether there is even any point in them. But was thinking with the current economy, there must be some going for below value?  ??? Is buying from somewhere like autotrader the way to go
Title: Re: Personalised Number Plates
Post by: Big Puff on January 26, 2011, 06:59:48 PM
Can you buy one and hold it til you have a car? or does it have to be registered to an actual vehicle?

what is the cost of the actual re-reg of the new plates?
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 07:01:21 PM
Quote from: wanderer on January 26, 2011, 06:54:29 PM

Has anyone ever bought a plate from the DVLA directly? Are they priced competitively?

Have never owned one, and am debating whether there is even any point in them. But was thinking with the current economy, there must be some going for below value?  ??? Is buying from somewhere like autotrader the way to go

I bought one and the DVLA were 15 % cheaper than any of the dealers. It may be more competitive at the lower end of the market, but if you are going for anything 4 figs and above go straight to the source IMHO.

RE Big Puff, you can buy it and keep it on certificate, but you need to renew the cert every 12 months.
Post by: J70 on January 26, 2011, 07:13:12 PM
Why would someone want a personalized number plate in the first place?
Post by: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 07:14:45 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 26, 2011, 07:13:12 PM
Exactly. Every time I see one, i think: c**k.
Post by: Big Puff on January 26, 2011, 07:24:45 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 07:14:45 PM

Same thing i think every time i see ur name  :)
Post by: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 07:30:05 PM
Ooooh, that hurts so much.
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 07:51:55 PM

Ive got one. It says WEEPUCK. Bought it for no real reason other than a bit of craic, as I got my first ever car around the same time my daughter was born - and we figured it'd be something to make her smile when she was a kid, embarrass her when she is a teenager, and something she might want to keep as a momento when she is older. That said, the license plates over here are a bit nicer to look at than the ones at home.

She's three now - and she looks at the license plate now when she is walking to the car and if you ask her what it says she says "That says Eva-Therese loves frank". Frank being the girlfriends dog.

Hard to see much harm in some of them.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 08:00:52 PM
This^
Post by: AZOffaly on January 26, 2011, 08:05:28 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 08:00:52 PM
This^

Is 'This ^' the new '+1' ?
Post by: Hardy on January 26, 2011, 08:07:54 PM
Looks that way. Also, I think it's the new "what he said".

(Going forward)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 08:09:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 07:51:55 PM

Ive got one. It says WEEPUCK. Bought it for no real reason other than a bit of craic, as I got my first ever car around the same time my daughter was born - and we figured it'd be something to make her smile when she was a kid, embarrass her when she is a teenager, and something she might want to keep as a momento when she is older. That said, the license plates over here are a bit nicer to look at than the ones at home.

She's three now - and she looks at the license plate now when she is walking to the car and if you ask her what it says she says "That says Eva-Therese loves frank". Frank being the girlfriends dog.

Hard to see much harm in some of them

+1 ^ what he said..
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 08:10:46 PM
There is quite a wait for some of them. Up at the university here there is an Irish professor who has ARMAGH, and ULSTER on two of his license plates. Another professor had to wait until a fella in vegas bit the dust and the license plate BELFAST went back on the market again. If I recall correctly he was actually on the waiting list from the nevada DMV for that plate if it ever became available.

Personally, some of the lengths some people go to to phonetcially spell out an entire stupid sentence in 7 characters is quite daft LVPDRDS etc.. - but why would anyone think it any different from a guy who keeps his car spotless, likes fancy wheel rims, or big spoilers?
Post by: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 08:11:46 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 08:09:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 07:51:55 PM

Hard to see much harm in some of them

+1 ^ what he said..
Nobody's saying there's harm in any of them.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 08:11:53 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 08:10:46 PM
There is quite a wait for some of them. Up at the university here there is an Irish professor who has ARMAGH, and ULSTER on two of his license plates. Another professor had to wait until a fella in vegas bit the dust and the license plate BELFAST went back on the market again. If I recall correctly he was actually on the waiting list from the nevada DMV for that plate if it ever became available.

Now he is a c**k
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 08:14:24 PM
I dont literally mean harm - but you seem to literally mean everyone who has a licensed plate personalized is a c**k? I don't get it is all. Thats like saying every guy who wears a scarf in the summer is a c**k.

Wait, I rest your case.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 08:16:12 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 08:14:24 PM
I dont literally mean harm - but you seem to literally mean everyone who has a licensed plate personalized is a c**k? I don't get it is all. Thats like saying every guy who wears a scarf in the summer is a c**k.

Wait, I rest your case.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 08:17:12 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 08:14:24 PM

Wait, I rest your case.

You may go back and check my first post on this thread before you start accusing me of something Puck
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 08:17:59 PM
No, I won't. But you can go back and figure out who I was talking to.  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 08:18:59 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 08:17:59 PM
No, I won't. But you can go back and figure out who I was talking to.  ;)

Thats what the quote function is for,maybe you should use it
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 08:21:17 PM
Use when necessary. Relax your britches horse.
Post by: Orior on January 26, 2011, 08:21:59 PM
Quote from: wanderer on January 26, 2011, 06:54:29 PM

Translation: I have more money than I know what to do with, lol
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 08:22:19 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 08:21:17 PM
Use when necessary. Relax your britches horse.

WUM
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 08:28:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 26, 2011, 08:05:28 PM
This^

Yeah, I'm a trend setter...
Post by: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 08:54:02 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 08:28:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 26, 2011, 08:05:28 PM
This^

Yeah, I'm a trend setter...
You're down with the kids.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 09:16:51 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 26, 2011, 08:21:59 PM

Translation: I have more money than I know what to do with, lol

not far wrong
Post by: ONeill on January 26, 2011, 09:20:46 PM
Anyone who wears a scarf is a c**k.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 09:26:12 PM
You could always splash your name and phone number on the side of your Hiace, better still ask a bunch of strangers which is the best typeface.
Post by: Orior on January 26, 2011, 09:29:10 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 26, 2011, 09:20:46 PM
Anyone who wears a scarf is a c**k.

Eggsactly...

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2003/1812020060_7e710f2fab.jpg)
Post by: comethekingdom on January 26, 2011, 10:17:07 PM
Anyone who is silly enough to pay for a personalised number plate deserves to be ripped off. Fair play to the councils or whatever the authority is that sell these for raising money when they have gobshites to pay for them
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:21:37 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on January 26, 2011, 10:17:07 PM
Anyone who is silly enough to pay for a personalised number plate deserves to be ripped off. Fair play to the councils or whatever the authority is that sell these for raising money when they have gobshites to pay for them

Same logic applies to designer clothes , luxury cars too?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:23:32 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:21:37 PM

Pretty much, yeah.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:25:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:23:32 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

:D Always knew you would make a great Red
Post by: comethekingdom on January 26, 2011, 10:28:19 PM

Not really - the number plate thing is just the worst looking thing ever on a yoke!
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 26, 2011, 10:28:56 PM
Feck it! Do as I did and save a fortune. I just changed my name officially by deed poll to AEZ 2986. Only cost me 65 quid.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:29:53 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on January 26, 2011, 10:28:19 PM

Not really - the number plate thing is just the worst looking thing ever on a yoke!

Oh dear
Post by: EC Unique on January 26, 2011, 10:31:37 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

What about people who have enough money to buy a nice car and have a personalised number on it? Are they all cocks? I usually find that people who call "c**k" can't afford it themselves and are a bit jealous. Get over it!
Post by: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 10:34:41 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 26, 2011, 10:31:37 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

What about people who have enough money to buy a nice car and have a personalised number on it? Are they all cocks? I usually find that people who call "c**k" can't afford it themselves and are a bit jealous. Get over it!
Yes. I'm green with envy.  ::)
I can't imagine that even if I had an extra £1k of disposable income a month that I would ever choose to spend it like that.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 26, 2011, 10:35:13 PM

Personally, some of the lengths some people go to to phonetcially spell out an entire stupid sentence in 7 characters is quite daft LVPDRDS etc.. - but why would anyone think it any different from a guy who keeps his car spotless, likes fancy wheel rims, or big spoilers?

Las Vegas Police Department R Dick Suckers?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 10:35:31 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

I'd hate to be you,that chip you have just gets bigger and bigger
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:36:29 PM
It would be interesting if the descenting voices could clarify what they mean by a personalised reg.

We must assume given the tenacity of their condemnation that they can spot one every time? Heaven forbid you might have initials that by pure coincidence match the reg you were allocated with your new car...

Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 10:38:43 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 26, 2011, 10:35:13 PM

Close Croi.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:40:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 10:34:41 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

I can't imagine that even if I had an extra £1k of disposable income a month that I would ever choose to spend it like that.

do you honestly think that anyone who has 1K extra , as in a unique event, would look at a personal reg as a priority?
More so, do you believe  that 1k is the starting price for a reg?
Just like anything else above the norm, its a luxury item, but I don't recall the gaggle of condemnation at the end of the street when I spent a few quid on a good leather jacket...
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:41:57 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 10:35:31 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

I'd hate to be you too. 
Post by: EC Unique on January 26, 2011, 10:42:32 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

In fairness 1k per month is not really the amount of disposable income that would justify a lux car and personal number.

I'm talking about proper wealthy people.
Post by: comethekingdom on January 26, 2011, 10:43:19 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:40:05 PM
You'll not look like a pillock for wearing a new jacket!

Pretty much, yeah.

do you honestly think that anyone who has 1K extra , as in a unique event, would look at a personal reg as a priority?
More so, do you believe  that 1k is the starting price for a reg?
Just like anything else above the norm, its a luxury item, but I don't recall the gaggle of condemnation at the end of the street when I spent a few quid on a good leather jacket...
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:45:37 PM
so then kingdom, what you are really saying is that you disagree with what some others may chose to consider a luxury item and spend  their money on, and in your books that makes them..... remind me
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 10:45:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:41:57 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

I'd hate to be you too.

No you wouldn't..

But you do seem to have a problem with people who like have nice things in life..
Why would someone be a c**k for driving a nice car or having good clothes?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:46:32 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

See that's exactly the problem with people with personalised number plates, they seem to think they're in some unique group when most people could get one if they really wanted it. It's hardly anything to be jealous about  ::)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 26, 2011, 10:47:24 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 10:38:43 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 26, 2011, 10:35:13 PM

Close Croi.

Dope Smokers.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 10:49:27 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

More so, do you believe  that 1k is the starting price for a reg?Just like anything else above the norm, its a luxury item, but I don't recall the gaggle of condemnation at the end of the street when I spent a few quid on a good leather jacket...
Well if they don't cost that much, i'd be able to afford one if I wanted. Therefore, I have absolutely no reason to be jealous.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:49:50 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 10:45:49 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

I'd hate to be you too.

No you wouldn't..

But you do seem to have a problem with people who like have nice things in life..

Cite some examples please?

I never said anyone was a c**k for driving a "nice" car or "having good clothes".
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:50:41 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:46:32 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

See that's exactly the problem with people with personalised number plates, they seem to think they're in some unique group when most people could get one if they really wanted it. It's hardly anything to be jealous about  ::)

just for the record, So far we have designer clothes, luxry cars and personalised plates. What else marks me out as thinking they are unique, or does that depend on what part of Armagh you are from? Inside toilets?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:52:47 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:50:41 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:46:32 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

just for the record, So far we have designer clothes, luxry cars and personalised plates. What else marks me out as thinking they are unique, or does that depend on what part of Armagh you are from? Inside toilets?
Sorry, I've no idea what that means. You'll have to rephrase.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 10:53:50 PM

Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:49:50 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 10:45:49 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

I'd hate to be you too.

No you wouldn't..

I never said anyone was a c**k for driving a "nice" car or "having good clothes".

Fair enough you didn't actually and I apologise.
What did you mean by this though.

Pretty much, yeah.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:55:39 PM
That they deserved to be ripped off, all three fall in to my bracket of "pointless waste of money".

Please cite me some examples of where I have had a problem with people having "nice things in life".
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 10:57:12 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:55:39 PM

Please cite me some examples of where I have had a problem with people having "nice things in life".

No I couldn't be bothered

That they deserved to be ripped off, all three fall in to my bracket of "pointless waste of money".

If you say so,I on the other hand disagree..
Sorry again for mixing up what you said...
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:57:57 PM

No you didnt, but you expressed a strong opinion that anyone who spent money on a particular luxury item, a personalised reg ( as in personal to them) was a c**k. By you own admission luxury items like a nice car, or good clothes are exempt from c**k status. Please tell us what else we should buy or avoid. Additionally, on the off chance that its not quite black and white, could you maybe allude to the income levels (Single or household , your choice) that allow you to take said luxury item of the c**k list , and move  it alongside cars and clothes, as it no longer reflects an attempt to be unique.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:58:43 PM
QuoteNo I couldn't be bothered
Translation: I have none, I was taking a cheap dig/talking shite.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 10:59:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 10:58:43 PM

No I actually couldn't be bothered but is a opinion I have of you.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:01:04 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:57:57 PM

No you didnt, but you expressed a strong opinion that anyone who spent money on a particular luxury item, a personalised reg ( as in personal to them) was a c**k. By you own admission luxury items like a nice car, or good clothes are exempt from c**k status. Please tell us what else we should buy or avoid. Additionally, on the off chance that its not quite black and white, could you maybe allude to the income levels (Single or household , your choice) that allow you to take said luxury item of the c**k list , and move  it alongside cars and clothes, as it no longer reflects an attempt to be unique.
I didnt say anyone with a personalised number plate was a c**k, I agreed with another poster that as soon as I see one I think "c**k". 
I couldn't care less what anyone buys, why would I  ???
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:01:24 PM

easy

followed by

Hate the rich et al

Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 11:01:49 PM
Pints - could you please cite some proof that in any way prove, or even remotely back up this assertation:

"See that's exactly the problem with people with personalised number plates, they seem to think they're in some unique group when most people could get one if they really wanted it"

Is there any proof of this at all, or are you running with your own perception. I have a perception that Bundoran is a shithole - but at least I admit that I could be wrong about that and don't commit it to the record as any kind of fact.

Is there any proof that there is a problem with people with personalised numberplates? And is there any proof that they think they are in some group?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:02:18 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:01:04 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 10:57:57 PM

I didnt say anyone with a personalised number plate was a c**k, I agreed with another poster that as soon as I see one I think "c**k". 

So it turns you on?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:03:28 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 10:59:44 PM

You're only saying that because I said you were one of the posters on here constantly bragging.
I don't care what anyone has, if they have "nice" things then that's great but I absolutely can't stand anyone bragging and blowing. 
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:03:42 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 10:49:27 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

More so, do you believe  that 1k is the starting price for a reg?Just like anything else above the norm, its a luxury item, but I don't recall the gaggle of condemnation at the end of the street when I spent a few quid on a good leather jacket...
Well if they don't cost that much, i'd be able to afford one if I wanted. Therefore, I have absolutely no reason to be jealous.

so you made up your mind without the facts? Its now simply a case of your personal choice? Oh I expected so much more.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:04:29 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:03:28 PM

You're only saying that because I said you were one of the posters on here constantly bragging.
I don't care what anyone has, if they have "nice" things then that's great but I absolutely can't stand anyone bragging and blowing.

If you say so pints...
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:06:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2011, 11:01:49 PM
Pints - could you please cite some proof that in any way prove, or even remotely back up this assertation:

"See that's exactly the problem with people with personalised number plates, they seem to think they're in some unique group when most people could get one if they really wanted it"

Is there any proof of this at all, or are you running with your own perception. I have a perception that Bundoran is a shithole - but at least I admit that I could be wrong about that and don't commit it to the record as any kind of fact.

Is there any proof that there is a problem with people with personalised numberplates? And is there any proof that they think they are in some group?
Oh I agree it's my own perception and it isn't always correct.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 11:07:54 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:03:42 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

so you made up your mind without the facts? Its now simply a case of your personal choice? Oh I expected so much more.
I think they're a waste of money at any price. My last post was specifically in response to your theory on jealousy.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:08:43 PM

He has a point, yet doesnt seem to discrimnate between ll and anyone who happens to have a plate or is considering one.

If that's the case then please lay off the working class hero crap (name that film).

Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:09:02 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 11:07:54 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

I think they're a waste of money at any price. My last post was specifically in response to your theory on jealousy.

Was it not EC Unique who made the jealous comment..
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:09:13 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:04:29 PM

If you say so pints...
Oh I do but typical you you probably think I'm jealous of you or something  :D Or I don't like people with "nice things".
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:11:55 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:09:13 PM

If you say so pints...
Oh I do but typical you you probably think I'm jealous of you or something  :D Or I don't like people with "nice things".

No I just think you have a huge chip on your shoulder about most things..

btw if you want a few extra quid I'm looking for someone to wash the Lexus at the weekend?
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:14:43 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

My theory? you making stuff up now? Have a look back through the thread , and when you spot your mistake please readdress your accusation at EC unique(oh and when you are there remind him to type outside the QUOTE.) That's twice on this thread Maguire, and you such a bastion..
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:16:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:11:55 PM

If you say so pints...

btw if you want a few extra quid I'm looking for someone to wash the Lexus at the weekend?
and I think you're full of a lot of hot air
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 26, 2011, 11:18:14 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on January 26, 2011, 10:28:56 PM
Feck it! Do as I did and save a fortune. I just changed my name officially by deed poll to AEZ 2986. Only cost me 65 quid.

Bit slow on the uptake there. See Reply No 7 on page 1
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:18:38 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:16:17 PM

If you say so pints...

I am tonight alright after the woman burning the dinner..awful dose of the shites I have atm..

Go on I'll even pay cash..?
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:19:08 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 26, 2011, 11:18:14 PM

Bit slow on the uptake there. See Reply No 7 on page 1

Oh right..
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:20:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:18:38 PM

If you say so pints...

I am tonight alright after the woman burning the dinner..awful dose of the shites I have atm..

I'd love to but I couldn't listen to you.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:22:14 PM
makes a change from shutting your eyes
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:25:24 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:20:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:18:38 PM

If you say so pints...

I'd love to but I couldn't listen to you.

I won't be there I'm thinking of taking the helicopter out for a spin,the woman will be there though and sure you may as well wash her Bentley while your at it..don't eat her cooking though
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:30:05 PM
Was this topic ever discussed (or a subject of a similar nature) during the "tiger/boom/greedy ill informed b**tards" years? Would make a fantastic comparison.
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 26, 2011, 11:39:31 PM
Personalised number plate = p***k.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:42:53 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 26, 2011, 11:39:31 PM

pauper
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 26, 2011, 11:49:06 PM
Personalised plates are for f**king tossers. There are plenty of wealthy people driving about that don't have such small cocks that they need to seek attention by having a personalised plate. It's as bad as wearing a scarf with a tshirt.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:49:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 26, 2011, 11:49:06 PM
Personalised plates are for f**king t**sers. There are plenty of wealthy people driving about that don't have such small cocks that they need to seek attention by having a personalised plate. It's as bad as wearing a scarf with a tshirt.
f**k off thats much worse..
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 26, 2011, 11:51:56 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:42:53 PM

pauper
p***k
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:53:32 PM
Personalised plates are for f**king t**sers. There are plenty of wealthy people driving about that don't have such small cocks that they need to seek attention by having a personalised plate. It's as bad as wearing a scarf with a tshirt.

and there we have it in a nutshell.

my personal plate is AIG 1207. I look forward to meeting each and every one of you in person so you can tell me what you think.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:54:38 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 26, 2011, 11:51:56 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:42:53 PM

pauper
p***k

ooh didnt know you were playing too!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:56:25 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:53:32 PM

my personal plate is AIG 1207. I look forward to meeting each and every one of you in person so you can tell me what you think.
We've already told you what we think, what do you want to hear it again for  ???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:58:23 PM

Is the Ford Focus good on fuel?
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:59:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:56:25 PM

We've already told you what we think, what do you want to hear it again for  ???

consistency, anyways, I can ask you myself when I see you in the shop.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 27, 2011, 12:00:09 AM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:59:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2011, 11:56:25 PM

consistency, anyways, I can ask you myself when I see you in the shop.
Ask me what?
Half your posts don't make any sense.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 12:00:27 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:58:23 PM

Magic these days since I trimmed 5mm of the plate and put the letters closer together. yeooohhhh!
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 12:01:24 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 27, 2011, 12:00:09 AM

Half your posts don't make any sense.

That remains your issue I'm afraid.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 12:02:03 AM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 12:00:27 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2011, 11:58:23 PM

Magic these days since I trimmed 5mm of the plate and put the letters closer together. yeooohhhh!

What will you do when United get a new sponsor?
Post by: Candyman on January 27, 2011, 12:02:29 AM
This Thread is just RIDICULOUS!!! 18pages of pure tripe, although 1 or 2 amusing posts!!
My tuppence worth: Cherished NI plates such as OIB 500 for talks sake distinguish vehicles and sometimes are a nice touch!!
BRING ON THE ABUSE :-D
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 12:03:05 AM
I will ask my ma if its ok to change my name, after all she pays for the car , plates, insurance, diesel etc
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 12:03:41 AM
Quote from: Candyman on January 27, 2011, 12:02:29 AM
This Thread is just RIDICULOUS!!! 18pages of pure tripe, although 1 or 2 amusing posts!!
My tuppence worth: Cherished NI plates such as OIB 500 for talks sake distinguish vehicles and sometimes are a nice touch!!

Yeah but the Nissan Primastar is just a Renualt Trafic in disguise
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 27, 2011, 12:03:57 AM
You need to change your settings to allow more posts per page...
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 12:04:38 AM

Pints lives in the UK, you must at least give him a suitable example too, maybe something you saw on a bus?
Post by: Candyman on January 27, 2011, 12:05:09 AM
OIB 111
Post by: Maguire01 on January 27, 2011, 08:15:03 AM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 26, 2011, 11:14:43 PM

Pretty much, yeah.

My theory? you making stuff up now? Have a look back through the thread , and when you spot your mistake please readdress your accusation at EC unique(oh and when you are there remind him to type outside the QUOTE.) That's twice on this thread Maguire, and you such a bastion..
A bastion? really?
Anyway, yes, mistake spotted - i never claimed infallibility. The principle of my response is still the same - just replace the reference to 'your' theory.
Post by: EC Unique on January 27, 2011, 10:23:42 AM

I agree. I would not be a fan of people having their initials in the plate but some 2 and 3 digit numbers look well and can 'set' a car off looks wise.

It is all a matter of peoples taste.

But you always get the begrudgers who snipe and grumble. Screams 'chip on the shoulder' to me.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 10:34:01 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 27, 2011, 10:23:42 AM
I agree. I would not be a fan of people having their initials in the plate but some 2 and 3 digit numbers look well and can 'set' a car off looks wise.

But you always get the begrudgers who snipe and grumble. Screams 'chip on the shoulder' to me.

What about business related plates? Do they pass the taste test?
Post by: thebigfella on January 27, 2011, 10:36:17 AM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 10:34:01 AM

No
Post by: EC Unique on January 27, 2011, 10:43:44 AM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 10:34:01 AM

On a van that is working in the business yes but on a personal car no. All a matter of personal taste though.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 10:49:23 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 27, 2011, 10:43:44 AM
All a matter of personal taste though.

and on this forum it seems that if someones taste doesnt match that of others that makes them "cocks".....
Post by: EC Unique on January 27, 2011, 10:53:09 AM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 10:49:23 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 27, 2011, 10:43:44 AM
All a matter of personal taste though.

and on this forum it seems that if someones taste doesnt match that of others that makes them "cocks".....

I know.

(http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcToF4eHFo-DVbveRA-p22-yElhNrRF_Qfn0QeQ0D_h9iotowSdL)
Post by: theskull1 on January 27, 2011, 11:12:23 AM
I can't help but feel theres a bit of a want in people who like personalised number plates. Toeviness is not a virtuous personality trait IMO anyway. But thats just me. The Celtic Tiger has placed that opinion in the minority camp.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 11:26:36 AM
You can't really get or see personalised plates in the South as our reg plates are different.The only plates I can think of would be someone buying a brand new BMW and getting  11 LS 318 as a plate or any car that has a numer after it like a Peugeot 308 etc..
Thats not really the same as getting a plate with F U C  U2 on it..

Is it just Nordies who are cocks then?
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 11:32:57 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 11:26:36 AM

Is it just Nordies who are cocks then?

now thats Irony.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 11:34:39 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on January 27, 2011, 11:12:23 AM
I can't help but feel theres a bit of a want in people who like personalised number plates, mercedes, BMW, Audi,Tommy Hillfiger, Prada etc
Post by: Hardy on January 27, 2011, 12:11:08 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 11:34:39 AM
I can't help but feel theres a bit of a want in people who like personalised number plates, mercedes, BMW, Audi,Tommy Hillfiger, Prada etc

That's more like it. But people shouldn't be getting upset about people who like these things. And people who like these things shouldn't be getting upset about people who think people who like these things are male farmyard poultry. Then again, who am I to be telling people whether or not they should be getting upset?

It's just personal preference, healthy prejudice and making choices based on the information, however limited, that's available. I know I'd probably enjoy a pint more in the company of Joe Brolly, Dara Ó Briain or Ruby Walsh than that of some tool who drove up in a car with his name on the numberplate and somebody else's name on his clothes. He'd be making a bad start in my estimation of how he looks at the world and whether we might have interests in common. Of course, he'd take one look at me and seek out someone else to discuss brand names with over his vodka and red bull. Everybody wins.

Can I have a rethink about Joe?
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 12:15:37 PM
what sort of pint would you have? plain?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 27, 2011, 12:18:05 PM
Shite Hardy, I have a few Tommy Hilfiger jumpers and shirts. Even a few Ralph Lauren shirts. Am I off the pints list?

On the other side, I wear my Offaly polo shirt more often than any of them. Am I saved?
Post by: EC Unique on January 27, 2011, 12:27:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 27, 2011, 12:11:08 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 11:34:39 AM

That's more like it. But people shouldn't be getting upset about people who like these things. And people who like these things shouldn't be getting upset about people who think people who like these things are male farmyard poultry. Then again, who am I to be telling people whether or not they should be getting upset?

It's just personal preference, healthy prejudice and making choices based on the information, however limited, that's available. I know I'd probably enjoy a pint more in the company of Joe Brolly, Dara Ó Briain or Ruby Walsh than that of some tool who drove up in a car with his name on the numberplate and somebody else's name on his clothes. He'd be making a bad start in my estimation of how he looks at the world and whether we might have interests in common. Of course, he'd take one look at me and seek out someone else to discuss brand names with over his vodka and red bull. Everybody wins.

Can I have a rethink about Joe?

I would guess that at least 2 of the people you named would have a personalised number plate.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 12:29:11 PM
Joe Kernan had one on his massive Merc "JK 02 SAM" - c**k?
Post by: Hardy on January 27, 2011, 12:39:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 27, 2011, 12:18:05 PM
Shite Hardy, I have a few Tommy Hilfiger jumpers and shirts. Even a few Ralph Lauren shirts. Am I off the pints list?

On the other side, I wear my Offaly polo shirt more often than any of them. Am I saved?

You're grand unless you drive up with a AZS GR8 numberplate. Or unless Ruby arrives.
Post by: Hardy on January 27, 2011, 12:40:24 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 27, 2011, 12:27:25 PM
I would guess that at least 2 of the people you named would have a personalised number plate.

Great. I would guess at least three of them wouldn't.

Your turn.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on January 27, 2011, 12:47:10 PM
Some man near home with "PO1SH" Unless it is a private joke (in which case it shouldn't`t be in the public domain) or he supports Peterborough then this just screams w**ker!! The part i can not fathom is how do brothers/sisters/friends or whoever not tell them how much of an eigit it makes him look!
Post by: isourboydownyet on January 27, 2011, 12:52:43 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 27, 2011, 12:40:24 PM

Your turn.

i know one of them definitely has!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 27, 2011, 12:57:56 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on January 27, 2011, 12:52:43 PM

Your turn.

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_i38XfhjLpcQ/R0flREd-bNI/AAAAAAAABOY/T5_DoliwzkE/s400/Rainbow_Umbrella.jpg)
Post by: isourboydownyet on January 27, 2011, 01:00:32 PM
cant really talk have one meself,the wife bought it for me for christmas.i like it and dont really give a toot one way or the other if people label me or not.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 01:03:34 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on January 27, 2011, 01:00:32 PM
cant really talk have one meself,the wife bought it for me for christmas.i like it and dont really give a toot one way or the other if people label me or not.

Yeah but some O.A.P won't want to have a pint with you now..
Post by: isourboydownyet on January 27, 2011, 01:04:23 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 01:03:34 PM

Yeah but some O.A.P won't want to have a pint with you now..

ahh bummer
Post by: Hardy on January 27, 2011, 01:15:09 PM
As I said, can I have a rethink about Joe?
Post by: haranguerer on January 27, 2011, 01:23:37 PM
Its not his initials though, its an organisation we all hold dear...

Anyway, why should someone not have a personalised number plate? Whats wrong with, for example, holding onto your first reg and using it for subsequent cars? After a few years it becomes cherished.

It also has the added bonus of pissing Maguire off, hopefully to the extent that he wouldnt talk to you, thats gotta be worth a bit of disposable income straight off...
Post by: Goats Do Shave on January 27, 2011, 01:47:27 PM

The wife bought me mine for my birthday. I love it, looks well on the motor. Great prezzie, i'll have it forever. However, I'd never have spent the dough on it myself!

I'm surprised at the criticism... each to their own. Everybody driving the same cars, living in the same house, wearing the same clothes & haircuts... etc would be very boring.
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 27, 2011, 02:37:12 PM
I know a family round Lurgan and the da and all the kids have fancy cars with personalised plates, the numbers altered mimicking their names. I think it's pretty sad.
Post by: Rois on January 27, 2011, 02:58:10 PM
If someone could find me ROI 5 I would gladly make an offer on it. 
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on January 27, 2011, 02:58:45 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 27, 2011, 02:58:10 PM
If someone could find me ROI 5 I would gladly make an offer on it.

hen?
Post by: stew on January 27, 2011, 03:06:31 PM
R MA 4 SAM.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 27, 2011, 03:11:08 PM
Quote from: stew on January 27, 2011, 03:06:31 PM
R MA 4 SAM.

JK 02 SAM
Post by: EC Unique on January 27, 2011, 03:50:51 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 27, 2011, 12:57:56 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on January 27, 2011, 12:52:43 PM

Your turn.

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_i38XfhjLpcQ/R0flREd-bNI/AAAAAAAABOY/T5_DoliwzkE/s400/Rainbow_Umbrella.jpg)

Was looking at this for a minute thinking WTF has an umbrella got to do with it. Doh. ;D
Post by: wanderer on January 27, 2011, 03:58:01 PM
Checked back to see had anyone responded  :o :o

Some strong feelings towards a number plate, and a fair few assumptions about prices that are well above what I was thinking about (and about 2 relevant answers!)

Each to their own, but I'd say there's not one poster on this board that doesn't have some sort of possession that the majority of others think makes them a d*ck.
Fancy house, garden, car, tyres, clothes, computer, phone, team jerseys/clothing, boots, glasses, dvd/music collection, game console, mp3 player, suit, food taste, musical instrument, kitchen gadgets, worktops, flooring, bed, stairs, TV, stereo, surround sound, lawn mower, tools, tractor etc etc
Come on lads its only a number plate, it won't harm you. And if someone has that strong an opinion of me before they even met me, based on what I own. Then its no big loss in my book, if they don't chat to me
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 03:59:05 PM
Quote from: wanderer on January 27, 2011, 03:58:01 PM

Some strong feelings towards a number plate, and a fair few assumptions about prices that are well above what I was thinking about (and about 2 relevant answers!)

Each to their own, but I'd say there's not one poster on this board that doesn't have some sort of possession that the majority of others think makes them a d*ck.
Fancy house, garden, car, tyres, clothes, computer, phone, team jerseys/clothing, boots, glasses, dvd/music collection, game console, mp3 player, suit, food taste, musical instrument, kitchen gadgets, worktops, flooring, bed, stairs, TV, stereo, surround sound, lawn mower, tools, tractor etc etc
Come on lads its only a number plate, it won't harm you. And if someone has that strong an opinion of me before they even met me, based on what I own. Then its no big loss in my book, if they don't chat to me

.......or have a pint with you
Post by: wanderer on January 27, 2011, 04:09:01 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 03:59:05 PM

.......or have a pint with you

Well not if I'm driving!  ;D
Post by: Hardy on January 27, 2011, 04:28:18 PM

That's the spirit. We're all entitled to our taste, our prejudices and, most important of all, our choice of who to drink with.
Post by: theskull1 on January 27, 2011, 04:32:14 PM

Seriously  ???

So if stephen ireland drove up to your house in his pink range rover to take you out for a pint, you wouldn't judge the man at that stage?

Just where do you think this notion of making a good first impression came from? It's a fairly instinctive thing for us all to do. Sometimes we are wrong but alot of times we're not that far away.
Post by: Franko on January 27, 2011, 04:38:53 PM
Some boys round here spend far too much time thinking about c**k for my liking.
Post by: J OGorman on January 27, 2011, 04:44:26 PM
Not my cup of tea the old personalised number plate melarky, especially if it was stuck on an Audi TT..but each to their own
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 04:49:09 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on January 27, 2011, 04:44:26 PM
Not my cup of tea the old personalised number plate melarky, especially if it was stuck on an Audi TT..but each to their own

If it was on a Audi TT then it be a woman owner and sure we couldn't call a woman a c**k could we?
We'd have to call her a muff instead..or would that be sexist?
Post by: J OGorman on January 27, 2011, 04:57:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 04:49:09 PM

If it was on a Audi TT then it be a woman owner and sure we couldn't call a woman a c**k could we?

Muff is class

We can only hope and pray that the driver of the Audi TT is a woman (for the drivers sake)
Post by: wanderer on January 27, 2011, 05:00:38 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on January 27, 2011, 04:32:14 PM

Seriously  ???

So if stephen ireland drove up to your house in his pink range rover to take you out for a pint, you wouldn't judge the man at that stage?

Just where do you think this notion of making a good first impression came from? It's a fairly instinctive thing for us all to do. Sometimes we are wrong but alot of times we're not that far away.

Why are those things not worthy of being judged? You can have a perfectly good workable version of each of them, or spend silly money based on advertising, personal taste or ignorance, same as all the other possessions

Yeah, everyone has a first impression but do you judge someone by that, or by your dealings with them? There's just as many people who are great with chat when you first meet them, and turn out to be absolute d*cks.

You'd rip the p*ss out of him for driving a Range Rover full stop, an a pink one is even worse but he must be having some craic. Some peoples responses so far are a bit ott in my opinion
Post by: theskull1 on January 27, 2011, 05:07:10 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 27, 2011, 04:49:09 PM

If we can call a woman a referees assistant, we can call her a c**k  :)
Post by: Big Puff on January 27, 2011, 06:33:39 PM
got 8OO8IE. cant wait to get it on my first motor.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 27, 2011, 06:58:33 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 27, 2011, 01:23:37 PM
Its not his initials though, its an organisation we all hold dear...

Anyway, why should someone not have a personalised number plate? Whats wrong with, for example, holding onto your first reg and using it for subsequent cars? After a few years it becomes cherished.

It also has the added bonus of pissing Maguire off, hopefully to the extent that he wouldnt talk to you, thats gotta be worth a bit of disposable income straight off...
Nah, i'll still talk to you.

Holding onto your first reg isn't the same thing in my opinion. That doesn't really shout 'look at me!'
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 27, 2011, 07:02:23 PM

You say it's all a matter of people's taste and then go on to call those that don't have the same taste as you "begrudgers".  ::)
Post by: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 07:34:30 PM
I think his point is along the lines that I'm on. I don't care what anyone has, or waht their taste is - but if you want to make such an opinion about me over something I do have - well it won't be the first or last incident of ignorant begrudgery on this site. And it does smack of begrudgery when you read some of the comments on here. Completely different from Jealousy. I must add - I'm a bit surprised to see some of the vessels making the most noise on this thread. I'd have thought previously such issues wouldn't even have them raising a heavy eyebrow from their pint of plain.

If it was just a matter of taste as you say pints - a simple "not for me thanks" would suffice. Instead we have posters attempting to write their very own "The pyschology of cocks I don't know" for dummies, and making ludicrous claims as to what someone they know nothing about "must be thinking".
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 27, 2011, 07:40:03 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 07:34:30 PM
I think his point is along the lines that I'm on. I don't care what anyone has, or waht their taste is - but if you want to make such an opinion about me over something I do have - well it won't be the first or last incident of ignorant begrudgery on this site. And it does smack of begrudgery when you read some of the comments on here. Completely different from Jealousy. I must add - I'm a bit surprised to see some of the vessels making the most noise on this thread. I'd have thought previously such issues wouldn't even have them raising a heavy eyebrow from their pint of plain.

If it was just a matter of taste as you say pints - a simple "not for me thanks" would suffice. Instead we have posters attempting to write their very own "The pyschology of cocks I don't know" for dummies, and making ludicrous claims as to what someone they know nothing about "must be thinking".
Explain this begrudgery thing to me, I don't understand how it's "begrudgery".

Post by: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 07:46:25 PM
Just one of the many definitions states: "To look upon with disapproval". http://209.161.37.11/dictionary/begrudge (http://209.161.37.11/dictionary/begrudge)

Now - figure out the comments for yourself and see if any of them fit that definition.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 27, 2011, 07:51:41 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 07:46:25 PM
Just one of the many definitions states: "To look upon with disapproval". http://209.161.37.11/dictionary/begrudge (http://209.161.37.11/dictionary/begrudge)

Now - figure out the comments for yourself and see if any of them fit that definition.
That's a very wide definition of begrudge. 
Post by: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 07:53:46 PM
Oh FFS. Now the definition isnt good enough for you?  :D I can't change what it means pints.

I could fit it on a license plate for you though

BGRDGR. :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 27, 2011, 07:57:41 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 07:53:46 PM
Oh FFS. Now the definition isnt good enough for you?  :D I can't change what it means pints.

I could fit it on a license plate for you though

BGRDGR. :D
In my mind begrudgery would come from jealousy/envy - People are allowed to disaprove of something without being a "begrudger" surely.
http://oxforddictionaries.com/view/entry/m_en_gb0069970#m_en_gb0069970 (http://oxforddictionaries.com/view/entry/m_en_gb0069970#m_en_gb0069970)
Post by: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 08:43:43 PM
If if jealousy and envy are the same to you as begrudgery - that is your own semantics to deal with.

It's two different things in my book - and it is correct to call some of the comments on here begrudging, but sure we're a people with a history of it. They even have their own thread on the topic on boards.ie

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=42f078984a934cedce43a299f99bee8a&t=2055804579 (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=42f078984a934cedce43a299f99bee8a&t=2055804579)

I tell you what - you dont even need to look at the Paul Galvin thread to see the reaction dished out to anyone Irish who is perceived to be trying to get above their station in life (even if that isnt their motivation at all).

EDIT: Great quote from that forum

"It's a bit petty, but it's definitely the Irish way. A friend of mine has quite the crush on Andie MacDowell and he saw her on Grafton Street a good few months back. I asked her did he go up to her and he said "naw, didn't want to give her a big head"! Now, he's a nice guy and all, but I don't think his opinion is enough to make or break Andie."

Anyone heard this kind of line before (albeit not about Andie MacDowell)?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 27, 2011, 08:56:35 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 08:43:43 PM
If if jealousy and envy are the same to you as begrudgery - that is your own semantics to deal with.

It's two different things in my book - and it is correct to call some of the comments on here begrudging, but sure we're a people with a history of it. They even have their own thread on the topic on boards.ie

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=42f078984a934cedce43a299f99bee8a&t=2055804579 (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=42f078984a934cedce43a299f99bee8a&t=2055804579)

I tell you what - you dont even need to look at the Paul Galvin thread to see the reaction dished out to anyone Irish who is perceived to be trying to get above their station in life (even if that isnt their motivation at all).

EDIT: Great quote from that forum

"It's a bit petty, but it's definitely the Irish way. A friend of mine has quite the crush on Andie MacDowell and he saw her on Grafton Street a good few months back. I asked her did he go up to her and he said "naw, didn't want to give her a big head"! Now, he's a nice guy and all, but I don't think his opinion is enough to make or break Andie."

Anyone heard this kind of line before (albeit not about Andie MacDowell)?
I'd agree Ireland is a nation of begrudgers but that's not an issue here.

We're not talking about some of you lot being famous or millionaires, yous went and spent a few quid on a number plate ffs.  Most people could do it if they really wanted to.  A number plate certainly won't take yous above your station yet a few of you seem to deem anyone who doesn't agree with your tastes must be in some way jealous.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 27, 2011, 09:04:33 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 27, 2011, 08:56:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGyH8Kf_0Fg
Post by: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 09:08:25 PM
I wont let your twist the words. Not jealous at all and Ive explained that. If that is your argument to what Ive said - to use your own words its a cop out.  You can try and twist all you want on that issue, but you'll be on your own.

I find it funny to hear posters ranting and raving and calling me (or anyone else on the basis of a license plate, I mean FFS  ::) ) a c**k, a f**king c**k, or 'wanting a bit'  with no more notion about me or my motives than the man in the moon. I don't care if you hate them. detest them even. That is your perogative - but don't pretend to have a clue about my perogative.

I spent money (30$) on a license plate that is a bit of craic for me and makes my kid smile, and you spend money on video games and consoles and things I wouldnt spend it on - but you don't see me dropping the old 'FFS' on your spending habits. What makes you think there is a difference? Would you argue with someone who called all gamers 'losers'?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 27, 2011, 09:20:58 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 09:08:25 PM
I wont let your twist the words. Not jealous at all and Ive explained that. If that is your argument to what Ive said - to use your own words its a cop out.  You can try and twist all you want on that issue, but you'll be on your own.

I find it funny to hear posters ranting and raving and calling me (or anyone else on the basis of a license plate, I mean FFS  ::) ) a c**k, a f**king c**k, or 'wanting a bit'  with no more notion about me or my motives than the man in the moon. I don't care if you hate them. detest them even. That is your perogative - but don't pretend to have a clue about my perogative.

I spent money (30$) on a license plate that is a bit of craic for me and makes my kid smile, and you spend money on video games and consoles and things I wouldnt spend it on - but you don't see me dropping the old 'FFS' on your spending habits. What makes you think there is a difference? Would you argue with someone who called all gamers 'losers'?
I'm not twisting works, I'm trying to understand how you are coming to the conclusion that people here are begrudgers.  I don't think anyone called any of you a c**k, I certainly didn't, I agreed that when I see a personalised number plate I think "c**k". I also said to you that it's a perception that can be wrong, and has been. 

If someone wants to call gamers losers then fine, I would argue yes but I wouldn't assume they were begrudging or jealous of me. 
Post by: sammymaguire on January 27, 2011, 10:48:36 PM
I like my personalised plate pints  :P  ;) ;) it was a present from my wife for my Skoda

Seen one in Dublin a few years back, must have been expensive A11 DUB - now that guy must be a total w#*k3r!!  :D
Post by: theskull1 on January 27, 2011, 11:05:48 PM
Getting a bit precious there big puck. No one called you anything of the sort. ?They were all general comments not pointed ones.

CHI 11
Post by: Puckoon on January 27, 2011, 11:57:18 PM
General comments (?) aimed at everyone in a certain category?

PRCS?f u. :)
Post by: theskull1 on January 28, 2011, 12:06:57 AM
SME G 411  :)
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on January 28, 2011, 09:24:42 AM
A lot of lads down here with Audis and Golfs are putting "pretend" German plates on their cars. The plates have the letter "D" instead of the "IRL", also theycome fitted with a German garage surround and the tax/ excise badges fitted. I must be getting old!
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 28, 2011, 05:04:09 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on January 28, 2011, 09:24:42 AM
A lot of lads down here with Audis and Golfs are putting "pretend" German plates on their cars. The plates have the letter "D" instead of the "IRL", also theycome fitted with a German garage surround and the tax/ excise badges fitted. I must be getting old!

I ve seen a lot of those plates around, quite a few BMWs have them also. Doubt they are legal, font can be hard to read. Maybe the cameras on the M50 cant read them?
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 28, 2011, 06:08:21 PM
I dont personally like them.

But its quite easy.

If you like them buy one.

If you dont like them dont buy one.

Each to there own.

If everyone had the same opinion life would be a bit shit.
Post by: dillinger on January 28, 2011, 06:55:57 PM
Seen plate in Scotland EL SID, i used to have one RIA 84, guy called to the door and bought it. Seems he had a contect in the DVLA that told him about these plates and gave him the address.