Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: bloodybreakball on January 10, 2011, 12:04:29 AM

Title: mc ginn and lennon
Post by: bloodybreakball on January 10, 2011, 12:04:29 AM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12146316

ejjits probably done ir, but a pile of balls all d same, i reckon niall and neil lennon recieved support and opportunities in northern ireland youth set-up which is maybe why dey play fr n. ireland, i wouldnt personally bt can understand their position. on ability surely mc ginn would bring something to d republics team
Title: Re: mc ginn and lennon
Post by: screenexile on January 10, 2011, 12:06:37 AM
Fuckin learn how to spell will you!!!
Post by: new devil on January 10, 2011, 01:33:11 AM
 :D :D :D
Post by: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 09:26:21 AM
i don't know what breakball was trying to say but it's disgusting and i would say the same if it was sent to a rangers player. Has no place in any walk of life never mind sport. Paddy McCourt might feel a bit left out though  :P
Post by: AZOffaly on January 10, 2011, 09:49:15 AM
I have a question about this. I understand the symbolism etc, of a bullet through the post, but why were all the news media today saying the same thing?

'Thankfully the packages were intercepted before reaching their targets'?

I doubt if a bullet delivered by a postman would cause much physical harm, although the psychological element of it would obviously be scary. However, if that is the case why broadcast it on the news? You're not exactly protecting the lads from the knowledge that someone sent them a bullet in the post.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 10, 2011, 09:54:17 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 10, 2011, 09:49:15 AM
I have a question about this. I understand the symbolism etc, of a bullet through the post, but why were all the news media today saying the same thing?

I doubt if a bullet delivered by a postman would cause much physical harm, although the psychological element of it would obviously be scary. However, if that is the case why broadcast it on the news? You're not exactly protecting the lads from the knowledge that someone sent them a bullet in the post.

(http://www.tactical-life.com/online/wp-content/uploads/2008/11/bullet.gif)

You're next :P 
Post by: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 09:56:24 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 10, 2011, 09:49:15 AM

I know what your saying AZ but I would suspect the police would have to inform the 2 lads that bullets were intercepted on route to them, I know i would want to know if they had been sent, therefore they already know so why not make it public, it's the sort of neolithic behaviour from OWC fans that needs highlighted, especially against their failing 'football for all' programme.

The fact is and remains, NI FC is exactly that, a football club, not a country and you choose to support it, nationalists (the majority anyway) still can't and won't and will support RoI....
Post by: AZOffaly on January 10, 2011, 10:00:38 AM
Were they sent by NI fans? I never heard that. I assumed it was Rangers fans.

I understand what you're saying, I just found the choice of words by *all* the media I heard strange. Why is it thankful that the bullets were intercepted? They made it sound like someone threw themselves in front of the envelopes.
Post by: ziggysego on January 10, 2011, 10:03:29 AM
AZ, you'll be a long time looking for logic and sense, from the people behind this.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 10, 2011, 10:05:10 AM
ziggy. I know that. I'm more interested in the logic and sense behind the media reporting. It's almost as if there was a wish to sensationalise the incident. Perish the thought.
Post by: ziggysego on January 10, 2011, 10:06:41 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 10, 2011, 10:05:10 AM
ziggy. I know that. I'm more interested in the logic and sense behind the media reporting. It's almost as if there was a wish to sensationalise the incident. Perish the thought.

Simple, sells papers.
Post by: Orior on January 10, 2011, 10:23:26 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 09:26:21 AM
i don't know what breakball was trying to say but it's disgusting and i would say the same if it was sent to a rangers player. Has no place in any walk of life never mind sport. Paddy McCourt might feel a bit left out though  :P

Perhaps they think Paddy McCourt does more damage to OWC when he is on the first eleven, lol
Post by: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 10:29:05 AM
Quote from: Orior on January 10, 2011, 10:23:26 AM

Perhaps they think Paddy McCourt does more damage to OWC when he is on the first eleven, lol

That's the new appraisal for nationalists playing for owc, if you have a stinker you don't get a bullet in the post  :D
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 10, 2011, 11:29:44 AM
anyone else sad that big fearon didnt start this thread??
Post by: Evil Genius on January 10, 2011, 11:36:12 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 09:56:24 AMit's the sort of neolithic behaviour from OWC fans that needs highlighted, especially against their failing 'football for all' programme.
Seven posts in?

I suppose we should hail that as "progress" of sorts, since I had guessed it would only take 2 or 3 before someone came up with that sort of garbage.

Still, since you seem to know something of the identity of the perpetrators of this vile act, can you further enlighten this lifelong OWC fan as to why some of my fellow fans should want to threaten Niall McGinn? For from my own personal experience, I have always observed him to be amongst the most popular players in the entire team, cheered every time he takes the pitch in our colours.

As recently as October, Niall was quoted as follows:
"Anytime I have come on at Windsor Park I have enjoyed it and the fans have been great as well. I just love playing at Windsor Park and I just have to make the most of any opportunity that I might get."
Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/niall-mcginn-desperate-to-play-part-in-northern-irelands-doubleheader-14969688.html#ixzz1Ad4IDVm7

Similarly, can you explain why NI fans should threaten one Celtic manager from NI (Neil Lennon), whilst consistently wishing that another Celtic manager from NI (Martin O'Neill) might some day get the NI job?

And as has been pointed out elsewhere, why was Paddy McCourt also not targeted, if NI fans have it in for anyone to do with Celtic?

Speaking as someone who doubtless has more insight than you into the thinking of NI football fans specifically and the NI Unionist community generally, I suspect it is not coincidence that this occurred a couple of days after Celtic beat Rangers in an Old firm game. And from what I know of the most rabid of Rangers fans in NI (i.e. the type who might do such a thing), they often don't even follow the NI team, what with it playing in green and white and being "full of Fenians and Celts" etc.

Therefore whoever did this is no part of us (i.e. NI fans). Rather when they do this, they are actually attacking a part of us (i.e. our past and present players).

Meanwhile, the mindset of those casual observers like you, who immediately jump to offensive and bigoted conclusions when ascribing blame etc, is hardly much more advanced than that of the "neolithic" vermin who made the threats in the first place... ::)
Post by: Evil Genius on January 10, 2011, 11:51:09 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 10:29:05 AM

That's the new appraisal for nationalists playing for owc, if you have a stinker you don't get a bullet in the post  :D
And if you knew anything about it, you'd know that Paddy McCourt was NI's best player in his most recent appearance (friendly draw v Morocco).

Which is why the concensus is that he should now be given a place in the starting XI for our forthcoming competitive games, rather than just a place on the bench (or even left out entirely).

Still, I suppose we should put your comment down to "just a bit of craic", on a par with the likes of this:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CELTIC-KEYRING-PADDY-McCOURT-FENIAN-ARMY-NEIL-LENNON-/180586112231
Post by: stibhan on January 10, 2011, 12:10:54 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 10, 2011, 11:51:09 AM

And if you knew anything about it, you'd know that Paddy McCourt was NI's best player in his most recent appearance (friendly draw v Morocco).

Which is why the concensus is that he should now be given a place in the starting XI for our forthcoming competitive games, rather than just a place on the bench (or even left out entirely).

Still, I suppose we should put your comment down to "just a bit of craic", on a par with the likes of this:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CELTIC-KEYRING-PADDY-McCOURT-FENIAN-ARMY-NEIL-LENNON-/180586112231

I'm not sure what you're trying to place 'on a par with', but I'd prefer being sent a UVF keyring than a bullet in the post anyday.
Post by: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 12:32:30 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 10, 2011, 11:36:12 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 09:56:24 AMit's the sort of neolithic behaviour from OWC fans that needs highlighted, especially against their failing 'football for all' programme.
Seven posts in?

I suppose we should hail that as "progress" of sorts, since I had guessed it would only take 2 or 3 before someone came up with that sort of garbage.

Still, since you seem to know something of the identity of the perpetrators of this vile act, can you further enlighten this lifelong OWC fan as to why some of my fellow fans should want to threaten Niall McGinn? For from my own personal experience, I have always observed him to be amongst the most popular players in the entire team, cheered every time he takes the pitch in our colours.

"Anytime I have come on at Windsor Park I have enjoyed it and the fans have been great as well. I just love playing at Windsor Park and I just have to make the most of any opportunity that I might get."
Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/niall-mcginn-desperate-to-play-part-in-northern-irelands-doubleheader-14969688.html#ixzz1Ad4IDVm7

Similarly, can you explain why NI fans should threaten one Celtic manager from NI (Neil Lennon), whilst consistently wishing that another Celtic manager from NI (Martin O'Neill) might some day get the NI job?

And as has been pointed out elsewhere, why was Paddy McCourt also not targeted, if NI fans have it in for anyone to do with Celtic?

Speaking as someone who doubtless has more insight than you into the thinking of NI football fans specifically and the NI Unionist community generally, I suspect it is not coincidence that this occurred a couple of days after Celtic beat Rangers in an Old firm game. And from what I know of the most rabid of Rangers fans in NI (i.e. the type who might do such a thing), they often don't even follow the NI team, what with it playing in green and white and being "full of Fenians and Celts" etc.

Therefore whoever did this is no part of us (i.e. NI fans). Rather when they do this, they are actually attacking a part of us (i.e. our past and present players).

Meanwhile, the mindset of those casual observers like you, who immediately jump to offensive and bigoted conclusions when ascribing blame etc, is hardly much more advanced than that of the "neolithic" vermin who made the threats in the first place... ::)

I'll tell you what would be progress, you coming out and saying whoever did this was wrong, no if's but's, what about's, just say you roundly condemn the perpetrators and are disgusted by their actions. But no, that would take away from your petty point scoring exercise.

You really are a sad sad excuse for a football fan. Explain why my post is garbage, it came from a 'rangers fan' based in NI. It doesn't take an FBI profiler to work out he also supports (and i use the term loosely) OWC.

I'll tell you why they want O'Neill, because he's a very good manager and might actually improve their statelet's representatives, surely that concept isn't too difficult for you to understand. Good lad, try and keep up

and because you obviously can't read, it was me who pointed out about mccourt, no go crawl back under whatever 17th century rock you were sleeping under  :-*
Post by: BennyHarp on January 10, 2011, 12:39:30 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 12:32:30 PM
Seven posts in?

I'll tell you what would be progress, you coming out and saying whoever did this was wrong, no if's but's, what about's, just say you roundly condemn the perpetrators and are disgusted by their actions. But no, that would take away from your petty point scoring exercise.

You really are a sad sad excuse for a football fan. Explain why my post is garbage, it came from a 'rangers fan' based in NI. It doesn't take an FBI profiler to work out he also supports (and i use the term loosely) OWC.

I'll tell you why they want O'Neill, because he's a very good manager and might actually improve their statelet's representatives, surely that concept isn't too difficult for you to understand. Good lad, try and keep up

and because you obviously can't read, it was me who pointed out about mccourt, no go crawl back under whatever 17th century rock you were sleeping under  :-*

I thought the post from Evil Genius was a pretty fair assessment of the situation to be honest!
Post by: Franko on January 10, 2011, 12:53:38 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on January 10, 2011, 12:39:30 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 12:32:30 PM
Seven posts in?

I thought the post from Evil Genius was a pretty fair assessment of the situation to be honest!

I also thought he wasn't too far off the mark until he brought up the keyring.   At that point it became another pathetic point scoring exercise.
Post by: ziggysego on January 10, 2011, 12:56:55 PM
Quote from: Franko on January 10, 2011, 12:53:38 PM
I also thought he wasn't too far off the mark until he brought up the keyring.   At that point it became another pathetic point scoring exercise.

Post by: Myles Na G. on January 10, 2011, 01:25:13 PM
'I'll tell you what would be progress, you coming out and saying whoever did this was wrong, no if's but's, what about's, just say you roundly condemn the perpetrators and are disgusted by their actions.'

This might be a wild stab in the dark here, but I'm thinking that EG's use of the term 'neolithic vermin' tells you what he thinks of the perpetrators.  ;)
Post by: Evil Genius on January 10, 2011, 02:02:30 PM
Quote from: stibhan on January 10, 2011, 12:10:54 PM

I'm not sure what you're trying to place 'on a par with', but I'd prefer being sent a UVF keyring than a bullet in the post anyday.
The point of my post was twofold:
1. That with his wee smilie etc, Bananaman seemed to think his comment on Paddy McC was "humourous", just like eg the designer of the Paddy McC keyring (presumably) thinks himself funny.
At the risk of appearing po-faced, I personally don't see either as being funny. Nor would Paddy, I suspect.
2. Far from having a "stinker", Paddy was actually rather excellent in his last appearance for NI.
Which only goes to show that Bananaman knows as much about NI's players as he does about our fans.

P.S. I'd much prefer the keyring to the bullet, too.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 10, 2011, 02:05:08 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 10, 2011, 02:02:30 PM
Quote from: stibhan on January 10, 2011, 12:10:54 PM

The point of my post was twofold:
1. That with his wee smilie etc, Bananaman seemed to think his comment on Paddy McC was "humourous", just like eg the designer of the Paddy McC keyring (presumably) thinks himself funny.
At the risk of appearing po-faced, I personally don't see either as being funny. Nor would Paddy, I suspect.
2. Far from having a "stinker", Paddy was actually rather excellent in his last appearance for NI.
Which only goes to show that Bananaman knows as much about NI's players as he does about our fans.

P.S. I'd much prefer the keyring to the bullet, too.

I'd prefer either of them to the Gas bill I got in the post this morning
Post by: Evil Genius on January 10, 2011, 02:51:51 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 12:32:30 PMI'll tell you what would be progress, you coming out and saying whoever did this was wrong, no if's but's, what about's, just say you roundly condemn the perpetrators and are disgusted by their actions. But no, that would take away from your petty point scoring exercise.
I had hoped that describing the threats as a "vile act" would have made my position on this crystal clear. Or when I posted the following:
"Therefore whoever did this is no part of us (i.e. NI fans). Rather when they do this, they are actually attacking a part of us (i.e. our past and present players)".
But just so as there be no confusion on your part, I am more than happy to state that this was "wrong, no ifs [or] buts", to "roundly condemn the perpertrators" and agree that their actions are "disgusting".
In fact, I will gladly go further and state that any decent person who knows anything about who did this should immediately inform the PSNI, so that the verminous thugs may be locked up for a long, long time.
Indeed, I would wholeheartedly apply the same sentiments to the cnuts who eg attacked a GAA club in Portglenone at the weekend.

Quote from: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 12:32:30 PMYou really are a sad sad excuse for a football fan. Explain why my post is garbage, it came from a 'rangers fan' based in NI. It doesn't take an FBI profiler to work out he also supports (and i use the term loosely) OWC.
I have already pointed out that Niall is universally liked and appreciated by the NI fans, as the player himself confirms.
Therefore why would any fan cheer him at Windsor one minute, then threaten him the next?
Whereas it is equally well known that there is a strand amongst extreme "Loyalism" which refuses to support the NI team because they are "too Fenian"/"not British enough".
Which fcukwittery explains why, for instance, Johnny Adair has been seen wearing an England football top, or Billy Hutchinson said he wanted England to win, even when they played NI (2005).
Such scumbags are invariably also Rangers fans, hence my suspicion that it is not coincidental that these threats followed immediately after an Old Firm game, rather than an NI game.

Quote from: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 12:32:30 PMI'll tell you why they want O'Neill, because he's a very good manager and might actually improve their statelet's representatives, surely that concept isn't too difficult for you to understand. Good lad, try and keep up
So NI fans are prepared to overlook MON's Celtic links because he would make an excellent NI manager, but are not prepared to overlook Niall's links, despite the fact that he is an excellent NI winger?
And were prepared to overlook Paddy Mccourt entirely (other than calling for him to get in the team against Morocco, despite his not actually having done much for NI previously)?
Yeah, that figures... ::)

Quote from: Banana Man on January 10, 2011, 12:32:30 PMand because you obviously can't read, it was me who pointed out about mccourt, no go crawl back under whatever 17th century rock you were sleeping under  :-*
The original post referred only to Lennon and McGinn. I replied with reference to them only in my post #14.
In the meantime, you brought up the subject of Paddy McCourt. I replied to that separately (in my post #15).

P.S. All the rocks near me considerably pre-date the 17th Century, by several million years in fact.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 10, 2011, 03:58:27 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 10, 2011, 12:56:55 PM
Quote from: Franko on January 10, 2011, 12:53:38 PM

Actually, i didnt even notice it was him that posted about the keyring - i didnt look whose name it was and probably thought that nobody was likely to post twice in a row on a thread! What a pity - just when i thought a reasonably sensible post had been made!
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 10, 2011, 04:17:21 PM
what a load of oul twaddle, debating over who is more angered, fcuk sake!
It was a couple of brain dead neanderthals (or one  ;))who posted the bullets, just shows you them nosey hoors at Royal Mail are always sneaking round our post!
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 10, 2011, 09:07:04 PM
Whats all the arguing about here. Everyone is agreed - some inbred scumbags posted bullets to NI footballers because they are catholic and/or play for Celtic. Not sure what the debate is about?
Post by: Orior on January 10, 2011, 09:23:39 PM
There is an article in today's Belfast Telegraph about Lennon which clearly shows that the campaign again Neill was more than a couple of blokes with 10 pence pieces.

The paper lists many examples from the six counties, Scotland and even Norway when the entire set of OWC fans booed him. Others include effigies on bonfires, hangman painted on walls, being driven off the road and insults to girlfriends.

Maybe Evil Genius can can explain how a small number of bad apples can get around so much?
Post by: The Worker on January 10, 2011, 09:31:03 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 10, 2011, 09:23:39 PM
There is an article in today's Belfast Telegraph about Lennon which clearly shows that the campaign again Neill was more than a couple of blokes with 10 pence pieces.

The paper lists many examples from the six counties, Scotland and even Norway when the entire set of OWC fans booed him. Others include effigies on bonfires, hangman painted on walls, being driven off the road and insults to girlfriends.

Maybe Evil Genius can can explain how a small number of bad apples can get around so much?

Dont forget to mention Holly, aged 8, from kent!
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2011, 09:01:51 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 10, 2011, 02:51:51 PM
Whereas it is equally well known that there is a strand amongst extreme "Loyalism" which refuses to support the NI team because they are "too Fenian"/"not British enough".
Which fcukwittery explains why, for instance, Johnny Adair has been seen wearing an England football top, or Billy Hutchinson said he wanted England to win, even when they played NI (2005).
Such scumbags are invariably also Rangers fans, hence my suspicion that it is not coincidental that these threats followed immediately after an Old Firm game, rather than an NI game.

I, along with many others on this, am not as au fait with the nuances of the various strands of extreme loyalism / unionist paramilitarism as you appear to be. So for people like me could you distinguish between PUP man Billy Hutchinson's strand and that of PUP man Winston Churchill "Winkie" Rea. You know, the same Winston Churchill "Winkie" Rea, head honcho of the 1st Shankill Northern Ireland Supporters Club.

Could you also explain why Billy Hutchinson has no problem supporting a club that is becoming increasingly "Fenian"?

Despite what you may suggest, there is evidence that many hardline Loyalists do in fact support NI. For every example of an English supporter, I can you give an example of a former Northern Ireland supporter who has stopped attending matches because of the behaviour of such sections of the support. To extrapolate, I can also give at least one example of a moderate OD NI supporter who stopped posting on owc because of the direction it was taking.

However, assuming you are correct about this strand of extreme loyalism, surely that makes some of the actions at Windsor even  more galling, given that it must have been the ordinary fan, rather than the loyalist bigot who was responsible.

Could you also, for the record, post here the results of the poll on owc entitled "Which mainland (sic) team do you support?"

Oh, and personally, I blame Rangers fans for the bullets. Never entered my mind it was NI fans.
Post by: Main Street on January 11, 2011, 01:30:29 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2011, 09:01:51 AM
Oh, and personally, I blame Rangers fans for the bullets. Never entered my mind it was NI fans.
In the complete absence of evidence, you can blame Ranger's fans?
Surely you mean your best guess would be that the culprits are NI born Ranger's fans?
And who knows what else they may support.

Post by: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2011, 02:50:35 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 11, 2011, 01:30:29 PM
In the complete absence of evidence, you can blame Ranger's fans?
Surely you mean your best guess would be that the culprits are NI born Ranger's fans?
And who knows what else they may support.

Yip, that's exactly who I'm blaming.

(http://www.filmbuffonline.com/FBOLNewsreel/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/RangerSmith.jpg)
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 11, 2011, 06:41:37 PM

Maybe you can explain why you misquote and spin facts to make your argument?
http://www.board67.com/celtic-related/11978-neil-lennon-celtic-core.html
a 'section of the NI support in Norway' has become the entire set in your post, while you seem to blame NI fans for driving Lennon off the road even though the incident took place in Scotland! And I don't doubt the 'insults to girlfriend happened in Scotland too, since that's where he was living at the time. But sure. Don't let the facts spoil a good oul' bigoted rant.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 11, 2011, 07:50:49 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 10, 2011, 02:51:51 PM

I, along with many others on this, am not as au fait with the nuances of the various strands of extreme loyalism / unionist paramilitarism as you appear to be. So for people like me could you distinguish between PUP man Billy Hutchinson's strand and that of PUP man Winston Churchill "Winkie" Rea. You know, the same Winston Churchill "Winkie" Rea, head honcho of the 1st Shankill Northern Ireland Supporters Club.
Hutchinson is a "Loyalist" [sic]  who declines to support NI, apparently because they are "insufficiently British" (whatever that means). Rea is a "Loyalist" who supports NI - presumably they are  sufficiently "British" for him.
You would need to ask them to explain this contradiction, not me, since I haven't the foggiest.
I support the NI team because that's where I was born and brought up.

Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2011, 09:01:51 AMCould you also explain why Billy Hutchinson has no problem supporting a club that is becoming increasingly "Fenian"?
Er, because he's a d**khead? It's a bit like asking a Shinner like Martin McGuinness why he has no problem administering British Rule in Ireland.
That is, in my experience, political extremists of their kind rarely feel the need to employ Logic and Reasoning when forming their view of the world.

Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2011, 09:01:51 AMDespite what you may suggest, there is evidence that many hardline Loyalists do in fact support NI. For every example of an English supporter, I can you give an example of a former Northern Ireland supporter who has stopped attending matches because of the behaviour of such sections of the support. To extrapolate, I can also give at least one example of a moderate OD NI supporter who stopped posting on owc because of the direction it was taking.
Nowhere have I suggested that no hardline NI Loyalist supports NI: some do, some don't.
In fact, if you re-read the quotation of mine which you used, you will see that I said that there is a strand amongst NI Loyalists who support England.
And with regard to these, I think it's safe to assume that many/most of these will have chosen Rangers as their club side to support, whether actively, or "in spirit".
Therefore considering this latest threat to the two Celtic guys followed an OF game, rather than an NI game, my suspicion is that it is the Rangers connection which prompted this, not the NI one - especially since McGinn is so hugely popular amongst every NI fan I've ever encountered.

Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2011, 09:01:51 AMHowever, assuming you are correct about this strand of extreme loyalism, surely that makes some of the actions at Windsor even more galling, given that it must have been the ordinary fan, rather than the loyalist bigot who was responsible.
Not at all.
By "events", I assume you are referring to eg the booing of Neil Lennon at the Norway game. I wasn't at that particular game, but my brother was. He reported that it was not every NI fan who did so, nor even a majority. Rather it was a faction, almost all standing in a group on the Kop, who were 90% responsible. I believe those to have been Linfield/Rangers fans who turned up especially for this game, since it was NL's first at home after joining Celtic.
I believe this for two reasons.
First, a Kop ever-present I know tells me he didn't recognise them as fellow regulars.
Second, I did attend NL's next home game a month later (v Czechs) and not only where the "boo-boys" totally absent, but NL was cheered every time he touched the ball (not that minor details like that ever get reported).

Then again, as a follower of football in Belfast, you will be aware of the phenomenon of football crowds at certain games suddenly being boosted due to reasons which are not entirely to do with the actual football. For example, Donegal Celtic, who normally play before "two men and a dog", once took a "support" which was well into 4 figures to a game against Linfield at WP in the 90's, with the LFC support being similarly inflated.
The fact that there was severe trouble at the game, and afterwards in the city, is hardly coincidental.

Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2011, 09:01:51 AMCould you also, for the record, post here the results of the poll on owc entitled "Which mainland (sic) team do you support?
I suppose I could - if I were arsed, and I could see the relevance.
But seeing as you brought it up, why don't you  post it and explain how it supports whatever it is you are trying to say.
Then I might reply with my own analysis.
If I could be arsed.

Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 11, 2011, 09:01:51 AMOh, and personally, I blame Rangers fans for the bullets. Never entered my mind it was NI fans.
No, but Banana Brain basically said it was (post #6), which is the point to which I was replying on this thread, when you intervened.
Post by: red hander on January 11, 2011, 09:00:59 PM
Radio Foyle reporting a bullet was also found in an envelope addressed to Paddy McCourt
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 11, 2011, 09:14:17 PM
It must have been posted across the border! Snail mail!
Post by: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 09:13:47 AM
Evil tribal mates must have realised they had forgot about McCourt until we highlighted it. Scumbags and yes EG I said it was NI Fans, again any amateur profiler could work that one out, even you if you removed the blinkers.

I suppose this is the loyalist version of decommissioning, by posting out all their ammo over a period of time, that's about as much as their limited scope of brainwork could process
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 12, 2011, 09:30:46 AM
The Story

Celtic and Rangers were playing the last match of the season and the winners would become champions of the Scottish League. A rather small and thin Rangers supporter got confused on his way into the stadium and ended up standing in the Celtic part of the ground. This was very bad news for the poor wee man and he quickly took off his Rangers scarf and stood there trying to look even smaller and being very afraid.
The match kicked off and within minutes Rangers scored the first goal. The little chap wanted to cheer but common sense told him to keep quiet because he was now surrounded by rather bad tempered Celtic supporters. But luck was not with him that day because he realised he had made yet another very stupid mistake. Though he had removed his scarf, he had forgotten to take off his blue and white woolly bobble hat. So there he stood in a sea of green and white looking very conspicuous and feeling terrified for his life.

Not long after the goal was scored a very large, hairy hand appeared from behind and tapped him on the shoulder. He turned round and there behind him stood two gorillas dressed in green and white. The blood drained from his face, he stood like a condemned man. Then a deep voice spoke to him in a broad Glasgow accent.
'Hey you! Go and get me a Bovril!' it said.
He had no choice but to obey, his very life was at stake. The gorilla spoke again.
'And before ye go, leave your shoe here!'
So he meekly took of his shoe, left it on the ground and disappeared off to get a Bovril.
When he returned he handed the drink to the gorilla and looked down to find his shoe. To his horror he discovered that while he was away one of the gorillas had taken an enormous crap in his shoe.
'Put it on!' a voice from behind commanded. Wanting to go on living, he had no choice and reluctantly put his foot back into the shoe. He stood wearing the foul shoe, thinking this was not the best day in his life and things just could not get any worse. Then the voice of the other gorilla spoke from behind.
'Hey you, wee smelly man! Go and get me a Bovril, and leave your other shoe here!'
Again, the poor man had to do what he was told if he wanted to go on living. He squelched off on his one shoe to complete his errand. When he returned with the drink he was not surprised to see that the other shoe now contained a large, stinking deposit.
'Put it on!' came the command from behind.
The unfortunate man had to stand in his shoes for the rest of the match. The smell was so bad by the end that the crowd moved away and he had quite a large space to himself.
After what seemed like a lifetime the final whistle blew and he was free to leave the ground. Off he squelched, sliding around in his shoes, followed by a large cloud of buzzing flies now.
As he walked or slid down the road from the stadium he came upon a BBC outside broadcast van. A reporter in sheepskin coat approached him and wrinkled his nose in disgust as he got near.
'Excuse me sir (god, what a stink), we're doing a report on hatred and violence between Celtic and Rangers fans.'
He put his microphone to the small man's face.
'I wonder if you have any comments'.
The small man grabbed the microphone and said.
'Yes I certainly have. There will always be trouble in this city, so long as they are shitting in our shoes and we are pissing in their Bovril!'

Post by: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 10:47:55 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 09:13:47 AMEvil tribal mates must have realised they had forgot about McCourt until we highlighted it. Scumbags and yes EG I said it was NI Fans, again any amateur profiler could work that one out, even you if you removed the blinkers.
Niall is one of the most popular and effective players in the NI team. Paddy was widely praised for his performance in our last home friendly, with the fans urging that he start our next competitive game.

Therefore as an "amateur profiler", can you explain why those self-same fans would threaten the two players and weaken the team?

Long experience has shown that the types of low-life who do such things do not (ahem) discriminate when it comes to choosing the targets for their hatred. In that respect, they are hardly dissimilar to you, when they immediately jump to conclusions, and tar every member of a widely divergent group or population with exactly the same brush.

"Anytime I have come on at Windsor Park I have enjoyed it and the fans have been great as well. I just love playing at Windsor Park and I just have to make the most of any opportunity that I might get." - Niall McGinn, 07/10/10

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/niall-mcginn-desperate-to-play-part-in-northern-irelands-doubleheader-14969688.html
Post by: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 10:53:01 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 10:47:55 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 09:13:47 AMEvil tribal mates must have realised they had forgot about McCourt until we highlighted it. Scumbags and yes EG I said it was NI Fans, again any amateur profiler could work that one out, even you if you removed the blinkers.
Niall is one of the most popular and effective players in the NI team. Paddy was widely praised for his performance in our last home friendly, with the fans urging that he start our next competitive game.

Therefore as an "amateur profiler", can you explain why those self-same fans would threaten the two players and weaken the team?

Long experience has shown that the types of low-life who do such things do not (ahem) discriminate when it comes to choosing the targets for their hatred. In that respect, they are hardly dissimilar to you, when they immediately jump to conclusions, and tar every member of a widely divergent group or population with exactly the same brush.

"Anytime I have come on at Windsor Park I have enjoyed it and the fans have been great as well. I just love playing at Windsor Park and I just have to make the most of any opportunity that I might get." - Niall McGinn, 07/10/10

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/niall-mcginn-desperate-to-play-part-in-northern-irelands-doubleheader-14969688.html

hardly dissimilar to me??? Are you for real  :o

they send bullets in the post, I derive what probable community they are from based on postal marks and demographic profiling and you dare to compare me to these scumbags. You really are showing yourself up to be an A1 bigot. No further comments your honour.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 01:25:48 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 10:53:01 AM

they send bullets in the post, I derive what probable community they are from based on postal marks and demographic profiling and you dare to compare me to these scumbags. You really are showing yourself up to be an A1 bigot. No further comments your honour.
No, you did NOT derive which "community" they came from, you clearly ascribed this despicable action to fans of the NI football team, who come from both "communities".

As I have said before, I have little doubt that the person(s) who did this would describe himself as a "Loyalist " -  the proximity of the Old Firm game is too much of a coincidence for me.

But I do not believe that any fan of the NI football team would threaten two of our most popular and best players, thereby weakening the team - a point that you have conspicuously ignored.

Instead, you jumped in to make an offensive and bigoted allegation against the likes of me and my fellow NI fans, even in the face of all evidence and logic, simply because such a tactic fits in with your previously demonstrated prejudice.

And whilst making such accusations on the internet cannot compare with eg sending bullets by post (obviously), nonetheless it is my contention that the prejudice behind both such mindsets is essentially no different in nature, only in extent.

If you had the self-awareness to recognise this (or is it the integrity to admit it?), then I would hope you should be embarrassed.

But I won't be holding my breath... 
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 01:43:23 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 01:25:48 PM

No, you did NOT derive which "community" they came from, you clearly ascribed this despicable action to fans of the NI football team, who come from both "communities".

As I have said before, I have little doubt that the person(s) who did this would describe himself as a "Loyalist " -  the proximity of the Old Firm game is too much of a coincidence for me.

But I do not believe that any fan of the NI football team would threaten two of our most popular and best players, thereby weakening the team - a point that you have conspicuously ignored.

Instead, you jumped in to make an offensive and bigoted allegation against the likes of me and my fellow NI fans, even in the face of all evidence and logic, simply because such a tactic fits in with your previously demonstrated prejudice.

And whilst making such accusations on the internet cannot compare with eg sending bullets by post (obviously), nonetheless it is my contention that the prejudice behind both such mindsets is essentially no different in nature, only in extent.

If you had the self-awareness to recognise this (or is it the integrity to admit it?), then I would hope you should be embarrassed.

whatever about the rest of your argument - I can see that you and others hold different perspectives on it, I have to say that mcginn and mccourt are not exactly regulars on the ni soccer starting XI.
As well as that you ask about why ni fans would have a go at their own ...well they have been doing it since the days of Johnny Crossan (and before most likely - late 60's) and Johnny wasnt a Celtic player.
Finally, you cant really claim that the ni soccer team derives fans from both sides, there may be a few Irish/catholics/nationalists etc - but jeez this can hardly be more than a handful??
though maybe based on the overall amount of numbers this may be a significant percentage (not taking the p**s)
Post by: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 02:05:46 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 01:25:48 PM

it's like trying to talk to a child. I'll repeat for you, I derived like any profiler would what cmmunity they would come from, now out of a choice of two it isn't too hard, I reckon even you could calculate that one out. I stand over my presumption too that they are NI fans, you only have to scan your eye around the crowd at a NI match to see the rangers tops and emblems.

As saffron sam said the largest support of a club team among NI fans is that of Glasgow rangers and if you cannot allude to that point then it is you who will be the one who is embarrassing yourself my little friend.

Also the fans of NI soccer team are almost exclusively from the loyalist side, so you can park up that 'both communities' crap striaght away.

Best players??? then why does little englander worthington continually ignore them?
Post by: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 04:13:18 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 02:05:46 PMI'll repeat for you, I derived like any profiler would what cmmunity they would come from, now out of a choice of two it isn't too hard, I reckon even you could calculate that one out.
No you did not.

Had you commented that the perpetrator came from the "Loyalist" community in NI*, no-one would have demurred.

Rather in post #6. you alleged the following:
"... it's the sort of neolithic behaviour from OWC fans that needs highlighted, especially against their failing 'football for all' programme"

That was a clear charge against fans of the NI football team, including me, that you are entirely unable to back up with either evidence or reason - quite the contrary, in fact.

Worse, you insisted on repeating this slur, until (presumably) even you realised that your charge was unsustainable, at which point you tried to claim that you were ascribing this to the Loyalist community generally.

All of which means that after initially betraying your instinctive prejudice, you then demonstrated your stubbornness, before finally displaying a lack of intelligence and integrity, in equal measure.

Congratulations.

* - What next, bears s h i t in the woods?  ::)

Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 02:05:46 PMI stand over my presumption too that they are NI fans, you only have to scan your eye around the crowd at a NI match to see the rangers tops and emblems.
You know, it's really not very bright to make factual claims that you have no way of backing, especially to someone who is in a position to know the truth of the matter.
(http://images.teamtalk.com/09/03/800x600/Northern-Ireland-fans_2074767.jpg)
(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00293/N_Ireland_News_4-1__293766t.jpg)
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42175000/jpg/_42175800_nireland416.jpg)

Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 02:05:46 PMAs saffron sam said the largest support of a club team among NI fans is that of Glasgow rangers and if you cannot allude to that point then it is you who will be the one who is embarrassing yourself my little friend.
Even if that claim is correct (and I think Man U fans might have something to say on the matter), so what? Just as not all NI fans are Rangers fans, neither are all Rangers fans  fans of the NI team.

All evidence and reasoning suggests that the scum who did this are Loyalists. And not all Loyalists are NI football fans, just as not all NI fans are Loyalists.

Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 02:05:46 PMAlso the fans of NI soccer team are almost exclusively from the loyalist side, so you can park up that 'both communities' crap striaght away.
There is no real way of knowing the current situation, but there was Sports Council(?) survey of NI fans a few years back which revealed that around 8% of the attendance at Windsor comes from a Nationalist background. Therefore this equates to around 1,000 amongst a  crowd of 14,000. I do not know whether this has since changed, but if it has, I would guess that if anything, the numbers have increased.

Anyhow, whether they have or not, it doesn't take away from my contention that not only is there no evidence or reason for NI fans to threaten McGinn and McCourt; on the contrary, there is actually evidence and reason to suggest that they did not.

Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 02:05:46 PMBest players??? then why does little englander worthington continually ignore them?
I didn't actually say that the two were our "best players". McGinn is one of our best players and hugely popular. And McCourt showed signs in his last game of fulfilling his wonderful taslent in an NI shirt, leading to the concensus amongst the fans that he should now be a starter for us.

As for NW, he first identified and capped Niall when he was a 20 year old with Derry City. Since then, he has made such an impact that he was voted "NI Breakthrough Player" for 2009, and is a guaranteed starter when fit.

As for Paddy, it was NW who recalled him to the NI squad after he had been ignored by Sanchez and McIlroy and if he has only featured intermittently since, that is primarily because he is frequently injured or unfit - as any Celtic fan could tell you.

Post by: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 04:34:37 PM
EG I do not have time to go through your idiotic ramblings but i will spell it out for you, loyalist = unionist, i.e. loyal to the union with GB, therefore also loyal to the NI soccer team aka owc. The majority of these fams support rangers football club. Iis from this demographic grouping that the bullets to 3 Irish Celtic players came from. In short scumbags. Case closed.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 04:43:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 01:43:23 PMwhatever about the rest of your argument - I can see that you and others hold different perspectives on it, I have to say that mcginn and mccourt are not exactly regulars on the ni soccer starting XI.
See my reply to Banana Brain, above (#44)

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 01:43:23 PMAs well as that you ask about why ni fans would have a go at their own ...well they have been doing it since the days of Johnny Crossan (and before most likely - late 60's) and Johnny wasnt a Celtic player.
It is 43 years since Crossan (72) last played football (his final cap for NI was as Captain, btw).

Are you saying that nothing has changed since then? For if you are, you might find your opinion being challenged by this individual:
"When I look at Windsor Park now it seems a real fun place with a brilliant atmosphere. The IFA has worked really hard at taking the sectarianism out completely" - Neil Lennon, 25/10/06
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/6085396.stm

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 01:43:23 PMFinally, you cant really claim that the ni soccer team derives fans from both sides, there may be a few Irish/catholics/nationalists etc - but jeez this can hardly be more than a handful??
though maybe based on the overall amount of numbers this may be a significant percentage (not taking the p**s)
See again my reply (above)
Post by: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 04:50:06 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 04:34:37 PMEG I do not have time to go through your idiotic ramblings but i will spell it out for you, loyalist = unionist, i.e. loyal to the union with GB, therefore also loyal to the NI soccer team aka owc. The majority of these fams support rangers football club. Iis from this demographic grouping that the bullets to 3 Irish Celtic players came from. In short scumbags. Case closed.
When you revert to this sort of "reasoning", I almost* feel embarrassed for you.

Case closed indeed.  ::)

* - The "almost" is critical, mind you...
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 04:50:31 PM
hmmm
'intent' /'working at it' (or seeming to do so ) and actually being successful are very different things...
I'd agree that it is not as bad as the days of Johnny Crossan ....but its still a hell of a long way short and if you think thats not true, then i'm afraid yer kidding yourself !

btw, its not that long ago in terms of international soccer that I was checking out if McCourt of McGinn were playing for the north of Ireland ...they weren't - I recall at the time it was said that it was because they were not playing regularly for their clubs (and imo correct not to be picked in this event).
They are only now getting picked a bit more (though rarely the two at any one time) so I cant see how they are now all of a sudden in the space of a year approx (I think) 'regulars' for the north of Ireland !
surely thats a distinction after a good few games played and picked, not just the last two !!!
Post by: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 05:09:22 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 04:50:06 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 04:34:37 PMEG I do not have time to go through your idiotic ramblings but i will spell it out for you, loyalist = unionist, i.e. loyal to the union with GB, therefore also loyal to the NI soccer team aka owc. The majority of these fams support rangers football club. Iis from this demographic grouping that the bullets to 3 Irish Celtic players came from. In short scumbags. Case closed.
When you revert to this sort of "reasoning", I almost* feel embarrassed for you.

Case closed indeed.  ::)

* - The "almost" is critical, mind you...

The fact is it's my perspective onthe situation based on solid assumptions, which i have stated all along, I never once put it down as hard factual evidence. That's my opnion on what i have witnessed and it is pretty sound 'reasoning' to derive the conclusions that i have drawn.

The fact that that was the best you could reply further reinforces my claims as you could not take issue with what i have stated.

Case now locked away
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on January 12, 2011, 05:09:46 PM
Firstly, whoever went to the trouble of posting bullets,  it is a despicable act.

Secondly it may well have been NI "fans" but can someone clarify exactly what they mean about fans: I see beer-swilling yobs with Chelsea shirts in pubs in Dublin of a Sunday who wouldn't name 10 players in the club.  If one of these boyos posted a bullet to a player of a London rival, then no one here would try and depict it as representative of all Chelsea fans.

It is pathetic to watch the efforts of some here to take this appalling act and try and make it out to be reflective of all  Northern Ireland fans.  I see people do similar with regard to the GAA and it annoys the shíte out of me.

It's hardly a surprise that most Northern Ireland fan's are unionists, no more than it is hardly a surprise that most GAA fans are nationalists.   But in both cases I suspect these are accidents of history and social development of Northern Ireland than rampant bigotry among fans of either............

I've read some bigotted, misrepresentative posts about the GAA over on OWC in my time but there are a few posts here that are but a mirror image of them.

/Jim.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 05:12:44 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 04:50:31 PM
hmmm
'intent' /'working at it' (or seeming to do so ) and actually being successful are very different things...
I'd agree that it is not as bad as the days of Johnny Crossan ....but its still a hell of a long way short and if you think thats not true, then i'm afraid yer kidding yourself !
If that's what you insist on believing, then there is probably nothing I can say to make you change your mind.
Nor, I suspect, can this guy:
"Anytime I have come on at Windsor Park I have enjoyed it and the fans have been great as well. I just love playing at Windsor Park and I just have to make the most of any opportunity that I might get." - Niall McGinn, October 2010.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 04:50:31 PMbtw, its not that long ago in terms of international soccer that I was checking out if McCourt of McGinn were playing for the north of Ireland ...they weren't - I recall at the time it was said that it was because they were not playing regularly for their clubs (and imo correct not to be picked in this event).
They are only now getting picked a bit more (though rarely the two at any one time) so I cant see how they are now all of a sudden in the space of a year approx (I think) 'regulars' for the north of Ireland !
surely thats a distinction after a good few games played and picked, not just the last two !!!
NW gave Niall his full debut in Nov.2008, when he was at Derry C. Since then he has accumulated 10 caps, a number of them when he wasn't even getting into the Celtic team. Anyhow I've not checked, but NI can only have played around 15 games in that period, and I know Niall missed at least 3 due to his recent long injury.
Believe me, he is a "nailed-down" starter under NW (when fit).

As for Paddy, he has pulled out of (I think) 3 of his last 4 or 5 NI call-ups, through injury and fitness problems. During this period, NW has frequently said that he needs to prove his fitness on a regular basis for Celtic before he can expect to start regularly for NI. Until this season he has not done so, but as you will know, he has appeared rather more frequently for Celtic this season.

Which will have been why NW picked hi  to start in NI's last game (v Morocco in November), where he was chosen to play in a central midfield ("No.10") role. He was excellent in this position, too, before he had to go off at half-time, injured.

Anyhow, many of the NI fans have criticised NW for not picking Paddy sooner/more often, which gives some idea what they think of "The Derry Pele".

Post by: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 05:15:08 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on January 12, 2011, 05:09:46 PM
Firstly, whoever went to the trouble of posting bullets,  it is a despicable act.

Secondly it may well have been NI "fans" but can someone clarify exactly what they mean about fans: I see beer-swilling yobs with Chelsea shirts in pubs in Dublin of a Sunday who wouldn't name 10 players in the club.  If one of these boyos posted a bullet to a player of a London rival, then no one here would try and depict it as representative of all Chelsea fans.

It is pathetic to watch the efforts of some here to take this appalling act and try and make it out to be reflective of all  Northern Ireland fans.  I see people do similar with regard to the GAA and it annoys the shíte out of me.

It's hardly a surprise that most Northern Ireland fan's are unionists, no more than it is hardly a surprise that most GAA fans are nationalists.   But in both cases I suspect these are accidents of history and social development of Northern Ireland than rampant bigotry among fans of either............

I've read some bigotted, misrepresentative posts about the GAA over on OWC in my time but there are a few posts here that are but a mirror image of them.

/Jim.
Best post of the thread (imo) - and from a Free State Fenian at that!  ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 05:35:47 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 12, 2011, 05:12:44 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 04:50:31 PM
hmmm
If that's what you insist on believing, then there is probably nothing I can say to make you change your mind.
Nor, I suspect, can this guy:
"Anytime I have come on at Windsor Park I have enjoyed it and the fans have been great as well. I just love playing at Windsor Park and I just have to make the most of any opportunity that I might get." - Niall McGinn, October 2010.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 04:50:31 PMbtw, its not that long ago in terms of international soccer that I was checking out if McCourt of McGinn were playing for the north of Ireland ...they weren't - I recall at the time it was said that it was because they were not playing regularly for their clubs (and imo correct not to be picked in this event).
NW gave Niall his full debut in Nov.2008, when he was at Derry C. Since then he has accumulated 10 caps, a number of them when he wasn't even getting into the Celtic team. Anyhow I've not checked, but NI can only have played around 15 games in that period, and I know Niall missed at least 3 due to his recent long injury.
Believe me, he is a "nailed-down" starter under NW (when fit).

As for Paddy, he has pulled out of (I think) 3 of his last 4 or 5 NI call-ups, through injury and fitness problems. During this period, NW has frequently said that he needs to prove his fitness on a regular basis for Celtic before he can expect to start regularly for NI. Until this season he has not done so, but as you will know, he has appeared rather more frequently for Celtic this season.

Which will have been why NW picked hi  to start in NI's last game (v Morocco in November), where he was chosen to play in a central midfield ("No.10") role. He was excellent in this position, too, before he had to go off at half-time, injured.

Anyhow, many of the NI fans have criticised NW for not picking Paddy sooner/more often, which gives some idea what they think of "The Derry Pele".
feck sake - you dont accept what ordinary folk say about not going to windsor park or supporting your crew..
not that I doubt niall mcginn, but what else would he say when interviewed unless he wanted to hear boos and set up his own arms dump from pressies he'd then receive!

dont know what your supporters think of McCourt, no roblem there-  but suspect it might have something to do with the lack of decent players on the squad.
he's got his game the past couple of weeks, and has come on as a sub quite often. Cant see that as being as regular enough but certainly better than last season. Seems tobe working harder and fitter too.
McGinn I will admit I was wrong on. This time last year i'd have given him away but he proved me and many more wrong with some wonderful displays at the end of autumn ...though lennon strangely dropped him and he hasnt really been fully back or as good since. if that stays the same, i I were him i'd be away.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on January 12, 2011, 05:44:30 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 05:35:47 PM
not that I doubt niall mcginn, but what else would he say when interviewed unless he wanted to hear boos and set up his own arms dump from pressies he'd then receive!

On the balance of probabilities I think McGinn was being truthful.. He didn't have to declare for Northern Ireland, no one those.  FIFA (twice) and CAS have shown that.  Anyone from Northern Ireland can declare for the FAI crowd and the path is well trodden.  So when a nationalist like McGinn/McCourt opts to play for Northern Ireland, it's fair to say they are self-motivated to do so.

/Jim.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 08:20:18 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on January 12, 2011, 05:44:30 PM
On the balance of probabilities I think McGinn was being truthful.. He didn't have to declare for Northern Ireland, no one those.  FIFA (twice) and CAS have shown that.  Anyone from Northern Ireland can declare for the FAI crowd and the path is well trodden.  So when a nationalist like McGinn/McCourt opts to play for Northern Ireland, it's fair to say they are self-motivated to do so.
/Jim.
would agree with that, but the underlying motivation is undoubtedly to put themselves in the 'shop window'.
it would have been extremely unlikely they would have been selected by Ireland.

Either way, mcginns comments are from a player perspective and I'd say are not reflective of perception of most nationalists/Irish/catholics etc on what following the north is all about - most would not countenance it as things have not changed as evil myles would like to think. Maybe in time they will, but its a hell of a long way off and i'd say the unified Ireland team will come before that !
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 12, 2011, 10:10:13 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 08:20:18 PM
/Jim.
would agree with that, but the underlying motivation is undoubtedly to put themselves in the 'shop window'.
it would have been extremely unlikely they would have been selected by the Republic of Ireland.

Either way, mcginns comments are from a player perspective and I'd say are not reflective of perception of most nationalists/Irish/catholics etc on what following the north is all about - most would not countenance it as things have not changed as evil myles would like to think. Maybe in time they will, but its a hell of a long way off and i'd say the unified Ireland team will come before that !
Sorted that for you.  ;)
Post by: MW on January 12, 2011, 11:43:40 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 12, 2011, 04:34:37 PM
EG I do not have time to go through your idiotic ramblings but i will spell it out for you, loyalist = unionist, i.e. loyal to the union with GB, therefore also loyal to the NI soccer team aka owc. The majority of these fams support rangers football club. Iis from this demographic grouping that the bullets to 3 Irish Celtic players came from. In short scumbags. Case closed.

Nurse,  I think you missed this one's medication.
Post by: MW on January 12, 2011, 11:53:42 PM

That would be garbage.

Wouldn't it be a bit of a mystery why he wasn't booed at the following home match against the Czech Republic?

Anyway, onto the substance of this story - a disgraceful action by a lowlife sc**bag or scumbags. Hopefully they'll be caught and jailed.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 13, 2011, 09:19:43 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 12, 2011, 10:10:13 PM
/Jim.
it would have been extremely unlikely they would have been selected by the Republic of Ireland.

Sorted that for you.  ;)
that mask must be somewhere around your ankles by now !!!
Post by: Evil Genius on January 13, 2011, 01:37:10 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 05:35:47 PMfeck sake - you dont accept what ordinary folk say about not going to windsor park or supporting your crew..
I accept that many "ordinary [Nationalist] folk" will not attend WP, essentially because they believe it to be full of sectarianism etc.
And it is no wonder they do so, when you consider the atrocious standard of "reporting" in the media, plus the gripes of people who eg heark back half a century to the days of Johnny Crossan  :o, as "proof" of how bad things are.
But none of that means that they are correct in their perception - as those few Nationalists who do  go to WP can attest.
And the players...

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 05:35:47 PMnot that I doubt niall mcginn, but what else would he say when interviewed unless he wanted to hear boos and set up his own arms dump from pressies he'd then receive!
"What else could he say?"
He could easily come up with something anodyne eg how good it is top be playing against top-class international opponents, or how pleased he is for an international manager to have faith in him, or how well he gets on with his teammates etc.
As for the fans, he could easily say something like "I've had no problems in settling in" etc, but instead he chose to be effusive.
Therefore there can only be two explanations. One, he's a bit of an arse-licker, who says what he thinks people want to hear (though maybe not people at Parkhead or in Donaghmore?).
Or two, he genuinely does get an excellent reception from the fans.
I know from my own direct experience that it is the latter - all the more surprising in that as a right winger, Niall was stepping into the shoes of a real NI legend in Keith Gillespie (still hoping to prolong his international career at the time).
But even if you don't believe me, consider this.
As proof he's no arse-licker, Niall is one of a few Nationalist players who conspicuously bow their head when GSTQ is being played. If the crowd really were so sectarian as you and others claim, do you honestly believe that they'd tolerate "treason" like that?
The fact is, the great majority of the (true) fans don't give a stuff which club he plays for, what foot he kicks with(!), or what Anthem he stands for - if he does the business in an NI shirt, that's all that matters.

But hey, what do I know, I only go to matches, whereas you read your paper to find out what's really going on... ::)

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2011, 05:35:47 PMdont know what your supporters think of McCourt, no roblem there-  but suspect it might have something to do with the lack of decent players on the squad.
he's got his game the past couple of weeks, and has come on as a sub quite often. Cant see that as being as regular enough but certainly better than last season. Seems tobe working harder and fitter too.
Yep, you've got that bit right, anyhow.

McGinn I will admit I was wrong on. This time last year i'd have given him away but he proved me and many more wrong with some wonderful displays at the end of autumn ...though lennon strangely dropped him and he hasnt really been fully back or as good since. if that stays the same, i I were him i'd be away.
And I'm more than happy to admit I was completely wrong about Niall, too. In fact I remember moaning out loud when NW brought him on from the bench for his debut - "FFS Nigel ! what's he going to do for us?" (He was still only a kid at Derry City, remember)
Within 10 minutes I was converted: not only did he want the ball at every opportunity, but he wanted to hurt the opposition w with it, as well. And since then, every game has been the same.

Quite honestly, in terms of "making an instant impact" in international football in the last 10 years, Niall is right up there with Jonny Evans and Steven Davis in an NI shirt. And I have little doubt that both of those two will go on to become absolute NI legends.

Here's to Niall joining them!
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 13, 2011, 06:57:55 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 13, 2011, 09:19:43 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 12, 2011, 10:10:13 PM
/Jim.

Sorted that for you.  ;)
that mask must be somewhere around your ankles by now !!!
Just don't want the innocent GAA types on this Board to go away thinking that Niall and Paddy are Irish rugby players. No need for thanks.  8)
Post by: orangeman on January 13, 2011, 07:19:12 PM
Northern Ireland manager Nigel Worthington was in Belfast today to launch a sponsorship deal.

When asked how Mc Ginn and Mc Court were after the threats, Nigel replied by saying that he had not yet spoken to either of them and had planned to give them a call in the next few days.

WTF ?.
Post by: Club Rossa on January 13, 2011, 08:19:02 PM
Saw the Worthington interview and i too thought it strange that he hadn't contacted them.
Post by: bennydorano on January 13, 2011, 09:38:06 PM
NI fans being blamed for sending the bullets is a bit silly, quite right thst EG is miffed. 

I recall a story recently in the Irish News where a West Belfast teacher was in court for biting a fingertip off a bouncer, the IN kept referring to the man as a GAA coach like it was his defining  characteristic and I remember thinking WTF? Were was the relevance, what was the point and in the I.N of all papers. Misreprepresentation isnt nice.
Post by: gerry on April 19, 2011, 10:51:17 PM
Would you want his job with this to deal with

Parcel bombs sent to Neil Lennon, Paul McBride and MSP (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-13129139)

Parcel bombs have been sent to Celtic manager Neil Lennon and two other high profile fans of the club.

Sources have told the BBC that the devices were "viable" and appeared to have been intended to "kill or maim".

Mr Lennon's lawyer, Paul McBride QC, and former deputy presiding officer of the Scottish Parliament, Trish Godman, were also targeted.
Post by: tyssam5 on April 19, 2011, 10:56:19 PM
Quote from: gerry on April 19, 2011, 10:51:17 PM
Would you want his job with this to deal with

Parcel bombs sent to Neil Lennon, Paul McBride and MSP (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-13129139)

Parcel bombs have been sent to Celtic manager Neil Lennon and two other high profile fans of the club.

Sources have told the BBC that the devices were "viable" and appeared to have been intended to "kill or maim".

Mr Lennon's lawyer, Paul McBride QC, and former deputy presiding officer of the Scottish Parliament, Trish Godman, were also targeted.

No.
Post by: orangeman on April 19, 2011, 11:15:28 PM
They really love Lennon over there.

Post by: stew on April 20, 2011, 01:29:33 AM
I seriously doubt this was the work of owc fans to be honest, I could see it being some Rangers fan from the six that claims to be a fan but in fairness the northern fans, the real fans have been working hard to eradicate cowardly gobshites like the scum that sent this to lennon and co and there is more accountability than ever from supporters on the terraces at games.

Rangers are trying to clean up their act and to be fair they are making progress, albeit slow aand i commend them for their efforts but i will say this, for people to lump in celtic and rangers fans as being two sides of the same shitty coin are way off the mark, celtic have a legacy of inclusion and rangers.......................................... well they are trying and have a way to go.
Post by: Clown on April 20, 2011, 09:47:28 AM
Quote from: stew on April 20, 2011, 01:29:33 AM
I seriously doubt this was the work of owc fans to be honest, I could see it being some Rangers fan from the six that claims to be a fan but in fairness the northern fans, the real fans have been working hard to eradicate cowardly gobshites like the scum that sent this to lennon and co and there is more accountability than ever from supporters on the terraces at games.

Rangers are trying to clean up their act and to be fair they are making progress, albeit slow aand i commend them for their efforts but i will say this, for people to lump in celtic and rangers fans as being two sides of the same shitty coin are way off the mark, celtic have a legacy of inclusion and rangers.......................................... well they are trying and have a way to go.

I dont see much progress in this, did UEFA not send delegates to their last 2 european games, home and away legs, and in both they were charged for sectarian and racist singing?

agree with you on the unknowledgeable people who claim celtic and rangers are 2 sides of the same coin. Celtic cannot be guilty by association
Post by: clarshack on April 20, 2011, 10:59:47 AM
got the following off the kerrydale street forum....

Not knowingly signing Catholics, riots in Barcelona, Birmingham, Manchester, crowd disturbances in Pamplona, Bucharest, Stoning the bus in Villareal, sectarian songs across Europe and UEFA fines and possible bans, Nazi salutes in Israel, the murders of Kevin McDaid and Mark Scott, Beating up Neil Lennon, sending bullets to Nial McGinn, Paddy McCourt, the manager and sending bombs to Neil Lennon, a QC and an MSP The Famine Song, The Billy Boys and No Pope of Rome, hate filled songs about Catholics and the Irish. They are some kind of people but we are not the same as each other.

Post by: omagh_gael on April 20, 2011, 12:19:43 PM
Quote from: under the bar on April 20, 2011, 10:18:51 AM
If rangers and the rangers trust are committed to tackling sectarianism they should release a joint statement saying that who ever is sending bullets & bombs in no way represents the club and is nothing but a common criminal.  This would be a real stand against sectarianism but by saying nothing the danger is the wrong message gets sent out.

To be fair Under the bar Mc Coist did speak out about this yesterday, which is a step in the right direction.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13127427.stm
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 20, 2011, 12:30:17 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 20, 2011, 12:19:43 PM
Quote from: under the bar on April 20, 2011, 10:18:51 AM
If rangers and the rangers trust are committed to tackling sectarianism they should release a joint statement saying that who ever is sending bullets & bombs in no way represents the club and is nothing but a common criminal.  This would be a real stand against sectarianism but by saying nothing the danger is the wrong message gets sent out.

To be fair Under the bar Mc Coist did speak out about this yesterday, which is a step in the right direction.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13127427.stm

bolted, stable, closing, the, horse, door, after, the, has comes to mind!

The news about the parcel bombs has been known for a while and has been covered up, interestingly George Peat and wee Sally come out in the last couple of days with statements.

Post by: Main Street on April 20, 2011, 12:58:10 PM
McCoist mixes his sentiments between condemnation of the "small minority" and adopting a shoot the messenger approach/deny the the reports of sectarian chanting.

I see that BBC report erronously states that the official uefa delgate gave a favourable report to Rangers for both legs.
The uefa delegate gave a favourable report  in the home leg but
'FARE also provided evidence of further discriminatory behaviour to uefa from the fixture in Eindhoven on March 10. However, that report was backed up by references in the UEFA match delegate's report.'

Incidentally the uefa delegate for the home tie was from the wee North.
for the away leg the UEFA delegate was from Iceland.
Purely coincidental I suppose  ;D