Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Feckitt on January 16, 2011, 12:21:44 PM

Title: Norn Iron Local Saccer - What is the point?
Post by: Feckitt on January 16, 2011, 12:21:44 PM
From the Daily Mirror :D

Lisburn Distillery chairman Bobby Hanna is demanding the IFA review the fees commanded by Irish League referees.
Hanna revealed that the gate for Tuesday nights Co-op Insurance cup quarter final with Newry City was a paltry £795.  He claims the fees and expenses for the four match officials totalled £465 plus VAT.  Following further deductions including ambulance medical provision, Distillery & Newry shared£68.
"We have played three rounds in this competition.  We got nothing from our round with Armagh City, £38 from the Institute game, and now £34 from this game."  "Clubs cannot be expected ot survive when you look at what we pay out to officials"

Jesus H Christ, Why O Why O Why do BBC NI, UTV, Radio Ulster, The Belfast Telegraph & The Daily Mirror continue to give blanket coverage to these Mickey Mouse clubs and their crappy wee competitions that no -one goes to.
Enough is Enough, at Pairc Esler last night the stand was full, and a good crowd on the far side for a warm up competition in the pouring rain, but if 35 people turn up next Wednesday night to see the neighbours play some other crappy saccer team, you can guarantee they will get more coverage.  There is more people on the pitch than there are in the stands at some local soccer matches. 
From now on if Newry v Distillery is being reported on the news, then I want to know why the likes of Dorsey v Forkhill, or Drumgath v Shamrocks is not being reported on the same bulletin.  I've had enough of GAA not being given fair play.
Title: Re: Norn Iron Local Saccer - What is the point?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2011, 12:28:21 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on January 16, 2011, 12:21:44 PM

Lisburn Distillery chairman Bobby Hanna is demanding the IFA review the fees commanded by Irish League referees.
Hanna revealed that the gate for Tuesday nights Co-op Insurance cup quarter final with Newry City was a paltry £795.  He claims the fees and expenses for the four match officials totalled £465 plus VAT.  Following further deductions including ambulance medical provision, Distillery & Newry shared£68.
"We have played three rounds in this competition.  We got nothing from our round with Armagh City, £38 from the Institute game, and now £34 from this game."  "Clubs cannot be expected ot survive when you look at what we pay out to officials"
It funny that he sees that as the problem. 
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 16, 2011, 12:59:55 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on January 16, 2011, 12:21:44 PM

Jesus H Christ, Why O Why O Why do BBC NI, UTV, Radio Ulster, The Belfast Telegraph & The Daily Mirror continue to give blanket coverage to these Mickey Mouse clubs and their crappy wee competitions that no -one goes to.
Enough is Enough, at Pairc Esler last night the stand was full, and a good crowd on the far side for a warm up competition in the pouring rain, but if 35 people turn up next Wednesday night to see the neighbours play some other crappy saccer team, you can guarantee they will get more coverage.  There is more people on the pitch than there are in the stands at some local soccer matches. 
From now on if Newry v Distillery is being reported on the news, then I want to know why the likes of Dorsey v Forkhill, or Drumgath v Shamrocks is not being reported on the same bulletin.  I've had enough of GAA not being given fair play.

Surely there is enough suffering in the world?!

Its sad that local soccer struggles to this degree but certainly referees aren't the problem. I think that BBCNI has a duty to promote these matches to some extent regardless of their relative unpopularity but I agree that similar principles should apply to the GAA.
Post by: Minder on January 16, 2011, 01:08:27 PM
When is this "blanket coverage" you speak of? Ten minutes on a Saturday evening?
Post by: Maguire01 on January 16, 2011, 01:10:53 PM
Why would anyone buy the Belfast Telegraph or Daily Mirror?
Post by: Maguire01 on January 16, 2011, 02:27:28 PM
And I think you'll find that Norn Iron soccer is a very professional outfit...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12201691
Post by: haranguerer on January 16, 2011, 02:51:05 PM
 :D brilliant - the same clown called it too. You could see the commentator realising...
Post by: Arthur_Friend on January 16, 2011, 04:51:50 PM
If soccer fans from Ireland actually supported local teams instead of English teams then perhaps it wouldn't be such a pile of shite.

Last time I was in the Bot during a game there were a lot of Londoners in there....
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on January 16, 2011, 06:50:15 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 16, 2011, 02:51:05 PM
:D brilliant - the same clown called it too. You could see the commentator realising...

Happened to be watching it live and caught it straight away that the clampit had called out the wrong number for the ball he was holding!!!

What a complete useless hoor I thought and began laughing as I knew it was going to cause confusion.  The look of horror of Jackie Fullofhimself face was priceless  :D
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 16, 2011, 07:28:42 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 16, 2011, 01:08:27 PM
When is this "blanket coverage" you speak of? Ten minutes on a Saturday evening?

Every Saturday afternoon there's a live commentary and updates from all the grounds. Its absolutely dire to listen to the BBC commentators trying to make exciting.
Post by: thewobbler on January 16, 2011, 07:42:02 PM
NI soccer suffers from the same problem as the NI Civil Service.

It is hugely bloated, and full of people who refuse to accept otherwise. There is a culture of wastage and a culture of blame. There is little to encourage the bright young things of the world into it, and even when that happens, they're quickly brought down to earth until they just give up and go along with the status quo.

Bribery and corruption are commonplace, and politicians/community leaders are afraid to highlight this in case there is a backlash against them from those involved.

The BBC thing is a bit of an old boy's club. Everyone involved knows that they're taking the piss by providing the coverage they do, but the alternative means no work for those involved. And wouldn't you rather get paid for having a laugh than not paid at all?

If the IL was even halfway serious about standards and development, they'd have a maximum of 10 senior teams, and absolutely enforce a youth team system built around local areas. But they never will.
Post by: stiffler on January 16, 2011, 08:06:47 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 16, 2011, 07:42:02 PM

It is hugely bloated, and full of people who refuse to accept otherwise. There is a culture of wastage and a culture of blame. There is little to encourage the bright young things of the world into it, and even when that happens, they're quickly brought down to earth until they just give up and go along with the status quo.

Bribery and corruption are commonplace, and politicians/community leaders are afraid to highlight this in case there is a backlash against them from those involved.

The BBC thing is a bit of an old boy's club. Everyone involved knows that they're taking the piss by providing the coverage they do, but the alternative means no work for those involved. And wouldn't you rather get paid for having a laugh than not paid at all?

If the IL was even halfway serious about standards and development, they'd have a maximum of 10 senior teams, and absolutely enforce a youth team system built around local areas. But they never will.

An all ireland league is the only way forward for an island of this size, but for a few dinosaurs this would be a reality.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 16, 2011, 08:08:34 PM
Quote from: stiffler on January 16, 2011, 08:06:47 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 16, 2011, 07:42:02 PM

An all ireland league is the only way forward for an island of this size, but for a few dinosaurs this would be a reality.
Even an all-Ireland league would be sub standard with minimal interest.
Title: Norn Iron Local Saccer - What is the point?
Post by: 5 Sams on January 16, 2011, 11:03:26 PM
I really dont know how Newry Town or any other small to medium sized club in the "Irish" league survive....they obviously have a squad of at least 22 players...(correct me if I'm wrong) all of whom are getting paid???

Where do they get their money from? Gate receipts obviously arent even covering the electricty bill.

Post by: Niall Quinn on January 17, 2011, 12:28:47 AM
It has its moments - just try and keep up with the second half play here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d48a6MDmCBM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d48a6MDmCBM)
Post by: Schofield on January 17, 2011, 12:53:11 AM
Having recently met with a few irish league premiership players through work and such i've started to have a little more respect for this league. Grantd its no more professional than a top club gaelic team. i realise that they do indeeed put in a lot of effort. The agenda itself lies with the bbc and utv. We have to excuse the Mirror as they have decided to waste money by sponsoring it. While each county championship obviously attracts more of an audience the media outlets portray thy probably cant afford each he same coverage as the the irsh league.irish league has what?? 10 teams but each gaa championship has 15 at least with each county. Can't put them all on tv. Some coverage would be nice tho.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 01:30:58 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on January 16, 2011, 12:21:44 PMJesus H Christ, Why O Why O Why do BBC NI, UTV, Radio Ulster, The Belfast Telegraph & The Daily Mirror continue to give blanket coverage to these Mickey Mouse clubs and their crappy wee competitions that no -one goes to.
If you don't like the B.Telegraph/D.Mirror coverage, you don't have to buy them.

As for the BBC, where is this "blanket coverage" you refer to? Saturday was Irish Cup day, and BBC NI gave a grand total of four minutes coverage to the games (including the presenter's links back in the studio), which is typical of their weekly coverage. Plus their 4 or 5 minutes highlights on a Saturday only comes from games in the greater Belfast area; also they never show anything from the Championship (i.e. Second Division) or lower. And they show a grand total of one domestic game per season live (Irish Cup Final).

By comparison, all of this amounts to a tiny fraction of eg the coverage given by RTE to the League of Ireland.

Quote from: Feckitt on January 16, 2011, 12:21:44 PMFrom now on if Newry v Distillery is being reported on the news, then I want to know why the likes of Dorsey v Forkhill, or Drumgath v Shamrocks is not being reported on the same bulletin.
You're not comparing like-with-like. The IL is the highest level of the game in NI, so the GAA equivalent is County football. And Im open to correction on this, bu I understand the BBC cannot show inter-County games live, since the GAA sold the rights to another broadcaster.

Quote from: Feckitt on January 16, 2011, 12:21:44 PMI've had enough of GAA not being given fair play.
Aye, you and Jermoan Quinn.

And when he put the case to an independent Tribunal, they told him to p1ss off and stop wasting everybody's time... ::)

Post by: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 01:35:06 PM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on January 17, 2011, 12:28:47 AMIt has its moments
Certainly does!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9357334.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9357334.stm)

(If you've not actually seen Burrows' goal, make sure and watch until the very end of the clip to see it properly)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 01:39:13 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 01:35:06 PM
Certainly does!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9357334.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9357334.stm)

(If you've not actually seen Burrows' goal, make sure and watch until the very end of the clip to see it properly)

And how many men and their dogs were there to witness it?  :P
Post by: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 01:42:17 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 01:39:13 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 01:35:06 PM
Certainly does!

~No idea, but it's had over 3 million hits on YouTube.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 01:46:42 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 01:42:17 PM

And that pays for the coverage?
Post by: Main Street on January 17, 2011, 02:33:55 PM
My heart goes out to the dogs.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 02:56:58 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 17, 2011, 02:33:55 PM
My heart goes out to the dogs.

It's believed the USPCA were on overtime.
Post by: Main Street on January 17, 2011, 04:39:19 PM
Getting the dog out for the game.
(http://kivi.images.worldnow.com/images/7166484_BG4.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on January 17, 2011, 04:48:20 PM
Linfield's biggest supporter

(http://thelaughingstork.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/UgliestDog1.jpg)
Post by: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 05:23:07 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 01:46:42 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 01:42:17 PM

And that pays for the coverage?
Of course not. Then again, neither does the attendance, which you brought up, whether the stadium be full or empty.

As for GAA fans citing of low attendances ar soccer games, soccer fans could equally point eg to greater playing participation in soccer in NI than GAA.

But that would be no more relevant to the debate, either, since neither spectator numbers or player numbers is the primary factor in determining coverage.

Instead, as a licence-funded public broadcaster, the BBC's remit is to cover all sports, albeit with the "bigger" sports getting more of the coverage, and certain "important" events getting particular coverage.

Therefore the Ulster Schools Rugby Cup Final gets covered live, despite only attracting around 20 entrants, mostly from the same "Protestant" Grammar schools. Ditto the MacRory Cup Final, which I think has even fewer teams(?), all of them from the "Catholic" Grammar sector.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00rlb7m

By contrast, the NI soccer equivalent now attracts around 70 or 80 entrants annually, drawn from every sector and part of NI (including even the Irish Language school sector), but gets no live coverage:
http://www.irishfa.com/news/item/6164/ni-umbro-schools-cup-draw/
http://www.irishfa.com/grassroots/item/3398/record-entry-in-senior-cup/
http://www.irishfa.com/grassroots/item/2623/senior-cup/

As for how fairly the BBC meets its remit re sport in NI, the recent Unfair Dismissal case at Jermoan Quinn's Tribunal examined this closely and concluded that GAA was NOT discriminated against by comparison with soccer (or any other sport), for which we thank him sincerely...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 06:35:02 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 05:23:07 PM
Instead, as a licence-funded public broadcaster, the BBC's remit is to cover all sports, albeit with the "bigger" sports getting more of the coverage, and certain "important" events getting particular coverage.

And therein lies the rub, the "bigger" sports and the associated coverage: how the BBC defines both the "bigger" and "important" events.

All factors should be taken into consideration, but attendances should be primary determinant (for adult sports), since that is directly reflective of interest in the game in general.

Edit And canine spectators shouldn't figure in attendance calculations.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 08:12:52 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 06:35:02 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 05:23:07 PM

And therein lies the rub, the "bigger" sports and the associated coverage: how the BBC defines both the "bigger" and "important" events.
And an independent, legal Tribunal has already determined that when deciding what is "biggest" and most "important" etc, BBC NI is entirely fair in its judgment re local sport.

Just because you and Jermoan don't like it doesn't alter that fact.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 06:35:02 PMAll factors should be taken into consideration,
All factors are  taken into consideration.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 06:35:02 PM... but attendances should be primary determinant (for adult sports), since that is directly reflective of interest in the game in general.
Wrong.

Otherwise the BBC wouldn't ever televise eg the Winter Olympics, on the basis that 90% of the events aren't even staged in the UK, never mind attended by crowds of spectators.

Or in the local context, since the Irish league clubs attract as many spectators between them as the Ulster Rugby team does at Ravenhill, does that mean that the IL should get the same live coverage on TV as Ulster does? That would certainly please the IL.

In the end, your qualification re adult sport shows that you are just choosing the argument which best suits GAA. I could do the same for my sport eg by pointing to the greater participation, or the fact that it is genuinely cross-community, (unlike the monocultural GAA). And I would be equally wrong.

Anyhow, your posts just go to show that if Mopery was a recognised sport, you (and Jermoan) would get a dedicated BBC channel all of your own...
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 17, 2011, 08:18:53 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 08:12:52 PM

And an independent, legal Tribunal has already determined that when deciding what is "biggest" and most "important" etc, BBC NI is entirely fair in its judgment re local sport.

Just because you and Jermoan don't like it doesn't alter that fact.

The Tribunal decided no such thing. Its deliberations were to determine whether Jerome Quinn was legally dismissed, not what were the rights and wrongs of local sports coverage.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 08:28:48 PM
Otherwise the BBC wouldn't ever televise eg the Winter Olympics, on the basis that 90% of the events aren't even staged in the UK, never mind attended by crowds of spectators.

Not just wrong, totally irrelevant. There are some occasions that transcend such fundamentals as local attendance figures, the Winter Olympics being one, given that it's of global interest. So we can safely assume that any sporting occasions of global significance rise above local considerations (except in your mind, perhaps).

And your Tribunal claim is bullshit.

Or in the local context, since the Irish league clubs attract as many spectators between them as the Ulster Rugby team does at Ravenhill, does that mean that the IL should get the same live coverage on TV as Ulster does? That would certainly please the IL.

"...between them" Get a grip man, we can come up with all sorts of aggregate combinations once we start combining attendances.

In the end, your qualification re adult sport shows that you are just choosing the argument which best suits GAA. I could do the same for my sport eg by pointing to the greater participation, or the fact that it is genuinely cross-community, (unlike the monocultural GAA). And I would be equally wrong.

You repeat the 'greater participation' like it's an established fact, where is your proof? Any chance to get a (childish) dig at the GAA, eh?

Anyhow, your posts just go to show that if Mopery was a recognised sport, you (and Jermoan) would get a dedicated BBC channel all of your own...

Very grown-up.
Post by: The Worker on January 17, 2011, 09:28:29 PM
Do they play games on Sundays now?

On a similar vein, can anyone tell me why bookies in the north aren't open on Sundays? they are open in every other part of the UK and ROI on the sabbath.
Post by: Tonto on January 17, 2011, 09:41:13 PM
Can't believe that some boyos here think the IL coverage on the BBC is too great.  Sky Sports give more coverage to the Irish League than our supposed national "public service" broadcaster.

The GAA gets much, much more coverage than the IL FFS!

"Wall to wall coverage" me arse.
Post by: Tonto on January 17, 2011, 09:42:09 PM
Quote from: The Worker on January 17, 2011, 09:28:29 PM

On a similar vein, can anyone tell me why bookies in the north aren't open on Sundays? they are open in every other part of the UK and ROI on the sabbath.
If you know the right telephone number you can get a bookies on a Sunday. ;)

(Otherwise, just go online)
Post by: The Worker on January 17, 2011, 09:43:22 PM
Quote from: Tonto on January 17, 2011, 09:42:09 PM

No thats not the point. Do you know why they close on sundays?
Post by: Tonto on January 17, 2011, 09:44:57 PM
Quote from: The Worker on January 17, 2011, 09:43:22 PM

Not sure, probably some Protestant extremist conspiracy to annoy GAA supporters!

To quote Fr Ted, "those Protestants, up to no good as usual".
Post by: The Worker on January 17, 2011, 09:48:08 PM
Quote from: Tonto on January 17, 2011, 09:44:57 PM

Not sure, probably some Protestant extremist conspiracy to annoy GAA supporters!

What has it got to do with GAA?

usual wummery from you, I cant be bothered with this today.
Post by: Tonto on January 17, 2011, 09:50:06 PM
Quote from: The Worker on January 17, 2011, 09:48:08 PM
Quote from: Tonto on January 17, 2011, 09:44:57 PM

What has it got to do with GAA?

usual wummery from you, I cant be bothered with this today.
Really?  That's the first time I've been called a WUM! :D

Sensitive today aren't we!?
Post by: Minder on January 17, 2011, 09:53:11 PM
Is it that big a thing that the bookies arent open on a Sunday, i am sure even the rubber soled brigade in the bookies have an online account.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 10:04:45 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 17, 2011, 08:18:53 PMThe Tribunal decided no such thing. Its deliberations were to determine whether Jerome Quinn was legally dismissed, not what were the rights and wrongs of local sports coverage.
Jermoan contended that using the Beeb's computer for private purposes in his work time etc was only a pretext - the real reasons being that he was being victimised for pointing out the "unfair" coverage they were giving to GAA (after being sidelined as part of this reduced coverage).

In order to support his case, he produced what he claimed was evidence (screen hours, budget, staffing, editorial etc) of the Beeb's discriminatory attitude towards GAA. The Tribunal examined this "evidence" and rejected it completely, explicitly stating it found no such evidence of discrimination.

Of course, he hardly helped his case by the transparent way in which he tried to "rig" his evidence - for example, comparing the airtime given to GAA during its closed season, with the airtime given to soccer during its playing season.

And trying to claim that Motor Cycling is a "Protestant sport"(!) wasn't the cleverest move, either.

Still, if intelligence was a factor, he'd never have got a job in the first place, never mind lasted 18 years of oppression...
Post by: Big Puff on January 17, 2011, 10:08:04 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 10:04:45 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 17, 2011, 08:18:53 PMThe Tribunal decided no such thing. Its deliberations were to determine whether Jerome Quinn was legally dismissed, not what were the rights and wrongs of local sports coverage.
Jermoan contended that using the Beeb's computer for private purposes in his work time etc was only a pretext - the real reasons being that he was being victimised for pointing out the "unfair" coverage they were giving to GAA (after being sidelined as part of this reduced coverage).

In order to support his case, he produced what he claimed was evidence (screen hours, budget, staffing, editorial etc) of the Beeb's discriminatory attitude towards GAA. The Tribunal examined this "evidence" and rejected it completely, explicitly stating it found no such evidence of discrimination.

Of course, he hardly helped his case by the transparent way in which he tried to "rig" his evidence - for example, comparing the airtime given to GAA during its closed season, with the airtime given to soccer during its playing season.

And trying to claim that Motor Cycling is a "Protestant sport"(!) wasn't the cleverest move, either.

Still, if intelligence was a factor, he'd never have got a job in the first place, never mind lasted 18 years of oppression...

Exactly what I was thinking.

How the hell can it be classified as a 'sport'?!!!
Post by: Bogball XV on January 17, 2011, 10:09:08 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 08:12:52 PMOtherwise the BBC wouldn't ever televise eg the Winter Olympics, on the basis that 90% of the events aren't even staged in the UK, never mind attended by crowds of spectators.
They probably shouldn't bother televising it tbh, do they have a choice though?  Is it all packaged with the summer olympics (many sports).

All that said the argument about coverage misses the point, I thought this thread was about the pointlessness or otherwise of local soccer.  It's obviously not pointless and the skill levels etc aren't bad, but, what should be questioned is the whether or not it should be professional?  Obviously it's up to each club to determine their own business plans and as long as they aren't going bust every few weeks like they do in the south, fair play to them. 
I like to see them get a few decent results in europe, cliftonville got a fantastic result against a croatian/serbian? side this year iirc and it's good to dream.  Overall the product could do with a lot of work though, the stadia and image that the fans portray are very unappealing.
Post by: Tonto on January 17, 2011, 10:14:35 PM
Correct Bogball, how can football in NI be classed as pointless? There will always be football played in NI as long as people want to play it regardless of how many pay in at the turnstiles.
Post by: Orangemac on January 17, 2011, 11:07:56 PM
While BBC should give the GAA more coverage based upon it's appeal (although what it does, it does well) it is a bit much to call it pointless.

Most of these clubs will call breaking even a good year and would not survive only for the work of volunteers akin too many GAA clubs.

The likes of Jackie Fullerton etc may like to think of it being of a high standard but the quality of football is piss poor compared to the LOI even but the endeavour of those involved shouldn't be demeaned.

There doesn't seem to have been the same level of crazy spending in the Irish league that there was in the LOI though.

On a side note it was surreal watching Mattie Burrows hanging about with Ronaldo, Messi and Schneider the other week.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 11:31:07 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 08:28:48 PM

Not just wrong, totally irrelevant. There are some occasions that transcend such fundamentals as local attendance figures, the Winter Olympics being one, given that it's of global interest. So we can safely assume that any sporting occasions of global significance rise above local considerations (except in your mind, perhaps).
"I appreciate during the year that the GAA doesnt get a great pile of coverage but for Gods sake it shows a live GAA match EVERY week of the Ulster championship!!! This is more than any other sport gets! As members of the GAA we need to stop trying to feel sorry for ourselves and moaning about how badly done we are - its a little bit embarrassing at this stage" - BennyHarp, 21/05/10

"I'm really at a loss here. The coverage of GAA on BBC has multiplied hugely in recent times and now surely surpasses soccer and rugby. I do not see any cause whatsoever for complaint. Sure they don't have any Miceal O'Muircheartaighs, or calibre of analysts like Spillane, O'Rourke etc, but there is no reasonable cause for complaint imho" - Tony Fearon, 25/10/10.

And from the Tribunal's findings themselves:
33.   Mr Glynn was promoted to Editor of Sports NI in June 2006 following a period as a Senior Broadcast Journalist in the News Department.  Following his appointment as Editor for Sport he was instrumental in winning the broadcast rights for coverage of the GAA Ulster Championship and All-Ireland games involving Ulster teams, when the broadcast rights for GAA coverage came up for renewal in 2007/2008.  As a result the live coverage of matches increased substantially. The respondent gave an undertaking during the tender process that they would "revamp" the look, style and tone of the live coverage.
34.   Mr Glynn also gave evidence, which we accept, of the hours of TV coverage, both live and highlights, given to each of 12 sports for the period from 2006 to 2010.  The figures show that coverage of soccer and rugby has decreased whereas coverage of GAA has increased substantially in line with the winning or losing of broadcast coverage rights for those sports and in line with how successful Ulster/NI teams were in a particular year.
35.   The claimant chose two days in October 2008 to illustrate his allegation of a disparity in the coverage between GAA sports and other sports.  October is the high season for rugby and Northern Ireland soccer.  If the claimant had chosen June to illustrate coverage, the GAA season would have been in full swing with widespread coverage on BBC NI whereas rugby and soccer coverage would have been very low because it was not their season.
36.   Mr Glynn gave evidence, which we accept, that, the percentage 'spend per sport' as at March 2009 showed that GAA rights and production costs for live coverage, far outstripped the costs associated with rugby and domestic soccer.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 08:28:48 PMAnd your Tribunal claim is bullshit.
"The former so-called face of Gaelic games at BBC Northern Ireland was accused of being disingenuous, misleading and evasive by an industrial tribunal which rejected his claims of sectarian bias
Jerome Quinn, 42, was sacked last March for gross misconduct after posting on websites anonymous criticism of the corporation's coverage.
He claimed he saw himself as a 'standard-bearer' for the sport and alleged his dismissal was unfair and an act of victimisation because of his race, religion or political opinion.
But in a damning ruling to be released on Wednesday, a tribunal panel chaired by Orla Murray said his claims of discrimination and unfair dismissal should be denied in their entirety"

http://www.u.tv/News/Tribunal-rejects-BBC-sectarian-claims/fd26b336-dda2-41cc-9872-b950c2e548d4

"...between them" Get a grip man, we can come up with all sorts of aggregate combinations once we start combining attendances.

It's quite simple, really. Ulster's one professional rugby club attracts approx 12k fans once a fortnight, and gets several of its games televised each season.

Football's (semi)professional clubs attract at least 6k fans each week, during a longer season, and sees one match televised live.

You repeat the 'greater participation' like it's an established fact, where is your proof? Any chance to get a (childish) dig at the GAA, eh?

According to http://ulster.gaa.ie/ , the 6 NI counties have the following number of affiliated Gaelic football or dual football/hurling clubs:
Antrim - 40
Armagh - 44
Derry - 38
Down - 45
Fermanagh - 21
Tyrone - 48
Total - 236

By contrast, the IFA has over 1,500 affiliated clubs:
http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/about-the-ifa/

Further, there are quite a few people who play soccer on an unaffiliated basis i.e. schools, parks, leisure centres, works teams, 5-a-side etc. Because of the nature of the game and the need for suitable pitches etc, like rugby, Gaelic football cannot have the same amount of unafiliated play.

Very grown-up.
... says the man who posts about dogs and the USPCA etc... ::)

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 11:51:08 PM
Sweet jezuz, I've been subsumed in a sea of logorrhoea! (As per usual.)

Just taking this one (of your responses), however, since it's the only one that seems to attempt to stay on point:

Quote from: Evil Genius on January 17, 2011, 11:31:07 PM
According to http://ulster.gaa.ie/ , the 6 NI counties have the following number of affiliated Gaelic football or dual football/hurling clubs:
Antrim - 40
Armagh - 44
Derry - 38
Down - 45
Fermanagh - 21
Tyrone - 48
Total - 236

Further, there are quite a few people who play soccer on an unaffiliated basis i.e. schools, parks, leisure centres, works teams, 5-a-side etc. Because of the nature of the game and the need for suitable pitches etc, like rugby, Gaelic football cannot have the same amount of unafiliated play.

That proves that there may be more affiliated soccer clubs than GAA clubs, that's all it proves. What you've omitted here are the numbers affiliated with each club, i.e., the membership, and without which absolutely nothing can be proven.

Regarding the 'suitable' facilities for GAA and unaffiliated players... you're betraying your ignorance of school set-ups, for example, not to mention parks, etc.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 18, 2011, 12:50:25 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 11:51:08 PMSweet jezuz, I've been subsumed in a sea of logorrhoea! (As per usual.)

Just taking this one (of your responses), however, since the only one that seems to attempt to stay on point:
"the only one that seems to attempt to stay on point" or the only one which you think you can challenge?

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 11:51:08 PM
Antrim - 40
Armagh - 44
Derry - 38
Down - 45
Fermanagh - 21
Tyrone - 48
Total - 236

That proves that there may be more affiliated soccer clubs than GAA clubs, that's all it proves. What you've omitted here are the numbers affiliated with each club, i.e., the membership, and without which absolutely nothing can be proven.
Unless the average Gaelic football club has over 6 times more playing members than the average soccer club, then soccer must have greater participation.

Which would make sense, seeing as soccer is played pretty much equally by Prods/Unionists and RC's/Nationalists, whereas GAA is played  hardly at all by the former population (the larger of the two, btw).

Which is only a reflection of the fact that many (Nationalist) predominantly GAA players also play a bit of soccer, whereas hardly any (Unionist) predominantly soccer players also play a bit of GAA.

And many soccer clubs have Reserve teams (some even 3rds, 4ths etc), such that there are even dedicated Reserves Leagues. Does GAA have Reserve Leagues of its own?

And how do you account for the fact that the NI Schools soccer Cup attracts 10 times as many entrants as its GAA equivalent (MacRory)?

And, of course, Womens' football in NI is sufficiently widespread to accommodate 7 separate Leagues/Divisions playing regularly during the seasonand is growing all the time:
http://www.niwfa.org/
Care to enlighten me on the equivalent figures for Womens' Gaelic Football in NI?

Regarding the 'suitable' facilities for GAA and unaffiliated players... you're betraying your ignorance of school set-ups, for example, not to mention parks, etc.
I did not claim that there is no unaffiliated GAA played in NI.

However, there can be no doubt that due to the respective natures of the two games, plus the need for more specialised playing facilities etc, it is much easier to play soccer informally than GAA (just as it is for soccer versus rugby or cricket etc).

Oh and btw, I think you'll find soccer attracts more participants than Gaelic football in the Republic of Ireland, too, despite its not having a 54% block of the population which is largely indifferent towards GAA...
Post by: Aerlik on January 18, 2011, 01:48:35 AM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 17, 2011, 11:36:52 PM
Evil  Genius, without going too far off topic, why have you added that sectarian rag as your avatar? I am sure you are well aware that many on the gaaboard will find it offensive. Over the past week, the people of the north came together to unite in grief, even the dinosaurs in the main Unionist parties offered kind words, words that did not go unnoticed by anyone here.
Do you have any interest in the GAA or are you merely here to stir things up?

Agreed, considering I have had mine "banned"!

Anyways not to detract from the humour that is the Irish League...here's a bit of excitement for yiz all...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvj65FE6uMM&NR=1
Post by: screenexile on January 18, 2011, 02:29:46 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 18, 2011, 12:50:25 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 17, 2011, 11:51:08 PMSweet jezuz, I've been subsumed in a sea of logorrhoea! (As per usual.)

Just taking this one (of your responses), however, since the only one that seems to attempt to stay on point:
"the only one that seems to attempt to stay on point" or the only one which you think you can challenge?

Antrim - 40
Armagh - 44
Derry - 38
Down - 45
Fermanagh - 21
Tyrone - 48
Total - 236

Unless the average Gaelic football club has over 6 times more playing members than the average soccer club, then soccer must have greater participation.

Which would make sense, seeing as soccer is played pretty much equally by Prods/Unionists and RC's/Nationalists, whereas GAA is played  hardly at all by the former population (the larger of the two, btw).

Which is only a reflection of the fact that many (Nationalist) predominantly GAA players also play a bit of soccer, whereas hardly any (Unionist) predominantly soccer players also play a bit of GAA.

And many soccer clubs have Reserve teams (some even 3rds, 4ths etc), such that there are even dedicated Reserves Leagues. Does GAA have Reserve Leagues of its own?

And how do you account for the fact that the NI Schools soccer Cup attracts 10 times as many entrants as its GAA equivalent (MacRory)?

And, of course, Womens' football in NI is sufficiently widespread to accommodate 7 separate Leagues/Divisions playing regularly during the seasonand is growing all the time:
http://www.niwfa.org/
Care to enlighten me on the equivalent figures for Womens' Gaelic Football in NI?

I did not claim that there is no unaffiliated GAA played in NI.

However, there can be no doubt that due to the respective natures of the two games, plus the need for more specialised playing facilities etc, it is much easier to play soccer informally than GAA (just as it is for soccer versus rugby or cricket etc).

Oh and btw, I think you'll find soccer attracts more participants than Gaelic football in the Republic of Ireland, too, despite its not having a 54% block of the population which is largely indifferent towards GAA...

Right Evil Genius you are completely losing the run of yourself here. You've fired out a number of wild accusations which are completely unfounded.

I will start with some of your misconceptions.

The GAA has many Reserve Leagues. In Derry alone we have 3 Reserve Leagues along with the 4 1st Team Leagues. A number of clubs also have 3rds teams as well so wind your neck in!

Your point about the MacRory cup is also wrong as not any Tom Dick or Harry can enter the competition. There are 3 Sections for College's Football in Ulster which incorporate school's from every county. Within each County there are separate Vocational School's competitions which again will be tiered towards A, B & C Championships. My guess is numbers of schools would be on a par.

As for your comments about Womens Football well that is even more laughable!! NI have 7 Womens leagues playing at the minute?? Compare that with JUST Tyrone who have 4 Divisions that all play regularly not to mention the same for Minor, U16, U14 and a flourishing Ulster School's competition for that also. Derry who are a Junior County (C Grade on the All Ireland Scale) have 3 Divisions of Ladies football themselves!

There is also some nonsense about 6k people going to the Semi Professional teams each week. . . you are having a complete Giraffe there son! There is not a mission that there is any more than 3.5-4k MAX at ANY Irish League game barring Linfield Glentoran!

You can talk about numbers of clubs blah blah blah, but any GAA Club will field a minumum of 10 teams in any one season and some a lot more than that. My own Club fields 30 teams in all codes and there are many bigger than ours, tell me how many 'affiliated' IFA Clubs would you have to produce before you get that many teams??!!

Post by: Niall Quinn on January 18, 2011, 04:00:00 AM
Antrim - 40
Armagh - 44
Derry - 38
Down - 45
Fermanagh - 21
Tyrone - 48
Total - 236

Below is a summary of the 'List of association football clubs in Northern Ireland' page from Wikipedia
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_association_football_clubs_in_Northern_Ireland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_association_football_clubs_in_Northern_Ireland)):
                                                                                                                                # Clubs
IFA Premiership                                                                                                             12
IFA Championship 1                                                                                                       14
IFA Championship 2                                                                                                       15
League of Ireland First Division                                                                                         1
Mid-Ulster Football League Int A                                                                                      12
Mid-Ulster Football League Int B                                                                                      12
Mid-Ulster Football League Div 1                                                                                      13
Ballymena & Provincial Intermediate League                                                                     14
Northern Ireland Intermediate League                                                                             12
Northern Amateur Football League - Premier Division                                                        14
Northern Amateur Football League - Division 1A                                                               14
Northern Amateur Football League - Division 1B                                                               13
Northern Amateur Football League - Division 1C                                                               10
Derry and District League Northwest Saturday Morning League - Premier Division                10
Derry and District League Northwest Saturday Morning League - First Division                     12
Derry and District League Senior Sunday Morning League - Premier Division                       12
Derry and District League Senior Sunday Morning League - First Division                            13
Coleraine and District League - Premier League                                                                 9
Coleraine and District League - Morning League                                                               10
Total                                                                                                                           222
Post by: Maguire01 on January 18, 2011, 08:06:24 AM
The 'participation' issue is bull in my opinion. How many of those who play soccer would have even a passing interest in seeing local soccer on the TV? They'e all watching the Premiership.
Post by: Banana Man on January 18, 2011, 09:30:39 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 18, 2011, 08:06:24 AM
The 'participation' issue is bull in my opinion. How many of those who play soccer would have even a passing interest in seeing local soccer on the TV? They'e all watching the Premiership.

Not only that but all you need to be a soccer club is a set of jerseys and 11 players (that's right EG 4 less than a GAA team for a start, you also forgot to extrapolate that out). 11 lads that drink in a boozer can set up a soccer club by using the council pitch, a high schools' pitch or even a tech pitch, a lot of clubs exist for around 10 years or so then fall away, you aren't comparing apples with apples.

Also your childish remark regarding the ''bigger of the 2 populations'' is pathetic. It also clearly illustrates the high level of insecurity that you have that the big bad Fenian's are nearly on level pegging with you now and your complete detachment from reality.
Post by: take_yer_points on January 18, 2011, 10:04:06 AM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on January 18, 2011, 04:00:00 AM
Antrim - 40
Armagh - 44
Derry - 38
Down - 45
Fermanagh - 21
Tyrone - 48
Total - 236

Below is a summary of the 'List of association football clubs in Northern Ireland' page from Wikipedia
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_association_football_clubs_in_Northern_Ireland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_association_football_clubs_in_Northern_Ireland)):
                                                                                                                                # Clubs
IFA Premiership                                                                                                             12
IFA Championship 1                                                                                                       14
IFA Championship 2                                                                                                       15
League of Ireland First Division                                                                                         1
Mid-Ulster Football League Int A                                                                                      12
Mid-Ulster Football League Int B                                                                                      12
Mid-Ulster Football League Div 1                                                                                      13
Ballymena & Provincial Intermediate League                                                                     14
Northern Ireland Intermediate League                                                                             12
Northern Amateur Football League - Premier Division                                                        14
Northern Amateur Football League - Division 1A                                                               14
Northern Amateur Football League - Division 1B                                                               13
Northern Amateur Football League - Division 1C                                                               10
Derry and District League Northwest Saturday Morning League - Premier Division                10
Derry and District League Northwest Saturday Morning League - First Division                     12
Derry and District League Senior Sunday Morning League - Premier Division                       12
Derry and District League Senior Sunday Morning League - First Division                            13
Coleraine and District League - Premier League                                                                 9
Coleraine and District League - Morning League                                                               10
Total                                                                                                                           222

You're missing quite a few there - a look at the drop down in the link below would give a more comprehesive list of the leagues.

http://www.nifootball.co.uk/index.php/clubs

I'm involved in a soccer club in Belfast - we have 2 teams and sometimes struggle to get enough players to play (and I know this is common across teams at the same standard). On the other hand, in the Gaelic club at home we field 8 teams in football and 2 camogie teams. I'm from a small village and we'd be considered a small club so I don't think it would be totally suprising if the average Gaelic club was 6 times (or more) bigger than the average soccer club.
Post by: Hardy on January 18, 2011, 10:21:51 AM
This aways gives me a laugh. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7kN15IZGeMg&playnext=1&list=PL6E056EC496AB9F01&index=62)
Post by: snatter on January 18, 2011, 10:27:55 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 18, 2011, 12:50:25 AM

Highly debatable, EG, as to whether there actually is a Prods/Unionist majority in the north of Ireland of a playing age.

If the upper age limit of participants in both sports is a reasonable 40, and that the vast majority of participants are school aged (say aged between 6 and 16), it is probably the  RC/Nationalist population that is "the larger of the two".

From the much missed ulstersdoomed blog:

QuoteSince 50.4% of the 21 year-olds in 2001 were from a Catholic community background (against 46.3% who were from a Protestant community background), it is likely that the proportion of the children born in 2009 into a Catholic community background exceeds the proportion born into a Protestant community background. The size of the Catholic community lead is hard to measure at this stage, but the results of the Schools Census suggest that it could be as high as 10%. The next decennial census (in 2011) will throw more light on this.

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_X3qgX1zX2Hs/S4ZXaCF9JMI/AAAAAAAAAn0/ok7dHRtywLk/s400/2010+Schools+Census.JPG)

Post by: deiseach on January 18, 2011, 11:08:22 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on January 17, 2011, 10:09:08 PM
They probably shouldn't bother televising it tbh, do they have a choice though?  Is it all packaged with the summer olympics (many sports).

All that said the argument about coverage misses the point, I thought this thread was about the pointlessness or otherwise of local soccer.  It's obviously not pointless and the skill levels etc aren't bad, but, what should be questioned is the whether or not it should be professional?  Obviously it's up to each club to determine their own business plans and as long as they aren't going bust every few weeks like they do in the south, fair play to them. 
I like to see them get a few decent results in europe, cliftonville got a fantastic result against a croatian/serbian? side this year iirc and it's good to dream.  Overall the product could do with a lot of work though, the stadia and image that the fans portray are very unappealing.

The OP's subject (what's the point?) bears no relationship to his first post (why does soccer get so much coverage?). You're quite right about 'the point', the Irish League is the highest level of soccer in Northern Ireland and it doesn't matter whether it is any good or not, if you were to abolish it you'd still have to have a highest level. As for the coverage thing, the OWCer's say the live coverage of championship matches compared to IL/Cup matches mean the GAA gets disproportionate coverage while GAA types think that amount of correspondents sent to IL/Cup matches means soccer gets disproportionate coverage. Never the twain shall meet.
Post by: seafoid on January 18, 2011, 12:24:39 PM
I thought the point of showing Norn Irn soccer on telly was to allow Jackie Fullerton to reminisce about his agreeable playing career with Distillery or Instonions or whoever it was.
Post by: Mario on January 18, 2011, 01:29:05 PM
The GAA definitely draws more crowds to watch that NI soccer, outside the top 2 divisions in NI soccer, attendances for the average match would be lucky to reach 50 people. Any Senior Club GAA game would have more than this.

I don't think there is any argument in the amount of people who play each sport, i'd say there is at least double the number of Adults in NI who play soccer in comparison with gaelic. For a lot of people particularly in the amateur soccer leagues, the game is just about enjoyment, its taken a lot less seriously than say a Junior GAA team. A lot of GAA players stop playing senior football a few years after minors usually due to work/family commitments and they can't give the necessary time to the GAA. I'd say the drop out rates 5 years after minors is well over 50%.
I'd the number of children playing each sport would be similar, given all the GAA teams would have about 5 underage teams.

I think its wrong of GAA fans to claim the IL gets more coverage than the GAA, as has been pointed out already there is only 1 live soccer match shown all year, and a very brief highlights show each saturday which i actually quite enjoy watching.
Post by: MW on January 18, 2011, 11:08:09 PM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on January 18, 2011, 04:00:00 AM
Antrim - 40
Armagh - 44
Derry - 38
Down - 45
Fermanagh - 21
Tyrone - 48
Total - 236

# Clubs

I play in the Down Area League.

Does my club not exist then? :o
Post by: Maguire01 on January 18, 2011, 11:09:27 PM
Quote from: MW on January 18, 2011, 11:08:09 PM
I play in the Down Area League.

Does my club not exist then? :o
If it's not on wikipedia, it doesn't count.
Post by: MW on January 18, 2011, 11:20:28 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 16, 2011, 07:28:42 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 16, 2011, 01:08:27 PM

Every Saturday afternoon there's a live commentary and updates from all the grounds. Its absolutely dire to listen to the BBC commentators trying to make exciting.

That doesn't really make sense.

If you were actually interested in any league, then commentary and score updates from that league would be exciting, given that over the course of the average week there will quite probably be late winners/equalisers, teams coming back from a losing position, sendings off, controversial incidents, teams overtaking each other in the league table, etc, etc.
Post by: King Kenny on January 18, 2011, 11:46:45 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 18, 2011, 10:21:51 AM
This aways gives me a laugh. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7kN15IZGeMg&playnext=1&list=PL6E056EC496AB9F01&index=62)

Brilliant.
Post by: Big Puff on January 31, 2011, 09:34:44 PM
Anyone watching the Glenavon & Cliftonville game on ss1?

Defender just put one into his own net  :-X

great advertisment for the local game!
Post by: ziggysego on January 31, 2011, 10:25:58 PM
Own goals happen in all leagues, no matter how professional.
Post by: Big Puff on January 31, 2011, 10:27:21 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 31, 2011, 10:25:58 PM

did you see the own goal in question before commenting?
Post by: Big Puff on February 01, 2011, 06:21:14 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on January 31, 2011, 10:27:21 PM

BUMP for Ziggy
Post by: Tonto on February 01, 2011, 07:33:39 PM
Big Puff,

The following OG was scored by a Champions' League winner.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mh4aarbLfeA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mh4aarbLfeA)

OGs are scored at all levels of the game.
Post by: Big Puff on February 01, 2011, 09:11:00 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 01, 2011, 07:33:39 PM
Big Puff,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mh4aarbLfeA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mh4aarbLfeA)

Well done Einstein, what this has got to do with the standard of the cliftonville glenavon game i will never know though  :-X
Post by: Tonto on February 01, 2011, 09:57:17 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on February 01, 2011, 09:11:00 PM
Big Puff,

Well done Einstein, what this has got to do with the standard of the cliftonville glenavon game i will never know though  :-X
You're right, a video of an own goal in a discussion about an own goal is completely irrelevant. ::)
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 01, 2011, 10:46:16 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 01, 2011, 09:57:17 PM
Big Puff,

You're right, a video of an own goal in a discussion about an own goal is completely irrelevant. ::)
Poor example Tonto. Djimi Traore is a terrible footballer.
Post by: ziggysego on February 01, 2011, 11:44:34 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on February 01, 2011, 06:21:14 PM

BUMP for Ziggy

Sorry. No, didn't see it. However OGs happen. Are you disputing that?  :)
Post by: Big Puff on February 02, 2011, 05:57:18 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 01, 2011, 11:44:34 PM

BUMP for Ziggy

Not disputing there was an own goal, i did see the incident so I am perfectly qualified to comment, unlike others  ::)

The original point was about the game in question (not specifically the own goal)

some clowns on this site.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 02, 2011, 07:19:43 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on February 02, 2011, 05:57:18 PM

BUMP for Ziggy

Not disputing there was an own goal, i did see the incident so I am perfectly qualified to comment, unlike others  ::)

The original point was about the game in question (not specifically the own goal)

Eh, you might want to read your first post on this topic. You were quite specific about the own goal.
Post by: Big Puff on February 02, 2011, 10:27:35 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 02, 2011, 07:19:43 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on February 02, 2011, 05:57:18 PM

BUMP for Ziggy

Eh, you might want to read your first post on this topic. You were quite specific about the own goal.

I think I know what I meant by what I typed !

Some jobs worths about here alrite!!
Post by: ziggysego on February 02, 2011, 10:36:00 PM
Why are you so sensitive Big Puff?
Post by: Big Puff on February 02, 2011, 10:39:45 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 02, 2011, 10:36:00 PM
Why are you so sensitive Big Puff?

I came here for open discussion, all i get is people trying to score cheap points with narky comments and smart remarks.

Bugs me you commented on the matter without even seeing the game!
Post by: ziggysego on February 02, 2011, 10:41:45 PM
All I said was that OG's happen in professional games too. You know, adding to the discussion.
Post by: Big Puff on February 02, 2011, 10:43:06 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 02, 2011, 10:41:45 PM
All I said was that OG's happen in professional games too. You know, adding to the discussion.

Thats a very obvious point. Were you thinking that maybe i didnt know that? what do you take me for?  ::)
Post by: ziggysego on February 02, 2011, 10:47:15 PM
*sighs* Fine, I'll leave it there. You've obviously got a bee in you bonnet about something.
Post by: Big Puff on February 02, 2011, 10:55:54 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 02, 2011, 10:47:15 PM
*sighs* Fine, I'll leave it there. You've obviously got a bee in you bonnet about something.

ok, dont comment on topics u havnt seen or know about in future.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 03, 2011, 06:17:29 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on February 02, 2011, 10:55:54 PM

Who made you the law?
Post by: Big Puff on February 03, 2011, 06:23:26 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 03, 2011, 06:17:29 PM

Who made you the law?

Who made you the ned flanders of the site?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 03, 2011, 06:45:07 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on February 03, 2011, 06:23:26 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 03, 2011, 06:17:29 PM

Who made you the law?

Who made you the ned flanders of the site?
Meaning?
Post by: Tonto on February 03, 2011, 08:39:14 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 01, 2011, 10:46:16 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 01, 2011, 09:57:17 PM
Big Puff,

Poor example Tonto. Djimi Traore is a terrible footballer.
For "terrible footballer" read "Champions' League Winner" ;)

Anyway, so what if it was an awful own goal? I know no-one that claims the Irish League is better than, probably the lower end of the Conference at best.  These guys aren't professional footballers but joiners, electricians, teachers, bankers etc. who just so happen to be good enough at football to make a bit of money at it on a Saturday afternoon.  Fair play to them for getting that far, they've much more talent than the vast, vast majority of those who say they're crap.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 07, 2011, 04:03:08 PM
f**k the irish cup final is on live today, i meant set this up for recording, gutted now :)
Post by: ziggysego on May 07, 2011, 04:08:12 PM
Big crowd at the final :D
Post by: Orior on May 07, 2011, 07:30:59 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 07, 2011, 04:08:12 PM

How many?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 07, 2011, 07:58:55 PM
There will be more in Donegal for the Championship match next week
Post by: ziggysego on May 07, 2011, 08:27:30 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 07, 2011, 07:30:59 PM

How many?

Don't know, but half of Winsdor looked empty.
Post by: Orior on May 07, 2011, 08:36:05 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 07, 2011, 08:27:30 PM

How many?

Then it was half full.
Post by: ziggysego on May 07, 2011, 09:12:06 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 07, 2011, 08:36:05 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 07, 2011, 08:27:30 PM

How many?

Then it was half full.

I hate you

lol
Post by: Orangemac on September 25, 2011, 12:01:34 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 24, 2011, 09:14:58 PM
DC are flying the year.
One time Armagh great white hope Henderson seems to be going well again this year, another 2 goals today.
Post by: JimStynes on September 25, 2011, 12:47:46 AM
Ryan is one of those boys that has natural talent hanging out of him. It's just whether he applies himself or not. He's certainly playing some stuff for DC since he joined. Fair play to him, he'll get a few pound along the way as well. I always felt that he never got a fair crack with Armagh.
Post by: ExcellentDriver on September 25, 2011, 05:40:33 PM

Forbes Racing does the Books on a Sunday. ;)
Post by: ExcellentDriver on September 25, 2011, 05:53:20 PM
Typical whataboutery 'Flame War' involving NI Soccer Fans and GAA Fans.

I just want to make a few points clear.

1. Whatever Sport you play is basically determined by your Postcode. If you live in the Coharine Estate in Portadown, you're gonna support Portadown GFC. If you live in Craigwell or the Garavghy Road, you're gonna support Tir na nOg GFC (or the Hurling Club, I think they're called St. Makachy's). Rugby is really played by the 'Poshies' of either side.

2. As I said in a previous thread, a lot of 'GAA-isms' also featured amongst the fans of the Milk Cup game I attended in Ballymoney. There were open-top Boots with Tea and Sandwiches, there was a sizeable Female representation and there were those leaving prior to the Final Whistle to avoid the Traffic Jam.

3. The Irish League is indeed an Old-Boys Network. However a lot of the blame lies with the Unionist Politicians for creating a Gravy Train within the IFA. NI needs clubs such as AFC Wimbledon, Ebbsfleet Town, or FC United of Manchester where the Fans are Shareholders. However, Political Factors will stop it.
Post by: fitzroyalty on September 25, 2011, 06:29:26 PM
Quote from: ExcellentDriver on September 25, 2011, 05:53:20 PM

1. Whatever Sport you play is basically determined by your Postcode. If you live in the Coharine Estate in Portadown, you're gonna support Portadown GFC. If you live in Craigwell or the Garavghy Road, you're gonna support Tir na nOg GFC (or the Hurling Club, I think they're called St. Makachy's). Rugby is really played by the 'Poshies' of either side.
Corcrain, shower of c***ts, got stuck behind them marching coming back from Armagh last night. Who in their right mind spends their Sat night dressed up as a clown doing that shite? Also Portadown is a poor example, they all like groundball there!
Post by: ExcellentDriver on September 25, 2011, 06:35:15 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on September 25, 2011, 06:29:26 PM

Corcrain, shower of c***ts, got stuck behind them marching coming back from Armagh last night. Who in their right mind spends their Sat night dressed up as a clown doing that shite? Also Portadown is a poor example, they all like groundball there!

Which proves that only the Chav Element within Unionism supports the Orange Order.
Post by: Aaron Boone on September 25, 2011, 06:39:12 PM
Radio Ulster MW this afternoon was wall-to-wall GAA coverage - the Ladies Final plus updates from Antrim, Derry, Down and Tyrone matches.

Heard one from Sidebottom as he looked out over the city from Casement: "I can see the big wheel in the distance and this is helter-skelter here between Loughgiel & Cushendall"
Post by: fitzroyalty on September 25, 2011, 06:54:56 PM
Quote from: ExcellentDriver on September 25, 2011, 06:35:15 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on September 25, 2011, 06:29:26 PM

Which proves that only the Chav Element within Unionism supports the Orange Order.
Naw. Plenty of wealthy culchies like running around in sashes too.
Post by: stiffler on September 25, 2011, 09:40:16 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 25, 2011, 06:59:35 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on September 25, 2011, 06:39:12 PM
Radio Ulster MW this afternoon was wall-to-wall GAA coverage - the Ladies Final plus updates from Antrim, Derry, Down and Tyrone matches.

Heard one from Sidebottom as he looked out over the city from Casement: "I can see the big wheel in the distance and this is helter-skelter here between Loughgiel & Cushendall"
Is the big wheel not gone?

maybe he means the balls of the falls?
Post by: Forever Green on September 25, 2011, 10:31:54 PM
What is the point of Norn Iron saccer? Long story short, there is no f**king point
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 26, 2011, 01:07:32 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on September 25, 2011, 10:31:54 PM
What is the point of Norn Iron saccer? Long story short, there is no f**king point

You might be right Forever Green, but a similar attitude from Unionists often means they don't give GAA football or hurling a chance. I have got few friends to watch the football or hurling, some liked it, others still weren't fussed. Its the ones who can't be arsed to give it a shot, that have that kind of attitude.
Post by: stew on September 26, 2011, 04:35:31 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on September 25, 2011, 10:31:54 PM

There is a point, the standard is poor enough but they deserve to exist.
Post by: Hereiam on September 26, 2011, 04:38:19 PM
Yes they deserve to exist but without my tax money financing something that I will never attend.
Post by: stew on September 26, 2011, 05:16:42 PM
You will probably never be in jail but you pay for that.
Post by: Evil Genius on September 26, 2011, 05:39:37 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on September 26, 2011, 04:38:19 PM
Yes they deserve to exist but without my tax money financing something that I will never attend.
So no public funding for the GAA, either?

"Details of Government funding for the upgrading of Northern Ireland's three main sporting venues has been released.

The Irish Football Association receives £25m to upgrade Windsor Park plus £36m to improve some other stadia and set up a new national training centre.

The Ulster Council of the GAA will get a similar sum to help make Casement Park a 40,000 all-seated stadium.

There will be £14.7m to enable Ulster Rugby to build new and upgrade existing stands at Ravenhill."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/9421657.stm
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 26, 2011, 10:01:39 PM
Isn't the Windsor Park arrangement a big obstacle to progress in northern soccer?  Surely if Linfield didn't have such a convenient source of revenue from internationals then the league would be a bit more balanced and there'd be more interest in it.

(Open to correction here, I'm not a dedicated follower of soccer no matter where it's played.)
Post by: ExcellentDriver on September 27, 2011, 09:49:08 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 26, 2011, 10:01:39 PM
Isn't the Windsor Park arrangement a big obstacle to progress in northern soccer?  Surely if Linfield didn't have such a convenient source of revenue from internationals then the league would be a bit more balanced and there'd be more interest in it.

(Open to correction here, I'm not a dedicated follower of soccer no matter where it's played.)

Eamon (my old DebCen Mucker),

The whole 'Blues Brothers' (ie. Rangers, Linfield and Chelsea) melarchy was simply a 'Badge of Honour' for the idiots from Shankill, Sandy Row, etc. NI Soccer had to fight against it in order to appeal to a greater footballing audience.

There are actually NI Fans who attend Windsor Park who also support Celtic and attend Parkhead. Unfortunately their voices were ignored by the Rangers Morons who heckled Niel Lennon against Norway back in 2001 and the Celtic Morons who refuse to wish NI well simply because Steven Davis and Kyle Lafferty play for them.

As a Mid Ulster Culchie, I have a much greater affinity for Niall McGinn than I do for Darron Gibson or Aiden McGeady. Paddy McCourt also gets in the NI team, in spite of being overlooked at Celtic by Lennon. Having ONE Celtic player in the NI Squad (never mind two) was unthinkable even 5 Years ago. It's a measure of how far the 6 Counties has progressed in terms of attitudes.
Post by: J OGorman on September 27, 2011, 10:06:22 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 26, 2011, 10:01:39 PM

100% correct...when you've got guys from Cliftonville getting up a stupid o'clock to bake through the night holding down a full time job, try to squeeze in a few hours kip before a match and train a few times a week. Compare this to Linfield spending their guaranteed IFA rent money on conditioning their huge squad of players, it really is a joke.

I manage a soccer team affiliated with the IFA, and nothing surprises me anymore when you see how shambolic the whole setup is in Belfast
Post by: Bingo on September 27, 2011, 10:09:14 AM
The Norn Irish soccer results don't appear on the Livescore App on the Iphone. Says it all really when every other imagineable league is listed.
Post by: deiseach on September 27, 2011, 10:36:25 AM
Quote from: ExcellentDriver on September 27, 2011, 09:49:08 AM
As a Mid Ulster Culchie, I have a much greater affinity for Niall McGinn than I do for Darron Gibson or Aiden McGeady. Paddy McCourt also gets in the NI team, in spite of being overlooked at Celtic by Lennon. Having ONE Celtic player in the NI Squad (never mind two) was unthinkable even 5 Years ago. It's a measure of how far the 6 Counties has progressed in terms of attitudes.

So if NI played the Republic, who would you support? Honestly not trying to act the maggot here, there's no 'right' answer
Post by: red hander on September 27, 2011, 07:27:05 PM
'Paddy McCourt also gets in the NI team, in spite of being overlooked at Celtic by Lennon'

For a very long time he didn't.  He's 28 and has only 8 caps, I believe.  While he was by far one of the best players in the League of Ireland with Derry City he was totally ignored by Are We A Country, while any amount of Irish League pohills were picked.  FFS, even Andy Smith, one of the worst footballers I've ever seen play, was capped.  The only reason Paddy McCourt is being hailed by Are We A Country is because of two goals - one an excellent score despite the fact his opponents didn't put in a single tackle - in a match against the Faroes.

On the more general point, I've been at loads of Irish League games and enjoy them.  The League of Ireland standard is defintely higher, though. I've a soft spot for Cliftonville and can honestly say my most enjoyable day at a sports event, bar our three All-Ireland victories and the semi-final win against Armagh in 2005, was the day Cliftonville won the league at Solitude in 1998