Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: thewobbler on December 02, 2010, 10:18:55 AM

Title: Are we all cheering for England today?
Post by: thewobbler on December 02, 2010, 10:18:55 AM
The host for World Cup 2018 is being decided today.

Come on Ingerland!
Title: Re: Are we all cheering for England today?
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2010, 10:20:35 AM
Yeah I think we have to. If Ireland get in it would be one of the greatest sessions of all time!
Post by: paco on December 02, 2010, 10:21:40 AM
When will the decision be announced?
Post by: Two Hands FFS on December 02, 2010, 10:38:28 AM
Quote from: paco on December 02, 2010, 10:21:40 AM
When will the decision be announced?
3pm I think. England making their pitch at minute...www.BBC.co.uk have a ongoing commented of today's outcome. Would really like them to get it. If Ireland managed to qualify it would be brilliant. Kilbane due to win his 237th cap at it.
Post by: HiMucker on December 02, 2010, 10:41:15 AM
Im Putin my money on Russia to win the bid
Post by: theskull1 on December 02, 2010, 10:45:53 AM
I won't be russian to congratulate them
Post by: Donkeywalloper on December 02, 2010, 10:46:22 AM
The Panarama show and the crowd violence last night are ample excuses for those want an excuse to vote elsewhere.
Post by: Mario on December 02, 2010, 10:48:54 AM
Quote from: Donkeywalloper on December 02, 2010, 10:46:22 AM
The Panarama show and the crowd violence last night are ample excuses for those want an excuse to vote elsewhere.

The could look at the racism in Spanish football, i'm sure there is also plenty dodgy about Russian football.
Post by: Hardy on December 02, 2010, 10:50:19 AM
The world cup is hard to ignore as it is. The world cup next door would be nearly impossible. Nearly.
Post by: Bogball XV on December 02, 2010, 10:52:52 AM
i'm sure the votes were decided a long time ago.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-11893886
Post by: Bogball XV on December 02, 2010, 10:53:44 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 02, 2010, 10:50:19 AM
The world cup is hard to ignore as it is. The world cup next door would be nearly impossible. Nearly.
Then embrace it, Hardy.
Post by: Donkeywalloper on December 02, 2010, 11:00:11 AM
First choice vote may be decided, however it may go to 3 or 4 votes. This is when the real bargaining will take place.

Heard Barry Davies interviewed and said that Jack Warner holds the decisive votes for England to succeed. Without him they are fecked.
Post by: Orior on December 02, 2010, 11:02:04 AM
A person in my office posed the question yesterday  "do you think we'll get the World Cup?"

The person is from Bushmills in County Antrim.

I bit my tongue. Ouch!
Post by: thejuice on December 02, 2010, 11:06:36 AM
Olympics and the World Cup in the same decade, I don't think England needs it as badly as other places.

Russia would be interesting.
Post by: Olly on December 02, 2010, 11:09:30 AM
This is a great opportunity for Ireland it advertise itself after the recent blip in the money stakes. They should set stalls outside English grounds at the matches promoting the likes of the Arran Islands, the Blasket Islands, the Mournes, the Sperrins, Carantoohil, the lakes of Kilarney, the Burren, the hills of Donegal, Lisdoonvarna, Milltown Malby, Longford, the Glens of Antrim, Oliver Plunkett's head, the GPO, Lourdes, Knock, Mount Mellary, Kildare plains and racecourses, Tara, Navan fort, the planetarium in Armagh, the Ulster American Folk and Transport parks, the aquarium in Portaferry, Portrush, Kinsale flight of earls, Mayo mountains, Ulysses Grant homestead, Ardboe cross, Keady and Dublin etc and places like that, turf, soda, poteen, diesel, animals, humour, homophobia, the church, leprechauns, trolls, banshees, etc etc.

Give out rocks for children to suck on.
Post by: stephenite on December 02, 2010, 11:10:35 AM
Aussies are in for 2022-not a hope I'd say
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on December 02, 2010, 11:14:17 AM

And Dick Advocaat asking permission off the fans to sign a black player for Zenit shows how clean the Russian game is..
Post by: ziggysego on December 02, 2010, 11:15:12 AM
Yeah, I'll be back England. Might head over for a game.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on December 02, 2010, 11:19:30 AM
Quote from: Olly on December 02, 2010, 11:09:30 AM
This is a great opportunity for Ireland it advertise itself after the recent blip in the money stakes. They should set stalls outside English grounds at the matches promoting the likes of the Arran Islands, the Blasket Islands, the Mournes, the Sperrins, Carantoohil, the lakes of Kilarney, the Burren, the hills of Donegal, Lisdoonvarna, Milltown Malby, Longford, the Glens of Antrim, Oliver Plunkett's head, the GPO, Lourdes, Knock, Mount Mellary, Kildare plains and racecourses, Tara, Navan fort, the planetarium in Armagh, the Ulster American Folk and Transport parks, the aquarium in Portaferry, Portrush, Kinsale flight of earls, Mayo mountains, Ulysses Grant homestead, Ardboe cross, Keady and Dublin etc and places like that, turf, soda, poteen, diesel, animals, humour, homophobia, the church, leprechauns, trolls, banshees, etc etc.

[/quote

Really should go, it being on my doorstep..
Post by: thejuice on December 02, 2010, 11:20:55 AM
Shouldn't this be decided the old fashioned way.

Which country has the highest quota of sexy women.
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2010, 11:23:08 AM
Quote from: thejuice on December 02, 2010, 11:20:55 AM
Shouldn't this be decided the old fashioned way.

Which country has the highest quota of sexy women.

Nah sure that means nothing. . . it doesn't matter what they look like but which countrys women are more likely to put out??!!
Post by: JohnDenver on December 02, 2010, 11:24:33 AM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on December 02, 2010, 11:14:17 AM

And Dick Advocaat asking permission off the fans to sign a black player for Zenit shows how clean the Russian game is..

Surely Rod Wallace is past it at this stage?
Post by: Bogball XV on December 02, 2010, 11:25:22 AM
Quote from: Olly on December 02, 2010, 11:09:30 AM

or even better, we could send a pile of dubs over with headbands and flags (so long as they're made in ireland and not sourced in China) to sell outside grounds.  Not to mention the lads knocking off the minerals from the c&c plant in ballyfermot selling 3 minerals for €2 or 4 minerals for €3 etc etc
Post by: HiMucker on December 02, 2010, 11:27:59 AM
 the skull "I won't be russian to congratulate them"

If Russian win the bid, So- viet

Nah sure that means nothing. . . it doesn't matter what they look like but which countrys women are more likely to put out??!!

Well England is a shoe in if it goes by that.  Il book my acommodation in Essex immediately ;)
Post by: ballinaman on December 02, 2010, 11:29:49 AM
Just saw the russian bid there. The bids are being streamed on fifa website. The Russian bid looks a bit dodge, one city out in the sticks to the east...wouldn't fancy it to be honest!! Say it's going to be between England and Iberia for 2018, Iberia have the south and central american votes tied up.

2022 is anyones guess!! States or Australia would be decent! Wouldn't bet against Quatar...money talks!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 02, 2010, 11:32:25 AM
Quote from: stephenite on December 02, 2010, 11:10:35 AM

I would have thought they had an excellent chance to be honest. A new frontier for football similar to USA 1994.
Post by: ballinaman on December 02, 2010, 11:36:09 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 02, 2010, 11:32:25 AM

I would have thought they had an excellent chance to be honest. A new frontier for football similar to USA 1994.
AFL still haven't guaranteed use of stadiums and doubt FIFA are looking for uncertainty.
Post by: balladmaker on December 02, 2010, 11:37:53 AM
Watched England's presentation today, was cringeworthy at times...I thought it was all about Beckham's granda for a long time!

Post by: Bogball XV on December 02, 2010, 11:39:01 AM

would match times not be shite?

worse than japan/south korea even?
Post by: thejuice on December 02, 2010, 11:40:55 AM
I don't know, the Russians spoke better English than Beckham.
Post by: ballinaman on December 02, 2010, 11:43:17 AM
Quote from: thejuice on December 02, 2010, 11:40:55 AM
I don't know, the Russians spoke better English than Beckham.
Post by: mountainboii on December 02, 2010, 12:18:41 PM
Qatar's bid is ridiculous. What does a country the size of the north need with twelve 45,000+ capacity stadia, most of which are going to be in the one city?
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 02, 2010, 12:49:18 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on December 02, 2010, 12:20:16 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on December 02, 2010, 11:39:01 AM

Would range between 7-9 hours ahead of ourselves, depending on venue. An 8.30pm kick off in Sydney or Melbourne would be 11.30am here, or 1.30pm if it's in Perth.

Haven't seen the presentations, but I'm assuming that if the Russians have one venue "way out east" that'll be Vladivostok?

I dont think its Vladivostok I think it is in Omsk which is a 2 day train trip from Moscow on the trans siberian express. A Class train journey to be honest.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on December 02, 2010, 12:55:37 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 02, 2010, 12:49:18 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on December 02, 2010, 12:20:16 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on December 02, 2010, 11:39:01 AM

Would range between 7-9 hours ahead of ourselves, depending on venue. An 8.30pm kick off in Sydney or Melbourne would be 11.30am here, or 1.30pm if it's in Perth.

Haven't seen the presentations, but I'm assuming that if the Russians have one venue "way out east" that'll be Vladivostok?

I dont think its Vladivostok I think it is in Omsk which is a 2 day train trip from Moscow on the trans siberian express. A Class train journey to be honest.

Yekaterinburg
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2010, 02:27:17 PM
Quote from: thejuice on December 02, 2010, 11:06:36 AM
Olympics and the World Cup in the same decade, I don't think England needs it as badly as other places.

Russia would be interesting.
None of them "need" it. At least England have an existing club fanbase that means the various stadia are not like ghost towns when the big World Cup bus rolls out of town. Can you imagine what will happen the various 40000+ capacity stadia in Qatar etc. Waste of money for those countries and for poorer nations (which Spain and Portugal may be by 2018) it could be the straw that broke the camels back.
Post by: The Worker on December 02, 2010, 02:36:59 PM
England 4/6 now. looks nailed on.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2010, 02:41:40 PM
Quote from: The Worker on December 02, 2010, 02:36:59 PM
Becks to be knighted in the New Years Honours List if they win the bid (as looks likely)?
Post by: The Worker on December 02, 2010, 02:52:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2010, 02:41:40 PM
Becks to be knighted in the New Years Honours List if they win the bid (as looks likely)?

5/2 for becks to be knighted.

worth a flutter!
Post by: Geoff Tipps on December 02, 2010, 03:07:12 PM
Gone to a third round of voting.
Post by: Lecale2 on December 02, 2010, 03:14:52 PM
Russia will win it.
Post by: ONeill on December 02, 2010, 03:15:05 PM
As with everything else, the English seem to have convinced themselves they've won it.
Post by: Lecale2 on December 02, 2010, 03:16:14 PM
Exactly.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2010, 03:16:58 PM
Quote from: The Worker on December 02, 2010, 02:52:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2010, 02:41:40 PM

5/2 for becks to be knighted.

worth a flutter!
Seriously? Might have a wee piece of that.

Quote from: Lecale2 on December 02, 2010, 03:14:52 PM
Russia will win it.
If they do it will be proof (if any were needed) that the whole thing is bent.
Post by: Lecale2 on December 02, 2010, 03:18:32 PM
England 3rd I'd say. Behind Spain & Russia.
Post by: mountainboii on December 02, 2010, 03:26:05 PM
Prince William looks sad.
The Spanish look sad.
Abramovich looks happy.
Post by: supersub on December 02, 2010, 03:26:44 PM
England well out of it apparently!

Going for spain/por 2018
Qatar 2022
Post by: Lecale2 on December 02, 2010, 03:27:29 PM
Quote from: supersub on December 02, 2010, 03:26:44 PM
England well out of it apparently!

Going for spain/por 2018
Qatar 2022

Worth a bet!
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 03:31:37 PM
Why are Spain & Portugal together when Spain were able to host it on there own before! maybe it should have been a UK bid instead?
Post by: EC Unique on December 02, 2010, 03:31:49 PM
Failed!
Post by: Lecale2 on December 02, 2010, 03:31:57 PM
England out first!!
Post by: The Worker on December 02, 2010, 03:34:12 PM
Russia into favourites with Hills!
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 02, 2010, 03:34:21 PM
At least we have a royal wedding next year.
Post by: EC Unique on December 02, 2010, 03:37:56 PM
Russia!
Post by: Don Johnson on December 02, 2010, 03:39:08 PM
(http://files.sharenator.com/borat_thumbs_up_narrowweb_300x5040_RE_Baby_Shirts-s300x504-103965.jpg)
Post by: The Worker on December 02, 2010, 03:39:40 PM
got on Russia at 12/5 at 3.23pm. thank you sky sports news!
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 03:39:55 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on December 02, 2010, 03:37:56 PM
Russia!

A bit of fix if you ask me
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2010, 03:40:19 PM
Jack Warner and the boys will be feasting on hookers and caviar for years to come after that vote!
Post by: mountainboii on December 02, 2010, 03:40:48 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 03:39:55 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on December 02, 2010, 03:37:56 PM
Russia!

A bit of fix if you ask me

Why?
Post by: supersub on December 02, 2010, 03:40:55 PM
Fair play but I dont understand how they can build 14 stadiums when the obviously don't need them at the moment? So what will happen to them after the month of the world cup?
Post by: 118cmal on December 02, 2010, 03:41:30 PM
 >:( >:( >:( >:(

Would have loved if England got it.
Post by: mountainboii on December 02, 2010, 03:42:42 PM
Quote from: supersub on December 02, 2010, 03:40:55 PM
Fair play but I dont understand how they can build 14 stadiums when the obviously don't need them at the moment? So what will happen to them after the month of the world cup?

A country the size of Russia would have a decent chance of finding some use for them. Qatar on the other hand...
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 03:45:00 PM
So England may get the 2026 world cup now? who knows maybe beckhams sons will be playing by then.
Post by: Declan on December 02, 2010, 03:45:42 PM
And Qatar gets the 2022 one and the stadiums will be moved to other countries after it's over!!!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 02, 2010, 03:45:48 PM
Russia and Qatar. f**k that for a game of marbles anyway. Won't be going to those World Cups.

Abramovich seems to have brought along some Russian hookers to the ceremony as well.
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 02, 2010, 03:45:56 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 03:45:00 PM
So England may get the 2026 world cup now? who knows maybe beckhams sons will be playing by then.
Are you sure?  I thought they would alternate by continent from now on?
Post by: take_yer_points on December 02, 2010, 03:46:07 PM

I'm pretty sure they said on the BBC coverage there that the next one they can bid for us the 2030 one - not sure why that is
Post by: Lecale2 on December 02, 2010, 03:46:13 PM
Take them apart and rebuild them in 3rd World countries.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 02, 2010, 03:46:22 PM
Quote from: AFS on December 02, 2010, 03:42:42 PM

A country the size of Russia would have a decent chance of finding some use for them. Qatar on the other hand...

Your man on BBC said something there about Qatar are going to dismantle the new stadiums after the world cup and use the materials in 3rd World countries or something.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2010, 03:46:57 PM
A farce now!
Post by: paco on December 02, 2010, 03:47:20 PM
So glad England didn't get it. Earlier on I wanted them to get it, but listening to Martin Peters and everyone else in the SSN studio was just annoying, and when the "unofficial result" was leaked that England were out at the first stage, all they could say was that FIFA got it wrong! Their arrogance knows no bounds. Russia will be interesting, Qatar even more so.
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 03:50:08 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on December 02, 2010, 03:46:07 PM

I'm pretty sure they said on the BBC coverage there that the next one they can bid for us the 2030 one - not sure why that is

That's a long wait so & they will probably give to Iraq instead
Post by: dec on December 02, 2010, 03:50:17 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qatar#Climate

Summer temperatures in Qatar

Average high
June (38 C) 106 F
July (41 C) 115 F

Average low
June (25 C) 81 F
July (27 C) 84 F
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 02, 2010, 03:50:51 PM

Yeah, it's 2030 before they can get one. As a European team got the 2018 World Cup, European teams are'nt allowed to bid for the next 2, 2022 and 2026.
Post by: EC Unique on December 02, 2010, 03:51:30 PM

If you bid and then fail in that bid you have to skip a gereration until you bid agian. So England must skip all the 2020s with next available tournament 2030.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 02, 2010, 03:52:08 PM
Quote from: dec on December 02, 2010, 03:50:17 PM

Average high
June (38 C) 106 F
July (41 C) 115 F

Average low
June (25 C) 81 F
July (27 C) 84 F

That decision was down to one thing. Oil. And Money. So make that two things.
Post by: mountainboii on December 02, 2010, 03:53:15 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on December 02, 2010, 03:46:22 PM

Your man on BBC said something there about Qatar are going to dismantle the new stadiums after the world cup and use the materials in 3rd World countries or something.

A mental idea like that should have set off the alarm bells. An admittance that they have absolutely no need for three quarters of the venues that they're building.
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 03:53:58 PM

Average high
June (38 C) 106 F
July (41 C) 115 F

Average low
June (25 C) 81 F
July (27 C) 84 F
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on December 02, 2010, 03:52:08 PM

Average high
June (38 C) 106 F
July (41 C) 115 F

Average low
June (25 C) 81 F
July (27 C) 84 F

That decision was down to one thing. Oil. And Money. So make that two things.

Well at least i'm not the only one that felt that
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 02, 2010, 03:54:50 PM
Quote from: AFS on December 02, 2010, 03:53:15 PM

A mental idea like that should have set off the alarm bells. An admittance that they have absolutely no need for three quarters of the venues that they're building.

How the feck can they build climate-controlled stadiums as well?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 02, 2010, 03:55:51 PM

Who gives a f**k though what they do with them once its over? It's their money, let them waste it.
Post by: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 03:59:55 PM
I normally tell Mrs d my every thought but I might keep my attitude re England's World Cup bid failure - that they haven't a hope because no one likes them - to myself.
Post by: mountainboii on December 02, 2010, 04:02:24 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on December 02, 2010, 03:55:51 PM

Who gives a f**k though what they do with them once its over? It's their money, let them waste it.

FIFA do, according to FIFA.
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 04:04:31 PM
Most of us here are too young too remember the 1966 World cup & by the time England get the world cup again most of us will be too old to care.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 02, 2010, 04:07:03 PM
England came last apparently. Even behind the Dutch/Belgians.
Post by: muppet on December 02, 2010, 04:08:13 PM
Watched BBC news and laughed my way through.

Before today Russia were the favourite.

However England sent over Prince William (Steven Gerrard), David Cameron (Frank Lampard) and David Beckham (eh David Beckham) and thought that this 'world class' line up would be good enough to bring home the trophy. As the day went on they became more convinced.

They got knocked out in the first round. The IMF/Spain/Portugal bid beat them.

They do this every time and set themselves up for the same fall over and over. The knives will come out in the next few days. These 'England to win' stories usually just keep on giving.
Post by: ziggysego on December 02, 2010, 04:13:02 PM
(http://lookingforghosts.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/fabio_capello_england_manager1.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 02, 2010, 04:15:34 PM
Isn't Qatar booze free?

That will go down well with the lager louts. No doubt the next generation of plastic paddys will fail to qualify anyway.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 04:15:51 PM
Qatar is the biggest joke of all, a country that is tiny, just over 1 million population.... GBB ignore the weather temps you see in the public are total lies, the middle east control there media, you cannot work outside in 50+ degrees so therefore it never goes over that wink wink, well i can tell you it does regurlary.

I worked in Qatar and they have 2 pubs, no infrastructure, the roads are terrible, traffic jams everywhere, 1 airport,

This is an Islamic radical country, no outside affection is allowed,women have to cover themselves, no alcohol is allowed although inside the 2 pubs its no enforced only unless you cause triouble.

You will not be outside at all in June/July during the day, how will you get to the games, even at night its high 30s at least around that time.

This world seems to reward corruption again and again.
Post by: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 04:16:47 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 02, 2010, 04:08:13 PM
Watched BBC news and laughed my way through.

Before today Russia were the favourite.

However England sent over Prince William (Steven Gerrard), David Cameron (Frank Lampard) and David Beckham (eh David Beckham) and thought that this 'world class' line up would be good enough to bring home the trophy. As the day went on they became more convinced.

They got knocked out in the first round. The IMF/Spain/Portugal bid beat them.

They do this every time and set themselves up for the same fall over and over. The knives will come out in the next few days. These 'England to win' stories usually just keep on giving.

Indeed. The same thing happened last time, with Tony Banks demanding that Germany drop out because England were the only European team with a hope of winning. That arrogant streak does rub people the wrong way. Still, they were being lied to by all and sundry. Their big mistake was taking the likes of Jack Warner at face value
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 02, 2010, 04:24:39 PM
Would have been nice to have a world cup on our doorstep however the aforementioned arrogance displayed all week (Prem League chief particularly annoyed me in that repsect) sickened my hole and in a way I was glad to see them get chinned.
Post by: Don Johnson on December 02, 2010, 04:26:27 PM
Qatar hosting it in 2022 should be a laugh all the same.
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 02, 2010, 04:30:53 PM
QuoteThis is an Islamic radical country, no outside affection is allowed, women have to cover themselves, no alcohol is allowed although inside the 2 pubs its no enforced only unless you cause triouble.

Jaysus the best part of a lot of World Cups is watching the women in the crowd (it beats watching the fecking soccer anyway) , what happens if the Brazilians and Swedes qualify , what will the women do. Maybe see through Burka's will be supplied  ;) 

Delighted England failed again.
Post by: DuffleKing on December 02, 2010, 04:37:28 PM
Wanted England to get it for the novelty.

Wished i could support someone else all week when listening to the press.

as the day progressed, listening to the shite and delusion on bbc 5live, i wanted russia to win it.

5 live have been an absolute disgrace since the verdict. openly questioning the integrity and ideals of everyone from blatter, platini (wtf?) to individual delegates and abrahmovic.

They seen to be under the impression that the capacity to host a world cup successfully should be down to a final day presentation and the number of celbrities they can line up. they have been a joke for months with changes in their bid leadership and members, not to mention a press that did not want the tournament until the last few days.

Russia wanted this from the get go. they lobbied and worked inside fifa - the way to influence any policial decision - and when you add in the financial muscle they put behind their bid there was probably only ever going to be one winner.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 04:38:40 PM
Qatar dont even have near enough hotels, ive never seen as many roundabouts in a city, how are people going to get from there hotels to the games in 45/55 degrees, having to park up and walk to the ground,

Ya its great they will have the air conditioned staduims but its getting there i see serious problems.

Its scary that corruption is so powerful. I mean this bid was a dead duck in technical terms. Are the fans ever considered with bids?
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 04:39:50 PM
I would've liked to seen Australia for 2022 & doesn't Elle MacPherson look well for almost 50
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 04:40:52 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 02, 2010, 04:37:28 PM

as the day progressed, listening to the shite and delusion on bbc 5live, i wanted russia to win it.

5 live have been an absolute disgrace since the verdict. openly questioning the integrity and ideals of everyone from blatter, platini (wtf?) to individual delegates and abrahmovic.

They seen to be under the impression that the capacity to host a world cup successfully should be down to a final day presentation and the number of celbrities they can line up. they have been a joke for months with changes in their bid leadership and members, not to mention a press that did not want the tournament until the last few days.

Russia wanted this from the get go. they lobbied and worked inside fifa - the way to influence any policial decision - and when you add in the financial muscle they put behind their bid there was probably only ever going to be one winner.
What if thats the truth? I certainly would be thinking the same, the voting process has nothing to with which bid is the best.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 04:42:22 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 04:39:50 PM
I would've liked to seen Australia for 2022 & doesn't Elle MacPherson look well for almost 50
I was hoping England/Austrailia tbh. Dont mind to much Russia getting it, you will not need a visa to go to the world cup.
Post by: paco on December 02, 2010, 04:42:41 PM

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 04:40:52 PM

What if thats the truth? I certainly would be thinking the same, the voting process has nothing to with which bid is the best.

Whether it's the truth or not, did you expect them to react any differently?
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 04:43:48 PM
It's well known blatter, platini have a dislike for everything England.
Post by: Main Street on December 02, 2010, 04:47:36 PM
England will have a Mayo sized (morning after the AI) hangover.
Post by: Minder on December 02, 2010, 04:50:16 PM
I am glad England didn't get it because there is always te chance they won't qualify for it. As for Australia getting future World Cups, that would be handy for watching games with the time difference......
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 02, 2010, 04:50:21 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 04:38:40 PM
Qatar dont even have near enough hotels, ive never seen as many roundabouts in a city, how are people going to get from there hotels to the games in 45/55 degrees, having to park up and walk to the ground

They have 12 years to spruce the place up - I think they'll be ok
Post by: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 04:50:42 PM

You know the rules
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 04:51:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 02, 2010, 04:47:36 PM
England will have a Mayo sized (morning after the AI) hangover.

Have been out at few of those! can get very messy indeed.
Post by: Banana Man on December 02, 2010, 04:58:17 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 04:50:42 PM

You know the rules

+1 - Get the picture up to fu*k
Post by: Banana Man on December 02, 2010, 04:59:53 PM
ya knew something was up when putin didn't even bother weighing in, meanwhile becks, wills and camron were up at the bar all night buying drink

pity though any potential financial piggybacking has now gone for this little island
Post by: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 05:01:48 PM
The Beeb are saying England got TWO votes (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/9247651.stm). No likes them. They care.

Edit: they'll feel a bit better at the news that Australia only got one vote (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2010/dec/01/world-cup-2018-2022-zurich). A 2-1 win in the Ashes would do nicely :)
Post by: Aghdavoyle on December 02, 2010, 05:06:10 PM

What if it's not?
Have you fully acquainted yourself with the bid amd voting processes? you'd be one of the few.

Quote from: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 04:43:48 PM

What's platini got to do with it?

Almost everyone i know has a dislike for everything england. Is that illegal? They've certainly worked hard for that dislike...
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 05:07:19 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 05:01:48 PM
The Beeb are saying England got TWO votes (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/9247651.stm). No likes them. They care.

Jaysus i wonder who the two were? & i wonder who voted for Qatar & why

Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 05:09:54 PM
Rd 1

England 2 votes Holland 4 Spain 7 Russia 9

rd2

Russia 13 Spain 7 Holland 2

Would love to hear FIFA explain how fans are to deal with the Qatar 2022?
Post by: DuffleKing on December 02, 2010, 05:11:53 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on December 02, 2010, 05:06:10 PM

What if it's not?
Have you fully acquainted yourself with the bid amd voting processes? you'd be one of the few.

Quote from: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 04:43:48 PM

What's platini got to do with it?

Almost everyone i know has a dislike for everything england. Is that illegal? They've certainly worked hard for that dislike...

Beat me to it. Why do we take at face value the british press's assertion that the world governing body of the biggest sport in the world in a corrupt ceespit of underhandedness and manipulators, full of johnny foreigners out to get the English. The FA have done more than most national associations to piss FIFA off over the years so their hardly gonn get favours.
Post by: DuffleKing on December 02, 2010, 05:13:04 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 05:09:54 PM
Rd 1

rd2

Holland lost votes between the first and second rounds?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 05:13:19 PM
Austrailia only got 1 vote for the 2022 bid, unreal stuff. :o
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 05:13:29 PM
Sligonian i know of the extreme heat in Qatar but humidity shouldn't be a problem like Orlando?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 05:14:12 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 02, 2010, 05:13:04 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 05:09:54 PM
Rd 1

rd2

Holland lost votes between the first and second rounds?
Correct changed there votes to Russia to be on the winning horse.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 05:18:01 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 05:13:29 PM
Sligonian i know of the extreme heat in Qatar but humidity shouldn't be a problem like Orlando?
Qatar is surrounded by the sea, doha is right on it, i remember at night i had to have the wipers on the car there so much moisture in the air, Humidity is variable, but during the day its a dead kinda of heat so so its only humid at dust and dawn more so, in the heat of the day you will sweat like crazy no matter what. I cant see people surviving the heat.
Post by: illdecide on December 02, 2010, 05:23:42 PM
F**K me Sligonian will ya give it a rest about fans and heat :D...Who gives a f**k we'll not be there
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 02, 2010, 05:24:47 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 02, 2010, 05:23:42 PM
F**K me Sligonian will ya give it a rest about fans and heat :D...Who gives a f**k we'll not be there
Good point :D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 02, 2010, 05:31:16 PM
My company is working on the construction of Lusail City - where tha National Stadium and World Cup Final will be held - so I'm happy enough out - might ask for a transfer over for a year or two
Post by: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 05:36:04 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on December 02, 2010, 05:31:16 PM
My company is working on the construction of Lusail City - where tha National Stadium and World Cup Final will be held - so I'm happy enough out - might ask for a transfer over for a year or two

Typical corrupt Johnny Foreigner :D
Post by: red hander on December 02, 2010, 05:38:58 PM
Remember the shite we had to listen to during Euro 96

... all together now ... "It's not coming home, it's not coming home, it's not coming, football's not coming home..."
Post by: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 05:52:07 PM
Quote from: red hander on December 02, 2010, 05:38:58 PM
Remember the shite we had to listen to during Euro 96

... all together now ... "It's not coming home, it's not coming home, it's not coming, football's not coming home..."

Ugh. Good point. Mrs d reacted like she'd been punched when I mentioned how much I enjoyed Andreas Möller's goose-step on scoring the winning penalty in the Euro 96 shoot-out. I felt a bit guilty. But only a little bit, they were bloody insufferable
Post by: crossdoesitbest on December 02, 2010, 05:54:39 PM
What a bunch of arrogant fools! How are they going to spin this result to show that this wasn't an embarrassment! Would this not tell them just how pompus and unpopular they are in the eyes of the outside world! Russia beat them by a country mile and they have hardly even got a stadium ffs!  ;D
Post by: David McKeown on December 02, 2010, 06:01:35 PM
There was a show on sky sports the other day about the Qatar bid and it looked really interesting (from a nerdy point of view).  Apparently they had created mini replicas of all the stadia they are going to construct and had them powered by solar panels for the fifa inspectors to visit.  They were also using some strange type of air conditioning with a wall of cold air around the tops of the stadium so that it didnt matter what the temperature was the place would never heat up.  They were also saying a number of the stadia would be taken down after the wc and moved to other countries in the area at the Qatar government's expense.  Oh and they had Zinedine Zidane
Post by: armagho9 on December 02, 2010, 06:07:10 PM
I see Bechkam on news saying the one statement that really p***** me off " we have the best, most passionate fans in the world.  They give us great support wherever we go".  Hear it all the time from English people, short memories to say the least
Post by: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 06:55:03 PM
It gets worse (or better, if you prefer). England already had one vote, so they effectively spent £15 million to get one vote. The fallout in English soccer is going to be epic
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 02, 2010, 06:55:56 PM

Edit: they'll feel a bit better at the news that Australia only got one vote (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2010/dec/01/world-cup-2018-2022-zurich). A 2-1 win in the Ashes would do nicely :)

one of england's 2 votes was their own !!
Post by: tyssam5 on December 02, 2010, 06:56:02 PM
More disappointed about the USA losing out in 2022. Oh well usually a shite tournament anyway, Euros is better.
Post by: armagho9 on December 02, 2010, 07:04:58 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on December 02, 2010, 06:56:02 PM
More disappointed about the USA losing out in 2022. Oh well usually a shite tournament anyway, Euros is better.

where is Euros 2016?  Or has it been decided yet?
Post by: Tyrones own on December 02, 2010, 07:05:39 PM
That is most unfortunate alright...strange result in that Obama was nowhere near it this time  ;D
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 07:09:08 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on December 02, 2010, 07:04:58 PM

France
Post by: Club Rossa on December 02, 2010, 07:09:59 PM
I couldn't give a shit where the world cup is being held but i was laughing my balls off at the reaction on Sky Sports news,they were totally stunned.
Post by: armagho9 on December 02, 2010, 07:16:36 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 07:09:08 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on December 02, 2010, 07:04:58 PM

France

would make a good holiday if Ireland qualify.  Tour de france on as well around same time. 
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 02, 2010, 07:17:57 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on December 02, 2010, 06:55:56 PM

one of england's 2 votes was their own !!

And the other vote was from one of the men that Panorama implicated in their documentary
Post by: Minder on December 02, 2010, 07:22:01 PM
All the Brit media, bar the Guardian I think, seemed to think it was a "huge boost" for the English bid that Putin was not attending the event. He obviously knew it was done and dusted.
Post by: lurganblue on December 02, 2010, 07:24:01 PM
Was listening to talk sport on my way. f**k it was hilarious. They were on about Qatar and it being beside Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq etc
They also were going on about all of the places they had went to play friendlys and now didn't get their votes lol
Post by: armagho9 on December 02, 2010, 07:29:34 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 02, 2010, 07:22:01 PM
All the Brit media, bar the Guardian I think, seemed to think it was a "huge boost" for the English bid that Putin was not attending the event. He obviously knew it was done and dusted.

think Putin gave a statement yesterday basically saying to let the bids speak for themselves and he didnt want to attend and put more pressure on those making the decisions.  Fair play to him if you ask me.  The English are so full of themselves they obviously thought that one of their royals and prime minister are so important that it would sway it for them.
Post by: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 09:12:37 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on December 02, 2010, 07:29:34 PM

think Putin gave a statement yesterday basically saying to let the bids speak for themselves and he didnt want to attend and put more pressure on those making the decisions.  Fair play to him if you ask me.  The English are so full of themselves they obviously thought that one of their royals and prime minister are so important that it would sway it for them.

Or perhaps Putin already had the votes bought and staying away is his alibi. Do you seriously think an autocrat like him is capable of being magnanimous?
Post by: armagho9 on December 02, 2010, 09:19:31 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 02, 2010, 09:12:37 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on December 02, 2010, 07:29:34 PM

Or perhaps Putin already had the votes bought and staying away is his alibi. Do you seriously think an autocrat like him is capable of being magnanimous?

Couldnt really care about his reasons.  Personally wanted Spain and Portugal to get it.  Just think its funny that the English didnt get it as i get sick listening to the usual "we are the best, best fans, best everything",  the reality is most countries dont like them and i would say thats the main reason they didnt get it. 
Post by: muppet on December 02, 2010, 09:28:21 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 02, 2010, 07:05:39 PM
That is most unfortunate alright...strange result in that Obama was nowhere near it this time  ;D

I wonder should we ask Dubya where Qatar is, or even what it is?
Post by: Tyrones own on December 02, 2010, 09:32:24 PM
Of course what gets lost here is the benefits it would have had on the massive
out of work labor force both in England and Ireland....just as long as we get a laugh, cause thats whats important, right?
*shakes head at the logic here sometimes  ::)
Post by: Tyrones own on December 02, 2010, 09:36:41 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 02, 2010, 09:28:21 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 02, 2010, 07:05:39 PM

I wonder should we ask Dubya where Qatar is, or even what it is?
Eh... dubya isn't in office anymore, maybe ask Biden  :-X
Post by: stephenite on December 02, 2010, 09:49:51 PM
The Aussie on the street is not a happy camper, the cheek of them not wanting to come here, well they can all f**k off etc.

Oceania chief was caught up in the corruption scandal and so that region lost the vote, which was guaranteed 9 votes for Australia, his deputy was supposed to vote but the fact that your man was intending to appeal it meant that the entire region lost it's vote, apparently.
Post by: armagho9 on December 02, 2010, 09:57:51 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 02, 2010, 09:32:24 PM
out of work labor force both in England and Ireland....just as long as we get a laugh, cause thats whats important, right?

Were they not mouthing that the stadiums were more or less in place and ready to go?  Already enough hotel rooms, infrastructure ready, England the only country that could host it tomorrow if need be was one of their arguements.

Londoners were constantly giving off over the past few years that the Olympics were creating no jobs for locals as most of the jobs were being given to eastern europeans. With extra work in Russia maybe many Eastern Europeans will head back for work  there which in turn will create more jobs here.

Extra work in Russia could benefit you more than extra work in England even without going there yourself. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 02, 2010, 10:04:14 PM
Maybe this boyo should have stayed at home:

"I'm very disappointed, as are the rest of the team," said Prince William, who spent much of the week lobbying for support and delivered an impressive speech during England's presentation.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 02, 2010, 10:13:33 PM
You have to wonder about the English media.

The BBC, to me, were  a big letdown with their choice of timing in airing the panorama on the corruption. The Daily Mail sting operation too.

Basically these guys, say what you will about them, are putting the effort in for this bid - and it's a bid which would have been a massive lift financially speaking - and then these media are just p*ssing on it because they want a story.

I wouldn't have minded seeing England get it but mainly for selfish reasons in that it would be a handy world cup to go too. If you think about it the north of ireland would have benefited greatly too.

Now I'm sure they wouldn't have got it anyway however the media didn't help.

Now there will be the usual British media blame mentality where it will be one corrupt country or another's fault. Never their own though. They would sicken your hole. (and they would sicken anyone's not just because we're irish and are "meant" to dislike them)
Post by: ONeill on December 02, 2010, 10:24:10 PM
It's not just the British media who are delusional. I also listened to that Talkshite radio phone in and the general public were flabbergasted that the presence of Prince Willie and Golden Balls didn't swing it. They actually believe that the rest of the world cream over their royal family and Sir Becks. The odd caller said 'we're not liked' and was soon ushered off.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on December 02, 2010, 10:45:54 PM
Talksport was very entertaining today. Gutted they were! Talking about the Three lions they sent.
Even were saying that the FA should withdraw from FIFA now.
Post by: ONeill on December 02, 2010, 10:48:39 PM
Did you hear the gobshite presenter who said Arshavin should be booed at the next Arsenal match? Defeat brings out the best in the English.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 02, 2010, 10:48:49 PM
The timing of that Panorama programme was rather curious, but fair fcuks to them I say.

As David Mellor said (interviewed on that programme), that it might be better for Engerland to lose out on this occasion, and thence to focus on cleaning up the rotten system without being in any way beholden as imminent hosts.

Those FIFA delegates, no doubt, are paragons of pristine probity on matters relating to the apportioning of goodies; though a little thoroughly thoroughgoing thrashing around the devenalising chamber of the simple sword of truth and the trusty shield of British fair play as inflicted by the British Tabloid Press ( :D ) might do them no harm at all  ;)
Post by: ross4life on December 02, 2010, 10:57:23 PM
(http://d.yimg.com/i/ng/sp/p5/20101202/18/2478563709.jpg)

Return of the vuvuzela  in 2022?  >:(
Post by: DuffleKing on December 02, 2010, 11:02:20 PM

Putin was very impressive in his address this evening
Post by: Carmen Stateside on December 02, 2010, 11:19:44 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 02, 2010, 10:48:39 PM
Did you hear the gobshite presenter who said Arshavin should be booed at the next Arsenal match? Defeat brings out the best in the English.

Exactly, just because he was playing in England they thought he should not be backing the Russian bid. Unreal.
Post by: paco on December 02, 2010, 11:35:56 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 02, 2010, 11:02:20 PM

What did he say? Did Blatter et al wait around for him afterwards?
Post by: Capt Pat on December 02, 2010, 11:42:39 PM
Evil Russia or Evil England, what is the difference? They got he olympics themselves by bribing poor countries to steal the games from the French.

Football is a global game and needs to be spread around. It would have been funny to see the English reaction if they had lost out to Qatar.

I don't like th Qatar selection, so many more countries would deserve the tournament more, but oil money talks. I like the choice of Russia. In fact I think the choice of Qatar stinks to high heaven. Only 800,000 people live in Qatar and I don't understand the selection.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 02, 2010, 11:43:08 PM
It might have helped, had England not sent 'Uncle Albert' as their representative...

(http://uk.reuters.com/resources/r/?m=02&d=20100516&t=2&i=108245724&w=460&fh=&fw=&ll=&pl=&r=2010-05-16T212229Z_01_BTRE64F1NDM00_RTROPTP_0_SOCCER-ENGLAND-MCCLAREN)

Gotta luv tha' Cockney sense of humour!  :D
Post by: Celt_Man on December 03, 2010, 12:06:21 AM
Not arsed scrolling through all the previous pages but did anyone else get a serious laugh at the reaction of the English crowd when Russia were announced!!! ;D ;D

And yes, I know England would have been a better choice where accessibility is concerned with the Irish but still fierce funny!!! :D
Post by: Capt Pat on December 03, 2010, 12:47:00 AM

You are being too sensible, this is a time to celebrate. Worry about the consequences later.
Post by: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 12:52:36 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on December 03, 2010, 12:47:00 AM

You are being too sensible, this is a time to celebrate. Worry about the consequences later.
Famous last words... but what to do about the consequences of the last ten years  :-X
Post by: Capt Pat on December 03, 2010, 01:01:23 AM
I hear Barack Obama was disappointed that Cutter beat the Usa to get the world cup.

Putin is hardly Mr Charisma, not to mention the genocide in Chechnya and all the young russian soldiers who died as well. He left it to Mr Charisma Dasayev and co to get the job done.

Isn't it all really Sepp Blatters club house and he decides it all.
Post by: muppet on December 03, 2010, 01:15:36 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 12:52:36 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on December 03, 2010, 12:47:00 AM

Famous last words... but what to do about the consequences of the last ten years  :-X

But but but......surely we will be saved by the 2012 Olympics?

(http://www.bewail.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/WoodyWoodpecker1-190x300.jpg)
Post by: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 01:23:19 AM
Maybe it would if we could get rid of the Eastern blockers coming in and taking the jobs that the Irish won't do  ;)
Post by: muppet on December 03, 2010, 01:24:33 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 01:23:19 AM
Maybe it would if we could get rid of the Eastern blockers coming in and taking the jobs that the Irish won't do  ;)

Yes Taoiseach Arshavin.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 03, 2010, 01:24:49 AM

Your Mc Carthyism is showing (again)  ;)
Post by: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 01:31:45 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 03, 2010, 01:24:49 AM

Your Mc Carthyism is showing (again)  ;)
Ach not at all...it's just good craic reading the irony on some of these threads having had it come around full circle
I'm simply a few years down the road ahead of ye.... it'll be your turn soon enough so i wouldn't knock it  8)
Post by: ziggysego on December 03, 2010, 01:35:27 AM

Yeah, imagine. Them, going over there, taking our jobs, that we're stealing from them.  ;D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 03, 2010, 01:41:09 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 01:31:45 AM
Ach not at all...it's just good craic reading the irony on some of these threads having had it come around full circle
I'm simply a few years down the road ahead of ye.... it'll be your turn soon enough so i wouldn't knock it  8)

No worries.

By the way, Prohibition was a shite idea (don't let anybody tell you any different!)

As for (true) Socialism... we'll see  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on December 03, 2010, 01:47:40 AM

I find myself in full accord here.

Our own national team is no great shakes, there would have been positive knock on (perhaps dribble down) effects for the Irish economy - but sure isnt it f**king great the English didnt get it.

Hold on - What?

I love to beat the English as much as the next man but the nonsense on here from fellas who probably have at least one English club shirt in their drawers is strange to say the least.
Post by: DuffleKing on December 03, 2010, 01:55:35 AM
Quote from: paco on December 02, 2010, 11:35:56 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 02, 2010, 11:02:20 PM

What did he say? Did Blatter et al wait around for him afterwards?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8tnqyTVdQ4
Post by: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 01:57:04 AM
QuoteI love to beat the English as much as the next man but the nonsense on here from fellas who probably have at least one English club shirt in their drawers is strange to say the least.
And likely unemployed into the bargain  ::)
Post by: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 02:02:19 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 03, 2010, 01:41:09 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 01:31:45 AM

No worries.

By the way, Prohibition was a shite idea (don't let anybody tell you any different!)

As for (true) Socialism... we'll see  ;)
If this Feckless progressive fcuk stays in office much longer I fear you might be right  :'(
Post by: stephenite on December 03, 2010, 05:30:18 AM
From the Sydney Morning Herald. Love the last bit

In Qatar, fans danced in the streets, blew vuvuzelas to express their delight and chanted "We won! We won!".

Scores of cars packed the country's roads, with the country's vast oil and gas wealth reflected in the number of Hummers, Range Rovers and Ferraris on display.

But the Qatari celebrations may have been tempered by the reaction from Islamist extremists, who proclaimed that their country would be no more by 2022, as it would become part of an "Islamic state".

"You fools, know that al-Qaeda is on the threshold of establishing the shariah (Islamic law) of Allah the Almighty," a user called Hafeed al-Hussein posted on the Shumukh al-Islam online forum, according to the US-based SITE Intelligence Group.

"In 2022, there is no country with the name Qatar, and there is no province called Kuwait and there is no Saudi (Arabia). Instead, there is an emirate called the Islamic State," the post added.

Another user, Abu Yassin, predicted that insurgents in the Russian Caucasus - where attacks on officials have become daily occurrences as Russian authorities battle the fighters - would help spell Qatar's downfall.

"In 2018, Russia will organise (the games) and the brothers in the emirate of the Caucasus, with permission from Allah, will make a case to cancel Qatar's" games, he wrote.

Another who called himself Abu Khubeib al-Khorasani said 2022 will be the "most exciting" World Cup final, predicting that Portuguese player Cristiano Ronaldo would be kidnapped and Al-Qaeda would win the tournament.
Post by: ballinaman on December 03, 2010, 05:35:43 AM
Quote from: stephenite on December 03, 2010, 05:30:18 AM
Another who called himself Abu Khubeib al-Khorasani said 2022 will be the "most exciting" World Cup final, predicting that Portuguese player Cristiano Ronaldo would be kidnapped and Al-Qaeda would win the tournament.
The certainly have the firepower to win it...
Post by: Main Street on December 03, 2010, 09:44:29 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on December 02, 2010, 10:10:28 PM

The Qatar award is a bit surprising, I must say. ...... Would also be interesting if Israel make it to the 2022 finals...
Qatar has followed a strongly independent line with Israel, re trade, diplomatic relations, in line with its independent  foreign policy in general.
Post by: Olly on December 03, 2010, 10:08:13 AM
I've been drinking heavily since the result.
Post by: armagho9 on December 03, 2010, 12:23:32 PM
Steve Bruce i think hit the nail on the head, "just dont think anyone likes us English"

David Moyes said it was wrong to have Prime Ministers and State Figures at Presentation as it was football matters, whilst it was important to have government backing it should have been left to footballing people to put the case forward to a football organisation.
Post by: thebigfella on December 03, 2010, 12:28:55 PM
I think it's the only time I was genuinely upset England did not win. 
Post by: Sandy Hill on December 03, 2010, 12:44:37 PM
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: BennyHarp on December 03, 2010, 12:45:01 PM
I'd say the English media will go after FIFA big time in the coming weeks!
Post by: mannix on December 03, 2010, 01:46:54 PM
Qutar  has One and a half million people and will build nine stadiums,  paddy the Irishman flies around in airplanes trying to catch paddy the other Irish man burning any rubbish all so we do our part for the environment and here they are building nine stadiums and cooling them for a four week tournament. Are they going to sell the stadiums when it's all over and ship them abroad?

Post by: BennyHarp on December 03, 2010, 02:21:20 PM
The stadiums look like they will be fairly impressive looking anyway in Qatar, arriving by water taxi would some experience for 70 odd thousand fans. http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=GB#/watch?xl=xl_blazer&v=d-z2jtUS9-Y
Post by: ross4life on December 03, 2010, 03:59:24 PM
Quote from: stephenite on December 03, 2010, 05:30:18 AM
12 more years of Ronaldo

(http://i40.tinypic.com/2lk68a1.jpg)
Post by: armaghniac on December 03, 2010, 04:13:33 PM
QuoteQutar  has One and a half million people and will build nine stadiums,  paddy the Irishman flies around in airplanes trying to catch paddy the other Irish man burning any rubbish all so we do our part for the environment and here they are building nine stadiums and cooling them for a four week tournament.

All solar powered, apparently.

QuoteAre they going to sell the stadiums when it's all over and ship them abroad?

Apparently they are going to dismantle them and donate them to a poor country.

Its all a bit strange.
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 03, 2010, 04:20:24 PM
QuoteApparently they are going to dismantle them and donate them to a poor country.

The FAI fecked up again, if we knew this 3 years ago we could have held out for one of the Qatar ones instead of spending all that money on the Aviva, Maybe the Cork County board might hold off doing up Pairc Ui Chaoimh for a few years !!!

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 03, 2010, 04:26:09 PM
(http://i2.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/250/draft_lens6297202module51865311photo_1250308688undertake-paul-bearer.jpg)
(http://edition.cnn.com/video/sports/2010/12/02/qatar.image.getty.640x480.jpg)
Post by: Donkeywalloper on December 03, 2010, 04:30:55 PM
yer doll in that second photo is a botox version of thon deaf one Keilty used to be sliding the length to !
Post by: mannix on December 03, 2010, 04:55:00 PM
I was being sarcastic, about shipping the stadiums abroad. The Americans are fairly annoyed, I had thought they would get it but maybe their foreign policy is coming back to haunt them.I could see why Russia would get it, but Qatar where it's so hot and no beer is a bit of a strange one. 115 f average in July, what kind of air conditioning can work like that on a stadium. The turf in the bogs of Qatar must be in clods in a few days with that kind of heat.
Post by: seafoid on December 03, 2010, 05:05:23 PM
Eureka at FIFA!
By Colm McCarthy

December 3rd, 2010
It is unusual to find ready-to-hand predictor variables which work. After all the revelations about corruption at FIFA, readers might have expected countries with too many scruples about governance and suchlike to fare poorly. The rankings of the four bidders in the recent Corruption Perceptions Index published by Transparency International in Berlin were as follows (a high rank means less corrupt).

Netherlands/Belgium  7 and 22

United Kingdom             20

Spain/Portugal           30 and 32

Russia                            154

Russia of course won, and the Ireland - Finland grudge game in Vladivostok should be a cracker!

Post by: ONeill on December 03, 2010, 05:21:38 PM
When asked who his favourite Qatar player was, Blatter answered 'Eric Clapton'.
Post by: paco on December 03, 2010, 05:41:09 PM
Anyone see Roy Keane's interview? Thought it was great, he evidently didn't give a f**k but they kept on asking him about it and insinuating corruption and all the rest, "nobody died...get over it" :D
Post by: Denn Forever on December 03, 2010, 05:51:46 PM
What other country voted with England?

People who think it was a corrupt vote should remember that England only got 2 vote and one of them was their vote.
Post by: Main Street on December 03, 2010, 06:17:11 PM
How does remembering the fact that England got 1 other vote, help us with our thoughts  about a corrupt vote?
Post by: tommysmith on December 03, 2010, 06:23:46 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 03, 2010, 06:17:11 PM
How does remembering the fact that England got 1 other vote, help us with our thoughts  about a corrupt vote?

It corrupt surely, one of the best bids getting one vote stinks.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 03, 2010, 06:26:04 PM
Only one other country voted for England. 

What it suggests to me is that no one likes England so it is a personal choice not a corrupt one. 

It is a silly system when Qatar gets the 2022 WC. 

How much money would it take for Ireland to be in the running for the 2030 WC?  If there is corruption, how would we take advantage?
Post by: tommysmith on December 03, 2010, 06:34:46 PM
Yeah and everyone loves the russians  ::)
Post by: Main Street on December 03, 2010, 06:54:31 PM
You have to admit, love for Russians is bigger today than ever.
Post by: ross4life on December 03, 2010, 06:57:21 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on December 03, 2010, 06:34:46 PM

I Love Russian female tennis players  ;)
Post by: Main Street on December 03, 2010, 07:10:04 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 03, 2010, 06:26:04 PM
Only one other country voted for England. 

What it suggests to me is that no one likes England so it is a personal choice not a corrupt one. 

Wasn't Jack Warner (that upstanding honest chap)  supposed to be in bed with the English bid?  Maybe Russia had the best bid, certainly they had a very good presentation of their bid.
Post by: Capt Pat on December 03, 2010, 08:46:13 PM
If England want fair play maybe they should start by not voting for themselves. At least in the eurovision, you can't vote for yourself like England did.

The other vote that England got was from one ofthe people, they accused of corruption. So in conclusion, maybe England should give up the old paranoid everybody else is corrupt attitude and realise people just don't like them. Give the 6 counties back to Ireland, give Gibraltar back to Spain, give the Falklands back to Argentina. Then they might have a chance of winning an international popularity contest.
Post by: ross4life on December 03, 2010, 09:12:39 PM
Judging the way voting is done i think we should throw our name into the hat for 2030! sure enough we don't have the transport,accommodation & pitches to hold a world cup but.. everyone knows Ireland is great craic which should secure plenty of votes  :P
Post by: tommysmith on December 03, 2010, 10:14:07 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 03, 2010, 06:57:21 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on December 03, 2010, 06:34:46 PM

I Love Russian female tennis players  ;)

Nice dart player aswell

(http://www.pdc-darts.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/anastasia_world_champ.jpg)
Post by: Aaron Boone on December 03, 2010, 10:58:07 PM
The madness is England gettin 2 votes, not Russia winnin it. Russia was always 2nd fav all the way.

Post by: Minder on December 03, 2010, 11:08:25 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on December 03, 2010, 10:58:07 PM
The madness is England gettin 2 votes, not Russia winnin it. Russia was always 2nd fav all the way.

I saw odds a couple of days before it and Russia were 8/11 favourites. The English obviously started piling money onto the English bid close to the announcement, hence the 1/2 with the English bookies.
Post by: armaghniac on December 04, 2010, 12:55:39 AM
QuoteWhat it suggests to me is that no one likes England so it is a personal choice not a corrupt one.

I'm not a great admirer of England, but a personal choice could be a corrupt one. Corrupt in the obvious way but also corrupt in the sense that someone might rule out a venue that was suitable on the basis of personal predjudice. Russia is not a totally ridiculous choice, but Qatar is.
Post by: tyroneboi on December 04, 2010, 01:31:25 AM
Its pretty depressing to think that by the time Qatar host the 2022 World Cup I will be 40!!
Post by: BennyHarp on December 04, 2010, 08:40:37 AM
Quote from: paco on December 03, 2010, 05:41:09 PM
Anyone see Roy Keane's interview? Thought it was great, he evidently didn't give a f**k but they kept on asking him about it and insinuating corruption and all the rest, "nobody died...get over it" :D

This coming from the man who completely over reacted to the training pitch being a bit bumpy in Saipan! Nobody died then either Roy! He's making a pigs ear out the job at Ipswich Town, nobody is dying but it doesn't mean people aren't concerned!  Keane is turning into a bigger joke every time he opens his mouth!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on December 04, 2010, 09:37:53 AM
Zidane is the real winner, paid 3 Milllion to support Qatar's bid and 15 Million if they got it.  ::)

http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/blog/dirty-tackle/post/The-real-winner-of-the-2022-World-Cup-decision-?urn=sow-291361
Post by: David McKeown on December 04, 2010, 11:44:44 AM
As someone touched on there I don't think the FA could have selected a worse choice of representatives to support the bid. FIFA hates government involvement with FA's so who do England send but their head of government and their future head of state as well as a player who became soo famous he pissed off the top brass for most of his career. As I said earlier too the Qatar bid looked very very impressive and drew rave reviews for the mini replica stadia they constructed for the technical assessment.
Post by: muppet on December 04, 2010, 01:30:40 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on December 04, 2010, 08:40:37 AM

This coming from the man who completely over reacted to the training pitch being a bit bumpy in Saipan! Nobody died then either Roy! He's making a pigs ear out the job at Ipswich Town, nobody is dying but it doesn't mean people aren't concerned!  Keane is turning into a bigger joke every time he opens his mouth!

You are right! We should take to the streets immediately and protest all day every day until this horrific injustice is corrected. If there is a God, Bhudda and an Allah England should host the 2018 World Cup and we should be venting every electron of our collective existences' anger at FIFA.
Post by: muppet on December 04, 2010, 01:37:17 PM
'Arry Redknapp reckons the FA would have won the roght to host the 2018 World Cup if they had used bigger assets.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1335545/Jordan-fronted-Englands-World-Cup-bid-says-Harry-Redknapp.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1335545/Jordan-fronted-Englands-World-Cup-bid-says-Harry-Redknapp.html)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 04, 2010, 05:14:11 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on December 04, 2010, 09:37:53 AM
Zidane is the real winner, paid 3 Milllion to support Qatar's bid and 15 Million if they got it.  ::)

http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/blog/dirty-tackle/post/The-real-winner-of-the-2022-World-Cup-decision-?urn=sow-291361
Nice deal that.
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 04, 2010, 07:33:21 PM
England to play Thailand

Monday, 10 May, 2010

The FA announces historic fixture with Thailand in 2011.

The FA has today confirmed that England will travel to Thailand in June 2011 for a friendly international.
Following the European Championship qualifier with Switzerland on Saturday 4 June at Wembley, the Three Lions will make the journey to Southeast Asia prior to the end of the season.
The friendly, which will commemorate the 65th anniversary of His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand, will be the first ever meeting between the two countries at international level, and the historic fixture will continue a growing bond over recent years. In July 2008, Fabio Capello attended a coach education seminar in Thailand to aid the development of local coaches.
Thailand's manager is a familiar face to England supporters, former captain Bryan Robson who was capped 90 times by his country and scored 26 goals. Robson took over from another former England international, Peter Reid, last September.
The match will also build upon the incredible interest in English football that already exists in the region, due to the huge impact of the Premier League.
In January of this year Thailand played host to Denmark and Poland in a friendly tournament, before narrowly missing out on qualification for the Asia Cup in March when they were defeated by a single goal by Iran.
At the end of this month, Thailand will travel to Cape Town to face South Africa as they prepare to host the World Cup Finals for the first time.

http://www.thefa.com/England/News/2010/Thailand_100510

Heard today this was canceled as Thailand did not vote for England as promised when setting up the fixture. Oh the corruption  ::)

Post by: pintsofguinness on December 04, 2010, 07:34:48 PM
Who did vote for England?
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 04, 2010, 07:36:30 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 04, 2010, 07:34:48 PM

I'm not even sure the England representative voted for England  :D
Post by: Bensars on December 04, 2010, 07:41:22 PM
Believed to be Japan
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 04, 2010, 07:46:05 PM
Quote from: Bensars on December 04, 2010, 07:41:22 PM
Believed to be Japan
and how many votes is there, does every country's FA have a vote?
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 04, 2010, 07:47:55 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 04, 2010, 07:46:05 PM
Believed to be Japan
and how many votes is there, does every country's FA have a vote?

22 apparently
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 04, 2010, 11:06:03 PM
So england won't play Thailand because they didn't vote for them. Only 2 countries did vote for them, one of which was a vote for themselves. It would appear there will be a scarcity of games for England next year as they can now only play against Japan - home and away 10 times each perhaps?
Post by: muppet on December 04, 2010, 11:18:33 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 04, 2010, 11:06:03 PM
So england won't play Thailand because they didn't vote for them. Only 2 countries did vote for them, one of which was a vote for themselves. It would appear there will be a scarcity of games for England next year as they can now only play against Japan - home and away 10 times each perhaps?

They could play with themselves.
Post by: BennyHarp on December 04, 2010, 11:32:17 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 04, 2010, 01:30:40 PM

You are right! We should take to the streets immediately and protest all day every day until this horrific injustice is corrected. If there is a God, Bhudda and an Allah England should host the 2018 World Cup and we should be venting every electron of our collective existences' anger at FIFA.

Absolutely right! Well said that man! The over reaction that Keane vented in Saipan is still alive and well in the Muppets of Ireland. Calm down muppet - nobody died!
Post by: delboy on December 05, 2010, 01:49:39 AM
Believed to be Japan

I thought it was an african delegate, they are still chummy with the japanese delegate because he at least admitted that he wasn't voting for them.
That fifa crowd is a rum bunch, still to be fair to them i suppose blatter and the boys should be applauded for at least sticking to their principles when it came to Henry's goal  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on December 05, 2010, 02:10:31 AM
Its an awful shame Delaney had no vote. He could have cleared the Anglo debt.
Post by: Capt Pat on December 05, 2010, 08:48:01 AM
Not playing the Thailand fixture is hardly going to make them popular in future.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 05, 2010, 09:50:31 AM
Quote from: tyroneboi on December 04, 2010, 01:31:25 AM
Its pretty depressing to think that by the time Qatar host the 2022 World Cup I will be 40!!

you're lucky, i will be 40 by the time the Euro's come round next June !!
Post by: deiseach on December 05, 2010, 10:12:28 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 04, 2010, 11:06:03 PM

I doubt they're planning to boycott teams who didn't vote for them because they didn't have a vote.
Post by: muppet on December 05, 2010, 12:36:01 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on December 04, 2010, 11:32:17 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 04, 2010, 01:30:40 PM

Absolutely right! Well said that man! The over reaction that Keane vented in Saipan is still alive and well in the Muppets of Ireland. Calm down muppet - nobody died!

You went back to re-write this to suit another post on another thread. Now who is overreacting?
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 06, 2010, 12:02:23 AM
London mayor cancels FIFA Olympic freebie

London - The fall-out to England's defeat in the race to host the 2018 World Cup continued on Sunday as London mayor Boris Johnson withdrew an offer of free hotel rooms for FIFA executives during the 2012 London Olympic Games.

Johnson had agreed to put up FIFA president Joseph Blatter and other officials at the exclusive Dorchester Hotel, but after Thursday's decision to award the 2018 World Cup to Russia, the offer has been rescinded.

The mayor is understood to have discussed the issue with the London Olympic organizing committee chairman Sebastian Coe, but he has not commented on the decision.

Johnson, who was in Zurich to help with last-minute lobbying, said the result was a "big blow and tremendously disappointing".

The withdrawal of the offer, whose initial justification - from a bid that prided itself on not offering inducements - remains unclear, is part of a general backlash in England against FIFA.

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/news/356680,cancels-fifa-olympic-freebie.html

Half expecting these guys to turn up at every match in 2018 and take the ball home with them!

Post by: J OGorman on December 06, 2010, 11:42:55 AM
gutted England didnt get it...I'm getting no younger and it would have been nice to have had the tournament next door.

anti-english bias aside from a lot of folk, anyone who thinks that Sepp Blatter's FIFA is NOT corrupt, isnt wise. Would love to know what the crooked hooer made personally out of this. The man is anti-football
Post by: ziggysego on December 06, 2010, 11:50:20 AM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on December 06, 2010, 12:02:23 AM

London - The fall-out to England's defeat in the race to host the 2018 World Cup continued on Sunday as London mayor Boris Johnson withdrew an offer of free hotel rooms for FIFA executives during the 2012 London Olympic Games.

Johnson had agreed to put up FIFA president Joseph Blatter and other officials at the exclusive Dorchester Hotel, but after Thursday's decision to award the 2018 World Cup to Russia, the offer has been rescinded.

The mayor is understood to have discussed the issue with the London Olympic organizing committee chairman Sebastian Coe, but he has not commented on the decision.

Johnson, who was in Zurich to help with last-minute lobbying, said the result was a "big blow and tremendously disappointing".

The withdrawal of the offer, whose initial justification - from a bid that prided itself on not offering inducements - remains unclear, is part of a general backlash in England against FIFA.

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/news/356680,cancels-fifa-olympic-freebie.html

Half expecting these guys to turn up at every match in 2018 and take the ball home with them!

Spoilt brats.
Post by: delboy on December 06, 2010, 12:22:22 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on December 06, 2010, 11:42:55 AM
gutted England didnt get it...I'm getting no younger and it would have been nice to have had the tournament next door.

anti-english bias aside from a lot of folk, anyone who thinks that Sepp Blatter's FIFA is NOT corrupt, isnt wise. Would love to know what the crooked hooer made personally out of this. The man is anti-football

Well said, as for blatter he got what he wanted, to hold onto the reigns for a bit longer, Qatar winning the bid means he won't be apposed for the top dog role by the chappy from Qatar (the one that looks like the undertakers side kick). Its fair enough i guess for those on here who aren't bothered about football/soccer (its a gaa board after all ) having a chuckle at how the sport is run but for those that actually do care about the sport i can think of funnier things than seeing the ruling organisation behaving like a bunch of corrupt tossers whose sole aim is to hold onto power at all costs so the gravity train can continue unabated.
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 06, 2010, 07:18:19 PM
Quote from: delboy on December 06, 2010, 12:22:22 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on December 06, 2010, 11:42:55 AM

Well said, as for blatter he got what he wanted, to hold onto the reigns for a bit longer, Qatar winning the bid means he won't be apposed for the top dog role by the chappy from Qatar (the one that looks like the undertakers side kick). Its fair enough i guess for those on here who aren't bothered about football/soccer (its a gaa board after all ) having a chuckle at how the sport is run but for those that actually do care about the sport i can think of funnier things than seeing the ruling organisation behaving like a bunch of corrupt t**sers whose sole aim is to hold onto power at all costs so the gravity train can continue unabated.

True enough. Thank God our governments don't behave like that!
Post by: Capt Pat on December 06, 2010, 07:51:45 PM

Just another indication of why the English bid may have failed. Using Boris Johnson to campaign for it? He may have made a number of appearances on Have I got news for you, but I doubt they see much of that in Ecuador and Japan. He got elected Mayor of London becayse nobody liked Red Ken any more.

Withdrawing their bribes after tge event has happened hardly convinces me that FIFA is more corrupt. The Englis government failed to invite me to an event too once and it only demonstrates their own corruptio. Bizarre behaviour in both cases. They should take the olympics away from the corrupt bastards as well.

Did it not occur to any one that the English might have used up all their lives and favours securing the olympics from under the noses of their neighbours the French. The Olympics in 2012 and the world cup final in 2018, you can't have it all.
Post by: delboy on December 06, 2010, 10:23:35 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on December 06, 2010, 07:51:45 PM

Just another indication of why the English bid may have failed. Using Boris Johnson to campaign for it? He may have made a number of appearances on Have I got news for you, but I doubt they see much of that in Ecuador and Japan. He got elected Mayor of London becayse nobody liked Red Ken any more.

Withdrawing their bribes after tge event has happened hardly convinces me that FIFA is more corrupt. The Englis government failed to invite me to an event too once and it only demonstrates their own corruptio. Bizarre behaviour in both cases. They should take the olympics away from the corrupt b**tards as well.

Did it not occur to any one that the English might have used up all their lives and favours securing the olympics from under the noses of their neighbours the French. The Olympics in 2012 and the world cup final in 2018, you can't have it all.

I think you'll find the french sporting media had a lot of sympathy for the english on this one, they recognosed the english bid as the one with probably the most merit, they are also obviously concerned that the world cup would now appear to be a travelling bandwagon these days looking for some place it hasn't been before, not exactly good for french prospects or for that matter any of the other big european countries that largely bankroll it hosting it in the future.
Post by: ross4life on December 17, 2010, 07:06:10 PM
Ian Holloway take on Sepp Blatter moving the 2022 Qatar World Cup to the winter.

Quote:
Holloway was also bitterly opposed, saying: "It's gone crazy - I think the world has gone completely on its head.

"We'll just change everything because their weather is really hot.

"What happens to our football and everybody else's that would be playing through it? Do we just stop for a while? Genius, absolutely magnificent.

"I'm going to go home and tell my turkeys 'It's not Christmas, we're moving it - it's all right, you've got some respite! I've had a word with FIFA and we're going to move Christmas, it's no problem'."
Post by: crossdoesitbest on December 17, 2010, 09:48:27 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 17, 2010, 07:06:10 PM
Ian Holloway take on Sepp Blatter moving the 2022 Qatar World Cup to the winter.

Quote:
Holloway was also bitterly opposed, saying: "It's gone crazy - I think the world has gone completely on its head.

"We'll just change everything because their weather is really hot.

"What happens to our football and everybody else's that would be playing through it? Do we just stop for a while? Genius, absolutely magnificent.

"I'm going to go home and tell my turkeys 'It's not Christmas, we're moving it - it's all right, you've got some respite! I've had a word with FIFA and we're going to move Christmas, it's no problem'."

Everytime this clown speaks it's great entertainment, but sometimes and not very often there are a few home truths in it!