Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: screenmachine on November 09, 2010, 08:42:23 AM

Title: Call Of Duty: Black Ops
Post by: screenmachine on November 09, 2010, 08:42:23 AM
Anyone bought the latest installation of the Call of Duty series?  Think I'm picking up my copy tonight and am just wondering if anyone has came across anywhere doing a bargain on it a la Fifa where the Supermarket's normally have a bidding war on release day?
Title: Re: Call Of Duty: Black Ops
Post by: screenexile on November 09, 2010, 09:46:23 AM
I dunno but it sounds like you should maybe try a couple of supermarkets??
Post by: screenmachine on November 09, 2010, 10:15:17 AM
Screen exile, your words of wisdom never disappoint. I don't know what i would do without you! Thanks buddy...
Post by: paco on November 09, 2010, 10:23:30 AM
Got it last night/this morning at about 12.30. All I can say is it's definitely worth the wait and I'm glad I had it pre-booked!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 09, 2010, 10:51:01 AM
Should pick it up later. How much was it? will i have any difficulty getting it?
Post by: Hereiam on November 09, 2010, 12:23:29 PM
Quote from: paco on November 09, 2010, 10:23:30 AM
Got it last night/this morning at about 12.30. All I can say is it's definitely worth the wait and I'm glad I had it pre-booked!

I am a big gaming fan but cannot see the sense in buyin this on the day it is released. Why paco would you not wait a couple of weeks when the price comes down and then but it.
Post by: on the sideline on November 09, 2010, 12:28:45 PM
Wel lads, only played Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 for the first time last week and was shocked when it finished, and was wondering does the new game pick up where this one finished, i.e. still fighting in the US?

*should of said was shocked when it finished as i thought it was going to continue the story back to US.
Post by: thebigfella on November 09, 2010, 12:29:21 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 09, 2010, 12:23:29 PM

I am a big gaming fan but cannot see the sense in buyin this on the day it is released. Why paco would you not wait a couple of weeks when the price comes down and then but it.

Because in 2 weeks everybdy else will be shit hot online and you'll get arse fcuked every time you go on. Further the price won't drop at all, i'd say the offers available now are as good as you'll get till after christmas.
Post by: thebigfella on November 09, 2010, 12:32:04 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on November 09, 2010, 12:28:45 PM
Wel lads, only played Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 for the first time last week and was shocked when it finished, and was wondering does the new game pick up where this one finished, i.e. still fighting in the US?

*should of said was shocked when it finished as i thought it was going to continue the story back to US.

Considering it's set in the cold war and I didn't see no metion of flux capacitors, then I'd hazard a guess and say no.
Post by: paco on November 09, 2010, 01:10:48 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on November 09, 2010, 12:29:21 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 09, 2010, 12:23:29 PM

Because in 2 weeks everybdy else will be shit hot online and you'll get arse fcuked every time you go on. Further the price won't drop at all, i'd say the offers available now are as good as you'll get till after christmas.

Nail on the head! It may have been different online, but in my local shop both Modern Warfare games stayed at the same price for over a year. Anyone else played it Black Ops? I can't get over the level of customisation in multiplayer, enjoying the new killstreaks as well.
Post by: lurganblue on November 09, 2010, 01:17:29 PM
i bought medal of honor a few weeks ago and was quite disappointed. hoping to trade it in for a nice discount on black ops
Post by: Nally Stand on November 09, 2010, 01:19:58 PM
What happens with the killstreaks this time round?

Where are the best offers on it does anybody know?
Post by: screenmachine on November 09, 2010, 01:22:42 PM
The best i can see at the minute is around 40 quid or so in Tesco, hope to get it later on. And paco is right, the price won't drop for around 6 months i would say!
Post by: paco on November 09, 2010, 01:23:10 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 09, 2010, 01:19:58 PM

The dogs from World at War are back! There's also a fairly enjoyable mini remote control car bomb. Few other new ones, but the main difference from MW2 is that kills earned from killstreaks don't count towards your streak. I've made a real balls-up of explaining that but you'll see what I mean when you play!
Post by: Nally Stand on November 09, 2010, 01:28:57 PM
Quote from: paco on November 09, 2010, 01:23:10 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 09, 2010, 01:19:58 PM

The dogs from World at War are back! There's also a fairly enjoyable mini remote control car bomb. Few other new ones, but the main difference from MW2 is that kills earned from killstreaks don't count towards your streak. I've made a real balls-up of explaining that but you'll see what I mean when you play!

Fear not, I get what you're saying Paco!

As for the dogs making a comeback, all I can say is.... F**K IT ANYWAY!! Hated them damn things in World at War!

I suppose the best bet will probably end up being ebay. Usually you can trace a bargain or two there before too long.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2010, 07:18:19 PM
Installing mine on xbox now...woohoo

Post by: Square Ball on November 09, 2010, 07:26:46 PM
well thats me watching the wee TV for a while or TV catchup, one on the X-Box and another on the PS3 both playing it
Post by: paco on November 09, 2010, 07:45:57 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 09, 2010, 07:26:46 PM
well thats me watching the wee TV for a while or TV catchup, one on the X-Box and another on the PS3 both playing it

If you can't beat them, join them :)
Post by: lurganblue on November 09, 2010, 08:31:04 PM
Just got it for 7.99 in hmv when I traded in medal of honour. Bargain. Game were only giving me half price ffs
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 09, 2010, 08:55:13 PM
Got it today in Sainsburys, spend 30 quid on shopping and its yours for £27 !!

played for about a hour, still getting used to it getting blattered but have only got to custom my guns (feel like a kid)

Every shopper beside me had it in their basket/trolley. didn't feel as bad when some bloke behind me had it was around the same age!!!!
Post by: screenmachine on November 10, 2010, 08:38:20 AM
It certainly looks like another excellent addition to the Call of Duty series.  Started to get back into the swing of things after a few hours last night but it's a real bollocks learning new maps again - it was like open season for a while last night where you just ran around a corner and some man was standing looking at you ready to riddle you!

I think the actual offline game will be more enjoyable as well this time having played the first level before giving in to the online calling!  Probably be on it for another few hours tonight!  We should set up a Gaaboard free for all over the next few weeks...settle a few old scores perhaps... ;)
Post by: Shrek on November 10, 2010, 08:52:23 AM
its £25 @ tesco's if you buy a £20 PSN Card as well - i think i might go for that deal

Any-one got a broken PS3 they dont want / need ?
Post by: lurganblue on November 10, 2010, 01:15:45 PM
Quote from: screenmachine on November 10, 2010, 08:38:20 AM
It certainly looks like another excellent addition to the Call of Duty series.  Started to get back into the swing of things after a few hours last night but it's a real bollocks learning new maps again - it was like open season for a while last night where you just ran around a corner and some man was standing looking at you ready to riddle you!

I think the actual offline game will be more enjoyable as well this time having played the first level before giving in to the online calling!  Probably be on it for another few hours tonight!  We should set up a Gaaboard free for all over the next few weeks...settle a few old scores perhaps... ;)

i'd be up for that surely. is most people on ps3 or xbox?
Post by: flantheman82 on November 10, 2010, 02:19:29 PM
Got an xbox here.
So so bad at it. Really demoralising when everytime I got someone an pumping bullets into them, they take me out with one shot. Not good.
Post by: paco on November 10, 2010, 02:32:33 PM
Quote from: flantheman82 on November 10, 2010, 02:19:29 PM
Got an xbox here.
So so bad at it. Really demoralising when everytime I got someone an pumping bullets into them, they take me out with one shot. Not good.

Try the Combat Training mode. It's a good way to get used to the maps and you can set the difficulty of the bots (computer controlled enemies), but anything you unlock here doesn't get unlocked on xbox live multiplayer/PSN.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 10, 2010, 06:28:59 PM
Quote from: flantheman82 on November 10, 2010, 02:19:29 PM
Got an xbox here.
Same here! Was playing single player mostly last night (I love the vietnam missions) and went online for a game - in the first thirty seconds I knifed a boy and then I shot one! By God I thought I was it - then I died a total of 16 times before the game ended  :-[
Post by: lurganblue on November 10, 2010, 07:07:27 PM
Yeah finding the new maps hard but it's the crap guns to start off with that isn't helping. Enjoy the way you get to buy upgrades with points earned.
Post by: screenmachine on November 11, 2010, 11:43:30 AM
I'll hopefully get into the Hardcore games tonight where there is no map in the corner and you can't see where people shoot you from afterwards.  Also it's practically one shot and you kill the guy - there is nothing worse than riddling some fella and him just popping up and shooting you dead, one shot to the head!  I'm on Xbox and would def be up for a Gaaboard shootout - PM any Gamertags and I'll happily shoot the shit out of add you to my Xbox Live!   ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 11, 2010, 01:07:15 PM
Suitable for a 12 year old or too violent?
Post by: thebigfella on November 11, 2010, 01:14:28 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 11, 2010, 01:07:15 PM

Would you buy him an 18 rated DVD? If the answer is no, then thats your answer.
Post by: screenmachine on November 11, 2010, 01:21:32 PM
Suitable surely, there's nothing that graphic in it that will scar him for life!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 11, 2010, 03:55:02 PM
I'm PS3, having a board free for all would be great. Would be some slagging for sure ;D

As for the suitability BC1 hard to say, I would not let my girls watch anything thats over their age, (TV/games) would I be doing the same if my son wanted the game when he was 12? Don't know. Seems kids as young as 10 are playing the game and quite good at it also. Will it fcuk them up? Probably not
Post by: lurganblue on November 11, 2010, 04:18:11 PM
i'm PS3 also and have no fear cos i'm useless at it!! anyone wants to PM me their gamertag i'll add them surely.

I wouldnt have any problem with my 11 year old playing it. and their is an option at the start of the campaign mode to limit the graphic scenes.  Obviously i didnt take that option but its there if you want it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 11, 2010, 05:11:47 PM
Is it better than Modern Warfare?
I actually found Modern Warfare repetitive and boring after awhile
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 11, 2010, 06:13:12 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 11, 2010, 01:07:15 PM
Oh my God you're one of them parents, I wouldn't have had you down for that.

If he's playing WAW he can play this!
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 11, 2010, 05:11:47 PM
Is it better than Modern Warfare?
I actually found Modern Warfare repetitive and boring after awhile

I think it's better than modern warfare but what did you find repetitive?
Post by: lurganblue on November 21, 2010, 05:37:04 PM
Anyone else finding the sever on psn to be brutal? I cannot connect with a single person
Post by: Nally Stand on November 21, 2010, 05:42:11 PM
It's shocking
Post by: muppet on November 21, 2010, 05:54:11 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 21, 2010, 05:37:04 PM
Anyone else finding the sever on psn to be brutal? I cannot connect with a single person

You don't like swingers?
Post by: lurganblue on November 21, 2010, 05:57:09 PM
Love 'em

It's ruining what is a good game. Hope they sort it soon
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 21, 2010, 07:17:11 PM
Real bad server, disconnects all the time, getting fed up >:(

They would need to fix it otherwise they will lose out on the Christmas market
Post by: lurganblue on November 21, 2010, 07:20:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 21, 2010, 07:17:11 PM
Real bad server, disconnects all the time, getting fed up >:(

They would need to fix it otherwise they will lose out on the Christmas market

If they don't fix it I'll be trading it in for something different and sticking to MW2
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 21, 2010, 07:24:43 PM
Agreed, you'll still get your money back, i only paid £27 for mine so might even make money
Post by: mc_grens on November 21, 2010, 07:51:32 PM
For the record... No such issues on x-box live. The €7 a month is well worth it for what you get in return.
Post by: paco on November 21, 2010, 07:59:55 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on November 21, 2010, 07:51:32 PM
For the record... No such issues on x-box live. The €7 a month is well worth it for what you get in return.

Working alright for myself as well. What does everyone think about the online multiplayer? Been playing a lot of the wager matches, and I find them a lot more enjoyable. Mostly because in deathmatch, free for all etc I only ever seem to be playing on Nuketown!
Post by: Don Johnson on November 21, 2010, 08:04:05 PM
Just finished the single player. Have to say I enjoyed it, thought the story was ok. Now for the online, which I am shit at.
Post by: andoireabu on November 21, 2010, 08:11:35 PM
Have it for the Wii and it is class. get wiped out online but the storyline is good so far and can see myself playing it for a long time.  Many of you play it on the wii? A wee online free for all would be good
Post by: Don Johnson on November 21, 2010, 09:42:41 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on November 21, 2010, 08:11:35 PM
Have it for the Wii and it is class. get wiped out online but the storyline is good so far and can see myself playing it for a long time.  Many of you play it on the wii? A wee online free for all would be good

No, I think most of the people in the thread are adults. Sorry.
Post by: David McKeown on November 22, 2010, 09:08:51 AM
Enjoyed the single player game a lot but still prefer the original Modern Warfare, never really got into console gaming online, much prefer a spot of team fortress 2 even if I am utter shite at all online games
Post by: Shrek on November 22, 2010, 11:53:29 AM
got myself a new PS3 and got Black Ops with it.

ive already finished the single player game, found it very good.

only played a few online games and had forgotten how rubbish i am, but still enjoy it.
Post by: mc_grens on November 27, 2010, 10:40:49 AM
I refuse to go anywhere in that weather... Gamertags anyone?
Post by: andoireabu on November 27, 2010, 11:03:17 AM
Quote from: mc_grens on November 27, 2010, 10:40:49 AM
what cosole you on
Post by: mc_grens on November 27, 2010, 11:14:15 AM
Quote from: andoireabu on November 27, 2010, 11:03:17 AM
what cosole you on

X-box 360. I'm Ciaran Mc.
Post by: andoireabu on November 27, 2010, 11:17:44 AM
Quote from: mc_grens on November 27, 2010, 11:14:15 AM
Quote from: andoireabu on November 27, 2010, 11:03:17 AM
what cosole you on

X-box 360. I'm Ciaran Mc.
No good im not on the xbox
Post by: Celt_Man on December 26, 2010, 12:46:48 AM
Could be a stupid question but how would one play Black Ops online...

Tis the brother's PS3 and I don't know how to go about it - bit embarrassing
Post by: Just Puck It on December 26, 2010, 03:11:56 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on December 26, 2010, 12:46:48 AM
Could be a stupid question but how would one play Black Ops online...

Tis the brother's PS3 and I don't know how to go about it - bit embarrassing

Got an Xbox myself, but assuming the interface is the same on the PS3 (if your connected to internet) just select the multi player option from the main menu, and from there, select xbox live.  After that you can choose whatever sort of game you want to play.  Good luck.
Post by: lurganblue on December 26, 2010, 02:18:01 PM
It's handy enough. Has he wifi in the house and if so is his ps3 already connected. If not there is an option on settings to scan for wifi signal. Find the correct one, follow the setup intsructions and enter the WEP/WPA key. Once connected you have to then sign into or register with the play station network... Create a gamertag etc it's an easy enough step by step process if I remember right.

Once registered/signed in. Start the game and select multiplayer. Simples
Post by: Celt_Man on December 26, 2010, 06:48:26 PM
Cheers lads... Don't think he is set up with PlayStation Network but I'll root about and get it sorted.

Although I doubt there will be any thimking or moving done tomorrow after the skinful tonight!!
Post by: paco on February 01, 2011, 12:26:11 PM
Anyone got the new maps yet?
Post by: lurganblue on February 01, 2011, 01:16:31 PM
Quote from: paco on February 01, 2011, 12:26:11 PM

they just out today?
Post by: paco on February 01, 2011, 01:19:27 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 01, 2011, 01:16:31 PM
Quote from: paco on February 01, 2011, 12:26:11 PM

they just out today?

I think so anyway. I'll check Xbox marketplace here and see if I can find them.
Post by: lurganblue on February 01, 2011, 01:28:52 PM
could do with some new maps as getting a bit bored of the standard ones now.  Nuketown is still my favourite
Post by: paco on February 01, 2011, 01:46:31 PM
Downloading it here now LB.
Post by: lurganblue on February 01, 2011, 04:34:53 PM
How much is it paco? How many new maps?
Post by: paco on February 01, 2011, 04:41:05 PM
Don't know if you're Xbox or PS3, but it's 1200 points on Xbox which works out at £8 or so I think. 4 multiplayer maps and 1 for zombies (which I never really play), if you liked Nuketown you'll love this new Stadium map!
Post by: lurganblue on February 01, 2011, 09:01:38 PM
Not available on ps3 yet I hear. Feck it
Post by: I SHOT JR on February 14, 2011, 09:35:23 AM
Got this game for Christmas but for a few reasons only got round to opening it on Friday night. 

I'm stuck on a level.  I've been fired out of a jeep in Vietnam and have blown up a few tanks, now i'm on top of a hill shooting down at an endless line of Vietnamese soldiers.  I assume I have to get down to the distance number below but the get the head blown off me anytime I try it.

Any ideas?  I'm sure most of you have completed the game by now.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 14, 2011, 10:00:35 AM
Quote from: I SHOT JR on February 14, 2011, 09:35:23 AM
Got this game for Christmas but for a few reasons only got round to opening it on Friday night. 

I'm stuck on a level.  I've been fired out of a jeep in Vietnam and have blown up a few tanks, now i'm on top of a hill shooting down at an endless line of Vietnamese soldiers.  I assume I have to get down to the distance number below but the get the head blown off me anytime I try it.

You need to make your way down the hill... I think i ended up going down the left hand side - till the trench & work my way across. Endless supply of feckers in that level.
Post by: The Gs Man on February 14, 2011, 01:33:37 PM
Try running like the hammers of f**k. It worked for me.
Post by: I SHOT JR on February 14, 2011, 01:47:50 PM
Thanks lads, I'll take both pieces of advice on board - I'll run like the hammers of f**k down the left hand side!
Post by: Don Johnson on February 14, 2011, 07:55:33 PM
Quote from: I SHOT JR on February 14, 2011, 09:35:23 AM

I was stuck on that level for over an hour one day felt like packing the game in. I made the mistake of trying to run down and take them all out, not how it is done.

There are a couple of oil drums placed a few feet in front of the arms dump where you can get the better guns to your right i the level. Manoeuvre your way down towards them then there will be a prompt of a button for you to press. When you do this you dig your knife into the drum, possibly light it and kick it down the hill, each one will blow up a different section and the enemies will stop respawning and you can then move on to the right hand side and complete the level.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2011, 08:18:51 PM
Never knew that, didn't spend an hour but was difficult alright
Post by: lurganblue on February 14, 2011, 09:21:03 PM
Don't really remember this bit. Is this the bit where there are loads of wee bunkers down the hill and the feckers who are with ya don't bother their holes following you when you make a move?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2011, 09:30:02 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 14, 2011, 09:21:03 PM
Don't really remember this bit. Is this the bit where there are loads of wee bunkers down the hill and the feckers who are with ya don't bother their holes following you when you make a move?

Aye,  terraced style part, you've to get to the bottom bunker
Post by: lurganblue on February 14, 2011, 09:44:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2011, 09:30:02 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 14, 2011, 09:21:03 PM

Aye,  terraced style part, you've to get to the bottom bunker

Don't think it took me too long to complete this bit. I think I just didn't hang about too long in one spot
Post by: Don Johnson on February 14, 2011, 10:30:34 PM
I am pretty sure you had to do the barrels because I had to look it up online to see where I was going wrong.

:-\
Post by: Megaman on February 15, 2011, 08:40:49 AM
was stuck on that part for ages as well, didnt even notice the barrels, until what felt like the 100th time i must have went by a barrel and noticed the knife symbol appear above it, so thought what the feck, i will try this.  and guess what it worked.

havent played COD much lately

mostly go between assasins creed & need for speed.
Post by: I SHOT JR on February 18, 2011, 08:54:17 PM
cheers for the tips lads, finished the game today - Christ it's addictive!!  Loved the levels in the jungle, the swimming under water and coming up to knife people and the rabbit holes (probably not called that but you know what i mean).  whats the story with assassins creed?  also heard good reports about red dead redemption
Post by: mc_grens on February 18, 2011, 11:04:48 PM
Quote from: I SHOT JR on February 18, 2011, 08:54:17 PM
cheers for the tips lads, finished the game today - Christ it's addictive!!  Loved the levels in the jungle, the swimming under water and coming up to knife people and the rabbit holes (probably not called that but you know what i mean).  whats the story with assassins creed?  also heard good reports about red dead redemption

Red Dead Redemption is excellent.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2011, 09:24:58 AM
Red Dead is excellent.

I'm addicted to Test Drive unlimited at the minute.