GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 23, 2011, 07:14:12 PM

Title: ulster hurling league
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 23, 2011, 07:14:12 PM
see that the uhl is startin early this year-2nd week in Feb. Is there much interest about or will the early start put teams off
Title: Re: ulster hurling league
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2011, 08:46:32 PM
think its a better idea to start it early. Been posting that for ages on here!!! better than challenge games referees and competitive. finished before the league starts, whats not to like about it??
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 24, 2011, 12:02:25 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2011, 08:46:32 PM
think its a better idea to start it early. Been posting that for ages on here!!! better than challenge games referees and competitive. finished before the league starts, whats not to like about it??

no i agree-just think that some teams will not be even doing pre-season and might not want to get involved. But as you say you would be looking for challenge games at this time
Post by: nrico2006 on January 24, 2011, 08:36:25 AM
The earlier the better, we wouldn't play as many friendlies until march if it weren't for this league, the UHL will help get the rustiness out and for most clubs its been a long time since their last game so most will just be glad to be out playing again.  Nothing worse than 2 months of pre-season with only a friendly or two.
Post by: johnneycool on January 24, 2011, 09:40:56 AM
Will the pitches be up to it?

Ours certainly won't.

Remember you can play football in a much worse pitch than you can play hurling.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2011, 04:20:18 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 24, 2011, 09:40:56 AM
Will the pitches be up to it?

Ours certainly won't.

Remember you can play football in a much worse pitch than you can play hurling.

granted Johnny, but what other options do we have? run it later in the year were it interferes with the leagues and then does not get finished till November?!!

Run it off da fcuk blood a few young ones while county players are away, while it wont one for the purist, but plenty of wet heavy pitches in the height of the summer, just w wee bit warmer ;)

If it gives us 5 games before the league then grand.
Post by: Catch the high ball on January 31, 2011, 08:54:45 PM
Has the league groups been finalised yet, or what is the exact start date?
Post by: aontroim on February 03, 2011, 02:42:32 PM
Div 1A

Ballycran
McQuillans
Glenariff Ossians
Ruairí Óg
Kevin Lynch's
Shane O`Neill's

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/2011/hurling/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league-div-1a/

Div 1B

Portaferry
Cuchullains-Dunloy
O`Donovan Rossa
Loch gCaol Seamroga
Ballinascreen
Ballygalget

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/2011/hurling/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league-div-1b/

Div 2A

Swatragh
Setanta
Middletown Na Fianna
Lamh Dhearg
Glen Rovers
Ceidé Lamh Dearg

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/2011/hurling/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league-div-2a/

Div 2B

Cuchulainn Hurling Club
Cathaoir an Rí
Gort na Mona
Slaughtneil
St John's
Naomh Pol GAC

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/2011/hurling/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league-div-2b/

Div 3A

An Charraig Mhór Éire Óg
Bredagh
Clooney Gaels
Na Magha
Robert Emmett's Cushendun
Sean Mac Cumhaill

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/2011/hurling/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league-div-3a/

Div 3B

Ballela
Dungannon Eoghan Ruadh
Beart
Lisbellaw St Patrick's
Naomh Colum Cille
St Gall's
Tir Na nOg Randalstown

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/2011/hurling/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league-div-3b/

Div 4A

Aghaderg-Ballyvarley
Caisleán An Mhuillín
Glencar-Manorhamilton
St Mary's Rasharkin
Cappagh
Castleblayney

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/2011/hurling/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league-div-4a/

Div 4B

Na Seamrógai
Cumann Pheadair Naofa
Na Sairseil
Michael Davitts
Coleraine Owen Roe
Shamrocks

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/2011/hurling/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league-div-4b/

Div 5A

Gaeil Triúcha
St Agnes'
Four Masters
Carryduff
Carrickmacross Hurling Club
All Saints Ballymena

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/2011/hurling/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league-div-5a/

Div 5B

Knocks Grattans Hurling Club
Naomh Ádhamhnáin
Kickhams GAC Creggan
Clonduff
Buncrana
Craobh Rua Camlocha

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/2011/hurling/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league/ulster-club-senior-hurling-league-div-5b/
Post by: Lecale2 on February 17, 2011, 09:02:45 AM
First round of matches this weekend. Let's hope the pitches are up to it.
Post by: johnneycool on February 17, 2011, 09:07:37 AM
We're up on the shaws road with a visit to Rossa.

As we've only started training last week with no real ballwork at all, can't see us coming out with a result. Rossa historically went mad at the training very early on in the year, not sure if Jimbo Connolly will follow that trend or not!
Post by: johnneycool on February 17, 2011, 11:12:19 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 17, 2011, 11:03:21 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 17, 2011, 09:07:37 AM
We're up on the shaws road with a visit to Rossa.

As we've only started training last week with no real ballwork at all, can't see us coming out with a result. Rossa historically went mad at the training very early on in the year, not sure if Jimbo Connolly will follow that trend or not!
Rumours of his rise have been greatly exaggerated.

So he's not the Rossa manager then? I always thought you had to be a Hamill to manage Rossa.
Post by: the colonel on February 17, 2011, 12:05:02 PM
Our game with Glenarm has been postponed to March. Glenarm have a big Loughgiel supporting contingent
Post by: theskull1 on February 17, 2011, 01:23:28 PM
Why can the game not be played on Sun morning before the clare match?
Post by: NAG1 on February 17, 2011, 03:10:25 PM
Because they will all be full in the pound on saturday night and that no conditon to be playing a match the next day in  ;)

Either they are a seperate club or they arent. There is no way that they should be getting this game postponed to march because of this. No reason why is couldnt be played on the Sunday, if they want to go and support their fellow county men the day before.
Post by: Last Man on February 17, 2011, 10:04:25 PM
Is Sean Wade still F Fwd??
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 17, 2011, 10:20:38 PM
Quote from: Last Man on February 17, 2011, 10:04:25 PM

Christ Last Man Sean must be your age ;) ;)

you giving it another rattle this year?
Post by: THE DADGA on February 18, 2011, 11:44:46 PM
anyone elses games cancelled because of the fuckin weather
Post by: Minder on February 19, 2011, 12:32:40 PM
Quote from: THE DADGA on February 18, 2011, 11:44:46 PM
anyone elses games cancelled because of the fuckin weather

Ballycran v Glenariffe off due to waterlogged pitch.
Post by: Minder on February 19, 2011, 12:33:22 PM

An animal.
Post by: Last Man on February 19, 2011, 04:49:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 17, 2011, 10:20:38 PM

Christ Last Man Sean must be your age ;) ;)

you giving it another rattle this year?
;D I knew that might provoke a smart remark from you Milltown, if memory serves me right I think he's a year older than me ;)
I think the curtains have been drawn on my illustrious career, there's just no demand for my lumbering cart horse style any more, might try getting a few reserve games if I'm lucky. We'll see
Post by: Lecale2 on February 19, 2011, 07:53:10 PM
Any results? In Div 3 Bredagh beat Carrickmore 1-17 to 1-10. Tir Nn nOg beat St Gall's 2-8 to 1-5.

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 19, 2011, 08:59:18 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on February 19, 2011, 07:53:10 PM
Any results? In Div 3 Bredagh beat Carrickmore 1-17 to 1-10. Tir Nn nOg beat St Gall's 2-8 to 1-5.
#

good result for bredagh but im sure carrickmore would only be playing their reserves in this league, its probably more about development of players oustside the county panel for them.

Some clubs can be at a big disadvantage in Ulster League if they cant play their county players
Post by: Minder on February 19, 2011, 09:27:18 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 19, 2011, 08:59:18 PM
#

good result for bredagh but im sure carrickmore would only be playing their reserves in this league, its probably more about development of players oustside the county panel for them.

Some clubs can be at a big disadvantage in Ulster League if they cant play their county players

I'm not sure it is a disadvantage, it is a good opportunity for clubs to give younger/fringe players a runout. I don't think any of the bigger teams are that bothered if they win it or not.
Post by: Lecale2 on February 20, 2011, 10:31:35 AM
It's pre season tournament and most clubs field young or weakened teams. Saturday afternoon isn't ideal either with work and soccer committments.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 20, 2011, 02:45:32 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 19, 2011, 09:27:18 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 19, 2011, 08:59:18 PM
#

I'm not sure it is a disadvantage, it is a good opportunity for clubs to give younger/fringe players a runout. I don't think any of the bigger teams are that bothered if they win it or not.

I think you are right-the further down the divisions you go the more serious the teams take it be cause it might be the only competition they get at their own level.

The big clubs who have big numbers use it wisely as a development league
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 06, 2012, 06:33:08 PM
This is relaunched this year under the new name of the Táin League and now includes teams from Connacht and Leinster. But with it starting in 4 weeks and most clubs not back at training, do clubs now use this as a pre-season or just for blooding new players?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2012, 07:39:35 PM
We used it for that reason. A lot of our players play county for both and county minors who can't play . Its a great chance for managers to run the eye over new blood or lads that have been trying to get on the senior team.

But, when we got to latter stages we did field stronger teams, though not championship team.
Post by: maxpower on January 07, 2012, 02:17:44 PM
I agree with this competition, certainly think it is worth pursuing but need all the big teams in, the two division 1's have 4 teams in the lower divisions within the Antrim leagues, a case can be made for Glenarrife but do glenarm, lamh derg and St pauls justify the top league, don't see Ballycastle,
Cushendall, St Galls or St Johns
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 07, 2012, 11:49:31 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2012, 07:39:35 PM
We used it for that reason. A lot of our players play county for both and county minors who can't play . Its a great chance for managers to run the eye over new blood or lads that have been trying to get on the senior team.

But, when we got to latter stages we did field stronger teams, though not championship team.

I think that the way for most now MR2. We used to take the group serious but found it could force you to peak early in the proper season. Still a worthwhile competition though
Post by: Last Man on January 11, 2012, 07:14:06 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 07, 2012, 11:49:31 PM

I think that the way for most now MR2. We used to take the group serious but found it could force you to peak early in the proper season. Still a worthwhile competition though
We couldnt get any sort of a team out on a Saturday with boys working( or so they say although I suspect Fiday night in the pub is a bigger factor) and the travel costs have put boys off as well.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 11, 2012, 06:47:49 PM
Quote from: Last Man on January 11, 2012, 07:14:06 AM

We couldnt get any sort of a team out on a Saturday with boys working( or so they say although I suspect Fiday night in the pub is a bigger factor) and the travel costs have put boys off as well.

The 2 o clock throw ins this year are probably necessary th because of the fading light but with players working, involved in coaching etc it will be hard to handle
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 12, 2012, 08:32:32 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 11, 2012, 06:47:49 PM
Quote from: Last Man on January 11, 2012, 07:14:06 AM

The 2 o clock throw ins this year are probably necessary th because of the fading light but with players working, involved in coaching etc it will be hard to handle
It's a bollox of a time for players and spectators.
Post by: NAG1 on January 13, 2012, 10:01:48 AM
Tony who would go to watch some of these matches anyway!

Granted a sunday morning or something might be a better day for it, but dont think it is about getting people out to watch, was a good idea at the time ruined by the way it was run. Think this is the dying embers of it anyway.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 13, 2012, 02:06:43 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 13, 2012, 10:01:48 AM

Granted a sunday morning or something might be a better day for it, but dont think it is about getting people out to watch, was a good idea at the time ruined by the way it was run. Think this is the dying embers of it anyway.
The geographical spread of teams means it is difficult to please everyone. If I get my chores done early on a Saturday the missus might let me away to some of them!
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 13, 2012, 02:28:21 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 13, 2012, 02:06:43 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 13, 2012, 10:01:48 AM

The geographical spread of teams means it is difficult to please everyone. If I get my chores done early on a Saturday the missus might let me away to some of them!

I hear ya brother. I am still playing in this comp and have been saving up brownie points for months before I drop the bombshell that I am going on a mad trip around Ulster and other places for a rake of weeks- its amazing how easy you pick up things like folding clothes, mopping etc when you have to.
Post by: Lecale2 on February 04, 2012, 04:51:02 PM
Terrible conditions for the first round of fixtures. I still think it's too early to be playing competitive hurling.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 18, 2012, 07:00:28 PM
Played Carrickmore today, Four seasons in one day!! Drag (not really ;)) out of retirement to play today, thoroughly enjoyed the craic, they beat us by 7 and considering the team we had out that was a fair reflection on the match.

John Crossey taking them (Carrickmore) and they are a committed bunch of lads, hope they do well decent team and no dirt
Post by: Lecale2 on February 18, 2012, 07:57:59 PM
Was up with them 2 weeks ago v Dungannon. As you say good clean hurling men and bearly a word from Crossey.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 18, 2012, 09:57:04 PM
really think this competition will need to be moved to make it worthwhile, the last 3 weeks have been a joke, the pitches are terrible and with most teams only out a few weeks the hurling can be dire and absolutely no reflection on how the teams would look in 2 monhs from now
Post by: NAG1 on February 20, 2012, 01:46:03 PM
Tough call as in a few weeks time the pitches might be better but the leagues will be up and running and the clubs dont want two games a weekend.

Post by: Minder on February 25, 2012, 09:27:13 PM
We beat Ballygalget pretty convincingly in the end, they will struggle in Div 1 this year I think.
Post by: Lecale2 on February 26, 2012, 09:02:54 AM
They've lost a couple of key men to Australia.
Post by: johnneycool on February 27, 2012, 09:15:32 AM
Quote from: Minder on February 25, 2012, 09:27:13 PM
We beat Ballygalget pretty convincingly in the end, they will struggle in Div 1 this year I think.

Yeah, going to be a long year for us. Few lads off to Australia and another few not bothering their arse for various reasons, laziness being the obvious one.

We'd hit some bad wides and weak shots when going for goals at the end. Would have took the bad look off the result but Glenariffe were much the better team.

Lost a lad to a boken nose even before the game began. Got hit on the nose with a ball in the warm up!! Those pakistani balls are pretty hard.
Post by: Minder on March 24, 2012, 07:52:27 PM
Our boys gave the Shams a decent game today before losing, guard of honour and all. Probably about 5 of their starting line up from last week.

Dan Shanahan of all people was an interested spectator.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 24, 2012, 08:35:00 PM
Could you say that you're better than Coolderry then Minder?
Post by: Minder on March 24, 2012, 08:52:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 24, 2012, 08:35:00 PM

I could say and I would be right.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 24, 2012, 08:58:52 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 24, 2012, 08:52:39 PM

Who top scored for you's today?
Post by: Minder on March 24, 2012, 09:06:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 24, 2012, 08:58:52 PM

Not sure, there was a decent spread of scorers. We only had 15 players.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 24, 2012, 09:09:51 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 24, 2012, 09:06:33 PM

At least you're getting games, we haven't played in a long time FFS
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 24, 2012, 11:57:02 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 24, 2012, 09:06:33 PM

I'm sure you would have togged out if they were stuck!