GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: downandboogie on January 02, 2011, 06:58:52 PM

Title: Mickey Harte quizzed by PSNI after accusations of physical abuse at school?
Post by: downandboogie on January 02, 2011, 06:58:52 PM
Headline strory in the Sunday World so it must be true.
Title: Re: Mickey Harte quizzed by PSNI after accusations of physical abuse at school?
Post by: Don Johnson on January 02, 2011, 07:09:39 PM
Two months registered and this is your first post? Nice.
Title: Re: Mickey Harte quizzed by PSNI after accusations of physical abuse at school?
Post by: Big Puff on January 02, 2011, 07:14:33 PM
great contributor!
Post by: EC Unique on January 02, 2011, 07:29:24 PM
I would not wipe my arse with that rag!
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 02, 2011, 08:06:36 PM
Jaysus lads all he did was post what the Sunday World has on their paper (i presume but i don't buy it so wouldn't know) and also ridiculed it although maybe some of ye need a smiley to see the irony? Anyway, why are ye attacking the messenger? Anyone care to fill us in on the story itself
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2011, 08:22:47 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 02, 2011, 08:06:36 PM
Jaysus lads all he did was post what the Sunday World has on their paper (i presume but i don't buy it so wouldn't know) and also ridiculed it although maybe some of ye need a smiley to see the irony? Anyway, why are ye attacking the messenger? Anyone care to fill us in on the story itself

Thats exactly what I was thinking.
So anyone know anything about the story,or because its Mickey Harte are we not allowed to ask?
Post by: ONeill on January 02, 2011, 08:28:58 PM
Saw this headline and was thinking of the amount of court cases that'd arrive on the scene if someone ever won damages against a teacher who slapped/beat them before the abolishment of corporal punishment (not saying Mickey did BTW). The Christian Brothers would be bankrupt although I'd assume the government would be the target.
Post by: orangeman on January 02, 2011, 08:33:18 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 02, 2011, 07:29:24 PM

A rag of the highest order.
Post by: ONeill on January 02, 2011, 08:36:48 PM
This is the bones of it:

Police questioned Tyrone manager over assault claims

Tyrone football manager Mickey Harte has been questioned by police over physical assault claims by residents of a former Catholic boys' home where he was once employed, according to the Sunday World.

The three-time All-Ireland winning Bainisteoir was interviewed by the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) Public Protection Unit over the matter, which dates back to the 1970s.

According to a report in the Sunday World, several members of the McConville family – whose mother Jean was executed by the IRA nearly 40 years ago, are among those who accused Harte of physically assaulting residents at Runbane House in Kircrubbin, Co. Down, a home for Catholic boys in care where Harte once worked as a teacher.

Willie McConville, the youngest of the McConville family, is believed to have made a statement to police accusing Harte of assault.

Harte has vehemently denied any accusations of wrongdoing and told the paper: "I am not guilty of any of these accusations and I will fight this the whole way."

The allegations come over 30 years after the offences were alleged to take place and there has been no suggestion from any of the accusers than there was any other form of abuse than physical assault.

Harte was questioned by PSNI detectives in December of last year regarding the allegations and understood to have cooperated fully with the investigation.

Runbane House has a notorious reputation for clerical sex abuse; Fr. Brendan Smyth was sentenced to ten years for his crimes in the 1990s, while charges against Brother Florence (real name Joseph Scally) were eventually dropped.

Harte has previously claimed that he was oblivious to abuse that went on in Runbane House, telling the Sunday World last year: At Runbane, I came in and went home every day, so I wasn't part of the 'Home' scene so to speak.

"I was oblivious at the time to anything that was going on. I never dreamt that anything like that was going on."
Post by: Gaffer on January 02, 2011, 08:41:23 PM
I thought there was a time limit on when you could report someone for assault and I mean alot less that 30 years

If not I'm going after my old teacher who hit me a slap on the bake when I was in P5.

PS, Title of thread should be changed from 'abuse' to 'assault'.

The term 'abuse' is suggesting something more sinister.
Post by: downandboogie on January 02, 2011, 08:43:01 PM
i suppose the headline could have accused Harte of willie abuse
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2011, 08:43:37 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 02, 2011, 07:29:24 PM

Is there any particular newspaper you would use to wipe your arse?
I doubt any of them would be too pleasant to use to clean that area.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 02, 2011, 08:44:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 02, 2011, 08:36:48 PM
According to a report in the Sunday World, several members of the McConville family – whose mother Jean was executed by the IRA nearly 40 years ago, are among those who accused Harte of physically assaulting residents at Runbane House in Kircrubbin, Co. Down, a home for Catholic boys in care where Harte once worked as a teacher.

If the IRA had known what they were doing at the time they would have left the mother alone and shot the children.
Post by: ONeill on January 02, 2011, 08:52:10 PM
Getting the impression this thread is being created/used to score some low life points.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 02, 2011, 08:53:24 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 02, 2011, 08:52:10 PM
Getting the impression this thread is being created/used to score some low life points.

You obviously havent met any of the McConville family.
Post by: ONeill on January 02, 2011, 08:56:49 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 02, 2011, 08:53:24 PM

Sorry, not addressing you.
Post by: ziggysego on January 02, 2011, 09:07:16 PM
Sunday World? Enough said.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2011, 09:22:35 PM
Those having a go at the person who started the thread don't be such f**king wankers - of course it's going to be point of discussion.

Sunday world or no sunday world at least the basis of the story does seem to be accurate but it seems to me that those making the allegations are just seeking the limelight.  If Harte did hit them I'd be shocked if he was the only teacher that ever give them a skite why aren't they making allegations against the rest also?
Post by: ONeill on January 02, 2011, 09:40:04 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2011, 09:22:35 PM
Those having a go at the person who started the thread don't be such f**king w**kers - of course it's going to be point of discussion.

So you think this - i suppose the headline could have accused Harte of willie abuse - from the threadmaster is something that is acceptable. I think it's an important issue in terms of precedent but the same poster appears to have an ulterior motive.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2011, 09:44:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 02, 2011, 09:40:04 PM
Those having a go at the person who started the thread don't be such f**king w**kers - of course it's going to be point of discussion.

So you think this - i suppose the headline could have accused Harte of willie abuse - from the threadmaster is something that is acceptable. I think it's an important issue in terms of precedent but the same poster appears to have an ulterior motive.
I dont see anything wrong with the thread title? I dont know if the poster has an ulterior motive but lets wait and see before having a go. I think it's fair enough that we have a thread on the subject, it will be a point of discussion.

I wasn't referring to you in my last post btw, I wasn't sure who your comments were directed at.
Post by: dodgy umpire on January 02, 2011, 09:54:08 PM
No problem with it being a point of discussion, but why is it in the GAA section?
Post by: under the bar on January 02, 2011, 10:01:03 PM
Who wasn't physically abused as a school-child pre-1985? ???

Post by: the processor on January 02, 2011, 10:15:45 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 02, 2011, 08:53:24 PM

You obviously don't know Mickey Harte that well!!!!
Post by: 5 Sams on January 02, 2011, 10:53:08 PM
If the family get any money out of this then I'd say I'll make a fortune as well as a large percentage of the posters on here :-\ :-\

A non story...so some wee bollix got a slap...big deal...I was that wee bollix and I got plenty of slaps ...didnt do me a button of harm...move on nothing to see here
Post by: Cde on January 02, 2011, 10:58:11 PM
can we stop posting on this tread and let it sink into the gutter where it belongs
Post by: orangeman on January 02, 2011, 11:06:07 PM
Quote from: Cde on January 02, 2011, 10:58:11 PM
can we stop posting on this tread and let it sink into the gutter where it belongs

Post by: Orior on January 02, 2011, 11:09:05 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 02, 2011, 11:06:07 PM
Quote from: Cde on January 02, 2011, 10:58:11 PM

D'oh!
Post by: dublinfella on January 02, 2011, 11:35:23 PM

Sunday world or no sunday world at least the basis of the story does seem to be accurate but it seems to me that those making the allegations are just seeking the limelight.  If Harte did hit them I'd be shocked if he was the only teacher that ever give them a skite why aren't they making allegations against the rest also?

Maybe they are, but the rest aren't prominent enough to make the papers
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 02, 2011, 11:40:29 PM
Would it be let sink to the bottom if the person in the report was the Dublin or Kerry manager? Incredible! The thread should be moved to the general section. Some Ye seem to know the exact levels of physical abuse that harte is being accused of, maybe Ye could share as its not in the report. Getting a slap and getting the shite beaten out of you are both labelled physical abuse but are two totally different things. I don't know harte or the mcconvilles so no opinion either way but shutting down discussion on the matter is not on either. For what. Its worth I hope harte is innocent of these accusations.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2011, 11:46:01 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 02, 2011, 11:40:29 PM
Would it be let sink to the bottom if the person in the report was the Dublin or Kerry manager? Incredible! The thread should be moved to the general section. Some Ye seem to know the exact levels of physical abuse that harte is being accused of, maybe Ye could share as its not in the report. Getting a slap and getting the shite beaten out of you are both labelled physical abuse but are two totally different things. I don't know harte or the mcconvilles so no opinion either way but shutting down discussion on the matter is not on either. For what. Its worth I hope harte is innocent of these accusations.

It's quite scary that some people have learned nothing over the last couple of years when it comes to this sort of thing.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 03, 2011, 12:31:45 AM
Regardless of how true this story is, unfortunately there will be plenty of people on this board who will relish this story and that's very sad but I suppose hardly surprising given some of the comments already. I would also suggest that some people should be careful what they post for example the comment O'Neill has already highlighted!

Over the years Mickey has worked with hundreds, if not thousands of young people, it's interesting how this accusation with what appears limited evidence, makes headline news! If it's ok to accuse teachers of physical assault from a different era when rules were very different, then I might look at a few cases against nearly every teacher who ever taught me!
Post by: Pangurban on January 03, 2011, 12:42:21 AM
More sensationalist rubbish from this gutter rag of a Newspaper. I would be willing to bet that these allegations do not result in a Court hearing.
Post by: ck on January 03, 2011, 01:03:42 AM
I picked up the Sunday World in Fermanagh today but returned home to Sligo to notice that the story didnt make the same headline in the southern edition. Obviously the 'occupied 6' version is of an even lower quality. Although both rags feature that bollix Spillane.
This really is a nothing story by a sensationalist rag who thrive on this BS. So what if some little toe rag got a clipping, they then decide to make a case of it 32 years later?? Unreal!
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 03, 2011, 11:40:47 AM
Can't find one other reference to this story online which would tend to make me think now that this is something about nothing.
Post by: trileacman on January 03, 2011, 11:32:46 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2011, 11:46:01 PM
It's quite scary that some people have learned nothing over the last couple of years when it comes to this sort of thing.
What is that suppose to mean? I take it you are referring to the claims taken against members of the clergy and lay people in the church in recent times?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 12:34:06 AM
Quote from: trileacman on January 03, 2011, 11:32:46 PM
What is that suppose to mean? I take it you are referring to the claims taken against members of the clergy and lay people in the church in recent times?
Yes and that there were people willing to rubbish those claims because they'd never believe that of the priest. The same is going on here. 
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 12:48:08 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 12:34:06 AM
Yes and that there were people willing to rubbish those claims because they'd never believe that of the priest. The same is going on here.

And others who just can't wait to get the boot in, without waiting for a thread of proof, but rather just on the word on a largely discredited rag.
Post by: Gaffer on January 04, 2011, 12:53:42 AM
Load of crap that will die a death wiithin a week but will keep the gossip mongerers entertained for a few days.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 01:03:57 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 12:48:08 AM

And others who just can't wait to get the boot in, without waiting for a thread of proof, but rather just on the word on a largely discredited rag.
Who's putting the boot in?
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 01:07:01 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 01:03:57 AM

Didn't mean you, sorry.
Post by: Don Johnson on January 04, 2011, 01:09:08 AM
It is not the same it is just your silly opinion.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 01:12:44 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 01:07:01 AM

Didn't mean you, sorry.
I know, but who do you mean because I don't see anyone putting the boot in.
"The processor" made a remark that may be seen as that, at a stretch, but I can't see anything else.
There's more paranoid tyronies (as usual) than people putting the boot in.
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 01:22:15 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 01:12:44 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 01:07:01 AM

Didn't mean you, sorry.
I know, but who do you mean because I don't see anyone putting the boot in.
"The processor" made a remark that may be seen as that, at a stretch, but I can't see anything else.
There's more paranoid tyronies (as usual) than people putting the boot in.

The OP's second remark is what I'm referring about.

Just for the second, I haven't a problem with is being a topic on the board.
Post by: johnneycool on January 04, 2011, 10:15:12 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 02, 2011, 08:36:48 PM
This is the bones of it:

Police questioned Tyrone manager over assault claims

Tyrone football manager Mickey Harte has been questioned by police over physical assault claims by residents of a former Catholic boys' home where he was once employed, according to the Sunday World.

The three-time All-Ireland winning Bainisteoir was interviewed by the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) Public Protection Unit over the matter, which dates back to the 1970s.

Willie McConville, the youngest of the McConville family, is believed to have made a statement to police accusing Harte of assault.

Harte has vehemently denied any accusations of wrongdoing and told the paper: "I am not guilty of any of these accusations and I will fight this the whole way."

The allegations come over 30 years after the offences were alleged to take place and there has been no suggestion from any of the accusers than there was any other form of abuse than physical assault.

Harte was questioned by PSNI detectives in December of last year regarding the allegations and understood to have cooperated fully with the investigation.

Runbane House has a notorious reputation for clerical sex abuse; Fr. Brendan Smyth was sentenced to ten years for his crimes in the 1990s, while charges against Brother Florence (real name Joseph Scally) were eventually dropped.

Harte has previously claimed that he was oblivious to abuse that went on in Runbane House, telling the Sunday World last year: At Runbane, I came in and went home every day, so I wasn't part of the 'Home' scene so to speak.

"I was oblivious at the time to anything that was going on. I never dreamt that anything like that was going on."

It's never looks good when a lazy reporter can't get the name of the bloody home right, it was Rubane house, on the Rubane road outside Kircubbin.

It's fact at this stage that Mickey Harte did teach PE in the school for a period and it's also a fact that Fr Brendan Smyth also plied his sick acts in the same school. I don't know if those periods overlap and whether Harte as he says himself knew of it as he lodged in a house in Portaferry most evenings.
Harte is one of many questioned over the goings on in Rubane over the years as I'm aware of the local PP's being questioned by the PSNI on this a few years back.
This fairly old news and will probably run a bit longer.
Post by: rrhf on January 04, 2011, 10:37:59 AM
Mickey Harte may have his critics but I see the quality of the reporting of this story as very low grade and amateur and so typical of the paper.  I think Mickey will know he will have the full support of Tyrone people and I would have thought Ulster Gaels as well on what unfortunately has the appearance of an attempt to blackguard his good name.   
Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 02:18:10 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 04, 2011, 10:37:59 AM
Mickey Harte may have his critics but I see the quality of the reporting of this story as very low grade and amateur and so typical of the paper.  I think Mickey will know he will have the full support of Tyrone people and I would have thought Ulster Gaels as well on what unfortunately has the appearance of an attempt to blackguard his good name.   

I think this is what POG's was getting at. Will Tyrone and Ulster GAA people support him because they believe he is innocent, or simply because he is prominent in the GAA?

If its the former, fine. If its the latter, its the same thing as chosing to believe a priest simply because he is a priest.
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 02:24:20 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 02:18:10 PM

I think this is what POG's was getting at. Will Tyrone and Ulster GAA people support him because they believe he is innocent, or simply because he is prominent in the GAA?

If its the former, fine. If its the latter, its the same thing as chosing to believe a priest simply because he is a priest.

I don't like accusing people of such a horrible and dispicable crime, until the facts are in. Whether that be Mickey Harte, Priest or anyone else for that matter. It's a horrible thing to be labelled, if untrue.
Post by: Eddie Stobart on January 04, 2011, 02:25:06 PM
I dunno what type of school all you guys went too,maybe it's more of a accepted thing up North but I was never hit by a teacher while attending school,and I went to a fairly rough school in Carlow town.
I'm talking 25 years ago as well not recently.
Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 02:35:00 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 02:24:20 PM

I don't like accusing people of such a horrible and dispicable crime, until the facts are in. Whether that be Mickey Harte, Priest or anyone else for that matter. It's a horrible thing to be labelled, if untrue.

Agreed. But one fact we know is that he was interviewed by the peelers about it. That in itself, like it or not, is newsworthy.

If the ONLY reason you believe him to be innocent is that he is the Tyrone manager, you need to sit down and have a little think to yourself. That is all.
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 02:37:07 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 02:35:00 PM

Agreed. But one fact we know is that he was interviewed by the peelers about it. That in itself, like it or not, is newsworthy.

If the ONLY reason you believe him to be innocent is that he is the Tyrone manager, you need to sit down and have a little think to yourself. That is all.

No, that's not the reason.

Several people, on the non-gaa side of the board, took great delight in a Belfast Minister being accused of the same. My stance was the same.
Post by: Hardy on January 04, 2011, 02:42:26 PM
Quote from: Eddie Stobart on January 04, 2011, 02:25:06 PM
I went to a fairly rough school in Carlow town.

That's like saying you climbed a mountain in Kildare.

Martin Clunes (host on Have I Got News For You) - "What was your school motto?"
Glenda Jackson (uncertain who is being asked) - "Are you looking at me?"
Paul Merton - "That must have been a tough school!"
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 02:43:20 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 04, 2011, 02:42:26 PM

Martin Clunes (host on Have I Got News For You) - "What was your school motto?"
Glenda Jackson (uncertain who is being asked) - "Are you looking at me?"
Paul Merton - "That must have been a tough school!"

:D :D :D
Post by: supersarsfields on January 04, 2011, 02:47:16 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 02:18:10 PM

I'd say most Tyrone people and Ulster GAA people will support him until there's proof otherwise, if that ever happens.
Post by: Eddie Stobart on January 04, 2011, 02:58:37 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 04, 2011, 02:42:26 PM

You don't know Carlow town very well I'd say
Post by: Kerry Mike on January 04, 2011, 02:59:17 PM
in these things people are very quick to jump in and point the finger and throw blame about, its best to see if there is any truth in this from the police investigation. 

Not too long ago many people on here were calling for Paul Galvins head over a classroom incident, and that made national news too. Thats the problem with top sportspeople nowadays, like it or not they are now part of the celebrity lifestyle we live and are obsessed in, and the media and the rest of us on forums like this just think that we have open season on any gossip that comes up.

I hope for Harte's sake its not true, but if there are victims here lets hope they get justice.
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2011, 03:05:17 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on January 04, 2011, 02:59:17 PM
in these things people are very quick to jump in and point the finger and throw blame about, its best to see if there is any truth in this from the police investigation. 

Not too long ago many people on here were calling for Paul Galvins head over a classroom incident, and that made national news too. Thats the problem with top sportspeople nowadays, like it or not they are now part of the celebrity lifestyle we live and are obsessed in, and the media and the rest of us on forums like this just think that we have open season on any gossip thats come up.

I hope for Harte's sake its not true, but if there are victims here lets hope they get justice.

Sensible post KM. One I agree with 100%.
Post by: EC Unique on January 04, 2011, 03:08:42 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on January 04, 2011, 02:59:17 PM

Not too long ago many people on here were calling for Paul Galvins head over a classroom incident, and that made national news too. Thats the problem with top sportspeople nowadays, like it or not they are now part of the celebrity lifestyle we live and are obsessed in, and the media and the rest of us on forums like this just think that we have open season on any gossip thats come up.

If it was a cuff behind the ear with the back of his hand them it probably is true as it would have been of most teachers at the time. Many a cuff I got and did me no harm.

And by the way KM,

Quoteits best to see if there is any truth in this from the police investigation

that would be tricky ground up here as well.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 04, 2011, 03:27:13 PM

An allegation made by a student against a teacher is not news worthy - this would happen fairly regularly and it is standard practice to be questioned by police if the allegation is made to them. What you are saying is that its news worthy because it was made against a high profile GAA personality - is that fair?

Teaching unions (in England anyway) are fighting to allow teachers to remain anonymous during any investigation into allegations as it can ruin reputations and the vast majority of times they are made by student with a grudge and are unfounded. I havent read the article but i would be interested where the source iof this article is from - was it the PSNI or was it Mr McConville??
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 04:09:24 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on January 04, 2011, 03:27:13 PM

An allegation made by a student against a teacher is not news worthy - this would happen fairly regularly and it is standard practice to be questioned by police if the allegation is made to them. What you are saying is that its news worthy because it was made against a high profile GAA personality - is that fair?

Teaching unions (in England anyway) are fighting to allow teachers to remain anonymous during any investigation into allegations as it can ruin reputations and the vast majority of times they are made by student with a grudge and are unfounded. I havent read the article but i would be interested where the source iof this article is from - was it the PSNI or was it Mr McConville??
Well he was happy enough to pose for pictures for the front page of the Irish News at his daughter's wedding a couple of days before that - of all GAA figures I don't think he can complain about media attention!
Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 04:21:57 PM

Like it or not, a high profile war orphan has made an allegation of assault againt a high profile teacher in a high profile school (as a result of child abuse that happened there) is newsorthy. I think this story would have hit the media with any two of those three ingredients.

Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 04:24:11 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 04, 2011, 02:47:16 PM
I'd say most Tyrone people and Ulster GAA people will support him until there's proof otherwise, if that ever happens.

Yet in other cases they would support the student...

My point is, despite my own belief that he has been stitched up, that if you defend him simply because he is in the GAA, you are on a very slippery slope.
Post by: LeoMc on January 04, 2011, 04:25:19 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 04:09:24 PM

Well he was happy enough to pose for pictures for the front page of the Irish News at his daughter's wedding a couple of days before that - of all GAA figures I don't think he can complain about media attention!

Ah well if he posed for photos at his daughters wedding he is fair game then. ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 04:41:48 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on January 04, 2011, 04:25:19 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2011, 04:09:24 PM

Ah well if he posed for photos at his daughters wedding he is fair game then. ::)
Not fair game as such but certainly is in a weak position to complain about negative press though to be fair he hasn't, it just seems to be paranoid tyronies. 
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 04:46:21 PM
Lets just hope this complaint is investigated properly and promptly. I would seriously doubt there is anything in it other than the lure of compensation for these so called "victims".
Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 05:07:54 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 04:46:21 PM
Lets just hope this complaint is investigated properly and promptly. I would seriously doubt there is anything in it other than the lure of compensation for these so called "victims".

You are dead right. Lets wait for the complaint to be investigated before passing judgement!!  ::)

Post by: supersarsfields on January 04, 2011, 05:12:48 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 04:24:11 PM

My point is, despite my own belief that he has been stitched up, that if you defend him simply because he is in the GAA, you are on a very slippery slope.

I'd have to disagree with you there, and I said as much about the PG incident when it happened. Innocient until proven guilty is the usual default motion for most logical people.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 04, 2011, 05:45:54 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 05:07:54 PM

You are dead right. Lets wait for the complaint to be investigated before passing judgement!!  ::)

I think judgement has been passed on all of the sons already. One was involved in the worst attrocity in the north. Another served time for INLA related offences.  Others have served time for various crimes from drugs to robberies and a burglary in which someone died. Google "Jean McConville son" and I think you`ll see Mickey Harte has nothing to worry about.
Post by: Gaffer on January 04, 2011, 07:23:52 PM
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=JEAN+MCCONVILLE+SON
Post by: Redhand Santa on January 04, 2011, 08:52:38 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on January 04, 2011, 07:23:52 PM
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=JEAN+MCCONVILLE+SON

Mr Anti Gaa Dublinfella won't be impressed with you. It will be harder for him now to try and discredit a top gaa personality.
Post by: lawnseed on January 04, 2011, 09:52:35 PM
hold on lads, you cant strike kids who are in your care no matter who you are and no matter what they do. thats the law now and it was the law when the incident is alledged to have happened. what some posters are suggesting is that its ok to give kids a slap if you dont like how they're behaving :o do any of you coach at underage... think.. do any of you give kids a lift to underage games/training.. think.
  when i was at primary school our headmaster wasn't soft, once he pulled me by the ear i remember screeching  :'( :'( when i got home my father asked me why my ear was so red. so eventually i told him what happened. the next morning he left me to school when i got into class he ask the teacher outside all we could hear was the master squealing, when he came back in his ears were bright red. we still laugh at it now  and my da's near 70. but young mcconville hadnt got parents.
  nowadays children phone childline and the police move in. mickys innocent (i'm sure) he should counterclaim get his brief on to it right away. with all the young teams hes handled over the years his references should be brilliant and there will be hundreds of character wittnesses it wont be a problem.
Post by: LeoMc on January 04, 2011, 10:00:04 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 05:07:54 PM

;D ;D
Post by: rosnarun on January 04, 2011, 11:54:34 PM
isn't the behaviour of the like of McConville Junior exactly the type of behaviour expected of one who had a lousy childhood.
Mother killed , Presumablt an implict threat of violence  hang over his family for much of his youth , likely bad behaviour in school at the time likely punished in a physical manner , wheter by M harte or some other teacher . its a classic case of violence breeding violence . this does not condone it but merely show the stupidity of inflicting violence on children as many here have advocated.
the original victim has to come first anfd Justice must be done and seen to be done  to try and break the cycle.
what we shoul have learned from the last few decades of abuse revelations is nobody is above suspicion. Priests teachers Parent, uncles grandparents siblings and indeed in severfal cases sport coaches.
Like may i was subjected to the odd slap in school and while i dont think it did me any long lasting damage who knows and what if i didnt have a strong family support to help deal with it.
I would be very wary casting stones.
Post by: red hander on January 05, 2011, 04:27:34 PM

Indeed ... written by a Stickie tout with a very dubious past
Post by: the processor on January 05, 2011, 05:50:35 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 04, 2011, 05:12:48 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2011, 04:24:11 PM

I don't think Mickey Harte would want an inquiry into his past!!!!!!!!!

I'd have to disagree with you there, and I said as much about the PG incident when it happened. Innocient until proven guilty is the usual default motion for most logical people.
Post by: tyssam5 on January 05, 2011, 06:45:04 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 04, 2011, 09:52:35 PM
hold on lads, you cant strike kids who are in your care no matter who you are and no matter what they do. thats the law now and it was the law when the incident is alledged to have happened. what some posters are suggesting is that its ok to give kids a slap if you dont like how they're behaving :o do any of you coach at underage... think.. do any of you give kids a lift to underage games/training.. think.
  when i was at primary school our headmaster wasn't soft, once he pulled me by the ear i remember screeching  :'( :'( when i got home my father asked me why my ear was so red. so eventually i told him what happened. the next morning he left me to school when i got into class he ask the teacher outside all we could hear was the master squealing, when he came back in his ears were bright red. we still laugh at it now  and my da's near 70. but young mcconville hadnt got parents.
  nowadays children phone childline and the police move in. mickys innocent (i'm sure) he should counterclaim get his brief on to it right away. with all the young teams hes handled over the years his references should be brilliant and there will be hundreds of character wittnesses it wont be a problem.

Are you sure 'corporal punishment' was against the law in the 1970's?
Post by: Jinxy on January 05, 2011, 06:46:35 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 04, 2011, 09:52:35 PM

He didn't pull your ear half enough!
Post by: armaghniac on January 05, 2011, 07:26:24 PM
QuoteAre you sure 'corporal punishment' was against the law in the 1970's?

It certainly was not. Straps and ash plants were routine in those times.

Quotewhen i was at primary school our headmaster wasn't soft, once he pulled me by the ear i remember screeching

He was probably trying to teach you sentence structure.
Post by: Gaffer on January 06, 2011, 08:20:05 AM
Corporal punishment was abandoned as a form of punishment in 1987.
Post by: johnneycool on January 06, 2011, 09:20:16 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 04, 2011, 11:54:34 PM
isn't the behaviour of the like of McConville Junior exactly the type of behaviour expected of one who had a lousy childhood.
Mother killed , Presumablt an implict threat of violence  hang over his family for much of his youth , likely bad behaviour in school at the time likely punished in a physical manner , wheter by M harte or some other teacher . its a classic case of violence breeding violence . this does not condone it but merely show the stupidity of inflicting violence on children as many here have advocated.
the original victim has to come first anfd Justice must be done and seen to be done  to try and break the cycle.
what we shoul have learned from the last few decades of abuse revelations is nobody is above suspicion. Priests teachers Parent, uncles grandparents siblings and indeed in severfal cases sport coaches.
Like may i was subjected to the odd slap in school and while i dont think it did me any long lasting damage who knows and what if i didnt have a strong family support to help deal with it.
I would be very wary casting stones.

Lets be clear on this, Rubane House was no ordinary school, it was more akin to a borstal where the children were locked in dormitories at night by the loving De La Salle Christian brothers and with men of the cloth like Fr Brendan Smyth and Br Florence prowling the corridors is it any wonder the lad was demented?
Post by: Main Street on January 06, 2011, 08:15:37 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on January 06, 2011, 08:20:05 AM
Corporal punishment was abandoned as a form of punishment in 1987.
There was a high profile case in 1969 or 1970 against a so called Christian Brother. I think it was a private prosecution. He had battered a kid black and blue in a classroom  (somewhere north Dublin). The court case made the front pages. They published graphic photos of the abused scrawny kid. The CB was found guilty and had to pay a token fine of a few pennies. Corporal punishment was not outlawed. Nevertheless around the same time, the use of corporal punishment in secondary schools in the 1970's, in general, backed off. You could get formally slapped with a strap, but nothing more.   2 slaps -  up a maximum of 6 slaps on the hand with a leather strap. As a method of discipline, it had lost favour in early 1970's and was rarely used.
Out of 20 or 30 lay teachers in my secondary school, only a few used the strap - a few times -  before giving up on using it.
The unwritten rule was that once you got into 4th year, you were not hit, under any circumstances.
You had the right to square up/face down any teacher who wanted to hit you. You just stood up and refused to show your hands. That happened to me and one teacher in my class and after that no one had any respect for him. No sensible teacher would want to lose that much face in front of a class.
I regard as nonsense, anything written about physical abuse of kids in the 70's and 80's as just being just a part of the times, it wasn't a part of the time.  Corporal punishment was a clearly defined act of discipline, enacted with a strap. Abuse was abuse, then as now. If kids got beaten in secondary school, it was abuse. 

Post by: ONeill on January 06, 2011, 08:37:44 PM
Corporal punishment was administered with many an instrument from cane, slipper, strap, ruler or just the hand. I think it was abolished in the Republic of Ireland a few years before the north. Private schools in the north could use it up until about 5 years ago.
Post by: tyssam5 on January 06, 2011, 10:55:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 06, 2011, 08:37:44 PM
Corporal punishment was administered with many an instrument from cane, slipper, strap, ruler or just the hand. I think it was abolished in the Republic of Ireland a few years before the north. Private schools in the north could use it up until about 5 years ago.

Would any CCMS school count as private?
Post by: under the bar on January 06, 2011, 11:49:09 PM
We got seven shades knocked out of us until 1986,  Strap, cane, slipper, ruler, hose pipe, anything - on the hands and the ar$e.
Post by: dublinfella on January 07, 2011, 12:58:15 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on January 04, 2011, 08:52:38 PM
Mr Anti Gaa Dublinfella won't be impressed with you. It will be harder for him now to try and discredit a top gaa personality.

My arse. All I am saying is was if this was the Dungannon Swifts manager, the reaction would be very different on here.
Post by: haranguerer on January 07, 2011, 01:22:09 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 07, 2011, 12:58:15 PM

My arse. All I am saying is was if this was the Dungannon Swifts manager, the reaction would be very different on here.

Dublinfella is right in everything he has said. Very few on here can come on and state with surety the claims are a load of shite, no matter the character of the accuser. Most of those who are saying this are blinded by their opinions on the alleged perpetrator, which is very similar to the rape case in Kerry where locals let their personal judgements rule over the facts, and which had just about everyone on here up in arms. Btw, because no doubt someone will try to misinterpret, I know the perpetrator was found guilty in Kerry and Harte hasn't a case to answer (yet, and at all I hope), I'm just making the point that the emotions and logic are the same.

Personally, I doubt the accusations are true, and hope fervently they're not, for I've a lot of respect for Mickey Harte.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 07, 2011, 01:57:35 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 07, 2011, 01:22:09 PM

Dublinfella is right in everything he has said. Very few on here can come on and state with surety the claims are a load of shite, no matter the character of the accuser. Most of those who are saying this are blinded by their opinions on the alleged perpetrator, which is very similar to the rape case in Kerry where locals let their personal judgements rule over the facts, and which had just about everyone on here up in arms. Btw, because no doubt someone will try to misinterpret, I know the perpetrator was found guilty in Kerry and Harte hasn't a case to answer (yet, and at all I hope), I'm just making the point that the emotions and logic are the same.

Personally, I doubt the accusations are true, and hope fervently they're not, for I've a lot of respect for Mickey Harte.

And very few can come on here and say the allegations are true - doesnt stop a thread being started about it though! A mans good name can be sullied by allegations and there needs to be a level of protection incase the stories are all lies - because unfortunately mud sticks and I for one will rely on my personal dealings with Mickey Harte as the yardstick to which story i believe.
Post by: supersarsfields on January 07, 2011, 02:07:42 PM

No He's not. As I said before he's trying to claim that people are speaking out for Mickey Harte because he's Tyrone manager and a GAA man. I've pointed out that most people would view someone as innocent until there's proof otherwise which would be the reason for any defence of MH on my part.
Post by: muppet on January 07, 2011, 02:16:47 PM
My thoughts on this would be the same as they were when the Paul Galvin duster story hit the red-tops.

Innocent until proven guilty and all that.
Post by: Gaffer on January 07, 2011, 04:16:03 PM

:D :D :D The Dungannon Swifts manager is a big GAA man too !
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2011, 07:35:44 PM
The vast majority of my teachers will be getting pulled tomorrow. I'll have the courts wasting more money on things that happened 30 odd years ago. Money well spent i say
Post by: 5 Sams on January 07, 2011, 08:37:25 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 06, 2011, 11:49:09 PM
We got seven shades knocked out of us until 1986,  Strap, cane, slipper, ruler, hose pipe, anything - on the hands and the ar$e.

I left school in 1982 and we were getting battered up until then and I know it continued after that....I saw manys a lad getting punched in the face by teachers... :(
Post by: Redhand Santa on January 07, 2011, 08:41:45 PM

I dont know who the Dungannon Swifts manager is and if there was a thread about him I probably would not bother to read it.

You on the other hand would no doubt be defending him against any abuse. You'd no doubt be saying it was only a story because he was a soccer man and typical gaa fan reaction bla bla.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2011, 10:31:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2011, 07:35:44 PM
The vast majority of my teachers will be getting pulled tomorrow. I'll have the courts wasting more money on things that happened 30 odd years ago. Money well spent i say
Make sure you use hand cream as you'll get blisters after a while.
Post by: ONeill on January 07, 2011, 10:37:01 PM
Chance/fine thing
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2011, 10:40:50 PM
Never used cream before, can you recommend it?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2011, 10:51:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2011, 10:40:50 PM
Never used cream before, can you recommend it?
There are plenty on the market. Wouldn't be an expert in the application you are talking about. Don't leave out O'Neill and SS2.
Post by: Gaffer on January 08, 2011, 01:08:08 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2011, 10:31:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2011, 07:35:44 PM
Make sure you use hand cream as you'll get blisters after a while.

And slow down BUT KEEP GOING at the crucial moment.
Post by: rosnarun on January 08, 2011, 02:51:56 AM
what matters here is not that the allegations are true or not but wheter its true there are allegations?.
If there are and they are in the public doman its nonesense to think they would not be discussed .
Post by: BennyHarp on January 08, 2011, 08:47:29 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 08, 2011, 02:51:56 AM
what matters here is not that the allegations are true or not but wheter its true there are allegations?.
If there are and they are in the public doman its nonesense to think they would not be discussed .

Yes, you're right thats what really matters here! Who cares if these allegations are true and a mans reputation is ruined, as long as we, who know feck all about it, can discuss it!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2011, 10:33:14 AM
In any such case context is anything.  The majority of people on board here over the age of 34-35 would have had a trimming at some stage by teachers wither at primary or secondary school.  It wasn't right but it wasn't against the law either at the time and would have to be viewed in that context.  if a beating went over the top then there may be a case but you are into subjective opinions on what is "OTT" and also you need corroborrating evidence, either medical or reliable eye witness accounts.  It won't come out in my view in these cases.  I read the article and it is gutter SW crap and is typical of what they write.  If it succeeds then I am away to the peelers then as I have a case against at least 3 teachers for the wallopings I got!
Post by: ONeill on January 08, 2011, 10:36:59 AM
I'd say Kernan gave you a clip too.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2011, 10:41:01 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 08, 2011, 10:36:59 AM
I'd say Kernan gave you a clip too.

No but Ollie McEntee did!!!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 08, 2011, 10:55:04 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on January 07, 2011, 01:57:35 PM

And very few can come on here and say the allegations are true - doesnt stop a thread being started about it though! A mans good name can be sullied by allegations and there needs to be a level of protection incase the stories are all lies - because unfortunately mud sticks and I for one will rely on my personal dealings with Mickey Harte as the yardstick to which story i believe.
Ffs would you dry your eyes!
Post by: lawnseed on January 08, 2011, 12:00:56 PM
the thing about bullying or beating kids at school is that they tend to remember it more than the actual teaching you did. i know one teacher in armagh who gave kids alot of abuse when he was in his prime, he cant even go to the shop now without someone calling him for all he's worth and he definately couldnt go to a match he'd be killed. strapping children wasnt ok in the pre 87 era it was assualt. i noticed also that country lads always got more than townies especially if their parents were the 'teacher knows best type'. the lads with fathers in the kesh always got the shit kicked out of them by the stoop teachers as invariably they all were horrible stoop bastards.
if harte did this i hope somebody gives him a good slap
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on January 08, 2011, 01:51:16 PM
what a load of shite - back in the day, teachers give kids a bit of a slap, if they needed it. There is no barometer for this in todays society - simply because its against the law to hit children. Whether thats right or not is irrelevant. We live in a f**king nanny state - it is what it is.

I hear gaelic football is some craic...discuss...
Post by: Gaffer on January 08, 2011, 02:03:48 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 08, 2011, 12:00:56 PM
the thing about bullying or beating kids at school is that they tend to remember it more than the actual teaching you did. i know one teacher in armagh who gave kids alot of abuse when he was in his prime, he cant even go to the shop now without someone calling him for all he's worth and he definately couldnt go to a match he'd be killed. strapping children wasnt ok in the pre 87 era it was assualt. i noticed also that country lads always got more than townies especially if their parents were the 'teacher knows best type'. the lads with fathers in the kesh always got the shit kicked out of them by the stoop teachers as invariably they all were horrible stoop b**tards. if harte did this i hope somebody gives him a good slap

80s Provo talk !

Get into the 21st Century  FFS
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 08, 2011, 02:54:14 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on January 08, 2011, 01:51:16 PM
what a load of shite - back in the day, teachers give kids a bit of a slap, if they needed it. There is no barometer for this in todays society - simply because its against the law to hit children. Whether thats right or not is irrelevant. We live in a f**king nanny state - it is what it is.

I hear gaelic football is some craic...discuss...
Plenty got it when they didn't need it and plenty of dickhead teachers went way overboard too.

What do you mean we live in a "f**king nanny state"? What's that got to do with what we're on about?
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on January 08, 2011, 03:25:07 PM
plenty dont get it now when they need it...nanny state = left wing liberal, do-gooding bullshit...i got some hidings in my time from real twats of teachers. I havnt trie to bring any of them to the papers, because in part i deserved it, and if i didnt - simple it was what it was. I was something of its time - doesnt make it right doesnt make it wrong...it just is what it is, adn hardly worthy of front page on a secoind rate newspaper...or any more of my f**king ti
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on January 08, 2011, 03:26:38 PM
BTW, my spelling is so shite because i didnt get twatted enough by my teacher
Post by: ziggysego on January 08, 2011, 06:18:32 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on January 08, 2011, 03:26:38 PM

lol
Post by: Jinxy on January 08, 2011, 06:29:13 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on January 08, 2011, 03:26:38 PM

Either that or you got twatted too much.
It's a fine line.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2011, 08:30:08 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on January 08, 2011, 02:03:48 PM
the thing about bullying or beating kids at school is that they tend to remember it more than the actual teaching you did. i know one teacher in armagh who gave kids alot of abuse when he was in his prime, he cant even go to the shop now without someone calling him for all he's worth and he definately couldnt go to a match he'd be killed. strapping children wasnt ok in the pre 87 era it was assualt. i noticed also that country lads always got more than townies especially if their parents were the 'teacher knows best type'. the lads with fathers in the kesh always got the shit kicked out of them by the stoop teachers as invariably they all were horrible stoop b**tards. if harte did this i hope somebody gives him a good slap

80s Provo talk !

Lawnseed are you for real?? what age are you? you need a good slap for some of the shite you post
Post by: haranguerer on January 08, 2011, 08:57:42 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 07, 2011, 02:07:42 PM

No He's not. As I said before he's trying to claim that people are speaking out for Mickey Harte because he's Tyrone manager and a GAA man. I've pointed out that most people would view someone as innocent until there's proof otherwise which would be the reason for any defence of MH on my part.

C'mon. They are like...

Of course we should view everyone as innocent til guilty, and thats a good reason for defending him in itself, but thats not usually the way it works unfortunately, if it was someone else the attitude could well be 'no smoke without fire'
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2011, 09:41:45 PM
And if you were constantly picked on and physically abused by a teacher/CB while at school then you certainly have a case.

Surely though there are thousands of kids that have been taught by Mickey and this would have came to light a lot sooner (Sept 2003)

But if your were a "Halion" and were a constant menace then you got corporal punishment.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2011, 09:59:27 PM
watching "Song for a Raggy Boy" very topical  ;)

That film would break your heart, mind seeing it years ago but watched it again tonight.

What da fcuk were people thinking about in those days!!! Mainly the Goverment, Church and the other Fookers who turned a blind eye to the going ons.

Post by: ck on January 09, 2011, 12:38:59 AM

Dublinfella I think you raise a fair point but I think the general view on here is NOT is he innocent or guilty, it's more who cares if he is or not, it's hardly crime of the century to receive front page headlines. And why does it take a man 32 years to raise it?
Post by: muppet on January 09, 2011, 03:04:25 AM
Quote from: ck on January 09, 2011, 12:38:59 AM

Dublinfella I think you raise a fair point but I think the general view on here is NOT is he innocent or guilty, it's more who cares if he is or not, it's hardly crime of the century to receive front page headlines. And why does it take a man 32 years to raise it?

If he did it after 26 he be a partitionist.
Post by: supersarsfields on January 09, 2011, 11:23:09 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 08, 2011, 08:57:42 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 07, 2011, 02:07:42 PM

C'mon. They are like...

Of course we should view everyone as innocent til guilty, and thats a good reason for defending him in itself, but thats not usually the way it works unfortunately, if it was someone else the attitude could well be 'no smoke without fire'

Well I was no fan of PG but I was saying the same about him. And that's the points most are making.     
And it's got nothing to do with who it is. Most sane people would wait for evidence before making a decision about something as important as this. Some people will take "no smoke without fire" approach alright. But that doesn't make it correct.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 09, 2011, 02:47:14 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2011, 08:30:08 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on January 08, 2011, 02:03:48 PM

80s Provo talk !

Lawnseed are you for real?? what age are you? you need a good slap for some of the shite you post
The sad thing is, he is for real.

Also, i'd love to know what happened the 'stoop teachers' when all the fathers got out of 'the kesh'.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 10, 2011, 10:59:50 AM
Any update on this?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on March 10, 2011, 11:43:09 AM
FFS in the Christian brothers schools & the grammar schools in Belfast, it was capital punishment that we were more afraid of in the 1970s - the CBs & the priests thought that they could hand out hidings right left & centre & get away with it - they usually did. St Malachys had 2 so-called "Deans of Discipline" - 2 proper thugs in cassocks. One of them took a heart attack & snuffed it.......good riddance. The other one was in bother in Kilkeel lately, selling off unconsecrated ground, where the unbaptised were buried. Obviously he's learned little or nothing about compassion in recent years. Plus the headmaster who gave these thugs free reign went on to become bishop - I only ever saw him hit somebody once, because he was so stuck up that he wouldn't have lowered himself to hit the unwashed in his care - he got the bully boys to do it for him.

Quote from: armaghniac on January 05, 2011, 07:26:24 PM
QuoteAre you sure 'corporal punishment' was against the law in the 1970's?