GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: GAA_Punter on January 10, 2011, 03:57:00 PM

Title: Mayo Footballer Billy Joe Padden joining Armagh for 2011
Post by: GAA_Punter on January 10, 2011, 03:57:00 PM
Though nothing yet from the man himself , not even via Twitter , reports today suggest that Mayo star Billy Joe Padden, who has won three Connacht championships with his home team is on the verge of joining Armagh club, Carrickcruppen and transferring allegiance to the Orchard County.

Son of Mayo legend, Willie Joe, Padden has always had close links with Ulster Football having won a Sigerson All Star in 2004 when at Queens University. He has also had ties with Camlough in Armagh, Should Padden join the Orchard County he will become a useful member of Paddy O'Rourke's squad as they bid once more for a return to the 'glory days' when the National League starts next month. It would be a big blow to Mayo's newly appointed Manager James Horan. His transfer would require approval under Inter-county transfer rules.
Title: Re: Mayo Footballer Billy Joe Padden joining Armagh for 2011
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 10, 2011, 04:08:15 PM
Naomh Gall will be a tad disappointed.
Post by: The GAA on January 10, 2011, 04:40:38 PM

Any benefit in this for Armagh? none at all in my view.

Better off with a hungry 22 year old full of potentialin a panel than taking in mediocre panellists from other mediocre counties.
Post by: mattockranger on January 10, 2011, 05:39:41 PM
what is his close ties with that area?
Post by: Jimmy14 on January 10, 2011, 06:57:34 PM
Is he an asset on the pitch for Armagh??
Post by: ck on January 10, 2011, 07:50:02 PM
Quote from: Jimmy14 on January 10, 2011, 06:57:34 PM
Is he an asset on the pitch for Armagh??

I don't believe so. Mayo never quote found a position for him and he didnt make the panel over the last couple of years (at least I don't remember him playing). So why would Armagh want him?
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 10, 2011, 08:12:41 PM
Someone making or not making the Mayo panel doesn't mean much given the politics of that county. That Costello lad played a blinder for Sligo in Connaught last year and he couldn't get on the Mayo panel either. I'd say Padden is a decent enough footballer and maybe Armagh could get something out of him that Mayo couldn't
Post by: you take er! on January 10, 2011, 08:18:37 PM
Remains to be seen. I always found him to be a solid county footballer. coming with his background he will surely be some addition
Post by: Whitehair on January 10, 2011, 09:05:37 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 10, 2011, 05:39:41 PM
what is his close ties with that area?

He married a girl from the area that he met during his Queens days.
Post by: Orior on January 10, 2011, 09:25:05 PM
He actually married a bird from Lissummon outside Poyntzpass.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 10, 2011, 09:55:46 PM
It was widely expected that Billy Joe would move. Since he got married he was living in Newry, working in Kildare as a town planner and then travelling to play with Mayo - and often even further to play with his club, Belmullet, right in the north-west edge of the county. I doubt any other inter-county footballer was putting in a similar commitment.

As a player with Mayo Billy Joe often got a raw deal. He was best in the half-forward line but has played for Mayo at full-back, centre-half back, midfield, centre-half forward and full-forward - right up the spine of the team. Has a lot to offer Armagh, I wouldn't be so quick to knock him yet lads based on little enough information that some of ye have.

Best of luck to Billy Joe
Post by: lawnseed on January 10, 2011, 10:03:50 PM
every little helps
Post by: Orior on January 10, 2011, 10:17:20 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 10, 2011, 10:03:50 PM
every Little helps

Nah, Fermanagh can keep all theirs.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 10, 2011, 10:24:03 PM
Good piece here on BJP's ups and downs by our great blogger, Willie Joe (not his father though!)

http://mayogaablog.com/?p=2020
Post by: Hardy on January 10, 2011, 11:26:16 PM
Mayo never really understood what they Owed to Billy Joe.
Post by: Orangemac on January 10, 2011, 11:38:58 PM
I know there was talk of him joining my home club of Whitecross at 1 stage before he joined Carrickcruppen.

Definitely worth a go in the half forward line although I never remember him as a heavy scorer.

Change of scenery may do him good.
Post by: Don Johnson on January 10, 2011, 11:40:58 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on January 10, 2011, 11:38:58 PM
I know there was talk of him joining my home club of Whitecross at 1 stage before he joined Carrickcruppen.

Definitely worth a go in the half forward line although I never remember him as a heavy scorer.

He was brilliant for Queens in my fresher year (03-04) at full forward. Caused a lot of problems.

Always followed his career closely then after and like that blog says he never really got a fair crack at it. Shifted from pillar to post.
Post by: bloodybreakball on January 10, 2011, 11:46:01 PM
very composed classy footballer, will be very interestin to see wat way padden does. aaron kernan and padden in a3/4 line and yr cub grugan, mc donnell and clarke inside and ronan clarke on d mend! and midfielders comin out of there ears, definitely an addition and armagh will be very interestin d year
Post by: The GAA on January 11, 2011, 12:58:27 AM

Hard working grafter. Armagh's coming down with them. if himself and ak start in the h forward line this year armagh are in serious trouble
Post by: Tubberman on January 11, 2011, 08:35:49 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 10, 2011, 11:26:16 PM

Obviously not, because you'll have to explain it to me.
Obviously, as supporters we owe our gratitude to all the players. But is there something more that we owe to Billie Joe?
By the way, I am not trying to belittle his commitment or achievements, I have praised him on the Mayo pages.
Post by: ross4life on January 11, 2011, 08:44:03 AM
I suppose he always lived in his dads shadow in the eyes of Mayo fans be won't really have that at Armagh now

like a fresh start for him a good talent interesting to see how he does?
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2011, 09:47:37 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 11, 2011, 08:35:49 AM

I haven't time.

Five more acres in the lower forty I've got to plough.
It's a shame about Billy Joe anyhow.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on January 11, 2011, 10:15:08 AM
Quote from: bloodybreakball on January 10, 2011, 11:46:01 PM
very composed classy footballer, will be very interestin to see wat way padden does. aaron kernan and padden in a3/4 line and yr cub grugan, mc donnell and clarke inside and ronan clarke on d mend! and midfielders comin out of there ears, definitely an addition and armagh will be very interestin d year

Sorry, who are you talking about!!??
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2011, 10:15:49 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 11, 2011, 09:47:37 AM

I haven't time.

Good man Hardy. True art
Post by: naka on January 11, 2011, 02:39:44 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 10, 2011, 09:25:05 PM
He actually married a bird from Lissummon outside Poyntzpass.
i think you will find that the wife`s family are related to the great peter loughran`s family in camlough
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 11, 2011, 02:46:59 PM
All Official, from www.irishtimes.com:

Padden confirms switch to Armagh

GAA: Mayo footballer Billy Joe Padden has completed a shock switch to Armagh after completing a club transfer from his native Belmullet to Carrickcruppen.

Padden has already been in Armagh training with the extended senior county squad and is now in line to feature for the Orchard County in the National Football League as Paddy O'Rourke's side return to Division 1.

A son of Mayo legend Willie Joe, Padden won a Sigerson All Star in 2004 while attending Queen's University. The 29-year-old has played at full back, midfield and throughout the forward division for Mayo since making his debut in 2002, winning three Connacht titles and a National League title in that period.

He became a bit-part player under John O'Mahony, however, and his last appearance for Mayo came as a second-half substitute in their first-round championship defeat to Sligo last summer.

Padden used his Twitter page to thank all those involved during his time with Mayo. "I'm very grateful to all involved in Mayo football and your good wishes are much appreciated," he said.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 11, 2011, 02:52:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 11, 2011, 09:47:37 AM

I haven't time.

no flies on you hardy , jesus barley a thaw and your out with the 3 fir . i hope your giving the horse a break .
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 11, 2011, 05:10:09 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 11, 2011, 02:46:59 PM
All Official, from www.irishtimes.com:

Padden confirms switch to Armagh

GAA: Mayo footballer Billy Joe Padden has completed a shock switch to Armagh after completing a club transfer from his native Belmullet to Carrickcruppen.

Padden has already been in Armagh training with the extended senior county squad and is now in line to feature for the Orchard County in the National Football League as Paddy O'Rourke's side return to Division 1.

A son of Mayo legend Willie Joe, Padden won a Sigerson All Star in 2004 while attending Queen's University. The 29-year-old has played at full back, midfield and throughout the forward division for Mayo since making his debut in 2002, winning three Connacht titles and a National League title in that period.

He became a bit-part player under John O'Mahony, however, and his last appearance for Mayo came as a second-half substitute in their first-round championship defeat to Sligo last summer.

Padden used his Twitter page to thank all those involved during his time with Mayo. "I'm very grateful to all involved in Mayo football and your good wishes are much appreciated," he said.

Not that it matters but he came on as a sub against Longford after the Sligo game as well. Someone called him a decent grafter earlier and that is exactly how you would describe him. He never found his place in the Mayo team and I always felt he wasn't the type of player we needed because we had other similar 'grafters' who were a bit better at that task than him (Trevor Mort, Andy Moran etc.). He would be more suited to a team with a lot of flair players and natural scorers who need a bit of muscle to win ball and give them opportunities. I don't know enough about the Armagh team to know whether they could benefit from gaining Padden at present, but I wish him all the best for the future.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 11, 2011, 05:39:14 PM
Best of Luck to BJP with Armagh.
Post by: antoinse on January 11, 2011, 09:42:00 PM
Good luck Billie Joe. You are an underrated player and I hope your undoubted talents shine through in Armagh.
Post by: AlriteHorse on January 11, 2011, 11:50:14 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on January 10, 2011, 11:40:58 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on January 10, 2011, 11:38:58 PM

He was brilliant for Queens in my fresher year (03-04) at full forward. Caused a lot of problems.

Always followed his career closely then after and like that blog says he never really got a fair crack at it. Shifted from pillar to post.

100% sure he was midfield with Dick Clerkin that year. Aidan Fegan was Full Forward. (Unless you got your year mixed up is BJP was def not a Fresher in 03-04.)
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 13, 2011, 10:04:35 AM
I could never understand why he didnt get a better run with mayo - prob is due to politcs etc or that managers didnt rate him or expected more out of him - was he a highly touted star underage player - I think I recall. So maybe he didnt live up to the billing.

either way I think the lad can play as a third midfielder or chf or even wing half forward.  agood man to winn ball and tries to use it intelligently. Didnt help that he seemed to have lame brains or imo prima donnas in the mayo team in front of him - on a different wavelength.
Maybe thats unfair and the management failed to impose their will on how they wanted the team to play , leaving players uncertain and thus play disjointed.

If he is 100 % committed he could be a huge asset to the buckfast county !!
best of luck to him
Post by: macdanger2 on January 13, 2011, 06:53:41 PM
Yeah, he never really got a great go of it in Mayo, probably suffered a but from "Rory Delap" syndrome in that he was considered to be a utility man rather than a specialist in any position.

One of the few Mayo men to emerge from the 2006 AIF debacle with any credit, he got very little game time after that.

A loss to Mayo and a huge loss to a small club like Belmullet. Hope he gets on well in Armagh
Post by: mattockranger on January 16, 2011, 04:52:35 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com/id/481518/ (http://www.sportsfile.com/id/481518/)

looking good in Orange!!!

how did he get on??
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 16, 2011, 05:14:16 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 16, 2011, 04:52:35 PM

how did he get on??

Looks like he's cultivating a nice mullet there.
Post by: pearseog on January 16, 2011, 06:45:26 PM
armagh were 5 or 6 down when he came on and he defintely played a part in the comeback, done the simple things well and added a presence in the midfield sector
Post by: Schofield on January 17, 2011, 01:09:29 AM
Good player, Very solid, can only be a benefit to any county team wether he starts or not
Post by: Schofield on January 17, 2011, 01:10:19 AM
Not sure about the hair tho!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 17, 2011, 01:16:32 AM
Quote from: Schofield on January 17, 2011, 01:10:19 AM
Not sure about the hair tho!

You can take the man out of Mayo...
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 10:03:56 AM
Pot kettle black! ;)

(http://www.gaa.ie/content/images/news/galway/ArmstrongSean_100309113131.jpg)
(http://img.rasset.ie/00017bf3189.jpg)
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF486/347179.jpg)
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 10:04:40 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 10:03:56 AM
Pot kettle black! ;)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF605/438447.jpg)
Post by: 5 Sams on January 17, 2011, 10:36:58 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 16, 2011, 05:14:16 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 16, 2011, 04:52:35 PM

how did he get on??

Looks like he's cultivating a nice mullet there.

In fairness he's only keeping up a family tradition ;)

(http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2010/10/Willie-Joe-Padden-300x400.jpg)

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 17, 2011, 12:10:24 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 10:03:56 AM
Pot kettle black! ;)

None of those are mullets though. Just longish hair.

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 17, 2011, 12:32:04 PM
I'd take a mullet any day ahead of poor oul Mattie Clancy's bowl hairdo!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 17, 2011, 01:58:37 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 17, 2011, 12:32:04 PM

I think he was inspired by Colm Parkinson.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 03:37:59 PM
Any match reports from the Armagh game at the weekend?
Post by: muppet on January 17, 2011, 03:46:37 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 17, 2011, 01:58:37 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 17, 2011, 12:32:04 PM

I think he was inspired by Colm Parkinson.

At least someone was.