GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tieroan on February 23, 2007, 11:35:33 AM

Title: Brilliant Brolly in Gaelic Life
Post by: tieroan on February 23, 2007, 11:35:33 AM
Joe Brolly gives what is essentially, the reasons why the GPA should be castigated, why our own Sean Cavanagh is a spoilt brat and why we all should get behind the Tyrone County Board in their stance against the GPA. At last someone has said exactly what Donal McMahon is - a sports agent by trade who set up the GPA for his own interests rather than the welfare of the players.
Title: Re: Brilliant Brolly in Gaelic Life
Post by: realredhandfan on February 23, 2007, 11:40:56 AM
Brolly articulates the view of the common GAA, I thuink hes superb on the GPA.. I want him to speak on behalf of the Northern GAA in relation to the erosion of our founding fathers values, I think its too prickly for him though.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 23, 2007, 11:41:30 AM
Brolly is a good laugh, and I like reading his articles.  But he does an awful bit of slabbering too, calling Cavanagh a spoilt brat - wise up.  An amazing player who is a great role model on and off the field.  Did Brolly mention Brian McGilligan??  Because if he didnt that would be a first.  Maybe McGilligan is fed up listening to Brollys whine as he sticks it up his hole!
Post by: Uladh on February 23, 2007, 11:45:57 AM

well if brolly says its so, it must be...

It's very unusual for you tyrone folk to be discussing joe and not to be insisting that he knows nothing....
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 23, 2007, 11:48:58 AM
Can someone post it here please
Post by: tieroan on February 23, 2007, 11:49:52 AM
Brolly does not mention big Brain. I would say the shovel handed one would not have been talking like Sean Cavanagh. Brolly does not exactly call him a brat but he does say that Sean is forgetting to mention one thing- he has offered his services and he can stop it at any time if he wishes. No one is making him play Gaelic football. He plays it because he enjoys it. If that was the case, next time i go into McAleers in Dungannon, i should as big Conor for a few bob because i enjoy coming in and having a few bears. The Tyrone players got a holiday to Jamica and £3000 spending each spending money last year. Those who did not go got £5000.
Post by: Hound on February 23, 2007, 11:51:02 AM
I agree, Brolly is a great laugh. He's very entertaining. But nothing he writes or says should be taken seriously.

Brolly was one of the orginal members of the GPA, but had a falling out, so now he's out to get them purely for spiteful personal reasons. The big shot barrister certainly has no intention of representing the common man of the GAA, and any common ground is purely coincidental.

I wonder how many All Irelands Tyrone would have won if the fate of the county team was in the hands of the county board administrators and they'd no help from Club Tyrone? Or maybe some people fool themselves into thinking Club Tyrone add nothing...

Also interesting is the number of fans in Tyrone who seem to have so little time for their "stars" who toiled to win the county two All Irelands...
Post by: believebelive on February 23, 2007, 12:03:16 PM
Brolly has a point although the fact that he, or somebody in the Gaelic Life,  cannot spell Sean Cavanagh's name properley (spelt with a K throughourt the article - also had Colm Cooper as Colin Cooper) smacks of poor journalism.
But he has got a point. The GPA only have a large membership because it is free. When they charged the players to join the membership fell dramatically. Also it is a fair point that at their inception the GPA was badly needed as certain welfare issues were not being met but I would agree with Joe that today, and after good work by the GPA, county teams get looked after very well. However the GPA seem to me to be ran by a small band of people who want monetary reward for inter county players. end of story. And in my opinion this would be the single worst thing ever to happen for the GAA. I often wonder why no journalist has unearthed an inter county player who is against the GPA. Because I doubt that the majority of inter county players even know what is going on with the GPA and of those that do I wonder how many are truly in favour.
Post by: tieroan on February 23, 2007, 12:04:18 PM
Fair point hound but when you read the article you will agree with the points he makes. I wonder how many club players out there agree with Sean Cavanagh. My probing would lead me to believe that they are siding with Pat Darcy and the Tyrone County Board. Every little boy or girl who picks up and Oneills footbal or sliothar has a burning desire inside to play for his county in Croke Park. Those that reach these height, as Brolly states, have put the icing on the cake. I met a Tyrone player in Glasgow and he told me that Sean Cavanagh was not speaking for him. His friends were his club players and playing for his county is a personal goal to see how far he could go in the game, not financial orienated.
Post by: Hardy on February 23, 2007, 12:11:14 PM
Hound, I'm not sure how you can know that Brolly is castigating the GPA "purely for spiteful personal reasons". What's my motivation, then?

You're right to wonder how many All Irelands Tyrone would have won without the help of Club Tyrone. However, I'd be inclined to wonder what would become of Club Tyrone if professionalism arrived in the GAA at inter-county level. How many ordinary supporters would be prepared to fork out 500 quid to pay players?

Wait a minute. What am I thinking? Sure the GPA has nothing to do with professionalism. They've assured us they don't want pay-for-play. Sorry. Silly me.
Post by: johnjoe on February 23, 2007, 12:13:06 PM
Brolly is a class act, full stop.

A Brilliant personality, larger than life both on the field and off it.

Like Spillane, he thrives on a bit of controversy. That sells papers, and that is why he is being paid. By a mile the best live commentator too,  - a totally different form of journalism - on the Sunday Game.

And still try marking him as he nears the forty mark.

Personally I`ve nothing but admiration for the guy, even if he raises the odd eyebrow. Dares to be different.

And the best of it is, he still does it for the love of the game. I mean as one of the youngest practising barristers in NI, he dosent exactly need the money.
Post by: full back on February 23, 2007, 12:15:00 PM
Johnjoe, are you big Brian in disguise or does Joe give you the odd reacharound?
Post by: johnjoe on February 23, 2007, 12:30:26 PM
FB, Big Brian wouldn`t be on here. If he was it would be under "McGilligan"or something - no back doors with the big yin!

Seriously, Brolly probably woundnt know me if we passed on the street. Dosn`t stop me saying I think he is a class act tho.
Post by: full back on February 23, 2007, 12:37:18 PM
Quote from: johnjoe on February 23, 2007, 12:30:26 PM
Seriously, Brolly probably woundnt know me if we passed on the street. Dosn`t stop me saying I think he is a class act tho.

Thats because he doesnt look around
Post by: Judge Kearns on February 23, 2007, 12:38:55 PM
Brolly is a BOLLOX.
Post by: Hound on February 23, 2007, 12:40:15 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 23, 2007, 12:11:14 PM
Hound, I'm not sure how you can know that Brolly is castigating the GPA "purely for spiteful personal reasons". What's my motivation, then?

Obviously its my opinion of why Brolly wrote what he did, based on eveything I've seen and heard about him. "Purely" might be OTT but I do firmly believe that a lot of what he writes about the GPA is for spiteful and personal reasons and that only through a clash of personalities he'd still be a prominent supporter of the GPA.  One day he's a supporter, the next day he's fundamentally against them, and by a mad coincidence in between he had a falling out.

I guess you're motivation (seeing as you ask!) is that you are afraid that somehow the GPA will manage to convince the GAA at large to vote-in professional contracts for inter-county players.

My opinion is that it is absolutely bizarre that anyone could think the GAA could agree to professionalism, and that everything else the GPA have sought after has been worthy and should be given to the players, so therefore I support the GPA in the knowledge that professionalism will not come in for at least a generation, and probably a lot longer. But even if the GPA die, the professionalism topic certainly never will.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 23, 2007, 12:41:31 PM
Quote from: Judge Kearns on February 23, 2007, 12:38:55 PM
Brolly is a BOLLOX.

Its ensightful debate like this that makes this board worth coming to.
How exactly does a comment like that further a debate?
If you can't put together a good argument you should head over to hogan stand
Post by: Estimator on February 23, 2007, 12:46:26 PM
QuoteBrolly has a point although the fact that he, or somebody in the Gaelic Life,  cannot spell Sean Cavanagh's name properley (spelt with a K throughourt the article - also had Colm Cooper as Colin Cooper) smacks of poor journalism.

Throughout his "journalism career" Brolly has spelt Cavanagh's name with a K! It's more to do with winding people up than poor journalism
Post by: Hound on February 23, 2007, 12:54:05 PM
Quote from: Estimator on February 23, 2007, 12:46:26 PM
Throughout his "journalism career" Brolly has spelt Cavanagh's name with a K! It's more to do with winding people up than poor journalism
And nobody who knows anything about Brolly would be surprised at that.

Most of what he writes or says should be listened to or read in the context of figuring out who it is he's trying to wind up. The substance of what he's saying is largely irrelevant. Brolly is for entertainment not for insights.
Post by: phpearse on February 23, 2007, 12:58:23 PM
Heard recently that a row was avoided in the Tyrone camp with a lot of players not best pleased about the statement being released alledgedly coming from the Tyrone team. A lot of players were not consulted about the statement. Apparently a former Tyrone player had a lot of input into the issuing of the statement. The general feeling in the Tyrone camp is that most of the players couldn't give a toss about the GPA, feel the county board look after them very well and just want to play football.
Post by: Hardy on February 23, 2007, 01:01:08 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 23, 2007, 12:40:15 PM
My opinion is that it is absolutely bizarre that anyone could think the GAA could agree to professionalism, and that everything else the GPA have sought after has been worthy and should be given to the players, so therefore I support the GPA in the knowledge that professionalism will not come in for at least a generation, and probably a lot longer. But even if the GPA die, the professionalism topic certainly never will.

Reasonable points, Hound. However, I disagree completely that the GPA people are ultimately a benign influence because they can never achieve professionalism and everything else they do is worthy.

I fundamentally disagree with the basic proposition of the GPA that some players are more worthy of ... lets call it "compensation" than others. I firmly believe in the wedge theory. The tax relief idea is a wedge. Agree to that and we have conceded the principle that SOME players deserve separate MONETARY treatment. How can we then resist the full-tilt professionalism campaign that will follow? Certainly not on principle.

OK then – we can't afford it. End of argument. But no. Dessie and the boys have found a way that we can afford it! Sponsorship! Hooray! Problem is, sponsors are only interested in the big payloads. Goodbye Leitrim and Longford and the game as we know it. Hello Arnotts' Dublin Mets, Quinn Insurance Munster Monsters and about three other teams that the pro game could sustain, while the remaining units of the GAA become feeder teams for the pros, selling their ticket allocations to survive, coach youngsters, etc. Hello floodlit leagues. Great. But with changed rules, of course, to make it more exciting for television. Wider goals, maybe. 13-a-side to reduce wage costs – the full-time players will be fitter anyway. Transfers. You know yourself. It'll probably be great entertainment and compete very effectively with the other sport-entertainment businesses. But I won't be watching it.

I'll take the accusations of paranoia, etc. as read. In response, I give you .... ta daaaa – pro rugby! And for good measure ... wait for it - Eircom League soccer!
Post by: zoyler on February 23, 2007, 01:42:15 PM
As ever Hardy has covered all the bases - well said!
Post by: tyroneman on February 23, 2007, 01:52:14 PM
If Brolly could roll back the years and be in Sean Cavanaghs position now - young, talented and high profile I just wonder how much griping he;d be doing about the GPA or would be be first in the queue for endorsements and looking pay-for-play.

It's easy to think of the asthetic side of the GAa when yr past yr baest and strolling around Div 3 / 2 in Antrim
Post by: drumanee on February 23, 2007, 02:03:08 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 23, 2007, 01:52:14 PM
If Brolly could roll back the years and be in Sean Cavanaghs position now - young, talented and high profile I just wonder how much griping he;d be doing about the GPA or would be be first in the queue for endorsements and looking pay-for-play.

It's easy to think of the asthetic side of the GAa when yr past yr baest and strolling around Div 3 / 2 in Antrim

typical response from a tyrone man,brolly had and still has a high profile both on and off the field and could demand high sums of money for after dinner speechs as micky harte did at our recent gala dinner(£600) but joe will not except a penny for helping out clubs trying to raise a pound or two,and don't go throwing crap about him having a high paying job.joe is a genuine gaa man and was as committed to his club as he was to the county and although alot of his comments are tongue and cheek and are said to raise a few eyebrows and cause a bit of controversy at the bottom of it all he can see through the gpa and what there are really after.also if sean cavanagh really wants to get better finacial gain from sport why did he not go to austriala
Post by: nrico2006 on February 23, 2007, 02:12:31 PM
Drumanee said
Quotealso if sean cavanagh really wants to get better finacial gain from sport why did he not go to austriala

Why?  Because he loves playing Gaelic for Tyrone and the Moy.  Australian Rules is a different game.
Post by: tieroan on February 23, 2007, 02:28:38 PM
Tyroneman, as a fellow Tyronie i assure you Brolly is not attacking Tyrone in the Artical. He does say that if he was in his early twenties and was offered money to play he indeed would jump at the chance but in hindsight he in turn says that it would have been wrong. He seems to be highlighting that the players are not the only members of the GAA who offer their services. His point about Glenullins new changing rooms was excellent. Cost @ £250 000 grand yet the labour fee was nil. One of those who gave up his Saturdays to labour was Paddy bradley. In Tyrone Carrickmore are errecting a third stand, this time the old Nally stand, and i could bet my bottom dollar that the labor fee will be nil as well. Augher's too had labour done by players alike. The spirit displayed on wet Saturday morning would be great, the craic would be ninety as they say. To me that is what the GAA is about, not alienating our best players from their clubs, stunting the growth in rural areas.
Post by: ONeill on February 23, 2007, 02:40:30 PM
I thought it was a fine article. Brolly has made it known he despised the GPA but he calmly reasons why in the article. I think he's being honest when he states
Quote' if someone had offered me the money to play when I was 20, I would've said "yes please". Young men find it hard to see the bigger picture. This is the dilemma. The players in a way are the pigs in the middle and many of them are uneasy about what is happening'

A rare form of humility is displayed when he states he contributed 'very little' to Derry GAA.

What's this about him once being a member of GPA?
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2007, 02:40:51 PM
Quotebrolly had and still has a high profile both on and off the field and could demand high sums of money for after dinner speechs as micky harte did at our recent gala dinner(£600) but joe will not except a penny for helping out clubs trying to raise a pound or two,and don't go throwing crap about him having a high paying job.

Would that be the high paying RTE job he has on the strength of being a Gaa star? Would it be the job he accepts serious money for while giving about about todays' stars looking for a €127 tax cradit?

The man is the worst type of hypocrite. He does exactly what preaches not to do. I expect him to run for election next, as an anti-election candidate.

Hardy's argument about what would happen if the Gaa went professional is probably accurate. That is why it can never happen and why the GPA realised sometime ago that pay for play was a non-runner.

On the other hand we have posters here arguing to keep Croker closed as it raises the profile of Rugby/Soccer as competitors for the hearts and minds of future young players, at the same time they will tell those young players Gaa heroes to shove it if they think they are anything but eternally grateful for the priviledge of serving us.
Post by: drumanee on February 23, 2007, 02:42:08 PM

Why?  Because he loves playing Gaelic for Tyrone and the Moy.  Australian Rules is a different game.
[/quote

my point exactly,he loves football and he is playing because he wants to,nobody makes him play so just play get the rewards and dry his eyes
Post by: drumanee on February 23, 2007, 02:45:33 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 23, 2007, 02:40:51 PM
Quotebrolly had and still has a high profile both on and off the field and could demand high sums of money for after dinner speechs as micky harte did at our recent gala dinner(£600) but joe will not except a penny for helping out clubs trying to raise a pound or two,and don't go throwing crap about him having a high paying job.

Would that be the high paying RTE job he has on the strength of being a Gaa star? Would it be the job he accepts serious money for while giving about about todays' stars looking for a €127 tax cradit?

no it would not,it is his day job as a barrister which will make what he gets from rte pennies.
Post by: winghalfun on February 23, 2007, 02:53:59 PM
QuoteWhy?  Because he loves playing Gaelic for Tyrone and the Moy.  Australian Rules is a different game.

nrico2006 I think you might find that if the truth were to out, the money available for playing Australian rules might not have been tempting as first thought and perhaps the gentleman in question realised he would make more at his chosen career.
Only an opinion but one I believe in.
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2007, 03:04:10 PM
Quoteno it would not,it is his day job as a barrister which will make what he gets from rte pennies.

I was aware of his day job thank you. For me he fits into the same category as Michael McDowell and Robert McCartney whereby their supporters keep telling us 'but he is very intelligent' despite there being overwhelming evidence to the contrary.

Speaking of his RTE pennies. In 2000 Johnny Giles earned £107,739 from the National Broadcaster.link to Boards.ie (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-157829.html) That figure is in Euros 7 years ago. I realise Johnny Giles will earn more than Brolly but given wage inflation for the last 7 years if you think he is taking pennies from RTE you need a reality check, it is serious money.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 23, 2007, 03:43:39 PM
Im near sure Brolly appeared on the front page of Ulster GAelic after the inaugural GPA meeting with I believe Donal O neill and others/  Ill check that photo.
Post by: bigpaul on February 23, 2007, 10:05:24 PM
As usual Joe's article is full of glib comments,broad sweeping statements and innuendo. He really does himself a disservice by continually failing to address the issue regarding his membership of the GPA. Earlier in this thread it was stated that Joe hadn't mentioned Brian Mc Gilligan, I think it is altogether more noteworthy that he didn't mention Brian Mc Guigan! I also find it noteworty that he never mentioned the Tyrone Hurlers, given that his most famous quote on the GPA is 'Ciaran Mc Geeney doesn't give a shit about the Mayo Hurlers'!  He made a great deal of the fact that the Tyrone footballers went to Jamaica with £3,000 spending money each, the impresson given being that it was paid for by the County Board or Club Tyrone. Is there not a players' fund? Does Bank of Ireland not make a large contribution to it? Is it not intended to provide a holiday for the squad in such circumstances? Furthermore, I always find it curious that it is fine to send a player on an exotic holiday or give him money in lieu, is this not a form of payment? As I have said in another topic, cases like Brian Mc Guigan and Ritchie Keely prove there is still a need for a players representative body! The 'pay for play' argument is a distraction, the GPA know it isn't going to happen and would lose all goodwill and influence, both inside and outside the organisation, if they were to pursue it! I have to admire Joe's ability to use an instance to back up his point. I would have thought the fact that the Derry GPA representative laboured for free on his Club's development project should have been an opportunity for good press for the GPA!
Finally, there has been a lot made of Joe not being interested in money. Joe is in a very fortunate position in this regard. Through his own hard work and a God given talent! In addition, football has served Joe well! He is one of a  minority whose football career has actually enhanced his earning potential. There is one part of his media work that I cannot accept, his association with the Daily Mail 'family'! If anyone were ever to bring one of those newspapers into my house I would ask them to leave, and I really cannot understand Joe Brolly taking employment from that quarter!
Post by: LaurelEye on February 23, 2007, 11:24:14 PM
QuoteHe is one of a minority whose football career has actually enhanced his earning potential.

Less of the poor mouth, please.

I'd say most of us are well aware of inter-county players who have been fixed up by sponsors, managers, etc. with nice soft jobs that their abilities would never have gotten them in a million years.
Post by: bigpaul on February 24, 2007, 12:05:28 AM
Quote from: LaurelEye on February 23, 2007, 11:24:14 PM
QuoteHe is one of a minority whose football career has actually enhanced his earning potential.

I'd say most of us are well aware of inter-county players who have been fixed up by sponsors, managers, etc. with nice soft jobs that their abilities would never have gotten them in a million years.

I can't understand your use of the phrase 'poor mouth'. On the core point, can you honestly say that the players who have been looked after in this manner are in the majority?
Post by: LaurelEye on February 24, 2007, 12:44:21 AM

I can't understand your use of the phrase 'poor mouth'.

The implication of your statement is that the majority of players are suffering financially from playing inter-county football, or are at best deriving no benefit from it. I heard the same refrain often enough last year from GPA spokesbods, and it gets tiresome.

I don't believe the statement is true from what I see around me.

It strikes me that most county footballers get pretty well looked after now by county boards in terms of kit, expenses, holidays, etc., and there are none that I'm aware of that are on the breadline. The celebrity of being a county footballer can take you a long way in business in terms of contacts, etc. Once you've gotten on the first step of the ladder, things can work out very well for you.

QuoteOn the core point, can you honestly say that the players who have been looked after in this manner are in the majority?

To be fair, I think the majority of players wouldn't need to be looked after in that manner. They can get by under their own steam.

But I can think off the top of my head of fellas who were working as labourers or butcher's apprentices and who were miraculously transformed into sales reps with company cars once the county team started winning a few matches. I don't believe they'd have had those cars under their arses without their having been county footballers. As I said, I can think of none on the breadline.
Post by: bigpaul on February 24, 2007, 01:27:48 AM
I never mentioned anyone being on the breadline. I did say that Joe Brolly was in a minority, in that his football career actually enhanced his earning potential. I also know county players who obtained jobs beyond their expectations, however I don't think they are in the majority. It is very easy to focus on successful  players with successful teams. The vast majority of players aren't members of successful teams. The players who could expect to gain in this regard are probably playing for the top ten teams in football and the top eight teams in hurling. Even in those teams, many of the players could not expect preferential treatment in this regard. One of  the most common compaints aired about the GPA is that of elitism. The fact is, we are all naturally elitist when it comes to the point! We automatically think of the Tyrone,Kerry, Armagh, Dublin or Mayo footballers and their equivalent in hurling when we talk about 'county-players', we never give a thought to the last ten on the squad or the members of the 'also ran' teams! I think it is safe to say that the latter group would make up the majority of county players!