GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 02:57:33 PM

Title: Portlaoise v Kilmacud Crokes TG4
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 02:57:33 PM
Disgraceful dive there by the Portlaoise 12.
He should be ashamed of himself.
Crokes coming back into it.
Title: Re: Portlaoise v Kilmacud Crokes TG4
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2010, 03:00:17 PM
Bhí sé ag "scaiteál", according to Seán Ó Domhnaill. Never heard that before, but I presume it has something to do with Ronaldo-like carry-on.

Seán is very hard to understand. What was he saying about An Mhí, just as that happened?
Post by: muppet on November 07, 2010, 03:18:58 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 07, 2010, 03:00:17 PM
Bhí sé ag "scaiteál", according to Seán Ó Domhnaill. Never heard that before, but I presume it has something to do with Ronaldo-like carry-on.

Seán is very hard to understand. What was he saying about An Mhí, just as that happened?

He said ye were crap, were forever throwing the ball into the net and didn't deserve the All-Ireland in 1996.

Maith thú Seán!
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 03:32:35 PM
I see Vaug-han has gone back to his natural colouring.
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2010, 03:33:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 07, 2010, 03:18:58 PM

He said ye were crap, were forever throwing the ball into the net and didn't deserve the All-Ireland in 1996.

Maith thú Seán!

Right on two counts (we are crap and Tyrone did deserve the '96 All-Ireland). Slight exaggeration on the other point.
Post by: muppet on November 07, 2010, 03:35:42 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 07, 2010, 03:33:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 07, 2010, 03:18:58 PM

Maith thú Seán!

Right on two counts (we are crap and Tyrone did deserve the '96 All-Ireland). Slight exaggeration on the other point.

He also said that he secretly loved Graham Geraghty but he was interrupted just as he said it.
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 03:36:57 PM
If Crokes would just calm down and actually think about what they're doing they'd win this game handy.
Kicking it away.
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 03:37:57 PM
Cossie is on!
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 03:41:56 PM
What a score from Vaughan.
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2010, 03:42:23 PM
Nobody will ever again score from the right sideline without commentators bawling "Maurice FitzGerald".
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 03:44:40 PM
Funniest goal ever. :D
Post by: muppet on November 07, 2010, 03:44:57 PM
Dias has done very well for them. Daftest goal since Jimmy Burke.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ezlkmUf1c0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ezlkmUf1c0)
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 03:45:50 PM
O'Carroll at full back for Crokes has been excellent.
He'd be a big addition for the Dubs.
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 03:52:33 PM
Well done Crokes, fully deserved.
Vaughans wonder kick aside he's one of the most awkward lads I've ever seen on a football field.
Crokes will give the whole thing a good rattle.
Very young, pacy side.
They have problems up front though.
Post by: mountainboii on November 07, 2010, 03:56:31 PM
What was the free out at the end for?
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 03:57:54 PM
There was a kerfuffle.
Kerfuffle = free out.
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2010, 03:59:32 PM
Surely the smelly stuff is going to hit the fan when the GAA public realises how Portlaoise were cheated when the winning goal was thrown into the net? Consistency of outrage demands it and I'm sure Joe Duffy's phone is hopping already. No?
Post by: muppet on November 07, 2010, 04:11:51 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 07, 2010, 03:59:32 PM
Surely the smelly stuff is going to hit the fan when the GAA public realises how Portlaoise were cheated when the winning goal was thrown into the net? Consistency of outrage demands it and I'm sure Joe Duffy's phone is hopping already. No?

Nailed on penalty, defender grabbed his foot as he tried to kick it. Ref gave him the benefit of the doubt and I know it isn't a rule but hard to argue with it's fairness.
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 04:14:50 PM
I turned against Portlaoise as soon as I saw their number 12 rolling around holding his face.
That sort of craic makes me sick.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 07, 2010, 04:19:00 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 07, 2010, 03:42:23 PM
Nobody will ever again score from the right sideline without commentators bawling "Maurice FitzGerald".

I wouldn't mind but Ja Fallon did it 3 years before him in an All-Ireland final and nobody remembers that one.
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 04:23:18 PM
In fairness, plenty of people have done it.
No one has done it under the pressure Maurice was under though.
Post by: muppet on November 07, 2010, 04:24:56 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 04:23:18 PM
In fairness, plenty of people have done it.
No one has done it under the pressure Maurice was under though.

This is the whole point (sorry).

Thurles is wider than Croker, Maurice kicked it from off the pitch with Tommy Carr shouting in his ear and it was his first touch.
Post by: Main Street on November 07, 2010, 04:25:37 PM
That nr12 face clutching was pathetic.
But apart from that incident, there was a lot of hard earned merit to Portlaoise's efforts.
It was a really enjoyable game.
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 04:28:33 PM
Plenty of foot-passing too.
I'd expect Cian O'Sullivan to really nail down a place at wing or centre back with Dublin.
He's a lot bigger than I thought and has serious speed.
Ross O'Carroll would be a good addition at corner back.
Post by: thejuice on November 07, 2010, 04:32:40 PM
QuoteLeinster Club Senior Football Championship quarter-finals results:

Portlaoise 2-04 Kilmacud Crokes 2-07 - Portlaoise.

Garrycastle 2-13 Mattock Rangers 2-10 - Mullingar.

Skryne 0-12 Castletown 0-10 - Navan.

Old Leighlin 1-07 Rhode 1-11 - Dr Cullen Park.

Still standing are:
Kilmacud Crokes, (Dublin)
Skryne, (Meath)
Rhode, (Offaly)
Garrycastle (Westmeath)

I'm not sure if Skryne are good enough to progress no matter who they get in the next round. All tough teams,
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 04:36:00 PM
Possibly not but it's good experience for them.
Ideally they'd want to get Garrycastle.
Post by: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 04:38:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 03:52:33 PM
Vaughans wonder kick aside he's one of the most awkward lads I've ever seen on a football field.
Very young, pacy side.

They are mssing 6 first choice players. No other club team in Ireland could win a county championship and beat a team as strong as Portlaoise with that many missing.
Post by: haze on November 07, 2010, 04:43:46 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 07, 2010, 04:25:37 PM
But apart from that incident, there was a lot of hard earned merit to Portlaoise's efforts.

I was at Portlaoise Moorefield game and the county final- he was at the same play acting(if not worse). Its embarrassing.

Surprised at how poor Portlaoise were, especially considering how impressive they were against Moorefield. Kilmacud have an excellent defence.

Rhode would be my prediction to win it out- i'm sure they'd love another shot at Kilmacud after how they blew it in the final in 2008 against them
Post by: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 04:47:25 PM
Quote from: haze on November 07, 2010, 04:43:46 PM

I was at Portlaoise Moorefield game and the county final- he was at the same play acting(if not worse). Its embarrassing.

Surprised at how poor Portlaoise were, especially considering how impressive they were against Moorefield. Kilmacud have an excellent defence.

Rhode would be my prediction to win it out- i'm sure they'd love another shot at Kilmacud after how they blew it in the final in 2008 against them

I think Rhode will find it tough against Crokes. Crokes have the backs to wrap up their forwards. 5 senior inter county defenders. O Carroll x2, Nolan, O Sullivan and Brian Mc Grath who plays for Wicklow.
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 04:48:50 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 04:38:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 03:52:33 PM
Very young, pacy side.

They are mssing 6 first choice players. No other club team in Ireland could win a county championship and beat a team as strong as Portlaoise with that many missing.

It wasn't really a day for forwards in fairness.
If they got to the final I'd put the house on them as they're made for Croke Park.
Post by: haze on November 07, 2010, 05:06:41 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 04:47:25 PM

I think Rhode will find it tough against Crokes. Crokes have the backs to wrap up their forwards. 5 senior inter county defenders. O Carroll x2, Nolan, O Sullivan and Brian Mc Grath who plays for Wicklow.

If Kilmacud and Rhode get to final, i've no doubt Kilmacud will be warm favourites and rightly so but as often is the case hunger could be the deciding factor. Rhode have lost two Leinster finals, and i just think if they manage to get to final they will throw the kitchen sink at it.

Also McNamee on form would cause any of the above, serious problems.

Will Crokes have many of the injured contingent back for the next day?
Post by: laoisgaa on November 07, 2010, 05:51:21 PM
Leave Rodgie (Number 12) alone - he wasn't feigning it. Some things look worse on the telly! Never realised Kelleher's goal was thrown though
Post by: thejuice on November 07, 2010, 05:56:54 PM
Next round:

Rhode Vs Skryne

Kilmacud Vs Garrycastle
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 05:57:23 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on November 07, 2010, 05:51:21 PM
Leave Rodgie (Number 12) alone - he wasn't feigning it. Some things look worse on the telly! Never realised Kelleher's goal was thrown though

He was.
100%.
No contact whatsoever with his face.
Post by: haze on November 07, 2010, 06:07:12 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on November 07, 2010, 05:51:21 PM

He has been down holding his face all year. I've seen him play 6 times this year (Laois and Portlaoise) and only once i think did he not engage in a bit of playacting.

It actually worked against Moorefield- he went down clutching his face, Moorefield broke out with the ball but were dispossessed and when Portlaoise played the ball in, he had returned to his feet and was one on one with the keeper.

He is a top class club footballer but cant respect him until he cuts that nonsense out
Post by: Hardy on November 07, 2010, 06:45:21 PM
He was even ridiculously slow in starting off his little show. He sat up slightly first and took a little look around before he decided he needed to hold his face and pass out. It's always a huge disappointment when a whole game goes by after something like this without one at least one lad deciding to give him a real good reason to lie down for a while.
Post by: laoisgaa on November 07, 2010, 08:01:08 PM
Right so ye are telling me other lads (meath lads) don't do it either?
Post by: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 08:10:35 PM
Quote from: haze on November 07, 2010, 05:06:41 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 04:47:25 PM

If Kilmacud and Rhode get to final, i've no doubt Kilmacud will be warm favourites and rightly so but as often is the case hunger could be the deciding factor. Rhode have lost two Leinster finals, and i just think if they manage to get to final they will throw the kitchen sink at it.

Also McNamee on form would cause any of the above, serious problems.

Will Crokes have many of the injured contingent back for the next day?

Mc Namee is class but Ross O Carroll is a hell of a unit. He is going to one hell of an addition for Dublin next season. Power, pace, skill and strength. If it ever happens it will be a hell of a dual.

However Garrycastle will be a tough one for Crokes as well. Its just Crokes strength in depth is unreal. As I said in another thread its both great and a curse for Dublin GAA.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 07, 2010, 08:17:31 PM
The no 12s dive was a disgrace. It's as bad as you'll see on a GAA field. The replays were shown twice - there was no contact even near his face. I don't know if refs can book for this kind of caper in GAA but they should be able to - he'd have been good medicine for a red card to be honest.

To be able to bring Vaughan and Cisgrive of the bench shows some strength. Does Paul Griifin not play for Kilmacaud? What club is Rorry O'Carroll?
Post by: Minder on November 07, 2010, 08:19:58 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 07, 2010, 08:17:31 PM
The no 12s dive was a disgrace. It's as bad as you'll see on a GAA field. The replays were shown twice - there was no contact even near his face. I don't know if refs can book for this kind of caper in GAA but they should be able to - he'd have been good medicine for a red card to be honest.

To be able to bring Vaughan and Cisgrive of the bench shows some strength. Does Paul Griifin not play for Kilmacaud? What club is Rorry O'Carroll?

I think Griffin broke his leg.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 07, 2010, 08:24:48 PM
Who was the number 3 for Kilmacud? Dias was the difference when he come on scored a goal and set one up. What nationality is he? ( if hes Irish were parent/s come from?)
Post by: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 08:34:38 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on November 07, 2010, 08:24:48 PM
Who was the number 3 for Kilmacud? Dias was the difference when he come on scored a goal and set one up. What nationality is he? ( if hes Irish were parent/s come from?)

ross o carroll. rory is in college in france and flies home for matches. however he is injured at present. he will be fit the next day.
Corkery should be fit too.
Dias is Irish.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 07, 2010, 08:37:30 PM
What position does Rory O'Carrol play? He related to the other one?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on November 07, 2010, 08:46:48 PM
don't think Rory is injured, think he just didn't want to come back for the match and might be off the panel now.
Post by: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 08:50:52 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on November 07, 2010, 08:46:48 PM
don't think Rory is injured, think he just didn't want to come back for the match and might be off the panel now.

hes definitely injured. same injury he got for dublin.

He wont be playing for dublin before june next year but i cant see him turning down crokes for a couple of matches.

two of them are brothers
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 07, 2010, 08:54:12 PM
What sort of shape will Crokes be for the All Ireland?  they must fancy their chances of getting the crown back this year with St Gall's gone?
Post by: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 08:58:56 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 07, 2010, 08:54:12 PM
What sort of shape will Crokes be for the All Ireland?  they must fancy their chances of getting the crown back this year with St Gall's gone?

Hard to say. riddled with injuries. corkery and rory o carroll are struggling. however they still have 2 guys who started for the dublin u21's this year in their all-ireland win on the bench. thats strength in depth

If they win leinster Griffin will be back.
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 09:03:50 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on November 07, 2010, 08:01:08 PM
Right so ye are telling me other lads (meath lads) don't do it either?

So you agree he did dive?
Post by: Orangemac on November 07, 2010, 09:51:18 PM
Very enjoyable game today. Skill level may not have been the highest but never is this time of year.

No shortage of effort and determination from both teams ( Ronaldo impession aside).

Best team won in the end. O'Carroll was immense for Crokes, best full back display I've seen in a while. Number 5 was very good also.

Agree that the forward line might not be good enough though. Kavanagh was disappointing partcularly.

What has happened to Vaughan? Great free near the end but the Atkins diet doesn't seem to be working for him.

Not sure about 2nd goal for Crokes. Was a penalty all right but should have been given rather than let the goal stand. Having said that don't think 1st penalty was a penalty.
Post by: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 10:04:17 PM
I always hear about Kavanagh doing great things but then I watch him and I'm always a bit underwhelmed.
You wouldn't pick him out as a top intercounty forward.
Post by: Main Street on November 07, 2010, 10:24:09 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on November 07, 2010, 09:51:18 PM
Having said that don't think 1st penalty was a penalty.
For Portlaoise? It looked an obvious trip, a clear penalty.
But if was that nr12  who was involved, then I'd make a point of looking up to gaze at the cloud formations.
Post by: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 10:25:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 07, 2010, 10:04:17 PM
I always hear about Kavanagh doing great things but then I watch him and I'm always a bit underwhelmed.

up to this year i would have agreed. however he was absolutely oustading in dublin this year. Outstanding.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 07, 2010, 11:52:22 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 10:25:58 PM

up to this year i would have agreed. however he was absolutely oustading in dublin this year. Outstanding.
maybe, but that's at club level, but still not a top intercounty forward?
Post by: INDIANA on November 08, 2010, 12:21:59 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 07, 2010, 11:52:22 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 07, 2010, 10:25:58 PM

maybe, but that's at club level, but still not a top intercounty forward?

I doubt Crokes give a monkeys how he plays for Longford provided he does the business for them. Thats being honest about it.
Post by: mattockranger on November 08, 2010, 07:00:47 PM
I reckon they do....surely its the same as when they look at how well Cian o'sullivan plays for Dublin?

Zach tuohy was playing yesterday....whats was his situation?
Post by: INDIANA on November 08, 2010, 07:32:49 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on November 08, 2010, 07:00:47 PM
I reckon they do....surely its the same as when they look at how well Cian o'sullivan plays for Dublin?

Zach tuohy was playing yesterday....whats was his situation?

Tuohy is in Australia. Crokes couldnt care less how he plays for Longford. Thats the reality
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 09, 2010, 02:36:45 PM
Anybody got a clip of this (alledged) dive by the #12?
Post by: mattockranger on November 09, 2010, 08:50:39 PM
Tg4 player

http://live.tg4.ie/main.aspx?level=sport&content=336287392769
28.22 minutes
great service for looking at the games again

Wrong and ignorant statement knowing the club as they are....
they do care about how he plays for Longford likewise Morrissey with Wexford mcgrath with wicklow and all their dublin players that's how they have such a bond with these players with that family atmosphere they wouldn't be as successful a club as they are.
Post by: laoisgaa on January 17, 2011, 12:34:20 AM
SUNDAY 23rd JANUARY
On TG4
13:45 GAA Beo
Craoladh beo ar Chluiche Ceannais Peile Laighean idir Cill Mochuda na Crócaigh (Baile Átha Cliath) agus Ród (Uíbh Fhailí) as Páirc Uí Mhórdha, Port Laoise. Á chur i láthair ag Micheál Ó Domhnaill agus is iad Brian Tyers a bheidh i mbun tráchtaireachta.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 17, 2011, 11:12:24 AM
The Kildare Juniors hammered Kilmacud on Friday night.
Post by: Hound on January 17, 2011, 03:57:47 PM
I see Niall Corkery has moved to London for work reasons. Gilroy has said that his intercounty career is over (unless he comes home at some stage). Not sure whether he'll come over for this weekend. He'd been carrying an injury over Christmas anyway.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 17, 2011, 04:10:09 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 17, 2011, 11:12:24 AM
The Kildare Juniors hammered Kilmacud on Friday night.

Jacko McCormack went to town on their full-back line apparently.
Post by: Canalman on January 17, 2011, 06:47:58 PM
Mixed views about this game. Usually hope the Dublin teams do well but would really like Rhode to win it this time. They certainly deserve it.
For selfish reasons  would prefer to have the Crokes' lads playing the NFL for Dublin.

Having said that would fear (an irrarional hunch)for Rhode playing "Cross" in the semi final.