Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: illdecide on January 04, 2011, 12:09:58 PM

Title: Unemployed & Benefits
Post by: illdecide on January 04, 2011, 12:09:58 PM
I will soon be unemployed (haven't been told yet but i know it's coming) and i was wondering what benefits i would be entitled too, i have 2 kids and a wife who only works 16 hours a week (small wage). I have been in constant employment for 21 years...

The Southern Brethren can add to this to compare what North get compared to South

There may well be a thread similar to this so sorry in advance...

P.S. I work in Civil Engineering (Consultants) and the construction industry is dead (you already know this) but apparently manufacturing has picked up? Can this lead onto the Construction Industry improving or not?
Title: Re: Unemployed & Benefits
Post by: Hereiam on January 04, 2011, 12:18:38 PM
In the same boat Illdecide. Got my months notice on the 23rd December which was nice of them. Have an 18month old and another baby on the way. Have been lookin into the benefits and its not good. Working tax credits will be cut or won't get anything as i wont be working although the wife is. The dole is approx £65 which is for 6 months and then they means test you after that. The best thing for me to do is divorce the wife have her as a single parent as she will get all the benefits of the day. The honest man gets screwed as always.
Post by: illdecide on January 04, 2011, 12:27:10 PM
I heard that's the only way to go (Separate or pretend to separate) to get a few quid out of them but she's adamant that she'll not go down that road. What the hell are you meant to do with £65 a week. At the minute we don't get working tax credits but get a massive £33 a month Child Tax Credit so they can take that and it wouldn't be missed...I'll assume you don't get any help with your mortgage like they used to do?

Do u still pay rates and TV licence when unemployed? The fecking rates is £125 a month >:(
Post by: Hereiam on January 04, 2011, 12:31:27 PM
Dont know haven't paid my rates for last year yet. Mightin bother. The tv licence will not be paid simple as that. Have no mortgage. Was in the process of gettin one but thats on hold now. Its not lookin good for 2011 but will try an keep the chin up as something might come along.
Post by: EC Unique on January 04, 2011, 12:35:18 PM
Not nice lads. Best of luck to you both.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on January 04, 2011, 01:00:26 PM
Probably best looking for a part-time job now, something down the local pub/shop about 12hours a week, so when you do get the chop it will favour you when you apply for tax credits. Although your tax will be terrible in the meantime.
Post by: Banana Man on January 04, 2011, 03:09:40 PM
sad news lads, try and keep the chin up

it's sickening though to think you have worked all your life, paid your stamps then get less than some single tart who dropped the wegs on the first time of asking and got filled, that's the problem with the country, honesty gets you fu*k all  :'(
Post by: nrico2006 on January 04, 2011, 03:18:04 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 04, 2011, 03:09:40 PM

it's sickening though to think you have worked all your life, paid your stamps then get less than some single tart who dropped the wegs on the first time of asking and got filled, that's the problem with the country, honesty gets you f**k all  :'(

Well said, I know a load of women who have two kids with different men and who are now single parents.  One in particular gets the rent paid for, gets a hefty amount via Child Tax credits, gets the dole and got knows what else (Maintenance) and has the best of stuff, and was just back last from her second 2 week foreign holiday since August.  I have seen a lot of cases lately where a married couple with 4 kids receive around £22k a year on benefits, and the Husband (or Wife) refuses to work because what they will earn based on their qualifications willl amount to basically the same that they get on benefits - that is the major problem in the Country now, the benefits were intended for those who could not get work, they should not be an option for those who earn a small wage to pack in their jobs and get the same money for doing nothing.  But how do the government combat this situation and differentiate between the spongers and those who actually are out there trying to find work? 
Post by: bailestil on January 04, 2011, 03:41:45 PM
Isn't this the big thing with Ian Duncan Smith and the tories at the minute.
They said the system will be changed so that it will always pay more to work.

(you would have this would have been an obvious way for any system to work, but suppose it was an easy way for Labour to buy votes. )

Worked with a single mum once, who said she would only have lost £1kpa if she didn't work. Fair play to her to continue to work when it was hardly worth it. No wonder so many don't.
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2011, 03:52:07 PM
Why can't the devolved NI government improve dole to more humane levels? Who can live on £65 a week?
It's hard enough on €200.

They might be looking at opening workhouses again if the economy doesn't pick up.  Thatcherism is pure evil.
How much tax did Vodafone avoid in its recent deal with HMRC? Something to think about
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2011, 03:54:42 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 04, 2011, 03:52:07 PM
Why can't the devolved NI government improve dole to more humane levels? Who can live on £65 a week?

They might be looking at opening workhouses again if the economy doesn't pick up.  Thatcherism is pure evil.
How much tax did Vodafone avoid in its recent deal with HMRC? Something to think about
Where do you suggest they get the extra money from? There are people working in the north would love to bring home 200 a week so dry your eyes.
Post by: bailestil on January 04, 2011, 04:00:15 PM
Why can't the devolved NI government improve dole to more humane levels?
Haha the Council on the hill,? they will be lucky to get the plastic bag tax organised never mind tackle Social Security.

God forbid they did have the powers to do anything. Sinn Fein might come up with more hilarious ideas like txt messaging taxes.  ::)
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2011, 04:06:47 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2011, 03:54:42 PM

There are people working in the north would love to bring home 200 a week so dry your eyes.

I don't believe you. Who are these people and how many of them are they? 200 pw is just
north of £10,000 per annum. Or £5 per hour. Who earns less than that?   

Average income for the Mainland is £22,000 or something .

Tax avoidance would fund decent social welfare benefits. Otherwise low levels just drive people into the black economy.
The UK has a savagely backward attitude to the nouveau poor. And it's all their fault, of course. Nothing to do with the banks.     
Post by: bailestil on January 04, 2011, 04:12:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 04, 2011, 04:06:47 PM
There are people working in the north would love to bring home 200 a week so dry your eyes.

I don't believe you. Who are these people and how many of them are they? 200 pw is just

Tax avoidance would fund decent social welfare benefits. Otherwise low levels just drive people into the black economy.
The UK has a savagely backward attitude to the nouveau poor. And it's all their fault, of course. Nothing to do with the banks.   

£10,000 is what you would get in the average call-centre in the north.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 04:14:55 PM

You can`t be serious, no one would work for £40 a day. The lowest wage I know of is €500 per week, otherwise the dole would be a better option.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 04:19:48 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 04, 2011, 03:18:04 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on January 04, 2011, 03:09:40 PM

it's sickening though to think you have worked all your life, paid your stamps then get less than some single tart who dropped the wegs on the first time of asking and got filled, that's the problem with the country, honesty gets you f**k all  :'(

Well said, I know a load of women who have two kids with different men and who are now single parents.  One in particular gets the rent paid for, gets a hefty amount via Child Tax credits, gets the dole and got knows what else (Maintenance) and has the best of stuff, and was just back last from her second 2 week foreign holiday since August.  I have seen a lot of cases lately where a married couple with 4 kids receive around £22k a year on benefits, and the Husband (or Wife) refuses to work because what they will earn based on their qualifications willl amount to basically the same that they get on benefits - that is the major problem in the Country now, the benefits were intended for those who could not get work, they should not be an option for those who earn a small wage to pack in their jobs and get the same money for doing nothing.  But how do the government combat this situation and differentiate between the spongers and those who actually are out there trying to find work?
It would be simple enough I would think - the amount of unemployment benefit you would get would be in proportion to the years you have worked/paid taxes.

Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 04:14:55 PM

You can`t be serious, no one would work for £40 a day. The lowest wage I know of is €500 per week, otherwise the dole would be a better option.
500 per week is 26 grand a year? I know things are ridiculous in the 26 but f**k sake.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2011, 04:25:16 PM

It's no wonder the southern economy is a global laughing stock as youse all seem to be living in a f**king fantasy world. I believe the adult minimum wage in the UK is a few pence shy of £6 per hour before tax. The dole is a better option in the south as it's a soft option. The same is not the case in the north as can be seen in posts from illdecide and hereiam. Unfortunately for them your fantasy world isn't a reality.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 04:27:13 PM
Thats the going rate pints. When you have 200 per week dole, plus other benefits like rent/mortgage allowance, winter fuel allowance, family allowance which is a fair whack and what ever other benefits there are you`ll understand why wages are so high.
There is no way that anyone in the north is working for as little as £200 a week.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2011, 04:30:40 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 04:27:13 PM
Thats the going rate pints. When you have 200 per week dole, plus other benefits like rent/mortgage allowance, winter fuel allowance, family allowance which is a fair whack and what ever other benefits there are you`ll understand why wages are so high.
There is no way that anyone in the north is working for as little as £200 a week.
Well the next time you are across the border in Newry ask them in McDonalds and Sainsburys if their take home pay is closer to 500 or 200 quid for a 40 hour week.
Post by: bailestil on January 04, 2011, 04:32:25 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 04:19:48 PM
It would be simple enough I would think - the amount of unemployment benefit you would get would be in proportion to the years you have worked/paid taxes.

Maybe if the government didn't take so much in NI contributions, people in employment could afford to take out some income protection insurance.

Its not fair that people who pay into national insurance for years get the same payout as people who work if the notion takes them.

26k wages - jaysus, it must be tough surviving on that! how do people scrape by

QuoteThere is no way that anyone in the north is working for as little as £200 a week.
why is it so hard to believe? There is many a person in Derry working in call centres earning that, and glad of the work.
Post by: Square Ball on January 04, 2011, 04:32:46 PM
Firstly, sorry to hear the bad news.

with working tax credits I think you need one of you need to be working 17.5 hours a week, check the web site about it, there is a calculator here http://taxcredits.hmrc.gov.uk/Qualify/DIQHousehold.aspx (http://taxcredits.hmrc.gov.uk/Qualify/DIQHousehold.aspx) t**ker around with that
Post by: Ulick on January 04, 2011, 04:37:23 PM
"Average income for the Mainland is £22,000 or something."
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2011, 04:38:54 PM
Quote from: Ulick on January 04, 2011, 04:37:23 PM
Which mainland is he talking about? France or something?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 04:39:36 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2011, 04:25:16 PM

It's no wonder the southern economy is a global laughing stock as youse all seem to be living in a f**king fantasy world. I believe the adult minimum wage in the UK is a few pence shy of £6 per hour before tax. The dole is a better option in the south as it's a soft option. The same is not the case in the north as can be seen in posts from illdecide and hereiam. Unfortunately for them your fantasy world isn't a reality.
Spot on - though it's not just those living in the south that's in a fantasy world - I think it was in the discussion on the child benefit there were boys here who didn't know how anyone lived on less than 25k-30k (if memory serves me right)

So how much would those working behind shop/pub counters etc in the south be earning?
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 04:41:16 PM

Even as part of the UK, Nordies get a bad deal.  :D

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2011, 04:38:54 PM

I`ve often heard the rest of the Uk refered to "the mainland" in the north. I find it very odd.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 04:43:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 04:39:36 PM
So how much would those working behind shop/pub counters etc in the south be earning?

€500
Post by: johnneycool on January 04, 2011, 04:47:28 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 04:41:16 PM

I`ve often heard the rest of the Uk refered to "the mainland" in the north. I find it very odd.

The average or mean salary is always very skewed due to very high salaries at the top end for the top 5% or so.

I bet the median salary is a lot less than £22K and couple that with the fact that on average(mean) workers in the North earn approximately 10% less than workers in Great Britain doing comparable jobs even though we pay more for electricity, fuel and food.
Post by: illdecide on January 04, 2011, 04:54:49 PM
Sludden i don't know what planet you're on but £200 a week is a very realastic wage to many here in the north more so the less skilled jobs but still very much a common wage. I know tradesmen working for £250-£280 a week and it's all they can get. I don't know what you guys get paid down there but it's obviously a lot lot more than up here
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 05:02:15 PM
I find it very hard to believe that any man will get put of bed for as little as £40 a day. I`m not belittling anyone, but I was getting double that labouring in London in the early 1990s and I wasnt the worlds hardest worker.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 05:07:04 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 05:02:15 PM
I find it very hard to believe that any man will get put of bed for as little as £40 a day. I`m not belittling anyone, but I was getting double that labouring in London in the early 1990s and I wasnt the worlds hardest worker.
If your alternative was £60 a week you would!
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2011, 05:21:52 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 04, 2011, 04:47:28 PM

The average or mean salary is always very skewed due to very high salaries at the top end for the top 5% or so.

I bet the median salary is a lot less than £22K and couple that with the fact that on average(mean) workers in the North earn approximately 10% less than workers in Great Britain doing comparable jobs even though we pay more for electricity, fuel and food.

But very few people in NI would be earning £200 per week.
And how is anyone in NI with kids supposed to subsist on £65 per week? 

It all comes from the English contempt of those in a spot of bother. This is alien to Irish catholic culture .I don't know about the unionists but how is someone in Larne say supposed to get his life back together after falling into unemployment on a stipend of £65 per week ?
£65 is not enough to enable someone to get through the week with any sense of dignity.

How much does NI spend on unemployment benefit anyway? where does the rest of the money go?   
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2011, 05:24:06 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 04, 2011, 04:47:28 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Median_household_income

Median UK income in 2004 was £24 700. Not £200 per week.   
Post by: whiskeysteve on January 04, 2011, 05:41:43 PM

In the North, if you are on the dole for longer than 6 months im pretty sure it is mandatory to join job schemes that can involve you working a minimum of 30 hours per week, for your basic dole plus an extra £15 per week.

If you don't comply your benefits are threatened. Thus you will get out of bed.

By the way, if you are under 25 basic dole is £51.85 a week.

Nevermind 40 a day. There are young people with degrees getting out of bed for £66.85 a week to work near full time jobs.

http://www.gapni.com/
Post by: bcarrier on January 04, 2011, 05:47:44 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 04, 2011, 12:09:58 PM
I will soon be unemployed (haven't been told yet but i know it's coming) and i was wondering what benefits i would be entitled too, i have 2 kids and a wife who only works 16 hours a week (small wage). I have been in constant employment for 21 years...

The Southern Brethren can add to this to compare what North get compared to South

P.S. I work in Civil Engineering (Consultants) and the construction industry is dead (you already know this) but apparently manufacturing has picked up? Can this lead onto the Construction Industry improving or not?

Thats tough illdecide. Will there be civils work in sorting out the water situation in the North or will it just be a patch it up job ?  Residential is fecked in both parts of the island and all the larger government/capital/infrastructure  jobs seem to be parked ...there is an oversupply/development of retail so I dont see much light at the end of construction tunnel in Ireland. I spend a lot of time in London and its better but not hectic there either. Have you looked at remote working ....have seen a few fledgling sites trying to match consultants with projects but not sure if they have real momentum/ critical mass  ?

Post by: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 05:48:40 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 05:07:04 PM
If your alternative was £60 a week you would!

Hell of an incentive to find a decent job, but I suppose its all a matter of perspective.
Post by: Trout on January 04, 2011, 06:02:01 PM
No wonder you free staters are in the state you are in when you think it is acceptable to pay someone €200 a week to sit scratching themselves.
Post by: andoireabu on January 04, 2011, 06:52:49 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 04, 2011, 04:06:47 PM

Me. Apprentice wage for someone my age by law is £2.50 an hour. It's less for ones fresh out of school.  Though I don't get it as bad as that but still less than 5 quid an hour.
Post by: Bogball XV on January 04, 2011, 08:07:23 PM

There's plenty of occupations in the south earning much less than that.  The min wage comes out at about €15500 odd and there are many positions offering about that level - most lower level retail, cleaning, catering, carework etc wouldn't pay much above that.  Of course there's also quite a bit of below min wage black market employment that goes on in the industries above and other seasonal agricultural jobs.
Post by: Bogball XV on January 04, 2011, 08:13:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 04, 2011, 05:24:06 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Median_household_income

Median UK income in 2004 was £24 700. Not £200 per week.
that's household income seafoid, not directly comparable with individual income.
Post by: Bogball XV on January 04, 2011, 08:21:51 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 04, 2011, 05:21:52 PMBut very few people in NI would be earning £200 per week.

It all comes from the English contempt of those in a spot of bother. This is alien to Irish catholic culture .I don't know about the unionists but how is someone in Larne say supposed to get his life back together after falling into unemployment on a stipend of £65 per week ? £65 is not enough to enable someone to get through the week with any sense of dignity.

How much does NI spend on unemployment benefit anyway? where does the rest of the money go?
utter rubbish, if that were the case why doesn't Ireland have a health service which is 'fit for purpose', which gives a massively different standard of care to those who can pay than to those who can't - education is reverting to the same structure too.
Post by: bennydorano on January 04, 2011, 09:00:49 PM
Think u can only  get help with mortgages once you've been claiming  JSA(income based) for 13wks or more. If ur getting a decent redundancy package you'll prb only get ur contributory based JSA. Contact ur local J&BO.

The mortgage help is interest only payments btw.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 04, 2011, 09:47:10 PM
Being a tight bastard, I was wondering about what poverty was when I was walking round Tesco the other day - ps have you noticed the price of cheese lately? Anyway, I saw Tesco noodles priced at 10p! Feck - 20 packets of these would feed a man for a week. So that's a man fed and with 2 packets of 6 pack cheese and onion to sprinkle over, sure that's a feast. So, we have a culinary delight for the price of 4 quid - add 2 loaves - another quid each say - and that is a square meal for six quid a week. Then, for dessert, 7 tins of mixed fruit added would cost 1.40 - 7.40 to be fed. Now we get to the essentials. I think that a man could smoke (if you do) 2 packs of that Drum tobacco with papers ... 50g for £12 quid .... that's a week's smoking - add papers for a pound and that's food and smokes sorted for £20. Now the big issue is beer. Best value is that Strophenhaun Czech beer at £3.57 for 4 .. so multiply that by 7 and that is ...........£25 quid. That is a man's needs attended to for £45 a week. I feel that if secretly I kill the cats and dogs in the street and put them on the fire - sprinkle the burnt bits on top of the noodles - and I could live rightly. However, if you have a wife, kids, a mortgage, a life or debts, this might be a bit hypothetical. But I have a mate who says that kids can survive on vitamins (and that is something that can be got at the doctors) so: party on!!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2011, 10:09:11 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on January 04, 2011, 05:47:44 PM

Thats tough illdecide. Will there be civils work in sorting out the water situation in the North or will it just be a patch it up job ?  Residential is fecked in both parts of the island and all the larger government/capital/infrastructure  jobs seem to be parked ...there is an oversupply/development of retail so I dont see much light at the end of construction tunnel in Ireland. I spend a lot of time in London and its better but not hectic there either. Have you looked at remote working ....have seen a few fledgling sites trying to match consultants with projects but not sure if they have real momentum/ critical mass  ?

I hope it works out well, Engineering seems to be doing a lot better than the Civil side of things. I work in a training college and we deliver Electrical, Fabrication/Welding and Mechanical engineering. We are busy and have a lot of students out there working away. A lot of employers (in engineering) are taking people on who have been laid off in other areas and re training them.

For them its a great opportunity to get employees who have a College education and with a bit of training can become a asset to their firm. I firmly believe in cold calling and phoning companies, shows how interested and keen someone can be
Post by: Rav67 on January 05, 2011, 01:09:56 AM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 04:27:13 PM

You really have no clue what you are talking about.  That's all I earn a week after tax and if I can't work I won't get paid.  Plenty of people in the same boat too.
Post by: dillinger on January 05, 2011, 01:59:33 AM
There is many here in the north taking home £200 per week and then paying £100 for their rent. Only get likes of tax credits if you have family.
Post by: illdecide on January 05, 2011, 09:31:57 AM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on January 04, 2011, 09:47:10 PM
Being a tight b**tard, I was wondering about what poverty was when I was walking round Tesco the other day - ps have you noticed the price of cheese lately? Anyway, I saw Tesco noodles priced at 10p! Feck - 20 packets of these would feed a man for a week. So that's a man fed and with 2 packets of 6 pack cheese and onion to sprinkle over, sure that's a feast. So, we have a culinary delight for the price of 4 quid - add 2 loaves - another quid each say - and that is a square meal for six quid a week. Then, for dessert, 7 tins of mixed fruit added would cost 1.40 - 7.40 to be fed. Now we get to the essentials. I think that a man could smoke (if you do) 2 packs of that Drum tobacco with papers ... 50g for £12 quid .... that's a week's smoking - add papers for a pound and that's food and smokes sorted for £20. Now the big issue is beer. Best value is that Strophenhaun Czech beer at £3.57 for 4 .. so multiply that by 7 and that is ...........£25 quid. That is a man's needs attended to for £45 a week. I feel that if secretly I kill the cats and dogs in the street and put them on the fire - sprinkle the burnt bits on top of the noodles - and I could live rightly. However, if you have a wife, kids, a mortgage, a life or debts, this might be a bit hypothetical. But I have a mate who says that kids can survive on vitamins (and that is something that can be got at the doctors) so: party on!!!

Hurler...what can i say. you have it sorted, is your surname thatcher ;)
Post by: illdecide on January 05, 2011, 09:32:37 AM
Thanks lads for all your contributions...
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2011, 09:33:47 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on January 04, 2011, 08:21:51 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 04, 2011, 05:21:52 PMBut very few people in NI would be earning £200 per week.

It all comes from the English contempt of those in a spot of bother. This is alien to Irish catholic culture .I don't know about the unionists but how is someone in Larne say supposed to get his life back together after falling into unemployment on a stipend of £65 per week ? £65 is not enough to enable someone to get through the week with any sense of dignity.

utter rubbish, if that were the case why doesn't Ireland have a health service which is 'fit for purpose', which gives a massively different standard of care to those who can pay than to those who can't - education is reverting to the same structure too.

Bogball

The below the poverty line levels of UK welfare go way back. This is a meme that has its roots in history.

: http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2010/dec/07/national-insurance-british-welfare-poverty?INTCMP=SRCH

"Scandinavia doesn't do it. The Germans don't do it. The French don't do it. Not even the Americans do it. Britain is almost alone among rich countries in its willingness to pitch its workers into poverty-level incomes when they lose their jobs.

Tim Horton, research director of the Fabian Society, thinks the crucial difference between us and comparable nations is that our system developed from the poor laws of the 16th and 17th century. We saw welfare as taking care of the destitute at the bottom, and our attitude towards it has always been slightly begrudging. We see it as something we give to others, not something we may need and want to invest in ourselves.

As welfare has become focused on the needy, we have become less generous towards its recipients. Benefits are now set at well below poverty levels, and most of us no longer care. Whereas in 1985 42% of us thought it was definitely the government's responsibility to provide a decent standard of living for the unemployed, by 2006 only 10% thought that true."

It's driven by a very English attitude to poverty.  Which is not appropriate to Northern Ireland.
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2011, 09:34:38 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 05, 2011, 09:32:37 AM
Thanks lads for all your contributions...

I hope you find something soon Illdecide .
Post by: NAG1 on January 05, 2011, 09:42:04 AM
Yes Good Luck Illdecide!

Just taking up on your point Seafoid, I think attitudes have hardened towards the benefit system in general due to the amount of fraud and miss-use of the system by the scammers.

Tax payers of NI have no issue with paying a decent tax so that genuine unemployed people get the benefit they need when they are out of work (and looking to get back into it) but its the people who dont even try plus claiming all benefits under the sun that cause the shift in attitude.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 05, 2011, 10:01:36 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 05, 2011, 09:42:04 AM
Yes Good Luck Illdecide!

Just taking up on your point Seafoid, I think attitudes have hardened towards the benefit system in general due to the amount of fraud and miss-use of the system by the scammers.

Tax payers of NI have no issue with paying a decent tax so that genuine unemployed people get the benefit they need when they are out of work (and looking to get back into it) but its the people who dont even try plus claiming all benefits under the sun that cause the shift in attitude.

I agree with you NAG1. 

illdecide - hope you get a bit of luck soon.
Post by: Minder on January 05, 2011, 10:28:21 AM
Seafoid - England hold the purse strings, so what is "appropriate" in England is appropriate in Northern Ireland.
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2011, 10:32:16 AM
Quote from: Minder on January 05, 2011, 10:28:21 AM
Seafoid - England hold the purse strings, so what is "appropriate" in England is appropriate in Northern Ireland.

I'd like to see the numbers. Where does the NI budget go? 
what's the point of having a devolved government if it has no power to decide anything ?
Does Scotland have the same social welfare rates as England?  Or Wales?   
Post by: delboy on January 05, 2011, 10:51:58 AM

Im an a very similar position job wise (getting the push come feburary) hope you find something soon.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 05, 2011, 11:15:18 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 05, 2011, 10:32:16 AM
Quote from: Minder on January 05, 2011, 10:28:21 AM

I'd like to see the numbers. Where does the NI budget go? 
what's the point of having a devolved government if it has no power to decide anything ?
Does Scotland have the same social welfare rates as England?  Or Wales?
The local MLAs would have to look after the funding of the welfare state themselves and this would have meant making big decisions and they wouldn't have been able to blame the Brits for their poor lot. Hardly going to happen.
Post by: Banana Man on January 05, 2011, 11:24:16 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 05, 2011, 09:42:04 AM
Yes Good Luck Illdecide!

Post by: Ulick on January 05, 2011, 11:29:29 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 05, 2011, 10:32:16 AM

It's not a 'government' as NI is not a sovereign state, country or anything else. Stormont is nothing more than devolved administration put in place as a holding position pending a final decision on the national sovereignty. 
Post by: Hereiam on January 05, 2011, 11:31:53 AM
Some good advice so far. Its really stressin me out at the minute as to what to do next. Have to get up in the mornings and go into a work place that is throwing me to the kerb. Will be the longest month going.
Post by: Canalman on January 05, 2011, 11:47:14 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on January 05, 2011, 11:31:53 AM
Some good advice so far. Its really stressin me out at the minute as to what to do next. Have to get up in the mornings and go into a work place that is throwing me to the kerb. Will be the longest month going.

Grin and bear it imo. Give it your all for the last month as you will need their goodwill and reference in the future when you go for another job. Don't burn any bridges despite the obvious temptation to do so.

Best of luck to you.
Post by: illdecide on January 05, 2011, 11:59:09 AM
Good advise there Canalman, Hereiam grit your teeth and don't do anything foolish. I had a friend years ago told his boss what he thought of him and a few weeks later a company phoned for a reference and his ex boss sunk him like the titanic.

Good advise and help from you lads here...thanks
Post by: Hereiam on January 05, 2011, 12:12:17 PM
Not intending to do anything stupid as I will probably need a reference some day. The thing is now they are trying to get as much out of me before I go which is annoying.
Post by: Trout on January 05, 2011, 12:18:44 PM
Can u imagine if they paid the equivalent of €200 in the north for the dole? Your local supermarket or doctors surgeon would be like downtown Mogadishu. Immigrants would come from every corner of the earth. As if it isn't bad enuf already.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 05, 2011, 01:25:42 PM
Best of luck to you Illdecide and Hereiam plus any others in the same boat as I know there are plenty and a few are no longer posting as they have headed abroad and no longer have the time to post on here.

Hereiam - sure whats the rush, even if your end date comes and goes, you can surely go back in for a few days to finish things off and remain professional but not over stressing yourself as the demand for all this additional work to be completed before you go will no doubt do.

Im afraid that if the lads that cannot get retrained or as in the examples prev - into fairly similar parallel industries with a bit of retraining - then the only option may end up being a move abroad.
Whether that means uprooting the wife and kids is another matter.

I know my oul fella used to have to go off at various times of my childhood and work abroad.

There is work in England - not brilliant, but better than nothing.
Its either these or robbing banks, and they dont seem tohave anything left to rob nowadays.

best of luck and best wishes to you all !
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2011, 05:43:08 PM
Nag1

I don't think it is right that decent hardworking people who find themselves unemployed have to subsist on below poverty levels of state support because the English tabloids have a thing about dole cheats. it doesn't make any sense to treat people like that.   
Post by: Tyrones own on January 05, 2011, 05:48:20 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 05, 2011, 05:43:08 PM
Nag1

I don't think it is right that decent hardworking people who find themselves unemployed have to subsist on below poverty levels of state support because the English tabloids have a thing about dole cheats. it doesn't make any sense to treat people like that.
So the problem then lies with the English tabloids and not the scammers?...got it ::)
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2011, 05:56:38 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on January 05, 2011, 05:48:20 PM
Nag1

So the problem then lies with the English tabloids and not the scammers?...got it ::)

No it's neoliberal morons like yourself . I blame the education system.
With 1.5 million extra unemployed following the collapse of your economic model there are more ordinary people unemployed than "scammers" anyway.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 05, 2011, 05:59:26 PM
Typical of the abuses of Income support...some of them are pretty funny in fairness :D

Who's your baby's Daddy?

The following are all replies that Detroit women have written on Child Support Agency Forms in the section for listing 'Father's Details,' or putting it another way...  Who's your baby's Daddy?  These are genuine excerpts from the forms.  Be sure to check out #11, it takes 1st prize and #3 is runner up.
    1.  Regarding the identity of the father of my twins, Makeeshia was fathered by Maclearndon McKinley I am unsure as to the identity of the father of Marlinda, but I believe that she was conceived on the same night.

2...  I am unsure, as to the identity of the father of my child as I was being sick out of a window when taken unexpectedly from behind.  I can provide you with a list of names of men that I think were at the party if this helps.

3.  I do not know the name of the father of my little girl.  She was conceived at a party at 3600 East Grand Boulevard where I had sex with a man I met that night.  I do remember that the sex was so good that I fainted.  If you do manage to track down the father, can you please send me his phone number?  Thanks...   :D

4.  I don't know the identity of the father of my daughter.  He drives a BMW that now has a hole made by my stiletto in one of the door panels.  Perhaps you can contact BMW service stations in this area and see if he's had it replaced. 
5.  I have never had sex with a man.  I am still a Virginian.  I am awaiting a letter from the Pope confirming that my son's conception was ejaculate and that he is the Saver risen again.

6.  I cannot tell you the name of Alleshia's dad as he informs me that to do so would blow his cover and that would have cataclysmic implications for the economy  I am torn between doing right by you and right by the country..  Please advise.

7.  I do not know who the father of my child was as they all look the same to me.

8.  Tyrone Hairston is the father of child A.  If you do catch up with him, can you axe him what he did with my AC/DC CDs?  Child B who was also borned at the same time.....  well, I don't have clue..

9.  From the dates it seems that my daughter was conceived at Disney World.  Maybe it really is the Magic Kingdom .

10.  So much about that night is a blur.  The only thing that I remember for sure is Delia Smith did a program about eggs earlier in the evening.  If I had stayed in and watched more TV rather than going to the party at 8956 Miller Ave , mine might have remained unfertilized.

11.  I am unsure as to the identity of the father of my baby, after all, like when you eat a can of beans you can't be sure which one made you fart.  ;D

WHEN THE WEALTH IS REDISTRIBUTED THESE PEOPLE WILL BE THE MAJOR RECIPIENTS.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 05, 2011, 06:01:39 PM
Nag1

Firstly, TO as a neoliberal?! ;d

A fair approach would be a sliding scale based on your NI contributions as it is unfair that someone who has contributed to the exchequer for n years is entitled to the same dole as a lazy hoor with no intention of working. Having said that the administration of a flexible system would never work as currently the dole office lose more money through mistakes and wastage than is lost through benefit fraud.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 05, 2011, 06:03:49 PM
Quote. I blame the education system.
FFS make up your mind...blame everything under the sun but the 800lb gorilla
sitting staring you in the face

QuoteWith 1.5 million extra unemployed following the collapse of your economic model there are more ordinary people unemployed than aided in large part by the "scammers" anyway.

Fixed that for ye  :)
Post by: bennydorano on January 05, 2011, 06:54:14 PM
NI is the classic example of a state where everyone knows theirs rights but a large section choose to ignore their responsibilities.  Believe it or not the 'scamming' culture was always actively promoted by SF, some forlone & delusional extension of the struggle - as in - take them for all you can. 

The legacy of the troubles still creates a sense of entitlement from the top of society to the very bottom.
Post by: Hereiam on January 28, 2011, 04:45:57 PM
Come 5.00pm I will be out of work since I left college 10 yrs ago. No Job lined up yet and its not lookin good out there. Life is a bitch.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 28, 2011, 04:57:40 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on January 28, 2011, 04:45:57 PM
Come 5.00pm I will be out of work since I left college 10 yrs ago. No Job lined up yet and its not lookin good out there. Life is a bitch.

Im guessin you left out a "for the first time"  ;)

hope you get somethin sorted chap; whats your line of work?

Self employed myself, at times ye may more or less be out of work....
Post by: EC Unique on January 28, 2011, 05:25:54 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 05, 2011, 06:01:39 PM
Nag1

Firstly, TO as a neoliberal?! ;d

A fair approach would be a sliding scale based on your NI contributions as it is unfair that someone who has contributed to the exchequer for n years is entitled to the same dole as a lazy hoor with no intention of working. Having said that the administration of a flexible system would never work as currently the dole office lose more money through mistakes and wastage than is lost through benefit fraud.

Makes a lot of sense.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 28, 2011, 06:14:13 PM

Sorry to hear that lad.

Hope something comes up.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 28, 2011, 06:25:07 PM

Hope something works out for u soon.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 28, 2011, 06:38:55 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 28, 2011, 06:25:07 PM

Hope something works out for u soon.

Sorry to hear that Hereaim, thats a tough break. Hopefully you fill find yourself back on your feet as soon as possible. Don't let yourself get as bitter as I think I have got. I hope you have other options open to you. Best of luck.
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 28, 2011, 07:19:20 PM
http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1088599

I watched this show the other day, so sad, it reminded me of the bad old days of the mid 80s when I left. I can't believe it had gotten this bad again. They should show this the night before the election just to remind people what the government has done to the country.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 28, 2011, 07:27:43 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on January 28, 2011, 07:19:20 PM

I watched this show the other day, so sad, it reminded me of the bad old days of the mid 80s when I left. I can't believe it had gotten this bad again. They should show this the night before the election just to remind people what the government has done to the country.

Just watching it now, very sad. Ricky Martin should be tied to a seat and forced to watch this over and over, he was part of this, the cause of this.
Post by: mannix on January 28, 2011, 07:58:42 PM
i just watched a bit of it, I left 18 years ago but was a young fella and it suited me, i wanted to go, all I can say from my experience is go and enjoy your life.
Post by: armaghniac on January 28, 2011, 08:44:18 PM
This documentary is rather morose in its tone. Many people have problems getting jobs, others do not. I was speaking to a friend of mine whose company is having to outsource its IT work to India as they cannot get suitable people and those they do get move on to other jobs quickly.
Post by: illdecide on January 31, 2011, 11:03:34 AM
Got my 1 month's notice on Friday in work so unless i get work in the next 4 weeks it will be the first time in 20 years I'll be out of work...FFS i don't even know where the local DHSS office is. As much as i knew to expect this and certainly knew it was only a matter of time before i was told, the news on Friday hit me hard...devastated.
Post by: Banana Man on January 31, 2011, 11:06:49 AM
heard over the weekend that if you can get a haulage firm to sign a letter saying the can get you a job if you had the 'big licence' then the brew will pay for the cost of going through the test...
Post by: illdecide on February 21, 2011, 10:08:55 AM
Last day in work today, unshaven and wearing jeans and jumper. weird feeling sitting here
Post by: NAG1 on February 21, 2011, 10:28:10 AM
Good Luck illdecide, there but for the grace of god go alot of us!

Hope something turns up for you.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 21, 2011, 10:45:03 AM
Quote from: illdecide on February 21, 2011, 10:08:55 AM
Last day in work today, unshaven and wearing jeans and jumper. weird feeling sitting here

know where yer comin from chap; got the flick a number of years ago when i tried dublin for a wee while;
the whole firm knew it was coming, but when you finally get the news its not nice, a blow to the old confidence even tho it aint no fault of your own;

good luck in getting sorted chap; try to keep positive,